About The Julep Cup

111 Woodland Avenue
Lexington, KY 40502
View Larger Map

Herald-Leader| December 26, 2014 - Patti Nickell

"[Executive Chef Lindsay Brooks Brugh, a] graduate of Chicago's Le Cordon Bleu, she studied in Paris, receiving a Superior Cuisine Medal...and worked with Frank Stitt....Her beef bourguignon, black Angus short rib slowly braised with red wine and herbs, and steak au poivre, certified Angus beef, peppercorn crusted with cognac cream, green peppercorns and whole grain mustard, are the essence of Gallic good taste....Nowhere else in Lexington will you find dishes from the southern United States and those from the south of France side by side on a single menu...my dining companion and I split an appetizer of fried green tomatoes with zesty remoulade...there were none left by the time our entrees arrived...the shrimp and grits...'the best in Lexington'....desserts are given equal care....[and] if you have time before or after your meal, drop into the Seahorse Lounge...for the signature libation. The mint Julep..."

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, French

Hours of Operation:
Brunch and Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday-Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
East Main & Woodland

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 226-0300

Website:
http://www.thejulepcup.com/

Entertainment:
Music in Bar certain Friday nights.
Call to check. Features local talent such as Ben Lacey and Bob Bryant on guitars; Phil Copeland; - Emmy award winning songwriter and vocalist; Paul Osborne, saxophone and Harold Young, keyboard.

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the rear parking deck directly behind the building. Other parking is available in the parking lot on the corner of Woodland and Vine Street, directly behind the parking deck. Street parking is also available on Woodland Avenue and Vine Street.

Public Transit:
The Lextran Trolley runs to the corner of Midland and East Main Street, one block west of The Julep Cup. Trollies run daily between the hours of 9AM and 3PM from downtown hotels and the convention center. Lextran City Buses stop on East Main at the corner of Woodland in front of The Woodlands where The Julep Cup is located.

Executive Chef:
Virginia L. Brooks

Private Party Facilities:
The Julep Room is separated from the main dining room by french doors and contains an oval table that will seat up to 12 persons. No fee for the space. Perfect for small buisness groups, birthdays, book clubs.
The

Private Party Contact:
Mike Esham: 859-226-0300x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Julep Cup Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Central Kentucky
Special Occasion
Central Kentucky
Southern
Central Kentucky
3 More
Neighborhood Gem
Lexington
Romantic
Lexington
Special Occasion
Lexington
Best Restaurants in Lexington ›

Special Occasion (23)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Romantic (15)
See All
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Great for Brunch (5)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Casual (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Historic (1)
Cozy (1)
Live Music (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
Newest
381 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was phenomenal! Service was wonderf ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was phenomenal! Service was wonderful and our waiter was a delight! Will definitely be returning on our next trip to Lexington!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Initial draw was 1/2 wines on Wednesday ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Initial draw was 1/2 wines on Wednesday and Thursday. They had a bottle of one of our favorite red Venetos , Senato Ripassa. We had shrimp and Grits with a grilled romaine salad. Good food and service. Plan on returning soon

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fell in love with this restaurant!!! Th ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Fell in love with this restaurant!!! The decor is horse racing! From photos to jockey silks! The food was so awesome. Bill was our server and he was great! There is an outside patio too.

I had the liver and onions. It was prepared perfectly! It was delicious!! My daughter had the Hot Brown! It was an authentic Hot Brown! She loved it! Her friend had the burger and said it was her favorite! She loved the fries too! Her burger came with Coleslaw! I am picky about coleslaw and I loved it!!! Very creamy, with a little kick!

The menu is diverse enough to cover many appetites!

I have already made my next reservation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed The Julep Cup! It's lo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We really enjoyed The Julep Cup! It's location (ground floor of a higher rise apartment building) surprised us, but once we walked through the door, we felt right at home. I absolutely adored the decor! We are horse-people and all the photos and memorabilia related to horses and racing were a joy to walk around and appreciate. The food was very, very good. We opted for southern cooking - which is the specialty. However, it's at The Julep Cup, it's elevated Southern. We were delighted with an amuse bouche of a vegetable fritter. We split appetizers of Fried Green Tomatoes and Country Ham Fritters (rather like an empanada). My husband had the fried chicken which he noted was crispy on the outside and wonderfully juicy inside. I had the Shrimp & Grits. Let me tell you - those were some of the best I've ever had! For dessert the carrot cake was moist and delicious with good spice, walnuts, and plump raisins. The icing was also very good. Service was friendly and helpful! The Julep Cup may not be a "foodie" place, but it's comfortable and cozy and felt like dining with friends - friends who are REALLY good cooks!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice atmosphere and wait staff.!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Nice atmosphere and wait staff.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We went for my sister's birthday party. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We went for my sister's birthday party. Had 20 people and were all seated on the patio. Everyone had an amazing time, and John gave excellent service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good food, great choices an ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Consistently good food, great choices and excellent service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, and cute place. Our sever w ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food, and cute place. Our sever was great. We appreciated that things were not rushed as we had time to enjoy everything.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Def attracts older crowd. Food was medio ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Def attracts older crowd. Food was mediocre at best. Nice staff, but bland food.

Did have good music although it does get rather loud in there.

Not fit for foodies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Wonderful live music. Food was good, but ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Wonderful live music. Food was good, but not something I would remember more than a day or two after I've eaten there. Service was not good. Server was not friendly. Acted as if she were doing me a favor by waiting on me. Had to ask for bread. I would return, but not enthusiastically.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The food was bland and sauces were like ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food was bland and sauces were like baby food. Service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

I am strictly gluten free. The chef came ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I am strictly gluten free. The chef came out and introduced himself. He offered a few options and came up with something I didn't think could be made gluten free- fried green tomatoes. Everything was outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have been there 4 times an ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

My wife and I have been there 4 times and we both love it and have told our friends and family. We will be back ,Thanks

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dinned there this weekend and it was ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We dinned there this weekend and it was fabulous, the couple with us had the Veal Liver & Onions and my wife and I had the fried chicken. We shared two deserts and everything was very good. This restaurant I believe is as good as any in Lexington!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly a very enjoyable experience! We ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Truly a very enjoyable experience! We had a fabulous time!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great!

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great experience! Food was exceptional: filet, trout, burger, salmon special. Service was spot on. Jazzy band playing; they were fairly tight, but seemed like they more recently began playing together. Love the place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good menu, good service

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Fancy without being too fancy comes to mind when describing this restaurant. The food is good and the service is as well. The live jazz 'piano' playing was a great addition. Good for a get together with friends or family and they offer balcony seating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

One of our favorites

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Very good food in a quiet relaxed atmosphere. We have been here several times and have always enjoyed it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not only was the food perfect, but when ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Not only was the food perfect, but when the hostess heard we had a long wait for our cab she volunteered to drive us back to our hotel!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Little disapointed

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Filet way undercooked and tough--couldn't eat but little on outside--they comped it but I offered to pay--Date's dinner was ok--been there several times and always was good--just had a off night--drinks in bar before and after dinner--good drinks and good service--good combo in dining room--went there to talk without loud background--great.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

A small group of us (6) got together for ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

A small group of us (6) got together for dinner before attending a play. We had a great meal! This is one of the quietest places for dinner in Lexington; you can actually hear what each other is saying. And, the music was very nice; music is provided on Fridays and Saturdays. I highly recommend The Julip Cup!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the Grilled trout it was wonderful ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I had the Grilled trout it was wonderful. The wife had the Filet cooked a perfect medium rare and very tasty. The service was paced great. Neat place. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is one of our favorite places in le ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This is one of our favorite places in lex, no more. I don't know if it's under new ownership or not but this was a 4 star dining experience now a 2 star and that's being NICE.. First we had reservation and the hostess ask if we mind to set in the bar area ??? I ask why?? he acted like they were overbooked , so I said no problem .. The menu looked as if someone had used it as a napkin. After about 15 min our waiter finally took out drink order and about another 20 min he took our app order apps took about 20 to 30 min . Dinner order came out about 45 min to hour drinks are empty and no service insight.. Meal come out had to send both back and my wife a I never send anything back cold and under cooked !! Steak over cooked . Our res was for 645 it was 930 before we walked out the door.. And the place never filled up they had plenty of room and if this is how they operate they will not survive ... It was so bad I will not be back !! Was once a hidden gem....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Food was good and wait staff was attenti ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was good and wait staff was attentive but food was slow to arrive at table. Enjoyed music while waiting. It was live but not too loud.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

10 oz strip steak was cooked perfectly, ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

10 oz strip steak was cooked perfectly, but the thick pat of frozen butter on top didn't melt and I had to take it off. The pecan bourbon dessert was excellent.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Great little place, will definitely be b ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great little place, will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable evening

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The entertainment was nice. It was not too loud. Last time we dined at the Julep Cup, in the bar, the music was overbearing.

Food was very good. Restaurant was busy but service was satisfactory.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Dinner after Keeneland

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

What a find! We had such a great time and a delicious dinner. We had a large group and the table was ready for us when we walked in. They had live music, but softly playing so the ambiance was wonderful. A very attentive staff, from the waiter to the hostess and even extra bar folks who continued to bring drinks, never had to wait for another cocktail. Appetizers were delicious, we especially enjoyed the beer cheese and pretzels, homemade pretzels and order extra because they are awesome. Everyone ordered something different from steaks to fish to burger and more. No one was disappointed. The setting is lovely and we so enjoyed our large gathering there after a day at the Keeneland track. Would highly recommend this gem to others and we will definitely return for another meal there. There did appear to be outdoor dining in a patio area. That also looked very nice, it was a bit chilly so we were glad to be indoors but would check out the patio space at a warmer time. It was a beautiful building and easy parking! We also ordered the fried oyster wraps for an appetizer and they were fantastic. Could of had that for a meal they were so delicious. Bread pudding for dessert was OK. They had an extensive dessert menu and look forward to trying other things.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best cooking in 3 years of dining - We a ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Best cooking in 3 years of dining - We arent locals but will visit again when back in Lex

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were told we couldn't move our reserv ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We were told we couldn't move our reservation to an earlier time, but when we arrived the restaurant was half empty. Our service was very slow, although the burgers and drinks were all excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Waiter was very accommodating to put n c ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Waiter was very accommodating to put n childs order early & put candle n bdsy girls dessert. He kept glasses filled but was not intrusive. I thought it took a little ling to get food since there were only 3 tables but food was fresh & tasty. Its so nice to eat n restsurant where u can have conversation & b heard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Sam and Jeanne Z

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Service started out very slow; seemed like they were under-staffed. First waitress apparently had too many tables, so they assigned another waiter who seemed to be just learning.

Ambiance was fabulous, with live Harp music and the food was outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Early one Saturday evening!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Our arrival was for a very early Saturday evening dinner began with a short stop at the bar. The Mint Juleps were the best ever. Our stay at the Julep Cup lasted for several hours because we took our time ordering. The restaurant staff was very accommodating in allowing us time and space to engage in conversations. The food was and service was very good and we will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Baby Brunch

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Had a delightful brunch for upcoming arrival of new grand baby. Other than the lack of tablecloths, everything was handled as requested with great service and food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was a bit slow to come out but wort ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Food was a bit slow to come out but worth the wait. Waiter and host were excellent! Mango Margaritas are a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Never dissapoints!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We enjoyed our food and service. Crab cakes were excellent. Music was also good! Go!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Easter lunch. First time there. Wa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Great Easter lunch. First time there. Want to go back to ck out regular menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Off night

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

We have been to the Julep Cup many times. We have noted the past few visits that the number of customers seems to be falling off, which is surprising. They have a great location and the food is typically very good, nice specials, etc. We were one of four tables in the place. Tonight was off in that our entrees were behind; the server said there was a mix up in the kitchen and they were rushing it. Unfortunately that was apparent, as the risotto was crunchy (you just can't rush risotto). They also ran out of the scallops - and it was 7pm on a Friday, which was odd.

Sure hope they can rebuild, we have always enjoyed going there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

I really don't understand why this resta ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

I really don't understand why this restaurant is always empty!!! The food is wonderful, the service & ambiance above par. It's a neighborhood gem and I'm afraid it will close if people don't start going. SO GO!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great music

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Came on a Friday night (3/4/16) and the music was as great as the food. Definitely coming back with more family and friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.