Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About The Little Dipper

An experience you won't find at any other restaurant in Wilmington - unique, bold and fun...Fondue! The Little Dipper's menu consists of premium meats, fresh seafood, vegetables and homemade sauces for dipping. Dip organic bread into hot melted cheddar cheese with beer, garlic and spices, prepared tableside by your server. Indulge in blackened filet with a warm au pouivre, sashimi grade tuna dipped in Asian ginger sauce or shrimp drenched in wasabi lime aioli. For dessert don't pass up strawberries dipped in milk chocolate, or bananas dipped in warm dark chocolate blended with smooth peanut butter.

The dining environment is casual and hip with bright colors and rich cherry wood. Each table is handmade with built-in electric burners where the guests cook together in one common fondue pot. Whether you are with a large group celebration or out for an intimate dinner for two, Fondue is special and different! Join us soon and get hooked!

138 South Front Street
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - close
SEASONAL HOURS: Open EVERY DAY Late Spring through Early Fall 5pm for dinner

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 251-0433

Website:
http://www.littledipperfondue.com/

Entertainment:
We offer live music outside on the back deck on the weekends and special holidays (seasonal - spring/summer/fall.) Call for more detailed information.

Catering:
The Little Dipper offers onsite preparation of cheese fondue appetizers, a chocolate fondue fountain with fruits and sweets for dipping and other party platter appetizers. Fondue is our specialty although our Chef enjoys creating special dishes for parties and other occasions.

Private Party Facilities:
We have special party platters to accommodate both large and small parties including an assortment of meats, seafood and vegetarian choices.

Private Party Contact:
Kristen Gruodis: (910) 251-0433

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Little Dipper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (48)
Special Occasion (42)
Romantic (37)
See All
Fun (33)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Good for Groups (25)
Cozy (24)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Worth the Drive (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Authentic (11)
Tasting Menu (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Casual (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Healthy (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Family Style (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Historic (4)
Seasonal (4)
People Watching (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Business Meals (3)
Waterfront (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Private Room (2)
Tapas (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1546 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Felt rushed and waitress told us as soon as clearing away dishes and removing pots from fire that she had a lot of tables finished and sitting around and could we move to the bar area??

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 17, 2017

great food and service! Will definitely visit again!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I love this place. The Little Dipper is one of the best dining experiences in town. All of the food is to die for! And everyone is always very nice and friendly. 5 stars!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fun, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 14, 2017

My daughter just moved to the Wilmington area and this was our first visit to the Little Dipper. I simply cannot emphasize enough what a wonderful experience this was! Our server, Samantha, was a gem! Helpful, friendly, attentive and fun! We chose the fontina cheese option with locally made bread and other assorted veggies. I ordered grilled scallops with a garlic ginger dipping sauce and it was perfect! We also had a simple milk chocolate dessert fondue with fruits and other sweet treats. Tonight's special was a cheese/dessert option for only $10 per person. The scallops were an additional charge, but well worth it. We plan to return for the full dinner fondue experience soon! My daughter also had a cherry cola martini and it was very good! We will definitely return to this neighborhood establishment soon!!!

Tags: Vegan, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This was a wonderful experience for me and my fiancé. We really loved the atmosphere, the service was excellent, and the food was absolutely delicious! The Little Dipper was recommended by another couple, and it did not disappoint!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Amazing experience. Definitely will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I've never been disappointed with LD Wilmington. We had early reservations for this visit. We were seated immediately. Our waitress Whitney was on top of it & even brought us two flutes of champagne for an anniversary toast. Solid service, great food & the atmosphere is so incredibly romantic. We live downtown so we are spoiled with a short walk to this lovely gem. It's not just a place for special occasions. It's great place to get a delicious, interactive meal that's outside the normal spectrum of sit down dinning. Looking forward to our next enjoyable LD experience.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I had dined at the Little Dipper before and had 3 friends join me for another expierence. Once again it was a wonderful expierence and our hostess, Kerrie was outstanding and very attentive. We could not have ask for better service. I will be going back as I want to introduce more to another Fondue experience that exceeds a national chain in price and service. Thank you The Little Dipper.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Love to fondue and this place does it very well!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Excellent food!! Excellent atmosphere!! One of my favorite restaurants to eat at in Wilmington. Do not go if you are looking for a quick meal. This a a multi course experience that takes time but you will enjoy every minute of it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 5, 2017

A truly fun dining experience. Highly recommended. A great place to dine with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

A fun experience. Food was good and inventive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We love to have a dinner at "The Little Dipper" because you are not rushed and each course takes time to prepare. It is enjoyable to watch the cheese fondue be mixed in front of you. The dinner for two provides enough food. The atmosphere is excellent for a couple or larger group to sit and talk.
This dinner, we sat in the dining area off the main floor and in a small area which was perfect for two. I will request it on my next reservation.

Tags: Vegan, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Such a fun place to go with friends for ladies night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Very enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Had dinner for my son's 17th birthday and it was a memorable experience. The food and service were excellent and he scored a small cheesecake since it was his birthday. We all left full and happy.

Tags: Healthy, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 26, 2017

My husband and I decided to come here for date night for something different and unique. We had tried fondue years ago back when we lived in Myrtle Beach. Be prepared for a two hour dinner just because of the way that fondue is done. We started out with the cheese which was very good we actually had a hard time deciding which one to try... they all sounded so good. For dinner we went with the undecided which is where you can pick different meats and sauces. That was a good choice because we got to try a little of everything and my husband got the lobster tail. To be honest the meet comes out a little bland because it's essentially boiled In a broth, but that is what the sauces or for. We ended up getting the dark chocolate for dessert with the huge variety plate with fruits pretzels cookies marshmallows etc. We did the dark chocolate with hazelnut Liquor. I will just tell you that the dessert was the highlight of the night. As I said it was just something different to do and overall it was pretty OK it's kind of loud or maybe it was just this particular night. Be sure to see the jellyfish aquarium it is very cool. I think next time we will just do dessert here because it was that good. Staff is very nice as well

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Overall a good experience. Just be prepared for a fat check

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was our first time at a fondue restaurant and The Little Dipper set the bar extremely high!! Our waitress, Natalie, was beyond amazing. She was extremely patient, pleasant, and helpful. We will definitely be returning!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Historic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Excellent! My husband and I went here for my birthday dinner. We made a reservation and were seated right away in a neat little nook for two. Our waiter was unbelievably good and helped us select everything from our cocktails to the dessert! We went on a Thurs. and it was Prix Fix night. A special menu with four courses for $27. Started with a Pomegranate Martini and my husband had Martin Ray Pinot Noir. For Our appetizer course we chose the Swiss cheese fondue which was delicious, then we both had Corn Chowder with Bourbon which was amazing ... But now I am full and we have two more courses to go! Dinner consisted of two different choices: shrimp, dumplings and sushimi tuna. The other: chicken, filet mignonette and pork. These also came with mushrooms and varied veggies to cook. Every bite was delicious as were the sauces! For dessert we chose the dark chocolate with Amaretto which was served with bananas, strawberries, pineapple, grapes, pretzels and two cream puffs. Cannot wait to go back with friends or family!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Outstanding service and food, you can truly take your time to enjoy every bite because your not being rushed a very romantic ambiance wonderful little jewel right on downtown

Tags: Healthy, Tapas, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Came here for my best friends bachelorette party 2/18/17. We thoroughly enjoyed it, the food was amazing and our waiter Wendell was great! Overall a good time with friends!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great experience out without our little ones. The outing gave us an opportunity to just sit and talk with some good friends with very little cell phone time. After all, if you're looking at your phone, then you aren't cooking. If you aren't cooking, then you aren't eating. Delicious food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I had an incredible time at The Little Dipper, our server was extremely friendly and helpful, the food was great, and it was overall a relaxing, enjoyable experience. Would 100% recommend to anyone looking for a unique place to eat!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We love this place,always a favorit, and my go to for my wifes birthday and our anniversary! The people are great, the food is amazing and atmosphere is perfect for a couple that want to enjoy each other.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I'm assuming since I put in the reservation instead of just showing up, they were kind enough to reserve a secluded 2 person booth. I was overly enamored with everything, honestly. The waiter was super friendly, and it was honestly so nice I barely realized the time the whole meal took up (we did a 4-course deal so we were there about 2 hours in the end). Definitely plan to go again, if not for a full dinner, then for some chocolate.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food made fresh in front of us.
Decor eclectic and fun.
Entire wait staff incredibly friendly and helpful.
Overall, this was a great dining experience!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The Little Dipper never disappoints us! The service was excellent as usual. John was our server on Valentine's Day and he was great! He answered all our questions, offered suggestions and was always attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had a great time with family while eating here for Valentine's Day. Stephanie was a great server and we look forward to eating there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Simply great food, service and experience in general. Took my wife here to surprise hER on Valentine's Day. Never had Fondue before going here, but we will definitely coming back in the future

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This was a Valentines date so they inflated the price. First impression was horrible because of the price of the food. Which was 120 for me and my wife. Found out from a friend it was 60-$80 per couple. This place is ok, maybe fondue isn't for me. Hard for me to get past the price especially this being my only experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything about the meal and service was good. The only bad part was that we did not receive our complimentary glass of champagne with dessert. There may have been a miscommunication with our waiter, but it didn't ruin anything about our experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was wonderful and the service was excellent!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 27, 2017

My fiancé and I went for his birthday and got really great service. It was a great place to relax since we had our own little corner booth. Food was exceptional. Highly recommend the Cheddar Ale cheese.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I always love taking new people to the Little Dipper! its delicious and affordable unlike many fondue restaurants.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We have been here for Anniversaries and Birthdays and have had a great time. A great location in a classic downtown building. The staff is always very knowledgeable and friendly and makes sure you have a great experience. Our favorite restaurant for fondue in Wilmington.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This was our first trip to the Wilmington location. We were there for a birthday dinner with my wife. Had a nice quiet , intimate booth as requested. Food was outstanding and of course plentiful. Our server was outstanding with service and recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Simply delicious! We had a wonderful birthday dinner for our daughter and everyone enjoyed the food immensely. We will be back!!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 15, 2017

What a fun evening with friends! Fell in love with this place! It's not just a place to go eat but a dining experience from A to Z! Our waitress was very informative and helpful with the selections. I will return soon for more fun and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Fondue is marvelous and the intimate table settings make it a great place for a special occasion. One of our favorite places to go.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.