Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About The Little Dipper

An experience you won't find at any other restaurant in Wilmington - unique, bold and fun...Fondue! The Little Dipper's menu consists of premium meats, fresh seafood, vegetables and homemade sauces for dipping. Dip organic bread into hot melted cheddar cheese with beer, garlic and spices, prepared tableside by your server. Indulge in blackened filet with a warm au pouivre, sashimi grade tuna dipped in Asian ginger sauce or shrimp drenched in wasabi lime aioli. For dessert don't pass up strawberries dipped in milk chocolate, or bananas dipped in warm dark chocolate blended with smooth peanut butter.

The dining environment is casual and hip with bright colors and rich cherry wood. Each table is handmade with built-in electric burners where the guests cook together in one common fondue pot. Whether you are with a large group celebration or out for an intimate dinner for two, Fondue is special and different! Join us soon and get hooked!

138 South Front Street
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - close
SEASONAL HOURS: Open EVERY DAY Late Spring through Early Fall 5pm for dinner

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 251-0433

Website:
http://www.littledipperfondue.com/

Entertainment:
We offer live music outside on the back deck on the weekends and special holidays (seasonal - spring/summer/fall.) Call for more detailed information.

Catering:
The Little Dipper offers onsite preparation of cheese fondue appetizers, a chocolate fondue fountain with fruits and sweets for dipping and other party platter appetizers. Fondue is our specialty although our Chef enjoys creating special dishes for parties and other occasions.

Private Party Facilities:
We have special party platters to accommodate both large and small parties including an assortment of meats, seafood and vegetarian choices.

Private Party Contact:
Kristen Gruodis: (910) 251-0433

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Little Dipper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (61)
Special Occasion (58)
Romantic (48)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Fun (42)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Cozy (31)
Good for Groups (30)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Worth the Drive (22)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Authentic (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Casual (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Healthy (9)
Family Style (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Waterfront (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Business Meals (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Historic (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great Beer (3)
Vegan (3)
Tapas (3)
Spicy (2)
Private Room (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1561 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food was great, the service was amazing, the drinks were really good, and the price was fantastic! They have great specials and the staff is really helpful with making suggestions if you have any questions! Wonderful fondue experience without the normal overly priced fondue menu!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 7, 2017

It was a little hard to find parking, however that's the only downside. Amazing place for a date!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The Little Dipper is one of Wilmington's gems! We love the weekly specials. The food is always fresh and delicious! Service is accomodating and personalized. We highly recommend it!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Modern Decor, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Little Dipper was great as always! Our server had great suggestions. The food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Perfect surprise date night for my wife! Good and service we're great. We had a corner both, so it was a very romantic dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Zayn was fantastic! They even brought glasses of champagne to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 3, 2017

In 2015, my wife and I hosted our wedding rehearsal dinner at The Little Dipper (which was a wonderful affair), so naturally we chose to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary there. Our service Aaron was fantastic and the food was fresh and wonderfully cooked (joking...it's fondue). We always have a wonderful experience there and can't wait to visit again.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We had a great time celebrating our anniversary at the little dipper. The food was fresh and tasted great. We always enjoy trying new preparations when we go. Be prepared to spend a while and enjoy multiple courses.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Everything was great; the food, the atmosphere and John, our server!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Fantastic menu options for a fondue restaurant. Something for everyone. Wait staff and management truly a cut above the rest. We drove 2 hrs to get there, we'd gladly double that to dine there again and have a night in Wilmington.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Ate during restaurant week & it was a great deal as the price was reduced & they did not charge for some extras. They have great choices & all were good. Carrie was an excellent, friendly, accommodating, and attentive waitress. Loved the Half & Half Chocolate Fondu with an edible orchid. They also have a nice wine list. My favorite place to eat in Wilmington & they are one of the rare restaurants to have a 100 health rating!

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed my last visit to Little Dipper with one of my best girlfriends. (I have been a few times before) Our waiter, Wendell was great and made wonderful recommendations. We branched out from our usual cheese (Cheddar) and got the Fontina Basil (upon recommendation) which was rich, creamy and absolutely delicious, especially for the garlic lover like myself. We were told that the bread for the cheese is baked fresh from a shop in downtown Wilmington. They had great specials on the menu, so we did the full 4 course meal. Salad was delicious and the proteins (filet, chicken and shrimp) were tasty, especially with the sauces. Dessert was our favorite course - we got the peanut butter, chocolate and caramel and it was delicious. Perfect blend of all three. We will definitely be back. Great for girls nights, date nights, and any special occasion or just something different.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Our waitress was very friendly. We really liked her. She made us feel very comfortable and explained everything as she went along. It was an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 28, 2017

What an awesome place! Our waiter, John, was exceptional! So helpful, explaining, answering our questions, and making recommendations. He was very attentive as was the rest of the staff. The food was fantastic and great quality. The art and architecture were interesting. We were celebrating birthdays. John went over and beyond, bringing cheesecakes to my twins!

I highly recommend the Little Dipper. We will go back...often!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We had a wonderful time. It was a family dinner. Everyone enjoyed the fondue even our 6 year old. Ambiance and service great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Felt rushed and waitress told us as soon as clearing away dishes and removing pots from fire that she had a lot of tables finished and sitting around and could we move to the bar area??

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 17, 2017

great food and service! Will definitely visit again!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I love this place. The Little Dipper is one of the best dining experiences in town. All of the food is to die for! And everyone is always very nice and friendly. 5 stars!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fun, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 14, 2017

My daughter just moved to the Wilmington area and this was our first visit to the Little Dipper. I simply cannot emphasize enough what a wonderful experience this was! Our server, Samantha, was a gem! Helpful, friendly, attentive and fun! We chose the fontina cheese option with locally made bread and other assorted veggies. I ordered grilled scallops with a garlic ginger dipping sauce and it was perfect! We also had a simple milk chocolate dessert fondue with fruits and other sweet treats. Tonight's special was a cheese/dessert option for only $10 per person. The scallops were an additional charge, but well worth it. We plan to return for the full dinner fondue experience soon! My daughter also had a cherry cola martini and it was very good! We will definitely return to this neighborhood establishment soon!!!

Tags: Vegan, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This was a wonderful experience for me and my fiancé. We really loved the atmosphere, the service was excellent, and the food was absolutely delicious! The Little Dipper was recommended by another couple, and it did not disappoint!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Amazing experience. Definitely will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I've never been disappointed with LD Wilmington. We had early reservations for this visit. We were seated immediately. Our waitress Whitney was on top of it & even brought us two flutes of champagne for an anniversary toast. Solid service, great food & the atmosphere is so incredibly romantic. We live downtown so we are spoiled with a short walk to this lovely gem. It's not just a place for special occasions. It's great place to get a delicious, interactive meal that's outside the normal spectrum of sit down dinning. Looking forward to our next enjoyable LD experience.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I had dined at the Little Dipper before and had 3 friends join me for another expierence. Once again it was a wonderful expierence and our hostess, Kerrie was outstanding and very attentive. We could not have ask for better service. I will be going back as I want to introduce more to another Fondue experience that exceeds a national chain in price and service. Thank you The Little Dipper.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Love to fondue and this place does it very well!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Excellent food!! Excellent atmosphere!! One of my favorite restaurants to eat at in Wilmington. Do not go if you are looking for a quick meal. This a a multi course experience that takes time but you will enjoy every minute of it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 5, 2017

A truly fun dining experience. Highly recommended. A great place to dine with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

A fun experience. Food was good and inventive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We love to have a dinner at "The Little Dipper" because you are not rushed and each course takes time to prepare. It is enjoyable to watch the cheese fondue be mixed in front of you. The dinner for two provides enough food. The atmosphere is excellent for a couple or larger group to sit and talk.
This dinner, we sat in the dining area off the main floor and in a small area which was perfect for two. I will request it on my next reservation.

Tags: Vegan, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Such a fun place to go with friends for ladies night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Very enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Had dinner for my son's 17th birthday and it was a memorable experience. The food and service were excellent and he scored a small cheesecake since it was his birthday. We all left full and happy.

Tags: Healthy, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 26, 2017

My husband and I decided to come here for date night for something different and unique. We had tried fondue years ago back when we lived in Myrtle Beach. Be prepared for a two hour dinner just because of the way that fondue is done. We started out with the cheese which was very good we actually had a hard time deciding which one to try... they all sounded so good. For dinner we went with the undecided which is where you can pick different meats and sauces. That was a good choice because we got to try a little of everything and my husband got the lobster tail. To be honest the meet comes out a little bland because it's essentially boiled In a broth, but that is what the sauces or for. We ended up getting the dark chocolate for dessert with the huge variety plate with fruits pretzels cookies marshmallows etc. We did the dark chocolate with hazelnut Liquor. I will just tell you that the dessert was the highlight of the night. As I said it was just something different to do and overall it was pretty OK it's kind of loud or maybe it was just this particular night. Be sure to see the jellyfish aquarium it is very cool. I think next time we will just do dessert here because it was that good. Staff is very nice as well

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Overall a good experience. Just be prepared for a fat check

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was our first time at a fondue restaurant and The Little Dipper set the bar extremely high!! Our waitress, Natalie, was beyond amazing. She was extremely patient, pleasant, and helpful. We will definitely be returning!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Historic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Excellent! My husband and I went here for my birthday dinner. We made a reservation and were seated right away in a neat little nook for two. Our waiter was unbelievably good and helped us select everything from our cocktails to the dessert! We went on a Thurs. and it was Prix Fix night. A special menu with four courses for $27. Started with a Pomegranate Martini and my husband had Martin Ray Pinot Noir. For Our appetizer course we chose the Swiss cheese fondue which was delicious, then we both had Corn Chowder with Bourbon which was amazing ... But now I am full and we have two more courses to go! Dinner consisted of two different choices: shrimp, dumplings and sushimi tuna. The other: chicken, filet mignonette and pork. These also came with mushrooms and varied veggies to cook. Every bite was delicious as were the sauces! For dessert we chose the dark chocolate with Amaretto which was served with bananas, strawberries, pineapple, grapes, pretzels and two cream puffs. Cannot wait to go back with friends or family!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Outstanding service and food, you can truly take your time to enjoy every bite because your not being rushed a very romantic ambiance wonderful little jewel right on downtown

Tags: Healthy, Tapas, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Came here for my best friends bachelorette party 2/18/17. We thoroughly enjoyed it, the food was amazing and our waiter Wendell was great! Overall a good time with friends!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great experience out without our little ones. The outing gave us an opportunity to just sit and talk with some good friends with very little cell phone time. After all, if you're looking at your phone, then you aren't cooking. If you aren't cooking, then you aren't eating. Delicious food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I had an incredible time at The Little Dipper, our server was extremely friendly and helpful, the food was great, and it was overall a relaxing, enjoyable experience. Would 100% recommend to anyone looking for a unique place to eat!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We love this place,always a favorit, and my go to for my wifes birthday and our anniversary! The people are great, the food is amazing and atmosphere is perfect for a couple that want to enjoy each other.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.