Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi

About The Hollow

The Hollow utilizes ingredients from local farmers. We are a scratch made, chef driven restaurant.
We do not specialize in any one type of cuisine, we specialize in high quality, delicious cuisine at an affordable price.
We have a full bar with a menu and happy hour from 5pm-6pm, with half off craft cocktails.

Whether it's our fried oysters with sweet corn, lime, and Serrano chili jam, our lamb tagine, or our chicken and dumplings, we are sure to have something to please any palate. So, please, join us.

708 S Austin Ave
Georgetown, TX 78626
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Farm-to-table, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Tue–Sat 5:00 pm–10:00 pm
Brunch
Sun 11:00 am–2:00 pm

Cross Street:
7th Street and Austin Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 868-3300

Website:
http://www.thehollowbrasserie.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in and around Georgetown Town Square

Executive Chef:
Jacob Hilbert

Private Party Contact:
Jacob Hilbert: (512) 868-3300

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Hollow Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Local Ingredients (20)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for a Date (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Romantic (13)
Notable Wine List (10)
Authentic (9)
Cozy (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Business Meals (7)
Seasonal (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Fun (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Healthy (4)
Casual (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Tapas (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Organic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
350 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Took over 1 hour and 45 minutes to get our appetizers and then another 30 minutes for main course. No real excuse provided for extreme delay. New menu items, but the three hour experience over shadows the food taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined 6 days ago

the bar needs some TLC decor wise...it seems run down neglected...empty shelves..
My glass of wine was spoiled...bartender replaced and did not charge for replacement..nice customer service.

There was a lack of a lighter for the bartender to make the smoked cocktail...finally got one but she had to ask again to get it back from manager...
for an upscale place with upscale prices the ambiance is lacking and the staff is eager but not polished.

I suggest a happy hour menu and take some $$ of wine and beer for happy hour.

The white chairs look euro trashy...
would be worth it to have a real decorator or designer help with the decor.

the food is good and definitely the haute cuisine of Georgetown but the decor and resulting atmosphere is lacking. Would keep us from being regulars.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Mike, the host was terrific! The food -beef bourgognon, beet salad and brussel sprouts were excellent made from the freshest ingredients. Since we were there last they have renovated and updated this restaurant on Georgetown Square and we call it rustic elegance. Overall a great experience!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 10, 2017

It was so good. The cheese board to the salmon was so delicious! Can't wait to go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Excellent spot. Food was great, the vibe and ambiance was spot on, and our waiter was very very helpful with our selections. The pork belly starter and the duck entree were amazing choices. Definitely will be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

The food was amazing, we had the cheese and meat platter and bruschetta which was out of this world delicious. All 4 of us dining were happy with our meals and the cocktails are outstanding! I would definitely recommend to friends and take friends! I will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 7, 2017

New menu, new faces, same great place to eat!! We missed Juan Carlos and Ricky

Tags: Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 6, 2017

This was my 70th birthday SPECIAL occasion and the meal was excellent.
We will eat there again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Took my two best friends here for a Girls night out dinner. One is an adventurous diner and the other is not so I was a little hesitant about how the less adventurous would react. We were all blown away. We had the Salmon, Beef Bourguignon and Seared Steak. Absolutely Amazing. Make sure you Save room for dessert. Cheesecake, chocolate Tort, Apple Tart. You will not regret the calories! Service was as wonderful as the food. Cannot wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

We decided to give the hollow another try since they reopened with a new concept and I’m so glad we did. They have $4 classic drinks at happy hour and they were so good. We tried the salmon and it may actually be the best thing either of us have ever eaten! It wasn’t cheap, but I didn’t mind paying $20 for the quality. We considered getting a second one for dessert, but went with the life by chocolate instead. It was good, but not sure if I would spend $8 again considering the small portion. They serve Je Suis coffe from right here in Georgetown, so we had to get some with our dessert. It did not disappoint! The service was great as well. The prices are still somewhat high but the new menu offers starters and some entrees that are more affordable. We will definitely be going back and I would recommend it to anyone!

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Slow service and music does not fit the atmosphere

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Excellent food worth the drive from Austin. The cocktails are very good as well and the wine list has some hidden gems worth exploring. Overall, the best restaurant in Georgetown, hands down.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great Food!!!! Beautiful ambiance! Friendly! Loved the menu choices and the recommendations. The bread with honey, goat cheese, and olive oil is wonderful.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 25, 2017

we had not eaten at the Hollow in about a year we used to go every few months -frankly, they have gotten a bit to proud and way overpriced. What used to be a $35.00 prix fix menu is now a $35.00 and up entree- and some of the portions were way too small for the money - The scallops were $32.00 and the bowl contained soupy couscous and three scallops. The mushroom appetizer which was $14 or so, could barely be seen and was certainly not worth the expense. Conversely the Beef Wellington, was two large slices but over-priced at $55.00.

The food is tasty, but frankly not worth the expense and I don't think we will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 23, 2017

As always dining at the Hollow is a gastronomical delight. Juan Carlos always is there to assist with wine pairing, the chefs serve the food and give a detailed description of ingredients which is special. Can't wait to dine there again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Food, cocktails, and service are amazing, our guests always have said how much they enjoyed being taken here!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Beautiful presentation of food, flavors amazing, everything was delicious. Wait staff knowledgeable and attentive without being intrusive. Wonderful evening out with my son.
Alcoholic beverages pricey.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Seasonal, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We wanted to treat a friend for a milestone birthday. The Hollow was over the top. Great food with incredible seasoning, unusual and subtle flavors. The ambience was comfortable and upscale, yet welcoming. The staff is very knowledgeable and attentive. This is our go-to special event restaurant. Definite worth a drive even though we live here.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The best description I can write is when they get it right, they hit it out if the ballpark. When they don't, it is a "less than", flawed, and expensive meal. However, it is always a very interesting, creative, experience. My food tonight was meh (scallop), but I will go back because it is very different culinary experience, and worth the risk. They finally have the service right, and the atmosphere is cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 1, 2017

In so many expensive gourmet restaurants, like the Hollow, the amount of food served, on each dish, is minimal. So, I needed to eat again a couple of hours later! What they serve is always good, however.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

The flavors are outstanding. The dessert was so rich and delightful--every bite!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Nice white tablecloth place but the small bite plates just didn't jell. Wine and beer Ok, service was ok with lots of time.between plates. Small plates were definitely small bites with obvious labor intensive work but the flavors didn't blend well. Desserts were also tiny but were very good. $140 one beer, one wine glass, 4 small pl ates, two desserts, tip. Oh, you have to pay $5 for bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Has all the makings of an upscale, pricey, tapas bar/bistro.
Pretty Good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Excellent service. It seemed that that the two servers we encountered were more career servers than transitional employees. It's a small operation and popular so they were running out of certain dishes, but in my opinion that is to be be expected for an establishment of this caliber in a smaller metropolitan area like Georgetown. It was a little hot however it's an older building located on the downtown square in the middle of July in Texas. The servers told us the chef had worked at more than one Michelin starred restaurants. I don't think people understand or appreciate the time, dedication and talent it takes to work for a Michelin rated establishment. We enjoyed it very much.

- Jay and Lindsay Snider

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Another great meal at The Hollow
There were six of us celebrating with visiting family members. Among all of us we ordered a wide variety ranging from warm bread with olive oil for dipping to the delicious pork chop entree. Everything got rave reviews, as did the great service by the friendly staff. Bravo to all!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

We went to the hollow for our 30th anaverery it was an awesome experience and I would recommend them to anyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

My wife and I love this place. They made our Wedding Anniversary meal so special.
Best place for a lovely, quiet meal in Georgetown.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This restaurant is top notch for wonderfully creative food sourced locally.

I had the beef filet and ordered it well done, always a risk. Chefs seem to resist cooking a steak well done, in my experience. This steak was perfect and probably the best I've ever had.
I also had the heirloom tomato tart, which was like a little tomato pizza. I love tomatoes, and these home grown beauties did not disappoint. I think there was a little basil pesto underneath the tomatoes, but I'm not an expert and forgot to ask.

I had the Maggie's Bullet drink, which was bourbon with some other stuff in it. I can't remember, but this drink was strong. I have ordered bourbon in other places and it seems like the bartender dilutes it in some way, making it weaker. Maggie's Bullet was delicious and made for sipping.
We ordered the deconstructed apple pie for dessert, which appeared on a crust that looked the same as what the tomato tart came with. No matter, it was flaky and delicious both times. The apple pie consisted of cubed apples in a cinnamony sauce and topped with vanilla ice cream.

The only drawback to our dining experience was the poor air conditioning. Granted, it's an old building and probably doesn't have the best insulation. However, when I mentioned to our server that the place would benefit from ceiling fans, he stated that that they used to have them, but removed them in favor of some fancy hanging lighting. I told him they should probably rethink the lighting in favor of temperature.

Overall, though, I highly recommend this place for outstanding food, service and ambiance.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 28, 2017

This place is hands down my favorite restaurant in Georgetown!! Amazing food and superb service!

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 22, 2017

In the middle of downtown Georgetown is a restaurant jewel. It's called the Hollow. Wife and myself enjoyed the appetizer scallops. Best ever! Chef Jacob is in to win!!!

One Valid Suggestion: The recommended gratuity amount on the credit card receipt SHOULD NOT INCLUDE TAXES. Most people don't notice but I do. It's a sneaky way of doing business. Hopefully they will take note and change this.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We live in Georgetown and have tried the Hollow several times, hoping each time that the food will be good. The restaurant is in a great location but the 'chef' tries much to hard to cutsie and original and the food ends up being weird. The quality of his ingredients is substandard, his menu is much to complicated, and the flavors he tries to blend just don't work. I don't often send reviews, but this chef needs to Keep It Simple (and clean). Too weird for me!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Ricky, Juan Carlos and Michael were very good. Food presentation was very good. Thought the main course could have used more seasoning and flavoring. I had the cod and my wife had the duck. The ingredients were all very fresh. Thought it was a little on the pricey side.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 17, 2017

It was our first time at the restaurant. I took my hubby and our son there for pre Father's Day dinner. Food was amazing and service from our waiter was very pleasant😊. We're total foodies, been all over the world. It's nice that our first time at The Hollow was not disappointing. Definitely will return.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Juan Carlos the sommelier is top notch. Their drink list w Ricky as the mixologist is on point.
So thrilled to have a true fine dining spot in Georgetown!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The food was delicious! There was five in our party, and we all ordered something different.
Everything was well prepared. The starter we ordered (the bread with locally made goat cheese and honey) was so, so good.

Would have been nice to have some gluten free items for one of our friends.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We had an excellent meal at the Hollow. My husband raved about their duck and I really enjoyed my steak. The service was good. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

A very nice setting in Georgetown, TX. tables are widely spaced. Farm to table food cooked by an experienced chef. Good wine list. A class above in terms of food, wine, service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I feel sorry to write a totally negative review but this Restaurant is expensive for no reasons: the food pretend to be creative but the reality is different: it's an undetectable mix of ingredients put together without any knowledge.
The wines are expensive beyond any reasonable reasons. Terrible, terrible experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The place has a good feel. Small seating vignettes upstairs for lively conversations over great cocktails by Rickey!! Go!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The Hollow was perfect, I brought my wife there for a birthday date. The food was unbelievably good. The service impeccable. The drinks unique. The wine paired. The menu is small but with this you get amazing choices that are seasonal. I cannot see ever being dissatisfied with; food, drinks, or service at this restaurant. My only complaint is that I did not find this amazing, creative restaurant sooner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.