About The Hollow

708 S Austin Ave
Georgetown, TX 78626
View Larger Map

The Hollow is a French inspired farm-to-table and forage-to-table restaurant featuring fresh, seasonal menus. Dinner menu is a la carte with small plates and traditional entrees. A chef's tasting menu is also offered by request.

The Hollow has a full bar, speakeasy lounge, and craft cocktails. We feature happy hour specials and host monthly wine dinners and cooking classes.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Farm-to-table

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday through Saturday: 5:30 PM - Closing

Cross Street:
7th Street and Austin Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 868-3300

Website:
http://www.thehollowbrasserie.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in and around Georgetown Town Square

Executive Chef:
Jacob Hilbert

Private Party Contact:
Jacob Hilbert: (512) 868-3300

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Hollow Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
See All
Fit for Foodies (11)
Romantic (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Authentic (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Cozy (6)
Bar Seating (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Casual (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Healthy (3)
Historic (2)
Fun (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
People Watching (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
260 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a creative and delicious meal. St ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a creative and delicious meal. Staff is wonderful and attentive.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal I have ever had anywhere in Te ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Best meal I have ever had anywhere in Texas. Chef Jacob has recommitted himself to make great food everyone would love to eat. He has succeeded admirably. Real local treasure.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our 4th visit to The Hollow and ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This was our 4th visit to The Hollow and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The menu is always changing and offers something new each time we are there. The wine list was wonderful and had excellent options available. Of course, the chef and his creativity with the food is simply awe-inspiring. On top of that, the service is also always a joy, with individuals who truly delight and revel in the wonderful items on the menu, and see to it that they are attentive and make sure your every need is taken care of, to include offering suggestions or bringing something as small as a couple of pieces of home-made bread for you to use to soak up those last drops of heavenly broth. Just a treat and always a win! Thank you!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved this place. Staff were friendly ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We loved this place. Staff were friendly and accommodating. The food was excellent and creative and beautifully presented.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful ambiance and good food. For m ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Beautiful ambiance and good food. For my main, I ordered the fish. It was served in a unique tandoori vessel and was tasty but I had to navigate bones, so would have preferred a 2nd fish option. I also ordered the beet appetizer which was good but would have preferred a larger portion. Obviously, a talented chef and our server did a nice job as well. I would certainly recommend The Hollow.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

We go out most every Friday with friends ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We go out most every Friday with friends and we like to try different restaurants and new cuisine. The old fashioned cocktail, the guys both ordered was creative, well presented and tasted great. The bread service was good and the beet salad was excellent. Our entrees were pork shank for 2 of us, one fillet, and sea bass. All of the dishes, except for the fish were terrific. The taste was fine but, it had too many fine bones. It made the fish to diificult to eat. The choice was to eat the fish or have a conversation. The diner gave up on the fish to have a conversation. Maybe we should have been informed about the fish bones when ordered. We shared 2 desserts and they were unusual and good. All in all, it was an okay evening. We had heard service is a mixed bag here, but our waiter was helpful and attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We went for our anniversary and they had ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We went for our anniversary and they had a private table with rose petals (fake, but still pretty) and candles lit. I appreciated that they saw my note about us celebrating and actually acted upon it (most often I find that restaurants tend to ignore the notes section of OT reservations). However the food wasn't quite what I'd hoped for. It was good, but not amazing. I would probably go down the street to Wildfire before returning to the Hollow.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We have been to the Hollow multiple time ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We have been to the Hollow multiple times and continue to be impressed. The food is outstanding as well as the atmosphere. The chef is truly talented.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait staff friendly but at times too man ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Wait staff friendly but at times too many involved with one table. Staff did not understand rules regarding corking bottles of wine. We were also double billed for a bottle of wine, which was corrected once pointed out. Despite mediocre service, our entrees were very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

The food quality and presentation appear ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food quality and presentation appear to have gone down from a year ago when I was highly impressed. Now it's just an ordinary dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great service. Staff extremely attentive ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great service. Staff extremely attentive. All levels of staff/management/kitchen, (except Chef - which is OK), checked on our satisfaction. Order the Beet Salad - a delight in every bite!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, , Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Cozy, Casual, Late-night Find, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was superb and the service was ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was superb and the service was excellent. We enjoyed our meal immensely.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always outstanding. Service is a ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Food is always outstanding. Service is always poor.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We have eaten at The Hollow about seven ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We have eaten at The Hollow about seven or eight times, and always thought the food was tasty and just a little different from most places.However we were really disappointed with our meal last Saturday. There were six or seven entree choices and they had run out of both my first choice and my husband's .This wasn't the first time this has happened.We just felt that if you don't have a large selection of entrees , you should make sure you have prepared enough of everything. We chose other entrees and my husband enjoyed his but the cod that I chose wasn't very tasty. It is a shame because we really loved the food here in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Best Restaurant in the area. Excellent ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Best Restaurant in the area. Excellent French farm inspired food. Long time favorite restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great as always. I ordered the ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was great as always. I ordered the filet because I don't remember seeing a steak on the menu in my previous visits and I usually order the duck because it is so good. For $42 I definitely expected a larger cut of meat. It was very small. Too small for the price point in my opinion. However, it was cooked to perfection. The gnocchi was outstanding. My wife ordered the duck and loved it, I did as well since I snacked on it too. I can't remember the full contents of the dessert, but it was a chocolate semifesco, with a persimmon sorbet and a chocolate cinnamon sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Overall The Hollow was an amazing dining ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Overall The Hollow was an amazing dining experience. However, I was promised a specific table during the reservation. Upon arrival it was clear the table was no longer available. A minor issue quickly made up by the staff and amazing dishes. Highly recommend the chefs five course meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Price / quality rate very bad. The good ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Price / quality rate very bad. The good is Nice but way overpriced.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Fantastic menu with great presentation

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Fantastic menu with great presentation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding inventive presentation of in ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Outstanding inventive presentation of ingredients with great care to not be pretentious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice ambience. More open now. Beef Tarta ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Nice ambience. More open now. Beef Tartare was disappointing compared to previous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

They have an outstanding Chef who prepar ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 30, 2016

They have an outstanding Chef who prepares delicious meals.

The service was very attentive.It's just a nice place to have dinner in a relaxed atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We chose The Hollow for our anniversary ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We chose The Hollow for our anniversary dinner because we wanted to try something different. We're not cooking experts so the menu was a bit foreign. Our waitress did an excellent job of explaining things in simpler terms to help us with selections. Everything was delicious, we will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic dining experience! Reasonable ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Fantastic dining experience! Reasonable price! Food to die for!

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I dined at The Hollow on ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 15, 2016

My husband and I dined at The Hollow on Saturday. We left town for a month with questions as to whether or not The Hollow would be re-opened. There was a change in business structure and interior modifications. We were so pleased to find that, indeed, The Hollow was back in business as usual. The only glitch was that the liquor license had to be changed and no alcohol could be sold. It was BYOB with the assurance their license would be back in the next week. This was not a problem for us but it might be a good idea to call ahead and check to see if you need to bring a bottle of wine. Jason's food, as usual, is inventive, fresh and locally sourced. It's also beautifully crafted. Please don't miss the opportunity to experience something as special in Georgetown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was terrible. One meal was excel ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Service was terrible. One meal was excellent , one was terrible.

No liquor license as yet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Very expensive for very small portions. ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Very expensive for very small portions. It is advertised as a French cuisine, not so. A big disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

We enjoyed your "old" menu, but do not l ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We enjoyed your "old" menu, but do not like the "new" different menu

In my opinion, your restaurant will be losing a lot of repeat customers because of this change

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

It was our first time at The Hollow and ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 18, 2016

It was our first time at The Hollow and we'll definitely be back. We shared several small plates and each dish was exquisitely presented. We particularly liked that the server described each dish as he brought it to the table. Everything we ate was delicious. The Hollow is a Georgetown gem.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was creative and had wonderful ...

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was creative and had wonderful flavor combinations. The waitstaff and chef are very friendly and happy to take the time to explain each dish. No need to be intimidated even if you aren't a foody because they will explain it all. The service was the perfect blend of attentive but not hovering.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent meal. Had to order the campfir ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent meal. Had to order the campfire carpaccio a second time with our main course because it was so good. Lots of creative energy and love going into this food. Amazing flavors and great (free while they get their liquor license!) punch from the bar.

Thanks for a delightful evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It's actually the wife writing the revie ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 20, 2016

It's actually the wife writing the review. The night we went, there was a fixed price menu $45.

The appetizer was very good....scallops with pesto blintz. His entree was goat shank with dried cherries and cubed sweet potatoes..it was excellent. I had twice fried grouper with spiced greens...also excellent. Now, to the disappointing part...dessert. We ordered the chocolate one,

with a pecan ice cream. It was minuscule in a huge bowl, didn't have the consistency of ice cream, or didn't taste like pecans. We told the waiter we were disappointed, so he deducted $10. from the bill of $122. The husband have two glass of a very good wine, and I had ice tea. We will go back for another special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My friends and family have been going to ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 20, 2016

My friends and family have been going to the Hollow since it opened over 3 year ago. However, we had a very disappointing meal last year...both food and service, and had not been back. I missed it so much that I decided to try one more time, and was not disappointed in the least. The food was back to its very nice quality and our service was impeccable. So glad I gave it another chance. Will continue to enjoy this wonderful little Gerogtown spot.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fixed price menu with limited choices. P ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Fixed price menu with limited choices. Portions tend to be on the small side (main course and dessert). Food quality/taste excellent. Not an everyday place but great for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding reataurant. Daily changing ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Outstanding reataurant. Daily changing fixed priced menu has a something for eveyone, big portions, locally sourced. Duck is a signature dish and deserves it. Very nice reasonably priced wine list. A must for anyone who appreciate good food and meticulous preparation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant with ambiance where you ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great restaurant with ambiance where you can dress up and it's in the neighbor without traveling South to Austin.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The French American influence here is fa ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 5, 2016

The French American influence here is fantastic. Great cocktails, lively food, wonderful service. who could ask for more

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed an outstanding meal. The chef ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We enjoyed an outstanding meal. The chef surprised us with 7 different courses. Food was creative, beautifully plated, well seasoned, and well cooked. The hollow is such a unique find in an often predictable Georgetown restaurant scene. The cocktail menu is great, and the staff so kind and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Selected the chef's special five-course ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Selected the chef's special five-course dinner with wine pairings. Each course was a delicious surprise. Sommelier was knowledgeable, thoughtful, and attentive. Service was impeccable. Definitely would return and recommend to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have eaten here several times. The fo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 28, 2016

We have eaten here several times. The food has always been unique and very tasty. This was our first experience with their fixed menu. It makes sense for a small restaurant. You get fresh food and there is probably not a lot wasted. There was 5 or 6 choices in each category. My husband had steak, that he loved but kept coming over to my duck that was perfect. We will definitely keep coming back for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.