Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - The Huron Club

4.2
213 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Comfort Food
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Live Music
  • Fun

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. The Huron Club embodies what Collingwood is all about. It"s a family business that has that family touch.

Every diner's experience is personal. The staff are engaging and friendly, the food is fabulous, and the prices are superb for what you get. Not to mention the local live music (Thur-Saturday nights, and seasonally over Sunday brunch), creating that comfy-cool atmosphere.

It's casual, but yet, you'd be right at home for a special occasion like a birthday dinner or anniversary, and definitely suitable for a business lunch or dinner.

They also have a beautiful events gallery upstairs for functions of any kind (complete with multimedia equipment for presentations). Their patio is a summer highlight and the building itself has such an interesting history and feel to it (as one of Collingwood's beautiful heritage buildings).

Overall, a wonderful place to go for any occasion, big or small.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Comfort Food, Canadian, Global, International
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Dinner 5:00pm - 9:00 pm
Bar Menu 11:30 am - close
Open 7 days a week
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(705) 293-6677
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chris Fleury
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Catering services can be made available Sundays through Thursdays with prior arrangements by contacting us a few weeks in advance.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
2nd Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking is available on Pine St and 2nd St and in a public lot on Pine St directly across from the restaurant.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
A local bus stops right in front of restaurant on East side of Pine St
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
The Huron Club offers live local music every Thu, Fri and Sat nights from 8pm until 11pm. During the summer & winter months, we also have live music most Sundays from 1pm to 4pm during our Sunday Brunch.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
5pm til 7pm every Mon to Thur join us for drink and appetizer specials
Elvisfest (late July)
New Years Eve
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 213 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.2based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.0
service
4.1
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Prime rib was amazing service great unfortunately the restaunt was closing the next day the owners were retiring

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Had appetizers at the bar
Large portions so sharing is great

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Awesome spot! Great food, cool people, friendly and quick service and really good live music! If we were locals this would be a go to dinner spot. We’ll be back if ever in the area :)

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

I Recently had moved to Collingwood and stumbled upon THE HURON CLUB one Thursday night and was very impressed with the live music, the Ambiance, and the food was great... staff was wonderful and efficient and the place was clean. So when I had a friend visit... I immediately wanted to go back there. I found the music very loud. I almost got winded with how loud I was yelling across the table to speak. The waitress was not on her game and I didn't love the food that night. I'm not giving up on the place. Only my personal preference. Nothing wrong with meal itself., rather unique actually. I will highly recommend it still. Although, writing this review and hopes they read it and can turn down the speakers to a comfortable level 4 for diners. With the jazz instruments only. Also, keep in mind not everyone likes tartar sauce recommend when serving fish and chips to have the tartar in a separate side bowl. The plate presentation was lovely but with the tartar drizzled around plate made it difficult for my friend who hates tarter to have a bite without it. Regardless I look forward to my next meal and night out at the Huron club

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

We lways have a great time and great meal at The Huron Club! Whether with our children or with friends. Highly recommend it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Group of 8 and the service was great. Food was fantastic with plenty to pick from. Service was prompt, friendly and polite. Really enjoyed the atmosphere here and will definitely be coming back.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 16, 2018

We went up to Collingwood for an R and R weekend, and found the Huron Club using Google, and it turned out to be a real find. Live music was really entertaining, and everyone was very friendly. Food was great and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a great time, and loved the ambience. We would definitely recommend the Huron Club as a great place to go to for a special evening out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Fabulous. Great service food was delicious and followed our pace. Highly recommend it.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Made reservation and all they had for us was a small table in bar surrounded by children. Menus was uninspired and they let us stand at the entrance before seating us for almost 5 min.
After we saw nothing inspiring on menus we left. Wouldn’t recommend it to anyone.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Our waiter was good, but he had to leave before we were finished as his shift was over. The waitress that took over was terrible. She never asked us if we needed anything or whether we wanted anything else. After leaving us for at least a half hour, I finally had to get up and walk through the restaurant to find her to let her know that we were interested in dessert.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Our food was great and we really enjoyed the live music.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 1, 2018

The meal was very tasty and good value and the service friendly. we will definitely dine here again when we are next in Collingwood.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 28, 2018

The Huron Club is an excellent restaurant for many types of occasions. In my case I work some days in Collingwood and find it ideal for business lunches. Far superior to most other options in terms of atmosphere, comfort, food, service and value. And I find it consistently so.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 26, 2018

The service was great, and the food was really good! will definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Food was good the service not amazing. The ambiance was nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Great. Food

This is becoming too complicated

Just want to be quick

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 4, 2018

A charming place. We went there Sunday evening after arriving in town. It was very cold windy and snowy. We enjoyed watching the snow coming down from next to one of the cozy fireplaces.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 3, 2018

The food was amazing the service was awful! Being 3 woman who work in the service industry we try to understand when it's busy and how that may effect our service a little however our server literally was rude and could care less about us. She started of the night with a rude "what can I get you" looking as if we were keeping her. We shared apps and then wanted to order our entries; she never came to Check on us and we had to ask a food runner to find her so we could order. Once we ordered and our dishes were taken away she came back with one roll of cutlery even though there was 3 of us. Our food came and we had to flag down the manager to get some more cutlery. No service check again. We finished our meals and had to ask another server to please get our bills. She asked if we wanted separate checks. She told our server who was behind the bar at this point, the two started laughing and chatting then she came over and dropped 4 bills on the table. One for apps and one for each of our entres; we had ordered a bottle of wine and she just put it on one of the bills. Never asked us how we wanted it and basically dropped and walked away. We called her over as it was completely wrong. Gave us complete attitude as we explained how we would want them separated. Again being in the endusty we know how easy it should have been to do this from the get go! She truly was an awful and miserable woman and took away from our night out which I came up from the city for.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Food was good. Our waitress was excellent. Drinks took a long long time - especially the specialty cocktails, and drinks overall came out sporadically.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Excellent food and service! The flourless brownie was incredible!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Really enjoyed our night out at the Huron Club. The Open Table reservation system worked perfectly, and we very much enjoyed our meal & the live music entertainment. The Huron Club did not disappoint .. will definitely be going back again !!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Great spot simple menu done very well

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

We had an excellent meal as always. The temperature was a bit high so no need for a sweater.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 17, 2018

One of our favorite spots in Collingwood, you feel at home as soon as you walk in. Our server Brent was attentive, helpful and knows his wines (don't be afraid to ask). The most amazing presentation of fish and chips we've ever seen, cooked perfectly with delicious slaw. The scent of the chicken curry will make you hungry before you even start. Wednesday's are free corkage night, don't miss it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 13, 2018

We had a cozy setting, table for 2 by a fireplace. It was a cold night so the fireplace setting was welcomed however about 1/2 way through our meal, it became very hot to sit beside.
The food was really delish and the jazz band that arrived later on was terrific. The service was good. Overall I will be returning !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 3, 2018

Great friendly service and food was wonderful. Ate too much :)

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 3, 2018

Usually the food is good with an interesting menu. The menu hasn’t changed for a while and we didn’t think the food was as good as usual.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 31, 2017

It was NYE I get it but I’ve worked in the service industry before on many NYE & you really dropped the ball in every category. Very disappointing as I’ve always had a great experience in the past but will not be back. 3 hours to eat/had to ask to clear plates twice/ meat was overdone/like waitress was ignoring us/had to yell over the musicians to talk/too much food was wasteful.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 28, 2017

I had made this reservation 2 weeks in advance for a family get together. When we arrived, the restaurant was busy and we were told it may take a while to get our food. As we were hungry, we ordered appetizers before our meal. They took an hour to arrive.! Tasty, but not really hot. The server was apologetic but it seemed beyond her control. I specifically chose this place due to live music but couldn't hear much because of where we were seated. Overall I was disappointed!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 27, 2017

Usually consistently excellent on this visit the Huron Club had mediocre service and sub-par food. I assume this is because it was between Christmas and New Year. We will go again, but if it the same next time we will give this place a rest.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 18, 2017

We went to celebrate my boyfriends 43rd birthday. He’s very picky so I was worries but it’s a terrific menu! Elegant and comfortable so you can go in jeans (the guys were) and the ladies in dresses. Fabulous service - our server was friendly and professional! We will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 15, 2017

Reservations were made with no difficulty. We came with friends and the four of us are all from out of town. This was our second visit and based on our first visit we were quite happy to return. Thank you for the great service and quaintness of the venue.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 9, 2017

Found the seating by the opening door cold. Waitress was responsive to our inquiries. Food selection was not appropriate for our dietary needs. Food was heavy on sauces and did not taste very fresh.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 8, 2017

Food was great! Loved the ambiance and great service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 7, 2017

Good food and service but server forgot to apply our 10% coupon and we didn’t notice til we were home.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 2, 2017

Food is great but service is terrible, half an hour to get our drinks and we only ordered two beers and a bottle of wine, not very hard, we got our appetizers before our drinks:(

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 18, 2017

Unbelievable, can't say enough great things about this place.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 13, 2017

Busy Monday but even so slow service and inattentive wait staff

Could improve

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 11, 2017

We were sat in the area closest to the kitchen so it was quiet which was nice as we were catching up with friends. The server was very kind but seemed to be a little scattered. By the time we had desert, we were left with no napkins or utensils so we ate our desert with our coffee spoons. No big deal, just small details that make the difference. The Manager Ian, was attentive and wanted to make sure the temperature was comfortable back there as it seems it's a challenge to control. Overall is was ok, but for $150 incl tip for 2 ppl, I'd likely try another place.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 29, 2017

Took my husband for birthday lunch. Was really looking forward to the prime rib. Alas our table was for 2pm and our server told us the rib was not available until 5pm. This is not stated on the specials about time.
The rest of the menu was very mediocre. We chose our food, and then the starter came after our main had been put down! We were in and out of the restaurant by the hour.
Our journey to Collingwood took an hour to get there and an hour back. Will not be back.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
6

Tweets by Permanently Closed - The Huron Club