About The Hound

124 Tichenor Ave
Auburn, AL 36830
View Larger Map

Online Reservations Limited. If you don't find what you are looking for, give us a call. We do still reserve a large part of the restaurant for walk ins.

We accept reservations of all sizes for Lunch & Dinner, but only for parties 8 or more for our Brunch service.

The Hound is a family owned restaurant and bar featuring American classics, top shelf bourbon and 28 craft beers on tap. Our atmosphere was designed to be warm and welcoming- think hunting lodge, antler-pronged barn setting laced with the beauty of the old days in the South, where life revolved around fishing, hunting, campfires, storytelling and making memories around your family’s table.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:30am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
North College

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(334) 246-3300

Website:
http://www.thehound-auburn.com/

Parking Details:
The Hound is located directly adjacent to the Auburn Municipal Parking Garage. Additional Parking is available at City Hall and Auburn Bank after 5 pm on weekdays and all day on weekends (excluding home game Saturdays)

Executive Chef:
Christian Watson

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • The Hound
The Hound

The Hound Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Alabama
Best Food
Alabama
Best Service
Alabama
2 More
American
Alabama
Most Booked
Auburn
Best Restaurants in Auburn ›

good for groups (22)
fit for foodies (21)
neighborhood gem (16)
See All
special occasion (13)
hot spot (12)
vibrant bar scene (11)
great for brunch (9)
great for lunch (6)
kid-friendly (5)
notable wine list (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
106 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As always the food and service was excel ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

As always the food and service was excellent! Chef Horner is doing an amazing job! I just hope the Scotch egg makes it back on the menu for fall.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Hound is consistently great! They ar ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The Hound is consistently great! They are known for their bar, but the food is equally as varied and of high quality. The atmosphere is laid-back and warm; I've never had anything less than stellar service. Highly recommend!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food with a great spirit menu

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My wife and I went by recommendation of a friend. The décor was interesting with art that I found appealing on the walls. The waiters and waitresses were top notch. They were not the fastest, but then they took time at each table to ensure you had what you needed and were beyond friendly and welcoming. One of the managers, Stephen, was extremely helpful, courteous, and friendly. Although it was my first visit I felt I had been their best customer for years. Their spirit menu is above par, the best I have seen bar none within a 100 mile radius. The entrees we had was good, possibly not the best we have had, but well above average. I highly recommend the Hound for the spirit menu, staff, and pretty good food. Especially the staff. Good job guys.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great night of food and fellowship

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Great food and service. Would definitely eat there again!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food but annoying seating policy

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

I made a reservation for 2 for an early supper. I arrived 10 minutes early, the restaurant was half full and I was told I wouldn't be seated until my exact reservation time. If the place had been packed I'd understand but it just seemed a bit silly to make me sit in the lobby for 10 minutes when there were clearly a ton of tables available.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the team! The burgers are fantastic ...

 
·Dined on March 8, 2016

Love the team! The burgers are fantastic, just the fries have become a bit too salty over the last months. But other than that there is nothing that would at all be bothering. The staff is friendly and the location just feels perfect for a nice dine out with friends or a quick bite to grab at lunch time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food! We will go b ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Excellent service and food! We will go back time and time again! Thank you Hound! Tyler, Jordan, Aila, Steven, and Kaysha are the best servers and managers around! They are the reason we eat at the Hound weekly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

wonderful food, and friendly staff, will definitely be back!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience! The hanger steak i ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Wonderful experience! The hanger steak is one of the best I've had and the bread pudding is worth every penny. Amazing customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Hound was barking on a Thursday Night!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

We had a reservation and were seated promptly at a cute little table for 2. Our waiter was absolutely fantastic! The food was delicious and the service amazing. Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the hound!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

It was especially good this time around, possibly because it was not as crowded as our last visit. The sprout salad and bread pudding were spot on. Really like that the manager teaches "table manicuring" to the staff. It makes the meal and ambience that much more enjoyable. Can't wait to dine again!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The service and food is impeccable. This ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

The service and food is impeccable. This is my favorite restaurant hands down. They give 100% every time the doors open. The management knows what they are doing and they are always willing to go over and above. Tonight my daughter asked for a grilled cheese and it's not on the menu. They delivered the best grilled cheese she's ever had. They keep us coming back time and time again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing all around

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I am so glad we picked The Hound for our Valentine's Day dinner. I recommend making reservations, as we saw quite a few people waiting for tables. We got a drink at the bar while our table was prepared. It didn't take long- maybe five minutes. From the hostess, to the bartender, the server, and the food runners- everyone was extremely helpful and professional. Our server was literally one of the best servers I have ever had. She was so pleasant and attentive. I wish I remembered her name! Then the food- oh my goodness. We ate so much. I literally enjoyed every bite of everything we ordered. The had a special- some sort of sweetbread sausage patties, then we also ordered the bacon wrapped dates, the pork cracklings, chicken pot pie, and turkey BLT. The crafted cocktails were also superb, but they also have a great beer selection. I highly recommend this place. Can't wait to go back and try their brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

We had the best experience at the Hound. Food was delicious, ESPECIALLY mac and cheese appetizer. The service was excellent and the atmosphere is fun and wonderful. Would highly recommend this place especially for groups!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent service

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

We had one of the best servers we've ever had at a restaurant. You could tell she liked her job. Timing was perfect. Suggestions were excellent. Not a fan of bread pudding but LOVED the Hound's. I will definitely go back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great Place!!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

This was our first time here & it didn't disappoint! Good food, drinks & the service was wonderful. Highly recommend the bread pudding..out of this world good!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, fun energetic atmosph ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Excellent service, fun energetic atmosphere, and good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

We had Saturday night resevations for 7:30 but got there at 6:30. They tried to work us in but we ended up sitting at the bar enjoying conversations with the bar tenders. Drinks were good and priced reasonable. Dinner was fantastic. Start with the fried pork rinds. They were still crackling when they brought them out. The hot sauce is a great compliment, but make sure you have water ready. We had the sea bass special and the pasta special. Both were perfect. Make sure you try the bread pudding. It was a great ending to a perfect meal. Overall the meal was $85 plus tip. Well worth the money. We left full and satisfied we got our moneys worth.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

OUTSTANDING!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Great night with friends after the AU Basketball game. Really glad I made reservations through open table as I overheard 1 hr+ wait times from the hostess. We were seated timely next to the fireplace, service was amazing and the food was fantastic. Great bourbon selection!

I will come again ... looking forward to it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed as always. Cocktails good.

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Late for reservation -- worked us into bar seats -- kindly made singles into 2. Food is bump above bar food. Had appetizers for dinner -- 3 between 2 of us = perfect. Gotta try the fresh porkrinds!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

Great restaurant & great service!

BEST burgers in town!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dining experience!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

Our server was very friendly and attentive.

She also offered helpful suggestions. Great

service overall.

We also really like the rustic decor of the

restaurant... fun place to spend the evening.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Busy Night, Fast Service.

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

I thought we would be waiting a while for our food on New Years Eve, but we had our entrees in less than 20 minutes! Overall, great service. However, the space is smaller than I imagined, which made it very loud with all the people in there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Never disappoints!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

The menu is limited and seasonal but ALWAYS delicious! The bread pudding is a must! Priced well for the quality of food served!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A little expensive but we like the atmos ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

A little expensive but we like the atmosphere and food there so we always go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Yummy!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

We have enjoyed The Hound in Auburn twice, once for dinner on a Thursday night before a big game weekend and once for lunch on the Friday of the biggest game weekend. I made reservations both times, once the same day, but it looked like they took some walk-ins, too. We were seated quickly and enjoyed sitting in the large, open dining room. The food was WONDERFUL and the service excellent and professional. The Hound is worth the trip!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My food came out cold! It wasn't even good either.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on November 9, 2015

My food came out practically ice cold! I ordered the more expensive menu item, the flat iron steak and potatoes. It was completely cold and my friend got a salad and the lettuce was warm. This practically ruined the meal. For $22 I should be getting a sizable portion that was HOT! It was very small and I left hungry.

Also the drink I ordered was very small and it was $9. The drink took all of about 4 sips and contained a very weak amount of alcohol. Overall the meal was about $40 for one and I was very disappointed. I will think again before going back to the hound.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

A family favorite!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

This is our family's favorite restaurant in Auburn. We have had lunch, dinner, and Sunday brunch with our party of 6, including a birthday celebration. It is just the right mix of casual and fun with always exceptional food and great service. Some favorite dishes include the bacon wrapped dates and wild game sausage apps, stuffed quail and veggie burger entrees, and bread pudding dessert. Bar selections are surprisingly varied with lots of choices of great beers and bourbons. It also should be noted that there are menu selections for almost any budget. You can get a great meal without breaking the bank, or a splurge on a special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was excellent as usual.

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

Food was excellent as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Exquisite food, awesome service and atmosphere

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

Reservations were easily made on line; there was no waiting when we arrived. The food arrived to our table in a timely manner and it was fantastic not to mention the pleasant calm atmosphere. We will definitely go back soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome find

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

Great service. Food was delicious. Clean with family atmosphere while affording a nice bar experience

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not our best visit.

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 21, 2015

Not our best visit here. Server was friendly but not attentive. Salad arrived with steak. Scallions arrived on food when requested no scallions. Food was delicious and hot. My rating would have been lower if it had been my first visit but since I know service is typically better, I kept the rating good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

The Hound - Auburn Favorite

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 15, 2015

The Hound has become our Auburn Favorite and a must visit every time we are in town. The food is great, the beer selection impressive as are the spirits. The wait staff has always been fantastic.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very expensive evening

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 14, 2015

Seems to be one of the trendier restaurants in Auburn. Large selection of beer, wine and mixed drinks. The food seemed overpriced. I had meatloaf. It came with potatoes and asparagus. It was tasty. My husband ordered the steak which came with nothing but steak. For $30.00 it should have included a potato. Our salads were ordered separate also. They were fresh but disappointed they didn't have blue cheese dressing. All food was good but seemed expensive.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Best Fried Chicken

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2015

Hidden gem. Fabulous Food and Superior Service. Appetizer- Bacon wrapped stuffed dates went really well with my red wine! Fried chicken like no other! Loved it! Going back for brunch this Sunday!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Setting

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 30, 2015

I would just like to mention that we had 3 of our party there and had to wait on one. We would have bought drinks and such, if we would have been seated. I understand if the place was packed out and there were lots of people waiting, but on Friday that was not the case. It was really frustrating and we were ready for something to drink. It will hinder my decision to make other plans there for an outing with other people.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Great Food, Great Service

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 11, 2015

This was my second trip here and enjoyed the food even better this time. We even came back the next day for brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Favorite Restaurant!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2015

This is a family favorite restaurant with great food, atmosphere and service!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best food all weekend

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 22, 2015

Fabulous meal and server. I had crispy salmon on pureed cauliflower and I have never had better. It was the perfect amount and I left very happy. My date loved it also and we ended up having a really good server who had written a book which we bought at a local bookstore the next day. Too much fun!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic meal all around!

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 15, 2015

Took daughter to The Hound when we were checking out Auburn. She loved the hipster/rustic chic vibe, I appreciated the extensive drink menu. Food was delicious (we ordered the stuffed date appetizer, chicken and avocado sandwich, and the gem salad with chicken). The restaurant was tucked away off the street and a little tough to find (note: park in the ramp). Will definitely visit again the next time we're in town!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.