Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About The Harp

The Harp Restaurant & Catering has been awarded "One of Baltimore's Best Restaurants" as well as "One of Baltimore's Best Bars." We offer a wide range of menu selections from our award winning crab cakes, incredible seafood entrees, delicious steaks and pot roasts, as well as chicken, pasta, burgers and our customers' favorite fish n' chips. Everything is made fresh and prepared daily. So, find out for yourself why we are rated #1.

8706 Belair Rd
Nottingham, MD 21236
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Irish, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday - Friday 11:00 am - 2:00 am.
Saturday 11:00 am - 2:00 am.
Sunday 11:00 am - 12:00 am.

Cross Street:
Belair Rd & Silver Spring Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 529-4277

Website:
http://www.theharprestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music, Dj, Karaoke, Sports TV, Trivia

Catering:
Fine Irish and American Cuisine.

Parking Details:
An Abundance of Parking

Executive Chef:
Chef Jeremy Rosario

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Harp Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

3.5

ambience

3.5

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Casual (2)
See All
Authentic (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Fun (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
S
66 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Love the Harp! Definitely the best patio in Cleveland. The cocktail are good and the food definitely falls in the "comfort" category. Wait staff is very friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Had a dinner party for my friend David that turned 60 with 10 of our closest friends. At least 6 of the friends had never been to the Harp; I've been there a handful of times but ALWAYS sat on the barside. The waitress was okay she forgot alot of the things we asked for, 4 our us drink Margarita's so I ordered 4 Margaritta's WITH Patron and no salt; she brought us Margarittas' but it was NOT Patron and there was salt on all four glasses. She forgot some of the food, the food itself was not HOT it was warm and the air condioning was freezing us out .... If I do come back to the Harp (because I have reservations on 7/7) for another group of friends we will be sitting on the barside NOT THE resturant side. I truly believe this waitress was NEW and she didn't know anything about the food or drinks. We asked for an Irish Coffee and she had no idea what that was so I think you should TRAIN your waitress before cutting them loose on a table of 10 .... Not sure if I am going to return to this establishment or not ... was a horrible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This was not the greatest experience. The food was not good at all. I had the chicken caesar salad; the lettuce was soggy, chicken was overcooked, and it was terrible presentation. The cream of crab soup was tasty, but everything else was unacceptable. The server was very slow and not very involved with our table. We actually watched a table of 2 leave after sitting and waiting for ten minutes to get water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 21, 2017

ALTHOUGH THEIR WEBSITE SAYS SO, THEY DO NOT SERVE BRUNCH!!!!! Therefore we did not eat there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was great. Fast and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The food was nice. To be fair, Shannon, my server, was attentive, asking if I liked the food. She only needs to become sensitive to communicating needs of Deaf people. She needs to write to communicate, NOT to force me to lipread!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 26, 2017

6 of us had a birthday lunch and Megan was our server and she was excellent. All our meals were very good and I totally recommend The Harp

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great evening everyones meal was good except 1 which ordered the cornbeef and cabbage meal and it was very dried up and tough. However, she did not want to complain or send back. Great waitress Kaylee and band was great BirdDog will be back.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Drinks are good. Good place for karaoke. Shrimp tacos weren't good

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Flat drinks and AWFUL. Food! I would say the food they are producing now is a ghost of the original recipe. It is poorly run. Bar was out of Jack Daniels . When I told our very nice waiter that my vodka and sofa was flat, the response from the bartender was , get something else because I'm wouldn't be happy w next soda.... it was my fault.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great burger, however the sweet potato fries come with cinnamon sugar on them. Very casual, half the place is a bar (and it smells like a bar when you walk in the front door.) Big TV's around with games on. Would be appropriate for families on the dinning side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very quiet dinner on New Year's Eve with friends. Service and food was ok. We chose it for the location and the fact that most of us had been there and could not remember the food. Food was ok - neither good nor bad; same with service.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 16, 2016

There were six in our party and we all were very pleased with our food. The waitress did bring out the wrong soup to one, but immediately took it back and brought the correct soup. She was very pleasant and did a great job. I would like to see more of an effort made to make a more attractive table setting.....placemats at least on the tables would be nice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I made a reservation on Open Table but there was confusion and OT had to step in. It was resolved. Three of us had hamburgers and they were good. Another person ordered the
Ruben and said it tasted burnt. We have dined at The Harp a few times and the visit before this one, the service was terrible and so was the Shepherds Pie. The manager actually took the S.P.
off our bill, which was very nice. The service on this visit was very good. We will likely return because we have gifts cards to use.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 19, 2016

My husband and I ordered the Salmon sandwich. Both of our sandwiches were raw! UGH! So we returned the sandwiches to have them cooked and waited a long time. The service was fair - we had to ask for our beverages twice. In fact, it was restaurant week and our guests had to ask for their desert which was to be included in their selection. In the past, we ate at a table in the bar area and the service was MUCH better.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The harp always has great food but for some reason the service isn't always that great. We have to ask the server to refill our waters every time we go and we always wait a long time for them to bring us boxes or the check...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 24, 2016

We enjoy going to The Harp. This was our third trip there in as many months. Food is always very good and service is friendly. Great place to hang out!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 12, 2016

We had a party of 19 people (this includes 4 children between the ages of 1 and 13). We celebrated my wife's birthday here, and the folks at The Harp were MORE than accommodating! Our waitress was a young pregnant girl, and might we say, she ran laps around all of us, providing us with top notch service the entire time! We will be back, for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Seated promptly. Crab soup was thick. More like a stew. Chicken Jennifer was good. Rice Pilaf was excellent. Cream of crab is usually white in color..this was red. Probably won't return, but I may give them one more shot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Though the menu has everything from soup to nuts, we really enjoyed the authentic Irish Fare. The meatloaf was especially delicious and all four entrees were large portions. We thoroughly enjoyed our meals since the service was impeccable! The Harp is a great neighborhood restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Been to the Harp many times and love the food. Unfortunately, wasn't impressed with the Mother's Day Brunch - when we arrived many items were empty or cool. Took long time to get things refilled so some of our party ordered off the menu instead. Management was full of apologies though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 25, 2016

We went to The Harp for dinner prior to us attending Paint Nite. We sat in the bar area and the service was horrible. We waited approximately 15 minutes for a waiter/bartender and since he never came, we had to go to the bar to order drinks and ask for menus. They were obviously understaffed which is ridiculous since there was an event taking place that evening.

We ordered the French onion soup which had a good flavor but they put 2 pieces of crostini on top which was completely soggy and about 1 tsp of cheese on each piece (I prefer the cheese completely baked around the crock). I ordered The Harp salad....what a joke for $7.99 - wilted lettuce, 3 pieces of tomato, 1 tsp. of bacon and cheese, stale croutons and the "homemade" dressing was runny. The fried pickles came out cold and soggy.

I have been to The Harp approximately 6 times over the past 5 months and the last time and this time I experienced the same poor service and food quality. I was hoping the previous time was just a fluke, but obviously there are more systemic issues.

Needless to say, I will not be going back to The Harp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2016

Normally the food is great, but unfortunately it wasn't this time. I will still be going back in the future though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Excellent menu. Variety of choices. Something for everyone. We ordered burgers. Delicious.
Busy night. Hectic pace. The Harp was hopping. Love it. Will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 26, 2016

We had 11 people in our party and our server was very attentive. However, the food took over 40 minutes to come out of the kitchen. It was very tasty, and we especially enjoyed the waffle chips and French onion dip to snack on while we were waiting. Our server also provided separate checks which helped out tremendously when settling the bill.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Got seated right away, order the fried onion appetizer, the bottom wasn't cooked. My wife got the crab cakes sandwich, she liked OK. I got the blackened chicken quesodillia which was not very blackened and the Tortilla was burned on both sides.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Our waitress was very nice and incredibly attentive however our food was not good. The Ahi-Tuna was over cooked, the chicken marsala was not marsals, and the hamburger was over cooked. Also, I ordered the Harp beer on draft and I am pretty sure they gave me a Bud Light instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2016

So, I decided to take my wife to The Harp for a Valentine's meal due to some good reviews. I really enjoyed the very nice Irish Bar feel with nice woodwork. The bar area was separate from the dining room and looked very inviting. The dining area was booth seating on the two sides and square tables for 4 in the center. Booth seating was lumpy and somewhat uncomfortable (could have been my seat only). Tables in the center were very nice laquered wood where as the booths had longer tables but were covered with 1/4" glass that creaked with crumb crunching sounds whenever you leaned on it. Shame because the wood underneath looked awesome. As for the food, taste was good but not great. Crabcake had some large pieces of crab but for $20+ ... single crab cake and two sides seems high. An additional crabcake was available for an additional $8 or $9. Glad I didn't splurge. Garlic mashed was very good and my wife seemed to like the stuffed Rockfish. Wine list was short and $30 for Robert Mondavi Cab (store cost $11). Final little ding was the 'Molten Lava Cake' dessert (note - a la mode is extra) was barely warm let alone hot. We mentioned this to the waitress but since we had already dug into it and didn't want to wait for her to go 'nuke' it, we just ate it. I expected some sort of discount for poorly prepared dessert but everything was full price.

I may return to try the bar side and their impressive selection of Irish beers but I think I'm done with any dinners here.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 13, 2016

This was my husband and I second time there and I was better than the first. Great food, great drinks, great atmosphere! The only minus was the pool room was not available.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 6, 2016

Very disappointed. I had reserved our table for 8 a week ahead of time (we were celebrating a birthday) and we had to wait 20 minutes for them to get a table "ready" for our group. We ended up seated where that band would normally be set up, on a raised platform with no access for our waitress to take our orders or serve us easily. Half of our party was served our meals (some were barley warm) and the rest of the food came about 20 minutes later - supposedly an issue with broccoli in the kitchen! Sadly, the food was nothing to comment about and They ran out of the multiple dessert choices and we were only left with Vanilla ice cream or a brownie to pick from. The whole evening was an absolute FAIL.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 30, 2016

Slow service, frozen fries, soggy sandwich, and too expensive for a family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 26, 2016

A friend and I lunched at The Harp during Restaurant Week. I opted for the onion soup, chicken quesadilla, and cinnamon ice-cream. The soup was tepid; the waitress returned it for warming, but it was still less hot than it should be. The quesadilla was good, but I had to ask for the condiments; and the ice cream was delicious, but our server brought the check having forgotten to serve our desserts. Admittedly, this was a few days after the big snow, so perhaps they were short-staffed, but only a few tables were occupied, so I find no excuse for the poor service. The server was very nice but needed to brush up on her skills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 2, 2016

This is my 3rd time eating at the Harp in the dining area and it was not the best. There were 5 of us which the table was so wobbly that our drinks were sliding around and we had to take turns cutting our food. The rockfish bites were very fishy tasting and not too appetizing. The broccoli came out cold. So.cold that the butter would not melt. I would not recommend dinner at the Harp but a place to meet for drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 27, 2015

Thank you great ignt

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 4, 2015

My wife, daughter and myself decided to venture out and try a restaurant we have never eaten at. The atmosphere was good, food was good. The problem is we wanted to eat and enjoy happy hour drinks in the restraint, but that was not allowed unless you were sitting on the bar/pub side, in which has limited seating, and for our time there was no seating. Since the pub area has limited seating, I believe that the they could cater to the dinning side as well with the happy hour drinks.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 24, 2015

This restaurant was very accommodating and kid friendly. Wait staff was friendly and service was quick. Will go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 2, 2015

This was my first visit, and I was a little disappointed. Our server was not attentive at all. One person waited over 30 mins for a drink. One person was served the wrong meal (chicken instead of fish). Our whole table wasn't quite ready to order, so half the table ordered, our server walked away to give us a min, and we didn't see her again for a good 20 mins. The place was less than busy, so there really wasn't an excuse. She didn't give us a hard time about splitting a check between 6 people, so that was a plus.

The food was good overall. The fish in the fish and chips was overcooked, but it was well seasoned. The fries were amazing. The menu looked great, so there's a lot more that I'd like to try.

Overall a decent experience. I'll give it another try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 12, 2015

Our first time at Harp with friends who had been there once before. We were seated quickly in a nice booth in a nice, quiet area of the dining room.
The waitress arrived shortly for our drink orders. The wine list was not clear (had no prices at all), so she left to inquire whether we could order wine by the bottle AND to see about shutting off one of the lights or the ceiling fan which was flashing over our booth and the adjacent table like a strobe light.
She returned to tell us we could order wine by the bottle (and told us the price forone we picked) but forgot the light and fan. We ordered wine; she left for the wine.
She returned a bit later (having turned off the light) with our wine and glasses.
Since we were ready, she took our orders, then left-didn't serve the wine!
Waitress returns after a bit with our entrees, but forgot my wife's soup order, and dropped part of our friends burger entree.
Bus boy brings out replacement for burger order.
One of the managers stops at our table twice during dinner to basically just chat!
We split two desserts and coffee, then pay the bill in cash, leaving the bill and cash sitting on the table while we finished our coffee and talked a bit longer.
Waitress stops back, picks up the check and asks if we want any change! I'm sorry, waitressing 101 - you just say, " I'll be back with your change."
Overall, the food was very good, the wine was good, the desserts were very good.
The manager visits were unnecessary (especially twice), and the wait staff needs more training.

We'll definitely return, but if the service remains the same, there might not be a third time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 10, 2015

Birthday for spouse

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Live Music, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.