Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About The Lark - Santa Barbara

The Lark pays homage to the history of California train travel and tributes the treasured and long gone Santa Barbara Fish Market, built in the 1920’s as a commercial fish processing plant, shipping their seafood products throughout the state by rail. With an imaginative yet approachable menu created by the gifted Jason Paluska, The Lark celebrates everything found around Santa Barbara County – wineries, farms, ocean and natural beauty. The stunning design strives to connect to the past and the future, using discovered objects from the past and blending them with modern, urban and industrial materials to spectacular effect.

131 Anacapa St. Suite A
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
5:00 p.m. - Closing Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Late Night Bar Menu available
CLOSED MONDAY

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 284-0370

Website:
http://www.thelarksb.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available or use nearby street parking. Substantial parking is available at the Santa Barbara train station, just a block away.

Public Transit:
Enjoy a train ride to Santa Barbara from southern or northern California and meet us at The Lark. No driving required.

Executive Chef:
Jason Paluska

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact our Special Events Director at 805.284.0370 or email Sarah Zwisler: szwisler@acmehospitality.com

The Lark - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (114)
Creative Cuisine (105)
Great for Outdoor Dining (100)
See All
Good for a Date (90)
Local Ingredients (90)
Special Occasion (84)
Hot Spot (75)
Fun (71)
Neighborhood Gem (70)
Handcrafted Cocktails (62)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
Vibrant Bar Scene (54)
Good for Birthdays (52)
Good for Groups (50)
Worth the Drive (49)
Romantic (46)
Casual (44)
Seasonal (44)
People Watching (37)
Notable Wine List (36)
Bar Seating (34)
Authentic (30)
Organic (29)
Tapas (26)
Good Vegetarian Options (25)
Cozy (23)
Tasting Menu (21)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Business Meals (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Great Beer (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Disabled Access (5)
Spicy (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Waterfront (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1651 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

A really nice location and fun place to enjoy a great meal. Shared played options are the norm and portion sizes are more than expected. Quality ingredients.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was inventive and so yummy! We will definitely come back our next time we visit Santa Barbara!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Very popular, delicious food, shared plates.....unfortunately we seemed to be forgotten about by our server and waited a long time for our main course--

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was fun. Service was good. Overall a 4 out of 5

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome food. Great atmosphere. Perfect presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Have been here before but this time service was less than stellar and room was far, far too loud with too many people waiting inside for a table. Dishes all came out too quickly for family style, and were cleared too slowly - two of us got squid ink on us due to shortage of table space and trying to maneuver other plates around the table. Waitress needed to be asked for appropriate wine glasses after pouring into the table glasses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Food and service was amazing. We let the waiter order a few plates to be shared and he did not disappoint. We had the crispy Brussel sprouts, & grilled Atlantic sapphire salmon. Would definitely eat here again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Ambience was active and casual. Service was okay but not outstanding. The food is not that good. The eggplant and shishito peppers were good but did not seem to relate to one another. The hamachi crude was disparate assembly of ingredients. The pepper papardale was a standout. Great flavor and balance. The chocolate 'creme brûlée' which contained dark chocolate and coconut caramel was overwhelmed by the berry sauce...not sure how that was possible. Overall an active and energetic place but overrated. I've had a better experience elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The food was outstanding. My wife and I are confessed foodies and everything on the menu sounded delicious. Our waitress was professional and friendly. She helped us avoid ordering too much food as the portions are for sharing. Overall it was a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Great find! Fresh quality seasonal ingredients you will find here. I was looking for a creative upscale dining menu and I got exacatly that here. My husband and I went out for our anniversary and it was so good we came back 4 days laters for my birthday with our young daughters. I would highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Inventive and phenomenally delicious food; one of the best meals I have ever had. A great place for "foodies."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 10, 2017

They never disappoint, everything was delicious! Happy to see the addition of the Alma Rosa to the wine list. Hoping they will make a little more room between the tables so you can get around easier.

Tags: Romantic, Organic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 10, 2017

This was our anniversary and they called and confirmed our reservation, the service was very poor and the waitress seemed put out waiting on us. Very crowded dining area and loud. Food was ok but took a long time between orders , the plates just placed quickly on the table no finesse.
I have eaten here twice before and this time was an extreme disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Truly amazing! We were celebrating an anniversary and they did not disappoint. Amazing service & fresh, creative food. I'd recommend going with a few more than 2 ppl so you can experience more dishes as they are served family style with generous portions.

Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Food was mediocre at best. Didn't love anything we ate. Really slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 7, 2017

i have been to The Lark multiple times and when i am in Santa Barbara with clients this is my restaurant of choice. It has the excellent Santa Barbara feel with local ingredients, wines and great service. I will be back again next time i am near there!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2017

My oldest son and best friend live down here and haven't seen either for a while

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Went to the Lark for my birthday. The food was really good but the portions were tiny especially for a menu meant for "sharing". Over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Love the concept - modern American - shared plates. We ate outside with our dogs - which was lovely. Service was very good. Most of our food was really tasty (Brussel sprouts - very tasty, though I missed the advertised crispiness; ribs were great and Yellow Tail Hamachi was great). One miss was the papperdelle (gloopy and not very tasty). Probably a little expensive for the quality and quantity of food, but we would go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

A great food experience. Amazing menu. Great presentation and excellent service. A must go while in Santa Barbara!

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We love celebrating at The Lark! Birthdays, Anniversaries, Entertaining visiting family and friends ... we know everyone at The Lark will make sure it's memorable and fun! From the hostess greeting us as we arrive to every server and team member, it's always a smashing success!

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Great place for a small Birthday Celebration, or any celebration!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 31, 2017

The vegetable dishes were savory, with incredible flavor. The pate is always to die for. Short ribs were delicious and bits of crunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

One of the best meals I have EVER had - outstanding!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Organic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Nice space but good very average

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I should probably say, don't go there, since it's already so busy! Amazing flavors. Fun atmosphere. A little loud but nice indoor/outdoor dining. Great ambiance.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on August 26, 2017

It was a dinner during our holidays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Service is pretty sad. Not welcoming or helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Really enjoyed my first time 2 years ago. Disappointed with what I ordered. Probably built it up in my mind.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 25, 2017

One of Santa Barbara's trendy spots. Huge crowd on a Thursday evening. Even with reservations we had to wait for a table. Be sure to request seating in the patio. The noise level inside is deafening. Food is meant to be shared. Don't over order- unless you want to take food home. There must have been a sale on fingerling potatoes, since two of the three dishes we ordered were accompanied by carbs. The beef ribs were succulent. Scallops were perfect. Same goes for the Salmon. If you're an adventurous foodie this just might be your place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Expensive but worth it. Excellent quality food and great service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We loved the The Lark so much that, before leaving the first night, we booked a table for the following evening. And it didn't disappoint. We liked the veggie forward offerings. The flavors overall were really marvelous. We would go back in a heartbeat. And definitely will next time we are in Santa Barbara.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

We had an absolute fabulous time here - food and ambiance was unbelievable. It's lively but not intrusive. The cuisine was out of this world, the service was beyond expectation and our server Melissa made the perfect food and beverage pairings for us and ensured we had a wonderful evening. Two thumbs up indeed!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Authentic, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 23, 2017

The food presentation was great but the actual flavors and end result wasn't pleasing or tasty. The shredded smoked cheese on ciabatta was not edible. It's a fun and lively restaurant but the chef is trying to hard to be innovative.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 23, 2017

great and innovative food. Highly recommended.
The brussel spouts are a favorite.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

The plates at the Lark are designed to be shared and that's exactly what you want to do, because you're going to want to try a little of everything. We had 5 plates between 3 adults and I think that was just the right amount of food, although you may want to get a few smaller size plates if you want to save room for dessert. I highly recommend the foie gras and the scallops!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food here is very good. Innovative, local, healthy, interesting. They give you a shpeel in the beginning explaining their shared plate options and try to convince you to order way to much food, and then rush you through your meal bringing you multiple plates at once. So, my advice... manage your own table, ignore their attitude, and create your own experience driven by you rather than some stressed server who has been told to turn tables quickly because there is a line up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Excellent night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Family vacation. Terrific food, maybe best of the trip. Our vegan daughter enjoyed her meal as we did. Would return

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Oustanding restaurant that lived up to its recommendation. On a par with any restaurant in which we have dined in NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.