About The Julep Cup

111 Woodland Avenue
Lexington, KY 40502
View Larger Map

Herald-Leader| December 26, 2014 - Patti Nickell

"[Executive Chef Lindsay Brooks Brugh, a] graduate of Chicago's Le Cordon Bleu, she studied in Paris, receiving a Superior Cuisine Medal...and worked with Frank Stitt....Her beef bourguignon, black Angus short rib slowly braised with red wine and herbs, and steak au poivre, certified Angus beef, peppercorn crusted with cognac cream, green peppercorns and whole grain mustard, are the essence of Gallic good taste....Nowhere else in Lexington will you find dishes from the southern United States and those from the south of France side by side on a single menu...my dining companion and I split an appetizer of fried green tomatoes with zesty remoulade...there were none left by the time our entrees arrived...the shrimp and grits...'the best in Lexington'....desserts are given equal care....[and] if you have time before or after your meal, drop into the Seahorse Lounge...for the signature libation. The mint Julep..."

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, French

Hours of Operation:
Brunch and Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday-Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
East Main & Woodland

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 226-0300

Website:
http://www.thejulepcup.com/

Entertainment:
Music in Bar certain Friday nights.
Call to check. Features local talent such as Ben Lacey and Bob Bryant on guitars; Phil Copeland; - Emmy award winning songwriter and vocalist; Paul Osborne, saxophone and Harold Young, keyboard.

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the rear parking deck directly behind the building. Other parking is available in the parking lot on the corner of Woodland and Vine Street, directly behind the parking deck. Street parking is also available on Woodland Avenue and Vine Street.

Public Transit:
The Lextran Trolley runs to the corner of Midland and East Main Street, one block west of The Julep Cup. Trollies run daily between the hours of 9AM and 3PM from downtown hotels and the convention center. Lextran City Buses stop on East Main at the corner of Woodland in front of The Woodlands where The Julep Cup is located.

Executive Chef:
Virginia L. Brooks

Private Party Facilities:
The Julep Room is separated from the main dining room by french doors and contains an oval table that will seat up to 12 persons. No fee for the space. Perfect for small buisness groups, birthdays, book clubs.
The

Private Party Contact:
Mike Esham: 859-226-0300x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Julep Cup Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Business Meals (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Live Music (7)
Romantic (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Casual (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Cozy (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Private Room (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Fun (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Historic (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Authentic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
416 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had the squash ravioli and was very di ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 2 days ago

I had the squash ravioli and was very disappointing . The ravioli was barely filled, so it felt like I was eating plain pasta. The dish was not worth the price.

I enjoyed the atmosphere but that was it.

My boyfriend had the shrimp and grits which he said was very good. Don't think we will be back to try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We visit our son who attend UK Law and a ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined 2 days ago

We visit our son who attend UK Law and always visit the Julep Cup. The convenience, excellent chef and great service never disappoint along with a great list of bourbons. We will visit every time we are in Lexington.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sought out a place to have a conversatio ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 7 days ago

Sought out a place to have a conversation during lunch. The Julep Cup has never disappointed in serving great tasting food. The menu is not large but is varied enough to meet the needs of most. We were on the early side of lunch, so had a chance to pick our table. Since my colleague and I were both trying to eat sensibly following the holiday excesses, we both chose the Autumn salad with kale and quinoa. The salad was very good, but I wish I had added chicken for a bit more variety. Tends to be a bit on the pricey side, but the quality of the food and the relaxed dining experience balance that out in my opinion.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We eat here often and the food is always ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We eat here often and the food is always good, the ambiance nice to where you can carry on a conversation, and the service is good too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was cozy and quiet. 4 tables total th ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 3, 2017

It was cozy and quiet. 4 tables total the entire time we were there. 1 waiter. he was very professional but the wait between courses was extremely long. The food was presented nicely. My dish was tasty. Husband dish was bland and heavy. He was very disappointed and didn't finish his meal. We passed on the dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

This was our second visit to the Julep C ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 22, 2016

This was our second visit to the Julep Cup. Only one objection, but it really damaged this experience. Although our dining room was fairly empty, we were seated at a booth next to a noisy group. We had to listen to their conversation, and could barely hear what those in our group was saying. I should have asked to be re-seated. Why sit someone next to another group when there were other places where we could have had more privacy without having to listen to p

ro-Trump blather.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

I have said in the past that The Julep C ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I have said in the past that The Julep Cup is one of my favorite restaurants in Lexington. It still is. Their grilled Kentucky trout with new potatoes and grilled asparagus is a total winner, and for that item alone I would keep going to this restaurant. The equine inspired decor is a plus.

If you haven't tried this restaurant, I recommend that you do!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fun, , Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was fantastic and the entertain ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The meal was fantastic and the entertainment ( live jazz) was very good. The noise lever was such that you could hear the dinner conversation.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

One of my very favorite restaurants in L ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 13, 2016

One of my very favorite restaurants in Lexington! The food and service are always excellent and I love that I never feel rushed there.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Julep Cup never fails to satisfy. Wi ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The Julep Cup never fails to satisfy. With outstanding food, drinks and service, it is simply a treasure.

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Bar Seating, Historic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Julep is a Jewel! Although I had be ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The Julep is a Jewel!

Although I had been there for drinks I had never had a meal there. The couple my wife and I regularly go out with were looking for something different and since it was our friend's birthday we wanted to pick some place special. We nailed it!

I made a 6:30 PM reservation and we arrived about five minutes early and were promptly seated. Our server Michael, appeared immediately with drink suggestions and we were off. The cocktails were great (and generous) as was the beer cheese and warm pretzel appetizer.

The menu was very diverse. One guest had the filet (perfectly prepared) one had duck which was excellent and I had the coq a vin which was also wonderfully prepared. Dessert was homemade and excellent as well.

Our bill for two with cocktails and appetizer was right at $100 + tip. The service was excellent , the menu is one of the most diverse I've seen in Lexington and everything was perfectly prepared. We will be returning soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Historic, , Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An eclectic mix-- there was a lounge sin ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 18, 2016

An eclectic mix-- there was a lounge singer the evening we went who was great but a bit loud for the quiet date night we had planned. The food was pretty good--standard southern flair with a French twist.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We have always had excellent food and se ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We have always had excellent food and service here. We enjoy the horsey atmosphere as well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great evening! Delicious food and great ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great evening! Delicious food and great live music!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and experience! Service and ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great food and experience! Service and music also fine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

In town for a wedding and needed to cele ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 29, 2016

In town for a wedding and needed to celebrate a family birthday at the same time. Great pick! Our server was excellent and the menu hit everyone's favorites. The Cougar Bait Beer Cheese is a must-order appetizer!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Comfort Food, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the best meal we have had in a ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

This was the best meal we have had in a long time. We went to Paris two years ago and I would say it was the best since we were there. The food was excellent quality. The presentation was outstanding and it tasted unbelievable. It was really nice to have a conversation without a lot of noise and chaos around us. We found our new favorite restaurant in Lexington!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a wonderful meal with family ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful meal with family visiting from out of town. The food was outstanding. My sister in-law is gluten free and easily found many options. She loved the trout. My salmon was fantastic. The filets were well-prepared and delicious. Our older son raved about the burger and our younger son loved the kids choices and the cotton candy dessert. Service was efficient, friendly, and unobtrusive. There was live music while we were there, which was nice. Overall, a very good evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love the environment of this restauran ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 26, 2016

I love the environment of this restaurant, but is has no energy or other diners. Just don't get it. For the most part the food is good, but my last experience was not up to par and may prevent me from trying it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food service. Apps this visit. Not ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food service. Apps this visit. Not as great as prior visits but ok definitely will visit next lexington trip

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A wonderful dining experience from the m ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 20, 2016

A wonderful dining experience from the moment we opened the door. Gracious host. Comfortable table for two. Friendly attentive service. Delicious and special foods. Go there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

/we were a party of three, all over 70. ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 13, 2016

/we were a party of three, all over 70. We had the charcuterie, the winter squash ravioli, and a Kentucky hot brown. All three entrees were well presented, delicious, and satisfying portions. Our waiter, Michael, was attentive and we enjoyed a pleasant meal, with light music in the background.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My third visit. Daughter attends UK and ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2016

My third visit. Daughter attends UK and Julep Cup is one of our favorite restaurants when visiting Lexington. The food always delivers - interesting choices, creative spin on southern cooking and great flavors. Live music was a nice touch and not so loud that we couldn't have a conversation. Only disappointment was our server - not very attentive and somewhat clumsy. Example, she put the appetizer in the middle of the table, then after opening the wine bottle for us, placed it directly in front of me and blocking my access to the appetizer. It was chilled white wine so would have been nice if it had been kept chilled. Also, she served our main course immediately after serving our salads so we had everything jammed on our little table. Not awful service but not up to the quality of our food or the space.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

This is one of our favorite local restau ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 7, 2016

This is one of our favorite local restaurants. Can't say enough about the food, the atmosphere, the waiters, etc. We just like everything about it!

Tags: , Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was phenomenal! Service was wonderf ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Food was phenomenal! Service was wonderful and our waiter was a delight! Will definitely be returning on our next trip to Lexington!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Initial draw was 1/2 wines on Wednesday ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Initial draw was 1/2 wines on Wednesday and Thursday. They had a bottle of one of our favorite red Venetos , Senato Ripassa. We had shrimp and Grits with a grilled romaine salad. Good food and service. Plan on returning soon

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fell in love with this restaurant!!! Th ...

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Fell in love with this restaurant!!! The decor is horse racing! From photos to jockey silks! The food was so awesome. Bill was our server and he was great! There is an outside patio too.

I had the liver and onions. It was prepared perfectly! It was delicious!! My daughter had the Hot Brown! It was an authentic Hot Brown! She loved it! Her friend had the burger and said it was her favorite! She loved the fries too! Her burger came with Coleslaw! I am picky about coleslaw and I loved it!!! Very creamy, with a little kick!

The menu is diverse enough to cover many appetites!

I have already made my next reservation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed The Julep Cup! It's lo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We really enjoyed The Julep Cup! It's location (ground floor of a higher rise apartment building) surprised us, but once we walked through the door, we felt right at home. I absolutely adored the decor! We are horse-people and all the photos and memorabilia related to horses and racing were a joy to walk around and appreciate. The food was very, very good. We opted for southern cooking - which is the specialty. However, it's at The Julep Cup, it's elevated Southern. We were delighted with an amuse bouche of a vegetable fritter. We split appetizers of Fried Green Tomatoes and Country Ham Fritters (rather like an empanada). My husband had the fried chicken which he noted was crispy on the outside and wonderfully juicy inside. I had the Shrimp & Grits. Let me tell you - those were some of the best I've ever had! For dessert the carrot cake was moist and delicious with good spice, walnuts, and plump raisins. The icing was also very good. Service was friendly and helpful! The Julep Cup may not be a "foodie" place, but it's comfortable and cozy and felt like dining with friends - friends who are REALLY good cooks!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice atmosphere and wait staff.!

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Nice atmosphere and wait staff.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We went for my sister's birthday party. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We went for my sister's birthday party. Had 20 people and were all seated on the patio. Everyone had an amazing time, and John gave excellent service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good food, great choices an ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Consistently good food, great choices and excellent service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, and cute place. Our sever w ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food, and cute place. Our sever was great. We appreciated that things were not rushed as we had time to enjoy everything.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Def attracts older crowd. Food was medio ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Def attracts older crowd. Food was mediocre at best. Nice staff, but bland food.

Did have good music although it does get rather loud in there.

Not fit for foodies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Wonderful live music. Food was good, but ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Wonderful live music. Food was good, but not something I would remember more than a day or two after I've eaten there. Service was not good. Server was not friendly. Acted as if she were doing me a favor by waiting on me. Had to ask for bread. I would return, but not enthusiastically.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The food was bland and sauces were like ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food was bland and sauces were like baby food. Service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

I am strictly gluten free. The chef came ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 23, 2016

I am strictly gluten free. The chef came out and introduced himself. He offered a few options and came up with something I didn't think could be made gluten free- fried green tomatoes. Everything was outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have been there 4 times an ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 5, 2016

My wife and I have been there 4 times and we both love it and have told our friends and family. We will be back ,Thanks

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dinned there this weekend and it was ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 1, 2016

We dinned there this weekend and it was fabulous, the couple with us had the Veal Liver & Onions and my wife and I had the fried chicken. We shared two deserts and everything was very good. This restaurant I believe is as good as any in Lexington!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly a very enjoyable experience! We ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Truly a very enjoyable experience! We had a fabulous time!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great!

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great experience! Food was exceptional: filet, trout, burger, salmon special. Service was spot on. Jazzy band playing; they were fairly tight, but seemed like they more recently began playing together. Love the place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.