About The Joel Palmer House

600 Ferry St
Dayton, OR 97114
View Larger Map

Mushrooms are the heart of what we do at the Joel Palmer House. We have always endeavored to obtain seasonal and local ingredients and we use many locally produced greens, herbs, and vegetables, some of which come from our own culinary garden. We are frequently inspired by ingredients found in the cuisines of France, China, Thailand, Poland and India, so we call our cooking "freestyle." Our dishes pair well the celebrated wines of Oregon, especially Pinot Noir, Pinot Gris and Chardonnay. Our extensive, Oregon-focused wine list has been awarded the Best of Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator. Of special note, The Joel Palmer House ranks as one of Oregon's finest historic homes and is on the National Register of Historic Places and the Oregon Historic Register. Built in 1857, the house is Dayton's oldest standing structure. When weather permits, guests can enjoy their dinner on our outdoor patio, soaking in the last rays of sunshine in the heart of Oregon Wine Country.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday through Saturday for Dinner: 5pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
6th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 864-2995

Website:
http://www.joelpalmerhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Private Parking Lot and Street Parking available
2 Electric Vehicle charging stations free for use in our parking lot

Executive Chef:
Christopher Czarnecki

Private Party Facilities:
The facility is perfect for special events such as birthdays or rehearsal dinners as well as business meetings. A/V equipment and setup available. Multiple fixed menu options from which to choose.

Private Party Contact:
Christopher Czarnecki: 5038642995x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for private lunches of 10 or more. Call for more information.
Special events listed on our website: www.joelpalmerhouse.com and see regular updates at www.facebook.com/thejoelpalmerhouserestaurant

Restaurant Photos

Seasonal Bread Pudding
Artisan Cheese Tasting
Filet Mignon
Amuse Bouche
Heidi's Three Mushroom Tart
Broccoli
Joe's Wild Mushroom Soup
Elk Ribeye
Candy Cap Mushroom Creme Brulee
Joel Palmer Pinot Noir
Cocoa-dusted Truffles
Wild Mushroom Risotto
intermezzo
Soup Of The Day
Bread
Butter with Sea Salt
Coors Light
Marinated Sturgeon
Scallop Quenelle
Herb Mojito
Scallop Quenelle With Lobster Cream Sauce
Trio Of Candy Cap Mushroom Desserts
Mango And Candy Cap Mushroom Sorbet
House Made Chocolate Truffles
Mushroom Madness Soup

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Joel Palmer House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Portland / Oregon
Best Overall
Willamette Valley
Best Food
Willamette Valley
5 More
Best Service
Willamette Valley
Best Ambiance
Willamette Valley
Best Value
Willamette Valley
Fit for Foodies
Willamette Valley
Most Booked
Willamette Valley

Special Occasion (51)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Notable Wine List (38)
See All
Romantic (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Scenic View (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Historic (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Cozy (2)
Vegan (1)
Authentic (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
702 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had an excellent experience. I highl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had an excellent experience. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a beautiful evening on the pa ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We enjoyed a beautiful evening on the patio with excellent service, excellent food and perfect wine matches. Nice they also have a full bar.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Server always went the extra step to sat ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Server always went the extra step to satisfy customers and make dinner a special occasion. Chef had a special flair in the entrees

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was a priority destination for our ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This was a priority destination for our second visit to Oregon wine country, but sold-out menu items and chaotic service created a disappointing experience. Entrees and appetizers were delicious, as was the wine, but we'd have loved to consult with the sommelier before we ordered instead of halfway through dinner. The follow up email with a risotto recipe was a nice touch though.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I gave Joel Palmer House 4 stars across ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I gave Joel Palmer House 4 stars across the board. The ambiance was terrific given the age and history of the place. I tried the duck and it was perfectly prepared. The pot de creme desert was the highlight of the dinner!

Areas for improvement were service and wine list pricing. The service was above average in general but somewhat forgetful. The wine list was over-priced relative to retail pricing/restaurant pricing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent, couldn't have been better foo ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent, couldn't have been better food and service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always visit the Joel Palmer House when ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Always visit the Joel Palmer House when visiting the area. This year was not as exceptional as in the past, but still a pleasant experience. There were four of us and three ordered the filet mignon. Unfortunately, one person had a filet continuing large pieces of fat with the center of the filet completely raw (ordered medium rare). The service, as always, was the best one could ask for... Will visit again in the next few weeks and update our review.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We have eaten at this restaurant many ti ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We have eaten at this restaurant many times over the past 20 years and are never disappointed. We love the mushroom based dishes and enjoy talking to Chris, the chef. We always liked to visit with his parents Jack and Heidi when they were still actively involved. Sitting outside on a nice summer evening enjoying a wonderful meal was the perfect way to spend time with our friends. They had never been there and enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Meal except for a wiggly table(See ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great Meal except for a wiggly table(Seems easy to resolve-Where have you been)!!

My only other distraction was the loud music! (Not great for a romantic dinner)

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Exceptional meal and location if you app ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Exceptional meal and location if you appreciate fine dining and ambience .

Tags: Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They had a fixed price menu which includ ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

They had a fixed price menu which included an appetizer, a main course and dessert. All were very delicious. Their sommelier recommended wine to go with each course. We each had a half glass of each. We ate outdoors in a wonderful setting. We both had Heidi's Three Mushroom Tart , for an appetizer. Very excellent. I had a creamy Beef Stroganoff served over rice; my wife had Duck Breast Roulade. She tasted my dinner, and wished she had ordered the beef. The duck was good, but the beef is one of their specialties. We rounded off our meal with a lemon blueberry tart. The whole experience was fantastic,

While out of our price range for everyday dining, we dined here for our 7th wedding anniversary, and found it delightful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have made it a point to visit The Joe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We have made it a point to visit The Joel Palmer House when traveling through this area every 1-2 years. The servers were great, but having dined there many times over the years, we felt on this recent trip, the food had become marginal for the high price. I had the duck breast which was prepared perfectly, but it was paired with mushrooms, blueberries and zuchini that, in my opinion, could have been better composed as the sides did not complement the duck. My husband had the elk entree which was too salty. We sat by the window, which would have been nice under normal circumstances, but there were several flies buzzing around the window and us. One fly ended up floating in my wine glass (the waiter kindly offered another glass of wine). We do not plan to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Great food, service and outstanding wine ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great food, service and outstanding wine list, wine/food pairing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely outstanding food with a kitch ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Absolutely outstanding food with a kitchen that accomodates food allergies. Will definitely be going back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual the food was outstanding (this ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

As usual the food was outstanding (this is not our first time). The sommelier was excellent and very helpful. However the service was fair at best with a definite sense that there was a lack of coordination among the staff.

- Nobody was there to greet us when we arrive. We had to look for somebody to help us.

- The table cloth and one plate had spots of appeared to be blood. They were changed only after we requested it.

- We were told by one staff that we could order any cocktails. After waiting for 20 mn, the sommelier told us that he could not make one of the cocktail ordered. We had to wait another 15mn for the drinks to the point that food started to arrive.

- The staff that took our order disappeared not to be seen again. The sommelier appeared to be the only point person around the tables

- Once the food started to arrive everything went smooth until the desert and check for which we had to wait quite a bit. We asked to have our deserts boxed because we had another engagement. The deserts were brought in their plate.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Never fails to impress or delight the pa ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Never fails to impress or delight the palate. Attention to detail, marvelous plating, interesting combinations of proteins and mushrooms.

Also VERY accommodating to the vegitarian in our party. In fact, I would have been totally satisfied with the vegitarian presentation!!

First rate in all respects.......

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience! A bit spendy. Ser ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Wonderful experience! A bit spendy. Service was timely and the feeling of the dining room was relaxing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, very attentive service, ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent food, very attentive service, nice setting. However, failed to ask if it was a special occasion or tell us the specials, as we heard they did at other tables, but after we had ordered.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We were on vacation in Oregon and our ho ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We were on vacation in Oregon and our host suggested this restaurant . The evening started with us going to the entrance that was marked(front door of victorian house ) it was locked. The hostess came and opened it. But she told us everyone knows to go the the back door.

We were seated in what was the parlor 5 tables and we were the only ones there. The Sommelier came asking which wine we would like we ordered The Joel Palmer House Pinot Noir. They advertised an extensive wine list,but there were only 4 or 5 Pinot Noir.

We started with the mushroom soup and the three mushroom tart both were very good.Then for the main course my husband had Beef Stroganoff over rice and I had the Duck Breast with a Blueberry Reduction. The stroganoff was just ok the amount of rice with it couldn't have been more than 2 teaspoons. My duck was very over cooked ,I asked for rare. Our desserts were the bread pudding which was very dry and the apple cake which was Ok.

This whole meal took over 2 hours and not once did the Sommelier come and pour more wine or did anyone come and refill our water. We waited more than 20 minutes for our bill and finally flagged someone down on their way to the kitchen. Service was HORRIBLE!! I guess that's why they automatically add 18% to your bill,no one would leave near that amount for this lousy service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Everything was great. The only thing I d ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything was great. The only thing I didn't like was the tip being added automatically. I usually tip 20% or more if service is great. And it was. But if it's not I don't like losing my day so. Plus they would have made 2% more at least!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had to wait 15 minutes before anyone cam ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Had to wait 15 minutes before anyone came to our table. We requested outside and was told by hostess that there were no seats available outside for us. We were sitting at the window and noticed that there were many outside tables open for at least 1 1/2 hours after we were seated. Not sure what that was all about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Loved it. A top restaurant that I would ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Loved it. A top restaurant that I would recommend to anybody.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food. We will eat there again ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Very good food. We will eat there again. The wine is very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good mushroom-oriented food. Servi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very good mushroom-oriented food. Service a little slow. Noisy until they turned the speakers down.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Delicious mushroom focused meal. Great s ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Delicious mushroom focused meal. Great sommelier!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We used to go here all the time when it ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We used to go here all the time when it was still run by original owners. It has definitely changed and was very disappointing. Service is stilted instead of relaxed, friendly and professional like it used to be. Food is not nearly as good. Even the signature mushroom soup and Heidi's mushroom tart seem to be a different recipe. Extremely and ridiculously expensive for what you get. We sat outside, which used to be a very pleasant experience. Now, next door seems to be a dirt bike course - very noisy, and smelly from fumes! Overall, kind of a weird experience and will not go back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Went to this several years ago when the ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Went to this several years ago when the older ran it. Prices are high and the portions have reduced. Once impeccable service is no more

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

The food was awful and the waitstaff was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was awful and the waitstaff was inexperienced and couldn't describe the dishes.

The menu included a "Vegan Dish Du Jour" so we assumed they would be able to create a delicious vegan entree with whatever fresh ingredients they chose. The vegan entree arrived and it was a small ramekin of polenta with cut up carrots on top. Any decent chef would be ashamed to serve this as a main entree. It could not even be considered an appetizer portion....and they charged $28. Worst dining experience ever.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Although there were a lot of servers, se ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Although there were a lot of servers, service was spotty. After ordering a very nice bottle wine, the wine Stewart never checked on us. Upon receiving our order, no server ever checked on us. My duck was served cold, and it took me several minutes to find someone to resolve the issue. I think while the restaurant is well staffed, everyone has a role and does not look outside their maybe responsibility. Not warm and friendly but great food

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

5 course tasting menu was amazing!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

5 course tasting menu was amazing!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We decided to dine at the Joel Palmer ho ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We decided to dine at the Joel Palmer house on our recent visit to the Oregon wine valley because of the good reviews and their specialization in mushrooms. The food was extremely average and we were disappointed they served button mushrooms on one of the entrees. The soup was very bland and the beef stroganoff was the other extreme with being overly salty. The servers were all young an inexperienced, including the wine sommelier. Because we ordered the 5 course dinner with both a light and heavy entree he offered to serve us half glasses of wine so we could have a white and a red (we didn't want to drink much), which was awesome. But the red I was served came from a bottle that had been opened for a while. I noticed immediately and was very disappointed neither the person who poured or the person serving it noticed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

I came here for my birthday, and it was ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I came here for my birthday, and it was wonderful! The service was amazing. Never ran out of bread, it was perfect. The only thing that I was disappointed with was the dessert, the chocolate soufflé didn't have any melty chocolate in it, and it was slightly dry, but other than that it was good. Great experience!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Chris Czarnecki has a delightful re-crea ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Chris Czarnecki has a delightful re-creation of the family's restaurant that uprooted from Reading PA twenty years ago and moved to Dayton.

The focus is mushrooms and the area's wines. The experience was wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We hadn't been here for about 10 years; ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We hadn't been here for about 10 years; and it is just as good under the management of the next generation, as it was 10 years ago! Always a joy to eat the mushroom inspired dishes. The soup, risotto were wonderful. The sturgeon was delicious as was the beef stroganoff. All well prepared and hot. Desserts were delicious too. Good coffee and tea service--Hot, not lukewarm! Beautiful summer night, beautiful setting and dinner out on vacation with my sweetheart and no kids! What could be better!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a quiet dinner in the outside are ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had a quiet dinner in the outside area. Great food, service, and wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very disappointing vegetarian options. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very disappointing vegetarian options. The team model of table service also ended up feeling very impersonal. Nobody seemed interested in how we were enjoying our food. The two vegetarian options offered both seemed like afterthoughts. We had a dish which was essentially like ramen with a few vegetables and thin pasta in broth. The creme brûlée was also disappointing, with a strange dry crumbly texture. I left hungry. We have eaten here before and had a much better experience, so they may just have had an off night, but it was memorably poor dinner for a premium price.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Enjoyed the ambiance, great tasking foo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Enjoyed the ambiance, great tasking food and good, service personnel were polite, respectful and accommodating.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I'm not going to pretend that I'm a food ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I'm not going to pretend that I'm a food critic by giving a lengthy review of each dish. Bottom line, the food was amazing, service was wonderful and the wine was well paired. It's a beautiful little place with a good feel to it. Will definitely be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food it was mostly good. Fllet was cooke ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Food it was mostly good. Fllet was cooked perfectly and very flavorful. The Bananas Foster was a disappointment. Bananas and accompanying cake were dry. While mushrooms are a theme here, they are not overbearing. Our biggest complaint is that it seemed a bit pricey for three courses. And since a pre-fixe menu was the only option we were kind of stuck. In a situation like that, you sometimes get stuck ordering things that you normally would not order and that is what happened us. But for others it might work well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We loved it. Food was fantastic and serv ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We loved it. Food was fantastic and service was outstanding. Thank you for a lovely evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.