Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 1.12mi
  4. Distance: 1.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 1.12mi
  4. Distance: 1.16mi

About The Kitchen Restaurant

The Kitchen, a Selland Family Restaurant, serves a five-course prix fixe demonstration dinner menu based on a monthly seasonal framework that features the best and freshest ingredients available on a daily basis, mostly procured locally and regionally. Dinner service also includes an interactive intermission featuring chefs’ tasting stations, as well as a finale of fresh herb tea service and artisan coffee served with dessert.

The Kitchen Restaurant has earned every imaginable local and regional award along with an impressive list of national accolades, including the AAA Five Diamond Award five years running, a nod as a semi-finalist for the James Beard “Outstanding Restaurant” Award, the highest Zagat ratings, and honors from Wine Spectator and Wine Enthusiast, as well as inclusion in the Yelp Top 100 and the Open Table Top 100.

2225 Hurley Way
Sacramento, CA 95825
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Thursday: Doors Open at 6:30pm, Dinner Begins at 7:00; Friday - Saturday: Doors Open at 7:00pm, Dinner Begins at 7:30; Sunday: Doors Open at 5:00pm, Dinner Begins at 5:30. Please arrive within 15 minutes after our doors opening to ensure the show starts on time.

Cross Street:
Howe Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 568-7171

Website:
http://www.thekitchenrestaurant.com/

Catering:
We offer Private Party availability for the entire restaurant for your special occasion or business function. Smaller, semi-private tables may be available.

Parking Details:
The Kitchen has a private lot with ample parking.

Public Transit:
Call our receptionist and we will be happy to arrange a town car for you. Please call a minimum of 24 hours before your reservation.

Executive Chef:
Kelly McCown

Private Party Facilities:
Reserve the entire restaurant exclusively for your event! Our six-course Demonstration Dinners, prepared right before your eyes, are a feast for all the senses, and our award-winning wine list features the best in the state. Our Sommelier will design a personalized beverage package. As a Private Party at The Kitchen, the entire restaurant is exclusively yours for the evening, with our expert staff of chefs and servers dedicated entirely to you and your guests. We offer our Private Party option for up to 56 people, perfect for business and convention groups, birthday and anniversary celebrations, and client or staff appreciation dinners. We will make your event a distinctive and singular success.

Private Party Contact:
Bobbie Chamberlin: (916) 568-7171

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Kitchen Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (41)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Fit for Foodies (34)
See All
Creative Cuisine (33)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Good for a Date (28)
Notable Wine List (28)
Fun (24)
Local Ingredients (23)
Good for Groups (21)
Worth the Drive (18)
Seasonal (13)
Romantic (12)
Authentic (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
People Watching (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Organic (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Cozy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Business Meals (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
774 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Best dining experience we have ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Extraordinary evening. Be prepared to spend 250-300 per person or more if you want to treat yourself to a few cellar selections. The evening was a solid four hours of eating, drinking, laughing and being entertained in the demonstration kitchen where you can interact with the kitchen, chefs and wait staff. I've never seen so many changes of wine glasses as we worked our way through a paired flight.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The usual spectacular meal from The Kitchen. From the greeting at the door, through the extensive contact with the staff throughout the meal, it was faultless. Kelly McGowan has become a great Kitchen chef, with his pre-meal banter and communication during the evening. Be prepared for a lengthy experience, but it is worth every penny

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

The Kitchen was amazing like always, everything from the staff to the food we were left impressed. Thanks

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 3, 2017

I wish there was a higher rating than 5 stars. The Kitchen is an experience, and we will definitely be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The staff is lovely. So attentive and kind. The chefs were personable and really knew how to get a crowd going.

Some of the menu items sound ho-hum on paper, but you can tell from the finished product the care that was taken to prepared the food and the quality of the ingredients. The parts of the meal I could eat was exquisite.

The worst part of the overall experience was the reservationist. She called to ask about dietary restrictions. I told her I was pregnant and needed my food prepared well-done. She was rude about it on the phone too and almost dismissive that pregnant women had dietary needs. She communicated nothing to the chefs or waitstaff. I had to eat around a lot of things.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 20, 2017

The Kitchen is an experience. The experience, combined with absolutely scrumptious food and wine is what you pay for...and the excellent service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 20, 2017

The chef yelled at all of the diners: It was a cross between a cruise ship buffet and a professional wrestling match. Also--the sommelier aggressively pushed wine, and it was awkward.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Most amazing food I've ever had in my life! So much fun start to finish! I would go all the time if I could! Great experience!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Very Special !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 13, 2017

World's greatest dining experience! There is nothing more fun and engaging combined with top quality, creative and delicious cuisine to be found anywhere. This place always exceeds expectations and you always leave stuffed.

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 12, 2017

As always, we experienced wonderful, creative food combined with flawless service!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fun, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Simply amazing. Worth every penny, and it was a lot of pennies. But the service, food, ambiance, and overall experience were very special and they pay attention to so many little details. Everyone acts like their #1 priority is for your experience to be unforgettable. We can't wait to return, once we save up enough to do so.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The Kitchen is always a treat.

Fabulous food and amazing staff equal a really fun evening

Tags: Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The Kitchen doesn't disappoint!! Every detail of the meal was well thought out and executed. Warm welcome from the chef and staff. I love the casual vibe where you can walk around in the kitchen and taste ANYTHING you want! Excellent wine parings with each amazing course. Book well in advance, this place is popular!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The Kitchen has ruined eating out for us. Nothing else even comes close. Instead of going to a nice restaurant once a month, we go to The Kitchen once a year! It's well worth the trade off.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 5, 2017

this place is AMAZING!! the food was absolutely mouth watering, the people were fun, the atmosphere is fun, great place for special occasion,

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Amazing !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The Kitchen provided a truly unique combination of fine cuisine, great service and fun. Letting you walk into the back kitchen to help yourself to oysters in the cooler...who does that? We had a blast, quickly felt at home and thoroughly enjoyed interacting with The Kitchen's team and the other guests. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This was an amazing experience. I highly recommend this if you are looking for a fun evening out. Pricey but worth it. It's like food network live. I can't wait to do it again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 30, 2017

If you haven't dined at The Kitchen yet - make it happen!
Absolutely the best dining experience ever. Food that goes beyond expectations, while having the most fun you will have with amazing food, and an incredible staff from start to finish.
My wife and I were celebrating our 19th anniversary, and The Kitchen is the ideal setting to celebrate.

This was our 4th visit to The Kitchen. Our first impression with Chef Kelly McCown is that he is a keeper! All of the staff were top notch. We were able to enjoy our first tasting of a 1922 D'oliveira Boal - Madeira, Portugal. Phenomenal!

If you want to experience the boundary where food science and art come together, The Kitchen will show you what that tastes like. Every plate is a composition of food mastery while each savory bite delivers on the promise of a dish prepared to perfection.

A restaurant like The Kitchen really requires an altogether separate rating system on OpenTable. Five stars - because that is the max I can give. This does not represent a fair comparison to other restaurants (giving Ella's 4 stars sounds criminal) and the five stars also will not provide you the proper reference frame to understand what an absolutely perfect evening they have in store for you.

You deserve nice things.
Plan your reservations in advance - you need to experience The Kitchen.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Organic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Witty, entertaining chefs. A very fun and different experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great as always. The older I get the harder it is to have a 3.5-4 hour wonderfully glutinous dinner that ends around 10pm. If someone doesn't want to be out past 9pm Ella would be a good alternative to the Kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Phenomenal experience. Highly recommend. Can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Lots of great things to say about Kitchen: innovative concept, warm staff, creative environment.
However for the price, there should be no mistakes and food&execution need to be flawless. It's hard to be flawless, so unless the price (and commensurate expectations based on that price) is lowered, then it's hard to see a good value for money.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great food and entertainment. Pricey so special occasions inly

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

This place is amazing and hands down the best dining experience we have ever had! Kudos to the whole team!! So much fun and the food was... I can't even describe it, it was that fantastic.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Can't say enough good things about The Kitchen! We went for our 29th wedding anniversary and had a fabulous night. We already want to go back! Selland's does it again!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on June 4, 2017

I was not expecting the evening to be so entertaining along w/great food. For my first experience I had a great time. Our whole party did in fact!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Went for our 28th anniversary and didn't have a clue what to expect. It was an amazing evening/experience. Loved the "play bill", the chef's running commentary, etc. Fabulous service and attention to detail. Loved how relaxed it was there. Very friendly environment - the food was beyond amazing!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Absolutely amazing experience. The only thing that tops the exquisite food and wine pairings is the first class personal service, attentive to every detail from every person on the staff. Highest recommendation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Unique restaurant that is worth the experience for any foodie. Price was reasonable for a multi-course menu. Not sure This is a great romantic restaurant since there is a lot going on all of the time, but that is part of the uniqueness. Would definitely visit again when we are back in the area. If I was a local, we would go regularly especially when we had guests in from out of town.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 28, 2017

It was our first time there...we were celebrating our wedding anniversary...it was highly recommended by friends so we thought we'd give it a try...we were blown away by the whole experience. Everything was perfect! Entertaining, delicious, friendly, awesome service, relaxing, and tons of fun! Definitely going back again and again...

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 27, 2017

It was truly a fun evening of great food and culinary entertainment! We especially enjoyed the Blue Lagoon Roasted Alaskan Halibut, Manhattan Butter poached Beef Tenderloin and the Hemingway Daquiri Lime Creme Brûlée. You bet we're going back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Best dinner I have ever had. My wife and I were very glad we stayed in town for our ten-year anniversary and made The Kitchen our destination.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I've traveled the world and enjoyed many fine meals at exceptional restaurants. This place/food was amazing and is one of my top three experiences ever. Chef Kelly is The Show! Great food well prepared and presented with flair, humor and excitement.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Fantastic! I loved the entire experience! The food was delicious, non pretentious and my husband and I left full! We both boasted we would eat extra but by the end of the meal we were tapped out! Everything was delicious. Highly recommended! Treat yourself!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 19, 2017

My wife and I had a great time. The food was amazing!! The staff were great. Couldn’t ask for better service. Can’t wait to come back. Hopefully next month.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Amazing experience! So much fun and so entertaining. Sitting at the bar was great to see food being made. Coming with a group would be really fun too! Food was over the top!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Spectacular .....
Fun and amazing all around, dinning experience, staff and every thing throughout the evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.