About The Landing @ West Neck

2484 North Landing Rd.
Virginia Beach, VA 23456
View Larger Map

The Landing @ West Neck highlights locally sourced ingredients with an upscale casual atmosphere. Our Cuisine is inspired by fresh locally sourced products with an emphasis on seafood but with enough variety for everyone. We offer local craft beers and our cocktail menu highlights crafted cocktails with some traditional classics done right.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8ish pm

Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
George Mason Dr.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 301-9604

Website:
http://www.thelandingvb.com/

Catering:
www.hightidecatering.com The Landing is the home of High Tide Catering and is the foundation of our restaurant. We cater all types of events. 757-301-9607

Parking Details:
Parking along the front of the building with spots available all around the building.

Executive Chef:
Brent Cowan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tuesday July 19th 2016 we will host a "Washington Wine Dinner" The menu will consist of Pacific Northwest inspired cuisine and ingredients paired with wines form Washington State. The cost for this dinner will be $90.00 per person before tax and gratuity. Please call for more information or to make your reservation for this dinner.

Restaurant Photos

  • The Landing @ West Neck
The Landing @ West Neck

The Landing @ West Neck Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (22)
Special Occasion (18)
Fit for Foodies (15)
See All
Romantic (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Fun (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Business Meals (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Casual (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Authentic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Family Style (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
195 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We never have a bad meal at The Landing. ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We never have a bad meal at The Landing. Brought a large group of our friends with us and they all loved it too. Everyone will be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I reserved a table at The Landing for di ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I reserved a table at The Landing for dinner after proposing to my now fiancée. The Landing was a perfect place for this special night. Quiet, cozy, romantic, excellent food, good wine, friendly staff. Perfect evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great dining experience as usual. Our ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

A great dining experience as usual. Our server, Howard was very attentive and knowledgeable. Our food was delicious and prepared perfectly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent. The service was ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was excellent. The service was great. I thought the price was a bit high for the atmosphere and location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The food & service was exceptional.

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food & service was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing, the waitress was g ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The food was amazing, the waitress was great, the atmosphere was awesome! All around a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service as always!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great food and service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent, one of the best in the area. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Excellent, one of the best in the area. You will not be disappointed .

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great restaurant. It is the best ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

What a great restaurant. It is the best in Virginia Beach. They are farm to table and everything they serve is local and fresh. Fresh seafood, steaks and veggies. You can tell they take extra care and time to prepare the food. Everything we ate was just delicious. It was 4 of us and we had the lamb, filet Oscar, scallops and salmon. They were all so good. Plus we had appetizers that were just as good. We loved the shrimp cocktail, she crab soup, lobster and crab. Our waiter Sam also helped make our meal even more special. He had great recommendations and was very attentive to us and didn't mind us asking a bunch of questions or making some special requests. It was so good we went back the next night. It's only a 15 minute drive from the oceanfront and it is well worth the drive.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant is a little bit pricey but th ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Restaurant is a little bit pricey but the food is excellent, well above average.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Awesome!!! If you are staying on Virgini ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Awesome!!! If you are staying on Virginia Beach, make the trek out to West Neck for food here. Cool setting, great food and great service. Good beer selection as well.

Tags: Romantic, Great Beer, Fun, Casual, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kind staff, very helpful, seafood was d ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Kind staff, very helpful, seafood was delicious. again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried the Kale salad along with the m ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We tried the Kale salad along with the mussels, fried calamari, and steamed shrimp. Everything was really good, but the mussels sauce was more like spaghetti sauce. Not what we were expecting, but everything else was really good (including the cocktails). We had an early dinner so we were the only people there on a Monday early evening but by the time we left, others had arrived. Service was prompt and courteous. We'd go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It's always great here, the food and the ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

It's always great here, the food and the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and ambiance. A little bit o ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food and ambiance. A little bit of a drive from our hotel, but definitely worth it. Staff was good with our almost 2 year old son and they had a good kids menu for him as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It's hard for me to tell you how outstan ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

It's hard for me to tell you how outstanding The Landing is because I want to keep it out little secret. The food is amazing and the staff is exceptional... There I said it, you're missing out if you go somewhere else.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The filet was absolutely amazing as were ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The filet was absolutely amazing as were the crab cakes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was not good....scallops were under ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food was not good....scallops were undercooked other meals were just OK. Nice looking place and the service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent food and service!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding, first time at The Landing a ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Outstanding, first time at The Landing and regret not going sooner. One of the best restaurants in the area. Will be back with friends so they can get hooked.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered a glass of sauvignon blanc thi ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I ordered a glass of sauvignon blanc thinking it would be reasonably priced. My fault. I wish the server would have told me it was $12/glass!! Then I ordered a 2nd. So I paid $24 for 2 glasses of wine.

In addition, they have several non-client friendly rules. 1. Bread is not provided unless you ask. 2. Happy hour prices are good only at the bar, not at the table.

Add the above concerns to the very high noise level--my group will not be returning.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

Tuscan Tuna had way to many conflicting ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Tuscan Tuna had way to many conflicting flavors but the tuna itself was good. I wouldn't go back as it wasn't worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Was in Va Beach for annual beach vacatio ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Was in Va Beach for annual beach vacation and needed/wanted a place with an intriguing menu but also kid-friendly. The Landing delivered in spades. I had the Filet Oscar (sous vide to med rare) and my wife had the tuna tacos. We considered our meal at The Landing one of the top 2 best meals in 6 yrs since we've been at Va Beach.

Just a really enjoyable experience that I highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

First time dining at The Landing. Good ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

First time dining at The Landing. Good food. Picked Tuesday night for the prime rib special.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Very pleasant surprise! Food and service ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Very pleasant surprise! Food and service were exceptional. Nice bar, nice wine list. Oysters from their own oyster farm were off the charts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the atmosphere here and food is pre ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Love the atmosphere here and food is pretty good.

Always a good time.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We drive an hr just for dinner. This pla ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We drive an hr just for dinner. This place has it all!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointed in food quality...just okay ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Disappointed in food quality...just okay...not planning a return trip...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

GREAT CRAFT BEER SELECTION AND HAPPY HOU ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

GREAT CRAFT BEER SELECTION AND HAPPY HOUR AT THE BAR!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed a lovely brunch for Father's ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We enjoyed a lovely brunch for Father's Day. We had heard so much about the Bloody Mary Bar but they did not have it which was a bit of a disappointment. As always the atmosphere and service was superb. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. The presentation and portion size of entrees was nice but definitely lacked the wow factor that their dinner menu has. Tater tots?!

I mean tater tots are good especially for the kids but honestly I expected some well executed home fries for the grown ups. I had the tenderloin Benedict which was delicious and beautifully presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This place is a hidden gem in Virginia B ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This place is a hidden gem in Virginia Beach. So glad we found it as it is right close to our new neighborhood and we will definitely be going back. Great food, great people and overall a fantastic experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We tried The Landing for the first time ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

We tried The Landing for the first time last night and were not very impressed. I made my reservation via Open Table and included in my reservation that we were there to celebrate our 29th wedding anniversary. Not once during our visit was that acknowledged. When we arrived, we were led to a table that was clearly a four top table that was slid apart (not very far) to make two smaller tables. There was already a couple sat at the other "table." The other "table" that we were led to had a wall to one side. So, not only was we to share our anniversary with another couple that we did not know, but we had to sit in a corner! There were four EMPTY high top tables in the bar area, so we requested to sit there.

The bartender had to be our server, which I would have understood had we actually sat at the bar. It took him way too long to come over to us - at least 7-8 minutes. Our appetizer took a good 20 minutes and our meal took at least 15 minutes, if not longer, after were were done with the appetizer.

The food quality was good and it was hot, but the service level was sub par at best.

We will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Friends spoke highly of the place. This ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Friends spoke highly of the place. This was our first visit and we weren't disappointed. Oysters Rockefeller, wedge salad and scallops; I couldn't have been more pleased. Nancy got the Shrimp Alfredo and it was exceptional as well. Our wait staff Howard could not have been more delightful and personable. We are going back Sunday for Father's Day brunch, if that is any indication.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We have eaten here at least 6 times but on Fri.night 6/10 we were very disappointed with the food. Our salads( came without dressing and the tuna app was bland. Although cooked to the correct temp inside it was an ugly gray color on the outside, not browned or flavorful.

I love salt but the scallop app was way over salted.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

The Kyle and Brent combo always do a gre ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The Kyle and Brent combo always do a great job. We're looking forward to the new menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My wife and I had the she-crab soup, cr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I had the she-crab soup, crab dip, steamed snow crab legs, shrimp dinner, key lime pie, and crème brulee. Everything was high quality and came out relatively fast. Our only complaint was the lighting seemed a bit low for us which made it difficult to see the food or menu. We'll definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Nice Mothers Day brunch

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a reservation for 5 people for Mothers Day brunch. We were promptly seated, and our server was great. I had the special mimosa that was delicious and the shrimp and grits were outstanding. I had my young children with me and there was a nice kids menu and crayons. Makes dining out at a nice place easier- thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner with family

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Our server Anna was the best. She was very attentive to our needs and was very personable. We never had to ask for anything. She anticipated our needs. The food was delicious and presentation was fabulous. An enjoyable evening!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food Cooked to Perfection

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The food was perfectly cooked ( I had Duck my son had seafood). the seasoning and wonderful. I the price was right. the Waitress outstanding. I loved it and will go back

many more times. It is in a nice quaint area and could be very romantic. I guarantee you will love it. I then sat out side and enjoyed the view!!.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Service was amazing, and the quality of ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Service was amazing, and the quality of the food ingredients seemed to be good, the food just wasn't prepared very well. Scallops and shrimp were overcooked. I asked for flounder blackened and it was served with normal seasonings. The only thing that seemed to be less than fresh were the mussels in my husbands seafood stew. Seafood stew was a special and ended up costing $34/ bowl. I guess we should have asked for pricing on the specials . . . I do not recommend sitting at the tables along the wall with the cushions hanging from bars. Seats were too low and xtremely uncomfortsble. I would leave before I say in on again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.