About The Kemah Steak Company

707 Bradford Ave.
Kemah, TX 77565
View Larger Map

The Kemah Steak Company will provide you with the best dining experience in the Houston area. We choose only the best USDA Prime steaks from the world famous Allen Brothers in Chicago. This truly makes a big difference. Allen Brothers has a unique patented aging process. You can choose either wet aged or dry aged. We present your steak at just the right temperature, juicy and tender. Our side orders are our own special recipes and we have a great selection including creamed corn, mushrooms, Au Gratin potatoes and our delicious truffle mac and cheese. Our seafood is never frozen and comes fresh off the boat from the Gulf of Mexico. Try Red Snapper, Flounder, or our award winning Shrimp and Grits, to name a few.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm -12:00am

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(281) 334-9463

Website:
http://thekemahsteakcompany.com/

Catering:
Chef Carole Barnett is culinary trained from the world renouond Le Cordon Bleu Culinary School in Dallas. She competed on Iron Chef and is the recipient of the American Federation Culinary scholarship for the State of Texas. Chef Carole has apprenticed under Chef Stephen Pyle, Chef Tim Love has had an externship with Food Network star Paula Deen and is currently planning a stage with Chef Toni McPhail at Commanders Palace in New Orleans. She was the sous and pastry chef for Morton’s Steak House in Dallas. She has worked on major parties for super bowls and World Series events.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Kemah Steak Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Kemah / Seabrook
Best Restaurants in Kemah / Seabrook ›

Special Occasion (10)
Romantic (8)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
See All
Fit for Foodies (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Cozy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Historic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
80 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything on the menu is fabulous. Stea ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

Everything on the menu is fabulous. Steaks are done to perfection and there are plenty of options besides steak. The staff is exceptional. The PERFECT location for a date night or special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made a reservation via the mobile Open ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

I made a reservation via the mobile OpenTable app on 09/12/2016 for 3 at 10:00p. We were celebrating a birthday. We got confirmation for the reservation and everything was set. When we arrived at the restaurant a little before 10:00p, we parked directly in front of the business. We got out the car and was met on the steps into the business by an employee who started that the restaurant closed early due slow business. There were other cars in the lot and it was clear that the restaurant was serving customers. The birthday dinner was ruined. Worse experience ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Outstanding service and food and wonderf ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Outstanding service and food and wonderful martini list.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Celebrated an anniversary with group of ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Celebrated an anniversary with group of six and wanted to try a new place. Beautiful old home that welcomes you inside. Antique bar leading to dining room boasting wall of wine bottles and intimate dining experience. We all ordered the filet mignon which were cooked perfectly. Ordered several sides, all very good. Wait staff was attentive and chef checked on us. It wasn't very busy however it was a Tuesday evening and most shops in the area close at 5:00 pm. A young couple sent some after dinner drinks over and joined us for a chat as we finished with Bananas Foster which was fabulous! Wonderful time, will definitely return soon.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to celebrate our 41st anniversar ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We went to celebrate our 41st anniversary on a Tuesday evening. The setting was intimate and cozy. The single server/bartender was on her toes! The steaks were prepared to order and were very flavorful. The crab cake was delicious, full of lump crab meat. The whisky sour would have been better with a made from scratch mixer. The banana bread pudding was good but not great. I would go back for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The Kemah Steak Company was a pleasant s ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The Kemah Steak Company was a pleasant surprise. We went for a romantic anniversary dinner, something close to home. All the reviews were spot on. We will be back! The menu was much larger than I expected. We will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Kendall took care of all four tables. M ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Kendall took care of all four tables. Manager called in sick and other server called in sick; no replacement. Kendall also took care of the two tables in the front room. she and the cook did everything; without complaint and with great service. Kendall opened the wine, found it was bad and on her own got another bottle and made sure it was good before serving it to us. all in a professional and hospitable manner. And no help from anyone. The cook came out to make sure everything was good. Very nice.

thank you, Kendall.

Amy and Ed Oliver

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Quiet and food as great!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Quiet and food as great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was not our 1st time there. The quail a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Was not our 1st time there. The quail appetizer was fantastic as usual, we order it every time. We also did the shrimp cocktail, and it was very good. Both steaks were prepared perfectly and had great flavor. The sides lack a lot on quality and portion in relation to their prices. That's really the only complaint I have. The service is always friendly. Will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very disappointed that it took 30 minute ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very disappointed that it took 30 minutes to be notified that my choice for dinner was not available and an alternative choice was offered at a higher price than my original choice. That's not good service. I dine at this restaurant for just about every special occasion. This is the first time I was not greatly satisfied with the service. Not sure, if it will be my go to restaurant going forward.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

We went to this charmer with a business ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We went to this charmer with a business colleague from out of town. The food was excellent and the service was great. The wine list had some hard to find favorites as well. It was too hot to take advantage of the adorable outdoor seating area in the rear, but I would probably go back for that some time. The food was prepared perfectly (I recommend the bone in filet) and the sides were large enough for 3-4 people. The one downside was the price. At $69.00 for a steak and nothing else, we easily went over $125 per person. I would still probably go back for a special occasion meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

It was good, but not worth the price!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We thought the food was good, the service was good, but it was over priced. You can plan on spending 100.00 per person.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value1

We were searching the web for a place to ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We were searching the web for a place to get a good steak in Kemah, one the is not production line meat, and we decided we would try the Kemah Steakhouse. I must say, everything was perfect, our server was friendly, courteous, and just awesome all around. Oh, did I mention the food was outstanding? Well, the food beyond outstanding and so was the service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very poor food

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

the value of the food very poor. I had a 40.00 6oz filet that was a Kroger steak and no taste. the green beans were poorly cooked sent back. My wife and I both had food poisoning the next day.

Not recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Not as good as it used to be

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

First off the table was unstable. The credit card machine was not working. The server dropped the menu and did not pick it up. This place was exquisite and used to be a favorite of me and my wife. They were out of some of the meat. The wedge salad did not come with the Bleu cheese and balsamic dressing it did before. Overall this place needs help to become what it was before.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Perfect Date Night

 
 (London)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

My husband and I went to Kemah Steak Company for our anniversary on a Wednesday evening. It was very, very empty that evening which was fine by us. The food was amazing from start to finish. The bread that they bring to the table is wonderful. It is a large, soft loaf with poppy seeds and onion accompanied with a tasty garlic butter. Following that, I had the 6 oz. filet with sautéed spinach and crème brulee for dessert while my husband enjoyed the bone-in ribeye, loaded baked potato and cheesecake. All of our items were cooked perfectly and delicious. Additionally, as mentioned, we went on a Wednesday when all of the bottles of wine are available half-price. We had a nice Oregon Pinot Noir for under $20 - a steal on any day. Overall, I highly recommend KSC for a kid-less night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The manager and waitress were on top of ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The manager and waitress were on top of everything, very efficient and polite. The bar tender knew the drinks well and made them perfectly. My food was great minus the Mac N cheese side which had a little too strong of a taste for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Devoted customer... Terribly disappointed

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

My Fiancé and I have enjoyed KSC since it opened. It is our go to restaurant for special nights, and we have raved about it it to anyone who would listen....

That being said, the quality of the restaurant has made a significant decline in recent months. Most notably, the staff, who appear to have stepped out of a police line-up have turned the service from exceptional to abhorrent. Martinis served 20 minutes late in warm glasses, and wine forgotten all together and then double charged. On Valentine's Day, they forgot the right olives for my Fiancé's drink, and our server delivered them 10 minutes later, wrapped inside a bar napkin. All this before I received my Old Fashioned.

Food quality has suffered as well, which is dreadful because they were top notch only 6 months ago. After sending folks there for over a year, they have embarrassed me with their service and quality with the last two parties I sent. I really hope the owner brings back what made this place so good. It was a real local gem.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Never again

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

was not impressed with the set menu only two entrées available both with seafood and (my husband has seafood allergies )which seems to me a little crazy because it a steak company our waiter John was pretty close to useless we asked him what the prices for the complete meals he quoted us prices no where bear the actual prices at $20 dollars difference it took an hour and a half to get our meal the manager was informed of our long wait and she wasn't very accommodating at all they should really work on their communication skills

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Very nice meal on Valentine's Day. Nice ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Very nice meal on Valentine's Day. Nice quiet restaurant, perfect for a romantic evening. Good was great and priced well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was good but that was about it.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Excellent food but that is about all the good I can say about it. The wine list is poor and the service was less than mediocre.

The biggest problem that I had was that the menu was to be a "Valentine Day Special". I assumed, and I admit that it was an assumption, that it was a flat rate for the "Valentine Day Menu". The establishment then charged me ala carte from a no price listed menu. That seemed somewhat deceptive to me even though did not ask the question beforehand.

I now have a bad feeling about the place and, needless to say, will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Worst overpriced meal ever!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

This was by far the worst meal we have had in a long time! The food was clearly made ahead of time then reheated in the microwave. The fixed menu was not your typical menu for a special holiday it was set but priced al a carte and it was not explained on the menu that way! No prices at all on the menu! All of the food was flavorless! The crab cake was burnt! All terrible! The waitress was very nice and tried really hard to please but she isn't the chef! We will never go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

What a waste!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The restaurant was using a prix fixe menu, however that not communicated to us in any way. My 6oz steak was $55, and my wife's fish was oversalted. The waiter blamed the menu on the "volume" of customers, however the place looked half-empty to me. Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Awesome steaks

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

We didn't care much for the large complimentary bread as it was a bit too oniony; however, everything else was very good. We had the bacon wrapped quail for the appetizer and it had great flavor. We had a filet mignon 6oz and it was crazy tender for medium well. I had the texas ribeye and it was great too. I'd go back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great steaks. Very good wine list and f ...

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

Great steaks.

Very good wine list and fair prices.

We miss the manager Michael, he always came to the table and checked in us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Pefect!!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Everything was perfect, there isn't much else to say. Prices are higher than some of the steak houses in the area but I don't mind paying more when you get more. Food was great and my wife and I were able to talk quietly without having to talk over other customers. Other steak joints are just too noise for romantic date night, KSC was perfect for some romance!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Place of Our Own

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

Decided to treat wife and mom to a notable steak dinner somewhere we had never eaten before. Very happy I decided on Kemah Steak Company. We went on MLK Day, a Monday night, and we were surprised to find no other customers in the restaurant from 6-8 pm. As a result, the waitress (Britta), chef, and manager were all visitors to our table at perfectly appropriate times to ensure our dining experience was the best possible. The food - crab cake appetizer was the best crab cake we have ever had. Salads were scrumptious, aged 6 oz filets were cooked perfectly, accompanied by stuffed baked potatoes and creamed spinach. A huge fresh baked bread loaf accompanied each course with garlic and regular butter. I cannot offer a review on desserts, because we were too full to consider any further dining options. Long story short - we will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Missed the mark

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

My husband and I like to try new places and drove by the kemah steak company one day and thought we would try it out. We made reservations online for 7:15pm on a Saturday night.

We arrived a few minutes late, but there was no need to worry since the place was dead. We didn't even have to mention that we had reservations to the waiter that greeted us. We were seated in the front room and there was only one other couple there. My husband and I had a hard time hearing each other over the hard/ classic rock music that was playing- it was pretty loud. We ordered bacon wrapped quail and a crabcake as appetizers. The plating was not very appealing. The bacon wrapped quail was nothing to write home about but I really enjoyed the crab cake, which was quite tasty. The sauce that went with it came in a large 4 ounce ramekin which seemed like a bit much to me.

The steaks were cooked perfectly and seasoned nicely. I had the 6 ounce filet and my husband had the 14 ounce ribeye. Again - the presentation was pretty bad. Literally steak placed on a plain white plate. Boring.

Now for the sides: truffle Mac and cheese was made with penne pasta, and was reminiscent of velveeta. There was not a hint of truffle that we could taste. The grilled asparagus was perfect and I enjoyed the sautéed mushrooms. For dessert we had the banana foster bread pudding and the server was kind enough to let us know not to try eating it before the flame extinguished.

Overall disappointing and we would not recommend or be back. Not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Disapponted

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Ate for New Years. Had a set menu with pricing on the steak entree at $50. The filet was not a good quality and was overlooked. Could get a better steak at Saltgrass at half the price. Also had a crab cake that was good, but charged $18 for one crab cake. Way overpriced experience and lack of quality in the food! Would go to Perry's for a really good steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Great Experience

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

My wife and I had dinner here on the night after Christmas. It was predictably very quiet, and we enjoyed one of the best steaks we have had in Houston. The service and advice from our waiter (Sean) was perfect. We live close by and will certainly return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was our first time there, but won't b ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

It was our first time there, but won't be our last. A little pricey, but delicious food. Our waiter was very attentive. We went early on Black Friday so it wasn't too busy, but it's booked often so make reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Need to be much more attentive and train ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 12, 2015

Need to be much more attentive and train servers better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Overall - A

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

Food was absolutely amazing! Service was great! Only complaint is a loud table of 6 near us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First the waiter brought over the wrong ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

First the waiter brought over the wrong wine for our guests. Then the waiter served bread but didn't bring plates. Then he opened a bottle of wine for us and served it when my we only ordered a glass each. Then the chef prepared three dishes with half the shrimp and the water didn't tell us but when asked he bluntly said the other table ordered too much (like ... tough rather than apologizing)

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Positive experience except...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

Here are the positives: steak was excellent. So were the mushrooms and the wine. We had to

ask for bread and I'm glad we did. It was lovely! The salads were a big negative. The chopped lettuce came out of a bag like we can get at Kroger. Surrounding the heaped high lettuce were 3 (count 'em, three!) cherry tomatoes cut in half and three thin slices of cucumber. On top was an overabundance of "from a box" croutons that had no taste. The salad dressings are supposed to be homemade and I have no complaint about the dressing itself, but it could not make up for a lack luster salad that did not keep up with the quality of the rest of the meal.

My companion had a Caesar salad that, according to him, needed anchovies or something to

add flavor to a disappointing, bland salad. The prices at this restaurant are high and the meal,

across the board, needs to be top drawer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Tomahawk

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

Ordered the Tomahawk bone in ribeye, OMG!!! What a steak! Great service. Really a hidden Gem!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was awesome.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 22, 2015

Food was awesome. Salad was great, Truffle Mac & Cheese was wonderful. Mushrooms were excellent and my steak was perfect. Service was in need of experience. Seemed like we had a nervous waiter. Nice young man but seemed nervous on how to handle 3 gentlemen having a business dinner in no hurry. Will I go back? You bet. I hope that the owner is saving his money to expand with another room to accommodate his future growth.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

My waiter, Saul, was the best thing abou ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 15, 2015

My waiter, Saul, was the best thing about the experience. He was enthusiastic, smiled, knowledgeable about the food, had favorites of his own, he was just excellent. A great ambassador for your establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great outdoor courtyard.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

Had a great time with my family. The courtyard was perfect for having children with you. Food was great as usual.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Great food

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 21, 2015

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.