About The Library Restaurant - Myrtle Beach

1212 North Kings Hwy
Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
View Larger Map

Myrtle Beach's only 3 Star Restaurant since 1974. Specializing in tableside service. From the Caesar salad to Bananas Flambe. The Library Restaurant represents perfection. Special occasions, Anniversaries, Birthdays or just a time to indulge. Private rooms available.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
European, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
13th Avenue North

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 448-4527

Website:
http://www.thelibraryrestaurantsc.com/

Parking Details:
We have over 30 parking places around the area.

Executive Chef:
Jesseriah Gass

Private Party Facilities:
Private rooms available for up to 40 persons. We also have a wine cellar room just for 2.(minimums do apply)

Private Party Contact:
Shad Velasco: 8434484527x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Baked Feta with Tomato Pesto
  • Baked Salmon
  • Baked Grouper Topped With Crab and Champagne Sauce
  • Bananas Foster
  • Lamb Chops
  • Ceasar Salad
  • The Library
Baked Feta with Tomato Pesto
Baked Salmon
Baked Grouper Topped With Crab and Champagne Sauce
Bananas Foster
Lamb Chops
Ceasar Salad
The Library

The Library Restaurant - Myrtle Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Service
South Carolina
Notable Wine List
South Carolina
9 More
Romantic
South Carolina
Special Occasion
South Carolina
Best Overall
Myrtle Beach
Best Food
Myrtle Beach
Best Service
Myrtle Beach
Best Ambiance
Myrtle Beach
Best Value
Myrtle Beach
Romantic
Myrtle Beach
Special Occasion
Myrtle Beach
Best Restaurants in Myrtle Beach ›

special occasion (43)
romantic (37)
notable wine list (27)
See All
fit for foodies (24)
neighborhood gem (14)
good for groups (7)
late-night find (2)
hot spot (2)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
530 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very quaint and intimate dining experien ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Very quaint and intimate dining experience. Our server was so pleasant and the food was absolutely phenomenal!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The waiter, Danny, was very odd. He sto ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The waiter, Danny, was very odd. He stood very close to our table and watched us. He told us we had to order or we would not get our salad or another roll.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

My Wife, Mother-in-Law and I were on vac ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

My Wife, Mother-in-Law and I were on vacation in Myrtle Beach and had dinner there. Bobby was our waiter. The food was fantastic, and the service superb. Try the Steak Diane, crab soup and the cherries jubilee. You won't be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful fine dining experience. The ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

A wonderful fine dining experience. The quality is exceptional and the table side prepared salad is fantastic. Definitely get the cherries jubilee. It is also prepared table side and tastes great. Good show too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful dining experience Service an ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Delightful dining experience Service and food were superb. Will be returning to dine here again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We look forward to dining at the Library ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We look forward to dining at the Library every year when we vacation in Myrtle Beach. Christopher was our server this year and he was excellent. Chad makes incredible drinks and we love their wines, especially their own Reserve ones, and my husband also enjoys the great selection of interesting craft beers. The food is so good that we always order too much because it is all so delicious. We always get the potato blue cheese soup and the lobster tails with a surprise of shrimp inside the shells with other appetizers and dishes but there is nothing on the menu, including the desserts, that you won't enjoy. It's pricey but so worth it for a special treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Library is a hidden gem of a restaur ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The Library is a hidden gem of a restaurant tucked in a small strip shopping center....you would never know what's hidden behind the doors. Outstanding food ...many dishes prepared tableside. The steak Diane is superb. And outstanding cherries jubilee. Bananas foster. Homemade hot fudge sundae. Foodies will be jubilant to have found this place in a sea of mediocre myrtle beach spots. Service impeccable. Treat yourself.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

An absolutely divine dining experience, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

An absolutely divine dining experience, everything from the drinks to dessert. Our waiter was professional yet friendly and nice. The Library was a perfect choice for our 3rd wedding anniversary celebration! We ordered beef tips with shrimp for an app, it was delicious! Then for drinks we had blueberry acai mojitos, which were fabulous! Dinner was a ny strip for me, chicken for my husband, both were wonderful and paired with delicious sides of mushrooms, green beans, potatoes, and carrots. The desserts were also delish, bananas foster prepared at the table! This is a lovely choice for a quiet, romantic dinner! It's a bit pricey but well worth it! If you're looking for quiet, peaceful, delicious, adult only dining, this is it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Josh was a fantastic server and the food ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Josh was a fantastic server and the food was unbelievable. We love going out to great restaurants but the food and drinks here were one of are favorites out of anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent, service even better

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food was excellent, service even better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was awesome and service even better ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Food was awesome and service even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An absolute hidden gem in Myrtle Beach. ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

An absolute hidden gem in Myrtle Beach. An epicurean delight of the highest magnitude. The ambiance is subtle, the food superb. We had a most excellent Ceasar salad which prepared at table side was a delight and a true art form which is a lost art. Our entrées were the chefs specials, I had the Halibut and my wife the Scottish Salmon, both pan seared and broiled served with a sherry cream sauce and vegetables that were cooked to perfection. Pared with an excellent Chardonnay we followed with Cherries Jubilee and coffee cordials.

Our waiter Josh was most attentive and was very knowledgable about the history of the restaurant as well as other local attractions. Management and the other staff were very accommodating as well.

My wife and I plan a return visit in the near future. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone with an appreciation for fine food and wine. This is not your stereotypical beach town establishment. Dress appropriately business casual, not beach wear. Bon Appetit!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely exquisite. The a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food was absolutely exquisite. The ambiance was amazing and very private and intimate. The menu was an allure in and of itself but the waiter's presentation of the chef's features was what sold my fiance and I on what we'd have. Again I cannot stress how divinely good the food was. A bit on the higher priced side but definitely well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This restaurant is a must visit if you w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This restaurant is a must visit if you want a memorable dining experience in Myrtle Beach. Our waiter was very knowledgable about menu items making good suggestions. Fish entree was prepared to perfection and duck was delicious. Small quiet dining room was welcome change from beach crowd. It is pricey for vacation but worth it. Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Both the food and service were top notch ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Both the food and service were top notch. A bit on the pricey side, but well worth it for a special occasion. We have dined there before and will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice location for the beach would go aga ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Nice location for the beach would go again....thank u

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We enjoyed our visit at the Library. The ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We enjoyed our visit at the Library. The ambiance was relaxed. Cocktails were delicious. Appetizers fresh and flavorful. Soups spectacular. Main courses prepared with care. Our server Christopher was appropriately attentive, as was the owner/chef. Sadly we were visiting but I expect we'll make it a point to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service..Bobby was terrific..W ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent service..Bobby was terrific..We had table side salads and banana flambes.

Delicious dinners,wonderful,presentation..Pleasant,quiet atmosphere..Fine dining at its best..Quite enjoyable evening..

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of Myrtle Beach's treasures

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We had another outstanding meal at the Library. The food is excellent (we rate it at one of the better restaurant we have eaten at in the US) and the staff is exceptional - especially Bobby. The Caesar Salad is prepared in the traditional manner as it has been done in Tijuana for decades. We highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Experience

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

First time to the Library, we had heard good things and were not disappointed. Every course was fantastic. The lump crabmeat appetizer and the unique she crab soup were big hits. Our server Bobby was very knowledgeable and gave great recommendations and provided excellent and attentive service. Everyone loved their entries and the family style veggies were great - especially the carrots (marinated in Grand Mariner I think). The desserts were incredible, especially the pecan fudge caramel pie. A little pricey, but you get what you pay for!

We will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is exquisite dining in a beach town.

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The Library continues to rank in our top dining experiences. We have dined in fine restaurants, from NY City to Paris, Austria, Italy and many other countries, yet we keep coming back to Myrtle Beach. On this trip it was just what we were looking for (atmosphere, service and high quality food with a nice wine list.

We will return (God willing) and highly recommend this dining experience to anyone seeking to avail themselves of its charms.

The dishes are prepared to order and served with expert timing and quality. The service is friendly and impeccable.

We highly recommend dining at "The Library" at Myrtle Beach, SC

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best overall restaurants we h ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

One of the best overall restaurants we have ever been too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went here for my 10 year anniversary. Ev ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Went here for my 10 year anniversary. Everything was perfect. Danny was a great waiter, the food was fantastic, and the atmosphere was perfect for one of our rare nights out.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hosted a business meal for eight for mul ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Hosted a business meal for eight for multiple clients. ALL attendees were very complementary of the wine, food, and service. A number of the individuals have been coming to the MB area for years for both business and pleasure, and were not even aware that The Library had such a high caliber dining experience. The intimate atmosphere, wine, food, and service are just right to entertain valued clients.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely amazing. Would definitely rec ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Absolutely amazing. Would definitely recommend this to anyone for a date night or special occasion. Food was superb! The Caesar salad prepared tableside was absolutely wonderful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding! We dined here for my wife' ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Outstanding! We dined here for my wife's birthday, and what an amazing dining experience. Our waiter Bobby was professional, knowledgeable, skilled, and courteous. Enjoyed an Old Fashioned prior to dinner, followed by Caesar salad freshly prepared table-side, main course a substantial filet mignon topped with blue cheese and a mushroom sauce. Old School dining and worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food, Great Service, Great!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We could not have been happier with the quality of service and food we received, along with the variety of foods to choose from. Building was outdated, but the food and service made up for that!

We had a wonderful time, nothing short of what I would consider "the best in town"!

If I were to return to Myrtle Beach in the future, I would be sure to visit again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a number of dishes prepared table ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a number of dishes prepared table side and all were done to perfection! The steak Diane and the Caesar salad were particular standouts. This was fine dining as good as it gets! I've been there many times before and you can be sure I'll be there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious meal and dessert.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Delicious meal and dessert. Wonderful staff. You can actually say once you receive the check, that was worth it

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and service excellent

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Food and service by Bobby were excellent. Will definitely dine here again when in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! What a hidden treasure!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

We were rather skeptical when we pulled up, However, once inside we were greeted very warmly and treated as if we were regulars! I had ordered the Duck Cherise, but a mistake lead me to receive the Duck L'Range. It was fabulous! My wife had a Filet that was grilled to perfection. Don't overlook The Library - You will not be disappointed!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Restaurant !

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

My husband and I dined at The Library during a recent visit to Myrtle Beach. The service was out of this world (ask for Bobby!) and the food is just undescribable delicious. We were just blown away at the how great of an experience this was ! We definately return !!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently excels

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

I have been going to the Library periodically since it opened. It has consistently been among the very best restaurants from N Myrtle Beach to Pawleys Island.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed the food and service. I was h ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

We enjoyed the food and service. I was happy to find a good restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food itself was on another planet, t ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

The food itself was on another planet, the cocktails were made to perfection, and our server was one of the best I've ever had. Expect to spend anywhere from $80-150 a head on average, higher if you get one of the high end bottles of wine and 2.5-4 hours. If you're a beer guy, look into their high end beers they're excellent. If you get Christopher as your server then you'll certainly have a great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite restaurant at the beach!

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

Our favorite restaurant at the beach!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Off Season Dinner At The Library

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

My wife & I dined at The Library Restaurant last Friday night. Although we had fairly late reservations (7:30 PM) we were still surprised that there were only a dozen other diners there during our visit. We guessed that the library was so bare (pardon the pun) because it is the off season here in Myrtle Beach, as it was fairly crowded in previous visits. My wife enjoyed her Oysters Rockefeller, French Onion Soup and a Caesar's Salad that was made tableside by our most competent server Christopher. She also ordered a very good Martini and a terrific Irish Coffee. I had a crab meat cocktail appetizer that was outstanding, but pricey ($18) and a nice serving of salmon, which I enjoyed. The ambiance is nice, but from a distance the books stacked in the built in bookcases looked like they haven't been dusted in years, especially those at the higher elevations. However, that might just be due to their age. All in all, it was a pleasant evening with top notch service and very good food and beverage. With tax and tip, the bill was $137.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This upscale, special occasion restauran ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

This upscale, special occasion restaurant is a terrific find among the vast majority of touristy spots in Myrtle Beach. Everyone makes the evening special. Our waiter, Chris was fabulous and when the chef came out to ask us how are meal was...well, that was the topper. Make sure you start with a very unique Mojito, then have the Caesar salad two (prepared table side), followed by any entree on the menu, and ending with the bananas foster (prepared table side). The pricing reflects the quality, so come expecting a final check similar to other great restaurants in a major city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always enjoy the atmosphere and the food ...

vip
 (Key West)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Always enjoy the atmosphere and the food is amazing. Never had a bad meal at The Library! Its not just a meal it's an experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quiet and Attentive

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

As vacationers and needing a place to reconnect after a day of golf and shopping, this is the place for us! The owner always seems happy to see us as we return time after time. His food is always prepared just right and the wait staff is attentive. It's always a special evening at The Library.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.