About The Landing @ West Neck

2484 North Landing Rd.
Virginia Beach, VA 23456
View Larger Map

The Landing @ West Neck highlights locally sourced ingredients with an upscale casual atmosphere. Our Cuisine is inspired by fresh locally sourced products with an emphasis on seafood but with enough variety for everyone. We offer local craft beers and our cocktail menu highlights crafted cocktails with some traditional classics done right.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8ish pm

Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
George Mason Dr.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 301-9604

Website:
http://www.thelandingvb.com/

Catering:
www.hightidecatering.com The Landing is the home of High Tide Catering and is the foundation of our restaurant. We cater all types of events. 757-301-9607

Parking Details:
Parking along the front of the building with spots available all around the building.

Executive Chef:
Brent Cowan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Tuesday July 19th 2016 we will host a "Washington Wine Dinner" The menu will consist of Pacific Northwest inspired cuisine and ingredients paired with wines form Washington State. The cost for this dinner will be $90.00 per person before tax and gratuity. Please call for more information or to make your reservation for this dinner.

Restaurant Photos

  • The Landing @ West Neck
The Landing @ West Neck

Promotions

Washington Wine Dinner

Tuesday Jul 19, 2016 from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

Washington Wine Dinner

Tuesday Jul 19, 2016 from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Join us for our Washington Wine Dinner! We are featuring dishes inspired by the Pacific Northwest and pairing them with some fantastic wines from Washington State. We are highlighting Col Solare 2009 from Red Mountain or Washington States "Napa". Excludes Tax and Tip. Dinner is $90 per person not including tax or tip. Reservations are required. Special valid on Tuesday Jul 19, 2016 from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

The Landing @ West Neck Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Virginia
Seafood
Virginia
Best Value
Norfolk / Virginia Beach
Best Restaurants in Virginia Beach ›

fit for foodies (21)
neighborhood gem (21)
good for groups (20)
See All
special occasion (16)
great for lunch (10)
great for brunch (9)
kid-friendly (8)
great for outdoor dining (7)
romantic (6)
notable wine list (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
hot spot (4)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
168 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Disappointed in food quality...just okay ...

Dined 4 days ago

Disappointed in food quality...just okay...not planning a return trip...

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

GREAT CRAFT BEER SELECTION AND HAPPY HOU ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

GREAT CRAFT BEER SELECTION AND HAPPY HOUR AT THE BAR!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed a lovely brunch for Father's ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We enjoyed a lovely brunch for Father's Day. We had heard so much about the Bloody Mary Bar but they did not have it which was a bit of a disappointment. As always the atmosphere and service was superb. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. The presentation and portion size of entrees was nice but definitely lacked the wow factor that their dinner menu has. Tater tots?! I mean tater tots are good especially for the kids but honestly I expected some well executed home fries for the grown ups. I had the tenderloin Benedict which was delicious and beautifully presented.

food5
ambience5
service5

This place is a hidden gem in Virginia B ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This place is a hidden gem in Virginia Beach. So glad we found it as it is right close to our new neighborhood and we will definitely be going back. Great food, great people and overall a fantastic experience.

food4
ambience3
service2

We tried The Landing for the first time ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We tried The Landing for the first time last night and were not very impressed. I made my reservation via Open Table and included in my reservation that we were there to celebrate our 29th wedding anniversary. Not once during our visit was that acknowledged. When we arrived, we were led to a table that was clearly a four top table that was slid apart (not very far) to make two smaller tables. There was already a couple sat at the other "table." The other "table" that we were led to had a wall to one side. So, not only was we to share our anniversary with another couple that we did not know, but we had to sit in a corner! There were four EMPTY high top tables in the bar area, so we requested to sit there. The bartender had to be our server, which I would have understood had we actually sat at the bar. It took him way too long to come over to us - at least 7-8 minutes. Our appetizer took a good 20 minutes and our meal took at least 15 minutes, if not longer, after were were done with the appetizer. The food quality was good and it was hot, but the service level was sub par at best. We will not be going back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friends spoke highly of the place. This ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Friends spoke highly of the place. This was our first visit and we weren't disappointed. Oysters Rockefeller, wedge salad and scallops; I couldn't have been more pleased. Nancy got the Shrimp Alfredo and it was exceptional as well. Our wait staff Howard could not have been more delightful and personable. We are going back Sunday for Father's Day brunch, if that is any indication.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Disappointed

Dined on June 10, 2016

We have eaten here at least 6 times but on Fri.night 6/10 we were very disappointed with the food. Our salads( came without dressing and the tuna app was bland. Although cooked to the correct temp inside it was an ugly gray color on the outside, not browned or flavorful. I love salt but the scallop app was way over salted.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

The Kyle and Brent combo always do a gre ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

The Kyle and Brent combo always do a great job. We're looking forward to the new menu.

food4
ambience5
service5

My wife and I had the she-crab soup, cr ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I had the she-crab soup, crab dip, steamed snow crab legs, shrimp dinner, key lime pie, and crème brulee. Everything was high quality and came out relatively fast. Our only complaint was the lighting seemed a bit low for us which made it difficult to see the food or menu. We'll definitely be back!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice Mothers Day brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a reservation for 5 people for Mothers Day brunch. We were promptly seated, and our server was great. I had the special mimosa that was delicious and the shrimp and grits were outstanding. I had my young children with me and there was a nice kids menu and crayons. Makes dining out at a nice place easier- thanks!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner with family

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our server Anna was the best. She was very attentive to our needs and was very personable. We never had to ask for anything. She anticipated our needs. The food was delicious and presentation was fabulous. An enjoyable evening!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food Cooked to Perfection

Dined on April 17, 2016

The food was perfectly cooked ( I had Duck my son had seafood). the seasoning and wonderful. I the price was right. the Waitress outstanding. I loved it and will go back many more times. It is in a nice quaint area and could be very romantic. I guarantee you will love it. I then sat out side and enjoyed the view!!.

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5

Service was amazing, and the quality of ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Service was amazing, and the quality of the food ingredients seemed to be good, the food just wasn't prepared very well. Scallops and shrimp were overcooked. I asked for flounder blackened and it was served with normal seasonings. The only thing that seemed to be less than fresh were the mussels in my husbands seafood stew. Seafood stew was a special and ended up costing $34/ bowl. I guess we should have asked for pricing on the specials . . . I do not recommend sitting at the tables along the wall with the cushions hanging from bars. Seats were too low and xtremely uncomfortsble. I would leave before I say in on again.

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food.

Dined on April 3, 2016

Delicious food.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Easter brunch

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Easter brunch for 4. Food and service were very good. Will continue to return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Oysters Rockefeller Rocked!

Dined on March 17, 2016

The Oysters Rockefeller were the best I've had anywhere. Food, from wedge salad to crab stuffed flounder, potatoes, Brussels sprouts and bread was delicious. We especially liked our server, but, unfortunately, cannot remember her name. I wasn't thrilled with the 1st glass of Chardonnay--which was good but too fruity-crisp for my tastes. So, without my asking, she brought a taste of the more buttery brand and, when I liked it, replaced my previous glass with this. Her timing was great, interactions just frequent & friendly enough, and she was knowledgeable about everything from gin & single malt scotch cocktails onward.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Will Return Again

Dined on March 16, 2016

Excellent service and outstanding food. Easy parking. We'll come back again even though it's 30 minutes from where we live.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the Duck and my wife had the Surf ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

I had the Duck and my wife had the Surf and Turf, both were outstanding.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome service!

Dined on February 28, 2016

Busy night in the restaurant. We sat in the bar section and had awesome service! Wonderful bartender! The food was excellent as well.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service1

My server was not attentive and overlook ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

My server was not attentive and overlooked me through out the meal. The food was good but not great.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great spot

Dined on February 28, 2016

This restaurant is quite a gem. The outside of the building is very cute and relaxing with the rocking chairs and the lake with water fountain. We made reservations for restaurant week and picked the landing due to the variety of the menu and having three courses of food vs a appetizer, main course and dessert. The two courses we had before dinner were amazing and a decent size. We were just about stuffed by the time dinner came. My husband order the crab stuffed flounder which was awesome. I also ordered a whiskey with a splash of lime and grenade and was made perfect, which is a first. Despite the place being busy our waitress was very nice, attentive and on point with service. We will definitely return here especially when it gets warmer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCELLENT!!

Dined on February 27, 2016

The food was delicious from the she crab soup to the flounder.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

landing

Dined on February 26, 2016

one of our local favorites. great food and excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply amazing

Dined on February 26, 2016

Everything about it was perfection. Our waitress was lovely and the food was beyond amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Best She Crab soup in the area!!!

Dined on February 25, 2016

Best She Crab soup in the area!!!

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

There were several large groups the day ...

Dined on February 25, 2016

There were several large groups the day we went for lunch so it was noisy. Our waiter was attentive to our needs. We were not rushed with our meal and they waited until we had finished each course before bringing out the next. I made the mistake of not requesting a table when we booked; the booth was a snug fit. All in all though we enjoyed the experience.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding experience during VB Restaur ...

Dined on February 24, 2016

Outstanding experience during VB Restaurant Week. The food and service were superb! Love the atmosphere. Great place for a special occasion!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on February 22, 2016

This was my first time going to The Landing. I made a reservation at 8:00 through Open Table not knowing that they closed at 8:00 on Sundays. We arrived at 8:10 and they accommodated us. They said they accepted our reservation since it was the first time we had ever dined there. We were already off to a good start. The menu was fun and different. We eat out and there were a lot of good entrees to chose from. We ordered the Sante Fe oysters appetizers which was delicious and I will definitely go back for. For entrees we had the Filet Mignon and Crabcakes. They were both delicious! The atmosphere was great and we look forward to going back for cocktails at the bar and dinner. Our kids were with us and they loved it too.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was good the server was just do ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

The food was good the server was just doing her job. The rockfish special was announced but it wasn't until I saw the bill did I see a price of $35. I think that if most of the entree's are in the teens, you have an obligation to mention the price of a special when it's twice the average cost of everything else. Overall, If I wanted to pay $170 for dinner on a Sunday night for 4 I'd go to a place with better service, in a setting that didn't look like a beach pub.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, the presentation was exc ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

Delicious food, the presentation was excellent, loved the Banana Fosters with ice cream :-)

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious, service was excellen ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was delicious, service was excellent, and cocktails were well mixed.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Valentine's day

Dined on February 13, 2016

We went before Valentine's Day but apparently they did the pre fix menu all weekend. Had no idea and didn't know how expensive it was. It took about 15 minutes for someone to greet us at our table. The charcuterie board was a little disappointing. A burnt piece of bread with 2 cubes of cheese. Other than that the food was amazing and we will go back again just not for a holiday meal. The she crab soup was to die for.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice spot for a date night

Dined on February 13, 2016

My boyfriend and I dined here on the day before Valentine's Day for dinner. We had reservations but was seated by the entrance and door. I hated where we sat and I faced the door. There was plenty of available seating but we were sat there. I asked to see if we could sit somewhere else but then didn't press the issue when the hostess didn't appear to want to sit us somewhere else. I wasn't aware that we had to choose from a special Vday menu which was more expensive than what I wanted my boyfriend to pay. There were 3 courses, an appetizer, 1st, and 2nd course. The fried shrimp and oysters were good and salads. I ordered tuna but wasn't aware that it would be served basically raw so asked the waiter to bring cooked salmon which he did and it was good. Oh, you also couldn't substitute your sides which I didn't like. Food was good but $140 for dinner was pricey. I will go there again but not for a holiday to avoid another overly priced special menu.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5

We went here for Valentine's day. I real ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

We went here for Valentine's day. I really wasn't expecting a set menu but it was delicious. I wanna go back for their regular menu and eat all day.

food3
ambience3
service5

Great service Food was not extraordinar ...

vip
Dined on January 28, 2016

Great service Food was not extraordinary

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

something always a little off

Dined on January 13, 2016

Have eaten here several times, each time had some type of issue. Last time steak poorly cooked. Corrected by Kitchen. Wait staff improving. Have had some poorly timed meals, main meal brought out while still eating appetizer for example or cocktail arrive after appetizer. Although food is tasty they still need to step up their game. Can be loud if seated by bar area.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our dinner last night. Our serv ...

Dined on January 10, 2016

Enjoyed our dinner last night. Our server was Anna and she was terrific. The special Thai tomato soup was the best I've had! My blackened tuna was cooked to perfection. We made another reservation before we even left!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

landing

Dined on December 31, 2015

food was outstanding. service was very timely. server was very good. overall a very nice dining experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Hide A Way

Dined on December 31, 2015

Great friendly service from the greeting at the door until our departure. Delicious dishes and to know that The Landing using local produce just gives it an extra plus in my book. Our secret hide away we happen to ride up on one hot Sunday, unsure if they were open yet. However, the staff invited us in and from that day we were hooked.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

New Years Eve at the landing

Dined on December 31, 2015

Arrived on time table was ready, Received the menu with no prices on any items on the menu and very limited selection. I ordered stuffed flounder stuffed with crab meat on a bed of lobster mashed potatoes knowing this time of year the flounder would not be fresh but figured it would be okay and it was just that "ok" absolutely no taste in flounder, crabmeat and so called lobster mashed potatoes still can't figure how they called them lobster mashed potatoes. My wife had scallops which were pretty good but few. So we did not complain as I am not a person who complains in public or causes a scene and then I received our check for 92.00 for 2 subpar meals, 2 cheepo house salads and 2 each mixed drinks. In reality it was about a 50.00 meal all total. I am a Virginia beach native, been in the seafood business and been around seafood all my life and this was not even close to being worth 92.00. What a disappointing end to 2015

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.