Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.01mi
  2. Distance: 2.39mi
  3. Distance: 2.45mi
  4. Distance: 2.65mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.01mi
  2. Distance: 2.39mi
  3. Distance: 2.45mi
  4. Distance: 2.65mi

About The Inn at Herr Ridge

Indulge in a variety of dining experiences in our distinctive Tavern Dining room located in the Inn at Herr Ridge. Savor the finest fresh ingredients - bought locally whenever possible - in each of our menu selections. Our Tavern restaurant has long been renowned, locally and nationally, not only for unique year-round memorable Gettysburg views, but also for a creative and award-winning American/French Classic cuisine creating a unique dining experience.

The Inn at Herr Ridge is a proud member of the Select Registry, in addition to supporting our neighboring family farms which deliver in-season food and help preserve our open landscape. We also take pride in being the recipient of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.

900 Chambersburg Rd.
Gettysburg, PA 17325
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:



Dinner:

Tues-Sat: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Herr's Ridge Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(717) 334-4332

Website:
http://www.herrtavern.com/

Executive Chef:
Raymond Tappendorf

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Maybe you are planning your wedding, one of the most important days of your life, or a business meeting-- regardless of the occasion the dedicated staff at the Inn at Herr Ridge remains committed to creating the best experience possible for your special day. Our staff can assist in the organization of the many events surrounding a wedding including the engagement party, bridal shower, ceremony, and reception, as well as corporate events and family gatherings. Our property houses a unique, beautiful historic banquet room, an intimate, one-of-a-kind boutique hotel and spectacular outdoor location for a wide variety of events. Executive Chef Raymond Tappendorf can assist in the planning of a remarkable menu, whether it be a pre-designed, or one unique to your audience. Allow us the honor of being a small, or large part of your special day.

The Inn at Herr Ridge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (6)
Romantic (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
See All
Historic (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Fireplace (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Private Room (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Cozy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Fun (1)
Authentic (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
S
164 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 9, 2017

They were very accommodating when we wanted to move our table we had a nice private room but the chairs were banquet chairs. The $89 prime rib meal for two was unremarkable for the amount of meat and the amount of mashed potatoes and 5 stalks of asparagus. They were real nice but needs some updating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was our first visit to Inn at Herr Ridge, but it certainly will not be our last!! This place is fantastic! From the moment we enter the building, everyone we met was professional, friendly and engaging. The wine list is outstanding and Brad patiently worked with us to find the perfect wine for appetizers, our main course and dessert. Their Prix Fixe was a great value and their food was impeccable. Procured from local sources, the crab cakes and the brie were delicious. We had salmon and rock fish for the main course and both were absolute winners!! This is our new "go to" place. Be it a quiet drink in the bar or by the fireplace, or a night out with friends, this is perfect!

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

First visit. Excellent fine dining choice. Staff was friendly and attentive. Food was well prepared and portion sizes very suitable. Quiet atmosphere and pleasurable experience. Overall a very relaxing evening out with my wife. Highly recommend to anyone looking for a pleasurable evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Service and food were excellent, extensive wine list , we enjoyed talking with the sommelier and the wine he suggested was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing dine experience. Every course was absolutely delicious and the service was superb.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful! Service, food, ambiance. Heather provided great service. Food was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food at a civil war historic building. Best sea scallops I've ever had in my life. They were very accommodating of our 2 infants and our need for a quick meal turnaround. They typically do not rush anyone and did speed things up to meet our request for rush since we had a tour time we had to make.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We were on a trip to see Gettysburg Battlefield and this seemed like good place to eat because of the menu and historic nature of the Inn which dated to the colonial period.
The food was good although not unique. However the service was extremely slow considering how few diners there were. they completely forgot to bring our bread and never refilled our water. The waitress apologized but did nothing to explain.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The service was superb!! The only thing is the lady sitting a couple tables away was loud but we had a beautiful view of the valley. Food was good.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 19, 2016

It was really a little gem right outside of Gettysburg central.
So glad we ventured out of the city!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food was very good but it took a long time between courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Our third time dining here and it just as fabulous as the first time. Food was delicious, the wine was great and the wait staff terrific. Great place for dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

A first time experience and a very good choice. We loved the setting, a very cordial
staff, excellent wine list and our entrees were perfect. It was a very enjoyable experience for us and will certainly come back again.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Dining options are limited in Gettysburg other than fast/casual restaurants. The Inn on Herr Ridge is a very good fine dining option. The service was very friendly and attentive. The food was also very good, and there was an excellent wine list. Ambience is white table cloth but not at all stuffy. I do wish the background music was not Frank Sinatra/Perry Como variety, but that is a personal choice - it was not loud or distracting from conversation. Will certainly dine here on our next Gettysburg visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 29, 2016

We had a reservation but when we arrived, although the restaurant was very empty, we were seated on the porch. This was extremely disappointing since as we were following the hostess to our seats we passed by the lovely dining rooms with a fireplace and old world charm you would expect. Looking back now, I should have requested to be moved inside. The issue with the porch is its location right next to a busy road at a traffic light. Through our entire meal we had the displeasure of hearing tractor trailers and cars whizzing by the windows. This totally diminished the ambiance of the Inn. However, on a positive note, our meal was excellent. They have an extensive wine list and our service was good. The prices are fair and the timing between courses is spaced appropriately, if only we could have enjoyed that quiet time savoring our wine vs watching/listening to traffic.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This one of the few fine dining opportunities in Gettysburg, PA and it does not disappoint. The food preparation was exceptional and the service timely and attentive -- the wait staff even offered to decant the bottle of wine. Speaking of wine, the list is extensive and pricing is reasonable.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 13, 2016

After reading so many great reviews about this restaurant, we booked a reservation almost six weeks in advance of our arrival to Gettysburg. Unfortunately, our much anticipated meal was a disappointment because of extremely slow service. Granted, we expected some delay in getting our steak for two dinner. However, waiting almost 2 hours -- from our 7:30 arrival until the steak was brought to the table at 9:20 is ridiculous!!! On top of that, the steak was overcooked, dry, and had not taste. My husband commented that he is not certain that what was brought to the table was actually ribeye, because we have never had ribeye that was dry and tasteless. The restaurant was far from packed. We counted seven tables (including ours), so I don't think it was a case of the restaurant being too busy to live up to the standards one should expect at a restaurant like this.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Had dined years ago at The Inn at Herr Ridge and looked forward to celebrating my birthday there. It is a lovely, historic setting with a wonderful menu. Our server was outstanding but, sad to say, the meal was not. We were informed that the chef had taken the center cut filet off the menu because the meat delivered did not meet his standards. A New York Strip was being served in its place. I opted for the steak and my daughter chose the scallops. When the food arrived, my daughter was served a different meal. Once brought to the server's attention, the meal was corrected and by admission, delicious. Unfortunately, the steak was very hard to cut and chew. I ended up having to spit out a couple of bites because I could not chew it. The lovely waitress took it back and told us, as a result, that the chef was also removing the steak from the menu that night as well. She apologized and I was not charged. We ordered dessert, which was wonderful. Even though my meal turned out to be disappointing, I was very impressed with how everything was handled. Excellent service in every other way. I would still, without hesitation, return again to this lovely place.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food and service was superb! Seating was comfortable and spaced out perfectly so you had a nice intimate setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Outstanding food
Well presented
Great and delightful ambiance
A place not to overlook
Make a reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2016

A great meal in a Gettysburg-era home. The food was delicious. My son had pasta and I had the house special turkey, chicken pie. Just great. And the Jennie Wade bread was superb. I will return!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 27, 2016

If you're in the Gettysburg area, this is a must visit for fantastic dining. Top of the line restaurant just outside of town. A real find...

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Staff is exceptionally courteous and welcoming. Food is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 1, 2016

All was great even tough a couple from New York tried to listen to us talking and the couple tried to start a fight after listening to our conversation which had nothing to do with them. We have been coming to the Herr House for sometime now and this was the first time that we were verbally assaulted by a couple over our conversation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We celebrated our 25th anniversary at Herr Ridge B&B and dined with them that evening. The area where we were seated was quite nice and would have been perfect for the occasion but for some rather loud and obnoxious diners sitting nearby that were insufferable to say the least. Our waitress was excellent and while the pacing between courses was leisurely, it was fine given the occasion. The food was all very good and a an extensive wine list that overall represented more types and regions of the wine world than is usually seen on most. And kudos to the waitress for having ears that work! We ordered decaf black after dinner and she brought us exactly what we ordered! No cream, no sweetener, just black, decaf coffee! Simple you say? Apparently not! First time in 25 years and hundreds if not thousands of restaurant meals that we have been served exactly what we ordered for coffees!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 18, 2016

The Inn at Herr Ridge is a beautiful setting for a romantic, gourmet meal when visiting or living in the Gettysburg, PA area. I had the garlic shrimp on hominy and corn...EXCELLENT! I could not have asked for a more tasty entree. My husband had pork loin on risotto. He stated that the pork was a bit tough and he didn't care much for the risotto (not one of his favorites) but the sauce that rimmed the plate was quite pleasing when blended with the taste and seasoning of the pork loin. For dessert, we shared an apple cobbler with ice cream that was fine but not outstanding. The most annoying part of our dinner didn't have anything to do with the food or the atmosphere...it was the Sirius music tuned to Dean Martin and Frank Sinatra singing Italian songs. The atmosphere and the Inn scream for more classical or "of the era" music...NOT Italian crooners. And before the room (this is a Civil War era house divided into separate rooms for eating) filled with more diners, the music was terribly loud. Overall, the eating experience was good...the ambiance needs a bit of tweeking to be more of the Civil War era. Service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 10, 2016

It's a little pricey! It was very very good but it was a little more than I was expecting! I was a little disappointed with our view (or lack there of). We were there on Friday night and it was absolutely gorgeous out. I was taking my fiance out to dinner for his birthday and was really hanging on my hat on sitting outside especially because it was absolutely gorgeous out and they advertise "panoramic views of the battlefield." The upstairs roof top wasn't open! The hostess told us it was because they were subject to rain, humidity, etc.... it was the nicest night of summer so far! I was really bummed. We sat inside, in this quiet room against the wall. To add insult to injury, as we were leaving we saw the sun going down and it was a beautiful sunset. Overall, I would recommend it. I would just say it's expensive and don't get your hopes up for having a romantic evening outside!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 24, 2016

Not really ready for prime time! This restaurant has very good food but very uneven service and my cocktail was terrible. Wine by the glass could use some additional selections. Need a real bartender! If it was not for good food and the trying very hard waitstaff it would be difficult to recommend. Wish them well .....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Very close to town. We were seated on the porch with a views of the fields. Excellent enthusiastic sommelier. Food was very good and the servers were efficient, friendly and helpful. Historic location with welcoming atmosphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 12, 2016

We ate at 7:30 PM. Several items on the menu were not available but we only learned about that after our order was placed. The food was pretty heavily seasoned. The desert we ordered we could not have because the oven had been turned off. Service was friendly but unremarkable

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 12, 2016

This was our 4th trip to Herr Ridge and didn't disappoint. Food and ambiance are excellent. Wine service, as we experienced before , amateurish . White wine couldn't be served initially as wasn't chilled. Wine list is not a bargain, unlike the food. Both the quality of the food and the presentation were excellent. One quibble, appetizers didn't have enough accompanying sauce. We heard another table besides ours request addional sauce for thei dish. Not a problem with main course. Despite these few problems, would return and recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 23, 2016

A place surrounded by history that serves good, but high dollar food. I would suggest the steak, and the dessert was good too. The service was very slow and dinner was a bit over 2.5 hours with our party being one of the only ones there. Quality A, Speed D, Price C. Worth a try if you have lots of time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 22, 2016

This Inn is a regular stop for us when traveling north/south even when not visiting the Gettysburg battlefield or other attractions. We make it a point to go through Gettysburg. The Inn is historic and charming. Dining in the old building is excellent. This stay coincided with a Bordeaux food and wine pairing dinner served in the wine cellar. Very nice. If visiting the battlefield, this location is unique as Herr Ridge is just west of and in sight of the ridge where the battle began on the first day, July 1, 1863. The Inn was there and, like all structures, served as a hospital during the three day engagement. This one being behind Confederate lines.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2016

In hindsight we think the server may have been purposely deceptive. She told us soup of the day with lobster/squash bisque with no dairy. I told her I couldn't taste the lobster and the bisque was red. She said that it was the way the chef cooked it. We ate it and it was okay but when leaving the restaurant the sign said the soup of the day was "tomato bisque". Duh Could have been her confusion until we questioned it at which time she should have checked. I ordered a $50 bottle of wine by bin number. She said there could be several wines in the same bin so she checked the wine list. I said this bin number listed only one wine and she confirmed the wine name with us. She brought the wine which appeared to be what we ordered (same winery and name). My husband paid the bill and was not aware of the $50 cost. Later that evening , after leaving the restaurant I looked at the charge slip to see the cost of the bisque and saw we were charged $115 for a bottle of wine...the cost of a more expensive wine from the same winery but different bin. Of course we had tipped on the higher amount. Since we were from out of town we couldn't return although in hindsight we should have found a way. We now speculate and are somewhat convinced that it was all intentional to maximize the tip. Food was exceptional so if you go there just beware and double check everything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Had high expectations of great food, but it was only OK. Lovely setting and great service. Fantastic greeter. Lots of wonderful history here. Disappointed in entrees of tuna and of chicken. Don't let that stop you from going because of the history, but don't expect incredible food.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food is absolutely fantastic.
My husband and I like to have dinner here on special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 31, 2016

Good meal, nice place. Only hiccup, dinner takes a long time, and they don't tell you that initially. We arrived early for a 7pm reservation, were seated right away, but we still had to ask them to rush to get out of there by 8:30 so we could make an 8:45 event in town. Worth it, just plan ahead.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 16, 2016

Wonderful restaurant. Perfect evening out. Recommend for a night with that special person.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 13, 2016

The dining rooms have an historic charm. Each has a gas fireplace and the tables are spaced well. Our waitress was very friendly and attentive to our needs. The food was quite good and the prices (although high for the countryside) seem reasonable to us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2016

Everything was superb during our visit. The weather was cold and foggy and our seat next to a roaring fireplace therefore seemed perfect. We were fortunate to have a dining room almost all to ourselves (we did arrive right after they opened) and could not have been more pleased with our seating.

The food was excellent (albeit the duck was a touch fatty) but otherwise the meal was memorable.

Exceptional service...and attention!

We plan to return quite often.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.