About The Honey Pot

Founded in 2014, The Honey Pot has constantly pushed Winston Salem's envelope of food, beverages, service, and the complete dining experience. In our pursuit we've garnered local and national recognition including Wine Spectator's prestigious 'Best of Award of Excellence'.

In July of 2016 Chef Harrison Littell joined The Honey Pot, bringing a wealth of knowledge and culinary perspective to the restaurant and downtown Winston-Salem. Harrison is a dedicated advocate of the Triad's purveyors- at last count we were working with more than 60 farmers, foragers, and producers to showcase what an exciting time it is to dine in WSNC. Chef Littell's dishes nod to a myriad of serious culinary experiences and explore what Southern food looks like through the lens of multiple cultures and local products.




285 W. 4th St
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:

Monday - Saturday
Seating from
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Reservations are strongly suggested, though walk-ins may be taken at the communal table or bar on a first-come, first-serve basis.

*Please note*
Parties of 6 or more: a credit card number is required to hold all reservations.
Cancellation Policy: a 24 hour notice for cancellations of parties of 6 or more is required. Cancellations made with less than 24 hours notice will be charged $25 for each guest in the party. In the event of absent guests, a charge of $15 per absentee will be applied. These charges will be offered in the form of a gift card to the restaurant.

*Fall/Winter 2016 Closings*
Thursday November 24th

>>>Thursday December 1st- Japanese Whisky Dinner! Limited seats available. Call or e-mail calvinpena@honeypot-wsnc.com for details and tickets!<<<

Monday December 26th

Monday January 2nd

Cross Street:
4th St and Cherry St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 893-9471

Website:
http://www.honeypot-wsnc.com/

Parking Details:
Public parking deck located on Cherry between 4th St and 5th St.

Street parking also available for free after 5:00pm on weekdays and all day on weekends.

Executive Chef:
Harrison Littell

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Honey Pot Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (21)
Good for a Date (19)
Special Occasion (19)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Romantic (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Seasonal (11)
Fun (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Organic (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Healthy (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Business Meals (8)
Cozy (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Casual (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Authentic (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
People Watching (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Great Beer (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (2)
Family Style (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
335 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Not your typicl fair. some may like. No ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Not your typicl fair. some may like. No tea no sodas. Felt like we were paying to be surrounded by high society in a dressed up eatery. Tables too close and there was not even an illusion of privacy or intimacy.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Great spot and wonderful fresh food, so ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great spot and wonderful fresh food, so sorry they are closing their doors.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food.

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Always great food.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We love this restaurant; wish we'd found ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We love this restaurant; wish we'd found it long ago. The food is unusual for this area, sometimes surprising, and always delicious

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came in to celebrate an 8 year annive ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 6, 2017

We came in to celebrate an 8 year anniversary dinner together and thought the ambiance and quality of food would be worth trying the Honey Pot for. It was alright. Ambiance was great and the service was as well. The food was not as good as we thought it'd be considering how much it cost. There were a lot of extras that came on each plate that seemed to be more for decor. They were edible, but did not blend well with the key ingredients on the plate. There also weren't a lot of main entree options, I think there were something like 5? And then the appetizer or "small plate" menu was nearly 2x the amount and very pricey as well. The perceived value of the food does not match up with how much the Honey Pot priced each item at. Still worth trying for people looking to try unconventional food in the Winston-Salem area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Winsten-Salem people- wake up and expand ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Winsten-Salem people- wake up and expand your pallets. This is an amazing restaurant that would fare well in the City of Chicago- why it's closing In march has me puzzled. Amazing, creative , food- ambiance, farm to table, hip not trendy, for foodies and a big addition to the town of Winston Salem.

I wish them well and hope to see them in Raleigh where I live or Apex??!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Honey Pot has a stellar food reputation. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Honey Pot has a stellar food reputation. After attempting to have dinner here numerous times, we finally landed a reservation. The restaurant is quite small and is sadly closing in March due to low business during the week. We have several thoughts about why this has happened. Our first idea was that there was a certain froideur when we sat that was slightly off-putting to a casual diner. This "air" seemed to pervade the entire dinner such as comments from the sommelier about the lack of "lesser" wines being available as they went quickly and were not being reordered due to the closing. It basically forced my husband to order a much more expensive wine. The prices seemed a little high but possibly reasonable for the various meal descriptions, but two of the highly touted dishes did not add up to their recommendation. Our foodie friends ordered chicken and lobster and were disappointed in the chicken but loved the lobster (request for drawn butter was never fulfilled however.) My sea bass was quite nice but my husband's lamb was a small portion for the price. The foie gras and pork rind starters were fantastic. This menu might be too fancy and expensive for many downtown diners and lacks a single beef dish other than bison. The niche it has could be redone with more affordable dishes, less pretension, and perhaps a bigger or more accessible location. Advertising and specials during the week could have also helped. Hate to see it go.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Best Restaurant in Winston-Salem!!

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Best Restaurant in Winston-Salem!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful service and the food was absol ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 4, 2017

wonderful service and the food was absolutely amazing!!!!! Will definitely be coming back!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Erin and I celebrated our 35th wedding a ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Erin and I celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary at 🍯Honey Pot🍯 !!!! The staff knowing it was a special occasion for us, they greeted us with cozy, romantic corner table with complimentary champagne! The service was impeccable and the food was mouth watering fantastic!!! They made the evening super special for us !!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, , Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Honey Pot never disappoints and the ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The Honey Pot never disappoints and the Farm-to-Fork concept is clearly evident in the quality of their ingredients as well as the amazing flavors in the food. Outstanding place to dine.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food we ordered - two appetizers and ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food we ordered - two appetizers and four entrees - was all very good. We really enjoyed the duck poutine and the bison with root vegetables. The portion sizes were generous (I mention because we had seen reviews to the contrary), and the service was fine. However, I felt the prices were a bit high and the specialty cocktails underwhelming.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This was out first time there and our ex ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This was out first time there and our experience was phenomenal. Our server, Josh explained in great detail all of the menu items and suggested great choices. The staff was attentive but not in a disturbing way. Checked on our table at just the right times. I would highly recommend The Honey Pot for your next adult dinner.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fun, Romantic, People Watching, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Spicy, Organic, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great new additions to the menu. Love th ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great new additions to the menu. Love the crab cakes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my second time and I love more t ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This is my second time and I love more than before. Every was great and well knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is always great! the menu cha ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This place is always great! the menu changes with the season and I had never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food; prompt, informative and ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Excellent food; prompt, informative and courteous service; relatively quiet - enough to have a regular conversation; comfortable ambiance. An enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Brilliant service, phenomenal food, grea ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Brilliant service, phenomenal food, great ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

Good food but way overpriced. Space is ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Good food but way overpriced. Space is small. Would only go back for Special occasion...not a daily dining place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Exceptional service combined with outsta ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Exceptional service combined with outstanding food. Our server gave great drink pairing recommendations and was very knowledgeable about the menu. The entire staff was very friendly and made a warm and welcoming atmosphere. Definitely a place to try in downtown Winston-Salem!

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, tasty and excellent presenta ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great food, tasty and excellent presentation. The pork chops were great as were the arancini appetizers. All the desserts were very good and the service as excellent. I guess we really like this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Honey Pot was amazing. The food was fant ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Honey Pot was amazing. The food was fantastic! The service was superb and the bar tenders mix drinks were not only delicious but beautiful. The entire evening was a beautiful balance of casual luxury.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was fantastic! The presentation ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Our meal was fantastic! The presentation was beautiful and it was delicious. However, Suzie, who took our meal orders, was less than attentive and we had to ask the maitre d to send her to our table to take our orders. She was not friendly, never smiled and seemed to care less about our table. The remaining staff were fabulous; the young man who took our drink orders, the servers and the maitre d.

I would highly recommend this restaurant in spite of Suzie.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

I fear the Honey Pot seriously disappoin ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I fear the Honey Pot seriously disappointed me on my most recent visit, falling to the fate of Winston-Salem restaurants...guaranteed inconsistency. Service was chaotic, confused and clueless. We ordered an appetizer that never ordered (but did receive one "on the house" which was completely not what we wanted), we more than twice almost received food and drinks belonging to another table despite a plethora of servers wandering about in the restaurant. And the food? The chicken, to be fair, was delicious. But it sat next to a pile of white rice, much of it clumped together over two pieces of squash...one well cooked and the other which kept me thinking I ought to remove the rind. I had taken a friend there as a special "treat" and he later told me he found his experience presumptuous, disappointing and not worth repeating. As an aside, if management cut the staff in half and assigned the wait staff tables, I suspect diners would have an infinitely better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

The best restaurant in Winston-Salem!!!

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The best restaurant in Winston-Salem!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I didn't drink, but I started with the p ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 9, 2016

I didn't drink, but I started with the poutine - elevated bar nosh. French fries in a sauce of duck bacon and cheese. Too much for one and a little on the sloppy side but very tasty. Would have gone great with beer. My friend began with the charcuterie/cheese plate that we both could have licked clean. Honeycomb balanced the divinely done fatty meat that burst on the tongue. The black grouper special came with truffle risotto. After the duck fries, what was I thinking? Double starch did me in, but it was well worth it. My friend managed to nearly clean her pork chop and red cabbage plate. She's more of a taster than an eater, but had no trouble with these generous servings. I went home with a doggie dish. We were too stuffed to try the honey creme brulee. Next time, when we return for the lobster dish.

It's a small gem that fills fast. It's a little loud at capacity. Reservations are must.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a fantastic meal. My guest who is ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We had a fantastic meal. My guest who is from the San Francisco Bay area was even impressed by the quality and creativity of the meal. The crudo was beautiful, as was the carrot soup and both had beautiful and unique flavor combinations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my third time going to the Hone ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This was my third time going to the Honey Pot since its opened, and it has consistently gotten better each time I've gone. This restaurant has definitely turned into one of Winston's best! My parents came into town and we all loved what we had. I had the Farmer's Plate, which is their vegetarian option - it was delicious. They are constantly changing up the menu, which never disappointments. The service was OK, but it won't keep me from going back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Organic, Vegan, Family Style, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Love this place. Been twice and each of ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Love this place. Been twice and each of those meals have been some of my favorite of all-time. Nice little gem that you wouldn't expect to find in Winston. Great for a date.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was great though it took a litt ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was great though it took a little while. A bit overpriced but nice environment and very tasty entrees.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Great concept. Very poor execution on ou ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great concept. Very poor execution on our visit. Sat for 20 mins before being greeted by server. Food was average at best, certainly a let down for the price. Pork chop was severely overcooked, lobster was "me". Cool space, but we would never even think about going back. A real shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Great night with the family. Thank you

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great night with the family. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. We have never had a bad ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Excellent food. We have never had a bad meal at Honey Pog

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service, knowledgea ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Outstanding food and service, knowledgeable staff with a great attitude. Very consistent performance, always our top recommendation to friends.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been to the Honey Pot several tim ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I have been to the Honey Pot several times, and each visit was fantastic. A very relaxing environment that has become a favorite date night spot for me and my girlfriend. Would absolutely recommend!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal and service. Will be bac ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Wonderful meal and service. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is the most exciting new restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

This is the most exciting new restaurant in Winston-Salem in years! The wine list is amazing and the food is outstanding, down to the very last innovative dessert bite. GO!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Fun, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Organic, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had 6pm reservations, came in a few m ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We had 6pm reservations, came in a few mins early to an empty restaurant. The food was really well prepared. The server was attentive. However, the manager came over and requested is us to leave just after we signed our ticket. Reasoning was to allow other patrons to sit. There was a table of 4 open next to us and a late communal table behind us that was completely empty. Overall it ruined our experience. So disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Phenomenal locally sourced food and exce ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Phenomenal locally sourced food and exceptional waitstaff. Favorite restaurant in Winston-Salem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Atmosphere was quiet, on the romantic en ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Atmosphere was quiet, on the romantic end.Food was fresh and different than most places in Winston. High class, not your adverage place of dinning. Good service, but no sodas. Tap water and adult drinks only option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.