Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About The Hound

Online Reservations Limited. If you don't find what you are looking for, give us a call. We do still reserve a large part of the restaurant for walk ins.

We accept reservations of all sizes for Lunch & Dinner, but only for parties 8 or more for our Brunch service.

The Hound is a family owned restaurant and bar featuring American classics, top shelf bourbon and 28 craft beers on tap. Our atmosphere was designed to be warm and welcoming- think hunting lodge, antler-pronged barn setting laced with the beauty of the old days in the South, where life revolved around fishing, hunting, campfires, storytelling and making memories around your family’s table.

124 Tichenor Ave
Auburn, AL 36830
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
North College

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 246-3300

Website:
http://www.thehound-auburn.com/

Parking Details:
The Hound is located directly adjacent to the Auburn Municipal Parking Garage. Additional Parking is available at City Hall and Auburn Bank after 5 pm on weekdays and all day on weekends (excluding home game Saturdays)

Executive Chef:
tba

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

The Hound Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Comfort Food (17)
See All
Casual (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Authentic (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Cozy (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Great Beer (10)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Happy Hour (7)
People Watching (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Seasonal (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Live Sports (4)
Romantic (4)
Business Meals (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Organic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
224 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Our service was slow and others seated later than us were served food before us. Our waiter didn't seem to be on task. However that being said The Hound is a fun place to go to with good food. It just was frustrating because of the service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Ample dinner selections to accommodate everyone's taste, great service staff, good recommendations regarding the bread pudding dessert. Will make sure we always make a reservation when visiting Auburn!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

we had a great time--3 n all. great bar with fun and original drinks. great service and peppy servers. would rec to friends. goo value esp. for special dishes. loved the sausages. I had the pork chop--hearty and soooo tender.

Tags: Live Sports, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

My niece always ask to go to the Hound when she comes into town. Her favorite.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

The selection of entrees is not to our taste. We have dined there three times now and always been disappointed. Doubt we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Had our Anniversary lunch at the Hound Thursday. The staff was great and the food was awesome.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Great food, outstanding service. We were there for early lunch and noise level not a problem at all. Easy to converse.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great service and great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Server was awesome. Food ok! Of the seven entrees they ran out of two (the items we wanted). They also ran out of soup. Expensive restaurant, disappointing experience this time :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Fantastic place to have a great meal. Will be back the next time we visit Auburn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

The pork chop and skirt steak are both excellent choices for dinner. The Hound has an extensive premium bar with top shelf offerings. The restaurant is usually packed so reservations are a must. Great food at reasonable prices and we highly recommend it.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

One of the best restaurants in town. Great food, great service, would highly suggest.

Tags: Great for Brunch, People Watching, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great experience. Had Goodwood beer previously but had replaced it. Bring Goodwood back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Excellent red snapper special but the Cuban black beans were too salty for me. Service was attentive and helpful. Always a good option and this is it didn't disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

We helped move our daughter into her dorm and then took her to dinner during Auburn University's sorority rush. The Hound was a perfect location, right next to the campus, and the atmosphere there was lively, and fun. Our server was very friendly and she stopped by several times to check on us and to refill our drinks. I had the "fat steak" which is a very nice thick ribeye and was wonderful. My wife and daughter had the meatloaf and the drunken chicken. All delicious and perfectly seasoned and cooked.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Authentic, Great Beer, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Dropping our freshman at Auburn - it was a great spot!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Fun and food was fantastic. My favorite at Auburn

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our waiter was very friendly, the whole staff was. Very eager to assist our dining needs. Love the Hound!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

First, the service was excellent and we were there on a Friday night.
We got the bacon-wrapped dates as an appetizer and they were excellent.
For entrées, we ordered the meatloaf and bourbon soaked chicken.
Both were dry, as if they had been overcooked. Not bad by all means, but not great either.
Both of these issues can be corrected; maybe the kitchen was a little too busy at the time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

As always, we had a great meal. I particularly love the OpenTable for making reservations. We have never had to wait since we started using OpenTable.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

True gem! Delicious food, friendly service, and a fun atmosphere! Their one page menu is full of flavor! It isn't huge but everything listed is extra special!

Tags: Vegan, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 12, 2017

I like the beer selection and apparently they feature different breweries. We even received a complementary beer glass from the featured brewery plus an excellent price! I had the meatloaf because it was made with beef, pork and lamb. It was delicious and different. My husband enjoyed his skirt steak also. As it was an anniversary dinner we received a complimentary dessert of bread pudding topped with a scoop of ice cream. Very tasty! All in all, a wonderful dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great meal as always. Good beer list and great bourbon selection.

Tags: Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 7, 2017

A nice rustic restaurant in the heart of downtown Auburn. Reminds me of that ole school feeling from a small town restaurant in which everyone knows your name.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
·Dined on June 30, 2017

Tremendous place in Auburn -- great menu and very tasty food. We loved the simple jalapeno jelly app and fried green beans. Our entrees were all great. We were initially disappointed at only one dessert option, but it made up for it in the deliciousness. It was less casual than I had anticipated being in a college town, but not super dressy.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 25, 2017

The food was excellent, as usual! Both times I have been there we made reservations, which is what I recommend everyone to do.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food was outstanding and the service even better. Thank you for a wonderful evening!!!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 23, 2017

One of our favorite places...great staff and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 23, 2017

As always, The Hound is a great place to go for good drinks and good food. The tables are a bit close together so you almost always get into a conversation with your neighbors. Some people may not like this. A little more space might be nice since it is impossible to speak softly enough to prevent a really nosey neighbor from listening to your conversation.

We love using Open Table for reservations. The restaurant will call to confirm and we never have to wait this way.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on June 22, 2017

Great food and service as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on June 18, 2017

ALways love brunch at the Hound. Went for Father's Day!

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on June 10, 2017

Although the tables are a bit close together, we like the ambiance at The Hound. The bar is excellent, especially the Manhattans. There are several vegetarian options which I like. The veggie lasagne is the best in town. For more carbs than you need, the veggie burger with fries is to die for.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great birthday experience! Ribs are amazing! Would go back in a heartbeat!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 28, 2017

The food was good - definitely heavy on the "meat and potatoes" side, but well-prepared and tasty. We had a sausage sampler appetizer that was fantastic. I do want to go back to try the drunken chicken. Great beer list. The signature drinks were all a little heavy on the fruit juice. It was loud and a bit crowded - probably better for a group of friends out for the night rather than a date.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
·Dined on May 24, 2017

Great bourbon and rye selection. Loads of interesting beers. Music set to blaring level. Ribeye steak of poor quality. Meat loaf so so. Skirt steak was exceptional. Will give them another try as we've heard good things.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
·Dined on May 24, 2017

We have eaten several times at The Hound. Usually great food and great service. Not this time.. the food was simply not fresh, not done well. We didn't complain because we were celebrating a bday. If you want people to come back... you need consistency!!

Tags: Great Beer, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on May 23, 2017

Great meal as always and fantastic service! Awesome bourbon list.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 12, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner with good friends, great beer, good wine! Our food selections were just perfect--from salmon to meatloaf to bourbon chicken to turkey, avacado, bacon sandwich. The atmosphere was warm and inviting and there were people from all ages...college students, young kids, geezers (like us). The noise level was a little high but not too high for lively conversations. We would highly recommend this restaurant to those who would like to experience downtown Auburn and the spirit of Auburn University.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 9, 2017

Good food, laid back atmosphere. A bit overpriced considering the atmosphere, but the food is amazing. Highly recommend the drunk chicken with the goat cheese grits. I don't normally like grits, but the goat cheese grits were amazing. Steak was great as well. Bread pudding was a little dry though.

Tags: Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 8, 2017

We celebrated my daughter's graduation from Auburn and had a great time! The service was really good and so was the food. Will definitely visit again when in town.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.