Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi

About The Hollow

The Hollow is a French inspired farm-to-table and forage-to-table restaurant featuring fresh, seasonal menus. Dinner menu is a la carte with small plates and traditional entrees. A chef's tasting menu is also offered by request.

The Hollow has a full bar with craft cocktails. We feature happy hour specials and host monthly wine dinners and cooking classes.

708 S Austin Ave
Georgetown, TX 78626
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Farm-to-table

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Saturday: 4:30 PM - Closing

Cross Street:
7th Street and Austin Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 868-3300

Website:
http://www.thehollowbrasserie.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in and around Georgetown Town Square

Executive Chef:
Jacob Hilbert

Private Party Contact:
Jacob Hilbert: (512) 868-3300

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Hollow Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
See All
Special Occasion (19)
Romantic (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Cozy (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Authentic (9)
Tasting Menu (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Seasonal (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Historic (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Business Meals (4)
Fun (4)
Happy Hour (3)
People Watching (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Casual (3)
Scenic View (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
282 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Georgetown is extremely fortunate to have this dining experience in town. The ambiance, service and food is incredible. The chef is a genius as the unique food pairings delight and never disappoint. Very affordable for the experience and the food quality. Love the frequently changing menu to try new dishes and the use of locally sourced ingredients. If you haven't dined here yet, this place should be your next place to go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food was very good,but service was excellent,Very friendly atmosphere. Michael and Juan Carlos doing an outstanding job --enjoyed in-house bread,--- add just a pinch of salt to bread dough.Duck breast and ox tail slightly over cooked--flavor good---bacon good--over all experience very good --will return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Very unique food; one of a kind. Outstanding tastes and presentation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We wanted vegetarian options. The menu is lacking in veg options however Chef created a nice beet, strawberry salad that was delish and very pretty. Food service was very slow. We had two salads and an appetizer and we were there over 2.5 hrs. That's crazy!!! The Hollow is all about their creations. I wasn't nearly as impressed w the Hollow as the Hollow is impressed w the Hollow... But overall, was good and I'd return.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The food and service are outstanding. We had the chef's tasting menu. It is a six course menu that includes a dessert. The ingredients are local and seasonal. So, it's very fresh. One of the courses was a boar chop. I've never had boar, and I expected it to be tough and gamy. Instead it was sweet and succulent. Another dish was a waygu beef carppacio with a variety of sauce. I loved it. The star of the mean was an "apple" of marzipan and foie gras. It was luscious - soft, sweet and salty.

I am so proud to have a restaurant like this in Georgetown. I will go there whenever I have a chance.

Donna

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This place is legit! Loved the stories behind each menu option and the cocktails are fabulous! Just what our lil' town needs. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Quiet and romantic atmosphere. Cocktails and food were great!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Probably some of the finest customer service around - phenomenal, creative plates, outstanding wine selection, awesome ambiance. Worth coming back to - repeatedly!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Loved everything about The Hollow! Food was amazing! and the drinks made me believe in spirits again 😁

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Chef Jacob is there to surprise you! His ability to create great tasting dishes with different flavors playing with spices and herbs is astonishing. I highly recommend The Hollow for a culinary experience out of this world!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was just not impressive - Wild Boar and Trout Dish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Had a great time, staff was very attentive and cocktails were amazing! Went for our anniversary and they provided us a signed menu with signatures from the staff wishing up a Happy Anniversary! They also sat us in a unique location at the front of the restaurant! Great place for special occasions!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 22, 2017

This is a wonderful restaurant. The chef is so creative with the locally sourced food. Everything was delicious and they accommodated my need for gluten free food in an imaginative and delicious way. Our waiter was very helpful and knowledgeable. I will be back for my anniversary:). I highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Clever and creative menu - the chef was kind enough to swap out the truffle risotto for polenta (which was amazing!!) I actually felt like he created a custom meal just for me! It's so unique how the menu changes everyday. It's a true farm-to-table experience. Ambiance was romantic and it wasn't too loud to have a good conversation with my husband. Someone had given us a generous gift card so we enjoyed indulging in this special treat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Fabulous! It was a friend's birthday and they had a few touches to make it very special. I am a chef and the food was amazing! A truly great experience!

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We had a belated Valentines date. Excellent food. Homemade bread..out of this world! Delicious meal..duck and filet...dessert was awesome! We've been several times, and each trip seems special!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was fantastic, 5 star. For the price point, the service was great but not perfect. We were well attended to, but some tiny details were overlooked such as offering dark napkins. Both my date and I were in black and left with white lint all over us which we had to remove before moving on to our next destination. The music did not all match with the cuisine, decor, and overall feel of the restaurant. It was more like rock for a night club. Also, our reservation was at 7:15 on a Saturday and they had already ran out of 1/3 of the menu. Mixed drinks from the bar were inconsistent. All that having been said, we had an excellent experience and will try the Hollow again.

Tags: Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was our second visit. The first in December 2016 was amazing. This experience fell way below expectation. Appetizer flavors did not meld. The salmon was greasy and carrots had no flavor. The beef entree was subpar and lacking flavor. Very disappointed, something has changed since December.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The service was pretty good. The food was well executed too but overpriced. If you're not interested in eating rabbit, that's a big chunk of the menu off the table. No soups or leaf salads at, and generally speaking, pretty short of vegetables or grains all around so don't expect any kind of a balanced meal. The bread? Come on! I understand restaurants want to drop bread service because it saves them a small amount, but I consider decent bread service a basic sign of quality. Not only does the Hollow toss bread service away, they replace it with a $5 appetizer bread that so small, we thought it was a joke. Then they upsell a tiny piece of Brie with it for an additional $10. Would it be too much to ask to expect a high price restaurant to bother to actually make a real desert? Kind of getting sick of desserts assembled with Basil ice cream and granola crumbles.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great place with fantastic food and good service so what more could you ask for.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The service was excellent. Food was well presented, but my rabbit appetizer (or firstlings as they call it) was quite tough. My husband's rabbit (dinner) was very good. I arrived first and nobody offered to help with my coat. When my husband arrived later, they asked it they could help. I told them it was my birthday, but nobody congratulated me and certainly did not offer any birthday specials. The portions were small, which was fine, but rather expensive for the amount of food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Service doesn't match ambiance or prices. High prices. Would not serve all appetizers at table - some restricted to bar service only. We would've purchased more appetizers. Seemed silly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Always a creative and delicious meal. Staff is wonderful and attentive.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Best meal I have ever had anywhere in Texas. Chef Jacob has recommitted himself to make great food everyone would love to eat. He has succeeded admirably. Real local treasure.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This was our 4th visit to The Hollow and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The menu is always changing and offers something new each time we are there. The wine list was wonderful and had excellent options available. Of course, the chef and his creativity with the food is simply awe-inspiring. On top of that, the service is also always a joy, with individuals who truly delight and revel in the wonderful items on the menu, and see to it that they are attentive and make sure your every need is taken care of, to include offering suggestions or bringing something as small as a couple of pieces of home-made bread for you to use to soak up those last drops of heavenly broth. Just a treat and always a win! Thank you!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We loved this place. Staff were friendly and accommodating. The food was excellent and creative and beautifully presented.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Beautiful ambiance and good food. For my main, I ordered the fish. It was served in a unique tandoori vessel and was tasty but I had to navigate bones, so would have preferred a 2nd fish option. I also ordered the beet appetizer which was good but would have preferred a larger portion. Obviously, a talented chef and our server did a nice job as well. I would certainly recommend The Hollow.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We go out most every Friday with friends and we like to try different restaurants and new cuisine. The old fashioned cocktail, the guys both ordered was creative, well presented and tasted great. The bread service was good and the beet salad was excellent. Our entrees were pork shank for 2 of us, one fillet, and sea bass. All of the dishes, except for the fish were terrific. The taste was fine but, it had too many fine bones. It made the fish to diificult to eat. The choice was to eat the fish or have a conversation. The diner gave up on the fish to have a conversation. Maybe we should have been informed about the fish bones when ordered. We shared 2 desserts and they were unusual and good. All in all, it was an okay evening. We had heard service is a mixed bag here, but our waiter was helpful and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We went for our anniversary and they had a private table with rose petals (fake, but still pretty) and candles lit. I appreciated that they saw my note about us celebrating and actually acted upon it (most often I find that restaurants tend to ignore the notes section of OT reservations). However the food wasn't quite what I'd hoped for. It was good, but not amazing. I would probably go down the street to Wildfire before returning to the Hollow.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We have been to the Hollow multiple times and continue to be impressed. The food is outstanding as well as the atmosphere. The chef is truly talented.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Wait staff friendly but at times too many involved with one table. Staff did not understand rules regarding corking bottles of wine. We were also double billed for a bottle of wine, which was corrected once pointed out. Despite mediocre service, our entrees were very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food quality and presentation appear to have gone down from a year ago when I was highly impressed. Now it's just an ordinary dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great service. Staff extremely attentive. All levels of staff/management/kitchen, (except Chef - which is OK), checked on our satisfaction. Order the Beet Salad - a delight in every bite!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Cozy, Casual, Late-night Find, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was superb and the service was excellent. We enjoyed our meal immensely.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Food is always outstanding. Service is always poor.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We have eaten at The Hollow about seven or eight times, and always thought the food was tasty and just a little different from most places.However we were really disappointed with our meal last Saturday. There were six or seven entree choices and they had run out of both my first choice and my husband's .This wasn't the first time this has happened.We just felt that if you don't have a large selection of entrees , you should make sure you have prepared enough of everything. We chose other entrees and my husband enjoyed his but the cod that I chose wasn't very tasty. It is a shame because we really loved the food here in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Best Restaurant in the area. Excellent French farm inspired food. Long time favorite restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was great as always. I ordered the filet because I don't remember seeing a steak on the menu in my previous visits and I usually order the duck because it is so good. For $42 I definitely expected a larger cut of meat. It was very small. Too small for the price point in my opinion. However, it was cooked to perfection. The gnocchi was outstanding. My wife ordered the duck and loved it, I did as well since I snacked on it too. I can't remember the full contents of the dessert, but it was a chocolate semifesco, with a persimmon sorbet and a chocolate cinnamon sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Overall The Hollow was an amazing dining experience. However, I was promised a specific table during the reservation. Upon arrival it was clear the table was no longer available. A minor issue quickly made up by the staff and amazing dishes. Highly recommend the chefs five course meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Price / quality rate very bad. The good is Nice but way overpriced.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.