Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi
  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Chambers 19 Bistro BarChambers 19 Bistro Bar
(31)
$$$$
Bistro | Doylestown, Bucks County
Booked 1 time today
86 West86 West
(142)
$$$$
American | Doylestown, Bucks County
Booked 16 times today
Maxwell's on MainMaxwell's on Main
(57)
$$$$
American | Doylestown, Bucks County
Booked 4 times today
SkyBrunchSkyBrunch
(205)
$$$$
American | Center City, Philadelphia
XochitlXochitl
(1188)
$$$$
Mexican | Center City, Philadelphia
Booked 16 times today
Buddakan - PhiladelphiaBuddakan - Philadelphia
(7181)
$$$$
Asian | Old City, Philadelphia
Booked 83 times today
Butcher & SingerButcher & Singer
(4406)
$$$$
Steak | Center City, Philadelphia
Booked 75 times today
MorimotoMorimoto
(4224)
$$$$
Japanese | Center City, Philadelphia
Booked 58 times today
Bud & Marilyn'sBud & Marilyn's
(1337)
$$$$
American | Center City, Philadelphia
Booked 89 times today
Redstone American Grill - Plymouth MeetingRedstone American Grill - Plymouth Meeting
(2771)
$$$$
American | Plymouth Meeting, Western Suburbs
Booked 76 times today
Double KnotDouble Knot
(686)
$$$$
Sushi | Center City, Philadelphia
Booked 73 times today
ParcParc
(7392)
$$$$
French | Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia
Booked 224 times today
Amada PHLAmada PHL
(6006)
$$$$
Spanish | Old City, Philadelphia
Booked 88 times today
Maggiano's - King of PrussiaMaggiano's - King of Prussia
(5524)
$$$$
Italian | King of Prussia, Western Suburbs
Booked 102 times today
ZahavZahav
(5790)
$$$$
Middle Eastern | Old City, Philadelphia
Booked 53 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi
  1. Distance: 0.37mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi

About The Hattery Stove & Still

Chef William J. Gilbo IV

Born into the biz chef Billy's father owned and operated a seafood restaurant throughout his childhood years, when asked Billy says " there
is nothing else I've ever wanted to do". At the age of 14 he started his career in Long Beach Island, NJ then on to what he calls his school cafe
Gallery. Billy was never classically trained, but came up learning under many talented chefs in Philadelphia and New Jersey. Most recently he was part of the opening culinary staff at the lavish Union Trust. Chef de Cuisine at Monsu and Head Chef at the long time New Jersey favorite CHarley's other Brother. Now he has come to Doylestown to let us taste some of what he has learned in his 20 plus year career.

18 W State Street
Doylestown, PA 18901
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 9:00am - 12:00pm


Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 8:00am - 1:00pm


Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm


Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm


Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 345-1527

Website:
http://www.hatterydoylestown.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available. Menus are created to meet individual needs.

Executive Chef:
Chef William Gilbo IV

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Sort By:
S
192 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Food was delicious and atmosphere unique and inviting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Historic Doylestown restaurant! Great food from sandwiches to great entrees! Great experience!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 22, 2017

great vibe and fantastic fish tacos

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The food was delicious and service fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We came in to celebrate 3 birthdays. Initially we weren't happy with the table with it being right next to the bar. My grandmom is 90 and had a hard time being included in conversation due to the seating. The staff was supper attentive and got us another table as quickly as possible. It was perfect! The service was great and attentive and the food was awesome! I will definitely be back here again soon. Awesome job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great appetizers and cocktails at the bar downstairs. Met friends for dinner, had a great time, good food, great service, easy to find and easy to make reservations.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Ambiance and service were great! Food was definitely not bad, just a little blah.
Scallop appetizer would've been great but came with cold tomato sauce on plate that didn't work (warm sauce would be much better). Venison dish was ok, but meat was slightly dry and the whole meal really needed more seasoning to make it special. We have been here a few times and always leave with the same feeling "not bad, but not dying to come back". Cocktail menu is good - I think I'd rather come here for happy hour and bar snacks.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I took my sweetheart for Valentine's Day. Set in the rustic Doylestown Hotel, this romantic place is appointed with tasteful, eclectic decor. My Open Table reservation made it easy. We both had the surf & turf, and shared the lamb medallion appetizer. Everything was delicious and prepared perfectly. Service was prompt, and friendly, without being overbearing. The prix fix Valentine's Day menu came with a shared dessert, which amounted to no more than a spoonful for each of us. For $140, I wish the shared dessert portion would have been a bit more ample. Decent Craft beer and wine selection. We are repeat visitors, and will be back again.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 10, 2017

5 of us went for dinner on a Friday evening. We reserved our table thru Open Table. We arrived early and our table was ready for us. We had the Chicken Or The Egg, Chipotle Shrimp Tacos, Pork Belly Rueben, French Onion Soups, & Belgian Endive Salad with Steak. The food was fresh & delicious. Highly recommend stopping here. The decor is interesting & eclectic. The noise level can get loud, especially downstairs where the bar is.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 31, 2017

LIMITED MENU ! Requires an additional variety of selections.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2017

A great atmosphere upstairs and downstairs. Food choices were nice, service was pleasant and timely. Great find.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Good spot in d-town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Fun atmosphere and great drinks, however after making a reservation a week in advance they tried to offer a table that was not what we requested. after a few minutes they "found" our table (among other open tables). luckily the wait staff and bartenders are awesome. However having ordered a steak dish and a burger both Medium and having them both come out almost well was VERY disappointing. I think unfortunately quality has gone down in food quality since they opened.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was great, atmosphere and decor- even better. We all got a kick out of the top hat lights over the bar. Coolest restaurant we'e ever been to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 12, 2017

This place is still new so I am sure they are getting t he kinks worked out. Not blown away by the Hattery, food was so-so and could not believe that our apps and dinner came out at the same time, that was the deal-breaker for me.

Pros: Decor is fantastic and our server could not of been nicer! Might try in another few months when they get the kinks worked out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We have not been here in over 18 months for the same reason we will never try it again. Service is average. But the food is just not good! The deviled eggs were atrocious it was completely all mustard we even had the server try one and she completely agreed and took it to the manager for a taste. The shrimp tacos had little baby frozen shrimp in there that were nasty with some kind of sour soggy slaw and a watered down black bean purée which was absolutely inedible. They charge an extra $.40 for lettuce, &.40 tomato, $.40 onion. With an already inflated price of $14 per burger. They charge $3.00 for a half of a loaf of a baguette/butter. It's absolutely gorgeous in there and it's a shame that the food stinks as much as it does. It's a great location and service can always improve it's just a shame that the food is so bad.
We were able to get a table at 7:00p on a Friday night last minute for a party of five and it was completely dead in there because everyone who is local knows that it's terrible food! Still trying to figure out why they are still open as I know they are attached to the Doylestown Inn-- it's just a shame for our sweet little Doylestown that the food is still so bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Last minute NY Eve dinner. Didn't realize it was a fixed price menu. A little over priced but overall was a very good experience. Food was terrific and service good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Enjoyed dinner on New Years Eve. Will go back for a date night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Fun, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

They charged us $3 for a small piece of bread for the table. Disgraceful . Food was subpar
We were shoved in a corner by the bar and were a party of 6.
The hotel was quaint but we would never go back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had a great time for our Christmas Eve dinner at the Hattery. We had a table of 5 and were seated promptly, and had a wonderful table. The food was delicious (black bean soup, mussels in garlic wine sauce and wings for appetizers -- fantastic). For dinner we had stuffed lobster tails and some of us had chicken pot pie. Everything was wonderful, thanks for a great evening.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had a great day in Doylestown. We brought guests from out of town for brunch. We all had a terrific time. Food was great. Good food selections. Lovely atmosphere; bright, lively, fun.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fun, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food wasn't really up to standard for even a bar meal. Underseasoned hamburger, underseasoned fish and chips with really tiny amount of fish and way too much batter. The wings had good flavor but were gluggy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great little place in the historic center of Doylestown. The food was high-quality and quite a decent value for money. The ambiance is industrial chic, but warm. The service is low-key and friendly. Best breakfast I've had in this part of the US.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 11, 2016

A local restaurant with a great ambiance. Met friends for Sunday brunch and was seated immediately. Great menu selection and choice of brunch and lunch into early afternoon. Waiter was prompt with service and bringing us drinks. Food was quickly brought to the table. Try the banana beignets. . . . wow, delicious.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 27, 2016

It took over an hour to be served breakfast. It was ridiculous and not even acknowledged by the waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food was INCREDIBLE. The biggest issue we had was that the servers were incredibly unknowledgeable in the "Happy Hour" menu. They have a $5 wings and $5 muscles during happy hour. Be sure to specifically state when you're there that you want the $5 muscles or wings, because when we had asked about the happy hour menu, then ordered the muscles, they gave us the appetizer (regularly priced) portion. So when we were charged $13 I was kind of disappointed. They knocked off $3 of the bill, because they put in the wrong order. I really didn't think it was that big of a deal considering I was paying over $100 for a two person meal.

The food itself was OUTSTANDING. I will absolutely be going back for pickup.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Authentic, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The shrimp tacos are the BEST!!! We love coming for good food and drinks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Food was good, ambience was great but we don't know if our waitress was new but she was at time not attentive and other times overly attentive and was not very friendly at all.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great, friendly staff / service. Very nice neighborhood place where you can get a great meal of bar food. Good mix of food without going over the top. Great place to stop in for a drink and/or a snack.
This occasion was in support of a fund raiser where they let you pay for a burger or ribs meal and all money went to support a 13 year old girl battling cancer.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Family get together of four for brunch. More lunch options then breakfast. Service was good but a little slow. We ordered eggs benedict, smoked salmon platter, garden omelet and eggs and bacon. Omelet was very tasty and cooked to my order 1/2 whites, 1/2 regular eggs. Smoked salmon platter was excellent. Home fries were also a surprise, they were tasty. My only complaint was no toast or fruit. We eat with our eyes and these meals were not that appealing. I'd give it another try though.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We are regulars here. Come here mostly for brunch/lunch. Offerings for brunch much more appealing than your typical breakfast spot. Very kid-friendly in the day. Cool decor. Evening bar upstairs and downstairs with a unique setting. Great for drinks.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2016

First time here. Friday nite dinner. Had fish n chips and tilefish entrees. F&C was generous portion and better than most. Tile fish portion could have been larger. They made up for it with lots of rice. Could have used a side vegetable. French onion soup and Arugula salad were both very good. Beer selection was weak. I'd try it again.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Nice ambience and pleasant wait staff. However, though it was only 6:30 they were out of the soup of the day and the replacement soup arrived luke warm. I sent it back and the replacement bowl was not much hotter. My hamburger was good though not exceptional. Noise level was so loud talking to others at my small table was difficult. It was Saturday evening so it might be better during the week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2016

First time we were here and absolutely loved it! Great ambience and decor. Food was terrific! Service (Donna) was outstanding! We will definitely recommend The Hattery to others and will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 1, 2016

As usual , we come here a lot, like tues or Thursday great oyster nights!

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was great, service was excellent. The ONLY thing we didn't like was the 2-tops are way to close together upstairs. Several times our neighbors joined into our conversation. We didn't stay for dessert because of that reason.

Tags: Great Beer, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I got home late from the airport and we needed to eat. We tried this place and were very pleased. The fact that we got to watch Penn State beat Ohio State that night just added to the fun. We will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This place is amazing! Great food and great beer. Have eaten brunch and lunch here... so freaking good! Best place in town!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 13, 2016

My friend was running quite late from a medical appt. yet I received attentive, not intrusive, service. I was greeted immediately and served iced tea & wine. Our lunch sandwiches were delicious, creative, and personalized. Food was served quickly and attractively; our waitperson followed up appropriately often, mindful of our desire to chat. She encouraged us to visit the downstairs after we commented on the history of the restaurant and adjacent inn. I would definitely return!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Had the hot chips and mussels as apps. Loved the chips, the mussels were ok. Jordan, has been our server 2x and been fabulous both times. Interesting to chat with, and always has great recommendations. He suggested the Chicken or the eggs sandwich, I wouldn't have picked it, it was delish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.