About The Library Restaurant - Myrtle Beach

1212 North Kings Hwy
Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
View Larger Map

Myrtle Beach's only 3 Star Restaurant since 1974. Specializing in tableside service. From the Caesar salad to Bananas Flambe. The Library Restaurant represents perfection. Special occasions, Anniversaries, Birthdays or just a time to indulge. Private rooms available.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
European, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
13th Avenue North

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 448-4527

Website:
http://www.thelibraryrestaurantsc.com/

Parking Details:
We have over 30 parking places around the area.

Executive Chef:
Jesseriah Gass

Private Party Facilities:
Private rooms available for up to 40 persons. We also have a wine cellar room just for 2.(minimums do apply)

Private Party Contact:
Shad Velasco: 8434484527x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Baked Feta with Tomato Pesto
  • Baked Salmon
  • Baked Grouper Topped With Crab and Champagne Sauce
  • Bananas Foster
  • Lamb Chops
  • Ceasar Salad
  • The Library
Baked Feta with Tomato Pesto
Baked Salmon
Baked Grouper Topped With Crab and Champagne Sauce
Bananas Foster
Lamb Chops
Ceasar Salad
The Library

The Library Restaurant - Myrtle Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Carolina
Best Food
South Carolina
Best Service
South Carolina
10 More
Notable Wine List
South Carolina
Romantic
South Carolina
Best Overall
Myrtle Beach
Best Food
Myrtle Beach
Best Service
Myrtle Beach
Best Ambiance
Myrtle Beach
Best Value
Myrtle Beach
Fit for Foodies
Myrtle Beach
Romantic
Myrtle Beach
Special Occasion
Myrtle Beach
Best Restaurants in Myrtle Beach ›

Special Occasion (38)
Romantic (31)
Notable Wine List (21)
See All
Fit for Foodies (21)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Cozy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Private Room (3)
Historic (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Business Meals (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Authentic (2)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
Newest
557 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Once again The Library was an amazing me ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 4 days ago

Once again The Library was an amazing meal. The wait staff is very attentive and knowledgeable.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our tenth visit to THE LIBRARY. ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

This was our tenth visit to THE LIBRARY...and we are never disappointed. Chris has been our server several times - he's a professional, friendly and outstanding server. We love the drink and the food - blueberry martinis to die for. The lump crab meat appetizer - huge lumps of perfect mild delicious crab served with drawn butter!!!! The steak dian, prepared tableside, is simply outstanding. and the tableside desserts are all delicious. We love to bring new friends to The Library for their first experience - and it's memorable! We have also been on holidays (Thanksgiving and New Year's Eve) and have been very satisfied. We highly recommend THE LIBRARY!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, service and attention to d ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Amazing food, service and attention to detail. Shad and Chris are simply amazing and much gratitude for their service

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time here. Service was excellent, ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

First time here. Service was excellent, but food was good, but not excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Super seafood and prep. Beautifully pres ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Super seafood and prep. Beautifully presented

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

we had an excellent meal and the service ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

we had an excellent meal and the service was outstanding

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was well made, though not a par ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was well made, though not a particularly unusual menu.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food excellent as was the service. Asked ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food excellent as was the service. Asked for 1 extra roll only given 1 per client. Never received. Charged for water that we were surprised about. Asked for flat water. $15!!

But overall great food. Enjoyed it very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our 4th visit to the Library an ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

This was our 4th visit to the Library and as all the other three trips it was top notch! Everything was perfect! Even let us bring in our own anniversary cake to enjoy. They definitely make sure you are taken care of. And as far as using open table I use it all the time and love it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed our dinner at The Library. Th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at The Library. This was my third trip to this gem. Everything was delicious and well prepared. Drinks are inventive and tasty. If we are in myrtle beach again, we will definitely return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service & 5 star food!

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Outstanding service & 5 star food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The meal was great. Ask for Bobby Hill. ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The meal was great. Ask for Bobby Hill. He's fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing lobster tail. The crab soup was ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Amazing lobster tail. The crab soup was the best I've had. Fantastic table-side Caesar salad, too. The Library was our favorite part of our Myrtle Beach vacation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best restaurant in Myrtle Beach! Absolu ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Best restaurant in Myrtle Beach! Absolutely Fantastic! The service and the food preparation, and presentation, were exquisite! We especially loved the She-crab soup and the grouper! Definitely would recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves wining and dining!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I spent a lovely evening ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

My husband and I spent a lovely evening with our family to celebrate our 47th wedding anniversary. It was the second time I have been to The Library and I can't tell you which time I enjoyed more. The service was excellent, the meal divine, my drinks served promptly and we'll chilled. I would highly recommend this restaurant to my friends and plan on coming back for another delicious evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The Library was great overall, the servi ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The Library was great overall, the service was above excellent, with very good food. I wish I could have booked directly. Open table will not stop spamming me.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Historic, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food, over the top personalized ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Amazing food, over the top personalized service, worth every penny. Thanks Chris for another wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The owner was very attentive, knowledgab ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The owner was very attentive, knowledgable of all the dishes, and overall one of the nicest people we've met. Its obvious he takes great pride in his work. The food was beyond perfect. The she-crab soup was unlike anything else weve had, sweet at first with a spicey heat finish. Drinks were well made with topshelf spirits. The rack of lamb was delicious and could quite literally be cut with a butter knife, the new york strip steak with peppercorn sauce was my favorite. I can not recommend this place enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a restaurant that we return to o ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This is a restaurant that we return to once a year when we're on vacation. It is always one of the highlights of my trip. The food is phenomenal, the service is unparalleled. Just fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was top notch. Great wines, g ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Everything was top notch. Great wines, great top shelf liquer including white, black, and red sambuca. Excellent steaks and table service for your bananas foster. What a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had read some great reviews about The ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I had read some great reviews about The Library so was excited to try. Everything seemed promising when we entered the restaurant, the wait staff were very nice and attentive. But the food really was not good at all. We had Rockefeller oysters and I had steak and my boyfriend had lamb chops. He left majority of his on his plate, they were not good at all, extremely fatty. My steak looked like it was microwaved. It did not taste good at all. It was a disappointing meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

We were only in Myrtle Beach for 1 week, ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We were only in Myrtle Beach for 1 week, but The Library is so good, we went back a second time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The absolute best lobster I've ever had!

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The absolute best lobster I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service The Library is impeccable. T ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The service The Library is impeccable. They use a professional professional wait staff, and our waiter was Fry. Fry never let us want for anything. He was always there, blending in until we needed something. The food is superb! Their sweetbreads are perfect. Their steaks are so tender you can cut them with a fork. The only knife I received with my filet with a butter knife. If you're looking for one meal when you're in Myrtle Beach, make it at the library. You will not be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always we enjoyed the Library restaur ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

As always we enjoyed the Library restaurant, we always enjoy the Caesar salad that is prepared at the table, it really adds to the dining experience. My wife and I are from Charlotte, and try to eat there a few times a year when we're in town. And yes I have recommended to several of my friends.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Library's "Wine Cellar" private din ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The Library's "Wine Cellar" private dining room was a unique and exceptionally pleasant experience. Our waiter Christopher made the night even more enjoyable preparing my Caesar Salad table-side. Who does that anymore? His menu knowledge, food and wine suggestions were right on for an excellent meal ending with Cherries Jubilee flambeed table-side of course.

With so many restaurants offering pre-made or frozen dishes it is nice to come to a place that is still serving up high quality food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too expensive for a very average experie ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Too expensive for a very average experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Very quaint and intimate dining experien ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Very quaint and intimate dining experience. Our server was so pleasant and the food was absolutely phenomenal!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The waiter, Danny, was very odd. He sto ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The waiter, Danny, was very odd. He stood very close to our table and watched us. He told us we had to order or we would not get our salad or another roll.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

My Wife, Mother-in-Law and I were on vac ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

My Wife, Mother-in-Law and I were on vacation in Myrtle Beach and had dinner there. Bobby was our waiter. The food was fantastic, and the service superb. Try the Steak Diane, crab soup and the cherries jubilee. You won't be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful fine dining experience. The ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

A wonderful fine dining experience. The quality is exceptional and the table side prepared salad is fantastic. Definitely get the cherries jubilee. It is also prepared table side and tastes great. Good show too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful dining experience Service an ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Delightful dining experience Service and food were superb. Will be returning to dine here again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We look forward to dining at the Library ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We look forward to dining at the Library every year when we vacation in Myrtle Beach. Christopher was our server this year and he was excellent. Chad makes incredible drinks and we love their wines, especially their own Reserve ones, and my husband also enjoys the great selection of interesting craft beers. The food is so good that we always order too much because it is all so delicious. We always get the potato blue cheese soup and the lobster tails with a surprise of shrimp inside the shells with other appetizers and dishes but there is nothing on the menu, including the desserts, that you won't enjoy. It's pricey but so worth it for a special treat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Library is a hidden gem of a restaur ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The Library is a hidden gem of a restaurant tucked in a small strip shopping center....you would never know what's hidden behind the doors. Outstanding food ...many dishes prepared tableside. The steak Diane is superb. And outstanding cherries jubilee. Bananas foster. Homemade hot fudge sundae. Foodies will be jubilant to have found this place in a sea of mediocre myrtle beach spots. Service impeccable. Treat yourself.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

An absolutely divine dining experience, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

An absolutely divine dining experience, everything from the drinks to dessert. Our waiter was professional yet friendly and nice. The Library was a perfect choice for our 3rd wedding anniversary celebration! We ordered beef tips with shrimp for an app, it was delicious! Then for drinks we had blueberry acai mojitos, which were fabulous! Dinner was a ny strip for me, chicken for my husband, both were wonderful and paired with delicious sides of mushrooms, green beans, potatoes, and carrots. The desserts were also delish, bananas foster prepared at the table! This is a lovely choice for a quiet, romantic dinner! It's a bit pricey but well worth it! If you're looking for quiet, peaceful, delicious, adult only dining, this is it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Josh was a fantastic server and the food ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Josh was a fantastic server and the food was unbelievable. We love going out to great restaurants but the food and drinks here were one of are favorites out of anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent, service even better

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food was excellent, service even better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was awesome and service even better ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Food was awesome and service even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An absolute hidden gem in Myrtle Beach. ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

An absolute hidden gem in Myrtle Beach. An epicurean delight of the highest magnitude. The ambiance is subtle, the food superb. We had a most excellent Ceasar salad which prepared at table side was a delight and a true art form which is a lost art. Our entrées were the chefs specials, I had the Halibut and my wife the Scottish Salmon, both pan seared and broiled served with a sherry cream sauce and vegetables that were cooked to perfection. Pared with an excellent Chardonnay we followed with Cherries Jubilee and coffee cordials.

Our waiter Josh was most attentive and was very knowledgable about the history of the restaurant as well as other local attractions. Management and the other staff were very accommodating as well.

My wife and I plan a return visit in the near future. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone with an appreciation for fine food and wine. This is not your stereotypical beach town establishment. Dress appropriately business casual, not beach wear. Bon Appetit!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely exquisite. The a ...

 
 (Shreveport)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food was absolutely exquisite. The ambiance was amazing and very private and intimate. The menu was an allure in and of itself but the waiter's presentation of the chef's features was what sold my fiance and I on what we'd have. Again I cannot stress how divinely good the food was. A bit on the higher priced side but definitely well worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.