About The Little Dipper

138 South Front Street
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

An experience you won't find at any other restaurant in Wilmington - unique, bold and fun...Fondue! The Little Dipper's menu consists of premium meats, fresh seafood, vegetables and homemade sauces for dipping. Dip organic bread into hot melted cheddar cheese with beer, garlic and spices, prepared tableside by your server. Indulge in blackened filet with a warm au pouivre, sashimi grade tuna dipped in Asian ginger sauce or shrimp drenched in wasabi lime aioli. For dessert don't pass up strawberries dipped in milk chocolate, or bananas dipped in warm dark chocolate blended with smooth peanut butter.

The dining environment is casual and hip with bright colors and rich cherry wood. Each table is handmade with built-in electric burners where the guests cook together in one common fondue pot. Whether you are with a large group celebration or out for an intimate dinner for two, Fondue is special and different! Join us soon and get hooked!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - close
SEASONAL HOURS: Open EVERY DAY Late Spring through Early Fall 5pm for dinner

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 251-0433

Website:
http://www.littledipperfondue.com/

Entertainment:
We offer live music outside on the back deck on the weekends and special holidays (seasonal - spring/summer/fall.) Call for more detailed information.

Catering:
The Little Dipper offers onsite preparation of cheese fondue appetizers, a chocolate fondue fountain with fruits and sweets for dipping and other party platter appetizers. Fondue is our specialty although our Chef enjoys creating special dishes for parties and other occasions.

Private Party Facilities:
We have special party platters to accommodate both large and small parties including an assortment of meats, seafood and vegetarian choices.

Private Party Contact:
Kristen Gruodis: (910) 251-0433

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Little Dipper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (36)
Special Occasion (34)
Romantic (33)
See All
Fun (31)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Good for Groups (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Cozy (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Casual (11)
Authentic (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Family Style (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Business Meals (4)
Historic (4)
People Watching (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Private Room (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
1521 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food made fresh in front of us. Decor e ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Food made fresh in front of us.

Decor eclectic and fun.

Entire wait staff incredibly friendly and helpful.

Overall, this was a great dining experience!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Little Dipper never disappoints us! ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 5 days ago

The Little Dipper never disappoints us! The service was excellent as usual. John was our server on Valentine's Day and he was great! He answered all our questions, offered suggestions and was always attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time with family while eatin ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 5 days ago

Had a great time with family while eating here for Valentine's Day. Stephanie was a great server and we look forward to eating there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a Valentines date so they infla ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

This was a Valentines date so they inflated the price. First impression was horrible because of the price of the food. Which was 120 for me and my wife. Found out from a friend it was 60-$80 per couple. This place is ok, maybe fondue isn't for me. Hard for me to get past the price especially this being my only experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Everything about the meal and service wa ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything about the meal and service was good. The only bad part was that we did not receive our complimentary glass of champagne with dessert. There may have been a miscommunication with our waiter, but it didn't ruin anything about our experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was wonderful and the service w ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was wonderful and the service was excellent!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My fiancé and I went for his birthday an ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 27, 2017

My fiancé and I went for his birthday and got really great service. It was a great place to relax since we had our own little corner booth. Food was exceptional. Highly recommend the Cheddar Ale cheese.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I always love taking new people to the L ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I always love taking new people to the Little Dipper! its delicious and affordable unlike many fondue restaurants.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here for Anniversaries and ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We have been here for Anniversaries and Birthdays and have had a great time. A great location in a classic downtown building. The staff is always very knowledgeable and friendly and makes sure you have a great experience. Our favorite restaurant for fondue in Wilmington.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first trip to the Wilmingto ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This was our first trip to the Wilmington location. We were there for a birthday dinner with my wife. Had a nice quiet , intimate booth as requested. Food was outstanding and of course plentiful. Our server was outstanding with service and recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply delicious! We had a wonderful bir ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Simply delicious! We had a wonderful birthday dinner for our daughter and everyone enjoyed the food immensely. We will be back!!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a fun evening with friends! Fell in ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 15, 2017

What a fun evening with friends! Fell in love with this place! It's not just a place to go eat but a dining experience from A to Z! Our waitress was very informative and helpful with the selections. I will return soon for more fun and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fondue is marvelous and the intimate tab ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Fondue is marvelous and the intimate table settings make it a great place for a special occasion. One of our favorite places to go.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Casual,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best restaurant in Wilmingto ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This is the best restaurant in Wilmington. The menu is interesting and creative. The cocktails are very tasty, and very strong! No watered down drinks here. The prices are very reasonable for the quality of food. What sets The Little Dipper apart in a town full of great restaurants is the exceptional service. Our server, Alex, was friendly, prompt, and accommodating while possessing the important understanding of when to give diners space to enjoy the meal. Hearing we were visiting from out of town and unsure of what to do on our vacation, she put together a list of local must sees for us. She was very welcoming and sweet to our toddler son, bringing out a small plate of grapes and apples just for him before the meal. The whole staff was attentive, warm, and welcoming. We left feeling as though we made new friends in a new town. Don't miss out on this gem!

Tags: Happy Hour, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was awesome! Don't ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The food and service was awesome! Don't be the slightest bit late for your reservation, they will give your table away even if you're trying to find parking in the downtown area.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Romantic, Tapas, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The service and food were excellent! I w ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The service and food were excellent! I would highly recommend for a date night or small groups!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We came here in New Years Day. Lovely me ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We came here in New Years Day. Lovely meal. Our only complaint is they did not inform us it was only a Prix Fix menu for the holiday. We would return.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Fun, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

LOVED the Little Dipper!! We had been t ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

LOVED the Little Dipper!! We had been to its better-known competitor/chain restaurant several times in the past and definitely enjoyed it, but the Little Dipper had unique twists that made us wish we lived in Wilmington so we could be frequent customers.

The decor is playful and cozy, with narrow hallways, fun fabric stretched on canvases, modern light fixtures, and an iridescent aquarium filled with ethereal jellyfish.

We made a 5:00 reservation and were quickly seated at a corner booth with high partitions that gave us privacy and enhanced the feeling of romance. Our server was Samantha and she was WONDERFUL!! We've been to fantastic restaurants around the world, and she is up there with some of the best servers we have had.

Samantha greeted us enthusiastically and let us know that she wanted us to really enjoy our experience and to feel no need to move on to the next course before we were ready. She made a great beer recommendation for my husband, and as we made our choices for each part of the meal her suggestions truly made our meal outstanding - most notably her encouragement for us to try several of the sauces on the menu that we would not have tried otherwise. The Fontina Cheese fondue was light and delicious, and the Caribbean Jerk BBQ was FABULOUS, just like Samantha had advertised - we would have bought a bottle of it to take home if it was available! As is crucially important for fondue, the meats were perfectly prepped and fresh (and we were given great instructions for cooking times).

We probably shouldn't have gotten the "Supreme" dessert plate, but it was worth every single calorie!! The cream puffs were such a creative idea, the Oreo's were decadent, and the pound cake was beautifully moist (much better than their competitor's). Best of all was the to-die-for fondue - "Black and Tan" - dark chocolate, caramel and freshly ground Himalayan Pink salt.

A return trip to Wilmington will definitely include The Little Dipper.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food and great service. We had a wo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good food and great service. We had a wonderful evening. Thanks.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Favorite anniversary restaurant, great s ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Favorite anniversary restaurant, great spot for adults looking to have a great meal and enjoy someone's company.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Fun place. T ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent food and service. Fun place. Tuesday special cheese and chocolate fondue for $10 per person is outstanding value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our server , Patrick was awesome !

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Our server , Patrick was awesome !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was excellent, service really g ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Our meal was excellent, service really good too! Only complaint is that the restaurant was almost empty and they seated us next to a party of four who were really loud. But they quieted down once they started eating. This was a great experience, especially for one of our party who had never done a fondue dinner before. She raved about how great it was, even 2 days later! Thanks again for a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was fabulous and our server was ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was fabulous and our server was very attentive. he even ran out to find me with the rose I had accidently left behind!

I am a HUGE fan and try to reserve a table a few times a month. Tuesday is locals night and Wednesday is Ladies night. Great meal deals :)

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Original fondue was excellent; liked tha ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Original fondue was excellent; liked that it comes with a variety of bread, veggies, and fruit. Dark chocolate dessert fondue was delicious chocolate; dried apricots were hard as a rock.

Caesar salad had “too much” dressing on it and anchovies, which I usually like, were more “boney” than I remember.

Carrie provided knowledgeable and friendly, responsive service. Had to push a bit to obtain an a la carte menu, so that we could just have a cheese fondue dinner.

The overhead fan was on high at one point, and it was uncomfortably chilly until we finally requested it be turned lower (which they did).

Overall, a fun experience.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always delicious and fun Our adult chil ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Always delicious and fun

Our adult children enjoy an evening with us at the Little Dipper Wilmington yay!!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Samantha was great: knowledge ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Our server Samantha was great: knowledgeable, patient and funny

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and wonderful service!! I wou ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food and wonderful service!! I would definitely recommend The Little Dipper!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinning experience was more than- di ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Our dinning experience was more than- dinner with our neighbors! It was an event! Enjoying well made drinks, choosing our meal - learning different cooking methods, cooking the food, discussions, experiencing fondue - it is like a culture all of its own to eat at The Little Dipper! We all had a great time. Thank You!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server ALEX was phenomenal. She was ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Our server ALEX was phenomenal. She was attentive and informative. Had a great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We love this little place on ladies nigh ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We love this little place on ladies night!! Always a great time with great service. Don't forget to make a reservation - these guys and girls are popular and busy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, helpful in ordering which ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great service, helpful in ordering which was overwhelming at first. . . Not a place to go for a quiet, romantic dinner. There seemed to be a couple little nooks for 2; ask for that if you want to have easy conversation. We will return for the chocolate fondue; didn't have time to enjoy that part of the menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Can't say enough good about this place! ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Can't say enough good about this place! Wendell was an excellent server and we certainly felt like we got our money's worth!

Tags: , Modern Decor, Romantic, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to a few fondue restaurants, t ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I've been to a few fondue restaurants, this one was not one of the best. Portion sizes are very small compared to others and the atmosphere is not as "romantic" as is expected. Our server was great but a tad pushy recommending the most expensive item on the menu several times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our server was unbelievable. She knew ev ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Our server was unbelievable. She knew everything about everything and helped guide us through the menu and different courses. She made delicious recommendations as well. The food is better than Melting Pot, and the whole experience made us feel like we were not at a chain restaurant, but someplace special. The sauces...we loved all of them. They were so delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very unique and personable service. Food ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Very unique and personable service. Food and drinks are fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our first visit. One of us had never bee ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Our first visit. One of us had never been to a fondue restaurant. It was amazing. Our server Wendell was friendly and very helpful and knowledgeable aBout the menu. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a fantastic time at ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My husband and I had a fantastic time at the Little Dipper for my birthday dinner! Staff went above and beyond to make my day special, we will definitely be back!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time at the Little Di ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a wonderful time at the Little Dipper celebrating our daughter's 25th birthday. Our table was in a great location and was ready for us at the appropriate time. Our server Patrick had a fantastic personality and thoroughly explained the fondue procedure to all of us-- including our 9-year-old son!

The food was fresh and beautifully presented; the cocktails were delicious and the half-priced bottles of wine were an added delight. We learned new recipes and had a wonderful time cooking our own food.

The chocolate dessert fondues were sumptuous, and the special on-the-house cheesecake Patrick presented to our daughter was unexpected but greatly appreciated.

We had an A+ experience, and will definitely return to the Little Dipper!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Fun, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Lil Dipper is one of my favorites places ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Lil Dipper is one of my favorites places to go for a special occasion! I especially love New Year's Eve, birthdays and Valentine's Day!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.