About The Hollow

708 S Austin Ave
Georgetown, TX 78626
View Larger Map

The Hollow is an American Brasserie featuring classic French cuisine using local ingredients and a modern approach. We offer a nightly changing dinner menu and chef's tastings. Throughout the week we offer a bar menu and wine and beer specials. We also offer monthly wine dinners and cooking classes. Ask your server for details. We will accommodate all dietary needs as requested so please, join us. We look forward to seeing you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 4:30 - 9pm, Friday & Saturday 4:30 - 9:30pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 868-3300

Website:
http://www.thehollowbrasserie.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in and around Georgetown Town Square

Executive Chef:
Jacob Hilbert

Private Party Facilities:
We have an open room upstairs that can be utilized for private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Jacob Hilbert: 5128683300x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Liquor, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

The Hollow Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Austin
Best Food
Austin
Best Service
Austin
5 More
Best Value
Austin
Best Overall
Austin
Best Food
Austin
Best Service
Austin
Best Value
Austin
Best Restaurants in Georgetown ›

fit for foodies (40)
special occasion (40)
neighborhood gem (29)
See All
romantic (26)
notable wine list (17)
great for brunch (9)
good for groups (5)
great for lunch (3)
hot spot (1)
scenic view (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
197 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

First time to Georgetown in a while.

Dined 6 days ago

Nice surprise. Food was delicious and the new manager was very friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

One of the finest

Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I recently dined at The Hollow to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We had a memorable experience. This is one of the finest restaurants in the greater Austin area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A Gem in GTX! The Hollow lived up to th ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

A Gem in GTX! The Hollow lived up to the previous reviews that we read. Our Waiter Colin was very informative and the service was outstanding. The Pork Belly appetizer was great and the sauce made my Rabbit main course. Jacob is their new manager. Very friendly.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A dinner and adventure all in one.

Dined on May 11, 2016

So many flavors that just explode in your mouth, exciting your taste buds and leaving you talking about the adventure for days.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have enjoyed all our "special occasions" here. The food is consistently good and the service is excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Exceptional Dining Experience

Dined on May 6, 2016

The Hollow is a true gem - one that you might expect to find in Manhattan or Brooklyn or some other food mecca. This is a not to be missed dining experience in Georgetown, Texas that is always outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

French cookFood was good, desert not so.

Dined on May 6, 2016

Good food, but overpriced and small portions. The desert was dissatisfied .

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on May 6, 2016

An anniversary was made even more special by dining & celebrating at The Hollow. It never disappoints with the excellent food and the outstanding service. Our server Tyler was attentive to our needs. We liked the price fixed menu which was new to us since the last time we dined there. There was a variety for each course that appealed to all present. One person who is vegetarian had excellent fish choices; the gentleman could indulgent his beef taste; and, I ventured to something I had never had - the rabbit. The food is superb and beautifully plated. Each dish was accompanied by unique vegetable which were equally tasty. The atmosphere is relaxed elegance & conducive for table conversation. We came away completely satisfied and commented that the portions were not so huge as to be miserably stuffed. We highly recommend The Hollow and will definitely be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Get out of your comfort zone

Dined on May 4, 2016

We have visited this restaurant since it opened several years ago and have NEVER been disappointed with any aspect of their operation but the key is the food! If you want quality Texas comfort food there are several other restaurants nearby that are first rate BUT if you want to GET COMPLETELY OUT OF YOUR COMFORT ZONE the Hollow is where you must go. Every night is a new adventure......read the menu and you may be a little puzzled....some are familiar dishes, many are not but ALL are prepared and presented with precision and inventativeness. If you are uncertain what to order just close your eyes any point to anything and it will be great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Had friends in from out of town. The Ho ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Had friends in from out of town. The Hollow knocked it out of the park as far as delicious food, beautifully and creatively served and amazing professional service. By far the BEST Georgetown or any city could offer!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A true gem in heart of Georgetown

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

The food was delicious and very gastronomically and visually appealing. The service and staff were very nice. We will definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine dinner.

Dined on April 14, 2016

Chef Jacob's imagination is unbelievable. I'll be back!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was beautifully presented and d ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was beautifully presented and delicious. The wine pairings were spot on. Chris was a great server. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic preparation

Dined on April 1, 2016

The chef is classically trained and adds his own subtle personal nuances to each dish. The surprises are always good. This past visit I had a vegetable terrine and it was so beautiful I regretted having to deconstruct it!!! I live in Georgetown and in Downtown Austin and I dine all over. This is one of the best restaurants anywhere around. The square in Georgetown is charming. The cost for this quality is lower than Austin and you will never be let down. And oh.....the wine prices won't poke your eyes out!! GO!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Superb!

Dined on March 20, 2016

Creative 3 course meal using local farm-fresh ingredients. Chef is extremely talented. A real exciting and welcome addition to the Georgetown food scene.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Our 2nd visit. Everything was fabulous!

Dined on March 20, 2016

Our 2nd visit. Everything was fabulous!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Would go back!

Dined on March 13, 2016

This was our first visit to The Hollow, which was highly recommended by several couples who have dined here also by locals. We love the idea of (at least mostly) locally sourced food and we love trying new restaurants and good food. This is not your typical farm to table restaurant, as there was obviously a great deal of preparation and culinary skill involved in each course. The wine list focuses on uncommon wines; however one disappointment was that a recommended wine was no longer available and the wine recommended to replace it was disappointing. As far as the food, I particularly enjoyed the cauliflower/vegetable terrine with goat cheese although the cheese was sparce. My husband enjoyed his salmon tartar appetizer. For my entree I ordered the lamb loin, which was very good and more than I could eat; my husband had the duck breast which was a smaller portion and a bit inconsistent (there were 2 pieces). Desserts were again very interesting....maybe more interesting than delicious....but we did enjoy the experience and would definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Brunch

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

We had brunch last Sunday and it was excellent. All three meals were perfectly cooked. We had steak and eggs, shrimp and grits, and braised short rib eggs benedict. Tremendous. And to top it off the Cinnabomb for dessert was tremendous. Service was great as always. We will be back.

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

It was fine, but we won't be returning.

Dined on March 5, 2016

Bonnie greeted us and took us to our table. This was the highlight of our visit. Bonnie was warm and welcoming, and obviously dedicated to customer service. She told us that H. would be our server. H walked by us several times, not acknowledging us. After almost 10 minutes, she stopped at our table and said, "do you want some wine or beer?" No greeting, no welcome, no introduction. The carrot/cauliflower terrine was a delicious starter, though there was an over abundance of vinegar on the accompanying vegetables. We did not care for the preparation of our entrees, but that is only our taste. The baked apples for dessert were enjoyable The ambiance was nice enough. Not fussy or fancy, but comfortable.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Truly great for brunch. Great food and a ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Truly great for brunch. Great food and ambiance

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful!

Dined on February 27, 2016

What a great find in the city-center area of Georgetown. Different menu each day and the chef does an amazing job of preparing a memorable event. We've been twice now and will certainly return. This past visit, we asked for a quiet area and they accommodated us nicely. This place is worth the trip if you want an upscale experience.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

His food is an inspiration and a form of worship.

Dined on February 21, 2016

I'm unemployed and asked for one thing for my birthday, to eat his food. What a worthy sacrifice. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is unlike any you can get elsew ...

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

The food is unlike any you can get elsewhere in Georgetown and that is a wonderful thing. Unique dishes that both challenge and delight the palate. Dining here is a delightful experience, a menu that changes daily and offers new taste experiences. The mushrooms in the short rib dish were undeniably the most wonderful, tantalizing and unexpected surprise even though mushrooms were listed as part of the dish. Rich, succulent with a delightful texture. Highly recommend this fine dining venue.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Valentine's dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

Had a wonderful experience on Valentine's night. Great waitress, Bonnie, who helped me find a substitute for the salad since I had recent dental work and could not chew lettuce. The food presentation was awesome and very special. We will return next week to celebrate my birthday!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Georgetown

Dined on February 15, 2016

The Hollow is by far the best restaurant in the area. The chef is now doing a prix fixe menu that is really a wonderful deal for the quality. The wine menu is excellent and the wait staff is very knowledgable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Velentine's Day Choice

Dined on February 14, 2016

Tried this restaurant for the first time on Valentine's Day. Fresh food, nicely prepared. We started with crab cakes and foie gras. Entrees included grouper and duck. Wife loved the grouper, accompanied by risotto.The duck was very tender with polenta as the side. We will return here, and not just for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a special occasion

Dined on February 13, 2016

Chef Jacob is nothing short of a culinary genius! His dishes are inventive and packed with great flavors from the freshest ingredients. I always get the duck but my wife always tries something different and we have never been disappointed. The wait staff, hosts, and the sommelier are always kind and helpful and everyone pitches in to create a great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fantastic place to take a special someone

Dined on February 13, 2016

From the moment you walk thru the door you are greeted and treated like a someone special. The host seated us immediately and our waiter was there in less then a minute. Don't let the menu fool you it is very simple and changes daily and the food is fantastic. Good selection of wines and beer and our glasses we never empty. Over all the only reason I wouldn't recommend this place is because I want to keep it small, local and to myself.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Visit

Dined on February 12, 2016

What a great find. After a recommendation from a fellow wine-maker, we dined at The Hollow on a Thursday evening. Who would have guessed the Georgetown Courthouse square offered such a fine dining destination. The food was wonderful. The presentations were outstanding. The service was spot-on. And, a nice wine list to compliment the chef's choices. You could tell the chef puts passion when creating dishes from locally-sourced ingredients. We will be adding The Hollow to our list of local favorite restaurants. We can't wait to take some of our friends there too.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for special occasions

Dined on February 12, 2016

The Hollow has an excellent chef and attentive staff. The food and wine are unparalleled in excellence, and the pricing reflects the high level of quality. Certainly the best restaurant in Georgetown, but priced such that we can only eat occasionally. We will be back, as our experience was incredible.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Great short ribs!

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Great short ribs!

food5
ambience5
service5

Once again the Hollow was amazing! The ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Once again the Hollow was amazing! The duck Breast was to die for! We cannot wait to go back!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

WOW

Dined on February 4, 2016

One of the best if not the best meal I have had in Austin ever!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this place!

Dined on January 31, 2016

I love this place!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love The Hollow

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

The Hollow is not only the best restaurant in Georgetown (which would not be a huge endorsement), but is an excellent restaurant on par with any in Austin. We had a prix fixe dinner of three courses for only $35 per person, and they have three roses on their wine menu. All the food was delicious, and their desserts did not disappoint. Do you ever go to a restaurant only to find that they have no chocolate desserts? The Hollow offered two!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

another exceptional meal at The Hollow

Dined on January 24, 2016

We treated friends from NYC to dinner at The Hollow and it was simply delightful. We had a wonderful table overlooking the square. We enjoyed quail, duck and mussels for 1st course. Each item perfectly done and beautifully executed. 2nd course we had duck breast, lamb shank and short ribs. The duck and the short ribs were absolutely fantastic. The lamb shank was a bit of a disappointment. The lamb was very tender but tasteless compared to the other dishes. A dash of salt and pepper helped. The finale was amazing: flourless chocolate mousse/cake and creme brulee. Our guests loved the Hollow and we were proud to have shared this wonderful restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent and interesting cuisine

Dined on January 23, 2016

Such excellent and interesting cuisine in a lovely setting is a surprising find on the square in Georgetown. It made for a great start to the evening of theatre at the Palace one block away. On an earlier visit, the staff went far out of their way to help us get our dinner in time before the theatre. As we were stuck in traffic, we called ahead and the hostess read us the menu and took our orders in advance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience at good price!

Dined on January 17, 2016

The food was very yummy, the price was good, the environment was very inviting, the service was great. I will definitely eat here again if I am in Georgetown

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

First time/mixed reviews

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

Loved the staff and owner. Most of our food was tasty, but not outstanding. My spinach salad was drenched in oil and vinegar but had the best tasting goat cheese on it. My mushroom risotto was greasy, not creamy, and the mushroom flavor was overpowering. I ate less than 1/3 of it. To their credit, the waiter and owner both apologized and offered another entree. Nothing else really appealed to me, so I declined. The owner removed the cost of my dinner, which I really appreciated. The crust of my husband's pulled pork tart was tough, but his short rib was outstanding, as were the desserts. The wine list is limited but adequate. However, the portion of pinot noir I received for $16 was less than a standard portion. Everything considered, it was less than stellar (and it was our 40th anniversary, so we wanted stellar). But it would be worth a second chance if only for the excellent atmosphere and people. If they served slightly larger wine portions or lowered the cost of their drinks, it would be a grand place to sit and have a glass of wine or two and enjoy the great background music.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

one of a kind

vip
Dined on January 15, 2016

All the food is sourced fresh and the menu is one of a kind every day. Awesome wine list and wonderful dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.