HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today

The Kemah Steak Company

4.0
157 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Notable Wine List
  • Special Occasion
The Kemah Steak Company will provide you with the best dining experience in the Houston area. We choose only the best USDA Prime steaks from the world famous Allen Brothers in Chicago. This truly makes a big difference. Allen Brothers has a unique patented aging process. You can choose either wet aged or dry aged. We present your steak at just the right temperature, juicy and tender. Our side orders are our own special recipes and we have a great selection including creamed corn, mushrooms, Au Gratin potatoes and our delicious truffle mac and cheese. Our seafood is never frozen and comes fresh off the boat from the Gulf of Mexico. Try Red Snapper, Flounder, or our award winning Shrimp and Grits, to name a few.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Wine Bar
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Mon–Thu, Sun 5:00 pm–10:00 pm
Fri, Sat 5:00 pm–11:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(281) 334-9463
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Chef Carole Barnett is culinary trained from the world renouond Le Cordon Bleu Culinary School in Dallas. She competed on Iron Chef and is the recipient of the American Federation Culinary scholarship for the State of Texas. Chef Carole has apprenticed under Chef Stephen Pyle, Chef Tim Love has had an externship with Food Network star Paula Deen and is currently planning a stage with Chef Toni McPhail at Commanders Palace in New Orleans. She was the sous and pastry chef for Morton’s Steak House in Dallas. She has worked on major parties for super bowls and World Series events.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
7th Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
In addition to a limited number of parking spots available in front of the restaurant, there is also an ancillary parking lot located across the street from the restaurant which is clearly marked with a Kemah Steak Company Sign.
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 157 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0  based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.1
service
4.2
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Quiet
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Houston)
1.0  Dined 6 days ago

Service was terrible, we were the only people there and still had to ask waiter 4 times to get butter for the bread. Steaks were tough. Not one order, of 4 people, was right.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner 
3.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

They had a very limited menu for valentines. There were three things l wished to try, bacon wrapped quail, baby blue wedge salad and lollipop lamb chops with asparagus. None were on the menu and you couldn’t order from the regular menu. I found that disappointing.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Houston)
1.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

It felt like that Air Condition system was off and the sole from kitchen was lingering through the whole restaurant.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Chicago)
1.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Valentine’s Day they had a special smaller menu. First off. It was a warm day and they were busy so with no air on it it was 80+ degrees. They advertise as a premium steakhouse, they do serve Allen bros steaks from Chicago where were from so I felt the value will be there. My wife had a filet that was absent of any flavor at all. I ordered a bone in 14oz ribeye medium or hot pink. A ribeye with good fat content is the most flavorful of cuts. However when you cut it 1/4” thin then grill it it’s impossible to get it hot pink. There was no fat so no flavor and was barely able to be cut. The 2 waiters I mentioned this to both said there were complaints so I asked for the manager. He came out belligerent and refusing to acknowledge that it was well done even saying “what do you want for 14oz” and it was $49. Then he just walked away. I refused to pay for it. Tipped the waiter fully. I entertain clients often and this place is close but I’d never take anyone there again and I will not let my sales staff take clients ever. Not even a 1 star

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Dallas)
3.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Overall I had a pleasant experience and will likely return but it won’t leave you anxtiously awaiting your next visit. The main course (filet prepared medium) was absolutely the best tasting in memory and very well prepared. Delicious. The sides are served family style and frankly nothing special; seemed like something you’d make at home with the same outcome. I just expect a bit more flavor profile than that in a nice steak restaurant. Service was not the best but it was Valentines Day so recognize that it was hectic at times. Though our server was pleasant and was clearly working hard. You could tell because he was sweating a lot. Was seated upstairs. Not as nice an ambience as downstairs but then again, the downstairs was noticeably warmer and a bit smokey for me, the better option. Really appreciated the fact that it’s not crammed in with all the other restaurants and the fact that this place is a house. Though, the owners could probably invest in the interior finishings a bit to elevate the atmosphere/dining experience and this place would be hard to beat on many levels.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Houston)
3.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Asked for steak to be medium rare and it came well done

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Houston)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

It's my go to Valentine's spot since moving to League City.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Houston)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Food and service was exceptional.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Houston)
1.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Although i made the effort to call the restaurant to inform them that 2 of the 4 persons that had dinner got really sick from the food (probably the bisque), i never got a call back nor an apologize. This is very regretful for a restaurant that pretends to be an upscale restaurant. Not to be advised. This is unacceptable. Never again and lost two large industrialss

Report
Helpful
markk (New Mexico)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

The food was delicious and the service was excellent. The AC was broken but a mild breeze made it comfortable.

Report
Helpful
elainem (Jacksonville)
4.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Went here for early Valentine's date. Steaks were good. Crab cakes were good. Steak prices were on the expensive side. Wine was reasonably priced with good selection. Nice quiet atmosphere. Prices make it best for special occasion.

Report
Helpful
Juli (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on February 7, 2018

Looking for a non-Tilman restaurant to celebrate birthday. Wasn't familiar w/ restaurant at all. So glad we checked it out because this place was a hidden gem in Kemah. Steaks were great, ambience was great. We will definitely go back!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Philadelphia)
4.0  Dined on January 28, 2018

Liked the ambiance, easy location. Waiter helped to make the evening. Although we were there on an off night being Sunday, but I would expect a little more traffic than the only guest at 6:30 pm. By 7:30 there were 2 other couples. The medium steak came out rare/medium rare, but I think that was due to the lack of traffic.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Houston)
5.0  Dined on January 20, 2018

Love the place. It was our first time there and the food was fantastic. Our waiter was knowledgeable and attentive. We will be coming back.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Houston)
5.0  Dined on January 13, 2018

If you are going out for a special occasion and want the best steak ever this is the place to go. My husband is French and he said it was the best steak he had ever eaten... that speaks for itself!

Report
Helpful
Noow (Houston)
2.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

New Years Sve- servers were frantic, seemed overwhelmed. Service was sub par. Food was okay, overpriced for quality. No need to go back.

Report
Helpful
Christmastime (Houston)
4.0  Dined on December 11, 2017

We have been to Kemah Steak House several times and the food and drinks have been very good. Our service this night was good but it has been slow a few times before. Monday night might not be a good night to go as it was a little too quiet. Needed some lightening up.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Houston)
5.0  Dined on December 7, 2017

One of the best steaks I've ever had. Friendly staff and great experience

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Houston)
5.0  Dined on December 1, 2017

Always great steak! We are never disappointed when we go. I ALWAYS order the filet mignon, so I can't really comment on the rest of the menu, but the steak is ALWAYS awesome!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Houston)
5.0  Dined on November 28, 2017

Awesome food and amazing service! Very cozy atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8