About The Kitchen Restaurant

2225 Hurley Way
Sacramento, CA 95825
View Larger Map

The Kitchen, a Selland Family Restaurant, serves a five-course prix fixe demonstration dinner menu based on a monthly seasonal framework that features the best and freshest ingredients available on a daily basis, mostly procured locally and regionally. Dinner service also includes an interactive intermission featuring chefs’ tasting stations, as well as a finale of fresh herb tea service and artisan coffee served with Dessert.

The Kitchen Restaurant has earned every imaginable local and regional award along with an impressive list of national accolades, including the AAA Five Diamond Award five years running, a nod as a semi-finalist for the James Beard “Outstanding Restaurant” Award, the highest Zagat ratings, and honors from Wine Spectator and Wine Enthusiast, as well as inclusion in the Yelp Top 100 and the Open Table Top 100.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Thursday: Doors Open at 6:30pm, Dinner Begins at 7:00; Friday - Saturday: Doors Open at 7:00pm, Dinner Begins at 7:30; Sunday: Doors Open at 5:00pm, Dinner Begins at 5:30. Please arrive within 15 minutes after our doors opening to ensure the show starts on time.

Cross Street:
Howe Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 568-7171

Website:
http://www.thekitchenrestaurant.com/

Catering:
We offer Private Party availability for the entire restaurant for your special occasion or business function. Smaller, semi-private tables may be available.

Parking Details:
The Kitchen has a private lot with ample parking.

Public Transit:
Call our receptionist and we will be happy to arrange a town car for you. Please call a minimum of 24 hours before your reservation.

Executive Chef:
Kelly McCown

Private Party Facilities:
Reserve the entire restaurant exclusively for your event! Our six-course Demonstration Dinners, prepared right before your eyes, are a feast for all the senses, and our award-winning wine list features the best in the state. Our Sommelier will design a personalized beverage package. As a Private Party at The Kitchen, the entire restaurant is exclusively yours for the evening, with our expert staff of chefs and servers dedicated entirely to you and your guests. We offer our Private Party option for up to 56 people, perfect for business and convention groups, birthday and anniversary celebrations, and client or staff appreciation dinners. We will make your event a distinctive and singular success.

Private Party Contact:
Bobbie Chamberlin: (916) 568-7171

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Kitchen Restaurant, Sacramento, CA

Report a photo problem

The Kitchen Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Open Kitchen (30)
Special Occasion (29)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
See All
Fit for Foodies (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Fun (20)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Tasting Menu (11)
Romantic (11)
Seasonal (11)
Fireplace (9)
Modern Decor (6)
People Watching (6)
Organic (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Business Meals (4)
Healthy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Authentic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Cozy (2)
Family Style (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Casual (1)
Great Beer (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
701 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food and it is fun to watch how the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Good food and it is fun to watch how the food is actually made; chefs answer all questions about the food. The wine list has few options by the glass, and it can be very noisy and boisterous at times, but still an interesting and enjoyable evening.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The interactive cooking and kitchen envi ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The interactive cooking and kitchen environment is absolutely amazing! We got this reservation and meal paid for as a gift from a friend and will make this a definite repeat! It was a little pricey, but I would pay it over and over again for the quality, amount (all you can eat of each of the 5 courses!) and presentation of the food and drinks. The fact that I could walk in the back of the kitchen, ask for food I see and even some they didn't have (they would go get it!), ask about the food and chat with the very open and interactive chefs and cooks, along with the fact that it was the best multi course food I've ever had, makes this the best restaurant I've ever been to! I've traveled and lived in Europe on and off and in 3 states in the U.S. in the last 20 years and have experienced many interactive restaurants, and this is literally the best and most fun. I'll be going back again very soon! Chef Kelly (Head Chef), Chef Allyson (Chef de Cuisine) and their whole team are incredible crafts-persons! Can't wait to see them again!

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Business Meals, Special Occasion, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you have money and know how to spend ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 18, 2016

If you have money and know how to spend it on finer things in life then you must experience this. It's not for pretentious people who want to fake their class and status. Again, refer to my first sentence.

Tags: Romantic, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Organic, Private Room, Healthy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Its hands down the best restaurant in Sa ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Its hands down the best restaurant in Sacramento.

Kelly Mcowan and company offer the best food and service out there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Kitchen is Unique. It's 4 hours of e ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The Kitchen is Unique. It's 4 hours of eating & laughing. The Food speaks for itself with High Quality dishes over a 7 course set menu. What make it s o special is that you feel a part of the restaurant and are encouraged to walk everywhere and interact with the chefs. If you like a dish, just ask for more as you can eat as much as you want but I must say although the dishes are small, they/re Filling. Between the 2nd & 3rd course they have an Intermission where you're treated to array of appetizers. This is an entire evening of entertainment so although it may seem pricey ($135 a person) it's well worth it. An Unforgettable Evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This was an "over the top" dining experi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This was an "over the top" dining experience. The staff was awesome, super friendly. They wanted to make sure that you were having a great time - and we did. The food was absolutely incredible, and it just kept coming! We will definitely come back. It was the definitely one of the best dining experiences that I have ever had!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at The Kitchen was like going to ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Dining at The Kitchen was like going to a rich friends home that wants to make sure you have amazing food and lots of fun. It was great getting to see what they used and the friendly Chef's joking around with you:-) it was worth every penny!!:-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

outstanding personal service. great food ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 4, 2016

outstanding personal service. great food and watched the cooks make it in front of you. a 4 hour food experience

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Kitchen delivers every time I visit ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The Kitchen delivers every time I visit them. I love their concept of having as many portions as you can, although it's very much unnecessary because I'm always too full by the time dessert comes by and that says something because I'm pretty good at eating large quantities. Without a doubt, I always fall into a food coma immediately afterwards because there is just way too much food served, and that's something I love about them; they live up to the "You won't visit In n Out after this meal." I love food, I love In n Out, but I cannot even be around food after eating here because I've just spent the past four hours devouring fantastic food. I seriously love them. If my wallet allowed, I'd visit them much more frequently. However, it's always something I save up for because the experience is simply inexplicable. Everyone who comes here will definitely leave smiling because the food is not only delicious, but the people there are awesome. They are there to ensure you have an amazing time while you're there. And you will. You really will.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most fabulous experience ever !!! My ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The most fabulous experience ever !!! My son and I thoroughly enjoyed every single aspect of our meal at The Kitchen and I would highly recommend to anyone who appreciates fine food, excellent service and an overall mind-blowing experience!

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Kitchen is more of an experience tha ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The Kitchen is more of an experience than simply a meal. The staff is fantastic, the food wonderful, the atmosphere is fun. Don't be shy!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The best dining experience ever!!! Canno ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The best dining experience ever!!! Cannot say enough nice or positive or amazing things! Cannot wait to come back!

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome for those who appreciate the hig ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Awesome for those who appreciate the highest quality sourced ingredients with excellent preparation and expertise in plating and flavor. Bring your wallet. This is not a budget meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Kitchen ROCKS! In spite of it's me ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The Kitchen ROCKS!

In spite of it's metamorphosis from "Randall's Play Pen" to what it is today, this place is still the BEST RESTAURANT IN TOWN! From the local sourcing; to the extremely creative ways to make the food look, smell and taste DIVINE; to the entire staff; to the wine list and Sommelier; to the cookie dough OR the fresh oysters from the rack straight outta the walk-in (ya could do both, just cuz!); to the energy in the place...there is no other, better place to drop some big bucks on becoming a "Calorie Warrior"!

I know they were kidding (at least I hope they were) when they told us "you've just eaten the calorie equivalent to 1 week PLUS one days worth of food!) but the misery was worth every bite!

It was the first time for my wife and she can't stop talking about it. I have been at least 7 times now and every time is the same...but different. Seasonally, they can't be beat. Creatively, they are genius.

Don't go when you're dieting or cleansing but definitely plan on either after! It will be worth the work.

By the way, if they offer you beef tenderloin that's been braised in butter, don't wait! Go straight up to the cutting board and grab a piece!!! It's just like being at home, only BRAISED IN BUTTER!

MANGIA!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The overall experience was worth it. It ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The overall experience was worth it. It would be nice if a cost per person was advertised online. Also, on a work night (Wednesday) I did not expect the entire dinner to take 5 hours.

Tags: Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An incredible experience. I would highly ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

An incredible experience. I would highly recommend this restaurant and I will definitely be back!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great experience! The food was ou ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 28, 2016

What a great experience! The food was out of this world good. The staff was awesome and attentive. They treat you like family and don't let you leave hungry. Would recommend The Kitchen to everyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an absolutely exquisite dining ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This was an absolutely exquisite dining experience! It was the first time for three of us at our table of four and we were in awe with every item that came to our table - including both food and wine. The entertainment value was outstanding and it was such a comfortable atmosphere with allowing us to wander to the back and visit everyone preparing our meal while drinking champagne and eating oysters along with cookie dough! It's just something that you can't really comprehend until you experience it. So grateful for the opportunity to have dined at such an incredible place! Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for a different type of dini ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great place for a different type of dining experience. Interesting to have the chef speak about ingredients and why a dish was chosen.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Had a great time with family. The food w ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Had a great time with family. The food was amazing!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Outstanding meal, so different from a tr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Outstanding meal, so different from a traditional restaurant in so many ways. We loved our food and the wine pairings - which they allowed us to split -and everything available from the walk-in fridge to the sushi at intermission was incredible and made it feel like a delicious treasure hunt. Highly recommend for any special occasion.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful fun and delicious night! Defi ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Wonderful fun and delicious night! Definitely a unique experience!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and an entertaining exper ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Wonderful food and an entertaining experience. Nothing more needs to be said.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful evening! The food was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We had a wonderful evening! The food was amazing and the atmosphere was fun and entertaining as you interacted with the Kitchen staff. Beautifully decorated and friendly atmosphere.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By far one of the best restaurants in ou ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2016

By far one of the best restaurants in our region - not just a meal, it's an experience and well worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really faboulous experience. Like no oth ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Really faboulous experience. Like no other dinner out this is an event. Food was all wonderful and be sure to listen to chef and pace yourself- it keeps coming and coming!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a very good time at the Kitchen. ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We had a very good time at the Kitchen. The staff and Chef were fantastic.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Family Style, Fun, People Watching, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What can I say about The Kitchen that ha ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 3, 2016

What can I say about The Kitchen that hasn't already been said? This was my second time visiting The Kitchen and it did not disappoint. Even though I knew what to expect, we still had an amazing time. The chef was engaging and energetic and the experience was phenomenal. I recommend a visit for a special occasion or for someone you really want to "wow". It is top notch and the best fine dining in Sacramento without the pretentious atmosphere!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An experience to remember! The demonstr ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 3, 2016

An experience to remember! The demonstration kitchen is incredible and the food is amazing. Add on top of this, the friendly staff, impeccable service, and fun atmosphere and you have a once in a lifetime experience. No wonder they book up months in advance!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic! The food was very good but th ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Fantastic! The food was very good but the whole experience of the "show" was even better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The service and food and amazing! They ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The service and food and amazing! They have a great wine list. Being able to walk through the actual kitchen and see the food prep first hand is pretty cool.. There's no off limits there. We will be back again soon.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have never been disappointed at The K ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We have never been disappointed at The Kitchen!! Chef McCowan was great to listen to, friendly and knowledgable. Planned an executed a fantastic menu!! The after dinner freshly made herb teas are the best EVER! What a treat...the entire experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fabulous foodie experience! This was l ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 22, 2016

A fabulous foodie experience! This was like nothing I've ever experienced going out to a restuarant - it was more like a food and dining extravaganza..the food, staff, and ambiance were outstanding. I would definitely go again and highly recommend!

Tags: Spicy, Fun, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Kitchen is the ultimate "Bread and C ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The Kitchen is the ultimate "Bread and Circuses" restaurant. The food is fabulous and the entire staff makes sure you have a great time. A quiet evening out this is definitely not! The atmosphere is quite raucous and fun, fun, fun! It is expensive, but worth it in my mind, for the top notch dining and entertainment. This was our second visit with friends and If I lived anywhere near Sacramento I would go back again for the next menu change, which I believe is monthly. Alas, I'll have to wait until out next trip to the west coast.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food on the menu were impres ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Service and food on the menu were impressively excellent. We exceptionally well treated by everyone. For those who desire vegetarian/vegan options, we would recommend several restaurants in the Bay area that prepare superior vegetarian and/or vegan dinners at a much lower price. We cannot recommend The Kitchen to most of our friends because the price is well beyond their affordability even for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

There is no experience like this in Nort ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 17, 2016

There is no experience like this in Northern California... Or the world for that matter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great entertainment and food, definitely ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Great entertainment and food, definitely a must try once experience.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Fun, Open Kitchen, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Like a Michelin Star restaurant, this is ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Like a Michelin Star restaurant, this is not a meal but an experience! As they tell you at the restaurant, if you leave hungry or disappointed, it's your fault. I wonder if there is any restaurant like it anywhere. The food was as good as Saison or La Pergola but the presentation was out of this world. Well worth the price and the hassle of making reservations far in advance.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved the kitchen. It was an amazing ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We loved the kitchen. It was an amazing experience and the food was amazing.

Tags: Tapas, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Kitchen is a fantastic dinner experi ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The Kitchen is a fantastic dinner experience. From the moment you walk in to the beautiful dining area/kitchen, to the moment you leave. Every course is cleverly appointed and you can count on expert explanations from not just the chef/cooking staff, but the wait staff as well regarding the food and all the alcohol options. BE PREPARED TO SPEND OVER $250 PER PERSON IF YOU ARE CONSUMING ALCOHOL.

Worth it in my opinion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.