About The Harvest Grill at Shelton Vineyards

230 Cabernet Lane
Dobson, NC 27017
View Larger Map

A High End Comfort Food Restaurant in the Yadkin Valley, North Carolina Wine Country. Featuring a seasonal menu reflecting all thats good, fresh and local whenever possible paired with Award winning wines in a vineyard setting. Open year round serving lunch everyday and dinner Monday thru Saturday!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Brunch:

Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm


Lunch:

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:30pm

Sunday: 11:00am - 6:00pm (5:00pm DST)


Dinner:

Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
none

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 366-3590

Website:
http://www.sheltonvineyards.com/harvest-grill

Parking Details:
Plenty of available parking

Executive Chef:
Paul S. Lange

Private Party Contact:
Paul Lange: (336) 366-3590

Additional:
Banquet, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Harvest Grill at Shelton Vineyards Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Worth the Drive (24)
Special Occasion (20)
Fireplace (20)
See All
Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Good for a Date (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Scenic View (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Great for Lunch (12)
Casual (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Romantic (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Cozy (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Business Meals (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Seasonal (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Authentic (4)
Fun (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Historic (2)
Organic (2)
Healthy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
367 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

This was my third time at this place. First time for lunch. I did the wine tasting with the cheese and it did not disappoint. The wines matched very well with the cheeses. I also had a caesar salad and a glass of white wine (bin chardonnay). Adrienne was a great server. I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Historic, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This restaraunt is definitely worth a drive; it's nestled in a beautiful winery where you can take a nice before or after meal stroll.

The staff are genuinely nice and helpful. The good is always amazing and don't forget dessert!

We will most certainly return.

Tags: Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We've been to the Harvest Grill many times and it's always wonderful. We love the Shelton Vineyard wines and the service is always great. The meals area always fabulous and delicious.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went for Valentine's Day. The service and the food were outstanding.

If there was anything to complain about, it would be that the restaurant does not sell beer.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Understanding that on Valentines Day there may be more diners than usual but our waitress was inattentive at best. We waited for her then waited for water and had to ask another staff person about our bread. Finally we ordered our meal and after it arrived she was more attentive . We understood they were booked for this evening but another waiter would have helpful

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We dined at Harvest Grill on Feb. 13. To avoid the business of the 14th. The salmon and rice with baby carrots (small plate) was just enough. My husband is not a fan of bleu cheese so they accommodated his request and prepared the steak plain. All the food was perfect. Our waitress was good at serving us but mostly "all business". I will definitely return in the daylight hours to see the whole property.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Kim was great , enjoyed the wine and atmosphere was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We had an outstanding experience here. The food was delicious and the options wide-ranging. Peggy, our server, was wonderful and did an outstanding job pacing our appetizer, salad, and meal. We didn't have room for a dessert, sad, as they sounded wonderful. This will become our new go-to place for quality atmosphere, delicious food, and sophisticated yet warm ambiance.

Deborah Van Etten

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Scenic View, Fun, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fireplace, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Room we were in was a bit cold and metal chairs were very cold to sit in. Server was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

A delightful place. Great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Always enjoy coming here- good food , wine and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Saturday late lunch and Sunday brunch. This is one of our go to places for rest, quiet, and an amazing menu. Told my wife this is the only restaurant on the planet where I eat my Brussels sprouts! Don't hesitate ordering from the dessert menu as they have a chef on staff just for dessert! You can walk it off on the grounds of Shelton Vinyard and the wine is an unexpected treat. Make the trip.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Historic, Seasonal, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Organic, Scenic View, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Consistent delicious food. Exceptional wait staff who are knowledgable about the menu, wines, and area vineyards no just Shelton Vineyards , which is also great.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The Harvest Grill has no upscale competition for 45 miles and that provides a monopolistic advantage. On New Years Eve, our server was wonderful. However, our meal was less so. Our shrimp bisque seemed flat as if it were not prepared with a shrimp base. The crab cake had little flavor and no lump crab meat. Grilled shrimp tasted and felt like they had been soaked in fresh water. The olive oil served with the salad was not fresh. Lamb chops and accompanying sweet potatoes were overly seasoned; the replacement mashed potatoes were not edible because of salt. The lamb chops were requested well done. They were cooked with the same intensity as if they were to be medium rare resulting in charred chops. The complimentary creme brulee was warm and not firm. This is a great restaurant if you plan on drinking too much and using the complimentary shuttle to the nearby Hampton Inn.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 30, 2016

First time visit warrants return. Few hiccups in service ( wrong salads to several people kept that a f 4 star

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Had lunch here previously. Dinner just as good, busy night but service was good.

Food great.

You need to try their red wines, surprisingly good

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Family get together prior to Christmas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Our company decided to have a lunch to celebrate the holidays this year. It was an easy decision to choose The Harvest Grill. The food was delicious and the ambiance was great. I rated the noise level as moderate because there were other companies having lunch just like us so there were several large groups in the dining area but still very pleasant. We will definitely consider The Harvest Grill for our holiday lunch in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Overall experience was really enjoyable and the food was delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 5, 2016

We have visited the Harvest Grill over the last 10 years and are always very happy with the service and food.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 4, 2016

One of our favorite places to go for Sunday brunch/lunch. We have never been disappointed with the menu selection - - - and the wines are great too.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Had an excellent brunch. Troy our server was superior and made our dining experience extraordinary. Will return soon again.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 26, 2016

One person's fish was not cooked thoroughly and sides were cold. Slow service. Not sure if we'll return or not...........

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We were celebrating 2 birthdays! All of our food was wonderful!! Our service was great!! We will definitely be back! Great way to celebrate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Fantastic and Dependable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We had 11 family members there for my daughter's 21st Birthday. After a day of winery visits and tasting, this was a great selection. Food was awesome, service was great, fireplace roaring on the outside heated deck and everybody had fun and a good time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a delicious meal! That was our 3rd time having dinner. I hope to go back soon. Debbie and Lee Pennell

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 17, 2016

It is one of my favorite spots. It is always consistent in every way. I had the fillet and it was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Shelton was destination for lunch after a fall motorcycle ride with friends. Fireplsace was great after a cold ride =veryone loved wine selection .se%vice was perfect

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

There was an large and loud group there which made for a less than pleasant experience. The quality of food did not match up with price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Revolving menu with the seasons. So each time you go you have the opportunity try something new. It seems that some dishes came with a warmed up piece of bread and butter, simple yet fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Wonderful meal at brunch in every way. We are so happy that to see the spinach omelet on menu. We both ordered that and each one was fluffy and delicious. One of us enjoyed the soup of the day which was pulled pork, red bean and rice stew and thought it was quite tasty as well. The other sampled the fig pastry for dessert and loved it. It was topped by a scoop of gingersnap ice cream--perfect! Our server, Abby, took very good care of us. We will be back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Lovely setting, excellent appetizers especially sweet potato chips and pulled pork soup. Shrimp and grits excellent, good fig arugula salad, strange chicken and waffles, moist trout but needed sauce. Good waitress but kitchen was very slow on a Sunday afternoon. Allow time for I-77 traffic. If you plan to take a winery tour after lunch, arrive early for tour- we were there at 5 til the hour and tour was gone.

Tags: Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We have eaten at the harvest grill half a dozen times and have never been disappointed. This visit was to celebrate my father's 90th birthday and it was the perfect place for the celebration. The food, particularly the starters, was wonderful and the service was impeccable. The pace of the meal was just right. The wines were great. I particularly enjoyed a Riesling that was served.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Very enjoyable fall dinner by the fireplace. Warm and cozy atmosphere, wonderful service, food well above the norm.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We were not impressed. Appetizers were very good. Mushroom strudel and black bean soup great. Turkey, cranberry, appleslaw sandwich was not good. Too sweet. Too much going on. Corned beef sandwich was good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We met friends for lunch at the Harvest Grille. Although we have dined there several times before, it was our first time for lunch. Service and food were adequate, but employees seemed a bit harried, so perhaps we arrived just after a busy time for the restaurant. With its location, the Harvest Grille is a good choice for area winery visitors who want to have a restaurant dining experience, rather than fast food.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This was the second time we have been there. We took our friend for her birthday and everything was wonderful Will come back. Esther

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Enjoyable as always. We often come have lunch before visiting the various vineyards in the area.

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

everything is so well done...excellent staff, wonderful atmosphere, and the food outstanding.

and the servers suggested wines with what we ordered and they were "spot on"! one of our

most favorite places to dine in the Yadkin Valley Wine Country.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Always return...great seasonal menu...very friendly staff and food is terrific. The quiet, remote setting in the vineyard makes it a great escape.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Delicious food, great wine, excellent service. Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Dinner at Harvest Grill is always a treat - starting with the setting - Shelton Vineyards- fresh ingredients - a menu featuring Southern comfort food. The staff works hard to make you welcome. Spoiler alert: nice touch that accompanies the check. Also note that you can buy bottles (or cases) of The Shelton wines at their regular retail prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Always pleasant atmosphere and food

This time eggs and andouille sausage were overdone

PEGGIE is a wonderful waitress

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Excellent service, excellent food, great ambience and great place for a special occasion such as an anniversary or birthday,

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This was my third time for dinner. There were some things which need improvement. My friend's lamb chop was too chewy, mine was fine. Her salad had too much pepper- caesar salad. The fig tart had wonderful taste but the crust was tough.

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 15, 2016

my husband have been dining at your restaurant at least 3 times per year for a period of approx 5 years, most of the time with friends.

this is the first time we have experienced poor service. we understand that it was the autumn festival BUT we have been there at this time before with no problems

I was disappointed to see less gluten free entrees on the menu and MOST OF ALL, you removed my favorite gluten free dessert, the peanut butter torte.

PLEASE, PLEASE bring it back!!!!

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We visit Shelton Vineyards often and always enjoy the food, atmosphere, and friends!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Nice stop on our way from Ohio to Florida.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 11, 2016

I love this restaurant because of the great food and the winery that is one of the best in NC in my opinion. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. I have been here many times and it has always been great. The service was just prefect. Our waitress seemed to know when to be there and outside of that she just left us alone to talk. I have always recommended this restaurant and the wine and will again..

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.