About The Hollow

708 S Austin Ave
Georgetown, TX 78626
View Larger Map

The Hollow is an American Brasserie featuring classic French cuisine using local ingredients and a modern approach. We offer a nightly changing dinner menu and chef's tastings. Throughout the week we offer a bar menu and wine and beer specials. We also offer monthly wine dinners and cooking classes. Ask your server for details. We will accommodate all dietary needs as requested so please, join us. We look forward to serving you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, American, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 4:30 - 9pm, Friday & Saturday 4:30 - 9:30pm
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 868-3300

Website:
http://www.thehollowbrasserie.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in and around Georgetown Town Square

Executive Chef:
Jacob Hilbert

Private Party Facilities:
We have an open room upstairs that can be utilized for private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Jacob Hilbert: 5128683300x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

The Hollow Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Austin
Fit for Foodies
Austin
Best Restaurants in Georgetown ›

fit for foodies (38)
special occasion (32)
neighborhood gem (23)
See All
romantic (20)
notable wine list (16)
great for brunch (12)
good for groups (6)
hot spot (4)
great for lunch (2)
late-night find (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
215 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is definitely a foodie restaurant s ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 3 days ago

This is definitely a foodie restaurant serving a prix fix kind or farm to table menu. We found the food to be quite good, if maybe just a tad on the bland side, still savory though. The service was excellent and very professional (not always a common occurrence). This is a great gem hidden in Georgetown.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I made a reservation, bas ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I made a reservation, based on recommendations by several friends. We found the first two course, excellent, well prepared and presented; portions were perfect. The desserts left us underwhelmed.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The restaurant is beautiful and contempo ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful and contemporary, the service was excellent and the food was delicious. My husband had the duck strudel as appetizer and that was amazing. Explosion of flavours. Both of us had the "where is the meet" which is a very tasteful brisket tagine with potatoes. Truly great food. For dinner they work with a 3 course menu - appetizer, entree and desert. We will go back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Creative and fresh cuisine that never di ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Creative and fresh cuisine that never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu recently changed and is not ref ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The menu recently changed and is not reflective of the website. The service was amazing with knowledgeable insights to the menu. The wind pairing is also excellent. On the main dish - the brisket was very fatty and the lamb was not spicy. I would recommend this establishment to anyone who want to adventure with a different style of meal. However, it was not what we expected...

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Truly one of a kind spot on the square i ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Truly one of a kind spot on the square in Georgetown. When these guys moved to town, we already had a few nice spots and this particular building had a revolving door of poorly performing restaurants.

This chef has a true gift. The food is beautiful and always fantastic. If you are not adventurous, like me, it is terrifying but always excellent. Go ahead and take the chance.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The presentation was stellar and the foo ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The presentation was stellar and the food was very delicious and interesting. We were a little disappointed that they require all the diners at the table to order at the same price point. There's a three course prix fixe menu that is lower priced or you can choose the more expensive tasting menu that lets you try five or six different dishes. We decided that one of us would spring for the higher priced tasting menu, but our budget constrained us to have the other order the prix fixe. However, we ended up both going with the prix fixe because they came back and reported that we both had to order the same. Other than that, it was a foodie paradise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Possibly even more amazing than usual. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Possibly even more amazing than usual. 4 of us did the 6 course tasting menu with the wine tasting menu, too. An experience I won't soon forget.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the hollow and go there frequent ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We love the hollow and go there frequently. The menu is great and everything is always delicious

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely outstanding food matched by a ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Absolutely outstanding food matched by an amazing wine list, all beautifully presented. Unbelievable that a restaurant of this caliber can be found in Georgetown!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place, good food, but the prices we ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Nice place, good food, but the prices were a bit steep for this area. A good place for a special occasion, but I would not make this a regular place to dine due to the prices.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

Most excellent. We did the chefs tasting ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Most excellent. We did the chefs tasting w/ pairings. Excellent. Waiter and Sommelier need to coordinate presentation a little better. Also needed bread between courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I've been to Napa and had great food, ho ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I've been to Napa and had great food, however, this place is far better than most in Napa. I compare this to French Laundry.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would have given them 5-star if they had ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Would have given them 5-star if they had a complete bar. However, they are remodeling and open for full bar service once complete. So it should be a total 5-star experience after that!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An expensive place to eat. The duck was ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

An expensive place to eat. The duck was marvelous. The snapper was terrible--very little fish in a big pot with veggies.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Dinner Saturday 6/4/16

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Fantastic dining experience. Server was excellent, very knowledgable of the menu & wine selections. This was our second time to eat here, definitely will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an amazing find!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We spent a mist delightful evening here recently. The manager/sommelier was so interesting and helpful. We had both the Chefs five course meal and the wine paring to go with it, WONDERFUL! Each plate was more delicious than the next. I can not wait to go back and try more!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Culinarily very good

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We enjoyed the each of the menu items we selected, but our overall feeling was it was over priced. On the upside, each selection was unique in style and taste, and we were not disappointed with the experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time to Georgetown in a while.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Nice surprise. Food was delicious and the new manager was very friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

One of the finest

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My wife and I recently dined at The Hollow to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We had a memorable experience. This is one of the finest restaurants in the greater Austin area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

A Gem in GTX! The Hollow lived up to th ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

A Gem in GTX! The Hollow lived up to the previous reviews that we read. Our Waiter Colin was very informative and the service was outstanding. The Pork Belly appetizer was great and the sauce made my Rabbit main course. Jacob is their new manager. Very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A dinner and adventure all in one.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

So many flavors that just explode in your mouth, exciting your taste buds and leaving you talking about the adventure for days.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We have enjoyed all our "special occasions" here. The food is consistently good and the service is excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Always Exceptional Dining Experience

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The Hollow is a true gem - one that you might expect to find in Manhattan or Brooklyn or some other food mecca. This is a not to be missed dining experience in Georgetown, Texas that is always outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

French cookFood was good, desert not so.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Good food, but overpriced and small portions. The desert was dissatisfied .

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

An anniversary was made even more special by dining & celebrating at The Hollow. It never disappoints with the excellent food and the outstanding service. Our server Tyler was attentive to our needs. We liked the price fixed menu which was new to us since the last time we dined there. There was a variety for each course that appealed to all present. One person who is vegetarian had excellent fish choices; the gentleman could indulgent his beef taste; and, I ventured to something I had never had - the rabbit. The food is superb and beautifully plated. Each dish was accompanied by unique vegetable which were equally tasty. The atmosphere is relaxed elegance & conducive for table conversation. We came away completely satisfied and commented that the portions were not so huge as to be miserably stuffed. We highly recommend The Hollow and will definitely be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Get out of your comfort zone

 
 (Central Texas)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

We have visited this restaurant since it opened several years ago and have NEVER been disappointed with any aspect of their operation but the key is the food! If you want quality Texas comfort food there are several other restaurants nearby that are first rate BUT if you want to GET COMPLETELY OUT OF YOUR COMFORT ZONE the Hollow is where you must go. Every night is a new adventure......read the menu and you may be a little puzzled....some are familiar dishes, many are not but ALL are prepared and presented with precision and inventativeness. If you are uncertain what to order just close your eyes any point to anything and it will be great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had friends in from out of town. The Ho ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Had friends in from out of town. The Hollow knocked it out of the park as far as delicious food, beautifully and creatively served and amazing professional service. By far the BEST Georgetown or any city could offer!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A true gem in heart of Georgetown

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The food was delicious and very gastronomically and visually appealing. The service and staff were very nice. We will definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wine dinner.

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Chef Jacob's imagination is unbelievable. I'll be back!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was beautifully presented and d ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was beautifully presented and delicious. The wine pairings were spot on. Chris was a great server. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Classic preparation

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

The chef is classically trained and adds his own subtle personal nuances to each dish. The surprises are always good. This past visit I had a vegetable terrine and it was so beautiful I regretted having to deconstruct it!!! I live in Georgetown and in Downtown Austin and I dine all over. This is one of the best restaurants anywhere around. The square in Georgetown is charming. The cost for this quality is lower than Austin and you will never be let down. And oh.....the wine prices won't poke your eyes out!! GO!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Creative 3 course meal using local farm-fresh ingredients. Chef is extremely talented. A real exciting and welcome addition to the Georgetown food scene.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our 2nd visit. Everything was fabulous!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Our 2nd visit. Everything was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Would go back!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

This was our first visit to The Hollow, which was highly recommended by several couples who have dined here also by locals. We love the idea of (at least mostly) locally sourced food and we love trying new restaurants and good food. This is not your typical farm to table restaurant, as there was obviously a great deal of preparation and culinary skill involved in each course. The wine list focuses on uncommon wines; however one disappointment was that a recommended wine was no longer available and the wine recommended to replace it was disappointing. As far as the food, I particularly enjoyed the cauliflower/vegetable terrine with goat cheese although the cheese was sparce. My husband enjoyed his salmon tartar appetizer. For my entree I ordered the lamb loin, which was very good and more than I could eat; my husband had the duck breast which was a smaller portion and a bit inconsistent (there were 2 pieces). Desserts were again very interesting....maybe more interesting than delicious....but we did enjoy the experience and would definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding Brunch

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

We had brunch last Sunday and it was excellent. All three meals were perfectly cooked. We had steak and eggs, shrimp and grits, and braised short rib eggs benedict. Tremendous. And to top it off the Cinnabomb for dessert was tremendous. Service was great as always. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was fine, but we won't be returning.

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Bonnie greeted us and took us to our table. This was the highlight of our visit. Bonnie was warm and welcoming, and obviously dedicated to customer service. She told us that H. would be our server.

H walked by us several times, not acknowledging us. After almost 10 minutes, she stopped at our table and said, "do you want some wine or beer?" No greeting, no welcome, no introduction.

The carrot/cauliflower terrine was a delicious starter, though there was an over abundance of vinegar on the accompanying vegetables.

We did not care for the preparation of our entrees, but that is only our taste.

The baked apples for dessert were enjoyable

The ambiance was nice enough. Not fussy or fancy, but comfortable.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Truly great for brunch. Great food and a ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Truly great for brunch. Great food and ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

What a great find in the city-center area of Georgetown. Different menu each day and the chef does an amazing job of preparing a memorable event.

We've been twice now and will certainly return.

This past visit, we asked for a quiet area and they accommodated us nicely.

This place is worth the trip if you want an upscale experience.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

His food is an inspiration and a form of worship.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

I'm unemployed and asked for one thing for my birthday, to eat his food. What a worthy sacrifice. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.