Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About The Lark - Santa Barbara

The Lark pays homage to the history of California train travel and tributes the treasured and long gone Santa Barbara Fish Market, built in the 1920’s as a commercial fish processing plant, shipping their seafood products throughout the state by rail. With an imaginative yet approachable menu created by the gifted Jason Paluska, The Lark celebrates everything found around Santa Barbara County – wineries, farms, ocean and natural beauty. The stunning design strives to connect to the past and the future, using discovered objects from the past and blending them with modern, urban and industrial materials to spectacular effect.

131 Anacapa St. Suite A
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
5:00 p.m. - Closing Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Late Night Bar Menu available
CLOSED MONDAY

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 284-0370

Website:
http://www.thelarksb.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available or use nearby street parking. Substantial parking is available at the Santa Barbara train station, just a block away.

Public Transit:
Enjoy a train ride to Santa Barbara from southern or northern California and meet us at The Lark. No driving required.

Executive Chef:
Jason Paluska

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact our Private Event Manager at 805-705-8895 or email Aran Klingensmith at aran@acmehospitality.com

The Lark - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (60)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Local Ingredients (52)
See All
Good for a Date (50)
Special Occasion (47)
Great for Outdoor Dining (46)
Hot Spot (37)
Fun (36)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Authentic (25)
Romantic (25)
Good for Groups (25)
Casual (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Bar Seating (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Seasonal (19)
Healthy (15)
Cozy (13)
Tapas (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Organic (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
People Watching (11)
Business Meals (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Great Beer (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Lunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort by
S
1791 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The Lark is warm and inviting. It creates an environment that welcomes all.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Food outstanding
Waitperson terrific
Receptionist. Rude
Crowd diversified
I think ypur darling young girls at check on should be re taught how to greet and please people without sorry ypu can’t have a quiet booth they are all taken. ( at 530)
Exceptions must be made for older people (80s) many have hearing lose and a booth is easier to hear by
We are talking 2 people. Bending the rules a bit when a person comes in at the earlier hour when the booths are empty and when they leave 2 are still empty isn’t a crime

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (México)·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious vegetarian dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 8, 2018

Great food. Unique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Second time at The Lark. Server was very helpful and knowledgeable. Drinks were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (東京)·Dined on January 6, 2018

The restaurant is a fun place to hang out with your friends. Very lively and happening place .

The food and the service was good too.

Definitely one of the good restaurant to check our in Santa Barbara

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 5, 2018

The food and service at the Lark is exceptional. It is a great place to dine in Santa Barbara. We particularly enjoyed the Cauliflower, Braised Lamb and Confit Duck Wings.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 4, 2018

The food presentation and taste is very good.. The duck wings were tasty and filling. The persimmons cauliflower couscous was refreshing. Brussels Sprouts are very good. Unfortunately, the pairing of the two fell short as in we received the couscous 30minutes after arrival of the wings which was so disappointing. The male server was unapologetic and coolly dismissive. After initial drinks were served, another 15minites before our order was taken, after server was waived down. It was my BF’s bday and no ackowledgement was noted, not even a happy Birthday. Basically food is super yummy, but server was like eating at a typical weho restaurant. Just bland and not worth the hype of Lark. But the server did get all peppy when he presented the bill. So transparent. Last night went to Juniper and Ivy in San Diego and the food and service was absolutely astounding. Skip Lark and head to J&I for an overall excellent experience.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 4, 2018

The food never disappoints if you like to experiment with food. Oysters, beet carpaccio, lamb shoulder, hand cut pappardelle and apple fritters for desert. YUM!! It was a lot of food for the two of us. So we brought some home. If you like Smokey Scotch you will the the cocktail called “The Penicillin “. This is a must stop for us whenever we get to Santa Barbara.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 4, 2018

Too many ingredients in each dish. Farm fresh ingredients don't need their natural flavors camouflaged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 3, 2018

Great food! Friendly staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Great atmosphere but the service was inconsistent. Some of the food was good, some was surprisingly not good. Cool place, but they could use improvement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Great service and exceptional food! Thank you for a wonderful evening with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 28, 2017

Kyle was a great bartender

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 24, 2017

I heard about The Lark a while ago and have been super excited ever since to take my husband there. However, our waitress “Mel” was extremely rude to my husband throughout our entire dining time. She had the worst attitude towards him and was constantly inappropriate every time she interacted with him. Needless to say we canceled our drinks and grabbed our check and left 20 min into our reservation. It was bittersweet that we heard such great things about The Lark and when we finally went, we were met with an extremely unprofessional waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 24, 2017

We were a group of six friends getting together for a holiday meal.

We started with the cheeseboard, which was delightful. The Garden Of Little Gems 'Wedge' took the wedge salad to a fresh place with the house-smoked blue cheese and herbs. Even the bacon was not usual. The Porchetta di Testa was delicious. We would have had the beef ribs, but they were out. We had half a chicken with delicious crispy skin. I didn't eat the pappardelle (carbs!), but it was the one dish that the rest of the group found lackluster.

I marked them down for ambiance because we were seated in a back room that seemed suited to banquets, and we had to walk through the kitchen to get to it. If we'd been outside or in the main dining room, I'd have rated it differently.

Until this meal, I hadn't been impressed with a Santa Barbara restaurant since Julienne closed. Most serve decent food, but rarely change their menus and cycle through the same specials. (I'm looking at you Ca'Dario and Opal.) I haven't been to Lark enough to know how often they change their menu, but the meal we had was full of imaginative flavors and ingredients.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Horrible service, horrible food! I've been here before and it's been great but tonight it was so bad I will never come again! Salty pasta, meet was horrible and so was the service !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Nice place for a quick drop in, but everything was just a bit off. The door was left open on a cold evening and we all had to wear jackets during our meals. The server was sweet, but somehow the timing was off. The meals had beautiful presentation but flavor was somehow lacking. All in all nice, but not for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 9, 2017

BEST brussel sprouts I've ever had. The progression of the meal was lovely. The ambience was perfect. Such warm, warm light. Compliments to the Chef and staff for a lovely evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Fantastic experience! Our server Jaz was amazing, she was super helpful and bubbly. The food was outstanding as well. I would highly recommend checking it out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

Great ambiance especially outdoors next to the fireplaces

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 3, 2017

This place is amazing. The food is delicious, the Brussel sprouts are heaven sent, service is great, and they have fantastic ambiance. I don't think you can go wrong

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Service was poor. Entire meal (3 separate plates including wine) was ordered and bill paid in under 1 hour. We told out waitress we would have another glass of wine with the main course and she never came back. Just a bunch of people rushing plates in and taking them away. Never did get a second glass of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Fantastic! Love the entire meal and experience! Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 1, 2017

Wonderful - would book again! Great food and service!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 29, 2017

Recommended by a friend for an enjoyable meal and it lived up the recommendation. Had the 1/2 chicken for two and it was excellent. The apple fritters were outstanding. Would return again.

Tags: Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 29, 2017

Great food and service. Farm to table at it's best.

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 27, 2017

Wow - what a great experience! We were visiting (5 nights) and this was our last night, because earlier we could not get a table reserved as it was very busy. We decided to go there because of reviews and it sounded like something special. It definitely is something special. We can warmly recommend it. The location has great charm, the interior is matching the history but very fresh. The service (Bill - you were great!) was outstanding and the food delicious. We'd go there again and will recommend it to our friends. Don't miss it while you're in SB!

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 27, 2017

This is our 6th or more visit on a Sunday evening. Although the food was very good, our particular server must have been on another planet that evening, made mistakes and was very slow. The idea of this restaurant has always been to share the various entries. We ordered two glasses of Pinot (only 1 is offered by the glass), the Wedge Salad to be followed by the Salmon and then follow with the Ribs. The salad arrived timely and we shared it, but before we were really finished with it BOTH main entries arrived together! That was first error. How to eat and share two hot entries at the same time was not pleasant and not our order. Before finishing the entries we ordered an additional single glass of wine (in the small carafe) which we could share and pour on our own. Took quite a while to get that. Later on we ordered the amazing desert (apple fritter with ice cream scoop) and another glass (carafe) of wine. Took quite a while, but when the dessert arrived , no wine and I had to ask another waiter "where is the wine we ordered at least 10 minutes earlier". Finally it arrived, but again late and not timely for enjoying with the dessert. And this is an expensive restaurant. Summary: 1 Salad, 2 entries and 4 glasses of wine = $167 PLUS tip which was suggested @20% to be $31 or grand total of $198 for no table clothes and slow service with numerous mistakes. Sorry, but there are other places to spend this kind of money with a real restaurant setting (table cloths) and good professional servers. Will probably return one day, but I'll be very sure each request is fully understood.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 27, 2017

Wow! Wonderful date night service, ambiance, and food. Everything you read in the endless stream of glowing reviews is on point. Bon appetite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 26, 2017

This restaurant came highly recommended. We really liked the family style dining, and with a big group, we were able to try almost half the menu which was great. One thing that could have vastly improved our dining experience is more lighting. We sat outside, and yes, the dim lighting is very romantic if you're on a date, but it was a bit tough to split the family style dishes when we couldn't really see what we were splitting, and at least for me, seeing my food is part of enjoying it. It did get really cold when the table next to us turned off their heater. Overall, we enjoyed it there and the staff were friendly.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 25, 2017

We've been to the Lark several times. This time we wanted to bring our friends who were visiting from out of town so we made our reservation a couple weeks in advance on open table.

When we arrived, after waiting several minutes we were seated at the very back corner table outside. We weren't given an option of outside or inside.

In the past our servers have been very friendly and attentive - part of what makes dining at the Lark a great experience. This time our server seemed a little frosty and barely spoke to us. We hardly saw her throughout the night.

The food was excellent as usual. But on the whole all of us were disappointed with the atmosphere. Definitely not up to par with all of our other visits to the Lark.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2017

food was absolutely awesome - super fresh ingredients, presentation, and taste. Same with service - servers worked in harmony so food was delivered fast, genuinely friendly, and very professional. Atmosphere was warm, cosy, but with the energy and crowd of a trendy hotspot.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Unique and tasty flavors. Nice ambiance. Knowledgeable waiter in regards to gluten free options.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 23, 2017

We totally appreciated that our waitress told us not to order too much - which we had done the last time we dined. Delicious and beautiful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 22, 2017

Great food and service. Follow their lead on how many dishes to order. The Brussels sprouts and the chicken are a must.

Tags: Live Sports, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Organic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 20, 2017

Possibly one of the best restaurants I've been to. Always busy. The food is impeccably prepared. I had the roast chicken in the iron pot and it was delicious. It came with an array of greens, root vegetables and Chanterelle mushrooms in a pomegranate broth. We also enjoyed a Japanese fish dish and the scallion cornbread. Sadly, we didn't have room for dessert, but next time we will. Portions are big and meant to be shared. Take a few people with you and try everything!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 20, 2017

Loved our dinner , our meal was creative and yummy!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 20, 2017

Great food, beautifully presented. Menu changes regularly I would suggest checking before going. Sometimes everything sounds great, sometimes I’m not sure what I would order and
I’m a rather adventurous eater.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.