About The Library Restaurant - Myrtle Beach

1212 North Kings Hwy
Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
View Larger Map

Myrtle Beach's only 3 Star Restaurant since 1974. Specializing in tableside service. From the Caesar salad to Bananas Flambe. The Library Restaurant represents perfection. Special occasions, Anniversaries, Birthdays or just a time to indulge. Private rooms available.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
European, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
13th Avenue North

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 448-4527

Website:
http://www.thelibraryrestaurantsc.com/

Parking Details:
We have over 30 parking places around the area.

Executive Chef:
Jesseriah Gass

Private Party Facilities:
Private rooms available for up to 40 persons. We also have a wine cellar room just for 2.(minimums do apply)

Private Party Contact:
Shad Velasco: 8434484527x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Baked Feta with Tomato Pesto - The Library Restaurant - Myrtle Beach, Myrtle Beach, SC
  • Baked Salmon - The Library Restaurant - Myrtle Beach, Myrtle Beach, SC
  • Baked Grouper Topped With Crab and Champagne Sauce - The Library Restaurant - Myrtle Beach, Myrtle Beach, SC
  • Bananas Foster - The Library Restaurant - Myrtle Beach, Myrtle Beach, SC
  • Lamb Chops - The Library Restaurant - Myrtle Beach, Myrtle Beach, SC
  • Ceasar Salad - The Library Restaurant - Myrtle Beach, Myrtle Beach, SC
  • The Library - The Library Restaurant - Myrtle Beach, Myrtle Beach, SC
Baked Feta with Tomato Pesto - The Library Restaurant - Myrtle Beach, Myrtle Beach, SC
Baked Salmon - The Library Restaurant - Myrtle Beach, Myrtle Beach, SC
Baked Grouper Topped With Crab and Champagne Sauce - The Library Restaurant - Myrtle Beach, Myrtle Beach, SC
Bananas Foster - The Library Restaurant - Myrtle Beach, Myrtle Beach, SC
Lamb Chops - The Library Restaurant - Myrtle Beach, Myrtle Beach, SC
Ceasar Salad - The Library Restaurant - Myrtle Beach, Myrtle Beach, SC
The Library - The Library Restaurant - Myrtle Beach, Myrtle Beach, SC

The Library Restaurant - Myrtle Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
South Carolina
Best Overall
Myrtle Beach
Best Food
Myrtle Beach
3 More
Best Service
Myrtle Beach
Best Ambiance
Myrtle Beach
Special Occasion
Myrtle Beach
Best Restaurants in Myrtle Beach ›

Special Occasion (21)
Good for a Date (18)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Romantic (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Cozy (6)
Historic (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Authentic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Business Meals (4)
Private Room (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Casual (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
568 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dined at the Library with a group of fri ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 3 days ago

Dined at the Library with a group of friends who traveled to MB for golf and shopping. All of our meals were excellent. The presentation of the she crab soup was flawless. Our waiter could not have been more knowledgeable or attentive (although there was only one other couple in the restaurant. Will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been going to The Library for mor ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I have been going to The Library for more years than I care to admit. It has consistently provided a fine dinning experience. I last enjoyed their excellent Thanksgiving dinner. This establishment never disappoints.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came to celebrate our 1st Thanksgivin ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We came to celebrate our 1st Thanksgiving in Myrtle Beach. I had heard only good things about The Library. We were not disappointed. The Libreary is a warm and cozy place.

We had the Thanksgiving Dinner. It was the best I ever had. All of the foods on the plate complimented the Turkey and each one was better and more satisfying. Our waiter Daniel was the best. We were not hurried. I can not wait to return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

As usual a great dinner Caesar salad and ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 17, 2016

As usual a great dinner Caesar salad and steak Diane prepared table side were both perfect. Steak was "cutable with a fork. Bob the server was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable experience with excellent food ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Enjoyable experience with excellent food and service. Definitely will return.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We had never been to The Library and we ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had never been to The Library and we are so happy we picked this for a special occasion! The food, service, and professionalism of the staff all ranked as 5 out of 5 stars for us. We spent 15 minutes after dinner talking to the owner/chef, and it was a delight to meet him and get to know even more about the restaurant. The food prep at the table (Caesar Salad and Steak Diane) was phenomenal. Joshua did a terrific job, and his knowledge of the menu and wine list was a definite plus. We will definitely return, and would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who is in Myrtle Beach, or who will be visiting there. It is by far the premier restaurant in the Grand Strand, with no equals. Bon appetit!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Out of our week's stay at Myrtle Beach, ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Out of our week's stay at Myrtle Beach, this was THE BEST restaurant we found! The food was prepared to perfection and the taste was fine dining at its best.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent atmosphere and food. Service ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent atmosphere and food. Service was spot on. Specialty Cocktails were very unique and tasty. We had several items that required table-side food preparation (Caesar Salad for two, Steak Diane). Everything was handled perfectly. Note: this place attracts a dressier clientele than most other Myrtle Beach area restaurants, so plan accordingly, but it is well worth the trip.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for special occasions. The w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Great place for special occasions. The wait staff was very knowledgeable of the food & they were great to suggest food & wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambience, service, quality. Great place ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Ambience, service, quality. Great place to have an excellent meal and a pleasant evening.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding ....great food ....great ser ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Outstanding ....great food ....great service This place is a gem

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Once again The Library was an amazing me ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Once again The Library was an amazing meal. The wait staff is very attentive and knowledgeable.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our tenth visit to THE LIBRARY. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 20, 2016

This was our tenth visit to THE LIBRARY...and we are never disappointed. Chris has been our server several times - he's a professional, friendly and outstanding server. We love the drink and the food - blueberry martinis to die for. The lump crab meat appetizer - huge lumps of perfect mild delicious crab served with drawn butter!!!! The steak dian, prepared tableside, is simply outstanding. and the tableside desserts are all delicious. We love to bring new friends to The Library for their first experience - and it's memorable! We have also been on holidays (Thanksgiving and New Year's Eve) and have been very satisfied. We highly recommend THE LIBRARY!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, service and attention to d ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Amazing food, service and attention to detail. Shad and Chris are simply amazing and much gratitude for their service

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time here. Service was excellent, ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 14, 2016

First time here. Service was excellent, but food was good, but not excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Super seafood and prep. Beautifully pres ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Super seafood and prep. Beautifully presented

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

we had an excellent meal and the service ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

we had an excellent meal and the service was outstanding

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was well made, though not a par ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was well made, though not a particularly unusual menu.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food excellent as was the service. Asked ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food excellent as was the service. Asked for 1 extra roll only given 1 per client. Never received. Charged for water that we were surprised about. Asked for flat water. $15!!

But overall great food. Enjoyed it very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our 4th visit to the Library an ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

This was our 4th visit to the Library and as all the other three trips it was top notch! Everything was perfect! Even let us bring in our own anniversary cake to enjoy. They definitely make sure you are taken care of. And as far as using open table I use it all the time and love it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed our dinner at The Library. Th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at The Library. This was my third trip to this gem. Everything was delicious and well prepared. Drinks are inventive and tasty. If we are in myrtle beach again, we will definitely return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service & 5 star food!

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Outstanding service & 5 star food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The meal was great. Ask for Bobby Hill. ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 30, 2016

The meal was great. Ask for Bobby Hill. He's fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing lobster tail. The crab soup was ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Amazing lobster tail. The crab soup was the best I've had. Fantastic table-side Caesar salad, too. The Library was our favorite part of our Myrtle Beach vacation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best restaurant in Myrtle Beach! Absolu ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Best restaurant in Myrtle Beach! Absolutely Fantastic! The service and the food preparation, and presentation, were exquisite! We especially loved the She-crab soup and the grouper! Definitely would recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves wining and dining!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I spent a lovely evening ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 23, 2016

My husband and I spent a lovely evening with our family to celebrate our 47th wedding anniversary. It was the second time I have been to The Library and I can't tell you which time I enjoyed more. The service was excellent, the meal divine, my drinks served promptly and we'll chilled. I would highly recommend this restaurant to my friends and plan on coming back for another delicious evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The Library was great overall, the servi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The Library was great overall, the service was above excellent, with very good food. I wish I could have booked directly. Open table will not stop spamming me.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Historic, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food, over the top personalized ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Amazing food, over the top personalized service, worth every penny. Thanks Chris for another wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The owner was very attentive, knowledgab ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 9, 2016

The owner was very attentive, knowledgable of all the dishes, and overall one of the nicest people we've met. Its obvious he takes great pride in his work. The food was beyond perfect. The she-crab soup was unlike anything else weve had, sweet at first with a spicey heat finish. Drinks were well made with topshelf spirits. The rack of lamb was delicious and could quite literally be cut with a butter knife, the new york strip steak with peppercorn sauce was my favorite. I can not recommend this place enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a restaurant that we return to o ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 7, 2016

This is a restaurant that we return to once a year when we're on vacation. It is always one of the highlights of my trip. The food is phenomenal, the service is unparalleled. Just fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was top notch. Great wines, g ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Everything was top notch. Great wines, great top shelf liquer including white, black, and red sambuca. Excellent steaks and table service for your bananas foster. What a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had read some great reviews about The ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2016

I had read some great reviews about The Library so was excited to try. Everything seemed promising when we entered the restaurant, the wait staff were very nice and attentive. But the food really was not good at all. We had Rockefeller oysters and I had steak and my boyfriend had lamb chops. He left majority of his on his plate, they were not good at all, extremely fatty. My steak looked like it was microwaved. It did not taste good at all. It was a disappointing meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

We were only in Myrtle Beach for 1 week, ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 5, 2016

We were only in Myrtle Beach for 1 week, but The Library is so good, we went back a second time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The absolute best lobster I've ever had!

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 5, 2016

The absolute best lobster I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service The Library is impeccable. T ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 2, 2016

The service The Library is impeccable. They use a professional professional wait staff, and our waiter was Fry. Fry never let us want for anything. He was always there, blending in until we needed something. The food is superb! Their sweetbreads are perfect. Their steaks are so tender you can cut them with a fork. The only knife I received with my filet with a butter knife. If you're looking for one meal when you're in Myrtle Beach, make it at the library. You will not be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always we enjoyed the Library restaur ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 30, 2016

As always we enjoyed the Library restaurant, we always enjoy the Caesar salad that is prepared at the table, it really adds to the dining experience. My wife and I are from Charlotte, and try to eat there a few times a year when we're in town. And yes I have recommended to several of my friends.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Library's "Wine Cellar" private din ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 27, 2016

The Library's "Wine Cellar" private dining room was a unique and exceptionally pleasant experience. Our waiter Christopher made the night even more enjoyable preparing my Caesar Salad table-side. Who does that anymore? His menu knowledge, food and wine suggestions were right on for an excellent meal ending with Cherries Jubilee flambeed table-side of course.

With so many restaurants offering pre-made or frozen dishes it is nice to come to a place that is still serving up high quality food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too expensive for a very average experie ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Too expensive for a very average experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Very quaint and intimate dining experien ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Very quaint and intimate dining experience. Our server was so pleasant and the food was absolutely phenomenal!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The waiter, Danny, was very odd. He sto ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 20, 2016

The waiter, Danny, was very odd. He stood very close to our table and watched us. He told us we had to order or we would not get our salad or another roll.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.