About The Harvest Grill at Shelton Vineyards

230 Cabernet Lane
Dobson, NC 27017
View Larger Map

A High End Comfort Food Restaurant in the Yadkin Valley, North Carolina Wine Country. Featuring a seasonal menu reflecting all thats good, fresh and local whenever possible paired with Award winning wines in a vineyard setting. Open year round serving lunch everyday and dinner Monday thru Saturday!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Brunch:
Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:30pm
Sunday: 11:00am - 6:00pm (5:00pm DST)

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
none

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 366-3590

Website:
http://www.sheltonvineyards.com/harvest-grill

Parking Details:
Plenty of available parking

Executive Chef:
Paul S. Lange

Private Party Contact:
Lisa Farmer: 3363663590

Additional:
Banquet, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Harvest Grill at Shelton Vineyards Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Food
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Ambiance
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
13 More
Best Value
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Fit for Foodies
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Great for Lunch
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Romantic
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Special Occasion
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Winston Salem
Best Food
Winston Salem
Best Service
Winston Salem
Best Ambiance
Winston Salem
Best Value
Winston Salem
Fit for Foodies
Winston Salem
Special Occasion
Winston Salem
Most Booked
Winston Salem
Best Restaurants in Dobson ›

Scenic View (67)
Special Occasion (66)
Romantic (49)
See All
Fit for Foodies (45)
Notable Wine List (44)
Great for Lunch (40)
Good for Groups (32)
Great for Brunch (25)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
293 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We make a point to stop here on our trek ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

We make a point to stop here on our trek from Vermont to SC. Truly a wonderful dining experience . Food and service is consistently spot on. A highlight on our road trips!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our recent visit to the Harvest Grill wa ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our recent visit to the Harvest Grill was fabulous as usual. I highly recommend it for the food, service, and wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a party of 10 and weren't the onl ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a party of 10 and weren't the only large party in the restaurant, and the servers rotated amongst tables and did an exceptional job! We had one in our party with an overlooked filet, and they promptly returned it to the kitchen. Her replacement filet was brought to the table by the chef herself and was cooked perfectly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The salmon special on Saturday August 20 ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

The salmon special on Saturday August 20th was outstanding. Banana desert was a must- do. I usually don't order desert. Keep up the good work ! Bill S.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall a great experience. We were bro ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 6 days ago

Overall a great experience. We were brought the wrong eentre and when the correct one came out it was over cooked. Loved the atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Always fresh, creative and delicious ite ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Always fresh, creative and delicious items to choose from...plus excellent Shelton wines. Fantastic friendly and professional service. Thanks Peggy!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fabulous!!!

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Everything was fabulous!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We found the food to be outstanding. Ser ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We found the food to be outstanding. Service was great and we would definitely go back.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Interesting location and great Shelton s ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Interesting location and great Shelton selections. The menu is limited and the charcuterie was unsophisticated. I was expecting more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Our waitress was young and apparently in ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our waitress was young and apparently inexperienced. She was very inattentive to our table, and we waited a LONG time for her to return to our table. She promised to bring pashminas to the ladies at the table, who were all cold, due to the a/c. She never provided them, but continued to wait on a larger table. We informed the manager on duty, Frances, who was most apologetic and accommodating. She expedited the food, and did her best to make us feel that our satisfaction was of utmost importance to her. As a final means of keeping our continued business, she announced that they would pick up the tab for our brunch and wine. She is an asset to Shelton Vineyards, and we WILL return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Very busy at one PM and only two wait st ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Very busy at one PM and only two wait staff, but they were able to take care of most people's need. The food was great as usual but menu was different than posted on this site. There were two groups dining so the noise level was higher than normal but in the tolerable range. Overall, an enjoyable lunch experience. The wine was great!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

From our town, this is a destination res ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

From our town, this is a destination restaurant. I know I will always have a good meal, sometimes a great meal. The chef does a great job of putting together complimentary flavors in just about everything

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful setting and delicious food and ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Beautiful setting and delicious food and, of course,outstanding wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was a unique blend of flavors t ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was a unique blend of flavors that was prepared to perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We treated our son and his girl to their ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We treated our son and his girl to their first dinner at a winery. Could not have been more pleased with the Harvest Grill. Not many of the wineries around this part of the state are open for dinner, so we were so pleased to find one that had such an exceptional kitchen. We chose a wine pairing with our dinner and the waiter was very knowledgable without trying to promote.

After dinner we took a walk around the lake. Very peaceful.

As we left, the kids were talking about when they could come back on their own.

Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a delightful find just off of I77. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

What a delightful find just off of I77. It was the perfect break for my 9 hour drive from SC to northern VA. The food was fresh and delicious. I had the special; a Cajun Crab & Shrimp over julienne veggies with a lemon turmeric sauce. And my waitress, Nicki, recommended the donut holes with blackberry preserves & lemon curd for desert. I was very pleased with their Sauvignon Blanc and brought a bottle home. Lovely vineyard & winery with a jewel of an onsite restaurant as a bonus and just minutes off of the Interstate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu has a wide variety of options a ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The menu has a wide variety of options and the service is always great. A very peaceful sstting.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome night and the food and venue are ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Awesome night and the food and venue are PERFECT. We enjoyed the quiet atmosphere and looking out over the vineyard. The blackened catfish was the best I ever had and my wife's filet was outstanding. The 259 wine was wonderful. You HAVE to go there! Be prepared, its pricey, but you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Megan took very good care of use, while ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Megan took very good care of use, while give us room to really enjoy each other in our time together

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to see a 7pm concert at Shelton Vin ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Went to see a 7pm concert at Shelton Vineyard. We arrived for our 6pm reservation but not seated until 6:30... and only half of the restaurant was full. Nobody noticed that we were at our table for a full 10 minutes and our heads were on a swivel trying to get somebody's attention to get our order in so we could make the show... the food did arrive and it was "myeh". We were not impressed overall with how things were managed.

What makes up for The Harvest Grill are the vineyard and its beautiful grounds. I wouldn't come back, though, to eat.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

A bit disappointing this time. We've be ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

A bit disappointing this time. We've been many times including Chef's Table, but food wasn't as good and menu seemed limited this time.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Farm to table food at its finest...uniqu ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Farm to table food at its finest...unique tastes that did not disappoint...the restaurant is in a bit of an obscure location, although wonderful setting, but it is worth the drive fro Winston-Salem, Statesville, even Hickory or Greensboro as a treat/special dinner, etc. make a day of it and visit Shelton Vineyards, which is there in same location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Courteous Staff. The Server and the Che ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Courteous Staff. The Server and the Chef were very accommodating and knowledgeable of my food allergies. Food was SCRUMPTIOUS!! 5 STAR SERVICE.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The sides are not to my liking, the Grit ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The sides are not to my liking, the Grits were good, but the Bean salad was a cold black beans and lacked taste

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

DELICIOUS!! MY SECOND TIME AND BETTER T ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

DELICIOUS!! MY SECOND TIME AND BETTER THAN THE LAST.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very pleasantly surprised at the ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We were very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food, service, and the atmosphere. We were two couples that where on a wine weekend get-a-way and made last minute reservations on July 4th. Having been to Sheldon before, we were familiar with winery and just took a shot in the dark on Harvest Grill since we were out and looking for something. What a great find. We will be back.

Once you get your fill in the restaurant, we recommend taking a few laps around the nearby pond. Nice place to walk and talk to that someone special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to this restaurant when we are tra ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We go to this restaurant when we are traveling through the area. We live about four hours away. It has always been a great stop! Excellent food and wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food! And Nicki, the server, w ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Wonderful food! And Nicki, the server, was so friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is cozy, and all three of us want to go back again. The grounds are spectacular, with all sorts of places to sit and enjoy a glass of wine. We also did some shopping at the tasting room before we drove home. Great and memorable experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Sunday brunch was delicious. A little s ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Sunday brunch was delicious. A little something for everyone!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an excellent meal, great service. ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had an excellent meal, great service. Our waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable in the wines and her recommendation was wonderful! Would highly recommend Harvest Grill and will definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The crab cake brunch entree says low cou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The crab cake brunch entree says low country but has none of that spicy, filler, under-crabbed taste. The initial aroma when the plate was set down was fresh crab. The corn onion chutney/sauce tasted savory and warm with herbs, not overly sweet or tangy with onion. White cheddar grits, creamy and not too cheesy! Everything complimented the dish to eat on one fork as the perfect bite. Oh yeah, and topped with perfectly cooked overeasy egg! The shrimp on my husband's plate was large and warmly spiced and so tender on white cheddar grits. The burger my daughter ordered was reasonably priced and came on an egg knot roll with yummy toppings.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an excellent find on our trip to th ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

What an excellent find on our trip to the Mt Airy area. The menu is simple but the food was excellent. I went with the pork chop with summer vegetables and succotash -- delicious! My wife tried the special which was mahi mahi with the same summer vegetables -- loved it. No alcohol so you're left with just their wines but I really enjoyed the reserve chardonnay and my wife was very happy with the sauvignon blanc. Service was outstanding. Can't say enough good things about The Harvest Grill -- only wish it wasn't so far away; but we'll certainly be back on future trips to that area.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location with views of the vineyar ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great location with views of the vineyard. The food was very good and the service was efficient and friendly. A great place to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites. The food is always ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

One of our favorites. The food is always new, different and delicious. The ambience and view couldn't be much better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have loved the Harvest Grill since it ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We have loved the Harvest Grill since it opened at Shelton Vineyards years ago. We are NEVER disappointed in the menu (it changes each season.) The service is superb and the food is even better. You can ask for wine pairings and they are spot on with the menu. The "porch" view offers an outdoor dining feel in the comfort of air conditioning or heat. One of our faves!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Harvest ruined a special occasion. Went ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Harvest ruined a special occasion. Went there after being assured that there would be several gluten free meals. Arrived to see that there was one gluten free choice in each category. No options. Also told that the menu was just new today. SATURDAY NIGHT? Strange day to introduce a new menu. AND because it was new the wait staff advised that everything would be slow. Finally got the chef to provide a gluten free salmon but it was waaaay over cooked. Also ordered the pork tacos very dry and not tasty. Finally ordered the ribs which were recommended. They were basically pork jerky dry and tasteless. The waitress tried but by then the evening was ruined. BTW the "new" menu was not interesting at all. It had no seasonal spring/summer dishes or anything that appeared to be creative. Not what we expected from the best restaurant in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

We were at the Shelton for the weekend , ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We were at the Shelton for the weekend , including the Saturday night concert. We chose to have dinner Friday night so as not to rush. The dinner was superb. I had the gazpacho and the cornmeal crusted crab cakes , topped with shrimp. It was a delightful surprise to find shrimp in my soup! The fork to fin was an outstanding choice. We had the Sauvignon Blanc, a wonderful pairing with the crab cakes. The other members of my party had the fin to fork and the salmon Oscar .

We were not rushed at any time. Our waiter was thoughtful, helpful. We had not room for dessert, but the choices looked great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed a wonderful dinner on our 50th w ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful dinner on our 50th wedding anniversary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent as always

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Another wonderful dinner at Harvest Grill. Duck was absolutely wonderful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always reliably good

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

It's always a pleasure to visit Shelton. The relaxed quality of the vineyard and reliable hands in the kitchen always make an enjoyable experience. Last week's pork sliders were very good but almost too much of a good thing. I'm not sure extra bacon on pork is needed - it's gilding the lily. But, my, it was tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.