Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About The Little Dipper

An experience you won't find at any other restaurant in Wilmington - unique, bold and fun...Fondue! The Little Dipper's menu consists of premium meats, fresh seafood, vegetables and homemade sauces for dipping. Dip organic bread into hot melted cheddar cheese with beer, garlic and spices, prepared tableside by your server. Indulge in blackened filet with a warm au pouivre, sashimi grade tuna dipped in Asian ginger sauce or shrimp drenched in wasabi lime aioli. For dessert don't pass up strawberries dipped in milk chocolate, or bananas dipped in warm dark chocolate blended with smooth peanut butter.

The dining environment is casual and hip with bright colors and rich cherry wood. Each table is handmade with built-in electric burners where the guests cook together in one common fondue pot. Whether you are with a large group celebration or out for an intimate dinner for two, Fondue is special and different! Join us soon and get hooked!

138 South Front Street
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fondue

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - close
SEASONAL HOURS: Open EVERY DAY Late Spring through Early Fall 5pm for dinner

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 251-0433

Website:
http://www.littledipperfondue.com/

Entertainment:
We offer live music outside on the back deck on the weekends and special holidays (seasonal - spring/summer/fall.) Call for more detailed information.

Catering:
The Little Dipper offers onsite preparation of cheese fondue appetizers, a chocolate fondue fountain with fruits and sweets for dipping and other party platter appetizers. Fondue is our specialty although our Chef enjoys creating special dishes for parties and other occasions.

Private Party Facilities:
We have special party platters to accommodate both large and small parties including an assortment of meats, seafood and vegetarian choices.

Private Party Contact:
Kristen Gruodis: (910) 251-0433

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Little Dipper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (56)
Good for a Date (52)
Romantic (38)
See All
Good for Birthdays (37)
Fun (37)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Cozy (31)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Good for Groups (26)
Worth the Drive (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Casual (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Healthy (9)
Authentic (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Waterfront (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Family Style (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Happy Hour (4)
Private Room (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Vegan (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Spicy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Historic (3)
People Watching (2)
Tapas (2)
Business Meals (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fireplace (1)
Scenic View (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1588 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Fondue fun. Great atmosphere and the service was excellent. So good I'd give a shout out to our server if I could remember her name. Food is really good not outstanding and that's not a knock it's just that it's Fondue. Highly recommend this place over the corporatized Melting Pot if you're wanting Fondue. Great drinks here as well.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Spicy, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The food here was outstanding, and is a little bit less expensive than the Melting Pot. Certain nights (like Ladies Night) are a little bit noisier, so if you are planning a quiet, romantic evening, then you may want to pay attention to what day it is.

I would highly recommend going "asian style" with the whole fondue experience. And if you are looking for an amazing server, then ask for Samantha. She's the best! It was our anniversary, and she was very accommodating.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Drinks were awesome! We loved the food and our waitress was so helpful and attentive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Amazing service and so willing to help with any accommodations. Our server's recommendations were spot on!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Romantic, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Wonderful fondue restaurant. Plenty of options for the cheese and main fondues. Choose from oil or infused broths. Nice seasonal selection of items as well. Great wine list, Sundays are 1/2 price on all bottled wines, good deal! And if you don't drink it all you are allowed to take the wine home with you, which is nice if you are the only one drinking! The chocolate dessert fondues are the bomb but after eating cheese and the main fondues one doesn't have room for dessert, at least I didn't. I've come to the LD just for dessert fondue and coffee, great meetup place for friends. Has been in operation for many years and continues to please.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 25, 2017

This was a perfect experience!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Food was good but not as great as it usually is. Portions seemed smaller. Service was ok

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We were given a gift card here for our one year anniversary! It was perfect. We went all out. Wine, full course meal, and chocolate fondue for dessert.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The service was excellent! Handcrafted mint chocolate martinis, that are no longer on the menu are out of this world !!! Always a great place for our date night !

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very nice experience overall. This was our first time and now that we know how the fondue thing works, we will order differently.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Private Room, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The restaurant was a little warm especially considering you have a hot plate in front of you. Food was great however and they did turn on fans which helped with the heat some.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had such an awesome time! We had a party of 9 for a bachelorette party and John was so helpful and such an easy going person to handle our big group! We appreciated how accommodating and helpful he was when explaining the menu and giving us directions on how to cook the meat. For most of us, it was our first fondue restaurant experience and it will definitely be hard to top!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 13, 2017

As always, an amazing experience. From the service, to the decadent meal, and the great atmosphere, just a fabulous time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I took my girlfriend here for the first time on her birthday and we absolutely loved it! We had set up a reservation and the table was set and ready to go right when we got there. Our waiter, Patrick, was extremely knowledgeable about the food and made the experience even better! To top off the evening, they even brought out a delicious cheese cake slice for us to enjoy!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Whenever we are celebrating a special birthday or life event, we frequently choose The Little Dipper for dinner. The restaurant is cozy, the fondue is delicious and fun, and we always have a wonderful time! We also enjoy its downtown location.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Always a 10! Melting Pot can't touch this place. The historic building is fabulously decorated, food is better, portions bigger, brighter and the price is much much more reasonable.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 11, 2017

One of the best meals out for a long time. The food was excellent and so was the service. Our server Carrie was terrific and helped make this dinner really fun! We will return again soon for sure.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great drinks, great food, wonderful ambiance. I love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Saw our server was at the bar when we finally got tired of waiting for our bill to be processed and left cash at our table. Server offered menu information and innacurate pricing as uninformed, then overcharged the final bill as a result. Unclean utensils and simply overpriced for portions and in general felt service was consistently poor and unmanaged.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a great evening! The food and environment was great. What made our meal was the wonderful waitress "Alex" that we had. She walked us newbies through every step and made wonderful suggestions and was a delight! I can't tell you how much we enjoyed our evening.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We came to town just for this place. We were celebrating 12 years married and figured this would be a nice place to do so. The entire staff was fantastic! Stacy our waitress was always attentive and just constantly positive and smiling. Made our night just right!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Our first experience here. Fondue is a different style of dining and our waiter was excellent at putting my wife and I at ease while explaining the dinner choices. The food and service was excellent. We would highly recommend and we will return with friends and family. Great find in downtown Wilmington.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Celebrating our daughter's first communion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My overall experience was great! It was a nice date night and it was almost like we had our own little private corner. Food was excellent, service was great and it was a neat way to have dinner. Would recommend 10/10!!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Private Room, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Fun, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Never done fondue before, so it was novel. Nice atmosphere right down near the river. Food was expensive for the portion size, but that was clear in advance, and we weren't looking for a bargain. Happpy we did it, but aren't looking to go back. The recommendations from the server were right on. One major pet peeve: the two of us were seated at a table for four, and told we needed to eat quickly since a foursome was coming in later and they needed the table. Unacceptable when we had a reservation two days in advance. Their booking challenges aren't my problem, and it tainted our entire meal, as we did not feel welcome right from the start.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Our family of 4 went to Little Dipper again this year to celebrate our son's 16th birthday. He has requested this restaurant for his birthday for the last 3 years in a row. We not only had the same table as last year, but the same waitress. We were thrilled! Our dining experience was wonderful from beginning to end. The food was so fresh and delicious- we couldn't eat another bite. The service was exceptional, as always. It was nice because we were attended to, but did not feel like we were being rushed. The slice of cheesecake with the candle for our son's birthday was a nice touch. He has already asked to go back again next year.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Little Dipper will never disappoint! Always delicious and the wait staff is always friendly and prompt!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food was great, the service was amazing, the drinks were really good, and the price was fantastic! They have great specials and the staff is really helpful with making suggestions if you have any questions! Wonderful fondue experience without the normal overly priced fondue menu!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 7, 2017

It was a little hard to find parking, however that's the only downside. Amazing place for a date!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The Little Dipper is one of Wilmington's gems! We love the weekly specials. The food is always fresh and delicious! Service is accomodating and personalized. We highly recommend it!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Modern Decor, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Little Dipper was great as always! Our server had great suggestions. The food was delicious!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Perfect surprise date night for my wife! Good and service we're great. We had a corner both, so it was a very romantic dinner.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Zayn was fantastic! They even brought glasses of champagne to celebrate our anniversary.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 3, 2017

In 2015, my wife and I hosted our wedding rehearsal dinner at The Little Dipper (which was a wonderful affair), so naturally we chose to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary there. Our service Aaron was fantastic and the food was fresh and wonderfully cooked (joking...it's fondue). We always have a wonderful experience there and can't wait to visit again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We had a great time celebrating our anniversary at the little dipper. The food was fresh and tasted great. We always enjoy trying new preparations when we go. Be prepared to spend a while and enjoy multiple courses.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Everything was great; the food, the atmosphere and John, our server!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Fantastic menu options for a fondue restaurant. Something for everyone. Wait staff and management truly a cut above the rest. We drove 2 hrs to get there, we'd gladly double that to dine there again and have a night in Wilmington.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Ate during restaurant week & it was a great deal as the price was reduced & they did not charge for some extras. They have great choices & all were good. Carrie was an excellent, friendly, accommodating, and attentive waitress. Loved the Half & Half Chocolate Fondu with an edible orchid. They also have a nice wine list. My favorite place to eat in Wilmington & they are one of the rare restaurants to have a 100 health rating!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed my last visit to Little Dipper with one of my best girlfriends. (I have been a few times before) Our waiter, Wendell was great and made wonderful recommendations. We branched out from our usual cheese (Cheddar) and got the Fontina Basil (upon recommendation) which was rich, creamy and absolutely delicious, especially for the garlic lover like myself. We were told that the bread for the cheese is baked fresh from a shop in downtown Wilmington. They had great specials on the menu, so we did the full 4 course meal. Salad was delicious and the proteins (filet, chicken and shrimp) were tasty, especially with the sauces. Dessert was our favorite course - we got the peanut butter, chocolate and caramel and it was delicious. Perfect blend of all three. We will definitely be back. Great for girls nights, date nights, and any special occasion or just something different.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Our waitress was very friendly. We really liked her. She made us feel very comfortable and explained everything as she went along. It was an enjoyable experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.