About The Hollow

708 S Austin Ave
Georgetown, TX 78626
View Larger Map

The Hollow is a French inspired farm-to-table and forage-to-table restaurant featuring fresh, seasonal menus. Dinner menu is a la carte with small plates and traditional entrees. A chef's tasting menu is also offered by request.

The Hollow has a full bar, speakeasy lounge, and craft cocktails. We feature happy hour specials and host monthly wine dinners and cooking classes.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Farm-to-table

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday through Saturday: 5:30 PM - Closing

Cross Street:
7th Street and Austin Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 868-3300

Website:
http://www.thehollowbrasserie.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in and around Georgetown Town Square

Executive Chef:
Jacob Hilbert

Private Party Contact:
Jacob Hilbert: (512) 868-3300x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Hollow Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Austin
Special Occasion
Austin
Fit for Foodies
Austin
1 More
Special Occasion
Austin
Best Restaurants in Georgetown ›

Special Occasion (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Romantic (6)
See All
Good for a Date (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Historic (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Casual (1)
Authentic (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
S
245 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was great as always. I ordered the ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was great as always. I ordered the filet because I don't remember seeing a steak on the menu in my previous visits and I usually order the duck because it is so good. For $42 I definitely expected a larger cut of meat. It was very small. Too small for the price point in my opinion. However, it was cooked to perfection. The gnocchi was outstanding. My wife ordered the duck and loved it, I did as well since I snacked on it too. I can't remember the full contents of the dessert, but it was a chocolate semifesco, with a persimmon sorbet and a chocolate cinnamon sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Overall The Hollow was an amazing dining ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Overall The Hollow was an amazing dining experience. However, I was promised a specific table during the reservation. Upon arrival it was clear the table was no longer available. A minor issue quickly made up by the staff and amazing dishes. Highly recommend the chefs five course meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Price / quality rate very bad. The good ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Price / quality rate very bad. The good is Nice but way overpriced.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Fantastic menu with great presentation

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Fantastic menu with great presentation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding inventive presentation of in ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Outstanding inventive presentation of ingredients with great care to not be pretentious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice ambience. More open now. Beef Tarta ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Nice ambience. More open now. Beef Tartare was disappointing compared to previous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

They have an outstanding Chef who prepar ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 30, 2016

They have an outstanding Chef who prepares delicious meals.

The service was very attentive.It's just a nice place to have dinner in a relaxed atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We chose The Hollow for our anniversary ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We chose The Hollow for our anniversary dinner because we wanted to try something different. We're not cooking experts so the menu was a bit foreign. Our waitress did an excellent job of explaining things in simpler terms to help us with selections. Everything was delicious, we will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic dining experience! Reasonable ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Fantastic dining experience! Reasonable price! Food to die for!

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was terrible. One meal was excel ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Service was terrible. One meal was excellent , one was terrible.

No liquor license as yet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

My husband and I dined at The Hollow on ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 15, 2016

My husband and I dined at The Hollow on Saturday. We left town for a month with questions as to whether or not The Hollow would be re-opened. There was a change in business structure and interior modifications. We were so pleased to find that, indeed, The Hollow was back in business as usual. The only glitch was that the liquor license had to be changed and no alcohol could be sold. It was BYOB with the assurance their license would be back in the next week. This was not a problem for us but it might be a good idea to call ahead and check to see if you need to bring a bottle of wine. Jason's food, as usual, is inventive, fresh and locally sourced. It's also beautifully crafted. Please don't miss the opportunity to experience something as special in Georgetown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very expensive for very small portions. ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Very expensive for very small portions. It is advertised as a French cuisine, not so. A big disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

We enjoyed your "old" menu, but do not l ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We enjoyed your "old" menu, but do not like the "new" different menu

In my opinion, your restaurant will be losing a lot of repeat customers because of this change

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

It was our first time at The Hollow and ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 18, 2016

It was our first time at The Hollow and we'll definitely be back. We shared several small plates and each dish was exquisitely presented. We particularly liked that the server described each dish as he brought it to the table. Everything we ate was delicious. The Hollow is a Georgetown gem.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was creative and had wonderful ...

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was creative and had wonderful flavor combinations. The waitstaff and chef are very friendly and happy to take the time to explain each dish. No need to be intimidated even if you aren't a foody because they will explain it all. The service was the perfect blend of attentive but not hovering.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent meal. Had to order the campfir ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent meal. Had to order the campfire carpaccio a second time with our main course because it was so good. Lots of creative energy and love going into this food. Amazing flavors and great (free while they get their liquor license!) punch from the bar.

Thanks for a delightful evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It's actually the wife writing the revie ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 20, 2016

It's actually the wife writing the review. The night we went, there was a fixed price menu $45.

The appetizer was very good....scallops with pesto blintz. His entree was goat shank with dried cherries and cubed sweet potatoes..it was excellent. I had twice fried grouper with spiced greens...also excellent. Now, to the disappointing part...dessert. We ordered the chocolate one,

with a pecan ice cream. It was minuscule in a huge bowl, didn't have the consistency of ice cream, or didn't taste like pecans. We told the waiter we were disappointed, so he deducted $10. from the bill of $122. The husband have two glass of a very good wine, and I had ice tea. We will go back for another special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My friends and family have been going to ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 20, 2016

My friends and family have been going to the Hollow since it opened over 3 year ago. However, we had a very disappointing meal last year...both food and service, and had not been back. I missed it so much that I decided to try one more time, and was not disappointed in the least. The food was back to its very nice quality and our service was impeccable. So glad I gave it another chance. Will continue to enjoy this wonderful little Gerogtown spot.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fixed price menu with limited choices. P ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Fixed price menu with limited choices. Portions tend to be on the small side (main course and dessert). Food quality/taste excellent. Not an everyday place but great for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding reataurant. Daily changing ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Outstanding reataurant. Daily changing fixed priced menu has a something for eveyone, big portions, locally sourced. Duck is a signature dish and deserves it. Very nice reasonably priced wine list. A must for anyone who appreciate good food and meticulous preparation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant with ambiance where you ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great restaurant with ambiance where you can dress up and it's in the neighbor without traveling South to Austin.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The French American influence here is fa ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 5, 2016

The French American influence here is fantastic. Great cocktails, lively food, wonderful service. who could ask for more

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed an outstanding meal. The chef ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We enjoyed an outstanding meal. The chef surprised us with 7 different courses. Food was creative, beautifully plated, well seasoned, and well cooked. The hollow is such a unique find in an often predictable Georgetown restaurant scene. The cocktail menu is great, and the staff so kind and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Selected the chef's special five-course ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Selected the chef's special five-course dinner with wine pairings. Each course was a delicious surprise. Sommelier was knowledgeable, thoughtful, and attentive. Service was impeccable. Definitely would return and recommend to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have eaten here several times. The fo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 28, 2016

We have eaten here several times. The food has always been unique and very tasty. This was our first experience with their fixed menu. It makes sense for a small restaurant. You get fresh food and there is probably not a lot wasted. There was 5 or 6 choices in each category. My husband had steak, that he loved but kept coming over to my duck that was perfect. We will definitely keep coming back for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is definitely a foodie restaurant s ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is definitely a foodie restaurant serving a prix fix kind or farm to table menu. We found the food to be quite good, if maybe just a tad on the bland side, still savory though. The service was excellent and very professional (not always a common occurrence). This is a great gem hidden in Georgetown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Probably out of the average price range ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Probably out of the average price range for fixed income . The food was interesting and tasty although you won't win any brisket awards. Unfortunately my wife and I both woke up with acute acid reflux at about two AM. The only thing we had in common was the cake with ice cream. Sorry, sorta takes the edge off the experience. I still don't know why restaurants charge so much for a small glass of wine when you can buy a good tasting bottle of wine for the same amount.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

My husband and I made a reservation, bas ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 21, 2016

My husband and I made a reservation, based on recommendations by several friends. We found the first two course, excellent, well prepared and presented; portions were perfect. The desserts left us underwhelmed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The restaurant is beautiful and contempo ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 16, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful and contemporary, the service was excellent and the food was delicious. My husband had the duck strudel as appetizer and that was amazing. Explosion of flavours. Both of us had the "where is the meet" which is a very tasteful brisket tagine with potatoes. Truly great food. For dinner they work with a 3 course menu - appetizer, entree and desert. We will go back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Creative and fresh cuisine that never di ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Creative and fresh cuisine that never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu recently changed and is not ref ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 15, 2016

The menu recently changed and is not reflective of the website. The service was amazing with knowledgeable insights to the menu. The wind pairing is also excellent. On the main dish - the brisket was very fatty and the lamb was not spicy. I would recommend this establishment to anyone who want to adventure with a different style of meal. However, it was not what we expected...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Truly one of a kind spot on the square i ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Truly one of a kind spot on the square in Georgetown. When these guys moved to town, we already had a few nice spots and this particular building had a revolving door of poorly performing restaurants.

This chef has a true gift. The food is beautiful and always fantastic. If you are not adventurous, like me, it is terrifying but always excellent. Go ahead and take the chance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The presentation was stellar and the foo ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 27, 2016

The presentation was stellar and the food was very delicious and interesting. We were a little disappointed that they require all the diners at the table to order at the same price point. There's a three course prix fixe menu that is lower priced or you can choose the more expensive tasting menu that lets you try five or six different dishes. We decided that one of us would spring for the higher priced tasting menu, but our budget constrained us to have the other order the prix fixe. However, we ended up both going with the prix fixe because they came back and reported that we both had to order the same. Other than that, it was a foodie paradise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Possibly even more amazing than usual. ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 27, 2016

Possibly even more amazing than usual. 4 of us did the 6 course tasting menu with the wine tasting menu, too. An experience I won't soon forget.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the hollow and go there frequent ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We love the hollow and go there frequently. The menu is great and everything is always delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely outstanding food matched by a ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Absolutely outstanding food matched by an amazing wine list, all beautifully presented. Unbelievable that a restaurant of this caliber can be found in Georgetown!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place, good food, but the prices we ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Nice place, good food, but the prices were a bit steep for this area. A good place for a special occasion, but I would not make this a regular place to dine due to the prices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

Most excellent. We did the chefs tasting ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Most excellent. We did the chefs tasting w/ pairings. Excellent. Waiter and Sommelier need to coordinate presentation a little better. Also needed bread between courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I've been to Napa and had great food, ho ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 17, 2016

I've been to Napa and had great food, however, this place is far better than most in Napa. I compare this to French Laundry.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would have given them 5-star if they had ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Would have given them 5-star if they had a complete bar. However, they are remodeling and open for full bar service once complete. So it should be a total 5-star experience after that!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.