About The Hollow

708 S Austin Ave
Georgetown, TX 78626
View Larger Map

The Hollow is a French inspired farm-to-table and forage-to-table bar, lounge, and restaurant featuring fresh, seasonal menus. Each nightly dinner menu features a three course prix fixe menu, a chef's tasting menu, and a bar menu accompanied by a fantastic wine list and great handcrafted cocktails.

The Hollow also features nightly happy hour specials and host monthly wine dinners and cooking classes.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday: 4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday and Saturday: 4:30 PM - Closing
Sunday: 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Cross Street:
7th Street and Austin Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 868-3300

Website:
http://www.thehollowbrasserie.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in and around Georgetown Town Square

Executive Chef:
Jacob Hilbert

Private Party Contact:
Jacob Brown: (512) 868-3300x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Hollow Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Austin
Fit for Foodies
Austin
Best Restaurants in Georgetown ›

Fit for Foodies (37)
Special Occasion (35)
Notable Wine List (21)
See All
Romantic (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Great for Brunch (11)
Good for Groups (6)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
228 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It's actually the wife writing the revie ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 5 days ago

It's actually the wife writing the review. The night we went, there was a fixed price menu $45.

The appetizer was very good....scallops with pesto blintz. His entree was goat shank with dried cherries and cubed sweet potatoes..it was excellent. I had twice fried grouper with spiced greens...also excellent. Now, to the disappointing part...dessert. We ordered the chocolate one,

with a pecan ice cream. It was minuscule in a huge bowl, didn't have the consistency of ice cream, or didn't taste like pecans. We told the waiter we were disappointed, so he deducted $10. from the bill of $122. The husband have two glass of a very good wine, and I had ice tea. We will go back for another special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My friends and family have been going to ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 6 days ago

My friends and family have been going to the Hollow since it opened over 3 year ago. However, we had a very disappointing meal last year...both food and service, and had not been back. I missed it so much that I decided to try one more time, and was not disappointed in the least. The food was back to its very nice quality and our service was impeccable. So glad I gave it another chance. Will continue to enjoy this wonderful little Gerogtown spot.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fixed price menu with limited choices. P ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Fixed price menu with limited choices. Portions tend to be on the small side (main course and dessert). Food quality/taste excellent. Not an everyday place but great for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding reataurant. Daily changing ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Outstanding reataurant. Daily changing fixed priced menu has a something for eveyone, big portions, locally sourced. Duck is a signature dish and deserves it. Very nice reasonably priced wine list. A must for anyone who appreciate good food and meticulous preparation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant with ambiance where you ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great restaurant with ambiance where you can dress up and it's in the neighbor without traveling South to Austin.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The French American influence here is fa ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The French American influence here is fantastic. Great cocktails, lively food, wonderful service. who could ask for more

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed an outstanding meal. The chef ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We enjoyed an outstanding meal. The chef surprised us with 7 different courses. Food was creative, beautifully plated, well seasoned, and well cooked. The hollow is such a unique find in an often predictable Georgetown restaurant scene. The cocktail menu is great, and the staff so kind and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Selected the chef's special five-course ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Selected the chef's special five-course dinner with wine pairings. Each course was a delicious surprise. Sommelier was knowledgeable, thoughtful, and attentive. Service was impeccable. Definitely would return and recommend to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have eaten here several times. The fo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We have eaten here several times. The food has always been unique and very tasty. This was our first experience with their fixed menu. It makes sense for a small restaurant. You get fresh food and there is probably not a lot wasted. There was 5 or 6 choices in each category. My husband had steak, that he loved but kept coming over to my duck that was perfect. We will definitely keep coming back for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is definitely a foodie restaurant s ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is definitely a foodie restaurant serving a prix fix kind or farm to table menu. We found the food to be quite good, if maybe just a tad on the bland side, still savory though. The service was excellent and very professional (not always a common occurrence). This is a great gem hidden in Georgetown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Probably out of the average price range ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Probably out of the average price range for fixed income . The food was interesting and tasty although you won't win any brisket awards. Unfortunately my wife and I both woke up with acute acid reflux at about two AM. The only thing we had in common was the cake with ice cream. Sorry, sorta takes the edge off the experience. I still don't know why restaurants charge so much for a small glass of wine when you can buy a good tasting bottle of wine for the same amount.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

My husband and I made a reservation, bas ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

My husband and I made a reservation, based on recommendations by several friends. We found the first two course, excellent, well prepared and presented; portions were perfect. The desserts left us underwhelmed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The restaurant is beautiful and contempo ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful and contemporary, the service was excellent and the food was delicious. My husband had the duck strudel as appetizer and that was amazing. Explosion of flavours. Both of us had the "where is the meet" which is a very tasteful brisket tagine with potatoes. Truly great food. For dinner they work with a 3 course menu - appetizer, entree and desert. We will go back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Creative and fresh cuisine that never di ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Creative and fresh cuisine that never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu recently changed and is not ref ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The menu recently changed and is not reflective of the website. The service was amazing with knowledgeable insights to the menu. The wind pairing is also excellent. On the main dish - the brisket was very fatty and the lamb was not spicy. I would recommend this establishment to anyone who want to adventure with a different style of meal. However, it was not what we expected...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Truly one of a kind spot on the square i ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Truly one of a kind spot on the square in Georgetown. When these guys moved to town, we already had a few nice spots and this particular building had a revolving door of poorly performing restaurants.

This chef has a true gift. The food is beautiful and always fantastic. If you are not adventurous, like me, it is terrifying but always excellent. Go ahead and take the chance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The presentation was stellar and the foo ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The presentation was stellar and the food was very delicious and interesting. We were a little disappointed that they require all the diners at the table to order at the same price point. There's a three course prix fixe menu that is lower priced or you can choose the more expensive tasting menu that lets you try five or six different dishes. We decided that one of us would spring for the higher priced tasting menu, but our budget constrained us to have the other order the prix fixe. However, we ended up both going with the prix fixe because they came back and reported that we both had to order the same. Other than that, it was a foodie paradise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Possibly even more amazing than usual. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Possibly even more amazing than usual. 4 of us did the 6 course tasting menu with the wine tasting menu, too. An experience I won't soon forget.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the hollow and go there frequent ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We love the hollow and go there frequently. The menu is great and everything is always delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely outstanding food matched by a ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Absolutely outstanding food matched by an amazing wine list, all beautifully presented. Unbelievable that a restaurant of this caliber can be found in Georgetown!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place, good food, but the prices we ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Nice place, good food, but the prices were a bit steep for this area. A good place for a special occasion, but I would not make this a regular place to dine due to the prices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

Most excellent. We did the chefs tasting ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Most excellent. We did the chefs tasting w/ pairings. Excellent. Waiter and Sommelier need to coordinate presentation a little better. Also needed bread between courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I've been to Napa and had great food, ho ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I've been to Napa and had great food, however, this place is far better than most in Napa. I compare this to French Laundry.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would have given them 5-star if they had ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Would have given them 5-star if they had a complete bar. However, they are remodeling and open for full bar service once complete. So it should be a total 5-star experience after that!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An expensive place to eat. The duck was ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

An expensive place to eat. The duck was marvelous. The snapper was terrible--very little fish in a big pot with veggies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Dinner Saturday 6/4/16

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Fantastic dining experience. Server was excellent, very knowledgable of the menu & wine selections. This was our second time to eat here, definitely will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an amazing find!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We spent a mist delightful evening here recently. The manager/sommelier was so interesting and helpful. We had both the Chefs five course meal and the wine paring to go with it, WONDERFUL! Each plate was more delicious than the next. I can not wait to go back and try more!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Culinarily very good

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We enjoyed the each of the menu items we selected, but our overall feeling was it was over priced. On the upside, each selection was unique in style and taste, and we were not disappointed with the experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Been here a few times, I love the place!

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Been here a few times, I love the place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time to Georgetown in a while.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Nice surprise. Food was delicious and the new manager was very friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

One of the finest

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My wife and I recently dined at The Hollow to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We had a memorable experience. This is one of the finest restaurants in the greater Austin area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

A Gem in GTX! The Hollow lived up to th ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

A Gem in GTX! The Hollow lived up to the previous reviews that we read. Our Waiter Colin was very informative and the service was outstanding. The Pork Belly appetizer was great and the sauce made my Rabbit main course. Jacob is their new manager. Very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A dinner and adventure all in one.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

So many flavors that just explode in your mouth, exciting your taste buds and leaving you talking about the adventure for days.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We have enjoyed all our "special occasions" here. The food is consistently good and the service is excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Always Exceptional Dining Experience

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The Hollow is a true gem - one that you might expect to find in Manhattan or Brooklyn or some other food mecca. This is a not to be missed dining experience in Georgetown, Texas that is always outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

French cookFood was good, desert not so.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Good food, but overpriced and small portions. The desert was dissatisfied .

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

An anniversary was made even more special by dining & celebrating at The Hollow. It never disappoints with the excellent food and the outstanding service. Our server Tyler was attentive to our needs. We liked the price fixed menu which was new to us since the last time we dined there. There was a variety for each course that appealed to all present. One person who is vegetarian had excellent fish choices; the gentleman could indulgent his beef taste; and, I ventured to something I had never had - the rabbit. The food is superb and beautifully plated. Each dish was accompanied by unique vegetable which were equally tasty. The atmosphere is relaxed elegance & conducive for table conversation. We came away completely satisfied and commented that the portions were not so huge as to be miserably stuffed. We highly recommend The Hollow and will definitely be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Get out of your comfort zone

 
 (Central Texas)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

We have visited this restaurant since it opened several years ago and have NEVER been disappointed with any aspect of their operation but the key is the food! If you want quality Texas comfort food there are several other restaurants nearby that are first rate BUT if you want to GET COMPLETELY OUT OF YOUR COMFORT ZONE the Hollow is where you must go. Every night is a new adventure......read the menu and you may be a little puzzled....some are familiar dishes, many are not but ALL are prepared and presented with precision and inventativeness. If you are uncertain what to order just close your eyes any point to anything and it will be great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had friends in from out of town. The Ho ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Had friends in from out of town. The Hollow knocked it out of the park as far as delicious food, beautifully and creatively served and amazing professional service. By far the BEST Georgetown or any city could offer!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A true gem in heart of Georgetown

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The food was delicious and very gastronomically and visually appealing. The service and staff were very nice. We will definitely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.