About The Hound

124 Tichenor Ave
Auburn, AL 36830
View Larger Map

Online Reservations Limited. If you don't find what you are looking for, give us a call. We do still reserve a large part of the restaurant for walk ins.

We accept reservations of all sizes for Lunch & Dinner, but only for parties 8 or more for our Brunch service.

The Hound is a family owned restaurant and bar featuring American classics, top shelf bourbon and 28 craft beers on tap. Our atmosphere was designed to be warm and welcoming- think hunting lodge, antler-pronged barn setting laced with the beauty of the old days in the South, where life revolved around fishing, hunting, campfires, storytelling and making memories around your family’s table.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
North College

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 246-3300

Website:
http://www.thehound-auburn.com/

Parking Details:
The Hound is located directly adjacent to the Auburn Municipal Parking Garage. Additional Parking is available at City Hall and Auburn Bank after 5 pm on weekdays and all day on weekends (excluding home game Saturdays)

Executive Chef:
Christian Watson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Hound - The Hound, Auburn, AL
Hound - The Hound, Auburn, AL

The Hound Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Hot Spot (21)
Special Occasion (19)
Good for Groups (16)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Casual (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Fun (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Cozy (8)
Great Beer (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Business Meals (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Romantic (4)
Family Style (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Authentic (3)
Live Sports (2)
Historic (2)
Healthy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
138 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is the second time we have visited ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 4 days ago

This is the second time we have visited The Hound and it continues to not disappoint. We took a person who has never been and she loved it too. You have an extensive alcohol collection which I appreciate because I am a single malt scotch drinker and your wine list is eclectic but simple, and extensive in its own right. We have to be in Auburn every month for a doctor appointment and have truly found a positive reason (besides the excellent pet hospital) to visit this wonderful little college town. Although our two sons went to Auburn we were living in California at the time and never had a reason to visit. Now we have two reasons, the wonderful veterinary facilities and The Hound!

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food (loved the quail, and the fla ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food (loved the quail, and the flank steak was a BIG favorite at our table)! Great service (very well trained!!)! Overall a GREAT experience!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique menu and the food was fabulous! I ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Unique menu and the food was fabulous! It was a splurge date night for my husband and I and we tried the mac n cheese with pulled pork- richly divine!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed this unique and de ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed this unique and delicious restaurant! I wish it would've been in Auburn when I lived there years ago. It's also a great value for all of the food they serve!

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Healthy, Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Groups, Romantic, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One dessert but there is a reason it is ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 14, 2016

One dessert but there is a reason it is delicious. I would recommend it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Fabulous food and service! The Bison Bur ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Fabulous food and service! The Bison Burger was a hit. So were the bacon covered dates as an appetizer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

food is excellent and substantial; setti ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 12, 2016

food is excellent and substantial; setting is special; worth a drive but should not be missed if in the auburn area

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great little tucked-away restauraunt. ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 4, 2016

A great little tucked-away restauraunt. Their menu has quite a few good special offerings such as a seasonal bird (in August it was duck, in November it was quail) and bison burgers, in addition to several comfort-food staples such as chicken pot-pie, meatloaf, and steaks.

Unfortunately, despite having a reservation, it took upwards of twenty minutes AFTER the reservation for them to clear a table (and it hadn't even been cleaned yet). Food was reasonably slow, but worth the wait. They don't take football gameday reservations, so it's best to steer clear unless you don't mind waiting several hours for a table (or perhaps call during the game to get your name on the waiting list if its' starting to fill up by the 4'th quarter).

Otherwise, its' one of the nicer restaurants in Auburn, up there with the Depot and Hamilton's in terms of price and quality.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Always eat at the abound when visiting o ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Always eat at the abound when visiting our daughter at Auburn. Menu has remained pretty much the same for the last few years but we always try something different. Latest try was the brussel sprout salad- amazing ! Can always count on a good meal here - may not always be creative but always good ! Must try- fried green beans !

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

You need a "Maybe" answer for the "Would ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 30, 2016

You need a "Maybe" answer for the "Would You Recommend" block. I thought the food here was overpriced for what you got. Ordered the pork chop and all it came with was some so-so mashed potatoes, no greens or bread, nothing. It was a nice, large pork chop, but not very tender. My wife did not care for the meatloaf at all. This was an occasion to take out my nephew and his wife and we were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Great menu with traditional and non trad ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great menu with traditional and non traditional America favorites. The service is excellent. The manger always remembers us. This is our go to restaurant when we have out of town guest. We eat at the Hound 4 to 6 times a month. The weekend brunch is always excellent and dinner always exceeds our expectations. We particularly like the fresh fried green bean appetizer, the Elizabeth Collins Cocktail, and the roasted brussel sprout salad. We try a different main dish almost every visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed the atmosphere and the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We really enjoyed the atmosphere and the food. The pepper jelly appetizer and the pork rind appetizer are highly recommended. I had the 16 oz Ribeye. It was cooked perfectly and had great flavor. The service we received was top notch. This was our first visit here but it will not be our last.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Alex the server was amazing, very knowle ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Alex the server was amazing, very knowledgeable, personable and great service. The skirt steak was simply fantastic and the atmosphere has a great energy. The bourbon selection was extraordinary, though not in stock (and honestly, it's in stock nowhere) the bartender shared my love of Black Maple Hill bourbon, which proves these guys are trained bourbon artisans!

Great job Hound, you're a gem of the campus!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Erica was an awesome server!! Food was o ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Erica was an awesome server!! Food was outstanding per usual....

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was amazing. The pork chop was perf ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Food was amazing. The pork chop was perfect. Menu changes seasonally which I love.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner!! Great food!!

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Wonderful dinner!! Great food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went here during a football game weekend ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Went here during a football game weekend. The place was very crowded but they seem to have a decent system for dealing with it. A secondary bar area was set up outside to accommodate the overflow and allow people some space while waiting for a table. Our server was excellent during such a chaotic time. The menu is eclectic but everything we ordered was good (stuffed dates, fried green beans, skirt steak, pork shoulder & pork chop).

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Our favorite restaurant in Auburn, the b ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Auburn, the beer is always cold and the food is always hot. the service is outstanding and you just feel relaxed when you sit down to eat & drink at The Hound

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Live Sports, People Watching, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservation and still had to wait f ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Made reservation and still had to wait for a table. What was the point of making a reservation?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Celebrating birthday and college visit. ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Celebrating birthday and college visit. Service was good except it took over an hour to get the meal and one of our orders had to be changed. Steak was good but overpriced for not coming with sides.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Awesome food, wait, drinks! Will be back ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Awesome food, wait, drinks! Will be back! Recommended to friends!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Romantic, Business Meals, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Historic, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding service and food!! We reall ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Outstanding service and food!! We really enjoyed our meal, and our waiter was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We eat at The Hound every time we are in ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We eat at The Hound every time we are in Auburn. Always Good!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If they haven't taken duck off of the me ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 16, 2016

If they haven't taken duck off of the menu then do not order. The confit of the leg/thigh was great but the breast was cooked like shoe leather. My colleague had the meatloaf which was also desiccated. I mentioned the breast was ruined and they took the $30 dish off of the bill. Good customer service. Very nice staff, but not very attentive during the meal.

Very nice ambience but slow service and poorly executed food make this a no go for me.

Probably a raucous college bar on a Friday and Saturday night, but not really about the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Always great casual dining.

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Always great casual dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I love the relaxed feel of this place . ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 13, 2016

I love the relaxed feel of this place . The bartenders are outstanding mixologist! They have probably the best meat loaf that I ever eaten. Service was well-timed and friendly, great bourbon selection and the mix drinks are amazing.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner at The Hound v ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at The Hound visiting our daughter at Auburn. The staff were very attentive. We can't wait to return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great environment and food. We were a li ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great environment and food. We were a little late due to trying to find a parking spot, but our reservation was held and we were seated almost immediately. If you're planning on dining in Auburn I recommend eating at The Hound.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are meeting friends that we've not se ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We are meeting friends that we've not seen in a while. We had to add to our party of four, increasing it to six. We did have to change our reservation time by 30 minutes, but that was not a problem. We were seated pretty quick once were all there. We had a great waitress. Everybody enjoyed the food.

We were never rushed, and had a great time.

Atmosphere was great. I mentioned to our waitress that it was my wedding anniversary also. She brought us some bread pudding, which was a treat.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always the food and service was excel ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 7, 2016

As always the food and service was excellent! Chef Horner is doing an amazing job! I just hope the Scotch egg makes it back on the menu for fall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Hound is consistently great! They ar ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 29, 2016

The Hound is consistently great! They are known for their bar, but the food is equally as varied and of high quality. The atmosphere is laid-back and warm; I've never had anything less than stellar service. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food with a great spirit menu

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 22, 2016

My wife and I went by recommendation of a friend. The décor was interesting with art that I found appealing on the walls. The waiters and waitresses were top notch. They were not the fastest, but then they took time at each table to ensure you had what you needed and were beyond friendly and welcoming. One of the managers, Stephen, was extremely helpful, courteous, and friendly. Although it was my first visit I felt I had been their best customer for years. Their spirit menu is above par, the best I have seen bar none within a 100 mile radius. The entrees we had was good, possibly not the best we have had, but well above average. I highly recommend the Hound for the spirit menu, staff, and pretty good food. Especially the staff. Good job guys.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great night of food and fellowship

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Great food and service. Would definitely eat there again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food but annoying seating policy

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 23, 2016

I made a reservation for 2 for an early supper. I arrived 10 minutes early, the restaurant was half full and I was told I wouldn't be seated until my exact reservation time. If the place had been packed I'd understand but it just seemed a bit silly to make me sit in the lobby for 10 minutes when there were clearly a ton of tables available.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the team! The burgers are fantastic ...

 
·Dined on March 8, 2016

Love the team! The burgers are fantastic, just the fries have become a bit too salty over the last months. But other than that there is nothing that would at all be bothering. The staff is friendly and the location just feels perfect for a nice dine out with friends or a quick bite to grab at lunch time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food! We will go b ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 5, 2016

Excellent service and food! We will go back time and time again! Thank you Hound! Tyler, Jordan, Aila, Steven, and Kaysha are the best servers and managers around! They are the reason we eat at the Hound weekly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 28, 2016

wonderful food, and friendly staff, will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience! The hanger steak i ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 28, 2016

Wonderful experience! The hanger steak is one of the best I've had and the bread pudding is worth every penny. Amazing customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Hound was barking on a Thursday Night!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2016

We had a reservation and were seated promptly at a cute little table for 2. Our waiter was absolutely fantastic! The food was delicious and the service amazing. Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.