About The Joel Palmer House

600 Ferry St
Dayton, OR 97114
View Larger Map

Mushrooms are the heart of what we do at the Joel Palmer House. We have always endeavored to obtain seasonal and local ingredients and we use many locally produced greens, herbs, and vegetables, some of which come from our own culinary garden. We are frequently inspired by ingredients found in the cuisines of France, China, Thailand, Poland and India, so we call our cooking "freestyle." Our dishes pair well the celebrated wines of Oregon, especially Pinot Noir, Pinot Gris and Chardonnay. Our extensive, Oregon-focused wine list has been awarded the Best of Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator. Of special note, The Joel Palmer House ranks as one of Oregon's finest historic homes and is on the National Register of Historic Places and the Oregon Historic Register. Built in 1857, the house is Dayton's oldest standing structure. When weather permits, guests can enjoy their dinner on our outdoor patio, soaking in the last rays of sunshine in the heart of Oregon Wine Country.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday through Saturday for Dinner: 5pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
6th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 864-2995

Website:
http://www.joelpalmerhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Private Parking Lot and Street Parking available
2 Electric Vehicle charging stations free for use in our parking lot

Executive Chef:
Christopher Czarnecki

Private Party Facilities:
The facility is perfect for special events such as birthdays or rehearsal dinners as well as business meetings. A/V equipment and setup available. Multiple fixed menu options from which to choose.

Private Party Contact:
Christopher Czarnecki: 5038642995x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for private lunches of 10 or more. Call for more information.
Special events listed on our website: www.joelpalmerhouse.com and see regular updates at www.facebook.com/thejoelpalmerhouserestaurant

Restaurant Photos

Amuse Bouche
Herb Mojito
Filet Mignon
Heidi's Three Mushroom Tart
Wild Mushroom Risotto
Joe's Wild Mushroom Soup
Artisan Cheese Tasting
Soup Of The Day
Elk Ribeye
Bread
Candy Cap Mushroom Creme Brulee
Joel Palmer Pinot Noir
Butter with Sea Salt
Seasonal Bread Pudding
Cocoa-dusted Truffles
Broccoli
intermezzo
Coors Light
Marinated Sturgeon
Scallop Quenelle
Mango And Candy Cap Mushroom Sorbet
Scallop Quenelle With Lobster Cream Sauce
Trio Of Candy Cap Mushroom Desserts
House Made Chocolate Truffles
Mushroom Madness Soup

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Joel Palmer House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Portland / Oregon
Special Occasion
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked
Willamette Valley

special occasion (42)
fit for foodies (33)
notable wine list (29)
See All
romantic (26)
great for outdoor dining (16)
neighborhood gem (7)
good for groups (6)
scenic view (6)
great for lunch (2)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
659 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my best meal while in Oregon. C ...

Dined 6 days ago

This was my best meal while in Oregon. Chris Czarnecki the chef is great!! From his portion sizes to the presentation the flavors the foods that he is putting together were just absolutely fantastic! The ambience of the was an old historic home in Dayton, OR and the servers were great! None were too pushy or hovered while we enjoyed what was in my opinion a better meal then Jordy. I said that his friend had a lot to live up to after a fantastic meal and while very good nothing blew me away. Chris is a great treasure to have in Oregon and is in my opinion creating great dishes. I had the Elk Ribeye and it was fantastic perfectly prepared. We also tried the Sturgeon that was so well put together it was full of flavor with the aoli and quinoa. The mushroom tart was also a unique and tasty appetizer. I would recommend that anyone going to Willamette and looking for a great evening of good food and great atmosphere give this a try.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been to Joel Palmer House many t ...

Dined 6 days ago

We have been to Joel Palmer House many times and have always loved the food. However, this time we were disappointed. I ordered the steak tartare, and although the steak itself was excellent, the dish was tasteless (the tartare itself) and served with odd accompaniments, especially the brioche. Nothing sweet should be served with steak tartare. The stroganoff was very good, but not excellent, and it needs to be excellent to contain that many calories. The fish special was delicious. Plates were very small (portions). We were expecting so much but we didn't think we got that much, at least compared to when we were there before. We have eaten there when Christopher was chef, yes, also when his dad was in the kitchen when we thought everything was amazing. I wish I could write a superlative review, but I can't. We eat out a lot and we travel a lot, plus I love to cook, so we experience a lot of wonderful food. I am telling you this but I would never write this on a public website, BTW.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A totally satisfied dinner experience! ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

A totally satisfied dinner experience! We ordered the chef's specialty-mushroom related dishes from start to finish, the food is artfully presented and the taste is just perfect! This quiet and traditional facade restaurant certainly offers traditionally great meals with modern twist.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thiswasmy3rdtimein6years togothere. It's ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Thiswasmy3rdtimein6years togothere. It's pricey, butworth the spurg onceinawhile. Justwonderful alltheway.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was recommend to me by my cow ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

This place was recommend to me by my coworker. It was an exceptional dining experience and I wait for an opportunity to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Joel Palmer House, as usual, was exc ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The Joel Palmer House, as usual, was excellent at our recent birthday celebration event. The service was impeccable, and the food was exquisite. I'm never disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were a party of four adults traveling ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We were a party of four adults traveling through the wine country and also enjoying fine dining restaurants for dinner. This fit the bill!. All of us enjoyed our meals. The mushroom soup was delicious. The filet mignon with porcini pepper sauce was done perfectly and sooo good. I had the Candy cap mushroom crème brulee for dessert, with trepidation, but it was very good, also. Not really a mushroom taste... The service was very nice also.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

food is beautfully served, but very average

Dined on June 4, 2016

This was a very expensive meal. I know small portions and vertical food are all the rage, but this was extreme. Very small amount of food, mixed with flowers (yes. from the garden). The setting is beautiful the service was great except for when the server brought us more bread, and by more I mean the third very small slice, and then a minute later returned and removed it. I feel should have been at least asked if I wanted it. Overall? Very average food. I suppose I should have gotten all excited about having rose petals and pansies mixed into my average tasting food, but I prefer a little more food, and better tasting food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Quintessentially Willamette Valley

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

The Joel Palmer House continues to be an outstanding restaurant. Our guests, who had never before visited the Willamette Valley, were impressed by the quality of the cooking, the diligence of the service, and the character of the wine list. Truffles, mushrooms, and Pinot noir; who could ask for anything more?

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome as always.

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Awesome as always.

food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Good, but not great

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was good, but not as good as on my last trip to Oregon. It seemed more emphasis was placed on making the plates look pretty than making the food taste great. Flowers on virtually every plate. The service was chaotic. Two different people came for our drink orders. We then ordered the 3 course meal and placed our order for everything, including desert. Later, yet another person brought the menus back for our desert order. The staff really needs to talk to each other.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing dinner and dining experience. Th ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Amazing dinner and dining experience. The wine cellar tour by the chef Was the best!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mushroom Heaven

Dined on May 28, 2016

Chris Czarnecki, fourth generation restaurateur and chef, makes magic with wild mushrooms. The mushroom soup was heavenly as was the mushroom tart. I had sturgeon for the first time; it was wonderful. Almost fifty years ago when I was a college senior, I had gone to his grandfather's restaurant, Joe's, in Reading, Pennsylvania, (also known for wild mushrooms) and it was such a memorable experience I made sure to go to the Joel Palmer House when I was on vacation in the northwest. I am so glad I did.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Joel Palmer never disappoints. It has Or ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Joel Palmer never disappoints. It has Oregon's best cellared vintage Pinot Noir . The food is excellent and the atmosphere pleasant

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was a beautiful evening. We had the c ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

It was a beautiful evening. We had the chef's tasting menu, the food was wonderful - the courses were paced nicely so you didn't feel rushed. The special treats were amazing! The staff was very attentive. I would highly recommend Joel Palmer to my friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very impressed that chef Chris was in th ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Very impressed that chef Chris was in the dining room taking orders, talking about wine and checking in on the diners.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef Chris is a third generation cook. H ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Chef Chris is a third generation cook. He specializes in fine foods elegantly presented. His mixture of taste is wonderful. We would go back in a heartbeat.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the place the rest of the Willam ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

This is the place the rest of the Willamette Valley restaurants are judged by. The service is unmatched. The food is never less than superb. I love eating inside or out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Special Occasion or Just a Night Out...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Joel Palmers House doesn't disappoint. Waitstaff the best. Wine List killer. You can't go wrong with the family recipe mushroom soup or the mushroom tart. We like to see what the chef has found in his garden that day, always a surprise and memorable. We don't go often enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was done very well, with one ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Everything was done very well, with one minor exception, that being that the mushroom soup was just a little over-salted. Great service!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Overall food was very good but the mushr ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Overall food was very good but the mushroom soup was more like mushroom gravy. We sat outside and there was a loud obnoxious potty mouth group (oblivious to other diners including kids). They really spoiled the lovely setting for us.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Service was surprisingly slow

Dined on May 8, 2016

Been here before and had a great dinner experience. But, the night we were there, it was busy and probably was the reason service wasn't spot on. Staff is very friendly though and obviously were working hard.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Although the service was great, the staf ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Although the service was great, the staff serving is very young and not knowledgeable about what they are serving. The food was wonderful, but I feel like the vegan dish should be at a reduced price. How can 2 mushroom patties equal the same as elk steak or duck. The rock star dish is the creme brulee.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on April 29, 2016

We are reluctant to share this special place, but the they absolutely over achacheive, and deserve the recognition. Our most favorite place, and always leave thankful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Overpriced, average food.

Dined on April 28, 2016

Limited menu is not good when the restaurant is out of items early in the evening. The selections were scant but scanter when they are out of an item or two, very early in the evening. They said they print the menu everyday but apparently they were unaware of what was in the pantry. Generally when the menu is short and the kitchen is out of an item there is a substitute item as a backup plan by the chef. The portions were very small. Short list of the variety of wines by the glass. Once again they were out of some selections. We eat in some very expensive restaurants and this was priced up there but the food was not up to par. Our recommendation would be to lower the prices to see more repeat customers.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional from start to finish

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

From the greeting to attentive yet not smothering service, our experience at The Joel Palmer House was exceptional. Both prix fixe options are flexible and varied in their offerings, and the seasonality focus was perfect. We'll be back for certain, and I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A classic!

Dined on April 17, 2016

Went to Joel Palmer House for the first time (even though I have lived in Oregon all my life) to celebrate my wife's birthday. Dayton is a sleepy little town and we drove past the restaurant the first time. What a gem! The setting was wonderful. The old house is amazing, but since it was a beautiful day, we sat outside (yeah, in Oregon, in April!) The staff was all very professionally friendly. The maître d' was very knowledge able and we enjoyed 1/2 glasses of a local Sauv Blanc as well as the Joel Palmer House Cuvee 2011 Pinot (which was amazing, check out 2011 whenever you can). The food was incredible. Wild mushroom soup, wild mushroom tart, filet mignon with wild mushroom sauce and foie gras, lobster pasta with mushroom essence, all delicious. Only note that kept the service from being excellent (5 out of 5) was a small breakdown in timing with the kitchen and the servers at dessert service that lead to a slow wait and some incorrect deliveries of product (wrong table?) Overall, well worth the money and a treat for any occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Fantastic food, wine overpriced

Dined on April 17, 2016

Fantastic food, nice ambiance, overall the wait staff was attentive (other than the sommelier). The wine was very overpriced, even for a restaurant of this class - you're better off bringing your own and paying the $20 corkage fee per 750 ml bottle. Not a great price performer but probably worth going to for a very special occasion. I doubt I'll be back very soon.

food5
ambience3
service1
value1

Good food, terrible service.

Dined on April 17, 2016

We dined there last Saturday night. The food was excellent, but the service was terrible. We had to wait a long time between courses and had to ask for a second glass of wine. Also, for such great food there was no explanation as to what was on the plate.

Tags: romantic
food1
ambience3
service4

Outdated, overpriced, over salted The c ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Outdated, overpriced, over salted The charger plates had a layer of dust on them which echoed the decor which appears to have not changed in 40 years. The only stars were attentive service and a great wine list Food (other than dessert) was deplorable. Both pastas were overlooked into a mush, dishes were slathered in salty sauces. A scallop dish was so fishy rendering it inedible.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Joel Palmer House, Nails It!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Regan and team were simply a delight and true hosts. We had a rare night with friends away from kids and they ensured it was special. The food was excellent, along with the wines. A special place. GO!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Night

Dined on March 27, 2016

Joel Palmer House hit it out if the park. Food was great as we're all the servers who helped us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoy foraging and cooking wild mushr ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

We enjoy foraging and cooking wild mushrooms and after hearing about mushrooms on the menu at the Joel Palmer House, we knew we needed to make a reservation. We were impressed by the numerous options on the menu and loved the Stroganoff and the perfectly cooked elk. Every course showed attention to detail looking like a beautifully sculpted, photo worthy, piece of art. The 5 course option allowed us to try multiple dishes and the portion sizes were perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Joel Palmer House

Dined on March 17, 2016

Very good for a romantic special occasion. The service was excellent as was the food and drink. Our waiter made us feel very special.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Very disappointed

Dined on March 13, 2016

Although we had reservations, were told our table wasn't ready because they had so many walkins. Some foods were not available due to overbooking . Service was also slow for same reasons. Manager openly admitted this. She did apologize profusely and waived 20$ corkage fee. We were embarrassed however, as we were entertaining guests.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Over-rated

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

The 2 choices ($59 or $85?) were exorbitant for the size, quality and service. Mushroom soup was nothing amazing ... veggie polenta was very disappointing ... they forgot our desserts .. and they automatically charged a table of 2 an 18% gratuity. We will not be back and we will make a point to inform our wine friends to avoid the JP House at all costs.

food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Good food and gracious staff

Dined on February 27, 2016

Our food was perfect from beginning to end, the wine list was impressive, all presented by a very skilled and friendly staff.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

High Expectations!

Dined on February 25, 2016

We were so looking forward to our first dining visit to The Joel Palmer House, four in our party. We made our reservations for mid-week menu special. Have to say without going in lengthy detail that this visit was disappointing. We hope that we have a better experience on our next visit. If The Joel Palmer House wishes to contact me regarding our dining experience, that would be fine.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Don't believe the hype

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

We were so excited to try the Joel Palmer House after going to the Willamette Valley for 5 years straight and hearing about it. We stayed away initially as my husband isn't a big fan of mushrooms. The rest of us in the part are and he agreed to try it. We were so disappointed. The mushroom soup should have been called mushroom gravy, there was not a truffle to be seen, it seems that this restaurant invented their menu in the 1970s and never updated it as that was the feel of the place and the cuisine. If you're looking for an amazing dining experience in the valley, check out The Painted Lady. You will not be disappointed. For a less formal affair, La Rambla and Gem are great in McMinnville and Jory at the Allison Inn is always a winner, especially for brunch.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always pleasing

Dined on February 19, 2016

We have dined here several times. This place never disappoints. The quality of the food along with the excellent wine list and the wonderful service makes this one of our favorite places.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.