Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About The Hound

Online Reservations Limited. If you don't find what you are looking for, give us a call. We do still reserve a large part of the restaurant for walk ins.

We accept reservations of all sizes for Lunch & Dinner, but only for parties 8 or more for our Brunch service.

The Hound is a family owned restaurant and bar featuring American classics, top shelf bourbon and 28 craft beers on tap. Our atmosphere was designed to be warm and welcoming- think hunting lodge, antler-pronged barn setting laced with the beauty of the old days in the South, where life revolved around fishing, hunting, campfires, storytelling and making memories around your family’s table.

124 Tichenor Ave
Auburn, AL 36830
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
North College

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 246-3300

Website:
http://www.thehound-auburn.com/

Parking Details:
The Hound is located directly adjacent to the Auburn Municipal Parking Garage. Additional Parking is available at City Hall and Auburn Bank after 5 pm on weekdays and all day on weekends (excluding home game Saturdays)

Executive Chef:
tba

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

The Hound Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (16)
Comfort Food (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
See All
Casual (12)
Authentic (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Fun (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Cozy (6)
Great Beer (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Romantic (6)
Business Meals (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
People Watching (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort by
S
249 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

On a very busy night and with a large table (9 individuals), the food all came out very well prepared and in a reasonable time along with service from our waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Service was great, we had people offering to help constantly and we were seated as soon as we got there (with a reservation)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

I love the ambiance of The Hound! It's so inviting and the food is delicious. It's a wonderful place to gather with friends, settle in, and just have amazing conversations.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 8, 2018

Pretty alright place. I ordered the crab for $26 and it was OK. She got the chicken Caesar salad for $8 and she said it was worth it. Overall you’re paying for the ambiance more than anything, and there was definitely an ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Always a great dining experience at The Hound.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 5, 2018

Four of us ate .,and odered different items.Included fish of the day,meat loaf,and two others. All were very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 2, 2018

The Hound was closed. We made reservations for dinner, and it wasn’t even open. So we ate at Hamilton’s. I would recommend calling The Hound before making reservations on OpenTable. I only rated it because OpenTable required ratings. I’m sure the food is good...when it’s open.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Great menu of higher end fare at very reasonable prices. I’m a bourbon snob and The Hound has the best selection in Central Alabama.

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Comfort Food, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Our meal at the Hound consisted of delicious, perfectly prepared dishes paired with expertly crafted cocktails. We loved every minute of our meal. We started with the bacon flight and ordered cocktails: the Rested Buffalo and the 1870s Sazerac. For entrees, I ordered the pork chop and my husband got the chimichurri steak. Every bite was amazing. I was especially impressed by the apple butter and brussels sprouts that came with my tender pork chop.
They only have one dessert: bread pudding. They don't need anything else, since this dish easily holds its own. It's perfect for sharing since it comes with two scoops of ice cream and it pretty big.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Casual, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2017

always a treat!! so glad you were open Christmas Eve too.....m

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 24, 2017

We always enjoy going there with our daughter whenever she is in town. We had the Mac-n-Cheese and it was amazing and plenty with a side salad.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2017

We had an outstanding meal which was enhanced by a very friendly and helpful staff. This is our "go to" restaurant when we are in Auburn. The chicken fried steak was unlike any we'd had before and provided a memorable dining experience. Who'd have thought a dish served as a staple at diners could be a gourmet experience. The meatloaf was also great. Comfort food on a wet, cold winter night, who could ask for more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2017

Always a fabulous meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 20, 2017

Terrible parking and poor layout of dining area. Claustrophobic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2017

Outstanding food and wonderful service! Everyone in our party of six loved what they ordered and loved the restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 10, 2017

I know that most everyone at the table enjoyed their food. My son loved the chicken strips and French fries. My steak was over cooked and it was extremely fatty. The food took quite some time to come out so I didn’t bother asking to have it fixed or replaced since i he small children at the table. I’m sure they would have done anything they could to make me happy. The waitress was really nice. I’m not sure I would chance it again because of the price of the food. ($29 for a ribeye)

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 27, 2017

Amazing food and service. The meatloaf burger and fried green beans were to die for! Management was so kind and our server knew everything about the menu. Loved the bread pudding as well!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

My wife and I frequent this place and it's fantastic. They are better with beef & lamb than they are with chicken, but there are plenty enough options to keep anybody happy. The only gripe I'd have is that during dinner, you might get stuck with a table that's pretty close to another table. We got seated and could have joined in on the conversation of the couple next to us. Aside from that, fantastic visit.

And the bread pudding is not to be missed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Amazing meal and we went back Saturday and it was great again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 15, 2017

Really disappointed this time. I always look forward to the vegetarian lasagne, which was the best in town. It has been dropped from the menu. There seems to be a trend in town to lower the vegetarian options available. They need to know that we vegetarians, many times, determine where we will eat with our more carnivore friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

We really enjoyed our visit. The parking was the only issue. It took a long time to find a spot

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Awesome atmosphere. Also had a new menu that had a number of awesome new choices. I want to try them all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2017

We ate dinner here while visiting our son whose new job took him to Auburn. This was our second time eating at Hound. The food was top notch and well prepared. The bourbon list was impressive and even our vegetarian daughter was able to find some options that pleased her. We plan to return next time we are in Auburn.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 25, 2017

Great server. Great whiskey deal. Shrimp and grits were fantastic. The popcorn/bacon appetizer was tremendous. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

Excellent food and drinks and perfect ambiance. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Casual, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 18, 2017

Our service was slow and others seated later than us were served food before us. Our waiter didn't seem to be on task. However that being said The Hound is a fun place to go to with good food. It just was frustrating because of the service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Ample dinner selections to accommodate everyone's taste, great service staff, good recommendations regarding the bread pudding dessert. Will make sure we always make a reservation when visiting Auburn!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

we had a great time--3 n all. great bar with fun and original drinks. great service and peppy servers. would rec to friends. goo value esp. for special dishes. loved the sausages. I had the pork chop--hearty and soooo tender.

Tags: Live Sports, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 15, 2017

My niece always ask to go to the Hound when she comes into town. Her favorite.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The selection of entrees is not to our taste. We have dined there three times now and always been disappointed. Doubt we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Had our Anniversary lunch at the Hound Thursday. The staff was great and the food was awesome.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Great food, outstanding service. We were there for early lunch and noise level not a problem at all. Easy to converse.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great service and great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Server was awesome. Food ok! Of the seven entrees they ran out of two (the items we wanted). They also ran out of soup. Expensive restaurant, disappointing experience this time :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Fantastic place to have a great meal. Will be back the next time we visit Auburn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 14, 2017

The pork chop and skirt steak are both excellent choices for dinner. The Hound has an extensive premium bar with top shelf offerings. The restaurant is usually packed so reservations are a must. Great food at reasonable prices and we highly recommend it.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

One of the best restaurants in town. Great food, great service, would highly suggest.

Tags: Great for Brunch, People Watching, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great experience. Had Goodwood beer previously but had replaced it. Bring Goodwood back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Excellent red snapper special but the Cuban black beans were too salty for me. Service was attentive and helpful. Always a good option and this is it didn't disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We helped move our daughter into her dorm and then took her to dinner during Auburn University's sorority rush. The Hound was a perfect location, right next to the campus, and the atmosphere there was lively, and fun. Our server was very friendly and she stopped by several times to check on us and to refill our drinks. I had the "fat steak" which is a very nice thick ribeye and was wonderful. My wife and daughter had the meatloaf and the drunken chicken. All delicious and perfectly seasoned and cooked.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Authentic, Great Beer, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.