About The Land and Water Co.

We serve only the very best from the land and water. Responsible, traceable seafood, humanely raised and purely natural terrestrial proteins…organically grown and locally harvested produce. Our seasonal menu is crafted from scratch by our chefs, who contribute years of experience into each dish.

2978 Carlsbad Blvd
#110
Carlsbad, CA 92008
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Sushi, French, Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday 3:00pm – 10:00pm
Happy Hour ~ $5.00 Craft Cocktails & $1.00 off all drinks ~ 3pm – 5:30pm
Dinner ~ 5:30pm – 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday 11:30am – 12am
Lunch ~ 11:30am – 3pm
Happy Hour ~ $5.00 Craft Cocktails & $1.00 off all drinks ~ 3pm – 5:30pm
Dinner ~ 5:30pm – 10:30pm
Late Night Happy Hour ~ $5.00 Craft Cocktails & $1.00 off all drinks ~ 10:30pm – 12am

Sunday 11:30am – 10:00pm
Lunch ~ 11:30am – 3pm
Happy Hour ~ $5.00 Craft Cocktails & $1.00 off all drinks ~ 3pm – 5:30pm
Dinner ~ 5:30pm – 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 729-5263

Website:
http://www.landandwaterco.com/

Entertainment:
No live entertainment.

Catering:
We do not offer regular catering but at Chef's discretion we can do off site dining for sushi and hot food.

Parking Details:
Center and Street Parking

Public Transit:
Coaster Stop 1 block away

Executive Chef:
Robert Ruiz

Private Party Facilities:
We have two spots. One is reservation only area for public and the other is reservation only for guests at the discretion of management. For special dinners and parties over 6 please visit our website and click on http://www.landandwaterco.com/events-at-lwc/

Private Party Contact:
Pamela Harper: (760) 729-5263

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Land and Water Co., Carlsbad, CA
  • The Land and Water Co., Carlsbad, CA
  • The Land and Water Co., Carlsbad, CA
  • The Land and Water Co., Carlsbad, CA
  • The Land and Water Co., Carlsbad, CA
  • The Land and Water Co., Carlsbad, CA
  • The Land and Water Co., Carlsbad, CA

Report a photo problem

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Land and Water Co. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (21)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for a Date (17)
See All
Fit for Foodies (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Casual (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Romantic (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Fun (10)
Authentic (10)
Healthy (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Organic (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Tapas (6)
Cozy (6)
Historic (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
People Watching (4)
Seasonal (4)
Business Meals (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Fireplace (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Sports (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Family Style (2)
Great Beer (2)
Spicy (2)
Waterfront (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
290 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

UNBELIEVABLY AMAZING!! Don't judge a bo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

UNBELIEVABLY AMAZING!! Don't judge a book by its cover. This local gem boasts locally sourced ingredients to create a sushi experience like none other. Robert (the owner and chef) uses his artistry and Japanese training to produce incredibly tasty creations that are not only delicious, but rollercoaster ride for your tongue, taste buds, olfactory bulb, and teeth.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Authentic, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservations, we were seated right ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Made reservations, we were seated right away. Tables are nice and big, service was great. Our server was Michael. Eclectic menu, but the food was fabulous.

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Historic, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Bar Seating, Spicy, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Live Sports, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ashley is our favorite server! Great per ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Ashley is our favorite server! Great personality, fun and always takes care of us! This is our favorite place for a nice classy date night. Small venue so make a Resevation. Inside can get loud on weekends.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great meal, and our waitress wa ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We had a great meal, and our waitress was great. I really enjoyed the sushi selections. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very good & fresh food! Great service fr ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Very good & fresh food! Great service from our server "Jamie" we will be back for sure! Love this place!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was excellent with many Gluten ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The food was excellent with many Gluten free selections. The Water Roll, Crispy Chicken and pickled veggies were all amazing. The cocktails were tasty, but the wine selection was limited. The service was just OK, nothing special there.

Tags: Romantic, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Always good serve with a knowledgeable s ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Always good serve with a knowledgeable staff.

Outstanding cocktails- Best Old Fashioned I have ever had

Always have a good experience there after dining numerous times at this location!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food!

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a busy night and the service was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was a busy night and the service was fantastic. The food was delicious and not a long wait time , even with the crowd. Drinks were fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very tasty, fresh, innovative food. Comf ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very tasty, fresh, innovative food. Comfortable casual but still upbeat neighborhood atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great as always. Waitress was g ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was great as always. Waitress was great, she even asked the chef to make the beef musabi even though it wasn't on the dinner menu. Only down side is food takes a really long time to come out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The service here is awesome and the food ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The service here is awesome and the food is even better. Everything we ordered was amazing. The pub style crispy chicken is so good as an appetizer. The water roll is amazing as was the western bacon albacore. Chef Rob Ruiz is a genius. Amazing restaurant. We can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Recommend getting several t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great food. Recommend getting several things and sharing. Sushi was excellent. Oatmeal sundae is a winner! Will return in the future. A little noisy. They didn't have our reservation at first. Seemed to be a computer issue. It was resolved and we were seated right away.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The sushi was tasty and there was a good ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The sushi was tasty and there was a good selection. I love the fireplace since it was a chilly December evening outside. I'd go again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Fun, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Most artistic and creative Japanese/Fusi ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Most artistic and creative Japanese/Fusion dining experience in North County SD. I'd recommend the Nigiri Chef's sampler to start, and/or the shrimp tempura roll. Follow that with either Bacon Lardon or Duck Confit Steamed buns. Entree of choice is the Miso Glazed Black Cod, the Filet is also phenomenal. My favorite restaurant, cheers !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and very unique, yet excel ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Great service and very unique, yet excellent, menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really love the sushi. Even my husband l ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Really love the sushi. Even my husband loved the sushi-his and mine. We ate early so no crowd. Would recommend this to anyone interested in trying sushi for the first time as an introduction. Drinks were well made. All over a great experience for us

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and excellent service. The co ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great food and excellent service. The cocktails were great. Enjoyed the area.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Healthy, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Wonderful atmosphere, fantastic menu bes ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere, fantastic menu best sushi roll I've ever had!! Also the black cod!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our 3rd visit to The Land and W ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 15, 2016

This was our 3rd visit to The Land and Water Co. We thoroughly enjoyed the first two visits. We arrived with friends at 5:20pm and the waitress told us happy hour ended at 5:30pm which is really early. Most happy hours end between 6-7. As we hadn't even seen a menu it was hard to place an order as our friends had not been before. She rushed back a few minutes later and said order now or miss it. We placed quick order, and then two sushi orders came out before the drinks arrived (were they already prepared and sitting in a warming tray somewhere?). Then 2 bowls of lukewarm miso appeared along with two glasses of wine and one cocktail. My husbands's cocktail arrived a few minutes later. We then ordered again, and the food came flying out of the kitchen and arranged haphazardly on the plate (the tempura shrimp sushi roll with crunchy bits). The restaurant was exceeding dark - we used the lights on our phone to read the menus. There were not candles or lights on the table, and barely any lighting in the restaurant. The noise level was more then moderate. We did not see Chef Ruiz behind the counter, so maybe this was an off night. But we will think twice before we come again. We were a bit embarrassed as our friends were from out of town, and we had raved about this place. Also the menu has totally changed to focus almost exclusively on sushi. Only a couple of dishes from "the land" and those are now exceeding expensive - steakhouse prices.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Best sushi ever

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Best sushi ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and great service. I drove qui ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Good food and great service. I drove quit a ways to get there and I will do it again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the best meals I have had in a lo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 30, 2016

One of the best meals I have had in a long time. Will definitely make this a regular stop when in the Carlsbad area and will recommend it to everyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and innovative food! We ordere ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Delicious and innovative food! We ordered one sushi roll, two small bites and one large bite. Everything was delicious. Our server was helpful and friendly. The wine was great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was great. You could tell the c ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Service was great. You could tell the chef put his/her heart into the food we had. Ordered pork shoulder, musubi roll and a fish dish. All were really really good. The price was high but once you tasted your meal, you understood why. We will go back to try more of the sushi rolls/sashimi next time.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is hands done the best restaurant! ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This is hands done the best restaurant! My husband and I list it our favorite from the bacon lardon to the green roll and my husband love the sushi!! Your server Ashley is beyond pleasant!! Thank you Land and Water for making my husbands birthday special!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding but very small over ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food was outstanding but very small overpriced portions. Service and everything else good. Seating next to the open door inside entrance to joining surf shop was kind of weird.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

Celebtaring with my sons really enjoy. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Celebtaring with my sons really enjoy. Nice place. Clean

Amanda was the best waiter we had a nice Proseco

Food awesome Price good

I'll go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Three of us dined here whilst travelling ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Three of us dined here whilst travelling through Carlsbad and what a treat the food turned out to be, we had the steamed buns which like a Chinese bun but open filled with strips of beef in a south east asia style - fantastic, we also took the beef skewers which were a real surprise and different being a slow cook beef in an asia style sweet sauce. We also took sushi which again was really enjoyable, I would definitely go back if we found ourselves in Carlsbad again.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Molecular Gastronomy, Fun, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were in town from the Bay Area and de ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We were in town from the Bay Area and decided to try this restaurant, liking the local and sustainable, ethical sourcing- what a delight it was. The food was creative and tasty, service was good, drinks yummy as well. We had a deconstructed vegetable pot pie which was delicious and unusual, and several of the sashimi options. Highly recommended find in Carlsbad, a nice departure from the standard fare but not overly precious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Authentic, Organic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always our favorite for sashimi & sushi. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Always our favorite for sashimi & sushi. Wonderful combinations of seasonal foods.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We waited almost 15 minutes before a ser ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We waited almost 15 minutes before a server greeted us only after we asked for some assistance. Ironically, who we stopped ended up being our server and we were told she would be right with us. I watched multiple other servers and I believe managers walk around and no one ever greeted us, not even water was offered. I've been a server before and to simply tell someone you will be right with them, rather than be ignored is always the best policy. Food is amazing, but service and noise level (surprising loud) left a little to be desired

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We've been here before, and generally lo ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We've been here before, and generally love the restaurant! I made a reservation and brought a small group. The table location was in an odd side room, but it wouldn't prevent us from coming back. Our server was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Service was excellent. Drinks were creat ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Service was excellent. Drinks were creative and delicious. Food was definitely something to talk about.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been here 3 times and every time wa ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Have been here 3 times and every time was fantastic!

Tags: Organic, Good for Groups, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, , Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a treat! Organic, susatainable, g ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Always a treat! Organic, susatainable, gluten free options. By far my favorite menu and my go to for date night.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Organic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I absolutely loved dining at Land and Wa ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I absolutely loved dining at Land and Water. Their appetizer, the bacon lardon is to die for and also one of a kind! I would go back in a heart beat.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

nice place food presentation was great s ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 2, 2016

nice place food presentation was great service very good a lil pricey but very good parking was easy with valet

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Server and the staff were very attentive ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Server and the staff were very attentive. Well done! See you soon

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall good. It was muggy inside. The w ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Overall good. It was muggy inside. The window was opened upon request. The employees need to be aware of the climate inside and make it comfortable at all times. Otherwise, the server was really friendly and did a good job.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.