About The Iron Room

648 N. Albany Avenue
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
View Larger Map

The Iron Room is the restaurant at the Atlantic City Bottle Company & is a nod to the recently retired iron playing piece in the popular board game Monopoly. The Iron Room specializes in small plates & the cuisine is described as distinctly American. Chef Kevin Cronin says what makes it American is that the menu is a hodge-podge & mashing of cultures making the cuisine an interesting melting pot.

Local seafood, game meats, hand-made pastas & the “Flat Iron Burger” (the menu’s only permanent resident) are what guests can expect to see when visiting the restaurant. The Iron Room will also feature tasting menus & host special events dedicated to craft beverages & great food. We are as passionate about cheese as we our craft beverage. We have around 15-25 cheeses from all over the world on our list every day covering all the five catergories: fresh, bloomy, washed, pressed/cooked, and blue.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:




Hours: Tuesday-Saturday 3:00pm -10:00pm
Sunday 3:00pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Crossan Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 348-6400

Website:
http://acbottlecompany.com/

Parking Details:
There is a lot on the side of the building that holds up to about 10 cars.

Executive Chef:
Chef Kevin Cronin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Personal wines welcome, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Private Dining

The Iron Room is the perfect place for hosting an intimate gathering. Whether it be a wedding shower, bachelor or bachelorette party, baby shower, office or holiday party, our space can accommodate up to 40 people seated, 50 seated at the tables and bar, or 60 people for a “cocktail style” party.

The Iron Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Notable Wine List
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic City
1 More
Notable Wine List
Atlantic City
Best Restaurants in Atlantic City ›

fit for foodies (44)
notable wine list (25)
neighborhood gem (24)
See All
romantic (17)
special occasion (17)
good for groups (16)
hot spot (15)
vibrant bar scene (8)
late-night find (8)
Sort By:
Newest
161 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience, top notch. Delicio ...

Dined 3 days ago

Excellent experience, top notch. Delicious menu and by far the best scotch selection around, hands down. And having someone as knowledgable as Lenny there to guide you along on your scotch and bourbon journey is invaluable. For food, had the chef's board and octopus to start. Octopus was perfect and the chef's board had an excellent selection of meats, cheeses, and other items that went perfectly together. As for the meal, ask for the Ron Swanson. Nothing short of perfection. Excellent evening and I will be going back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and fantastic wine

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

The Iron Room is our favorite place down the shore. The food is fantastic and inventive, and the wine list is terrific. The staff is so friendly and welcoming. It's a comfortable room, with no pretense and no nonsense. Exactly what a restaurant should be.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

I was excited to try The Iron Room this ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I was excited to try The Iron Room this past weekend for my mothers birthday. Overall, it was a good experience but I don't think I will be going back anytime soon. I know to expect inflated prices in Atlantic City but this restaurant is nowhere near the downtown area. I feel like they would benefit from slightly lowered prices. If there is no kind of special going on their cocktails are all $14 and beers start at $9. Thats outrageous. I started with a cocktail that had tequila and ginger beer but it really just tasted like a plain margarita. The food is decent but wasn't as good as I was expecting. We ordered the Fried Roots (these were really good) croquettes (decent) octopus(slightly burnt) and seasonal pasta (honestly this tasted like heated up day old pasta I make at home) That food and 3 drinks came to $100. Again, I knew going in about the prices going in but I just left feeling unsatisfied and like I wasted a bunch of money.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Tapas at the shore. Incredibly stocked b ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Tapas at the shore. Incredibly stocked bar, lots of variations of the norms, i.e. scotch, bourbon, whiskey tequila, great craft beers. Tapas were original and very well prepared. Only problem - parking must me h*** during "the season" as lot holds only 2 cars and it's just off the AC Expressway, so parking is tough.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience2
service5

The food was different and delicious. Th ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was different and delicious. The prices were very reasonable considering the uniqueness of our meals.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food great atmosphere fantastic ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Amazing food great atmosphere fantastic staff

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Our group of four thoroughly enjoyed the price-fixed menu selections we made with the wonderful help from our server, Ashley, who also expertly advised us with wine flights based on our personal tastes. The food was fantastic, as was the wine, in this cozy, back-room dining room, where reservations are recommended. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My children purchased a gift certificate ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

My children purchased a gift certificate for The iron Riom for my husband and I for Chrisrmas. We finally got around to going on our anniversary in Aprik. It was our first time dining there and it will not be our last! The staff is awesome, the food was great, and the wine selection was fantastic! I can not wait to go back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

A real hidden gem. A great "speakeasy" ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

A real hidden gem. A great "speakeasy" feel with wonderfully inventive cocktails, well thought out wine/beer list and interesting delicious food. Just what AC needs can't wait to go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Great spot to catch up with old friends.

Dined on April 22, 2016

Food was great but a bit pretentious. The basic items, mac n cheese, chicken breast, pasta, all very good. A bit overpriced, but overall good experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent meal as always. Brought 2 fri ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Excellent meal as always. Brought 2 friends who had never been here before, they are now fans.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Again

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Another perfect date dinner! This place never disappoints. The drinks and the food are always fantastic! If you haven't dined here, you are missing out! I am already ready to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our Get Away Place

Dined on April 8, 2016

Love coming here to get away from our regular scene and just relax. The food and drink menu is always changing so it's always a new experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

Enjoyed several whiskey flight on their ...

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Enjoyed several whiskey flight on their Half Price night & a delicious meal to accompany it. Will definitely come back again.

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome place. Awesome people.

Dined on March 29, 2016

Awesome place. Awesome people.

food3
ambience3
service4

The apps were expensive and small. When ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

The apps were expensive and small. When I go back I would skip apps and just get hamburger which was tasty.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent meal

Dined on March 26, 2016

Start to finish the meal and service were top notch. Each course was better than the next, and all were unique and different. My best recommendation is to take a chance on something new. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Loved the innovation but underwhelmed by food

Dined on March 25, 2016

Small plates with many unique and unusual ingredients, which appealed to us because we love new and different types of food. Between the two of us we ordered 6 small plates to share - deviled eggs, the Good Salad, gnocchi with bolognese, lamb meatballs, Asian hanger steak, and one of the specials, tuna au poivre. For all the unusual ingredients, many of the dishes lacked the kind of unique pop of taste we were expecting. Everything was good, but not as great as we had hoped or expected. We are not drinkers, but the restaurant seems to have a fine eclectic bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4

great food! great service!

Dined on March 25, 2016

great food! great service!

food5
ambience5
service5

Small intimate & perfect for Foodies who ...

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

Small intimate & perfect for Foodies who love seasonal cuisine. Everything is Small Plates, so it's perfect for sharing if you enjoy a tapas style dining experience. I went on Half Price Whiskey Nights on Tues where I tried the 'God Flight' along with some other delicious cocktails along with 6 courses. Staff is knowledgeable & friendly. On my top 3 AC restaurant list.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wow!! What an amazing find. Small bites, ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Wow!! What an amazing find. Small bites, full menu also, innovative choices that were all delicious. Knowledgeable sommelier and wait staff. Hosts special event, wine, beer and whiskey tastings .

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Great drinks. Kind of a cool ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Great food. Great drinks. Kind of a cool LA/NY kind of vibe. Just a little different than some of the other restaurants in AC.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Come Back Around

Dined on March 12, 2016

Great little place away from the average AC restaurant; excellent food, welcoming ambiance and perfect for conversation. Always look forward to going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was excellent but my husband was st ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

Food was excellent but my husband was still hungry when we left...but he is a big eater.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a bizarre, yet amazing experience. DELICIOUS!

Dined on March 9, 2016

Did I just eat dinner in a liquor store? I think I did, and it was amazing. Great food, terrific staff, and a MEMORABLE experience. Small place, so book ahead!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3

BBQ octopus was amazing as well as the g ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

BBQ octopus was amazing as well as the goat cheese croquettes. Their mustard and honey mustard, made in house, is extremely spicy and absolutely amazing. I kept the sauce to have with my steak, I just couldn't give it up! Very cute place with delicious food, can't wait to go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delectable cuisine and excellent service!

Dined on March 5, 2016

My fiance and I recently dined at The Iron Room and we could not have better things to say! Notably, the bacon appetizer, that's right, BACON, was unlike anything I have ever eaten, and the udon mac' and cheese was out of this world! I can still taste the creamy, cheesy, udon noodles and crispy breadcrumb topping as I type! Our server was incredible- friendly, knowledgeable and extremely attentive! We ended with the flourless chocolate cake and bread pudding, warm, rich, and exactly what my pallet was craving! The drink menu was completely unique, all specialty drinks formulated by the bartenders. My fiance had The Iron 75 while I had a tequila drink, both were delicious! We will definitely be going back to The Iron Room, and I absolutely recommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved it. A very classy interior - you' ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Loved it. A very classy interior - you'd never guess it by its location. I usually don't care so much about presentation but their small plate menu is served in the coolest way. Food was excellent. We love restaurants with small plate menus. On the negative side - $9 for 6 oz of craft beer is ridiculous - took all the fun out of that beer. I'll still go back - but probably won't drink there - just eat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Retro drink combinations Tapas

Dined on February 21, 2016

Interesting, novel drink combinations. Amazing Tapas

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Disappointed Expectations

Dined on February 21, 2016

While the food was creative and tasty, the overall experience was disappointing. Our cocktails did not arrive for a long time and tasted watered down (so they clearly had been sitting ). The octopus and "good salad" were tiny--even by small plates standards and represented a poor value. ($15 for a very small piece of octopus and $16 for a salad with not even a whole pear and a few haricot). Best dishes were fried chicken, Arctic char special and udon Mac & cheese(which was also overpriced). High hopes for a dining option other than casino restaurants were disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must go again

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

We had come here once when it first opened and for some reason hadn't come back even though we talked about it. Thank goodness we did! Every bite of our meal was excellent and ou specialty cocktails were worth every sip!!! Will be back and bring friends next time! Awesome meal awesome service!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Small, but

Dined on February 16, 2016

The restaurant is very small and conversation is almost impossible, if the bar is booming, but the food is great and the selection of brown adult beverages is unsurpassed.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Perhaps a little too busy...

Dined on February 14, 2016

First let me preface this review by saying that we have dined at The Iron Room on a few occasions and found the ambience, service and food to be quite good. This review pertains to our recent visit which was on the Saturday of Valentine's Day weekend. My sense is they were somewhat overwhelmed by the number of patrons and so food and service are getting 3 stars this time around. We had reservations and despite the crowd (this is a restaurant that comfortably seats perhaps 16 not including those at the bar), we were promptly seated. The menu included their Valentine's Day prix fixe menu so my husband and I decided on that only to be told when we tried to order that it was only available on Sunday (Valentine's Day). Not sure why they included something in their Saturday night menu that was not available until the following day but we went with their usual prix fixe menu instead. The bacon appetizer had to be returned because it was very fatty (more like pork belly) and hard to actually find any edible meat. Our server took care of replacing it and the second try was definitely an improvement. We each had a pasta course next and although the mac and cheese and fettuccini with browned butter were good, it was not until we received the salmon entrée that I felt the food lived up to our expectations based on prior visits. Perfectly cooked, it was wonderful. Dessert (bread pudding with caramel sauce and a flourless chocolate cake) likewise reminded us of why we enjoy dining at The Iron Room. Our server was as attentive as she could be considering how busy they were and since we've had her before we know she was doing her best. Overall, our meal took nearly 2 hours and although folks were waiting for tables, we never felt hurried or rushed. Again, I'm going to chalk this one up to a small restaurant being a bit overwhelmed by a large crowd and will most definitely return to what has become one of our favorite dining spots.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Style over Substance

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

We were disappointed. Nice presentation, but food was expensive and only fair at best. We won't be returning.

food5
ambience5
service5

I'm almost worried to write a glowing re ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

I'm almost worried to write a glowing review of a hidden gem. Staff was amazing and knowledgable, food was excellent. Prepared with care and reverence for the ingredients. Standouts were the mushroom salad, fried chicken and the hanger steak. Go for the seasonal pasta instead of the Mac and cheese, it's good but not an uncommon dish. Banana bread pudding was extraordinary.

food5
ambience5
service5

Highly recommend this restaurant, great ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Highly recommend this restaurant, great food, great atmosphere

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find!

Dined on January 23, 2016

We really enjoyed the very eclectic and creative menu as well as the staff and atmosphere! The only problem was the "getting there" part because the signage isn't "The Iron Room" it says AC Bottling Company. So we went around the corner twice to find it. GREAT selection craft beers & they even offer flights of whiskeys & bourbons. Staff was really knowledgeable, helping us to select interesting choices. Sharing 4 "tapas" style plates was just right leaving room for dessert! Everything was delicious! Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Out of this World!

Dined on January 17, 2016

If you have never been here, then go tonight! The Iron Room is tucked away, speakeasy style, behind the Atlantic City Bottle Company. What you find when you walk into the Iron Room is a nice bar that seats about twelve and some tables that will seat about 30 total. The menu is interesting, tapas style so the plates are small. They also have a huge selection of bourbons, craft beers and specialty cocktails. We tried the pork belly chiccharonnes, grilled cheese, Asian BBQ Hangar Steak with sweet & sour brussel sprouts, and the special of the night which was a veal and venison Ragu over butternut squash dumplings. Just WOW! The chef came out and visited the dining room as well as the manager. I only wish I lived closer so I could eat here more often!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Someplace different in AC.

Dined on January 15, 2016

Wanted to try something new in AC. If you are really hungry, you may want to try another place first and then go to The Iron Room after! Plates are tapas (small plates/hors d'oeuvres ) so by the time you order 2-3 plates each plus add a few drinks, it can be expensive. On the plus side, if you like to order an assortment to share, it's nice. They also have an extensive wine and beer list. We enjoyed their craft beer selection. Parking: If you're looking for a large lot, you'll miss it. They do have a very narrow lot alongside the bar/restaurant (east side) that maybe can accommodate 8 vehicles ?There is street parking.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great night at the iron room. E ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

We had a great night at the iron room. Expansive wine selection, service was top notch and the food was 5-star. The Udon Mac and cheese was amazing.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.