About The Irish House

1432 St. Charles Ave
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

The Irish House is an Irish Gastro Pub by Chef Matt Murphy. Chef Matt uses his Irish culinary roots to create elegant food featuring fresh, seasonal ingredients. You can also enjoy light Irish fare in our pub, where we feature 12 beers on tap, a large selection of Irish beers, a carefully selected wine list, and television coverage of all of the biggest Rugby & Soccer matches. Coming soon: Irish musicians in our upstairs bar, Irish souvenirs in our old fashioned shoppe, and Irish Tea in our Tea Room.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Irish, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Fri: 12pm-10pm
Sat/Sun: 9am - 11pm
Brunch (Sat & Sun): 9am-3pm
Lunch (Daily):12pm-3pm
Dinner (Daily): 5pm -close
Happy Hour (Mon-Fri):3pm-6pm
Bar Menu (Daily): 3pm-close

Cross Street:
Melpomene

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 595-6755

Website:
http://www.theirishhouseneworleans.com/

Entertainment:
Mondays: Traditional Irish Session 7pm
Tuesdays: BOGO Fish & Chips, $4 Draft & Pub Quiz @ 7pm
Wednesdays: Live Music @6pm & Wine Down Wednesdays - 33% OFF Btls of Wine
Thursdays: Live Music @6pm & Ladies Night
Fridays: Live Music @7pm
Saturdays: Live Music @7pm
Sunday: Live Music @6pm

Catering:
Call The Irish House to find out about our catering options.

Parking Details:
We have a private lot that can be entered on Melpomene or St. Charles Avenue. Overflow parking is available on the street.

Public Transit:
On the St. Charles Avenue Street Car line.

Executive Chef:
Matt Murphy

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Located right off the St. Charles streetcar line and only minutes away from Downtown New Orleans, The Irish House is the perfect place for any private event. This pub and restaurant offers a variety of gorgeous spaces rich with Irish character & wooden floors worn smooth by everything from traditional Irish Ceilis to board meetings, from rowdy World Cup parties to baby showers, from holiday parties to wedding ceremonies. Our staff exude the natural warmth and good-hearted ambiance of the Irish, and are sure to keep your stomachs, and pints, full to your heart’s content.

Restaurant Photos

The Irish House
The Irish House
The Irish House
The Irish House
The Irish House
The Irish House
The Irish House
Full Irish Breakfast
Bangers and Mash
Fish and Chips
Lambi fricassee
Roasted Beet Salad
Clover Chicken Breast
Pint Of Smithwick's Irish Ale
Tomato Orzo
Boxy with Spinach
Irish House Burger
Lion Cake
Potato And Leek Soup
Seared Salmon Filet
Shrimp and Artichoke Risotto
Blackened Redfish Sandwich
Roasted Chicken Soup
Bacon And Cheese Crouquets
Smoked Mussel, Tomato, and Basil Soup
Nola Brewing Irish Channel Stout
Tin Roof Parade Grounds Porter
Irish Soda Bread
Parish Brewing Canebrake Beer
Roast Beef Poboy
Duck Fig Goat Cheese Sausage
Baileys in a Chocolate shot glass
Farmer Nick's Scrambled Eggs
Bbq Chicken & Waffles
Chips w/ Curry Sauce
Grilled Ginger and Whiskey Glazed Shrimp Salad
FREE Chip Crisps
Pan Fried Farmers Cheese Salad
Short Ribs with Andouille Gravy and Potatoes
duck sausage on asagiao flatbread
Shrimp Risotto
Shepherd's Pie
Chicken & Mushroom Curry
Double Decker Pub Club
Abita BBQ Wings w/ Garlic Cheesy Mayo
BBQ Chicken and Waffles
Braised Lamb Shanks in Apple Brandy with Stoneground Grits and Roasted Root Vegetables
Irish Coffee
Sticky Toffee Pudding
Ham, Cheddar, Tomato And Onion Toastie
BBQ Oysters
Seared Redfish
The Murphinator
Shepard's Pie
Short Ribs
Bubble & Squeak
Chicken And Mushroom Pot Pie
Guinness Chocolate Trifle with whiskey ganache and Bailey’s icing
Irish Breakfast
Breakfast Burrito 1/2 & 1/2
Shaved Corned Beef Over Bubbles And Squeak

Promotions

Happy Hour

Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

BOGO Fish & Chips, $4 Draft & Pub Quiz

Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

Happy Hour

Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details
1/2 off Bottle Beer 1/2 off Draft Beer 1/2 off Wine by the glass 1/2 off well cocktails $6 small Bites of Irish Specialties. Excludes Tax and Tip. Our patio is a great place to relax play a game of corn hole and enjoy a pint!. Special valid May 27, 2016 - Sep 26, 2016 on Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.
BOGO Fish & Chips, $4 Draft & Pub Quiz

Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details
Tuesdays at The Irish House means BOGO Fish & Chips and $4 Pints!. We also. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 27, 2016 - Sep 27, 2016 on Tuesdays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

Chef Matt utilizes his diverse background to compose mouthwatering menus sure to please every guest. From Irish fare to Creole cuisine, upscale dinners to casual buffets and everything in between, the culinary and event team at The Irish House aims to provide a top-notch experience for all.

The Irish House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (12)
fit for foodies (8)
kid-friendly (7)
See All
neighborhood gem (7)
great for brunch (6)
special occasion (5)
great for lunch (5)
scenic view (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
360 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice. Really enjoyed the food. I p ...

Dined 7 days ago

Very nice. Really enjoyed the food. I personally did not like the chips, but husband and daughter really enjoyed them. Their lunch menus was limited but taste of the corned beef and cabbage was tasty. Would recommend. Real Irish food struck my husband as very good as welll.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit during the sam ...

Dined 7 days ago

This was our second visit during the same week (dinner and brunch) so that says it all--especially in a foodie paradise like New Orleans. The creative chef makes typical Irish cuisine taste anything but typical. The waitstaff is hospitable and helpful. I was especially impressed with the way children (we didn't have any with us) were treated with such affection and respect. Make sure you notice the firefighter turnouts from 9/11 on you way out and all the delightful signs and striking artwork on the walls.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food, staff and music was excellent! ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The food, staff and music was excellent!! We had the shepherd's pie and blackened fish - both were amazing. We will be back!

food3
ambience1
service3
value2

A big group held the rest of the patrons ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

A big group held the rest of the patrons hostage with their loud and boisterous behavior. I realize this is an Irish pub but we couldn't hear the music or even talk to one another. Food was OK but the noise made for an unpleasant experience.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We were a party of 5. All had a good ti ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We were a party of 5. All had a good time and the food was very good. Music made it special. Duo playing on Saturday night was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We sat outside on the patio. It was a ve ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

We sat outside on the patio. It was a very relaxed and satisfying meal. Food was delicious and the service spot on.

food3
ambience2
service2

The waitress was really nice.

Dined on May 8, 2016

The waitress was really nice.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fish and chips was awesome. Murphy's on ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Fish and chips was awesome. Murphy's on tap and 2 pages of fantastic Irish Wiskey. Must try the house Irish coffee

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

good music

Dined on April 17, 2016

We came to hear a guitarist, Aaron, Lopez-Barrantes. He was excellentand the corner where he played was quaint. There was just a lot of other noise and the TV playing behind was distracting. But it is a restaurant and that is to be expected. The shrinp and grits was pretty good.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Best Eggs Benedict Ever!

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

I chose the eggs benedict for breakfast and it was the best I had tasted in a long while. My husband said I couldn't put my fork down. LOL

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service2

Thought service was a little slow consid ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Thought service was a little slow considering how empty the place was for lunch. Food was pretty good.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delish! The server James w ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

The food was delish! The server James was awesome and the Irish coffee with a jig is a must!!

food4
ambience5
service4

Relaxing dinner. Live music was a plus!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Relaxing dinner. Live music was a plus!

food5
ambience5
service5

They didn't skimp on glassware this year ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

They didn't skimp on glassware this year which was better.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Irisih House

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

The food was really great - was expecting typical bar food - We were pleasantly surprised by the menu! Our next trip to New Orleans - this will be our first stop!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The perfect Irish Pub!

vip
Dined on March 7, 2016

The perfect Irish Pub!

food5
ambience5
service5

Bangers and Mash! Awesome!

Dined on March 2, 2016

Bangers and Mash! Awesome!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Atmosphere

Dined on March 1, 2016

Love eating authentic Irish food in front of an open window on scenic St. Charles. Great staff and unique beer list. Parking was no problem at all since they have their own lot (which is not common in that area)

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Unprofessional & sullen staff = unhappy diners

Dined on February 28, 2016

We left before we ordered so this review is only on the poor service. When we arrived the hostess silently led us to a tiny two-top in the midst of 5 empty tables - 2 four tops and 3 larger tables. We're a couple who enjoys sitting side by side, so we asked if we could move to one of the empty 4 tops directly next to us. To our surprise, our waitress said no, but suggested we turn the two top sideways. We complied, but were taken aback by the refusal when there was clearly a lot of room. Not one person entered the restaurant as we sat uncomfortably smushed together. I stewed as the hostesses observed that we were clearly physically uncomfortable, but did nothing about it. I felt as if we were bad schoolchildren forced to sit in a corner. Up until then, everyone we encountered in NOLA was friendly & helpful. This was not the case at the Irish House. After sitting for a few more minutes, looking at a disappointing and limited menu, we decided to leave, although we had ordered drinks. The hostess who stood right next to us for a few minutes was clueless that a couple sitting at an angle to each other, elbows knocking every time we moved, surrounded by larger, empty tables was the slightest bit unusual. If the place had been crowded, we would have understood, but there were at least a dozen empty tables, and we had been seated in an empty section all by ourselves. Honestly, if ONE person had smiled at us, we might have given the place a chance, but when the staff is clearly disengaged, there's no reason to expect anything good will happen. No one seemed to care that stood up to leave - in fact, no one even looked our way, and since we have never dined and dashed, my husband tried to find our waitress to no avail and finally informed a hostess who stared blankly at us. Because he's a nicer person than I am, he said we were leaving because the music was too loud (which was a lie, but better than berating staff for being unprofessional and thoughtless).

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good place for beer and whiskey, food good

Dined on February 16, 2016

Waitress was excellent, great attitude. Food presentation beautiful

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Great atmosphere and service; decent food

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

My family was in the mood for fish & chips so decided to stop by The Irish House to try it out. I also heard some good things with the new chef - Chef Matt Murphy - doing some good things. Overall, the Irish House provides a good atmosphere and good service with decent food. We went on Saturday afternoon, and even though it was around 2pm Brunch was still being served (it is served until 3pm). The brunch had a nice mix of lunch and breakfast items so we ordered a breakfast option, the fish & chips and the corned beef sandwich. The breakfast option was good, the fish & chips were alright, and the corned beef sandwich was really good. The atmosphere of the place was really nice and it provided a nice environment in which to relax and enjoy the food. The service was also good. Overall,a nice place to hang out and enjoy.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made it!!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Last trip to New Orleans we missed the Irish House due to travel disruptions. Now I realize it was our loss. Served by pleasant & pretty ladies; our traditional Irish choices and everything else were excellent. We will return and highly recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The right spot

Dined on February 8, 2016

WOW, Chef Matt was a gem. Food was great, but more importantly the location and ambiance were perfect. We were able to watch Bacchus and the Super Bowl. Service was fantastic as well. I recommend it for any occasion...

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Mardi Gras Parade Spot

Dined on February 5, 2016

Went there with a party of eight to have dinner and watch the 3 Mardi Gras parades that pass the restaurant. There were 2 options available that night: pay $140 per person for an all inclusive buffet with an open bar or pay $20 per person for the privilege of having access to the bar and bathrooms and the option of ordering off the menu. We choose the latter but doubt seriously we will ever go back. The food was mediocre at best. Had to send back a dessert that was inedible. The service was about the same. The restaurant was empty except for our table and 1 or 2 more the entire evening. Unfortunately I cannot fathom any food or liquor this restaurant could produce that would be worth $140 per person! I saw countless people walk away because they did not want to pay $20 to just come in. This could have been a great opportunity for the restaurant but instead it was just a missed one.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Disappointed

Dined on January 23, 2016

The Irish House has always been one of my favorite restaurants but I was extremely disappointed in my experience this past weekend. I brought friends who were visiting from out of town and, while the ambience was terrific as usual, the food was very disappointing. The menu has changed since the last time I was there with some interesting additions. My friend ordered the Jambalaya which had a very raw tomato taste - as if it hadn't cooked long enough. I ordered the Guinness Stew which was tasty but only had about 2 small pieces of meat in the entire bowl. My son and husband had the Fish and Chips and Clover Chicken, both of which have been on the menu for a long time and were very good, as usual. Overall, I was disappointed and a little embarrassed to have raved about this restaurant to my friends only to have a disappointing experience. While I have always loved The Irish House, I'm not sure if I will be returning,...

food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Fun atmosphere, great food.

Dined on January 17, 2016

Wonderfully decorated gastro pub in the Garden District. Well thought out menu has something for foodies and the more bland eater. Definitely has a spot in the NOLA market.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

New "Go To" Spot

vip
Dined on January 4, 2016

Had a nice comfortable evening on Christmas Eve and decided on a second visit. Love sitting at the bar for a meal. Easy place to strike up conversations with others and listen to live music while enjoying great comfort food dishes.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food as always

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

Good food as always

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Irish House Review

Dined on December 31, 2015

New Years Eve was not a good fit for this restaurant. They had a limited menu which went for $65 per person. The soups were good, the entrée left little to consider. A thinly sliced piece of prime rib thrown on a grill. It was cooked perfectly but mostly fat. The dessert has no comment as it was not good. To top everything off, we got the bill for $4.22 which was in not way correct. Looking at my bank statement tonight, they charged me for the full bill plus the erroneous $4.22 bill. The service personnel were in a chaotic state as one of the employees didn't show up for work. It also took 20 minutes for us to initially be waited on. We had to ask the manager for someone to come over and wait on us.

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

If it's Music Night, sit close to the music!

Dined on December 29, 2015

We picked the Irish House for its location near our B&B. When we walked in, the hostess said it was "Music Night" and asked if we wanted to sit close to the music or far away. Having spent too many meals unable to talk to my tablemates because of loud music, I immediately said "far away", and she seated us appropriately. But once the musicians started playing, I realized my mistake - it wasn't a loud, amplified band; it was a quiet circle of Irish musicians, and I couldn't hear them very well! What I did hear of the music was very enjoyable; I won't make the same mistake twice.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Unexpected Find!

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

We dined on Christmas Eve expecting to go somewhere different. We found an unexpected treasure? Simple well crafted, well proportioned and priced entrees. A great beer and Irish whiskey list and great service rounded out the experience. The chef owner was in the house making sure all ran well. Great to see! We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3

This was my first experience here. The w ...

vip
Dined on December 22, 2015

This was my first experience here. The waitress was good but the place was understaffed. The bar was very, very slow. 20+ min to get a drink. And it wasn't a busy night. Overall, not a bad atmosphere but they must pick up the pace. Whiskey menu was sizable.

food4
ambience5
service5

Your chance to experience Ireland in NOLA

Dined on December 4, 2015

Former sous chef at the Ritz Carlton opened his own restaurant located at the beginning of the Garden District. It's a short trolley ride to choices of Irish or American cuisine accompanied by an array of domestic and foreign craft beers. Decor is modern Irish pub. Service is excellent. When we ate dinner there, a young lass from Ireland was providing the entertainment. On previous visit, we were serenaded by a trio including the gentleman playing bagpipes.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

No Title

Dined on November 26, 2015

Food was extremely tasty for the occasion. Enough other customers to makethis Thanksgiving a festive occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5

Super excited about finding the Irish Ho ...

Dined on November 24, 2015

Super excited about finding the Irish House. I wanted a place to watch the Tottenham match on 11/21 and they were playing it. Was able to bring the whole family down for breakfast and the match - which was great after being shooed away from another pub the previous day. (They didn't allow children EVER) The inside reminded me a lot of a pub in Dingle and the Monday night music - we came back for dinner specifically for that - was very nice. Will most certainly return next time I'm in NO!

food1
ambience3
service5

Food was terrible!

Dined on November 8, 2015

Service was great but food was terrible! I felt so bad for our server because she was trying so hard to please us. Everything from the burnt "ribeye" (if you even call that a ribeye), bland BBQ Style shrimp, and sad salads. I normally would never complain but i think the restaurant should know. New Orleans is known for its ambiance and flavorful food but unfortunately The Irish house isn't up to par. I hope it gets better.

food5
ambience5
service5

We found the Irish House when our daught ...

vip
Dined on November 7, 2015

We found the Irish House when our daughter started attending Tulane and frequently meet up there for dinner, lunch or brunch. It has the feel of an old pub with delicious food and a great atmosphere. Their beer and whiskey selection are extensive. They often have entertainment and accommodate sports fans. It has become one of our family's favorite restaurants. Chef Matt is a chopped champion and even helped my daughter with a fundraiser at school as a chopped judge. our server was wonderful and always seems to make us feel like family. My favorites are the shepherd's pie, burger (YUM), the britie is to die for, I could go on.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service5

Highly anticipated but was mediocre expe ...

Dined on October 18, 2015

Highly anticipated but was mediocre experience. Shepherd's Pie was appetizer in size and average in taste

food1
ambience3
service3

Not good

Dined on October 6, 2015

After reading good reviews online, we went there. The foods were not good, feel like mall-food, or hospital cafeteria... overpriced for sure. Definitely, we will not go there any more in future.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Irish House experience

Dined on September 20, 2015

My sister and I made reservations at the Irish House for the last day of We Live to Eat week because we had been dying to try it and because it seemed like a good way to start off an evening that was going to include a play at the Saenger. The restaurant did not disappoint. Our server, James, was wonderfully attentive and the food was fabulous. James even let us get a sneak peek at a new addition to the menu and asked for our feedback. It was great. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.