About The Little Dipper

An experience you won't find at any other restaurant in Wilmington - unique, bold and fun...Fondue! The Little Dipper's menu consists of premium meats, fresh seafood, vegetables and homemade sauces for dipping. Dip organic bread into hot melted cheddar cheese with beer, garlic and spices, prepared tableside by your server. Indulge in blackened filet with a warm au pouivre, sashimi grade tuna dipped in Asian ginger sauce or shrimp drenched in wasabi lime aioli. For dessert don't pass up strawberries dipped in milk chocolate, or bananas dipped in warm dark chocolate blended with smooth peanut butter.

The dining environment is casual and hip with bright colors and rich cherry wood. Each table is handmade with built-in electric burners where the guests cook together in one common fondue pot. Whether you are with a large group celebration or out for an intimate dinner for two, Fondue is special and different! Join us soon and get hooked!

138 South Front Street
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - close
SEASONAL HOURS: Open EVERY DAY Late Spring through Early Fall 5pm for dinner

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 251-0433

Website:
http://www.littledipperfondue.com/

Entertainment:
We offer live music outside on the back deck on the weekends and special holidays (seasonal - spring/summer/fall.) Call for more detailed information.

Catering:
The Little Dipper offers onsite preparation of cheese fondue appetizers, a chocolate fondue fountain with fruits and sweets for dipping and other party platter appetizers. Fondue is our specialty although our Chef enjoys creating special dishes for parties and other occasions.

Private Party Facilities:
We have special party platters to accommodate both large and small parties including an assortment of meats, seafood and vegetarian choices.

Private Party Contact:
Kristen Gruodis: (910) 251-0433

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Little Dipper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (39)
Special Occasion (35)
Romantic (35)
See All
Fun (31)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Good for Groups (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Cozy (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Hot Spot (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Authentic (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Casual (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Healthy (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Family Style (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Historic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Private Room (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Seasonal (3)
People Watching (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Waterfront (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Spicy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1528 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding service and food, you can tr ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding service and food, you can truly take your time to enjoy every bite because your not being rushed a very romantic ambiance wonderful little jewel right on downtown

Tags: Healthy, Tapas, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here for my best friends bacheloret ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 4 days ago

Came here for my best friends bachelorette party 2/18/17. We thoroughly enjoyed it, the food was amazing and our waiter Wendell was great! Overall a good time with friends!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience out without our little ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Great experience out without our little ones. The outing gave us an opportunity to just sit and talk with some good friends with very little cell phone time. After all, if you're looking at your phone, then you aren't cooking. If you aren't cooking, then you aren't eating. Delicious food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had an incredible time at The Little D ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

I had an incredible time at The Little Dipper, our server was extremely friendly and helpful, the food was great, and it was overall a relaxing, enjoyable experience. Would 100% recommend to anyone looking for a unique place to eat!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place,always a favorit, and ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 5 days ago

We love this place,always a favorit, and my go to for my wifes birthday and our anniversary! The people are great, the food is amazing and atmosphere is perfect for a couple that want to enjoy each other.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm assuming since I put in the reservat ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 6 days ago

I'm assuming since I put in the reservation instead of just showing up, they were kind enough to reserve a secluded 2 person booth. I was overly enamored with everything, honestly. The waiter was super friendly, and it was honestly so nice I barely realized the time the whole meal took up (we did a 4-course deal so we were there about 2 hours in the end). Definitely plan to go again, if not for a full dinner, then for some chocolate.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food made fresh in front of us. Decor e ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food made fresh in front of us.

Decor eclectic and fun.

Entire wait staff incredibly friendly and helpful.

Overall, this was a great dining experience!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Little Dipper never disappoints us! ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The Little Dipper never disappoints us! The service was excellent as usual. John was our server on Valentine's Day and he was great! He answered all our questions, offered suggestions and was always attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time with family while eatin ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had a great time with family while eating here for Valentine's Day. Stephanie was a great server and we look forward to eating there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply great food, service and experienc ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Simply great food, service and experience in general. Took my wife here to surprise hER on Valentine's Day. Never had Fondue before going here, but we will definitely coming back in the future

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a Valentines date so they infla ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This was a Valentines date so they inflated the price. First impression was horrible because of the price of the food. Which was 120 for me and my wife. Found out from a friend it was 60-$80 per couple. This place is ok, maybe fondue isn't for me. Hard for me to get past the price especially this being my only experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Everything about the meal and service wa ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything about the meal and service was good. The only bad part was that we did not receive our complimentary glass of champagne with dessert. There may have been a miscommunication with our waiter, but it didn't ruin anything about our experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was wonderful and the service w ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was wonderful and the service was excellent!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My fiancé and I went for his birthday an ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 27, 2017

My fiancé and I went for his birthday and got really great service. It was a great place to relax since we had our own little corner booth. Food was exceptional. Highly recommend the Cheddar Ale cheese.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I always love taking new people to the L ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I always love taking new people to the Little Dipper! its delicious and affordable unlike many fondue restaurants.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here for Anniversaries and ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We have been here for Anniversaries and Birthdays and have had a great time. A great location in a classic downtown building. The staff is always very knowledgeable and friendly and makes sure you have a great experience. Our favorite restaurant for fondue in Wilmington.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first trip to the Wilmingto ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This was our first trip to the Wilmington location. We were there for a birthday dinner with my wife. Had a nice quiet , intimate booth as requested. Food was outstanding and of course plentiful. Our server was outstanding with service and recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply delicious! We had a wonderful bir ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Simply delicious! We had a wonderful birthday dinner for our daughter and everyone enjoyed the food immensely. We will be back!!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a fun evening with friends! Fell in ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 15, 2017

What a fun evening with friends! Fell in love with this place! It's not just a place to go eat but a dining experience from A to Z! Our waitress was very informative and helpful with the selections. I will return soon for more fun and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fondue is marvelous and the intimate tab ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Fondue is marvelous and the intimate table settings make it a great place for a special occasion. One of our favorite places to go.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Casual,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best restaurant in Wilmingto ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This is the best restaurant in Wilmington. The menu is interesting and creative. The cocktails are very tasty, and very strong! No watered down drinks here. The prices are very reasonable for the quality of food. What sets The Little Dipper apart in a town full of great restaurants is the exceptional service. Our server, Alex, was friendly, prompt, and accommodating while possessing the important understanding of when to give diners space to enjoy the meal. Hearing we were visiting from out of town and unsure of what to do on our vacation, she put together a list of local must sees for us. She was very welcoming and sweet to our toddler son, bringing out a small plate of grapes and apples just for him before the meal. The whole staff was attentive, warm, and welcoming. We left feeling as though we made new friends in a new town. Don't miss out on this gem!

Tags: Happy Hour, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was awesome! Don't ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The food and service was awesome! Don't be the slightest bit late for your reservation, they will give your table away even if you're trying to find parking in the downtown area.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Romantic, Tapas, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The service and food were excellent! I w ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The service and food were excellent! I would highly recommend for a date night or small groups!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We came here in New Years Day. Lovely me ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We came here in New Years Day. Lovely meal. Our only complaint is they did not inform us it was only a Prix Fix menu for the holiday. We would return.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Fun, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

LOVED the Little Dipper!! We had been t ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

LOVED the Little Dipper!! We had been to its better-known competitor/chain restaurant several times in the past and definitely enjoyed it, but the Little Dipper had unique twists that made us wish we lived in Wilmington so we could be frequent customers.

The decor is playful and cozy, with narrow hallways, fun fabric stretched on canvases, modern light fixtures, and an iridescent aquarium filled with ethereal jellyfish.

We made a 5:00 reservation and were quickly seated at a corner booth with high partitions that gave us privacy and enhanced the feeling of romance. Our server was Samantha and she was WONDERFUL!! We've been to fantastic restaurants around the world, and she is up there with some of the best servers we have had.

Samantha greeted us enthusiastically and let us know that she wanted us to really enjoy our experience and to feel no need to move on to the next course before we were ready. She made a great beer recommendation for my husband, and as we made our choices for each part of the meal her suggestions truly made our meal outstanding - most notably her encouragement for us to try several of the sauces on the menu that we would not have tried otherwise. The Fontina Cheese fondue was light and delicious, and the Caribbean Jerk BBQ was FABULOUS, just like Samantha had advertised - we would have bought a bottle of it to take home if it was available! As is crucially important for fondue, the meats were perfectly prepped and fresh (and we were given great instructions for cooking times).

We probably shouldn't have gotten the "Supreme" dessert plate, but it was worth every single calorie!! The cream puffs were such a creative idea, the Oreo's were decadent, and the pound cake was beautifully moist (much better than their competitor's). Best of all was the to-die-for fondue - "Black and Tan" - dark chocolate, caramel and freshly ground Himalayan Pink salt.

A return trip to Wilmington will definitely include The Little Dipper.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food and great service. We had a wo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good food and great service. We had a wonderful evening. Thanks.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Favorite anniversary restaurant, great s ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Favorite anniversary restaurant, great spot for adults looking to have a great meal and enjoy someone's company.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Fun place. T ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent food and service. Fun place. Tuesday special cheese and chocolate fondue for $10 per person is outstanding value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our server , Patrick was awesome !

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Our server , Patrick was awesome !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was excellent, service really g ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Our meal was excellent, service really good too! Only complaint is that the restaurant was almost empty and they seated us next to a party of four who were really loud. But they quieted down once they started eating. This was a great experience, especially for one of our party who had never done a fondue dinner before. She raved about how great it was, even 2 days later! Thanks again for a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was fabulous and our server was ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was fabulous and our server was very attentive. he even ran out to find me with the rose I had accidently left behind!

I am a HUGE fan and try to reserve a table a few times a month. Tuesday is locals night and Wednesday is Ladies night. Great meal deals :)

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Original fondue was excellent; liked tha ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Original fondue was excellent; liked that it comes with a variety of bread, veggies, and fruit. Dark chocolate dessert fondue was delicious chocolate; dried apricots were hard as a rock.

Caesar salad had “too much” dressing on it and anchovies, which I usually like, were more “boney” than I remember.

Carrie provided knowledgeable and friendly, responsive service. Had to push a bit to obtain an a la carte menu, so that we could just have a cheese fondue dinner.

The overhead fan was on high at one point, and it was uncomfortably chilly until we finally requested it be turned lower (which they did).

Overall, a fun experience.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always delicious and fun Our adult chil ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Always delicious and fun

Our adult children enjoy an evening with us at the Little Dipper Wilmington yay!!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Samantha was great: knowledge ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Our server Samantha was great: knowledgeable, patient and funny

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and wonderful service!! I wou ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food and wonderful service!! I would definitely recommend The Little Dipper!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinning experience was more than- di ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Our dinning experience was more than- dinner with our neighbors! It was an event! Enjoying well made drinks, choosing our meal - learning different cooking methods, cooking the food, discussions, experiencing fondue - it is like a culture all of its own to eat at The Little Dipper! We all had a great time. Thank You!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server ALEX was phenomenal. She was ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Our server ALEX was phenomenal. She was attentive and informative. Had a great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We love this little place on ladies nigh ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We love this little place on ladies night!! Always a great time with great service. Don't forget to make a reservation - these guys and girls are popular and busy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, helpful in ordering which ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great service, helpful in ordering which was overwhelming at first. . . Not a place to go for a quiet, romantic dinner. There seemed to be a couple little nooks for 2; ask for that if you want to have easy conversation. We will return for the chocolate fondue; didn't have time to enjoy that part of the menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Can't say enough good about this place! ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Can't say enough good about this place! Wendell was an excellent server and we certainly felt like we got our money's worth!

Tags: , Modern Decor, Romantic, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.