About The Little Door

8164 West 3rd Street
Los Angeles, CA 90048
View Larger Map

Two simple wooden doors open up to quite a buzz in an otherwise romantic courtyard, where a colorful crowd hangs at the bar and lingers at coveted patio tables. Inside, seats spread throughout the candlelit house-turned-restaurant with intimate furniture. Organic seasonal ingredients, creatively prepared and impeccably presented, characterize our unique menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary European, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Brunch
Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:30pm

Dinner
Sunday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar
Sunday - Tuesday: 6:00pm - 12:00am
Wednesday & Thursday : 6:00pm - 12:30 am
Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm - 1:30 am

Cross Street:
1 block west of Crescent Heights at La Jolla

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 951-1210

Website:
http://www.thelittledoor.com/

Entertainment:
Eclectic Ambiance Music

Catering:
Off-site catering available in full service including ambiance design and party planning for any number of guests up to a few thousand as well as take-out and delivery. Visit www.thelittledoor.com and click the catering link to view menu options.

Parking Details:
$8.00

Executive Chef:
Nicolas T. Peter

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Lovely daytime bookings available for weddings, showers and for other celebrations.

Restaurant Photos

Pan Seared Foie Gras
Coconut Cheesecake
Mezze Platter
Organic Morroccan Mint Tea
Scallops
Foie gras Torchon
Vegetable Couscous
Foie Gras Mousse
Prime Rib
Profiteroles
Filet Mignon
Potato Crusted Cod With Brussel Sprouts
Assorted Desserts
Chocolate Pot de Creme
Mezze Plate
Loup De Mer
Beet Salad
Nougat Glacee
Lamb Tajine
Pancetta Wrapped Monkfish
Seven Vegetable Cous Cous
Spicy Steamed Mediterranean Black Mussels

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 6:00PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

As you enter The Little Door, you’ll discover a hidden paradise, colorful crowd, romantic courtyard, and elegant displays of rustic Mediterranean cuisine.

The Little Door Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Los Angeles
French
Los Angeles
Best Ambiance
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
2 More
Romantic
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Best Restaurants in Beverly / Fairfax / La Brea / Third St. ›

Romantic (123)
Special Occasion (109)
Fit for Foodies (79)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (75)
Neighborhood Gem (55)
Notable Wine List (41)
Hot Spot (39)
Good for Groups (33)
Late-night Find (21)
Great for Brunch (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Scenic View (10)
Great for Lunch (7)
Kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1325 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We enjoyed our experience at The Little ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 7 days ago

We enjoyed our experience at The Little Door (after we stood out front trying to figure out how to get in.) The entry was a bit of a mystery with no signage out front, but that added intrigue to the experience. The bartender was fabulous, and we had a great time chatting with him before being seated. We had heard this was a French restaurant, so we were surprised to see that the menu was French Moroccan, with some very interesting dishes. The large appetizer plate was incredible, but be forewarned...I was so full after splitting it with my husband that I declined to order an entrée. Would have loved to experience more of the food, but just didn't have the room!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely beautiful restaurant. Tucked ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 7 days ago

Absolutely beautiful restaurant. Tucked away off of Third, this place feels like no where else in LA. Food was good, some things were really amazing (burrata peach salad!!) and the rest was certainly good, if not great. Such a lovely evening with great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular setting in the patio with wo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 7 days ago

Spectacular setting in the patio with wonderful service and food. Once you walk thru the unmarked "Little Door" the magic begins.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a beautiful gem in LA. Great cockt ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Such a beautiful gem in LA. Great cocktails and food. Romantic garden atmosphere. The service is always impeccable without being stiff or formal. Had a slight snafu with our reservation, but Manager Michael Gannon took care of us and turned it around with a smile and a great attitude. Kudos to bartender Kurk (sp?) as well, kept us happy while waiting for our table.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We are french and so we used to taste go ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We are french and so we used to taste good restaurant... The little door is amazing place in the Heart of West Hollywood.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely love this restaurant. The fo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Absolutely love this restaurant. The food is fantastic and the atmosphere is second to none in LA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

We had a beautiful table for our Anniver ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We had a beautiful table for our Anniversary and they made us a special chocolate Happy Anniversary chocolate desert!

Thank You for a special night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite special occa ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This is one of our favorite special occasion places. Intimate ambiance, A+ service, and absolutely delicious food.

Favorite dish not to be missed is the Mezze plate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a favorite! Ordered the mezzo pl ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always a favorite!

Ordered the mezzo plate, the lamb couscous and Sea bass.

Portions are big so come hungry and I recommend sharing!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful ambience, cool & hip atmosphe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Beautiful ambience, cool & hip atmosphere and delicious food! An expensive but definitely nice experience!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Make sure you reserve a table under the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Make sure you reserve a table under the open air section. I let us get tucked in a corner and regret it. It's so beautiful by the fountain.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attentive staff, excellent service. Alwa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Attentive staff, excellent service. Always a favorite. I've been coming here over a decade for special occasions, and catch ups. It still is magical, and teh food is great quality. The wine selections are amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great decor and the food was outstanding ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great decor and the food was outstanding. Great for date nights or just dining with friends. The duck and scallops were exquisite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful restaurant. The setting, with ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Wonderful restaurant. The setting, with it's flower-filled patio and roof, Moroccan-inspired fountains and furniture, and wonderful North African music, is about as pretty as any restaurant I've seen.

Our brunch was equally fantastic. The smoked fish platter was huge, easily enough for two people. It had an astonishingly high quality and diversity of fish. The burrata, peach and heirloom tomato salad was exactly the type of California summer food everyone should be serving. Same goes for the prosciutto-wrapped figs. We look forward to returning and sampling a lot more of the menu.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two little doors hide the entry to this ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Two little doors hide the entry to this great spot. Entry area seating is beautiful at night, with overhanging lighting. The back room is dark and lends itself to a romantic night. Food was excellent... try the seared Foie Gras appetizer - it's rich, but awesome! Our main courses (Rib Eye & Lamb) were perfectly prepared. The help was very attentive, in particular Brigitte was great fun.

Overall a bit pricey, but well worth it for a special night.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome place for food, service and ambi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Awesome place for food, service and ambience! I travel a lot and entertain even more....this is one of my all time favorites! Excellent food, service and awesome vibe. have never had a bad experience.

Cheers!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

You bar staff was amazing I was very di ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

You bar staff was amazing I was very disappointed with the waitress that night very rude, after is was my boyfriend birthday.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

so pretty and the lamb was on point! Th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

so pretty and the lamb was on point! The drinks were also very good. It is a bit expensive but for a good occasion, I most def recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place food was top notch atmospher ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great place food was top notch atmosphere was very romantic & peaceful , have to come back for dinner here soon !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious brunch. A great twist on regul ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Delicious brunch. A great twist on regular meals. Everything was fresh and the service was top notch! The ambience is indescribable- a hidden secret in LA!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place reminds me of those quaint pl ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This place reminds me of those quaint places you might see somewhere in the Mediterranean. The service was very nice and all the staff were personable. The food was wonderful. My only mild disagreement is the corkage fee and the desserts are a bit outdated. Otherwise we'll be back. Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Little Door is a unique dining exper ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The Little Door is a unique dining experience with a lovely and unique ambiance, that provides an opportunity to dine in an indoor/outdoor setting. The music was moderated so that you could actually have an intimate conversation with your guest. The only disappointment was that the bottle of wine ordered was overpriced, at $85 for the mediocre quality.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

ENJOYED MY DINNER AT THE LITTLE DOOR. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

ENJOYED MY DINNER AT THE LITTLE DOOR. THE MEZZE APPETIZER HAS TERRIFIC FLAVORING ON A VARIETY OF VEGETARIAN ITEMS. NOTHING OVERPOWERED THE OTHER ITEMS ON THE PLATE. I HAD A GREAT ROSTED CHICKEN AND PARTNER HAD THE PRE-FIXE MEAL WITH A GREAT MUSHROOM PASTA. TERRIFIC MMINT TEA AT END OF MEAL. SATISFIED TO THE MAX

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely loved the place! Food was gr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Absolutely loved the place! Food was great but a bit pricey compared to other fine dining restaurants and in relation to the location. Overall, well worth it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server could be more warm and engagi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Our server could be more warm and engaging. He was not as attentive as our previous servers and didn't seem to care much about our table. Overall, our experience was wonderful in other aspects during our dining except for the service from our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Our entree took awhile to come, but the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our entree took awhile to come, but the manager comp'd us a dinela meal. That was a very nice gesture. We enjoyed our food greatly. Service and ambience was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is the place you would like to retu ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This is the place you would like to return to try more dishes.

All ingredients are very fresh and tasty. They know how to leverage the strength of each ingredients with simple or complex flavor for each meals.

The atmosphere is very relax and comfortable but also makes you feel in somewhere special.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We wanted to like The Little Door, we re ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We wanted to like The Little Door, we really did. The food was generally superb -- for instance, the grilled octopus appetizer was perfectly cooked with a wonderfully complementary pesto aioli and the lamb shank was clearly a labor of love. However, both our desserts were hugely disappointing, and the consistently sluggish service turned the final third (of a nearly three-hour meal that would have been just fine after two) into an endurance contest. Of course, we were in that lovely garden courtyard setting on a busy and unseasonably warm Friday night so the muggy environment may have affected our temperament. It's hard not be critical, though, when the bill for a basic three-course meal with a cocktail and glass of wine hits $100 per person. Simply put, in this neighborhood there are far greater value propositions within easy walking distance down Third or up Fairfax.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Excellent meal and very nice portions. A ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Excellent meal and very nice portions. Ambiance was a 10!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was there years ago for a client dinner, ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Was there years ago for a client dinner, finally got to go back with my husband for a romantic dinner. The setting can't be beat - absolutely beautiful and exotic. We had a lovely French wine. Every appetizer was a delight. For entrees, Lamb Shank Tagine and Roast Wild Salmon in saffron sauce on a bed of ratatouille - both divine. The desserts didn't quite hit the same high notes, felt uninspired next to the other courses. And the service - impeccable without being stiff or stuffy. The Little Door is an LA gem. Don't miss it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect little romantic spot. I suggest ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Perfect little romantic spot. I suggest going in the evening when it's dark enough for the hanging lights to be turned on. It feels like you're in a date scene from a movie.

The food is very well prepared and (as a Non-American I find that...) the portion sizes are reasonable, not gigantic.

All in all on of the best Dinner locations if found in LA

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not sure how we missed this place before ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Not sure how we missed this place before but definitely going back - terrific ambiance, inventive and flavorful French / Moroccan cuisine, very pleasant staff - all in all a real gem in LA!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait for the food was nearly an hour ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The wait for the food was nearly an hour and a half. The waiter did not check in regularly and the food wasn't amazing

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I cannot say enough about The Little Doo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I cannot say enough about The Little Door, the entire experience was amazing! Walking into the space from a crowded, bustling street and into an oasis of calm, beauty and elegance started the experience. Any stress immediately melted and we prepared to enjoy the most delightful of brunches. The pace of service was wonderful, unhurried and did not once feel rushed, the food, so freshly prepared was delicate and flavorful, not to mention beautifully presented. I believe there is nothing that could come out of the kitchen that would not be thoroughly enjoyable. Our server was a delight, she answered all our questions and had a very pleasant personality. Our beverages, most of us had the margarita of the day were very tasty and potent! So thank you to everyone at The Little Door, especially Kuoth, you made by birthday so special. I cannot wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants in the ci ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in the city. It is extremely charming and their staff is always excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food wasn't so good. Thy played hous ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food wasn't so good. Thy played house music and it was too loud. Nice outdoors dining.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Beautiful space. Lovely trees, lights, f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Beautiful space. Lovely trees, lights, flowers. Very romantic and inviting. Food was good. Not great. Nicely presented but just average for the price. Chocolate lava cake for dessert was disappointing. No real flavor.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

I love the Little door,took my lovely wi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I love the Little door,took my lovely wife for our 16 th anniversary. She really loved it. I would recommend to anyone for a romantic time. Service was perfect,employees are nice and kind.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went there for his birt ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

My husband and I went there for his birthday. First sat at the bar waiting for our table to get ready. The bartenders were really attentive and fun. He was very nice about my special requests. At dinner tablet the service was great. Atmosphere is very romantic, in a garden with candlelight. Feels like u r in Europe. The food was Devine and well prepared. We got fish and it was soft as butter. Desert was lava chocolate cake, very moist and right amount of sweetness. The servers were polite and attentive. Overall a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The experience I had here for a shared b ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The experience I had here for a shared birthday dinner with my friend was remarkable. The level of exceptional service demonstrated by your host, bussers, runners and our waiter was incomparable. In addition to that, our food (Seared Foie Gras, Burrata with peaches, Lamb Shank, Chocolate lava cake) was interesting, different, fresh, and most definitely well worth the price. In addition to that, the wine list was beautiful and my guest and I enjoyed a bottle of prosecco and some selection of dessert wines. Thank you for making my first experience here absolutely unforgettable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.