About The Lark - Santa Barbara

131 Anacapa St. Suite A
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

The Lark pays homage to the history of California train travel and tributes the treasured and long gone Santa Barbara Fish Market, built in the 1920’s as a commercial fish processing plant, shipping their seafood products throughout the state by rail. With an imaginative yet approachable menu created by the gifted Jason Paluska, The Lark celebrates everything found around Santa Barbara County – wineries, farms, ocean and natural beauty. The stunning design strives to connect to the past and the future, using discovered objects from the past and blending them with modern, urban and industrial materials to spectacular effect.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
5:00 p.m. - Closing Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Late Night Bar Menu available
CLOSED MONDAY

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 284-0370

Website:
http://www.thelarksb.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available or use nearby street parking. Substantial parking is available at the Santa Barbara train station, just a block away.

Public Transit:
Enjoy a train ride to Santa Barbara from southern or northern California and meet us at The Lark. No driving required.

Executive Chef:
Jason Paluska

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact our Special Events Director at 805.284.0370 or email Sarah Zwisler: szwisler@acmehospitality.com

Restaurant Photos

  • The Lark - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
  • The Lark - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
  • The Lark - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
  • The Lark - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
  • The Lark - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
  • The Lark - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
The Lark - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
The Lark - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
The Lark - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
The Lark - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
The Lark - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA
The Lark - Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

A very special a la carte menu by Chef Jason Paluska with midnight toast.

The Lark - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
California Central Coast
Most Booked
California Central Coast
Most Booked
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

Fit for Foodies (90)
Great for Outdoor Dining (74)
Special Occasion (62)
See All
Creative Cuisine (57)
Hot Spot (56)
Good for a Date (53)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Local Ingredients (52)
Good for Groups (40)
Handcrafted Cocktails (40)
Romantic (38)
Vibrant Bar Scene (37)
Notable Wine List (34)
Worth the Drive (34)
Fun (33)
Family Style (30)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
People Watching (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Tasting Menu (22)
Bar Seating (22)
Casual (22)
Authentic (18)
Tapas (18)
Modern Decor (17)
Seasonal (17)
Fireplace (16)
Open Kitchen (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Healthy (12)
Organic (10)
Cozy (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Business Meals (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great Beer (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Spicy (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Vegan (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Waterfront (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
1231 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

delicious food and a charming quaint ven ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

delicious food and a charming quaint venue. look forward to going back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Spicy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My fav restaurant in SB since they opene ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

My fav restaurant in SB since they opened. The plates are a really good size. Only negative on this visit was the busser never brought our take away box. We couldn't finish our last plate and I was looking forward to having it for lunch the next day, but Had to leave to meet friends and couldn't wait any longer.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I loved the atmosphere, food, service ev ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

I loved the atmosphere, food, service everything about this placr

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional experience for our 5 year we ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Exceptional experience for our 5 year wedding anniversary. Worth the drive up from LA. Generous portions of fun and exuberant food. Unexpected mix of flavors and ingredients. We loved it!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the blue fin tuna! That was the hi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Loved the blue fin tuna! That was the highlight of our meal :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The tapas like restaurant was very tasty ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The tapas like restaurant was very tasty, innovative, unique, and fun. The table outside with adjacent heaters made the ambiance very cozy and warm. We really enjoyed the unique cuisine.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Too many ingredients that didn't go toge ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Too many ingredients that didn't go together whatsoever. Seems like they added ingredients "on a lark". Hence their name I guess. Way too pretentious for the location and the environment. Foodies may like it but I needed several anti-acids afterwards. Server was the only redeeming thing about the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Brussel sprouts are exceptional! Service ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Brussel sprouts are exceptional! Service friendly and attentive, menu provides a wide variety of tastes, grilled octopus, pear salad, Hamachi and short ribs all fantastic! Love sharing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One main dish slow coming out. Hard to g ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 24, 2016

One main dish slow coming out. Hard to get someone's attention for more wine. Outside is quieter than inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, excellent service. Our s ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service. Our server was very helpful in guiding us through the menu and how much to order. One person in our party has a food allergy and she knew exactly what he could and could not eat and double checked with the chef on a couple items. All dishes were prepared perfect and tasted wonderful. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Fun, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Chef did an outstanding job! The foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The Chef did an outstanding job! The food was fresh and bursting with flavors of incredible food combinations. I love the share platters and the fact The Lark uses fresh local products. The service was great and they made sure we had an incredible experience. I highly recommend them for your dining experience!

Tags: Private Room, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Very nice. It was a rainy night and we w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Very nice. It was a rainy night and we were well cared for

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing seasonal menu - if fall in Calif ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Amazing seasonal menu - if fall in California were a meal, that food would be it. I split the cheese charcuterie, beef tartare, Seared blue fin, peanut butter/ganache and sweet potato beignet with a friend. While there was a strong fall theme in the food, the tastes were innovative and not at all obvious or "kitschy." My favorite was the sweet potato beignet with butternut squash ice cream dessert - it reminded me of fall in the Midwest, where fall for me was sweet potato pie, cider mills and donuts, and warm food to get through cool weather. My only critique is portions were huge but on the other hand, a great value for the food quality.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great unique food options. Shared plates ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great unique food options. Shared plates with good portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very well prepared food and staff with e ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Very well prepared food and staff with excellent knowledge of the menu

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Seemed like everyone in Santa Barbara wa ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Seemed like everyone in Santa Barbara was at The Lark the night we dined here- very busy and vibrant!! This gives it a great atmosphere. Fortunately we were seated in a booth which blocked out a lot of the noise. The food was interesting and delicious with a unique spin. Highlights included the heirloom tomato panzella and the seared ahi tuna, although all dishes were fantastic. The cocktails and wine were also great and staff were warm and friendly. We will definitely return during our next trip to Santa Barbara and highly recommend to others!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is great...corkage fee way to high. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food is great...corkage fee way to high. probably only go couple time a year.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

very disappointed----food presentation f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2016

very disappointed----food presentation for my dish was a mish mash, food was just OK--server brought the dishes to close together time wise---would not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Had the 72 hr ribs and they were not rib ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Had the 72 hr ribs and they were not ribs but strips of over charred beef w no flavor... 12 oz platter that may have had 7-8 oz beef..at $42.00!!!!. they recommend med rare but how are they cooked for 72 hours and be medium rare? Wait staff had attitude and very loud... dont think they are as cool as they think❗️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Everything was delicious. We really enjo ...

 
 (México)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Everything was delicious. We really enjoyed our dinner. Very recomendable!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service top notch. Nothing abou ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food and service top notch. Nothing about The Lark was negative. Outstanding meal that we'll be talking about for a long time. Our waiter Matt knew everything about the food and his recommendations on both the food and drink were spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great, intersting cocktails. Octopus was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great, intersting cocktails. Octopus was an amazing combination of flavors. Pate and charcuterie board was definitely a share...delicious but better for 2 or 3. We sat outdoors by the fire and it was delightful, although last time we had apps at the bar and loved that experience as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasing and interesting food-especially ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Pleasing and interesting food-especially the fried brussel sprouts; wonderfully relaxed atmosphere in a visually pleasing space. Would recommend for any occasion. Good value, excellent cocktails and wine list.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great ambiance and amazing food in this ...

 
·Dined on November 7, 2016

Great ambiance and amazing food in this cool area of Funkzone, in Santa Barbara. Wouldn't miss it if I am there again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Despite the organized chaos at the recep ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Despite the organized chaos at the reception desk, the quality of the food is very good and the service, on this visit, was exceptional. Creative, distinct and flavorful, the menu items are often one of a kind and almost always hit their mark. How to make a bone marrow dish stand out? Add someJalapeño jelly that hits the right balance of sweet and heat and a crumbly rosemary cornbread. Brussel Sprouts that have become ubiqitous carve a unique flavor profile with deft additions of medjool dates, garum, sesame, lime. Completely satisfying and delicious. Well worth a visit for diners looking for a fun atmosphere, with exceptional staff and unique flavor combinations. One singular word of advice; this is an opportunity to share and try to make the dishes arrive as they "Fired" in the kitchen giving everyone a chance to share is it comes to the table. In addition the wine list is fairly priced and has some very nice selections.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was fantastic as was the service. T ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was fantastic as was the service. The Brussel Sprouts are perfect as are the Short Ribs.

Thanks so much !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We live in Los Angeles, but we include L ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We live in Los Angeles, but we include Lark as a "go back to place" everytime we are in Santa Barbara. This year the food was just as fabulous as it was last year. The ambiance and food is outstanding! We cannot wait to come back in the near future.

Tags: Family Style, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, People Watching, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Probably the best restaurant in Santa Ba ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Probably the best restaurant in Santa Barbara. Everything on the menu is amazing and designed to share. Brussels sprouts and the beef tartare were especially phenomenal.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Panzanella salad was amazing! Short ribs ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Panzanella salad was amazing! Short ribs delicious but the peanut butter dessert tasted like a peanut butter and jelly sandwich disappointed but still will definitely return!

Tags: Family Style, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Made reservations at The Lark about a mo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Made reservations at The Lark about a month before coming to SB for a bday vacation after a quick google search of "best rest in SB" and it did not disappoint!!! Between my BF and I we split 3 items and it was perfect. Granted we had an appetizer of shark bites at a nearby funk town brewery that we're amazing... so their suggestion of 3-5 plates per 2 humans is pretty accurate. 5 if you're starving, 3 if you're not just looking for a satisfying dinner. We had yellowtail with pomegranate seeds, celery and hazelnuts an heirloom tomato/arugula burrata, and a short rib with roasted veggies. All of which were fantastic. Favorite was the heirloom tomato dish simply because of its freshness. Would highly recommend this place for a rustic, casual, tasty dinner in SB!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great experience all around. Sat outside ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great experience all around. Sat outside and celebrated parents weekend with our daughter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing find! First time there and foun ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Amazing find! First time there and found it by chance scrolling through the restaurants on Open Table. I haven't had my taste buds tantalized in a while and I REALLY enjoyed our dinner. Each menu choice had amazing depth without being too over the top. The short ribs are a must, the root vegetable puree really brought the dish to new heights. My only bummer was there wasn't enough bone marrow on our "From the Ranch" menu choice , I can always go for more! Wyatt our service was fun yet professional making our anniversary dinner even more special. Don't miss the goat cheese profiteroles for dessert a great end to a fantastic meal. The Lark is a must if your dining in Santa Barbara either as a local or visiting from out of town like we were.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! Everything is delicious and top ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Amazing! Everything is delicious and top notch service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not entirely sure what the hype is all a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Not entirely sure what the hype is all about. Menu is okay, the short rib is presented as and tastes like a steak. We were handed our bill before being asked if anyone wanted anything else like dessert or coffee or another drink. We had to mention we needed steak knives to cut the meat. Maybe it was an off night but don't see the need to go back. Ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Was good food and experience, and I woul ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Was good food and experience, and I would go there again, but there was so much hype about the restaurant and I feel like it fell short of all the hype. I think that the location is what makes it good, in the middle of the funk zone. There are way better restaurant experiences on state street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Noise level is very high. Music that sho ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Noise level is very high. Music that should be background is very intrusive. More like Chinese water torture. Between the not so great service, late seating with a reservation, really irritating music and menu that hasn't changed much in three years, we will be going elsewhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

They made our anniversary very special. ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 27, 2016

They made our anniversary very special. The food was perfectly timed and delicious. The cocktails were excellent and our server was friendly, attentive, and welcoming.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Spent several hours dining. Food was int ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Spent several hours dining. Food was interesting - unexpected combinations - but felt main ingredient was weak and on the pricey side. Staff was friendly and made us feel welcome. The service was slow - which could present a problem if one didn't have hours to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We went to the lark on a suggestion from ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We went to the lark on a suggestion from friends from Denver who have several restaurants and had just visited here and loved it. We were not disappointed! We had the tomato/burrata salad, ahi tuna, and duck confit....all incredible. We arrived early for our reservation and sat at the bar. Great drink options! Also nice wine menu. All diverse selections with things not just from California, which seems to be the trend along the coast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved all the unique combinations of ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We loved all the unique combinations of ingredients. Crispy Brussels sprouts with dates and sesame seeds - amazingly delicious! Dessert was a chocolate ganache, peanut butter cake filling, bumbleberry crisp combo artfully displayed on a platter. All food comes on big platters to be shared family style. Candles on wooden tables and wooden chandliers with low lights, firepits outside.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Healthy, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.