Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.62mi

About The Industry

Located on the corner of Moyamensing and Reed streets in Pennsport, The Industry has a distinctive menu featuring homemade, contemporary American cuisine in a comfortable, unique atmosphere. Craft beer, specialty cocktails and a thoughtful wine list compliment the food to create a relaxing and enjoyable experience. We keep several tables available for walk-in guests.

1401 East Moyamensing Ave
Philadelphia, PA 19147
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday through Thursday 4pm - Midnight, Friday & Saturday 4pm - 1am

Cross Street:
Reed

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 271-9500

Website:
http://www.theindustrybar.com/

Entertainment:
Quizzo on Thursdays, 6:30pm - 8:30pm.

Parking Details:
Street parking readily available.

Public Transit:
57 Bus stops outside the front door.

Executive Chef:
Bryan Burger

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

The Industry Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (7)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Comfort Food (4)
See All
Bar Seating (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Authentic (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
119 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Great food. The Mac & Cheese Croquettes are to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Great night. special fish blt was perfect. Old fashion was excellent. We are the "TheBarReview" and we recommend the Industry!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The new menu is excellent. The Industry Burger is one of the best in the City. Great selection of IPAs. The bartender, Sherlock makes everyone feel at home! We are "TheBarReview" and we highly recommend the Industry!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 19, 2017

They easily sat our group of 15 and everything was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Industry Burger was excellent as usual as were the fries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Although the connection to Open Table was not working, we were seated quickly- the service and food were great

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Great find! Just moved back to Philly area after several years, never heard of this place before, not sure how long it's been there. Looked on Open table for a place in South Philly to stop after pick up at airport. The more obvious Italian places were mostly booked at the hour we wanted to go, probably due to events in the nearby sports complex. Just came across this listing and decided to try it and glad I did. Excellent corner bar with more upscale drinks and food than I would have expected. Gastropub sort of. Nice happy hour specials too, great craft beer selection, excellent burger. Would definitely go back if in the vicinity.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 17, 2017

dinner outside. Had the Industry burger. Excellent!!! Old Fashion was perfect. Wife has the watermelon and feta salad...Perfect!
For Philly's best Bars & Restaurants we are "TheBarReview"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Best place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Had lunch at The Industry for Father's Day with a group of 5 and it was awesome. Our waitresses name was Eryn and she was fabulous. Very friendly and attentive and made sure we were enjoying ourselves and our food. I highly recommend this place and this waitress.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Really enjoy all that The Industry offers - casual yet sophisticated; special yet relaxed. Highly recommend. 💋💘

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Casual, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My boyfriend and I wanted to grab a bite after seeing a movie, and he found The Industry on Yelp. We figured it was worth a shot and we were right. The atmosphere was great and the food was delicious. Portion sizes are hearty and I highly recommend the mac'n'cheese croquettes. I would definitely come back here!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our second visit and once again, we were not disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Fun noisy lively place. Service was great and a very friendly atmosphere

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Amazing brunch and great coffee

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food and drinks were good and waitress was very nice . Overall good experience !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food was phenomenal. We sat outside and the weather the perfect. Our server was very attentive and took great care of us. Definitely recommend for lunch/brunch!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Amazing food! Fun creative menu! Been a few times- still great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Went in on a whim for Sunday Brunch. Excellent menu choices; lots of options, specials from 2-4. We had the Breakfast Quesadillas, The Hash (short rib, yum!), and really amazing hushpuppies! Great drinks! We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Went for brunch - food was excellent. Highly recommend the doughnuts, brûléed grapefruit, crabcake benedict, and veggie scramble. Friendly staff and good service. Definitely worth a try!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food did not agree with me. Too rich. Nothing on the menu that was a standard meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great spot for food and drink. Foods always good, service is great. All around great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

3 of us girls went to the industry for Valentines Day dinner. We wanted to go someplace where we could easily park, so that's what made our choice. We were pleasantly surprised by the food.

The mussels were some of the best ever, the sauce was flavorful & laced with shallot! The beet & goat cheese salad was delicious, the short rib perogies were good, but we couldn't taste short rib, just potato. The horseradish creme fraiche that came with it was very good, as were our burgers. Our server was very good & congenial.

A few points of criticism... 2 of us asked for side salads with ranch instead of fries. Our salads were 'chopped' & coated with what tasted like sour cream mixed with mayo & white pepper, so not very good.

The only other thing we didn't care for were the glasses used by the bar. The used 1 glass for champagne & martinis. The glasses resemble old fashioned champagne glasses, but very small, maybe 3 oz. which didn't give me much champagne or my friends a full size Martini, but were priced as though they did.

Other than that we enjoyed our dinner very much, although we wish the menu was a little larger, the entree choices are very limited.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Hungover cured

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Good burger and fried chicken sandwich, excellent happy hour specials. Neighborhood joint feel but completely appropriate for a date or nice night out. Loved it. We were not rushed at all.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great brunch spot. Made a reservation and was seated promptly. Came with wife and two kids, 11 and 14. Wait staff very pleasant and accomodating. Ran into trouble with dishes being significantly delayed from kitchen due to a 23-top in middle of restaurant, but before we could complain, waitress came to table, acknowledged the delay, and took care of us. Rare to find these days. Food was outstanding when it arrived and flavors were as advertised. Drinks were not too sweet and tasty. Nice beer list. A bit noisy and a small bathroom, but to be expected in refurbished neighborhood corner property. We will definitely keep this in our brunch rotation.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The noise level is deafening, the burger made mcDonalds look good, mussels tiny& tasteless.. we couldn't wait to leave.. it's strictly a neighborhood place & alarms should go off for anyone over the age of 25... we were

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing but our service was horrible. We came in around 8-9pm ish when the restaurant wasn't that busy and there were 3 server on the floor. We got seated and got our drinks. When we was ready to place our orders, it took 15-20minutes for our server to come to us. Keep in mind that it was not busy at all. There was literally only 3-4 tables at that time. Over all the food was great but service was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Went with my BF. We go out a lot.. grab some drinks & eat. I live about 5 blocks away never went until recently for drinks before a party. Went tonight, food was great,waitress was sweet, wasn't rushed out, food pace between apps and entree was just right so we could enjoy our drinks. Great Friday night dinner spot!! Especially for couples --Will be returning soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Good late night option. Does a strong job with the basics and has an attractive interior. A good addition to the bar and grill scene n South Philly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Had a great time here. Hostess was able to seat my party of six quickly. The food was delicious and the portions were generous. The Ghost Mary cocktail was fantastic.

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Beer, service and ambiance were good... food, on the other hand, while well conceptualized, was not very well executed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our food was delish! Kids and hubster loved the burgers, the special was a braised short rib over sweet mashed potatoes (so good), doughnuts were tasty and the beer was cold!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The service was excellent - friendly and helpful! There was a good selection of draft beers and interesting cocktails. The food was excellent and the menu was eclectic with both small and large plates offered, including a variety of salads. The fried chocolate chip donuts were amazing, a must when dining there! Will return to taste additional menu items, and also for the donuts!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Fun, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Enjoyed our evening. Our sons phone was charging and accidentally used by an employee to send an inappropriate photograph. It was immediately brought to my sons attention so he could delete it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The best shrimp & grits in Philadelphia!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The Industry is our goto place when we are craving a burger. We dine out often, and in our opinion theirs is the best burger in the city. It's just the right size, very tasty, and the Nueske's bacon as an addition makes it absolutely perfect. The accompanying fries are hot, crispy on the outside, and creamy on the inside. Excellent draft beer choices. Lovely soups. Great sandwiches and entrees. The only thing I find lacking is the salad choices. Highly recommend this place. Go early if you are hoping to sit at the bar.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

All the food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Food, drinks, service, and atmosphere were all a hit-- I'll definitely be back!

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 31, 2016

I never thought PHO from a bar would be delicious. It was amazing. The beer selection is great. The service is awesome . By far one of the best bars I've been to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.