About The Hattery Stove & Still

18 W State Street
Doylestown, PA 18901
View Larger Map

Chef William J. Gilbo IV

Born into the biz chef Billy's father owned and operated a seafood restaurant throughout his childhood years, when asked Billy says " there
is nothing else I've ever wanted to do". At the age of 14 he started his career in Long Beach Island, NJ then on to what he calls his school cafe
Gallery. Billy was never classically trained, but came up learning under many talented chefs in Philadelphia and New Jersey. Most recently he was part of the opening culinary staff at the lavish Union Trust. Chef de Cuisine at Monsu and Head Chef at the long time New Jersey favorite CHarley's other Brother. Now he has come to Doylestown to let us taste some of what he has learned in his 20 plus year career.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 9:00am - 12:00pm


Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 1:00pm


Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm


Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 345-1527

Website:
http://www.hatterydoylestown.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available. Menus are created to meet individual needs.

Executive Chef:
Chef William Gilbo IV

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

The Hattery Stove & Still Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Bucks County
Best Restaurants in Doylestown ›

Neighborhood Gem (14)
Casual (10)
Happy Hour (9)
See All
Good for Groups (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Fun (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Historic (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Cozy (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Great Beer (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Healthy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Authentic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Business Meals (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
S
167 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It took over an hour to be served breakf ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 27, 2016

It took over an hour to be served breakfast. It was ridiculous and not even acknowledged by the waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Food was INCREDIBLE. The biggest issue ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food was INCREDIBLE. The biggest issue we had was that the servers were incredibly unknowledgeable in the "Happy Hour" menu. They have a $5 wings and $5 muscles during happy hour. Be sure to specifically state when you're there that you want the $5 muscles or wings, because when we had asked about the happy hour menu, then ordered the muscles, they gave us the appetizer (regularly priced) portion. So when we were charged $13 I was kind of disappointed. They knocked off $3 of the bill, because they put in the wrong order. I really didn't think it was that big of a deal considering I was paying over $100 for a two person meal.

The food itself was OUTSTANDING. I will absolutely be going back for pickup.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Authentic, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The shrimp tacos are the BEST!!! We love ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The shrimp tacos are the BEST!!! We love coming for good food and drinks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, ambience was great but we ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Food was good, ambience was great but we don't know if our waitress was new but she was at time not attentive and other times overly attentive and was not very friendly at all.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Great, friendly staff / service. Very n ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great, friendly staff / service. Very nice neighborhood place where you can get a great meal of bar food. Good mix of food without going over the top. Great place to stop in for a drink and/or a snack.

This occasion was in support of a fund raiser where they let you pay for a burger or ribs meal and all money went to support a 13 year old girl battling cancer.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Family get together of four for brunch. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Family get together of four for brunch. More lunch options then breakfast. Service was good but a little slow. We ordered eggs benedict, smoked salmon platter, garden omelet and eggs and bacon. Omelet was very tasty and cooked to my order 1/2 whites, 1/2 regular eggs. Smoked salmon platter was excellent. Home fries were also a surprise, they were tasty. My only complaint was no toast or fruit. We eat with our eyes and these meals were not that appealing. I'd give it another try though.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We are regulars here. Come here mostly f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We are regulars here. Come here mostly for brunch/lunch. Offerings for brunch much more appealing than your typical breakfast spot. Very kid-friendly in the day. Cool decor. Evening bar upstairs and downstairs with a unique setting. Great for drinks.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time here. Friday nite dinner. H ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2016

First time here. Friday nite dinner. Had fish n chips and tilefish entrees. F&C was generous portion and better than most. Tile fish portion could have been larger. They made up for it with lots of rice. Could have used a side vegetable. French onion soup and Arugula salad were both very good. Beer selection was weak. I'd try it again.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice ambience and pleasant wait staff. H ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Nice ambience and pleasant wait staff. However, though it was only 6:30 they were out of the soup of the day and the replacement soup arrived luke warm. I sent it back and the replacement bowl was not much hotter. My hamburger was good though not exceptional. Noise level was so loud talking to others at my small table was difficult. It was Saturday evening so it might be better during the week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

First time we were here and absolutely l ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

First time we were here and absolutely loved it! Great ambience and decor. Food was terrific! Service (Donna) was outstanding! We will definitely recommend The Hattery to others and will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual , we come here a lot, like tues ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 1, 2016

As usual , we come here a lot, like tues or Thursday great oyster nights!

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great, service was excellent. T ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was great, service was excellent. The ONLY thing we didn't like was the 2-tops are way to close together upstairs. Several times our neighbors joined into our conversation. We didn't stay for dessert because of that reason.

Tags: Great Beer, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I got home late from the airport and we ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I got home late from the airport and we needed to eat. We tried this place and were very pleased. The fact that we got to watch Penn State beat Ohio State that night just added to the fun. We will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is amazing! Great food and g ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This place is amazing! Great food and great beer. Have eaten brunch and lunch here... so freaking good! Best place in town!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend was running quite late from a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 13, 2016

My friend was running quite late from a medical appt. yet I received attentive, not intrusive, service. I was greeted immediately and served iced tea & wine. Our lunch sandwiches were delicious, creative, and personalized. Food was served quickly and attractively; our waitperson followed up appropriately often, mindful of our desire to chat. She encouraged us to visit the downstairs after we commented on the history of the restaurant and adjacent inn. I would definitely return!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had the hot chips and mussels as apps. L ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Had the hot chips and mussels as apps. Loved the chips, the mussels were ok. Jordan, has been our server 2x and been fabulous both times. Interesting to chat with, and always has great recommendations. He suggested the Chicken or the eggs sandwich, I wouldn't have picked it, it was delish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We eat brunch here regularly with the ki ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We eat brunch here regularly with the kids. Terrific atmosphere Very friendly. Good items you don't normally find for breakfast/brunch. They provide offerings that are kid-friendly. They have a kids' lunch menu items but breakfast items not on kids menu. Only gripe is they changed out their coffee and their former coffee was so much better. Dinner is a completely different scene and more elegant/bar and more for adults.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Casual, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We love the food and the atmosphere! I w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We love the food and the atmosphere! I would recommend The Hattery to everyone.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

lunch with a friend on a beautiful day o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 23, 2016

lunch with a friend on a beautiful day outdoors. good food and friendly staff. will return

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Virtually no air conditioning during bru ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Virtually no air conditioning during brunch on Sunday, 8/21. Really not acceptable. No apologies from management

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Very disappointing. Stopped in for cock ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Very disappointing. Stopped in for cocktails one night and thought the menu sounded good. Came back for brunch which was very nice. Brought the family in for dinner. The menu sounded amazing. Everything was disappointing. Overcooked short ribs. Dumplings that were not dumplings but rather deep fried balls filled with completely dried out cheese. The homemade chips were good, but the "fondue" was poured all over them instead of on the side. Would return for drinks with friends or brunch (eggs were good), but never lunch or dinner.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Fine evening with friends. Only hiccup ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Fine evening with friends. Only hiccup was that on a Thursday evening they had not ONE drop of Pinot Grigio. Hmmmm. Hopefully, that is not more than a glitch for this one evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I had a great meal here. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 30, 2016

My husband and I had a great meal here. The mussels would to die for and I had the pork belly which we both agreed was amazing. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hostess is unfriendly. Pretends when she ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Hostess is unfriendly. Pretends when she can't find your reservation that there is no room for you. It was my third visit in two weeks. How's that for crappy customer service. Friendly waitress but spotty service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Food is always good. Our guests raved ab ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food is always good. Our guests raved about the flavor of everything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Table was ready as soon as we arrived. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Table was ready as soon as we arrived. Our waitress was excellent, she was more than happy to help with menu and drink recommendations (we liked both of her suggestions!) Loved the crab and strawberry salad. The décor is fun and unique. I recently relocated to D-Town, I will make the Hattery a favorite place to dine!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beyond disappointed with food -- we had ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Beyond disappointed with food -- we had Parmesan crisps which did not taste like Parmesan. The entrees were actually disgusting especially the duck. Save your money and time by avoiding this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Nice little restaurant located in the hi ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Nice little restaurant located in the historic Doylestown Inn. I sat at the bar and had great service from the second I walked in. Mushroom burger was great and I especially liked the Deviled Eggs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Consistently very good food with great f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Consistently very good food with great flavor and imagination. This is in contrast most of the places I've been to in Doylestown which were mediocre at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food and the whole experience was am ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food and the whole experience was amazing. I live 10 mins from town and have found a new favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A must go place if you are around. Loved ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 4, 2016

A must go place if you are around. Loved the french toast. Servers are nice and friendly. Overall everything was good. Went for Saturday brunch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great drinks. Tasty food. Consistently a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 3, 2016

Great drinks. Tasty food. Consistently attentive service in a cool atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun eclectic vibe and a great drink menu

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 26, 2016

Fun eclectic vibe and a great drink menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved our dinner and experience here!! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 21, 2016

I loved our dinner and experience here!! The food was amazing and the server was wonderful! I can't wait to back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to gather with friends

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Decor is so fun. Food is very good comfort food. Don't forget to go to Lobby of the Inn and look at the suitcases. Look at each and very chandler, taking special note of the light fixtures over the bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent brunch and great Bloody Mary

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent brunch and great Bloody Mary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place for Mother's Day. And any ot ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great place for Mother's Day. And any other enjoyable dining you may want for a casual get together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I had been to the Hattery before and wen ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2016

I had been to the Hattery before and went back on a date. It was so noisy the food was cold and took an extremely long time to come to our table. Our table was right next to the bar and it was very congested at the bar. Overall we were very dissatisfied with our dinner there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Loved the ambience. Food was not good at ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2016

Loved the ambience. Food was not good at all. Would go back for drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

Our waitress was wonderful!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2016

Our waitress was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.