Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 18 times today

The Hound

4.7
272 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Great for Brunch
  • Worth the Drive
Bacon & Bourbon | New American Southern Food.

Online Reservations Limited. If you don't find what you are looking for, give us a call. We do still reserve a large part of the restaurant for walk ins.

We accept reservations of all sizes for Lunch & Dinner, but only for parties 8 or more for our Brunch service.

The Hound is a local family owned restaurant and bar featuring reimagined American and Southern classics with top shelf bourbon and 28 rotating craft beers on tap. Our atmosphere was designed to be warm and welcoming and as a place for the community to gather. With a hunter's lodge vibe and antler-pronged barn setting laced with the beauty of the old days in the South, we invite you to revisit a time when life revolved around fishing, hunting, campfires, storytelling and making memories around your family’s table.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Comfort Food, Southern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch
Sat, Sun 9:30 am–3:00 pm
Lunch
Tue–Fri 11:00 am–4:30 pm
Dinner
Tue–Sat 5:00 pm–10:00 pm
Sun 5:00 pm–9:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(334) 246-3300
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Robbie Nicolaisen
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
North College
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
The Hound is located directly adjacent to the Auburn Municipal Parking Garage. Additional Parking is available at City Hall and Auburn Bank after 5 pm on weekdays and all day on weekends (excluding home game Saturdays)
Additional
Banquet, Beer, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 272 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.7
service
4.7
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Bday dinner included (free) delicious bread pudding

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Service was friendly and inviting from the moment we stepped through the doors! We loved everything we tried and I will say, we tried a lot of food and we ate a ton of bacon! We can’t wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The food was really delicious, especially the Brussel Sprout Salad and the meatloaf. Service was excellent and the staff, including the manager, was personable and friendly. We will definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Great restaurant! ! Great waitress! Great drinks! Great Food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Great food+great service=GREAT EXPERIENCE!! The Hound is one of the best local food experiences in Auburn!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Fast and prompt service. Food was great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Ambience and service were excellent! The drink selection is also very impressive. I ordered the fried Brussels sprout salad, which sounded delicious. It was very greasy. You would think there would be some crispness to the sprouts, but they were so oily and not as flavorful as you would hope. That was disappointing. I’d love to go back, but I would order something else!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

The food was outstanding. At our table, we had shrimp and grits, two ribeyes, and a bison burger. The cakes were cooked to perfection, juicy and tender in a delicious sauce. The shrimp were plump and juicy, a full dozen, and the grits were creamy and slightly sweet. The bison burger had large patty of very tasty meat.
We had set up our reservation a few days before, and although the room was full, we were seated within ten minutes. Service was fast and accurate.
Overall it was a great experience. I would certainly go there again, and recommend it to my friends.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Waitress great as was food. Front desk seemed a bit is disarray

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

The entire staff at Hound always goes above and beyond to accommodate our accessibility needs. The waitstaff is great, the food is the best in Auburn.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Met and exceeded our expectations!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Expensive for what you get. Service and server were great. Steak was not too great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

This was an amazing spot to have a date! The server was amazing. She was knowledgeable about the food and beer. She was friendly and engaging. This was my boyfriends first time here and he was impressed with the menu and of course the bacon and bourbon. I give this place two thumbs up and five stars.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Enjoyed Valentine's Day dinner at The Hound. First time there and it was outstanding. Shrimp and Grits as well as the Pork Chop were delicious. Great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Everything about this place was wonderful. The management, food, service, EVERYTHING. We will definitely be returning!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Food is always wonderful , staff are great and atmosphere is awesome! The Morgan’s

PS thanks for bringing back the awesome green beans!!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Great service, drinks and food. Love this place

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

The food was outstanding! Perfect setting for date night.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Great! Food and service was awesome!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

We always enjoy our experience at The Hound. This time we tried the chicken fried steak. That dish was incredibly tender and delicious! I also recommend the bacon flight for appetizer. The Hound cures their own bacon and it shows. Our server was Ayla this time and she always remembers who we are. She wax there to greet us with a smile and kept the drinks coming. Best restaurant in town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2018

We were in town for our son’s White Coat Ceremony at Vet School. Great overall experience at the Hound.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 24, 2018

Went here to celebrate 21st birthday. Loved it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 16, 2018

The Hound is always a great time. An ever rotating menu with a good beer selection and great cocktails. I’d recommend both the rinds and the pimento cheese appetizers. They’re fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

On a very busy night and with a large table (9 individuals), the food all came out very well prepared and in a reasonable time along with service from our waitress.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Service was great, we had people offering to help constantly and we were seated as soon as we got there (with a reservation)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 12, 2018

I love the ambiance of The Hound! It's so inviting and the food is delicious. It's a wonderful place to gather with friends, settle in, and just have amazing conversations.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 7, 2018

Pretty alright place. I ordered the crab for $26 and it was OK. She got the chicken Caesar salad for $8 and she said it was worth it. Overall you’re paying for the ambiance more than anything, and there was definitely an ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 6, 2018

Always a great dining experience at The Hound.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 5, 2018

Four of us ate .,and odered different items.Included fish of the day,meat loaf,and two others. All were very good.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 2, 2018

The Hound was closed. We made reservations for dinner, and it wasn’t even open. So we ate at Hamilton’s. I would recommend calling The Hound before making reservations on OpenTable. I only rated it because OpenTable required ratings. I’m sure the food is good...when it’s open.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Great menu of higher end fare at very reasonable prices. I’m a bourbon snob and The Hound has the best selection in Central Alabama.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2017

Our meal at the Hound consisted of delicious, perfectly prepared dishes paired with expertly crafted cocktails. We loved every minute of our meal. We started with the bacon flight and ordered cocktails: the Rested Buffalo and the 1870s Sazerac. For entrees, I ordered the pork chop and my husband got the chimichurri steak. Every bite was amazing. I was especially impressed by the apple butter and brussels sprouts that came with my tender pork chop.
They only have one dessert: bread pudding. They don't need anything else, since this dish easily holds its own. It's perfect for sharing since it comes with two scoops of ice cream and it pretty big.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2017

always a treat!! so glad you were open Christmas Eve too.....m

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 23, 2017

We always enjoy going there with our daughter whenever she is in town. We had the Mac-n-Cheese and it was amazing and plenty with a side salad.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 23, 2017

We had an outstanding meal which was enhanced by a very friendly and helpful staff. This is our "go to" restaurant when we are in Auburn. The chicken fried steak was unlike any we'd had before and provided a memorable dining experience. Who'd have thought a dish served as a staple at diners could be a gourmet experience. The meatloaf was also great. Comfort food on a wet, cold winter night, who could ask for more.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 21, 2017

Always a fabulous meal!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 20, 2017

Terrible parking and poor layout of dining area. Claustrophobic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2017

Outstanding food and wonderful service! Everyone in our party of six loved what they ordered and loved the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 10, 2017

I know that most everyone at the table enjoyed their food. My son loved the chicken strips and French fries. My steak was over cooked and it was extremely fatty. The food took quite some time to come out so I didn’t bother asking to have it fixed or replaced since i he small children at the table. I’m sure they would have done anything they could to make me happy. The waitress was really nice. I’m not sure I would chance it again because of the price of the food. ($29 for a ribeye)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 26, 2017

Amazing food and service. The meatloaf burger and fried green beans were to die for! Management was so kind and our server knew everything about the menu. Loved the bread pudding as well!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7