About The Lark - Santa Barbara

131 Anacapa St. Suite A
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

The Lark pays homage to the history of California train travel and tributes the treasured and long gone Santa Barbara Fish Market, built in the 1920’s as a commercial fish processing plant, shipping their seafood products throughout the state by rail. With an imaginative yet approachable menu created by the gifted Jason Paluska, The Lark celebrates everything found around Santa Barbara County – wineries, farms, ocean and natural beauty. The stunning design strives to connect to the past and the future, using discovered objects from the past and blending them with modern, urban and industrial materials to spectacular effect.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
5:00 p.m. - Closing Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Late Night Bar Menu available
CLOSED MONDAY

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 284-0370

Website:
http://www.thelarksb.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available or use nearby street parking. Substantial parking is available at the Santa Barbara train station, just a block away.

Public Transit:
Enjoy a train ride to Santa Barbara from southern or northern California and meet us at The Lark. No driving required.

Executive Chef:
Jason Paluska

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact our Special Events Director at 805.284.0370 or email Sarah Zwisler: szwisler@acmehospitality.com

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

The Lark - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
The Lark - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
The Lark - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
The Lark - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
The Lark - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
The Lark - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
The Lark - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
The Lark - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
The Lark - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
The Lark - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
The Lark - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA

Specials

Valentine's Day Dinner!

Tuesday Feb 14, 2017 from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Valentine's Day Dinner!

Tuesday Feb 14, 2017 from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

In addition to our full a la carte menu meant for sharing, Chef Paluska's Valentine's specials include Dungeness Crab Risotto with preserved lemon, Calabrian chile, pinenuts, Santa Barbara sea urchin, fennel pollen for $34. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid on Tuesday Feb 14, 2017 from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

The Lark - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (64)
Creative Cuisine (59)
Great for Outdoor Dining (52)
See All
Good for a Date (50)
Local Ingredients (48)
Special Occasion (42)
Handcrafted Cocktails (40)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Fun (32)
Worth the Drive (32)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Hot Spot (30)
Good for Groups (26)
Romantic (25)
Family Style (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
People Watching (20)
Bar Seating (20)
Tasting Menu (19)
Fireplace (18)
Casual (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Cozy (14)
Tapas (14)
Authentic (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Open Kitchen (12)
Healthy (12)
Organic (11)
Seasonal (11)
Business Meals (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Happy Hour (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great Beer (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Vegan (3)
Spicy (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Historic (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Scenic View (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1285 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Traveling with friends- sitting in a boo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Traveling with friends- sitting in a booth was an awesome way to have a conversation yet still soak up the vibe. The service was attentive, knowledgeable, and super friendly. Each dish that came out was Instagram-worthy and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

birthday patty

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

birthday patty

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent! Very creative! You need fewer ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent! Very creative! You need fewer dishes than you think for a group.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Inexcusably salty. We had the brussels s ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Inexcusably salty. We had the brussels sprouts, pimento cheese, duck confit, and scallops. The brussels sprouts and duck were painfully salty. We will not return despite good service. Too expensive for ruined food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

First time to Santa Barbara. Hotel recom ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 14, 2017

First time to Santa Barbara. Hotel recommended the Lark. Made a reservation that night and it was excellent. Had the roasted Brussels sprouts and tartare. Excellent service. Great menu and wine and cocktails. Went on wine tour the next day and another couple was there at the same time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. The setting and ambi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was very good. The setting and ambiance is very lively. The quantity of the food was sized for sharing. Small but reasonable choice of wines by the glass.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Inventive food served family style. Outd ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Inventive food served family style. Outdoor seating has heat lamps/fireplace to keep you toasty. Every fishes is well thought out with perhaps a few too many ingredients. Particularly enjoyed the roasted carrots and the lamb belly. Service was top-notch and friendly. Would have given it 5 stars but for a sparse bone marrow dish.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Generally a good experience. Portions v ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Generally a good experience. Portions very large and dishes could be a bit simpler. Sometimes a restaurant can be too creative which was the case with some of the dishes. A for effort; B+ for food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We've been to the lark dozens of times ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We've been to the lark dozens of times and always enjoyed food and service.

This time we were seated in a new room --noisy, cold, uncomfortable-- and

service was nothing like the service we've been used to over the years. In future

would refuse to sit anywhere but the areas we know well. It was punishment to

sit there with large noisy parties at the next tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Great Food, Great Sercive, and Great atm ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great Food, Great Sercive, and Great atmosphere! Overall fantastic experience. Wibe of a casual restaurant with the food and service of fine dinning. Exquisite detail in every single menu item with fantastic flavor combinations. New fav spot!

Tags: Authentic, Organic, Hot Spot, , Healthy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very interesting restaurant in the "new" ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Very interesting restaurant in the "new" Funk Zone area of Santa Barbara. Lots of little wine tasting bars around and some art galleries.

The restaurant, I feel, is over priced including their wine list. Food is served family style, and is really different from the norm. Their are some amazing choices including some fusion dishes.

Overall an interesting place with good service. Nice outdoor seating and ambiance. Glad I went to try it out but, not sure that I would go again.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were recently here for the 5th or so ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We were recently here for the 5th or so time. The food, as always, was outstanding, and this time the service, also always excellent, outdid itself (our server was Mike). 1/2 hour before we arrived for our reservation, the restaurant experienced a completely unforecast, unexpected and intense 15-minute rain downpour, causing what must have been chaos for the outside diners and as a result the entire kitchen. As we arrived outside seating was again being reopened, and we got a great table by the firepit. Mike made sure he got the manager to bring a mixed drink that had been held up at the bar. We ordered several dishes together to share, and no doubt due to the rain disruption they arrived at different times. When our bill arrived we discovered the bone marrow dish (expensive but delayed) had been taken off our bill. Everything a world-class restaurant should be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great night. A bit crazy since ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It was a great night. A bit crazy since as we sat at our table prior to ordering it started raining very hard and the canvas canopy was not waterproof. So needless to say many people had to either move tables or deal with some dripping. We did the later and the rain stopped after a bit and we proceeded to thoroughly enjoy our meal. It was fun to share and have all of us taste the various dishes we tried. Probably the only disppointing dish was the beef platter. It was beautifully prepared, but very expensive and not much actual beef on the platter. Our favorites of the night were the brussel sprouts, the little gem salad, and the cobbler dessert.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My girlfriend and I spent our one year a ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My girlfriend and I spent our one year anniversary here and it did not disappoint. The food was amazing as always but what stood out to us was our server, Matt. He did an exceptional job and was very attentive to our needs and had great recommendations. He made the experience that much better.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The complimentary valet parking was wond ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The complimentary valet parking was wonderful, since it was lightly raining. Our reservations were at 6 and we were seated right away. My ONLY complaint was that we were seated in the middle of the room. I expected a better table since we did have reservations. But we were not jostled or bumped. It felt in

The food was excellent for my husband and I but too complex for our daughter's palate. The servers were amazing. At once point it started to thunder and then lightning. We watched as servers quietly carried snow white umbrellas to the patio and ushered the outdoor diners inside. There was a sudden downpour but the servers were calm and helpful while moving the food and people inside.

Our daughter attends college in SB and we visit quite often, so we will definitely be returning to the Lark.

Tags: , Family Style, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food was amazing and the vibe of the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was amazing and the vibe of the restaurant was romantic and perfect for. Y fiancé and I

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING! Great service and exquisite din ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 6, 2017

AMAZING! Great service and exquisite dining! Try the carrot salad and the Brussels sprouts! The Oaxacan nigroni was perfect with the popcorn given to the table! But the duck that was the best thing I've ever tasted at the Lark!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cuisine was a culinary genius and sp ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The cuisine was a culinary genius and sparked your whole palette. Service was amazing, professional, and personable. Our waiter, Bill, knew the menu inside and out, and seemed so passionate about the food and his job. We tried several of his menu recommendations and they were sublime. It was definitely the best choice for our 10-year anniversary dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was amazing

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Everything was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Menu has really turned for the worst. Mu ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Menu has really turned for the worst. Much more pricey yet options are bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

The food and ambience is very good a cre ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food and ambience is very good a creative cuisine but they need to add a few more options to eat and for the wine list also.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Lark helped us celebrate our anniver ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The Lark helped us celebrate our anniversary in style. Food, service, and atmosphere were impeccable. The Lark is a must as part of time spent in Santa Barbara.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated outside, and it was a bit ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were seated outside, and it was a bit cold. There were no heat lamps nearby. I thought it was kind of strange to be sitting outside for such an expensive meal. The food was very interesting, with many ingredients per dish. The brussel sprouts were the best, as were the desserts. The hamachi was oddly paired with celery and pomegranate seeds. It was a lively scene so it was worth going but I probably wouldn't go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Every time I eat at The Lark, I want to ...

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Every time I eat at The Lark, I want to hug the chef(s). It is the most amazing meal. The service is exceptional too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservation was at 8:45 and they already ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Reservation was at 8:45 and they already ran out of items on an expectedly busy night so we found ourselves compromising with another dish which to our surprise came out a little cold. Other than that, it was a good overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

My husband & I enjoyed all the food we t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My husband & I enjoyed all the food we tried here. They recommend sharing several different dishes (4-5 for two people). We started with their famous Brussels sprouts with dates, before moving on to rainbow carrots, duck confit, and scallops. Everything had a delightful mix of surprising flavors.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely LOVED Lark! We will definitel ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Absolutely LOVED Lark! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious local food in a very cool sett ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Delicious local food in a very cool setting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food, great help with the wine lis ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food, great help with the wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dishes interesting and tasty and sized f ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Dishes interesting and tasty and sized for four people, but smallest cocktails I've ever seen - large ice cube almost filled the small glass by itself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Outstanding food and friendly helpful se ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Outstanding food and friendly helpful service, left very content!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

David (I think his name was) took our or ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 24, 2016

David (I think his name was) took our order and then disappeared until it was time for check. Lost out on at least a few rounds of drinks that we went elsewhere to get. Pretty annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Surprisingly poor service. Food was oka ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Surprisingly poor service. Food was okay except for the food poisoning. I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

We were recommended to The Lark by a nic ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We were recommended to The Lark by a nice young man at a tasting room on the wharf. So glad we were able to make it happen, this place can get busy. The best food I have probably ever had. What a fantastic meal, enjoyed every bite. Hats off to the chef! Innovative and tasty. I woke up the next morning hoping for some more of that scrumptious corn bread.

The ambiance on the patio was fantastic. A memorable experience. The prices were not outlandish. I would recommend this and will be visiting again if I make it back to Santa Barbara.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly some of the best food I have jad t ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Truly some of the best food I have jad the pleasure to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I usually don't write reviews like this ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I usually don't write reviews like this but it's something my spouse and I were discussing days after our dinner so I figured I'd write in. Upon arriving to The Lark I walked up to the front desk and was greeted with "Can I help you with something?" in a condescending tone. As I work in a service industry, I take to heart not being greeted warmly or even being asked "do you have a reservation?", which I did, or "welcome to The Lark". It seemed like the hostess was confused as to why I was standing there when, clearly, I was seeking a table to dine at. Our waiter seemed extremely disinterested in speaking with us, and it's odd for The Lark since we always had such great service. I'm not really sure what his problem was but he mumbled and was less than thrilled to be speaking with us. I'm not sure if he was having a bad night or what but it seriously made us consider not returning to The Lark. I don't even know what his name was because he was so disengaged with us. Other than that we had a nice time but it was just odd.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Excellent food with an adventurous menu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Excellent food with an adventurous menu and enjoyed family style eating. The service was very good. Sidney was kind and attentive.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

the staff was friendly, helpful and flex ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 11, 2016

the staff was friendly, helpful and flexible as we changed our reservation time twice. The cocktails were seasonal and quite agreeable. Snacks, salads, entrees and desserts were delectable. Special note for the Rosemary cornbread - we had three orders it was so good!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Comfort Food, Organic, , Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Matt is the best server I've ever had a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Matt is the best server I've ever had and I've lived in NYC and Boston. Great food and ambiance as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

delicious food and a charming quaint ven ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

delicious food and a charming quaint venue. look forward to going back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Spicy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.