Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 1.12mi
  4. Distance: 1.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 1.12mi
  4. Distance: 1.16mi

About The Kitchen Restaurant

The Kitchen, a Selland Family Restaurant, serves a five-course prix fixe demonstration dinner menu based on a monthly seasonal framework that features the best and freshest ingredients available on a daily basis, mostly procured locally and regionally. Dinner service also includes an interactive intermission featuring chefs’ tasting stations, as well as a finale of fresh herb tea service and artisan coffee served with Dessert.

The Kitchen Restaurant has earned every imaginable local and regional award along with an impressive list of national accolades, including the AAA Five Diamond Award five years running, a nod as a semi-finalist for the James Beard “Outstanding Restaurant” Award, the highest Zagat ratings, and honors from Wine Spectator and Wine Enthusiast, as well as inclusion in the Yelp Top 100 and the Open Table Top 100.

2225 Hurley Way
Sacramento, CA 95825
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Thursday: Doors Open at 6:30pm, Dinner Begins at 7:00; Friday - Saturday: Doors Open at 7:00pm, Dinner Begins at 7:30; Sunday: Doors Open at 5:00pm, Dinner Begins at 5:30. Please arrive within 15 minutes after our doors opening to ensure the show starts on time.

Cross Street:
Howe Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 568-7171

Website:
http://www.thekitchenrestaurant.com/

Catering:
We offer Private Party availability for the entire restaurant for your special occasion or business function. Smaller, semi-private tables may be available.

Parking Details:
The Kitchen has a private lot with ample parking.

Public Transit:
Call our receptionist and we will be happy to arrange a town car for you. Please call a minimum of 24 hours before your reservation.

Executive Chef:
Kelly McCown

Private Party Facilities:
Reserve the entire restaurant exclusively for your event! Our six-course Demonstration Dinners, prepared right before your eyes, are a feast for all the senses, and our award-winning wine list features the best in the state. Our Sommelier will design a personalized beverage package. As a Private Party at The Kitchen, the entire restaurant is exclusively yours for the evening, with our expert staff of chefs and servers dedicated entirely to you and your guests. We offer our Private Party option for up to 56 people, perfect for business and convention groups, birthday and anniversary celebrations, and client or staff appreciation dinners. We will make your event a distinctive and singular success.

Private Party Contact:
Bobbie Chamberlin: (916) 568-7171

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Kitchen Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (36)
Special Occasion (35)
Fit for Foodies (34)
See All
Creative Cuisine (32)
Fun (30)
Notable Wine List (22)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Good for a Date (21)
Local Ingredients (20)
Open Kitchen (20)
Good for Groups (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Tasting Menu (12)
Romantic (12)
Seasonal (9)
Authentic (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Organic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
People Watching (6)
Cozy (5)
Healthy (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Fireplace (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
749 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Lots of great things to say about Kitchen: innovative concept, warm staff, creative environment.
However for the price, there should be no mistakes and food&execution need to be flawless. It's hard to be flawless, so unless the price (and commensurate expectations based on that price) is lowered, then it's hard to see a good value for money.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great food and entertainment. Pricey so special occasions inly

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2017

This place is amazing and hands down the best dining experience we have ever had! Kudos to the whole team!! So much fun and the food was... I can't even describe it, it was that fantastic.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Can't say enough good things about The Kitchen! We went for our 29th wedding anniversary and had a fabulous night. We already want to go back! Selland's does it again!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Went for our 28th anniversary and didn't have a clue what to expect. It was an amazing evening/experience. Loved the "play bill", the chef's running commentary, etc. Fabulous service and attention to detail. Loved how relaxed it was there. Very friendly environment - the food was beyond amazing!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on June 5, 2017

I was not expecting the evening to be so entertaining along w/great food. For my first experience I had a great time. Our whole party did in fact!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Absolutely amazing experience. The only thing that tops the exquisite food and wine pairings is the first class personal service, attentive to every detail from every person on the staff. Highest recommendation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Unique restaurant that is worth the experience for any foodie. Price was reasonable for a multi-course menu. Not sure This is a great romantic restaurant since there is a lot going on all of the time, but that is part of the uniqueness. Would definitely visit again when we are back in the area. If I was a local, we would go regularly especially when we had guests in from out of town.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 29, 2017

It was our first time there...we were celebrating our wedding anniversary...it was highly recommended by friends so we thought we'd give it a try...we were blown away by the whole experience. Everything was perfect! Entertaining, delicious, friendly, awesome service, relaxing, and tons of fun! Definitely going back again and again...

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 28, 2017

It was truly a fun evening of great food and culinary entertainment! We especially enjoyed the Blue Lagoon Roasted Alaskan Halibut, Manhattan Butter poached Beef Tenderloin and the Hemingway Daquiri Lime Creme Brûlée. You bet we're going back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Best dinner I have ever had. My wife and I were very glad we stayed in town for our ten-year anniversary and made The Kitchen our destination.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Fantastic! I loved the entire experience! The food was delicious, non pretentious and my husband and I left full! We both boasted we would eat extra but by the end of the meal we were tapped out! Everything was delicious. Highly recommended! Treat yourself!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My wife and I had a great time. The food was amazing!! The staff were great. Couldn’t ask for better service. Can’t wait to come back. Hopefully next month.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Amazing experience! So much fun and so entertaining. Sitting at the bar was great to see food being made. Coming with a group would be really fun too! Food was over the top!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Spectacular .....
Fun and amazing all around, dinning experience, staff and every thing throughout the evening.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Most unique restaurant I've ever been to. Crazy fun experience where you interact with chef, cooks, managers and more. They all, come out of the kitchen to get you cranked up for this unique dining venue. They were blasting 70s music the night we were there. This isn't the quiet dining place, but so much fun! Tables surround a U shaped bar, where they cook, teach, and serve fabulous creations as you watch their detailed plating of gourmet food. You can wander into the kitchen where you are offered things being cooked, things out of the walk in fridge, participate in an "intermission" from the Seated dinner for more food, special beverages. Come hungry for the endless variety of courses, snacks, desserts. From Hog Island oysters, fired olives, cookie dough, homemade chips, sushi, lettuce wraps and other small snacks, to the five course prefix dinner, this is a place you won't forget if you love food in an open, party type atmosphere. Be ready to break the bank and have fun!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Excellent as always from start to finish. Dessert was sooo good it is just hard to pace yourself especially during intermission so you have room for dessert. The team at The Kitchen always make you feel welcome and the food is fantastic

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This place was so unique, the food was delicious we came from wine country and left amazed! Great Job chef Michael and staff!

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Everything here is excellent. The service, the setting, the staff, the chef, the wine pairings, and the food is incredibly thoughfully prepared. A top 5 all time dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We really enjoyed the "experience". everything was wonderful, especially the personal interaction from all! I would definitely be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Chef Kelly was very fun and entertaining. My dining companion noted Chef Kelly exuded characteristics of Robin Williams and Graham Kerr in his presentation style.

The food was amazing. as always (this was a fourth visit for me, the first for my companion). Truly exceptional in every way. The ability to "tour" the commercial kitchen and interact with the staff was great. Best, freshest oysters on the half-shell bar none during "intermission" (which, caution to the uninitiated, means MORE FOOD while standing/walking around, as opposed to the rest of the courses you consume while seated. Standing or sitting, you're going home with a newly conceived food baby. Just accept it. You will love every tasty mouthful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Loved it! Great energy upon arrival and the staff were warm, welcoming, and engaged all throughout the night. The shared experience allowed for positive connections with other guests. It was also nice to chat and learn more about the food and of the chefs themselves at the many food stations. The orchestration of the food plating was methodical and mesmerizing! Of course, the final food creations were lovely and delightful. My favorites of the night were the first course of Roasted Asparagus and Handkerchief Pasta and the fourth course of Butter Poached Beef Tenderloin. Even though you can have as much as you want, I don't think I could ever keep up with what was available through the night! I will definitely return soon! Unfortunately we had to leave early at dessert but they made sure to get us coffee and sweet treats to-go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food was very good. The service was exceptional. It was very entertaining and thus worth the night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Best birthday Dinner for hubby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Amazing food & service. A totally unique experience. The wine and cocktails were great too but, just as it is anywhere when dining out, they were priced a bit too high. All in all I am sure I will be heading back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Truly enjoyed our first time at The Kitchen! Great atmosphere, wonderful food, and very entertaining. Would highly recommend The Kitchen for a unique and memorable time!

Tags: Organic, Fun, Open Kitchen, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 30, 2017

It is one of the most lixerious eating and dining experiences, without all the stuffiness. It's fun, engaging, seamless service and exquisite food and wine pairing.

Tags: Fireplace, Molecular Gastronomy, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Organic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Wow, wow, wow. I have heard about The Kitchen for years, and it's been on my must-do list since I first heard about it. Often, that leads to disappointment when you finally get to experience what you've been longing for. Not a problem at The Kitchen! What a decadent, delicious, FUN experience! It is pricey. But, honestly, worth every penny. The staff goes out of it's way to make you feel welcome and at home. You can wander into the kitchen and open the refrigerator, grab some oysters on the half-shell, and nobody looks twice! Were you especially fond of the first course? Order it again. After the fifth course, if you'd like. Whatever you want, they will accommodate. Must most importantly, the food was beautiful and delicious. A great experience from start to finish. I will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

For the price and dinning experience I was Very Disappointed.
For one the music was too loud to enjoy a conversation and it was 70's disco.
I also felt the comments by Executive Chef Kelly to be demeaning of the following: The French Laundry, the Selland owners, and the location of his own restaurant. Not very classy for anyone in that position. At times I felt I was at a Comedy Dinner Theater rather than a 5 Star Restaurant.
Service was mixed... some of the staff was attentive...while others I felt needed retraining on how to serve and be knowledgeable when asked to explain the food they were serving.
Value for price not worth it for me.

Tags: ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The kitchen is a great place to eat. The staff was amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Love love love this restaurant!!! Would go back in a heartbeat!!

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 24, 2017

My husband and I dine all over the world. This is our favorite with no peer. A must do. Amazing food and experience.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Organic, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Food was fantastic. Service was even better! Really is a one of a kind experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great as usual. Recommended for an anniversary, celebration, or any day when you are hungry and want great food and a wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The food is excellent and the wine pairings are spot on. Pace yourself! There are a number of hors d'oeuvres served pre and mid-meal that will not be on the menu. Fun atmosphere!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The Kitchen is an incredible experience unlike any other restaurant I've been to!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Laughed the whole time. It was a lovely experience
Loved the host chef and your Iron chef!! ❤❤❤❤❤

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The Kitchen is an overall dining experience. I was a bit disappointed by the March menu and the quality of the service this time compared to other times. The "intermission" was not as tasty as it has been in the past. The ahi was lacking in the usual high quality flavors that you find at The Kitchen. The duck was dry. Overall it was still a wonderful evening, but we did not get the personal attention that we have received in the past and the food was more hit or miss than you would expect for the price of this kind of an evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Took my Mom out with a surprise small family gathering for her 60th B-Day. Met all of our expectations and then some, fantastic service and of course world-class food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our dinner at The Kitchen was amazing!! It was such a fun experience and the food was outstanding. We can't wait to go back with friends!

Tags: Hot Spot, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.