About The Little Door

8164 West 3rd Street
Los Angeles, CA 90048
View Larger Map

Two simple wooden doors open up to quite a buzz in an otherwise romantic courtyard, where a colorful crowd hangs at the bar and lingers at coveted patio tables. Inside, seats spread throughout the candlelit house-turned-restaurant with intimate furniture. Organic seasonal ingredients, creatively prepared and impeccably presented, characterize our unique menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary European, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Brunch
Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:30pm

Dinner
Sunday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar
Sunday - Tuesday: 6:00pm - 12:00am
Wednesday & Thursday : 6:00pm - 12:30 am
Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm - 1:30 am

Cross Street:
1 block west of Crescent Heights at La Jolla

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 951-1210

Website:
http://www.thelittledoor.com/

Entertainment:
Eclectic Ambiance Music

Catering:
Off-site catering available in full service including ambiance design and party planning for any number of guests up to a few thousand as well as take-out and delivery. Visit www.thelittledoor.com and click the catering link to view menu options.

Parking Details:
$8.00

Executive Chef:
Nicolas T. Peter

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Fireplace, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Lovely daytime bookings available for weddings, showers and for other celebrations.

Restaurant Photos

Pan Seared Foie Gras
Mezze Platter
Coconut Cheesecake
Organic Morroccan Mint Tea
Scallops
Vegetable Couscous
Prime Rib
Foie gras Torchon
Foie Gras Mousse
Profiteroles
Filet Mignon
Potato Crusted Cod With Brussel Sprouts
Assorted Desserts
Loup De Mer
Beet Salad
Mezze Plate
Chocolate Pot de Creme
Lamb Tajine
Pancetta Wrapped Monkfish
Nougat Glacee
Seven Vegetable Cous Cous
Spicy Steamed Mediterranean Black Mussels

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 6:00PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

As you enter The Little Door, you’ll discover a hidden paradise, colorful crowd, romantic courtyard, and elegant displays of rustic Mediterranean cuisine.

The Little Door Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Los Angeles
French
Los Angeles
Best Ambiance
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
3 More
Romantic
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Special Occasion
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Best Restaurants in Beverly / Fairfax / La Brea / Third St. ›

romantic (100)
special occasion (90)
fit for foodies (65)
See All
great for outdoor dining (58)
neighborhood gem (44)
hot spot (37)
notable wine list (37)
good for groups (24)
late-night find (24)
vibrant bar scene (13)
great for brunch (13)
scenic view (7)
great for lunch (5)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1295 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Was there years ago for a client dinner, ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

Was there years ago for a client dinner, finally got to go back with my husband for a romantic dinner. The setting can't be beat - absolutely beautiful and exotic. We had a lovely French wine. Every appetizer was a delight. For entrees, Lamb Shank Tagine and Roast Wild Salmon in saffron sauce on a bed of ratatouille - both divine. The desserts didn't quite hit the same high notes, felt uninspired next to the other courses. And the service - impeccable without being stiff or stuffy. The Little Door is an LA gem. Don't miss it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect little romantic spot. I suggest ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Perfect little romantic spot. I suggest going in the evening when it's dark enough for the hanging lights to be turned on. It feels like you're in a date scene from a movie.

The food is very well prepared and (as a Non-American I find that...) the portion sizes are reasonable, not gigantic.

All in all on of the best Dinner locations if found in LA

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not sure how we missed this place before ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Not sure how we missed this place before but definitely going back - terrific ambiance, inventive and flavorful French / Moroccan cuisine, very pleasant staff - all in all a real gem in LA!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait for the food was nearly an hour ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The wait for the food was nearly an hour and a half. The waiter did not check in regularly and the food wasn't amazing

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

One of my favorite restaurants in the ci ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in the city. It is extremely charming and their staff is always excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food wasn't so good. Thy played hous ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food wasn't so good. Thy played house music and it was too loud. Nice outdoors dining.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Beautiful space. Lovely trees, lights, f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Beautiful space. Lovely trees, lights, flowers. Very romantic and inviting. Food was good. Not great. Nicely presented but just average for the price. Chocolate lava cake for dessert was disappointing. No real flavor.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

I love the Little door,took my lovely wi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I love the Little door,took my lovely wife for our 16 th anniversary. She really loved it. I would recommend to anyone for a romantic time. Service was perfect,employees are nice and kind.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went there for his birt ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

My husband and I went there for his birthday. First sat at the bar waiting for our table to get ready. The bartenders were really attentive and fun. He was very nice about my special requests. At dinner tablet the service was great. Atmosphere is very romantic, in a garden with candlelight. Feels like u r in Europe. The food was Devine and well prepared. We got fish and it was soft as butter. Desert was lava chocolate cake, very moist and right amount of sweetness. The servers were polite and attentive. Overall a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The experience I had here for a shared b ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The experience I had here for a shared birthday dinner with my friend was remarkable. The level of exceptional service demonstrated by your host, bussers, runners and our waiter was incomparable. In addition to that, our food (Seared Foie Gras, Burrata with peaches, Lamb Shank, Chocolate lava cake) was interesting, different, fresh, and most definitely well worth the price. In addition to that, the wine list was beautiful and my guest and I enjoyed a bottle of prosecco and some selection of dessert wines. Thank you for making my first experience here absolutely unforgettable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my wife here for a long overdue r ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I took my wife here for a long overdue romantic dinner and it was just what we needed. The atmosphere was great, our waitress was helpful and attentive but not overbearing like some can be and she went out of her way to help with our selections. It is a bit pricey, but worth every penny!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Really good experience. Since you walk i ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Really good experience. Since you walk in.. the people working there were really friendly and kind.. And the food is delicious.. I would go back again..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing location. Very romantic and extr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Amazing location. Very romantic and extremely intimate. Will definitely return, will like to go for brunch to see if there is a difference. The waiter was knowledgeable and made great recommendations. The entire staff was very attentive. I love it.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced and food not that great, most ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Overpriced and food not that great, most disappointing. We were expecting a beautiful dinner after reading reviews, but the Mediterranean fusion did not work well in the dishes we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

One of the best restaurants in LA. Consi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

One of the best restaurants in LA. Consistent service and quality food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fabulous! One of my fav pla ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food was fabulous! One of my fav places

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It took FOREVER for me to be seated AND ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

It took FOREVER for me to be seated AND I had a reservation. Food was delicious

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

The most romantic restaurant in LA, incr ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The most romantic restaurant in LA, incredible food and ambience, let down only by the 40 minute standing wait for our table which we had booked well in advance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

As delicious, beautiful and wonderful as ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

As delicious, beautiful and wonderful as it has always been.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible atmosphere and romantic witho ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Incredible atmosphere and romantic without being stuffy. Love the food and service is perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the second time I've been to the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This is the second time I've been to the Little Door and the food and service is consistently good, very good. Service is outstanding, portions are large and everything was celebratory and wonderful even if the only thing we were celebrating was meeting friends for dinner.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfectly romantic and special! The rest ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Perfectly romantic and special! The restaurant is magical, especially at night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We recently met friends for dinner and c ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We recently met friends for dinner and chose The Little Door because I had read it was quiet. We arrived at 7:15 and it was indeed quiet. It got more energetic as the evening wore on, but we were still able to have great conversations throughout the entire meal. Everything exceeded our expectations. The server was great, the food was delicious, the environment was lovely. All of us were delighted with how well our choice worked out and agreed that we'd definitely come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Whilst the promise was great - lovely me ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Whilst the promise was great - lovely menu, beautiful outdoor setting, candlelight - the reality was disappointing. Our server was mostly absent, and though she appeared to speak near perfect French for the moments we saw her, it was not of much use in translation to the kitchen or bar. We had to chase our wine order, and ask for replacement silverware after our first course. The food was lacking in flavour ...carrot mousse?? ... And the salmon overcooked.

Avoid.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Great environment and excellent food and ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Great environment and excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was okay, the atmosphere is incredi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was okay, the atmosphere is incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

WE WERE CELEBRATING OUR 44 WEDDING: SPEC ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

WE WERE CELEBRATING OUR 44 WEDDING: SPECIAL DESERT AND THE FOOD WAS GREAT - THE DRINKS WERE UNIQUE TO THE LITTLE DOOR. I HAD THE DUCK - GOOD PORTIONS AND NOT THE USUAL WITH THE PEACH. MY WIFE HAD THE PRICE FIX MENUE ($55.00) AND SHE HAD THE FISH. GOOD PRICE FOR THE FOOD. SERVICE WAS EXCELLENT. THE MINT TEA WAS SUPERIOR AND SHOUDL BE ORDERED OVER COFFEE OR REG. TEA.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful place, with great service and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Beautiful place, with great service and a fresh new look on mediterranean food

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Little Door was amazing! I took my g ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The Little Door was amazing! I took my girlfriend there for a "just because" date and didn't tell her where we were going and she was in love with how it looked! It's very very romantic with candles on every table and twinkle lights hanging on the branches and leaves that make their ceiling. Very nice vibe to it with the music they play and the food is great! I had the duck breast and leg confit and my girlfriend had the rack of lamb. We had foie gras as our appetizer and two drinks each. Everything, including the service was great! One of the coolest, nicest restaurants I've been to!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the place!! The food was fantasti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

I love the place!! The food was fantastic, and the service was great! I will definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Who says they don't have Seared Foie Gra ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Who says they don't have Seared Foie Gras in California! It was the best I have had outside of Paris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and ambiance. Perfect for ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent food and ambiance. Perfect for a romantic date or intimate hangout with close friends or family. Adore the outdoor setting. Not a snobby or pretentious place. Highly recommend!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing RibEye & cheesecake!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Amazing RibEye & cheesecake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice ambiance, service and food

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Carrot ginger was good. White fish was also quite good.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Things to note.....

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The desert that came with the prix fixe menu was sickeningly sweet and we didn't eat them. Also, the music was pretty loud, hard to hear conversation. Not sure that the value for dollar is there for entrees.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Beautiful setting, romantic... and perfe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Beautiful setting, romantic... and perfect if your date loves couscous! A bit expensive though.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We had a great time there. My wife enjo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We had a great time there. My wife enjoyed her food very much. We had the big appetizer plate. My wife had the mussels, my brother and I had the duck. The duck was chewy, but had good flavour.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner choices from prix fix to en ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Great dinner choices from prix fix to entrees. Excellent service and special attention for a special occasion. Perfect ambiance for a romantic and intimate dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful and Delicious

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Open up the "little door" on third street and enter a beautiful and romantic restaurant. The food is aways excellent and great service. Wonderful and romantic but not stuffy and always fun.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the ambiance of this place, the foo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Love the ambiance of this place, the food is delicious- be sure to leave room for dessert!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.