About The Hat Resto Pub

10251 Jasper Avenue NW
Edmonton, AB T5J1X8
View Larger Map

The Hat Resto Pub is conveniently located in the heart of Jasper Avenue, surrounded by world-class hotels & is walking distance from Shaw Conference Center & is two blocks from the future home of the Downtown Arena. It is Edmonton's oldest restaurant, established in 1912, making it more than a century old. For a very long time, it was known as The Silk Hat, a casual diner. It was next to The Paramount Theater & many Edmontonians have fond memories of going to the movies & then to The Silk Hat for burgers & milk shakes. Eventually the restaurant became known as The Hat Resto Pub. Currently the restaurant serves contemporary cuisine featuring different flavours. It also serves draft & bottled beer & many types of cocktails. It has earned a sterling reputation for top-notch food quality & service. Some must-trys include gourmet Prime Rib Burgers, Homemade Crabcakes, Artichoke & Spinach Dip, Butter Chicken, Panko-crusted Goat Cheese, Mussels cooked in wine, & wraps.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 11:00pm; Friday: 11:00am - 12:00am; Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
103 St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 429-4471

Website:
http://thehatonjasper.com/

Entertainment:
Contemporary music/songs; DJ; weekly live music.

Catering:
Office and business catering in downtown area.

Parking Details:
Street parking along Jasper Avenue and 103 St. Covered free parking is available on the main floor of Vinci Parking at 103 St.

Public Transit:
LRT and bus stops within walking distance along Jasper Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Mike

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Hat Resto Pub, Edmonton, AB
The Hat Resto Pub, Edmonton, AB

The Hat Resto Pub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Global, International
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Global, International
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

Great for Lunch (8)
Bar Seating (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
See All
Happy Hour (5)
Fun (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Casual (4)
Business Meals (3)
Cozy (3)
Authentic (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
150 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The HAT has a really nice long bar for p ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The HAT has a really nice long bar for people to drink and dine at. I sat at a booth with a friend for lunch. We both very much enjoyed our meals. I had a chicken fajita wrap with sweet potato fries which was delicious! I would definitely go back.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for cocktails, had a good selection ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Went for cocktails, had a good selection. Food was new and up to date. Got what you paid for. easy for a casual dinning or a good date night.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was good. The food was brought out promptly and we were never left unattended for too long without the waitress coming to check up on us. Overall great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Met a friend at The Hat for lunch. Food ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Met a friend at The Hat for lunch. Food quality was very good as experienced in the past. Service was attentive.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We went with a few friends for dinner an ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We went with a few friends for dinner and drinks before going to an escape room. I really like The Hat because the service and food is both consistently good. Unfortunately it was the first time I ever brought my husband there and his burger was stone cold when it was served. The waitress promptly removed it from the bill, so in the end I don't really have any complaints. I've probably been here at least a dozen times and that was the first time it ever happened. I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoy the variety every time I visit the ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Enjoy the variety every time I visit the Hat. Friendly place and good food.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed our meal at The Hat before go ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We enjoyed our meal at The Hat before going to Rogers Place. It was quick and very close to the arena. Would highly recommend it.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food is excellent. outstanding service. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 8, 2016

food is excellent. outstanding service. seating is somewhat uncomfortable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

This is the latest configuration of the ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 19, 2016

This is the latest configuration of the Silk Hat, what is thought to be Edmonton's oldest restaurant. It remains a favourite for many reasons, including the fare and the accommodating and polite staff, and escapes both the false friendliness and also the plague of snootiness infecting many restaurants.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food is great here however it can ta ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food is great here however it can take a really long time to get your food. The only way I have received my meal within a reasonable wait is when I pre-ordered food for everyone.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Nobody in the restaurant is a good sign ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Nobody in the restaurant is a good sign for bad food. Not recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Went for a quick dinner with a friend th ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Went for a quick dinner with a friend that loves burgers and we throughly enjoyed our meal! Food, service and atmosphere was great. Apreciated the selection of ciders at a reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great downtown Edmonton pub

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 20, 2016

The oldest pub in downtown Edmonton. Great ambiance, friendly and efficient service. Owner / manager came by a few times to make sure everything was good. Food is very good. Will definitely be back whenever we are in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Hat never disappoints! Great food an ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 13, 2016

The Hat never disappoints! Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Solid lunch

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 28, 2016

As always, thw food and service was excellent. Make sure to make a reservation or you are taking a chance at getting a table during lunch!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Comfortable friendly place treats customers well

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 22, 2016

I am a regular despite other places nearby that offer similar fare.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, unwelcoming atmosphere

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Booked for a party of 10. We were one of two parties in the entire restaurant. Server had a poor attitude; she wasn't rude or anything, but gave the impression she would rather be doing anything other than serving our quiet get together. We felt unwelcome, and wont be returning for any future gatherings.

Food came out in a timely manner, everything was fresh, and tasted decent. No complaints there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Good Enough

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 28, 2016

We went to The Hat because we were looking for something new and casual. While the vibe and the food was just about right, I was actually shocked at the bill even though we just had a few drinks and some appies. For what we got, I would expect to pay that level for a high end restaurant, so for that reason it's unlikely I'll go back. But it was still fun to try something new.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Great Food, Great Service!

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 26, 2016

Went for dinner at The Hat with some friends. Right from the moment we arrived, we were treated very well: our waitress was extremely welcoming, genuinely helpful, and very attentive to our table. The atmosphere was relaxed, and it was very easy to have a conversation at the table. They have a good beer selection for the size of the bar, and the food was delicious! Will definitely be returning.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Owner so nice, best waitress ever

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 14, 2016

All around perfect the owner even stopped by to say hello and introduce himself, the waitress was soooo nice, a teacher working partime. The chef who brought out our food as sooo nice kind and a big smile. Food was cooked perfectly, we will be back fore sure. We live a bit from downtown, but I am recommending it to anyone who needs a place for a quick delicious meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I had a hamburger and it really did not ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 14, 2016

I had a hamburger and it really did not much taste at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4

Has a quick snack before a downtown even ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Has a quick snack before a downtown event. Will go back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

I frequently attend The Hat. It is close ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 8, 2016

I frequently attend The Hat. It is close to my place of work, so you can catch me there for a great lunch, or a drink and snack after work. It's just an overall great hangout spot, with a great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Delicious Burgers!!

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 1, 2016

I absolutely love the burgers they make here! Service was okay - it was a Sunday evening so there was only 1 staff member present. She was a bit busy and the food took slightly longer then expected, but it was worth the wait! Just don't come starving - expect to wait a bit longer and have a bit of time to socialize with the group you came with.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Good place for a group to meet for food and drinks

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 15, 2016

Everyone was impressed with the size and taste of the burgers. Our server recommended cocktails for us based on our preferences. The Caesars were unique and delicious (can't go wrong with pickle and bacon). I wish the sides were a little more show stoping, but maybe I just haven't explored the menu enough.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great lunch!

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 23, 2015

Mike and his team did a great job as usual, thanks!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Classic and relaxed locale

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 17, 2015

I've been to the Hat a number of times since the ownership changes a few years back, and it's been a very solid go-to place. Great service, good food, and Mike (the owner) has stopped by my table on a few occasions to check-in on how we're doing. Really nice touches. Would recommend for a bit of a nicer bit still casual or relaxed pub location.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good but not great

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 27, 2015

Went for lunch to meet a friend.

The food was just OK and the noise level was fairly high so had to talk loudly to be heard.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great place, good food, good service!

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 25, 2015

It can get a little loud, but overal it's a great place to eat, with good food and good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Best hamburger in Edmonton

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 16, 2015

We had dinner at the restaurant before a theatre date. It was quiet as it was a Sunday evening. The hamburger meal we had was perfect. The meat was delicious and pure. The service was friendly and efficient. We would recommend this place for the best hamburger in town and will be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointing!

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 2, 2015

Went on Sunday at 6pm. No diners except us for the hour we were there. Food was not very good and prices high for quality. Tried the "signature" fish and chips. The batter was soggy and 1 portion the fish was not cooked well. Fries were ordinary or less than. My husband had the beef dip which wasn't too bad, but the soup was very watery. Waitress was pleasant and felt sorry for her with it being so "slow". First and last time visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Amazing menu - wish I had room to have e ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 9, 2015

Amazing menu - wish I had room to have everything on it! However, they were out of raspberry vodka and couldn't make the only drink I wanted and the service is very slow. Still...amazing food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

lunch

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 29, 2015

good lunch spot. a bit on the pricey side. Noise level is good by the door.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Excellent Service

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 9, 2015

I had a business meeting that I wanted to have away from my work and I was impressed with how easy it was to make an online reservation. As well, I was pleased when I entered The Hat that they immediately knew I was the one with a reservation and they showed me to a private table. The service was excellent in that the server was there when we needed him but he never interrupted our conversation. The meals we ordered were nicely presented and were made just they way both of had asked.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I love this place. It's always a wonderful!

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 9, 2015

This place always has amazing service, excellent food and overall it is a wonderful place to go and have lunch. If I could I would eat here every day.

The Canadian burger is by far my favorite thing on the menu. I've tried other things as well and they're all excellent. I would highly recommend The Hat to anyone that is looking for an amazing dinner, awesome lunch or just overall looking for a wonderful place downtown to eat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, good drinks, good time!

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 16, 2015

I went to The Hat for my 30th birthday with a group of friends. The service was outstanding. Our waitress was friendly and was constantly filling our drinks. The food and drinks were good! We ordered a bunch of appetizers to share and the goat cheese was especially delicious.. Also, Saturday night is $10 off bottles of wine making for VERY reasonable prices! After dinner, I received a complimentary dessert and bottle of champagne to share with my friends! This was an amazing touch to end a great night!

This was my first time at The Hat and I will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My absolute favourite

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 12, 2015

I love the Hat, anytime it's my turn to choose the restaurant it's my first choice.

This reso was for my birthday and it was excellent as ever. The food, the service, the venue - all tip top notch. I love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Relaxed lunch

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 23, 2015

What a great place for lunch! Service was terrific, food was good. We found it relaxing as we had a reservation and were there for a long lunch! Never felt rushed .... Enjoyed it as much as the first time I rediscovered it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Hidden Gem

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 23, 2015

This place is so cool inside, the food is DELISH and the presentation of it is amazing. The 'this little piggy caesar' is a MUST try. We will def be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A colleague and I went for a birthday lu ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 21, 2015

A colleague and I went for a birthday lunch. It was relaxed and easy to focus on our conversation.

I had spinach salad with grilled salmon and it was delicious. I was very satisfied with my portion too. My dining partner liked his burger: one with blue cheese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.