About The Honey Pot

285 W. 4th St
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

The Honey Pot was born out of a desire to bring a new level of food, beverages, and service to the Piedmont-Triad of NC. In the two years since opening, the menu has constantly innovated - changing every 45 days to reflect the area's growing community of farmers, producers, and foragers who are committed to sharing our love of fresh, seasonal flavors, locally produced foods, and innovative ideas.

Reservations are strongly suggested, although walk-in seating is available at the bar and communal high-top table on a first come first serve basis.



Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:

Monday - Saturday
Seating from
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm


*Please note*
Fridays & Saturdays - parties of 6 or more people: a credit card number is required to hold all reservations. Please call us to make your reservation. Cancellation Policy: the restaurant requires a 24 hour notice for cancellations of parties of 6 or more people on Fridays & Saturdays.

*Summer 2016 Closings*
Monday 6.20 - Private Party
Monday 7.4 - Independence Day

Cross Street:
4th St and Cherry St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 893-9471

Website:
http://www.honeypot-wsnc.com/

Parking Details:
Public deck parking located on Cherry between 4th St and 5th St.

Street parking also available for free after 6:00pm on weekdays and all day on weekends.

Executive Chef:
Mathew Pleasants

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Honey Pot Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Notable Wine List
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Winston Salem
5 More
Best Food
Winston Salem
Best Service
Winston Salem
Best Ambiance
Winston Salem
Fit for Foodies
Winston Salem
Most Booked
Winston Salem
Best Restaurants in Winston-Salem ›

fit for foodies (36)
neighborhood gem (28)
special occasion (27)
See All
notable wine list (26)
romantic (21)
hot spot (13)
good for groups (7)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
251 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First experience with new chef that hone ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

First experience with new chef that honey pot, really, really good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We grow and buy and cook our own local ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We grow and buy and cook our own local organic food, but the honey pot takes local organic it to a fantastic level!and the sidecar cocktail was beautifully presented and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second time dining at the H ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This was our second time dining at the Honey Pot, and for the second time we weren't as impressed as we hoped to be. For our first visit, service was subpar. We had dirty, empty dishes sitting on our table for way too long. We were hoping for a better experience for the second try. Service was better, though are server seemed to rush us with the menu. (If you're paying $30 a plate, it's nice to just have some time to enjoy each other's company and the ambience). I ordered the lamb, which I specified to be cooked medium-rare to medium. It arrived fully mid-well, so I sent it back. I didn't want my husband's food to get cold, so he ate and I watched. The re-fired lamb did come out perfectly pink and was delicious. The food was very good, but we're still missing that perfect evening at the honey pot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Going to Japan next week, and really enj ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Going to Japan next week, and really enjoyed the okonomyaki. What a pleasant surprise to see it on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious. Sommelier was very h ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was delicious. Sommelier was very helpful with tackling their extensive wine list. We had a really lovely baby-free date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is excellent. Always well prepa ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food is excellent. Always well prepared. They make notable use of our local farmers. Very creative menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent food and cocktails.it is defin ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent food and cocktails.it is definitely a great restaurant for foodies and those who like farm-to-table style. Service was excellent. It falls in the pricey side of WS. The wine list and perhaps some of the entrees were overpriced.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Appetizer and dessert were just 'OK', bu ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Appetizer and dessert were just 'OK', but my vegetable entree was fabulous. Overall, a it was a nice meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Staff was amazing and even brought us ch ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Staff was amazing and even brought us champagne for our anniversary! Our food was great- the lamb chops and snack plate being our favorites.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I visited the Honey pot for ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

My wife and I visited the Honey pot for the first time and were blown away with our evening. We both ordered the 4 course Chef's choice tasting menu with wine and beverage pairing and were met with delicious and interesting dishes we had never seen before in our lives, except for the steak. Each course was paired with a delicious beverage and we both agreed that we would not have ever tried any of the choices the Chef came up with but would not have changed a thing. Truly a great meal and a wonderful experience. We will be going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the top restaurants in area. You ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

One of the top restaurants in area. You forget your in Winston-Salem. Trendy ambiance with consistently good food and friendly service. Bar is great place to get a drink and do an appetizer. Great wine selection. One of my favorite places in this town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful!

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The food was outstanding and the ambiance was perfect for celebrating our anniversary. They have a great cocktail and wine selection. The sweetbreads app was amazing! The portions were perfect. Would recommend to anyone looking for a nice dinner out. They do offer indoor and outdoor seating.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best restaurants in NC!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This was our second time we have been to The Honey Pot and it didn't disappoint! I would drive from Raleigh just to come eat dinner here! Service, Food and Drinks are all amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been out of town for a while, great ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Have been out of town for a while, great to get back to good food. Thanks for another great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, but disappointing service

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My husband and I have dined at the The Honey Pot twice now and the food has been excellent both times. However, the service seems to be a little lacking. It was rather slow during our first visit, but during this most recent visit, the host finally came by to take our drink order apologizing that the waitress was tied up with a large table. Lucky for us that we had had plenty of time to decide on our food order, so the host was able to take that at the same time. Near the end of the meal, I ordered another drink and after waiting 15 minutes or more, I finally caught the attention of another waitress and cancelled it. At that point we had finished our meal and were feeling ignored. There was no offer of dessert and the waitress had not been by for several minutes. The drinks were very good but over-priced. It was a little disconcerting however, when the same waitress brought a complimentary dessert to the table next to us while we couldn't seem to get a drink we were paying for.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

It was wonderful! I noted that it was ou ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

It was wonderful! I noted that it was our wedding anniversary and our table was ready with free champagne. So thoughtful. We also tasted the Schnozzberry mocktail which was my absolute favorite. The food was perfect-tasty, cooked to perfection and displayed beautifully. When it came time for dessert, we almost had no room but ate the chocolate mousse anyway. It was definitely a magical night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent atmosphere and service. Drinks ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Excellent atmosphere and service. Drinks were incredible and sommelier was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This place was recommended to us from a ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This place was recommended to us from a coworker. I thought the food was ok, but definitely overpriced! Drinks were also overpriced. We ordered the Thai sausage appetizer, I eat these often and theirs tasted nothing like what it's supposed to. The lamb was very mushy. I was expecting a rack of lamb with the bone in, especially with the $28 price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Wonderful food, wine, and experience. Ex ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Wonderful food, wine, and experience. Excellent sommelier. We will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent as usual! A go-to spot for a c ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent as usual! A go-to spot for a consistently excellent experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went a couple of times while our daug ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We went a couple of times while our daughter was at Wake and each time the food was superb. The first time we did the chef's tasting menu for the table and this time we ordered off the menu. Everything was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Favorite date night

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Wonderful pea soup. Lamb sweetbreads. Who would have thought? Clearly Chef Matt. We will miss him deeply as he soon departs for other shores. Go while he is there and give the next chef a try.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Neat atmosphere decent limited food

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Neat atmosphere however the inability to substitute sides make some choices a bit awkward or pricey. My wife, we went for her birthday, got the quail as she heard good things about the mac and cheese. I got the beef, which was more like medallions. Good but I'm not a big green veggie guy and would have liked the mac and cheese myself. $31 for five or six beef medallions and some potatoes, although tasty is a bit steep. The service was ok, could have been a bit more attentive but did seem to care.

Will we return? Maybe, with a better selection which I WILL check on-line beforehand.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

I've been several times and love that th ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

I've been several times and love that they work with local farmers. The Farmer's Plate was wonderful and I appreciate the kitchen putting together a cheese plate for dessert - I much prefer that to a sweet dessert!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great experience

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and I had the chef's tasting menu for the night: a sort of truffled pea gazpacho (for lack of better terms) amuse bouche, a sausage plate that was drawing some heavy japanese influences, an asparagus + poached eg + house cured duck prosciutto, a great steak dish (seriously I could eat that every day), and a super tasty chocolate mousse. Eric (the somm) made a great wine suggestion, a super chewy, dry spanish red that paired really well with the different dishes of the night.

Service was tight but unobtrusive (nothing worse than a waiter trying awkwardly to force conversation when you're on a date), we wanted for nothing the whole night. The meal's pacing was great too, we never felt rushed, having enough time to pause and talk and sip some wine in the pauses between courses, without that awkward moment where you wonder where your food has wandered off to.

This place is a gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden gem in Winston

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

From the extensive wine list to the ever-changing menu of unique and delicious selections, the Honey Pot is certainly a great evening out. With two Somms on staff, you sure to always get a great recommendation for pairings. Book early, it's not a large place, but it certainly is one of the best in Winston-Salem.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a nice meal I did have, love this p ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

What a nice meal I did have, love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Megan was an excellent server and answer ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Megan was an excellent server and answered all of my party's questions and was respectful when we weren't ready to order. The menu items were far and away the most excellent of any menu I've seen from the resto thus far. The pea soup was on point; the sweetbread small plate was a table favorite and the surprise dosh of hummus was excellent as well. To be honest, the crostini were the best part as the hummus had too much garnish and not enough substance but was still excellent, nevertheless. My entree of lamb was bar none my favorite part of all the courses. The carrots, so tender; The lamb, well-prepared. The pound cake was a table hit, as were the curry doughnuts. There were no missteps and it was a perfect evening to celebrate my 35th birthday. I couldn't have asked for a better series of events surrounding our culinary experience. I will forever relish the time and care all of the staff took of my party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Fantastic new food menu. New wine list i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Fantastic new food menu. New wine list is one of the best in NC. 5/5

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfection

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Chef Matt is a WinstonSalem treasure. He has continued to broaden his considerable

skill set. He has introduced us to complex and novel flavors. He may not be in Winston forever. Go now.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent but a bit pricy

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

The catfish was amazing. It was paired perfectly with a curry pesto and a delicious bed of veggies and quinoa. My date had Mac and cheese with his quail and loved it too. Would recommend for a date or special occasion, but kinda pricy. Meal for two ended up at about $60... My only critique is that our server was not super attentative or personal. There we two other servers that were helping her out it seemed that were extremely nice and obviously passionate about food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The waiter was very helpful and attentiv ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

The waiter was very helpful and attentive. The meal started get with the small plates. I thought the wine by the glass menu was very good. Unfortunately the main courses and desert were not very good. You could not taste the bison as there were too many things going on. In the future we will just go for wine and appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Very unique menu. Their version of Okon ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Very unique menu. Their version of Okonomiyaki, a traditional Hiroshima dish, was quite good!! All items tastefully done and service was terrific! Menu changes every 2-3 months as I recall the server saying. Most ingredients locally sourced. Fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, just don't go there hungry

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

My fave WS diner. Has a Manhattan bistro vibe. The pickle was my $31 bison flank steak consisted of 2 oz of bison. That's a lot of cabbage for a few bites of steak. But otherwise, service, vibe, etc the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Thanks for the wonderful evening

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Thanks for the wonderful evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it! Tasty and spicy bison skirt s ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Loved it!

Tasty and spicy bison skirt steak.

Awesome service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always excellent food and service. A bit ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Always excellent food and service. A bit noisy and overall small. Make your reservations!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun time, good food

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

The food is unique and excellent. I went with girl friends for a nice evening to celebrate a milestone birthday. Service was good. It's pricey but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Small plates were excellent

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Small plates were excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Wow. Great new menu at the HP. Loved it

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Wow. Great new menu at the HP. Loved it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.