Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About The Hound

Online Reservations Limited. If you don't find what you are looking for, give us a call. We do still reserve a large part of the restaurant for walk ins.

We accept reservations of all sizes for Lunch & Dinner, but only for parties 8 or more for our Brunch service.

The Hound is a family owned restaurant and bar featuring American classics, top shelf bourbon and 28 craft beers on tap. Our atmosphere was designed to be warm and welcoming- think hunting lodge, antler-pronged barn setting laced with the beauty of the old days in the South, where life revolved around fishing, hunting, campfires, storytelling and making memories around your family’s table.

124 Tichenor Ave
Auburn, AL 36830
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
North College

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 246-3300

Website:
http://www.thehound-auburn.com/

Parking Details:
The Hound is located directly adjacent to the Auburn Municipal Parking Garage. Additional Parking is available at City Hall and Auburn Bank after 5 pm on weekdays and all day on weekends (excluding home game Saturdays)

Executive Chef:
tba

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

The Hound Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Casual (16)
See All
Good for a Date (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Fun (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Great Beer (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Cozy (7)
Authentic (7)
Business Meals (7)
Family Style (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Romantic (4)
Live Sports (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fireplace (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Healthy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Historic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
177 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was unique, service was adequate. Sound level was beyond conversation ability.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very nice experience. Friendly, helpful staff Bar selection was great. Suggest wider wine menu

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The Hound is one of our favorite restaurants in Auburn. Always a must when we are in town visiting.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This was our second time eating at The Hound and we enjoyed it even more the second time. The ambiance is wonderful and the food it delicious. The fish special the night we were there was delicious. Can't wait to visit on our next trip to Auburn.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The Hound is a great place for brunch. The food is excellent and service is great! I took my two adult children and one young grandchild and all really enjoyed it. The omelets are great and so we're the silver dollar pancakes with blueberries. I highly recommend The Hound!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Excellent food, extremely attentive service (but not so much that they smothered you!), a little pricey, but worth it for a special occasion!

Tags: Family Style, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I had the big fat steak (16 oz ribeye), which was neither big nor fat. What I would characterize as a $12 cut of meat that I paid $29 for. My wife had the quail, described by the waitress as small before ordering. On the table I would have used the word tiny. She said it was overly salty. The french fries were very good and I did happen to find a North Coast Tart Cherry Berliner Weisse which was the highlight of my meal. Service was outstanding, no bones about it.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The Hound is a fabulous restaurant This was our second visit and both times the food was delicious and the atmosphere was fun and upbeat. Make sure to visit when in Auburn.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Healthy, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We came to The Hound to celebrate our friend's birthday! We had a great time. Our waiter was very funny and polite. He was an outstanding waiter. The food was good and did not take an extremely long period of time to arrive at the table. We had brought in a small cake and the waiter placed the cake at the hostess table until we were ready for the cake. We were not hurried to leave. All around, it was a good experience for our group.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Very good place. Awesome awesome meatloaf...best I ever had 😮. Skip the sweet potato mash...Tasted weird and not what you would expect.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We went for my son's 25 birthday. He enjoyed the wide choice of beers and whiskies and loved the bison burger. He thought the fries were some of the best ever. The veggie lasagna and meatloaf were also outstanding. The seasonal sausage appetizer of rabbit, duck, and bison was delicious. The restaurant was full, but the noise level didn't interfere with our table conversion. We were five people and the only negative anyone had was my husband's cup of coffee with dessert. We will all be going back.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Loved every thing about our experince. Food was outstanding and good options on the menu to choose from. Some simple appetizers that we go to every time we visit The Hound.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent meal and service. Good fun as usual

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Very sweet & friendly server. Food came out quickly , but a little cold & over salted.

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Had a very nice meal at the Hound. It was my first experience as I live out of state. I had the chicken pot pie, which was very good, especially since it was a chilly night.

Wanted to leave a review and praise our server, Cassidy. She was knowledgeable, professional, and friendly. She kept tabs on us and made sure everything came out correctly. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Wonderful food, great atmosphere and great service! We always go to The Hound when in Auburn.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We asked 3 times for the NBA All Star game to be turned on two of the TV s facing our table, manager would not do it. Under staffed on a Sunday night presidents weekend. Couldn't get attention of bartenders to close out tab. Average service at table. Food amazingly delicious. Steaks cooked to perfection. The food is great but disappointed with service.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

awesome service and atmosphere!! great food, not a lot of selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and great service! Sprout salad and burgers and fries were yummy! Ayla was a super waitress!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always a great meal at The Hound! Our daughter is a student at Auburn University and this is her favorite place….so whenever we're in town, we try to eat here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food not as goos as previous visits. Fries were very greasy as was the meatloaf entree that my wife ordered. Service was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent bourbon list! The food was delicious. The porkskins and fried green beans made the trip worth making. A little pricey, but I will go back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food and service!
Make sure you do reservations bc they are always BUSY

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Sports, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great ambiance though a little loud, and drafty by the windows. Service was outstanding from host, to server, and management. Server Norton was especially outstanding. Menu is limited, food was good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Fun, lively atmosphere with a mix of couples, families, and girls nights. The food was above average, but not mind blowing. I had the bacon wrapped dates and the special (a chicken cordon bleu mac and cheese). Both were commendable. The beer list is diverse with an emphasis on regional beers and the cocktails are inventive. Our server was attentive and friendly. The prices aren't unreasonable, but are probably a few bucks over what I would consider a good value.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great meal at The Hound. Service was not as good as previous visits. However, it was still okay.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great restaurant, just make sure you have a reservation so you don't wait too much.

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food missed the mark even for a moderate price point. It was busy so maybe that had something to do with it?
Beer was good and service was great.
Nothing special

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great service and recommendations. Timing of service was perfect; we had great conversation, and enjoyed a superb meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We had a great time. The food and drinks were fabulous, as was the service. The bison burger was of the chain!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed our NYE dinner at the Hound! Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable and the ambience was great! The food is fantastic and the Mac and Cheese changed my life.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We always enjoy our experience when dining at The Hound. Our 1st choice on the menu is the Bison burger which is Yum-Oh! The service is always fast & friendly which adds to the experience. If you haven't tried The Hound, what are you waiting for?

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 17, 2016

At one time we called this our favorite restaurant in Auburn. Now we simply refer to the HOUND as our favorite restaurant. The specials keep the experience from becoming routine. The host, Cameron, always greets us by name. The manager always speaks to us. The wait staff is attentive. I appreciate the robust flavors in every meal.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing. I ordered the big fat steak. It was juicy and perfectly cooked the way I wanted. Service was fantastic and the alcohol selection wad immense. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View, Private Room, Romantic, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Food was fantastic and service by Chris was great!

Tags: Live Music, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 7, 2016

This is the second time we have visited The Hound and it continues to not disappoint. We took a person who has never been and she loved it too. You have an extensive alcohol collection which I appreciate because I am a single malt scotch drinker and your wine list is eclectic but simple, and extensive in its own right. We have to be in Auburn every month for a doctor appointment and have truly found a positive reason (besides the excellent pet hospital) to visit this wonderful little college town. Although our two sons went to Auburn we were living in California at the time and never had a reason to visit. Now we have two reasons, the wonderful veterinary facilities and The Hound!

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great food (loved the quail, and the flank steak was a BIG favorite at our table)! Great service (very well trained!!)! Overall a GREAT experience!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Unique menu and the food was fabulous! It was a splurge date night for my husband and I and we tried the mac n cheese with pulled pork- richly divine!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed this unique and delicious restaurant! I wish it would've been in Auburn when I lived there years ago. It's also a great value for all of the food they serve!

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Healthy, Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Groups, Romantic, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 14, 2016

One dessert but there is a reason it is delicious. I would recommend it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.