About The Little Dipper

138 South Front Street
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

An experience you won't find at any other restaurant in Wilmington - unique, bold and fun...Fondue! The Little Dipper's menu consists of premium meats, fresh seafood, vegetables and homemade sauces for dipping. Dip organic bread into hot melted cheddar cheese with beer, garlic and spices, prepared tableside by your server. Indulge in blackened filet with a warm au pouivre, sashimi grade tuna dipped in Asian ginger sauce or shrimp drenched in wasabi lime aioli. For dessert don't pass up strawberries dipped in milk chocolate, or bananas dipped in warm dark chocolate blended with smooth peanut butter.

The dining environment is casual and hip with bright colors and rich cherry wood. Each table is handmade with built-in electric burners where the guests cook together in one common fondue pot. Whether you are with a large group celebration or out for an intimate dinner for two, Fondue is special and different! Join us soon and get hooked!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - close
SEASONAL HOURS: Open EVERY DAY Late Spring through Early Fall 5pm for dinner

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 251-0433

Website:
http://www.littledipperfondue.com/

Entertainment:
We offer live music outside on the back deck on the weekends and special holidays (seasonal - spring/summer/fall.) Call for more detailed information.

Catering:
The Little Dipper offers onsite preparation of cheese fondue appetizers, a chocolate fondue fountain with fruits and sweets for dipping and other party platter appetizers. Fondue is our specialty although our Chef enjoys creating special dishes for parties and other occasions.

Private Party Facilities:
We have special party platters to accommodate both large and small parties including an assortment of meats, seafood and vegetarian choices.

Private Party Contact:
Kristen Gruodis: 9102510433x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Fondue Dippers - The Little Dipper, Wilmington, NC
Fondue Dippers - The Little Dipper, Wilmington, NC

The Little Dipper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Food
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
12 More
Best Ambiance
Coastal North Carolina
Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Coastal North Carolina
Special Occasion
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
Best Overall
Wilmington
Best Food
Wilmington
Best Service
Wilmington
Best Ambiance
Wilmington
Best Value
Wilmington
Special Occasion
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

Special Occasion (43)
Romantic (40)
Good for a Date (36)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Fun (28)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Worth the Drive (17)
Cozy (17)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Casual (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Authentic (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Family Style (7)
Historic (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Scenic View (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Private Room (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
People Watching (3)
Business Meals (3)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Waterfront (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fireplace (1)
Seasonal (1)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1389 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our first visit. One of us had never bee ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Our first visit. One of us had never been to a fondue restaurant. It was amazing. Our server Wendell was friendly and very helpful and knowledgeable aBout the menu. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a fantastic time at ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My husband and I had a fantastic time at the Little Dipper for my birthday dinner! Staff went above and beyond to make my day special, we will definitely be back!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time at the Little Di ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a wonderful time at the Little Dipper celebrating our daughter's 25th birthday. Our table was in a great location and was ready for us at the appropriate time. Our server Patrick had a fantastic personality and thoroughly explained the fondue procedure to all of us-- including our 9-year-old son!

The food was fresh and beautifully presented; the cocktails were delicious and the half-priced bottles of wine were an added delight. We learned new recipes and had a wonderful time cooking our own food.

The chocolate dessert fondues were sumptuous, and the special on-the-house cheesecake Patrick presented to our daughter was unexpected but greatly appreciated.

We had an A+ experience, and will definitely return to the Little Dipper!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Fun, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Lil Dipper is one of my favorites places ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Lil Dipper is one of my favorites places to go for a special occasion! I especially love New Year's Eve, birthdays and Valentine's Day!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Little Dipper is the best fondue restaur ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Little Dipper is the best fondue restaurant in Wilmington, NC.

Tags: Romantic, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always. Our server was amaz ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Excellent as always. Our server was amazing and made the meal even more enjoyable

Tags: Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my girlfriends out for dinner on ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 3, 2016

I took my girlfriends out for dinner on Ladies Night. Our server was fantastic and we had a great time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite place to get together with f ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 2, 2016

My favorite place to get together with friends in Wilmington. Love the ambiance and the food. Service is top notch -- especially Patrick.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was descent enough. I had ravio ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The food was descent enough. I had ravioli so it was hard to keep it from falling into the pan, I figured it out towards the end of the meal but did not eat them all it annoyed me. Service was ok, I felt like everything was rushed from the time we sat down to deciding what we wanted to order and it was difficult to see the menu, poor lighting. The server knew the menu fairly well so she was able to explain the process, she just seemed a little off (forgetful). However, once we received our food we were able to relax and converse yet it felt like we had to scream to hear one another not because the place was packed but the acoustics are just that way. All in all we had a good time and will probably return for special occasions; the concept is neat.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The Little Dipper should not be ranked t ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The Little Dipper should not be ranked two dollar signs ($$) It is three to four ($$$ - $$$$). What should be included are extra. Portions extremely small and variety limited. Flavors not there, almost everything was bland. Was made to feel unreasonable asking for more dipping bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Our first visit but definitely not our l ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Our first visit but definitely not our last! Service was splendid. The food was delicious. A very enjoyable experience. If you enjoy fondue, you will love The Little Dipper. Arrive early and enjoy the beautiful surroundings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of my favorite places in Wilmington ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 25, 2016

One of my favorite places in Wilmington to eat!!!! Will always recommend ....... its was great!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I love going to the Little Dipper. It ha ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 25, 2016

I love going to the Little Dipper. It has been a spot to go to with friends for years. This week my best friend and I took our boys, 3 and 5, with us. We were both wondering how it would go. They had a kids menu which I didn't now about and was very happy to find they had! The boys had a blast eating cheese and cooking their own food! We will definitely be back with and without the kids again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and excellent service. We g ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Amazing food and excellent service. We go for special occasions and it's so much much fun. The undecided with swiss fondue and triple play chocolate are my top choices. Key lime pie martinis are amazing.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I absolutely love the Little Dipper. I d ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I absolutely love the Little Dipper. I drive an hour just to come to dinner here. This is the second time I have been for a birthday and the staff goes above and beyond to make the experience memorable. The food is delicious and there are a lot of options to choose from. I enjoy their bar menu and the drinks are very good. I have also taken some work colleagues here and we had a great experience. Right on historic front street, but not in the middle of the loud scene. I highly recommend!!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Both the service and food at The Little ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Both the service and food at The Little Dipper are exceptional. If you are looking for a great fondue restaurant with a completely different atmosphere and menu from The Melting Pot, this is the place!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went here for our anniversary dinner. Am ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Went here for our anniversary dinner. Amazing experience the whole time. Food and service was amazing

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the first time I ever ate here. ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was the first time I ever ate here. Took my best friend for her birthday because it is her favorite place. The food was amazing, never had anything like it before and it was great. The wait staff were so nice and helpful, very informative, polite. I love how they cook the appetizer right there at the table. A really great place and I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Authentic, Scenic View, People Watching, Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for our anniversary. Had a wonderf ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Went for our anniversary. Had a wonderful cheese fondue, followed by a dessert fondue. The service and food were great

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time dining at the Li ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 25, 2016

This was our first time dining at the Little Dipper. We celebrated a birthday here. We will be back before too long.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We had a wonderful time as always, it's ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had a wonderful time as always, it's always for my daughters birthday. TOP notch service the wait staff is amazing!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a unique experience and we enjoyed ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

It is a unique experience and we enjoyed this visit as much as our previous visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always one of the best! Delicious drinks ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Always one of the best! Delicious drinks, great dessert, all around favorite.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and great service!

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, Great service, Our waiter (J ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Great food, Great service, Our waiter (John) was great and very knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the Little Dipper! They have grea ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 1, 2016

I love the Little Dipper! They have great food that is served in a way that is different from most restaurants. I also love that they have several daily specials to choose from!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!!! Great customer servi ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Love this place!!! Great customer service and food!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was so very excited to try this place ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 29, 2016

I was so very excited to try this place out. I had never done fondue and neither had my fiancé but I wanted to do something different for date night so I made reservations to eat at this place. The ambience was pretty ok and our waitress was very great and attentive!! The whole experience with fondue was fun and different from our normal date nights that we have. I find the place to be great for date night as you can dress up and really enjoy the time you have together cause it does take about two hours from start to finish. However the down side is the food was very bland to us. The cheese which is what they bring out first was good but the rest was just blah. The main thing we enjoyed was the dessert that we ordered at the end but they only give you a small portion and when I say small I mean small but we enjoyed the strawberries and bananas and marshmallows dipped in the choc. Over all I loved the idea of doing something different more than I did the actual place and most of that is because of the price which was 150.00 for two and the food taste was blah but our service was great !!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was good and so was the service. I ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Food was good and so was the service. It was a little pricey so we ordered off the alacarte menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Little Dipper was hands down one of ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The Little Dipper was hands down one of the best restaurants I have ever gone to! Not only was the food oustanding, the service was excellent. Our server helped us by making suggestions and we did not regret taking him up on them. I will definitely be going back.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was super hospitable and he ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Our waitress was super hospitable and helpful in making recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great fondue restaurant, everything was ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great fondue restaurant, everything was excellent. The cocktails were less than superb, but all the food was fantastic. Very unique selections and great service too!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the Little Dipper! It is one of m ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 25, 2016

I love the Little Dipper! It is one of my favorite places to eat in Wilmington. The servers are always incredibly nice and helpful and the food is wonderful.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time at The Little Di ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a wonderful time at The Little Dipper. The service was great & the staff was friendly. The food was amazing and the atmosphere was perfect for our anniversary. We can't wait to go again!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite restaurant in the ar ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in the area. The food is fresh, and the fondue experience is so fun! Great evening with wonderful service!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always delicious and the ser ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food is always delicious and the service is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go here everytime we visit Wilmington ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We go here everytime we visit Wilmington. It was our first experience with fondue and we fell in love with it immediately and have recommended it to others, as well as invited others to join us. It is, hands down, one of my favorite places ever!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat at the bar and got the Italian ch ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We sat at the bar and got the Italian cheese and triple play dessert. So much better than the melting pot and actually a local joint. Great service and food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chocolate was not as good as usual. ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The chocolate was not as good as usual. But the cheese was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Loved the food and it was a really fun e ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Loved the food and it was a really fun experience!! We had a table of 6, and unfortunately we were hardly able to hear over the music. We had a hard time hearing our waitress but she was great and took very good care of us! Would definitely come back again!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.