About The Kitchen Restaurant

2225 Hurley Way
Sacramento, CA 95825
View Larger Map

The Kitchen, a Selland Family Restaurant, serves a five-course prix fixe demonstration dinner menu based on a monthly seasonal framework that features the best and freshest ingredients available on a daily basis, mostly procured locally and regionally. Dinner service also includes an interactive intermission featuring chefs’ tasting stations, as well as a finale of fresh herb tea service and artisan coffee served with Dessert.

The Kitchen Restaurant has earned every imaginable local and regional award along with an impressive list of national accolades, including the AAA Five Diamond Award five years running, a nod as a semi-finalist for the James Beard “Outstanding Restaurant” Award, the highest Zagat ratings, and honors from Wine Spectator and Wine Enthusiast, as well as inclusion in the Yelp Top 100 and the Open Table Top 100.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Thursday: Doors Open at 6:30pm, Dinner Begins at 7:00; Friday - Saturday: Doors Open at 7:00pm, Dinner Begins at 7:30; Sunday: Doors Open at 5:00pm, Dinner Begins at 5:30. Please arrive within 15 minutes after our doors opening to ensure the show starts on time.

Cross Street:
Howe Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 568-7171

Website:
http://www.thekitchenrestaurant.com/

Catering:
We offer Private Party availability for the entire restaurant for your special occasion or business function. Smaller, semi-private tables may be available.

Parking Details:
The Kitchen has a private lot with ample parking.

Public Transit:
Call our receptionist and we will be happy to arrange a town car for you. Please call a minimum of 24 hours before your reservation.

Executive Chef:
Kelly McCown

Private Party Facilities:
Reserve the entire restaurant exclusively for your event! Our six-course Demonstration Dinners, prepared right before your eyes, are a feast for all the senses, and our award-winning wine list features the best in the state. Our Sommelier will design a personalized beverage package. As a Private Party at The Kitchen, the entire restaurant is exclusively yours for the evening, with our expert staff of chefs and servers dedicated entirely to you and your guests. We offer our Private Party option for up to 56 people, perfect for business and convention groups, birthday and anniversary celebrations, and client or staff appreciation dinners. We will make your event a distinctive and singular success.

Private Party Contact:
Bobbie Chamberlin: 9165687171x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Kitchen Restaurant
Big Eye Tuna Sashimi
Chicken And Sesame Beef Satay
Chestnut And Butternut Squash Ravioli Over Ragout Of Braised California Lamb, Lacinato Kale And Pancetta With Candied Garlic
Last Bit Of Sunshine: Meyer Lemon Pudding Cake With Coastal Huckleberry Compote, Creme Fraiche Ice Cream And White Chocolate Bark
Truffled Grilled Cheese And Tomato Bisque Perigord And Burgundian Truffles, Cypress Grove Midnight Moon, San Marzano Tomatoes And White Truffle Butter
Creme Brulee
Fried Green Olives
Tuna Tartare Taco
White Spot Prawn Caesar Salad
Cheese and Charcuterie
Barrel Stave Smoked Angus Beef Tenderloin, Carmelized Onion Tarte
Chocolate Chip Cookies
Oysters
'Salad' of Watanabe Farms Cherry Tomatoes
Bacon Chocolate-Chip Cookies
peanut butter & jelly sandwich
Grilled Dry Aged Eye of Rib
Panchetta & Lobster Cavatelli Pasta
Roasted Peach w/ Bacon & Butterscotch Ice Cream
S'mores Dessert
Crispy Soft Shell Crab & Pole Beans
Carpaccio Of Beef.  Tomatoes, Yellow Tomato Jam, Basil, Goat's Milk Ricotta
Chilled Charentais Melon Soup. Lassen Trout Tartar, Pecans, Cucumbers, Smoked Trout Caviar
Emigh Farms Lamb Saddle. Smoked Eggplant Puree, Succotash Curry Panisse, Mint, Roasted Lamb Jus
Pasta E Fagioli. . House Made Guanciale, Pecorino Sardo Chanterelles, Escarole
Warm Baked Figs. Marscapone, Pistachio Gelato, Maserati Blackberries, Honey
Roasted Guinea Hen Breast With Foie Gras, Potatoes, Gravy, Mushrooms And Chicken Hearts
Asparagus Soup
Blueberry Tart And Cherry Swirl Ice Cream, Chocolate Covered Candied Walnuts And Creamed Honey Custard
Maine Lobster Vichyssoise With Minted English Pea Panna Cotta And A Hint Of Smoked Pork
Japanese Sea Bass And Rock Shrimp, Pickled Octopus And Small Vegetables With White Soy-Miso Butter
A Salad Of Clustered Herb Greens And Lettuces, Local Barrata, Stewed New Tomatoes And Grilled Bread
Wagyu Rib Eye Cap Steak
Beef tenderloin
Trout, Caviar, Potato Salad
Crab And Lobster Roll
Local Halibut and Pastry
Tempura Soft Boiled Egg with Lardo
Shrimp With Ravioli
2003 Blair Estate Meritage
Squash Soup With Lobster
Heirloom Melon With Iberico Ham
Intermission Dishes: Sushi And Sashimi
Mussels in Saffron Broth
Gnudi (ricotta Gnochi)
Nancy's Carrot Cake With Caramel, Orange-Carrot Sherbet And Leslie's Walnut (Soy) Ice Cream
Salmon, Rock Shrimp, Pasta
Strawberries
Fresh Lobster
fresh bread
Rabbit, Sweetbreads and Foie Gras Terrine
Zucchini Ribbon Salad with Shrimp
Wagyu Short Rib
Alaskan Halibut With Day Boat Scallops, Green Garlic Salsa, Red Curry Broth And Fragrant Coconut Milk
Slow Cooked Wagyu Strip Loin With Lamb Sausage, Mushroom, Thyme And Fennel-Onion Fondue
Black And Tan Torchio Pasta With Maine Lobster, Lemon Creme Fraiche, Goat Butter And Local Sturgeon Caviar
Dessert Course
Tonato "Soup"
Pork Ravioli
Warm Salad of Lamb Sausage and egg
Seared Foie Gras
Carrot Cake
Sake
2006 Joseph Drouhin Cote de Beaune Rouge, Burgandy Pinot Noir
Fresh Wasabi
Sushi
Lodi Asparagus Bisque with Crispy Duck
Sashimi
Sweet Asparagus Bisque With Rabbit Farci, Spring Vegetable Salad, Pecorino Romano Foam And Black Truffle Essence
Maine Lobster Carbonara
Thai Style Bisque and Quail Confit
Lobster Mac & Cheese
BLT
Heirloom Tomato Soup W/ A Dungeness Crab-Burrarata Flan
Lamb Rack & Maine Lobster
Slow Braised Berkshire Pork 'Banh Mi'
Sea Scallop - Lobster Cannelloni And Salad Of Black Truffle
Mini Corn Dogs
Bittersweet Chocolate Tart
Brown Butter Poached Beef Tenderloin
Grilled Cheese Sandwich
Maple Bacon Ice Cream with Bacon
Wild Salmon, Rock Shrimp, And A Rabbit Ravioli
Cioppino with Covina Sea Bass, Maine Lobster, Scallops, Rock Shrimp and 'Canned Tomatoes'
Warmed Mountain Berry Crepe
Salmon Skin W/ Green Tea Noodles
"Peanut Butter & Jelly"
Sushi & Sashimi Course
Dream Bar
Wagyu Beef Tenderloin with Parmesan-Truffle 'Creme Brulee', Malbec, Thyme and Carrot Jus
Duck Consommé and Wing with Toast, Pasture Egg, Hollandaise and Lardo
A "Burrito" of Crispy Pork, Taleggio and Cheddar with Chili-Glazed Texas Quail
Bittersweet Chocolate-Carmen 'Tart', Raspberry Sorbet, White Chocolate Mousse, and Southern Fried Walnut Ice Cream
Black And Tan Torchio Pasta
Alaskan Halibut
Slow Cooked Wagyu
Sweet Asparagus Bisque

The Kitchen Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Food
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Service
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
9 More
Best Ambiance
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Notable Wine List
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Special Occasion
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Overall
Sacramento
Best Food
Sacramento
Best Service
Sacramento
Best Ambiance
Sacramento
Notable Wine List
Sacramento
Special Occasion
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

special occasion (43)
fit for foodies (31)
notable wine list (24)
See All
good for groups (16)
romantic (15)
hot spot (8)
neighborhood gem (6)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
590 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience. Felt like an interac ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Amazing experience. Felt like an interactive dining experience. Loved the education/demonstration part of the dinner. Staff was elegant, attentive and friendly. Food was delicious and beautifully plated. Went to celebrate our 5 year anniversary. Definitely a $$$$ place, but worth every penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Was a great dinner and presentation. Wen ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Was a great dinner and presentation. Went there to celebrate all our birthdays and son's 8th grade grad. Son loved it! Excellent personal service. Even let my son help prepare dessert! It was a great experience for all of us and will continue to go here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

This restaurant is a special occasion one! Not for everyday dining. It is very pricey but considering the quality of the food and the "show" that goes with it, it is worth every penny. You get to watch them prepare your meal (everyone gets the same unless you have dietary restrictions). You really appreciate the work that goes in to a special meal! Outstanding service, quality food and a lovely wine list.....what is not to like!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience of culinary expertise.

Dined on June 2, 2016

This was an awesome event. The staff was very proficient and professional and it was a totally enjoyable experience.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Very loud, good food, very high price point

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

When I booked a table at the Kitchen I was expecting to be wowed, unfortunately I was not. Service was great, very attentive - almost to a fault as we rarely were left alone long enough to get in any conversation. The food was good but not great - which it should have been when spending $300+ per person. An example was the main course: we instructed our waiter on arrival that we did not eat red meat, he said this was not a problem, they always had alternatives they prepared to their prix fix selections. Unfortunately their solution was to plate some overcooked Halibut the same as they plated the steak - exactly the same. They had a production line of plates ready and on ours they plopped on the Halibut rather than the steak. Hmmm. I would also note that the alcohol served was excessive, given that I watched all of the patrons that evening drive up in their own vehicles - I would hate to have been on the road when people wandered out to drive home. The emphasis was on loud and overdone productions between each course which I quite frankly could have done without. Too be fair, most of the folks there seemed to be be enjoying themselves, it was just way over the top for my taste. Unfortunately (or perhapse fortunately given the alcohol service noted above) we left early and prior to the last course - we quite frankly had had enough.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Unique experience but unnecessarily expe ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Unique experience but unnecessarily expensive. Be prepared to pay $500 minimum. Menu selection was more nouveau California, not to my personal liking, but I'm sure others will enjoy.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place great food great people!

Dined on May 16, 2016

Love this place great food great people!

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

One of a kind...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The Kitchen dinning experience is 4-hours of over-the-top fun and great food. You are literally invited into the kitchen, you can "sneak" cookie dough out of the walk in and explore an extensive wine cellar. The chemistry the staff has is impressive and totally contributes to the whole experience. Be warned, this will not be an inexpensive evening nor will it be a quiet , romantic dinner. Be prepared to engage and enjoy. The one seating is limited to very few people. Request a spot at the bar so the action is right in front of you. The doors are opened at 7 and not before. We ubered and arrived a little early and had to stand in the parking lot in not the best part of town though the off -duty Sac PD officer working the lot was nice. Go and have fun! The team at The Kitchen does it right.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner is the SHOW

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

This is dinner theater...dinner is the star and you are not just an audience but welcome as a participant. You're encouraged to explore the kitchens, ask questions and may even get to assist in the production of dinner. The staff is wonderful, the food is excellent and it is always fun. Each new menu is a new adventure. We were with a group of friends and had a wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on April 30, 2016

As always, amazing. Second time we've went, and I was afraid it was not going to live up to our original visit. Completely wrong, pleasantly surprised. Food amazing, service amazing, very entertaining head chef. It cost more now but includes more during intermission and they do not charge for coffee or tea now. Cannot wait to go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun and engaging

Dined on April 29, 2016

I am glad, after living in Sacramento for years, we finally made it to The Kitchen. Our dining experience was lots of fun (it is definitely an experience, not just dinner). 7 delicious courses. Friendly, well-trained staff. The chef was energetic, engaging, funny and knowledgeable. Lovely environment and outdoor patio. If you are a foodie and willing to spend some money, I recommend going to The Kitchen. And if you love wine, do the wine pairings. Pace yourself, though, because it is lots of food and it is easy to fill up too early in the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A must do!

Dined on April 16, 2016

I have been to The Kitchen once before and loved the food and experience both times! Would definitely go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing!

Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was truly amazing and I wish I could have eaten more. The service was great and it was like other dining experience I have ever been to. It is pricey but they deserve it. I will definitely go back for another special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

What a superb dining experience! Flawles ...

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

What a superb dining experience! Flawless service. Wonderful, deliscious food. Festive, warm and welcoming environment. We will return!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our top five restaurants ... ever!

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

This is a dining experience. Be prepared to spend some serious time devouring inventive and delicious food, plated right before your eyes!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Eating at this restaurant should be on e ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

Eating at this restaurant should be on everyone's bucket list!! Amazing good and an amazing experience. Loved the interaction with the team of chefs. You will not leave hungry!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

FUN AND TASTY

Dined on March 19, 2016

Fun tasty imaginative entertaining delicious . Chef Kelly and crew provided a level of pampering and energy seldom found in the restaurant industry. These guys really love what they do and it shows!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Funtastic

Dined on March 14, 2016

The menu had a Spring theme. Although, some of the items on the list felt a bit too light, there is no denying the quality of the items presented. The Menu we chose was March 2016. And the Lamb had us requesting seconds before we had even finished. This was a truly great experience. And we are already planning round two.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable and Excessive (in a good way)

Dined on February 28, 2016

A great dining and interactive experience. The plates -- both small and large -- are over the top delicious and amaze in both quantity and quality. For a special occasion or just as a hedonistic treat once in a while treat yourself this unique dining and social experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

AMAZING

Dined on February 27, 2016

This was like being on cooking show but better. It was a perfect and complete evening. We were there from 7-10:30 and if we weren't so full from all the delicious food we could've stayed all night. The chefs, staff and service were out of this world. Too many good things to say about The Kitchen. This is a must visit. Thinking about the experience makes me smile, what a night! Can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It's a beautiful day in the neighborhood!

Dined on February 22, 2016

It took me almost forever to try this wonderful place. And I was thankful my sister agreed to share our 26th birthday at The Kitchen. I've tried every restaurant owned by this place and by far The Kitchen is my number 1. With all the different kinds of food I was able to enjoy it again and again... Service was great, the show/ambiance was great. And by show I mean the energy and positive attitude by all of the staff. It was a wonderful 4 hours. Ahahah.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When you want the best, go to The Kitchen

Dined on February 20, 2016

The Kitchen is fantastic. It's the classiest restaurant in town, no question. The food is gourmet, the service is second to none and the experience will be one that you never forget. I recommend The Kitchen for special occasions. Its not cheap however you get what you pay for and The Kitchen does not disappoint. Dinner will typically last around 3-4 hrs and you wont leave hungry. Make reservations in advance, they're usually booked out for several weeks. I've dined at The Kitchen multiple times and I will surely do so again.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

My Valentines Day dinner at the Kitchen ...

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

My Valentines Day dinner at the Kitchen was absolutely amazing ! From the time we arrived to check in and were seated , our host was at out beck and call through the whole experience. The host explained what all to expect and made several recommendations to accommodate our desires. My first time at the Kitchen and I will definitely be back .

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. Excellent atmosphere. Ex ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

Excellent food. Excellent atmosphere. Excellent service. Excellent everything!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interactive Dining

Dined on February 11, 2016

This is an amazing interactive dining experience. Those who enjoy good food without the stodginess of a fine restaurant will enjoy The Kitchen. Your are encouraged to mingle amongst the chefs as they work. The kitchen is a totally open space. Dining at the bar overlooks chefs at work as well. The food wine pairing was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In a word.... "Amazing"!!!

Dined on February 1, 2016

For first-timers, our experience of being "front-and-center" at the bar was pure excitement and amazement! My friend and I had the best time and the food was out of this world! We are already planning our next trip and what friends to bring, to have the same, if not BETTER, experience with us! The staff all made us feel very special, especially for my friends 48th birthday celebration. We will be coming back as well as recommending to all of our friends!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I really loved my experience at the Kitc ...

Dined on January 21, 2016

I really loved my experience at the Kitchen (third time). It was wonderful. My girlfriend loved it. My wallet hated it. But it was totally awesome. The food was outstanding. It was a culinary adventure and a rollercoaster for my tastebuds! Chef Kelly works much harder than the previous chefs at the actual meal but less on the schmoozing the guests. He does not forget to do that, just less than the other chefs I experienced there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again The Kitchen was fabulous!!!

Dined on January 18, 2016

The Kitchen is definitely a great place to go for a special occassion and new Chef Kelly was great!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous & memorable

vip
Dined on January 18, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at The Kitchen. The service was attentive and flawless. Every course was excellent with exceptional attention to presentation; we especially enjoyed some of the early courses in our meal - a "shooter" of tomato bisque (defied description!), a huge & scrumptious scallop, and gnocchi with truffles... all worthy of Michelin stars! We especially appreciated their gracious accommodation of my husband's dietary restrictions - for every course. It was truly an incredible dining experience...and we enjoyed the lively entertainment of the executive chef, Kelly McCown. The sommelier provided an excellent recommendation for a lovely cab. We find the quality and experience at The Kitchen to be on par with - if not exceed - Michelin-starred restaurants. It is our favorite spot for celebrating special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

Dined on January 15, 2016

What can I say? There is nothing else in Sacramento like The Kitchen. It's probably the most entertaining and refreshing dining experience I've had in years. The food is to die for, the intro and entertainment by the Executive Chef is beyond description. Our group of four had a totally delightful evening. The prices are pretty out of this world, but then so is the food, the ambience, the wine, the presentation of the food, the Chef and his entire staff. What's not to like? I can give this restaurant and it's employees only the highest of praise. It's not a place I would go frequently because it's very pricey, but for a special occasion there is nowhere I would rather go. Bravo and well done!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4

Insanely expensive and slightly grabby.. ...

Dined on December 22, 2015

Insanely expensive and slightly grabby...however the food and service were good. I'm used to some ambiance for these types of prices-whether looking out over NYC at Per Se or in a beautiful stone building in the middle of a working farm at Blue Hill. Sitting at a bar in a strip mall for $700? Hopefully they use they money they are raking in to purchase some real estate.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best experience

Dined on November 13, 2015

I took my husband here for his birthday. Dinner lasted 4 hours. It wasn't just food, it was an experience. The food was easily the best I've ever had in my life. They easily worked with my food allergies and were gracious and friendly. The staff made us feel welcome and at home. I look forward to doing it again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

Fun experience not for everyone

Dined on November 13, 2015

The Kitchen experience is one for special occasions, it seemed that many were there for birthdays or anniversaries. Make sure you go with a heavy wallet because it will hit you where it counts. The food is outstanding but beware there will be things not everyone will love. However, there will be so much food that you will not leave hungry! Overall fun time but I don't think I will ever need to do it again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Very good food and wine, very expensive

Dined on October 15, 2015

Although the chefs occasionally change at the Kitchen, the high quality food is consistent. Unfortunately the food remains heavily salted. I'm not sure that the food is better than at other upscale restaurants in town, but the number of courses and the excellent wine pairings (very expensive, small pours) do set it apart. Whether this is truly worth the price is something to be considered, but for a special occasion it does make for a very nice evening.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5

At first I was worried portions would be ...

Dined on October 15, 2015

At first I was worried portions would be too small, MY MISTAKE! More than enough food we even came home with extra. The pumpkin soup was delish!!! Dessert was boring for my unrefined tastes, caramel custard and cookies. hmmmm But overall dining experience was WONDERFUL the entire staff was energetic and friendly...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Dining Experience

Dined on October 11, 2015

The 5 course fixed price menu was amazing. Pumpkin bisque was complex, one flavor after another, never quite figuring out the flavor before the next one hit. Fried shrimp, salmon, beef tenderloin, with creme burlee w chocolate gelato toped it off. Service was outstanding. The preparation of the food was great entertainment. Intermission was enjoyable, a sample of taste located at stations all around the restaurant. Definitely will be back

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service3

Rudely expensive -- $100 to open 1.5L of wine

Dined on September 19, 2015

Could call energetic, or could call chef yelling food information annoying. My preference would be for chef to visit table, ask about experience, drop cool notes about unique flavors, move on... Felt like wine staff was reaching into our pockets for dollars rather than offering a reasonable price to open a personal wine, followed by thoughtful advice about in-house wines on the rack to consider after the personal wine was finished. "Welcome to the Kitchen, opening that 1.5L will cost you $100." I'll always remember the wine service as a buzz kill before we could get rolling... Intermission shrimp station ran out as we reached table -- to the people behind us the server simply said "sorry, we're out." Overall food flavor/experience was excellent -- happy to pay for that, and also to pay a reasonable price for good, in-house wines. But this high-and-low experience cost us $1,200 for four. Suggestion for owner -- trim your greed to enhance our feed!

food2
ambience4
service4

Disappointing

Dined on September 5, 2015

I had been to the Kitchen about 10 years and it was awesome. This time not so much. I'm more of a meat and potatoes kind of guy so menu was not very enticing. However, I do have an open mind and tried everything. It was all pretty blah, even the New York Strip. My piece had a lot of gristle. They kept announcing that you can have as much as you want of any dish but, unfortunately, nothing I ate was worthy of seconds.

food5
ambience5
service5

The kitchen...

Dined on September 5, 2015

Just overall a wonderful place to go... Worth the money! Service was excellent, food was excellent, everything was just outstanding! I will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

3 hour dinner

Dined on August 27, 2015

Don't go to the kitchen expecting to catch a movie after. It is a 3 hour presentation. There is plenty of food. The 20% tip is added automatically. Dress code is formal/casual. Its a loud and lively event for foodies. A lot of interaction with the chefs. Dont expect a quiet-romantic setting. The food is amazing

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.