Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About The Little Dipper

An experience you won't find at any other restaurant in Wilmington - unique, bold and fun...Fondue! The Little Dipper's menu consists of premium meats, fresh seafood, vegetables and homemade sauces for dipping. Dip organic bread into hot melted cheddar cheese with beer, garlic and spices, prepared tableside by your server. Indulge in blackened filet with a warm au pouivre, sashimi grade tuna dipped in Asian ginger sauce or shrimp drenched in wasabi lime aioli. For dessert don't pass up strawberries dipped in milk chocolate, or bananas dipped in warm dark chocolate blended with smooth peanut butter.

The dining environment is casual and hip with bright colors and rich cherry wood. Each table is handmade with built-in electric burners where the guests cook together in one common fondue pot. Whether you are with a large group celebration or out for an intimate dinner for two, Fondue is special and different! Join us soon and get hooked!

138 South Front Street
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - close
SEASONAL HOURS: Open EVERY DAY Late Spring through Early Fall 5pm for dinner

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 251-0433

Website:
http://www.littledipperfondue.com/

Entertainment:
We offer live music outside on the back deck on the weekends and special holidays (seasonal - spring/summer/fall.) Call for more detailed information.

Catering:
The Little Dipper offers onsite preparation of cheese fondue appetizers, a chocolate fondue fountain with fruits and sweets for dipping and other party platter appetizers. Fondue is our specialty although our Chef enjoys creating special dishes for parties and other occasions.

Private Party Facilities:
We have special party platters to accommodate both large and small parties including an assortment of meats, seafood and vegetarian choices.

Private Party Contact:
Kristen Gruodis: (910) 251-0433

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Little Dipper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (56)
Good for a Date (38)
Good for Birthdays (33)
See All
Romantic (32)
Fun (30)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Good for Groups (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Casual (20)
Cozy (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Bar Seating (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Authentic (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
People Watching (4)
Tapas (4)
Private Room (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Seasonal (4)
Spicy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Historic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Waterfront (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Family Style (2)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1625 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Amazing couples experience!!! We enjoyed a cozy booth for two, and the food was so much fun to prepare and super delicious! They offer lots of dipping choices and cooking styles too! The staff was wonderful!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great for girls night out! Amazing specials and great wine list! Will definitely return again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Casual, Fun, Cozy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

The amount of food given for 4 people for the cheese fondue was pretty skimpy. We each had 1 grape, tomato, broccoli, potato and carrot. Lots of bread! We ordered a shot of frangelica in our chocolate, really couldn't tell if it was in there or not. I have eaten there several times, this is the first I was disappointed.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Always a 10/10, awesome food and awesome service! This is my go to go any special occasion or just a girl's night out.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Myself being the only one who had been there before had an idea of what to expect but even still I was blown away as well as my guests. All around just a great experience. Our server was patient and kind, also.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Little Dipper never disappoints us! Great food, atmosphere and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The Little Dipper is one of our most favorite treats when we are in Wilmington. We prefer to order off their cheese and chocolate menu and have never been disappointed. Everything always tastes fresh and decadent. Our favorites include the Cheddar Ale Cheese, the Tuscan Sun-dried Tomato Cheese, and the Dark Chocolate pot with the classic dippers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Excellent service and fun for girls night out. Waitstaff is amazingly attentive. Only complaint was how noisy it was inside. Next visit we will make reservations for the deck.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Great evening out with family. Our waiter was awesome, very friendly. The Little Dipper has great food and nice environment! Great experience and can't wait to return!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 26, 2017

We were all going to get the locals night special and had a reservation. They told us to get locals night it was an hour wait. So we got the 4 course.... which made no sense and was $40 more per person. The same cheese and chocolate as the locals menu with no wait????

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Excellent food and service! A bit noisy with a full house but nothing unusual for a full restaurant. Great options and a quality experience overall!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Awesome food and a great value for locals night. My son enjoyed his birthday very much.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 24, 2017

We had an awesome time creating our own meals! We took our two adult kids with us and one had never done fondue. Let's say it was a good experience! Food was great and our waiter was fun so everyone was happy! Good Cosmopolitans too!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fun, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 17, 2017

It was a unique experience. The server was super-helpful and friendly to us neophytes. Each course was delicious. It is a bit pricy. Figure at least $50 per person if you are going to do it up. (Drinks, dessert, etc.) But we really enjoyed it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The food was great and the the ambiance of the restaurant was so relaxing and cozy. Only problem was there was a large party next to us the night I was there and it was so loud I could barely hear over the noise of the party.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We loved our waitress Angela! She was very personable and awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Came here for my 30th birthday. Had a great experience and a great server, she was very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I can't say enough wonderful stuff about this place! The location was ideal, the food was phenomenal, the service was spot-on and the weekday evening specials are a great value. If I didn't live so far away, I'd be a regular at this amazing establishment!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

All around great night with great service. We were seated beside some screeching children and it was a ladies' night for us away from our own screeching children. Staff were very kind and accommodating to move us to a quieter section of the restaurant. We had a blast!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 11, 2017

It was a great experience. The staff was attentive and was very helpful on making recommendations.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The food was great and was very reasonably priced. You will not leave hungry for sure. Our waitress was fabulous!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We enjoyed our evening at the Little Dipper, food was good and a very friendly staff.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 7, 2017

It's impossible for me review The Little Dipper without comparing it to The Melting Pot. We decided to give TLD a try since it gets such amazing reviews all across the internet. Sadly, we left fairly disappointed. The environment is extremely loud and we were seated across from each other at the longest 2-person table I've ever seen. We literally had to lean forward and practically yell to talk to each other. Our waitress was friendly and kept the food coming without delays, so that part was great! As for the food, the main positives were the fresh local bread and the tasty potatoes. The consistency of both the cheese and chocolate courses were really dense and grainy. Both were so dense/thick it was really hard to successfully dip things without losing them in the pot. The consistency of our chicken was extremely fibrous, which we both found kind of odd. The Au Poivre sauce was delicious, but none of the other 4 sauces we tried really stood out. By the end of the meal, I regretted not going to Melting Pot after making the 2 hour drive to Wilmington.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Always love coming to the Little Dipper! Food, drinks (especially the Stoli Strawberry Lemonade!!) and service are awesome.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Little dipper is a great place for a cozy date or a fun girls' night out. They have specials nearly every day of the week. Service is always outstanding here.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fun, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We were lucky to get a great window table, which just added to the whole experience. Fondu is such a fun dining experience to do with like minded friends. The food an wait staff were great. Be sure to come with a huge appetite!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Not my first time at The Little Dipper and certainly not my last. My fiancé and his friends went to school in Wilmington so anytime we get together down there we make a reservation! Amazing food, lots of fun, and well worth the price if you go every once in a while!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The experience was great. The service was great, the food was good and it's a great place for a date night or to try something new. The lobster was superb and their drinks were good too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We celebrated my mothers 94 th Birthday with family and enjoyed ot tremendously. What a great ambiance to enjoy food sync family!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Excellent as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Fondue dining can be a little more interactive with the staff than most other restaurants. Our experience was excellent. The entire staff was attentive, friendly and knowledgeable. Although not waterfront, the restaurant is only a short block walk from Wilmington's river walk. Metered street parking was easy to find and free after 6:30.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Always love the Little Dipper. We usually go for lady's night on Wednesday. Just went recently on a Saturday night. Very good but wish you did not have to do the three course menu. Just being able to order what you wanted with out the entree option. But love this place!!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Everything was wonderful! My husband and I were there to celebrate our anniversary. The waiter was great! Very attentive! We love the Little Dipper!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Great service and fun experience

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 11, 2017

would and have recommended this place for years and will continue to do so as long as the current environment is maintained.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, People Watching, Spicy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Fondue fun. Great atmosphere and the service was excellent. So good I'd give a shout out to our server if I could remember her name. Food is really good not outstanding and that's not a knock it's just that it's Fondue. Highly recommend this place over the corporatized Melting Pot if you're wanting Fondue. Great drinks here as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Spicy, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The food here was outstanding, and is a little bit less expensive than the Melting Pot. Certain nights (like Ladies Night) are a little bit noisier, so if you are planning a quiet, romantic evening, then you may want to pay attention to what day it is.

I would highly recommend going "asian style" with the whole fondue experience. And if you are looking for an amazing server, then ask for Samantha. She's the best! It was our anniversary, and she was very accommodating.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Drinks were awesome! We loved the food and our waitress was so helpful and attentive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Amazing service and so willing to help with any accommodations. Our server's recommendations were spot on!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Romantic, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Wonderful fondue restaurant. Plenty of options for the cheese and main fondues. Choose from oil or infused broths. Nice seasonal selection of items as well. Great wine list, Sundays are 1/2 price on all bottled wines, good deal! And if you don't drink it all you are allowed to take the wine home with you, which is nice if you are the only one drinking! The chocolate dessert fondues are the bomb but after eating cheese and the main fondues one doesn't have room for dessert, at least I didn't. I've come to the LD just for dessert fondue and coffee, great meetup place for friends. Has been in operation for many years and continues to please.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.