About The Iron Room

648 N. Albany Avenue
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
View Larger Map

The Iron Room is the restaurant at the Atlantic City Bottle Company & is a nod to the recently retired iron playing piece in the popular board game Monopoly. The Iron Room specializes in small plates & the cuisine is described as distinctly American. Chef Kevin Cronin says what makes it American is that the menu is a hodge-podge & mashing of cultures making the cuisine an interesting melting pot.

Local seafood, game meats, hand-made pastas & the “Flat Iron Burger” (the menu’s only permanent resident) are what guests can expect to see when visiting the restaurant. The Iron Room will also feature tasting menus & host special events dedicated to craft beverages & great food. We are as passionate about cheese as we our craft beverage. We have around 15-25 cheeses from all over the world on our list every day covering all the five catergories: fresh, bloomy, washed, pressed/cooked, and blue.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:




Hours: Tuesday-Thursday 3:00pm -10:00pm
Friday-Saturday 3:00pm-11:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am-3:00pm
Dinner: 3:00pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Crossan Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 348-6400

Website:
http://acbottlecompany.com/

Parking Details:
There is a lot on the side of the building that holds up to about 10 cars.

Executive Chef:
Chef Kevin Cronin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Personal wines welcome, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Private Dining

The Iron Room is the perfect place for hosting an intimate gathering. Whether it be a wedding shower, bachelor or bachelorette party, baby shower, office or holiday party, our space can accommodate up to 40 people seated, 50 seated at the tables and bar, or 60 people for a “cocktail style” party.

The Iron Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Notable Wine List
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Contemporary American
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
2 More
Fit for Foodies
Atlantic City
Neighborhood Gem
Atlantic City
Best Restaurants in Atlantic City ›

fit for foodies (42)
neighborhood gem (27)
notable wine list (23)
See All
special occasion (20)
good for groups (18)
romantic (14)
hot spot (11)
late-night find (9)
vibrant bar scene (8)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
175 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My family and I went for an early Father ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

My family and I went for an early Father's Day dinner purely because they had an opening for a last-minute Saturday night reservation. We were seated in the tasting room which was loud since a group was finishing up a tasting, but we kind of enjoyed the energy. We also got to sit by all of the wine and beer at a sort of VIP type table which was cool. The tapas menu was amazing and our waiter was patient and super accommodating, explaining the entire menu and answering all of our questions. We ordered a ton of food and to make the eating experience the most enjoyable, our waiter told us when he would send items out so we were all eating together. I had the price fixe menu which was 4 courses for $39 and 100% worth it. All other dishes were incredibly fresh and perfectly seasoned. Favorites were the BBQ octopus, udon mac and cheese, and bread pudding. We also ordered a few drinks which were delicious and complex showing the amount of attention that is paid to every single detail of this amazing gem in AC.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS PLACE!!!!! My hus ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS PLACE!!!!! My husband is a very 'plain' eater and does not like to try many things - but he raved about this place!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We took a British relative here for a bi ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

We took a British relative here for a birthday treat since he loves whiskey and this place has 328 kinds to try. The food was excellent, as always. You have to ask for the burger if you are at a table rather than the bar, but they were very nice about providing them. The whiskey expert was knowledgeable and interested in what my guest wanted to try. We will be back soon with another whiskey lover.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service5

The cocktails were interesting and outst ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

The cocktails were interesting and outstanding. The food was a little odd for a more conservative eater like myself, but I'm planning a return trip to experience other items on the eclectic menu.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Quite honestly some of the best food I've had.

Dined on June 3, 2016

I couldn't love it more! A hidden gem in AC. I love incredible food, this tops my list of favorites. I think the chef might be a genius, no kidding. The food is special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot

Dined on May 31, 2016

Great food and a very knowledgeable staff. They always have something interesting to offer, and a whiskey list beyond compare

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"Iron Room" a great hidden Gem of a Resturant

Dined on May 29, 2016

We went there over the Memorial Day Weekend at the suggestion of a friend. The food was really quite good, the Bourbon and bar selection was outstanding as was the wine available. Great place very enjoyable and the staff was very prompt and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Not so great

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Loved this place the first time. Food not so good second time but drinks are creative and delicious

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

NOT UP TO EXPECTATIONS

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Have read some good reviews and see this as 4+ star restaurant, so decided to give it a try. This is a very small space....cramped with tables pretty much next to each other, except for the 1 table we got which we were happy about. But we were right on top of the door, so a constant brushing by of people and servers. It's more of a bar atmosphere where they serve food. I think the bar sat as many people as the small room did. So be in a party mood, go with a group of friends, not recommended for party of 2. Whiskey flights and lots of beer - so this is a place to go drinking and have some small plates. Not somewhere to go for the food Service was spotty. I probably shouldn't expect great service in a bar/restaurant so maybe my expectations were too high. The place was really busy and the servers were stretched pretty thin so we didn't see ours a lot, which is why when our paired tasting menu course was served without wine, no one noticed. After eating the course and still no wine, had to call someone over because we never saw our server. They had no clue about the wine pairings and actually told us that the manager "pushes" the wine pairings but very few people ever order it. Our water glasses were constantly empty even though bus persons were whizzing by with water pitchers. No one bothered to look. Timed it at over 10 minutes when we finally broke down and grabbed someone to ask if we could Please get some water! Got the wine situation worked out - gave us a double portion with the next course and a dessert wine comp. However, our server never checked on us. We had to stop and try to find him. Well, once the mood was soured, we were pretty much over it and just wanted to go. As for the food - it was good. Not anything outstanding or "wow"...wasn't awful either. Overall not impressive enough to want to go back...too many really good restaurants here to settle for mediocre. Price was very fair - $59 for chef's tasting menu including wine.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Hidden Gem

Dined on May 28, 2016

The Iron Room is a real hidden gem. We found it thru a review in a magazine. I am glad we did. A very small local place with lot's of character, ambiance and great food. Our server Brian was wonderful and was very helpful explaining all the dishes. We will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3

Their website posts menu and a separate ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Their website posts menu and a separate bar menu but doesn't advise that the bar menu is only available at the bar and presumably the regular menu is not available at the bar. Drinks were excellent and food was good. Especially enjoyed the octopus. Done differently than the usual.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience, top notch. Delicio ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent experience, top notch. Delicious menu and by far the best scotch selection around, hands down. And having someone as knowledgable as Lenny there to guide you along on your scotch and bourbon journey is invaluable. For food, had the chef's board and octopus to start. Octopus was perfect and the chef's board had an excellent selection of meats, cheeses, and other items that went perfectly together. As for the meal, ask for the Ron Swanson. Nothing short of perfection. Excellent evening and I will be going back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Mac and Cheese we'd ever had! Overa ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Best Mac and Cheese we'd ever had! Overall fantastic meal and great atmosphere. Great whiskey selection. However, they can't hear the phone so don't try calling and good luck changing a reservation unless you're already at the restaurant. Besides that, highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

loved the grilled octopus, scallops, mac ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

loved the grilled octopus, scallops, mac n cheese, and green and white salad. nice wine list and an amazing list of craft beers and whiskey. it was our first time there and we were not happy with our table as it was right by entry door. will definitely go back but request a different table when we make our reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and fantastic wine

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

The Iron Room is our favorite place down the shore. The food is fantastic and inventive, and the wine list is terrific. The staff is so friendly and welcoming. It's a comfortable room, with no pretense and no nonsense. Exactly what a restaurant should be.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

I was excited to try The Iron Room this ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I was excited to try The Iron Room this past weekend for my mothers birthday. Overall, it was a good experience but I don't think I will be going back anytime soon. I know to expect inflated prices in Atlantic City but this restaurant is nowhere near the downtown area. I feel like they would benefit from slightly lowered prices. If there is no kind of special going on their cocktails are all $14 and beers start at $9. Thats outrageous. I started with a cocktail that had tequila and ginger beer but it really just tasted like a plain margarita. The food is decent but wasn't as good as I was expecting. We ordered the Fried Roots (these were really good) croquettes (decent) octopus(slightly burnt) and seasonal pasta (honestly this tasted like heated up day old pasta I make at home) That food and 3 drinks came to $100. Again, I knew going in about the prices going in but I just left feeling unsatisfied and like I wasted a bunch of money.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Tapas at the shore. Incredibly stocked b ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Tapas at the shore. Incredibly stocked bar, lots of variations of the norms, i.e. scotch, bourbon, whiskey tequila, great craft beers. Tapas were original and very well prepared. Only problem - parking must me h*** during "the season" as lot holds only 2 cars and it's just off the AC Expressway, so parking is tough.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience2
service5

The food was different and delicious. Th ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was different and delicious. The prices were very reasonable considering the uniqueness of our meals.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food great atmosphere fantastic ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Amazing food great atmosphere fantastic staff

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Our group of four thoroughly enjoyed the price-fixed menu selections we made with the wonderful help from our server, Ashley, who also expertly advised us with wine flights based on our personal tastes. The food was fantastic, as was the wine, in this cozy, back-room dining room, where reservations are recommended. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best Brunch Around

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Went for the small plates brunch - great concept and you will want to take advantage of the all you can eat plates for $22 - a bargain. And each one is done with a nice twist - the french toast, the poached egg, the tuna tartar... a nice mix for whether you are a savory or a sweet bruncher. The Bloody Mary was a little overpriced for what you get but otherwise I can't find fault here and will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My children purchased a gift certificate ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

My children purchased a gift certificate for The iron Riom for my husband and I for Chrisrmas. We finally got around to going on our anniversary in Aprik. It was our first time dining there and it will not be our last! The staff is awesome, the food was great, and the wine selection was fantastic! I can not wait to go back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

A real hidden gem. A great "speakeasy" ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

A real hidden gem. A great "speakeasy" feel with wonderfully inventive cocktails, well thought out wine/beer list and interesting delicious food. Just what AC needs can't wait to go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Great spot to catch up with old friends.

Dined on April 22, 2016

Food was great but a bit pretentious. The basic items, mac n cheese, chicken breast, pasta, all very good. A bit overpriced, but overall good experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent meal as always. Brought 2 fri ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Excellent meal as always. Brought 2 friends who had never been here before, they are now fans.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Again

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Another perfect date dinner! This place never disappoints. The drinks and the food are always fantastic! If you haven't dined here, you are missing out! I am already ready to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our Get Away Place

Dined on April 8, 2016

Love coming here to get away from our regular scene and just relax. The food and drink menu is always changing so it's always a new experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

Enjoyed several whiskey flight on their ...

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Enjoyed several whiskey flight on their Half Price night & a delicious meal to accompany it. Will definitely come back again.

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome place. Awesome people.

Dined on March 29, 2016

Awesome place. Awesome people.

food3
ambience3
service4

The apps were expensive and small. When ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

The apps were expensive and small. When I go back I would skip apps and just get hamburger which was tasty.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent meal

Dined on March 26, 2016

Start to finish the meal and service were top notch. Each course was better than the next, and all were unique and different. My best recommendation is to take a chance on something new. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Loved the innovation but underwhelmed by food

Dined on March 25, 2016

Small plates with many unique and unusual ingredients, which appealed to us because we love new and different types of food. Between the two of us we ordered 6 small plates to share - deviled eggs, the Good Salad, gnocchi with bolognese, lamb meatballs, Asian hanger steak, and one of the specials, tuna au poivre. For all the unusual ingredients, many of the dishes lacked the kind of unique pop of taste we were expecting. Everything was good, but not as great as we had hoped or expected. We are not drinkers, but the restaurant seems to have a fine eclectic bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4

great food! great service!

Dined on March 25, 2016

great food! great service!

food5
ambience5
service5

Small intimate & perfect for Foodies who ...

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

Small intimate & perfect for Foodies who love seasonal cuisine. Everything is Small Plates, so it's perfect for sharing if you enjoy a tapas style dining experience. I went on Half Price Whiskey Nights on Tues where I tried the 'God Flight' along with some other delicious cocktails along with 6 courses. Staff is knowledgeable & friendly. On my top 3 AC restaurant list.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wow!! What an amazing find. Small bites, ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Wow!! What an amazing find. Small bites, full menu also, innovative choices that were all delicious. Knowledgeable sommelier and wait staff. Hosts special event, wine, beer and whiskey tastings .

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Great drinks. Kind of a cool ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Great food. Great drinks. Kind of a cool LA/NY kind of vibe. Just a little different than some of the other restaurants in AC.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Come Back Around

Dined on March 12, 2016

Great little place away from the average AC restaurant; excellent food, welcoming ambiance and perfect for conversation. Always look forward to going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was excellent but my husband was st ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

Food was excellent but my husband was still hungry when we left...but he is a big eater.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a bizarre, yet amazing experience. DELICIOUS!

Dined on March 9, 2016

Did I just eat dinner in a liquor store? I think I did, and it was amazing. Great food, terrific staff, and a MEMORABLE experience. Small place, so book ahead!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3

BBQ octopus was amazing as well as the g ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

BBQ octopus was amazing as well as the goat cheese croquettes. Their mustard and honey mustard, made in house, is extremely spicy and absolutely amazing. I kept the sauce to have with my steak, I just couldn't give it up! Very cute place with delicious food, can't wait to go back.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.