About The Harvest Grill at Shelton Vineyards

230 Cabernet Lane
Dobson, NC 27017
View Larger Map

A High End Comfort Food Restaurant in the Yadkin Valley, North Carolina Wine Country. Featuring a seasonal menu reflecting all thats good, fresh and local whenever possible paired with Award winning wines in a vineyard setting. Open year round serving lunch everyday and dinner Monday thru Saturday!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Brunch:
Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:30pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 6:00pm (5:00pm DST)

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
none

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 366-3590

Website:
http://www.sheltonvineyards.com/harvest-grill

Parking Details:
Plenty of available parking

Executive Chef:
Paul S. Lange

Private Party Contact:
Lisa Farmer: 3363663590

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

The Harvest Grill at Shelton Vineyards Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Ambiance
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Value
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
12 More
Great for Lunch
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Notable Wine List
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Romantic
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Special Occasion
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Winston Salem
Best Food
Winston Salem
Best Service
Winston Salem
Best Ambiance
Winston Salem
Best Value
Winston Salem
Fit for Foodies
Winston Salem
Special Occasion
Winston Salem
Most Booked
Winston Salem
Best Restaurants in Dobson ›

special occasion (78)
scenic view (72)
romantic (58)
See All
fit for foodies (53)
notable wine list (46)
great for lunch (46)
good for groups (39)
great for brunch (30)
neighborhood gem (23)
kid-friendly (13)
great for outdoor dining (8)
hot spot (4)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
278 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

What a delightful find just off of I77. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

What a delightful find just off of I77. It was the perfect break for my 9 hour drive from SC to northern VA. The food was fresh and delicious. I had the special; a Cajun Crab & Shrimp over julienne veggies with a lemon turmeric sauce. And my waitress, Nicki, recommended the donut holes with blackberry preserves & lemon curd for desert. I was very pleased with their Sauvignon Blanc and brought a bottle home. Lovely vineyard & winery with a jewel of an onsite restaurant as a bonus and just minutes off of the Interstate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu has a wide variety of options a ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The menu has a wide variety of options and the service is always great. A very peaceful sstting.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome night and the food and venue are ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Awesome night and the food and venue are PERFECT. We enjoyed the quiet atmosphere and looking out over the vineyard. The blackened catfish was the best I ever had and my wife's filet was outstanding. The 259 wine was wonderful. You HAVE to go there! Be prepared, its pricey, but you will not be disappointed.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Megan took very good care of use, while ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Megan took very good care of use, while give us room to really enjoy each other in our time together

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to see a 7pm concert at Shelton Vin ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Went to see a 7pm concert at Shelton Vineyard. We arrived for our 6pm reservation but not seated until 6:30... and only half of the restaurant was full. Nobody noticed that we were at our table for a full 10 minutes and our heads were on a swivel trying to get somebody's attention to get our order in so we could make the show... the food did arrive and it was "myeh". We were not impressed overall with how things were managed.

What makes up for The Harvest Grill are the vineyard and its beautiful grounds. I wouldn't come back, though, to eat.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

A bit disappointing this time. We've be ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

A bit disappointing this time. We've been many times including Chef's Table, but food wasn't as good and menu seemed limited this time.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Farm to table food at its finest...uniqu ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Farm to table food at its finest...unique tastes that did not disappoint...the restaurant is in a bit of an obscure location, although wonderful setting, but it is worth the drive fro Winston-Salem, Statesville, even Hickory or Greensboro as a treat/special dinner, etc. make a day of it and visit Shelton Vineyards, which is there in same location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Courteous Staff. The Server and the Che ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Courteous Staff. The Server and the Chef were very accommodating and knowledgeable of my food allergies. Food was SCRUMPTIOUS!! 5 STAR SERVICE.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The sides are not to my liking, the Grit ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The sides are not to my liking, the Grits were good, but the Bean salad was a cold black beans and lacked taste

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

DELICIOUS!! MY SECOND TIME AND BETTER T ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

DELICIOUS!! MY SECOND TIME AND BETTER THAN THE LAST.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very pleasantly surprised at the ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We were very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food, service, and the atmosphere. We were two couples that where on a wine weekend get-a-way and made last minute reservations on July 4th. Having been to Sheldon before, we were familiar with winery and just took a shot in the dark on Harvest Grill since we were out and looking for something. What a great find. We will be back.

Once you get your fill in the restaurant, we recommend taking a few laps around the nearby pond. Nice place to walk and talk to that someone special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to this restaurant when we are tra ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We go to this restaurant when we are traveling through the area. We live about four hours away. It has always been a great stop! Excellent food and wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food! And Nicki, the server, w ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Wonderful food! And Nicki, the server, was so friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is cozy, and all three of us want to go back again. The grounds are spectacular, with all sorts of places to sit and enjoy a glass of wine. We also did some shopping at the tasting room before we drove home. Great and memorable experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Sunday brunch was delicious. A little s ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Sunday brunch was delicious. A little something for everyone!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an excellent meal, great service. ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had an excellent meal, great service. Our waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable in the wines and her recommendation was wonderful! Would highly recommend Harvest Grill and will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The crab cake brunch entree says low cou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The crab cake brunch entree says low country but has none of that spicy, filler, under-crabbed taste. The initial aroma when the plate was set down was fresh crab. The corn onion chutney/sauce tasted savory and warm with herbs, not overly sweet or tangy with onion. White cheddar grits, creamy and not too cheesy! Everything complimented the dish to eat on one fork as the perfect bite. Oh yeah, and topped with perfectly cooked overeasy egg! The shrimp on my husband's plate was large and warmly spiced and so tender on white cheddar grits. The burger my daughter ordered was reasonably priced and came on an egg knot roll with yummy toppings.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an excellent find on our trip to th ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

What an excellent find on our trip to the Mt Airy area. The menu is simple but the food was excellent. I went with the pork chop with summer vegetables and succotash -- delicious! My wife tried the special which was mahi mahi with the same summer vegetables -- loved it. No alcohol so you're left with just their wines but I really enjoyed the reserve chardonnay and my wife was very happy with the sauvignon blanc. Service was outstanding. Can't say enough good things about The Harvest Grill -- only wish it wasn't so far away; but we'll certainly be back on future trips to that area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location with views of the vineyar ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great location with views of the vineyard. The food was very good and the service was efficient and friendly. A great place to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites. The food is always ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

One of our favorites. The food is always new, different and delicious. The ambience and view couldn't be much better.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have loved the Harvest Grill since it ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We have loved the Harvest Grill since it opened at Shelton Vineyards years ago. We are NEVER disappointed in the menu (it changes each season.) The service is superb and the food is even better. You can ask for wine pairings and they are spot on with the menu. The "porch" view offers an outdoor dining feel in the comfort of air conditioning or heat. One of our faves!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Harvest ruined a special occasion. Went ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Harvest ruined a special occasion. Went there after being assured that there would be several gluten free meals. Arrived to see that there was one gluten free choice in each category. No options. Also told that the menu was just new today. SATURDAY NIGHT? Strange day to introduce a new menu. AND because it was new the wait staff advised that everything would be slow. Finally got the chef to provide a gluten free salmon but it was waaaay over cooked. Also ordered the pork tacos very dry and not tasty. Finally ordered the ribs which were recommended. They were basically pork jerky dry and tasteless. The waitress tried but by then the evening was ruined. BTW the "new" menu was not interesting at all. It had no seasonal spring/summer dishes or anything that appeared to be creative. Not what we expected from the best restaurant in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

We were at the Shelton for the weekend , ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We were at the Shelton for the weekend , including the Saturday night concert. We chose to have dinner Friday night so as not to rush. The dinner was superb. I had the gazpacho and the cornmeal crusted crab cakes , topped with shrimp. It was a delightful surprise to find shrimp in my soup! The fork to fin was an outstanding choice. We had the Sauvignon Blanc, a wonderful pairing with the crab cakes. The other members of my party had the fin to fork and the salmon Oscar .

We were not rushed at any time. Our waiter was thoughtful, helpful. We had not room for dessert, but the choices looked great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed a wonderful dinner on our 50th w ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful dinner on our 50th wedding anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent as always

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Another wonderful dinner at Harvest Grill. Duck was absolutely wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always reliably good

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

It's always a pleasure to visit Shelton. The relaxed quality of the vineyard and reliable hands in the kitchen always make an enjoyable experience. Last week's pork sliders were very good but almost too much of a good thing. I'm not sure extra bacon on pork is needed - it's gilding the lily. But, my, it was tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful vineyard

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Lunch with ladies to celebrate a birthday...it was a delightful afternoon we will all treasure and remember. What's not to like???? It was beautiful weather, we drove to Dobson and enjoyed the scenery on the way out, had a table with a view overlooking the vineyard, our birthday girl started out her meal with a belini and one lady in our group had a wine fleet. By the time the lunch came, we were in pleasant conversation discussing past trips and also trips coming up. Our waitress was attentive and our food was perfect. Two of us had the crab cake sandwich and the other two had the Cesar salad. Lovely day and we all hope to go back soon.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful spot and meal

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My wife and I stopped in Dobson, NC on our way home from vacation. We had heard from friends about the Harvest Grill, and decided to try it. We now regret not visiting the Harvest Grill more often during our trips through NC. The location of the restaurant is fantastic and the environment is very pleasant; not crowded and noisy like some restaurants can be. Our meals were excellent, as was the service. We did not do the wine flight, but enjoyed some Shelton Vineyard Cabernet. Harvest Grill is worth the stop off of Route 77. You will not be disappointed. We will be back, hopefully, soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Dinner

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The food , service and overall ambiance was great. We always enjoyed on our way going south.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful! Absolutely wonderful! As the ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Wonderful! Absolutely wonderful! As the Michelin Guide would put it, "worth a detour"!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Harvest Grill

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We spent two nights at the Hampton Inn nearby. We decided to dine at the Harvest Grill as a small group. We had a great dinner. The soup of the day (pepper/tomato) was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While traveling it is hard to find a goo ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

While traveling it is hard to find a good restaurant near the interstate. Havest Grill is right off the interstate and next to Shelton winery. Our favorite stop between Florida and Pennsylvania

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was ok not what we had had pas ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

The meal was ok not what we had had past Four must had been a bad night we love the restaurant and the food but this time not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Just wonderful food and ambience.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Just wonderful food and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The entire experience is perfect; from t ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The entire experience is perfect; from the view of the vineyard, to the knowledge and friendliness of the staff. A wonder relaxing dining experience. A must place to dine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Met up with friends for a fun cabin week ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Met up with friends for a fun cabin weekend and decided to kick it off with a tasting at Shelton followed by dinner. The staff is amazing and the food is fantastic ( their homemade cheese spreads are not to be missed!). We all had a wonderful time and will be back again next year :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and desserts

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The restaurant featured a nice setting and delicious sounding menu. The service was not great, but okay. I felt the hostess/wait staff could have been better trained. Our main dishes were presented by the chef, which was an outstanding touch! The desserts are all made in house and all of them sounded great. I felt the prices overall were a little high.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We love Harvest Grill

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Harvest Grill is one of our favorite spots in Surry County for dinner. Food is great and they have a great wait staff! Wine is delicioius too!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Harvest Grill

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Great food and great service. Shelton's is a great place to visit and dine.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service and food was terrible. Will not ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Service and food was terrible. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Excellent Everything

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Saturday evening dinner and wait staff (Adrienne) were both excellent. Adrienne was the warmest and most friendly waitress we have ever had at HG. Fin and Fork (lobster) was delicious and blackberry lemonade was a hit among us 3 ladies. We will be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.