Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Mozelle's Fresh Southern BistroMozelle's Fresh Southern Bistro
(992)
$$$$
Southern | Winston-Salem, Winston Salem
Booked 6 times today
Katharine Brasserie & BarKatharine Brasserie & Bar
(257)
$$$$
Contemporary French / American | Winston-Salem, Winston Salem
Booked 3 times today
Jeffrey Adams on FourthJeffrey Adams on Fourth
(529)
$$$$
American | Winston-Salem, Winston Salem
Booked 6 times today
Spring House Restaurant, Kitchen & BarSpring House Restaurant, Kitchen & Bar
(574)
$$$$
American | Winston-Salem, Winston Salem
Booked 6 times today
The Old Fourth Street Filling StationThe Old Fourth Street Filling Station
(422)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Winston-Salem, Winston Salem
Booked 3 times today
Ryan's RestaurantRyan's Restaurant
(1565)
$$$$
Steak | Winston-Salem, Winston Salem
Booked 13 times today
Bernardin's Restaurant at the Zevely HouseBernardin's Restaurant at the Zevely House
(579)
$$$$
Continental | Winston-Salem, Winston Salem
Booked 2 times today
Five PointsFive Points
(154)
$$$$
American | Winston-Salem, Winston Salem
Booked 3 times today
Milner's American SouthernMilner's American Southern
(289)
$$$$
Contemporary Southern | Winston-Salem, Winston Salem
Rooster's A Noble GrilleRooster's A Noble Grille
(730)
$$$$
Southern | Winston-Salem, Winston Salem
Booked 1 time today
Village Tavern (Hanes Mall Blvd) Winston-SalemVillage Tavern (Hanes Mall Blvd) Winston-Salem
(1154)
$$$$
American | Winston-Salem, Winston Salem
Booked 15 times today
GrazeGraze
(83)
$$$$
Southern | Winston-Salem, Winston Salem
Booked 1 time today
Hakka ChowHakka Chow
(278)
$$$$
Asian | Winston-Salem, Winston Salem
Booked 5 times today
Bleu Restaurant and BarBleu Restaurant and Bar
(467)
$$$$
American | Winston-Salem, Winston Salem
Green Valley GrillGreen Valley Grill
(2590)
$$$$
European | Greensboro, Greensboro
Booked 28 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About Permanently Closed - The Honey Pot

This restaurant is permanently closed. Founded in 2014, The Honey Pot has constantly pushed Winston Salem's envelope of food, beverages, service, and the complete dining experience. In our pursuit we've garnered local and national recognition including Wine Spectator's prestigious 'Best of Award of Excellence'.

In July of 2016 Chef Harrison Littell joined The Honey Pot, bringing a wealth of knowledge and culinary perspective to the restaurant and downtown Winston-Salem. Harrison is a dedicated advocate of the Triad's purveyors- at last count we were working with more than 60 farmers, foragers, and producers to showcase what an exciting time it is to dine in WSNC. Chef Littell's dishes nod to a myriad of serious culinary experiences and explore what Southern food looks like through the lens of multiple cultures and local products.




285 W. 4th St
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:

Monday - Saturday
Seating from
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Reservations are strongly suggested, though walk-ins may be taken at the communal table or bar on a first-come, first-serve basis.

*Please note*
Parties of 6 or more: a credit card number is required to hold all reservations.
Cancellation Policy: a 24 hour notice for cancellations of parties of 6 or more is required. Cancellations made with less than 24 hours notice will be charged $25 for each guest in the party. In the event of absent guests, a charge of $15 per absentee will be applied. These charges will be offered in the form of a gift card to the restaurant.

*Fall/Winter 2016 Closings*
Thursday November 24th

>>>Thursday December 1st- Japanese Whisky Dinner! Limited seats available. Call or e-mail calvinpena@honeypot-wsnc.com for details and tickets!<<<

Monday December 26th

Monday January 2nd

Cross Street:
4th St and Cherry St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 893-9471

Website:
http://www.honeypot-wsnc.com/

Parking Details:
Public parking deck located on Cherry between 4th St and 5th St.

Street parking also available for free after 5:00pm on weekdays and all day on weekends.

Executive Chef:
Harrison Littell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Honey Pot - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.7

ambience

3.8

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

60% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (3)
Good for a Date (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
See All
Special Occasion (2)
Authentic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Organic (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Romantic (1)
Cozy (1)
People Watching (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Healthy (1)
Fun (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
342 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This restaurant was closed despite my making a reservation and receiving a confirmation email. It was confusing and disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 1, 2017

They are out of business not sure why still booking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The restaurant is closed. They did not bother to notify me. I flew in from out of town and went there and it was shut down. Really rude that they didn't reach out to Opentable and/or to customers who had bookings.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Good bye old friend, you will be greatly missed

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Awesome experience! The food was outstanding and the service was great! We each started with the soup special which was not only presented well but was very tasty. The lamb curry entree was equally special with wonderful vegetables and tasty lamb. The portions were so large, we were unable to order dessert. We will miss the Honey Pot when they close in early March.

Tags: Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

One of the best places on the planet, and sadly it's moving to another universe

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This was wonderful. My boyfriend and I have been wanting to eat here for about 2 years, and we heard they were closing, so we decided to save our money to wat here as a late Valentine's date. It's a little loud and you sit close to other diners, but it's super nice and the decor is pretty. I got the pork chops with the grits andr redeye gravy. WONDERFUL. The grits were nice and rich, and paired with the gravy, was perfect. Then we shared the molten chocolate cake with raspberry coulis. It was maybe 20% cake and 80% chocolate (that's andr good thing!) So rich and lovely. Our waited knew everything there was to know andndbout the food and treated us well (I've noticed that sometimes, because we're both pretty young, that waiters in more upscale restaurants treat us like we're stupid. This place did not!) Overall, the food, service, and atmosphere were great. I wish they weren't closing!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Not your typicl fair. some may like. No tea no sodas. Felt like we were paying to be surrounded by high society in a dressed up eatery. Tables too close and there was not even an illusion of privacy or intimacy.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great spot and wonderful fresh food, so sorry they are closing their doors.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Always great food.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We love this restaurant; wish we'd found it long ago. The food is unusual for this area, sometimes surprising, and always delicious

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 6, 2017

We came in to celebrate an 8 year anniversary dinner together and thought the ambiance and quality of food would be worth trying the Honey Pot for. It was alright. Ambiance was great and the service was as well. The food was not as good as we thought it'd be considering how much it cost. There were a lot of extras that came on each plate that seemed to be more for decor. They were edible, but did not blend well with the key ingredients on the plate. There also weren't a lot of main entree options, I think there were something like 5? And then the appetizer or "small plate" menu was nearly 2x the amount and very pricey as well. The perceived value of the food does not match up with how much the Honey Pot priced each item at. Still worth trying for people looking to try unconventional food in the Winston-Salem area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Winsten-Salem people- wake up and expand your pallets. This is an amazing restaurant that would fare well in the City of Chicago- why it's closing In march has me puzzled. Amazing, creative , food- ambiance, farm to table, hip not trendy, for foodies and a big addition to the town of Winston Salem.

I wish them well and hope to see them in Raleigh where I live or Apex??!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Honey Pot has a stellar food reputation. After attempting to have dinner here numerous times, we finally landed a reservation. The restaurant is quite small and is sadly closing in March due to low business during the week. We have several thoughts about why this has happened. Our first idea was that there was a certain froideur when we sat that was slightly off-putting to a casual diner. This "air" seemed to pervade the entire dinner such as comments from the sommelier about the lack of "lesser" wines being available as they went quickly and were not being reordered due to the closing. It basically forced my husband to order a much more expensive wine. The prices seemed a little high but possibly reasonable for the various meal descriptions, but two of the highly touted dishes did not add up to their recommendation. Our foodie friends ordered chicken and lobster and were disappointed in the chicken but loved the lobster (request for drawn butter was never fulfilled however.) My sea bass was quite nice but my husband's lamb was a small portion for the price. The foie gras and pork rind starters were fantastic. This menu might be too fancy and expensive for many downtown diners and lacks a single beef dish other than bison. The niche it has could be redone with more affordable dishes, less pretension, and perhaps a bigger or more accessible location. Advertising and specials during the week could have also helped. Hate to see it go.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Best Restaurant in Winston-Salem!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 4, 2017

wonderful service and the food was absolutely amazing!!!!! Will definitely be coming back!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Erin and I celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary at 🍯Honey Pot🍯 !!!! The staff knowing it was a special occasion for us, they greeted us with cozy, romantic corner table with complimentary champagne! The service was impeccable and the food was mouth watering fantastic!!! They made the evening super special for us !!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The Honey Pot never disappoints and the Farm-to-Fork concept is clearly evident in the quality of their ingredients as well as the amazing flavors in the food. Outstanding place to dine.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food we ordered - two appetizers and four entrees - was all very good. We really enjoyed the duck poutine and the bison with root vegetables. The portion sizes were generous (I mention because we had seen reviews to the contrary), and the service was fine. However, I felt the prices were a bit high and the specialty cocktails underwhelming.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This was out first time there and our experience was phenomenal. Our server, Josh explained in great detail all of the menu items and suggested great choices. The staff was attentive but not in a disturbing way. Checked on our table at just the right times. I would highly recommend The Honey Pot for your next adult dinner.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fun, Romantic, People Watching, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Spicy, Organic, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great new additions to the menu. Love the crab cakes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This is my second time and I love more than before. Every was great and well knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This place is always great! the menu changes with the season and I had never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Excellent food; prompt, informative and courteous service; relatively quiet - enough to have a regular conversation; comfortable ambiance. An enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Brilliant service, phenomenal food, great ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Good food but way overpriced. Space is small. Would only go back for Special occasion...not a daily dining place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Exceptional service combined with outstanding food. Our server gave great drink pairing recommendations and was very knowledgeable about the menu. The entire staff was very friendly and made a warm and welcoming atmosphere. Definitely a place to try in downtown Winston-Salem!

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great food, tasty and excellent presentation. The pork chops were great as were the arancini appetizers. All the desserts were very good and the service as excellent. I guess we really like this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Honey Pot was amazing. The food was fantastic! The service was superb and the bar tenders mix drinks were not only delicious but beautiful. The entire evening was a beautiful balance of casual luxury.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Our meal was fantastic! The presentation was beautiful and it was delicious. However, Suzie, who took our meal orders, was less than attentive and we had to ask the maitre d to send her to our table to take our orders. She was not friendly, never smiled and seemed to care less about our table. The remaining staff were fabulous; the young man who took our drink orders, the servers and the maitre d.

I would highly recommend this restaurant in spite of Suzie.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I fear the Honey Pot seriously disappointed me on my most recent visit, falling to the fate of Winston-Salem restaurants...guaranteed inconsistency. Service was chaotic, confused and clueless. We ordered an appetizer that never ordered (but did receive one "on the house" which was completely not what we wanted), we more than twice almost received food and drinks belonging to another table despite a plethora of servers wandering about in the restaurant. And the food? The chicken, to be fair, was delicious. But it sat next to a pile of white rice, much of it clumped together over two pieces of squash...one well cooked and the other which kept me thinking I ought to remove the rind. I had taken a friend there as a special "treat" and he later told me he found his experience presumptuous, disappointing and not worth repeating. As an aside, if management cut the staff in half and assigned the wait staff tables, I suspect diners would have an infinitely better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The best restaurant in Winston-Salem!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 9, 2016

I didn't drink, but I started with the poutine - elevated bar nosh. French fries in a sauce of duck bacon and cheese. Too much for one and a little on the sloppy side but very tasty. Would have gone great with beer. My friend began with the charcuterie/cheese plate that we both could have licked clean. Honeycomb balanced the divinely done fatty meat that burst on the tongue. The black grouper special came with truffle risotto. After the duck fries, what was I thinking? Double starch did me in, but it was well worth it. My friend managed to nearly clean her pork chop and red cabbage plate. She's more of a taster than an eater, but had no trouble with these generous servings. I went home with a doggie dish. We were too stuffed to try the honey creme brulee. Next time, when we return for the lobster dish.

It's a small gem that fills fast. It's a little loud at capacity. Reservations are must.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We had a fantastic meal. My guest who is from the San Francisco Bay area was even impressed by the quality and creativity of the meal. The crudo was beautiful, as was the carrot soup and both had beautiful and unique flavor combinations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This was my third time going to the Honey Pot since its opened, and it has consistently gotten better each time I've gone. This restaurant has definitely turned into one of Winston's best! My parents came into town and we all loved what we had. I had the Farmer's Plate, which is their vegetarian option - it was delicious. They are constantly changing up the menu, which never disappointments. The service was OK, but it won't keep me from going back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Organic, Vegan, Family Style, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Love this place. Been twice and each of those meals have been some of my favorite of all-time. Nice little gem that you wouldn't expect to find in Winston. Great for a date.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was great though it took a little while. A bit overpriced but nice environment and very tasty entrees.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great concept. Very poor execution on our visit. Sat for 20 mins before being greeted by server. Food was average at best, certainly a let down for the price. Pork chop was severely overcooked, lobster was "me". Cool space, but we would never even think about going back. A real shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great night with the family. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Excellent food. We have never had a bad meal at Honey Pog

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.