HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - The Honey Pot

4.5
343 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies (431)
  • Special Occasion (299)
  • Neighborhood Gem (276)

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Founded in 2014, The Honey Pot has constantly pushed Winston Salem's envelope of food, beverages, service, and the complete dining experience. In our pursuit we've garnered local and national recognition including Wine Spectator's prestigious 'Best of Award of Excellence'.

In July of 2016 Chef Harrison Littell joined The Honey Pot, bringing a wealth of knowledge and culinary perspective to the restaurant and downtown Winston-Salem. Harrison is a dedicated advocate of the Triad's purveyors- at last count we were working with more than 60 farmers, foragers, and producers to showcase what an exciting time it is to dine in WSNC. Chef Littell's dishes nod to a myriad of serious culinary experiences and explore what Southern food looks like through the lens of multiple cultures and local products.




Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Southern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner:

Monday - Saturday
Seating from
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Reservations are strongly suggested, though walk-ins may be taken at the communal table or bar on a first-come, first-serve basis.

*Please note*
Parties of 6 or more: a credit card number is required to hold all reservations.
Cancellation Policy: a 24 hour notice for cancellations of parties of 6 or more is required. Cancellations made with less than 24 hours notice will be charged $25 for each guest in the party. In the event of absent guests, a charge of $15 per absentee will be applied. These charges will be offered in the form of a gift card to the restaurant.

*Fall/Winter 2016 Closings*
Thursday November 24th

>>>Thursday December 1st- Japanese Whisky Dinner! Limited seats available. Call or e-mail calvinpena@honeypot-wsnc.com for details and tickets!<<<

Monday December 26th

Monday January 2nd
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(336) 893-9471
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Harrison Littell
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
4th St and Cherry St
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Public parking deck located on Cherry between 4th St and 5th St.

Street parking also available for free after 5:00pm on weekdays and all day on weekends.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 343 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.5  based on all time ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
1.0  Dined on April 1, 2017

This restaurant was closed despite my making a reservation and receiving a confirmation email. It was confusing and disappointing.

Report
Helpful
DZignTeam (Greensboro)
1.0  Dined on April 1, 2017

They are out of business not sure why still booking.

Report
Helpful
vipDelicious (New York Area)
1.0  Dined on March 24, 2017

The restaurant is closed. They did not bother to notify me. I flew in from out of town and went there and it was shut down. Really rude that they didn't reach out to Opentable and/or to customers who had bookings.

Report
Helpful
vipWsnc (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on March 1, 2017

Good bye old friend, you will be greatly missed

Report
Helpful
sadisoph (Greensboro)
5.0  Dined on February 24, 2017

Awesome experience! The food was outstanding and the service was great! We each started with the soup special which was not only presented well but was very tasty. The lamb curry entree was equally special with wonderful vegetables and tasty lamb. The portions were so large, we were unable to order dessert. We will miss the Honey Pot when they close in early March.

Report
Helpful
vipWsnc (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on February 23, 2017

One of the best places on the planet, and sadly it's moving to another universe

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Greensboro)
5.0  Dined on February 18, 2017

This was wonderful. My boyfriend and I have been wanting to eat here for about 2 years, and we heard they were closing, so we decided to save our money to wat here as a late Valentine's date. It's a little loud and you sit close to other diners, but it's super nice and the decor is pretty. I got the pork chops with the grits andr redeye gravy. WONDERFUL. The grits were nice and rich, and paired with the gravy, was perfect. Then we shared the molten chocolate cake with raspberry coulis. It was maybe 20% cake and 80% chocolate (that's andr good thing!) So rich and lovely. Our waited knew everything there was to know andndbout the food and treated us well (I've noticed that sometimes, because we're both pretty young, that waiters in more upscale restaurants treat us like we're stupid. This place did not!) Overall, the food, service, and atmosphere were great. I wish they weren't closing!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Miami)
3.0  Dined on February 11, 2017

Not your typicl fair. some may like. No tea no sodas. Felt like we were paying to be surrounded by high society in a dressed up eatery. Tables too close and there was not even an illusion of privacy or intimacy.

Report
Helpful
Omainws (Charleston)
5.0  Dined on February 8, 2017

Great spot and wonderful fresh food, so sorry they are closing their doors.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Greensboro)
5.0  Dined on February 7, 2017

Always great food.

Report
Helpful
Connie (Western NC)
5.0  Dined on February 7, 2017

We love this restaurant; wish we'd found it long ago. The food is unusual for this area, sometimes surprising, and always delicious

Report
Helpful
eedabeeda (Greensboro)
4.0  Dined on February 6, 2017

We came in to celebrate an 8 year anniversary dinner together and thought the ambiance and quality of food would be worth trying the Honey Pot for. It was alright. Ambiance was great and the service was as well. The food was not as good as we thought it'd be considering how much it cost. There were a lot of extras that came on each plate that seemed to be more for decor. They were edible, but did not blend well with the key ingredients on the plate. There also weren't a lot of main entree options, I think there were something like 5? And then the appetizer or "small plate" menu was nearly 2x the amount and very pricey as well. The perceived value of the food does not match up with how much the Honey Pot priced each item at. Still worth trying for people looking to try unconventional food in the Winston-Salem area.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Raleigh)
5.0  Dined on January 28, 2017

Winsten-Salem people- wake up and expand your pallets. This is an amazing restaurant that would fare well in the City of Chicago- why it's closing In march has me puzzled. Amazing, creative , food- ambiance, farm to table, hip not trendy, for foodies and a big addition to the town of Winston Salem.

I wish them well and hope to see them in Raleigh where I live or Apex??!

Report
Helpful
Mackelrobin (Raleigh)
4.0  Dined on January 21, 2017

Honey Pot has a stellar food reputation. After attempting to have dinner here numerous times, we finally landed a reservation. The restaurant is quite small and is sadly closing in March due to low business during the week. We have several thoughts about why this has happened. Our first idea was that there was a certain froideur when we sat that was slightly off-putting to a casual diner. This "air" seemed to pervade the entire dinner such as comments from the sommelier about the lack of "lesser" wines being available as they went quickly and were not being reordered due to the closing. It basically forced my husband to order a much more expensive wine. The prices seemed a little high but possibly reasonable for the various meal descriptions, but two of the highly touted dishes did not add up to their recommendation. Our foodie friends ordered chicken and lobster and were disappointed in the chicken but loved the lobster (request for drawn butter was never fulfilled however.) My sea bass was quite nice but my husband's lamb was a small portion for the price. The foie gras and pork rind starters were fantastic. This menu might be too fancy and expensive for many downtown diners and lacks a single beef dish other than bison. The niche it has could be redone with more affordable dishes, less pretension, and perhaps a bigger or more accessible location. Advertising and specials during the week could have also helped. Hate to see it go.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Miami)
5.0  Dined on January 14, 2017

Best Restaurant in Winston-Salem!!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
23