About The Landing @ West Neck

2484 North Landing Rd.
Virginia Beach, VA 23456
View Larger Map

The Landing @ West Neck highlights locally sourced ingredients with an upscale casual atmosphere. Our Cuisine is inspired by fresh locally sourced products with an emphasis on seafood but with enough variety for everyone. We offer local craft beers and our cocktail menu highlights crafted cocktails with some traditional classics done right.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8ish pm

Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
George Mason Dr.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 301-9604

Website:
http://www.thelandingvb.com/

Catering:
www.hightidecatering.com The Landing is the home of High Tide Catering and is the foundation of our restaurant. We cater all types of events. 757-301-9607

Parking Details:
Parking along the front of the building with spots available all around the building.

Executive Chef:
Brent Cowan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tuesday July 19th 2016 we will host a "Washington Wine Dinner" The menu will consist of Pacific Northwest inspired cuisine and ingredients paired with wines form Washington State. The cost for this dinner will be $90.00 per person before tax and gratuity. Please call for more information or to make your reservation for this dinner.

Restaurant Photos

  • The Landing @ West Neck
The Landing @ West Neck

The Landing @ West Neck Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Virginia
Seafood
Virginia
Best Value
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Virginia Beach ›

neighborhood gem (21)
fit for foodies (17)
good for groups (16)
See All
special occasion (15)
great for lunch (11)
kid-friendly (9)
romantic (7)
great for outdoor dining (5)
great for brunch (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
notable wine list (4)
hot spot (3)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
176 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding, first time at The Landing a ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding, first time at The Landing and regret not going sooner. One of the best restaurants in the area. Will be back with friends so they can get hooked.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered a glass of sauvignon blanc thi ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I ordered a glass of sauvignon blanc thinking it would be reasonably priced. My fault. I wish the server would have told me it was $12/glass!! Then I ordered a 2nd. So I paid $24 for 2 glasses of wine.

In addition, they have several non-client friendly rules. 1. Bread is not provided unless you ask. 2. Happy hour prices are good only at the bar, not at the table.

Add the above concerns to the very high noise level--my group will not be returning.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

Tuscan Tuna had way to many conflicting ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Tuscan Tuna had way to many conflicting flavors but the tuna itself was good. I wouldn't go back as it wasn't worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Was in Va Beach for annual beach vacatio ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Was in Va Beach for annual beach vacation and needed/wanted a place with an intriguing menu but also kid-friendly. The Landing delivered in spades. I had the Filet Oscar (sous vide to med rare) and my wife had the tuna tacos. We considered our meal at The Landing one of the top 2 best meals in 6 yrs since we've been at Va Beach.

Just a really enjoyable experience that I highly recommend.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

First time dining at The Landing. Good ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

First time dining at The Landing. Good food. Picked Tuesday night for the prime rib special.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Very pleasant surprise! Food and service ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Very pleasant surprise! Food and service were exceptional. Nice bar, nice wine list. Oysters from their own oyster farm were off the charts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the atmosphere here and food is pre ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Love the atmosphere here and food is pretty good.

Always a good time.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We drive an hr just for dinner. This pla ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We drive an hr just for dinner. This place has it all!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointed in food quality...just okay ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Disappointed in food quality...just okay...not planning a return trip...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

GREAT CRAFT BEER SELECTION AND HAPPY HOU ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

GREAT CRAFT BEER SELECTION AND HAPPY HOUR AT THE BAR!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed a lovely brunch for Father's ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We enjoyed a lovely brunch for Father's Day. We had heard so much about the Bloody Mary Bar but they did not have it which was a bit of a disappointment. As always the atmosphere and service was superb. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. The presentation and portion size of entrees was nice but definitely lacked the wow factor that their dinner menu has. Tater tots?!

I mean tater tots are good especially for the kids but honestly I expected some well executed home fries for the grown ups. I had the tenderloin Benedict which was delicious and beautifully presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This place is a hidden gem in Virginia B ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This place is a hidden gem in Virginia Beach. So glad we found it as it is right close to our new neighborhood and we will definitely be going back. Great food, great people and overall a fantastic experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We tried The Landing for the first time ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

We tried The Landing for the first time last night and were not very impressed. I made my reservation via Open Table and included in my reservation that we were there to celebrate our 29th wedding anniversary. Not once during our visit was that acknowledged. When we arrived, we were led to a table that was clearly a four top table that was slid apart (not very far) to make two smaller tables. There was already a couple sat at the other "table." The other "table" that we were led to had a wall to one side. So, not only was we to share our anniversary with another couple that we did not know, but we had to sit in a corner! There were four EMPTY high top tables in the bar area, so we requested to sit there.

The bartender had to be our server, which I would have understood had we actually sat at the bar. It took him way too long to come over to us - at least 7-8 minutes. Our appetizer took a good 20 minutes and our meal took at least 15 minutes, if not longer, after were were done with the appetizer.

The food quality was good and it was hot, but the service level was sub par at best.

We will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Friends spoke highly of the place. This ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Friends spoke highly of the place. This was our first visit and we weren't disappointed. Oysters Rockefeller, wedge salad and scallops; I couldn't have been more pleased. Nancy got the Shrimp Alfredo and it was exceptional as well. Our wait staff Howard could not have been more delightful and personable. We are going back Sunday for Father's Day brunch, if that is any indication.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We have eaten here at least 6 times but on Fri.night 6/10 we were very disappointed with the food. Our salads( came without dressing and the tuna app was bland. Although cooked to the correct temp inside it was an ugly gray color on the outside, not browned or flavorful.

I love salt but the scallop app was way over salted.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

The Kyle and Brent combo always do a gre ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The Kyle and Brent combo always do a great job. We're looking forward to the new menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My wife and I had the she-crab soup, cr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I had the she-crab soup, crab dip, steamed snow crab legs, shrimp dinner, key lime pie, and crème brulee. Everything was high quality and came out relatively fast. Our only complaint was the lighting seemed a bit low for us which made it difficult to see the food or menu. We'll definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Nice Mothers Day brunch

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a reservation for 5 people for Mothers Day brunch. We were promptly seated, and our server was great. I had the special mimosa that was delicious and the shrimp and grits were outstanding. I had my young children with me and there was a nice kids menu and crayons. Makes dining out at a nice place easier- thanks!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner with family

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Our server Anna was the best. She was very attentive to our needs and was very personable. We never had to ask for anything. She anticipated our needs. The food was delicious and presentation was fabulous. An enjoyable evening!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food Cooked to Perfection

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The food was perfectly cooked ( I had Duck my son had seafood). the seasoning and wonderful. I the price was right. the Waitress outstanding. I loved it and will go back

many more times. It is in a nice quaint area and could be very romantic. I guarantee you will love it. I then sat out side and enjoyed the view!!.

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Service was amazing, and the quality of ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Service was amazing, and the quality of the food ingredients seemed to be good, the food just wasn't prepared very well. Scallops and shrimp were overcooked. I asked for flounder blackened and it was served with normal seasonings. The only thing that seemed to be less than fresh were the mussels in my husbands seafood stew. Seafood stew was a special and ended up costing $34/ bowl. I guess we should have asked for pricing on the specials . . . I do not recommend sitting at the tables along the wall with the cushions hanging from bars. Seats were too low and xtremely uncomfortsble. I would leave before I say in on again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Delicious food.

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Easter brunch

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Easter brunch for 4. Food and service were very good. Will continue to return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Oysters Rockefeller Rocked!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

The Oysters Rockefeller were the best I've had anywhere. Food, from wedge salad to crab stuffed flounder, potatoes, Brussels sprouts and bread was delicious. We especially liked our server, but, unfortunately, cannot remember her name. I wasn't thrilled with the 1st glass of Chardonnay--which was good but too fruity-crisp for my tastes. So, without my asking, she brought a taste of the more buttery brand and, when I liked it, replaced my previous glass with this. Her timing was great, interactions just frequent & friendly enough, and she was knowledgeable about everything from gin & single malt scotch cocktails onward.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Will Return Again

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

Excellent service and outstanding food. Easy parking. We'll come back again even though it's 30 minutes from where we live.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had the Duck and my wife had the Surf ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I had the Duck and my wife had the Surf and Turf, both were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome service!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Busy night in the restaurant. We sat in the bar section and had awesome service! Wonderful bartender! The food was excellent as well.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My server was not attentive and overlook ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

My server was not attentive and overlooked me through out the meal. The food was good but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Great spot

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

This restaurant is quite a gem. The outside of the building is very cute and relaxing with the rocking chairs and the lake with water fountain. We made reservations for restaurant week and picked the landing due to the variety of the menu and having three courses of food vs a appetizer, main course and dessert. The two courses we had before dinner were amazing and a decent size. We were just about stuffed by the time dinner came. My husband order the crab stuffed flounder which was awesome. I also ordered a whiskey with a splash of lime and grenade and was made perfect, which is a first. Despite the place being busy our waitress was very nice, attentive and on point with service. We will definitely return here especially when it gets warmer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

EXCELLENT!!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

The food was delicious from the she crab soup to the flounder.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

landing

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

one of our local favorites. great food and excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply amazing

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Everything about it was perfection. Our waitress was lovely and the food was beyond amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best She Crab soup in the area!!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

Best She Crab soup in the area!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

There were several large groups the day ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

There were several large groups the day we went for lunch so it was noisy. Our waiter was attentive to our needs. We were not rushed with our meal and they waited until we had finished each course before bringing out the next. I made the mistake of not requesting a table when we booked; the booth was a snug fit.

All in all though we enjoyed the experience.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding experience during VB Restaur ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Outstanding experience during VB Restaurant Week. The food and service were superb! Love the atmosphere. Great place for a special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

This was my first time going to The Landing. I made a reservation at 8:00 through Open Table not knowing that they closed at 8:00 on Sundays. We arrived at 8:10 and they accommodated us. They said they accepted our reservation since it was the first time we had ever dined there. We were already off to a good start. The menu was fun and different. We eat out and there were a lot of good entrees to chose from. We ordered the Sante Fe oysters appetizers which was delicious and I will definitely go back for. For entrees we had the Filet Mignon and Crabcakes. They were both delicious! The atmosphere was great and we look forward to going back for cocktails at the bar and dinner. Our kids were with us and they loved it too.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good the server was just do ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The food was good the server was just doing her job. The rockfish special was announced but it wasn't until I saw the bill did I see a price of $35. I think that if most of the entree's are in the teens, you have an obligation to mention the price of a special when it's twice the average cost of everything else.

Overall, If I wanted to pay $170 for dinner on a Sunday night for 4 I'd go to a place with better service, in a setting that didn't look like a beach pub.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Delicious food, the presentation was exc ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Delicious food, the presentation was excellent, loved the Banana Fosters with ice cream :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious, service was excellen ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was delicious, service was excellent, and cocktails were well mixed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Valentine's day

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We went before Valentine's Day but apparently they did the pre fix menu all weekend. Had no idea and didn't know how expensive it was. It took about 15 minutes for someone to greet us at our table. The charcuterie board was a little disappointing. A burnt piece of bread with 2 cubes of cheese. Other than that the food was amazing and we will go back again just not for a holiday meal. The she crab soup was to die for.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.