About The Library Restaurant - Myrtle Beach

1212 North Kings Hwy
Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
View Larger Map

Myrtle Beach's only 3 Star Restaurant since 1974. Specializing in tableside service. From the Caesar salad to Bananas Flambe. The Library Restaurant represents perfection. Special occasions, Anniversaries, Birthdays or just a time to indulge. Private rooms available.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
European, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
13th Avenue North

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 448-4527

Website:
http://www.thelibraryrestaurantsc.com/

Parking Details:
We have over 30 parking places around the area.

Executive Chef:
Jesseriah Gass

Private Party Facilities:
Private rooms available for up to 40 persons. We also have a wine cellar room just for 2.(minimums do apply)

Private Party Contact:
Shad Velasco: 8434484527x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Baked Feta with Tomato Pesto
  • Baked Salmon
  • Baked Grouper Topped With Crab and Champagne Sauce
  • Bananas Foster
  • Lamb Chops
  • Ceasar Salad
  • The Library
Baked Feta with Tomato Pesto
Baked Salmon
Baked Grouper Topped With Crab and Champagne Sauce
Bananas Foster
Lamb Chops
Ceasar Salad
The Library

The Library Restaurant - Myrtle Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Service
South Carolina
Notable Wine List
South Carolina
10 More
Romantic
South Carolina
Special Occasion
South Carolina
Best Overall
Myrtle Beach
Best Food
Myrtle Beach
Best Service
Myrtle Beach
Best Ambiance
Myrtle Beach
Best Value
Myrtle Beach
Notable Wine List
Myrtle Beach
Romantic
Myrtle Beach
Special Occasion
Myrtle Beach
Best Restaurants in Myrtle Beach ›

special occasion (35)
romantic (27)
notable wine list (22)
See All
fit for foodies (18)
neighborhood gem (10)
good for groups (5)
late-night find (2)
hot spot (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
kid-friendly (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
516 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was absolutely exquisite. The a ...

Dined 3 days ago

The food was absolutely exquisite. The ambiance was amazing and very private and intimate. The menu was an allure in and of itself but the waiter's presentation of the chef's features was what sold my fiance and I on what we'd have. Again I cannot stress how divinely good the food was. A bit on the higher priced side but definitely well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Both the food and service were top notch ...

Dined 4 days ago

Both the food and service were top notch. A bit on the pricey side, but well worth it for a special occasion. We have dined there before and will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice location for the beach would go aga ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Nice location for the beach would go again....thank u

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our visit at the Library. The ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We enjoyed our visit at the Library. The ambiance was relaxed. Cocktails were delicious. Appetizers fresh and flavorful. Soups spectacular. Main courses prepared with care. Our server Christopher was appropriately attentive, as was the owner/chef. Sadly we were visiting but I expect we'll make it a point to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service..Bobby was terrific..W ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent service..Bobby was terrific..We had table side salads and banana flambes. Delicious dinners,wonderful,presentation..Pleasant,quiet atmosphere..Fine dining at its best..Quite enjoyable evening..

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of Myrtle Beach's treasures

Dined on June 8, 2016

We had another outstanding meal at the Library. The food is excellent (we rate it at one of the better restaurant we have eaten at in the US) and the staff is exceptional - especially Bobby. The Caesar Salad is prepared in the traditional manner as it has been done in Tijuana for decades. We highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome Experience

Dined on June 4, 2016

First time to the Library, we had heard good things and were not disappointed. Every course was fantastic. The lump crabmeat appetizer and the unique she crab soup were big hits. Our server Bobby was very knowledgeable and gave great recommendations and provided excellent and attentive service. Everyone loved their entries and the family style veggies were great - especially the carrots (marinated in Grand Mariner I think). The desserts were incredible, especially the pecan fudge caramel pie. A little pricey, but you get what you pay for! We will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is exquisite dining in a beach town.

Dined on June 2, 2016

The Library continues to rank in our top dining experiences. We have dined in fine restaurants, from NY City to Paris, Austria, Italy and many other countries, yet we keep coming back to Myrtle Beach. On this trip it was just what we were looking for (atmosphere, service and high quality food with a nice wine list. We will return (God willing) and highly recommend this dining experience to anyone seeking to avail themselves of its charms. The dishes are prepared to order and served with expert timing and quality. The service is friendly and impeccable. We highly recommend dining at "The Library" at Myrtle Beach, SC

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went here for my 10 year anniversary. Ev ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Went here for my 10 year anniversary. Everything was perfect. Danny was a great waiter, the food was fantastic, and the atmosphere was perfect for one of our rare nights out.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hosted a business meal for eight for mul ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Hosted a business meal for eight for multiple clients. ALL attendees were very complementary of the wine, food, and service. A number of the individuals have been coming to the MB area for years for both business and pleasure, and were not even aware that The Library had such a high caliber dining experience. The intimate atmosphere, wine, food, and service are just right to entertain valued clients.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolutely amazing. Would definitely rec ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Absolutely amazing. Would definitely recommend this to anyone for a date night or special occasion. Food was superb! The Caesar salad prepared tableside was absolutely wonderful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding! We dined here for my wife' ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Outstanding! We dined here for my wife's birthday, and what an amazing dining experience. Our waiter Bobby was professional, knowledgeable, skilled, and courteous. Enjoyed an Old Fashioned prior to dinner, followed by Caesar salad freshly prepared table-side, main course a substantial filet mignon topped with blue cheese and a mushroom sauce. Old School dining and worth every penny!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food, Great Service, Great!

Dined on April 30, 2016

We could not have been happier with the quality of service and food we received, along with the variety of foods to choose from. Building was outdated, but the food and service made up for that! We had a wonderful time, nothing short of what I would consider "the best in town"! If I were to return to Myrtle Beach in the future, I would be sure to visit again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a number of dishes prepared table ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a number of dishes prepared table side and all were done to perfection! The steak Diane and the Caesar salad were particular standouts. This was fine dining as good as it gets! I've been there many times before and you can be sure I'll be there again.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious meal and dessert.

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Delicious meal and dessert. Wonderful staff. You can actually say once you receive the check, that was worth it

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service excellent

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Food and service by Bobby were excellent. Will definitely dine here again when in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! What a hidden treasure!

Dined on April 28, 2016

We were rather skeptical when we pulled up, However, once inside we were greeted very warmly and treated as if we were regulars! I had ordered the Duck Cherise, but a mistake lead me to receive the Duck L'Range. It was fabulous! My wife had a Filet that was grilled to perfection. Don't overlook The Library - You will not be disappointed!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Restaurant !

Dined on April 20, 2016

My husband and I dined at The Library during a recent visit to Myrtle Beach. The service was out of this world (ask for Bobby!) and the food is just undescribable delicious. We were just blown away at the how great of an experience this was ! We definately return !!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently excels

Dined on April 1, 2016

I have been going to the Library periodically since it opened. It has consistently been among the very best restaurants from N Myrtle Beach to Pawleys Island.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

We enjoyed the food and service. I was h ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

We enjoyed the food and service. I was happy to find a good restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food itself was on another planet, t ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

The food itself was on another planet, the cocktails were made to perfection, and our server was one of the best I've ever had. Expect to spend anywhere from $80-150 a head on average, higher if you get one of the high end bottles of wine and 2.5-4 hours. If you're a beer guy, look into their high end beers they're excellent. If you get Christopher as your server then you'll certainly have a great night!

food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite restaurant at the beach!

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

Our favorite restaurant at the beach!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Off Season Dinner At The Library

Dined on March 11, 2016

My wife & I dined at The Library Restaurant last Friday night. Although we had fairly late reservations (7:30 PM) we were still surprised that there were only a dozen other diners there during our visit. We guessed that the library was so bare (pardon the pun) because it is the off season here in Myrtle Beach, as it was fairly crowded in previous visits. My wife enjoyed her Oysters Rockefeller, French Onion Soup and a Caesar's Salad that was made tableside by our most competent server Christopher. She also ordered a very good Martini and a terrific Irish Coffee. I had a crab meat cocktail appetizer that was outstanding, but pricey ($18) and a nice serving of salmon, which I enjoyed. The ambiance is nice, but from a distance the books stacked in the built in bookcases looked like they haven't been dusted in years, especially those at the higher elevations. However, that might just be due to their age. All in all, it was a pleasant evening with top notch service and very good food and beverage. With tax and tip, the bill was $137.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

This upscale, special occasion restauran ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

This upscale, special occasion restaurant is a terrific find among the vast majority of touristy spots in Myrtle Beach. Everyone makes the evening special. Our waiter, Chris was fabulous and when the chef came out to ask us how are meal was...well, that was the topper. Make sure you start with a very unique Mojito, then have the Caesar salad two (prepared table side), followed by any entree on the menu, and ending with the bananas foster (prepared table side). The pricing reflects the quality, so come expecting a final check similar to other great restaurants in a major city.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoy the atmosphere and the food ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Always enjoy the atmosphere and the food is amazing. Never had a bad meal at The Library! Its not just a meal it's an experience!!

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Quiet and Attentive

Dined on February 25, 2016

As vacationers and needing a place to reconnect after a day of golf and shopping, this is the place for us! The owner always seems happy to see us as we return time after time. His food is always prepared just right and the wait staff is attentive. It's always a special evening at The Library.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, wine and atmosphere

Dined on February 20, 2016

The she crab soup was excellent as was the Steak Diane. We finished it off with the "Library Bananas Foster" and their specialty coffee. Everything was excellent - no complaints.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great special occasion

Dined on February 20, 2016

Overall, my wife and I had a great time. The service was excellent. The only downside was the filet was a little tough. The lobster was excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over the top

Dined on February 17, 2016

This was our first time to dine at the Library. Everything about the experience was over the top, from the service to the food to the atmosphere. Surprising what you find inside. You have no idea from the outside. Put this on your MUST list for Myrtle Beach.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our hands down favorite restaurant in My ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Our hands down favorite restaurant in Myrtle Beach! Don't be put off by the strange exterior next to the massage parlor. This is an amazing restaurant-- incredible food, excellent and knowledgeable service, and corkage so you can bring your own wine. Last night, our waiter, Bobby, was fantastic. Don't miss it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful experience!

Dined on February 13, 2016

The Libray is a wonderful restaurant for any special occasion. Took my wife for Valentine's Day and we were not disappointed. The service is excellent and the food even better. Had the She Crab soup. Best ever! Overall...highly recommended! We will definitely return for future special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When dining at The Library try to get se ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

When dining at The Library try to get seated in Daniel's section. He is an amazing server. Very knowledgeable of the wine list an offers excellent menu recommendations.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dinner @ The Library 2/08/2016.

Dined on February 7, 2016

This is the best. My wife and I were delighted with all aspects of this fine restaurant. It had been several years since our last visit, and we were most pleased to find that the quality of the food and service is still excellent. Our suggestion: Be sure to include dessert. Imaginative, delicious and generous enough for the heartiest appetite

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinner

Dined on January 9, 2016

Wife and I got out of town and thought we would try this "hole in the wall place". Myrtle beach is very commercially driven and wanted a local experience. Everything we ate was amazing. Our waiter, Bobby was great as well. Will be back for sure.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Great Find in Myrtle Beach

Dined on January 5, 2016

A very enjoyable evening for our group of four. The food was beyond excellent in every respect. The owner/chef made our dining experience in Myrtle Beach one of the best ever.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Service added to the overall rating

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

We went to the Library for New Years Eve 2015 and were very happy with the restaurant. I read all the reviews which assisted me in choosing this restaurant and was not disappointed. Food was excellent, drinks were very good and Service was excellent. Only disappointment was we forgot our left overs at the restaurant. I would recommend this restaurant for a special occasion a little pricy but definitely worth the money.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Excellent food but a bit expensive

Dined on December 31, 2015

The server was very attentive and we never had to wait for anything. The wine list was complete but expensive. The food was very good, but not quite worth the high cost.....$48 for a strip steak was a bit over the top...dinner for two that evening totaled $170 without dessert

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience. Will be our go to for ...

Dined on December 26, 2015

Great experience. Will be our go to for a great meal at the coast. Bobby took wonderful care of us.

food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Christmas Eve Dinner

Dined on December 25, 2015

We spent Christmas week in Myrtle Beach and were happy to find a nice fine dining establishment that was open for Christmas Eve. The service was impeccable, the food was good, if a little too pricey, for us, though the glazed carrots did not disappoint ( we read some rave reviews about it). I loved the nice coral-colored roses that our server gave me on our way out - it lasted for over a week!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best Dining Experience Ever

Dined on December 19, 2015

This is a treasure, best dining experience ever. The atmosphere was quite and romantic, hardly noticed any of the other couples because the setting had me so focused on my wife; this was important and why I tried this restaurant because we were celebrating our anniversary, and this place was so romantic that we were feeling excitement like we'd just met--even though we've been married 23 years; and that says a lot! The service was outstanding, being that its an upscale restaurant that most people aren't accustomed too, our server was friendly and helpful and never made us feel obtuse because we didn't know something; he really help us enjoy the experience. The food was excellent (a bit pricy but worth the experience), I tried things I never had before and was glad I did; kudos to the chef. Every bit a 5 star restaurant

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.