About The Honey Pot

285 W. 4th St
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Founded in 2014, The Honey Pot has constantly pushed Winston Salem's envelope of food, beverages, service, and the complete dining experience. In our pursuit we've garnered local and national recognition including Wine Spectator's prestigious 'Best of Award of Excellence'.

In July of 2016 Chef Harrison Littell joined The Honey Pot, bringing a wealth of experience and culinary perspective to the restaurant. Harrison is one of the staunchest advocate for the Triad's purveyors- at last count we were working with more than 60 farmers, foragers, and producers to showcase what an exciting time it is to dine in WSNC. Chef Littell's dishes nod to his experiences up to this point and explore what Southern food looks like through the lens of multiple cultures and local products.

Reservations are strongly suggested, although walk-in seating is available at the bar and communal high-top table on a first come first serve basis.



Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:

Monday - Saturday
Seating from
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm


*Please note*
Fridays & Saturdays - parties of 6 or more people: a credit card number is required to hold all reservations. Please call us to make your reservation. Cancellation Policy: the restaurant requires a 24 hour notice for cancellations of parties of 6 or more people on Fridays & Saturdays.

*Fall 2016 Closings*
Tuesday 8.23- Private Party

Cross Street:
4th St and Cherry St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 893-9471

Website:
http://www.honeypot-wsnc.com/

Parking Details:
Public deck parking located on Cherry between 4th St and 5th St.

Street parking also available for free after 6:00pm on weekdays and all day on weekends.

Executive Chef:
Harrison Littell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Honey Pot Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Food
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Fit for Foodies
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
8 More
Notable Wine List
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Winston Salem
Best Food
Winston Salem
Best Service
Winston Salem
Best Ambiance
Winston Salem
Fit for Foodies
Winston Salem
Special Occasion
Winston Salem
Most Booked
Winston Salem
Best Restaurants in Winston-Salem ›

Fit for Foodies (41)
Special Occasion (36)
Notable Wine List (28)
See All
Romantic (25)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Hot Spot (16)
Good for a Date (14)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Cozy (5)
Authentic (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Casual (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Fun (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
Newest
280 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The staff, food and service were absolut ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 5 days ago

The staff, food and service were absolutely impeccable! Everyone was so attentive! The okonomiyaki was out of this world.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an undiscovered gem in the heart ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

This is an undiscovered gem in the heart of resurging Winston-Salem, North Carolina.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The small plates were excellent! I keep ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The small plates were excellent! I keep thinking about the crusted okra! YUM!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great! Creative options, ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Everything was great! Creative options, fresh ingredients, excellent preparation. Service was outstanding - thank you for a great experience.

Small plates were delicious, as were the entrees, cocktails and dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was fantastic, very personalized ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Service was fantastic, very personalized. Cool funky atmosphere. Great app choices and entrées very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Everything about this place was amazing! ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Everything about this place was amazing! My boyfriend (who has lived in WS area his whole life) said this was the best meal he has ever had in Winston!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food priced reasonably, beautiful ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great food priced reasonably, beautiful presentation and professional service. I'll be back..

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Modern Decor, Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was spectacular. So delicious a ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was spectacular. So delicious and fresh. It was my sister's birthday and she really enjoyed the ambience and unique menu for this special occasion.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My out of town guests were from Dallas/F ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

My out of town guests were from Dallas/Ft Worth where there can be an abundance of dining options. I wanted something local and special. The Honey Pot was the perfect option. The food was delicious and the service was very accommodating, as I brought an extra person. They eased us in with no issues.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the ambiance, the service and the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Loved the ambiance, the service and the appetizers. The entree was a bit overdone and

not as good as the cocktails and starters, but would be willing to give it another try!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome meal. Will definitely go back an ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Awesome meal. Will definitely go back and bring the rest of my family

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved everything! The staff was fantasti ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Loved everything! The staff was fantastic, the menu was great, and the wine selection is-point

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very small portions and high prices. Th ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Very small portions and high prices. The food was not good either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Food and service was excellent . Each di ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food and service was excellent . Each dish was presented with different levels of taste which made for exciting eating.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved finding a popular new (to us) d ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We loved finding a popular new (to us) downtown restaurant. The hostess explained that we were to order appetizers and entrees all at the same time. That it was better for the kitchen. We would have liked to order sequentially, being unfamiliar with the portions and dishes at the Honey Pot. The waitress was knowledgeable and professional. She did warn us about the spicy steak tartare! (It was good.)The menu was interesting. And somewhat limited, which was not a problem for us. The food was well prepared. We will go back to try it again. We are still looking for a WOW! from the place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent place. My only complaint is th ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent place. My only complaint is that it is so good, I'll never be able to get a table.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Bar Tenders are artist and you rea ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The Bar Tenders are artist and you really should sit at the bar just to watch them . The Food is fantastic . The Chief came and ask how our meal was after we finished .

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Littell has taken the the Honey Pot ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Chef Littell has taken the the Honey Pot to a higher level. Wonderfully well thought out food on his new menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The new chef and menu are fabulous! The ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The new chef and menu are fabulous! The starters down to the dessert was amazing. They even helped us select out a wine that matched both our pallets. Can't wait to go back and try more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good especially the meat. B ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was good especially the meat. But the sides were definitely more foodie friendly. Also we had to wait at least 45 minutes for our food. The portions are small. I don't mind paying a little more, but I don't want to leave hungry

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Honey pot is our current go to restauran ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Honey pot is our current go to restaurant. Never disappoints. Just premiered a new menu, great drinks, great service. Food is fantastic, use only local vendors.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the only dining establishments in ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

One of the only dining establishments in Winston Salem that delivers a great experience and continues to raise the bar. With a seasonal menu and assorted specials the Chef and his staff showcase their talents in the kitchen. The exceptional food is complemented by a well versed waitstaff who strive to ensure the dining experience is a pleasure from the first course thru dessert. My husband and I regularly opt to share a bottle of red wine and the sommelier is always helpful to recommend a pairing fit for our dish selections. Lastly, I appreciate how the ambiance has evolved as the proprietors have been able to invest in enhancements, including sound panels, making for good conversation for diners without sacrificing the energy of the space.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Prompt service and good food but just fe ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Prompt service and good food but just felt that something was missing that I can't put my finger on. The food was good but not so good that would merit return visits.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were celebrating a friend's birthday. ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We were celebrating a friend's birthday. They made her feel special upon arrival. The food was beautifully presented and everything was just as it was described by our attentive waiter. Our guest was given a complimentary dessert which we could all share. Very enjoyable evening dining at the Honey Pot.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing service!! Great food!! A Winston ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Amazing service!! Great food!! A Winston-Salem must!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food in a stylish environment an ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Awesome food in a stylish environment and even better service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special celebration night, had a lovely ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Special celebration night, had a lovely time with good food

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a wonderful meal at the Honey Pot! M ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Had a wonderful meal at the Honey Pot! My date and I had thought about visiting another downtown local restaurant, but we're so glad we walked through there doors! Our server was great and explained our dishes in great detail. He was not overly "bothersome", which is something we greatly appreciate. Every course was divine! Will definitely be visiting again!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We loved the ambiance of the The Honey P ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We loved the ambiance of the The Honey Pot. Our somolier was awesome!! Great wine selection. The food was not awesome. My scallops dish was overly salty and the pasta was just average. Our server was not very friendly at all. Our hostess was wonderful!! A little uneven in some areas but overall good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

First experience with new chef that hone ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

First experience with new chef that honey pot, really, really good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We grow and buy and cook our own local ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We grow and buy and cook our own local organic food, but the honey pot takes local organic it to a fantastic level!and the sidecar cocktail was beautifully presented and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second time dining at the H ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This was our second time dining at the Honey Pot, and for the second time we weren't as impressed as we hoped to be. For our first visit, service was subpar. We had dirty, empty dishes sitting on our table for way too long. We were hoping for a better experience for the second try. Service was better, though are server seemed to rush us with the menu. (If you're paying $30 a plate, it's nice to just have some time to enjoy each other's company and the ambience). I ordered the lamb, which I specified to be cooked medium-rare to medium. It arrived fully mid-well, so I sent it back. I didn't want my husband's food to get cold, so he ate and I watched. The re-fired lamb did come out perfectly pink and was delicious. The food was very good, but we're still missing that perfect evening at the honey pot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Going to Japan next week, and really enj ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Going to Japan next week, and really enjoyed the okonomyaki. What a pleasant surprise to see it on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious. Sommelier was very h ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Food was delicious. Sommelier was very helpful with tackling their extensive wine list. We had a really lovely baby-free date night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is excellent. Always well prepa ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food is excellent. Always well prepared. They make notable use of our local farmers. Very creative menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent food and cocktails.it is defin ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent food and cocktails.it is definitely a great restaurant for foodies and those who like farm-to-table style. Service was excellent. It falls in the pricey side of WS. The wine list and perhaps some of the entrees were overpriced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Appetizer and dessert were just 'OK', bu ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Appetizer and dessert were just 'OK', but my vegetable entree was fabulous. Overall, a it was a nice meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Staff was amazing and even brought us ch ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Staff was amazing and even brought us champagne for our anniversary! Our food was great- the lamb chops and snack plate being our favorites.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I visited the Honey pot for ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

My wife and I visited the Honey pot for the first time and were blown away with our evening. We both ordered the 4 course Chef's choice tasting menu with wine and beverage pairing and were met with delicious and interesting dishes we had never seen before in our lives, except for the steak. Each course was paired with a delicious beverage and we both agreed that we would not have ever tried any of the choices the Chef came up with but would not have changed a thing. Truly a great meal and a wonderful experience. We will be going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the top restaurants in area. You ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

One of the top restaurants in area. You forget your in Winston-Salem. Trendy ambiance with consistently good food and friendly service. Bar is great place to get a drink and do an appetizer. Great wine selection. One of my favorite places in this town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.