About The Little Dipper

138 South Front Street
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

An experience you won't find at any other restaurant in Wilmington - unique, bold and fun...Fondue! The Little Dipper's menu consists of premium meats, fresh seafood, vegetables and homemade sauces for dipping. Dip organic bread into hot melted cheddar cheese with beer, garlic and spices, prepared tableside by your server. Indulge in blackened filet with a warm au pouivre, sashimi grade tuna dipped in Asian ginger sauce or shrimp drenched in wasabi lime aioli. For dessert don't pass up strawberries dipped in milk chocolate, or bananas dipped in warm dark chocolate blended with smooth peanut butter.

The dining environment is casual and hip with bright colors and rich cherry wood. Each table is handmade with built-in electric burners where the guests cook together in one common fondue pot. Whether you are with a large group celebration or out for an intimate dinner for two, Fondue is special and different! Join us soon and get hooked!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - close
SEASONAL HOURS: Open EVERY DAY Late Spring through Early Fall 5pm for dinner

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 251-0433

Website:
http://www.littledipperfondue.com/

Entertainment:
We offer live music outside on the back deck on the weekends and special holidays (seasonal - spring/summer/fall.) Call for more detailed information.

Catering:
The Little Dipper offers onsite preparation of cheese fondue appetizers, a chocolate fondue fountain with fruits and sweets for dipping and other party platter appetizers. Fondue is our specialty although our Chef enjoys creating special dishes for parties and other occasions.

Private Party Facilities:
We have special party platters to accommodate both large and small parties including an assortment of meats, seafood and vegetarian choices.

Private Party Contact:
Kristen Gruodis: 9102510433x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Fondue Dippers
Fondue Dippers

The Little Dipper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Food
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
16 More
Best Ambiance
Coastal North Carolina
Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Coastal North Carolina
Romantic
Coastal North Carolina
Special Occasion
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
Best Overall
Wilmington
Best Food
Wilmington
Best Service
Wilmington
Best Ambiance
Wilmington
Best Value
Wilmington
Fit for Foodies
Wilmington
Neighborhood Gem
Wilmington
Romantic
Wilmington
Special Occasion
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

special occasion (78)
romantic (70)
good for groups (60)
See All
neighborhood gem (47)
fit for foodies (47)
hot spot (28)
late-night find (17)
scenic view (16)
notable wine list (13)
great for outdoor dining (11)
vibrant bar scene (7)
great for lunch (7)
kid-friendly (6)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1333 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I chose The Little Dipper ...

Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I chose The Little Dipper for our wedding anniversary. The food was absolutely wonderful and the service was took notch. We plan to be back VERY soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I have come to you guys for ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

My wife and I have come to you guys for our anniversary the past 4 years and really enjoy all aspects

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fantastic! Service fabulous!! Lov ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Always fantastic! Service fabulous!! Love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We really enjoyed our dinner at the Litt ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at the Little Dipper. Our waitress recommended some wonderful dishes. It was just the two of us, but this would be great in a small group since you wait a bit for all the meat to cook.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Little Dipper! We go every year for ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Love Little Dipper! We go every year for our Birthdays. Great location, great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first fondue experience and ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This was our first fondue experience and it lived up to the hype! I loved the atmosphere. Our waitress was great and able to make recommendations for oils and sauces based on the entrees we chose. Very fun and different dining experience in downtown Wilmington. Makes for a fun date night!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I absolutely love The Little Dipper. It' ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

I absolutely love The Little Dipper. It's a downtown favorite & makes a great date night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic place. Everyone should find a ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Fantastic place. Everyone should find a way to go. They also use local places for supplies so you can support multiple local businesses.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Carey our waitress was so charming and p ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Carey our waitress was so charming and personable. The food was wonderfully delicious. We would definitely go back!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service are superb!

Dined on June 9, 2016

Great menu items and all very good. Waitress gave great advice so we ordered one oil and one broth. We also chose 2 different chocolates...everything was superb!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wednesday Ladies Night

Dined on June 8, 2016

Fantastic place for the girls to meet for Cheese and Chocolate (what else do you need?) . Great salads, wines and specialty drinks! This place is special -especially when the weather cooperates for outdoor fondue!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service and food

Dined on June 7, 2016

Wonderful service and food

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun and delicious!

Dined on June 5, 2016

One of the best random date nights! Our waitress was absolutely fantastic helping with menu pairings and just making sure we had a great time. If anything, a little bit on the expensive side, but very delicious! Definitely will return!

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service!! Perfect date night if yo ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Great service!! Perfect date night if you enjoy a long dinner and eachothers company. Our waitress was wonderful and made great recommendations!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoy the experience.

Dined on June 4, 2016

The food is fantastic and our server was friendly, helpful, and professional.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We been before but was not near as happ ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

We been before but was not near as happy with service and experience .my son's birthday. We had Way better service and accommodations.my friends first time and she was not impressed at all.i love yall but it just wasn't the same at all. Disappointed a bit for sure :(

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful time celebrating our ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We had a wonderful time celebrating our birthdays. Our waiter was great! The food was so delicious. Overall wonderful experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love eating there. I sometimes go by mys ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Love eating there. I sometimes go by myself and the staff is always attentive. Spencer is an awesome bartender. Food is delicious

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Incredible, private, cozy atmosphere wit ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Incredible, private, cozy atmosphere with romance in the air! Having been a Fondue-Newbie at the time, I was walked through every step very patiently and by someone who obviously knew what she was talking about. Great value for the experience, and after we mentioned it was our anniversary we were treated to champagne on the house! Lovely from start to finish.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Service was slow but the servers were gr ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Service was slow but the servers were great otherwise. There isn't enough liquid in the pots to cook when you have a larger party and really skimpy on the cheese and chocolate compared to Melting Pot. Overall just "ok"

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was amazing as usual. The littl ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

The food was amazing as usual. The little dipper is one of my all time favorite restaurants.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great choice for Mother's Day. Whole fam ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great choice for Mother's Day. Whole family enjoyed our time there. Great service, great drinks and food. Come here for a special occasion or for date night. Ladies night is always fun too!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service. Wonderful food.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Wonderful everything. Sat in a little nook and was romantic and fun. Went for dinner before prom and my boyfriend and I enjoyed our wonderful waitress.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Little Dipper

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our family took our son here following his graduation from UNCW for an evening out to celebrate his special milestone. The experience was wonderful with great food and OUTSTANDING service from our waitress and the staff. We could not have asked for a better dining experience. We would definitely recommend this to anyone in the Wilmington, NC, area for both a group or couple / family.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Yummy to my tummy

Dined on April 28, 2016

The Little Dipper never fails to disappoint. It is a little pricey, but absolutely worth it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, excellent service!

Dined on April 24, 2016

We went there for dinner on a recent Sunday evening and had a great time. Our server was excellent, very personable, and made the experience that much more enjoyable for us. The food was perfect, and at no time did we feel rushed. We enjoyed a nice, relaxing dinner and would definitely return in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Celebration

Dined on April 23, 2016

It is the second year in a row we have gone to Little Dipper for our son's birthday. It was just our family of four and we sat at the same table. We had a wonderful time. The service and food was excellent. So much delicious food and the slice of cheesecake with candle that our server brought out was a nice touch! Thank you for another memorable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A MUST Visit Every Time I go to Wilmington

Dined on April 23, 2016

Three of my friends and I went to the Little Dipper for my bachelorette party. I have been a few times, but my friends hadn't. We ordered 2 "dinner for two" options, which was plenty of food and reasonably priced. The best part of the meal is the experience. It takes a while to eat the fondue, but the staff made sure we had an amazing time for the 2 and a half hours we were there. The manager and bartender and waiters are all amazing. I would highly recommend this restaurant. I look forward to visiting Wilmington again, just so I can go there!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

worth it! Try it's! Will be back soon,impressed

Dined on April 22, 2016

If your gonna try it! Try it here! Our service experience here was extraordinary,best service ever. The food was above what we expected. The server was the best we have had in a long time. So impressed..........we will be back soon!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome place

Dined on April 14, 2016

Cheese, chocolate, dippins, and service all excellent.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Excellent service, food, and atmosphere

Dined on April 10, 2016

The food was amazing. Usually service is excellent. Not sure why our waitress was not attentive this time. It was not super busy. Don't let that stop you from dining here. Usually the wait staff does a great job.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dipper is always a delightful experi ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

The dipper is always a delightful experience. Fun, romantic, great service, yummy... A great spot!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved that we didn't feel rushed betw ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

We loved that we didn't feel rushed between courses. We were able to laugh, and enjoy the company of friends without jumping from course to course. The waitress recommended fantastic cheeses for our first visit. The meat was fantastic, and everything was so fresh and delicious. Our waitress was knowledgeable, and very attentive.

food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice evening out

Dined on April 2, 2016

went during restaurant week. Great time to introduce fondue newbies. Intimate setting but gets quite loud. Small portions, but maybe because of it being restaurant week. Cheeses wonderful. Main course broth, less so. Little bland. Dessert amazing! Server was great. Overall... Nice evening. Will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Waiter was horrible but food was good

Dined on April 2, 2016

The waiter told us he planned on rushing us through or dinner in order to seat other tables.....seriously. Food was good though. Not saying much though since you cook it yourself.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect place for almost any occasion

Dined on April 2, 2016

The Little Dipper has always impressed me no matter how many times I return. It's a great experience all the way around.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience with my daughter on ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Wonderful experience with my daughter on Ladies Night. The server was very knowledgeable and the food was fresh and wonderful. Great place for those with food allergies - the food is simple & it is easy to avoid many foods. We would drive a thousand miles to eat here! (Seriously, we did and we will again!)

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place

Dined on March 24, 2016

We had a great time. The only issue was a large group seated infront by the windows were loud and obnoxious and we could hear them from the back of the restaurant. But other than that it was perfect and we will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Samantha was amazing. She was ...

Dined on March 22, 2016

Our server Samantha was amazing. She was very knowledgeable of the menu and didn't rush us. She took her time and ensured we had a full understanding of the dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

First time at Little Dipper and my husba ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

First time at Little Dipper and my husbands first time with fondue! Service was great and atmosphere was even better... Not to mention the food!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.