About The Hound

124 Tichenor Ave
Auburn, AL 36830
View Larger Map

Online Reservations Limited. If you don't find what you are looking for, give us a call. We do still reserve a large part of the restaurant for walk ins.

We accept reservations of all sizes for Lunch & Dinner, but only for parties 8 or more for our Brunch service.

The Hound is a family owned restaurant and bar featuring American classics, top shelf bourbon and 28 craft beers on tap. Our atmosphere was designed to be warm and welcoming- think hunting lodge, antler-pronged barn setting laced with the beauty of the old days in the South, where life revolved around fishing, hunting, campfires, storytelling and making memories around your family’s table.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
North College

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 246-3300

Website:
http://www.thehound-auburn.com/

Parking Details:
The Hound is located directly adjacent to the Auburn Municipal Parking Garage. Additional Parking is available at City Hall and Auburn Bank after 5 pm on weekdays and all day on weekends (excluding home game Saturdays)

Executive Chef:
Christian Watson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • The Hound
The Hound

The Hound Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Alabama
Best Service
Alabama
Best Ambiance
Alabama
4 More
Best Value
Alabama
Fit for Foodies
Alabama
American
Alabama
Most Booked
Auburn
Best Restaurants in Auburn ›

Good for Groups (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Special Occasion (20)
See All
Hot Spot (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Great for Brunch (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Late-night Find (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Romantic (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Fun (3)
Casual (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Great Beer (3)
Business Meals (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Live Sports (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Cozy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
Newest
120 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our favorite restaurant in Auburn, the b ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our favorite restaurant in Auburn, the beer is always cold and the food is always hot. the service is outstanding and you just feel relaxed when you sit down to eat & drink at The Hound

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Live Sports, People Watching, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservation and still had to wait f ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Made reservation and still had to wait for a table. What was the point of making a reservation?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Celebrating birthday and college visit. ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Celebrating birthday and college visit. Service was good except it took over an hour to get the meal and one of our orders had to be changed. Steak was good but overpriced for not coming with sides.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Awesome food, wait, drinks! Will be back ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Awesome food, wait, drinks! Will be back! Recommended to friends!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Romantic, Business Meals, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Historic, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding service and food!! We reall ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Outstanding service and food!! We really enjoyed our meal, and our waiter was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We eat at The Hound every time we are in ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We eat at The Hound every time we are in Auburn. Always Good!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If they haven't taken duck off of the me ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

If they haven't taken duck off of the menu then do not order. The confit of the leg/thigh was great but the breast was cooked like shoe leather. My colleague had the meatloaf which was also desiccated. I mentioned the breast was ruined and they took the $30 dish off of the bill. Good customer service. Very nice staff, but not very attentive during the meal.

Very nice ambience but slow service and poorly executed food make this a no go for me.

Probably a raucous college bar on a Friday and Saturday night, but not really about the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Always great casual dining.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Always great casual dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I love the relaxed feel of this place . ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I love the relaxed feel of this place . The bartenders are outstanding mixologist! They have probably the best meat loaf that I ever eaten. Service was well-timed and friendly, great bourbon selection and the mix drinks are amazing.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner at The Hound v ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at The Hound visiting our daughter at Auburn. The staff were very attentive. We can't wait to return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great environment and food. We were a li ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great environment and food. We were a little late due to trying to find a parking spot, but our reservation was held and we were seated almost immediately. If you're planning on dining in Auburn I recommend eating at The Hound.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are meeting friends that we've not se ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We are meeting friends that we've not seen in a while. We had to add to our party of four, increasing it to six. We did have to change our reservation time by 30 minutes, but that was not a problem. We were seated pretty quick once were all there. We had a great waitress. Everybody enjoyed the food.

We were never rushed, and had a great time.

Atmosphere was great. I mentioned to our waitress that it was my wedding anniversary also. She brought us some bread pudding, which was a treat.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always the food and service was excel ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

As always the food and service was excellent! Chef Horner is doing an amazing job! I just hope the Scotch egg makes it back on the menu for fall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Hound is consistently great! They ar ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The Hound is consistently great! They are known for their bar, but the food is equally as varied and of high quality. The atmosphere is laid-back and warm; I've never had anything less than stellar service. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food with a great spirit menu

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My wife and I went by recommendation of a friend. The décor was interesting with art that I found appealing on the walls. The waiters and waitresses were top notch. They were not the fastest, but then they took time at each table to ensure you had what you needed and were beyond friendly and welcoming. One of the managers, Stephen, was extremely helpful, courteous, and friendly. Although it was my first visit I felt I had been their best customer for years. Their spirit menu is above par, the best I have seen bar none within a 100 mile radius. The entrees we had was good, possibly not the best we have had, but well above average. I highly recommend the Hound for the spirit menu, staff, and pretty good food. Especially the staff. Good job guys.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great night of food and fellowship

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Great food and service. Would definitely eat there again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food but annoying seating policy

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

I made a reservation for 2 for an early supper. I arrived 10 minutes early, the restaurant was half full and I was told I wouldn't be seated until my exact reservation time. If the place had been packed I'd understand but it just seemed a bit silly to make me sit in the lobby for 10 minutes when there were clearly a ton of tables available.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the team! The burgers are fantastic ...

 
·Dined on March 8, 2016

Love the team! The burgers are fantastic, just the fries have become a bit too salty over the last months. But other than that there is nothing that would at all be bothering. The staff is friendly and the location just feels perfect for a nice dine out with friends or a quick bite to grab at lunch time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food! We will go b ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Excellent service and food! We will go back time and time again! Thank you Hound! Tyler, Jordan, Aila, Steven, and Kaysha are the best servers and managers around! They are the reason we eat at the Hound weekly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

wonderful food, and friendly staff, will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience! The hanger steak i ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Wonderful experience! The hanger steak is one of the best I've had and the bread pudding is worth every penny. Amazing customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Hound was barking on a Thursday Night!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

We had a reservation and were seated promptly at a cute little table for 2. Our waiter was absolutely fantastic! The food was delicious and the service amazing. Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the hound!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

It was especially good this time around, possibly because it was not as crowded as our last visit. The sprout salad and bread pudding were spot on. Really like that the manager teaches "table manicuring" to the staff. It makes the meal and ambience that much more enjoyable. Can't wait to dine again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The service and food is impeccable. This ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

The service and food is impeccable. This is my favorite restaurant hands down. They give 100% every time the doors open. The management knows what they are doing and they are always willing to go over and above. Tonight my daughter asked for a grilled cheese and it's not on the menu. They delivered the best grilled cheese she's ever had. They keep us coming back time and time again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing all around

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I am so glad we picked The Hound for our Valentine's Day dinner. I recommend making reservations, as we saw quite a few people waiting for tables. We got a drink at the bar while our table was prepared. It didn't take long- maybe five minutes. From the hostess, to the bartender, the server, and the food runners- everyone was extremely helpful and professional. Our server was literally one of the best servers I have ever had. She was so pleasant and attentive. I wish I remembered her name! Then the food- oh my goodness. We ate so much. I literally enjoyed every bite of everything we ordered. The had a special- some sort of sweetbread sausage patties, then we also ordered the bacon wrapped dates, the pork cracklings, chicken pot pie, and turkey BLT. The crafted cocktails were also superb, but they also have a great beer selection. I highly recommend this place. Can't wait to go back and try their brunch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

We had the best experience at the Hound. Food was delicious, ESPECIALLY mac and cheese appetizer. The service was excellent and the atmosphere is fun and wonderful. Would highly recommend this place especially for groups!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent service

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

We had one of the best servers we've ever had at a restaurant. You could tell she liked her job. Timing was perfect. Suggestions were excellent. Not a fan of bread pudding but LOVED the Hound's. I will definitely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great Place!!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

This was our first time here & it didn't disappoint! Good food, drinks & the service was wonderful. Highly recommend the bread pudding..out of this world good!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, fun energetic atmosph ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Excellent service, fun energetic atmosphere, and good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

We had Saturday night resevations for 7:30 but got there at 6:30. They tried to work us in but we ended up sitting at the bar enjoying conversations with the bar tenders. Drinks were good and priced reasonable. Dinner was fantastic. Start with the fried pork rinds. They were still crackling when they brought them out. The hot sauce is a great compliment, but make sure you have water ready. We had the sea bass special and the pasta special. Both were perfect. Make sure you try the bread pudding. It was a great ending to a perfect meal. Overall the meal was $85 plus tip. Well worth the money. We left full and satisfied we got our moneys worth.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

OUTSTANDING!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Great night with friends after the AU Basketball game. Really glad I made reservations through open table as I overheard 1 hr+ wait times from the hostess. We were seated timely next to the fireplace, service was amazing and the food was fantastic. Great bourbon selection!

I will come again ... looking forward to it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed as always. Cocktails good.

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Late for reservation -- worked us into bar seats -- kindly made singles into 2. Food is bump above bar food. Had appetizers for dinner -- 3 between 2 of us = perfect. Gotta try the fresh porkrinds!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

Great restaurant & great service!

BEST burgers in town!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dining experience!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

Our server was very friendly and attentive.

She also offered helpful suggestions. Great

service overall.

We also really like the rustic decor of the

restaurant... fun place to spend the evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Busy Night, Fast Service.

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

I thought we would be waiting a while for our food on New Years Eve, but we had our entrees in less than 20 minutes! Overall, great service. However, the space is smaller than I imagined, which made it very loud with all the people in there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Never disappoints!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

The menu is limited and seasonal but ALWAYS delicious! The bread pudding is a must! Priced well for the quality of food served!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A little expensive but we like the atmos ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

A little expensive but we like the atmosphere and food there so we always go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Yummy!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

We have enjoyed The Hound in Auburn twice, once for dinner on a Thursday night before a big game weekend and once for lunch on the Friday of the biggest game weekend. I made reservations both times, once the same day, but it looked like they took some walk-ins, too. We were seated quickly and enjoyed sitting in the large, open dining room. The food was WONDERFUL and the service excellent and professional. The Hound is worth the trip!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My food came out cold! It wasn't even good either.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on November 9, 2015

My food came out practically ice cold! I ordered the more expensive menu item, the flat iron steak and potatoes. It was completely cold and my friend got a salad and the lettuce was warm. This practically ruined the meal. For $22 I should be getting a sizable portion that was HOT! It was very small and I left hungry.

Also the drink I ordered was very small and it was $9. The drink took all of about 4 sips and contained a very weak amount of alcohol. Overall the meal was about $40 for one and I was very disappointed. I will think again before going back to the hound.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.