About The Land and Water Co.

2978 Carlsbad Blvd
#110
Carlsbad, CA 92008
View Larger Map

We serve only the very best from the land and water. Responsible, traceable seafood, humanely raised and purely natural terrestrial proteins…organically grown and locally harvested produce. Our seasonal menu is crafted from scratch by our chefs, who contribute years of experience into each dish.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Sushi, French, Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday 3:00pm – 10:00pm
Happy Hour ~ $5.00 Craft Cocktails & $1.00 off all drinks ~ 3pm – 5:30pm
Dinner ~ 5:30pm – 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday 11:30am – 12am
Lunch ~ 11:30am – 3pm
Happy Hour ~ $5.00 Craft Cocktails & $1.00 off all drinks ~ 3pm – 5:30pm
Dinner ~ 5:30pm – 10:30pm
Late Night Happy Hour ~ $5.00 Craft Cocktails & $1.00 off all drinks ~ 10:30pm – 12am

Sunday 11:30am – 10:00pm
Lunch ~ 11:30am – 3pm
Happy Hour ~ $5.00 Craft Cocktails & $1.00 off all drinks ~ 3pm – 5:30pm
Dinner ~ 5:30pm – 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 729-5263

Website:
http://www.landandwaterco.com/

Entertainment:
No live entertainment.

Catering:
We do not offer regular catering but at Chef's discretion we can do off site dining for sushi and hot food.

Parking Details:
Center and Street Parking

Public Transit:
Coaster Stop 1 block away

Executive Chef:
Robert Ruiz

Private Party Facilities:
We have two spots. One is reservation only area for public and the other is reservation only for guests at the discretion of management. For special dinners and parties over 6 please visit our website and click on http://www.landandwaterco.com/events-at-lwc/

Private Party Contact:
Pamela Harper: 7607295263x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • The Land and Water Co.
  • The Land and Water Co.
  • The Land and Water Co.
  • The Land and Water Co.
  • The Land and Water Co.
  • The Land and Water Co.
  • The Land and Water Co.
The Land and Water Co.
The Land and Water Co.
The Land and Water Co.
The Land and Water Co.
The Land and Water Co.
The Land and Water Co.
The Land and Water Co.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Land and Water Co. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (43)
neighborhood gem (27)
special occasion (24)
See All
great for outdoor dining (22)
hot spot (16)
romantic (15)
great for lunch (14)
good for groups (13)
kid-friendly (9)
great for brunch (8)
vibrant bar scene (7)
scenic view (7)
late-night find (7)
notable wine list (4)
Sort By:
Newest
216 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Was uncomfortably HOT! Not good for eat ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Was uncomfortably HOT! Not good for eating sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Service was ridiculously slow, bathrooms ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Service was ridiculously slow, bathrooms were filthy. meal took 2.5 hours for 5 people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

From the first bite to the last, both my ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

From the first bite to the last, both my husband and I were silent, so thoroughly were we enjoying the amazing sensations and tastes in our mouth. We both agreed, our dinners were the best we'd EVER had! My husband is a very picky eater!! Can't wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was local and organic and delicious ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was local and organic and delicious . Spectacular service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

A great restaurant for sharing food. It ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

A great restaurant for sharing food. It was delicious and fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent menu....High quality food with ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent menu....High quality food with a different twist. The owner and staff here does an excellent job with food combining. I am a foodie and am an Italian that knows food. Great job here! We will be back as we are locals...Everyone needs to come and experience how food can taste when done creatively and with a loving hand...

Thanks to everyone

Mark DiBenedetti and Family

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Think the waitress put us off 20 min bec ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Think the waitress put us off 20 min because of our age, early 20s. The last dish had a tooth in the sushi.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was good but the portions were ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was good but the portions were very small. Staff was friendly and helpful. Atmosphere was nice. Recommended for a special occasion but not if you're hungry and want a great value.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

My wife and I had dinner at Land & Water ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My wife and I had dinner at Land & Water, and I must say that it was one of the best meals I've had in quite a while. The service was outstanding, the food was excellent, and the atmosphere was great. I would recommend this establishment to anyone who enjoys good food in a relaxed and casual atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surprisingly good food food for a touris ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Surprisingly good food food for a tourist area. Innovative Asian inspired food and sushi that is delicious and interesting. Definitely try the lengua (forget that it's tounge), a rich and unctuous delight.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were very good. Th ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food and service were very good. The noise level was loud, too loud to have a conversation with my date.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Good quality sushi, but be prepared to p ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Good quality sushi, but be prepared to pay big bucks for a satisfying dinner. To us, it's worth it once every two years.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For a father & daughter night out we had ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

For a father & daughter night out we had a wonderful time w/ great and attentive service. We ordered a couple of "small plate" enters along with a couple of "large plate" enters which we enjoyed sharing. The flavors, presentation, quality, & quantity were excellent. The palate was truly pleased by every dish placed before us. It was a great night together, hi-lighted by great food, service, and yes a wonderful daughter.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent farm-to-table real food! Can' ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Excellent farm-to-table real food! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I are regulars. We love ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My husband and I are regulars. We love the food and the vibe. We have brought many out of town guests when they come to visit and all seem to enjoy, even the pickiest eaters. Highly recommend it. We have too many favorite dishes to list. We love when Ashley is our server! She is fun, energetic and always spot on with her recommendations!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant meal we had in a long ti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Best restaurant meal we had in a long time. Pork Lardon and Skirt Steak Pappardelle were outstanding! My husband loved the chicken and gravy. Brownie sundae was the perfect dessert. We will be back! Only issue is noise level but find that to be an issue in many SD restaurants!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great spot, little lack of service. We l ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great spot, little lack of service. We live in the village and it isn't a long walk from our house. Tough to beat the quality of food but service is service and needs to be there in order to keep any customer coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Overall Fantastic

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We have eaten here a couple of times and always had wonderful food. This time, everything was great except for the quality of uni, which we get for dessert, so that was a disappointment. Other than that, it was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dad and grad Dinner with my youngest dau ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Dad and grad Dinner with my youngest daughter. 7:45 reservation told to wait... 8:15 still waiting. Hostess forgot about us. Painfully slow service with appetizer arriving with the meal 1 hour after ordering. Embarrassing time for me. 3rd time customer who usually sits at the sushi bar and should have because there were plenty of seats when I arrived at 7:45.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

We go to Land and Water often and are al ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We go to Land and Water often and are always happy with the food, drinks, and service. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Even though I went with my wife and she is not a big sushi person, she did enjoy some of the meals that were there. But I think the sushi is the best. Ask the sushi chef to make a creation and you let him know how much you want to spend.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely amazing food and loved the ow ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Absolutely amazing food and loved the owner/sushi chef. Witty, charming and playful! In addition to an outstanding chef! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's a nice place with a good sushi menu ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

It's a nice place with a good sushi menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

We introduced friends to Land and Water ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We introduced friends to Land and Water and were all [mostly] happy with our choices. We started by sharing the beef skewers (5 of them) and, while we enjoyed their fatty goodness, thought they were actually too rich at one skewer each and a bite each from the fifth one. It's the sort of thing you can't believe tastes so wonderful, but oh my, two bites is perhaps enough!

Each couple then shared the butter lettuce salad with the 6-minute egg. We always ask for an 8-minute egg; the waitress always fusses and has to check with the chef. This time she told us there would be a delay and an upcharge to cook a whole egg specially for us. Sigh. Really. We told her ok; there had never been an upcharge before, but fine. She explained we'd get a WHOLE egg rather than half. Our salads appeared; we were having a leisurely dinner, so whatever delay there was didn't matter. They were as delicious as ever, with the delicate lettuce and a wonderful creamy dressing with good tang, and a sprinkling of crispy parmesan.

Two of us then shared the jidori chicken and mashed potatoes, simply superb. Chicken is tender; gravy is perfect; potatoes silky. Another had the chicken himself, and the fourth had a sushi platter that was beautifully presented and disappeared quickly. The chicken-sharing couple also shared the shrimp tempura with sprinkles, which is almost dessert, with its slightly sweet sauce drizzle and crunch.

The restaurant wasn't full but was pleasantly lively. The shades were lowered by our waitress when the sun went down to that in-your-eyes angle -- she did it without our having to ask.

Service was pleasant and efficient. We declined dessert, and the bill did NOT include an egg upcharge. Good for you. We'll be back. And maybe try a different appetizer.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dishes are well plated, the crew is expe ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Dishes are well plated, the crew is experienced and works together well. The food is beyond fresh, tasty and savory. It is a mandatory stop for anybody

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food but Pricy

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Who would think that a chicken and mashed potato could be put together in such a creative way! Jidori Chicken? Wow. All courses were very creative and delicious. oysters were best either of ever had. Pesto salad amazing. Wine and cocktails were excellent. Service was good.

Negatives: restaurant was extremely noisy. This old building needs to to remodeled with better acoustics. High level of noise degraded the dining experience. Poor lighting in building, was especially annoying. We moved from a noisy area to a quieter table but the lighting was so bad we could not read the menus. PRICY! Spent $163 before tip for two people.

Despite the really interesting food and cocktails, I cannot recommend this place. Ambience not good. Way too expensive.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Quality Sushi

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This was a perfect spot for Mother's day brunch. We opted to not do the prix fixe menu and order sushi.

I got the poke...it. was. amazing. SO GOOD. It has albacore I think, with oranges and rock salt. It was perfect. I also got the spicy crunchy tuna roll. Really really good.

My mom ordered the sushi platter. They did not recommend dipping it in soy sauce and to just savor the sauces they dotted on the top. I tried a couple pieces and just wanted more sauce.

The server was super nice and the hostess. I would totally go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great chef!!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I ate there for the first time on Mother's Day, after reading a really impressive write-up on the chef. It was spot on. We had a special fish crepe that is hard to describe. The dough had a consistency I have never had before--thick and creamy with fresh minced herbs in the batter, and with just a touch of sweetness. Not only was this by far THE best crepe dish I have eaten anywhere in the world in my 54 years, but it was also one of the Top 10 DISHES I've ever tasted in ANY cuisine, for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. I asked the server to tell the chef to enter that dish in competitions, for he will surely win even more awards with that!! Finally, the servers and hosts were so awesome: kind, friendly, and helpful. They would have made canned food taste great with their affable manner. Kudos to this place on all fronts!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will come back again and again

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Get the Lardons. Get the pork buns. It's all amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very Hospitable

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

We were exploring this adorable little town on our way to San Diego and looking for a bite to eat. The hostess/waitress was very accommodating (forgive us...think her name was Debra, something with a D). My husband is not a big fan of Asian cuisine however we ordered the Water Roll and the Crispy Beef. I meant to ask for the roll to be crispy however forgot. Both were wonderful! We had our fill and it was very reasonable. Will definitely go back when we travel to LA!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expected so much more

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Just expected so much more. Service was ok but always had to get help as they seemed to be understaffed for 40% capacity on a Sunday night. The sushi lacked taste of freshness and was nothing unique. Pricing was high for the value and quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Great Sushi...about the top I have had in a while.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Nigiri was buttery and fresh Salmon, Yellow Tail and Scallops were excellent. Water Roll was really nice with an orange piece - something I had never had. Nicely priced wine and excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great place if you are on a diet!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

My parents took me for my birthday. The food was absolutely amazing but it almost felt like it was rationed! We ordered the crispy beef skewers and pickled salad to share as an app. The skewers were probably the best thing I have ever eaten. Like heaven in your mouth! The salad was good. Then we ordered one of each; the ocean roll, which was great and large. The thai shimi which tasted great but very small. The poke was good as well but also very small. We were still so hungry that we ordered another ocean roll. It took a very long time to get it out to us. Then we ordered 2 desserts: peanut icecream and that was awesome! Then we had the strawberry pie?? It was very good. I amost forgot, we ordered drinks. The kentucky buck was great. I cant wven remwmber the name of the other...it had mint, basil, vodka, simple syrup and lime. It was ok but it was very small and it cost $12.00 not worth it!

Overall, the food was great, portions are small, it is a bit pricey and don't go if you are on a time schedule because it takes a long time!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

This is my second time at Land and Water Co. .....

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The first time was out doors in the during the summer for Lunch; the breeze from the beach was wonderful and it was top-notch people-watch. The second time was indoors with friends.....lovely place

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I absolutely love this place and the staff!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

This is an absolute gem of a place. The quality of the food is really one of the best in North County. My only issue (not something terrible) is that they run out of things (i.e. gluten free beer, ginger, etc.) Not sure if that I just caught them on bad days or if they just don't buy enough of it. On the one hand you know they keep fresh everything, which I why I guess I don't mind it as they have other alternatives.

The sushi chefs that I've encountered are not only great but also creative and the type you can trust to say " just make me something" and you know it will be delicious! As someone who has some food sensitivities (GF, etc.) they are so accommodating and all their sauces are GF. Thanks so much for your kind consideration of special needs diners. :)

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Disappointed

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We visit Land & Water pretty frequently and are never disappointed. Don't be fooled by the simplicity of the names of the dishes - their "Chicken and Gravy" dish is amazing! Another must have is the Bacon Lardon....and don't forget the famous Water Roll. Love the unique selection of entrees and cocktails.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Wonderful dishes, each one was outstandi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Wonderful dishes, each one was outstanding. One person in our party was a non-seafood eater and they were very accommodating to make him a custom no-seafood roll that was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This is a loud place with poor acoustics ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

This is a loud place with poor acoustics. The good thing is that it nearly drowned out the screaming babies. Do not go here for a romantic date or if you don't enjoy screaming during your meal and leaving with a sore throat. We started with two types of hamachi: the Baja was average and the local was edible. For entrees we ordered the short ribs and the barramundi. Both were beautifully presented, cooked to perfection and delicious. The carrot cake was excellent, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Wonderful restaurant!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The menu has unique menu items including sushi, delicious entrees, we loved the fish from New Zealand, customer service was fantastic, restaurant atmosphere is cozy and inviting; wines are local and delicious... but menu items are pricey

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unusual, yummy, pricey

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Service was prompt and friendly... Food was interesting and menu just a little different; although we were there for a special birthday and nothing was offered as a special treat. Just a bit over-priced, probably won't be a "regular" spot for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.