About The Lark - Santa Barbara

131 Anacapa St. Suite A
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

The Lark pays homage to the history of California train travel and tributes the treasured and long gone Santa Barbara Fish Market, built in the 1920’s as a commercial fish processing plant, shipping their seafood products throughout the state by rail. With an imaginative yet approachable menu created by the gifted Jason Paluska, The Lark celebrates everything found around Santa Barbara County – wineries, farms, ocean and natural beauty. The stunning design strives to connect to the past and the future, using discovered objects from the past and blending them with modern, urban and industrial materials to spectacular effect.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
5:00 p.m. - Closing Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Late Night Bar Menu available
CLOSED MONDAY

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 284-0370

Website:
http://www.thelarksb.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available or use nearby street parking. Substantial parking is available at the Santa Barbara train station, just a block away.

Public Transit:
Enjoy a train ride to Santa Barbara from southern or northern California and meet us at The Lark. No driving required.

Executive Chef:
Jason Paluska

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact our Special Events Director at 805.284.0370 or email Sarah Zwisler: szwisler@acmehospitality.com

Restaurant Photos

  • The Lark - Santa Barbara
  • The Lark - Santa Barbara
  • The Lark - Santa Barbara
  • The Lark - Santa Barbara
  • The Lark - Santa Barbara
  • The Lark - Santa Barbara
The Lark - Santa Barbara
The Lark - Santa Barbara
The Lark - Santa Barbara
The Lark - Santa Barbara
The Lark - Santa Barbara
The Lark - Santa Barbara

The Lark - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
California Central Coast
Most Booked
California Central Coast
Fit for Foodies
Santa Barbara
1 More
Most Booked
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

fit for foodies (179)
great for outdoor dining (142)
hot spot (120)
See All
special occasion (114)
neighborhood gem (98)
good for groups (75)
romantic (74)
vibrant bar scene (72)
notable wine list (43)
late-night find (17)
great for brunch (12)
great for lunch (11)
kid-friendly (10)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
996 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We received exceptional while dining in ...

Dined 3 days ago

We received exceptional while dining in the Bar area. The Pork Belly was excellent! Great wines too!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Wait staff was somewhat rude and unprofe ...

Dined 4 days ago

Wait staff was somewhat rude and unprofessional - especially the bartender.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Haven't been to Lark for a while. Food ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Haven't been to Lark for a while. Food is very good. Service is good and atmosphere is fun. I do find the introductory speech irritating. Once server has asked if you've been there before they still go into their condescending: "Just to remind you... our food is meant for sharing... blah blah...blah". It feels a little bit like a cult and not a restaurant. Otherwise very good.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Very dynamic and wonderful space. Menu w ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Very dynamic and wonderful space. Menu was full of great options to satisfy any craving or dietary proclivities (vegan, veggie, paleo, carnivore, etc.). Heard rave reviews of Lark from friends and it did not disappoint. Service was mediocre but food made up for it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was excellent until we came t ...

Dined 6 days ago

Everything was excellent until we came to the after-dinner tea which is a featured item on the dessert menu ("rare teas") but handled badly as the pot was overstuffed with leaves and there was no way to pour off and not just keep steeping. It became inedibly bitter. This relatively minor thing marred the evening especially as it was the final thing and we went away grumbling instead of happy.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We were very excited to arrive at the La ...

Dined 7 days ago

We were very excited to arrive at the Lark having seen so many great reviews. It's a well designed space, nice looking and really comfortable. We had a new waitress? She was really informative, it was her first night and the manager stood over her shoulder all night, a little unnecessary I would say. The food timings were good but after we finally selected the wine (we were quite particular) it took a very long time to receive the first glass and then my boyfriends glass stood empty for sometime. The wine was extremely expensive for what it was, I enjoyed it but overpriced. We had the asparagus to start which was delicious, nothing to fault. The Texas red fish was our choice for main, the fish itself was well cooked and really nice but the sauce was overpowering for the whole dish, textures were good. The waitress was too keen to remove our plates before we had finished, too eager to get the next customers through the door. I do not think I would go back which is a shame but I hear Santa Barbara has many other fantastic restaurants.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Restuarant was great, food was wonderful ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Restuarant was great, food was wonderful as always but our server was not friendly and acted impatient

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding. Interesting ta ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

The food was outstanding. Interesting takes and blends of flavors. I love that you share dishes,as then you get to taste more items. If I can still rave about how unique and delicious the wedge salad was days later,you know it was good. My only complaint would be that they brought the dishes out too quickly. We were still savouring one dish,and another came right out. They should be spaced a bit better. I will definitely return whenever I'm in SB!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was superb. We had brussel sprouts ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was superb. We had brussel sprouts with dates, sesame and lime. The sprouts were a little too charred for me but it was a good dish. We had 2 entrees - THe Lark Charcuterie and gnocchi with Dungeness crab. The Charcuterie dish had a pork rillette which was a bit fatty as well as a porchetta - which was a blend of different types of cuts of pork, shredded and made into a paste that was good with the crusty bread. It also had a salad as a good complement to the meat. The crab dish was my favorite - the gnocchi was very tender and so soft , the sauce was creamy and rich and the oranges on top complemented to whole dish very well. For dessert we chose the goat cheese profiterole which was not too sweet but the filling was so creamy and decadent I wanted more. The profiterole itself had a great flavor. I would say it was an excellent meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I love their food! 6th time there. The B ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I love their food! 6th time there. The Brussels sprouts are great, along with the gnocchi and crab dish. We loved the wild rice fish dish as well with their home cured sausage. Fantastic!

food5
ambience5
service5

Sat on the patio. Service was incredible ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Sat on the patio. Service was incredible, food was amazing!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific eclectic menu. Service was top ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Terrific eclectic menu. Service was top notch. Lived up to all the rave reviews. Try the connected wine bar too.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience. Wow.

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Amazing experience. Wow.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious food with unique flavors and v ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Delicious food with unique flavors and very nice presentation. The reservation was spot on. We sat outside on a cool evening, near the fireplace. My only suggestion would be to improve the metal chairs. They were cold to sit on and and a bit uncomfortable, but don't let that deter you from going to The Lark, everything else is exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our son graduated from UCSB, thankfully ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Our son graduated from UCSB, thankfully a month ago I thought about getting dinner reservations. They were booked for Saturday night. So I made reservations for Friday night after reading the reviews. I think we got one of the last reservations it was for 5:30. Well we came hungry. There were 4 In our party. We ordered the deviled eggs, oysters, brussel sprouts to start everything was delicious. We really loved the brussel sprouts. Oh and the charcuterie board was very good too. Then we had the wedge salad, gnocchi's and the lamb. I feel like I am missing something. The gnocchi's were delicious. My husband felt they were a little rich but the rest of us really enjoyed them. We were very satisfied. As for the dessert we didn't try anything. Nothing grabbed us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We live in San Diego and will definitely be back!

Dined on June 10, 2016

Exciting dishes, with fun twists on American classics. Very balanced, and impeccably prepared with fresh and interesting ingredients. The service was top notch, and the patio offered a quaint and romantic setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good food, ecclectic decor, very hip right now

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Although The Lark became very noisy as the evening progressed, the experience was great fun and worth it. The menu offerings contained some interesting combinations of ingredients, and all the ones we tasted were quite good. The bar scene is a great source of entertainment, even if you're simply watching it. The bar was packed the night we went, tons of 20 and 30-somethings, all dressed to impress. Wait staff was good even if at times overwhelmed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always enjoyable

Dined on June 9, 2016

Fun bar scene, excellent food locally sourced very innovated menu. Very attentive and well informed wait staff. Good wine list. Always enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4

Overly complex dishes. Some ingredients ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Overly complex dishes. Some ingredients made no sense.

food5
ambience4
service4

Great food. Very creative. The mix of ...

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

Great food. Very creative. The mix of favors just baffle the mind. Oysters with Meyers lemon granita. Carmelites gulf coast prawns with clams, pancetta, and smoked cherry tomatoes. Slow roasted lamb ribs with Medjool date carmel, salsa verde, crushed pistachio and felled pollen. OK I am sure I miss something, this was amazing. OMG worth more visits.

food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best restaurants I've ever ea ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

One of the best restaurants I've ever eaten at.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was great! They sat us on ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

The restaurant was great! They sat us on-time, had a special hand written note thanking us for celebrating our anniversary with them, gave us a free glass of champaign for a toast (and a bottle of water when they realized I was pregnant ;). Service was fast and pleasant and the food was SPECTACULAR!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great spot

Dined on June 5, 2016

Great spot for a date or special occasion, the food was amazing and the service was even better. Make a reservation for sure

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

A Decent Place - If You've Been Everywhere Else

Dined on June 4, 2016

After hearing much buzz about The Lark from my friends and coworkers (who are like myself locals), my boyfriend and I decided to try The Lark for a casual dinner date. The Funk Zone location was exciting but parking was limited or expensive (a rarity for Santa Barbara). The vibe of the place was electric, bohemian, vibrant, rustic, and modern. The noise level was too high, but for a night at the bar, that might be a good thing as the bar sounded fun and the drinks were good and fairly cheap. That said, service was a big letdown. First, our table wasn't ready when we got there on time for our reservation and we had to wait about 10 minutes. Second, our waitress was decidedly unfriendly and inattentive. She visited the table about 4 times and her slow service made the whole experience take nearly 2 hours for a casual dinner. She never smiled once and was rude after she realized we were only getting like 70$ worth of food instead of the 200$ she tried to sell us. The food was really good. The Brussel sprouts and the pimento cheese in particular were great, but everything felt as though the chef was trying too hard to reinvent the wheel instead of letting good food speak for itself. The prices were a bit higher than the food was worth, but nothing outrageous. All that said, I'd recommend trying The Lark if you've been to every other restaurant in Santa Barbara but for better food and service, restaurants like Finch & Fork, Blush, and Intermezzo are definitely much higher on my list of Santa Barbara's best. If The Lark could get its wait staff in order, it would be a lot better - but even then other restaurants have better (and often better-priced) food and atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Brussels Sprouts were delicious! Food w ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Brussels Sprouts were delicious! Food was great!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous

Dined on June 4, 2016

Food was excellent. Waiter was awesome with his recommendations.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Night

Dined on June 4, 2016

We went here with some friends who have never been to Santa Barbara and it was our first time to the Lark. It did not disappoint everyone in our party is willing to try new things our only problem was that we ordered so much food we all became so full because we didnt want to let any food go to waste, so we had quite the tummy aches for the rest of the evening due to our overeating. But everything was great cant wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent, Creative Food

Dined on June 2, 2016

We had an excellent meal at The Lark. We shared the Brussel Sprouts, vegetable tartine. Gnocchi and squeezed in the Banana Cream & Hibiscus dessert . All of the dishes were very good and the gnocchi and dessert were outstanding/innovative. Service was very good at first, but waned as the meal went on and the restaurant got busier.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

My mistake - eat inside

Dined on June 2, 2016

If you get a chance make your reservation for inside. Love the food.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently shines. The seasonal chang ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Consistently shines. The seasonal changes to the menu are all excellent. Portions are large, service is attentive despite the crowds (this place is packed even at 5 PM). A great place to sample the flavors of the central coast.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The service was amazing and we have had ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The service was amazing and we have had better meals at The Lark before. This time, there was an issue with too much salt on our dishes. That said, this is really an amazing spot! Beautiful location and quite special.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely excellent fresh vibrant food ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Absolutely excellent fresh vibrant food and fun relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Server was very knowledgable about food ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Server was very knowledgable about food preparation and ingredients.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the Brussels sprouts, Paloma drink ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Loved the Brussels sprouts, Paloma drink, short ribs, pork belly AND crab dishes! Sharing a bunch of items with friends is the way to go here :)

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Lark is a must for anyone looking fo ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The Lark is a must for anyone looking for an incredible meal in Santa Barbara. Service is great and all the food is fantastic. I will be back many more times!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very unique experience. Great food ser ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

A very unique experience. Great food served on wooden planks or platters so everyone can share their order with everyone at the table. Or you can enjoy the food yourself. Reservations are highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently excellent and creative food ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Consistently excellent and creative food quality and presentation, good service, great venue and ambiance. Definitely one of the better restaurants in Santa Barbara. I highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been here many times, the food neve ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

I've been here many times, the food never disappoints , the presentation is unique, service is great. Everything was delicious and prepared well, octopus was dry abit

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

There is nothing like The Lark in Santa ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

There is nothing like The Lark in Santa Barbara that puts the whole package together--delicious, innovative food, good service, a beautiful, vibrant environment. Chef Jason Paluska's food is amazing--layers of flavor and all the ingredients so fresh. We shared the asparagus (our friend, a caterer, said it was the best she'd ever had), the wedge salad (so good!), the charcuterie board that was the perfect blend of pork, spice, pickled vegetables and charred bread, the shrimp and clams with potato puree, then sadly had no room for their desserts. The only complaint in the otherwise flawless experience was the busboy didn't refill our water until we asked the waitress. But, The Lark is one of, if not THE, best restaurants in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

Dined on May 19, 2016

The brussel sprouts were amazing! All the dishes we had were exeptional

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.