Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About The Lark - Santa Barbara

The Lark pays homage to the history of California train travel and tributes the treasured and long gone Santa Barbara Fish Market, built in the 1920’s as a commercial fish processing plant, shipping their seafood products throughout the state by rail. With an imaginative yet approachable menu created by the gifted Jason Paluska, The Lark celebrates everything found around Santa Barbara County – wineries, farms, ocean and natural beauty. The stunning design strives to connect to the past and the future, using discovered objects from the past and blending them with modern, urban and industrial materials to spectacular effect.

131 Anacapa St. Suite A
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
5:00 p.m. - Closing Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Late Night Bar Menu available
CLOSED MONDAY

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 284-0370

Website:
http://www.thelarksb.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available or use nearby street parking. Substantial parking is available at the Santa Barbara train station, just a block away.

Public Transit:
Enjoy a train ride to Santa Barbara from southern or northern California and meet us at The Lark. No driving required.

Executive Chef:
Jason Paluska

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact our Special Events Director at 805.284.0370 or email Sarah Zwisler: szwisler@acmehospitality.com

The Lark - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (69)
Great for Outdoor Dining (64)
Fit for Foodies (64)
See All
Good for a Date (59)
Special Occasion (48)
Local Ingredients (45)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Handcrafted Cocktails (36)
Hot Spot (35)
Fun (33)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Romantic (28)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Good for Groups (26)
Worth the Drive (23)
Fireplace (23)
Notable Wine List (23)
Family Style (23)
Bar Seating (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
People Watching (22)
Cozy (19)
Casual (19)
Healthy (19)
Authentic (16)
Organic (15)
Seasonal (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Tapas (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Business Meals (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Spicy (6)
Open Kitchen (4)
Historic (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Private Room (3)
Great Beer (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1378 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Montana)·Dined 3 days ago

2nd time here even better then the 1st
Great food and service! Fun place!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fireplace, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

Ambience is fabulous. Food is extremely salty. I live in Santa Barbara. I'm not the only one to comment on the saltiness.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious but very demanding. Felt we had to satisfy the server.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Great experience overall!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Cocktails and dishes were very creative and tasty. Wait staff was very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

Decent, but our meal the previous night at Barbareno was significantly better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Have you ever had to eat dinner with a blanket around you because the patio heaters were to few? Or that our party of three never received one of their dinners? Well, that was our experience with The Lark. The food was good but all the other distractions and weather doomed our eating excitement. Dress warmly hope you get your order correctly served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Dubai)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Excellent in every way

Tags: People Watching, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Made reservations and arrived on time but we were sat by the door and the bus/computer station. There were many empty seats. Pimento cheese came with insufficient toast. Radicchio and butter lettuce salad was over-dressed and poorly composed with huge pieces of radicchio and too much of it. The butter lettuce was completely wilted. The duck confit was very good but barely warm.
I really wanted to like the experience but I'm a good cook and expect more for that high a price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great find. Service was great. The bar scene is fantastic. Not sure why... or if it's normal but there's was tons of hot babes everywhere. Awesome. I will come back for the eye candy.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The grilled octopus is always amazing! You can't go wrong with any of their salads and veggies from the farmers market. Their rare cellar teas are divine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 18, 2017

All round terrific. Wonderful flavor combinations. Easy to eat too much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 18, 2017

With family in town for a visit, this was recommended. Great menu. Very comfortable. Creative dishes. Very good service. Great atmosphere. We will definitely return.

Tags: Disabled Access, Business Meals, Tapas, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Sorry ! We were disappointed , service was too fast and food was poor ... we will not be back .

Tags: Kid-friendly, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Visited the Lark while on vacation with our kids. Absolutely delicious. Very vibrant scene. Great outdoor seating. Valet parking was nice too! Highly recommend.

Tags: Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We had a very special meal - great food, great service, great ambiance . Indoor dining is noisy and for the young. We enjoyed our dinner outdoors near a fire pit .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The waiter was great - gave us the history of the restaurant and the rundown of the menu.
The restaurant id a little over-rated.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Had an amazing dinner with service to match


Thanks for a memorable and delicious dinner

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The Lark is a Santa Barbara must! Lovely spot!!! We bellied up to the bar and had a fantastic meal.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 13, 2017

our second visit to the Lark. Love the atmosphere and the food. Always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Excellent service! Excellent menu suggestions. Professional and knowledgeable staff. Perfect!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 13, 2017

If you are a foodie, The Lark is a must. Every item is amazing. Throw a dart and you can't miss. Don't miss the cornbread or famous Brussel sprouts. (or deviled eggs when on the menu) Had ribs this time and their flavor was delicious. The deconstructed Creme Brûlée was superb. Excellent wine list and great cocktails. Menu changes frequently, so don't rely on web.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Farm to table, amazing food. Service and ambiance too. My favorite. We travel from Laguna Beach to eat at the Lark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 12, 2017

It was our wedding anniversary dinner and it was amazing. Great food, service and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The Lark hits the spot. The food is creative, sometimes too much so, but it is interesting without being silly. The brussel sprouts - indeed! - are quite tasty. The beet salad is good, and the shrimp with grits a bit much. But I like the wine and the vibe. Not too busy after 8:30pm. Pay a visit if in SB.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Funk zone fab dining. Indoor or terrace seating, you are in for a treat. Creative food, octopus, ribs, Brussels sprouts, and more-- small and large plates - you'll love it all and the waitstaff is super.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Farmhouse to table with great concept of family style sharing of original well presented dishes. We are there twice the same week. Look forward to the upcoming cookbook - not that I could ever expect to emulate such excellent cuisine.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I always enjoy eating at The Lark and I am thrilled that the weather is finally cooperating so we can once again eat in the lovely outdoor patio area. The food is incredibly flavorful and always served hot and perfectly cooked. Special Kudos to the kitchen staff for continuing to experiment with flavors and food combinations while keeping our favorites on the menu as well.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 6, 2017

My husband and I had such a fabulous meal here. We were originally sat outside, but then asked to move inside because it was very windy and cold on their patio. The staff took very good care of us and accommodated our needs. The cocktails really blew us away - inventive and well balanced. The food was incredible. Seasonally inspired, well executed and the family style plating made it great for sharing which is the only way my hubby and I dine. We will be back - and hopefully soon!

Tags: Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great place, try the outside seating. food is excellent. Service is excellent, very friendly. Wine list ok. We will for sure come back. When you stay in Santa Barbara , it is a must.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Loved the restaurant. I had no idea that Brussel sprouts could transform a meal and an evening. Would go back just to eat them again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Really special! Loved the menu!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Sister trip! Loved this place!
Great ambiance and food!
Yes the cornbread is to die for...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The best! So so so good! A true gem and staple. Go here now!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The Lark is frat food ("small plates" aka you need tons of dishes to make a meal) and with frat service, although they pack 'em in. Why I'm not sure? Plenty of better food options for grown ups.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We ate here on our last night of a two week trip to Santa Barbara. It was highly recommended by friends who live in the neighborhood. We loved it. All the food is served family style and the waitress made sure we ordered just the right amount of food, which I really appreciated. Anyway, plan to eat there next time we are in Santa Barbara.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Casual, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 27, 2017

WOW. It is a real pleasure to dine at a restaurant that has all their stuff together!! We did not like the first place we were seated, so immediately we were reseated in an outside area with heat lamps - the perfect spot. Our server was very experienced and professional. Every dish from the kitchen was plentiful, the perfect temperature as well as tasted exceptional. We would very strongly recommend this restaurant as a MUST when in Santa Barbara as it was our last night in town and the best dinner meal and service during our three days.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Incredibly, incredibly slow. Server hardly touched our table. It was probably 5 minutes before he even stopped by to give his intro and ask us what we wanted to drink and then we sat a solid twenty minutes between courses with nothing on our table. I'm not sure if he forgot to fire our courses or what happened but he acted like this was normal dining behavior and didn't even apologize for the awkward wait. When the food did finally come out each time, it was fine (nothing spectacular) but we did enjoy the vibe and decor of the restaurant. I'm not sure if we were just there on a off night so if we were local I would maybe give it another try.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was my third time dining at The Lark and it has been spectacular every single time. It is without a doubt the best restaurant at which I have ever eaten. You can't go wrong with any dish, and you absolutely must trust the menu. The depth of flavor is second to none. Most recently my wife and I ordered the oysters, the porchetta/burrata, grilled octopus and the grilled lamb belly. Each one forces you to savor every single bite as you try to comprehend the heavenly flavors in your mouth. The cocktail menu is equally fantastic... you may want to plan ahead with a DD and dive in.

Overall, this place is a must every time we venture up to SB from LA. The most recent meal stuffed us and with a cocktail each, cost only $135. We have spent far more and gotten way less memorable foods... you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.