Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 76 times today

The Lark - Santa Barbara

4.6
1960 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
The Lark pays homage to the history of California train travel and tributes the treasured and long gone Santa Barbara Fish Market, built in the 1920’s as a commercial fish processing plant, shipping their seafood products throughout the state by rail. With an imaginative yet approachable menu created by the gifted Jason Paluska, The Lark celebrates everything found around Santa Barbara County – wineries, farms, ocean and natural beauty. The stunning design strives to connect to the past and the future, using discovered objects from the past and blending them with modern, urban and industrial materials to spectacular effect.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner:
5:00 p.m. - Closing Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Late Night Bar Menu available
CLOSED MONDAY
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(805) 284-0370
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jason Paluska
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary valet parking available or use nearby street parking. Substantial parking is available at the Santa Barbara train station, just a block away.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Enjoy a train ride to Santa Barbara from southern or northern California and meet us at The Lark. No driving required.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Contact our Private Event Manager at 805-705-8895 or email Aran Klingensmith at aran@acmehospitality.com
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1960 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.6
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Impeccable service by our server Bill and outstanding food. Everything we chose was delicious beginning w the yummy popcorn to the cheese board to the Brussel sprouts to the beet salad and then to our entrees. We chose the scallops and the pork belly. Both cooked perfectly and tasted divine. We ordered three desserts because we couldn’t decide. The lemon fritters w blueberry ice cream rocked it! All choices were wonderful and we will go back for more! Couldn’t have asked for a more thorough server. His explanation of all the menu items was great and he was totally excited about telling us! Refreshing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Fantastic all round.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

The brussel sprouts are always a must when visiting The Lark. This time we tried their pasta dish as well and it was delicious. It is best to order family style and trust your waiter about how many dishes you should get for the table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

They serve family style, and portions fit that approach. Three or four items with a drink will be plenty. Unique offerings, especially in cocktails. Food is excellent and service is friendly; dress is pretty casual. Small parking lot in crowded "funk zone," so you will use the valet service.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Absolute disaster right from the start...Jazz our waitress took a long time to approach our table after we sat down. "Ill be with you in just a moment" would have been a wonderful gesture. Didn't happen. We ordered 2 cocktails - 2 appetizers and 2 entrees plus a bottle of sparkling water. I will list for you everything that went wrong:
1) We were brought tap water instead of sparkling water.
2) Our appetizers arrived before our cocktails offering us NO time to enjoy a drink before dinner.
3) It took 3 trips by Jazz to get my cocktail correct.
4) Before we were given the opportunity to finish our appetizes ..our entrees arrived.
5) We were never offered another cocktail..or another bottle of water.
6) When our appetizer plates were removed Jazz took our fork and knife...we now had our entrees with no utensils to eat our food. As our food got cold my husband had to get up and find a table to retrieve utensils.
7) I asked for lemon for my fish which did not arrive till our meal was over.
8) My trout just didn't taste that good! That was what the lemon was for!

The only thing we enjoyed were the brussel sprouts and the ice cubes were cold enough to cool our water!

Stop trying to be hip ... Stop trying to be cool and trendy and focus on teaching your staff the basics of customer service.

My nephew who lives here said The Lark is over priced ...Over rated and as a local would NEVER eat here. We should have listened to him.

Do not eat here ...You'll be very disappointed...

As a consolation our cocktails were on the house.

It didn't help!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Outstanding food in a cool vibe atmosphere, with excellent service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Excellent , service friendly but not too formal, food vibrant and interesting with fantastic flavour combinations

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Food & service were excellent. Next time, we won’t snack so close to dinner so we can fully enjoy the food & cocktails.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Favorite restaurant in Santa Barbara, by far! Brussels sprouts are a MUST.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

I was our proposal dinner!!!! Yay!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2018

There for Mother’s Day. Waitress was awesome (Taylor)... rest of the workers eh... we got the feeling they couldn’t wait for us to leave... we were there last year same time. Maybe not next year....food was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Incredibly creative delicious food. Great space and friendly professional service

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 14, 2018

I’m sorry to see the quality slipping here. Service was slow, food was meh. This used to be a favorite spot of ours. Did the management change?

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

It was a nice place but I thought the food was a little over rated and heavy handed. The oysters on the half-shell should not have been called “oysters” given that they were both tiny and had a lot of other ingredients on them. They should have been called an appetizer with oysters instead. We also thought the agnolotti pasta was not agnolotti. Agnolotti are small pillows of pasta stuffed with meat or cheese. These were giant mattresses of pasta overflowing with liquid ricotta that spurted out when you cut it. The vegetable dish was delicious though and the chicken was perfectly cooked. Overall, the food is good but I think they can work on refining it a little bit.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Food was creative and good. We Felt a bit rushed, even though it was later and not a wait. We should have sat inside...Food came out too quick, so got cold.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Nice setting. Service was nice but slow. Food was very disappointing. Felt like they leaned on their reputation and didn’t put much thought into their dishes. Everything was drastically over seasoned. The best dish was the popcorn they give at the beginning and that is not an exaggeration. Wouldn’t go again, would tell people not to waste their time/money.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Really liked 5 out of 6 dishes. The lamb ribs had too many flavors going on for my taste, too much sauce and too many toppings.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

A restaurant that encourages experimentation in your food choices and then rewards that bravery. We had a vegetarian with us so we chose vegetables and fish choices all of which were excellent. The cauliflower and couscous with Mideastern spices may have been the best vegetarian dish I have ever eaten. The Agnolotti pasta was both unusual and extraordinary. The scallops were more traditional but still excellent. The only dish to disappoint was the steelhead trout. Lemon fritters were the perfect finish.

Our server could expound on every spice in every dish. She was attentive and managed our eight or so shared dishes well. When a glitch occurred with one of the dishes, she took responsibility and quickly corrected the problem.

I also have to commend the owner on repurposing so many fixtures and woods to create a modern restaurant out of pieces with a history.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Had to send back food because it was so over spiced (the waiter mentioned that the item “gets sent back all the time”... why keep it on the menu? Food was overall poor quality and way overpriced. Good cocktails, but that’s about the only pleasant thing about the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Hanger Steak was tough, uncuttable with a knife. Brussels spouts superb.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We found both the food and the service to be outstanding and highly recommend this restaurant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Great atmosphere with great food. The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. Will tell friends and family about the experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Great tasting food but very very slow, off hand service, with the food being cold when it finally arrived.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Amazingly cool vibe and decor, delicious food, love the outdoor patio.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Our first visit. Tapas /sharing style menu. We had a well informed waiter. I recommend four orders for a part of four to share. Very generous portions and all delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Amazing, as always. The Lark does a perfect job with its food and service and makes it look effortless.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Super service - All with a smile.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

This was our second time dining at The Lark . Just like the first time, we very much enjoyed our dinner. Some of the dishes were better than others... All were perfectly executed with quality ingredients. The crispy Brussel sprouts were probably our favorite. Highly recommend those!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

We had four savory dishes between the two of us, all excellent with the sea scallops and saffron risotto at the top of the list! Will definitely be back next time in town.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

The food was exceptional as always. We come here twice a year when we visit Santa Barbara. The cast iron chicken was incredible. Our only complaint was this time around was the service. The hostess was rude, expressionless and seemed like she couldn't be bothered and our server was decent but not as friendly as servers in the past.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 3, 2018

We must have been profiled as tourists as we were raced through the meal so fast that we could not really appreciate any dish. Coupled with an arrogant waiter, made this a hugely disappointing evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Bill gave us great service and the food was as good as ever. The chicken was the best version ever but could do with some more vegetables to mop up the juices. A lovely evening there as always

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Was below my expectation , was mentioned by a friend for my birthday.... not appealed @all, food was too Spicy for me & my husband, no plan of going back, ambiance was not appealing @ all

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Well overpriced $17 class of wine in wine heaven Santa Barbara this is just wrong. Waiter told us at time of ordering 45 min for a chicken! Wow appetizers way overpriced. It’s a shame was my wife birthday way had travelled all the way from Florida. Disappointed to say the least

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

First time dining here with my husband and teenage daughter. The entire area it's located in is a gentrified area of SB and is vibrant and lively (I believe it's called the "Funk Zone"). Loved the entire experience! The food was insanely exceptional. Highly recommend the pimento toast (beware it's large, so be ready to share with 4 or 5) and the duck confit wings were spicy and nothing like I've ever had. Drinks were great as well and they even offer "mocktails" which my 16 yr old enjoyed. Do not miss out on this gem. Hope it's there for a long time to come!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

The Lark on a Friday night has a really fun Funk Zone vibe (valet parking-super nice factor). Food was outrageously interesting. Carmelized broccolini with sunchoke chips and some sort of soft lovely burrito was to die for. Chicken liver mousse—you must have this, even if you don’t like chicken liver. The lavender honey and green strawberries (poached in champagne and vinegar) round it out to Wow. Hanger steak had an outside crust and almost smoky flavor...the entire menu is long on flavor. Wines by the glass had a small disappointing selection, the ones we chose were ok. Service was friendly and super knowledgeable about the menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Great restaurant! Food was excellent as well as the service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Wasn’t impressed with the food. The rack of lamb was full of fat and the trout had no taste. The service and look of the restaurant was great for a date night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Delicious food prepared and presented in creative ways. Good value. The atmosphere and service are top notch. For me, this is a must visit whenever I'm in the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

We had a wonderful dinner at The Lark this week. Free valet parking was a time saver. We dined al fresco on the patio. Our server Cody was very knowledgeable and attentive. We started with roasted Brussels - nicely seasoned and cooked perfectly. The wedge salad was delicious as well. We shared the skirt steak - nice portion for two. Great spot that we’ll visit again.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
49

Tweets by The Lark - Santa Barbara