Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About The Lark - Santa Barbara

The Lark pays homage to the history of California train travel and tributes the treasured and long gone Santa Barbara Fish Market, built in the 1920’s as a commercial fish processing plant, shipping their seafood products throughout the state by rail. With an imaginative yet approachable menu created by the gifted Jason Paluska, The Lark celebrates everything found around Santa Barbara County – wineries, farms, ocean and natural beauty. The stunning design strives to connect to the past and the future, using discovered objects from the past and blending them with modern, urban and industrial materials to spectacular effect.

131 Anacapa St. Suite A
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
5:00 p.m. - Closing Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Late Night Bar Menu available
CLOSED MONDAY

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 284-0370

Website:
http://www.thelarksb.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available or use nearby street parking. Substantial parking is available at the Santa Barbara train station, just a block away.

Public Transit:
Enjoy a train ride to Santa Barbara from southern or northern California and meet us at The Lark. No driving required.

Executive Chef:
Jason Paluska

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact our Special Events Director at 805.284.0370 or email Sarah Zwisler: szwisler@acmehospitality.com

The Lark - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (88)
Fit for Foodies (83)
Great for Outdoor Dining (81)
See All
Good for a Date (75)
Local Ingredients (65)
Special Occasion (61)
Fun (55)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Hot Spot (49)
Handcrafted Cocktails (48)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Vibrant Bar Scene (34)
Romantic (32)
Casual (32)
Good for Groups (31)
Notable Wine List (31)
People Watching (30)
Family Style (29)
Bar Seating (29)
Modern Decor (28)
Worth the Drive (27)
Authentic (27)
Fireplace (27)
Seasonal (26)
Cozy (24)
Organic (24)
Healthy (20)
Tapas (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Late-night Find (13)
Business Meals (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Great Beer (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Spicy (6)
Disabled Access (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Historic (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Private Room (3)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Waterfront (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
1453 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Menu has great choices.. food was delicious just as expected. Staff was cool and friendly, and sitting outside by the fire couldn't have been any nicer. Definitley a must when in SB!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Our server Jazz was super accommodating and gave excellent recommendation.the food was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Simply great. All sharable plates but beware-portions are surprisingly large.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

The vibe of this place is great and honestly, had it not been for the MICE, we would highly recommended. It's a packed restaurant. We were seated in a tiny corner outside near a bush. The seating is TIGHT and the next table was inches away from us. About half way through our dinner both us and the table next to us saw a mouse run from the restaurant, under us (my dress moved) and into the bushes. Ok, it was gross but I understand. I switched seats with my husband and we tried to move on. Then our final entree came. I really couldn't eat it, but I tried. Then, another mouse (or same nose) squeezed it's way thru the fence that we were literally an inch away from and dropped three feet and ran under our table again. At that point we decided we were done eating. We moved inside to finish the other half of our bottle of wine. When our bill came, we thought, they will probably comp this meal because that was absolutely crazy (they kept saying "this has never happened!" Instead, they comped nothing and we were slightly stunned (didn't say anything but we're shocked) they removed the cheapest item from our bill (Brussels sprouts). In NO WAY do we expect a free meal, but this was truly a ridiculous experience and most ceertajnlh prevent us from reccomending to others.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

This was one of the best meals I've had. The ingredients were so fresh and so well matched. A really outstanding meal in a unique and interesting restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 7 days ago

The server, Jazz, was outgoing, helpful, and responsive. Our meal was delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Really in a class by itself. Beautiful presentations and lively flavors. Best place we have been to for a very long time and we are from the Bay Area so we know quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great food and service. Sat outside which had a great vibe with the lights and fireplaces. Brussels sprouts were awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great food--imaginative and delicious. Enjoyed the small plate, sharing idea. Cornbread and brussels sprouts were particularly memorable. Staff/service was very pleasant, friendly, efficient, and easygoing. Busy ambience that we found very enjoyable. We were from out of town but went on a friend's recommendation. Would definitely go back next time we're in Santa Barbara.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

First time and looking forward to my return to Santa Barbara so I can enjoy some more good tastes of beautiful prepared food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

As always, one of Santa Barbara's best! The menu selections are always a great variety of choices. The only problem is that it is always so busy but I guess that is a good thing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

A place with really great innovative food, and knowledgeable staff to guide you with your selections. Seasonal menu changes.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We were advised to share plates. Everything was very good but I didn't feel very satiated. My husband and I split 4 plates. Brussels are amazing but if you are very hungry then I would get your own entrees. Otherwise, it was an awesome place to check out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Exceptional food experience. Great ambiance and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our server Mackenzie was awesome! And her assistant Greg was very pleasant. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Good and delicious food and great service.pricy but the food was good. Awesome duck

Tags: Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The best meal we have had in a long time. Highly recommend the psppardelle. Over the top delicious. Enough for 2 people. We celebrated our anniversary there and they made us feel special. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Flavorful food choices with a wait staff providing good recommendations. Wine selection complimented the menu. Outside dining under the stars. Fantastic experience. I'll definitely return to the Lark. Make reservations before arriving.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a fabulous dinner experience at The Lark on Friday night! We loved the food, service and our perfect booth. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My wife and I had a fantastic meal at the Lark. The food was creative, delicious, and perfectly cooked. The Brillat Savarin Triple Creme Brie was amazing and different from what we have had anywhere and we have traveled to and eaten in every corner of the world.

I would go back for that alone, but that was just the beginning. Both my wife's Slow Roasted Niman Ranch Ribs and my roasted ocean trout (think salmon) was perfection. The fish was not overcooked for a single second as so many restaurants tend to do. The skin was crispy and inside was like butter and the ribs delivered as well.

We ate at other top ranked restaurants while in Santa Barbara but the Lark is the one we will return to first.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I was with my son and his girlfriend looking at UCSB. We loved the feel of the place. Our waiter Bill was knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. The brussel sprouts were exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great octopus, Cajun shrimp with grits and diver scallops

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Incredible delicious food with fresh ingredients and pefectly combined flavors

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Amazing. Great food, great service, great ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I try to eat at this restaurant anytime I'm in Santa Barbara. The menu changes, but the food & cocktails are consistently amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Spicy, Authentic, Organic, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This should be everyone's "go-to" place when visiting Santa Barbara. Great neighborhood, ambiance, food & service. The octopus was a standout and the Brussel sprouts were amazing. Cool local wine list.
Can't wait to return...

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Food was exceptional, and so was service. I don;t say this often, but best restaurant of the year for me. Hand crafted, home grown, authentic goodness...

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Organic, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Loved the atmosphere and the food but the service was serious lacking. Our waiter was arrogant from the start and gave us very little attention. We ordered 8 dishes for 4 people and they were all brought to our very small table at the same time. This made it difficult to enjoy a well paced meal. We sat with all of our dirty dishes and empty water glasses for quite a long time. It was in unfortunate experience because the restaurant was lovely!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I was really excited to eat here and had made a reservation for my birthday. This was my only night in town and I made the reservations weeks in advance - I was seated on-time - in a back corner far away from everyone in this weird booth where I felt shunned (to be fair I had asked for quiet as it was only me but this was a bit much). The server greeted me and was friendly enough and I placed my order of scallops but then he NEVER came back. An assistant brought me some popcorn to the table (their version of bread) but I never got my water. The ONLY drink I had asked for. I saw my server walk by a dozen or more times - still no water. At all. Nothing to drink and no eye contact. I sat for probably 15-20 minutes and just left. Very disappointing. I went back to my hotel, the beautiful Four Seasons, and ordered room service at 9pm. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Went here with my friends before a girls night out and had an amazing meal. The food was delicious and the service was excellent. It's small plates and meant to be shared and the waitress was very helpful and friendly. We would definitely recommend it!

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food had great taste and fun to share. A little pricey for the portions. Great service and friendly wait staff. Highly recommend for a fun dinner evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Overrated. Service was unfriendly and food was not hot and mostly bland. The pimento was great. Otherwise we tried 5 other dishes and didn't like them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Anniversary!! We had a fabulous time! Cannot wait to go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great restaurant and service excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Lovely decor and atmosphere. Great cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Overpriced and unmemorable. Oysters were especially bad, and avoid scallops. Had a reservation and they were 30 minutes late in seating us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Always a great meal! Octopus is a favorite... grilled to perfection, tender and tasty!

Tags: Disabled Access, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The cornbread and brussel sprouts were amazing! I'd highly recommend them. I guess the main dishes on the menu change per season, but these items have remained. We had the shrimp & grits and ribs. The grits were buttery and smooth without feeling heavy and the shrimp were nice and large. Ribs were very flavourful and meat fell off nicely. Dessert was good, but not great! Cheesecake isn't like your traditional cheesecake, so if that's what you're craving you'll be disappointed. The chocolate creme brulee was the winner out of the two, but not sure about the combo of the passion fruit ice cream that went with it. All those items fed 3 women perfectly without feeling overly stuffed :)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 23, 2017

So good!! Try Brussels Sprouts! Fun atmosphere.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We've been twice now, both times were exceptional! We had the Brussels, foie and the duck confit, all were unique and different from any restaurant I've eaten at. We are craving that exact meal already-perfection.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.