Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About The Irish House

The Irish House is an Irish Gastro Pub by Chef Matt Murphy. Chef Matt uses his Irish culinary roots to create elegant food featuring fresh, seasonal ingredients. You can also enjoy light Irish fare in our pub, where we feature 12 beers on tap, a large selection of Irish beers, a carefully selected wine list, and television coverage of all of the biggest Rugby & Soccer matches. Coming soon: Irish musicians in our upstairs bar, Irish souvenirs in our old fashioned shoppe, and Irish Tea in our Tea Room.

1432 St. Charles Ave
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Irish, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Fri: 12pm-10pm
Sat/Sun: 9am - 11pm
Brunch (Sat & Sun): 9am-3pm
Lunch (Daily):12pm-3pm
Dinner (Daily): 5pm -close
Happy Hour (Mon-Fri):3pm-6pm
Bar Menu (Daily): 3pm-close

Cross Street:
Melpomene

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 595-6755

Website:
http://www.theirishhouseneworleans.com/

Entertainment:
Mondays: Traditional Irish Session 7pm
Tuesdays: BOGO Fish & Chips, $4 Draft & Pub Quiz @ 7pm
Wednesdays: Live Music @6pm & Wine Down Wednesdays - 33% OFF Btls of Wine
Thursdays: Live Music @6pm & Ladies Night
Fridays: Live Music @7pm
Saturdays: Live Music @7pm
Sunday: Live Music @6pm

Catering:
Call The Irish House to find out about our catering options.

Parking Details:
We have a private lot that can be entered on Melpomene or St. Charles Avenue. Overflow parking is available on the street.

Public Transit:
On the St. Charles Avenue Street Car line.

Executive Chef:
Matt Murphy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Located right off the St. Charles streetcar line and only minutes away from Downtown New Orleans, The Irish House is the perfect place for any private event. This pub and restaurant offers a variety of gorgeous spaces rich with Irish character & wooden floors worn smooth by everything from traditional Irish Ceilis to board meetings, from rowdy World Cup parties to baby showers, from holiday parties to wedding ceremonies. Our staff exude the natural warmth and good-hearted ambiance of the Irish, and are sure to keep your stomachs, and pints, full to your heart’s content.

Private Dining

Chef Matt utilizes his diverse background to compose mouthwatering menus sure to please every guest. From Irish fare to Creole cuisine, upscale dinners to casual buffets and everything in between, the culinary and event team at The Irish House aims to provide a top-notch experience for all.

The Irish House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (5)
Great Beer (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
See All
Bar Seating (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Casual (4)
Fun (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Authentic (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Live Sports (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Private Room (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Cozy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
405 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

Chef Matt is great, but he's been in Ireland for a while due to a sick family member. We went on March 18, the day after St. Patrick's Day. There had been a number of call-ins from sick workers, so the food took over an hour to get to our party of 7.

But the food was as good as usual.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Waited for over an hour after being seated. We expected a delay as it was St. Patrick's Day however once we sat down and we waited but then to only have five menu options and none for people who don't eat meat they served small portions on plastic plates like picnic plates. Nothing St. Pats going on at an IRISH RESTAURANT. Poor showing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Arrived during St. Patrick's week and had a limited menu. Would have liked to known this before I made reservations. For the price it also would have been nice to have real mashed potatoes with the bangers and mash instead of half and half.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Best Irish restaurant in town, so had to go here for a St. Patrick's dinner. We weren't disappointed. Service got a little slow at the end of the meal once the restaurant was full, but other than that everything was great.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fun, People Watching, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This year was great, don't change a thing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I felt the service was horrible. It was the St. Patrick's Day parade, but the waitress never came back to the table after getting our order .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

got my order wrong and then brought out after the other party ate said they were putting up a big screen for super bowl never happen

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My mom's 85th birthday. She had a great time. Everyone was happy. Good food and drinks

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Live Music, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Our krewe gathers once a month at the Irish House. The ambiance can't be beat- where else can you listen to bagpipers and get a well-poured pint?! We tried Trivia and the moderator was entertaining and engaging- and we won enough for a couple more pints!

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I'm sad to see that I have to write this review. I hope Chef Matt is paying attention. The Irish House was needed in New Orleans and it was great in the beginning. Over the past few years we have seen quality of food and service drop on a steady pace, but still had reason to go for a ceili or other "irish" events. Truth is that we (2 adults, 3 kids) never even spoke with an actual, face-to-face person on Saturday. The hostess stand was abandoned and we waited 15 minutes before calling the Irish House (from the hostess stand) and asking them to cancel the reservation so we could book something else. [This was a celebratory dinner at 7:30 Saturday night] Whoever answered the phone apologized and said that she would cancel. Didn't cancel, limiting our options. I'm still upset that they advertised a ceili and didn't even come close to pulling off a decent meal, let alone music. Really sad for Irish fans in NOLA, I'm sure a few tourists were disappointed as well. At least one couple ended up at the same place we went after.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We ordered a burger and jambalaya. The burger was bland and very overcooked. I have never had jambalaya before, but this version had an overwhelming smoky flavour that I, personally, did not like.

Our server was very friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The beer selection was outstanding and the ambiance was warm and inviting. We had the Shepard's Pie and Fish and Chips. Both were very authentic and well done, just not my favorite. But I have to say others were very happy with those dishes. The service for our large group was spot on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great place! My girl and I were seated near the live music, making our dinner more romantic. It was perfect. Food was excellent, but the service was even better! James was our server. Would request him again next time. If you like Irish Whiskey, this place has nearly 100 different ones to try.

Tags: Fun, Live Music, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great place all around for drinks and good food. Had a great time for dinner with friends.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Fantastic meal!!! What an incredible meal. My husband and I had the shepherd's pie and our daughter had the corned beef and cabbage sandwich, all was amazing! Then finished with the sticky toffee cake with Irish coffee recommended by our sweet waitress. Perfect meal before heading out of town! We will be back next time we visit NOLA.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Ended up at the Irish House for the first time on Thanksgiving when our long-held reservations got canceled elsewhere. Turned out to be a pretty good save. Casual but very pleasant meal. Special note of our very competent and friendly waitress, Brianna.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This place has great ambience and is the perfect pub. The staff is warm and friendly. Great place and always visit when visiting my son at Tulane

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Expectations were blown way out of the water. Food was incredible. Service was personable, welcoming, and appreciative. Had just an all around wonderful experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Always a wonderful experience. We have been there on numerous occasions and they consistently impress us. I am Gluten Free. Chef Matt has a wonderful gluten free selection.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Well, after reading reviews we booked a reservation for our party of 9. After 3 different server changes we received our food. Very disappointed is how I would describe it. A few of us ordered the Shrimp and Grits, served cold and clumpy. Tasted like they were microwaved with a ton of butter. The Shepard Pie was very bland and tasteless as was the fish and chips. For a restaurant rated so highly, I expect a lot better quality for the amount of money we spent. We will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 11, 2016

We went on a Monday evening about 8:30 pm, and the restaurant was quiet. There were musicians playing authentic Irish music, and a couple of customers joined in the playing and singing. The food was good Irish fare - Shepherd's Pie made with lamb and beef, and a double patty hamburger with a sunnyside egg on top. The beer prices were very reasonable and our server was attentive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We ate at the Irish House in New Orleans twice this week. Each time we had wonderful meals. Their Shepherds Pie and Bangers and Mash is unbeatable along with a draft Guiness!! We highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Comfort Food, Live Sports, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Food was very good. Service was slow. Hostess said kitchen was slow but isn't seem to know why

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great selection of "Traditional Irish" dishes. Especially enjoyed the "Irish Bangers with Mash" and "The Sticky Toffee Pudding" was to die for! We also enjoyed the the "live music" which added a nice touch to our dining experience.
Will definitely make a return trip!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great Gluten free options and GF beer I wish they served GF bread. My husband loves the Shepherd's pie

Tags: Great Beer, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The manager hovered over us while we dined. The menu sounds good but the presentation is sloppy. The good tasted good but again presentation leaves a lot to be desired. It's needs a menu update offering a cross over into American version of Irish cuisine. It's a great location and excellent space just beautiful. Too bad the food is not up to this city's expectations.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Best Irish Coffee ever. Very personable waitress; enthusiastic. Great decor. Generally, a lot of fun!

Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had brunch with the omelet if the day, a Full Irish Breakfast and Irish coffee (regular and jig). Everything was delicious, fresh and hot. The waitress took good care of us. I will return the next time I am in the region.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Service and food were good. Friendly atmosphere. Not exceptional, but we would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 29, 2016

I've been there before. My husband wanted to celebrate his BD there.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 9, 2016

The menu was intriguing and the waitress was very friendly. Unfortunately, the food was not very good. My wife and I both ordered dishes from the Irish section of the menu thinking that would be great because it is their specialty. That was not the case. The shepherd's pie did not taste good. The meat didn't seem to be very high quality and the seasoning just wasn't good. I would not recommend this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 2, 2016

We got there on an off night. The service was quick, food was great, and there was live music (good live music). Wish the shrimp and grits had more on the plate, it was that good, I almost ordered another.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very good food with classic Irish dishes and riffs on New Orleans and Louisiana foods, too. Generous portions kept us from getting to the desserts, but they looked delicious. Loved the cocktail menu, and large selection of beers and whiskey. Much smaller selection of wines, but enough to keep a non-beer drinker happy. Our server seemed to be new, and thus a little less familiar with the specials, but definitely was attentive and gave his best effort.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very nice. Really enjoyed the food. I personally did not like the chips, but husband and daughter really enjoyed them. Their lunch menus was limited but taste of the corned beef and cabbage was tasty. Would recommend. Real Irish food struck my husband as very good as welll.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our second visit during the same week (dinner and brunch) so that says it all--especially in a foodie paradise like New Orleans. The creative chef makes typical Irish cuisine taste anything but typical. The waitstaff is hospitable and helpful. I was especially impressed with the way children (we didn't have any with us) were treated with such affection and respect. Make sure you notice the firefighter turnouts from 9/11 on you way out and all the delightful signs and striking artwork on the walls.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food, staff and music was excellent!! We had the shepherd's pie and blackened fish - both were amazing. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 14, 2016

A big group held the rest of the patrons hostage with their loud and boisterous behavior. I realize this is an Irish pub but we couldn't hear the music or even talk to one another. Food was OK but the noise made for an unpleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 15, 2016

We were a party of 5. All had a good time and the food was very good. Music made it special. Duo playing on Saturday night was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 9, 2016

We sat outside on the patio. It was a very relaxed and satisfying meal. Food was delicious and the service spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The waitress was really nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.