Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi

About The Hollow

The Hollow is a French inspired farm-to-table and forage-to-table restaurant featuring fresh, seasonal menus. Dinner menu is a la carte with small plates and traditional entrees. A chef's tasting menu is also offered by request a couple of days in advance.

The Hollow has a full bar with craft cocktails. We feature happy hour specials and host monthly wine dinners and cooking classes.

708 S Austin Ave
Georgetown, TX 78626
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Farm-to-table

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday through Saturday: 4:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Cross Street:
7th Street and Austin Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 868-3300

Website:
http://www.thehollowbrasserie.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in and around Georgetown Town Square

Executive Chef:
Jacob Hilbert

Private Party Contact:
Jacob Hilbert: (512) 868-3300

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Hollow Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (25)
Special Occasion (25)
Good for a Date (25)
See All
Fit for Foodies (23)
Romantic (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Local Ingredients (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Cozy (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Authentic (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Historic (6)
Fun (6)
Business Meals (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Seasonal (5)
People Watching (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Casual (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Scenic View (2)
Healthy (2)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
298 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Great atmosphere and service. The food was OK. Ricota Gnochi Starter was different and tasted OK. The Duck Main was overcooked, stringy and dry. I almost sent it back, however, I didn't want to embarrass my guests. Sauce was tasty however, a bit watered down. Not impressed. A return visit is not in the cards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined 5 days ago

Always a pleasure to dine at The Hollow.
They really take great care of their guests and you should always ask for Table #1!!

Tried a new cocktail as well...The Botnist. So good!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

Cocktails were amazing, but I think the food was just average. All the food was very bland and lacked proper seasoning. For the price I expected better.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Truly a place to be appreciated by foodies. Unique food and knowledgeable servers. Beef and duck delicious. Halibut was ordinary. Prices were higher than comparable restaurants.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Food and service excellent as usual, but there was something wrong with the A/C. It is hard to enjoy a fine meal while sweating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The tartar alone would be worth standing in line for hours, which we did not. It was bright and melted on your tongue. You didn't want to swallow so you could hold the flavor as long as possible. Both our entrees were outstanding as well. My wife had a cocktail with tequila and orange as well as other herbs served with mesquite smoke. She thought it was delightful. Portions are very generous. Worth your time and money.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Historic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We dine regularly at the Hollow. Chef Jacob uses the freshest, seasonal foods from local sources. The menu changes daily. Our dining experience Saturday evening was exceptional. My husband and I started off with a cocktail each created by a masterful bartender. There is no comparison to the Hollow's creativity; bar included. We shared home baked bread offered with local honey and fresh herbed olive oil. We also shared an appetizer of gnocci which was sitting in a broth of smoked tomatoes and topped with a pile of fresh basil. For our entrees my husband had the seafood tangine and I had the scallops with cous cous. Both entrees were beautifully presented and delightfully seasoned. The kitchen outdid themselves on Saturday. Jacob is ramping up to be in the spotlight along with his crew. An extra bonus you get when you visit is the Hollow's new somalier named Juan Carlos. He can pair a perfect glass of wine with your meal and is bringing new and interesting wines in weekly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Fun and interesting meal. There were few choices but they were all fun and different. It's definitely a foodie destination. Heads up, it was definitely a costly meal, but worth it and we will go back. Only complaint...it took 45 min from sit down to getting our meal...manager (I assumed) came by and asked how we were doing...we just asked about the meal, he went and checked and it was out to us within a minute.
It appears to be a small venue, so not sure why service seemed delayed, but it's just an observation, not a complaint, we will see next time we go if that was an anomaly or a thing.
A very nice experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We have been here a few times and have never been disappointed. The food is remarkable. The chef even came to visit us. Love the Hollow

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The setting is very nice - seeing the Courthouse through the front window.
The food is great -
The service is great -
What more could you ask?

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Birthday dinner with family. Great cocktails. Say back and let Chef Jacob surprise us with an amazing meal! Always fantastic!

Tags: Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Fun, Historic, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Private Room, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We had a delightful dinner and the service was wonderful. Thank you for a great evening

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Pleasant restaurant location and environs. Nice restaurant greeting and seating by staff. A restricted selection of choices on menu, limited number to start with, but then several choices were eliminated from the start. That should have been a sign to try another night. Our waiter felt that there had been quite a large group of diners earlier, but we had fairly early reservations. The price point is as high as most good Austin restaurants, but the value was not. The food we all had was very beautiful, so the rest of this review makes me sad. Our dinner took a very long time to be prepared-we were there approximently two hours, and then, it wasn't really good-just unique. (My husband and I had fish. It was served tangine style. It didn't suit either one of us, although I did think the serving vessel was beautiful.). Everything seemed somewhat off, and many honest apologies by our waiter were given, and that did help as we were waiting for such a long time. I see the talent here, but there is a set of problems that were very hard to overlook once you had the bill in hand.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 2, 2017

overall the service and food were fine. we waited a while for our main dishes and they kindly brought over more wine and another app.

The disappointing part was the dessert. It was choc. The smallest dessert I have ever seen and it cost $8.00

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We stopped in for another great meal prepared by Jacob Hilbert, but tonight was especially fun and over-the-top. The food selection and wine pairing suggested by Juan Carlos were superb. Jacob presents the most authentic, innovative food combinations while staying true to his farm-to-table philosophy coordinating flavors that can not be found anywhere in a 100 mile radius. His use of local ingredients even using edible wild flowers is amazing. We had the most tremendous evening ever - great food, handcrafted cocktails, wine, service, and wonderful ambiance. This restaurant is becoming very well known and most likely the best culinary gem in the Austin area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Historic, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food was lovely. Had life changing duck! Disappointed owner visited everyone but our side and I smiled making we contact but he just kept walking to an older couple ahead. Waiter was nice. When others got up owner and hostess said "bye thank you!" And we got up deciding to walk the square, and turned to smile and hostess turned away and just left a bit cold. I was disappointed because I try to go to local farm to table places while traveling because of the customer service and freshness. Food did its part, but that extra ambiance from staff wasn't there. I felt excluded.

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Georgetown is extremely fortunate to have this dining experience in town. The ambiance, service and food is incredible. The chef is a genius as the unique food pairings delight and never disappoint. Very affordable for the experience and the food quality. Love the frequently changing menu to try new dishes and the use of locally sourced ingredients. If you haven't dined here yet, this place should be your next place to go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food was very good,but service was excellent,Very friendly atmosphere. Michael and Juan Carlos doing an outstanding job --enjoyed in-house bread,--- add just a pinch of salt to bread dough.Duck breast and ox tail slightly over cooked--flavor good---bacon good--over all experience very good --will return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Very unique food; one of a kind. Outstanding tastes and presentation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We wanted vegetarian options. The menu is lacking in veg options however Chef created a nice beet, strawberry salad that was delish and very pretty. Food service was very slow. We had two salads and an appetizer and we were there over 2.5 hrs. That's crazy!!! The Hollow is all about their creations. I wasn't nearly as impressed w the Hollow as the Hollow is impressed w the Hollow... But overall, was good and I'd return.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The food and service are outstanding. We had the chef's tasting menu. It is a six course menu that includes a dessert. The ingredients are local and seasonal. So, it's very fresh. One of the courses was a boar chop. I've never had boar, and I expected it to be tough and gamy. Instead it was sweet and succulent. Another dish was a waygu beef carppacio with a variety of sauce. I loved it. The star of the mean was an "apple" of marzipan and foie gras. It was luscious - soft, sweet and salty.

I am so proud to have a restaurant like this in Georgetown. I will go there whenever I have a chance.

Donna

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This place is legit! Loved the stories behind each menu option and the cocktails are fabulous! Just what our lil' town needs. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Quiet and romantic atmosphere. Cocktails and food were great!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Probably some of the finest customer service around - phenomenal, creative plates, outstanding wine selection, awesome ambiance. Worth coming back to - repeatedly!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Loved everything about The Hollow! Food was amazing! and the drinks made me believe in spirits again 😁

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Chef Jacob is there to surprise you! His ability to create great tasting dishes with different flavors playing with spices and herbs is astonishing. I highly recommend The Hollow for a culinary experience out of this world!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was just not impressive - Wild Boar and Trout Dish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Had a great time, staff was very attentive and cocktails were amazing! Went for our anniversary and they provided us a signed menu with signatures from the staff wishing up a Happy Anniversary! They also sat us in a unique location at the front of the restaurant! Great place for special occasions!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 22, 2017

This is a wonderful restaurant. The chef is so creative with the locally sourced food. Everything was delicious and they accommodated my need for gluten free food in an imaginative and delicious way. Our waiter was very helpful and knowledgeable. I will be back for my anniversary:). I highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Clever and creative menu - the chef was kind enough to swap out the truffle risotto for polenta (which was amazing!!) I actually felt like he created a custom meal just for me! It's so unique how the menu changes everyday. It's a true farm-to-table experience. Ambiance was romantic and it wasn't too loud to have a good conversation with my husband. Someone had given us a generous gift card so we enjoyed indulging in this special treat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Fabulous! It was a friend's birthday and they had a few touches to make it very special. I am a chef and the food was amazing! A truly great experience!

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We had a belated Valentines date. Excellent food. Homemade bread..out of this world! Delicious meal..duck and filet...dessert was awesome! We've been several times, and each trip seems special!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was fantastic, 5 star. For the price point, the service was great but not perfect. We were well attended to, but some tiny details were overlooked such as offering dark napkins. Both my date and I were in black and left with white lint all over us which we had to remove before moving on to our next destination. The music did not all match with the cuisine, decor, and overall feel of the restaurant. It was more like rock for a night club. Also, our reservation was at 7:15 on a Saturday and they had already ran out of 1/3 of the menu. Mixed drinks from the bar were inconsistent. All that having been said, we had an excellent experience and will try the Hollow again.

Tags: Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was our second visit. The first in December 2016 was amazing. This experience fell way below expectation. Appetizer flavors did not meld. The salmon was greasy and carrots had no flavor. The beef entree was subpar and lacking flavor. Very disappointed, something has changed since December.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The service was pretty good. The food was well executed too but overpriced. If you're not interested in eating rabbit, that's a big chunk of the menu off the table. No soups or leaf salads at, and generally speaking, pretty short of vegetables or grains all around so don't expect any kind of a balanced meal. The bread? Come on! I understand restaurants want to drop bread service because it saves them a small amount, but I consider decent bread service a basic sign of quality. Not only does the Hollow toss bread service away, they replace it with a $5 appetizer bread that so small, we thought it was a joke. Then they upsell a tiny piece of Brie with it for an additional $10. Would it be too much to ask to expect a high price restaurant to bother to actually make a real desert? Kind of getting sick of desserts assembled with Basil ice cream and granola crumbles.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great place with fantastic food and good service so what more could you ask for.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The service was excellent. Food was well presented, but my rabbit appetizer (or firstlings as they call it) was quite tough. My husband's rabbit (dinner) was very good. I arrived first and nobody offered to help with my coat. When my husband arrived later, they asked it they could help. I told them it was my birthday, but nobody congratulated me and certainly did not offer any birthday specials. The portions were small, which was fine, but rather expensive for the amount of food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Service doesn't match ambiance or prices. High prices. Would not serve all appetizers at table - some restricted to bar service only. We would've purchased more appetizers. Seemed silly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Always a creative and delicious meal. Staff is wonderful and attentive.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Best meal I have ever had anywhere in Texas. Chef Jacob has recommitted himself to make great food everyone would love to eat. He has succeeded admirably. Real local treasure.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.