About The Hattery Stove & Still

18 W State Street
Doylestown, PA 18901
View Larger Map

Chef William J. Gilbo IV

Born into the biz chef Billy's father owned and operated a seafood restaurant throughout his childhood years, when asked Billy says " there
is nothing else I've ever wanted to do". At the age of 14 he started his career in Long Beach Island, NJ then on to what he calls his school cafe
Gallery. Billy was never classically trained, but came up learning under many talented chefs in Philadelphia and New Jersey. Most recently he was part of the opening culinary staff at the lavish Union Trust. Chef de Cuisine at Monsu and Head Chef at the long time New Jersey favorite CHarley's other Brother. Now he has come to Doylestown to let us taste some of what he has learned in his 20 plus year career.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 9:00am - 12:00pm


Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 1:00pm


Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm


Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 345-1527

Website:
http://www.hatterydoylestown.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available. Menus are created to meet individual needs.

Executive Chef:
Chef William Gilbo IV

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

The Hattery Stove & Still Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Bucks County
Best Restaurants in Doylestown ›

Neighborhood Gem (16)
Great for Brunch (11)
Great for Lunch (7)
See All
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Fun (4)
Special Occasion (3)
Casual (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Historic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Romantic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Cozy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
153 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My friend was running quite late from a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

My friend was running quite late from a medical appt. yet I received attentive, not intrusive, service. I was greeted immediately and served iced tea & wine. Our lunch sandwiches were delicious, creative, and personalized. Food was served quickly and attractively; our waitperson followed up appropriately often, mindful of our desire to chat. She encouraged us to visit the downstairs after we commented on the history of the restaurant and adjacent inn. I would definitely return!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had the hot chips and mussels as apps. L ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Had the hot chips and mussels as apps. Loved the chips, the mussels were ok. Jordan, has been our server 2x and been fabulous both times. Interesting to chat with, and always has great recommendations. He suggested the Chicken or the eggs sandwich, I wouldn't have picked it, it was delish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We eat brunch here regularly with the ki ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We eat brunch here regularly with the kids. Terrific atmosphere Very friendly. Good items you don't normally find for breakfast/brunch. They provide offerings that are kid-friendly. They have a kids' lunch menu items but breakfast items not on kids menu. Only gripe is they changed out their coffee and their former coffee was so much better. Dinner is a completely different scene and more elegant/bar and more for adults.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Casual, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We love the food and the atmosphere! I w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We love the food and the atmosphere! I would recommend The Hattery to everyone.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

lunch with a friend on a beautiful day o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

lunch with a friend on a beautiful day outdoors. good food and friendly staff. will return

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Virtually no air conditioning during bru ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Virtually no air conditioning during brunch on Sunday, 8/21. Really not acceptable. No apologies from management

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Very disappointing. Stopped in for cock ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Very disappointing. Stopped in for cocktails one night and thought the menu sounded good. Came back for brunch which was very nice. Brought the family in for dinner. The menu sounded amazing. Everything was disappointing. Overcooked short ribs. Dumplings that were not dumplings but rather deep fried balls filled with completely dried out cheese. The homemade chips were good, but the "fondue" was poured all over them instead of on the side. Would return for drinks with friends or brunch (eggs were good), but never lunch or dinner.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Fine evening with friends. Only hiccup ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Fine evening with friends. Only hiccup was that on a Thursday evening they had not ONE drop of Pinot Grigio. Hmmmm. Hopefully, that is not more than a glitch for this one evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I had a great meal here. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My husband and I had a great meal here. The mussels would to die for and I had the pork belly which we both agreed was amazing. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hostess is unfriendly. Pretends when she ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Hostess is unfriendly. Pretends when she can't find your reservation that there is no room for you. It was my third visit in two weeks. How's that for crappy customer service. Friendly waitress but spotty service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Food is always good. Our guests raved ab ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food is always good. Our guests raved about the flavor of everything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Table was ready as soon as we arrived. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Table was ready as soon as we arrived. Our waitress was excellent, she was more than happy to help with menu and drink recommendations (we liked both of her suggestions!) Loved the crab and strawberry salad. The décor is fun and unique. I recently relocated to D-Town, I will make the Hattery a favorite place to dine!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beyond disappointed with food -- we had ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Beyond disappointed with food -- we had Parmesan crisps which did not taste like Parmesan. The entrees were actually disgusting especially the duck. Save your money and time by avoiding this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Nice little restaurant located in the hi ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Nice little restaurant located in the historic Doylestown Inn. I sat at the bar and had great service from the second I walked in. Mushroom burger was great and I especially liked the Deviled Eggs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Consistently very good food with great f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Consistently very good food with great flavor and imagination. This is in contrast most of the places I've been to in Doylestown which were mediocre at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food and the whole experience was am ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food and the whole experience was amazing. I live 10 mins from town and have found a new favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A must go place if you are around. Loved ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

A must go place if you are around. Loved the french toast. Servers are nice and friendly. Overall everything was good. Went for Saturday brunch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great drinks. Tasty food. Consistently a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Great drinks. Tasty food. Consistently attentive service in a cool atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun eclectic vibe and a great drink menu

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Fun eclectic vibe and a great drink menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved our dinner and experience here!! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I loved our dinner and experience here!! The food was amazing and the server was wonderful! I can't wait to back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to gather with friends

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Decor is so fun. Food is very good comfort food. Don't forget to go to Lobby of the Inn and look at the suitcases. Look at each and very chandler, taking special note of the light fixtures over the bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent brunch and great Bloody Mary

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent brunch and great Bloody Mary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place for Mother's Day. And any ot ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great place for Mother's Day. And any other enjoyable dining you may want for a casual get together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I had been to the Hattery before and wen ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I had been to the Hattery before and went back on a date. It was so noisy the food was cold and took an extremely long time to come to our table. Our table was right next to the bar and it was very congested at the bar. Overall we were very dissatisfied with our dinner there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Loved the ambience. Food was not good at ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Loved the ambience. Food was not good at all. Would go back for drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

Our waitress was wonderful!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Our waitress was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Great restaurant

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

My husband and I have eaten here several times. We have an excellent meal every time.

My husband loves the stuffed pork chops. I have tried the crab cakes, salmon, and scallops and liked them all. Downstairs is very cozy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cheers

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Warm, friendly neighborhood jewel. Food was good, staff was extremely helpful, and there was no rush. It's Doylestown's place where "everybody knows your name."

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoyed our meal. Food was delicious ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

We enjoyed our meal. Food was delicious and the service was great- very attentive! We'll be back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good food

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

We went on a Tuesday night with work colleagues. Not too noisy which was good. I didn't know the downstairs was closed Monday and Tuesday and was disappointed as my out if town guests would have really enjoyed it. All dishes were good but upstairs just doesn't have the same vibe as downstairs. All in all , would go again

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was not as expected - dry and taste ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Food was not as expected - dry and tasteless. I hope it was just an off night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

I ordered the scallop risotto. The risot ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

I ordered the scallop risotto. The risotto was great the scallops had no sear on them at all. Kind of rubbery. Yuk!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Food tasted good. Very small portion for ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Food tasted good. Very small portion for a salad with salmon on it. Burgers were big. Could use a more extensive menu. Weekday evening was quiet and the service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Ate here on a a weekend night so it was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Ate here on a a weekend night so it was obviously busy. The service was slow we assume due to that but places should have that covered. Other than long wait times for service food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great with our kids! Food came out quick ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Great with our kids! Food came out quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Perfect for Date night and Foodies.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Came here for a post Valentines day dinner. The menu was extremely appetizing. The lamb lollipops were perfectly cooked and seasoned and the deviled eggs had the perfect kick and pick me up with the mustard. The chicken and the egg was beautifully presented and tasted just as amazing as it looked. The service was exception and very personalized. Cant wait to be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a little hiccup

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

It was fairly dead inside but it took about 15 mins for a waitstaff to come to our table since there was a discrepancy about who was supposed to be helping us. We just sort of sat there for a while.

Otherwise the food was darn good and the date went well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Pleasantly Surprised

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

After hearing & reading mixed reviews, we were pleasantly surprised by our food and service. Leg of Lamb and Crabcakes were both very good. Caesar salad was very large and my husband raved about the chicken wings. Service was very adequate and the décor is outstanding and unique. The restaurant was a little loud, especially the downstairs, but it didn't really bother us. Overall, we would definitely go back again for dinner or a late night drink stop!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The Prix Fix menu for Valentine's Day wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The Prix Fix menu for Valentine's Day was well thought out. We had an enjoyable evening and the dinner was sophisticated and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent everything😀, thank you😀

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food, atmosphere , wait staff - all terrific and to top it all off, a complimentary rose for Valentines Day Brunch... Priceless. We will be returning soon.👍🏻

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.