About The Little Door

8164 West 3rd Street
Los Angeles, CA 90048
View Larger Map

Two simple wooden doors open up to quite a buzz in an otherwise romantic courtyard, where a colorful crowd hangs at the bar and lingers at coveted patio tables. Inside, seats spread throughout the candlelit house-turned-restaurant with intimate furniture. Organic seasonal ingredients, creatively prepared and impeccably presented, characterize our unique menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary European, French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Brunch
Sunday: 10:00am - 2:30pm

Dinner
Sunday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar
Sunday - Tuesday: 6:00pm - 12:00am
Wednesday & Thursday : 6:00pm - 12:30 am
Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm - 1:30 am

Cross Street:
1 block west of Crescent Heights at La Jolla

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 951-1210

Website:
http://www.thelittledoor.com/

Entertainment:
Eclectic Ambiance Music

Parking Details:
Daytime: $6.50 per car
Evening: $8.00 per car

Executive Chef:
Nicolas T. Peter

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Lovely daytime bookings available for weddings, showers and for other celebrations.

Restaurant Photos

Pan Seared Foie Gras - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Coconut Cheesecake - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Mezze Platter - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Organic Morroccan Mint Tea - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Scallops - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Foie gras Torchon - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Vegetable Couscous - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Foie Gras Mousse - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Prime Rib - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Profiteroles - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Filet Mignon - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Potato Crusted Cod With Brussel Sprouts - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Assorted Desserts - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Chocolate Pot de Creme - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Mezze Plate - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Loup De Mer - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Beet Salad - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Nougat Glacee - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Lamb Tajine - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Pancetta Wrapped Monkfish - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Seven Vegetable Cous Cous - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Spicy Steamed Mediterranean Black Mussels - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Chef T. Nicolas Peter creates delicious options for a special $60 prix-fixe as well as upscale set menus for you to choose from. Enjoy the lovely, warm and cozy evening in our magical setting with an abundance of food, cocktails and dessert to treat your family & friends with. Tis the season!

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Come share and celebrate Christmas traditions with good food, wines and spirits at one of the most celebrated holiday spots in Los Angeles. Chef T Nicolas Peter prepares all the holiday season's favorites for you to indulge in: lobster, foie gras, boar ravioli, truffles and more!

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Celebrate the New Year and our 20th Anniversary at The Little Door with a Roaring 20's New Year's Party that will surely bring the house down. Seating is limited and will sell out! Make your reservation today!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

As you enter The Little Door, you’ll discover a hidden paradise, colorful crowd, romantic courtyard, and elegant displays of rustic Mediterranean cuisine.

The Little Door Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Best Ambiance
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Romantic
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Best Restaurants in West Hollywood ›

Romantic (52)
Special Occasion (49)
Good for a Date (40)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Cozy (23)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Authentic (16)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Fun (12)
Casual (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Scenic View (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
People Watching (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Business Meals (4)
Fireplace (4)
Healthy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Seasonal (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Family Style (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Live Music (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Private Room (1)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1393 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was like stepping into a different wo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

It was like stepping into a different world. Food was fantastic for a fair price. Service was great. My date and I never had to ask once for our water glasses to be refilled.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful environment. Excellent food. I ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Beautiful environment. Excellent food. I have tried their brunch before and it was great! Their dinner menu are good as well. We have a wonderful moment enjoyed our Thanksgiving dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My mother and I visited this restaurant ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

My mother and I visited this restaurant for the first time for Thanksgiving Dinner. The ambiance, service, and food were great. We had the 3 course dinner special, Seabass main course. It was delicious and cooked perfectly! High qualify food all around, great value; and memorable experience. We'll definitely be returning!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was very good, ambiance and service ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Food was very good, ambiance and service were perfect. the bartender knows his stuff too! Ideal place for special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

オススメされた料理は最高に美味しかった。

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 22, 2016

オススメされた料理は最高に美味しかった。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a great place to go on a date, spe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

It is a great place to go on a date, special occasion or just to have a romantic dinner with that special someone. The food was good, desert was amazing!!! We had chocolate sufle, and creme brulee and both were amazing.

I would definately go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been going there for years. It's be ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I've been going there for years. It's beautiful inside, the food is always amazing. A secret hot spot for L.A. folks 'in the know. Reservations are a must!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Un endroit fort sympathique et des mets ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Un endroit fort sympathique et des mets excellents.

Tags: Amusant, Santé, Une vue pittoresque, Chaleureux
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is by far one of the loveliest rest ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 18, 2016

This is by far one of the loveliest restaurants we have ever been to. You are enveloped under bougainvillea and sparkly lights above and transcending French music. Our server, Olivier was funny, attentive, helpful.

We enjoyed the smoked fish platter as a starter and the lamb chops for entree.

It was a blissfully romantic evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing birthday date with my boyfriend! ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Amazing birthday date with my boyfriend! The waiter Oliver was very inviting and he served us very well. We had such a good time, a fancy place with awesome food. definitely worth the try!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful atmosphere and delicious entre ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere and delicious entree. Staff was very accommodating with not only my ignorance in wines but my passionate love for candles. Highly recommend for special occasions or last meals

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as expected! My third time there, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Great as expected! My third time there, and won't be the last.

Tags: Comfort Food, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

i was expecting more. ambience was good, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 14, 2016

i was expecting more. ambience was good, food was overpriced and tasted so-so. but the waitress was great. she was very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Great experience but must have patio sea ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great experience but must have patio seating next time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service! From the host to the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Wonderful service! From the host to the bartender to the waitstaff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambiance, service, and the food was ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The ambiance, service, and the food was very good. Based on the description we expected the food to be French with a Mediterranean flair but it had strong Persian flavors which was tasty but not what we guessed it would be. Also, the lighting is quite dark so it is hard to read the menu and see the food you are eating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The Little Door is a great place. But yo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The Little Door is a great place. But you need to micromanage the food and the timing. Some food comes out cold some food comes out warm. If you do if you do not address the salt issue the food will be heavily salted.

The bigger problem is we have a Open Table reservation and we were not suited for 45 minutes after that time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

excellent food,great service ,ambiance & ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

excellent food,great service ,ambiance & great menu with many options -delicious desserts

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place has changed, a little too noi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This place has changed, a little too noisy and cramped for a romantic dinner. More of a Hotspot for trendies and locals. It could have been the room we were seated in, maybe one of the other themed rooms was a better setting, not sure. The food could've been better too. The wine and dessert was good though but that's not too hard to do. The bar in the patio area seemed to be happening, not sure if that's a usual thing or just people waiting for seating. Not sure if I'd go back.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Average experience overall. The mixed ta ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Average experience overall. The mixed tapas appetizer was delicious. We were disappointed with the main course. Nice ambience but over-crowded.

Tags: Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Perfect night. Food was great. Service w ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Perfect night. Food was great. Service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Your place And your service very nice. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Your place And your service very nice. We love there

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very romantic

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Very romantic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was perfectly prepared. My husb ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was perfectly prepared. My husband had duck and I had scallops, two of the most difficult items to prepare without overcooking. The flavors were outstanding, with the scallops served on shaved fennel and a beautifully presented eggplant accompaniment. The duck was tender, not fatty, and very flavorful.

The patio is gorgeous, with a rustic feel to it, making the setting appear to be in the country.

Although the prices are just a bit high, we received good value and were very satisfied. The only negative comment (and it's a small one) is that the French bread had no flavor.

We'll definitely return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Thursday's they have live art corner so ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Thursday's they have live art corner so cool. Amazing food and service, the cutest date spot 😍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a wonderful hidden oasis in LA. Cel ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 27, 2016

What a wonderful hidden oasis in LA. Celebrated our 3 year wedding anniversary here - food, atmosphere, and service were Amazing! We will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely special occasion dinner. We enjoy ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Lovely special occasion dinner. We enjoyed our meal at a patio table. I did think our meal was a little expensive compared to comparable restaurants and the noise level was on the edge of being uncomfortable, though the restaurant was only 2/3 full. The service was pleasant, and efficient. I would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We went to the "Little Door" for our An ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We went to the "Little Door" for our Anniversary because the reviews were good! We were disappointed to be met by very loud music like a bar scene at 6:45 upon our arrival.. I had noted that we were hard of hearing and preferred a quiet table so that we might hear each other..The Hostess placed us in a situation back to back with a table of guys and told us that the back was closed,,Prior to our receiving any food she began placing people where we had been told it was not open..We asked to be moved and waited for food service. Our waiter was lovely but service very slow. My fish was inedible and not like any sea bass fillet I have ever encountered! Th fish would not release from he skin and was like rubber! The brussel sprouts were so under cooked the fork would not penetrate the sprout! My Husband enjoyed his pork chop as well as the appetizer and our waiter did everything he could including removing the fish from the bill and giving us a plethora of desserts! Sorry but whover cooked my dish ,obviously, either had bad fish or no experience or interest in preparing it and did not know how to prepare Brussel Sprouts so that they would be edible. Lovely waiter, fabulous Husband, so the evening was not a total loss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Great experience! Very romantic! Food wa ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Great experience! Very romantic! Food was terrific!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Consistently delivers across the board i ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Consistently delivers across the board in quality of food ,service and wine selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this place! The ambience is amaz ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 24, 2016

I love this place!

The ambience is amazing, good food, good service. The spot is so lovely!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Absolutely loved The Little Door. I will ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Absolutely loved The Little Door. I will definitely be coming back. Great ambience, excellent food, & live artists as entertainment. Overall, incredibly cool.

Tags: Live Music, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice service and food

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Nice service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. A little too dar ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great food and service. A little too dark, hard hard time reading the menus and hard to see the food well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a charming restaurant and well w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 18, 2016

This is a charming restaurant and well worth a visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Was fairly happy with my experience at t ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Was fairly happy with my experience at the little door. It's a beautiful space, and during brunch they have live music to set great ambiance there.

The food was good but for the area of town it's in, by no means exceptional either. We started our meal with the kale and artichoke salad which was very good.

My wife ordered the filet mignon Benedict which was my favorite thing I tasted. My mother in law ordered the duck confit which equally was good but seemed to lack that punch (and salt) that the steak had. My only issue with the meal was that they had forgotten my waffle.

I ordered a waffle, and even though we were literally the only table there when we arrived and ordered, they still forgot. When it arrive it was good, it had a generous amount of berries and cream. The maple syrup is smoked and really tasty.

Service was great, waitress let me know they made a mistake in the kitchen which I appreciated. Our waters were always filled. Overall a good experience with a few minor hiccups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Had a great dinner with good friends. At ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Had a great dinner with good friends. Atmosphere and food were fantastic and more! Service exemplary.

Pricey but worth the treat!

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the third time I have been to Th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 11, 2016

This is the third time I have been to The Little Door and I am always reminded, as to why I love it so much. It's perfect for a date you want to impress or a romantic anniversary. I love the ambience of the place.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Lovely patio, friendly service and very ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Lovely patio, friendly service and very inviting patio. We also enjoyed the live music which blended very well with the great outdoor setting.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The place was pretty nice. It has a roma ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The place was pretty nice. It has a romantic atmosphere to it. The service was ok. However, I received a phone call saying we didn't pay for our dinner. We paid in cash and left 18% tips on the table, but they assumed that we didnt. That kind of irritate me and my boyfriend. At least we didn't have to drive all the way back to la to settle it because he apologizes a few seconds later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.