About The Library Restaurant - Myrtle Beach

1212 North Kings Hwy
Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
View Larger Map

Myrtle Beach's only 3 Star Restaurant since 1974. Specializing in tableside service. From the Caesar salad to Bananas Flambe. The Library Restaurant represents perfection. Special occasions, Anniversaries, Birthdays or just a time to indulge. Private rooms available.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
European, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
13th Avenue North

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 448-4527

Website:
http://www.thelibraryrestaurantsc.com/

Parking Details:
We have over 30 parking places around the area.

Executive Chef:
Jesseriah Gass

Private Party Facilities:
Private rooms available for up to 40 persons. We also have a wine cellar room just for 2.(minimums do apply)

Private Party Contact:
Shad Velasco: (843) 448-4527

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

The Library Restaurant - Myrtle Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
See All
Good for a Date (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Romantic (9)
Cozy (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Authentic (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Fireplace (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Historic (3)
Casual (2)
Business Meals (2)
Private Room (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
601 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loved the food, service and atmosphere, ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Loved the food, service and atmosphere, can't wait to return.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have eaten here for more than 25 year ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We have eaten here for more than 25 years and have always been pleased. This visit just wasn't perfect. We missed seeing the owner Chad. Perhaps that was the difference.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We had Steak Diane many yrs ago for our ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We had Steak Diane many yrs ago for our honeymoon. We decided to go here to celebrate our anniversary. The food was 5 Star all the way. Joshua, our waiter, prepared tableside Caesar salad and Steak Diane. Everything was impeccable. All the vegetables were so flavorful - asparagus w/hollandaise, mushrooms w/white wine, Grand Marnier carrots, green beans amandine and parmesan crusted red potatoes. Outstanding. Try the Dragon Fly Cocktail. Delish. Hope to get there again when we're in the area. Loved it. Great service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food, wine and service made for a specia ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food, wine and service made for a special evening ... 2 1/2 hours

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We dined here for New Year's Eve and enj ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We dined here for New Year's Eve and enjoyed impeccable service and a special limited menu. Tableside Caesar salad was excellent as always. Entrees of NY strip, lobster, and rack of lamb were each delicious. The vegetables served family style were prepared in a unique and tasty fashion (e.g., carrots in a grand marnier sauce). They go out of their way to make guests feel welcome without being intrusive. And subsequent to the meal, when one of our party called to inquire about a lost glove, they called back to say they had gone out to the street and found the glove where we had parked. That was the kind of above-and-beyond that we have noticed from this great restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service was truly wonderful ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food and service was truly wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to the Library restaurant with f ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went to the Library restaurant with friends for our New Year's Eve dinner. Everything was delicious and so fresh. Loved the tableside Caesar salad.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu offerings, service, and food wee ex ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Menu offerings, service, and food wee excellent. A memorable fine dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service were excellent. We ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food and service were excellent. We each had the evening's specials and were not disappointed. The Caesar salad made at tableside was the best we've had outside of Mexico. We will go back on our next visit

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not much to look at on the outside, but ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Not much to look at on the outside, but quiet atmosphere inside with great service and wonderful food. The Caesar salad and Steak Diane (both prepared at the table) were wonderful. The brandy alexander after dinner was fabulous. The Library is perfect for special occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's a stretch to issue a complaint, a l ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 16, 2016

It's a stretch to issue a complaint, a little too much overhead lighting and a bit pricey. We enjoyed the the overall experience. Would definetly recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Restaurant is trying to be 5 star but do ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Restaurant is trying to be 5 star but doesn't make the mark......Food was good but not worth the price....I had Colorado Lamb chops....good but not worth the $50. price tag....Waiter was very friendly and attentive....made a table side Caesar salad that was good but again a salad for one was $12.00

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Danny in Tux was added touch! Lamb was e ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Danny in Tux was added touch! Lamb was excellent, would have liked dijon mustard with mushroom sauce added to lamb. To much garlic in salad. Escargot was tops! Cucumber soup superb. The carrots in sauce very good, string beans could have had more almond extract and vanilla bean flavor. Potatoes could have been galette and a free glass of merlot wine to finish with champagne poached peaches with with heavy cream in raspberry liqueur framboise!!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Cozy, Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Dined at the Library with a group of fri ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Dined at the Library with a group of friends who traveled to MB for golf and shopping. All of our meals were excellent. The presentation of the she crab soup was flawless. Our waiter could not have been more knowledgeable or attentive (although there was only one other couple in the restaurant. Will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been going to The Library for mor ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I have been going to The Library for more years than I care to admit. It has consistently provided a fine dinning experience. I last enjoyed their excellent Thanksgiving dinner. This establishment never disappoints.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came to celebrate our 1st Thanksgivin ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We came to celebrate our 1st Thanksgiving in Myrtle Beach. I had heard only good things about The Library. We were not disappointed. The Libreary is a warm and cozy place.

We had the Thanksgiving Dinner. It was the best I ever had. All of the foods on the plate complimented the Turkey and each one was better and more satisfying. Our waiter Daniel was the best. We were not hurried. I can not wait to return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

As usual a great dinner Caesar salad and ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 17, 2016

As usual a great dinner Caesar salad and steak Diane prepared table side were both perfect. Steak was "cutable with a fork. Bob the server was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable experience with excellent food ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Enjoyable experience with excellent food and service. Definitely will return.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We had never been to The Library and we ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had never been to The Library and we are so happy we picked this for a special occasion! The food, service, and professionalism of the staff all ranked as 5 out of 5 stars for us. We spent 15 minutes after dinner talking to the owner/chef, and it was a delight to meet him and get to know even more about the restaurant. The food prep at the table (Caesar Salad and Steak Diane) was phenomenal. Joshua did a terrific job, and his knowledge of the menu and wine list was a definite plus. We will definitely return, and would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who is in Myrtle Beach, or who will be visiting there. It is by far the premier restaurant in the Grand Strand, with no equals. Bon appetit!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Out of our week's stay at Myrtle Beach, ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Out of our week's stay at Myrtle Beach, this was THE BEST restaurant we found! The food was prepared to perfection and the taste was fine dining at its best.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent atmosphere and food. Service ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent atmosphere and food. Service was spot on. Specialty Cocktails were very unique and tasty. We had several items that required table-side food preparation (Caesar Salad for two, Steak Diane). Everything was handled perfectly. Note: this place attracts a dressier clientele than most other Myrtle Beach area restaurants, so plan accordingly, but it is well worth the trip.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for special occasions. The w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Great place for special occasions. The wait staff was very knowledgeable of the food & they were great to suggest food & wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambience, service, quality. Great place ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Ambience, service, quality. Great place to have an excellent meal and a pleasant evening.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding ....great food ....great ser ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Outstanding ....great food ....great service This place is a gem

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Once again The Library was an amazing me ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Once again The Library was an amazing meal. The wait staff is very attentive and knowledgeable.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our tenth visit to THE LIBRARY. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 20, 2016

This was our tenth visit to THE LIBRARY...and we are never disappointed. Chris has been our server several times - he's a professional, friendly and outstanding server. We love the drink and the food - blueberry martinis to die for. The lump crab meat appetizer - huge lumps of perfect mild delicious crab served with drawn butter!!!! The steak dian, prepared tableside, is simply outstanding. and the tableside desserts are all delicious. We love to bring new friends to The Library for their first experience - and it's memorable! We have also been on holidays (Thanksgiving and New Year's Eve) and have been very satisfied. We highly recommend THE LIBRARY!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, service and attention to d ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Amazing food, service and attention to detail. Shad and Chris are simply amazing and much gratitude for their service

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time here. Service was excellent, ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 14, 2016

First time here. Service was excellent, but food was good, but not excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Super seafood and prep. Beautifully pres ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Super seafood and prep. Beautifully presented

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

we had an excellent meal and the service ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

we had an excellent meal and the service was outstanding

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was well made, though not a par ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was well made, though not a particularly unusual menu.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food excellent as was the service. Asked ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food excellent as was the service. Asked for 1 extra roll only given 1 per client. Never received. Charged for water that we were surprised about. Asked for flat water. $15!!

But overall great food. Enjoyed it very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our 4th visit to the Library an ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

This was our 4th visit to the Library and as all the other three trips it was top notch! Everything was perfect! Even let us bring in our own anniversary cake to enjoy. They definitely make sure you are taken care of. And as far as using open table I use it all the time and love it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed our dinner at The Library. Th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at The Library. This was my third trip to this gem. Everything was delicious and well prepared. Drinks are inventive and tasty. If we are in myrtle beach again, we will definitely return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service & 5 star food!

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Outstanding service & 5 star food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The meal was great. Ask for Bobby Hill. ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 30, 2016

The meal was great. Ask for Bobby Hill. He's fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing lobster tail. The crab soup was ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Amazing lobster tail. The crab soup was the best I've had. Fantastic table-side Caesar salad, too. The Library was our favorite part of our Myrtle Beach vacation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best restaurant in Myrtle Beach! Absolu ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Best restaurant in Myrtle Beach! Absolutely Fantastic! The service and the food preparation, and presentation, were exquisite! We especially loved the She-crab soup and the grouper! Definitely would recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves wining and dining!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I spent a lovely evening ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 23, 2016

My husband and I spent a lovely evening with our family to celebrate our 47th wedding anniversary. It was the second time I have been to The Library and I can't tell you which time I enjoyed more. The service was excellent, the meal divine, my drinks served promptly and we'll chilled. I would highly recommend this restaurant to my friends and plan on coming back for another delicious evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The Library was great overall, the servi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The Library was great overall, the service was above excellent, with very good food. I wish I could have booked directly. Open table will not stop spamming me.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Historic, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.