About The Harvest Grill at Shelton Vineyards

230 Cabernet Lane
Dobson, NC 27017
View Larger Map

A High End Comfort Food Restaurant in the Yadkin Valley, North Carolina Wine Country. Featuring a seasonal menu reflecting all thats good, fresh and local whenever possible paired with Award winning wines in a vineyard setting. Open year round serving lunch everyday and dinner Monday thru Saturday!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Brunch:

Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm


Lunch:

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:30pm

Sunday: 11:00am - 6:00pm (5:00pm DST)


Dinner:

Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
none

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 366-3590

Website:
http://www.sheltonvineyards.com/harvest-grill

Parking Details:
Plenty of available parking

Executive Chef:
Paul S. Lange

Private Party Contact:
Paul Lange: 3363663590x

Additional:
Banquet, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Harvest Grill at Shelton Vineyards Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Winston Salem
Best Food
Winston Salem
3 More
Best Service
Winston Salem
Best Ambiance
Winston Salem
Best Value
Winston Salem
Best Restaurants in Dobson ›

Worth the Drive (35)
Special Occasion (33)
Scenic View (30)
See All
Great for Lunch (27)
Romantic (23)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Local Ingredients (21)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Great for Brunch (19)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Good for a Date (16)
Casual (16)
Fireplace (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Cozy (13)
Business Meals (12)
Seasonal (11)
Fun (10)
Comfort Food (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Authentic (6)
Healthy (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Family Style (2)
Historic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
346 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have visited the Harvest Grill over t ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 2 days ago

We have visited the Harvest Grill over the last 10 years and are always very happy with the service and food.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an excellent brunch. Troy our serve ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Had an excellent brunch. Troy our server was superior and made our dining experience extraordinary. Will return soon again.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One person's fish was not cooked thoroug ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 26, 2016

One person's fish was not cooked thoroughly and sides were cold. Slow service. Not sure if we'll return or not...........

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We were celebrating 2 birthdays! All of ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We were celebrating 2 birthdays! All of our food was wonderful!! Our service was great!! We will definitely be back! Great way to celebrate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic and Dependable.

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Fantastic and Dependable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had 11 family members there for my da ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We had 11 family members there for my daughter's 21st Birthday. After a day of winery visits and tasting, this was a great selection. Food was awesome, service was great, fireplace roaring on the outside heated deck and everybody had fun and a good time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a delicious meal! That was our 3r ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a delicious meal! That was our 3rd time having dinner. I hope to go back soon. Debbie and Lee Pennell

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is one of my favorite spots. It is al ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 17, 2016

It is one of my favorite spots. It is always consistent in every way. I had the fillet and it was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Shelton was destination for lunch after ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Shelton was destination for lunch after a fall motorcycle ride with friends. Fireplsace was great after a cold ride =veryone loved wine selection .se%vice was perfect

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

There was an large and loud group there ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

There was an large and loud group there which made for a less than pleasant experience. The quality of food did not match up with price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Revolving menu with the seasons. So each ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Revolving menu with the seasons. So each time you go you have the opportunity try something new. It seems that some dishes came with a warmed up piece of bread and butter, simple yet fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meal at brunch in every way. ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Wonderful meal at brunch in every way. We are so happy that to see the spinach omelet on menu. We both ordered that and each one was fluffy and delicious. One of us enjoyed the soup of the day which was pulled pork, red bean and rice stew and thought it was quite tasty as well. The other sampled the fig pastry for dessert and loved it. It was topped by a scoop of gingersnap ice cream--perfect! Our server, Abby, took very good care of us. We will be back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely setting, excellent appetizers esp ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Lovely setting, excellent appetizers especially sweet potato chips and pulled pork soup. Shrimp and grits excellent, good fig arugula salad, strange chicken and waffles, moist trout but needed sauce. Good waitress but kitchen was very slow on a Sunday afternoon. Allow time for I-77 traffic. If you plan to take a winery tour after lunch, arrive early for tour- we were there at 5 til the hour and tour was gone.

Tags: Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

We have eaten at the harvest grill half ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We have eaten at the harvest grill half a dozen times and have never been disappointed. This visit was to celebrate my father's 90th birthday and it was the perfect place for the celebration. The food, particularly the starters, was wonderful and the service was impeccable. The pace of the meal was just right. The wines were great. I particularly enjoyed a Riesling that was served.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable fall dinner by the firepl ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Very enjoyable fall dinner by the fireplace. Warm and cozy atmosphere, wonderful service, food well above the norm.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were not impressed. Appetizers were ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We were not impressed. Appetizers were very good. Mushroom strudel and black bean soup great. Turkey, cranberry, appleslaw sandwich was not good. Too sweet. Too much going on. Corned beef sandwich was good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We met friends for lunch at the Harvest ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We met friends for lunch at the Harvest Grille. Although we have dined there several times before, it was our first time for lunch. Service and food were adequate, but employees seemed a bit harried, so perhaps we arrived just after a busy time for the restaurant. With its location, the Harvest Grille is a good choice for area winery visitors who want to have a restaurant dining experience, rather than fast food.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

This was the second time we have been th ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This was the second time we have been there. We took our friend for her birthday and everything was wonderful Will come back. Esther

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable as always. We often come have ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Enjoyable as always. We often come have lunch before visiting the various vineyards in the area.

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

everything is so well done...excellent s ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

everything is so well done...excellent staff, wonderful atmosphere, and the food outstanding.

and the servers suggested wines with what we ordered and they were "spot on"! one of our

most favorite places to dine in the Yadkin Valley Wine Country.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always return...great seasonal menu...ve ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Always return...great seasonal menu...very friendly staff and food is terrific. The quiet, remote setting in the vineyard makes it a great escape.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious food, great wine, excellent se ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Delicious food, great wine, excellent service. Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dinner at Harvest Grill is always a trea ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Dinner at Harvest Grill is always a treat - starting with the setting - Shelton Vineyards- fresh ingredients - a menu featuring Southern comfort food. The staff works hard to make you welcome. Spoiler alert: nice touch that accompanies the check. Also note that you can buy bottles (or cases) of The Shelton wines at their regular retail prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always pleasant atmosphere and food This ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Always pleasant atmosphere and food

This time eggs and andouille sausage were overdone

PEGGIE is a wonderful waitress

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent service, excellent food, great ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Excellent service, excellent food, great ambience and great place for a special occasion such as an anniversary or birthday,

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

my husband have been dining at your rest ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 15, 2016

my husband have been dining at your restaurant at least 3 times per year for a period of approx 5 years, most of the time with friends.

this is the first time we have experienced poor service. we understand that it was the autumn festival BUT we have been there at this time before with no problems

I was disappointed to see less gluten free entrees on the menu and MOST OF ALL, you removed my favorite gluten free dessert, the peanut butter torte.

PLEASE, PLEASE bring it back!!!!

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

This was my third time for dinner. Ther ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This was my third time for dinner. There were some things which need improvement. My friend's lamb chop was too chewy, mine was fine. Her salad had too much pepper- caesar salad. The fig tart had wonderful taste but the crust was tough.

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We visit Shelton Vineyards often and alw ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We visit Shelton Vineyards often and always enjoy the food, atmosphere, and friends!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this restaurant because of the gr ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 11, 2016

I love this restaurant because of the great food and the winery that is one of the best in NC in my opinion. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. I have been here many times and it has always been great. The service was just prefect. Our waitress seemed to know when to be there and outside of that she just left us alone to talk. I have always recommended this restaurant and the wine and will again..

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great lunch to start off our to ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had a great lunch to start off our tour of the area vineyards. Great views.

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been enjoying the Grille for a f ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 5, 2016

We have been enjoying the Grille for a few years. Excellent food, great variety, with a nice quiet feel to it. Our waitress was Peggy and she was great. It took a long time to get our dinner ''tis time but she made up for it.

Donnie and Elaine Jones

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time visiting The Har ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 4, 2016

This was our first time visiting The Harvest Grill. We enjoyed wonderful wines and our dinner was amazing. Our server was very helpful with our wine selection and such a pleasure. We will add this to our list of special and favorite restaurants.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was my second time visiting, the se ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 2, 2016

This was my second time visiting, the service was a little slow, the food was good but a little over priced for the amount of food you receive tho but overall I will go back from time to time.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Both the winery and the restaurant are e ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Both the winery and the restaurant are exceptional. My wife and I always detour when traveling between Tennessee and North Carolina to partake!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great crab cakes - i thought I was at th ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 25, 2016

great crab cakes - i thought I was at the Coast! It's cool to have a nice restaurant that is located at the vineyard.

Tags: Seasonal, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When we drive from Pennsylvania to Flori ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 13, 2016

When we drive from Pennsylvania to Florida to visit our kids, we make a point to stay at the Hampton Inn in Dobson just so we can dine at the Harvest Grill. It is a unique little gem set in a beautiful vineyard. The food and wines are always outstanding, the view is gorgeous, and the atmosphere is quiet and cozy. The servers are gracious and attentive but also know to give diners their space. My husband ordered a Cabernet wine and crab cakes; I had the Riesling along with my filet mignon - all excellent. Dining at the Harvest Grill is always the highlight of our trip and we have never been disappointed.

Tags: Fireplace, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very average food, average wine, OK serv ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Very average food, average wine, OK service, nice setting. Only plus were salads.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We have dined at The Harvest Grill many ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We have dined at The Harvest Grill many times when we are up in the mountains for the summer. We have eaten here twice this summer before this time and for some reason it was not as good as before. Both soups for the day were spicy. One was gazpacho which we were expecting to be spicy but the other one was described as chicken with vegetables and some pasta noodles. We were surprised to see that it was tomato based when it arrived at our table and as previously noted, somewhat spicy. The fried green tomato appetizer we thought had previously included goat cheese but today it was mozzarella. It was OK but not as good to me as the goat cheese. The selection for brunch was not the wonderful variety of the past but the Corsican wrap was fine. We wish they would bring back the omelettes, etc. of the past and perhaps some turkey sausage and turkey bacon for non-pork eaters? The flank steak was tough but not inedible. In general, the food was OK but we did not think it was as exceptional as in our prior experiences, but we will definitely return to give it another try. The servers and hostesses are always very welcoming and the atmosphere is nice but it can get a little noisy out on the enclosed porch if there are large groups. We still consider it the best dining out option in the area.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fireplace, Spicy, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Best food and service !!!! We had Nikk ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Best food and service !!!! We had Nikki as our server and she was very nice and outstanding server.

Tags: Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great setting, excellent service, great ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Great setting, excellent service, great menu options, outstanding wines, all of which comes with a very good dollar value.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.