About The Industry

1401 East Moyamensing Ave
Philadelphia, PA 19147
View Larger Map

Located on the corner of Moyamensing and Reed streets in Pennsport, The Industry has a distinctive menu featuring homemade, contemporary American cuisine in a comfortable, unique atmosphere. Craft beer, specialty cocktails and a thoughtful wine list compliment the food to create a relaxing and enjoyable experience. We keep several tables available for walk-in guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
Reed

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 271-9500

Website:
http://www.theindustrybar.com/

Entertainment:
Quizzo on Thursdays, 6:30pm - 8:30pm.

Parking Details:
Street parking readily available.

Public Transit:
57 Bus stops outside the front door.

Executive Chef:
Bryan Burger

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch

The Industry Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (21)
fit for foodies (16)
good for groups (13)
See All
great for brunch (13)
vibrant bar scene (12)
late-night find (8)
hot spot (6)
great for lunch (6)
kid-friendly (4)
romantic (3)
special occasion (2)
notable wine list (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
64 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great brunch again

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Industry is our go-to for brunch. And our friends always enjoy it, as well. The food is good, service is great and value is excellent.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience3
service3

Took our college son and his roommates t ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Took our college son and his roommates to lunch here on a Saturday. Food was good but it was so loud. Very hard to carry on any kind of conversation.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were very happy with everything

Dined on May 15, 2016

We came to the Industry on Sunday afternoon at 4:00 p.m. to celebrate the May birthdays in our family. We were seated right away and asked if we wanted a drink. the service was excellent. We ordered apps for the table and everyone ordered something different. we were all very pleased with our choices. we will definitely be back again and again!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food! Sat @ bar and ordered there. ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food! Sat @ bar and ordered there. Good selection of draft beers and mixed drinks. It was Mothers Day so it was busy and was pretty loud so kinda hard to hear. Beyond that, the place was great!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Start - Great Ending

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was excellent, but what separated this from other restaurants was the desserts. We had the donuts and the bread pudding. Both were excellent. Many restaurants try to outsmart themselves by making the desserts over the top. These desserts were perfect. Simple, yet full of flavor and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was good. Loved the "ghost Mary." ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Food was good. Loved the "ghost Mary." Our server was very attentive and accommodating.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wonderful ,loving and amazing boyfrie ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

My wonderful ,loving and amazing boyfriend took me there for a great dinner

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

The Fried chicken sandwich is the best I ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

The Fried chicken sandwich is the best I've ever had. I crave this one.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Just a bar...

Dined on March 26, 2016

A bar with tables definitely not a romantic restaurant. Food was underwhelming.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Before the match

Dined on March 18, 2016

Going to the Arena to see a boxing match, and stopped here first to get some food and drinks. Nice happy hour, good bar food menu, and lots of energy.....NCAA tournament was in progress and Temple lost on a buzzer beater....many Temple fans had to drink their trouble away.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious Brunch, great service

Dined on February 27, 2016

I ate here with my son and husband on a Saturday around noon. We all ordered the breakfast egg specials, which were all delicious! Wonderful breads, perfect potatoes and tasty egg combinations. The service was excellent, with plenty of their delicious coffee always there just when you want it. The environment is very nice, modern industrial style. If we wanted, we could have had a mimosa or Bloody Mary to go with our meal but we didn't. We talked a long time at the table and they did not make us feel that we were overstaying our welcome, which I really appreciated. I will definitely go back. This was a very nice experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service3

Not at all impressed with the food. Woul ...

vip
Dined on February 22, 2016

Not at all impressed with the food. Would go back for drinks.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Love Me Some Industry

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

This is my local spot. I'm here at least once a week not just because it's close, but it's great. if I didn't live around here, I'd still go. The happy hour with $1 buck a shuck oysters and mac-n-cheese fritters is great, the drink menu is great, the menu is varied and has lots of appealing options and the staff is friendly. Thursday is Quizzo so if you don't have a reservation it may be hard to get a table. I recommend the Asian chicken salad, the fried green tomatoes and the homemade soups for dinner and the scrambles, breakfast sandwich and brunch specials. Alo have outdoor dining in the spring and summer.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Another Option in South Philly

Dined on February 6, 2016

Fun atmosphere and friendly, prompt service. I took my 20 something daughter here for an early dinner on a Saturday. The fettuccini duck confit was delicious and the other offerings were very good. The Salted Caramel Bread Pudding was disappointing (not very warm and a little dry) - stick with the Pot au Chocolat which was excellent.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Industry Experience

Dined on February 6, 2016

I really enjoyed my dinner at Industry. I went with friends and we had a good time. It was a little loud in there but we really liked the place. It was our first time there since moving to the city. I had the fish and chips and it was delicious. And all of us had the chocolate mousse for dessert, it was amazing. Our waitress was very nice and food came out very fast. I would absolutely go there again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a cool spot in the city.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, the service is amazing. And ...

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

As always, the service is amazing. And the food is great.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

service can't be beat

Dined on January 31, 2016

Amazing service. The servers were beyond helpful, nice, energetic, and enthusiastic about their job and the restaurant. For that reason alone, I would go back.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience
service3

Despite having made a reservation for 5 ...

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

Despite having made a reservation for 5 a couple of days earlier, the hostess gruffly told us the only available table was at the bar, with the seating on backless stools. When informed this was unacceptable, she offered a table set for 4 squeezing a chair on the end and making us promise we'd leave by 1. Our waitress was friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, kitchen was slow and delayed the serving of the 5th platter for 10 minutes; the rest of us watching our food get cold. Meals were pretty good, but probably won't return.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Couldn't Recommend The Industry More

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

The Industry is our local bar/restaurant. With only a few other options in our 'hood, we're lucky to have a place so friendly, so reliable and so delicious. Even if we didn't live nearby, we'd come here. We've eaten most items on the menu, ranging from the mac-n-cheese croquettes to the lamp skewers to the thai chicken salad to the burger and the breakfast sammie. All range from good to excellent. The staff is friendly, the ambiance lively and fun and the space is open and inviting. They also have an inventive drink menu and it's a great value.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

NYE Dinner at The Industry

Dined on January 1, 2016

Four of us went for NYE and had a blast. Food was great, drinks were awesome, and service was superb. Our waiter even bought us a round of shots which was great! We live right up the street so were able to walk home which was crucial! We will definitely be visiting this place more often.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Very creative and favorable offerings. E ...

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

Very creative and favorable offerings. Excellent beer and wine list too.

food3
ambience4
service3

Split decision

Dined on November 22, 2015

We had one good sandwich (pork belly) and one bad sandwich (seafood blt) that had no sauce or toppings. It was pretty much a crab cake on bread. Restaurant was cool though, we will give it another try. I am pretty sure they just forgot the toppings on the seafood sandwich. Pork Belly sandwich was pretty darn good though.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good!

vip
Dined on November 8, 2015

Maybe because we had dinner early for "The Industry" normal time but it was quite empty. We were there at 9 PM. The food was very good but nothing extraordinary!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4

It was very loud inside. But great atmos ...

Dined on November 4, 2015

It was very loud inside. But great atmosphere and great service. Food was different that what I expected but still very good

food4
ambience5
service5

Industry rocked it again

vip
Dined on October 21, 2015

This was my second time at the industry in one week. Different staff, different menu send duffer enriched and it was just as good on my second visit. The service was outstanding, the new drink menu, very appealing and the food, very good. I ordered the pasta and then was told that they were out if it, so it took me awhile to find an alternative but once I did, the food came quickly AND they were able to make the pasta which was a gnocchi with butternut squash and mushroom. We both enjoyed it (and I went back again, for the third time, last night.)

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Can't wait to go again

Dined on October 18, 2015

I really enjoyed the industry. There were so many things on the menu i wanted to try. Everything we ordered was amazing! They have some great vegetarian options and an awesome beer selection. Our server was very friendly and answered all of our questions about the menu. It was quiet enough to chat during dinner, but still has the feel of a bar/ hang out spot. I will be going back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Industry delivers great meal

vip
Dined on October 17, 2015

I had been to the industry a couple times before moving to the area and thought it had glimpses if greatness but it never came together for me. Until now. From the service yo the food everything was great. We hit free coffee cake while we waited, excellent tea and coffee and while it took awhile the food was worth the wait -- shrimp & grits, a BBQ beef sandwich and a breakfast special all rocked. I'd definitely come back for brunch (and my family can't wait to!)

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappoints

vip
Dined on October 7, 2015

We dine here at least 6 times per month. The food and staff are amazing. I always recommend this restaurant when people ask where to go for great food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

The restaurant was very loud due to an E ...

Dined on September 14, 2015

The restaurant was very loud due to an Eagles game. The surround sound was blaring and the small group at the bar was very loud.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Pleasantly Surprised

Dined on September 9, 2015

This restaurant was a gamble because I knew nothing about it before booking a dinner for me and four friends. We were surprised by how amazing their oysters were and for such a good price during happy hour! The drinks were delicious and the food was just as good.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

LOVE!!!

vip
Dined on July 6, 2015

Best burger in Philly! Maybe the world... And don't forget an order of pig ears!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food, Great cocktails

Dined on June 21, 2015

Great Food, Great cocktails and all at reasonable prices!! Check it out

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

The size of my salad with small for the price.

vip
Dined on June 20, 2015

The size of my mixed green salad with added steak was small for the hefty price of $16. Some added mixed greens would have been substantial.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Ghost of Mary

vip
Dined on April 12, 2015

This is my second time to The Industry, the first being for drinks and apps. We went for brunch on a Sunday. We made a reservation for 4, but it was probably not required as it wasn't too crowded. There's outdoor seating with heat lamps when it's a little chilly (although not much scenery to look at). The Ghost of Mary is probably the best 'bloody' Mary I've ever had. Complimentary crumb cake was delicious, as were all of our meals (doesn't get much better than Short Rib Huevos Rancheros). Easy parking for those that don't live within walking distance. I'll definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience2
service4

Has potential, if it heats up

Dined on March 28, 2015

We had a mixed experience at brunch. The restaurant was very cold - the wall next to my arm did not feel insulated and the tables are metal. All of the dishes are therefore cold as well, so the food got cold very fast and the tea didn't steep on the first try. The Breakfast Burger was very good, as was the Smoked Salmon Pastrami and Veggie Scramble - though I had to scarf down the eggs quickly while they were still warm. The pancakes, however, were very disappointing - chewy, rubbery, and way too sweet. The table setup includes a steak knife - I couldn't even cut through them with that. Beware of this dish! The service was good, however - our server took the pancakes off of the bill. The restaurant wasn't very busy on a Saturday morning, but it could be very loud if it got crowded. Wear a sweater and don't sit by the wall!

food4
ambience4
service5

Trendy but homey

Dined on March 1, 2015

What an excellent brunch! I was drooling watching all the different entrees come out of the kitchen. In fact we could not decide what to order so we started with the warm yummy donuts and drinks. Eclectic drink menu. Steak and eggs were delish. Monstrous portion. Great attentive service! Will be back to try other menu items.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4

No more fried chicken!

Dined on March 1, 2015

It's a great bar/restaurant, it has the feel of Standard Tap, which is a good thing. Glad I made a reservation because it was quite packed when I got there. The draft beer list was quite nice and they had one of my favorites on it "Fresh Squeezed IPA". The crowd was lively, the server pleasant and attentive and the food was very good. Just one problem NO MORE FRIED CHICKEN ON THE MENU! My friend and I had come for that since it was supposed to be some of the best in town, but oh well.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Well Attended Happy Hour

Dined on January 30, 2015

The happy hour accounted for the noise level in this trendy but comfortable bar. I've been here a few times and it's not always so crowded. The $3 happy-hour drafts more than compensate for the noise and, besides, it's a nice crowd. Very good beer list. I would call the fare "upscale pub." Everything is good, making this a go-to restaurant for me. I'm fond of their deep-fried macaroni and cheese balls...but don't tell my cardiologist.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

new years eve delight

Dined on December 31, 2014

Great service, very good meal, and drinks. The house white wine was very nice. Thanks!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome!

vip
Dined on December 31, 2014

Love this place. Everything I've ever had was excellent (including the beer).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.