About The Hungry I

71 1/2 Charles Street
Boston, MA 02114
View Larger Map

Welcome to the Hungry I! Tucked just below street level on Beacon Hill's picturesque brownstone-lined Charles Street, the Hungry I is charming and intimate. Although small, it is quite cozy and very romantic. There's a true elegance to the Hungry I that comes from the surroundings, the food and the staff. A distinctively different place that makes every visit really special.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Thursday & Friday: 12:00pm - 2:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sun 11am-2pm

Cross Street:
Mt. Vernon Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 227-3524

Website:
http://www.hungryiboston.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking available; also Charles St and Boston Common Public parking lots are close by. Valet Service available nightly during dinner service; 3 doors past the restaurant on the corner.

Public Transit:
Charles St Red Line is the closest; Arlington St on the green line is also walkable.

Executive Chef:
Peter Ballarin

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Small weddings and Rehersal diners of up to 34 people welcome; please call for information. Private Room available upstairs and we also have a patio for summer events.

The Hungry I Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Boston
Romantic
Boston
Best Restaurants in Beacon Hill ›

Special Occasion (15)
Romantic (14)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Authentic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Historic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Cozy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fireplace (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
Newest
408 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lovely ambiance and old time flavor, but ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

Lovely ambiance and old time flavor, but food didn't live up to the steep price tag. sorry to say that, but I guess it was too rich for my taste.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

we returned 30 years later and had the s ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

we returned 30 years later and had the same terrific time that we had the eve before our wedding. The restaurant is a unique gem- truly a bit of Paris on Charles Street. The chef owner is creative and passionate about offering great food and a superior dining experience. Go for both. You won't find another restaurant that exudes such warmth and timelessness.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

It was my 18th wedding anniversary, and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

It was my 18th wedding anniversary, and my wife & I ALWAYS pick out a French restaurant to go to. We've never been to any places in Boston, so I picked

Hungry1. What a great choice! Atmosphere is very Romantic, Food is Great, just a perfect night!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most excellent Location to find in B ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The most excellent Location to find in Boston, and it was completely spontaneous.

My fiancee could not have been happier for her birthday, and that makes me just as happy.

The atmosphere, the Food, simply everything was great.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were welcomed most warmly to The Hung ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We were welcomed most warmly to The Hungry I by the wonderfully charismatic owner and his brilliant team. The setting was very romantic - we were in the beautiful outside patio but could see that inside by the fireplaces in colder weather would also be a lovely, cosy place to be. The food was absolutely delicious and exquisitely cooked. Thank you for such a great end to our Boston stay.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Hungry I is a hidden gem in Boston, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The Hungry I is a hidden gem in Boston, it makes you feel like you are on vacation.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice dining room and atmosphere. Se ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Very nice dining room and atmosphere. Service was fine. Food was meh: could have been more flavorful, creative and interesting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The Hungry i was a great venue for celeb ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The Hungry i was a great venue for celebrating a special birthday. We went on a quiet summer Friday PM and the ambiance was perfect. Chris, the maître d'hôtel, was engaging and was regaled us with many interesting stories with just the right amount of interaction. The food was terrific and the whole package made for a great PM.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Classic beacon hill, love the patio

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Classic beacon hill, love the patio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

On a quiet night, we had a wonderful tim ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

On a quiet night, we had a wonderful time with great food enjoying conversation wit our host Peter. We would definitely return.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for our engagement dinner 5 ye ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Went here for our engagement dinner 5 years ago, and just recently went for our 5 year anniversary. If you're looking for a scene though, it's probably a bit too quiet. If not, then it's very quiet, cozy and romantic atmosphere. Christopher is very entertaining and passionate about the meal and experience. Swordfish is excellent and a fairly good portion/serving.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

An excellent evening with the friendly a ...

 
 (Kent)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

An excellent evening with the friendly and knowledgable Chris at The Hungry I. If you enjoy excellent food and a wide and delicious wine list (expertly maintained by Chris) this should be top of your list in Boston Ma. Marked by the high quality and taste of superbly selected (local and sustainable where possible) dishes, for perfectly matched and delicious wines and the best company you can think of, this must be your first choice. Thank-you Chris for a lovely evening and wonderful repas.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at Hungry I and it was delightful. Quiet, romantic and the food was exquisite!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went there for father's day dinner and s ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Went there for father's day dinner and sat in the back patio which was very pleasant. Had the owner's Champagne kir as an Apéritif. I tried his specials of the day: beet gazpacho soup and roasted duck - both were very nice w/ a bottle of Cotes du Rhone. Topped off the dinner with a chocolate Grand Marnier cake. There were more choices on the menu that would inspire me to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A unique restaurant in the Boston area. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

A unique restaurant in the Boston area. It's a luxury to still have a place this beautiful and carefully maintained.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great night - our waiter Chris ma ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

What a great night - our waiter Chris made our Anniversary dinner very special. He was friendly, engaged & did a wonderful job. The food was awesome and it was a comfortable, leisurely evening ( no hurrying to turn over the table here!). It was like being a guest in Chris' home. At the end of dinner he brought over some port and introduced us to the couple seated near us - we all chatted and had a great time. Everything about the Hungry I lives up to its reputation as one of Boston's best & most romantic restaurants! We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A real treasure!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We literally stumbled upon this wonderful restaurant as a suggestion while chatting with a man in the Commons! We are SO GLAD we took his recommendation!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific food in an intimate setting

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Terrific food in an intimate setting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Just amazing. Great romantic spot. You g ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Just amazing. Great romantic spot. You get what you pay for but this was a great meal, great service and very inexpensive. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day delight

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My husband took me to the Hungry I for Mother's Day for brunch. We had a 12:30 PM reservation but arrived at 12:00 PM because traffic was lighter than expected. We were greeted by the host who was happy to seat us early.

They had a special menu for Mother's Day, which consisted of three appetizers, four entrees, and three deserts. We both started with the Romaine salad, which had shaved pecorino cheese and a roasted garlic dressing. For the entrees I had a brie and artichoke quiche and my husband had scrambled eggs and gravlox with a gorgonzola cream sauce. We shared our entrees and both were terrific. For desert I had a fresh berry Linzer torte and my husband had an apple tarte tarten. Yummy. All of the dishes gave generous portions and were absolutely delicious.

The restaurant was very busy but the service was still attentive and the pacing of the courses was spot on. It was too cold for them to have the outdoor terrace open, which would have been a nice venue if the weather had cooperated.

The experience was very pleasant and made Mother's Day even more special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it. Great food and service.

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Loved it. Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Easter Brunch

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Peter treated us like royalty.. an amazing Easter Brunch.... Food, Ambiance, and Service was EXCELLENT.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Palm Sunday brunch

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Went to the Hungry I with my husband for a Palm Sunday brunch. We've been here before and our experience was good, as always. The room was busy but not overcrowded and we were seated as soon as we came in. The service was crisp and friendly. Our waiter was attentive but not at all pushy. We both started with a soup course, which was a soup-of-the-day tomato bisque. It was very flavorful and satisfying. We followed that with a salad. Mine was Romaine with a garlic dressing and my husband had a classic Caesar. We both enjoyed them. For our entrees, I had eggplant with egg and anchovies. My husband had scrambled eggs with gravlax and gorgonzola cream. We shared, or course, and both dishes were terrific. A nice added touch was the fireplace, which gave a nice glow to the room and took the chill off when we had walking in from the cold air. This is a great place and I recommend it highly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered a traditional French brunch item ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Ordered a traditional French brunch item (basically a ham & cheese sandwich with an egg on top) and got liverwurst on two different soggy pieces of bread & undercooked red onions.

The waiter could tell we were displeased but did not offer anything else or offer a credit. $60 for two bites of disgusting food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Environment with great potential. Terrible food.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was very disappointing but our waitress was terrific. The pork tenderloin was tough and tasted bad (old) with a horrible grey sauce on it. We told the waitress and she took it away immediately. We then ordered the special, which was Coq au Vin, which came out with the same awful grey sauce. The atmosphere is wonderful and the food should live up to it. What a lost opportunity. The food should be such that it demands a month's wait to get in! We are locals and will not go back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Snowy day destination

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

My husband and I went to the Hungry I for my birthday. It was a snowy day and the restaurant was busy with folks who wanted to enjoy a night out and get away from the weather.

We were promptly seated at a table near the fireplace. The fire added a nice touch to the cozy interior. Our waiter, Chris, was very friendly, as were the rest of the staff.

We started off with appetizers. I had the pate and my husband had the escargot. We shared and both were delicious. For my entree I had salmon, which was a special, and my husband had Atlantic Cod. The portions were very generous and both dishes lived up to our expectations. We both had walnut pie for desert. Yummy.

Service was attentive but not pushy and the courses were well timed.

We've been here before and always have a great time. This is a great place to go for a romantic meal. I'm sure Valentine's Day will be spectacular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hungry I is a lovely throw-back.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

I had never been to the Hungry I before; it was recommended by a friend when we asked for a recommendation on a quiet place with good food. The menu is a bit outdated, but the food was good and plentiful. The service was great, and our server was friendly and helpful, but not intrusive. I'd go again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Such a lovely place to celebrate our 21s ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on January 20, 2016

Such a lovely place to celebrate our 21st anniversary!

It was a very cold, windy Tuesday night, and there were only a handful of other diners, but the friendly staff made us feel warm and welcome. Our waiter was very helpful in explaining the dishes and suggesting a tasty wine in our price range. All our food was wonderful, especially the salmon moussaka app and the rabbit entree.

The chef came over to say hello and make sure we were enjoying ourselves.

Highly recommended for a romantic evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Boston brunch

 
 (New England)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

My husband and I went to the Hungry I for Sunday Brunch. The restaurant was beautifully decorated for Christmas and the fireplace added a festive note. We were greeted as soon as we walked in and were seated at a table near the fireplace. Our waiter, Chris, was very friendly and knowledgeable. For appetizers we both had the spinach salad with warm pancetta dressing, which was delicious. My husband's entree was beef moussaka and mine was a special of chicken livers sauteed with mushrooms. We sampled each other's meals and loved them both. For desert my husband had a fruit torte and I had a slice of walnut pie. I can't find anything to complaint about. The pacing of the meal was perfect, the food was creative and delicious, the wait staff was on point, and the atmosphere delightful. We've been here before and have always had the same level of fine food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming Perfection

vip
 (London)
·Dined on December 16, 2015

This is one of our favourite spots when coming back home for the Holidays. It's charming & warm and the food is just as cozy as the ambience. The server was knowledgable about the menu & matched wine with our food perfectly. The owner, Peter, takes pride in his place & is a great host. Bon Appétit!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Noisy and tables packed together. Sat f ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

Noisy and tables packed together. Sat for 10 minutes. No water, no wines by the glass on menu and no help. Left before ever receiving any service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
service1

The food was bland and uncreative. It t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

The food was bland and uncreative. It tasted more like Eastern European cuisine than French. I haven't had food that disappointing in a long time.

The service was slow. The tables were so close together and it was so quiet that you couldn't avoid the conversation of the table next to you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Different in a good way

 
 (New England)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

Our first time - although we research and enjoy Boston restaurants on a regular basis. Wonderful cozy but not cramped downstairs room. Unusual menu with excellent preparation. Attentive staff with zero pretension. Would surely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Romantic setting

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

Wonderful Anniversary dinner with my wife. Very nice atmosphere Good food well priced.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Perfect spot

 
 (New England)
·Dined on November 2, 2015

My wife and I had a great romantic dinner at the Hungry I. The space is very cozy, our server was very attentive and knowledgeable and the food was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful Sunday Evening

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

Had eagerly looked forward to our first visit to this iconic restaurant. Chose an early (6:15) Sunday dinner and couldn't have been more pleased. My wife and I were one of just four couples in the dining room and were given the white-glove treatment. Service was knowledgeable and personable, the food was sublime (the baked-on-premises bread and the dumplings appetizer, OMG!), and the setting very appropriate for a "date night." A neat touch: Our final bill was on 8x11, folded stationary with each item written out in perfect handwriting.

Next time we will reserve on a Friday or Saturday and hope to experience the upstairs dining room when the place is really hopping. I bet the food and service will be up to the task.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Oustanding in every respect. Very roman ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

Oustanding in every respect. Very romantic. Wonderful food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous the waiter, the chef and the music!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Really enjoyed all the attention and fabulous food fit for a queen.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Average stale French menu. Well prepared ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

Average stale French menu. Well prepared but geez.... This feels like the 60s... And for the record I am French!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Wonderful Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

What a magnificent experience. My wife and I went here to celebrate our anniversary. It is was a very intimate setting. The host Christopher was entertaining with just the right amount of lighthearted conversation. As an example shortly after we were seated he came over since "unfortunately there was a small issue! .... We had no cocktails!" The food was quite enjoyable and different. We had the pumpkin dumplings which were quite different and tasty! My wife had the venison au poivre and I had the lamb shank. It was a great way to celebrate!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.