Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About The Lark - Santa Barbara

The Lark pays homage to the history of California train travel and tributes the treasured and long gone Santa Barbara Fish Market, built in the 1920’s as a commercial fish processing plant, shipping their seafood products throughout the state by rail. With an imaginative yet approachable menu created by the gifted Jason Paluska, The Lark celebrates everything found around Santa Barbara County – wineries, farms, ocean and natural beauty. The stunning design strives to connect to the past and the future, using discovered objects from the past and blending them with modern, urban and industrial materials to spectacular effect.

131 Anacapa St. Suite A
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
5:00 p.m. - Closing Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Late Night Bar Menu available
CLOSED MONDAY

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 284-0370

Website:
http://www.thelarksb.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available or use nearby street parking. Substantial parking is available at the Santa Barbara train station, just a block away.

Public Transit:
Enjoy a train ride to Santa Barbara from southern or northern California and meet us at The Lark. No driving required.

Executive Chef:
Jason Paluska

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact our Private Event Manager at 805-705-8895 or email Aran Klingensmith at aran@acmehospitality.com

The Lark - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (85)
Creative Cuisine (80)
Local Ingredients (72)
See All
Special Occasion (70)
Good for a Date (67)
Great for Outdoor Dining (67)
Fun (55)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Good for Birthdays (49)
Hot Spot (49)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Handcrafted Cocktails (39)
Good for Groups (37)
Worth the Drive (36)
Authentic (35)
Romantic (34)
Casual (33)
Seasonal (30)
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
Healthy (27)
People Watching (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Cozy (22)
Tapas (21)
Tasting Menu (19)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Organic (16)
Business Meals (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Great Beer (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Spicy (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
1737 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 13 hours ago

Brussels sprouts a must get. We couldn’t eat them fast enough. Pimiento toast spicy but so good and I can’t do spice. Delish. Beef carpaccio was good but not our fave. Duck mousse was great. Apple fritters so yummy! Waitress was great! Great ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

Very accommodating and great food. Highly recommend

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

The Lark is always a treat. Imaginative dishes, well prepared and presented, make dining here memorable. Never disappointed.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Wasn’t as great as I expected. Food was just okay. Service was lackluster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

I just loved everything. Great food. Great wine. Fantastic low key service.
Will definitely go back for more!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Fantastic all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Delicious and unique food and beverages. Lovely setting, especially outside. However, our experience was ruined by our server. He was morose and not helpful. Our last entrée arrived about 25 minutes after all the others and we had to inquire if it was forgotten. We even had to refill our own wine glasses as the server never once offered to do that. We were shocked. It's a pretty high end restaurant. I am hoping he just did not feel well. I noticed the servers at the other tables were very attentive and very pleasant. It was also a 60th birthday for 3 of our guests and the hostess put a card on the table indicating this. The server never acknowledged the birthdays or offered a dessert/candle - we did not expect a free one, just some little festive touch would have been nice and was expected.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 11, 2017

We're still talking about how great the food was!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Unbelievably interesting and savory food fantastic wait service clever explanations food can be a little on the spicy side

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Service was AWFUL! Food mediocre. Very disappointing

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 8, 2017

The lack of service and superiority complex of our waiter ( Bill) left us perplexed as to the interest of dining at Lark. Too many great places for this to be highly rated. However..... very nice ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Disappointed with the food. Trying to combine too many flavors in one dish. The chicken was dry. Not very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

A bustling popular restaurant that makes you feel at home and feeds you spectacular modern American cuisine food.

Tags: Great Beer, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Made a reservation and was seated immediately. Ambiance is great and inviting. Cocktails were delicious and appropriately priced.
Ordered the spicy duck wings and brussel sprouts which were phenomenal. The sprouts are a MUST for everyone, even if you don't normally care for brussel sprouts. Also ordered the broccoli and blood orange salad and the tomato salad, both were light and tasty. Ended the meal with the lamb confit which was good but I wouldn't order it again. The dessert menu wasn't thrilling so we passed on it.
My one complaint is the speed of the food delivery. It was rapid fire items until I asked the waitress to hold the next two plates (we had three plates on the table and hadn't even touched one of them yet). And a few minutes later a food server came over with the next plate which I told her we weren't ready for and the waitress was supposed to stop the plates. The other tables around me were also full of plates which had yet to be touched. So be clear with the waitress if you want a slower meal and/or don't order everything at once (though I was told I should and that the kitchen would "stagger the dishes appropriately").

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

It was a different setting than I expected. This restaurant's menus are more like Tapas. We still enjoyed their meals. The food presentations were very good. Their portions of each menu were a lot smaller than other tapas restaurants looking at how much costing for each menu.
This restaurant would be fun place for just getting together with friends for small appetizers and drinks.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Stumbled upon The Lark by accident but will make the trip from LA specifically to dine there again. Brussels sprouts and lamb confit outstanding! Crab dish needs some refinement - but ambiance, wine list, service all bang on.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Special Occasion, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2017

We loved our meal. The tomato salad was unexpectedly wonderful and we loved the scallop platter too. The hamachi crudo was overpowered by a habanero so we wouldn't recommend that dish. But the waiter was excellent and the vibe was fun and friendly.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Excellent place: inside pretty loud so try for an outside seat.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Found the cost high. Ate at another high end close by restaurant same food level, but better value. $15 for 1 glass of wine - high. Other restaurant got our business 3 times during a 5 day stay.

Service was amazing - great attentive staff.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Not for those with a gentle palate! The food here is very creative, interesting and very good. BUT - IT'S SPICY! Almost everything on the menu has chiles or peppers in it. Inventive combinations and excellent preparation, but 4 out of the 5 dishes that we got were spicy.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Food was unique and delicious. Generous portions. Very nice ambiance. Somewhat pricy, but would definitely go again. Excellent service.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 3, 2017

The food is really flavorful and well-prepared. The portions in most appetizers/snacks and entrees will easily feed two and the menu is designed to share. We split the Cast Iron Chicken (crisp, delicious skin) and the steak and took home enough left overs for dinner the next night! Both were delicious. The standout, though, was the Brussels sprouts. Fabulous.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2017

New parents weekend away

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Delicious food and creative combinations. We tried: California spin on pimento cheese - pimento toast app very good. Wedge salad made with baby hearts of romaine, chunky bacon pieces, pecans, really delicious blue cheese crumbles and excellent vinegrette to go with ( recommmed this!). Lakes version of ribs with sweet tea bbq. Yummy! Great place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Our dinner here was very sub par. The food was just ok. The heirloom tomatoes and the cornbread were very good but the hamachi crudo was not great and neither was the carbonara which the server raves about. We asked the server to take a photo as we were celebrating a birthday and she told us to hold on and came back to do it only 30 minutes later when we had our food. She was not very attentive to us and honestly didn’t do much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 30, 2017

The evening began beautifully with a warm welcome and birthday well wishes. Drinks were very good. It is a family style dining experience so good portions can be split two ways easily. Salad arrived and was very good until the moment I saw a strand of hair just beneath my wife’s fork as she was about to take her next bite. Our server apologized profusely but the damage was already. The main course arrived and with exception to the portion of scallops was very good

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Huge portions, nice menu, tasty food.
Some of the dishes have more flavors going on than needed. The diver scallops themselves were delish, but the accoutrements and their ingredients were a bit overpowering and complex for the delicacy of a scallop.
Definitely plan on sharing an entree like the ribs.
I liked the wedge salad a lot, but my husband didn't like how it was deconstructed.
Overall, very good though.
Noise level is high.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Fantastic! Best service in town. Informative about the food, but not overly intrusive throughout dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 29, 2017

We had two couples and ordered seven items - cornbread, brussel sprouts, little gem salad, salmon, crab au gratin, scallops, and pasta carbonara. The first five dishes were great and the last two were good. The scallops were a bit overwhelmed by the chili sauce topping, and the carbonara was a little thin (not quite rich enough). That’s still a very good batting average and the service was exceptional, so maybe an A minus instead of an A. We will certainly return to this restaurant.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2017

My friends and I were celebrating a birthday, and the Lark did not disappoint. Pretty much every dish was on point, but the duck confit wings were pretty much our favorite. We could probably just eat three or four orders of those and be happy. Other highlights were the Niman Ranch ribs and the grilled broccoli. For dessert, we ordered the milk and cookies which were the perfect night cap. The Lark gave my friend a white cake for her birthday, which seemed strange until we tasted it. Not usually a fan of white cake, but it was so perfectly made and pleasantly surprised us. Definitely will be coming back, whenever we are back in Santa Barbara.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 28, 2017

This restaurant has become a must for us whenever we end up back in Santa Barbara. Service, ambience, and the quality/creativity of the food are consistently excellent. I especially appreciate the wine list, which features a good selection of local wines by the bottle and a wine by the glass list that is better than that of many restaurants. We'll keep going back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Unique setting and menu. Server was very helpful and proud of his restaurant. He deserved to be

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Great food. Only drawback is that we were promised by our server that our selections would be carefully paced. Instead they arrived one right after another. We had to track her down to ask her to slow the pace down. Felt rushed, like they were trying to turn the table.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Awesome restaurant. Great patio and food. Glad we checked it out.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 27, 2017

The Lark is a unique find with fabulous food and excellent service. The dishes are intended to be shared family-style with the table, which adds to the fun and conversation deciding what to order and who gets the last bite of any dish.

Everything we order was beautifully presented and DELICIOUS. The restaurant has a fun atmosphere, but is quite noisy as a result.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Simply: BEST RESTAURANT IN SANTA BARBARA. Comparable to a top New York bistro, yet more reasonable, friendly, accommodating, pliable and ebullient. No food snobbery, just people excited to share astounding cooking with a determined local, artisanal dedication to ingredients. It is the THE place to bring out of town friends, and a great place to dash down and eat for us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Healthy, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 23, 2017

Restaurant is hip and food is excellent. We had reservations for dinner. It was my first time at restaurant. We had drinks at the bar then they seated my partner and I in the confession box in the far back corner of the restaurant. Pretty awful seating location. One person sits in a wood box and the other person stares into the box. We would have stayed longer if they hadn’t sat us in such a terrible location.

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Good for Groups, People Watching, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Lovely meal and atmosphere as always and the food was excellent. The pacing was a bit off as everything came pretty much at once which is the first time that's happened to us. Pacing is vital when eating family style so would prefer if that didn't happen next time but we had a great time and will be coming back soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Had a great meal at The Lark. Initially a little bit of a rough start trying to get in.... were seated late 25min past our reservation due to how busy the restaurant was. Wonderful Ambiance, we sat out on the covered patio. The food was amazing and price point was good. The staff were not-so-friendly but the service itself was good. It's a sharing menu and portions are large. Overall a good night at The Lark.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Great food, great atmosphere - solid choice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.