About The Irish House

The Irish House is an Irish Gastro Pub by Chef Matt Murphy. Chef Matt uses his Irish culinary roots to create elegant food featuring fresh, seasonal ingredients. You can also enjoy light Irish fare in our pub, where we feature 12 beers on tap, a large selection of Irish beers, a carefully selected wine list, and television coverage of all of the biggest Rugby & Soccer matches. Coming soon: Irish musicians in our upstairs bar, Irish souvenirs in our old fashioned shoppe, and Irish Tea in our Tea Room.

1432 St. Charles Ave
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Irish, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Fri: 12pm-10pm
Sat/Sun: 9am - 11pm
Brunch (Sat & Sun): 9am-3pm
Lunch (Daily):12pm-3pm
Dinner (Daily): 5pm -close
Happy Hour (Mon-Fri):3pm-6pm
Bar Menu (Daily): 3pm-close

Cross Street:
Melpomene

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 595-6755

Website:
http://www.theirishhouseneworleans.com/

Entertainment:
Mondays: Traditional Irish Session 7pm
Tuesdays: BOGO Fish & Chips, $4 Draft & Pub Quiz @ 7pm
Wednesdays: Live Music @6pm & Wine Down Wednesdays - 33% OFF Btls of Wine
Thursdays: Live Music @6pm & Ladies Night
Fridays: Live Music @7pm
Saturdays: Live Music @7pm
Sunday: Live Music @6pm

Catering:
Call The Irish House to find out about our catering options.

Parking Details:
We have a private lot that can be entered on Melpomene or St. Charles Avenue. Overflow parking is available on the street.

Public Transit:
On the St. Charles Avenue Street Car line.

Executive Chef:
Matt Murphy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Located right off the St. Charles streetcar line and only minutes away from Downtown New Orleans, The Irish House is the perfect place for any private event. This pub and restaurant offers a variety of gorgeous spaces rich with Irish character & wooden floors worn smooth by everything from traditional Irish Ceilis to board meetings, from rowdy World Cup parties to baby showers, from holiday parties to wedding ceremonies. Our staff exude the natural warmth and good-hearted ambiance of the Irish, and are sure to keep your stomachs, and pints, full to your heart’s content.

Private Dining

Chef Matt utilizes his diverse background to compose mouthwatering menus sure to please every guest. From Irish fare to Creole cuisine, upscale dinners to casual buffets and everything in between, the culinary and event team at The Irish House aims to provide a top-notch experience for all.

The Irish House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Great Beer (5)
See All
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Authentic (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Live Music (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Cozy (3)
Live Sports (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Family Style (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fun (3)
Casual (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Scenic View (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Business Meals (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
399 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

got my order wrong and then brought out after the other party ate said they were putting up a big screen for super bowl never happen

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My mom's 85th birthday. She had a great time. Everyone was happy. Good food and drinks

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Live Music, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Our krewe gathers once a month at the Irish House. The ambiance can't be beat- where else can you listen to bagpipers and get a well-poured pint?! We tried Trivia and the moderator was entertaining and engaging- and we won enough for a couple more pints!

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I'm sad to see that I have to write this review. I hope Chef Matt is paying attention. The Irish House was needed in New Orleans and it was great in the beginning. Over the past few years we have seen quality of food and service drop on a steady pace, but still had reason to go for a ceili or other "irish" events. Truth is that we (2 adults, 3 kids) never even spoke with an actual, face-to-face person on Saturday. The hostess stand was abandoned and we waited 15 minutes before calling the Irish House (from the hostess stand) and asking them to cancel the reservation so we could book something else. [This was a celebratory dinner at 7:30 Saturday night] Whoever answered the phone apologized and said that she would cancel. Didn't cancel, limiting our options. I'm still upset that they advertised a ceili and didn't even come close to pulling off a decent meal, let alone music. Really sad for Irish fans in NOLA, I'm sure a few tourists were disappointed as well. At least one couple ended up at the same place we went after.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We ordered a burger and jambalaya. The burger was bland and very overcooked. I have never had jambalaya before, but this version had an overwhelming smoky flavour that I, personally, did not like.

Our server was very friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The beer selection was outstanding and the ambiance was warm and inviting. We had the Shepard's Pie and Fish and Chips. Both were very authentic and well done, just not my favorite. But I have to say others were very happy with those dishes. The service for our large group was spot on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great place! My girl and I were seated near the live music, making our dinner more romantic. It was perfect. Food was excellent, but the service was even better! James was our server. Would request him again next time. If you like Irish Whiskey, this place has nearly 100 different ones to try.

Tags: Fun, Live Music, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great place all around for drinks and good food. Had a great time for dinner with friends.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Fantastic meal!!! What an incredible meal. My husband and I had the shepherd's pie and our daughter had the corned beef and cabbage sandwich, all was amazing! Then finished with the sticky toffee cake with Irish coffee recommended by our sweet waitress. Perfect meal before heading out of town! We will be back next time we visit NOLA.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Ended up at the Irish House for the first time on Thanksgiving when our long-held reservations got canceled elsewhere. Turned out to be a pretty good save. Casual but very pleasant meal. Special note of our very competent and friendly waitress, Brianna.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This place has great ambience and is the perfect pub. The staff is warm and friendly. Great place and always visit when visiting my son at Tulane

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Expectations were blown way out of the water. Food was incredible. Service was personable, welcoming, and appreciative. Had just an all around wonderful experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Always a wonderful experience. We have been there on numerous occasions and they consistently impress us. I am Gluten Free. Chef Matt has a wonderful gluten free selection.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Well, after reading reviews we booked a reservation for our party of 9. After 3 different server changes we received our food. Very disappointed is how I would describe it. A few of us ordered the Shrimp and Grits, served cold and clumpy. Tasted like they were microwaved with a ton of butter. The Shepard Pie was very bland and tasteless as was the fish and chips. For a restaurant rated so highly, I expect a lot better quality for the amount of money we spent. We will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 11, 2016

We went on a Monday evening about 8:30 pm, and the restaurant was quiet. There were musicians playing authentic Irish music, and a couple of customers joined in the playing and singing. The food was good Irish fare - Shepherd's Pie made with lamb and beef, and a double patty hamburger with a sunnyside egg on top. The beer prices were very reasonable and our server was attentive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We ate at the Irish House in New Orleans twice this week. Each time we had wonderful meals. Their Shepherds Pie and Bangers and Mash is unbeatable along with a draft Guiness!! We highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Comfort Food, Live Sports, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Food was very good. Service was slow. Hostess said kitchen was slow but isn't seem to know why

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great selection of "Traditional Irish" dishes. Especially enjoyed the "Irish Bangers with Mash" and "The Sticky Toffee Pudding" was to die for! We also enjoyed the the "live music" which added a nice touch to our dining experience.

Will definitely make a return trip!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great Gluten free options and GF beer I wish they served GF bread. My husband loves the Shepherd's pie

Tags: Great Beer, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The manager hovered over us while we dined. The menu sounds good but the presentation is sloppy. The good tasted good but again presentation leaves a lot to be desired. It's needs a menu update offering a cross over into American version of Irish cuisine. It's a great location and excellent space just beautiful. Too bad the food is not up to this city's expectations.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Best Irish Coffee ever. Very personable waitress; enthusiastic. Great decor. Generally, a lot of fun!

Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had brunch with the omelet if the day, a Full Irish Breakfast and Irish coffee (regular and jig). Everything was delicious, fresh and hot. The waitress took good care of us. I will return the next time I am in the region.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Service and food were good. Friendly atmosphere. Not exceptional, but we would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 29, 2016

I've been there before. My husband wanted to celebrate his BD there.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 9, 2016

The menu was intriguing and the waitress was very friendly. Unfortunately, the food was not very good. My wife and I both ordered dishes from the Irish section of the menu thinking that would be great because it is their specialty. That was not the case. The shepherd's pie did not taste good. The meat didn't seem to be very high quality and the seasoning just wasn't good. I would not recommend this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 2, 2016

We got there on an off night. The service was quick, food was great, and there was live music (good live music). Wish the shrimp and grits had more on the plate, it was that good, I almost ordered another.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very good food with classic Irish dishes and riffs on New Orleans and Louisiana foods, too. Generous portions kept us from getting to the desserts, but they looked delicious. Loved the cocktail menu, and large selection of beers and whiskey. Much smaller selection of wines, but enough to keep a non-beer drinker happy. Our server seemed to be new, and thus a little less familiar with the specials, but definitely was attentive and gave his best effort.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very nice. Really enjoyed the food. I personally did not like the chips, but husband and daughter really enjoyed them. Their lunch menus was limited but taste of the corned beef and cabbage was tasty. Would recommend. Real Irish food struck my husband as very good as welll.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our second visit during the same week (dinner and brunch) so that says it all--especially in a foodie paradise like New Orleans. The creative chef makes typical Irish cuisine taste anything but typical. The waitstaff is hospitable and helpful. I was especially impressed with the way children (we didn't have any with us) were treated with such affection and respect. Make sure you notice the firefighter turnouts from 9/11 on you way out and all the delightful signs and striking artwork on the walls.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food, staff and music was excellent!! We had the shepherd's pie and blackened fish - both were amazing. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 14, 2016

A big group held the rest of the patrons hostage with their loud and boisterous behavior. I realize this is an Irish pub but we couldn't hear the music or even talk to one another. Food was OK but the noise made for an unpleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 15, 2016

We were a party of 5. All had a good time and the food was very good. Music made it special. Duo playing on Saturday night was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 9, 2016

We sat outside on the patio. It was a very relaxed and satisfying meal. Food was delicious and the service spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The waitress was really nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 26, 2016

Fish and chips was awesome. Murphy's on tap and 2 pages of fantastic Irish Wiskey. Must try the house Irish coffee

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 17, 2016

We came to hear a guitarist, Aaron, Lopez-Barrantes. He was excellentand the corner where he played was quaint. There was just a lot of other noise and the TV playing behind was distracting. But it is a restaurant and that is to be expected.

The shrinp and grits was pretty good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 10, 2016

I chose the eggs benedict for breakfast and it was the best I had tasted in a long while. My husband said I couldn't put my fork down. LOL

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 7, 2016

Thought service was a little slow considering how empty the place was for lunch. Food was pretty good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 3, 2016

The food was delish! The server James was awesome and the Irish coffee with a jig is a must!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Relaxing dinner. Live music was a plus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 12, 2016

They didn't skimp on glassware this year which was better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 10, 2016

The food was really great - was expecting typical bar food - We were pleasantly surprised by the menu! Our next trip to New Orleans - this will be our first stop!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 7, 2016

The perfect Irish Pub!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 2, 2016

Bangers and Mash! Awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 1, 2016

Love eating authentic Irish food in front of an open window on scenic St. Charles. Great staff and unique beer list. Parking was no problem at all since they have their own lot (which is not common in that area)

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 28, 2016

We left before we ordered so this review is only on the poor service. When we arrived the hostess silently led us to a tiny two-top in the midst of 5 empty tables - 2 four tops and 3 larger tables. We're a couple who enjoys sitting side by side, so we asked if we could move to one of the empty 4 tops directly next to us. To our surprise, our waitress said no, but suggested we turn the two top sideways. We complied, but were taken aback by the refusal when there was clearly a lot of room. Not one person entered the restaurant as we sat uncomfortably smushed together. I stewed as the hostesses observed that we were clearly physically uncomfortable, but did nothing about it. I felt as if we were bad schoolchildren forced to sit in a corner. Up until then, everyone we encountered in NOLA was friendly & helpful. This was not the case at the Irish House. After sitting for a few more minutes, looking at a disappointing and limited menu, we decided to leave, although we had ordered drinks. The hostess who stood right next to us for a few minutes was clueless that a couple sitting at an angle to each other, elbows knocking every time we moved, surrounded by larger, empty tables was the slightest bit unusual. If the place had been crowded, we would have understood, but there were at least a dozen empty tables, and we had been seated in an empty section all by ourselves. Honestly, if ONE person had smiled at us, we might have given the place a chance, but when the staff is clearly disengaged, there's no reason to expect anything good will happen. No one seemed to care that stood up to leave - in fact, no one even looked our way, and since we have never dined and dashed, my husband tried to find our waitress to no avail and finally informed a hostess who stared blankly at us. Because he's a nicer person than I am, he said we were leaving because the music was too loud (which was a lie, but better than berating staff for being unprofessional and thoughtless).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 16, 2016

Waitress was excellent, great attitude. Food presentation beautiful

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 13, 2016

My family was in the mood for fish & chips so decided to stop by The Irish House to try it out. I also heard some good things with the new chef - Chef Matt Murphy - doing some good things. Overall, the Irish House provides a good atmosphere and good service with decent food.

We went on Saturday afternoon, and even though it was around 2pm Brunch was still being served (it is served until 3pm). The brunch had a nice mix of lunch and breakfast items so we ordered a breakfast option, the fish & chips and the corned beef sandwich. The breakfast option was good, the fish & chips were alright, and the corned beef sandwich was really good.

The atmosphere of the place was really nice and it provided a nice environment in which to relax and enjoy the food. The service was also good. Overall,a nice place to hang out and enjoy.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Last trip to New Orleans we missed the Irish House due to travel disruptions. Now I realize it was our loss. Served by pleasant & pretty ladies; our traditional Irish choices and everything else were excellent. We will return and highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 8, 2016

WOW, Chef Matt was a gem. Food was great, but more importantly the location and ambiance were perfect. We were able to watch Bacchus and the Super Bowl. Service was fantastic as well.

I recommend it for any occasion...

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.