Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About The Hound

Online Reservations Limited. If you don't find what you are looking for, give us a call. We do still reserve a large part of the restaurant for walk ins.

We accept reservations of all sizes for Lunch & Dinner, but only for parties 8 or more for our Brunch service.

The Hound is a family owned restaurant and bar featuring American classics, top shelf bourbon and 28 craft beers on tap. Our atmosphere was designed to be warm and welcoming- think hunting lodge, antler-pronged barn setting laced with the beauty of the old days in the South, where life revolved around fishing, hunting, campfires, storytelling and making memories around your family’s table.

124 Tichenor Ave
Auburn, AL 36830
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
North College

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 246-3300

Website:
http://www.thehound-auburn.com/

Parking Details:
The Hound is located directly adjacent to the Auburn Municipal Parking Garage. Additional Parking is available at City Hall and Auburn Bank after 5 pm on weekdays and all day on weekends (excluding home game Saturdays)

Executive Chef:
tba

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

The Hound Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (22)
Good for a Date (19)
Comfort Food (19)
See All
Fun (18)
Special Occasion (16)
Great Beer (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Authentic (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Cozy (6)
Family Style (6)
Business Meals (5)
Romantic (5)
Healthy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
People Watching (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Historic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Private Room (1)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
196 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was excellent, as usual! Both times I have been there we made reservations, which is what I recommend everyone to do.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was outstanding and the service even better. Thank you for a wonderful evening!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

One of our favorite places...great staff and food!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

As always, The Hound is a great place to go for good drinks and good food. The tables are a bit close together so you almost always get into a conversation with your neighbors. Some people may not like this. A little more space might be nice since it is impossible to speak softly enough to prevent a really nosey neighbor from listening to your conversation.

We love using Open Table for reservations. The restaurant will call to confirm and we never have to wait this way.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: People Watching, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and service as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 18, 2017

ALways love brunch at the Hound. Went for Father's Day!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great birthday experience! Ribs are amazing! Would go back in a heartbeat!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Great bourbon and rye selection. Loads of interesting beers. Music set to blaring level. Ribeye steak of poor quality. Meat loaf so so. Skirt steak was exceptional. Will give them another try as we've heard good things.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 24, 2017

We have eaten several times at The Hound. Usually great food and great service. Not this time.. the food was simply not fresh, not done well. We didn't complain because we were celebrating a bday. If you want people to come back... you need consistency!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great Beer, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Great meal as always and fantastic service! Awesome bourbon list.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner with good friends, great beer, good wine! Our food selections were just perfect--from salmon to meatloaf to bourbon chicken to turkey, avacado, bacon sandwich. The atmosphere was warm and inviting and there were people from all ages...college students, young kids, geezers (like us). The noise level was a little high but not too high for lively conversations. We would highly recommend this restaurant to those who would like to experience downtown Auburn and the spirit of Auburn University.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Fun, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Good food, laid back atmosphere. A bit overpriced considering the atmosphere, but the food is amazing. Highly recommend the drunk chicken with the goat cheese grits. I don't normally like grits, but the goat cheese grits were amazing. Steak was great as well. Bread pudding was a little dry though.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We celebrated my daughter's graduation from Auburn and had a great time! The service was really good and so was the food. Will definitely visit again when in town.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Such a perfect spot to represent Auburn and its southern charm!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Fantastic food , excellent menu and great service. Thanks

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I arranged for a graduation dinner I was unable to attend due to age. Their report was great.Also two extras showed up and The Hound rearranged tables and accommodated their party. I graduated 66 years ago when the hotel dining room was the only "dining" in town Thanks, Rebecca Earnest, Mc Calla, Al.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Oh the pork rinds are so awesome!!! Great meal with friends!! Very crowded but they got us oh quickly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We came for Saturday lunch on graduation weekend. Despite our reservation it took some time to be seated. Food was good but not great.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The Hound never disappoints ! We had the green bean appetizer and burger and bread pudding! All were great!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Food was unique, service was adequate. Sound level was beyond conversation ability.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very nice experience. Friendly, helpful staff Bar selection was great. Suggest wider wine menu

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The Hound is one of our favorite restaurants in Auburn. Always a must when we are in town visiting.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This was our second time eating at The Hound and we enjoyed it even more the second time. The ambiance is wonderful and the food it delicious. The fish special the night we were there was delicious. Can't wait to visit on our next trip to Auburn.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The Hound is a great place for brunch. The food is excellent and service is great! I took my two adult children and one young grandchild and all really enjoyed it. The omelets are great and so we're the silver dollar pancakes with blueberries. I highly recommend The Hound!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Excellent food, extremely attentive service (but not so much that they smothered you!), a little pricey, but worth it for a special occasion!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Family Style, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I had the big fat steak (16 oz ribeye), which was neither big nor fat. What I would characterize as a $12 cut of meat that I paid $29 for. My wife had the quail, described by the waitress as small before ordering. On the table I would have used the word tiny. She said it was overly salty. The french fries were very good and I did happen to find a North Coast Tart Cherry Berliner Weisse which was the highlight of my meal. Service was outstanding, no bones about it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The Hound is a fabulous restaurant This was our second visit and both times the food was delicious and the atmosphere was fun and upbeat. Make sure to visit when in Auburn.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Healthy, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We came to The Hound to celebrate our friend's birthday! We had a great time. Our waiter was very funny and polite. He was an outstanding waiter. The food was good and did not take an extremely long period of time to arrive at the table. We had brought in a small cake and the waiter placed the cake at the hostess table until we were ready for the cake. We were not hurried to leave. All around, it was a good experience for our group.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Very good place. Awesome awesome meatloaf...best I ever had 😮. Skip the sweet potato mash...Tasted weird and not what you would expect.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We went for my son's 25 birthday. He enjoyed the wide choice of beers and whiskies and loved the bison burger. He thought the fries were some of the best ever. The veggie lasagna and meatloaf were also outstanding. The seasonal sausage appetizer of rabbit, duck, and bison was delicious. The restaurant was full, but the noise level didn't interfere with our table conversion. We were five people and the only negative anyone had was my husband's cup of coffee with dessert. We will all be going back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Loved every thing about our experince. Food was outstanding and good options on the menu to choose from. Some simple appetizers that we go to every time we visit The Hound.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent meal and service. Good fun as usual

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Very sweet & friendly server. Food came out quickly , but a little cold & over salted.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Family Style, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Had a very nice meal at the Hound. It was my first experience as I live out of state. I had the chicken pot pie, which was very good, especially since it was a chilly night.

Wanted to leave a review and praise our server, Cassidy. She was knowledgeable, professional, and friendly. She kept tabs on us and made sure everything came out correctly. Great experience!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Wonderful food, great atmosphere and great service! We always go to The Hound when in Auburn.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We asked 3 times for the NBA All Star game to be turned on two of the TV s facing our table, manager would not do it. Under staffed on a Sunday night presidents weekend. Couldn't get attention of bartenders to close out tab. Average service at table. Food amazingly delicious. Steaks cooked to perfection. The food is great but disappointed with service.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

awesome service and atmosphere!! great food, not a lot of selection

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and great service! Sprout salad and burgers and fries were yummy! Ayla was a super waitress!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always a great meal at The Hound! Our daughter is a student at Auburn University and this is her favorite place….so whenever we're in town, we try to eat here.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food not as goos as previous visits. Fries were very greasy as was the meatloaf entree that my wife ordered. Service was top notch.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.