About The Land and Water Co.

2978 Carlsbad Blvd
#110
Carlsbad, CA 92008
View Larger Map

We serve only the very best from the land and water. Responsible, traceable seafood, humanely raised and purely natural terrestrial proteins…organically grown and locally harvested produce. Our seasonal menu is crafted from scratch by our chefs, who contribute years of experience into each dish.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Sushi, French, Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday 3:00pm – 10:00pm
Happy Hour ~ $5.00 Craft Cocktails & $1.00 off all drinks ~ 3pm – 5:30pm
Dinner ~ 5:30pm – 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday 11:30am – 12am
Lunch ~ 11:30am – 3pm
Happy Hour ~ $5.00 Craft Cocktails & $1.00 off all drinks ~ 3pm – 5:30pm
Dinner ~ 5:30pm – 10:30pm
Late Night Happy Hour ~ $5.00 Craft Cocktails & $1.00 off all drinks ~ 10:30pm – 12am

Sunday 11:30am – 10:00pm
Lunch ~ 11:30am – 3pm
Happy Hour ~ $5.00 Craft Cocktails & $1.00 off all drinks ~ 3pm – 5:30pm
Dinner ~ 5:30pm – 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 729-5263

Website:
http://www.landandwaterco.com/

Entertainment:
No live entertainment.

Catering:
We do not offer regular catering but at Chef's discretion we can do off site dining for sushi and hot food.

Parking Details:
Center and Street Parking

Public Transit:
Coaster Stop 1 block away

Executive Chef:
Robert Ruiz

Private Party Facilities:
We have two spots. One is reservation only area for public and the other is reservation only for guests at the discretion of management. For special dinners and parties over 6 please visit our website and click on http://www.landandwaterco.com/events-at-lwc/

Private Party Contact:
Pamela Harper: 7607295263x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • The Land and Water Co.
  • The Land and Water Co.
  • The Land and Water Co.
  • The Land and Water Co.
  • The Land and Water Co.
  • The Land and Water Co.
  • The Land and Water Co.
The Land and Water Co.
The Land and Water Co.
The Land and Water Co.
The Land and Water Co.
The Land and Water Co.
The Land and Water Co.
The Land and Water Co.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Land and Water Co. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (39)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Special Occasion (24)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Hot Spot (14)
Romantic (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Scenic View (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Healthy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Casual (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Organic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Seasonal (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Cozy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Fun (2)
Private Room (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Authentic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Spicy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
Newest
247 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very limited menu. Had to ask for norma ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Very limited menu. Had to ask for normal sushi items...soy, ginger, wasabi. Fresh tasting sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I dined with a friend I hadn't seen for ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

I dined with a friend I hadn't seen for some time and really wanted to get caught up. Can't fault the service or the food, but the noise level was exceedingly high even though it was early evening on a week night and few people had arrived, and along with the loud music, it made it very difficult to carrying on any meaningful conversation. I have no problem with "happy hours" and enjoying a lively conversation, but when these two are combined with a need for a quiet dinner, it detracts from the overall experience.

It's a common lament of mine and keeps my husband and me away from places we would otherwise enjoy. Makes me long for the days of plush upholstered booths, heavy drapes, thick carpets and low lights, surrounded by the strings of violins. But those are days that left with the relish tray. One can dream!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Melt in your mouth appetizers, especiall ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Melt in your mouth appetizers, especially the beef sticks. Wonderful flavors in everything we ate. Excellent sushi menu - what they do is the very best compared with any other sushi/sashimi I have had. Magnificent non-sushi items - so good, I wish there were more to choose from!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We go here like every month, and usually ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We go here like every month, and usually sit outside because it is easier to hear each other. Inside it can get loud but just because everyone is having a great time!! It's such a fun nice restaurant/bar. If you sit outside the view is perfect for people watching!! All of the host and waiters are soooo nice and the drinks and food are DELICIOUS! This is a place we constantly come back to.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic fresh sushi in a fun, historic ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Fantastic fresh sushi in a fun, historic setting. Be sure to check out the surf shop next door with vintage surfboards on display.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding food. We are from CT and thi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Outstanding food. We are from CT and this was our second visit back. We will keep coming back when we are in San Diego.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food here is always amazingly fresh ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food here is always amazingly fresh and delicious but the service is the best in Carlsbad. Everyone who works here is so nice and friendly. My favorite restaurant in North County for sure

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, fresh and unique flavors ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Delicious food, fresh and unique flavors. It's definitely worth trying, I'm sure everyone who dines there enjoys themselves and the food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Had an absolutely delicious meal and a v ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Had an absolutely delicious meal and a very warm and welcoming atmosphere Loved the fresh organic food! Will definitely be back again!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was a bit slowed. Waitress ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The service was a bit slowed. Waitress was training new hired waitress. We asked our check & took a while. Also took a while to get our orders & we were starving.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

What a nice place. Everything was good. ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

What a nice place. Everything was good. Their Sushi and Sashimi are delicious. They spice most things so it isn't bland. The service is very good and the Jerk Chicken was outstanding. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great sushi and Pinot!! Sake list awesom ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great sushi and Pinot!!

Sake list awesome as well.

Service great.

Abdul a true pro,

Thx:)

Robbie

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our oysters, sushi and sashimi dishes we ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our oysters, sushi and sashimi dishes were outstanding and we also loved the heirloom tomato salad. The great majority of the menu is gluten free-even the s'mores!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went 2 weeks ago and has the best meal o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Went 2 weeks ago and has the best meal of my life! Went back in Thursday and it was just eh. So disappointed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

L&W is by far my favorite restaurant. I ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

L&W is by far my favorite restaurant. I am allergic to gluten and have not been able to eat sushi for years. L&W is the only place I feel comfortable eating sushi. Most, if not all of their sauces are gluten free (even their soy sauce). The staff is very accommodating (Ashley is amazing) and the food is delicious! They also have a great happy hour everyday. One of the best restaurants in San Diego for sure!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been disappointed with many of th ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I have been disappointed with many of the north San Diego county restaurants as being good but not great. Land and Water was not another good place to eat, it is stellar. The food is fresh, imaginative, perfectly prepared and exciting to experience. Having traveled the world, I would rate the food at Land and Water among the best I have experienced with my meal being one of my all time favorites. Highly recommend this as a destination to reinvigorate your enthusiasm for dining out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant! We enjoyed the foo ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Excellent restaurant! We enjoyed the food very much and the service was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I made the reservation for 6:30 and at 5 ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I made the reservation for 6:30 and at 5 I happened to check my phone and saw that it was moved to 5:30 without anyone telling me, so we had to scramble to get there on time.

The restaurant is one big room and it is very loud. Instead of having a relaxing evening we were worn out by the end by having to shout at each other the whole time.

The food is imaginative and good, though over-priced. I wish them well but I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Best sushi I have ever had!!!!! Fresh, i ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Best sushi I have ever had!!!!! Fresh, inventive and delicious, my new favorite restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food came slowly to the table and on ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food came slowly to the table and one guest didn't receive his food. We had to track down the waiter twice for service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food is very good. Outside is a little ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food is very good. Outside is a little odd but inside is great. Lots of things to share with groups.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

very inventive food pairings. loved the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

very inventive food pairings. loved the tomato salad, the finger rolls and the sea bass. Our server Mone as fantastic.

still craving it days later.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

After our first bite of the beef skewers ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

After our first bite of the beef skewers we asked ourselves "how is this our first time here?!" It's our new favorite restaurant! Besides the fish we catch, it's the most fresh fish I've ever had! From the land and the water items, everything was delicious! They also have a lot of gluten-free options, which is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great dining experience. Very creative ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great dining experience. Very creative menu. Everything we tried (which was a lot) was delicious.

Just returned for a second visit (in the same week!) and Wow! Sat at the sushi bar and had an amazing dinner. I just can't believe that I didn't know about this place sooner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was fantastic. The food was ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The service was fantastic. The food was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Our waitress Monet was fabulous as was o ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our waitress Monet was fabulous as was our food server Mike R.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our previous experience was much better. ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our previous experience was much better. The food always tastes great but this time the service was poor and super slow. They had no accommodations for kid meals.

We asked for a bowl of rice for our miserable toddler 8 times and it took 25 minutes to arrive!

Perhaps it was an off night. Food is great service is meh...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Our waitress Marcia was AWESOME! She nev ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our waitress Marcia was AWESOME! She never wrote a single order down and everything was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was confused because the name of the r ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

I was confused because the name of the restaurant I expected grilled fish and steak I didn't know it was sushi focused until the wait staff and the menu presented.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Value not there. Super expensive and lef ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Value not there. Super expensive and left hungry. Was disappointed but food was good though. One salmon hand roll for $12!!! And it was chewy and that was only bad thing with the food. Just couldn't believe how much for a hand roll. Vegas prices!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

Was uncomfortably HOT! Not good for eat ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Was uncomfortably HOT! Not good for eating sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Service was ridiculously slow, bathrooms ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Service was ridiculously slow, bathrooms were filthy. meal took 2.5 hours for 5 people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

From the first bite to the last, both my ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

From the first bite to the last, both my husband and I were silent, so thoroughly were we enjoying the amazing sensations and tastes in our mouth. We both agreed, our dinners were the best we'd EVER had! My husband is a very picky eater!! Can't wait to return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was local and organic and delicious ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was local and organic and delicious . Spectacular service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

A great restaurant for sharing food. It ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

A great restaurant for sharing food. It was delicious and fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent menu....High quality food with ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent menu....High quality food with a different twist. The owner and staff here does an excellent job with food combining. I am a foodie and am an Italian that knows food. Great job here! We will be back as we are locals...Everyone needs to come and experience how food can taste when done creatively and with a loving hand...

Thanks to everyone

Mark DiBenedetti and Family

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Think the waitress put us off 20 min bec ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Think the waitress put us off 20 min because of our age, early 20s. The last dish had a tooth in the sushi.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was good but the portions were ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was good but the portions were very small. Staff was friendly and helpful. Atmosphere was nice. Recommended for a special occasion but not if you're hungry and want a great value.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

My wife and I had dinner at Land & Water ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My wife and I had dinner at Land & Water, and I must say that it was one of the best meals I've had in quite a while. The service was outstanding, the food was excellent, and the atmosphere was great. I would recommend this establishment to anyone who enjoys good food in a relaxed and casual atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surprisingly good food food for a touris ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Surprisingly good food food for a tourist area. Innovative Asian inspired food and sushi that is delicious and interesting. Definitely try the lengua (forget that it's tounge), a rich and unctuous delight.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.