About The Lark - Santa Barbara

131 Anacapa St. Suite A
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

The Lark pays homage to the history of California train travel and tributes the treasured and long gone Santa Barbara Fish Market, built in the 1920’s as a commercial fish processing plant, shipping their seafood products throughout the state by rail. With an imaginative yet approachable menu created by the gifted Jason Paluska, The Lark celebrates everything found around Santa Barbara County – wineries, farms, ocean and natural beauty. The stunning design strives to connect to the past and the future, using discovered objects from the past and blending them with modern, urban and industrial materials to spectacular effect.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
5:00 p.m. - Closing Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Late Night Bar Menu available
CLOSED MONDAY

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 284-0370

Website:
http://www.thelarksb.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available or use nearby street parking. Substantial parking is available at the Santa Barbara train station, just a block away.

Public Transit:
Enjoy a train ride to Santa Barbara from southern or northern California and meet us at The Lark. No driving required.

Executive Chef:
Jason Paluska

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact our Special Events Director at 805.284.0370 or email Sarah Zwisler: szwisler@acmehospitality.com

The Lark - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (62)
Creative Cuisine (57)
Great for Outdoor Dining (57)
See All
Good for a Date (53)
Special Occasion (48)
Local Ingredients (42)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Handcrafted Cocktails (37)
Fun (35)
Hot Spot (32)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Romantic (29)
Good for Groups (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Worth the Drive (26)
Family Style (26)
Notable Wine List (21)
Cozy (20)
Fireplace (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Healthy (15)
People Watching (15)
Authentic (14)
Organic (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Tapas (11)
Casual (11)
Seasonal (10)
Business Meals (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Spicy (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Private Room (4)
Historic (4)
Vegan (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1334 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always an outstanding meal. Celebrating ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Always an outstanding meal. Celebrating yet another birthday dinner at The Lark

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Groups, Fun, Family Style, Casual, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Would have liked the server to explain a ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

Would have liked the server to explain at the beginning of evening this is a shared plates format. Following our meal ( which was excellent just a lot of food) server mentioned in passing plates are for 4 people. Thank God I didn't clean my plate!!!

Other than leaving " food drunk", very good spot.

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We sat outside in the rare SB rain - und ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

We sat outside in the rare SB rain - under cover, with numerous heaters. It was beautiful and the food was fabulous. Must get the roasted brussel sprouts! Great attentive service as well. Only disappointment was when I called to make a reservation for 9 people and they would not / could not do it - very un-accomodating. Went there with 3 of us instead. Their loss.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Interesting and tasty dishes. Amazing se ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

Interesting and tasty dishes. Amazing service. Great spot for date night.

Tags: Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food. Excellent service. Would ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food. Excellent service. Would highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Valentines Day dinner.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Great Valentines Day dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Fireplace, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Fun, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Peashoot salad comically overdressed. Fo ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 6 days ago

Peashoot salad comically overdressed. Foie gras doesn't need to be blasted with smoke and salt.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for Valentine's Day dinner with my ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 6 days ago

Went for Valentine's Day dinner with my boyfriend. We had an amazing time. Service was incredible. Food was great and good size portions.

Tags: Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tight space in the very corner of the re ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Tight space in the very corner of the restaurant. Dinner was good. Nothing we haven't had before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We go every year and have yet to be disa ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We go every year and have yet to be disappointed. You know you're in a good spot when you're close to where they pack in all the tourists and yet the locals come for a bite and a glass. Great wine list, knowledgeable staff and consistent and innovative gastronomy. All packaged in a Santa Barbara casual charm. A winner.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

So many reviews about the food, but our ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

So many reviews about the food, but our experience was mediocre at best. Brussel sprouts, corn bread, pea shoot and strawberry salad, and crab rissoto.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Never Disappoints! The staff and kitchen ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Never Disappoints! The staff and kitchen keep everything fresh & enjoyable!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was phenomenal. Highly ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Food and service was phenomenal. Highly recommend the Lark for a romantic dining out.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was really looking forward to a great me ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Was really looking forward to a great meal considering the incredible word of mouth. Very disappointed. Service was slow and inattentive. Plates piled up. Food was just ok at best. Not a truly memorable or 'wow' bite of the entire evening (and we ordered 5 plates.) Would not go back or recommend. 2/10.

Tags: Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Highly recommend the Waygu Beef and our ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Highly recommend the Waygu Beef and our server, Bill. Pass on the prawns.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We so enjoyed our meal at The Lark - wha ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We so enjoyed our meal at The Lark - what a great find! The atmosphere is lovely and warm, with lots of beautiful textures. Our server was just the right balance of familiar and attentive and made great recommendations for wine pairings. The Rosemary cornbread was LIFE changing. The Brussels sprouts were the best we've had anywhere, and the entrees (harissa chicken and homemade pappardelle with mushrooms, squash, and pomegranate seeds) offered really beautiful flavor complexities.

We live in LA, but will come back to SB just to eat here! Highly recommended.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, terrific food and real ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great atmosphere, terrific food and really good service. The Lark lives up to its reviews. Can't wait to return.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific food, wonderful service, defini ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Terrific food, wonderful service, definitely already talk it up with friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second visit. I was wow' d last summer w ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Second visit. I was wow' d last summer when I visited for 1st time. Menu was incredible. This visit was full of expectations that never got met. The menu was little too limiting esp for family style, salt heavy and not delivering completely on flavors, and wine list too expensive for what it was. Don't get me wrong , Lark is full of amazing potential to keep delivering like my first visit and atmosphere plus service will win me back. I will also add the dessert we had "cheesecake " was freakin outstanding and we wish the rest of meal had been equally enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Visiting the Lark is a must for anyone c ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Visiting the Lark is a must for anyone coming to Santa Barbara who wants to experience the best, most creative food in the Funk Zone.

There is a variety of seating options, from a big shared bar height table to small antique confessionals for an intimate special dinner (recommended!) - they also have an outdoor seating area and wine bar next door if you want a wine experience before or after dinner. No detail is left unnoticed.

The food is really inventive - the brussels sprouts and little gems salad are two of my favorites. The drinks are killer. Every main course I have ever had here has been delish. And they serve this amazing seasonally spiced popcorn when you are seated that I always want to try to recreate at home.

Great location, amazing decor, nicest staff , always a memorable night.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Special Occasion, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good. Great presentati ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The food was very good. Great presentation. Awesome service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely experience as always. Michael he ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Lovely experience as always. Michael helped us craft a great menu and provided outstanding recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went here to celebrate my birthday. We ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I went here to celebrate my birthday. We were surprised by my parents buying us a round of drinks by the waiter handing me a birthday card. The drinks and food were delicious - My favorite was the steak tartare. We sat outside next to the fire but it wasn't too chilly. Overall a very fun experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food is served family style - my hus ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food is served family style - my husband and I have very different palates and since the plates are meant to be shared it was very difficult for us to order and have us get what we wanted - they should mention that it is served family style on the menu page and not on the page about the restaurant -

It is very noisy and it was very difficult to hear our server much less each other

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

The food is unfortunately overpriced for ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food is unfortunately overpriced for the portion/quality you receive. The brussel sprouts were the best part, but other than that, it wasn't very good. The popcorn they brought out had so much cumin that it was all you could taste when eating it. We ordered the butter lettuce and fairhill farm's apples with the lamb belly. The apples were practically non existent and the lettuce pieces were way too large and soaked in a vinaigrette that had far too much vinegar overpowering any other flavors. It was terrible. The lamb belly was decent at best, but definitely not worth what you pay for it. If you're looking for dining with similar cuisine, I would highly recommend The Black Sheep, the portions are similar but the food quality far exceeds that of The Lark. The service was impeccable, which did make up for the lacking meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

We went out for dinner with a couple of ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We went out for dinner with a couple of friends and had a great time. Unique food choices and all amazing. The wait staff was really helpful with plate selections. Cannot wait to go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were pretty disappointed. The food w ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We were pretty disappointed. The food was okay, that's it. It wasn't great. Our waitress was the best thing about the whole night.

When the manager came over to ask us how things were, we informed him that the porcetta was waaay too salty. He came back with some unacceptable response like, "oh, that's a very salty food". We all know it's not. It's all in the way it was prepared. Since we were with our famous world renowned nephew chef, he knew more than anybody. The manager should have apologized and offered a free dessert, or to compensate us in some way. He did nothing. It was just wrong.

Bottom line--we will not be going back and won't recommend it to anybody else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Wow! I'm used to great food but this was ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Wow! I'm used to great food but this was something special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was overpriced and not deliciou ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was overpriced and not delicious. They told me that they could accommodate for a vegan option but that was completely untrue. Too expensive and noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Went on a chilly but clear Saturday nigh ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Went on a chilly but clear Saturday night and the restaurant was very lively and packed! Our group tried and loved the Brownbutter rosemary cornbread, Brussels sprouts, sacallops (spicy!), flank steak and creme brûlée. Nothing about each one of these was typical or standard, so many layers of flavors and presentation. We had been at wineries all day so we didn't have wine there, only a cocktail. Lots of servers, a different one brought each dish as it was ready and explained in detail the ingredients! They were very busy and moved pretty fast but still great service!

Tags: Spicy, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best restaurant in Santa Barbara

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Best restaurant in Santa Barbara

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The place is beatiful, the food was grea ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The place is beatiful, the food was great, very tasty and high cousine techniques. We had the Grilled Spanish Octopus with roasted cauliflower, blistered grapes, arugula, toasted almonds, squid ink, grapefruit, rosemary - it was delicious and the octopus was cooked to perfection. We also shared a Smoked Foie Torchon. The spiced pistachio crumble was perfectly matching the Foie without covering its taste. Had 2 IPAs for drink, both very good. Service was attentious without being annoying. Great place, would go again and recommend to visitors who are in Santa Barbara.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Delicious , large portions, great to sha ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Delicious , large portions, great to share. Excellent service and very nice waiters. Parking is easy with valet. Only negative is its very loud even before it gets crowded.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice ambiance, inventive food the crispy ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Nice ambiance, inventive food the crispy duck was great would have been perfect if the biscuit was cook through. We ate around it and it was so large it was fine. Crude was nice and wedge salad was really good. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Went here based on decent Yelp reviews a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Went here based on decent Yelp reviews and some local friends recs (though others did not recommend it). Space and ambiance is decent. Like a trendy gastropub feel. Service was not good. Despite an enthusiastic almost m TGIF bubbly attitude, the server plainly lacked good service. The food unfortunately sounds better than it is. The portions feel too big and are ambitious but flavors don't always work together. Winter pears was interesting but felt like it was trying too hard and wasn't that good. Octopus was ok but not as good as what's served at most similar places where we're used to. Lastly, the pappardelle. I wanted to like it. First one was warm at best. Had to be sitting there forever. Asked for it to be hotter. For some reason, the whole dish was remade making us wait more. Fair enough. And on the remake, a curly hair. Enough said. Hopefully unintentional. Manager was apologetic, but I can't recommend this place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

a Great place for great food. our waitr ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 26, 2017

a Great place for great food. our waitress was very helpful suggesting wine and menue items to try.

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Finally we had the chance to book dinner ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Finally we had the chance to book dinner at The Lark, we have heard so many positive reviews and our dinner did not disappoint. I love that you order items to eat family style so that we all were able to sample the interesting dishes from appetizers to entrees. Everything was beautifully plated and delicious. The ambiance is warm and welcoming with repurposed items even a confessional that is a table for 2! I can't wait to return.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced and underportioned. Dined twi ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Overpriced and underportioned. Dined twice in the last year. First time overall experience was OK. Second time it fell short in all regards.

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Got a reservation early and was seated p ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Got a reservation early and was seated promptly. Service was very good even though the restaurant was quite busy, this was on a Sunday. They were well staffed. The food came out quickly and we were happy with the presentation and quality of our selections. We especially enjoyed the brussel sprouts, carrots and pappardelle dishes.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Casual, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Very nice restaurant. Carrot plate start ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very nice restaurant. Carrot plate starter was delicious as well as the Scallops main plate. Excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.