Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 11 times today

The Little Dipper

4.9
1732 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Fondue
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Good for a Date
An experience you won't find at any other restaurant in Wilmington - unique, bold and fun...Fondue! The Little Dipper's menu consists of premium meats, fresh seafood, vegetables and homemade sauces for dipping. Dip organic bread into hot melted cheddar cheese with beer, garlic and spices, prepared tableside by your server. Indulge in blackened filet with a warm au pouivre, sashimi grade tuna dipped in Asian ginger sauce or shrimp drenched in wasabi lime aioli. For dessert don't pass up strawberries dipped in milk chocolate, or bananas dipped in warm dark chocolate blended with smooth peanut butter.

The dining environment is casual and hip with bright colors and rich cherry wood. Each table is handmade with built-in electric burners where the guests cook together in one common fondue pot. Whether you are with a large group celebration or out for an intimate dinner for two, Fondue is special and different! Join us soon and get hooked!
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Fondue
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - close
SEASONAL HOURS: Open EVERY DAY Late Spring through Early Fall 5pm for dinner
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(910) 251-0433
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We have special party platters to accommodate both large and small parties including an assortment of meats, seafood and vegetarian choices.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Kristen Gruodis: (910) 251-0433
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
The Little Dipper offers onsite preparation of cheese fondue appetizers, a chocolate fondue fountain with fruits and sweets for dipping and other party platter appetizers. Fondue is our specialty although our Chef enjoys creating special dishes for parties and other occasions.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
We offer live music outside on the back deck on the weekends and special holidays (seasonal - spring/summer/fall.) Call for more detailed information.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Great service. Our waitress was very knowledgeable and helped us pick the perfect meal. Wonderful experience. Thank you so much.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Great fondue restaurant nestled right near the boardwalk waterfront in wilmington. Much better experience and feel than the large chain restaurants like it. Food was great and service was even better. Very relaxed atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

We went for my birthday and it was awesome. Samantha, our waitress, gave us a very enjoyable and laid back experience even though the options can be confusing to the uninitiated. Overall a wonderful dining experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 2, 2018

I had a nice trip to The Little Dipper. My friends and I went for Ladies' Night, when you can get cheese and chocolate for $10. It's a great deal and you get a decent amount of food. Add-ons are available. We had a nice server and enjoyed the ambiance. I would go back again for Ladies' Night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

We always come here when we visit Wilmington NC. As always, the food and service were incredibly good - I would highly recommend this restaurant for anyone looking for something a little different and adventurous in dining. Only downside for me was the cocktails were pretty weak, but still tasty.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 1, 2018

After an afternoon of shopping with a friend we had planned ahead and reserved table for 6:00 pm. We arrived and we were awkwardly seated at a one-sided table for two facing a short wall. This was more a table for a romantic couple. We asked to be seated at another table and they did accommodate us. The waiter was proud to tell us of the local produce the restaurant uses.
There was plenty of food but the disappointment after was the wait took anything we did not eat quickly off the table. I felt like we paid for it - wrap it up - or did they give the bread cubes and raw broccoli to someone else? Same with our entree, we had raw chicken left over and cooked it in the fondue to take home but the waiter took all the sauces off the table leaving us to bring home plain, bland boiled chicken. Again, I felt like we paid for it we should be able to get a box for all of our leftovers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Always a great time dining here. First time doing Locals Night, which was less hectic than Ladies Night. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Was a wonderful way to celebrate our birthdays together. It was my soon to be 8 yr old son’s first time & it was great to see the staff also including him

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Great server suggestions, very private experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

The restaurant was really nice. Our server was very pleasant and helpful. Each course of the meal was delicious. This restaurant is highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

We are always more than satisfied after a dinner at The Little Dipper. The menu selection is fabulous, the fresh ingredients make the meal extra tasty and the food is always amazing! The portions are reasonable for the price and everything is delicious. We appreciated the variety that is offered of meats, cheese choices and sauces. We like to try 6 different sauces between us! I always enjoy the seasonal beverages. The dessert is simply amazing, no other way to describe it. Thank you, The Little Dipper, for making an evening with friends a memorable one.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Another fun evening on the books at the Little Dipper. A must do when in Wilmington for sure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

My wife and myself have been to several fondue restaurants for special meals or just for date night. We enjoy both fun and different places for these occasions, and THE LITTLE DIPPER fits right in. We were serviced by Whitney who did a GREAT job all the through our meal from start to finish. She was very friendly and helpful knew what to offer and when to offer it (example there were having cheese and chocolate night and she asked if we were there for special or meal. Then helped with right dinner for the two of us). It was the middle of the week and the place was half full when we got there and when we left people were wait for a tables. We will go back again, and would will tell others. THANK YOU WHITNEY FOR A GREAT TIME keep up the good work!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Great experience and food. Was a recommendation by a local and we really enjoyed it. Our waiter was awesome. He was very personable and took care of everything.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Little dipper is always good. The service is also well. Unfortunately groups of 5 or more should not be inside as the noise they make is too much for smaller groups to be able to hear their people talk.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

My experience at Little Dipper is always a great one! The servers are always very nice and the food has never let me down!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

I love the Little Dipper! Excellent setting, service, and food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Great food and service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 9, 2018

We had a great dining experience however we did have to wait 30 mins. Past our reservation time to be seated.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

It is an excellent restaurant and experience. The BEST Fondue restaurant ever. Great variety of sauces for dipping and cooking.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed the dinner and atmosphere. This is not a "dine and dash" kind of dinner. Plan on at least 1 1/2 hours and enjoy it. It's nice because you have time to talk to your dining companions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

I love this place! My husband and I come here Every time we are in Wilmington. Always awesome service, and delicious food! Great date location!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Awesome restaurant, staff was super nice, food was great, the waitress was very helpful im helping us with our selections and the dessert was delicious. I’ve never eaten at a fondue restaurant before and were on vacation found this restaurant online and the reviews were excellent so we gave it a try amd extremely happy we did. Make a reservation and expect to be there about 1 1/2 to 2 hours you won’t be disappointed & The sangria is really good give it a try.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We make sure to go to The Little Dipper at least once a month just for fun. Service is always friendly and their seasonal menu is a fun way to mix things up. Always look forward to our next visit!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Great food and service. We love dining at the Little Dipper and will certainly go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Excellent experience!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Waiter wasn't knowledgeable on drink specials and it wasn't explained to us that the basic broth was still an additional charge (even though you have to have a broth to cook with?), but still overall great experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Good food and service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Our server Henry was great and the food was delicious! This restaurant is a must in Wilmington!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Great experience and different!!! Samantha gave great recommendations on food selection! Loved the place...
definitely I will return. This is a must if u come to Wilmington area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

I have dined at the The Little Dipper dozens of times...NEVER disappoints. The food is amazing, the ambiance is nice and it's great for casual dining to even celebrating special occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Little Dipper is my favorite restaurant! We eat there multiple times each year, every year for my birthday. This was my first time doing the Ladies Night for my birthday with a a girlfriend and I loved it! The prices were perfect. Sometimes it's too expensive to go often but with the Ladies Night deal, we will be back! Only complaint was that we were asked to leave. We had been sitting down at the table still for 15 mind mom's eprobably after our check was taken care of. But we made a reservation for a nice dinner, and conversation should be a part of that. We understood that ladies night is busy but we also saw lots of empty tables. Little Dipper is still my favorite restaurant and we will definitely return! We just won't plan to talk afterwards.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2018

One of our favorite places for date night. We absolutely love the food and the atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Noticed this neighborhood gem while staying next door from out of town. The food was terrific, and the ladies Wednesday night special was extremely well priced. You can't beat fresh food and great service. Will definitely make a point to come here again when I am in town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

The service was excellent, the waitress very knowledgeable (and patient!), and we got just enough attention without being hovered over. Everything was prepared well, and served beautifully. We can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

I have been there a few times now, and I am always impressed with the level of service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

This is the best fondue restaurant ever! The service is outstanding. Our server was so knowledgeable and accommodating. She was helpful in picking everything from the martini’s to the dipping sauces. We had a combination of filet, shrimp and chicken. We added sashimi grade tuna which was amazing.
If you visit Wilmington NC, this restaurant is a must!
We can’t wait to go back! Thank you Little Dipper for this great dining experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

We go to the Little Dipper for almost every special occasion! It is the best. Carrie almost always takes care of us and she’s fantastic! All the staff is so wonderful. ALWAYS listen to their suggestions with the special cheese! So yummy! Thy always have wonderful specialty martinis as well. I feel every time we go it is such a memorable experience. We can’t wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

We always love it! Delicious fit us in early too since we were just doing dessert!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 16, 2018

This is our second time to Little Dipper. We enjoy it very much. My only complaint is that it is somewhat pricey for the quality of food. The cheese fondue and dessert fondue are great. But the portions and quality of meats leave much to be desired. The lobster was a little chewy and I guess it was my mistake ordering filet mignon because, honestly, no one should ever eat a boiled steak.
On my next trip, I may stick to cheese and dessert fondues alone.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
44