Permanently Closed - The Industry

4.5
126 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Vibrant Bar Scene

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Located on the corner of Moyamensing and Reed streets in Pennsport, The Industry has a distinctive menu featuring homemade, contemporary American cuisine in a comfortable, unique atmosphere. Craft beer, specialty cocktails and a thoughtful wine list compliment the food to create a relaxing and enjoyable experience. We keep several tables available for walk-in guests.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday through Thursday 4pm - Midnight, Friday & Saturday 4pm - 1am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(215) 271-9500
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Bryan Burger
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Reed
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Street parking readily available.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
57 Bus stops outside the front door.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Quizzo on Thursdays, 6:30pm - 8:30pm.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 126 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.5based on all time ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.3
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on November 13, 2017

Went here for their Monday night Burgers and Bubbles special. The food was great, and the service was absolutely incredible. Can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 3, 2017

Had a great experience, food was awesome, beer menu had a ton of big beers, the music selection was spot on. I'll be back

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 28, 2017

We were delighted with this neighborhood find for our pre-party dinner on a Saturday evening. Clean, casual, updated menu, nice wine, pleasant servers. A plus was outside seating under heaters in late October. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 20, 2017

Always a great time.... favorite local hangout. Industry Burger is best in Philly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 11, 2017

Great service, food was very good and great place to have night out!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 8, 2017

Fantastic service and fantastic food. Would definitely go again. Was tough to decide as so much looked appealing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 23, 2017

Great food. The Mac & Cheese Croquettes are to die for.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 30, 2017

Great night. special fish blt was perfect. Old fashion was excellent. We are the "TheBarReview" and we recommend the Industry!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2017

The new menu is excellent. The Industry Burger is one of the best in the City. Great selection of IPAs. The bartender, Sherlock makes everyone feel at home! We are "TheBarReview" and we highly recommend the Industry!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2017

They easily sat our group of 15 and everything was delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 12, 2017

Industry Burger was excellent as usual as were the fries.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 29, 2017

Although the connection to Open Table was not working, we were seated quickly- the service and food were great

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 19, 2017

Great find! Just moved back to Philly area after several years, never heard of this place before, not sure how long it's been there. Looked on Open table for a place in South Philly to stop after pick up at airport. The more obvious Italian places were mostly booked at the hour we wanted to go, probably due to events in the nearby sports complex. Just came across this listing and decided to try it and glad I did. Excellent corner bar with more upscale drinks and food than I would have expected. Gastropub sort of. Nice happy hour specials too, great craft beer selection, excellent burger. Would definitely go back if in the vicinity.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 16, 2017

dinner outside. Had the Industry burger. Excellent!!! Old Fashion was perfect. Wife has the watermelon and feta salad...Perfect!
For Philly's best Bars & Restaurants we are "TheBarReview"

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 15, 2017

Best place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 18, 2017

Had lunch at The Industry for Father's Day with a group of 5 and it was awesome. Our waitresses name was Eryn and she was fabulous. Very friendly and attentive and made sure we were enjoying ourselves and our food. I highly recommend this place and this waitress.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2017

Really enjoy all that The Industry offers - casual yet sophisticated; special yet relaxed. Highly recommend. 💋💘

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2017

My boyfriend and I wanted to grab a bite after seeing a movie, and he found The Industry on Yelp. We figured it was worth a shot and we were right. The atmosphere was great and the food was delicious. Portion sizes are hearty and I highly recommend the mac'n'cheese croquettes. I would definitely come back here!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2017

Our second visit and once again, we were not disappointed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2017

Fun noisy lively place. Service was great and a very friendly atmosphere

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2017

Amazing brunch and great coffee

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2017

Food and drinks were good and waitress was very nice . Overall good experience !

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 9, 2017

The food was phenomenal. We sat outside and the weather the perfect. Our server was very attentive and took great care of us. Definitely recommend for lunch/brunch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2017

Amazing food! Fun creative menu! Been a few times- still great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2017

Went in on a whim for Sunday Brunch. Excellent menu choices; lots of options, specials from 2-4. We had the Breakfast Quesadillas, The Hash (short rib, yum!), and really amazing hushpuppies! Great drinks! We'll be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2017

Went for brunch - food was excellent. Highly recommend the doughnuts, brûléed grapefruit, crabcake benedict, and veggie scramble. Friendly staff and good service. Definitely worth a try!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 26, 2017

Food did not agree with me. Too rich. Nothing on the menu that was a standard meal

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2017

Great spot for food and drink. Foods always good, service is great. All around great place

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2017

3 of us girls went to the industry for Valentines Day dinner. We wanted to go someplace where we could easily park, so that's what made our choice. We were pleasantly surprised by the food.

The mussels were some of the best ever, the sauce was flavorful & laced with shallot! The beet & goat cheese salad was delicious, the short rib perogies were good, but we couldn't taste short rib, just potato. The horseradish creme fraiche that came with it was very good, as were our burgers. Our server was very good & congenial.

A few points of criticism... 2 of us asked for side salads with ranch instead of fries. Our salads were 'chopped' & coated with what tasted like sour cream mixed with mayo & white pepper, so not very good.

The only other thing we didn't care for were the glasses used by the bar. The used 1 glass for champagne & martinis. The glasses resemble old fashioned champagne glasses, but very small, maybe 3 oz. which didn't give me much champagne or my friends a full size Martini, but were priced as though they did.

Other than that we enjoyed our dinner very much, although we wish the menu was a little larger, the entree choices are very limited.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 5, 2017

Hungover cured

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 30, 2017

Good burger and fried chicken sandwich, excellent happy hour specials. Neighborhood joint feel but completely appropriate for a date or nice night out. Loved it. We were not rushed at all.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 29, 2017

Great brunch spot. Made a reservation and was seated promptly. Came with wife and two kids, 11 and 14. Wait staff very pleasant and accomodating. Ran into trouble with dishes being significantly delayed from kitchen due to a 23-top in middle of restaurant, but before we could complain, waitress came to table, acknowledged the delay, and took care of us. Rare to find these days. Food was outstanding when it arrived and flavors were as advertised. Drinks were not too sweet and tasty. Nice beer list. A bit noisy and a small bathroom, but to be expected in refurbished neighborhood corner property. We will definitely keep this in our brunch rotation.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 28, 2017

The noise level is deafening, the burger made mcDonalds look good, mussels tiny& tasteless.. we couldn't wait to leave.. it's strictly a neighborhood place & alarms should go off for anyone over the age of 25... we were

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 24, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing but our service was horrible. We came in around 8-9pm ish when the restaurant wasn't that busy and there were 3 server on the floor. We got seated and got our drinks. When we was ready to place our orders, it took 15-20minutes for our server to come to us. Keep in mind that it was not busy at all. There was literally only 3-4 tables at that time. Over all the food was great but service was horrible.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2017

Went with my BF. We go out a lot.. grab some drinks & eat. I live about 5 blocks away never went until recently for drinks before a party. Went tonight, food was great,waitress was sweet, wasn't rushed out, food pace between apps and entree was just right so we could enjoy our drinks. Great Friday night dinner spot!! Especially for couples --Will be returning soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 8, 2017

Good late night option. Does a strong job with the basics and has an attractive interior. A good addition to the bar and grill scene n South Philly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 7, 2017

Had a great time here. Hostess was able to seat my party of six quickly. The food was delicious and the portions were generous. The Ghost Mary cocktail was fantastic.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 6, 2017

Beer, service and ambiance were good... food, on the other hand, while well conceptualized, was not very well executed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2016

Our food was delish! Kids and hubster loved the burgers, the special was a braised short rib over sweet mashed potatoes (so good), doughnuts were tasty and the beer was cold!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 20, 2016

The service was excellent - friendly and helpful! There was a good selection of draft beers and interesting cocktails. The food was excellent and the menu was eclectic with both small and large plates offered, including a variety of salads. The fried chocolate chip donuts were amazing, a must when dining there! Will return to taste additional menu items, and also for the donuts!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4

Tweets by Permanently Closed - The Industry