About The Little Dipper

138 South Front Street
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

An experience you won't find at any other restaurant in Wilmington - unique, bold and fun...Fondue! The Little Dipper's menu consists of premium meats, fresh seafood, vegetables and homemade sauces for dipping. Dip organic bread into hot melted cheddar cheese with beer, garlic and spices, prepared tableside by your server. Indulge in blackened filet with a warm au pouivre, sashimi grade tuna dipped in Asian ginger sauce or shrimp drenched in wasabi lime aioli. For dessert don't pass up strawberries dipped in milk chocolate, or bananas dipped in warm dark chocolate blended with smooth peanut butter.

The dining environment is casual and hip with bright colors and rich cherry wood. Each table is handmade with built-in electric burners where the guests cook together in one common fondue pot. Whether you are with a large group celebration or out for an intimate dinner for two, Fondue is special and different! Join us soon and get hooked!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - close
SEASONAL HOURS: Open EVERY DAY Late Spring through Early Fall 5pm for dinner

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 251-0433

Website:
http://www.littledipperfondue.com/

Entertainment:
We offer live music outside on the back deck on the weekends and special holidays (seasonal - spring/summer/fall.) Call for more detailed information.

Catering:
The Little Dipper offers onsite preparation of cheese fondue appetizers, a chocolate fondue fountain with fruits and sweets for dipping and other party platter appetizers. Fondue is our specialty although our Chef enjoys creating special dishes for parties and other occasions.

Private Party Facilities:
We have special party platters to accommodate both large and small parties including an assortment of meats, seafood and vegetarian choices.

Private Party Contact:
Kristen Gruodis: 9102510433x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Fondue Dippers
Fondue Dippers

The Little Dipper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Food
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
15 More
Best Ambiance
Coastal North Carolina
Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Coastal North Carolina
Romantic
Coastal North Carolina
Special Occasion
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
Best Overall
Wilmington
Best Food
Wilmington
Best Service
Wilmington
Best Ambiance
Wilmington
Best Value
Wilmington
Fit for Foodies
Wilmington
Neighborhood Gem
Wilmington
Special Occasion
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

Special Occasion (62)
Romantic (56)
Good for Groups (48)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Hot Spot (23)
Scenic View (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Late-night Find (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1360 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Little Dipper was hands down one of ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined 4 days ago

The Little Dipper was hands down one of the best restaurants I have ever gone to! Not only was the food oustanding, the service was excellent. Our server helped us by making suggestions and we did not regret taking him up on them. I will definitely be going back.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was super hospitable and he ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our waitress was super hospitable and helpful in making recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great fondue restaurant, everything was ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great fondue restaurant, everything was excellent. The cocktails were less than superb, but all the food was fantastic. Very unique selections and great service too!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the Little Dipper! It is one of m ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

I love the Little Dipper! It is one of my favorite places to eat in Wilmington. The servers are always incredibly nice and helpful and the food is wonderful.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time at The Little Di ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a wonderful time at The Little Dipper. The service was great & the staff was friendly. The food was amazing and the atmosphere was perfect for our anniversary. We can't wait to go again!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my favorite restaurant in the ar ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in the area. The food is fresh, and the fondue experience is so fun! Great evening with wonderful service!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always delicious and the ser ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food is always delicious and the service is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go here everytime we visit Wilmington ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We go here everytime we visit Wilmington. It was our first experience with fondue and we fell in love with it immediately and have recommended it to others, as well as invited others to join us. It is, hands down, one of my favorite places ever!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat at the bar and got the Italian ch ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We sat at the bar and got the Italian cheese and triple play dessert. So much better than the melting pot and actually a local joint. Great service and food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chocolate was not as good as usual. ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The chocolate was not as good as usual. But the cheese was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Loved the food and it was a really fun e ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Loved the food and it was a really fun experience!! We had a table of 6, and unfortunately we were hardly able to hear over the music. We had a hard time hearing our waitress but she was great and took very good care of us! Would definitely come back again!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We were spending a long weekend at the b ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were spending a long weekend at the beach and decided to spend Friday night in Wilmington. We picked The Little Dipper from reviews and are very glad we did. We arrived a few minutes early and our table was ready. We had a great server who was attentive, helpful and knowledgable. My wife has a shellfish allergy which required the Restaurant to allow substitutions and they did so easily.

The restaurant is broken up for privacy, but we were seated next to a table of 8 which we could not see, but could clearly hear. They were celebrating a birthday and were very loud. That is the extent of my complaints.

Since it was our first visit, our server was very helpful with the options and choices from the menu. Timing was very good, as we had some time to enjoy our cocktails, and we had the right time between courses.

We had a cheese course, an entree and a chocolate course. It was date night so we also got a 1 oz taste of a paired wine with each course. That added some interest and fun. We really enjoyed all the entrees, but must say that the dark chocolate really put a great end on the evening.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Food & service were great as usual! It w ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food & service were great as usual! It was a little more packed & louder than normal, but it was a Friday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took the fam while on vacation. We loved ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Took the fam while on vacation. We loved it! Food was excellent, and our waitress Samantha was superb. Appreciated the many choices. If you're near Wilmington NC it's definitely a must try place for dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great tasting food. For the value it is ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great tasting food. For the value it is not the place to go. Portions are very small and almost everything is an up charge on special nights

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

My girlfriends and I went to the Little ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My girlfriends and I went to the Little Dipper for a fun, girls night for my birthday. We had an absolute phenomenal experience. We had the best seat in the house by the window overlooking the streets of downtown wilmington. We loved seeing the horse carriages go by all night. The food was incredible. The service was pristine. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. The specialty drinks were the BEST I've ever had. The atmosphere was beautiful with dim lighting and cute little nooks for private, intimate, dinners. It's the perfect spot for date night or out with the girls. It's worth every penny. It's officially my favorite spot in wilmington. Kudos, Little Dipper!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little pricey, but you get a lot of fo ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

A little pricey, but you get a lot of food and a unique experience. Cheese fondue and dessert were great; dinner was decent. Cocktails were also very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the second time I dined here an ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was the second time I dined here and it has been amazing both times. We just did appitizers and dessert both times with multiple drinks. The food, service, drinks, and atmosphere was all great and we will definitely return. Can't remember are servers name, all I remember is king Henry IV, you know who you are and you are a great server.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again we selected The Little Dipper ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Once again we selected The Little Dipper to celebrate our Anniversary. We had a reservation later but we decided to come into town an hour earlier and they accommodated us no problem. We had a cheese fondue course with some meat added on and then finished with a chocolate fondue with tons of great dippers. We love this place and it is a great spot to just relax and slow down and eat one fondue forked morsel at a time. The service was great and we had no complaints at all. We will be back for sure on the next occasion to celebrate!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal and service. Highly rec ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Outstanding meal and service. Highly recommend. Also, recommend reservations as they are very busy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I use to love Little Dipper for birthday ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I use to love Little Dipper for birthday celebrations and Wednesday's girls night out. My husband brought me here for my birthday again. Its been a tradition the past couple years. Unfortunately, the quality of service has dwindled over the past couple years. Not very attentive waitress; difficult to get her attention. Only came to the table to drop food off. Also, my husband told the waitress more than once it was a birthday celebration. At the end I was looking forward to my cheesecake and candle; there was none. I realize that seems petty but my husband spent $190. We let it go and ate our chocolate fondue. We weren't incredibly hungry at that point and opted to take it to go. By that time the waitress had dropped off the bill and taken payment and was nowhere to be found. We waited for over 10 minutes to get a take-out container. We finally got a take-out plate, but then there was nothing to put the fondue in. We tried again to get her attention, but after another 10 minutes gave up and left. Waste of money. We will be going with a new birthday tradition next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We love LD. Usually service is better. T ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We love LD. Usually service is better. Table set up this time not conducive to good group conversation or meal sharing. Waitress never took our bar drink order. Waiter that assisted was much better. It is my all time favorite so I'll be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Very good restaurant, we go there during ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very good restaurant, we go there during our annual family vacation in Wilmington.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Alex , She was great waitress. Food was ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Alex , She was great waitress. Food was great. This was our first time and they explained everything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our 4 time at this location and ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This is our 4 time at this location and it never disappoints. The staff always seems to be spot on with caring about our experience. In a word the service is EXCELLENT, not perfect.... EXCELLENT. We will definitely be back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been loyal patrons of The Little D ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We've been loyal patrons of The Little Dipper since 2007, and the quality of the food, friendliness of the team and overall experience only improve year after year. We try to eat there every time we're in Wilmington and have celebrated many a birthday, anniversary and New Years Eve at The Little Dipper. Our favorite cheese is Cheddar Ale and chocolate is Half and Half; however, you can't go wrong with any of their inventive and delicious recipes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food!!! I brought my best frie ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Delicious food!!! I brought my best friend here for her first fondue experience and she was not disappointed! I love to go for ladies night. The food is delicious. I love to get grilled chicken and shrimp and dip it in the cheese! I recommend the Fontina cheese... It's amazzzzzing!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I chose The Little Dipper ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My husband and I chose The Little Dipper for our wedding anniversary. The food was absolutely wonderful and the service was took notch. We plan to be back VERY soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have come to you guys for ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

My wife and I have come to you guys for our anniversary the past 4 years and really enjoy all aspects

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always fantastic! Service fabulous!! Lov ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Always fantastic! Service fabulous!! Love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our dinner at the Litt ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at the Little Dipper. Our waitress recommended some wonderful dishes. It was just the two of us, but this would be great in a small group since you wait a bit for all the meat to cook.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love Little Dipper! We go every year for ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Love Little Dipper! We go every year for our Birthdays. Great location, great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first fondue experience and ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was our first fondue experience and it lived up to the hype! I loved the atmosphere. Our waitress was great and able to make recommendations for oils and sauces based on the entrees we chose. Very fun and different dining experience in downtown Wilmington. Makes for a fun date night!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I absolutely love The Little Dipper. It' ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

I absolutely love The Little Dipper. It's a downtown favorite & makes a great date night.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic place. Everyone should find a ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Fantastic place. Everyone should find a way to go. They also use local places for supplies so you can support multiple local businesses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Carey our waitress was so charming and p ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Carey our waitress was so charming and personable. The food was wonderfully delicious. We would definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food and service are superb!

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Great menu items and all very good. Waitress gave great advice so we ordered one oil and one broth. We also chose 2 different chocolates...everything was superb!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wednesday Ladies Night

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Fantastic place for the girls to meet for Cheese and Chocolate (what else do you need?) . Great salads, wines and specialty drinks! This place is special -especially when the weather cooperates for outdoor fondue!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service and food

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Wonderful service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun and delicious!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

One of the best random date nights! Our waitress was absolutely fantastic helping with menu pairings and just making sure we had a great time. If anything, a little bit on the expensive side, but very delicious! Definitely will return!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.