About The Kitchen Restaurant

2225 Hurley Way
Sacramento, CA 95825
View Larger Map

The Kitchen, a Selland Family Restaurant, serves a five-course prix fixe demonstration dinner menu based on a monthly seasonal framework that features the best and freshest ingredients available on a daily basis, mostly procured locally and regionally. Dinner service also includes an interactive intermission featuring chefs’ tasting stations, as well as a finale of fresh herb tea service and artisan coffee served with Dessert.

The Kitchen Restaurant has earned every imaginable local and regional award along with an impressive list of national accolades, including the AAA Five Diamond Award five years running, a nod as a semi-finalist for the James Beard “Outstanding Restaurant” Award, the highest Zagat ratings, and honors from Wine Spectator and Wine Enthusiast, as well as inclusion in the Yelp Top 100 and the Open Table Top 100.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Thursday: Doors Open at 6:30pm, Dinner Begins at 7:00; Friday - Saturday: Doors Open at 7:00pm, Dinner Begins at 7:30; Sunday: Doors Open at 5:00pm, Dinner Begins at 5:30. Please arrive within 15 minutes after our doors opening to ensure the show starts on time.

Cross Street:
Howe Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 568-7171

Website:
http://www.thekitchenrestaurant.com/

Catering:
We offer Private Party availability for the entire restaurant for your special occasion or business function. Smaller, semi-private tables may be available.

Parking Details:
The Kitchen has a private lot with ample parking.

Public Transit:
Call our receptionist and we will be happy to arrange a town car for you. Please call a minimum of 24 hours before your reservation.

Executive Chef:
Kelly McCown

Private Party Facilities:
Reserve the entire restaurant exclusively for your event! Our six-course Demonstration Dinners, prepared right before your eyes, are a feast for all the senses, and our award-winning wine list features the best in the state. Our Sommelier will design a personalized beverage package. As a Private Party at The Kitchen, the entire restaurant is exclusively yours for the evening, with our expert staff of chefs and servers dedicated entirely to you and your guests. We offer our Private Party option for up to 56 people, perfect for business and convention groups, birthday and anniversary celebrations, and client or staff appreciation dinners. We will make your event a distinctive and singular success.

Private Party Contact:
Bobbie Chamberlin: 9165687171x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Kitchen Restaurant
Chicken And Sesame Beef Satay
Chestnut And Butternut Squash Ravioli Over Ragout Of Braised California Lamb, Lacinato Kale And Pancetta With Candied Garlic
Big Eye Tuna Sashimi
Last Bit Of Sunshine: Meyer Lemon Pudding Cake With Coastal Huckleberry Compote, Creme Fraiche Ice Cream And White Chocolate Bark
Truffled Grilled Cheese And Tomato Bisque Perigord And Burgundian Truffles, Cypress Grove Midnight Moon, San Marzano Tomatoes And White Truffle Butter
Creme Brulee
Tuna Tartare Taco
Fried Green Olives
White Spot Prawn Caesar Salad
Cheese and Charcuterie
Barrel Stave Smoked Angus Beef Tenderloin, Carmelized Onion Tarte
Oysters
Chocolate Chip Cookies
'Salad' of Watanabe Farms Cherry Tomatoes
peanut butter & jelly sandwich
Bacon Chocolate-Chip Cookies
Panchetta & Lobster Cavatelli Pasta
Roasted Peach w/ Bacon & Butterscotch Ice Cream
Grilled Dry Aged Eye of Rib
S'mores Dessert
Crispy Soft Shell Crab & Pole Beans
Roasted Guinea Hen Breast With Foie Gras, Potatoes, Gravy, Mushrooms And Chicken Hearts
Asparagus Soup
Maine Lobster Vichyssoise With Minted English Pea Panna Cotta And A Hint Of Smoked Pork
Blueberry Tart And Cherry Swirl Ice Cream, Chocolate Covered Candied Walnuts And Creamed Honey Custard
Japanese Sea Bass And Rock Shrimp, Pickled Octopus And Small Vegetables With White Soy-Miso Butter
A Salad Of Clustered Herb Greens And Lettuces, Local Barrata, Stewed New Tomatoes And Grilled Bread
Wagyu Rib Eye Cap Steak
Beef tenderloin
Trout, Caviar, Potato Salad
Crab And Lobster Roll
Local Halibut and Pastry
Tempura Soft Boiled Egg with Lardo
Shrimp With Ravioli
2003 Blair Estate Meritage
Squash Soup With Lobster
Heirloom Melon With Iberico Ham
Intermission Dishes: Sushi And Sashimi
Mussels in Saffron Broth
Gnudi (ricotta Gnochi)
Nancy's Carrot Cake With Caramel, Orange-Carrot Sherbet And Leslie's Walnut (Soy) Ice Cream
Salmon, Rock Shrimp, Pasta
Rabbit, Sweetbreads and Foie Gras Terrine
Strawberries
fresh bread
Fresh Lobster
Zucchini Ribbon Salad with Shrimp
Wagyu Short Rib
Black And Tan Torchio Pasta With Maine Lobster, Lemon Creme Fraiche, Goat Butter And Local Sturgeon Caviar
Alaskan Halibut With Day Boat Scallops, Green Garlic Salsa, Red Curry Broth And Fragrant Coconut Milk
Slow Cooked Wagyu Strip Loin With Lamb Sausage, Mushroom, Thyme And Fennel-Onion Fondue
Tonato "Soup"
Dessert Course
Pork Ravioli
Seared Foie Gras
Warm Salad of Lamb Sausage and egg
Carrot Cake
Sushi
Sashimi
Sake
Lodi Asparagus Bisque with Crispy Duck
2006 Joseph Drouhin Cote de Beaune Rouge, Burgandy Pinot Noir
Fresh Wasabi
Sweet Asparagus Bisque With Rabbit Farci, Spring Vegetable Salad, Pecorino Romano Foam And Black Truffle Essence
Maine Lobster Carbonara
Thai Style Bisque and Quail Confit
Lobster Mac & Cheese
Heirloom Tomato Soup W/ A Dungeness Crab-Burrarata Flan
Lamb Rack & Maine Lobster
BLT
Chilled Charentais Melon Soup. Lassen Trout Tartar, Pecans, Cucumbers, Smoked Trout Caviar
Pasta E Fagioli. . House Made Guanciale, Pecorino Sardo Chanterelles, Escarole
Slow Braised Berkshire Pork 'Banh Mi'
Warm Baked Figs. Marscapone, Pistachio Gelato, Maserati Blackberries, Honey
Carpaccio Of Beef.  Tomatoes, Yellow Tomato Jam, Basil, Goat's Milk Ricotta
Emigh Farms Lamb Saddle. Smoked Eggplant Puree, Succotash Curry Panisse, Mint, Roasted Lamb Jus
Sea Scallop - Lobster Cannelloni And Salad Of Black Truffle
Brown Butter Poached Beef Tenderloin
Mini Corn Dogs
Bittersweet Chocolate Tart
Grilled Cheese Sandwich
Maple Bacon Ice Cream with Bacon
"Peanut Butter & Jelly"
Wild Salmon, Rock Shrimp, And A Rabbit Ravioli
A "Burrito" of Crispy Pork, Taleggio and Cheddar with Chili-Glazed Texas Quail
Sushi & Sashimi Course
Salmon Skin W/ Green Tea Noodles
Warmed Mountain Berry Crepe
Cioppino with Covina Sea Bass, Maine Lobster, Scallops, Rock Shrimp and 'Canned Tomatoes'
Wagyu Beef Tenderloin with Parmesan-Truffle 'Creme Brulee', Malbec, Thyme and Carrot Jus
Bittersweet Chocolate-Carmen 'Tart', Raspberry Sorbet, White Chocolate Mousse, and Southern Fried Walnut Ice Cream
Dream Bar
Duck Consommé and Wing with Toast, Pasture Egg, Hollandaise and Lardo
Slow Cooked Wagyu
Sweet Asparagus Bisque
Black And Tan Torchio Pasta
Alaskan Halibut

The Kitchen Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Food
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Service
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
10 More
Best Ambiance
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Notable Wine List
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Special Occasion
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Overall
Sacramento
Best Food
Sacramento
Best Service
Sacramento
Best Ambiance
Sacramento
Fit for Foodies
Sacramento
Notable Wine List
Sacramento
Special Occasion
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

Special Occasion (72)
Fit for Foodies (56)
Notable Wine List (40)
See All
Good for Groups (25)
Romantic (21)
Hot Spot (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
618 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Second time I've gone. An experience, a ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 5 days ago

Second time I've gone. An experience, a must try!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

3rd annual trip and we had a fabulous ti ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

3rd annual trip and we had a fabulous time as usual. So much fun the staff and everyone make for such a great experience! Will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat! Great chefs, tasty foo ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always a treat! Great chefs, tasty food , lovely atmosphere and service. Well done! I would not recommend this spot for children, very much adult- perhaps teenage dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinning experience! Awesome very c ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great dinning experience! Awesome very chef! Tons of food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was an amazing experience from star ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

This was an amazing experience from start to finish! The food, wine and atmosphere were perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We call it "food theater" or "food happ ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We call it "food theater" or "food happening." Great fun -- plus educational. The food is excellent. The presentation is not-to-be-believed! Four hours of fun, learning and super, super dishes. Not cheap, but the level of expertise is the highest -- so, worth every dollar. Will return with foodie friends.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent experience overall at the Kitc ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent experience overall at the Kitchen. I brought a bottle of wine and was shocked at the $50 corkage fee. A bit of a rip off in my opinion. I put in a gluten-free dietary restriction to see how they would handle it, and they did an excellent job! The roasted beef tenderloin with a poached egg on the top was a let down, but all the other dishes for the evening were great. The service was impeccable. My girlfriend was floored on her first trip to the Kitchen! Fantastic!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a foodie delight. 5 courses off ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This is a foodie delight. 5 courses off a menu that rotates monthly. But if you want something else...no problem. The only rule is this: no rules. You can order anything you want. Help cook, plate, walk in the kitchen, visit the cooler, grab some cookie dough, request a 4 cheese grilled cheese or something else. Don't let the "intermission" fool you: the chef will hammer you with more amazing food scattered throughout the kitchen, so pace yourself. Seating is at 6:30pm. We left at 11:15pm. While it seems like a long time, it was great pacing to enjoy each of the courses. 20% gratuity is added. It's non-negotiable, and don't quibble. The food and service and experience is worth it. Wine pairings for each course can be purchased for an additional $85 per person. We skipped that and ate our calories. This is a bucket list place for sure, but I have a feeling we'll make it a two or three time a year special treat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Almost TOO much food (all of it amazing ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Almost TOO much food (all of it amazing and delicious). It's pretty $$$ but well worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The best food accompanied by entertainin ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The best food accompanied by entertaining and informative info about ingredients and preparation. The small plates are deceiving; there are so many, including before and intermission sampling, that the tummy gets full before one realizes it. Superb!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always the best

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Always the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A woderful evening with a dynamic staff ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

A woderful evening with a dynamic staff and fabulous food. My only complaint is the wine costs...we're already paying A LOT of money for the food and experience, I don't see the need to charge $50 corkage fee and the least expensive glass of red wine is $16....let alone the cost for a bottle. I would like to see the corkage fee brought to a more reasonable amount and/or offer a few less expensive wines as options.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome!!!!!!!

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Awesome!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and unbelievable service. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Amazing food and unbelievable service. We were welcomed in the restaurant by name and the chef and staff called us by name the entire evening. Each course was so delicious that I savored every single bite and still days later remember how happy I felt eating incredible food. I tried to book a reservation for August but no sch luck. I have my September and October appointment booked.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A very extraordinary evening - great atm ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

A very extraordinary evening - great atmosphere and food - a very special evening that far exceeded expectations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They make you feel very welcome, serve y ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

They make you feel very welcome, serve you great food, provide humor and personality, and let you raid the fridge for cookie dough. An amazing dining experience that every food lover should try at least once. We will definitely be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What an amazing experience. My wife and ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

What an amazing experience. My wife and I already booked for August. To be honest I felt like I was in a Food Network show and we were the special guest. The environment was lively and entertaining. You can eat as much as you want. Most of all the host was vibrant and fun. Great place to enjoy your Saturday night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We thought we were just going to a dinne ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We thought we were just going to a dinner with fancy food. It turned out it was entertainment and awesome food. When I was leaving it felt like I was exploding just like after Thanksgiving dinner. I couldn't stop sampling, everything was so good

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good, but just not wor ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was very good, but just not worth the price. And the alcohol was VERY overpriced. The service was great and it was a fun interactive experience for foodies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

It was an amazing experience. Food was d ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

It was an amazing experience. Food was delicious and you won't leave hungry. Drinks were good but we felt a little too pricey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is a party atmosphere with excellent ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

It is a party atmosphere with excellent service and entertaining staff. Five star food and wine, basically all you can eat. You will not go home hungry and you will get to try many different dishes even beyond the menu. Chef Kelly is entertaining through out the evening and the staff will accommodate any request. Get your reservation now and bring some friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our first time going to The Kit ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

This was our first time going to The Kitchen. It was a unique dining experience that we won't soon forget. The executive chef engaged the diners and kept the evening lively. The quality of the food was awesome. We will come here again when we save up for this experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing Experience. The food was phenom ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Amazing Experience. The food was phenomenal & the entire staff were incredible, knowledgeable,helpful, and full of great energy. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

i love everything about the kitchen. suc ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

i love everything about the kitchen. such a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall very entertaining and a brillian ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Overall very entertaining and a brilliant conceptual restaurant. Best dining interactive experience ever.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We found the experience new and fun. We ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We found the experience new and fun. We went without knowing anything and loved every moment. Although, we felt like we would be in a food coma after, only because we are not use to eating that much and dining for 4 hours. We have already talked about it on our FB pages to friends and family. Thank you and we look forward to our next experience in the future. Jack and Christine Smith

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, fun ambience, attentive serv ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great food, fun ambience, attentive servers! However, even though Bobbi called to confirm my food twice,the expediter and a chef noted my request for whole grains, greens and fish not one of those requests was manifested. The head chef Kelly is manic & inventive entertainment whose mantra was that our requests whatever they might be -mundane (peanut butter & jelly )to more shaved truffles would be happily secured was not fulfilled . I was served a lovely ribeye steak instead of fish, bleached baggette not whole grain bread and asparagus soup for fiber. All the food is delicious, but if you have diet parameters the place is not for you.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing experience. Felt like an interac ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Amazing experience. Felt like an interactive dining experience. Loved the education/demonstration part of the dinner. Staff was elegant, attentive and friendly. Food was delicious and beautifully plated. Went to celebrate our 5 year anniversary. Definitely a $$$$ place, but worth every penny.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a great dinner and presentation. Wen ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Was a great dinner and presentation. Went there to celebrate all our birthdays and son's 8th grade grad. Son loved it! Excellent personal service. Even let my son help prepare dessert! It was a great experience for all of us and will continue to go here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

This restaurant is a special occasion one! Not for everyday dining. It is very pricey but considering the quality of the food and the "show" that goes with it, it is worth every penny. You get to watch them prepare your meal (everyone gets the same unless you have dietary restrictions). You really appreciate the work that goes in to a special meal! Outstanding service, quality food and a lovely wine list.....what is not to like!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience of culinary expertise.

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

This was an awesome event. The staff was very proficient and professional and it was a totally enjoyable experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very loud, good food, very high price point

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

When I booked a table at the Kitchen I was expecting to be wowed, unfortunately I was not.

Service was great, very attentive - almost to a fault as we rarely were left alone long enough to get in any conversation. The food was good but not great - which it should have been when spending $300+ per person. An example was the main course: we instructed our waiter on arrival that we did not eat red meat, he said this was not a problem, they always had alternatives they prepared to their prix fix selections. Unfortunately their solution was to plate some overcooked Halibut the same as they plated the steak - exactly the same. They had a production line of plates ready and on ours they plopped on the Halibut rather than the steak. Hmmm.

I would also note that the alcohol served was excessive, given that I watched all of the patrons that evening drive up in their own vehicles - I would hate to have been on the road when people wandered out to drive home.

The emphasis was on loud and overdone productions between each course which I quite frankly could have done without. Too be fair, most of the folks there seemed to be be enjoying themselves, it was just way over the top for my taste.

Unfortunately (or perhapse fortunately given the alcohol service noted above) we left early and prior to the last course - we quite frankly had had enough.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Unique experience but unnecessarily expe ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Unique experience but unnecessarily expensive. Be prepared to pay $500 minimum. Menu selection was more nouveau California, not to my personal liking, but I'm sure others will enjoy.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Love this place great food great people!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Love this place great food great people!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of a kind...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The Kitchen dinning experience is 4-hours of over-the-top fun and great food. You are literally invited into the kitchen, you can "sneak" cookie dough out of the walk in and explore an extensive wine cellar. The chemistry the staff has is impressive and totally contributes to the whole experience. Be warned, this will not be an inexpensive evening nor will it be a quiet , romantic dinner. Be prepared to engage and enjoy. The one seating is limited to very few people. Request a spot at the bar so the action is right in front of you. The doors are opened at 7 and not before. We ubered and arrived a little early and had to stand in the parking lot in not the best part of town though the off -duty Sac PD officer working the lot was nice. Go and have fun! The team at The Kitchen does it right.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Dinner is the SHOW

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

This is dinner theater...dinner is the star and you are not just an audience but welcome as a participant. You're encouraged to explore the kitchens, ask questions and may even get to assist in the production of dinner. The staff is wonderful, the food is excellent and it is always fun. Each new menu is a new adventure. We were with a group of friends and had a wonderful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Kitchen has always been on mine and ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The Kitchen has always been on mine and my fiance's list for quite some time now, and finally we decided to come here for his birthday dinner in May 2016.

This restaurant is not located in the best and good looking area, however, the inside of the restaurant makes up for it. The restaurant opens right on time with servers checking you in. While entering the restaurant, it has a romantic, fancy, and candle lit ambiance. We got seated in front of the kitchen where the "show" took place. What's cool about this place is that you're suppose to treat it like your home. You're able to walk to the kitchen and watch chefs cook and sample some foods.

The food here is good, but not delicious. Only one course stood out to me most which was the "Crudo of California Hamachi". Everything in that dish paired very well and was very delicious. A dish that i was most disappointed most was the "Rosemary and Sage-Cured Smoked Beef Tenderloin". The sauce did not go well with the room temperature beef. I only took 2 bites and was done with it.

Overall, I really enjoyed the show and the experience. However, the food was not up to par for me. This place is a good experience and the show was entertaining. The only one dish i enjoyed most was the first course which i am most surprised by. Some tips i have are to get the wine pairing because it really opens up your palates, and expect to spend 4 hours here for dinner. Something that bugged me was that people were picking food in the kitchen with their fingers (I am a germaphobe). I am glad to say, i finally crossed this restaurant off my list!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

As always, amazing. Second time we've went, and I was afraid it was not going to live up to our original visit. Completely wrong, pleasantly surprised. Food amazing, service amazing, very entertaining head chef. It cost more now but includes more during intermission and they do not charge for coffee or tea now. Cannot wait to go again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun and engaging

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

I am glad, after living in Sacramento for years, we finally made it to The Kitchen. Our dining experience was lots of fun (it is definitely an experience, not just dinner). 7 delicious courses. Friendly, well-trained staff. The chef was energetic, engaging, funny and knowledgeable. Lovely environment and outdoor patio. If you are a foodie and willing to spend some money, I recommend going to The Kitchen. And if you love wine, do the wine pairings. Pace yourself, though, because it is lots of food and it is easy to fill up too early in the evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A must do!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

I have been to The Kitchen once before and loved the food and experience both times! Would definitely go again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.