About The Little Door

8164 West 3rd Street
Los Angeles, CA 90048
View Larger Map

Two simple wooden doors open up to quite a buzz in an otherwise romantic courtyard, where a colorful crowd hangs at the bar and lingers at coveted patio tables. Inside, seats spread throughout the candlelit house-turned-restaurant with intimate furniture. Organic seasonal ingredients, creatively prepared and impeccably presented, characterize our unique menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary European, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Brunch
Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:30pm

Dinner
Sunday - Wednesday: 6:00pm - 12:00am;
Thursday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 1:30am

Cross Street:
1 block west of Crescent Heights at La Jolla

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 951-1210

Website:
http://www.thelittledoor.com/

Entertainment:
Eclectic Ambiance Music

Catering:
Off-site catering available in full service including ambiance design and party planning for any number of guests up to a few thousand as well as take-out and delivery. Visit www.thelittledoor.com and click the catering link to view menu options.

Parking Details:
$8.00

Executive Chef:
Nicolas T. Peter

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Fireplace, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Lovely daytime bookings available for weddings, showers and for other celebrations.

Restaurant Photos

Pan Seared Foie Gras
Mezze Platter
Coconut Cheesecake
Organic Morroccan Mint Tea
Scallops
Vegetable Couscous
Prime Rib
Foie gras Torchon
Foie Gras Mousse
Profiteroles
Filet Mignon
Potato Crusted Cod With Brussel Sprouts
Assorted Desserts
Loup De Mer
Beet Salad
Mezze Plate
Chocolate Pot de Creme
Lamb Tajine
Pancetta Wrapped Monkfish
Nougat Glacee
Seven Vegetable Cous Cous
Spicy Steamed Mediterranean Black Mussels

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 6:00PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

As you enter The Little Door, you’ll discover a hidden paradise, colorful crowd, romantic courtyard, and elegant displays of rustic Mediterranean cuisine.

The Little Door Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Los Angeles
Romantic
Los Angeles
French
Los Angeles
3 More
Best Ambiance
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Romantic
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Best Restaurants in Beverly / Fairfax / La Brea / Third St. ›

romantic (107)
special occasion (94)
fit for foodies (67)
See All
great for outdoor dining (51)
neighborhood gem (43)
notable wine list (40)
hot spot (32)
late-night find (22)
good for groups (18)
great for brunch (8)
vibrant bar scene (8)
scenic view (5)
kid-friendly (3)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1269 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Whilst the promise was great - lovely me ...

Dined 5 days ago

Whilst the promise was great - lovely menu, beautiful outdoor setting, candlelight - the reality was disappointing. Our server was mostly absent, and though she appeared to speak near perfect French for the moments we saw her, it was not of much use in translation to the kitchen or bar. We had to chase our wine order, and ask for replacement silverware after our first course. The food was lacking in flavour ...carrot mousse?? ... And the salmon overcooked. Avoid.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Great environment and excellent food and ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Great environment and excellent food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

WE WERE CELEBRATING OUR 44 WEDDING: SPEC ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

WE WERE CELEBRATING OUR 44 WEDDING: SPECIAL DESERT AND THE FOOD WAS GREAT - THE DRINKS WERE UNIQUE TO THE LITTLE DOOR. I HAD THE DUCK - GOOD PORTIONS AND NOT THE USUAL WITH THE PEACH. MY WIFE HAD THE PRICE FIX MENUE ($55.00) AND SHE HAD THE FISH. GOOD PRICE FOR THE FOOD. SERVICE WAS EXCELLENT. THE MINT TEA WAS SUPERIOR AND SHOUDL BE ORDERED OVER COFFEE OR REG. TEA.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful place, with great service and ...

Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful place, with great service and a fresh new look on mediterranean food

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Little Door was amazing! I took my g ...

Dined 7 days ago

The Little Door was amazing! I took my girlfriend there for a "just because" date and didn't tell her where we were going and she was in love with how it looked! It's very very romantic with candles on every table and twinkle lights hanging on the branches and leaves that make their ceiling. Very nice vibe to it with the music they play and the food is great! I had the duck breast and leg confit and my girlfriend had the rack of lamb. We had foie gras as our appetizer and two drinks each. Everything, including the service was great! One of the coolest, nicest restaurants I've been to!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

I love the place!! The food was fantasti ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

I love the place!! The food was fantastic, and the service was great! I will definitely come back!

food5
ambience5
service5

Who says they don't have Seared Foie Gra ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Who says they don't have Seared Foie Gras in California! It was the best I have had outside of Paris.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food and ambiance. Perfect for ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent food and ambiance. Perfect for a romantic date or intimate hangout with close friends or family. Adore the outdoor setting. Not a snobby or pretentious place. Highly recommend!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing RibEye & cheesecake!

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Amazing RibEye & cheesecake!

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very nice ambiance, service and food

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

Carrot ginger was good. White fish was also quite good.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Things to note.....

Dined on May 29, 2016

The desert that came with the prix fixe menu was sickeningly sweet and we didn't eat them. Also, the music was pretty loud, hard to hear conversation. Not sure that the value for dollar is there for entrees.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Beautiful setting, romantic... and perfe ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Beautiful setting, romantic... and perfect if your date loves couscous! A bit expensive though.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great time there. My wife enjo ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

We had a great time there. My wife enjoyed her food very much. We had the big appetizer plate. My wife had the mussels, my brother and I had the duck. The duck was chewy, but had good flavour.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner choices from prix fix to en ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Great dinner choices from prix fix to entrees. Excellent service and special attention for a special occasion. Perfect ambiance for a romantic and intimate dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful and Delicious

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

Open up the "little door" on third street and enter a beautiful and romantic restaurant. The food is aways excellent and great service. Wonderful and romantic but not stuffy and always fun.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the ambiance of this place, the foo ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Love the ambiance of this place, the food is delicious- be sure to leave room for dessert!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love, love, love this restaurant , it is ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Love, love, love this restaurant , it is an absolute gem in the midst of the hustle and bustle of 3rd street.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always my favorite in the evening... Now ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Always my favorite in the evening... Now they have brought the same level of amazing to brunch. Simply fascinating.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a beautiful restaurant

Dined on May 15, 2016

Have enjoyed coming to this restaurant for over 10 years

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful Oasis in LA

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

In the middle of LA lies a gorgeous oasis of tables with a roof of greenery and the most delicious variety of brunch dishes you can imagine. There was a free glass of champagne for Mother's Day and the servers were fantastic throughout the entire meal. The foie gras was seared perfectly and the tenderloin eggs benedict was sublime. The was a cheese platter that had some outstanding choices and the ambience was both peaceful and fun. Children were all welcome at brunch, although dinner is likely to be a somewhat more romantic affair. This was the perfect end to a trip to LA.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

I loved the room. The service was great ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

I loved the room. The service was great. The food options and creativity were very good. The food execution was inconsistent. My entree was wonderful. My wife's choice was poor and neither of us liked it. We split a cool Mediterranean app platter that we both liked. It's truly a special occasion type of place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enchanting

Dined on May 2, 2016

No restaurant in LA has more character or charm than Little Door. The food is delicious, interesting, and the ambiance transports you out of LA to an instant vacation in an exotic and beautiful locale.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place. Good for a romantic date or ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great place. Good for a romantic date or any celebration.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A special place

Dined on May 1, 2016

The filet mignonette was excellent, and so was the sea bass. The waiter could not have been better ! He magically appeared when we wanted something. The decor is imaginative and conducive to lounginess. So fun ! Thank you Little Door !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely amazing experience. Totally r ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Absolutely amazing experience. Totally romantic.

food4
ambience5
service4

Unique ambiance in patio. Make sure to g ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Unique ambiance in patio. Make sure to get seated in patio.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was amazed at how AMAZINGLY everything was!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Hands down best place I've ever dined at. Everything was perfect! I really couldn't find one single thing we didn't find outstanding and I always find something wrong but not this place. The service 5star, food 5star, over all experience 5star. I would easily recommend to friends and family. Can't for a return visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful spot with top-notch service

Dined on April 28, 2016

We had an amazing meal at The Little Door. I can see why it's been voted as one the most romantic restaurant LA. The setting is just gorgeous -- low lights between the rafters and the glass roof create such a lovely ambiance. There's a pretty fountain on one wall, and a cozy looking bar that I'd have loved to try with a group of friends. The service was outstanding. We had our 9-year-old daughter with us, and were dressed casually (husband in jeans & polo shirt, I was in plants and a blouse) -- and we were still treated like an honored guest. Our waiter made a wine recommendation that was spot on, and had no problem at all with us ordering a slightly modified item (we cut the prosciutto on the baby artichokes appetizer). We're vegetarian, and there was ~plenty~ to choose from on the menu. We put together a meal by ordering several appetizers, which is frankly one of my favorite ways to dine. I particularly liked the beet ravioli. It was as if the beets had been picked fresh that day! We also had the cheese plate (outstanding), as well as the assorted Mediterranean appetizers and marinated artichokes -- both excellent. Lastly, DO NOT skip dessert. I'm a very picky critic of crème brûlée, and -- I kid you not -- their was THE BEST I've ever had. And I've had a lot of crème brûlée. It was perfectly, evenly caramelized on top, and the custard itself was silky smooth and 100% consistent -- no lumps, no vanilla beans settled at the bottom. Just perfect. The pot de crème was also outstanding. Theirs has a caramel layer on top that was out of this world. If I lived in West Hollywood, this would be my go-to place for a date night, a nice evening out with friends, or a spot to drop by for a great glass of wine or hand-crafted cocktail.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3

I don't know what the hype about this pl ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

I don't know what the hype about this place is all about... It was a bit dark inside, I liked that the tables weren't so close to each other . The food was mediocre... My sea bass was so dry and my boyfriends pork chops were full of fat. Food and drinks took SO LONG to come out by the time our main course arrived I felt like we had been there for over an hour. I wouldn't go back, I was highly disappointed.

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

everything great but the first hostess!

Dined on April 22, 2016

when i called to confirm my reservation I asked for a nice corner since it washy finance's birthday. When we got there the hostess took us to the back room where it was extremely dark. there was plenty of room in the patio area but she said they are all reserved. After a few minutes another couple came in without reservation and they also asked to be seated in the patio. shockingly their host was able to give them a table in patio!.. I made my reservation month ago! Our waiter was so great that made it up!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

Dined on April 21, 2016

A friend and I recently started dating and so I sought out a romantic place near Los Angeles. I found The Little Door. The little door was such a nice place to go out on a date to. I would recommend it for anyone wanting to impress a date with a cozy atmosphere and delicious food. Although I do not drink, the wine list was incredible. My date and I loved the food and as a result we are going out on many more dates. Thanks little door!

Tags: romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous restaurant and a regular on our ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

Fabulous restaurant and a regular on our frequent LA visits. My kids love the place too and staff very attentive. Delightful food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gorgeous place!!!!

Dined on April 16, 2016

We had such a great meal and time. The service was the best I have ever had and the food was out of this world. My boyfriend and I were both celebrating big moments in our lives so it just made for a perfect evening dining here :)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic Date NIght

Dined on April 9, 2016

We've been in kitchen remodel limbo for months, cooking on a camp stove in the garage and baking in a microwave/convection oven in the dining room. We cook too well to squander money on just grabbing a bite, but find many of the local trendy restaurants are more about the scene than the food. The Little Door was delightful. The back room was comfy yet dressy, with a friendly gas log fire in the back corner. Our server was polite and knowledgeable, and just the right degree of attentive. The rest of the wait staff coordinated well with him, and the meal was a complete pleasure. We'd been to the Little Next Door for after work meals. This was a nice and not terribly expensive step up. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing. Between two we ordered the car ...

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

Amazing. Between two we ordered the carrot soup, octopus starter, duck, an lamb. Every dish was beautifully presented and DELICIOUS. Ambience is so romantic and sweet. Additionally, we loved the wine we had with dinner and asked the host as we walked out if he could write down the name for us. He did us one better -- walked us next door to their sister cafe and checked if they had the bottle in stock (they did!). Could not recommend more highly.

food2
ambience5
service5
value2

overcooked fish, overpriced, overhyped

Dined on April 3, 2016

nice, romantic, but the food was eh, the prices were high

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic with amazing food!

Dined on April 3, 2016

Every dish we ordered was a ten! Appetizer, main courses, and dessert. Eclectic and romantic. A very unique find. I will definitely return soon. Amazing fantastic meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, loud customers

Dined on April 2, 2016

There are multiple sections in the restaurant, each more romantic than the last. But the diners in the front section got very loud as the night progressed. Loved everything else, absolutely stunning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Hidden gem

Dined on March 29, 2016

We loved it! It was more expensive than the places we usually go, but it was a special occasion and well worth the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fab in every possible way !

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Fab in every possible way !

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.