About The Little Door

8164 West 3rd Street
Los Angeles, CA 90048
View Larger Map

Two simple wooden doors open up to quite a buzz in an otherwise romantic courtyard, where a colorful crowd hangs at the bar and lingers at coveted patio tables. Inside, seats spread throughout the candlelit house-turned-restaurant with intimate furniture. Organic seasonal ingredients, creatively prepared and impeccably presented, characterize our unique menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary European, French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Brunch
Sunday: 10:00am - 2:30pm

Dinner
Sunday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Bar
Sunday - Tuesday: 6:00pm - 12:00am
Wednesday & Thursday : 6:00pm - 12:30 am
Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm - 1:30 am

Cross Street:
1 block west of Crescent Heights at La Jolla

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 951-1210

Website:
http://www.thelittledoor.com/

Entertainment:
Eclectic Ambiance Music

Parking Details:
Daytime: $6.50 per car
Evening: $8.00 per car

Executive Chef:
Nicolas T. Peter

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Lovely daytime bookings available for weddings, showers and for other celebrations.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Pan Seared Foie Gras - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Coconut Cheesecake - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Mezze Platter - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Organic Morroccan Mint Tea - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Scallops - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Foie gras Torchon - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Vegetable Couscous - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Foie Gras Mousse - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Prime Rib - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Profiteroles - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Filet Mignon - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Potato Crusted Cod With Brussel Sprouts - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Assorted Desserts - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Chocolate Pot de Creme - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Mezze Plate - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Loup De Mer - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Beet Salad - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Nougat Glacee - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Lamb Tajine - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Pancetta Wrapped Monkfish - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Seven Vegetable Cous Cous - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA
Spicy Steamed Mediterranean Black Mussels - The Little Door, Los Angeles, CA

Specials

DINE L.A. WINTER 2017

Special valid Jan 13, 2017 - Jan 27, 2017 all week from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

DINE L.A. WINTER 2017

Special valid Jan 13, 2017 - Jan 27, 2017 all week from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Chef T. Nicolas Peter has created a menu sure to dazzle the senses! Feast on crowd-pleasing dishes like our Duck Foie Gras Mousse Terrine, Grilled Marinated White Sea Bass or indulge your sweet tooth with our Coconut Cheesecake!. Excludes Tax and Tip. MAKE YOUR RESERVATION NOW!. Special valid Jan 13, 2017 - Jan 27, 2017 all week from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

The Little Door Presents "XOXO" A Celebration of Love. Three Delectable Courses by Chef T. Nicolas Peter. With live music by "Ipanema Lounge Project"
150 per person | reservations only
contact the restaurant directly for reservations

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

As you enter The Little Door, you’ll discover a hidden paradise, colorful crowd, romantic courtyard, and elegant displays of rustic Mediterranean cuisine.

The Little Door Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (43)
Special Occasion (38)
Good for a Date (38)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Cozy (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Authentic (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Hot Spot (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Fun (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Casual (7)
People Watching (6)
Scenic View (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Healthy (5)
Fireplace (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Business Meals (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Tapas (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Family Style (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Live Music (2)
Private Room (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1484 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was decent and the bartender wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was decent and the bartender was the best!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Josh, one of the bartenders, as absolute ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Josh, one of the bartenders, as absolutely fantastic. Great wine selection, food and service is always spot on.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A romantic and very quaint place. Good f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

A romantic and very quaint place. Good food and great service.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome restaurant. Beautiful decor and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Awesome restaurant. Beautiful decor and atmosphere. Glad to have been able to try this little gen. And the service staff was awesome. Very polite, courteous, and friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my third time eating here and th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This is my third time eating here and the restaurant is quick becoming a favorite! Great service and excellent food top the best feature- the amazing ambiance. I love the courtyard lighting and the intimate spaces at the back are great for groups. Thank you to the restaurant for making my friend's surprise birthday a success too. They went out of their way to help accommodate our large group of 10.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great, romantic dinner with my par ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Had a great, romantic dinner with my partner. He loved it the most.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service and food was amazing. One of ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 9, 2017

The service and food was amazing. One of my favorite restaurants in LA and I have been here many times. Highly recommend for romantic and intimate dinners. Their event manager Diane is an absolute pleasure to work with for private events as well.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If your dining experience is about renti ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

If your dining experience is about renting a table in a nice space with low lights and twinkly atmosphere, this is for you. If your palate is a little advanced and the food is important, go elsewhere. I've been wanting to try this place after reading reviews. The fois gras was dry and well done if you can imagine, with a sugary napoleon take. The fish - meh. Double meh. No flavor. A foodie friend from San Francisco was in LA and I thought I could take her to a good restaurant. Aargh...San Francisco wins again. Expensive and disappointing.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

We decided to try for our anniversary an ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We decided to try for our anniversary and it was excellent food and service!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Cocktails food and service was great. Th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Cocktails food and service was great. They did get our order wrong which meant I had my main first but they did put a rush on my wife's order and all was ok in the end. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Nice environment, beautiful set up, good ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Nice environment, beautiful set up, good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is beautiful and romantic fo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This place is beautiful and romantic for a date. I went with my wife to celebrate our anniversary and couldn't be any more happy I chose to take her here. Food was delicious and got more than what we expected. The price is good and worth every penny on our entrees. I highly recommend the Mediterranean appetizer :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fish was dry and not very good

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Fish was dry and not very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Really enjoyed our visit! Wonderful cock ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Really enjoyed our visit! Wonderful cocktails and setting. I felt like we were on a romantic getaway to Paris. Steak was a bit tough but enjoyed the fish. Tarte tatin was excellent. Highly recommend for a romantic atmosphere and enjoyable cocktails (especially the Cucumber Martini--very well done).

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The place was overall great. The reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The place was overall great. The reviews online said that the ambiance is great for date. I definitely agree but it really depends on where you sit. The tables we got were good, but not great. I would recommend sitting in the front for better ambiance. For more privacy and intimacy, back of the restaurant is good, but the ambiance is bit "Eh". I personally thought that the place would be great for 4 ppl group (double date maybe). We got the service we expected in a place like this. I give this place a thumbs up and I would most likely come back for a second try.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I came to the Little Door for Christmas ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I came to the Little Door for Christmas dinner this year. I had the octopus and the sea bass, he had the scallops and the quail. The octopus was perfectly cooked, but a little cold. The scallops also had god flavor, but were also lukewarm. The sea bass was very well done! I don't eat poultry so I didn't try his. For dessert, we split the coconut cheesecake, which was lighter than New York style and absolutely delicious! Overall, it was a good meal but the service was rather lackluster, probably at the higher end price wise for the overall experience. I would return, but wouldn't make a special trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

We had a wonderful Christmas Eve dinner. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had a wonderful Christmas Eve dinner. The food was so delicious, I especially enjoyed the squash tart on the salad. A special touch was the tea served with dessert! Very romantic atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had the Christmas Eve pre fix meal, t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had the Christmas Eve pre fix meal, the drinks were decent not my favorite. Nothing stood out or called me they didn't have too many holiday drinks, just the usual cocktails you see many places. The seared scallops were the highlight, the molten lava cake was just okay for desert nothing over the top, & the Chilean sea bass was light and refreshing. I would go somewhere else next year but the service was good, and the food was decent, the ambience is the best part of the overall experience! It was crowded and loud but it was always peaceful with the dimmed lighting, leather menus, silver tea kettles after dinner & the candle light at the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Nice place tucked away behind the little ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Nice place tucked away behind the little door. Food was quite good, I had the tagatelle with porcini mushrooms, spinach, and artichokes, yum! We didn't get to try as much on the menu as we were quite full but people around us all seems happy. Great ambiance in the garden I would try to be seated there if possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Overrated Food was cold Service was al ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Overrated

Food was cold

Service was aloof

Will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Had an incredible meal here. I had the r ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Had an incredible meal here. I had the rack of lamb and my girlfriend had the quail, both excellent. We started with the goat cheese and beet dish. Service was impeccable, prompt and tactful, had great suggestions. Food was truly out of this world. And, certainly, the most romantic restaurant I'd ever been to (without feeling extravagant -- I mean genuinely romantic, not hallmark-romantic).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only thing that bothered me was wait ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The only thing that bothered me was waitress asking me whether I want money back on my cash paid check... amount was 247.00 and I paid 300 and it was very inconsiderate of your waitress to ask for it.... I said "NO" in response, but it does not serve right for a establishment like your to employ a person of this caliber at your staff... hope you will adress this issue at your conviniance...

By the way the food was exceptionally satisfactory....

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

We had heard and read a number of good t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had heard and read a number of good things about the Little Door. Unfortunately, we were disappointed by our experience and won't be back. While the food was average/fine, the atmosphere was lacking, owing to the table we were given in the extreme back of the restaurant, against the back wall of the kitchen. If you do go, I would wait, cajole, do whatever you can to be seated in the front courtyard/covered patio, near the bar. Otherwise, best to try somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

A marvellous place for a quiet romantic ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2016

A marvellous place for a quiet romantic dinner! I love the food and the charm of the wait staff!!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Worst restaurant I've never been Fo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The Worst restaurant I've never been

Food is not good I ordered chicken it was dry

And it's dark inside the restaurant I couldn't see things clearly

Not worth for the price

I won't go this place again

Don't know how the get 4 star on yelp?!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

The food was amazing but the service was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 8, 2016

The food was amazing but the service was very poor. We were seated quickly but it took about 10 minutes for someone to wait on us. Afterwards, it took another 10 minutes before we were given any bread. 10 MORE minutes later our waiter returned to take our order. Once our bread was out we were never given or offered more bread. Also, it took about 25-30 minutes for us to receive our food. Meanwhile everyone around us, people that arrived later, had already received their appetizers. Our waiter never checked in with us to at least let us know our food was on the way. We waited patiently and FINALLY once our food had arrived and we were half through our meals our waiter stopped by to check in. Once it was time for dessert and to pay the tab our waiter stopped by much more frequently as if she just wanted us out of there. The service was honestly terrible, however, the food was outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

Not satisfied with food. When I ask serv ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Not satisfied with food. When I ask service persons what's good , they adviced me few and all went tasteless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Overall, good service and food. Oliver ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Overall, good service and food. Oliver was attentive and jovial. Would come back when back in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Went for the second time recently, this ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Went for the second time recently, this time with my women friends. Everyone loved the place. The atmosphere is beautiful, dark and romantic. The food is delicious, plenty to choose from. The most delicious (I'm a vegetarian) was the pappardelle. Desserts and coffee were all great too - we shared the pecan pie and creme brûlée - both to die for. You can't go wrong here.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Hot Spot, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is probably the 3rd time we have di ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 5, 2016

This is probably the 3rd time we have dined here, and it never disappoints. Service was unbelievable, food was delicious, and the ambiance, my god, the ambiance! Very interesting and totally unique decor.

Handcrafted cocktails are excellent as well.

It is a little on the pricey side, but well worth it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was like stepping into a different wo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 28, 2016

It was like stepping into a different world. Food was fantastic for a fair price. Service was great. My date and I never had to ask once for our water glasses to be refilled.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful environment. Excellent food. I ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Beautiful environment. Excellent food. I have tried their brunch before and it was great! Their dinner menu are good as well. We have a wonderful moment enjoyed our Thanksgiving dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My mother and I visited this restaurant ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

My mother and I visited this restaurant for the first time for Thanksgiving Dinner. The ambiance, service, and food were great. We had the 3 course dinner special, Seabass main course. It was delicious and cooked perfectly! High qualify food all around, great value; and memorable experience. We'll definitely be returning!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was very good, ambiance and service ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Food was very good, ambiance and service were perfect. the bartender knows his stuff too! Ideal place for special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

オススメされた料理は最高に美味しかった。

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 22, 2016

オススメされた料理は最高に美味しかった。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a great place to go on a date, spe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

It is a great place to go on a date, special occasion or just to have a romantic dinner with that special someone. The food was good, desert was amazing!!! We had chocolate sufle, and creme brulee and both were amazing.

I would definately go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been going there for years. It's be ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I've been going there for years. It's beautiful inside, the food is always amazing. A secret hot spot for L.A. folks 'in the know. Reservations are a must!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Un endroit fort sympathique et des mets ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Un endroit fort sympathique et des mets excellents.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is by far one of the loveliest rest ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 18, 2016

This is by far one of the loveliest restaurants we have ever been to. You are enveloped under bougainvillea and sparkly lights above and transcending French music. Our server, Olivier was funny, attentive, helpful.

We enjoyed the smoked fish platter as a starter and the lamb chops for entree.

It was a blissfully romantic evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

can't believe it's taken me this long to ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 17, 2016

can't believe it's taken me this long to discover this gem...wonderful atmosphere and amazing food! owner is an absolute pleasure to boot, thank you for such a lovely experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.