About The Hat Resto Pub

10251 Jasper Avenue NW
Edmonton, AB T5J1X8
View Larger Map

The Hat Resto Pub is conveniently located in the heart of Jasper Avenue, surrounded by world-class hotels & is walking distance from Shaw Conference Center & is two blocks from the future home of the Downtown Arena. It is Edmonton's oldest restaurant, established in 1912, making it more than a century old. For a very long time, it was known as The Silk Hat, a casual diner. It was next to The Paramount Theater & many Edmontonians have fond memories of going to the movies & then to The Silk Hat for burgers & milk shakes. Eventually the restaurant became known as The Hat Resto Pub. Currently the restaurant serves contemporary cuisine featuring different flavours. It also serves draft & bottled beer & many types of cocktails. It has earned a sterling reputation for top-notch food quality & service. Some must-trys include gourmet Prime Rib Burgers, Homemade Crabcakes, Artichoke & Spinach Dip, Butter Chicken, Panko-crusted Goat Cheese, Mussels cooked in wine, & wraps.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 11:00pm; Friday: 11:00am - 12:00am; Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
103 St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 429-4471

Website:
http://thehatonjasper.com/

Entertainment:
Contemporary music/songs; DJ; weekly live music.

Catering:
Office and business catering in downtown area.

Parking Details:
Street parking along Jasper Avenue and 103 St. Covered free parking is available on the main floor of Vinci Parking at 103 St.

Public Transit:
LRT and bus stops within walking distance along Jasper Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Mike

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • The Hat Resto Pub
The Hat Resto Pub

The Hat Resto Pub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Great for Lunch
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

great for lunch (18)
neighborhood gem (12)
fit for foodies (10)
See All
good for groups (10)
late-night find (6)
hot spot (6)
romantic (4)
special occasion (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
139 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5

Went for a quick dinner with a friend th ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Went for a quick dinner with a friend that loves burgers and we throughly enjoyed our meal! Food, service and atmosphere was great. Apreciated the selection of ciders at a reasonable price.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great downtown Edmonton pub

Dined on May 20, 2016

The oldest pub in downtown Edmonton. Great ambiance, friendly and efficient service. Owner / manager came by a few times to make sure everything was good. Food is very good. Will definitely be back whenever we are in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The Hat never disappoints! Great food an ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The Hat never disappoints! Great food and service!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Solid lunch

Dined on April 28, 2016

As always, thw food and service was excellent. Make sure to make a reservation or you are taking a chance at getting a table during lunch!

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Comfortable friendly place treats customers well

Dined on April 22, 2016

I am a regular despite other places nearby that offer similar fare.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Good food, unwelcoming atmosphere

Dined on March 26, 2016

Booked for a party of 10. We were one of two parties in the entire restaurant. Server had a poor attitude; she wasn't rude or anything, but gave the impression she would rather be doing anything other than serving our quiet get together. We felt unwelcome, and wont be returning for any future gatherings. Food came out in a timely manner, everything was fresh, and tasted decent. No complaints there.

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Good Enough

Dined on February 28, 2016

We went to The Hat because we were looking for something new and casual. While the vibe and the food was just about right, I was actually shocked at the bill even though we just had a few drinks and some appies. For what we got, I would expect to pay that level for a high end restaurant, so for that reason it's unlikely I'll go back. But it was still fun to try something new.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food, Great Service!

Dined on February 26, 2016

Went for dinner at The Hat with some friends. Right from the moment we arrived, we were treated very well: our waitress was extremely welcoming, genuinely helpful, and very attentive to our table. The atmosphere was relaxed, and it was very easy to have a conversation at the table. They have a good beer selection for the size of the bar, and the food was delicious! Will definitely be returning.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Owner so nice, best waitress ever

Dined on February 14, 2016

All around perfect the owner even stopped by to say hello and introduce himself, the waitress was soooo nice, a teacher working partime. The chef who brought out our food as sooo nice kind and a big smile. Food was cooked perfectly, we will be back fore sure. We live a bit from downtown, but I am recommending it to anyone who needs a place for a quick delicious meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service4

I had a hamburger and it really did not ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

I had a hamburger and it really did not much taste at all.

food3
ambience4
service4

Has a quick snack before a downtown even ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Has a quick snack before a downtown event. Will go back for sure!

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I frequently attend The Hat. It is close ...

Dined on February 8, 2016

I frequently attend The Hat. It is close to my place of work, so you can catch me there for a great lunch, or a drink and snack after work. It's just an overall great hangout spot, with a great atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Delicious Burgers!!

Dined on February 1, 2016

I absolutely love the burgers they make here! Service was okay - it was a Sunday evening so there was only 1 staff member present. She was a bit busy and the food took slightly longer then expected, but it was worth the wait! Just don't come starving - expect to wait a bit longer and have a bit of time to socialize with the group you came with.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Good place for a group to meet for food and drinks

Dined on January 15, 2016

Everyone was impressed with the size and taste of the burgers. Our server recommended cocktails for us based on our preferences. The Caesars were unique and delicious (can't go wrong with pickle and bacon). I wish the sides were a little more show stoping, but maybe I just haven't explored the menu enough.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great lunch!

Dined on December 23, 2015

Mike and his team did a great job as usual, thanks!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Classic and relaxed locale

Dined on December 17, 2015

I've been to the Hat a number of times since the ownership changes a few years back, and it's been a very solid go-to place. Great service, good food, and Mike (the owner) has stopped by my table on a few occasions to check-in on how we're doing. Really nice touches. Would recommend for a bit of a nicer bit still casual or relaxed pub location.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

Good but not great

Dined on November 27, 2015

Went for lunch to meet a friend. The food was just OK and the noise level was fairly high so had to talk loudly to be heard.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Great place, good food, good service!

Dined on November 25, 2015

It can get a little loud, but overal it's a great place to eat, with good food and good service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best hamburger in Edmonton

Dined on November 16, 2015

We had dinner at the restaurant before a theatre date. It was quiet as it was a Sunday evening. The hamburger meal we had was perfect. The meat was delicious and pure. The service was friendly and efficient. We would recommend this place for the best hamburger in town and will be back.

Tags: great for brunch
food2
ambience3
service4

Very disappointing!

Dined on November 2, 2015

Went on Sunday at 6pm. No diners except us for the hour we were there. Food was not very good and prices high for quality. Tried the "signature" fish and chips. The batter was soggy and 1 portion the fish was not cooked well. Fries were ordinary or less than. My husband had the beef dip which wasn't too bad, but the soup was very watery. Waitress was pleasant and felt sorry for her with it being so "slow". First and last time visit.

food5
ambience3
service3

Amazing menu - wish I had room to have e ...

Dined on October 9, 2015

Amazing menu - wish I had room to have everything on it! However, they were out of raspberry vodka and couldn't make the only drink I wanted and the service is very slow. Still...amazing food!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service4

lunch

Dined on September 29, 2015

good lunch spot. a bit on the pricey side. Noise level is good by the door.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent Service

Dined on September 9, 2015

I had a business meeting that I wanted to have away from my work and I was impressed with how easy it was to make an online reservation. As well, I was pleased when I entered The Hat that they immediately knew I was the one with a reservation and they showed me to a private table. The service was excellent in that the server was there when we needed him but he never interrupted our conversation. The meals we ordered were nicely presented and were made just they way both of had asked.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this place. It's always a wonderful!

vip
Dined on September 9, 2015

This place always has amazing service, excellent food and overall it is a wonderful place to go and have lunch. If I could I would eat here every day. The Canadian burger is by far my favorite thing on the menu. I've tried other things as well and they're all excellent. I would highly recommend The Hat to anyone that is looking for an amazing dinner, awesome lunch or just overall looking for a wonderful place downtown to eat.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

Good food, good drinks, good time!

Dined on August 16, 2015

I went to The Hat for my 30th birthday with a group of friends. The service was outstanding. Our waitress was friendly and was constantly filling our drinks. The food and drinks were good! We ordered a bunch of appetizers to share and the goat cheese was especially delicious.. Also, Saturday night is $10 off bottles of wine making for VERY reasonable prices! After dinner, I received a complimentary dessert and bottle of champagne to share with my friends! This was an amazing touch to end a great night! This was my first time at The Hat and I will definitely be back!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

My absolute favourite

Dined on July 12, 2015

I love the Hat, anytime it's my turn to choose the restaurant it's my first choice. This reso was for my birthday and it was excellent as ever. The food, the service, the venue - all tip top notch. I love it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Relaxed lunch

Dined on June 23, 2015

What a great place for lunch! Service was terrific, food was good. We found it relaxing as we had a reservation and were there for a long lunch! Never felt rushed .... Enjoyed it as much as the first time I rediscovered it.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Hidden Gem

Dined on May 23, 2015

This place is so cool inside, the food is DELISH and the presentation of it is amazing. The 'this little piggy caesar' is a MUST try. We will def be back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

A colleague and I went for a birthday lu ...

Dined on May 21, 2015

A colleague and I went for a birthday lunch. It was relaxed and easy to focus on our conversation. I had spinach salad with grilled salmon and it was delicious. I was very satisfied with my portion too. My dining partner liked his burger: one with blue cheese.

food2
ambience3
service5

Not what it used to be

Dined on May 12, 2015

I came back to the Hat after being away a few years and was very disappointed. The quality of the food has gone way downhill. We ordered steak sandwiches with blue cheese that came without the blue cheese. Due to the cost I had to request it. The steaks were getting cold when it was received and by the time I got the cheese it was stone cold. It seemed like they cooked the fries after the rest of the meal was done. Even the garlic toast was rock hard and cold. The steaks were overcooked and tough. Given that there was only three tables in the place, the length of time for the food to arrive was very long. It was just disappointing. The good thing about the evening though was the service. Our server Jessica was first-rate. She was personable, attentive and very engaging. She made our whole evening and would be the only reason we came back. We did not have the heart to complain about our food as she was just so great. I will go back for their wine night and perhaps order an appetizer but I won't order full meals again.

food4
ambience4
service5

Great burgers.

Dined on April 5, 2015

Great burgers.

food3
ambience4
service3

Pretty decent

Dined on March 29, 2015

Thank god I made a reservation- this place was packed! Good food, a little small on the portions. A bit pricey for what you get. I got a chicken burger and it was pretty good. The service was mediocre. the place was buzzing though, with tons of people. Would probably go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service4

I Love This Place

Dined on March 28, 2015

The food here is unreal. Everything is perfectly spiced, and the dining area has a really great atmosphere, with good music, and TV'S everywhere. Highly recommend the Chicken Shwarma Wrap, and the Mushroom and Herb Soup. Extremely friendly staff take it over the top.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4

Only Okay

Dined on March 23, 2015

With so many food choices out there, I wouldn't bother going back. It wasn't bad, just not very good. I had heard about their burgers, but mine had a rather dry meat patty that wasn't hot, nor were the bacon or grilled onions that accompanied it. The side salad was only okay, with lots of canned mandarin oranges sprinkled on top - a rather odd choice, I thought. The service was good, but when I mentioned that my food was on the cool side, the server said she'd check and then never mentioned it again. I was having a great lunch with my friend and didn't want to spoil it with negativity so didn't take my concerns further, but it just wasn't a great meal. I won't bother returning.

food3
ambience4
service4

Great place for some pub food

vip
Dined on March 20, 2015

Try the burgers here...great place for some comfort food. Service is great too, make you feel welcome. Will definitely come back

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service2

It's good, but be prepared to wait

vip
Dined on March 20, 2015

Consistently pleased with the food, but always disappointed with how long of a wait it is for the food to be delivered. Only two servers on staff for the lunch rush, which is insane.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great as usual.

Dined on March 12, 2015

Great as usual. Always a great place to go with colleagues with diverse dietary needs and restrictions. The service is great, and the service is wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3

Good food, reasonable service

Dined on March 10, 2015

The Hat is great for team or client lunches, or catching drinks and appetizers after work. It is sometimes hard to get seated without having to flag down a bartender, as they don't seem to have a hostess. The menu is generally bar food (burgers, sandwiches, salads), but it is all done well and has something for everyone.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Great spot for lunch. Attentive service ...

Dined on March 6, 2015

Great spot for lunch. Attentive service and outstanding food.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

It wouldn't let me click on the Yes, but ...

Dined on February 17, 2015

It wouldn't let me click on the Yes, but I would and have recommended to a friend.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.