About The Land and Water Co.

2978 Carlsbad Blvd
#110
Carlsbad, CA 92008
View Larger Map

We serve only the very best from the land and water. Responsible, traceable seafood, humanely raised and purely natural terrestrial proteins…organically grown and locally harvested produce. Our seasonal menu is crafted from scratch by our chefs, who contribute years of experience into each dish.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Sushi, French, Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday 3:00pm – 10:00pm
Happy Hour ~ $5.00 Craft Cocktails & $1.00 off all drinks ~ 3pm – 5:30pm
Dinner ~ 5:30pm – 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday 11:30am – 12am
Lunch ~ 11:30am – 3pm
Happy Hour ~ $5.00 Craft Cocktails & $1.00 off all drinks ~ 3pm – 5:30pm
Dinner ~ 5:30pm – 10:30pm
Late Night Happy Hour ~ $5.00 Craft Cocktails & $1.00 off all drinks ~ 10:30pm – 12am

Sunday 11:30am – 10:00pm
Lunch ~ 11:30am – 3pm
Happy Hour ~ $5.00 Craft Cocktails & $1.00 off all drinks ~ 3pm – 5:30pm
Dinner ~ 5:30pm – 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 729-5263

Website:
http://www.landandwaterco.com/

Entertainment:
No live entertainment.

Catering:
We do not offer regular catering but at Chef's discretion we can do off site dining for sushi and hot food.

Parking Details:
Center and Street Parking

Public Transit:
Coaster Stop 1 block away

Executive Chef:
Robert Ruiz

Private Party Facilities:
We have two spots. One is reservation only area for public and the other is reservation only for guests at the discretion of management. For special dinners and parties over 6 please visit our website and click on http://www.landandwaterco.com/events-at-lwc/

Private Party Contact:
Pamela Harper: 7607295263x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Land and Water Co., Carlsbad, CA
  • The Land and Water Co., Carlsbad, CA
  • The Land and Water Co., Carlsbad, CA
  • The Land and Water Co., Carlsbad, CA
  • The Land and Water Co., Carlsbad, CA
  • The Land and Water Co., Carlsbad, CA
  • The Land and Water Co., Carlsbad, CA
The Land and Water Co., Carlsbad, CA
The Land and Water Co., Carlsbad, CA
The Land and Water Co., Carlsbad, CA
The Land and Water Co., Carlsbad, CA
The Land and Water Co., Carlsbad, CA
The Land and Water Co., Carlsbad, CA
The Land and Water Co., Carlsbad, CA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Land and Water Co. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Carlsbad ›

Creative Cuisine (17)
Special Occasion (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
See All
Fit for Foodies (16)
Local Ingredients (13)
Good for a Date (11)
Casual (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Organic (9)
Healthy (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Romantic (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Authentic (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Fun (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Business Meals (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Cozy (3)
Historic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Scenic View (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tapas (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
People Watching (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Live Sports (1)
Family Style (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
267 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of the best meals I have had in a lo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

One of the best meals I have had in a long time. Will definitely make this a regular stop when in the Carlsbad area and will recommend it to everyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and innovative food! We ordere ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Delicious and innovative food! We ordered one sushi roll, two small bites and one large bite. Everything was delicious. Our server was helpful and friendly. The wine was great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was great. You could tell the c ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Service was great. You could tell the chef put his/her heart into the food we had. Ordered pork shoulder, musubi roll and a fish dish. All were really really good. The price was high but once you tasted your meal, you understood why. We will go back to try more of the sushi rolls/sashimi next time.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is hands done the best restaurant! ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This is hands done the best restaurant! My husband and I list it our favorite from the bacon lardon to the green roll and my husband love the sushi!! Your server Ashley is beyond pleasant!! Thank you Land and Water for making my husbands birthday special!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding but very small over ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food was outstanding but very small overpriced portions. Service and everything else good. Seating next to the open door inside entrance to joining surf shop was kind of weird.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

Celebtaring with my sons really enjoy. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Celebtaring with my sons really enjoy. Nice place. Clean

Amanda was the best waiter we had a nice Proseco

Food awesome Price good

I'll go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Three of us dined here whilst travelling ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Three of us dined here whilst travelling through Carlsbad and what a treat the food turned out to be, we had the steamed buns which like a Chinese bun but open filled with strips of beef in a south east asia style - fantastic, we also took the beef skewers which were a real surprise and different being a slow cook beef in an asia style sweet sauce. We also took sushi which again was really enjoyable, I would definitely go back if we found ourselves in Carlsbad again.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Molecular Gastronomy, Fun, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were in town from the Bay Area and de ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We were in town from the Bay Area and decided to try this restaurant, liking the local and sustainable, ethical sourcing- what a delight it was. The food was creative and tasty, service was good, drinks yummy as well. We had a deconstructed vegetable pot pie which was delicious and unusual, and several of the sashimi options. Highly recommended find in Carlsbad, a nice departure from the standard fare but not overly precious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Authentic, Organic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always our favorite for sashimi & sushi. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Always our favorite for sashimi & sushi. Wonderful combinations of seasonal foods.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We waited almost 15 minutes before a ser ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We waited almost 15 minutes before a server greeted us only after we asked for some assistance. Ironically, who we stopped ended up being our server and we were told she would be right with us. I watched multiple other servers and I believe managers walk around and no one ever greeted us, not even water was offered. I've been a server before and to simply tell someone you will be right with them, rather than be ignored is always the best policy. Food is amazing, but service and noise level (surprising loud) left a little to be desired

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We've been here before, and generally lo ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We've been here before, and generally love the restaurant! I made a reservation and brought a small group. The table location was in an odd side room, but it wouldn't prevent us from coming back. Our server was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Service was excellent. Drinks were creat ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Service was excellent. Drinks were creative and delicious. Food was definitely something to talk about.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been here 3 times and every time wa ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Have been here 3 times and every time was fantastic!

Tags: Organic, Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a treat! Organic, susatainable, g ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Always a treat! Organic, susatainable, gluten free options. By far my favorite menu and my go to for date night.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Organic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I absolutely loved dining at Land and Wa ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I absolutely loved dining at Land and Water. Their appetizer, the bacon lardon is to die for and also one of a kind! I would go back in a heart beat.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

nice place food presentation was great s ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 2, 2016

nice place food presentation was great service very good a lil pricey but very good parking was easy with valet

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Server and the staff were very attentive ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Server and the staff were very attentive. Well done! See you soon

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall good. It was muggy inside. The w ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Overall good. It was muggy inside. The window was opened upon request. The employees need to be aware of the climate inside and make it comfortable at all times. Otherwise, the server was really friendly and did a good job.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very limited menu. Had to ask for norma ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Very limited menu. Had to ask for normal sushi items...soy, ginger, wasabi. Fresh tasting sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I dined with a friend I hadn't seen for ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 21, 2016

I dined with a friend I hadn't seen for some time and really wanted to get caught up. Can't fault the service or the food, but the noise level was exceedingly high even though it was early evening on a week night and few people had arrived, and along with the loud music, it made it very difficult to carrying on any meaningful conversation. I have no problem with "happy hours" and enjoying a lively conversation, but when these two are combined with a need for a quiet dinner, it detracts from the overall experience.

It's a common lament of mine and keeps my husband and me away from places we would otherwise enjoy. Makes me long for the days of plush upholstered booths, heavy drapes, thick carpets and low lights, surrounded by the strings of violins. But those are days that left with the relish tray. One can dream!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Sushi is fresh and the highest quality p ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Sushi is fresh and the highest quality possible. The shrimp tempura roll is awesome, sustainably sources wild shrimp w/ real crab and avocado. The fish entree special is always a uniquely cooked medley of vegetables and pan seared catch of the day. Duck confit steam buns add a Vietnamese twist w/ mint and super spicy peppers. The bacon lardon is pork belly on top of corn bread, topped w/ orange marmalade and fresh crab and a jalapeño slice- talk about a complex bite. A must go for Japanese fusion exquisite cuisine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Melt in your mouth appetizers, especiall ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Melt in your mouth appetizers, especially the beef sticks. Wonderful flavors in everything we ate. Excellent sushi menu - what they do is the very best compared with any other sushi/sashimi I have had. Magnificent non-sushi items - so good, I wish there were more to choose from!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We go here like every month, and usually ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We go here like every month, and usually sit outside because it is easier to hear each other. Inside it can get loud but just because everyone is having a great time!! It's such a fun nice restaurant/bar. If you sit outside the view is perfect for people watching!! All of the host and waiters are soooo nice and the drinks and food are DELICIOUS! This is a place we constantly come back to.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic fresh sushi in a fun, historic ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Fantastic fresh sushi in a fun, historic setting. Be sure to check out the surf shop next door with vintage surfboards on display.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding food. We are from CT and thi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Outstanding food. We are from CT and this was our second visit back. We will keep coming back when we are in San Diego.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food here is always amazingly fresh ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food here is always amazingly fresh and delicious but the service is the best in Carlsbad. Everyone who works here is so nice and friendly. My favorite restaurant in North County for sure

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, fresh and unique flavors ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Delicious food, fresh and unique flavors. It's definitely worth trying, I'm sure everyone who dines there enjoys themselves and the food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Had an absolutely delicious meal and a v ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Had an absolutely delicious meal and a very warm and welcoming atmosphere Loved the fresh organic food! Will definitely be back again!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was a bit slowed. Waitress ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 24, 2016

The service was a bit slowed. Waitress was training new hired waitress. We asked our check & took a while. Also took a while to get our orders & we were starving.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

What a nice place. Everything was good. ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 21, 2016

What a nice place. Everything was good. Their Sushi and Sashimi are delicious. They spice most things so it isn't bland. The service is very good and the Jerk Chicken was outstanding. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great sushi and Pinot!! Sake list awesom ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great sushi and Pinot!!

Sake list awesome as well.

Service great.

Abdul a true pro,

Thx:)

Robbie

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our oysters, sushi and sashimi dishes we ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our oysters, sushi and sashimi dishes were outstanding and we also loved the heirloom tomato salad. The great majority of the menu is gluten free-even the s'mores!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went 2 weeks ago and has the best meal o ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Went 2 weeks ago and has the best meal of my life! Went back in Thursday and it was just eh. So disappointed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

L&W is by far my favorite restaurant. I ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 14, 2016

L&W is by far my favorite restaurant. I am allergic to gluten and have not been able to eat sushi for years. L&W is the only place I feel comfortable eating sushi. Most, if not all of their sauces are gluten free (even their soy sauce). The staff is very accommodating (Ashley is amazing) and the food is delicious! They also have a great happy hour everyday. One of the best restaurants in San Diego for sure!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been disappointed with many of th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 10, 2016

I have been disappointed with many of the north San Diego county restaurants as being good but not great. Land and Water was not another good place to eat, it is stellar. The food is fresh, imaginative, perfectly prepared and exciting to experience. Having traveled the world, I would rate the food at Land and Water among the best I have experienced with my meal being one of my all time favorites. Highly recommend this as a destination to reinvigorate your enthusiasm for dining out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant! We enjoyed the foo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Excellent restaurant! We enjoyed the food very much and the service was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I made the reservation for 6:30 and at 5 ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 9, 2016

I made the reservation for 6:30 and at 5 I happened to check my phone and saw that it was moved to 5:30 without anyone telling me, so we had to scramble to get there on time.

The restaurant is one big room and it is very loud. Instead of having a relaxing evening we were worn out by the end by having to shout at each other the whole time.

The food is imaginative and good, though over-priced. I wish them well but I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Best sushi I have ever had!!!!! Fresh, i ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Best sushi I have ever had!!!!! Fresh, inventive and delicious, my new favorite restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food came slowly to the table and on ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food came slowly to the table and one guest didn't receive his food. We had to track down the waiter twice for service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food is very good. Outside is a little ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food is very good. Outside is a little odd but inside is great. Lots of things to share with groups.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.