Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.01mi
  2. Distance: 2.39mi
  3. Distance: 2.45mi
  4. Distance: 2.65mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.01mi
  2. Distance: 2.39mi
  3. Distance: 2.45mi
  4. Distance: 2.65mi

About The Inn at Herr Ridge

Indulge in a variety of dining experiences in our distinctive Tavern Dining room located in the Inn at Herr Ridge. Savor the finest fresh ingredients - bought locally whenever possible - in each of our menu selections. Our Tavern restaurant has long been renowned, locally and nationally, not only for unique year-round memorable Gettysburg views, but also for a creative and award-winning American/French Classic cuisine creating a unique dining experience.

The Inn at Herr Ridge is a proud member of the Select Registry, in addition to supporting our neighboring family farms which deliver in-season food and help preserve our open landscape. We also take pride in being the recipient of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.

900 Chambersburg Rd.
Gettysburg, PA 17325
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:



Dinner:

Tues-Sat: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Herr's Ridge Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(717) 334-4332

Website:
http://www.herrtavern.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Andrews

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Maybe you are planning your wedding, one of the most important days of your life, or a business meeting-- regardless of the occasion the dedicated staff at the Inn at Herr Ridge remains committed to creating the best experience possible for your special day. Our staff can assist in the organization of the many events surrounding a wedding including the engagement party, bridal shower, ceremony, and reception, as well as corporate events and family gatherings. Our property houses a unique, beautiful historic banquet room, an intimate, one-of-a-kind boutique hotel and spectacular outdoor location for a wide variety of events. Executive Chef Raymond Tappendorf can assist in the planning of a remarkable menu, whether it be a pre-designed, or one unique to your audience. Allow us the honor of being a small, or large part of your special day.

The Inn at Herr Ridge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Romantic (10)
See All
Special Occasion (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Authentic (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Historic (3)
Scenic View (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Cozy (2)
Fun (1)
Fireplace (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Seasonal (0)
Worth the Drive (0)
Sort By:
S
187 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 15, 2017

My husband and I found the menu inviting, so we took a chance on this Inn while visiting Gettysburg. We were impressed with the food and plating. The amuse bouche was a very fresh roasted red pepper on cucumber with balsamic reduction. YUM. We both enjoyed the Charcuterie platter and the crab and corn bisque. The cheese and meats on the platter were all delicious, it was quite a large portion even sharing it. The bisque was rich with a cheese slice added on top, which made it almost too heavy as a pre-dinner course. I enjoyed shrimp and scallops with vegetable risotto. The scallops still had a hint of sand, but not too bad. The overall taste and temperature were terrific. My husband had the filet, which was slightly overdone, but not terribly so. His meal was overall very good, if not noteworthy. The choices for dessert sounded DIVINE - a sweet corn ice cream and maple bacon ice cream ... however, we were stuffed from the charcuterie platter and soup, so did not indulge. We noticed some other diners that had, and seemed to enjoy it. We did order the wine pairing for $30. What we didn't know was that the 3 glasses of wine given over 3 courses were actually SMALLER than had we ordered a regular glass of wine. In hindsight, we wish we'd spent that $60 towards a whole bottle. Service was extremely average. With such an elegant menu and artfully prepared foods, we had expected perhaps an explanation of each course: your charcuterie platter includes 'x,y,z cheese' and 'x, y, z meats'... this is your crab and corn bisque, topped with a bit of muenster cheese, which we recommend stirring throughout the soup before enjoying... your first wine is a Sauvignon Blanc from the French region of 'blah' ... just NONE of the elaborations you'd expect from the lovely menu, plate presentations and ordering a wine pairing. We both felt that took away from our overall experience a bit. We actually laughed and felt maybe we were keeping our server from a date!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The food was exquisite, the service was superb. Highly recommend the Baked Baby Brie and the Tomato Caprese Salad, although, start to finish everything was outstanding

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Wine list was extensive, but overpriced. No vegetarian entree. Limited selection of vegetables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great service , excellent food, wonderful atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I've been to the restaurant many times and have never been disappointed. Fantastic food and very cool historical location!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Highly recommend. Food and service were exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Had 4 course pre fixe meal- good value and excellent choices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This is one of our favorite fine dining places. The menu changes depending on time of year and is never disappointing.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 28, 2017

There was a large function going on simultaneously with our dinner, but our service was terribly slow. Food quality was OK, but nothing special. All-in-all disappointing.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Wonderful experience, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We ate at the Inn at Herr Ridge when we were in Gettysburg for the weekend. The Inn is historic, well maintained and has nice ambiance. The food, while good, is nothing special compared to restaurants in the Philadelphia metro area where we usually dine. We thought it was kind of pricey for what we got.

Biggest complaint about Herr Ridge was that it was too slow. It took 2 hours for salad, main course, and desert -and the restaurant was not crowded. Our waitress even commented that the kitchen was being too slow and she had to ask multiple times for our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Authentic civil war era building beautifully maintained with great architectural details. The food was outstanding and the staff were very accommodating. It was a wonderful dining experience in the heart of the former Gettysburg confederate lines.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food and service in a quiet country atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Historic building and tavern/inn. Be aware that the service is in the old style with longer intervals between courses that many current diners will judge as "slow". Elegant times past is the style with time allowed for conversations. Pre-fixe four course was a great value and the foods/presentations very good. Crab cake starter surprised me as it was soft baked, but very tasty. Chowder excellent. The Arctic Char main was cooked to perfection; crispy skin and cooked just to set, keeping the flesh moist and succulent. My wife's shrimp and scallop was also done right, seared and moist. Desserts were basic and very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 6, 2017

First time at Herr Ridge. Took our granddaughter and a friend to dinner there to celebrate their high school graduation. It was a couple of steps up for them for what they were used to. They loved it all. My wife and I had a lesser experience – expectations? First, we ordered a 20 year old bottle of very good Italian wine. The cork was not cooperative and some of the bottom broke off. The server excused herself quickly and went back somewhere to...I guess, filter the wine into a carafe; she emerged 7-10 minutes later with a carafe full of...wine. In my experience once I OK the wine bottle as what I ordered, it never leaves the table until we drink it. If there's a problem, they solve it at the table, or get another bottle....
My wife's braised short ribs over risotto were drowning in a red sauce that overwhelmed all other flavors. I had a filet which was good. The desserts were good and imaginative. We might go back again just to see what else they have that we might like to try. Our ratings are higher being influenced by the young ladies with us - they had a very good time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Very nice dinner and the staff were very attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 12, 2017

food was good, atmosphere was quiet and expected, but very forgettable, meaning nothing was so good that it will inspire us to travel back. Staff was very respectful and polite, it was a really good experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great dinner. Great atmosphere. Great history. Great location. Great time.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We had a great dinner for six with delicious cocktails. Heather was our server and made the evening just so much more enjoyable with her interaction, with humor, with all of us. The food was just plain wonderful. We were not rushed so we enjoyed a relaxing time over dinner. Chef Mike came and visited us at the conclusion of the dinner at our request. He was charming and appreciative of our "compliments to the chef!" We would certainly recommend this restaurant to our friends and would not hesitate to have dinner there again as we visit Gettysburg.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Outstanding dining . Excellent service & food. Loved the crab soup and salmon entree. Would definitely return if in the area again.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The staff was second to none. We celebrated our 35th anniversary and they went out of their way to please us. The waitress was one of the best I have ever experienced. The rest of the staff was also excellent. The food was creative and the presentation was proffessional.

My wife and I will long remember our visit and look forward to coming again.

Thank you
Wayne & Patty Schenker

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

If you are in the Gettysburg area, treat yourself and dine here. The atmosphere is lovely, the service wonderful, and the food exceptional. Looking forward to dining here again on my next trip to Gettysburg!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Have been here many times, never disappointed. The food is wonderful and the bar and wait staff are very helpful . Love to come here and enjoy a nice quiet atmosphere and a fantastic dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Scenic View, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 9, 2017

They were very accommodating when we wanted to move our table we had a nice private room but the chairs were banquet chairs. The $89 prime rib meal for two was unremarkable for the amount of meat and the amount of mashed potatoes and 5 stalks of asparagus. They were real nice but needs some updating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was our first visit to Inn at Herr Ridge, but it certainly will not be our last!! This place is fantastic! From the moment we enter the building, everyone we met was professional, friendly and engaging. The wine list is outstanding and Brad patiently worked with us to find the perfect wine for appetizers, our main course and dessert. Their Prix Fixe was a great value and their food was impeccable. Procured from local sources, the crab cakes and the brie were delicious. We had salmon and rock fish for the main course and both were absolute winners!! This is our new "go to" place. Be it a quiet drink in the bar or by the fireplace, or a night out with friends, this is perfect!

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

First visit. Excellent fine dining choice. Staff was friendly and attentive. Food was well prepared and portion sizes very suitable. Quiet atmosphere and pleasurable experience. Overall a very relaxing evening out with my wife. Highly recommend to anyone looking for a pleasurable evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Service and food were excellent, extensive wine list , we enjoyed talking with the sommelier and the wine he suggested was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing dine experience. Every course was absolutely delicious and the service was superb.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful! Service, food, ambiance. Heather provided great service. Food was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food at a civil war historic building. Best sea scallops I've ever had in my life. They were very accommodating of our 2 infants and our need for a quick meal turnaround. They typically do not rush anyone and did speed things up to meet our request for rush since we had a tour time we had to make.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We were on a trip to see Gettysburg Battlefield and this seemed like good place to eat because of the menu and historic nature of the Inn which dated to the colonial period.
The food was good although not unique. However the service was extremely slow considering how few diners there were. they completely forgot to bring our bread and never refilled our water. The waitress apologized but did nothing to explain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The service was superb!! The only thing is the lady sitting a couple tables away was loud but we had a beautiful view of the valley. Food was good.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 19, 2016

It was really a little gem right outside of Gettysburg central.
So glad we ventured out of the city!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food was very good but it took a long time between courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Our third time dining here and it just as fabulous as the first time. Food was delicious, the wine was great and the wait staff terrific. Great place for dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

A first time experience and a very good choice. We loved the setting, a very cordial
staff, excellent wine list and our entrees were perfect. It was a very enjoyable experience for us and will certainly come back again.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Dining options are limited in Gettysburg other than fast/casual restaurants. The Inn on Herr Ridge is a very good fine dining option. The service was very friendly and attentive. The food was also very good, and there was an excellent wine list. Ambience is white table cloth but not at all stuffy. I do wish the background music was not Frank Sinatra/Perry Como variety, but that is a personal choice - it was not loud or distracting from conversation. Will certainly dine here on our next Gettysburg visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 29, 2016

We had a reservation but when we arrived, although the restaurant was very empty, we were seated on the porch. This was extremely disappointing since as we were following the hostess to our seats we passed by the lovely dining rooms with a fireplace and old world charm you would expect. Looking back now, I should have requested to be moved inside. The issue with the porch is its location right next to a busy road at a traffic light. Through our entire meal we had the displeasure of hearing tractor trailers and cars whizzing by the windows. This totally diminished the ambiance of the Inn. However, on a positive note, our meal was excellent. They have an extensive wine list and our service was good. The prices are fair and the timing between courses is spaced appropriately, if only we could have enjoyed that quiet time savoring our wine vs watching/listening to traffic.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This one of the few fine dining opportunities in Gettysburg, PA and it does not disappoint. The food preparation was exceptional and the service timely and attentive -- the wait staff even offered to decant the bottle of wine. Speaking of wine, the list is extensive and pricing is reasonable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 13, 2016

After reading so many great reviews about this restaurant, we booked a reservation almost six weeks in advance of our arrival to Gettysburg. Unfortunately, our much anticipated meal was a disappointment because of extremely slow service. Granted, we expected some delay in getting our steak for two dinner. However, waiting almost 2 hours -- from our 7:30 arrival until the steak was brought to the table at 9:20 is ridiculous!!! On top of that, the steak was overcooked, dry, and had not taste. My husband commented that he is not certain that what was brought to the table was actually ribeye, because we have never had ribeye that was dry and tasteless. The restaurant was far from packed. We counted seven tables (including ours), so I don't think it was a case of the restaurant being too busy to live up to the standards one should expect at a restaurant like this.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.