About The Honey Pot

285 W. 4th St
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Founded in 2014, The Honey Pot has constantly pushed Winston Salem's envelope of food, beverages, service, and the complete dining experience. In our pursuit we've garnered local and national recognition including Wine Spectator's prestigious 'Best of Award of Excellence'.

In July of 2016 Chef Harrison Littell joined The Honey Pot, bringing a wealth of knowledge and culinary perspective to the restaurant and downtown Winston-Salem. Harrison is a dedicated advocate of the Triad's purveyors- at last count we were working with more than 60 farmers, foragers, and producers to showcase what an exciting time it is to dine in WSNC. Chef Littell's dishes nod to a myriad of serious culinary experiences and explore what Southern food looks like through the lens of multiple cultures and local products.




Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:

Monday - Saturday
Seating from
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Reservations are strongly suggested, though walk-ins may be taken at the communal table or bar on a first-come, first-serve basis.

*Please note*
Parties of 6 or more: a credit card number is required to hold all reservations.
Cancellation Policy: a 24 hour notice for cancellations of parties of 6 or more is required. Cancellations made with less than 24 hours notice will be charged $25 for each guest in the party. In the event of absent guests, a charge of $15 per absentee will be applied. These charges will be offered in the form of a gift card to the restaurant.

*Fall/Winter 2016 Closings*
Thursday November 24th

>>>Thursday December 1st- Japanese Whisky Dinner! Limited seats available. Call or e-mail calvinpena@honeypot-wsnc.com for details and tickets!<<<

Monday December 26th

Monday January 2nd

Cross Street:
4th St and Cherry St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 893-9471

Website:
http://www.honeypot-wsnc.com/

Parking Details:
Public parking deck located on Cherry between 4th St and 5th St.

Street parking also available for free after 5:00pm on weekdays and all day on weekends.

Executive Chef:
Harrison Littell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Honey Pot Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Winston Salem
Best Food
Winston Salem
Best Ambiance
Winston Salem
2 More
Best Value
Winston Salem
Most Booked
Winston Salem
Best Restaurants in Winston-Salem ›

Good for a Date (27)
Special Occasion (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
See All
Local Ingredients (21)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Cozy (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Healthy (13)
Business Meals (12)
Romantic (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Authentic (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Casual (9)
Organic (9)
Seasonal (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Fun (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Vegan (3)
Great Beer (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Family Style (2)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Historic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
319 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This place is always great! the menu cha ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This place is always great! the menu changes with the season and I had never been disappointed.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food; prompt, informative and ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Excellent food; prompt, informative and courteous service; relatively quiet - enough to have a regular conversation; comfortable ambiance. An enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Brilliant service, phenomenal food, grea ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Brilliant service, phenomenal food, great ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food but way overpriced. Space is ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Good food but way overpriced. Space is small. Would only go back for Special occasion...not a daily dining place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Exceptional service combined with outsta ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Exceptional service combined with outstanding food. Our server gave great drink pairing recommendations and was very knowledgeable about the menu. The entire staff was very friendly and made a warm and welcoming atmosphere. Definitely a place to try in downtown Winston-Salem!

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, tasty and excellent presenta ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great food, tasty and excellent presentation. The pork chops were great as were the arancini appetizers. All the desserts were very good and the service as excellent. I guess we really like this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Honey Pot was amazing. The food was fant ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Honey Pot was amazing. The food was fantastic! The service was superb and the bar tenders mix drinks were not only delicious but beautiful. The entire evening was a beautiful balance of casual luxury.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was fantastic! The presentation ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Our meal was fantastic! The presentation was beautiful and it was delicious. However, Suzie, who took our meal orders, was less than attentive and we had to ask the maitre d to send her to our table to take our orders. She was not friendly, never smiled and seemed to care less about our table. The remaining staff were fabulous; the young man who took our drink orders, the servers and the maitre d.

I would highly recommend this restaurant in spite of Suzie.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

I fear the Honey Pot seriously disappoin ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I fear the Honey Pot seriously disappointed me on my most recent visit, falling to the fate of Winston-Salem restaurants...guaranteed inconsistency. Service was chaotic, confused and clueless. We ordered an appetizer that never ordered (but did receive one "on the house" which was completely not what we wanted), we more than twice almost received food and drinks belonging to another table despite a plethora of servers wandering about in the restaurant. And the food? The chicken, to be fair, was delicious. But it sat next to a pile of white rice, much of it clumped together over two pieces of squash...one well cooked and the other which kept me thinking I ought to remove the rind. I had taken a friend there as a special "treat" and he later told me he found his experience presumptuous, disappointing and not worth repeating. As an aside, if management cut the staff in half and assigned the wait staff tables, I suspect diners would have an infinitely better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

The best restaurant in Winston-Salem!!!

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The best restaurant in Winston-Salem!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I didn't drink, but I started with the p ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 9, 2016

I didn't drink, but I started with the poutine - elevated bar nosh. French fries in a sauce of duck bacon and cheese. Too much for one and a little on the sloppy side but very tasty. Would have gone great with beer. My friend began with the charcuterie/cheese plate that we both could have licked clean. Honeycomb balanced the divinely done fatty meat that burst on the tongue. The black grouper special came with truffle risotto. After the duck fries, what was I thinking? Double starch did me in, but it was well worth it. My friend managed to nearly clean her pork chop and red cabbage plate. She's more of a taster than an eater, but had no trouble with these generous servings. I went home with a doggie dish. We were too stuffed to try the honey creme brulee. Next time, when we return for the lobster dish.

It's a small gem that fills fast. It's a little loud at capacity. Reservations are must.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a fantastic meal. My guest who is ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We had a fantastic meal. My guest who is from the San Francisco Bay area was even impressed by the quality and creativity of the meal. The crudo was beautiful, as was the carrot soup and both had beautiful and unique flavor combinations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my third time going to the Hone ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This was my third time going to the Honey Pot since its opened, and it has consistently gotten better each time I've gone. This restaurant has definitely turned into one of Winston's best! My parents came into town and we all loved what we had. I had the Farmer's Plate, which is their vegetarian option - it was delicious. They are constantly changing up the menu, which never disappointments. The service was OK, but it won't keep me from going back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Organic, Vegan, Family Style, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Love this place. Been twice and each of ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Love this place. Been twice and each of those meals have been some of my favorite of all-time. Nice little gem that you wouldn't expect to find in Winston. Great for a date.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was great though it took a litt ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was great though it took a little while. A bit overpriced but nice environment and very tasty entrees.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Great concept. Very poor execution on ou ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great concept. Very poor execution on our visit. Sat for 20 mins before being greeted by server. Food was average at best, certainly a let down for the price. Pork chop was severely overcooked, lobster was "me". Cool space, but we would never even think about going back. A real shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Great night with the family. Thank you

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great night with the family. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. We have never had a bad ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Excellent food. We have never had a bad meal at Honey Pog

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service, knowledgea ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Outstanding food and service, knowledgeable staff with a great attitude. Very consistent performance, always our top recommendation to friends.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been to the Honey Pot several tim ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I have been to the Honey Pot several times, and each visit was fantastic. A very relaxing environment that has become a favorite date night spot for me and my girlfriend. Would absolutely recommend!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal and service. Will be bac ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Wonderful meal and service. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is the most exciting new restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

This is the most exciting new restaurant in Winston-Salem in years! The wine list is amazing and the food is outstanding, down to the very last innovative dessert bite. GO!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Fun, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Organic, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had 6pm reservations, came in a few m ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We had 6pm reservations, came in a few mins early to an empty restaurant. The food was really well prepared. The server was attentive. However, the manager came over and requested is us to leave just after we signed our ticket. Reasoning was to allow other patrons to sit. There was a table of 4 open next to us and a late communal table behind us that was completely empty. Overall it ruined our experience. So disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Phenomenal locally sourced food and exce ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Phenomenal locally sourced food and exceptional waitstaff. Favorite restaurant in Winston-Salem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Atmosphere was quiet, on the romantic en ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Atmosphere was quiet, on the romantic end.Food was fresh and different than most places in Winston. High class, not your adverage place of dinning. Good service, but no sodas. Tap water and adult drinks only option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Dinner! Service and food were gre ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great Dinner! Service and food were great. We went to Tate's next door for a pre drink. Wonderful night we will be back.

Tags: Family Style, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Modern Decor, Fun, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Honey Lot is excellent food. I go to mos ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Honey Lot is excellent food. I go to most restaurants in the Piedmont triad and leave happy but can pick apart the food or wine list. Honey Pot only gets better and the quality of food is above what NC Fine Dining offers and has an excellent wine list with experts to guide you to the right bottle. This restaurant is my favorite spot in the triad, and up there with dining experiences in the state. Harrison the head chef is only getting better at indulging his clients. Get the Lamb and pair with a high quality, affordable Rioja or Gamay.

Tags: Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great night, thanks

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Another great night, thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The HoneyPot is a terrific restaurant. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 12, 2016

The HoneyPot is a terrific restaurant. The dishes are creative, using seasonal local vegetables, and delicious!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined at The Honey Pot with my son for ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Dined at The Honey Pot with my son for Parents' Weekend and it was the beset part of our visit. Great food, atmosphere, service - a real unexpected treat for this tired mom and her stressed out college kid! The experience was phenominal - from craft cocktails to delicious dessert!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a terrific time. We love that th ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had a terrific time. We love that the food is locally sourced. The service was very attentive. The location is outstanding (we were headed to the Aperture Cinema after our dinner).

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Cozy, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The managers and staff all were so helpf ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The managers and staff all were so helpful and the unique local farm to table choices were amazing! My son had the steak and scalloped potatoes which were scrumptious and I had the scallops in a lite curry sauce that melted in your mouth! We are coming back for their dessert of s'mores when we are not so full! If you are a food and like to be adventrous, then you must try HoneyPot!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful meal paired with a gr ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We had a wonderful meal paired with a great wine recommended my the maitre'd.Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Cozy, Happy Hour, Tapas, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

New shakshuka entree is wonderful. Wort ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2016

New shakshuka entree is wonderful. Worth the trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family dinner for 4 - mom, dads bday, 2 ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Family dinner for 4 - mom, dads bday, 2 adult (in 20's) children - it was an enjoyable evening, sort of different menu, chicken was good but for $26 surprised it was a chicken leg (like dark meat ok but was expecting a breast-menu should have stated it was dark meat), wine list too different but manager found a good enough glass, different beers - the experience was ok, but not sure with such a different menu I would put it on the top of my list to return. realize the menu changes periodically -

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent food. Chef Littell has really ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Excellent food. Chef Littell has really elevated Honey Pot m

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The staff, food and service were absolut ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 26, 2016

The staff, food and service were absolutely impeccable! Everyone was so attentive! The okonomiyaki was out of this world.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an undiscovered gem in the heart ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 23, 2016

This is an undiscovered gem in the heart of resurging Winston-Salem, North Carolina.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I enjoyed a celebratory d ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 23, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a celebratory dinner with my parents. All four of us thoroughly enjoyed the evening! Service and ambiance made us feel right at home. I'm looking forward to going back to try some more of their creative cocktails. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

New vegetarian entrée, ratatouille ,is f ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 20, 2016

New vegetarian entrée, ratatouille ,is fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.