About The Lark - Santa Barbara

131 Anacapa St. Suite A
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

The Lark pays homage to the history of California train travel and tributes the treasured and long gone Santa Barbara Fish Market, built in the 1920’s as a commercial fish processing plant, shipping their seafood products throughout the state by rail. With an imaginative yet approachable menu created by the gifted Jason Paluska, The Lark celebrates everything found around Santa Barbara County – wineries, farms, ocean and natural beauty. The stunning design strives to connect to the past and the future, using discovered objects from the past and blending them with modern, urban and industrial materials to spectacular effect.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
5:00 p.m. - Closing Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday
Late Night Bar Menu available
CLOSED MONDAY

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 284-0370

Website:
http://www.thelarksb.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking available or use nearby street parking. Substantial parking is available at the Santa Barbara train station, just a block away.

Public Transit:
Enjoy a train ride to Santa Barbara from southern or northern California and meet us at The Lark. No driving required.

Executive Chef:
Jason Paluska

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact our Special Events Director at 805.284.0370 or email Sarah Zwisler: szwisler@acmehospitality.com

Restaurant Photos

  • The Lark - Santa Barbara
  • The Lark - Santa Barbara
  • The Lark - Santa Barbara
  • The Lark - Santa Barbara
  • The Lark - Santa Barbara
  • The Lark - Santa Barbara
The Lark - Santa Barbara
The Lark - Santa Barbara
The Lark - Santa Barbara
The Lark - Santa Barbara
The Lark - Santa Barbara
The Lark - Santa Barbara

The Lark - Santa Barbara Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
California Central Coast
Most Booked
California Central Coast
Most Booked
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

Fit for Foodies (183)
Great for Outdoor Dining (157)
Special Occasion (131)
See All
Hot Spot (131)
Neighborhood Gem (98)
Good for Groups (89)
Romantic (77)
Vibrant Bar Scene (74)
Notable Wine List (47)
Late-night Find (18)
Kid-friendly (13)
Great for Brunch (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Scenic View (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1091 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We visited Santa Barbara for few days an ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 3 days ago

We visited Santa Barbara for few days and decided to have dinner at the Lark. we are so glad we did. we loved the idea of family sharing style.

Great meal. outstanding service. Love the location. Food well plated and delish. I went for dinner and loved everything. The portions are just right, food is savory and tantalizing dessert.

we highly recommend this place to all of our family and friends. Will come back again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing and the server was ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was amazing and the server was great at helping us order just the right amount of food. The drinks were delicious! We were celebrating my husband's birthday and our 1year wedding anniversary and the staff went out of their way to make us feel special. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, People Watching, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hi we liked the ambiance, but the food w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Hi we liked the ambiance, but the food was not great. my Wife's meal (roasted Pork Belly) was so tough she could not eat it. my salad was good (Farro) but there was not a lot of variety for a non meat eater.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Still my favorite restaurant anywhere. I ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Still my favorite restaurant anywhere. I'm constantly surprised and inspired by the creativity and flavor combinations.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was fabulous ! I can't wait to go bac ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

It was fabulous ! I can't wait to go back!!!! It was perfect in every way!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Lark has always been our favorite pl ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 6 days ago

The Lark has always been our favorite place to take people to show visitors the best of Santa Barbara. It seems that the resturant has become more factory than special cuisine. Our past experience was not great with slow and difficult service... She was very nice but did know any local wines. The biggest issue was the food. Normally, the food is explained when it is placed on the table. We had appetizers way before i received my warm death door martini. Not sure how this happens... The brussels sprouts and asparagus were good. We enjoyed the crab gnocchi but the whole roasted chicken was disappointing. I think that our friends were not impressed and this had been their 4th time in a matter of weeks. I hope that The Lark regains some of the specialness of when it first opened.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

I liked the beginning of our eats but th ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 6 days ago

I liked the beginning of our eats but the food quickly became very heavy southern, too sweet, too salty, oily, overloaded with BBQ flavor. The 3 dishes we had tasted alike. We were told that the Brussels sprouts were "amazing". Why does everyone say that at every restaurant we go to... and I fall for it every time!? I have yet to taste AMAZING Brussels sprouts, other than ones that are steamed just right with a bit of salt, pepper and butter. They were described as crispy, but the crunch lasted 1 second and then they tasted soggy more than anything. Maybe my taste-buds are too spoiled.

I am from the east coast and have a discriminating palette. I have eaten in the finest of restaurants worldwide.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The food was organic and very fresh and ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was organic and very fresh and flavorful. We ordered three small plates and were pleasantly surprised by how much larger they were than we expected. I would definitely go back. The food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Disappointing experience after reading t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Disappointing experience after reading the reviews and making a reservations for or trip to Santa Barbara. The food is trying way too hard and is unenjoyable to eat. The service was very average as the bar seating crowds out the bar service. The only redeeming part of our evening was the cheese platter.

Finally, one of our dishes, the gnocchi, was clearly over salted and inedible. We told our server and she offered us a free drink to replace the untouched meal of $33.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

This was an amazing restaurant, the food ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was an amazing restaurant, the food was outstanding, great for sharing. Sat on patio, nice but very crowded, good sign as it is the place to be!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've never been disappointed here...lov ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We've never been disappointed here...love the atmosphere...very lively...the food is always terrific and they go out of their way to accommodate kids, which we appreciate. Totally recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great farm-to table find in Santa Barbar ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great farm-to table find in Santa Barbara. Went for a collection of small plates to share and everything was tasty and well- executed. Extra points for the beautiful garden.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our 6th visit to The Lark and v ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This was our 6th visit to The Lark and very disappointing. Our server (David) didn't begin to live up to what we've experienced in the past. His conversation was hard to understand, he was no where as personable or attentive in his service including forgetting one of our platter dishes. We had praised the many positive virtues of The Lark to our visiting friends and were a bit chagrined at the end of the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Amazing place to check out for people st ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Amazing place to check out for people stopping into Santa Barbara. Love the farm-to-table menu -- you have to try the boneless short rib. The dining area is spacious and beautiful and relaxing. The service was excellent and would come back in a heartbeat.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Lark is a fabulous place to have a r ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The Lark is a fabulous place to have a relaxed meal with outstanding food, service and ambience. I have always enjoyed dinner there, as well as a brunch. It is a very special place - do go!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasions, Outdoor Eating, Romance, Group Bookings, Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was perfect! Amazing and crea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Everything was perfect! Amazing and creative menu! Service was top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Brussels sprouts EVER! Great atmosp ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Best Brussels sprouts EVER! Great atmosphere...overall wonderful experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sublime, again. Get the oysters, melon s ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Sublime, again. Get the oysters, melon salad, and wedge salad for staters. Short rib was best of our mains.

Tags: Group Bookings, Child Friendly, Romance, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasions, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outdoor Eating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

So tough to get a reservation so had a l ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

So tough to get a reservation so had a late dinner but was so completely worth it. Food was amazing... almost every single thing we ordered was fsbulous. Not a fan of the octopus (which I was really excited about) - really lacked flavor. But everything else sooooo great. Recommend the brussel sprouts, gnocchi and jidori chicken - seriously amazing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and experience.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Loved the ambience and the service, but ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Loved the ambience and the service, but did not enjoy the food. We tried four different dishes. All were way too heavily spiced. Not hot spice, just funky spice like mesquite-flavored ice cream. Seems like the chefs are trying to be too edgy and burying the natural flavors of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Consistently a remarkably outstanding re ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Consistently a remarkably outstanding restaurant. Excellent food- one of those few places where you actually eat those items not high on one's own personal culinary scale and yet everything tastes great! The service is top notch - timely but unobtrusive, friendly and competent. The restaurant has always been packed with locals and visitors alike - a friendly energetic crowd. The restaurant is Santa Barbara upscale - elegant but with a very relaxed casual style which means you can be equally comfortable with a blazer as with shorts and a nice casual shirt. It's a must for foodies in or visiting Santa Barbara.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a great place! Since we hadn't ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is a great place! Since we hadn't been there before, the waiter guided us through menu and how to order. Family style...good proportions. What I like is that she cut us down from 4 dishes to 3 saying it was going to be too much...Perfect choice. The food is really good. Im not a vegetarian but one of the people next too us was. The restaurant accommodated well and adjusted menus to fit their needs. Food was fresh and delicious.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had four dishes, and each one was del ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had four dishes, and each one was delicious! The flavors were unique and especially tasty. The food was spectacular and probably the best we've eaten in a restaurant in many, many years.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very attractive space with excellent foo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Very attractive space with excellent food, wine list and service. Be careful not to over order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Each time we have eaten at the Lark we h ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Each time we have eaten at the Lark we have been most pleased. The food is original and delicious. The staff is very attentive to your needs and conscientious without being obsequious.

The atmosphere is very relaxed and informal, which we really appreciate. No dressing requirement!!! The decor is funnily funky. It is our favorite restaurant in town. We like to bring our friends and family there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

If a concoction of pork belly, fried pig ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

If a concoction of pork belly, fried pigs ears, and stone fruit, sprinkled with peanut brittle (yes peanut brittle) sounds interesting, you are only half right. Interesting and absolutely spectacular tasting!!!! I also ordered a signature cocktail called the "Aviator," not because it makes you high, LOL, but presumably because it has a lovely sky bluish-purple hue from the violet liqueur. The food here is eclectic in all the right ways. I highly recommend The Lark!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent grilled octopus and bone marro ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent grilled octopus and bone marrow dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great meal as always. Paced just right - ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great meal as always. Paced just right - important as family style and you don't want it all to arrive at once. Service professional and friendly and every dish was top class.

Tags: Neighbourhood Gem, Special Occasions, Outdoor Eating, Group Bookings, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait staff exceptionally kind & welcomin ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Wait staff exceptionally kind & welcoming. Very good service.

Expensive; however, dishes were all delicious & unique.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and sharing plates worked ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Excellent food and sharing plates worked really well with the children

Tags: Special Occasions, Fit for Foodies, Child Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Had heard about Lark on email from afar ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Had heard about Lark on email from afar so thought we'd try it. It lived up to our expectations. Great atmosphere, food and service . would definately go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an excellent experience at The La ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We had an excellent experience at The Lark. The food is locally sourced, creative and delicious! And the service is comfortable and unobtrusive. It's truly one of the gems in the FunkTown area of Santa Barbara.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a wonderful dinner. Two salads an ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner. Two salads and an entrée were enough for us both.

The sea bass was an amazing adventure. Only detractor: Too loud. Did not need background music.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had the Crispy Brussels Sprouts, Yell ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had the Crispy Brussels Sprouts, Yellowtail Hamachi Crudo and House Made Gnocchi & Dungeness Crab. All in all the food was solid, but nothing spectacular. For three tapas dishes and two glasses of wine, we spent about $120, not worth it for the price in my opinion. Have had similar meals down in LA (Mudhen Tavern, Laurel Hardware, Little Sister) that were half the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Wonderful place, food is interesting and ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Wonderful place, food is interesting and unique. The gnocchi was a little too rich and over flavored would probably not order that again. Loved the cocktails and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was good but it has been better ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was good but it has been better there. It is quite pricey so we always expect the best. One of our items was totally forgotten about by the waiting staff/kitchen.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I love the Lark! When my peeps come to v ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I love the Lark! When my peeps come to visit, I am delighted to take them to the Lark. I appreciate that as popular as it has become over the last few years, the food and service are consistently wonderful. My only minor negative would be the wines by the glass options. I am personally a martini drinker, and the Lark bar makes among the best martinis in town...but, on my most recent visit, by BFF wanted a glass of white. I suggested the Jaffurs Viognier as it is more satisfying than any Chard's on the by the glass menu. A reach towards Central Coast wines by the glass would be a bonus.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our second dining experience and ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This is our second dining experience and it was amazing. It did seem to take quite awhile for our dishes to come out - but I appreciated having them even spaced out so we didn't get too full. I only wish we had another few people at the table so we could have tried more dishes. The Hamachi Crudo was delicious but the Sea Bass in the pea broth was like Santa Barbara in a bowl. Delicious - I'm still thinking and dreaming about it! Wonderful flavor, crisp crust on the fish and the pea broth was filled with all types of delisiousness...white beans, green beans and topped with fried zucchini blossoms. It did not disappoint and we WILL be back once again!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food, cocktails and staff always del ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food, cocktails and staff always deliver a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.