About The Harp

8706 Belair Rd
Nottingham, MD 21236
View Larger Map

The Harp Restaurant & Catering has been awarded "One of Baltimore's Best Restaurants" as well as "One of Baltimore's Best Bars." We offer a wide range of menu selections from our award winning crab cakes, incredible seafood entrees, delicious steaks and pot roasts, as well as chicken, pasta, burgers and our customers' favorite fish n' chips. Everything is made fresh and prepared daily. So, find out for yourself why we are rated #1.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Irish, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday - Friday 11:00 am - 2:00 am.
Saturday 11:00 am - 2:00 am.
Sunday 11:00 am - 12:00 am.

Cross Street:
Belair Rd & Silver Spring Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 529-4277

Website:
http://www.theharprestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music, Dj, Karaoke, Sports TV, Trivia

Catering:
Fine Irish and American Cuisine.

Parking Details:
An Abundance of Parking

Executive Chef:
Chef Jeremy Rosario

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Come show Dad how much he's appreciated! Make reservations now, awesome food & drink specials! Make it a day to remember!

The Harp Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.1

service

3.6

ambience

3.6

noise

Moderate

65% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (7)
good for groups (6)
great for lunch (6)
See All
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for brunch (3)
fit for foodies (2)
hot spot (2)
kid-friendly (2)
special occasion (1)
romantic (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
47 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Not all that it's cracked up to be.

Dined 7 days ago

Seated promptly. Crab soup was thick. More like a stew. Chicken Jennifer was good. Rice Pilaf was excellent. Cream of crab is usually white in color..this was red. Probably won't return, but I may give them one more shot.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Irish Food

Dined on May 13, 2016

Though the menu has everything from soup to nuts, we really enjoyed the authentic Irish Fare. The meatloaf was especially delicious and all four entrees were large portions. We thoroughly enjoyed our meals since the service was impeccable! The Harp is a great neighborhood restaurant!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Been to the Harp many times and love the food. Unfortunately, wasn't impressed with the Mother's Day Brunch - when we arrived many items were empty or cool. Took long time to get things refilled so some of our party ordered off the menu instead. Management was full of apologies though.

food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Not impressed - The Harp has really gone downhill

Dined on April 25, 2016

We went to The Harp for dinner prior to us attending Paint Nite. We sat in the bar area and the service was horrible. We waited approximately 15 minutes for a waiter/bartender and since he never came, we had to go to the bar to order drinks and ask for menus. They were obviously understaffed which is ridiculous since there was an event taking place that evening. We ordered the French onion soup which had a good flavor but they put 2 pieces of crostini on top which was completely soggy and about 1 tsp of cheese on each piece (I prefer the cheese completely baked around the crock). I ordered The Harp salad....what a joke for $7.99 - wilted lettuce, 3 pieces of tomato, 1 tsp. of bacon and cheese, stale croutons and the "homemade" dressing was runny. The fried pickles came out cold and soggy. I have been to The Harp approximately 6 times over the past 5 months and the last time and this time I experienced the same poor service and food quality. I was hoping the previous time was just a fluke, but obviously there are more systemic issues. Needless to say, I will not be going back to The Harp.

food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Normally the food is great, but unfortun ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Normally the food is great, but unfortunately it wasn't this time. I will still be going back in the future though.

food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent menu. Variety of choices. Some ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Excellent menu. Variety of choices. Something for everyone. We ordered burgers. Delicious. Busy night. Hectic pace. The Harp was hopping. Love it. Will go back.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Harp Review for a Group

Dined on February 26, 2016

We had 11 people in our party and our server was very attentive. However, the food took over 40 minutes to come out of the kitchen. It was very tasty, and we especially enjoyed the waffle chips and French onion dip to snack on while we were waiting. Our server also provided separate checks which helped out tremendously when settling the bill.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was great

Dined on February 15, 2016

Food was great

food3
ambience4
service3
value4

It was ok

Dined on February 14, 2016

Got seated right away, order the fried onion appetizer, the bottom wasn't cooked. My wife got the crab cakes sandwich, she liked OK. I got the blackened chicken quesodillia which was not very blackened and the Tortilla was burned on both sides.

food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our waitress was very nice and incredibly attentive however our food was not good. The Ahi-Tuna was over cooked, the chicken marsala was not marsals, and the hamburger was over cooked. Also, I ordered the Harp beer on draft and I am pretty sure they gave me a Bud Light instead.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Nice bar setup but dinner was over-priced

Dined on February 14, 2016

So, I decided to take my wife to The Harp for a Valentine's meal due to some good reviews. I really enjoyed the very nice Irish Bar feel with nice woodwork. The bar area was separate from the dining room and looked very inviting. The dining area was booth seating on the two sides and square tables for 4 in the center. Booth seating was lumpy and somewhat uncomfortable (could have been my seat only). Tables in the center were very nice laquered wood where as the booths had longer tables but were covered with 1/4" glass that creaked with crumb crunching sounds whenever you leaned on it. Shame because the wood underneath looked awesome. As for the food, taste was good but not great. Crabcake had some large pieces of crab but for $20+ ... single crab cake and two sides seems high. An additional crabcake was available for an additional $8 or $9. Glad I didn't splurge. Garlic mashed was very good and my wife seemed to like the stuffed Rockfish. Wine list was short and $30 for Robert Mondavi Cab (store cost $11). Final little ding was the 'Molten Lava Cake' dessert (note - a la mode is extra) was barely warm let alone hot. We mentioned this to the waitress but since we had already dug into it and didn't want to wait for her to go 'nuke' it, we just ate it. I expected some sort of discount for poorly prepared dessert but everything was full price. I may return to try the bar side and their impressive selection of Irish beers but I think I'm done with any dinners here.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Food.

Dined on February 14, 2016

This was my husband and I second time there and I was better than the first. Great food, great drinks, great atmosphere! The only minus was the pool room was not available.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

VERY Disappointed

Dined on February 7, 2016

Very disappointed. I had reserved our table for 8 a week ahead of time (we were celebrating a birthday) and we had to wait 20 minutes for them to get a table "ready" for our group. We ended up seated where that band would normally be set up, on a raised platform with no access for our waitress to take our orders or serve us easily. Half of our party was served our meals (some were barley warm) and the rest of the food came about 20 minutes later - supposedly an issue with broccoli in the kitchen! Sadly, the food was nothing to comment about and They ran out of the multiple dessert choices and we were only left with Vanilla ice cream or a brownie to pick from. The whole evening was an absolute FAIL.

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Slow and frozen

Dined on January 30, 2016

Slow service, frozen fries, soggy sandwich, and too expensive for a family.

food3
ambience3
service1
value4

A Disappointing Meal

Dined on January 26, 2016

A friend and I lunched at The Harp during Restaurant Week. I opted for the onion soup, chicken quesadilla, and cinnamon ice-cream. The soup was tepid; the waitress returned it for warming, but it was still less hot than it should be. The quesadilla was good, but I had to ask for the condiments; and the ice cream was delicious, but our server brought the check having forgotten to serve our desserts. Admittedly, this was a few days after the big snow, so perhaps they were short-staffed, but only a few tables were occupied, so I find no excuse for the poor service. The server was very nice but needed to brush up on her skills.

food2
ambience3
service4
value2

This is my 3rd time eating at the Harp i ...

Dined on January 2, 2016

This is my 3rd time eating at the Harp in the dining area and it was not the best. There were 5 of us which the table was so wobbly that our drinks were sliding around and we had to take turns cutting our food. The rockfish bites were very fishy tasting and not too appetizing. The broccoli came out cold. So.cold that the butter would not melt. I would not recommend dinner at the Harp but a place to meet for drinks.

food4
ambience5
service5

Thank you great ignt

Dined on December 27, 2015

Thank you great ignt

food4
ambience4
service4

Happy Hour

Dined on December 4, 2015

My wife, daughter and myself decided to venture out and try a restaurant we have never eaten at. The atmosphere was good, food was good. The problem is we wanted to eat and enjoy happy hour drinks in the restraint, but that was not allowed unless you were sitting on the bar/pub side, in which has limited seating, and for our time there was no seating. Since the pub area has limited seating, I believe that the they could cater to the dinning side as well with the happy hour drinks.

Tags: late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service!

Dined on October 24, 2015

This restaurant was very accommodating and kid friendly. Wait staff was friendly and service was quick. Will go back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service2

This was my first visit, and I was a lit ...

Dined on October 2, 2015

This was my first visit, and I was a little disappointed. Our server was not attentive at all. One person waited over 30 mins for a drink. One person was served the wrong meal (chicken instead of fish). Our whole table wasn't quite ready to order, so half the table ordered, our server walked away to give us a min, and we didn't see her again for a good 20 mins. The place was less than busy, so there really wasn't an excuse. She didn't give us a hard time about splitting a check between 6 people, so that was a plus. The food was good overall. The fish in the fish and chips was overcooked, but it was well seasoned. The fries were amazing. The menu looked great, so there's a lot more that I'd like to try. Overall a decent experience. I'll give it another try.

food4
ambience3
service3

Good food, excellent desserts, service needs work.

Dined on September 12, 2015

Our first time at Harp with friends who had been there once before. We were seated quickly in a nice booth in a nice, quiet area of the dining room. The waitress arrived shortly for our drink orders. The wine list was not clear (had no prices at all), so she left to inquire whether we could order wine by the bottle AND to see about shutting off one of the lights or the ceiling fan which was flashing over our booth and the adjacent table like a strobe light. She returned to tell us we could order wine by the bottle (and told us the price forone we picked) but forgot the light and fan. We ordered wine; she left for the wine. She returned a bit later (having turned off the light) with our wine and glasses. Since we were ready, she took our orders, then left-didn't serve the wine! Waitress returns after a bit with our entrees, but forgot my wife's soup order, and dropped part of our friends burger entree. Bus boy brings out replacement for burger order. One of the managers stops at our table twice during dinner to basically just chat! We split two desserts and coffee, then pay the bill in cash, leaving the bill and cash sitting on the table while we finished our coffee and talked a bit longer. Waitress stops back, picks up the check and asks if we want any change! I'm sorry, waitressing 101 - you just say, " I'll be back with your change." Overall, the food was very good, the wine was good, the desserts were very good. The manager visits were unnecessary (especially twice), and the wait staff needs more training. We'll definitely return, but if the service remains the same, there might not be a third time.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Easter Brunch

Dined on April 5, 2015

Easter brunch was very good! The only small issue was everyone wanted the shrimp (and for good reason, they were huge and delicious!) and they ran out a few times and didn't bring more right out. Other than that, it was very good and a great deal. I would highly recommend it!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4

Easter Brunch 2015

Dined on April 5, 2015

I have attended brunch at this restaurant before and it was very nice, however, on Easter it was a very different experience. Some of the food was cold and took a while to replenish. The location of the buffet was convenient for some but far for others (for example, we were told the food is located 3 doors down on your left). To have to walk down a hall of a restaurant to find food is just unacceptable. There was a lack of communication as far as what could be ordered and what would be located on the buffet. I would eat at The Harp again but will never attend brunch if this is how it will be executed from now on. I give kudos to the waitress for my table who did everything in her power to overcome any issues we had. She did a really good job and kept a positive spirit and was rewarded for her efforts.

food4
ambience4
service5

We had an enjoyable time at The Harp!

Dined on March 6, 2015

The food was good and the atmosphere was great for our party of eight to celebrate my husbands birthday. The staff provided excellent service!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service4

its a bar

Dined on February 15, 2015

It seems like a good place to grab a beer and burger, I dont know that I would go back for a dinner specifically though. The waitress was great though!

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Date Night

Dined on February 14, 2015

My partner and I went out for a date and it was great! We sat in a booth in the bar and it was very comfy and cozy. He eats meat and dairy, and I do not, and we both found something we loved. Waitress was great with accommodating my vegan lifestyle and super friendly. Prices are reasonable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3

Family-friendly, reasonable prices

Dined on February 14, 2015

The Harp has a separate bar area and main dining room. The bar area was popular with sports enthusiasts, while the main dining room was very suitable for families. Although the service was not the quickest we've seen, the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our food was good.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Good place to hang with friends

Dined on February 6, 2015

We had a booth in the dinng side not the bar side so the noise level was great for conversation. All staff was attentive and we never felt rushed to leave.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service4

Not what it was

Dined on January 31, 2015

I have been to the Garp many times. The food was good, but gets a little worse every time I go. Service was all friendly and quick.

food4
ambience4
service1

The Harp, what a disappointment

Dined on January 6, 2015

A group of us went on a Monday night (we had reservations) for a Birthday dinner. We weren't told until after ordering drinks that the specials were sold out and there were no alternative specials. We were looking forward to the steak and cake special but had to settle for sandwiches. The food was ok and the wait staff not very friendly or accommodating.

food5
ambience5
service5

Nikia and Charmon Vaughan

Dined on November 18, 2014

I made reservations to the Harp for our 2nd Anniversary dinner after Paint Nite which was at this location. I was very impressed with the staff and the food. Our food was so good and our server was great. The manager greeted us and came to our table to check on us as well. A great way to end our anniversary weekend. We will be back.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience3
service1

Poor food Poor service

Dined on October 26, 2014

Drink specials were awful. One too sweet and one too sour. I asked but was told that you could not get only one crab cake on the dinner. So my sister and I each ordered a cup of cream of crab soup and split the crab cake dinner. $26.99 The crab cake was "fishey" and dry, covered up with too much of something ( worchester?). The baked potato was old and overcooked. The cream of crab was thick and pasty. My friends "seared" tuna was not seared just cooked half way through. We told the manager about the poor crabcakes and he took the plates but never came back. We had to ask what he did about it...he didn't ask did we want anything else or offer anything. Waitress is untrained. Food took too long. Sad

food4
ambience3
service5

Anightoutjohn

Dined on October 18, 2014

It was an enjoyable and friendly night dining experience.The Irish beer was also very enjoyable.

food4
ambience4
service4

Relaxing

Dined on October 17, 2014

Good food and quick service with friendly servers.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2

lunch good,dinner not so much

Dined on October 15, 2014

Very disappointed in the crab cakes,old bay seem to be the only seasoning on them and it was way to much of it. To much filler and smelled fishy.Stew had potatoes in it it didn't need mashed under it. Gravy in was like pudding. Biscuits would have been better. Should offer two sizes of portions. We share a piece of red velvet cake. Deserts were huge. I would have rather seen smaller sizes even a sample tray with a choice of three to share or just for me. No senior menu. Dinner is very expensive. Smaller portions with smaller prices would bring more business but the food needs work.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3

Good food but WAY TOO LOUD

vip
Dined on October 5, 2014

First tak me diner. Loved the garlic shrimp and the Harp Fries and stew bit the horrendously loud music from the bar made the experience unpleasant. We both had slitting headaches when we left. Even got items to go as we couldn't stand it anymore. Good was good but it will be aunch visit next time.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience3
service4

Disappointed

Dined on October 1, 2014

We have frequented this place many times since they opened a few years ago. I will say though the lat 2 times we have gone I have noticed the food quality has gone downhill. It wasn't a busy night (Wednesday) and it took a long time for our food to arrive and when it did, it was cold, baked potato was hard as a rock and could not be eaten so asked for replacement this time green beans. It took another 15 minutes for them to arrive by the time they did we were done eating. Not sure what changed in the last few months or so but not sure we will return.

food2
ambience2
service4

A sports bar with an Irish twist. The f ...

vip
Dined on August 23, 2014

A sports bar with an Irish twist. The food was mostly good but not memorable. Very reasonably priced with friendly service

food5
ambience5
service5

meme45

Dined on August 21, 2014

didn't have to wait.service was great.foodwas also great

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service3

Disappointed

Dined on August 19, 2014

Last several times have been disappointed with the food. Thought I would bring my staff and try one more time... that will be the last time.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.