Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About The Kemah Steak Company

The Kemah Steak Company will provide you with the best dining experience in the Houston area. We choose only the best USDA Prime steaks from the world famous Allen Brothers in Chicago. This truly makes a big difference. Allen Brothers has a unique patented aging process. You can choose either wet aged or dry aged. We present your steak at just the right temperature, juicy and tender. Our side orders are our own special recipes and we have a great selection including creamed corn, mushrooms, Au Gratin potatoes and our delicious truffle mac and cheese. Our seafood is never frozen and comes fresh off the boat from the Gulf of Mexico. Try Red Snapper, Flounder, or our award winning Shrimp and Grits, to name a few.

707 Bradford Ave.
Kemah, TX 77565
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm -12:00am

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(281) 334-9463

Website:
http://thekemahsteakcompany.com/

Catering:
Chef Carole Barnett is culinary trained from the world renouond Le Cordon Bleu Culinary School in Dallas. She competed on Iron Chef and is the recipient of the American Federation Culinary scholarship for the State of Texas. Chef Carole has apprenticed under Chef Stephen Pyle, Chef Tim Love has had an externship with Food Network star Paula Deen and is currently planning a stage with Chef Toni McPhail at Commanders Palace in New Orleans. She was the sous and pastry chef for Morton’s Steak House in Dallas. She has worked on major parties for super bowls and World Series events.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Kemah Steak Company Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Cozy (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Romantic (8)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Worth the Drive (4)
Authentic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Casual (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Business Meals (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Waterfront (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
130 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Perfect place for any date or special occasion. Great prices, great ambiance, very quiet and calm. My overall experience was perfect. I had excellent service and in my opinion the best steak I have ever had.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The Kemah Steak Company is a gem of a restaurant for those who want a fantastic steak over a quiet dinner! Terrific Servers, long wine list, and beautifully prepared food make this a great place to frequent in Kemah!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

A quaint house that has a nice bar and enough seating. The food is absolutely wonderful! I had the 6 oz filet mignon and my wife had the lamb chops. We also had a side of mac & cheese and corn creme brulee. The food was very flavorful. For drinks they had beer, liquor and a house full of wine selections. Not many customers so you may have the place to yourself but loved this steakhouse overall.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 8, 2017

This was our second visit to Kemah Steak Company and was very much a let down after initially rating the place 5 stars. On our first visit, we had one of the best tasting steaks I have ever been served, outstanding service, great sides, appetizers, and dessert. This visit yielded another great tasting steak, but that was unfortunately the only similarity to the first trip. The crab cake appetizer was just ok, after giving the crab cake 5 stars last time. The lettuce in our salad was slightly wilted and lacked any crispness. The mac and cheese side dish recommended by our waiter was so salty we had trouble eating it - left 3/4 of the portion. And our banana foster bread pudding (also suggested by the waiter) was served without the brandy flambe - he said they were out of brandy, but insisted it would be delicious. It was horrible, we did not eat but a bite each, returned it with legit complaints about how it was prepared and how bad it tasted - the waiter left it on our ticket - full price! There were only 3 other tables the whole time we were there - not surprisingly, I think they are on their way out of business. Won't be back, will not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

This was our second visit and both times the service was perfect and the food outstanding. You must try the Banana's Foster Bread Pudding - Oh My!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Steak was excellent and service was great. This was a great dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Loved this place. A little pricey but company paid...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on July 4, 2017

This is my second visit. I'm from Ohio. The first visit I was completely blown away from the food to the service. This visit the food was still excellent, I think the service could have been better for the price you pay. The server seemed young and inexperienced. We still enjoyed our evening, next trip to Texas I will try something new.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Very charming restaurant for date and special occasion for family. Not for children.
The wasabi mashed potatoes went well with the steak. By itself, too wasabish.
$18 crab cake was nothing special. It was not prepared with lump crab meat, as claimed by the server.
Be aware that $60, 12 ounce bone in filet has 4 ounce bone and 8 ounce steak. Was very tasteful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 3, 2017

This restaurant was amazing. The service was top of the line, the food was outstanding, and the wine list was loaded. It was a great overall experience and I will definitely be returning.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great food, great friends, great wine, great atmosphere equals GREAT FUN!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Very Nice, quiet/cozy restaurant & Excellent Food!! Our new Fav for Special Occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The 34 ounce Tomahawk Ribeye, medium rare, was spot on. Ask for both the blue cheese and the magic butters' for your steak.. A little tip, each side dish is large enough for 2 or three people to share and the desserts are fairly large portions as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The food is great I think it was totally worth it the waitress was always making sure we were happy it was a great experience and I would definitely recommend it for my friends and family!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Beautiful, unique location. From start to finish, it was a great evening. It's a converted house so not really quiet.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The service was wonderful, the steaks and sides were all served hot and the food was great.
It is a quite unique restaurant with easy parking.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Fantastic Food ... quiet and sophisticated. Superb Service:)

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Very nice. Excellent steaks. Sides were memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

This was the worst dining experience. Poor service and the place was practically empty.
Wanted to order the chicken piccata(only chicken on menu) and they didn't have any that night.
Asked waiter how much the market price was on fish and he said probably $26 to $30 but after he walked out of room and came back in said it was $30. They didn't want you to order anything under $30.

I ordered a glass of Moscato when they asked for drink order and husband had diet coke and well vodka in tall glass. His drink was totally watery and I have no idea what kind of wine I was served but it was not Moscato.

We left after we paid for drinks...which was $20.

I texted the number they had on menu, if we had any problems with our experience.
They replied to me at 1130pm and sent me a picture of the bottle of Moscato he said they served me from but it only showed the bottom half of the bottle which does not show me it was ever opened. And I've always been shown the the bottle it is poured from when they bring it to the table to serve me in any other restaurant I have been dining .

The responder did tell me to let him know the next time I would be dining there and he would make it a worthwhile experience. I advised him we would not be returning to Kemah Steak Company.

We went around the corner to the Amadeus restaurant and had a wonderful dinner in a great atmosphere with good food that was listed on the menu.

Thank you for asking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 25, 2017

One of my customers came in from Kansas so we took him out to eat. I found this location only and happy I did. The food was great. The bartender was the hostess and server also, but the service was great. I will visit again!!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Great steaks, and our server Allison was really friendly and gave us good service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I won't do another review if 50 characters is necessary when "awesome" is all I have to say. Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaasaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Martinis were divine. Steaks and lamb chops were incredible. Service was spectacular. Truffle mac n cheese is the only item that did not knock our socks off.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We sat in the front area by ourselves, so no atmosphere there but man it was quiet. Great place, everything excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We were a group of six. The restaurant wasn't that busy, but the service was slow. The food was good. I had the salmon, very good. The portions were a good size, so you could share to bring down the cost. The place is walking distance from the boardwalk, which is why we chose it. Overall the place was nice, but expensive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We stumbled upon this place in kemah and were very glad we did. The crab cake was to die for. Our steaks were also excellent. Grits were interesting if you like spicy. We also enjoyed the bananas foster bread pudding flambee and the lava cake. All excellent choices. We went on a Wednesday and bottled wine is half price which was a welcome surprise. I would recommend this place for dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Had never been there until this week- turns out we went twice. The steaks were overdone each time- we want rare. There was only one waitress for all tables- we felt bad for her- so service wasn't great but that is not her fault. If they correct a few things could be a great place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Best bone in filet on record. Courteous service. The birthday girl was thrilled!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We have seen many positive changes in this cozy steakhouse. We have been pleased with each visit and each visit tops the last.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Our dinners were fabulous. Takes a while for food to arrive but we enjoyed the ambience and it was quiet so you could carry on a conversation. Our waiter was attentive. Great for special occasion or if you like fine dining and excellent steaks. Large wine selection.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We decided to go there for St Valentines dinner since it came up as "romantic" spot in Kemah area. I knew it was an older area of the town, but wasn't expecting to see 100-year old (according to one of the waiters) single family house barely remodeled to be a restaurant. We arrived few minutes earlier than our reservation time, only to walk in and see another 7-8 couples with reservations ahead of us waiting around bar and 2 chairs in "waiting area". The Hostess promptly greeted us and informed that they are extremely overbooked and "it might take a little longer" to seat us, without actually offering any options. Luckily I spotted 1 available barstool and my wife and I decided to stay and wait. Environment on the first floor (and bar) was Ok and looked like a restaurant but DO NOT GO UPSTAIRS!!! Fast forward 45 minutes: finally seated on second floor, which in reality looked like a master bedroom with a dean -lowest level consumer grade carpeted floors and double doors to bathroom with jacuzzi confirmed my theory. Only one waitress trying to cover 7-8 tables upstairs (comparing to 5 or 6 staff on lower level) was creating a havoc. We were trying to stay focused on our romantic evening, but constant complains about orders, incorrect drinks, little kids screaming and parents running after them, coming from all tables were just too much. Another couple seating next to us just leaf 45 minutes later without getting their food. Another family was waiting for their desserts for the same 35-40 minutes. FOOD WAS OUTSTANDING!!! Two salads, stakes, salmon, two drinks (without going crazy in any of those menu items) -$150. I usually don't leave lengthy reviews, but comparing to 3+ hours spent inside - this is nothing ))) Again, food was very good, but the whole thing was extremely poorly organized for busy special occasion evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I have to say the food was outstanding and the portions are huge (I guess that's pretty standard in Texas). The service was probably the worst I've had in my life. Our waitress kept blaming others for the errors and was so slow. We must had heard 25-30 times that there was 1 chef on staff and they were really busy but the entire floor was waiting for even water refills. I think the big part of the problem is that the upstart isn't appropriately stocked meaning many trips up and down the stairs. As a customer I don't want to hear about arguments between staff or blaming others for what's wrong. Each individual on the team should represent the restaurant and should ensure that the experience is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went there on Valentine's Day and the service was terrible. One can and should expect better at a restaurant serving $50+ prime usda steaks. My wife's steak came out cold, the asparagus was also cold, my steak was warm, but not hot like it should be. The server kept complaining about how she was the most senior server and was having to pick up everyone else's slack. It was a disaster. I can't believe service and quality could be this poor at the price they are charging. The decor and ambiance is great and makes you hopeful upon arrival, but we were severely let down. Would not go back again and would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We came in for valentine's and the service was horrible. I understand that it's a busy day but there was only one waitress for the upstairs dining area. She was extremely busy and it wasnt her fault, she was doing the best she could for what she was given. We heard multiple tables complaining as well and a couple even left because it was taking to long to get service.

This was our first time there and feel it was poor management or maybe we were just expecting more by the reviews online. We had to send our steaks back because they were cooked well done and we ordered them medium, again not the waitresses fault, she truly did her best. Something definitely needs to be done , especially for expected busy holidays. There should be no reason for dissatisfaction when we are spending the amount of money we did for the meal. I spent my valentine's dinner texting this to the number on the menu and didn't get a response. The disappointment I felt was uncanny. My husband felt that he made an excellent choice by selecting your place because of the excellent reviews online but he was sadly mistaken and we both were equally disappointed in our experience.

Richard & Fondren Fernandez

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was good but the service was not. It was Valentine's Day but still shouldn't have taken 30 mins to get a glass of water. We were there a total of 2 1/2 hrs.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Weird experience because the service/server was beyond awful, but someone who seems to be the owner was super-friendly and went around to say smile or say hello or refill water toward the end of the meal. From the onset, we had a reservation and were there a few minutes early, yet they wanted to seat us at the bar. Anyway, we refused that and then had to deal with a bad attitude waitress (note - intelligent/observant people can see eyes rolling & observe body language) who as an example was upset that after we explicitly ordered no bacon on a wedge salad, sent the salad back when it arrived smothered in bacon. (She also asked if we could just pick out the bacon.) Then we got a new salad which was a messy-awful arrangement of weak looking lettuce with barely any dressing. Nothing like the look of the previous salad. Out of courtesy, we simply noted for the server to look at the salad and asked for a side of dressing, which the waitress still acted as though we were being difficult. Anyway, despite those hiccups and taking forever for the food, it was still a pleasant night over all. There were no sides or appetizers to our liking, however, although we saw some friends on our way out that raved about the mac & cheese, which I am not a mac & cheese eater. Bread was huge, but cold and not especially tasty. Dessert was fine, steak was way over-priced to be just ok and was slightly over-cooked, but not enough to be terrible. Somehow I spent $200 and left mildly hungry. I love good steaks and am not a review type of guy, so I am definitely disappointed. First time there and I noticed it had some ok ratings online, but personally I will never, ever go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

What a disappointment! Went for an early Valentine's Day meal and food was decent with lousy service. Won't be going back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Absolutely terrible. Only thing worse than the food was the service. Don't waste your time or money here, you will be dissapointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

One of the best steaks i have ever had. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our second time here and most likely our last. I'm not sure what their training program is for employees, but our server had no business waiting tables on her own. It took us 30+ minutes to receive drinks, and then an hour and a half later when my food actually arrived it wasn't even the right steak. Wine and water was also constantly empty throughout the entire ordeal. It was New Year's Eve, but the place wasn't even that busy. What a waste of $150.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.