About The Inn at Herr Ridge

900 Chambersburg Rd.
Gettysburg, PA 17325
View Larger Map

Indulge in a variety of dining experiences in our distinctive Tavern Dining room located in the Inn at Herr Ridge. Savor the finest fresh ingredients - bought locally whenever possible - in each of our menu selections. Our Tavern restaurant has long been renowned, locally and nationally, not only for unique year-round memorable Gettysburg views, but also for a creative and award-winning American/French Classic cuisine creating a unique dining experience.

The Inn at Herr Ridge is a proud member of the Select Registry, in addition to supporting our neighboring family farms which deliver in-season food and help preserve our open landscape. We also take pride in being the recipient of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:



Dinner:

Tues-Sat: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Herr's Ridge Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(717) 334-4332

Website:
http://www.herrtavern.com/

Executive Chef:
Raymond Tappendorf

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Maybe you are planning your wedding, one of the most important days of your life, or a business meeting-- regardless of the occasion the dedicated staff at the Inn at Herr Ridge remains committed to creating the best experience possible for your special day. Our staff can assist in the organization of the many events surrounding a wedding including the engagement party, bridal shower, ceremony, and reception, as well as corporate events and family gatherings. Our property houses a unique, beautiful historic banquet room, an intimate, one-of-a-kind boutique hotel and spectacular outdoor location for a wide variety of events. Executive Chef Raymond Tappendorf can assist in the planning of a remarkable menu, whether it be a pre-designed, or one unique to your audience. Allow us the honor of being a small, or large part of your special day.

The Inn at Herr Ridge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Gettysburg
Best Restaurants in Gettysburg ›

special occasion (12)
romantic (11)
notable wine list (8)
See All
fit for foodies (4)
 (2)
scenic view (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
135 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Great food, but......

Dined 7 days ago

Not really ready for prime time! This restaurant has very good food but very uneven service and my cocktail was terrible. Wine by the glass could use some additional selections. Need a real bartender! If it was not for good food and the trying very hard waitstaff it would be difficult to recommend. Wish them well .....

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice surprise

Dined on May 13, 2016

Very close to town. We were seated on the porch with a views of the fields. Excellent enthusiastic sommelier. Food was very good and the servers were efficient, friendly and helpful. Historic location with welcoming atmosphere.

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We ate at 7:30 PM. Several items on the ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We ate at 7:30 PM. Several items on the menu were not available but we only learned about that after our order was placed. The food was pretty heavily seasoned. The desert we ordered we could not have because the oven had been turned off. Service was friendly but unremarkable

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

This was our 4th trip to Herr Ridge and ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

This was our 4th trip to Herr Ridge and didn't disappoint. Food and ambiance are excellent. Wine service, as we experienced before , amateurish . White wine couldn't be served initially as wasn't chilled. Wine list is not a bargain, unlike the food. Both the quality of the food and the presentation were excellent. One quibble, appetizers didn't have enough accompanying sauce. We heard another table besides ours request addional sauce for thei dish. Not a problem with main course. Despite these few problems, would return and recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Visit

Dined on April 22, 2016

This Inn is a regular stop for us when traveling north/south even when not visiting the Gettysburg battlefield or other attractions. We make it a point to go through Gettysburg. The Inn is historic and charming. Dining in the old building is excellent. This stay coincided with a Bordeaux food and wine pairing dinner served in the wine cellar. Very nice. If visiting the battlefield, this location is unique as Herr Ridge is just west of and in sight of the ridge where the battle began on the first day, July 1, 1863. The Inn was there and, like all structures, served as a hospital during the three day engagement. This one being behind Confederate lines.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Wrong soup, Wrong Wine

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

In hindsight we think the server may have been purposely deceptive. She told us soup of the day with lobster/squash bisque with no dairy. I told her I couldn't taste the lobster and the bisque was red. She said that it was the way the chef cooked it. We ate it and it was okay but when leaving the restaurant the sign said the soup of the day was "tomato bisque". Duh Could have been her confusion until we questioned it at which time she should have checked. I ordered a $50 bottle of wine by bin number. She said there could be several wines in the same bin so she checked the wine list. I said this bin number listed only one wine and she confirmed the wine name with us. She brought the wine which appeared to be what we ordered (same winery and name). My husband paid the bill and was not aware of the $50 cost. Later that evening , after leaving the restaurant I looked at the charge slip to see the cost of the bisque and saw we were charged $115 for a bottle of wine...the cost of a more expensive wine from the same winery but different bin. Of course we had tipped on the higher amount. Since we were from out of town we couldn't return although in hindsight we should have found a way. We now speculate and are somewhat convinced that it was all intentional to maximize the tip. Food was exceptional so if you go there just beware and double check everything.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The Herr

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Had high expectations of great food, but it was only OK. Lovely setting and great service. Fantastic greeter. Lots of wonderful history here. Disappointed in entrees of tuna and of chicken. Don't let that stop you from going because of the history, but don't expect incredible food.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surprise

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food is absolutely fantastic. My husband and I like to have dinner here on special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Nice place, but be ready for event dining

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Good meal, nice place. Only hiccup, dinner takes a long time, and they don't tell you that initially. We arrived early for a 7pm reservation, were seated right away, but we still had to ask them to rush to get out of there by 8:30 so we could make an 8:45 event in town. Worth it, just plan ahead.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant. Perfect evening o ...

Dined on January 16, 2016

Wonderful restaurant. Perfect evening out. Recommend for a night with that special person.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyable Dinner

vip
Dined on January 13, 2016

The dining rooms have an historic charm. Each has a gas fireplace and the tables are spaced well. Our waitress was very friendly and attentive to our needs. The food was quite good and the prices (although high for the countryside) seem reasonable to us.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional meal! A great place to dine!

Dined on January 8, 2016

Everything was superb during our visit. The weather was cold and foggy and our seat next to a roaring fireplace therefore seemed perfect. We were fortunate to have a dining room almost all to ourselves (we did arrive right after they opened) and could not have been more pleased with our seating. The food was excellent (albeit the duck was a touch fatty) but otherwise the meal was memorable. Exceptional service...and attention! We plan to return quite often.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service2

Should have gone for the battlefield fries...

vip
Dined on November 21, 2015

We were shocked to walk into an almost empty dining room during one of the busiest weekends in Gettysburg. We were looking forward to a fine dining experience and it just wasn't all that we had hoped. First, the prosecco we had ordered wasn't already cold, so we waited while the sommelier chilled it in the back. (It was confusing as it was featured on their seasonal beverage menu, as well as the wine list, so why not have one or two ready to go in the cooler?) I tried the crab and corn chowder, which was decent, and ordered the short rib for the entree. The meat itself was good, but it was slathered in a quart container of sodium saturated pan sauce. My brother ordered the filet, at medium temperature. It was so unbelievably dry, there was no moisture whatsoever. And the 'infused twice baked potato' beware... It was very much like biting into an old novel full of dusty pages. It was flavorless and had clearly spent too many days in the fridge. Service was decent, food not so great.

food3
ambience4
service4

Some odd accompaniments and garnishes to ...

Dined on November 15, 2015

Some odd accompaniments and garnishes to the main dishes. Too much salt and cracked pepper were on food when it arrived. Asked for removal of an ingredient in the rice and server said it could be done but was included anyway.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

Had seen some negative reviews about ser ...

Dined on November 12, 2015

Had seen some negative reviews about service. Had no problem our server was very good and checked on us at fairly regular intervals. Also saw some reviews about slow kitchen time. Don't understand that issue as it is a fine dining establishment not a drive through. We were there for just under 2 hours and the space between appetizers, main and desert course was nicely spread out, it gave you a chance to enjoy the company of the person you were with without feeling rushed to open up the table.

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience3
service1

When we arrived at the Inn we were imedi ...

Dined on November 8, 2015

When we arrived at the Inn we were imediately impressed by the elegance of the place. We were seated immediately but from that moment on our experience was a disaster. Shortly after we sat down the busboy placed a water glass on our table. The glass sat empty for 20 minutes before our waitress finally arrived and introduced herself. She seemed a bit harried and overwhelmed. We asked about a couple of items on the menu and she said that she'd have to ask the kitchen about them. She arrived back at our table 10 minutes later with a basket of cold bread and a dish of olive oil. We placed our orders with her and it was another 30 minutes before our appetizers arrived. My wife ordered the oysters and when they arrived they were warm. Instead of being served on a bed of ice they were served on a plate of shallow water. Needless to say they had been sitting in the kitchen long enough for the ice to have melted. At that point we had had enough and I politely told the hostess that "things" weren't going well and that we were going to leave. She apologized and we left.

food4
ambience4
service3

Good place for a special dinner

Dined on November 7, 2015

The Inn at Herr Ridge is farm fresh to table. Freshness together with good flavor combinations and impeccable cooking makes this a good choice. Extensive wine list as well as beer selection rounds out a nice experience Enjoy

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A great find in Gettysburg

Dined on October 31, 2015

We were delighted with this restaurant. We dined on a Saturday night, the food was exceptional. The service friendly. This is also a bed and breakfast so the staff there have other duties but we had good service. Be prepared for a slower pace than urban restaurants but it's well worth it. We ate on the closed in porch and it was romantic. They have an large wine list and are helpful with selections. If you want to experience the history of Gettysburg as well as good food, this is the place. The first shots of the battle were fired on this ridge.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service2

Food was just okay. Much of it seemed li ...

Dined on October 24, 2015

Food was just okay. Much of it seemed like it was sitting for a while prior to being served.

food2
ambience3
service1

Dinner

vip
Dined on October 23, 2015

We arrived on time for a 7:30pm reservation and they sat us 15 minutes late. I knew we were in trouble when every seated table seemed to be in the same state of "doing nothing." The meal took 3+ hours and it was price fixed. Was actually hoping for something nicer but the Gettysburg factor won out. Decent enough food but took way too long to serve.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience3
service1

Good food, nice staff BUT it took THREE ...

vip
Dined on October 23, 2015

Good food, nice staff BUT it took THREE hours for the three of us to get served our meal.

food5
ambience4
service3

The food is exceptional but it took 3 ho ...

Dined on October 23, 2015

The food is exceptional but it took 3 hours for dinner. Appetizers and salads came out on time but then we waited an hour for the main course. It was not the servers fault. It was the kitchen. The restaurant was not crowded. Speed up the kitchen.

food4
ambience4
service2

Gettysburg find

vip
Dined on September 25, 2015

I went to Gettysburg with my elderly parents for a weekend of history and tracing some family stories. I knew nothing about this place but it looks out over part of the Gettysburg battlefields and appeared from the website to have decent food and a nice atmosphere, so I picked it. We were seated in the enclosed porch area of the old house, with a perfect view of the fields as the sun went down. It was also very quiet there, even with several other tables being occupied, so that was good for conversation. All three of us thought the pork with apple glaze sounded good, so we all had that. I thought the pork was perfectly cooked, my parents thought it was a little overdone; the apple glaze was delicious, not too sweet or too thick; I highly doubt that in September the asparagus was locally-sourced, as our waitress had assured us was true of everything but the seafood, but it was fine nonetheless; but the standout on the plate was the potatoes Dauphinoise - how can you go wrong with potatoes, cream, and cheese? It could have been heavy and over the top, but was (fairly) light and absolutely delicious. For dessert we had chocolate mousse and a coffee creme brulee. Dad liked his mousse just fine, and the flavor of the brulee was good, but there was next to no crackly torched-sugar shell on the top - a major faux pas in my book. My parents enjoyed the sauvignon blanc they both had; I tried the recommended prosecco but sent it back for being far too sweet - with prosecco, if you don't know the brand you won't know until you try it, so I guess I was just unlucky. The only really poor aspect of the evening was the service - Deb knew her stuff, but was SLOW all evening. We weren't in a hurry, so it didn't really matter, but a nearly three-hour dinner of just entrees and desserts isn't something to aim for. I would recommend this place strongly except for the pace of the service - if you're not in a hurry, definitely give this place a try!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3

Great food - very slow kitchen

Dined on September 8, 2015

This is a lovely old building and the food and wine list were great, but it was so slow we couldn't believe it. It wasn't the servers fault, it was the kitchen. They said everything is locally sourced, but we weren't expecting them not to source things util after they were ordered - that's what it seemed like.

food5
ambience5
service5

Romantic with great foid

Dined on September 7, 2015

This a great quiet romantic place to have a fantastic meal with o loved one

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Perfect way to celebrate our anniversary

Dined on September 6, 2015

We chose to go to the Inn at Herr Ridge to celebrate our 1-year anniversary, and it was a perfect, quiet spot! The service was delightful - I had said that it was our anniversary when we made the reservation, and they treated us to complimentary glasses of prosecco, and all the staff wished us well. The food was very good (I ordered shrimp and scallops and they were perhaps a little tough/overcooked, but otherwise everything was great). The ambiance was cozy - fit with the historic feel of Gettysburg, while offering nice views of the surrounding rolling hills. Overall, we had a wonderful evening!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Off day.

Dined on September 2, 2015

First time I've eaten here for a decade. Took my wife for 43rd anniversary. Had to wait nearly an hour for the food. Despite appearing to be the only diners, a banquet that arrived in a large bus required the chef's attention. The food was good, but not as good as I had hoped, given the tab.

food3
ambience3
service2

the service was not acceptable based on ...

Dined on August 26, 2015

the service was not acceptable based on the fact that there were only a few tables with diners. The prices of the food were too high for an "okay" meal. The flys were a major turnoff.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dining experience!

Dined on August 22, 2015

We had a wonderful dining experience! We highly recommend the filet mignon and creme brûlée.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service4

Downhill and Dissatisfied

vip
Dined on August 21, 2015

After prior good visits this 1 was a bust. Food quality was unappealing, bland and uninteresting. Limited menu choice. Great wine list, but nothing of note to pair it with. Disappointed

Tags: notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service1

Awful

Dined on July 15, 2015

We went for our 20th anniversary dinner. We knew it would be expensive and we don't mind that when it is a special occasion and when the food is good. But besides the salads, which were good, the meal was awful. My husband suffers from GERD and his steak came covered in a spice rub that landed him later that night in an upright chair so he could sleep. My crab imperial was dry and hardly any crab pcould be tasted. We skipped dessert as we didn't want another disappointing item. Never. Going. Back.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great choice

Dined on July 1, 2015

We were in Emmittsburg for other business and looked for restaurants nearby. We were simply delighted at the atmosphere, service and food. Everything we ordered was fabulous. My pork chop was a little dry (as pork chops often are.) We have recommended this place to all our friends.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

THE place to go in Gettysburg!

Dined on June 24, 2015

After a full day of touring Gettysburg or hitting the outlets or other attractions, when you are looking for a way to top off a great day, your search ends with a spectacular dining experience at the Inn at Herr Ridge! There aren't enough superlatives to describe not only our meal (including a visit from the Chef asking our impressions) but the totality of your dining visit to this beautifully appointed and maintained gem right at the outskirts of the Battlefield on Chambersburg Road. This was not only the best meal we had during our multi-day stay in Gettysburg , it was one of our top meals of the year to date.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

Ehh

Dined on June 18, 2015

Salads and vegetables were superb, fresh and presented well. I had the Flounder stuffed with crabmeat. The flounder was dried out stiff. You would think with just a few entrees, they could get this right. Overall the meal was OK. Beautiful historic building, but it seamed like we were annoying the hostess when asking about it. Our waiter was great, he finally gave us a fact sheet on the History of the Inn. A little pricey for the area and menu.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5

A cut above what is available in area.

Dined on June 14, 2015

Sat on the porch. Although the noise level in the restaurant was high, it was very quiet on the porch. Restaurant needs some soft background music.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

The servers and the service were both fr ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2015

The servers and the service were both friendly and very competent. Food was delicious, and when we mentioned it was our anniversary, the server brought us champagne and dessert on the house.

food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect Evening

Dined on April 9, 2015

Was visiting Gettysburg with a friend. We were looking to enjoy a nice meal while in town. The evening was beyond our expectation. The farm to table food was so well prepared. The staff was very friendly. I look forward to returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

I would highly recommend.

Dined on February 13, 2015

Excellent dinner and service - a special day topped off by an elegant dinner. Thank you!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Lovely place to dine for a special occasion

Dined on February 7, 2015

We were visiting Gettysburg for an off-season getaway. We did the touristy things and also enjoyed the music festival that was in town for the weekend. We take our food seriously so we searched farm to table restaurants in the area and discovered the Inn at Herr Ridge so we made reservations for Friday night at 7pm. When we arrived, the place was almost empty, which was a bit disconcerting, but everything was wonderful. The ambiance is romantic, especially if you like historical locations and period decor. While not particularly inventive, the food was excellent and the menu had a nice selection. The staff was friendly and attentive, although we were one of only two parties in the entire restaurant on a Friday night in February, so I can't speak to how they would be on a busier night. The chef came out at the end to ask us how we enjoyed our meal, which is always a nice touch. We would definitely eat here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Cozy Restaurant with Outstanding Food & Service

Dined on January 31, 2015

I selected this restaurant randomly from my cell phone while driving to Gettysburg to see my daughter who is in college there. We needed a quiet place to sit and reconnect. I was starved and the weather was sleeting and yucky. We arrived late but were warmly welcomed. We were led into a small cozy dining room with a gentle fire burning in the fireplace. Only 2 other couples were there and the atmosphere was perfect for quiet conversation. Service was top notch. The food and drink was perfect in every way. We had a crispy Brie appetizer followed with locally grown salads beautifully presented and a delicious entree of opah, a wild caught cold-water fish, nestled into a bed of barley and mustard green sprouts. Dessert was a home made pineapple mint sorbet and a lovely creme brûlée. The total bill was $121 which was very reasonable given what we had received. We were never rushed and enjoyed being there so much that we sat and talked until nearly 10:30! We will be back again and again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.