About The Little Door

8164 West 3rd Street
Los Angeles, CA 90048
View Larger Map

Two simple wooden doors open up to quite a buzz in an otherwise romantic courtyard, where a colorful crowd hangs at the bar and lingers at coveted patio tables. Inside, seats spread throughout the candlelit house-turned-restaurant with intimate furniture. Organic seasonal ingredients, creatively prepared and impeccably presented, characterize our unique menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary European, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Brunch
Sunday: 10:00am - 2:30pm

Dinner
Sunday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar
Sunday - Tuesday: 6:00pm - 12:00am
Wednesday & Thursday : 6:00pm - 12:30 am
Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm - 1:30 am

Cross Street:
1 block west of Crescent Heights at La Jolla

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 951-1210

Website:
http://www.thelittledoor.com/

Entertainment:
Eclectic Ambiance Music

Catering:
Off-site catering available in full service including ambiance design and party planning for any number of guests up to a few thousand as well as take-out and delivery. Visit www.thelittledoor.com and click the catering link to view menu options.

Parking Details:
$8.00

Executive Chef:
Nicolas T. Peter

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Lovely daytime bookings available for weddings, showers and for other celebrations.

Restaurant Photos

Pan Seared Foie Gras
Coconut Cheesecake
Mezze Platter
Organic Morroccan Mint Tea
Scallops
Foie gras Torchon
Vegetable Couscous
Foie Gras Mousse
Prime Rib
Profiteroles
Filet Mignon
Potato Crusted Cod With Brussel Sprouts
Assorted Desserts
Chocolate Pot de Creme
Mezze Plate
Loup De Mer
Beet Salad
Nougat Glacee
Lamb Tajine
Pancetta Wrapped Monkfish
Seven Vegetable Cous Cous
Spicy Steamed Mediterranean Black Mussels

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 6:00PM - 6:30PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

As you enter The Little Door, you’ll discover a hidden paradise, colorful crowd, romantic courtyard, and elegant displays of rustic Mediterranean cuisine.

The Little Door Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Los Angeles
Romantic
Los Angeles
French
Los Angeles
5 More
Best Overall
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Best Ambiance
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Romantic
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Special Occasion
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Best Restaurants in Beverly / Fairfax / La Brea / Third St. ›

Romantic (101)
Special Occasion (93)
Fit for Foodies (66)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (63)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Notable Wine List (33)
Hot Spot (32)
Good for Groups (28)
Late-night Find (16)
Good for a Date (14)
Great for Brunch (14)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Scenic View (10)
Cozy (8)
Great for Lunch (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Fun (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Casual (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Authentic (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1343 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Three words that best describe this Fren ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

Three words that best describe this French-Moroccan-Mediterranean date spot - aromatic, exotic and romantic!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

everything awesome. very European charm. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

everything awesome. very European charm. cant beat it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been coming here for 6 years and al ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

I've been coming here for 6 years and always recommend the place to friends from both overseas and local. Love it.

Had a great and very service minded waiter - Thank you.

The food is always amazing and tasteful. Love the vibe and little garden. Cozy all together.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good and the service was ou ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

The food was good and the service was outstanding! We love the atmosphere - a romantic, green oasis in the middle of the city!!

Tags: Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated my boyfriend's birthday he ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We celebrated my boyfriend's birthday here. Everything about this place deserves a 10/10. The service, decor and food. It is a beautifully decorated place, dim lighting for a romantic atmosphere. The food was divine. We devoured each plate including our appetizer, entree and dessert. Definitely coming back for our next special occasion. And I can't wait!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at the Little Do ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This was our first time at the Little Door and we loved it. Delicious food, great music and cool vibe and atmosphere. We will defiantely be back soon.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The ambiance of The Little Door cannot b ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The ambiance of The Little Door cannot be beat. A real escape from the city in a Morrocan french atmosphere. The service was wonderful and helpful. The 3 course prix fixed dinner was a value and everything was delicious.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely dinner. we were pleased with pre ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Lovely dinner. we were pleased with pretty much everything, food, service, table....

def. One to return to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magical place, it is so beautiful. Bar a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Magical place, it is so beautiful. Bar area is very cool too. Overall the place has a romantic setting, and perfect for a date. Service was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went here at the suggestion of a few o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

I went here at the suggestion of a few of my friends- who I considered to have good taste. I was very impressed. It's quiet. The ambiance is wonderful. The food was excellent. I had the ribeye, fois gras, duck, and tuna tartar. It was all tasty! The waiter was very polite- and one of the most professional I have encountered. My date was impressed too. Would def recommend!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were excited to try this place! Love ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We were excited to try this place! Love the entry door, ambience in front of restaurant is energetic and fun. We were sat in back room, much quieter, good area for couples! Waitress was great not intrusive and helpful, and there at the rights times! Started with prosciutto wrapped figs, great! I had chicken dish - WOW!!!! Husband had Duck, big portion. He said leg was very tender & good but, breast portion a little chewy, tough. Although, the dish was still good. He said he would try the lamb dish when we return. Had creme Brûlée and coconut cheesecake, both great. Corkage is $35, high. After dinner we proceeded to front of restaurant to the bar to hang out. Loved the energy. We had a great time and really enjoyed this neighborhood gem. We will be back! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Service and food Very good

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Service and food Very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Tables were so close to each other that ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Tables were so close to each other that it was easy for people to eavesdrop and it was hard to move around. Overall it was a good experience still.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent service. Delicious food. Great ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent service. Delicious food. Great wine selection. Nice atmosphere. One of the best dining spots I've been to in Los Angeles.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food. Gotten a little price ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Outstanding food. Gotten a little pricey and a bit louder...still love this classic LA eatery.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Staff was helpful and non-intrusive with ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Staff was helpful and non-intrusive without being absentee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great. Great atmosphere and foo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Always great. Great atmosphere and food is always perfect.

Tags: Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

CUTE LITTLE INDOOR/OUTDOOR FRONT SECTION ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

CUTE LITTLE INDOOR/OUTDOOR FRONT SECTION & BAR, THEN QUIET MORROCCAN ROOM AT BACK - ALMOST LIKE TWO DIFFERENT RESTAURANTS. VERY FRIENDLY, ATTENTIVE BARTENDERS AND WAIT STAFF. FRONT HOST NOT AS FRIENDLY. FOOD WAS GREAT!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed our experience at The Little ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We enjoyed our experience at The Little Door (after we stood out front trying to figure out how to get in.) The entry was a bit of a mystery with no signage out front, but that added intrigue to the experience. The bartender was fabulous, and we had a great time chatting with him before being seated. We had heard this was a French restaurant, so we were surprised to see that the menu was French Moroccan, with some very interesting dishes. The large appetizer plate was incredible, but be forewarned...I was so full after splitting it with my husband that I declined to order an entrée. Would have loved to experience more of the food, but just didn't have the room!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely beautiful restaurant. Tucked ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Absolutely beautiful restaurant. Tucked away off of Third, this place feels like no where else in LA. Food was good, some things were really amazing (burrata peach salad!!) and the rest was certainly good, if not great. Such a lovely evening with great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular setting in the patio with wo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Spectacular setting in the patio with wonderful service and food. Once you walk thru the unmarked "Little Door" the magic begins.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a beautiful gem in LA. Great cockt ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Such a beautiful gem in LA. Great cocktails and food. Romantic garden atmosphere. The service is always impeccable without being stiff or formal. Had a slight snafu with our reservation, but Manager Michael Gannon took care of us and turned it around with a smile and a great attitude. Kudos to bartender Kurk (sp?) as well, kept us happy while waiting for our table.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We are french and so we used to taste go ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We are french and so we used to taste good restaurant... The little door is amazing place in the Heart of West Hollywood.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely love this restaurant. The fo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Absolutely love this restaurant. The food is fantastic and the atmosphere is second to none in LA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

We had a beautiful table for our Anniver ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We had a beautiful table for our Anniversary and they made us a special chocolate Happy Anniversary chocolate desert!

Thank You for a special night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite special occa ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This is one of our favorite special occasion places. Intimate ambiance, A+ service, and absolutely delicious food.

Favorite dish not to be missed is the Mezze plate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a favorite! Ordered the mezzo pl ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always a favorite!

Ordered the mezzo plate, the lamb couscous and Sea bass.

Portions are big so come hungry and I recommend sharing!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful ambience, cool & hip atmosphe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Beautiful ambience, cool & hip atmosphere and delicious food! An expensive but definitely nice experience!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Make sure you reserve a table under the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Make sure you reserve a table under the open air section. I let us get tucked in a corner and regret it. It's so beautiful by the fountain.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attentive staff, excellent service. Alwa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Attentive staff, excellent service. Always a favorite. I've been coming here over a decade for special occasions, and catch ups. It still is magical, and teh food is great quality. The wine selections are amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great decor and the food was outstanding ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great decor and the food was outstanding. Great for date nights or just dining with friends. The duck and scallops were exquisite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful restaurant. The setting, with ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Wonderful restaurant. The setting, with it's flower-filled patio and roof, Moroccan-inspired fountains and furniture, and wonderful North African music, is about as pretty as any restaurant I've seen.

Our brunch was equally fantastic. The smoked fish platter was huge, easily enough for two people. It had an astonishingly high quality and diversity of fish. The burrata, peach and heirloom tomato salad was exactly the type of California summer food everyone should be serving. Same goes for the prosciutto-wrapped figs. We look forward to returning and sampling a lot more of the menu.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two little doors hide the entry to this ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Two little doors hide the entry to this great spot. Entry area seating is beautiful at night, with overhanging lighting. The back room is dark and lends itself to a romantic night. Food was excellent... try the seared Foie Gras appetizer - it's rich, but awesome! Our main courses (Rib Eye & Lamb) were perfectly prepared. The help was very attentive, in particular Brigitte was great fun.

Overall a bit pricey, but well worth it for a special night.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome place for food, service and ambi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Awesome place for food, service and ambience! I travel a lot and entertain even more....this is one of my all time favorites! Excellent food, service and awesome vibe. have never had a bad experience.

Cheers!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

You bar staff was amazing I was very di ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

You bar staff was amazing I was very disappointed with the waitress that night very rude, after is was my boyfriend birthday.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

so pretty and the lamb was on point! Th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

so pretty and the lamb was on point! The drinks were also very good. It is a bit expensive but for a good occasion, I most def recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place food was top notch atmospher ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great place food was top notch atmosphere was very romantic & peaceful , have to come back for dinner here soon !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious brunch. A great twist on regul ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Delicious brunch. A great twist on regular meals. Everything was fresh and the service was top notch! The ambience is indescribable- a hidden secret in LA!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place reminds me of those quaint pl ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This place reminds me of those quaint places you might see somewhere in the Mediterranean. The service was very nice and all the staff were personable. The food was wonderful. My only mild disagreement is the corkage fee and the desserts are a bit outdated. Otherwise we'll be back. Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Little Door is a unique dining exper ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The Little Door is a unique dining experience with a lovely and unique ambiance, that provides an opportunity to dine in an indoor/outdoor setting. The music was moderated so that you could actually have an intimate conversation with your guest. The only disappointment was that the bottle of wine ordered was overpriced, at $85 for the mediocre quality.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.