About The Joel Palmer House

600 Ferry St
Dayton, OR 97114
View Larger Map

Mushrooms are the heart of what we do at the Joel Palmer House. We have always endeavored to obtain seasonal and local ingredients and we use many locally produced greens, herbs, and vegetables, some of which come from our own culinary garden. We are frequently inspired by ingredients found in the cuisines of France, China, Thailand, Poland and India, so we call our cooking "freestyle." Our dishes pair well the celebrated wines of Oregon, especially Pinot Noir, Pinot Gris and Chardonnay. Our extensive, Oregon-focused wine list has been awarded the Best of Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator. Of special note, The Joel Palmer House ranks as one of Oregon's finest historic homes and is on the National Register of Historic Places and the Oregon Historic Register. Built in 1857, the house is Dayton's oldest standing structure. When weather permits, guests can enjoy their dinner on our outdoor patio, soaking in the last rays of sunshine in the heart of Oregon Wine Country.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday through Saturday for Dinner: 5pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
6th

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 864-2995

Website:
http://www.joelpalmerhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Private Parking Lot and Street Parking available
2 Electric Vehicle charging stations free for use in our parking lot

Executive Chef:
Christopher Czarnecki

Private Party Facilities:
The facility is perfect for special events such as birthdays or rehearsal dinners as well as business meetings. A/V equipment and setup available. Multiple fixed menu options from which to choose.

Private Party Contact:
Christopher Czarnecki: 5038642995x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Available for private lunches of 10 or more. Call for more information.
Special events listed on our website: www.joelpalmerhouse.com and see regular updates at www.facebook.com/thejoelpalmerhouserestaurant

Restaurant Photos

Amuse Bouche
Herb Mojito
Seasonal Bread Pudding
Artisan Cheese Tasting
Filet Mignon
Heidi's Three Mushroom Tart
Broccoli
Elk Ribeye
Joe's Wild Mushroom Soup
Candy Cap Mushroom Creme Brulee
Cocoa-dusted Truffles
Joel Palmer Pinot Noir
Wild Mushroom Risotto
Soup Of The Day
intermezzo
Bread
Butter with Sea Salt
Coors Light
Marinated Sturgeon
Scallop Quenelle
Mango And Candy Cap Mushroom Sorbet
Scallop Quenelle With Lobster Cream Sauce
Trio Of Candy Cap Mushroom Desserts
House Made Chocolate Truffles
Mushroom Madness Soup

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Joel Palmer House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked
Willamette Valley

special occasion (47)
fit for foodies (41)
notable wine list (34)
See All
romantic (34)
great for outdoor dining (28)
neighborhood gem (11)
scenic view (7)
good for groups (6)
great for lunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
hot spot (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
674 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was awful and the waitstaff was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was awful and the waitstaff was inexperienced and couldn't describe the dishes.

The menu included a "Vegan Dish Du Jour" so we assumed they would be able to create a delicious vegan entree with whatever fresh ingredients they chose. The vegan entree arrived and it was a small ramekin of polenta with cut up carrots on top. Any decent chef would be ashamed to serve this as a main entree. It could not even be considered an appetizer portion....and they charged $28. Worst dining experience ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Although there were a lot of servers, se ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Although there were a lot of servers, service was spotty. After ordering a very nice bottle wine, the wine Stewart never checked on us. Upon receiving our order, no server ever checked on us. My duck was served cold, and it took me several minutes to find someone to resolve the issue. I think while the restaurant is well staffed, everyone has a role and does not look outside their maybe responsibility. Not warm and friendly but great food

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

5 course tasting menu was amazing!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

5 course tasting menu was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We decided to dine at the Joel Palmer ho ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We decided to dine at the Joel Palmer house on our recent visit to the Oregon wine valley because of the good reviews and their specialization in mushrooms. The food was extremely average and we were disappointed they served button mushrooms on one of the entrees. The soup was very bland and the beef stroganoff was the other extreme with being overly salty. The servers were all young an inexperienced, including the wine sommelier. Because we ordered the 5 course dinner with both a light and heavy entree he offered to serve us half glasses of wine so we could have a white and a red (we didn't want to drink much), which was awesome. But the red I was served came from a bottle that had been opened for a while. I noticed immediately and was very disappointed neither the person who poured or the person serving it noticed.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

I came here for my birthday, and it was ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I came here for my birthday, and it was wonderful! The service was amazing. Never ran out of bread, it was perfect. The only thing that I was disappointed with was the dessert, the chocolate soufflé didn't have any melty chocolate in it, and it was slightly dry, but other than that it was good. Great experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Chris Czarnecki has a delightful re-crea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Chris Czarnecki has a delightful re-creation of the family's restaurant that uprooted from Reading PA twenty years ago and moved to Dayton.

The focus is mushrooms and the area's wines. The experience was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a quiet dinner in the outside are ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had a quiet dinner in the outside area. Great food, service, and wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very disappointing vegetarian options. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very disappointing vegetarian options. The team model of table service also ended up feeling very impersonal. Nobody seemed interested in how we were enjoying our food. The two vegetarian options offered both seemed like afterthoughts. We had a dish which was essentially like ramen with a few vegetables and thin pasta in broth. The creme brûlée was also disappointing, with a strange dry crumbly texture. I left hungry. We have eaten here before and had a much better experience, so they may just have had an off night, but it was memorably poor dinner for a premium price.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Enjoyed the ambiance, great tasking foo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Enjoyed the ambiance, great tasking food and good, service personnel were polite, respectful and accommodating.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I'm not going to pretend that I'm a food ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I'm not going to pretend that I'm a food critic by giving a lengthy review of each dish. Bottom line, the food was amazing, service was wonderful and the wine was well paired. It's a beautiful little place with a good feel to it. Will definitely be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food it was mostly good. Fllet was cooke ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Food it was mostly good. Fllet was cooked perfectly and very flavorful. The Bananas Foster was a disappointment. Bananas and accompanying cake were dry. While mushrooms are a theme here, they are not overbearing. Our biggest complaint is that it seemed a bit pricey for three courses. And since a pre-fixe menu was the only option we were kind of stuck. In a situation like that, you sometimes get stuck ordering things that you normally would not order and that is what happened us. But for others it might work well.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We loved it. Food was fantastic and serv ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We loved it. Food was fantastic and service was outstanding. Thank you for a lovely evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was original and good but not as s ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Food was original and good but not as special as we had expected. Price of dinner was exceedingly high and the value didn't match the price tag. I wouldn't go out of my way to eat there again. Service was good, staff was new, owner spoke to us and was nice but the overall experience didn't warrant the expense.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The local mushroom additions to each dis ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The local mushroom additions to each dish were very good.

The signature soup was very earthy & full of flavor, while the beef stroganoff was absolutely delicious.

The risotto lacked strong flavors but was creamy and well textured.

Fun wine list, but requires you know the local producers and vintages.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent food and use of fungi. The St ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Excellent food and use of fungi. The Steak Tartar and Mushroom Tart were outstanding as was the Beef Stroganoff. Fabulous wine list of Oregon wines. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my best meal while in Oregon. C ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was my best meal while in Oregon. Chris Czarnecki the chef is great!! From his portion sizes to the presentation the flavors the foods that he is putting together were just absolutely fantastic! The ambience of the was an old historic home in Dayton, OR and the servers were great! None were too pushy or hovered while we enjoyed what was in my opinion a better meal then Jordy. I said that his friend had a lot to live up to after a fantastic meal and while very good nothing blew me away. Chris is a great treasure to have in Oregon and is in my opinion creating great dishes. I had the Elk Ribeye and it was fantastic perfectly prepared. We also tried the Sturgeon that was so well put together it was full of flavor with the aoli and quinoa. The mushroom tart was also a unique and tasty appetizer. I would recommend that anyone going to Willamette and looking for a great evening of good food and great atmosphere give this a try.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Joel Palmer House many t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We have been to Joel Palmer House many times and have always loved the food. However, this time we were disappointed. I ordered the steak tartare, and although the steak itself was excellent, the dish was tasteless (the tartare itself) and served with odd accompaniments, especially the brioche. Nothing sweet should be served with steak tartare. The stroganoff was very good, but not excellent, and it needs to be excellent to contain that many calories. The fish special was delicious. Plates were very small (portions). We were expecting so much but we didn't think we got that much, at least compared to when we were there before. We have eaten there when Christopher was chef, yes, also when his dad was in the kitchen when we thought everything was amazing. I wish I could write a superlative review, but I can't. We eat out a lot and we travel a lot, plus I love to cook, so we experience a lot of wonderful food. I am telling you this but I would never write this on a public website, BTW.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

A totally satisfied dinner experience! ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

A totally satisfied dinner experience! We ordered the chef's specialty-mushroom related dishes from start to finish, the food is artfully presented and the taste is just perfect! This quiet and traditional facade restaurant certainly offers traditionally great meals with modern twist.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Thiswasmy3rdtimein6years togothere. It's ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Thiswasmy3rdtimein6years togothere. It's pricey, butworth the spurg onceinawhile. Justwonderful alltheway.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place was recommend to me by my cow ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This place was recommend to me by my coworker. It was an exceptional dining experience and I wait for an opportunity to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Joel Palmer House, as usual, was exc ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The Joel Palmer House, as usual, was excellent at our recent birthday celebration event. The service was impeccable, and the food was exquisite. I'm never disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were a party of four adults traveling ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We were a party of four adults traveling through the wine country and also enjoying fine dining restaurants for dinner. This fit the bill!. All of us enjoyed our meals. The mushroom soup was delicious. The filet mignon with porcini pepper sauce was done perfectly and sooo good. I had the Candy cap mushroom crème brulee for dessert, with trepidation, but it was very good, also. Not really a mushroom taste... The service was very nice also.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

food is beautfully served, but very average

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This was a very expensive meal. I know small portions and vertical food are all the rage, but this was extreme. Very small amount of food, mixed with flowers (yes. from the garden). The setting is beautiful the service was great except for when the server brought us more bread, and by more I mean the third very small slice, and then a minute later returned and removed it. I feel should have been at least asked if I wanted it. Overall? Very average food. I suppose I should have gotten all excited about having rose petals and pansies mixed into my average tasting food, but I prefer a little more food, and better tasting food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Quintessentially Willamette Valley

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

The Joel Palmer House continues to be an outstanding restaurant. Our guests, who had never before visited the Willamette Valley, were impressed by the quality of the cooking, the diligence of the service, and the character of the wine list. Truffles, mushrooms, and Pinot noir; who could ask for anything more?

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome as always.

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Awesome as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good, but not great

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was good, but not as good as on my last trip to Oregon. It seemed more emphasis was placed on making the plates look pretty than making the food taste great. Flowers on virtually every plate.

The service was chaotic. Two different people came for our drink orders. We then ordered the 3 course meal and placed our order for everything, including desert. Later, yet another person brought the menus back for our desert order. The staff really needs to talk to each other.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Amazing dinner and dining experience. Th ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Amazing dinner and dining experience. The wine cellar tour by the chef Was the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mushroom Heaven

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Chris Czarnecki, fourth generation restaurateur and chef, makes magic with wild mushrooms. The mushroom soup was heavenly as was the mushroom tart. I had sturgeon for the first time; it was wonderful. Almost fifty years ago when I was a college senior, I had gone to his grandfather's restaurant, Joe's, in Reading, Pennsylvania, (also known for wild mushrooms) and it was such a memorable experience I made sure to go to the Joel Palmer House when I was on vacation in the northwest. I am so glad I did.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Joel Palmer never disappoints. It has Or ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Joel Palmer never disappoints. It has Oregon's best cellared vintage Pinot Noir . The food is excellent and the atmosphere pleasant

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was a beautiful evening. We had the c ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

It was a beautiful evening. We had the chef's tasting menu, the food was wonderful - the courses were paced nicely so you didn't feel rushed. The special treats were amazing! The staff was very attentive. I would highly recommend Joel Palmer to my friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very impressed that chef Chris was in th ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Very impressed that chef Chris was in the dining room taking orders, talking about wine and checking in on the diners.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Chef Chris is a third generation cook. H ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Chef Chris is a third generation cook. He specializes in fine foods elegantly presented. His mixture of taste is wonderful. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the place the rest of the Willam ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

This is the place the rest of the Willamette Valley restaurants are judged by. The service is unmatched. The food is never less than superb. I love eating inside or out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Occasion or Just a Night Out...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Joel Palmers House doesn't disappoint. Waitstaff the best. Wine List killer. You can't go wrong with the family recipe mushroom soup or the mushroom tart. We like to see what the chef has found in his garden that day, always a surprise and memorable. We don't go often enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Everything was done very well, with one ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Everything was done very well, with one minor exception, that being that the mushroom soup was just a little over-salted. Great service!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall food was very good but the mushr ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Overall food was very good but the mushroom soup was more like mushroom gravy. We sat outside and there was a loud obnoxious potty mouth group (oblivious to other diners including kids). They really spoiled the lovely setting for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Service was surprisingly slow

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Been here before and had a great dinner experience. But, the night we were there, it was busy and probably was the reason service wasn't spot on. Staff is very friendly though and obviously were working hard.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Although the service was great, the staf ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Although the service was great, the staff serving is very young and not knowledgeable about what they are serving. The food was wonderful, but I feel like the vegan dish should be at a reduced price. How can 2 mushroom patties equal the same as elk steak or duck. The rock star dish is the creme brulee.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Outstanding

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We are reluctant to share this special place, but the they absolutely over achacheive, and deserve the recognition. Our most favorite place, and always leave thankful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced, average food.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Limited menu is not good when the restaurant is out of items early in the evening.

The selections were scant but scanter when they are out of an item or two, very early in the evening. They said they print the menu everyday but apparently they were unaware of what was in the pantry. Generally when the menu is short and the kitchen is out of an item there is a substitute item as a backup plan by the chef. The portions were very small. Short list of the variety of wines by the glass. Once again they were out of some selections. We eat in some very expensive restaurants and this was priced up there but the food was not up to par. Our recommendation would be to lower the prices to see more repeat customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.