Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About The Hat Resto Pub

The Hat Resto Pub is conveniently located in the heart of Jasper Avenue, surrounded by world-class hotels & is walking distance from Shaw Conference Center & is two blocks from the future home of the Downtown Arena. It is Edmonton's oldest restaurant, established in 1912, making it more than a century old. For a very long time, it was known as The Silk Hat, a casual diner. It was next to The Paramount Theater & many Edmontonians have fond memories of going to the movies & then to The Silk Hat for burgers & milk shakes. Eventually the restaurant became known as The Hat Resto Pub. Currently the restaurant serves contemporary cuisine featuring different flavours. It also serves draft & bottled beer & many types of cocktails. It has earned a sterling reputation for top-notch food quality & service. Some must-trys include gourmet Prime Rib Burgers, Homemade Crabcakes, Artichoke & Spinach Dip, Butter Chicken, Panko-crusted Goat Cheese, Mussels cooked in wine, & wraps.

10251 Jasper Avenue NW
Edmonton, AB T5J1X8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 11:00pm; Friday: 11:00am - 12:00am; Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
103 St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 429-4471

Website:
http://thehatonjasper.com/

Entertainment:
Contemporary music/songs; DJ; weekly live music.

Catering:
Office and business catering in downtown area.

Parking Details:
Street parking along Jasper Avenue and 103 St. Covered free parking is available on the main floor of Vinci Parking at 103 St.

Public Transit:
LRT and bus stops within walking distance along Jasper Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Mike

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wine

The Hat Resto Pub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

3.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Business Meals (4)
See All
Bar Seating (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great Beer (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Authentic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
174 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Great historical pub, Hostess and manager's hospitality was awesome! Drinks were cold, food was very tasty, and a good time was had by all... not overly noisy like a lot of places, so easy to have good conversations!

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Took my mother here while she was in town. She used to frequent "The Silk Hat" in the late 50's and I thought it would be fun. It was a slow night as we were about the only people there. Service was excellent! One hiccup was the seriously under-ripe avocado in my moms salad. It would have had to been cut with a cleaver so I'm not sure how it ended up on a plate. The manager comped a dessert for the avocado. Thank you.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I have never been here and I decided to try it out. We were going downtown to the fireworks and wanted something casual and affordable. This was so good on so many levels. Our service was great, the food was delicious and the price was so reasonable. The owner even offered to make us some free pouting for coming in. He was so welcoming to everyone and gave us a little history on it. We all agreed we would return!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Fun, Casual, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Excellent service, great ambience and diverse menu!

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We were there for my birthday and the service we received was amazing I would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Very good food and service - would recommend - we went before a concert at Rogers Place -

Tags: Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great place to have a couple drinks and some food, good location and not too busy or loud.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Not informed of a private party taking up over half the lounge, when we made the reservation or arrived.
Waited over 5mins for a server to take us to our reserved table, than took over 10minutes for her to return with menus and to take our beverage order.
When we asked another waitress for menus, she said she has a 75person group and can't help us. Very poor attitude & service.

Drink & food took way too long once ordered. Had to order multiple drinks at once in order to not let them run dry.

Food order took almost an hour to receive, but was good expect the salads.

They need to hire more wait staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Had the sirloin with goat cheese salad again. It was prepared well and met expectations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Jodi is a great server and the food is always as ordered, hot and in a timely fashion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Good fast service prior to a concert downtown. Tasty food and fairly priced drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 22, 2017

I love The Hat. And not just because it's the old Silk Hat restaurant on Jasper Avenue, with that original neon sign hanging on the wall. The food is well made (no fillers in the burgers, marinated chicken in the chicken burger) with a great selection - salads, soups and pasta too. There's a nice selection of cocktails and beers too. It's perfect for dinner before Oilers games; we go there for dinner and then walk to the game.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 16, 2017

3 out of 4 loved their meals. 1 was a bit disappointed. They were very busy due to DDW, but seemed to handle it well.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We also enjoyed the cheesecake dessert!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 14, 2017

For an extra $3 I'd expect more fries. No idea why extra when different fries same price ala carte. Both table next to us and we were sharing a burger. Theirs came cut in half, ours not! Why can't they split it and bring two plates? For $20 the burger should be extraordinary not just oksy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had business to discuss at a pre-game meal & it was perfect. Everthing was great - casual setting & the food excellent (the California chicken burger was amazing). Very pleasantly surprised & will return again soon. I also appreciated our server seemed to know when we in the middle of a conversation that was better "not interrupted". Thank you!!!! That alone - combined with great food made the overall experience excellent !

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Our server, kristin, was amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great Burgers!! Came for a pre-hockey game meal. Good food and service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The food, service, and atmosphere were great. I will go back

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Hummm yummy delicious food! Will definitely recommend =)

Tags: Outstanding Value, Healthy, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The HAT has a really nice long bar for people to drink and dine at. I sat at a booth with a friend for lunch. We both very much enjoyed our meals. I had a chicken fajita wrap with sweet potato fries which was delicious! I would definitely go back.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Went for cocktails, had a good selection. Food was new and up to date. Got what you paid for. easy for a casual dinning or a good date night.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was good. The food was brought out promptly and we were never left unattended for too long without the waitress coming to check up on us. Overall great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The Hat is my go-to before Oiler games. The food is fairly run of the mill pub style fare, however it is done well. The burgers are a notch above as well.
Service is nearly flawless every time.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Met a friend at The Hat for lunch. Food quality was very good as experienced in the past. Service was attentive.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We went with a few friends for dinner and drinks before going to an escape room. I really like The Hat because the service and food is both consistently good. Unfortunately it was the first time I ever brought my husband there and his burger was stone cold when it was served. The waitress promptly removed it from the bill, so in the end I don't really have any complaints. I've probably been here at least a dozen times and that was the first time it ever happened. I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Enjoy the variety every time I visit the Hat. Friendly place and good food.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We enjoyed our meal at The Hat before going to Rogers Place. It was quick and very close to the arena. Would highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 15, 2016

This was a good time and a great place to get together and chat. i would go back anytime, great service and good food!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 8, 2016

food is excellent. outstanding service. seating is somewhat uncomfortable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 19, 2016

This is the latest configuration of the Silk Hat, what is thought to be Edmonton's oldest restaurant. It remains a favourite for many reasons, including the fare and the accommodating and polite staff, and escapes both the false friendliness and also the plague of snootiness infecting many restaurants.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food is great here however it can take a really long time to get your food. The only way I have received my meal within a reasonable wait is when I pre-ordered food for everyone.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Nobody in the restaurant is a good sign for bad food. Not recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Went for a quick dinner with a friend that loves burgers and we throughly enjoyed our meal! Food, service and atmosphere was great. Apreciated the selection of ciders at a reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 20, 2016

The oldest pub in downtown Edmonton. Great ambiance, friendly and efficient service. Owner / manager came by a few times to make sure everything was good. Food is very good. Will definitely be back whenever we are in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 13, 2016

The Hat never disappoints! Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 28, 2016

As always, thw food and service was excellent. Make sure to make a reservation or you are taking a chance at getting a table during lunch!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 22, 2016

I am a regular despite other places nearby that offer similar fare.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 25, 2016

Booked for a party of 10. We were one of two parties in the entire restaurant. Server had a poor attitude; she wasn't rude or anything, but gave the impression she would rather be doing anything other than serving our quiet get together. We felt unwelcome, and wont be returning for any future gatherings.
Food came out in a timely manner, everything was fresh, and tasted decent. No complaints there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 27, 2016

We went to The Hat because we were looking for something new and casual. While the vibe and the food was just about right, I was actually shocked at the bill even though we just had a few drinks and some appies. For what we got, I would expect to pay that level for a high end restaurant, so for that reason it's unlikely I'll go back. But it was still fun to try something new.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.