About The Joel Palmer House

600 Ferry St
Dayton, OR 97114
View Larger Map

Mushrooms are the heart of what we do at the Joel Palmer House. We have always endeavored to obtain seasonal and local ingredients and we use many locally produced greens, herbs, and vegetables, some of which come from our own culinary garden. We are frequently inspired by ingredients found in the cuisines of France, China, Thailand, Poland and India, so we call our cooking "freestyle." Our dishes pair well the celebrated wines of Oregon, especially Pinot Noir, Pinot Gris and Chardonnay. Our extensive, Oregon-focused wine list has been awarded the Best of Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator. Of special note, The Joel Palmer House ranks as one of Oregon's finest historic homes and is on the National Register of Historic Places and the Oregon Historic Register. Built in 1857, the house is Dayton's oldest standing structure. When weather permits, guests can enjoy their dinner on our outdoor patio, soaking in the last rays of sunshine in the heart of Oregon Wine Country.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday through Saturday for Dinner: 5pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
6th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 864-2995

Website:
http://www.joelpalmerhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Private Parking Lot and Street Parking available
2 Electric Vehicle charging stations free for use in our parking lot

Executive Chef:
Christopher Czarnecki

Private Party Facilities:
The facility is perfect for special events such as birthdays or rehearsal dinners as well as business meetings. A/V equipment and setup available. Multiple fixed menu options from which to choose.

Private Party Contact:
Christopher Czarnecki: 5038642995x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for private lunches of 10 or more. Call for more information.
Special events listed on our website: www.joelpalmerhouse.com and see regular updates at www.facebook.com/thejoelpalmerhouserestaurant

Restaurant Photos

Seasonal Bread Pudding - The Joel Palmer House, Dayton, OR
Artisan Cheese Tasting   - The Joel Palmer House, Dayton, OR
Filet Mignon - The Joel Palmer House, Dayton, OR
Amuse Bouche - The Joel Palmer House, Dayton, OR
Heidi's Three Mushroom Tart - The Joel Palmer House, Dayton, OR
Broccoli - The Joel Palmer House, Dayton, OR
Joe's Wild Mushroom Soup - The Joel Palmer House, Dayton, OR
Elk Ribeye - The Joel Palmer House, Dayton, OR
Candy Cap Mushroom Creme Brulee - The Joel Palmer House, Dayton, OR
Joel Palmer Pinot Noir - The Joel Palmer House, Dayton, OR
Cocoa-dusted Truffles - The Joel Palmer House, Dayton, OR
Wild Mushroom Risotto - The Joel Palmer House, Dayton, OR
intermezzo - The Joel Palmer House, Dayton, OR
Soup Of The Day - The Joel Palmer House, Dayton, OR
Bread - The Joel Palmer House, Dayton, OR
Butter with Sea Salt  - The Joel Palmer House, Dayton, OR
Coors Light - The Joel Palmer House, Dayton, OR
Marinated Sturgeon - The Joel Palmer House, Dayton, OR
Scallop Quenelle - The Joel Palmer House, Dayton, OR
Herb Mojito - The Joel Palmer House, Dayton, OR
Scallop Quenelle With Lobster Cream Sauce - The Joel Palmer House, Dayton, OR
Trio Of Candy Cap Mushroom Desserts - The Joel Palmer House, Dayton, OR
Mango And Candy Cap Mushroom Sorbet - The Joel Palmer House, Dayton, OR
House Made Chocolate Truffles - The Joel Palmer House, Dayton, OR
Mushroom Madness Soup - The Joel Palmer House, Dayton, OR

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Joel Palmer House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Portland / Oregon
Best Overall
Willamette Valley
Best Food
Willamette Valley
4 More
Best Service
Willamette Valley
Best Ambiance
Willamette Valley
Best Value
Willamette Valley
Most Booked
Willamette Valley

Special Occasion (33)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Local Ingredients (25)
See All
Notable Wine List (24)
Good for a Date (23)
Romantic (22)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Historic (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Cozy (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Authentic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Scenic View (4)
Business Meals (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Fun (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (2)
Organic (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
734 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Impeccable service and excellent food

 
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

Impeccable service and excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this for a special occasion. The se ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Love this for a special occasion. The service from the minute you walk in the door is outstanding. The food is absolutely phenomenal. Highly recommend.

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eeveryone enjoyed their meals. The mushr ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Eeveryone enjoyed their meals. The mushroom soup was outstanding. The staff were incredibly gracious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. The risotto had ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Service was excellent. The risotto had good flavor but had no mushroom pieces in it. The rice was mushy. I had the prime rib and it was a bit overdone. My friends had the Stroganoff and they both enjoyed it. One wished there were large enough chunks of mushroom to enjoy them.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The concept of doing everything mushroom ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The concept of doing everything mushrooms intrigued us so we went. A few of the dishes were interesting and good - Heidi's mushroom tarte, beef bourguignon. Others like the highly touted mushroom soup was very ordinary and thin. The mushroom risotto was very pedestrian. I opted for the elk ribeye and found it to be tasty but the lentils and peppers that came with it somehow destroyed the mushroom mystic. The desserts were tasty and I would recommend the candy cap mushroom pot de creme and the bread pudding.

Overall I would not dissuade you from going but don't have the high expectations that I had. With lower expectations you will be much happier.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

First, you probably need to love mushroo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 23, 2016

First, you probably need to love mushrooms in order to appreciate this restaurant. Otherwise, it might just seem expensive, although everyone will recognize top-notch service. I had the mushroom tart and it was basically heaven and very filling. Be aware of that as you choose other courses. It is absolute perfection with the Joel Palmer pinot noir. The only dish my table had that was unremarkable was the mushroom pasta. It was fairly bland. The beef stroganoff is not like any you have had...well, probably not...but totally yummy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is probably the 5th time we've eate ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This is probably the 5th time we've eaten here. They are very consistent with great service and good food. The only complaint I would make is that the menu is also consistent, and needs some life pumped back into it. Surely there is something else you can think of to do with your local mushrooms! We'll definitely be back though.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Awful! Horrible service and horrible foo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Awful! Horrible service and horrible food! We were so disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This is a great place to eat in Oregon w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This is a great place to eat in Oregon wine country and even has a sommelier on staff. Relaxing, enjoyable environment coupled with unique and expertly prepared mushroom infused dishes throughout each course.

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Historic, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, People Watching, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was pretty bland, ingredients were ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was pretty bland, ingredients were good for sure but the salmon was super dry and the sauce did not work with it on the night we were there. not a lot of creativity to the food and wine list was pretty expensive, could at least bring it down a bit being in the heart of wine country. A place to go for some history and a quiet dinner but I wouldn't drive out of my way for the food.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We enjoyed the mushroom soup and tarte. ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We enjoyed the mushroom soup and tarte. The filet mignon was fork tender and the beef stroganoff was amazing. After an amazing meal, expectations are high for the last course and we were a little disappointed by the selection and execution. The candy cap pot de creme and lemon cake did not live up to our expectations. We overhead the couple next to us say that the brownie was very dry and so we decided not to order that. I am wondering if the pastry chef had a bad night because the last time we were there, the desserts were fabulous. The chocolate truffle that comes with the bill more than made up for the lack luster dessert. Wow, they were amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for my wife's Birthday. We enjoy J ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Went for my wife's Birthday. We enjoy Joel Palmer House for special occasion dinners.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For years, when we thought of the ultima ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 28, 2016

For years, when we thought of the ultimate dining experience, it was The Palmer House. We live in McMinnville and always fell back on the elegant quiet atmosphere, good food and special attention. For my 50th birthday, I was ushered down a red carpet in my driveway and whisked away to the Palmer House. Now, 12 years later, (with other special meals in between) we had reservations last Thursday night for my mother's 97th birthday. Unfortunately, it was a disappointment. 97 is something to celebrate. I chose wine and my husband ordered a Pilsner off the menu and was informed they had no beer on hand. So much for his cheery toast to my mom. We were served wonderful hand crafted bread, but after two bites, I had to pull a long blond hair out of my mouth. It was at this point, I knew I had become "THAT customer" after having commented on not serving my husband a simple beer and handing the server the blond hair. If you are a mushroom lover, by all means, you should give this restaurant a try if your wallet is fat. EVERYTHING is mushroom, including the cheesecake. I am not a fan of mushrooms. I do not eat beef. I know that in years past, I could find something delicious to eat at the Palmer House that was not beef, salmon or duck. Just one chicken dish would have been awesome, but as it was I ended up having a cup of mushroom soup (aka gravy) and a simple green salad. My husband and mom had beef stroganoff for $35 each and the portion left him hungry to the point he ate again when we got home. Sorry, Palmer House. We have adored you for years, but this time it was sad to realize we probably won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

End of October midweek was a very quiet ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 26, 2016

End of October midweek was a very quiet time to visit!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great dinner and will definitel ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We had a great dinner and will definitely recommend it to others and go back again. Nice to have the chef going about the dining room too. Love mushrooms so love the menu!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our group of four had an excellent exper ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Our group of four had an excellent experience at the Joel Palmer House! Great food, attentive and friendly service and very good local wine. Mushrooms, mushrooms, mushrooms!! The chef/owner was very friendly and knowledgable and we enjoyed our conversation with him. It's definitely worth the drive from the Portland/Vancouver area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was not disappointed with a single bit ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I was not disappointed with a single bite. Will definitely make it a point to return. Really enjoyable experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The mushroom dishes and the beef strogan ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The mushroom dishes and the beef stroganoff were fabulous. The steaks, not so much. Our sommelier went home before we made it to the second course of the 5 course meal which was disappointing. He was knowledgeable and we would have appreciated him letting us know so we could have used his expertise in pairing the rest of our meal.

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Wonderful amazing food. The stroganoff ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Wonderful amazing food. The stroganoff was beyond a-maz-ing. I did the 5 course while my wife did the 3 course and everything was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service & amazing food. Well w ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Wonderful service & amazing food. Well worth the drive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was recommended by the place ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This place was recommended by the place we were staying at--La Bastide. It was excellent!! We tried all the mushroom dishes we could. Even the mushroom dessert.

We had had a nice day of wine tasting, and this just topped off our evening. Very impressed by the staff, food, and ambience.

Thank you for a lovely evening.

The group from Omaha, Nebraska.

(Nancy Lykke)

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite meal in Oregon!! May even be ou ...

vip
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Favorite meal in Oregon!! May even be our favorite meal ever!! Each morsel was delicious, and Chris, the chef couldn't be nicer, friendlier, or more helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best dinners we have ever had ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 5, 2016

One of the best dinners we have ever had. The elk ribeye was fantastic. Wonderful wine selection and great service. This is one restaurant everyone needs to try.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we had to wait over 30 minutes before be ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 25, 2016

we had to wait over 30 minutes before being seated or anyone responded to see what we might need, despite having a reservation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Very expensive just for my wife and I sp ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Very expensive just for my wife and I spent over $200!

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

We were visiting the Willamette Valley a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We were visiting the Willamette Valley and enjoyed a wonderful dinner at the Joel Palmer House. We both had filets and they were excellent. Excellent dinner reasonably priced.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was a little heavy and old fashione ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food was a little heavy and old fashioned for my taste...heavy sauces, etc.

The atmosphere was pleasant, and reminded me of a new england country inn.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We have always enjoyed eating here but t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We have always enjoyed eating here but this time we left hungry, after spending over $100 each for dinner. My two slices of duck looked really lonely on the plate. Better to add a side dish or two - potatoes or a veggie - customers feel like they are getting a little something for their $60 entrée. And the slice of cheesecake for dessert was so small it was almost funny. Love the mushroom soup though.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Came here after an afternoon of wine tas ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Came here after an afternoon of wine tasting. the food was quite good. The servers seemed to be "in-training," but were all very polite cordial.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We had an excellent experience. I highl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We had an excellent experience. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was recommended by our B ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 15, 2016

This restaurant was recommended by our B&B. The food was very good. Wild mushrooms were featured. Service was a bit sketchy but chef came out and helped out. Good to see.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We enjoyed a beautiful evening on the pa ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 14, 2016

We enjoyed a beautiful evening on the patio with excellent service, excellent food and perfect wine matches. Nice they also have a full bar.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Server always went the extra step to sat ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Server always went the extra step to satisfy customers and make dinner a special occasion. Chef had a special flair in the entrees

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was a priority destination for our ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2016

This was a priority destination for our second visit to Oregon wine country, but sold-out menu items and chaotic service created a disappointing experience. Entrees and appetizers were delicious, as was the wine, but we'd have loved to consult with the sommelier before we ordered instead of halfway through dinner. The follow up email with a risotto recipe was a nice touch though.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I gave Joel Palmer House 4 stars across ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2016

I gave Joel Palmer House 4 stars across the board. The ambiance was terrific given the age and history of the place. I tried the duck and it was perfectly prepared. The pot de creme desert was the highlight of the dinner!

Areas for improvement were service and wine list pricing. The service was above average in general but somewhat forgetful. The wine list was over-priced relative to retail pricing/restaurant pricing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent, couldn't have been better foo ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent, couldn't have been better food and service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always visit the Joel Palmer House when ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Always visit the Joel Palmer House when visiting the area. This year was not as exceptional as in the past, but still a pleasant experience. There were four of us and three ordered the filet mignon. Unfortunately, one person had a filet continuing large pieces of fat with the center of the filet completely raw (ordered medium rare). The service, as always, was the best one could ask for... Will visit again in the next few weeks and update our review.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We have eaten at this restaurant many ti ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We have eaten at this restaurant many times over the past 20 years and are never disappointed. We love the mushroom based dishes and enjoy talking to Chris, the chef. We always liked to visit with his parents Jack and Heidi when they were still actively involved. Sitting outside on a nice summer evening enjoying a wonderful meal was the perfect way to spend time with our friends. They had never been there and enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Meal except for a wiggly table(See ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great Meal except for a wiggly table(Seems easy to resolve-Where have you been)!!

My only other distraction was the loud music! (Not great for a romantic dinner)

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Exceptional meal and location if you app ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Exceptional meal and location if you appreciate fine dining and ambience .

Tags: Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.