Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 6 times today

The Inn at Herr Ridge

4.5
228 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Notable Wine List
  • Quiet Conversation
Indulge in a variety of dining experiences in our distinctive Tavern Dining room located in the Inn at Herr Ridge. Savor the finest fresh ingredients - bought locally whenever possible - in each of our menu selections. Our Tavern restaurant has long been renowned, locally and nationally, not only for unique year-round memorable Gettysburg views, but also for a creative and award-winning American/French Classic cuisine creating a unique dining experience.

The Inn at Herr Ridge is a proud member of the Select Registry, in addition to supporting our neighboring family farms which deliver in-season food and help preserve our open landscape. We also take pride in being the recipient of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, French, Wine Bar
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation



Dinner:

Tues-Sat: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(717) 334-4332
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Michael Andrews
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Herr's Ridge Rd.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Maybe you are planning your wedding, one of the most important days of your life, or a business meeting-- regardless of the occasion the dedicated staff at the Inn at Herr Ridge remains committed to creating the best experience possible for your special day. Our staff can assist in the organization of the many events surrounding a wedding including the engagement party, bridal shower, ceremony, and reception, as well as corporate events and family gatherings. Our property houses a unique, beautiful historic banquet room, an intimate, one-of-a-kind boutique hotel and spectacular outdoor location for a wide variety of events. Executive Chef Raymond Tappendorf can assist in the planning of a remarkable menu, whether it be a pre-designed, or one unique to your audience. Allow us the honor of being a small, or large part of your special day.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 228 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.7
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Quiet
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined on May 12, 2018

I have been to Herr's Ridge Inn several times. The service was horrific this time. I felt likeI was at a hash house. The food was so under seasoned, I didn't even bother eating. I have had good meals there, but it is so hit or miss, I doubt I will go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Great place to eat in historic site. Food is excellent. The inside is so warm and cozy. We loved this place!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Delicious dinner, all around enjoyable evening. Word of advice; KEEP the chef you have! Best dining in Gettysburg hands down.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Very nice atmosphere! The service was a little slow and the deserts were not great, but the main dishes were delicious and the soup was fantastic. There was an event during the time which may have caused some delay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Plan 2 hours.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Wonderful staff..outstanding chef..Had a special table...10 plus restaurant

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Great time, amazing food, and great service! The Brie served with crostini was my favorite part, but everything from start to finish was amazing. The Wine, I got a Bordeaux from France was rich and smooth and an affordable price for a fine dining restaurant. We will definetly be visiting again!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Very nice place. Staff was very friendly. I had yelped the restaurant and all the positive ratings were spot on. Would recommend the place without hesitation. Next time in the area i would like to try their bar called the livery.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Lovely historic property, beautiful dining rooms. Very generous portion sizes for the 4 course dinner. The wine pairings were well thought out and the sommelier is more than happy to discuss the selections and wine in general if you have an interest. Crab cakes were held together with minimal binder and served over a delicate but flavorful red pepper coulis. But the star of the evening was the corn crab chowder. A thin slice of Gouda was dropped on the top of the hot soup so that it melted sweetly into the soup. The soup alone is reason to return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Overall the experience was lovely. Our server was delightful. The food, once it came, was very good. Our reservations were for 6:00 and we didn’t really start eating until well after 7. That seemed like a very long time. My sons noticed a book about Joe Paterno in the lobby which seems out of place considering his history. Other than that, it was a very good evening

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Great restaurant ! Food was excellent and served by a efficient and friendly staff. Will definitely visit again !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Great food-great atmosphere - great service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Delicious, best food in the area.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

This is a classic, almost throwback historic fine dining restaurant with mature, excellent wait staff, an extensive wine list, some creative cuisine, and room to move around or relax. The house is nicely done to mix comfy renovation with the feel of historic Gettysburg. While my wife could have stood a few more beets in her special salad, the food was quite good and I was offered free dessert when the inn was out of one meal ingredient. The English-bred hostess was a warm conversationalist as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

The food was abolutely delicious; some of the best my wife and I have ever had. Just beware that it is a bit pricey. We were there for our 45th wedding anniversary so it was a special occasion and we did not mine the price.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Nice setting, pleasant staff and pretty good food...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 16, 2018

We were the only patrons on a snowy night, but this location is very worth the drive. Food and plating were excellent. We both chose the prix fixe dining with four lovely courses. I had beautifully prepared lamb chops and my friend had perfectly cooked filet mignon. Everything was worth the price. Derek was a great server and the hostess, Diane, even showed us the Inn rooms. We would consider staying there next time.
The table (with white coverings and colored napkins) was elegant. Frankly, I can't think of a single thing about which to complain. Go there and enjoy!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2017

We really enjoyed the whole experience. We chose the wine pairings to go along with our meal course. Food presentation and taste exceeded our expectation. It was a wonderful way to spend our last night in a historic area. We will definitely go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2017

This was a true fine dining experience, from beginning to end and everything in between was perfect. The wine list was extent, the service was great and the food was as good as it gets.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 23, 2017

We went for our 3 year wedding anniversary. The food was outstanding I had the filet and my wife had the shrimp and scallops. So far this was our best meal in Gettysburg pa by far. And we do eat out often and try different places to go to. Tracey our sever was exceptional and so was Derrick the bar tender who suggested a few drinks for us to try. We had a wonderful time there and will definitely go back again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 9, 2017

What a fabulous place! From the greeting to dessert, this restaurant was top notch. We had a glass of wine at the bar and were so impressed that we all decided to go with the pre-fixe with wine pairings. We were not disappointed. Although it is an hour drive, it was well worth the travel for a wonderful birthday dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 9, 2017

Very fine dining. Excellent service. Great menu. Filet mignon was the best I've had in many years.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 10, 2017

Average food and service. Staff was friendly . Good was decent but not impressive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2017

Great food, great service, not rushed through our dinner

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 3, 2017

The food was amazing. We enjoyed a private table in the corner which provided us with the intimacy we desired for our dinner date. Our only regret was not partaking in the 37 page wine book. We certainly will next time.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 31, 2017

Very slow service and cold food on a night that wasn't busy. Very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 28, 2017

Phenomenal restaurant. Great and original dishes that don't disappoint. Romantic spot right on the battlefield. Excellent service, portions are appropriate for the price which is unusual for a fancy restaurant such as the inn at herr ridge. Definitely check it out next time you're in town!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 28, 2017

Saturday Night Dinner Family Weekend at Gettysburg College

Our host was enthusiast, professional and very knowledgeable about the wine offerings. We had a lovely evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 28, 2017

Superb dinner and wonderful service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 28, 2017

This was for Gettysburg College Family weekend - we took our daughter out to a nice meal. It was a prix fixe menu that weekend. The menu had nice options for all of us including one vegetarian. All the food was great
Only downside was the portion size on the vegetarian option. It was a wonderful beet and goat cheese ravioli dish, but was only 2 or 3 ravioli.
Everything was delicious and the service attentive! Would definitely recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 24, 2017

Wonderful place to entertain and to stay. Stayed at the Inn multiple times with late wife, and had wonderful experience. Entertained relatives from Kansas City last week and when they returned home, called to say this was one of the finest restaurants they had ever visited. Love the ambience and history of the place, as well as the courteous, friendly (and not overbearing) service. Food was presented and tasted wonderfully. All in all a wonderful meal and evening spent at the Inn at Herr Ridge. Looking forward to entertaining more friends here in the future. Definitely a favorite of mine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 20, 2017

A quaint bed and breakfast the Inn at Herr Ridge is a wonderful place to relax in the midst of American history. The dining experience is one of the best we have ever had!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on October 17, 2017

The food was very good when it finally came. Unfortunately the service was awful. We waited an hour for the appetizer, our drinks were made incorrectly, and when we asked about our food the waitress became passive aggressive. Even though the food was good, we would not go back or recommend this restaurant to anyone

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 12, 2017

We have visited here before and loved it the first time. He food is excellent. You are treated like royalty. Wine paying or wine alone is perfect, and the owner is very knowledgeable about wines and what they compliment. Atmosphere is cozy and quiet. You can hold a low conversation without being challenge. Worth every penny. Each time we go to Gettysburg we will visit. Fine Dinning experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 5, 2017

We had a lovely dinner to celebrate our fifth anniversary. The food was amazing, especially the seasonal apple cobbler. The meal was paced beautifully.

Service was outstanding. Great experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 29, 2017

Our meal was quite good. The restaurant seamlessly agreed to move our group's table into the main restaurant rather than the less cozy area by the bar. That was greatly appreciated. They were out of one of the wines we ordered, but were able to substitute with a nice selection. Also, they were out of a couple of dishes fairly early in the evening. Everything was good, but nothing memorable.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 27, 2017

The food and. The setting was great- but the service was terribly slow and the staff did not seem to care.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 23, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service. Beautiful and elegant, old style decor. Very cozy for our anniversary dinner. The prices were very reasonable for what we ordered along with good size portions.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 16, 2017

We were placed in a quiet corner, as requested, but then forgotten! No one told the waitress we were there...or her table. Another nearby table was waited on constantly (not our waitress, and didn't look our way). It was 30 minutes before she came to take our order. Very apologetic -- but disappointing none the less. The restaurant gave us bottled water on the house for our waiting. It would have been nice if the hostess would keep an eye on tables to ensure things are moving along. The restaurant was not even very busy. Not sure if we will go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 9, 2017

The Inn at Herr Ridge is always a spot for me when I'm in Gettysburg and want a special and welcoming touch. Food is creative and always special. Service is great and friendly. Plenty of choices with drinks for all tastes. I'll be back.
Never a disappointment!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 2, 2017

A Friends Get-Together brought Florida & NJ friends together. Dinner was great and service was excellent. Would highly recommend The Inn at Herr for its menu selection, service and attention to customer needs!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
6