Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About The Library Restaurant - Myrtle Beach

MOVING SOON TO OUR NEW LOCATION AT 6613 NORTH KINGS HWY. AT DUNES PLAZA. SCHEDULED OPENING JULY 15TH.

Myrtle Beach's only 3 Star Restaurant since 1974. Specializing in tableside service. From the Caesar salad to Bananas Flambe. The Library Restaurant represents perfection. Special occasions, Anniversaries, Birthdays or just a time to indulge. Private rooms available.

1212 North Kings Hwy
Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
European, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
13th Avenue North

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 448-4527

Website:
http://www.thelibraryrestaurantsc.com/

Parking Details:
We have over 30 parking places around the area.

Executive Chef:
Jesseriah Gass

Private Party Facilities:
Private rooms available for up to 40 persons. We also have a wine cellar room just for 2.(minimums do apply)

Private Party Contact:
Shad Velasco: (843) 448-4527

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

The Library Restaurant - Myrtle Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
See All
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Cozy (7)
Authentic (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Romantic (5)
Private Room (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Fireplace (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Fun (2)
Historic (2)
Business Meals (2)
People Watching (1)
Casual (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
620 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined a day ago

Great steak dishes, including Steak Diane prepared tableside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food and service were top knotch. Home made Caesar salad prepared at your table. Steak Diane also prepared at your table. Used a butter knife for my steak it was so tender. She Crab soup is a must. Be aware is a little pricey but I will be back on our next visit.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Not nearly worth the money. But fantastic service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Excellent service by Josh. Definitely a return restaurant for us.

Tags: Historic, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Wasn't impressed with the meal. Prices are way too high for the quality of food. Service was good, but food was not worth the $$. I wouldn't recommend this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Excellent service. Food is outstanding. One of my favorites in Myrtle Beach for the last 25 years. EAt there every time in town which is at least 3 times a year. A must!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

As always it was a great evening. The wait staff are true professionals and the owner as gracious as ever. My only regret is that they will be closed for relocation the next time I am in town. The menu and wine list lived up to the high standards I have come to expect. It is by far the very best restaurant in Myrtle Beach.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We went to The Library as it had good reviews. However, it didn't live up to the positive reviews or our expectations. The restaurant was almost empty the evening of our visit (just before the beginning of 'high season'). The whole experience was reminiscent of the 1970's. The Caesar salad was the highlight. Made at the table it was 'classical' except for the paprika coated croutons. My companion didn't finish his veal and shrimp. Nothing wrong with it but nothing 'right' with it either. I had the shrimp scampi with a sun-dried tomato topping. It was ok, but lacking flavor.

The previous evening we had dined at another fine dining establishment that had live music, a better ambiance with excellent food. The cost was $ 3 less for more 'courses'. (2 salad, 2 entrees, one dessert, 1 glass of wine vs 1 salad, 2 entrees and one glass of wine at The Library.). There was a stark contrast that was hard to miss. We don't mind paying for great food. This was just so-so.

Our recommendation. Go some where else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 28, 2017

The establishment is not in a good part of town. Although they are moving in May to a new location.

For me I thought it was grossly over priced for the type, quality and quantity of food.

The service was other nothing more than fair.

This is billed as a high end establishment. There are several in Myrtle Beach in my view this is not one of them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Easily in the top 3 meals of my 65+ years...........

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My friends and I picked The Library at random for dinner during a business trip. What a great find! Evrything from the time we walked in to when we left was amazing! The wait staff were courteous and attentive, the food and drinks were delicious! The menu is pricey, but we all feel we got what we paid for. Highly recommend The Library!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Third time at the Library and it continues to please me. From its unpretentious exterior to its outstanding service, it is a gem. On this visit I found the salads to be particularly attractive and tasty and the filet mignon is first rate. A must for any serious visit to Myrtle Beach, plus a regular stop for special events for those who live nearby.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The best restaurant for fine dining in Myrtle Beach. The chef has a fine attention to detail. Everything was a pleasure and pleaded the palate. Even the vegetables. Thank you!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Excellent great food great wait staff great owner

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

As always top notch. The food is amazing and the atmosphere is like no other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Awesome restaurant. Great food and service. Definitely recommend. Danny, our waiter catered to our every need. Thank you.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Outstanding cuisine, wonderful service. A little pricy

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The experience was amazing! Thank you to the owner for a very special evening. Cannot wait to return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Loved the food, service and atmosphere, can't wait to return.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We have eaten here for more than 25 years and have always been pleased. This visit just wasn't perfect. We missed seeing the owner Chad. Perhaps that was the difference.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We had Steak Diane many yrs ago for our honeymoon. We decided to go here to celebrate our anniversary. The food was 5 Star all the way. Joshua, our waiter, prepared tableside Caesar salad and Steak Diane. Everything was impeccable. All the vegetables were so flavorful - asparagus w/hollandaise, mushrooms w/white wine, Grand Marnier carrots, green beans amandine and parmesan crusted red potatoes. Outstanding. Try the Dragon Fly Cocktail. Delish. Hope to get there again when we're in the area. Loved it. Great service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food, wine and service made for a special evening ... 2 1/2 hours

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We dined here for New Year's Eve and enjoyed impeccable service and a special limited menu. Tableside Caesar salad was excellent as always. Entrees of NY strip, lobster, and rack of lamb were each delicious. The vegetables served family style were prepared in a unique and tasty fashion (e.g., carrots in a grand marnier sauce). They go out of their way to make guests feel welcome without being intrusive. And subsequent to the meal, when one of our party called to inquire about a lost glove, they called back to say they had gone out to the street and found the glove where we had parked. That was the kind of above-and-beyond that we have noticed from this great restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food and service was truly wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went to the Library restaurant with friends for our New Year's Eve dinner. Everything was delicious and so fresh. Loved the tableside Caesar salad.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Menu offerings, service, and food wee excellent. A memorable fine dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food and service were excellent. We each had the evening's specials and were not disappointed. The Caesar salad made at tableside was the best we've had outside of Mexico. We will go back on our next visit

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Not much to look at on the outside, but quiet atmosphere inside with great service and wonderful food. The Caesar salad and Steak Diane (both prepared at the table) were wonderful. The brandy alexander after dinner was fabulous. The Library is perfect for special occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 16, 2016

It's a stretch to issue a complaint, a little too much overhead lighting and a bit pricey. We enjoyed the the overall experience. Would definetly recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Restaurant is trying to be 5 star but doesn't make the mark......Food was good but not worth the price....I had Colorado Lamb chops....good but not worth the $50. price tag....Waiter was very friendly and attentive....made a table side Caesar salad that was good but again a salad for one was $12.00

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Danny in Tux was added touch! Lamb was excellent, would have liked dijon mustard with mushroom sauce added to lamb. To much garlic in salad. Escargot was tops! Cucumber soup superb. The carrots in sauce very good, string beans could have had more almond extract and vanilla bean flavor. Potatoes could have been galette and a free glass of merlot wine to finish with champagne poached peaches with with heavy cream in raspberry liqueur framboise!!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Cozy, Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Dined at the Library with a group of friends who traveled to MB for golf and shopping. All of our meals were excellent. The presentation of the she crab soup was flawless. Our waiter could not have been more knowledgeable or attentive (although there was only one other couple in the restaurant. Will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I have been going to The Library for more years than I care to admit. It has consistently provided a fine dinning experience. I last enjoyed their excellent Thanksgiving dinner. This establishment never disappoints.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We came to celebrate our 1st Thanksgiving in Myrtle Beach. I had heard only good things about The Library. We were not disappointed. The Libreary is a warm and cozy place.
We had the Thanksgiving Dinner. It was the best I ever had. All of the foods on the plate complimented the Turkey and each one was better and more satisfying. Our waiter Daniel was the best. We were not hurried. I can not wait to return.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 17, 2016

As usual a great dinner Caesar salad and steak Diane prepared table side were both perfect. Steak was "cutable with a fork. Bob the server was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Enjoyable experience with excellent food and service. Definitely will return.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had never been to The Library and we are so happy we picked this for a special occasion! The food, service, and professionalism of the staff all ranked as 5 out of 5 stars for us. We spent 15 minutes after dinner talking to the owner/chef, and it was a delight to meet him and get to know even more about the restaurant. The food prep at the table (Caesar Salad and Steak Diane) was phenomenal. Joshua did a terrific job, and his knowledge of the menu and wine list was a definite plus. We will definitely return, and would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who is in Myrtle Beach, or who will be visiting there. It is by far the premier restaurant in the Grand Strand, with no equals. Bon appetit!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Out of our week's stay at Myrtle Beach, this was THE BEST restaurant we found! The food was prepared to perfection and the taste was fine dining at its best.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent atmosphere and food. Service was spot on. Specialty Cocktails were very unique and tasty. We had several items that required table-side food preparation (Caesar Salad for two, Steak Diane). Everything was handled perfectly. Note: this place attracts a dressier clientele than most other Myrtle Beach area restaurants, so plan accordingly, but it is well worth the trip.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Great place for special occasions. The wait staff was very knowledgeable of the food & they were great to suggest food & wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.