Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About The Little Dipper

An experience you won't find at any other restaurant in Wilmington - unique, bold and fun...Fondue! The Little Dipper's menu consists of premium meats, fresh seafood, vegetables and homemade sauces for dipping. Dip organic bread into hot melted cheddar cheese with beer, garlic and spices, prepared tableside by your server. Indulge in blackened filet with a warm au pouivre, sashimi grade tuna dipped in Asian ginger sauce or shrimp drenched in wasabi lime aioli. For dessert don't pass up strawberries dipped in milk chocolate, or bananas dipped in warm dark chocolate blended with smooth peanut butter.

The dining environment is casual and hip with bright colors and rich cherry wood. Each table is handmade with built-in electric burners where the guests cook together in one common fondue pot. Whether you are with a large group celebration or out for an intimate dinner for two, Fondue is special and different! Join us soon and get hooked!

138 South Front Street
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - close
SEASONAL HOURS: Open EVERY DAY Late Spring through Early Fall 5pm for dinner

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 251-0433

Website:
http://www.littledipperfondue.com/

Entertainment:
We offer live music outside on the back deck on the weekends and special holidays (seasonal - spring/summer/fall.) Call for more detailed information.

Catering:
The Little Dipper offers onsite preparation of cheese fondue appetizers, a chocolate fondue fountain with fruits and sweets for dipping and other party platter appetizers. Fondue is our specialty although our Chef enjoys creating special dishes for parties and other occasions.

Private Party Facilities:
We have special party platters to accommodate both large and small parties including an assortment of meats, seafood and vegetarian choices.

Private Party Contact:
Kristen Gruodis: (910) 251-0433

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Little Dipper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (50)
Good for a Date (35)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
See All
Romantic (29)
Fun (27)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Casual (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Cozy (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Authentic (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Seasonal (6)
People Watching (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Spicy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Scenic View (3)
Tapas (3)
Waterfront (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Live Music (2)
Organic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1641 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We had a great meal at The Little Dipper. I felt that the value for the meal for two was great for what was included and the service was excellent. Plus fondue is always a fun experience. I highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Took our daughter and a few of her teenage friends there for her birthday. Our waiter Zane was wonderful and gave us wonderful recommendations. We all enjoyed our view of downtown Wilmington. The dining experience was wonderful and the food was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 13, 2017

My friends and I love the Little Dipper for Ladies night on Wednesdays. We try and plan a get together for Ladies night at least once a month. The Servers are fantastic, the drink specials and Cheese and Chocolate specials for Ladies night are awesome! I can't say enough good things about the Little Dipper you must go and check it out!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Amazing service and great experience. Lots of food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Frequently dine here. Awesome as always and great for any type of occasion. Perfect date night!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The Little Dipper definitely impressed. It was really neat to have our own little "cubby"- romantic. Our waitress gave us good recommendations and was very knowledgeable. The food was great, and it was fun cooking our food and trying different sauces. It is so filling! We couldn't make it to dessert. You won't leave hungry. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

All I have to say about this place is, "Wow!" I had pretty high expectations the second I walked in the door and the smell hit me, and I can say that i was not disappointed, great food, great service, great ambiance. I will definitey be going there again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Incredible! Such a fun date night!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Fantastic food. Great atmosphere. Awesome service. Just as good as we remembered it 11 years ago. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Excellent meal. Great service. Look forward to eating there again

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Dessert was the best, wonderful meal and experience! Wish there was a Little Dipper in my area!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Worst service we've ever had there. The waitress was rude and harassed us every 5 mins about whether we were done with our cheese. She got an attitude when we asked for more of something. Felt as though we were being rushed out. She even included an awkward note with our to-go order of dessert saying that we should "save the foreplay for home." Was very unprofessional and we still have no idea what she was referring to.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

It was my first time there. The food was amazing. The waitress was friendly and gave awesome suggestions on food and sauces. Great date spot. Also with it being down town there's so much going on. Would definitely eat there again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great Beer, Fun, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

$70 for 2 to eat. It was just an okay place. We could not eat all the food so we brought some home. If you order the beef, chicken and pork you only get 4 small cubes of each. I had never been there and drove 90 minutes to get there. Now I can say I have been there. The waiter (male) was awesome.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Late-night Find, Spicy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

The service was amazing and the food was delicious. We were from out of town on vacation, and we were very pleased with the overall experience!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 16, 2017

The group of 5 ladies that went that evening all but one had been there several times before. This was the first time we had felt rushed. The server was training someone which was fine but I hope she didn't pick up on the rush part. We all felt she just wanted us to hurry and decide. Gave us the menu and asked what we wanted to dink and we just sat down. When we decided on drinks she wanted our cheese choices. She asked us more than once if we were ready for our chocolate which we were not. The chocolate came and she never explained if we need to stir it, she just put it down and left. We did have to ask another server to turn it down because it looked like it was becoming too hot. When we left we all made the comment how we really felt rushed right from the get go. Wanting to clear our plates and you could see we had some veggies left to finish. We did tell our friend who had never been there before that this was not normal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Amazing couples experience!!! We enjoyed a cozy booth for two, and the food was so much fun to prepare and super delicious! They offer lots of dipping choices and cooking styles too! The staff was wonderful!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great for girls night out! Amazing specials and great wine list! Will definitely return again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Casual, Fun, Cozy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

The amount of food given for 4 people for the cheese fondue was pretty skimpy. We each had 1 grape, tomato, broccoli, potato and carrot. Lots of bread! We ordered a shot of frangelica in our chocolate, really couldn't tell if it was in there or not. I have eaten there several times, this is the first I was disappointed.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Always a 10/10, awesome food and awesome service! This is my go to go any special occasion or just a girl's night out.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Myself being the only one who had been there before had an idea of what to expect but even still I was blown away as well as my guests. All around just a great experience. Our server was patient and kind, also.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Little Dipper never disappoints us! Great food, atmosphere and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The Little Dipper is one of our most favorite treats when we are in Wilmington. We prefer to order off their cheese and chocolate menu and have never been disappointed. Everything always tastes fresh and decadent. Our favorites include the Cheddar Ale Cheese, the Tuscan Sun-dried Tomato Cheese, and the Dark Chocolate pot with the classic dippers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Excellent service and fun for girls night out. Waitstaff is amazingly attentive. Only complaint was how noisy it was inside. Next visit we will make reservations for the deck.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Great evening out with family. Our waiter was awesome, very friendly. The Little Dipper has great food and nice environment! Great experience and can't wait to return!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We were all going to get the locals night special and had a reservation. They told us to get locals night it was an hour wait. So we got the 4 course.... which made no sense and was $40 more per person. The same cheese and chocolate as the locals menu with no wait????

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Excellent food and service! A bit noisy with a full house but nothing unusual for a full restaurant. Great options and a quality experience overall!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Awesome food and a great value for locals night. My son enjoyed his birthday very much.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 24, 2017

We had an awesome time creating our own meals! We took our two adult kids with us and one had never done fondue. Let's say it was a good experience! Food was great and our waiter was fun so everyone was happy! Good Cosmopolitans too!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fun, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 17, 2017

It was a unique experience. The server was super-helpful and friendly to us neophytes. Each course was delicious. It is a bit pricy. Figure at least $50 per person if you are going to do it up. (Drinks, dessert, etc.) But we really enjoyed it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The food was great and the the ambiance of the restaurant was so relaxing and cozy. Only problem was there was a large party next to us the night I was there and it was so loud I could barely hear over the noise of the party.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We loved our waitress Angela! She was very personable and awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Came here for my 30th birthday. Had a great experience and a great server, she was very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I can't say enough wonderful stuff about this place! The location was ideal, the food was phenomenal, the service was spot-on and the weekday evening specials are a great value. If I didn't live so far away, I'd be a regular at this amazing establishment!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

All around great night with great service. We were seated beside some screeching children and it was a ladies' night for us away from our own screeching children. Staff were very kind and accommodating to move us to a quieter section of the restaurant. We had a blast!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 11, 2017

It was a great experience. The staff was attentive and was very helpful on making recommendations.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The food was great and was very reasonably priced. You will not leave hungry for sure. Our waitress was fabulous!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We enjoyed our evening at the Little Dipper, food was good and a very friendly staff.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 7, 2017

It's impossible for me review The Little Dipper without comparing it to The Melting Pot. We decided to give TLD a try since it gets such amazing reviews all across the internet. Sadly, we left fairly disappointed. The environment is extremely loud and we were seated across from each other at the longest 2-person table I've ever seen. We literally had to lean forward and practically yell to talk to each other. Our waitress was friendly and kept the food coming without delays, so that part was great! As for the food, the main positives were the fresh local bread and the tasty potatoes. The consistency of both the cheese and chocolate courses were really dense and grainy. Both were so dense/thick it was really hard to successfully dip things without losing them in the pot. The consistency of our chicken was extremely fibrous, which we both found kind of odd. The Au Poivre sauce was delicious, but none of the other 4 sauces we tried really stood out. By the end of the meal, I regretted not going to Melting Pot after making the 2 hour drive to Wilmington.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Always love coming to the Little Dipper! Food, drinks (especially the Stoli Strawberry Lemonade!!) and service are awesome.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.