Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.01mi
  2. Distance: 2.39mi
  3. Distance: 2.45mi
  4. Distance: 2.65mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.01mi
  2. Distance: 2.39mi
  3. Distance: 2.45mi
  4. Distance: 2.65mi

About The Inn at Herr Ridge

Indulge in a variety of dining experiences in our distinctive Tavern Dining room located in the Inn at Herr Ridge. Savor the finest fresh ingredients - bought locally whenever possible - in each of our menu selections. Our Tavern restaurant has long been renowned, locally and nationally, not only for unique year-round memorable Gettysburg views, but also for a creative and award-winning American/French Classic cuisine creating a unique dining experience.

The Inn at Herr Ridge is a proud member of the Select Registry, in addition to supporting our neighboring family farms which deliver in-season food and help preserve our open landscape. We also take pride in being the recipient of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.

900 Chambersburg Rd.
Gettysburg, PA 17325
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:



Dinner:

Tues-Sat: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Herr's Ridge Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(717) 334-4332

Website:
http://www.herrtavern.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Andrews

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Maybe you are planning your wedding, one of the most important days of your life, or a business meeting-- regardless of the occasion the dedicated staff at the Inn at Herr Ridge remains committed to creating the best experience possible for your special day. Our staff can assist in the organization of the many events surrounding a wedding including the engagement party, bridal shower, ceremony, and reception, as well as corporate events and family gatherings. Our property houses a unique, beautiful historic banquet room, an intimate, one-of-a-kind boutique hotel and spectacular outdoor location for a wide variety of events. Executive Chef Raymond Tappendorf can assist in the planning of a remarkable menu, whether it be a pre-designed, or one unique to your audience. Allow us the honor of being a small, or large part of your special day.

The Inn at Herr Ridge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
See All
Local Ingredients (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Authentic (7)
Historic (6)
Scenic View (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fireplace (4)
Seasonal (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Business Meals (3)
Fun (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Cozy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
175 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food and service in a quiet country atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Historic building and tavern/inn. Be aware that the service is in the old style with longer intervals between courses that many current diners will judge as "slow". Elegant times past is the style with time allowed for conversations. Pre-fixe four course was a great value and the foods/presentations very good. Crab cake starter surprised me as it was soft baked, but very tasty. Chowder excellent. The Arctic Char main was cooked to perfection; crispy skin and cooked just to set, keeping the flesh moist and succulent. My wife's shrimp and scallop was also done right, seared and moist. Desserts were basic and very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 6, 2017

First time at Herr Ridge. Took our granddaughter and a friend to dinner there to celebrate their high school graduation. It was a couple of steps up for them for what they were used to. They loved it all. My wife and I had a lesser experience – expectations? First, we ordered a 20 year old bottle of very good Italian wine. The cork was not cooperative and some of the bottom broke off. The server excused herself quickly and went back somewhere to...I guess, filter the wine into a carafe; she emerged 7-10 minutes later with a carafe full of...wine. In my experience once I OK the wine bottle as what I ordered, it never leaves the table until we drink it. If there's a problem, they solve it at the table, or get another bottle....
My wife's braised short ribs over risotto were drowning in a red sauce that overwhelmed all other flavors. I had a filet which was good. The desserts were good and imaginative. We might go back again just to see what else they have that we might like to try. Our ratings are higher being influenced by the young ladies with us - they had a very good time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Very nice dinner and the staff were very attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 12, 2017

food was good, atmosphere was quiet and expected, but very forgettable, meaning nothing was so good that it will inspire us to travel back. Staff was very respectful and polite, it was a really good experience.

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great dinner. Great atmosphere. Great history. Great location. Great time.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We had a great dinner for six with delicious cocktails. Heather was our server and made the evening just so much more enjoyable with her interaction, with humor, with all of us. The food was just plain wonderful. We were not rushed so we enjoyed a relaxing time over dinner. Chef Mike came and visited us at the conclusion of the dinner at our request. He was charming and appreciative of our "compliments to the chef!" We would certainly recommend this restaurant to our friends and would not hesitate to have dinner there again as we visit Gettysburg.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Outstanding dining . Excellent service & food. Loved the crab soup and salmon entree. Would definitely return if in the area again.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The staff was second to none. We celebrated our 35th anniversary and they went out of their way to please us. The waitress was one of the best I have ever experienced. The rest of the staff was also excellent. The food was creative and the presentation was proffessional.

My wife and I will long remember our visit and look forward to coming again.

Thank you
Wayne & Patty Schenker

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

If you are in the Gettysburg area, treat yourself and dine here. The atmosphere is lovely, the service wonderful, and the food exceptional. Looking forward to dining here again on my next trip to Gettysburg!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Have been here many times, never disappointed. The food is wonderful and the bar and wait staff are very helpful . Love to come here and enjoy a nice quiet atmosphere and a fantastic dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Historic, Scenic View, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 9, 2017

They were very accommodating when we wanted to move our table we had a nice private room but the chairs were banquet chairs. The $89 prime rib meal for two was unremarkable for the amount of meat and the amount of mashed potatoes and 5 stalks of asparagus. They were real nice but needs some updating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was our first visit to Inn at Herr Ridge, but it certainly will not be our last!! This place is fantastic! From the moment we enter the building, everyone we met was professional, friendly and engaging. The wine list is outstanding and Brad patiently worked with us to find the perfect wine for appetizers, our main course and dessert. Their Prix Fixe was a great value and their food was impeccable. Procured from local sources, the crab cakes and the brie were delicious. We had salmon and rock fish for the main course and both were absolute winners!! This is our new "go to" place. Be it a quiet drink in the bar or by the fireplace, or a night out with friends, this is perfect!

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

First visit. Excellent fine dining choice. Staff was friendly and attentive. Food was well prepared and portion sizes very suitable. Quiet atmosphere and pleasurable experience. Overall a very relaxing evening out with my wife. Highly recommend to anyone looking for a pleasurable evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Service and food were excellent, extensive wine list , we enjoyed talking with the sommelier and the wine he suggested was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing dine experience. Every course was absolutely delicious and the service was superb.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful! Service, food, ambiance. Heather provided great service. Food was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food at a civil war historic building. Best sea scallops I've ever had in my life. They were very accommodating of our 2 infants and our need for a quick meal turnaround. They typically do not rush anyone and did speed things up to meet our request for rush since we had a tour time we had to make.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We were on a trip to see Gettysburg Battlefield and this seemed like good place to eat because of the menu and historic nature of the Inn which dated to the colonial period.
The food was good although not unique. However the service was extremely slow considering how few diners there were. they completely forgot to bring our bread and never refilled our water. The waitress apologized but did nothing to explain.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The service was superb!! The only thing is the lady sitting a couple tables away was loud but we had a beautiful view of the valley. Food was good.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 19, 2016

It was really a little gem right outside of Gettysburg central.
So glad we ventured out of the city!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food was very good but it took a long time between courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Our third time dining here and it just as fabulous as the first time. Food was delicious, the wine was great and the wait staff terrific. Great place for dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

A first time experience and a very good choice. We loved the setting, a very cordial
staff, excellent wine list and our entrees were perfect. It was a very enjoyable experience for us and will certainly come back again.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Dining options are limited in Gettysburg other than fast/casual restaurants. The Inn on Herr Ridge is a very good fine dining option. The service was very friendly and attentive. The food was also very good, and there was an excellent wine list. Ambience is white table cloth but not at all stuffy. I do wish the background music was not Frank Sinatra/Perry Como variety, but that is a personal choice - it was not loud or distracting from conversation. Will certainly dine here on our next Gettysburg visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 29, 2016

We had a reservation but when we arrived, although the restaurant was very empty, we were seated on the porch. This was extremely disappointing since as we were following the hostess to our seats we passed by the lovely dining rooms with a fireplace and old world charm you would expect. Looking back now, I should have requested to be moved inside. The issue with the porch is its location right next to a busy road at a traffic light. Through our entire meal we had the displeasure of hearing tractor trailers and cars whizzing by the windows. This totally diminished the ambiance of the Inn. However, on a positive note, our meal was excellent. They have an extensive wine list and our service was good. The prices are fair and the timing between courses is spaced appropriately, if only we could have enjoyed that quiet time savoring our wine vs watching/listening to traffic.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This one of the few fine dining opportunities in Gettysburg, PA and it does not disappoint. The food preparation was exceptional and the service timely and attentive -- the wait staff even offered to decant the bottle of wine. Speaking of wine, the list is extensive and pricing is reasonable.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 13, 2016

After reading so many great reviews about this restaurant, we booked a reservation almost six weeks in advance of our arrival to Gettysburg. Unfortunately, our much anticipated meal was a disappointment because of extremely slow service. Granted, we expected some delay in getting our steak for two dinner. However, waiting almost 2 hours -- from our 7:30 arrival until the steak was brought to the table at 9:20 is ridiculous!!! On top of that, the steak was overcooked, dry, and had not taste. My husband commented that he is not certain that what was brought to the table was actually ribeye, because we have never had ribeye that was dry and tasteless. The restaurant was far from packed. We counted seven tables (including ours), so I don't think it was a case of the restaurant being too busy to live up to the standards one should expect at a restaurant like this.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Had dined years ago at The Inn at Herr Ridge and looked forward to celebrating my birthday there. It is a lovely, historic setting with a wonderful menu. Our server was outstanding but, sad to say, the meal was not. We were informed that the chef had taken the center cut filet off the menu because the meat delivered did not meet his standards. A New York Strip was being served in its place. I opted for the steak and my daughter chose the scallops. When the food arrived, my daughter was served a different meal. Once brought to the server's attention, the meal was corrected and by admission, delicious. Unfortunately, the steak was very hard to cut and chew. I ended up having to spit out a couple of bites because I could not chew it. The lovely waitress took it back and told us, as a result, that the chef was also removing the steak from the menu that night as well. She apologized and I was not charged. We ordered dessert, which was wonderful. Even though my meal turned out to be disappointing, I was very impressed with how everything was handled. Excellent service in every other way. I would still, without hesitation, return again to this lovely place.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food and service was superb! Seating was comfortable and spaced out perfectly so you had a nice intimate setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Outstanding food
Well presented
Great and delightful ambiance
A place not to overlook
Make a reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2016

A great meal in a Gettysburg-era home. The food was delicious. My son had pasta and I had the house special turkey, chicken pie. Just great. And the Jennie Wade bread was superb. I will return!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 27, 2016

If you're in the Gettysburg area, this is a must visit for fantastic dining. Top of the line restaurant just outside of town. A real find...

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Staff is exceptionally courteous and welcoming. Food is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 1, 2016

All was great even tough a couple from New York tried to listen to us talking and the couple tried to start a fight after listening to our conversation which had nothing to do with them. We have been coming to the Herr House for sometime now and this was the first time that we were verbally assaulted by a couple over our conversation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We celebrated our 25th anniversary at Herr Ridge B&B and dined with them that evening. The area where we were seated was quite nice and would have been perfect for the occasion but for some rather loud and obnoxious diners sitting nearby that were insufferable to say the least. Our waitress was excellent and while the pacing between courses was leisurely, it was fine given the occasion. The food was all very good and a an extensive wine list that overall represented more types and regions of the wine world than is usually seen on most. And kudos to the waitress for having ears that work! We ordered decaf black after dinner and she brought us exactly what we ordered! No cream, no sweetener, just black, decaf coffee! Simple you say? Apparently not! First time in 25 years and hundreds if not thousands of restaurant meals that we have been served exactly what we ordered for coffees!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 18, 2016

The Inn at Herr Ridge is a beautiful setting for a romantic, gourmet meal when visiting or living in the Gettysburg, PA area. I had the garlic shrimp on hominy and corn...EXCELLENT! I could not have asked for a more tasty entree. My husband had pork loin on risotto. He stated that the pork was a bit tough and he didn't care much for the risotto (not one of his favorites) but the sauce that rimmed the plate was quite pleasing when blended with the taste and seasoning of the pork loin. For dessert, we shared an apple cobbler with ice cream that was fine but not outstanding. The most annoying part of our dinner didn't have anything to do with the food or the atmosphere...it was the Sirius music tuned to Dean Martin and Frank Sinatra singing Italian songs. The atmosphere and the Inn scream for more classical or "of the era" music...NOT Italian crooners. And before the room (this is a Civil War era house divided into separate rooms for eating) filled with more diners, the music was terribly loud. Overall, the eating experience was good...the ambiance needs a bit of tweeking to be more of the Civil War era. Service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 10, 2016

It's a little pricey! It was very very good but it was a little more than I was expecting! I was a little disappointed with our view (or lack there of). We were there on Friday night and it was absolutely gorgeous out. I was taking my fiance out to dinner for his birthday and was really hanging on my hat on sitting outside especially because it was absolutely gorgeous out and they advertise "panoramic views of the battlefield." The upstairs roof top wasn't open! The hostess told us it was because they were subject to rain, humidity, etc.... it was the nicest night of summer so far! I was really bummed. We sat inside, in this quiet room against the wall. To add insult to injury, as we were leaving we saw the sun going down and it was a beautiful sunset. Overall, I would recommend it. I would just say it's expensive and don't get your hopes up for having a romantic evening outside!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 24, 2016

Not really ready for prime time! This restaurant has very good food but very uneven service and my cocktail was terrible. Wine by the glass could use some additional selections. Need a real bartender! If it was not for good food and the trying very hard waitstaff it would be difficult to recommend. Wish them well .....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Very close to town. We were seated on the porch with a views of the fields. Excellent enthusiastic sommelier. Food was very good and the servers were efficient, friendly and helpful. Historic location with welcoming atmosphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.