About The Hungry I

71 1/2 Charles Street
Boston, MA 02114
View Larger Map

Welcome to the Hungry I! Tucked just below street level on Beacon Hill's picturesque brownstone-lined Charles Street, the Hungry I is charming and intimate. Although small, it is quite cozy and very romantic. There's a true elegance to the Hungry I that comes from the surroundings, the food and the staff. A distinctively different place that makes every visit really special.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sun 11am-2pm

Cross Street:
Mt. Vernon Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 227-3524

Website:
http://www.hungryiboston.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking available; also Charles St and Boston Common Public parking lots are close by. Valet Service available nightly during dinner service; 3 doors past the restaurant on the corner.

Public Transit:
Charles St Red Line is the closest; Arlington St on the green line is also walkable.

Executive Chef:
Peter Ballarin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Small weddings and Rehersal diners of up to 34 people welcome; please call for information. Private Room available upstairs and we also have a patio for summer events.

The Hungry I Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (15)
Special Occasion (11)
Romantic (10)
See All
Cozy (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Authentic (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Fireplace (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Private Room (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Historic (1)
Fun (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
449 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Not what it used to be and living on fum ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Not what it used to be and living on fumes from the past.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

for the price, service should have been ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

for the price, service should have been better. Meal was okay, not spectacular, but ambience is wonderful. I came several years ago and thought the place was outstanding. This year was a disappointment.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Went for New Year's Eve dinner and, as e ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for New Year's Eve dinner and, as expected, it was lovely!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For New Year's Eve there was a fixed pri ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

For New Year's Eve there was a fixed price menu for $100 for three courses. The first course was good. My second course consisted of stale, overcooked scallops so bad that I left two thirds of the food on my plate. When the waiter asked how it was I told him. His grimaced and ignored my complaint.

Certainly the place is charming, romantic and otherwise the service was good. But I consider poor food with no apology or compensation unacceptable, especially in a high end restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

we've never been disappointed here! We ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

we've never been disappointed here! We were made to feel like special guests by the Manager, catered to in a wonderful way. Food was very good but the escargot were exceptional!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here to celebrate our engagement. I ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Went here to celebrate our engagement. It was empty except for us (most likely because it was day before Christmas) but the place was very nice, food and wine was excellent, and the staff were very personable and friendly toward us. Would recommend for a special occasion. This is not a casual dining experience and the prices reflect that (although in our case it was worth it).

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Our waiter, Christopher, was excellent. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Our waiter, Christopher, was excellent. He was very friendly and made us feel welcome. Service was terrific; food was just wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very cute restaurant but food did not de ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very cute restaurant but food did not deliver. It was sub- par. I wouldn't return as there are too many great places. When we got there we were very excited because the menu looked great but the food tasted bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Great deco, amazing staff, good selectio ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Great deco, amazing staff, good selection of wines

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Awful food, awful wine, annoying waiter. ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Awful food, awful wine, annoying waiter. The only thing going for it is the ambience (which was ruined by the waiter's intrusive talk). We used to love this place but our dining experience a week and a half ago will be the last time we will set foot in this place. The $300+ we paid for dinner for three was a total ripoff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

One of the most intimate , amazing Frenc ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 30, 2016

One of the most intimate , amazing French restaurants I have experienced outside of Paris .

Our host was amazing , the dinner was superb and we were made to feel as though we were dining with family .

CHEERS !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Hungry I is outstanding. Food, serv ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The Hungry I is outstanding. Food, service and ambiance were great. Thanks Chris for a great meal and evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really nice place for a romantic dinner ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Really nice place for a romantic dinner in my opinion or to have a good chat... The only think I saw limited it's the options in the menu.. There are not to much... I was expecting to find more deserts too,.. The found it a little expensive too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A great evening, especially when Christi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

A great evening, especially when Christian delivered the wrong meal to the wrong table! We all had a good laugh! And thanks for the digestif...

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect restaurant for a special evening ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Perfect restaurant for a special evening. Exceptional service, food and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent in all ways - great ambiance, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Excellent in all ways - great ambiance, superb food, romantic setting, historic neighborhood, tremendous wine list, first class service!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have to say it was a very special even ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 18, 2016

I have to say it was a very special evening. Chris our waiter from France looked after us very well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server, Christopher, made sure we ha ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Our server, Christopher, made sure we had what felt like a unique dining experience. He was genuinely friendly, and seemed to honestly care that we had a great time.

The food was delicious, but honestly, it should be at the price. I'm not saying it was overpriced, I'm just saying it was expensive enough to expect great food.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Returned for a second visit after having ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Returned for a second visit after having a wonder dinner two days earlier. You are sometimes disappointed when returning to a restaurant after having a great meal, but that was not the case. Everything was just as good as our previous visit.

Our appetizers were the mussels and the soup special, which was a seasonal acorn squash puree. My husband and I shared tastes and enjoyed both dishes. For our entrees I had the Filet Mignon and my husband had the duck breast. They were both cooked perfectly and served with a generous side portion of vegetables. My dish had a terrific blue cheese sauce, which went perfectly with the tender meat.

The weather was awful all day, so it was nice to have a cozy place to go for dinner and enjoy a great meal. The restaurant has a good selection of wines, which allowed us to pick one that nicely complimented the items we ordered. We had a great meal and a great time.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came to Boston on vacation and had dinne ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Came to Boston on vacation and had dinner at the Hungry I. We were immediately greeted when we entered the restaurant and were seated at a cozy table. We were given menus and a wine list and told about the specials. We skipped the specials and ordered everything off of the menu and we weren't disappointed. For an appetizer I had escargot and my husband had pate. Both were delicious. I had a shrimp and scallop dish for my entree and my husband had a cod entree. Again, both were wonderful. The portions on all the dishes were very generous and the presentation was very creative.

The patio was open for dining, which is a nice option, but we chose to be inside. The atmosphere is charming and the background music adds a nice touch to the experience.

Parking can be a challenge but there is public parking at the garage below the Common, which is only a few blocks away. I think they have valet parking available, but we opted to park ourselves.

Tags: Fireplace, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely patio and great service! The wine ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Lovely patio and great service! The wine selection was great too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely ambiance and old time flavor, but ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Lovely ambiance and old time flavor, but food didn't live up to the steep price tag. sorry to say that, but I guess it was too rich for my taste.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

we returned 30 years later and had the s ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2016

we returned 30 years later and had the same terrific time that we had the eve before our wedding. The restaurant is a unique gem- truly a bit of Paris on Charles Street. The chef owner is creative and passionate about offering great food and a superior dining experience. Go for both. You won't find another restaurant that exudes such warmth and timelessness.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

It was my 18th wedding anniversary, and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2016

It was my 18th wedding anniversary, and my wife & I ALWAYS pick out a French restaurant to go to. We've never been to any places in Boston, so I picked

Hungry1. What a great choice! Atmosphere is very Romantic, Food is Great, just a perfect night!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most excellent Location to find in B ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 29, 2016

The most excellent Location to find in Boston, and it was completely spontaneous.

My fiancee could not have been happier for her birthday, and that makes me just as happy.

The atmosphere, the Food, simply everything was great.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, , Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were welcomed most warmly to The Hung ...

 
 (London)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We were welcomed most warmly to The Hungry I by the wonderfully charismatic owner and his brilliant team. The setting was very romantic - we were in the beautiful outside patio but could see that inside by the fireplaces in colder weather would also be a lovely, cosy place to be. The food was absolutely delicious and exquisitely cooked. Thank you for such a great end to our Boston stay.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Hungry I is a hidden gem in Boston, ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The Hungry I is a hidden gem in Boston, it makes you feel like you are on vacation.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice dining room and atmosphere. Se ...

vip
 (東京)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Very nice dining room and atmosphere. Service was fine. Food was meh: could have been more flavorful, creative and interesting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The Hungry i was a great venue for celeb ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 12, 2016

The Hungry i was a great venue for celebrating a special birthday. We went on a quiet summer Friday PM and the ambiance was perfect. Chris, the maître d'hôtel, was engaging and was regaled us with many interesting stories with just the right amount of interaction. The food was terrific and the whole package made for a great PM.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Classic beacon hill, love the patio

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Classic beacon hill, love the patio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

On a quiet night, we had a wonderful tim ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 3, 2016

On a quiet night, we had a wonderful time with great food enjoying conversation wit our host Peter. We would definitely return.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for our engagement dinner 5 ye ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Went here for our engagement dinner 5 years ago, and just recently went for our 5 year anniversary. If you're looking for a scene though, it's probably a bit too quiet. If not, then it's very quiet, cozy and romantic atmosphere. Christopher is very entertaining and passionate about the meal and experience. Swordfish is excellent and a fairly good portion/serving.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

An excellent evening with the friendly a ...

 
 (Kent)·Dined on July 22, 2016

An excellent evening with the friendly and knowledgable Chris at The Hungry I. If you enjoy excellent food and a wide and delicious wine list (expertly maintained by Chris) this should be top of your list in Boston Ma. Marked by the high quality and taste of superbly selected (local and sustainable where possible) dishes, for perfectly matched and delicious wines and the best company you can think of, this must be your first choice. Thank-you Chris for a lovely evening and wonderful repas.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 20, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at Hungry I and it was delightful. Quiet, romantic and the food was exquisite!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went there for father's day dinner and s ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Went there for father's day dinner and sat in the back patio which was very pleasant. Had the owner's Champagne kir as an Apéritif. I tried his specials of the day: beet gazpacho soup and roasted duck - both were very nice w/ a bottle of Cotes du Rhone. Topped off the dinner with a chocolate Grand Marnier cake. There were more choices on the menu that would inspire me to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A unique restaurant in the Boston area. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 14, 2016

A unique restaurant in the Boston area. It's a luxury to still have a place this beautiful and carefully maintained.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great night - our waiter Chris ma ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 10, 2016

What a great night - our waiter Chris made our Anniversary dinner very special. He was friendly, engaged & did a wonderful job. The food was awesome and it was a comfortable, leisurely evening ( no hurrying to turn over the table here!). It was like being a guest in Chris' home. At the end of dinner he brought over some port and introduced us to the couple seated near us - we all chatted and had a great time. Everything about the Hungry I lives up to its reputation as one of Boston's best & most romantic restaurants! We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A real treasure!

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 8, 2016

We literally stumbled upon this wonderful restaurant as a suggestion while chatting with a man in the Commons! We are SO GLAD we took his recommendation!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific food in an intimate setting

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 24, 2016

Terrific food in an intimate setting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Just amazing. Great romantic spot. You g ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Just amazing. Great romantic spot. You get what you pay for but this was a great meal, great service and very inexpensive. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.