About The Irish House

1432 St. Charles Ave
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

The Irish House is an Irish Gastro Pub by Chef Matt Murphy. Chef Matt uses his Irish culinary roots to create elegant food featuring fresh, seasonal ingredients. You can also enjoy light Irish fare in our pub, where we feature 12 beers on tap, a large selection of Irish beers, a carefully selected wine list, and television coverage of all of the biggest Rugby & Soccer matches. Coming soon: Irish musicians in our upstairs bar, Irish souvenirs in our old fashioned shoppe, and Irish Tea in our Tea Room.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Irish, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Fri: 12pm-10pm
Sat/Sun: 9am - 11pm
Brunch (Sat & Sun): 9am-3pm
Lunch (Daily):12pm-3pm
Dinner (Daily): 5pm -close
Happy Hour (Mon-Fri):3pm-6pm
Bar Menu (Daily): 3pm-close

Cross Street:
Melpomene

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 595-6755

Website:
http://www.theirishhouseneworleans.com/

Entertainment:
Mondays: Traditional Irish Session 7pm
Tuesdays: BOGO Fish & Chips, $4 Draft & Pub Quiz @ 7pm
Wednesdays: Live Music @6pm & Wine Down Wednesdays - 33% OFF Btls of Wine
Thursdays: Live Music @6pm & Ladies Night
Fridays: Live Music @7pm
Saturdays: Live Music @7pm
Sunday: Live Music @6pm

Catering:
Call The Irish House to find out about our catering options.

Parking Details:
We have a private lot that can be entered on Melpomene or St. Charles Avenue. Overflow parking is available on the street.

Public Transit:
On the St. Charles Avenue Street Car line.

Executive Chef:
Matt Murphy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Located right off the St. Charles streetcar line and only minutes away from Downtown New Orleans, The Irish House is the perfect place for any private event. This pub and restaurant offers a variety of gorgeous spaces rich with Irish character & wooden floors worn smooth by everything from traditional Irish Ceilis to board meetings, from rowdy World Cup parties to baby showers, from holiday parties to wedding ceremonies. Our staff exude the natural warmth and good-hearted ambiance of the Irish, and are sure to keep your stomachs, and pints, full to your heart’s content.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Chef Matt Murphy - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Fish and Chips - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Full Irish Breakfast - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Shepard's Pie - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Irish Coffee - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Shepherd's Pie - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Sticky Toffee Pudding - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Bangers and Mash - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Mimosa, Irish Car Bomb And Irish Breakfast Shot - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Lambi fricassee - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Roasted Beet Salad - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Clover Chicken Breast - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Pint Of Smithwick's Irish Ale - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Boxy with Spinach - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Tomato Orzo - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Potato And Leek Soup - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Shrimp and Artichoke Risotto - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Seared Salmon Filet - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Roasted Chicken Soup - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Blackened Redfish Sandwich - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Bacon And Cheese Crouquets - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Smoked Mussel, Tomato, and Basil Soup - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Nola Brewing Irish Channel Stout - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Tin Roof Parade Grounds Porter - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Parish Brewing Canebrake Beer - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Irish Soda Bread - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Roast Beef Poboy - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Irish House Burger - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Duck Fig Goat Cheese Sausage - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Baileys in a Chocolate shot glass - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Farmer Nick's Scrambled Eggs - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Bbq Chicken & Waffles - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Grilled Ginger and Whiskey Glazed Shrimp Salad - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Pan Fried Farmers Cheese Salad - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Chips w/ Curry Sauce - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
FREE Chip Crisps - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Short Ribs with Andouille Gravy and Potatoes - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
duck sausage on asagiao flatbread - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Shrimp Risotto - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Lion Cake - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Chicken & Mushroom Curry - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Double Decker Pub Club - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Braised Lamb Shanks in Apple Brandy with Stoneground Grits and Roasted Root Vegetables - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Abita BBQ Wings w/ Garlic Cheesy Mayo - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
BBQ Chicken and Waffles - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
BBQ Oysters - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Ham, Cheddar, Tomato And Onion Toastie - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Seared Redfish - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
The Murphinator - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Short Ribs - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Bubble & Squeak - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Chicken And Mushroom Pot Pie - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Guinness Chocolate Trifle with whiskey ganache and Bailey’s icing  - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Irish Breakfast - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Breakfast Burrito 1/2 & 1/2   - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA
Shaved Corned Beef Over Bubbles And Squeak - The Irish House, New Orleans, LA

Specials

Happy Hour

Mondays - Fridays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Specials

Happy Hour

Mondays - Fridays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

1/2 off Bottle Beer 1/2 off Draft Beer 1/2 of Wine by the glass 1/2 off specialty cocktails $6 small Bites of Irish Specialties. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 10, 2016 - Feb 10, 2017 on Mondays - Fridays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Private Dining

Chef Matt utilizes his diverse background to compose mouthwatering menus sure to please every guest. From Irish fare to Creole cuisine, upscale dinners to casual buffets and everything in between, the culinary and event team at The Irish House aims to provide a top-notch experience for all.

The Irish House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (5)
Casual (4)
Good for a Date (4)
See All
Happy Hour (4)
Authentic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fun (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Family Style (3)
Live Sports (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Historic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Live Music (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Cozy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Business Meals (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Sort By:
S
395 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We ordered a burger and jambalaya. The b ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We ordered a burger and jambalaya. The burger was bland and very overcooked. I have never had jambalaya before, but this version had an overwhelming smoky flavour that I, personally, did not like.

Our server was very friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The beer selection was outstanding and t ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The beer selection was outstanding and the ambiance was warm and inviting. We had the Shepard's Pie and Fish and Chips. Both were very authentic and well done, just not my favorite. But I have to say others were very happy with those dishes. The service for our large group was spot on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Great place! My girl and I were seated n ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great place! My girl and I were seated near the live music, making our dinner more romantic. It was perfect. Food was excellent, but the service was even better! James was our server. Would request him again next time. If you like Irish Whiskey, this place has nearly 100 different ones to try.

Tags: Fun, Live Music, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place all around for drinks and go ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great place all around for drinks and good food. Had a great time for dinner with friends.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic meal!!! What an incredible mea ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Fantastic meal!!! What an incredible meal. My husband and I had the shepherd's pie and our daughter had the corned beef and cabbage sandwich, all was amazing! Then finished with the sticky toffee cake with Irish coffee recommended by our sweet waitress. Perfect meal before heading out of town! We will be back next time we visit NOLA.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ended up at the Irish House for the firs ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Ended up at the Irish House for the first time on Thanksgiving when our long-held reservations got canceled elsewhere. Turned out to be a pretty good save. Casual but very pleasant meal. Special note of our very competent and friendly waitress, Brianna.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

This place has great ambience and is the ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This place has great ambience and is the perfect pub. The staff is warm and friendly. Great place and always visit when visiting my son at Tulane

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Expectations were blown way out of the w ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Expectations were blown way out of the water. Food was incredible. Service was personable, welcoming, and appreciative. Had just an all around wonderful experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a wonderful experience. We have ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Always a wonderful experience. We have been there on numerous occasions and they consistently impress us. I am Gluten Free. Chef Matt has a wonderful gluten free selection.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well, after reading reviews we booked a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Well, after reading reviews we booked a reservation for our party of 9. After 3 different server changes we received our food. Very disappointed is how I would describe it. A few of us ordered the Shrimp and Grits, served cold and clumpy. Tasted like they were microwaved with a ton of butter. The Shepard Pie was very bland and tasteless as was the fish and chips. For a restaurant rated so highly, I expect a lot better quality for the amount of money we spent. We will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

We went on a Monday evening about 8:30 p ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 11, 2016

We went on a Monday evening about 8:30 pm, and the restaurant was quiet. There were musicians playing authentic Irish music, and a couple of customers joined in the playing and singing. The food was good Irish fare - Shepherd's Pie made with lamb and beef, and a double patty hamburger with a sunnyside egg on top. The beer prices were very reasonable and our server was attentive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We ate at the Irish House in New Orleans ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We ate at the Irish House in New Orleans twice this week. Each time we had wonderful meals. Their Shepherds Pie and Bangers and Mash is unbeatable along with a draft Guiness!! We highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Comfort Food, Live Sports, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. Service was slow. ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Food was very good. Service was slow. Hostess said kitchen was slow but isn't seem to know why

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great selection of "Traditional Irish" d ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great selection of "Traditional Irish" dishes. Especially enjoyed the "Irish Bangers with Mash" and "The Sticky Toffee Pudding" was to die for! We also enjoyed the the "live music" which added a nice touch to our dining experience.

Will definitely make a return trip!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Gluten free options and GF beer ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great Gluten free options and GF beer I wish they served GF bread. My husband loves the Shepherd's pie

Tags: Great Beer, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The manager hovered over us while we din ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The manager hovered over us while we dined. The menu sounds good but the presentation is sloppy. The good tasted good but again presentation leaves a lot to be desired. It's needs a menu update offering a cross over into American version of Irish cuisine. It's a great location and excellent space just beautiful. Too bad the food is not up to this city's expectations.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Best Irish Coffee ever. Very personable ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Best Irish Coffee ever. Very personable waitress; enthusiastic. Great decor. Generally, a lot of fun!

Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had brunch with the omelet if the day ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had brunch with the omelet if the day, a Full Irish Breakfast and Irish coffee (regular and jig). Everything was delicious, fresh and hot. The waitress took good care of us. I will return the next time I am in the region.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and food were good. Friendly atm ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Service and food were good. Friendly atmosphere. Not exceptional, but we would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I've been there before. My husband wante ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 29, 2016

I've been there before. My husband wanted to celebrate his BD there.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The menu was intriguing and the waitress ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 9, 2016

The menu was intriguing and the waitress was very friendly. Unfortunately, the food was not very good. My wife and I both ordered dishes from the Irish section of the menu thinking that would be great because it is their specialty. That was not the case. The shepherd's pie did not taste good. The meat didn't seem to be very high quality and the seasoning just wasn't good. I would not recommend this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

We got there on an off night. The servi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 2, 2016

We got there on an off night. The service was quick, food was great, and there was live music (good live music). Wish the shrimp and grits had more on the plate, it was that good, I almost ordered another.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food with classic Irish dishes ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very good food with classic Irish dishes and riffs on New Orleans and Louisiana foods, too. Generous portions kept us from getting to the desserts, but they looked delicious. Loved the cocktail menu, and large selection of beers and whiskey. Much smaller selection of wines, but enough to keep a non-beer drinker happy. Our server seemed to be new, and thus a little less familiar with the specials, but definitely was attentive and gave his best effort.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Very nice. Really enjoyed the food. I p ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very nice. Really enjoyed the food. I personally did not like the chips, but husband and daughter really enjoyed them. Their lunch menus was limited but taste of the corned beef and cabbage was tasty. Would recommend. Real Irish food struck my husband as very good as welll.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second visit during the sam ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our second visit during the same week (dinner and brunch) so that says it all--especially in a foodie paradise like New Orleans. The creative chef makes typical Irish cuisine taste anything but typical. The waitstaff is hospitable and helpful. I was especially impressed with the way children (we didn't have any with us) were treated with such affection and respect. Make sure you notice the firefighter turnouts from 9/11 on you way out and all the delightful signs and striking artwork on the walls.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, staff and music was excellent! ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food, staff and music was excellent!! We had the shepherd's pie and blackened fish - both were amazing. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A big group held the rest of the patrons ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 14, 2016

A big group held the rest of the patrons hostage with their loud and boisterous behavior. I realize this is an Irish pub but we couldn't hear the music or even talk to one another. Food was OK but the noise made for an unpleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

We were a party of 5. All had a good ti ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 15, 2016

We were a party of 5. All had a good time and the food was very good. Music made it special. Duo playing on Saturday night was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We sat outside on the patio. It was a ve ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 9, 2016

We sat outside on the patio. It was a very relaxed and satisfying meal. Food was delicious and the service spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The waitress was really nice.

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The waitress was really nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Fish and chips was awesome. Murphy's on ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 26, 2016

Fish and chips was awesome. Murphy's on tap and 2 pages of fantastic Irish Wiskey. Must try the house Irish coffee

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

good music

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 17, 2016

We came to hear a guitarist, Aaron, Lopez-Barrantes. He was excellentand the corner where he played was quaint. There was just a lot of other noise and the TV playing behind was distracting. But it is a restaurant and that is to be expected.

The shrinp and grits was pretty good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Best Eggs Benedict Ever!

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 10, 2016

I chose the eggs benedict for breakfast and it was the best I had tasted in a long while. My husband said I couldn't put my fork down. LOL

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Thought service was a little slow consid ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 7, 2016

Thought service was a little slow considering how empty the place was for lunch. Food was pretty good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

The food was delish! The server James w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 3, 2016

The food was delish! The server James was awesome and the Irish coffee with a jig is a must!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Relaxing dinner. Live music was a plus!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Relaxing dinner. Live music was a plus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

They didn't skimp on glassware this year ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 12, 2016

They didn't skimp on glassware this year which was better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Irisih House

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 10, 2016

The food was really great - was expecting typical bar food - We were pleasantly surprised by the menu! Our next trip to New Orleans - this will be our first stop!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The perfect Irish Pub!

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 7, 2016

The perfect Irish Pub!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bangers and Mash! Awesome!

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 2, 2016

Bangers and Mash! Awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.