Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 0.87mi

About The Hollow

The Hollow is a French inspired farm-to-table and forage-to-table restaurant featuring fresh, seasonal menus. Dinner menu is a la carte with small plates and traditional entrees. A chef's tasting menu is also offered by request a couple of days in advance.

The Hollow has a full bar with craft cocktails. We feature happy hour specials and host monthly wine dinners and cooking classes.

708 S Austin Ave
Georgetown, TX 78626
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Farm-to-table

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday through Saturday: 4:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Cross Street:
7th Street and Austin Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 868-3300

Website:
http://www.thehollowbrasserie.com/

Parking Details:
Parking in and around Georgetown Town Square

Executive Chef:
Jacob Hilbert

Private Party Contact:
Jacob Hilbert: (512) 868-3300

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Hollow Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (29)
Local Ingredients (27)
Good for a Date (26)
See All
Special Occasion (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
Romantic (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Cozy (11)
Authentic (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Seasonal (7)
Healthy (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Organic (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Business Meals (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fun (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Casual (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
People Watching (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
334 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 4 days ago

Food, cocktails, and service are amazing, our guests always have said how much they enjoyed being taken here!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We wanted to treat a friend for a milestone birthday. The Hollow was over the top. Great food with incredible seasoning, unusual and subtle flavors. The ambience was comfortable and upscale, yet welcoming. The staff is very knowledgeable and attentive. This is our go-to special event restaurant. Definite worth a drive even though we live here.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The best description I can write is when they get it right, they hit it out if the ballpark. When they don't, it is a "less than", flawed, and expensive meal. However, it is always a very interesting, creative, experience. My food tonight was meh (scallop), but I will go back because it is very different culinary experience, and worth the risk. They finally have the service right, and the atmosphere is cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 1, 2017

In so many expensive gourmet restaurants, like the Hollow, the amount of food served, on each dish, is minimal. So, I needed to eat again a couple of hours later! What they serve is always good, however.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

The flavors are outstanding. The dessert was so rich and delightful--every bite!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Nice white tablecloth place but the small bite plates just didn't jell. Wine and beer Ok, service was ok with lots of time.between plates. Small plates were definitely small bites with obvious labor intensive work but the flavors didn't blend well. Desserts were also tiny but were very good. $140 one beer, one wine glass, 4 small pl ates, two desserts, tip. Oh, you have to pay $5 for bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Has all the makings of an upscale, pricey, tapas bar/bistro.
Pretty Good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Excellent service. It seemed that that the two servers we encountered were more career servers than transitional employees. It's a small operation and popular so they were running out of certain dishes, but in my opinion that is to be be expected for an establishment of this caliber in a smaller metropolitan area like Georgetown. It was a little hot however it's an older building located on the downtown square in the middle of July in Texas. The servers told us the chef had worked at more than one Michelin starred restaurants. I don't think people understand or appreciate the time, dedication and talent it takes to work for a Michelin rated establishment. We enjoyed it very much.

- Jay and Lindsay Snider

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Another great meal at The Hollow
There were six of us celebrating with visiting family members. Among all of us we ordered a wide variety ranging from warm bread with olive oil for dipping to the delicious pork chop entree. Everything got rave reviews, as did the great service by the friendly staff. Bravo to all!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

We went to the hollow for our 30th anaverery it was an awesome experience and I would recommend them to anyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

My wife and I love this place. They made our Wedding Anniversary meal so special.
Best place for a lovely, quiet meal in Georgetown.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This restaurant is top notch for wonderfully creative food sourced locally.

I had the beef filet and ordered it well done, always a risk. Chefs seem to resist cooking a steak well done, in my experience. This steak was perfect and probably the best I've ever had.
I also had the heirloom tomato tart, which was like a little tomato pizza. I love tomatoes, and these home grown beauties did not disappoint. I think there was a little basil pesto underneath the tomatoes, but I'm not an expert and forgot to ask.

I had the Maggie's Bullet drink, which was bourbon with some other stuff in it. I can't remember, but this drink was strong. I have ordered bourbon in other places and it seems like the bartender dilutes it in some way, making it weaker. Maggie's Bullet was delicious and made for sipping.
We ordered the deconstructed apple pie for dessert, which appeared on a crust that looked the same as what the tomato tart came with. No matter, it was flaky and delicious both times. The apple pie consisted of cubed apples in a cinnamony sauce and topped with vanilla ice cream.

The only drawback to our dining experience was the poor air conditioning. Granted, it's an old building and probably doesn't have the best insulation. However, when I mentioned to our server that the place would benefit from ceiling fans, he stated that that they used to have them, but removed them in favor of some fancy hanging lighting. I told him they should probably rethink the lighting in favor of temperature.

Overall, though, I highly recommend this place for outstanding food, service and ambiance.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 28, 2017

This place is hands down my favorite restaurant in Georgetown!! Amazing food and superb service!

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 22, 2017

In the middle of downtown Georgetown is a restaurant jewel. It's called the Hollow. Wife and myself enjoyed the appetizer scallops. Best ever! Chef Jacob is in to win!!!

One Valid Suggestion: The recommended gratuity amount on the credit card receipt SHOULD NOT INCLUDE TAXES. Most people don't notice but I do. It's a sneaky way of doing business. Hopefully they will take note and change this.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We live in Georgetown and have tried the Hollow several times, hoping each time that the food will be good. The restaurant is in a great location but the 'chef' tries much to hard to cutsie and original and the food ends up being weird. The quality of his ingredients is substandard, his menu is much to complicated, and the flavors he tries to blend just don't work. I don't often send reviews, but this chef needs to Keep It Simple (and clean). Too weird for me!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Ricky, Juan Carlos and Michael were very good. Food presentation was very good. Thought the main course could have used more seasoning and flavoring. I had the cod and my wife had the duck. The ingredients were all very fresh. Thought it was a little on the pricey side.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 17, 2017

It was our first time at the restaurant. I took my hubby and our son there for pre Father's Day dinner. Food was amazing and service from our waiter was very pleasant😊. We're total foodies, been all over the world. It's nice that our first time at The Hollow was not disappointing. Definitely will return.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Juan Carlos the sommelier is top notch. Their drink list w Ricky as the mixologist is on point.
So thrilled to have a true fine dining spot in Georgetown!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The food was delicious! There was five in our party, and we all ordered something different.
Everything was well prepared. The starter we ordered (the bread with locally made goat cheese and honey) was so, so good.

Would have been nice to have some gluten free items for one of our friends.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We had an excellent meal at the Hollow. My husband raved about their duck and I really enjoyed my steak. The service was good. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

A very nice setting in Georgetown, TX. tables are widely spaced. Farm to table food cooked by an experienced chef. Good wine list. A class above in terms of food, wine, service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I feel sorry to write a totally negative review but this Restaurant is expensive for no reasons: the food pretend to be creative but the reality is different: it's an undetectable mix of ingredients put together without any knowledge.
The wines are expensive beyond any reasonable reasons. Terrible, terrible experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The place has a good feel. Small seating vignettes upstairs for lively conversations over great cocktails by Rickey!! Go!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The Hollow was perfect, I brought my wife there for a birthday date. The food was unbelievably good. The service impeccable. The drinks unique. The wine paired. The menu is small but with this you get amazing choices that are seasonal. I cannot see ever being dissatisfied with; food, drinks, or service at this restaurant. My only complaint is that I did not find this amazing, creative restaurant sooner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Awesome - Great food, wine, and ambience👍😊 A Georgetown gem

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The Hollow has just found a life-long fan... I will try to be brief and get to the point but I want to say that I have read tons of reviews of this place and it's obviously terrific. You may read the occasional review that says they had to ask for a napkin or another that says there's only a few entrée choices but this place knocked it out of the park on Friday.

We arrived early to enjoy the bar. My wife had a drink that came served under a large glass dome filled with mesquite smoke - the presentation was outstanding. I enjoyed a couple "Dean's". Very smooth and balanced. While we were waiting for our reservation time, we visited with another couple that was there for the first time. He and his wife ordered the pork chop and it looked amazing. I wanted to ask for a bite but since we just met, I felt it was a little too bold.

I wanted the exact same dish and was disappointed that they just delivered the last pork chop to some very lucky person downstairs. The fact that a restaurant runs out of something is usually a good sign in my book. The food is prepared only when you order it and the depth of flavor that is served is because it takes days to prepare these dishes. They aren't defrosting a pork chop they picked up at Sam's Club (no offense, okay?).... they are sourcing local, high quality ingredients that are safe, healthy and delicious! It really is okay to run out of pork chops when they look that good! Our waiter recommended the tenderloin and it was amazing. He didn't ask how we would like it prepared and that's because the chef is a genius. Everyone that works here is a food geek and that's why I will be back every week. The wine guy is amazing. Loved every bit of my experience and can't recommend this place enough. Make a reservation. You can thank me later.

Tags: Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Hot Spot, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 30, 2017

The Hollow is an excellent place to enjoy a perfect meal . We were lucky enough to have Michael for our waiter. Juan Carlos was a wonderful help with our wine choice. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Fabulous food! It's a neighborhood gem with unique food

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 26, 2017

For my meal, chef gets 5 stars. It's my third visit and it is always creative and delightful. I had the Drum (fish). I enjoy the different flavors he puts together, very unique and delicious. Unfortunately, my partner's meal was extremely disappointing. She had the beef. She described it as being fairly flavorless. "Food I would cook" to quote her. Also on her plate was a half of a baked red potato, with no seasoning, no butter, just a cooked potato. She was disappointed and unfortunately for me (cuz I would make this a weekly treat) she wants to try some other places. We will be back, but it will be awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 24, 2017

OUTSTANDING food with unique presentation. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The menu foreshadows the experience you are about to have.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This was our second experience at The Hollow, we brought neighbor friends because we thought they'd love knowing about this wonderful local business. The Hollow did not disappoint! Our friends were so happy to have joined us and we will definitely be back again soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Front Mgr and Sommelier, Juan Carlos, Waiter Benjamin and, of course Chef Jacob made this a great dinner date for me and my wife. We're coming back

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Very disappointing. Received a gift certificate and tried it out for Mother's Day. Not at all family friendly limited menu pricy and probably too upscale for Georgetown. Will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This is our 2nd time at the Hollow. My complaint from the first time turns out not to have been a fluke. But before I address that, please note the 5 star for food; which is absolutely unique, delicious and memorable.
The complaint is the service and the time it took to get our food (and temp of food. Not nice and hot) Almost 50 minutes. We don't drink alcohol, and they don't offer bread with the meal (bread for purchase...and too costly to justify the price of it because it's prob the only mediocre flavor in the place.)
So we just sat there for 50 minutes, hungry and waiting for our food. I ordered a soda, the waitress failed to bring a straw and I drank the whole thing before she stopped by again (to get our dinner order fyi...she picked up drink order then left....for a loooooong time).
She also was neither helpful, or friendly. She wasn't rude . She just seemed disinterested in helping us. At the price point of this restaurant, I would expect top notch service. Not delivered either time.
But the food is so outstanding that we will be repeat customers. Ironically, as my partner and I discussed whether it was worth dealing with for future visits, we decided that it was, but we should eat a little before we go so the wait isn't so miserable. Which should indicate how horrible service is, and how amazing the food is. Try harder on that end Hollow, and you have a top notch place, worth every (numerous) penny spent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great atmosphere and service. The food was OK. Ricota Gnochi Starter was different and tasted OK. The Duck Main was overcooked, stringy and dry. I almost sent it back, however, I didn't want to embarrass my guests. Sauce was tasty however, a bit watered down. Not impressed. A return visit is not in the cards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Always a pleasure to dine at The Hollow.
They really take great care of their guests and you should always ask for Table #1!!

Tried a new cocktail as well...The Botnist. So good!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Cocktails were amazing, but I think the food was just average. All the food was very bland and lacked proper seasoning. For the price I expected better.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Truly a place to be appreciated by foodies. Unique food and knowledgeable servers. Beef and duck delicious. Halibut was ordinary. Prices were higher than comparable restaurants.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Food and service excellent as usual, but there was something wrong with the A/C. It is hard to enjoy a fine meal while sweating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.