About The Kitchen Restaurant

2225 Hurley Way
Sacramento, CA 95825
View Larger Map

The Kitchen, a Selland Family Restaurant, serves a five-course prix fixe demonstration dinner menu based on a monthly seasonal framework that features the best and freshest ingredients available on a daily basis, mostly procured locally and regionally. Dinner service also includes an interactive intermission featuring chefs’ tasting stations, as well as a finale of fresh herb tea service and artisan coffee served with Dessert.

The Kitchen Restaurant has earned every imaginable local and regional award along with an impressive list of national accolades, including the AAA Five Diamond Award five years running, a nod as a semi-finalist for the James Beard “Outstanding Restaurant” Award, the highest Zagat ratings, and honors from Wine Spectator and Wine Enthusiast, as well as inclusion in the Yelp Top 100 and the Open Table Top 100.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Thursday: Doors Open at 6:30pm, Dinner Begins at 7:00; Friday - Saturday: Doors Open at 7:00pm, Dinner Begins at 7:30; Sunday: Doors Open at 5:00pm, Dinner Begins at 5:30. Please arrive within 15 minutes after our doors opening to ensure the show starts on time.

Cross Street:
Howe Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 568-7171

Website:
http://www.thekitchenrestaurant.com/

Catering:
We offer Private Party availability for the entire restaurant for your special occasion or business function. Smaller, semi-private tables may be available.

Parking Details:
The Kitchen has a private lot with ample parking.

Public Transit:
Call our receptionist and we will be happy to arrange a town car for you. Please call a minimum of 24 hours before your reservation.

Executive Chef:
Kelly McCown

Private Party Facilities:
Reserve the entire restaurant exclusively for your event! Our six-course Demonstration Dinners, prepared right before your eyes, are a feast for all the senses, and our award-winning wine list features the best in the state. Our Sommelier will design a personalized beverage package. As a Private Party at The Kitchen, the entire restaurant is exclusively yours for the evening, with our expert staff of chefs and servers dedicated entirely to you and your guests. We offer our Private Party option for up to 56 people, perfect for business and convention groups, birthday and anniversary celebrations, and client or staff appreciation dinners. We will make your event a distinctive and singular success.

Private Party Contact:
Bobbie Chamberlin: 9165687171x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Intermission - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Garlic Fries - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Chilled Green Coastal Curry - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Randall's Chili glazed Quail - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Chicken And Sesame Beef Satay - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Chestnut And Butternut Squash Ravioli Over Ragout Of Braised California Lamb, Lacinato Kale And Pancetta With Candied Garlic - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Big Eye Tuna Sashimi - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Last Bit Of Sunshine: Meyer Lemon Pudding Cake With Coastal Huckleberry Compote, Creme Fraiche Ice Cream And White Chocolate Bark - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Truffled Grilled Cheese And Tomato Bisque Perigord And Burgundian Truffles, Cypress Grove Midnight Moon, San Marzano Tomatoes And White Truffle Butter - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Melon Shooter  - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Elote Summer Corn Gnocchi - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Tuna Tartare Taco - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Fried Green Olives - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
White Spot Prawn Caesar Salad - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Cheese and Charcuterie - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Creme Brulee - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Barrel Stave Smoked Angus Beef Tenderloin, Carmelized Onion Tarte - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Oysters - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Chocolate Chip Cookies - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
'Salad' of Watanabe Farms Cherry Tomatoes - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
peanut butter & jelly sandwich - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Bacon Chocolate-Chip Cookies - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Panchetta & Lobster Cavatelli Pasta - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Roasted Peach w/ Bacon & Butterscotch Ice Cream - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Grilled Dry Aged Eye of Rib - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
S'mores Dessert - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Crispy Soft Shell Crab & Pole Beans - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Roasted Guinea Hen Breast With Foie Gras, Potatoes, Gravy, Mushrooms And Chicken Hearts - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Asparagus Soup - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Maine Lobster Vichyssoise With Minted English Pea Panna Cotta And A Hint Of Smoked Pork - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Blueberry Tart And Cherry Swirl Ice Cream, Chocolate Covered Candied Walnuts And Creamed Honey Custard - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Japanese Sea Bass And Rock Shrimp, Pickled Octopus And Small Vegetables With White Soy-Miso Butter - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
A Salad Of Clustered Herb Greens And Lettuces, Local Barrata, Stewed New Tomatoes And Grilled Bread - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Wagyu Rib Eye Cap Steak - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Beef tenderloin - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Trout, Caviar, Potato Salad - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Crab And Lobster Roll - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Local Halibut and Pastry - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Tempura Soft Boiled Egg with Lardo - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Shrimp With Ravioli - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
2003 Blair Estate Meritage - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Squash Soup With Lobster - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Heirloom Melon With Iberico Ham - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Intermission Dishes: Sushi And Sashimi - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Mussels in Saffron Broth - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Gnudi (ricotta Gnochi)  - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Nancy's Carrot Cake With Caramel, Orange-Carrot Sherbet And Leslie's Walnut (Soy) Ice Cream - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Salmon, Rock Shrimp, Pasta - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Rabbit, Sweetbreads and Foie Gras Terrine - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Strawberries - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
fresh bread - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Fresh Lobster - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Zucchini Ribbon Salad with Shrimp - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Wagyu Short Rib - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Black And Tan Torchio Pasta With Maine Lobster, Lemon Creme Fraiche, Goat Butter And Local Sturgeon Caviar - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Alaskan Halibut With Day Boat Scallops, Green Garlic Salsa, Red Curry Broth And Fragrant Coconut Milk - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Slow Cooked Wagyu Strip Loin With Lamb Sausage, Mushroom, Thyme And Fennel-Onion Fondue - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Tonato "Soup" - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Dessert Course - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Pork Ravioli - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Seared Foie Gras - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Warm Salad of Lamb Sausage and egg - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Carrot Cake - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Sushi - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Sashimi - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Sake - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Lodi Asparagus Bisque with Crispy Duck - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
2006 Joseph Drouhin Cote de Beaune Rouge, Burgandy Pinot Noir - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Fresh Wasabi - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Sweet Asparagus Bisque With Rabbit Farci, Spring Vegetable Salad, Pecorino Romano Foam And Black Truffle Essence - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Maine Lobster Carbonara - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Thai Style Bisque and Quail Confit - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Lobster Mac & Cheese - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Heirloom Tomato Soup W/ A Dungeness Crab-Burrarata Flan - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Lamb Rack & Maine Lobster - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
BLT - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Chilled Charentais Melon Soup. Lassen Trout Tartar, Pecans, Cucumbers, Smoked Trout Caviar - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Pasta E Fagioli. . House Made Guanciale, Pecorino Sardo Chanterelles, Escarole  - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Slow Braised Berkshire Pork 'Banh Mi' - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Warm Baked Figs. Marscapone, Pistachio Gelato, Maserati Blackberries, Honey - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Carpaccio Of Beef.  Tomatoes, Yellow Tomato Jam, Basil, Goat's Milk Ricotta - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Emigh Farms Lamb Saddle. Smoked Eggplant Puree, Succotash Curry Panisse, Mint, Roasted Lamb Jus  - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Sea Scallop - Lobster Cannelloni And Salad Of Black Truffle - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Brown Butter Poached Beef Tenderloin - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Mini Corn Dogs - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Bittersweet Chocolate Tart - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Grilled Cheese Sandwich - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Maple Bacon Ice Cream with Bacon - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
"Peanut Butter & Jelly"  - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Wild Salmon, Rock Shrimp, And A Rabbit Ravioli - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
A "Burrito" of Crispy Pork, Taleggio and Cheddar with Chili-Glazed Texas Quail - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Sushi & Sashimi Course - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Salmon Skin W/ Green Tea Noodles - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Warmed Mountain Berry Crepe - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Cioppino with Covina Sea Bass, Maine Lobster, Scallops, Rock Shrimp and 'Canned Tomatoes'  - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Wagyu Beef Tenderloin with Parmesan-Truffle 'Creme Brulee', Malbec, Thyme and Carrot Jus - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Bittersweet Chocolate-Carmen 'Tart', Raspberry Sorbet, White Chocolate Mousse, and Southern Fried Walnut Ice Cream - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Dream Bar - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA
Duck Consommé and Wing with Toast, Pasture Egg, Hollandaise and Lardo - The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Join us for Chef’s four-course Prix Fixe menu. Menu price is $135 per person, which includes a bottle of Champagne per couple. Vegetarian menu and menu supplements will be available. Cancellations will be accepted through 5pm on 12/23.
SORRY, NO A LA CARTE OPTIONS IN THE DINING ROOM THIS EVENING.

The Kitchen Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Food
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Service
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
12 More
Best Ambiance
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Value
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Fit for Foodies
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Special Occasion
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Contemporary American
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Overall
Sacramento
Best Food
Sacramento
Best Service
Sacramento
Best Ambiance
Sacramento
Best Value
Sacramento
Fit for Foodies
Sacramento
Special Occasion
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

Special Occasion (50)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Notable Wine List (30)
See All
Open Kitchen (30)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Fun (25)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Romantic (17)
Good for a Date (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Tasting Menu (11)
Fireplace (9)
Seasonal (8)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Hot Spot (6)
People Watching (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Authentic (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Cozy (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Organic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Healthy (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Family Style (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Spicy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tapas (1)
Casual (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
657 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Kitchen is more of an experience tha ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The Kitchen is more of an experience than simply a meal. The staff is fantastic, the food wonderful, the atmosphere is fun. Don't be shy!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The best dining experience ever!!! Canno ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The best dining experience ever!!! Cannot say enough nice or positive or amazing things! Cannot wait to come back!

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome for those who appreciate the hig ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Awesome for those who appreciate the highest quality sourced ingredients with excellent preparation and expertise in plating and flavor. Bring your wallet. This is not a budget meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Kitchen ROCKS! In spite of it's me ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The Kitchen ROCKS!

In spite of it's metamorphosis from "Randall's Play Pen" to what it is today, this place is still the BEST RESTAURANT IN TOWN! From the local sourcing; to the extremely creative ways to make the food look, smell and taste DIVINE; to the entire staff; to the wine list and Sommelier; to the cookie dough OR the fresh oysters from the rack straight outta the walk-in (ya could do both, just cuz!); to the energy in the place...there is no other, better place to drop some big bucks on becoming a "Calorie Warrior"!

I know they were kidding (at least I hope they were) when they told us "you've just eaten the calorie equivalent to 1 week PLUS one days worth of food!) but the misery was worth every bite!

It was the first time for my wife and she can't stop talking about it. I have been at least 7 times now and every time is the same...but different. Seasonally, they can't be beat. Creatively, they are genius.

Don't go when you're dieting or cleansing but definitely plan on either after! It will be worth the work.

By the way, if they offer you beef tenderloin that's been braised in butter, don't wait! Go straight up to the cutting board and grab a piece!!! It's just like being at home, only BRAISED IN BUTTER!

MANGIA!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The overall experience was worth it. It ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The overall experience was worth it. It would be nice if a cost per person was advertised online. Also, on a work night (Wednesday) I did not expect the entire dinner to take 5 hours.

Tags: Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An incredible experience. I would highly ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

An incredible experience. I would highly recommend this restaurant and I will definitely be back!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great experience! The food was ou ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 28, 2016

What a great experience! The food was out of this world good. The staff was awesome and attentive. They treat you like family and don't let you leave hungry. Would recommend The Kitchen to everyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an absolutely exquisite dining ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This was an absolutely exquisite dining experience! It was the first time for three of us at our table of four and we were in awe with every item that came to our table - including both food and wine. The entertainment value was outstanding and it was such a comfortable atmosphere with allowing us to wander to the back and visit everyone preparing our meal while drinking champagne and eating oysters along with cookie dough! It's just something that you can't really comprehend until you experience it. So grateful for the opportunity to have dined at such an incredible place! Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for a different type of dini ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great place for a different type of dining experience. Interesting to have the chef speak about ingredients and why a dish was chosen.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Had a great time with family. The food w ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Had a great time with family. The food was amazing!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Outstanding meal, so different from a tr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Outstanding meal, so different from a traditional restaurant in so many ways. We loved our food and the wine pairings - which they allowed us to split -and everything available from the walk-in fridge to the sushi at intermission was incredible and made it feel like a delicious treasure hunt. Highly recommend for any special occasion.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful fun and delicious night! Defi ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Wonderful fun and delicious night! Definitely a unique experience!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and an entertaining exper ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Wonderful food and an entertaining experience. Nothing more needs to be said.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful evening! The food was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We had a wonderful evening! The food was amazing and the atmosphere was fun and entertaining as you interacted with the Kitchen staff. Beautifully decorated and friendly atmosphere.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By far one of the best restaurants in ou ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2016

By far one of the best restaurants in our region - not just a meal, it's an experience and well worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really faboulous experience. Like no oth ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Really faboulous experience. Like no other dinner out this is an event. Food was all wonderful and be sure to listen to chef and pace yourself- it keeps coming and coming!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a very good time at the Kitchen. ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We had a very good time at the Kitchen. The staff and Chef were fantastic.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Family Style, Fun, People Watching, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What can I say about The Kitchen that ha ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 3, 2016

What can I say about The Kitchen that hasn't already been said? This was my second time visiting The Kitchen and it did not disappoint. Even though I knew what to expect, we still had an amazing time. The chef was engaging and energetic and the experience was phenomenal. I recommend a visit for a special occasion or for someone you really want to "wow". It is top notch and the best fine dining in Sacramento without the pretentious atmosphere!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An experience to remember! The demonstr ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 3, 2016

An experience to remember! The demonstration kitchen is incredible and the food is amazing. Add on top of this, the friendly staff, impeccable service, and fun atmosphere and you have a once in a lifetime experience. No wonder they book up months in advance!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic! The food was very good but th ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Fantastic! The food was very good but the whole experience of the "show" was even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The service and food and amazing! They ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The service and food and amazing! They have a great wine list. Being able to walk through the actual kitchen and see the food prep first hand is pretty cool.. There's no off limits there. We will be back again soon.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have never been disappointed at The K ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We have never been disappointed at The Kitchen!! Chef McCowan was great to listen to, friendly and knowledgable. Planned an executed a fantastic menu!! The after dinner freshly made herb teas are the best EVER! What a treat...the entire experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fabulous foodie experience! This was l ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 22, 2016

A fabulous foodie experience! This was like nothing I've ever experienced going out to a restuarant - it was more like a food and dining extravaganza..the food, staff, and ambiance were outstanding. I would definitely go again and highly recommend!

Tags: Spicy, Fun, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Kitchen is the ultimate "Bread and C ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The Kitchen is the ultimate "Bread and Circuses" restaurant. The food is fabulous and the entire staff makes sure you have a great time. A quiet evening out this is definitely not! The atmosphere is quite raucous and fun, fun, fun! It is expensive, but worth it in my mind, for the top notch dining and entertainment. This was our second visit with friends and If I lived anywhere near Sacramento I would go back again for the next menu change, which I believe is monthly. Alas, I'll have to wait until out next trip to the west coast.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food on the menu were impres ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Service and food on the menu were impressively excellent. We exceptionally well treated by everyone. For those who desire vegetarian/vegan options, we would recommend several restaurants in the Bay area that prepare superior vegetarian and/or vegan dinners at a much lower price. We cannot recommend The Kitchen to most of our friends because the price is well beyond their affordability even for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

There is no experience like this in Nort ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 17, 2016

There is no experience like this in Northern California... Or the world for that matter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great entertainment and food, definitely ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Great entertainment and food, definitely a must try once experience.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fun, Open Kitchen, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Like a Michelin Star restaurant, this is ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Like a Michelin Star restaurant, this is not a meal but an experience! As they tell you at the restaurant, if you leave hungry or disappointed, it's your fault. I wonder if there is any restaurant like it anywhere. The food was as good as Saison or La Pergola but the presentation was out of this world. Well worth the price and the hassle of making reservations far in advance.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved the kitchen. It was an amazing ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We loved the kitchen. It was an amazing experience and the food was amazing.

Tags: Tapas, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Kitchen is a fantastic dinner experi ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The Kitchen is a fantastic dinner experience. From the moment you walk in to the beautiful dining area/kitchen, to the moment you leave. Every course is cleverly appointed and you can count on expert explanations from not just the chef/cooking staff, but the wait staff as well regarding the food and all the alcohol options. BE PREPARED TO SPEND OVER $250 PER PERSON IF YOU ARE CONSUMING ALCOHOL.

Worth it in my opinion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place was amazing. It's not just di ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2016

This place was amazing. It's not just dinner it's almost like a show. The chef explains all of you dishes and is super fun! I loved watching them plate each dish right in front is us. The wine menu was exquisite. The cost is very high. French laundry high almost. But to me it was worth it. Great place

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef put on a show for many hours an ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 5, 2016

The chef put on a show for many hours and the food was quite good but the long waiting periods between each course and always being among the last few people served detracted from our enjoyment. The staff seemed attentive at first but our waiter had a snide attitude that worsened throughout the evening. He actually berated me for mentioning that I was unsatisfied with being served poultry as the main course when I had specifically requested fish or vegetarian. I had made this request in advance in response to an email from the Kitchen asking about dietary concerns.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Never disappoints

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Never disappoints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is hands down the best dining exper ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 27, 2016

This is hands down the best dining experience in Sacramento. I booked a dinner for my girlfriend and me on a whim thinking it'd be a nice dinner out at a fancy restaurant. Nay. I haven't had so much fun out at dinner since Chuck E Cheese when I was 6 years old. The food, the ambiance, the staff, the chef and his crew, the wine, the bar...I was blown away by this entire experience. I'm not going to get into specifics, because you should experience this firsthand and not via an OpenTable review, but from my point of view, worth every penny.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic evening! Love The Kitchen. Che ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Fantastic evening! Love The Kitchen. Chef McCown is hilarious and a fantastic chef. One of our favorites places to dine ever, one of the top 3 restaurants in Northern California, IMHO.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Kitchen never fails to impress. It ...

 
 (México)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The Kitchen never fails to impress. It is an absolutely amazing dining experience that everyone should try at least once. I say this because it's not cheap and, likely, out of reach for many diners. But, this is definitely the place to go when you want to splurge!

Tags: Organic, Good for Groups, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an awesome meal and great fun. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2016

This was an awesome meal and great fun. We sat at the counter and ate so much that we keeled over. Food was excellent and the wine pairings were so good. really loved this Sonoma Pinot Noir they had.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time I've gone. An experience, a ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Second time I've gone. An experience, a must try!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must try!!! Super neat concept and expe ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Must try!!! Super neat concept and experience. Fixed menu but they'll easily accommodate dietary restrictions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

3rd annual trip and we had a fabulous ti ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2016

3rd annual trip and we had a fabulous time as usual. So much fun the staff and everyone make for such a great experience! Will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.