Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About The Lark - Santa Barbara

The Lark pays homage to the history of California train travel and tributes the treasured and long gone Santa Barbara Fish Market, built in the 1920’s as a commercial fish processing plant, shipping their seafood products throughout the state by rail. With an imaginative yet approachable menu created by the gifted Jason Paluska, The Lark celebrates everything found around Santa Barbara County – wineries, farms, ocean and natural beauty. The stunning design strives to connect to the past and the future, using discovered objects from the past and blending them with modern, urban and industrial materials to spectacular effect.

131 Anacapa St. Suite A
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
5:00 p.m. - Closing Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Late Night Bar Menu available
CLOSED MONDAY

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 284-0370

Website:
http://www.thelarksb.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available or use nearby street parking. Substantial parking is available at the Santa Barbara train station, just a block away.

Public Transit:
Enjoy a train ride to Santa Barbara from southern or northern California and meet us at The Lark. No driving required.

Executive Chef:
Jason Paluska

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact our Special Events Director at 805.284.0370 or email Sarah Zwisler: szwisler@acmehospitality.com

The Lark - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (120)
Creative Cuisine (113)
Great for Outdoor Dining (107)
See All
Good for a Date (91)
Local Ingredients (87)
Special Occasion (84)
Fun (76)
Neighborhood Gem (75)
Hot Spot (74)
Handcrafted Cocktails (68)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
Vibrant Bar Scene (56)
Good for Birthdays (55)
Casual (52)
Good for Groups (50)
Worth the Drive (47)
Romantic (45)
Notable Wine List (41)
Seasonal (41)
People Watching (37)
Bar Seating (36)
Organic (34)
Authentic (30)
Cozy (23)
Good Vegetarian Options (22)
Tapas (20)
Tasting Menu (18)
Modern Decor (18)
Business Meals (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Family Style (12)
Great Beer (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Fireplace (9)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Disabled Access (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Spicy (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Wood Oven (1)
Historic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1565 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Good place to hang out and have a nice meal (Fass Payok)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Best meal in SB in over 20 years living here! Get there and get a table outside soon.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Love the Lark every time I go, which is almost weekly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was not tasty
Innovative cooking is usually great
Here they took great local ingredients amd smothered in all sorts of creamy or sweet sauces that added nothing ahd detected a lot.

Service Not particularly nice or welcoming Not knowledgeable about wines

Lots of better places vote with your feet and stay away

Decoration and ambiance is nice

Lets just hope this goes bankrupt abd new owner puts in good friendly staff and deploys ingredients better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

From start to finish our experience at the Lark was perfect. Our server was outstanding and very knowledgeable about the menu, the chef, and the restaurants history. All of us, including our 12 and 15 year old boys, enjoyed every bite. The plates are fun to share and come out when ready. Make sure to save room for dessert bc they are not to be missed!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was exceptional and entrees we had, diver scallops and quail were uniquely prepared and delicious. The restaurant suggests sharing and we agree. We would return and also recommend this restaurant for anyone visiting Santa Barbara.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The Lark is unquestionably the finest restaurant in Santa Barbara, the place to take out-of-town visitors and the one restaurant that has a sophistication, depth and style that would match almost anything in a big city such as Los Angeles or Houston.

On this particular visit, the service wasn't exceptional and our table was in the midst of lots of commotion. But ever since this restaurant opened, friends have been driving for hours to partake of its lovely outdoor tables, its free popcorn appetizers, its often miraculous desserts and its gift for making brussels sprouts, roast potatoes, salmon and everything else you think you know singular and new.

Nowhere in Santa Barbara is likely to be cooler, tastier or more worth visiting.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The Lark is my all-time-favorite restaurant. I recently took two out-of-town relatives, and they both raved that it was "the best meal of their lives."

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing service, excellent food, can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: Tapas, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Cozy, Quick Bite, Casual, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was great, but the service was so aggressive we felt completely rushed out of there. We had three courses in under 25 minutes with no time to breathe. They brought out the second course without even having brought our drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Food quality was solid. It was creative and tasty. The amount of food you received for the price was not great. We paid $30 for a small bowl of pasta which didn't feel like a value. Ambiance was typical farm to fork, metal chairs and refurbished wood. Service was not good. Waiter spoke really fast, mumbled and seemed generally uninterested in being our waiter. One drink was ordered and took 20 minutes to be delivered. We were done with our meal by then. Unfortunate as this was a special girl reunion dinner and we'd heard great things about Lark.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Ingredients were very fresh & staff was friendly & informative but each plate needed some editing. Could just have been the dishes we ordered though.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 21, 2017

The Lark has a cool vibe and is located in the "funk zone" of Santa Barbara which means there are art galleries and wine bars nearby as well as the wharf. The restaurant is lovely. The hostesses were charming and attentive. The service was excellent. Our server MacKenzie throughly explained the sharing farm to table menu to us and made suggestions for some fun signature drinks. It was my birthday. While the food was outstanding I was surprised that a farm to table restaurant in California has no vegetarian main dishes. They do have 3 snack dishes and a couple of appetizer sized dishes without meat but no mains. And if you are vegan forget this place there is nothing on the menu. When I made the reservation I called the restaurant and asked if they could make their parpelldella pasta without pork belly since my son is vegetarian and they said no problem. My husband only eats fish as do I and there are many fish dishes in all sizes. So we ate well. Our server also said they could do the main pasta dish and make it without the pork belly. When we got the dish it was smallish and made without the pork belly but we were charged $30 as if we had the pork belly on the pasta. $30? Really? That's fairly obnoxious for a small plate of pasta. But it's important to re-state we still had a great time, phenomenal food and fantastic service. So we gave a good tip and moved onto the night happy we experience the Lark.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 21, 2017

when looking at the menu, nothing stood out but as the food arrived, each item was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 21, 2017

The service here from the valet and our server was excellent. Very pleased that they are dog friendly. The brussels sprouts and popcorn are amazingly good. We will definitely be dining here again next time we are in Santa Barbara.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 20, 2017

The food, service and ambiance were fantastic. Loved each and every dish we had and the fact that it was served family style. The Wedge Salad was so good, I could have stopped there.
However, I'm happy we had the good sense to have the scallops and short ribs. Yum!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Service was inexcusably poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Amazing, fresh and inventive cuisine in a casual atmosphere. Cocktails were fun and well balanced.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Incredible food and great level of service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 18, 2017

After several visits the food has remained interesting and good, if a little pricy. The bar is good although service can be slow. It is generally crowded and noisy inside but is better outside, although the view is of the car park. A good addition to the funk zone.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Unbelievable food, amazing wine & friendly staff! We had the Syrah with the ribs and it was

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The Lark is such a special place; cute and cozy with great energy! Highly recommended for those visiting SB.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The Lark has a unique approach with a creative menu. Ordering several plates of different items, served & shared in interval timing -- allowing you to focus on each item that often has additional delights on the side. The server was helpful to gauge the proper quantity of items ordered. We indulged in some unique cocktails to start. The brussel sprouts are fabulous. The scallops are another standout.
We wished we would've had 5 more minutes on each plate; the next one came a wee bit too soon. The tables are small and then all of a sudden there was no room. The bar area was really loud, so we're glad we requested "outside." The propane heaters are scattered about; we were grateful they responded to our request to turn them down a bit, as it got very warm. The service was very good with everyone assisting each other. The Lark is lots of fun and we really enjoyed how well they are doing great food very differently.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Very good service & rib eye was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Trendy spot!
Really service minded staff. Our waitress was so kind and explained the menu, let us taste several wines before picking, etc.

Good food! Good for sharing! The goat cheese plate was amazing!!

Really nice location! Authentic and modern!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Love the Lark. Delicious and beautiful, both food-wise and ambiance-wise.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I was slightly disappointed as I had been to the Lark two years ago and had an excellent time. We asked for an outside table when we made the reservation and again at the host desk and were brought to a very cramped inside table while I could see several open outside tables. I asked if we could sit outside and after an slight bit of attitude were sat outside. We then sat for over 15 minutes while I tried to get a servers attention. When I finally did she seemed shocked that I would ask for service. We ended up with a great server who waited on me two years prior. The food was hit and miss but the drinks were awesome. It has gotten very loud, extremely cramped and the staff seems to have developed a "I work at a trendy place" tone. I love that the owner does a lot for the community and women owned businesses but probably won't be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We had high expectations for the Lark but the food was disappointing . We tried the duck wings but the taste was off. The Texas Range squab under delivered. By pass the Lark and instead try Lucky Penny for pizza. It's amazing pizza.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Really great night at the lark, it was our anniversary and they really looked after us with great table, glass of bubbly and card, very nice touches, food was excellent and really great atmosphere about the place, would highly recommend

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The service and food were excellent! Cool vibe and great patio too!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 7, 2017

When we are in SB we don't miss The Lark. We relished the parpadella pasta, the Little Gem wedge salad and some wonderful wine.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

food was great but service was the most rushed we have ever experienced.....the server was dumping our next course on the table before we even finished the prior one......we were literally having plates piled on top of each other on our small table. it felt like they were trying to rush us through our meal to flip the table.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The Lark has fantastic food period!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Fabulous! Excellent menu, perfectly executed. Service was perfect. Best evening and meal of our trip. Best meal we've had in ages.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Once again, food was incredible!

However, server's recommendation for extra dishes left us stuffed.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fun, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 4, 2017

The best meal we had in Santa Barbara. Excellent dishes that are meant to be shared, which is good because you can sample even more of the menu. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We have eaten many fine fun meals at Lark. Never disappointed.
Ribs and scallops out standing platters

Tags: Organic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Healthy, Happy Hour, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Amazing food! I had the brussel sprouts as an app, quail and sea bass for entrees, and the butter cake. ALL were amazing!!! The ambience was great too

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Amazing hospitality. And Brussels sprouts :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Worst service ever. They sat us 40 minutes after our reservation time. Even after I told them I had a cilantro allergy, they didn't tell us that the entree I ordered had it in it. Would never go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.