About The Inn at Herr Ridge

900 Chambersburg Rd.
Gettysburg, PA 17325
View Larger Map

Indulge in a variety of dining experiences in our distinctive Tavern Dining room located in the Inn at Herr Ridge. Savor the finest fresh ingredients - bought locally whenever possible - in each of our menu selections. Our Tavern restaurant has long been renowned, locally and nationally, not only for unique year-round memorable Gettysburg views, but also for a creative and award-winning American/French Classic cuisine creating a unique dining experience.

The Inn at Herr Ridge is a proud member of the Select Registry, in addition to supporting our neighboring family farms which deliver in-season food and help preserve our open landscape. We also take pride in being the recipient of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:



Dinner:

Tues-Sat: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Herr's Ridge Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(717) 334-4332

Website:
http://www.herrtavern.com/

Executive Chef:
Raymond Tappendorf

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Maybe you are planning your wedding, one of the most important days of your life, or a business meeting-- regardless of the occasion the dedicated staff at the Inn at Herr Ridge remains committed to creating the best experience possible for your special day. Our staff can assist in the organization of the many events surrounding a wedding including the engagement party, bridal shower, ceremony, and reception, as well as corporate events and family gatherings. Our property houses a unique, beautiful historic banquet room, an intimate, one-of-a-kind boutique hotel and spectacular outdoor location for a wide variety of events. Executive Chef Raymond Tappendorf can assist in the planning of a remarkable menu, whether it be a pre-designed, or one unique to your audience. Allow us the honor of being a small, or large part of your special day.

The Inn at Herr Ridge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Most Booked
Gettysburg
Best Restaurants in Gettysburg ›

Special Occasion (16)
Romantic (13)
Notable Wine List (10)
See All
Scenic View (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Historic (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good for a Date (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Authentic (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Business Meals (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
148 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This one of the few fine dining opportun ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This one of the few fine dining opportunities in Gettysburg, PA and it does not disappoint. The food preparation was exceptional and the service timely and attentive -- the wait staff even offered to decant the bottle of wine. Speaking of wine, the list is extensive and pricing is reasonable.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

After reading so many great reviews abou ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

After reading so many great reviews about this restaurant, we booked a reservation almost six weeks in advance of our arrival to Gettysburg. Unfortunately, our much anticipated meal was a disappointment because of extremely slow service. Granted, we expected some delay in getting our steak for two dinner. However, waiting almost 2 hours -- from our 7:30 arrival until the steak was brought to the table at 9:20 is ridiculous!!! On top of that, the steak was overcooked, dry, and had not taste. My husband commented that he is not certain that what was brought to the table was actually ribeye, because we have never had ribeye that was dry and tasteless. The restaurant was far from packed. We counted seven tables (including ours), so I don't think it was a case of the restaurant being too busy to live up to the standards one should expect at a restaurant like this.

Tags: Fireplace, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Had dined years ago at The Inn at Herr R ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Had dined years ago at The Inn at Herr Ridge and looked forward to celebrating my birthday there. It is a lovely, historic setting with a wonderful menu. Our server was outstanding but, sad to say, the meal was not. We were informed that the chef had taken the center cut filet off the menu because the meat delivered did not meet his standards. A New York Strip was being served in its place. I opted for the steak and my daughter chose the scallops. When the food arrived, my daughter was served a different meal. Once brought to the server's attention, the meal was corrected and by admission, delicious. Unfortunately, the steak was very hard to cut and chew. I ended up having to spit out a couple of bites because I could not chew it. The lovely waitress took it back and told us, as a result, that the chef was also removing the steak from the menu that night as well. She apologized and I was not charged. We ordered dessert, which was wonderful. Even though my meal turned out to be disappointing, I was very impressed with how everything was handled. Excellent service in every other way. I would still, without hesitation, return again to this lovely place.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Food and service was superb! Seating was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food and service was superb! Seating was comfortable and spaced out perfectly so you had a nice intimate setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food Well presented Great a ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Outstanding food

Well presented

Great and delightful ambiance

A place not to overlook

Make a reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great meal in a Gettysburg-era home. T ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

A great meal in a Gettysburg-era home. The food was delicious. My son had pasta and I had the house special turkey, chicken pie. Just great. And the Jennie Wade bread was superb. I will return!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

If you're in the Gettysburg area, this i ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

If you're in the Gettysburg area, this is a must visit for fantastic dining. Top of the line restaurant just outside of town. A real find...

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff is exceptionally courteous and wel ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Staff is exceptionally courteous and welcoming. Food is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

All was great even tough a couple from N ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

All was great even tough a couple from New York tried to listen to us talking and the couple tried to start a fight after listening to our conversation which had nothing to do with them. We have been coming to the Herr House for sometime now and this was the first time that we were verbally assaulted by a couple over our conversation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

We celebrated our 25th anniversary at He ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We celebrated our 25th anniversary at Herr Ridge B&B and dined with them that evening. The area where we were seated was quite nice and would have been perfect for the occasion but for some rather loud and obnoxious diners sitting nearby that were insufferable to say the least. Our waitress was excellent and while the pacing between courses was leisurely, it was fine given the occasion. The food was all very good and a an extensive wine list that overall represented more types and regions of the wine world than is usually seen on most. And kudos to the waitress for having ears that work! We ordered decaf black after dinner and she brought us exactly what we ordered! No cream, no sweetener, just black, decaf coffee! Simple you say? Apparently not! First time in 25 years and hundreds if not thousands of restaurant meals that we have been served exactly what we ordered for coffees!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The Inn at Herr Ridge is a beautiful set ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The Inn at Herr Ridge is a beautiful setting for a romantic, gourmet meal when visiting or living in the Gettysburg, PA area. I had the garlic shrimp on hominy and corn...EXCELLENT! I could not have asked for a more tasty entree. My husband had pork loin on risotto. He stated that the pork was a bit tough and he didn't care much for the risotto (not one of his favorites) but the sauce that rimmed the plate was quite pleasing when blended with the taste and seasoning of the pork loin. For dessert, we shared an apple cobbler with ice cream that was fine but not outstanding. The most annoying part of our dinner didn't have anything to do with the food or the atmosphere...it was the Sirius music tuned to Dean Martin and Frank Sinatra singing Italian songs. The atmosphere and the Inn scream for more classical or "of the era" music...NOT Italian crooners. And before the room (this is a Civil War era house divided into separate rooms for eating) filled with more diners, the music was terribly loud. Overall, the eating experience was good...the ambiance needs a bit of tweeking to be more of the Civil War era. Service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

It's a little pricey! It was very very good but it was a little more than I was expecting! I was a little disappointed with our view (or lack there of). We were there on Friday night and it was absolutely gorgeous out. I was taking my fiance out to dinner for his birthday and was really hanging on my hat on sitting outside especially because it was absolutely gorgeous out and they advertise "panoramic views of the battlefield." The upstairs roof top wasn't open! The hostess told us it was because they were subject to rain, humidity, etc.... it was the nicest night of summer so far! I was really bummed. We sat inside, in this quiet room against the wall. To add insult to injury, as we were leaving we saw the sun going down and it was a beautiful sunset. Overall, I would recommend it. I would just say it's expensive and don't get your hopes up for having a romantic evening outside!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food, but......

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Not really ready for prime time! This restaurant has very good food but very uneven service and my cocktail was terrible. Wine by the glass could use some additional selections. Need a real bartender! If it was not for good food and the trying very hard waitstaff it would be difficult to recommend. Wish them well .....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Very nice surprise

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Very close to town. We were seated on the porch with a views of the fields. Excellent enthusiastic sommelier. Food was very good and the servers were efficient, friendly and helpful. Historic location with welcoming atmosphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We ate at 7:30 PM. Several items on the ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

We ate at 7:30 PM. Several items on the menu were not available but we only learned about that after our order was placed. The food was pretty heavily seasoned. The desert we ordered we could not have because the oven had been turned off. Service was friendly but unremarkable

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

This was our 4th trip to Herr Ridge and ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

This was our 4th trip to Herr Ridge and didn't disappoint. Food and ambiance are excellent. Wine service, as we experienced before , amateurish . White wine couldn't be served initially as wasn't chilled. Wine list is not a bargain, unlike the food. Both the quality of the food and the presentation were excellent. One quibble, appetizers didn't have enough accompanying sauce. We heard another table besides ours request addional sauce for thei dish. Not a problem with main course. Despite these few problems, would return and recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

A place surrounded by history that serve ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

A place surrounded by history that serves good, but high dollar food. I would suggest the steak, and the dessert was good too. The service was very slow and dinner was a bit over 2.5 hours with our party being one of the only ones there. Quality A, Speed D, Price C. Worth a try if you have lots of time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Great Visit

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

This Inn is a regular stop for us when traveling north/south even when not visiting the Gettysburg battlefield or other attractions. We make it a point to go through Gettysburg. The Inn is historic and charming. Dining in the old building is excellent. This stay coincided with a Bordeaux food and wine pairing dinner served in the wine cellar. Very nice. If visiting the battlefield, this location is unique as Herr Ridge is just west of and in sight of the ridge where the battle began on the first day, July 1, 1863. The Inn was there and, like all structures, served as a hospital during the three day engagement. This one being behind Confederate lines.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wrong soup, Wrong Wine

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

In hindsight we think the server may have been purposely deceptive. She told us soup of the day with lobster/squash bisque with no dairy. I told her I couldn't taste the lobster and the bisque was red. She said that it was the way the chef cooked it. We ate it and it was okay but when leaving the restaurant the sign said the soup of the day was "tomato bisque". Duh Could have been her confusion until we questioned it at which time she should have checked. I ordered a $50 bottle of wine by bin number. She said there could be several wines in the same bin so she checked the wine list. I said this bin number listed only one wine and she confirmed the wine name with us. She brought the wine which appeared to be what we ordered (same winery and name). My husband paid the bill and was not aware of the $50 cost. Later that evening , after leaving the restaurant I looked at the charge slip to see the cost of the bisque and saw we were charged $115 for a bottle of wine...the cost of a more expensive wine from the same winery but different bin. Of course we had tipped on the higher amount. Since we were from out of town we couldn't return although in hindsight we should have found a way. We now speculate and are somewhat convinced that it was all intentional to maximize the tip. Food was exceptional so if you go there just beware and double check everything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

The Herr

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Had high expectations of great food, but it was only OK. Lovely setting and great service. Fantastic greeter. Lots of wonderful history here. Disappointed in entrees of tuna and of chicken. Don't let that stop you from going because of the history, but don't expect incredible food.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Surprise

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food is absolutely fantastic.

My husband and I like to have dinner here on special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place, but be ready for event dining

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Good meal, nice place. Only hiccup, dinner takes a long time, and they don't tell you that initially. We arrived early for a 7pm reservation, were seated right away, but we still had to ask them to rush to get out of there by 8:30 so we could make an 8:45 event in town. Worth it, just plan ahead.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Wonderful restaurant. Perfect evening o ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Wonderful restaurant. Perfect evening out. Recommend for a night with that special person.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable Dinner

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on January 13, 2016

The dining rooms have an historic charm. Each has a gas fireplace and the tables are spaced well. Our waitress was very friendly and attentive to our needs. The food was quite good and the prices (although high for the countryside) seem reasonable to us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceptional meal! A great place to dine!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

Everything was superb during our visit. The weather was cold and foggy and our seat next to a roaring fireplace therefore seemed perfect. We were fortunate to have a dining room almost all to ourselves (we did arrive right after they opened) and could not have been more pleased with our seating.

The food was excellent (albeit the duck was a touch fatty) but otherwise the meal was memorable.

Exceptional service...and attention!

We plan to return quite often.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Should have gone for the battlefield fries...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

We were shocked to walk into an almost empty dining room during one of the busiest weekends in Gettysburg. We were looking forward to a fine dining experience and it just wasn't all that we had hoped.

First, the prosecco we had ordered wasn't already cold, so we waited while the sommelier chilled it in the back. (It was confusing as it was featured on their seasonal beverage menu, as well as the wine list, so why not have one or two ready to go in the cooler?) I tried the crab and corn chowder, which was decent, and ordered the short rib for the entree. The meat itself was good, but it was slathered in a quart container of sodium saturated pan sauce.

My brother ordered the filet, at medium temperature. It was so unbelievably dry, there was no moisture whatsoever. And the 'infused twice baked potato' beware... It was very much like biting into an old novel full of dusty pages. It was flavorless and had clearly spent too many days in the fridge.

Service was decent, food not so great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Some odd accompaniments and garnishes to ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

Some odd accompaniments and garnishes to the main dishes. Too much salt and cracked pepper were on food when it arrived. Asked for removal of an ingredient in the rice and server said it could be done but was included anyway.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Had seen some negative reviews about ser ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on November 12, 2015

Had seen some negative reviews about service. Had no problem our server was very good and checked on us at fairly regular intervals. Also saw some reviews about slow kitchen time. Don't understand that issue as it is a fine dining establishment not a drive through. We were there for just under 2 hours and the space between appetizers, main and desert course was nicely spread out, it gave you a chance to enjoy the company of the person you were with without feeling rushed to open up the table.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

When we arrived at the Inn we were imedi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

When we arrived at the Inn we were imediately impressed by the elegance of the place. We were seated immediately but from that moment on our experience was a disaster. Shortly after we sat down the busboy placed a water glass on our table. The glass sat empty for 20 minutes before our waitress finally arrived and introduced herself. She seemed a bit harried and overwhelmed. We asked about a couple of items on the menu and she said that she'd have to ask the kitchen about them. She arrived back at our table 10 minutes later with a basket of cold bread and a dish of olive oil. We placed our orders with her and it was another 30 minutes before our appetizers arrived. My wife ordered the oysters and when they arrived they were warm. Instead of being served on a bed of ice they were served on a plate of shallow water. Needless to say they had been sitting in the kitchen long enough for the ice to have melted. At that point we had had enough and I politely told the hostess that "things" weren't going well and that we were going to leave. She apologized and we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Good place for a special dinner

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

The Inn at Herr Ridge is farm fresh to table. Freshness together with good flavor combinations and impeccable cooking makes this a good choice. Extensive wine list as well as beer selection rounds out a nice experience

Enjoy

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

A great find in Gettysburg

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

We were delighted with this restaurant. We dined on a Saturday night, the food was exceptional. The service friendly. This is also a bed and breakfast so the staff there have other duties but we had good service. Be prepared for a slower pace than urban restaurants but it's well worth it. We ate on the closed in porch and it was romantic. They have an large wine list and are helpful with selections. If you want to experience the history of Gettysburg as well as good food, this is the place. The first shots of the battle were fired on this ridge.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was just okay. Much of it seemed li ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

Food was just okay. Much of it seemed like it was sitting for a while prior to being served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Dinner

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on October 23, 2015

We arrived on time for a 7:30pm reservation and they sat us 15 minutes late. I knew we were in trouble when every seated table seemed to be in the same state of "doing nothing." The meal took 3+ hours and it was price fixed. Was actually hoping for something nicer but the Gettysburg factor won out. Decent enough food but took way too long to serve.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Good food, nice staff BUT it took THREE ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on October 23, 2015

Good food, nice staff BUT it took THREE hours for the three of us to get served our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

The food is exceptional but it took 3 ho ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on October 23, 2015

The food is exceptional but it took 3 hours for dinner. Appetizers and salads came out on time but then we waited an hour for the main course. It was not the servers fault. It was the kitchen. The restaurant was not crowded. Speed up the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Gettysburg find

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 25, 2015

I went to Gettysburg with my elderly parents for a weekend of history and tracing some family stories. I knew nothing about this place but it looks out over part of the Gettysburg battlefields and appeared from the website to have decent food and a nice atmosphere, so I picked it. We were seated in the enclosed porch area of the old house, with a perfect view of the fields as the sun went down. It was also very quiet there, even with several other tables being occupied, so that was good for conversation. All three of us thought the pork with apple glaze sounded good, so we all had that. I thought the pork was perfectly cooked, my parents thought it was a little overdone; the apple glaze was delicious, not too sweet or too thick; I highly doubt that in September the asparagus was locally-sourced, as our waitress had assured us was true of everything but the seafood, but it was fine nonetheless; but the standout on the plate was the potatoes Dauphinoise - how can you go wrong with potatoes, cream, and cheese? It could have been heavy and over the top, but was (fairly) light and absolutely delicious. For dessert we had chocolate mousse and a coffee creme brulee. Dad liked his mousse just fine, and the flavor of the brulee was good, but there was next to no crackly torched-sugar shell on the top - a major faux pas in my book. My parents enjoyed the sauvignon blanc they both had; I tried the recommended prosecco but sent it back for being far too sweet - with prosecco, if you don't know the brand you won't know until you try it, so I guess I was just unlucky. The only really poor aspect of the evening was the service - Deb knew her stuff, but was SLOW all evening. We weren't in a hurry, so it didn't really matter, but a nearly three-hour dinner of just entrees and desserts isn't something to aim for. I would recommend this place strongly except for the pace of the service - if you're not in a hurry, definitely give this place a try!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Great food - very slow kitchen

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 8, 2015

This is a lovely old building and the food and wine list were great, but it was so slow we couldn't believe it. It wasn't the servers fault, it was the kitchen. They said everything is locally sourced, but we weren't expecting them not to source things util after they were ordered - that's what it seemed like.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Romantic with great foid

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 7, 2015

This a great quiet romantic place to have a fantastic meal with o loved one

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect way to celebrate our anniversary

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

We chose to go to the Inn at Herr Ridge to celebrate our 1-year anniversary, and it was a perfect, quiet spot! The service was delightful - I had said that it was our anniversary when we made the reservation, and they treated us to complimentary glasses of prosecco, and all the staff wished us well. The food was very good (I ordered shrimp and scallops and they were perhaps a little tough/overcooked, but otherwise everything was great). The ambiance was cozy - fit with the historic feel of Gettysburg, while offering nice views of the surrounding rolling hills. Overall, we had a wonderful evening!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Off day.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 2, 2015

First time I've eaten here for a decade. Took my wife for 43rd anniversary. Had to wait nearly an hour for the food. Despite appearing to be the only diners, a banquet that arrived in a large bus required the chef's attention. The food was good, but not as good as I had hoped, given the tab.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.