About The Kitchen Restaurant

2225 Hurley Way
Sacramento, CA 95825
View Larger Map

The Kitchen, a Selland Family Restaurant, serves a five-course prix fixe demonstration dinner menu based on a monthly seasonal framework that features the best and freshest ingredients available on a daily basis, mostly procured locally and regionally. Dinner service also includes an interactive intermission featuring chefs’ tasting stations, as well as a finale of fresh herb tea service and artisan coffee served with Dessert.

The Kitchen Restaurant has earned every imaginable local and regional award along with an impressive list of national accolades, including the AAA Five Diamond Award five years running, a nod as a semi-finalist for the James Beard “Outstanding Restaurant” Award, the highest Zagat ratings, and honors from Wine Spectator and Wine Enthusiast, as well as inclusion in the Yelp Top 100 and the Open Table Top 100.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Thursday: Doors Open at 6:30pm, Dinner Begins at 7:00; Friday - Saturday: Doors Open at 7:00pm, Dinner Begins at 7:30; Sunday: Doors Open at 5:00pm, Dinner Begins at 5:30. Please arrive within 15 minutes after our doors opening to ensure the show starts on time.

Cross Street:
Howe Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 568-7171

Website:
http://www.thekitchenrestaurant.com/

Catering:
We offer Private Party availability for the entire restaurant for your special occasion or business function. Smaller, semi-private tables may be available.

Parking Details:
The Kitchen has a private lot with ample parking.

Public Transit:
Call our receptionist and we will be happy to arrange a town car for you. Please call a minimum of 24 hours before your reservation.

Executive Chef:
Kelly McCown

Private Party Facilities:
Reserve the entire restaurant exclusively for your event! Our six-course Demonstration Dinners, prepared right before your eyes, are a feast for all the senses, and our award-winning wine list features the best in the state. Our Sommelier will design a personalized beverage package. As a Private Party at The Kitchen, the entire restaurant is exclusively yours for the evening, with our expert staff of chefs and servers dedicated entirely to you and your guests. We offer our Private Party option for up to 56 people, perfect for business and convention groups, birthday and anniversary celebrations, and client or staff appreciation dinners. We will make your event a distinctive and singular success.

Private Party Contact:
Bobbie Chamberlin: 9165687171x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Kitchen Restaurant
Big Eye Tuna Sashimi
Chicken And Sesame Beef Satay
Chestnut And Butternut Squash Ravioli Over Ragout Of Braised California Lamb, Lacinato Kale And Pancetta With Candied Garlic
Last Bit Of Sunshine: Meyer Lemon Pudding Cake With Coastal Huckleberry Compote, Creme Fraiche Ice Cream And White Chocolate Bark
Truffled Grilled Cheese And Tomato Bisque Perigord And Burgundian Truffles, Cypress Grove Midnight Moon, San Marzano Tomatoes And White Truffle Butter
Creme Brulee
Fried Green Olives
Tuna Tartare Taco
White Spot Prawn Caesar Salad
Cheese and Charcuterie
Barrel Stave Smoked Angus Beef Tenderloin, Carmelized Onion Tarte
Chocolate Chip Cookies
Oysters
'Salad' of Watanabe Farms Cherry Tomatoes
Bacon Chocolate-Chip Cookies
peanut butter & jelly sandwich
Grilled Dry Aged Eye of Rib
Panchetta & Lobster Cavatelli Pasta
Roasted Peach w/ Bacon & Butterscotch Ice Cream
S'mores Dessert
Crispy Soft Shell Crab & Pole Beans
Carpaccio Of Beef.  Tomatoes, Yellow Tomato Jam, Basil, Goat's Milk Ricotta
Chilled Charentais Melon Soup. Lassen Trout Tartar, Pecans, Cucumbers, Smoked Trout Caviar
Emigh Farms Lamb Saddle. Smoked Eggplant Puree, Succotash Curry Panisse, Mint, Roasted Lamb Jus
Pasta E Fagioli. . House Made Guanciale, Pecorino Sardo Chanterelles, Escarole
Warm Baked Figs. Marscapone, Pistachio Gelato, Maserati Blackberries, Honey
Roasted Guinea Hen Breast With Foie Gras, Potatoes, Gravy, Mushrooms And Chicken Hearts
Asparagus Soup
Blueberry Tart And Cherry Swirl Ice Cream, Chocolate Covered Candied Walnuts And Creamed Honey Custard
Maine Lobster Vichyssoise With Minted English Pea Panna Cotta And A Hint Of Smoked Pork
Japanese Sea Bass And Rock Shrimp, Pickled Octopus And Small Vegetables With White Soy-Miso Butter
A Salad Of Clustered Herb Greens And Lettuces, Local Barrata, Stewed New Tomatoes And Grilled Bread
Wagyu Rib Eye Cap Steak
Beef tenderloin
Trout, Caviar, Potato Salad
Crab And Lobster Roll
Local Halibut and Pastry
Tempura Soft Boiled Egg with Lardo
Shrimp With Ravioli
2003 Blair Estate Meritage
Squash Soup With Lobster
Heirloom Melon With Iberico Ham
Intermission Dishes: Sushi And Sashimi
Mussels in Saffron Broth
Gnudi (ricotta Gnochi)
Nancy's Carrot Cake With Caramel, Orange-Carrot Sherbet And Leslie's Walnut (Soy) Ice Cream
Salmon, Rock Shrimp, Pasta
Strawberries
Fresh Lobster
fresh bread
Rabbit, Sweetbreads and Foie Gras Terrine
Zucchini Ribbon Salad with Shrimp
Wagyu Short Rib
Alaskan Halibut With Day Boat Scallops, Green Garlic Salsa, Red Curry Broth And Fragrant Coconut Milk
Slow Cooked Wagyu Strip Loin With Lamb Sausage, Mushroom, Thyme And Fennel-Onion Fondue
Black And Tan Torchio Pasta With Maine Lobster, Lemon Creme Fraiche, Goat Butter And Local Sturgeon Caviar
Dessert Course
Tonato "Soup"
Pork Ravioli
Warm Salad of Lamb Sausage and egg
Seared Foie Gras
Carrot Cake
Sake
2006 Joseph Drouhin Cote de Beaune Rouge, Burgandy Pinot Noir
Fresh Wasabi
Sushi
Lodi Asparagus Bisque with Crispy Duck
Sashimi
Sweet Asparagus Bisque With Rabbit Farci, Spring Vegetable Salad, Pecorino Romano Foam And Black Truffle Essence
Maine Lobster Carbonara
Thai Style Bisque and Quail Confit
Lobster Mac & Cheese
BLT
Heirloom Tomato Soup W/ A Dungeness Crab-Burrarata Flan
Lamb Rack & Maine Lobster
Slow Braised Berkshire Pork 'Banh Mi'
Sea Scallop - Lobster Cannelloni And Salad Of Black Truffle
Mini Corn Dogs
Bittersweet Chocolate Tart
Brown Butter Poached Beef Tenderloin
Grilled Cheese Sandwich
Maple Bacon Ice Cream with Bacon
Wild Salmon, Rock Shrimp, And A Rabbit Ravioli
Cioppino with Covina Sea Bass, Maine Lobster, Scallops, Rock Shrimp and 'Canned Tomatoes'
Warmed Mountain Berry Crepe
Salmon Skin W/ Green Tea Noodles
"Peanut Butter & Jelly"
Sushi & Sashimi Course
Dream Bar
Wagyu Beef Tenderloin with Parmesan-Truffle 'Creme Brulee', Malbec, Thyme and Carrot Jus
Duck Consommé and Wing with Toast, Pasture Egg, Hollandaise and Lardo
A "Burrito" of Crispy Pork, Taleggio and Cheddar with Chili-Glazed Texas Quail
Bittersweet Chocolate-Carmen 'Tart', Raspberry Sorbet, White Chocolate Mousse, and Southern Fried Walnut Ice Cream
Black And Tan Torchio Pasta
Alaskan Halibut
Slow Cooked Wagyu
Sweet Asparagus Bisque

The Kitchen Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Food
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Service
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
10 More
Best Ambiance
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Notable Wine List
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Special Occasion
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Overall
Sacramento
Best Food
Sacramento
Best Service
Sacramento
Best Ambiance
Sacramento
Fit for Foodies
Sacramento
Notable Wine List
Sacramento
Special Occasion
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

special occasion (55)
fit for foodies (40)
notable wine list (29)
See All
good for groups (19)
romantic (15)
hot spot (8)
vibrant bar scene (3)
neighborhood gem (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
603 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing food and unbelievable service. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food and unbelievable service. We were welcomed in the restaurant by name and the chef and staff called us by name the entire evening. Each course was so delicious that I savored every single bite and still days later remember how happy I felt eating incredible food. I tried to book a reservation for August but no sch luck. I have my September and October appointment booked.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A very extraordinary evening - great atm ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 4 days ago

A very extraordinary evening - great atmosphere and food - a very special evening that far exceeded expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They make you feel very welcome, serve y ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

They make you feel very welcome, serve you great food, provide humor and personality, and let you raid the fridge for cookie dough. An amazing dining experience that every food lover should try at least once. We will definitely be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We thought we were just going to a dinne ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 6 days ago

We thought we were just going to a dinner with fancy food. It turned out it was entertainment and awesome food. When I was leaving it felt like I was exploding just like after Thanksgiving dinner. I couldn't stop sampling, everything was so good

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good, but just not wor ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was very good, but just not worth the price. And the alcohol was VERY overpriced. The service was great and it was a fun interactive experience for foodies.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

It was an amazing experience. Food was d ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

It was an amazing experience. Food was delicious and you won't leave hungry. Drinks were good but we felt a little too pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is a party atmosphere with excellent ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

It is a party atmosphere with excellent service and entertaining staff. Five star food and wine, basically all you can eat. You will not go home hungry and you will get to try many different dishes even beyond the menu. Chef Kelly is entertaining through out the evening and the staff will accommodate any request. Get your reservation now and bring some friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our first time going to The Kit ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

This was our first time going to The Kitchen. It was a unique dining experience that we won't soon forget. The executive chef engaged the diners and kept the evening lively. The quality of the food was awesome. We will come here again when we save up for this experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing Experience. The food was phenom ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Amazing Experience. The food was phenomenal & the entire staff were incredible, knowledgeable,helpful, and full of great energy. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

i love everything about the kitchen. suc ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

i love everything about the kitchen. such a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall very entertaining and a brillian ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Overall very entertaining and a brilliant conceptual restaurant. Best dining interactive experience ever.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We found the experience new and fun. We ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We found the experience new and fun. We went without knowing anything and loved every moment. Although, we felt like we would be in a food coma after, only because we are not use to eating that much and dining for 4 hours. We have already talked about it on our FB pages to friends and family. Thank you and we look forward to our next experience in the future. Jack and Christine Smith

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, fun ambience, attentive serv ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great food, fun ambience, attentive servers! However, even though Bobbi called to confirm my food twice,the expediter and a chef noted my request for whole grains, greens and fish not one of those requests was manifested. The head chef Kelly is manic & inventive entertainment whose mantra was that our requests whatever they might be -mundane (peanut butter & jelly )to more shaved truffles would be happily secured was not fulfilled . I was served a lovely ribeye steak instead of fish, bleached baggette not whole grain bread and asparagus soup for fiber. All the food is delicious, but if you have diet parameters the place is not for you.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing experience. Felt like an interac ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Amazing experience. Felt like an interactive dining experience. Loved the education/demonstration part of the dinner. Staff was elegant, attentive and friendly. Food was delicious and beautifully plated. Went to celebrate our 5 year anniversary. Definitely a $$$$ place, but worth every penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a great dinner and presentation. Wen ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Was a great dinner and presentation. Went there to celebrate all our birthdays and son's 8th grade grad. Son loved it! Excellent personal service. Even let my son help prepare dessert! It was a great experience for all of us and will continue to go here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

This restaurant is a special occasion one! Not for everyday dining. It is very pricey but considering the quality of the food and the "show" that goes with it, it is worth every penny. You get to watch them prepare your meal (everyone gets the same unless you have dietary restrictions). You really appreciate the work that goes in to a special meal! Outstanding service, quality food and a lovely wine list.....what is not to like!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience of culinary expertise.

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

This was an awesome event. The staff was very proficient and professional and it was a totally enjoyable experience.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very loud, good food, very high price point

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

When I booked a table at the Kitchen I was expecting to be wowed, unfortunately I was not.

Service was great, very attentive - almost to a fault as we rarely were left alone long enough to get in any conversation. The food was good but not great - which it should have been when spending $300+ per person. An example was the main course: we instructed our waiter on arrival that we did not eat red meat, he said this was not a problem, they always had alternatives they prepared to their prix fix selections. Unfortunately their solution was to plate some overcooked Halibut the same as they plated the steak - exactly the same. They had a production line of plates ready and on ours they plopped on the Halibut rather than the steak. Hmmm.

I would also note that the alcohol served was excessive, given that I watched all of the patrons that evening drive up in their own vehicles - I would hate to have been on the road when people wandered out to drive home.

The emphasis was on loud and overdone productions between each course which I quite frankly could have done without. Too be fair, most of the folks there seemed to be be enjoying themselves, it was just way over the top for my taste.

Unfortunately (or perhapse fortunately given the alcohol service noted above) we left early and prior to the last course - we quite frankly had had enough.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Unique experience but unnecessarily expe ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Unique experience but unnecessarily expensive. Be prepared to pay $500 minimum. Menu selection was more nouveau California, not to my personal liking, but I'm sure others will enjoy.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Love this place great food great people!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Love this place great food great people!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of a kind...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The Kitchen dinning experience is 4-hours of over-the-top fun and great food. You are literally invited into the kitchen, you can "sneak" cookie dough out of the walk in and explore an extensive wine cellar. The chemistry the staff has is impressive and totally contributes to the whole experience. Be warned, this will not be an inexpensive evening nor will it be a quiet , romantic dinner. Be prepared to engage and enjoy. The one seating is limited to very few people. Request a spot at the bar so the action is right in front of you. The doors are opened at 7 and not before. We ubered and arrived a little early and had to stand in the parking lot in not the best part of town though the off -duty Sac PD officer working the lot was nice. Go and have fun! The team at The Kitchen does it right.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Dinner is the SHOW

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

This is dinner theater...dinner is the star and you are not just an audience but welcome as a participant. You're encouraged to explore the kitchens, ask questions and may even get to assist in the production of dinner. The staff is wonderful, the food is excellent and it is always fun. Each new menu is a new adventure. We were with a group of friends and had a wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

As always, amazing. Second time we've went, and I was afraid it was not going to live up to our original visit. Completely wrong, pleasantly surprised. Food amazing, service amazing, very entertaining head chef. It cost more now but includes more during intermission and they do not charge for coffee or tea now. Cannot wait to go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun and engaging

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

I am glad, after living in Sacramento for years, we finally made it to The Kitchen. Our dining experience was lots of fun (it is definitely an experience, not just dinner). 7 delicious courses. Friendly, well-trained staff. The chef was energetic, engaging, funny and knowledgeable. Lovely environment and outdoor patio. If you are a foodie and willing to spend some money, I recommend going to The Kitchen. And if you love wine, do the wine pairings. Pace yourself, though, because it is lots of food and it is easy to fill up too early in the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A must do!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

I have been to The Kitchen once before and loved the food and experience both times! Would definitely go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was truly amazing and I wish I could have eaten more. The service was great and it was like other dining experience I have ever been to. It is pricey but they deserve it. I will definitely go back for another special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a superb dining experience! Flawles ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

What a superb dining experience! Flawless service. Wonderful, deliscious food. Festive, warm and welcoming environment. We will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our top five restaurants ... ever!

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

This is a dining experience. Be prepared to spend some serious time devouring inventive and delicious food, plated right before your eyes!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eating at this restaurant should be on e ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

Eating at this restaurant should be on everyone's bucket list!! Amazing good and an amazing experience. Loved the interaction with the team of chefs. You will not leave hungry!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

FUN AND TASTY

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Fun tasty imaginative entertaining delicious .

Chef Kelly and crew provided a level of pampering and energy seldom found in the restaurant industry.

These guys really love what they do and it shows!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Funtastic

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

The menu had a Spring theme. Although, some of the items on the list felt a bit too light, there is no denying the quality of the items presented. The Menu we chose was March 2016. And the Lamb had us requesting seconds before we had even finished. This was a truly great experience. And we are already planning round two.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Memorable and Excessive (in a good way)

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

A great dining and interactive experience. The plates -- both small and large -- are over the top delicious and amaze in both quantity and quality. For a special occasion or just as a hedonistic treat once in a while treat yourself this unique dining and social experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

This was like being on cooking show but better. It was a perfect and complete evening. We were there from 7-10:30 and if we weren't so full from all the delicious food we could've stayed all night. The chefs, staff and service were out of this world. Too many good things to say about The Kitchen. This is a must visit. Thinking about the experience makes me smile, what a night! Can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

It's a beautiful day in the neighborhood!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

It took me almost forever to try this wonderful place. And I was thankful my sister agreed to share our 26th birthday at The Kitchen. I've tried every restaurant owned by this place and by far The Kitchen is my number 1. With all the different kinds of food I was able to enjoy it again and again... Service was great, the show/ambiance was great. And by show I mean the energy and positive attitude by all of the staff. It was a wonderful 4 hours. Ahahah.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

When you want the best, go to The Kitchen

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

The Kitchen is fantastic. It's the classiest restaurant in town, no question. The food is gourmet, the service is second to none and the experience will be one that you never forget. I recommend The Kitchen for special occasions. Its not cheap however you get what you pay for and The Kitchen does not disappoint. Dinner will typically last around 3-4 hrs and you wont leave hungry. Make reservations in advance, they're usually booked out for several weeks. I've dined at The Kitchen multiple times and I will surely do so again.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Valentines Day dinner at the Kitchen ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

My Valentines Day dinner at the Kitchen was absolutely amazing ! From the time we arrived to check in and were seated , our host was at out beck and call through the whole experience. The host explained what all to expect and made several recommendations to accommodate our desires. My first time at the Kitchen and I will definitely be back .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. Excellent atmosphere. Ex ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Excellent food. Excellent atmosphere. Excellent service. Excellent everything!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Interactive Dining

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

This is an amazing interactive dining experience. Those who enjoy good food without the stodginess of a fine restaurant will enjoy The Kitchen. Your are encouraged to mingle amongst the chefs as they work. The kitchen is a totally open space. Dining at the bar overlooks chefs at work as well. The food wine pairing was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In a word.... "Amazing"!!!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

For first-timers, our experience of being "front-and-center" at the bar was pure excitement and amazement! My friend and I had the best time and the food was out of this world! We are already planning our next trip and what friends to bring, to have the same, if not BETTER, experience with us! The staff all made us feel very special, especially for my friends 48th birthday celebration. We will be coming back as well as recommending to all of our friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really loved my experience at the Kitc ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

I really loved my experience at the Kitchen (third time). It was wonderful. My girlfriend loved it. My wallet hated it. But it was totally awesome. The food was outstanding. It was a culinary adventure and a rollercoaster for my tastebuds! Chef Kelly works much harder than the previous chefs at the actual meal but less on the schmoozing the guests. He does not forget to do that, just less than the other chefs I experienced there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.