About The Harp

8706 Belair Rd
Nottingham, MD 21236
View Larger Map

The Harp Restaurant & Catering has been awarded "One of Baltimore's Best Restaurants" as well as "One of Baltimore's Best Bars." We offer a wide range of menu selections from our award winning crab cakes, incredible seafood entrees, delicious steaks and pot roasts, as well as chicken, pasta, burgers and our customers' favorite fish n' chips. Everything is made fresh and prepared daily. So, find out for yourself why we are rated #1.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Irish, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday - Friday 11:00 am - 2:00 am.
Saturday 11:00 am - 2:00 am.
Sunday 11:00 am - 12:00 am.

Cross Street:
Belair Rd & Silver Spring Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 529-4277

Website:
http://www.theharprestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music, Dj, Karaoke, Sports TV, Trivia

Catering:
Fine Irish and American Cuisine.

Parking Details:
An Abundance of Parking

Executive Chef:
Chef Jeremy Rosario

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Harp Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.3

service

3.6

ambience

3.3

value

2.9

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (3)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (2)
See All
Cozy (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Live Sports (1)
Fun (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
52 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I made a reservation on Open Table but t ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I made a reservation on Open Table but there was confusion and OT had to step in. It was resolved. Three of us had hamburgers and they were good. Another person ordered the

Ruben and said it tasted burnt. We have dined at The Harp a few times and the visit before this one, the service was terrible and so was the Shepherds Pie. The manager actually took the S.P.

off our bill, which was very nice. The service on this visit was very good. We will likely return because we have gifts cards to use.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

My husband and I ordered the Salmon sand ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 19, 2016

My husband and I ordered the Salmon sandwich. Both of our sandwiches were raw! UGH! So we returned the sandwiches to have them cooked and waited a long time. The service was fair - we had to ask for our beverages twice. In fact, it was restaurant week and our guests had to ask for their desert which was to be included in their selection. In the past, we ate at a table in the bar area and the service was MUCH better.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

The harp always has great food but for s ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The harp always has great food but for some reason the service isn't always that great. We have to ask the server to refill our waters every time we go and we always wait a long time for them to bring us boxes or the check...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

We enjoy going to The Harp. This was ou ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 24, 2016

We enjoy going to The Harp. This was our third trip there in as many months. Food is always very good and service is friendly. Great place to hang out!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a party of 19 people (this includ ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 12, 2016

We had a party of 19 people (this includes 4 children between the ages of 1 and 13). We celebrated my wife's birthday here, and the folks at The Harp were MORE than accommodating! Our waitress was a young pregnant girl, and might we say, she ran laps around all of us, providing us with top notch service the entire time! We will be back, for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Not all that it's cracked up to be.

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Seated promptly. Crab soup was thick. More like a stew. Chicken Jennifer was good. Rice Pilaf was excellent. Cream of crab is usually white in color..this was red. Probably won't return, but I may give them one more shot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

We love Irish Food

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Though the menu has everything from soup to nuts, we really enjoyed the authentic Irish Fare. The meatloaf was especially delicious and all four entrees were large portions. We thoroughly enjoyed our meals since the service was impeccable! The Harp is a great neighborhood restaurant!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Been to the Harp many times and love the food. Unfortunately, wasn't impressed with the Mother's Day Brunch - when we arrived many items were empty or cool. Took long time to get things refilled so some of our party ordered off the menu instead. Management was full of apologies though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Not impressed - The Harp has really gone downhill

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 25, 2016

We went to The Harp for dinner prior to us attending Paint Nite. We sat in the bar area and the service was horrible. We waited approximately 15 minutes for a waiter/bartender and since he never came, we had to go to the bar to order drinks and ask for menus. They were obviously understaffed which is ridiculous since there was an event taking place that evening.

We ordered the French onion soup which had a good flavor but they put 2 pieces of crostini on top which was completely soggy and about 1 tsp of cheese on each piece (I prefer the cheese completely baked around the crock). I ordered The Harp salad....what a joke for $7.99 - wilted lettuce, 3 pieces of tomato, 1 tsp. of bacon and cheese, stale croutons and the "homemade" dressing was runny. The fried pickles came out cold and soggy.

I have been to The Harp approximately 6 times over the past 5 months and the last time and this time I experienced the same poor service and food quality. I was hoping the previous time was just a fluke, but obviously there are more systemic issues.

Needless to say, I will not be going back to The Harp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Normally the food is great, but unfortun ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2016

Normally the food is great, but unfortunately it wasn't this time. I will still be going back in the future though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent menu. Variety of choices. Some ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 13, 2016

Excellent menu. Variety of choices. Something for everyone. We ordered burgers. Delicious.

Busy night. Hectic pace. The Harp was hopping. Love it. Will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The Harp Review for a Group

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 26, 2016

We had 11 people in our party and our server was very attentive. However, the food took over 40 minutes to come out of the kitchen. It was very tasty, and we especially enjoyed the waffle chips and French onion dip to snack on while we were waiting. Our server also provided separate checks which helped out tremendously when settling the bill.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

It was ok

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Got seated right away, order the fried onion appetizer, the bottom wasn't cooked. My wife got the crab cakes sandwich, she liked OK. I got the blackened chicken quesodillia which was not very blackened and the Tortilla was burned on both sides.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Dinner

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Our waitress was very nice and incredibly attentive however our food was not good. The Ahi-Tuna was over cooked, the chicken marsala was not marsals, and the hamburger was over cooked. Also, I ordered the Harp beer on draft and I am pretty sure they gave me a Bud Light instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Nice bar setup but dinner was over-priced

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2016

So, I decided to take my wife to The Harp for a Valentine's meal due to some good reviews. I really enjoyed the very nice Irish Bar feel with nice woodwork. The bar area was separate from the dining room and looked very inviting. The dining area was booth seating on the two sides and square tables for 4 in the center. Booth seating was lumpy and somewhat uncomfortable (could have been my seat only). Tables in the center were very nice laquered wood where as the booths had longer tables but were covered with 1/4" glass that creaked with crumb crunching sounds whenever you leaned on it. Shame because the wood underneath looked awesome. As for the food, taste was good but not great. Crabcake had some large pieces of crab but for $20+ ... single crab cake and two sides seems high. An additional crabcake was available for an additional $8 or $9. Glad I didn't splurge. Garlic mashed was very good and my wife seemed to like the stuffed Rockfish. Wine list was short and $30 for Robert Mondavi Cab (store cost $11). Final little ding was the 'Molten Lava Cake' dessert (note - a la mode is extra) was barely warm let alone hot. We mentioned this to the waitress but since we had already dug into it and didn't want to wait for her to go 'nuke' it, we just ate it. I expected some sort of discount for poorly prepared dessert but everything was full price.

I may return to try the bar side and their impressive selection of Irish beers but I think I'm done with any dinners here.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great Food.

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2016

This was my husband and I second time there and I was better than the first. Great food, great drinks, great atmosphere! The only minus was the pool room was not available.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

VERY Disappointed

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 7, 2016

Very disappointed. I had reserved our table for 8 a week ahead of time (we were celebrating a birthday) and we had to wait 20 minutes for them to get a table "ready" for our group. We ended up seated where that band would normally be set up, on a raised platform with no access for our waitress to take our orders or serve us easily. Half of our party was served our meals (some were barley warm) and the rest of the food came about 20 minutes later - supposedly an issue with broccoli in the kitchen! Sadly, the food was nothing to comment about and They ran out of the multiple dessert choices and we were only left with Vanilla ice cream or a brownie to pick from. The whole evening was an absolute FAIL.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Slow and frozen

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 30, 2016

Slow service, frozen fries, soggy sandwich, and too expensive for a family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

A Disappointing Meal

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 26, 2016

A friend and I lunched at The Harp during Restaurant Week. I opted for the onion soup, chicken quesadilla, and cinnamon ice-cream. The soup was tepid; the waitress returned it for warming, but it was still less hot than it should be. The quesadilla was good, but I had to ask for the condiments; and the ice cream was delicious, but our server brought the check having forgotten to serve our desserts. Admittedly, this was a few days after the big snow, so perhaps they were short-staffed, but only a few tables were occupied, so I find no excuse for the poor service. The server was very nice but needed to brush up on her skills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

This is my 3rd time eating at the Harp i ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 2, 2016

This is my 3rd time eating at the Harp in the dining area and it was not the best. There were 5 of us which the table was so wobbly that our drinks were sliding around and we had to take turns cutting our food. The rockfish bites were very fishy tasting and not too appetizing. The broccoli came out cold. So.cold that the butter would not melt. I would not recommend dinner at the Harp but a place to meet for drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Thank you great ignt

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 27, 2015

Thank you great ignt

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Happy Hour

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 4, 2015

My wife, daughter and myself decided to venture out and try a restaurant we have never eaten at. The atmosphere was good, food was good. The problem is we wanted to eat and enjoy happy hour drinks in the restraint, but that was not allowed unless you were sitting on the bar/pub side, in which has limited seating, and for our time there was no seating. Since the pub area has limited seating, I believe that the they could cater to the dinning side as well with the happy hour drinks.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and service!

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 24, 2015

This restaurant was very accommodating and kid friendly. Wait staff was friendly and service was quick. Will go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first visit, and I was a lit ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 2, 2015

This was my first visit, and I was a little disappointed. Our server was not attentive at all. One person waited over 30 mins for a drink. One person was served the wrong meal (chicken instead of fish). Our whole table wasn't quite ready to order, so half the table ordered, our server walked away to give us a min, and we didn't see her again for a good 20 mins. The place was less than busy, so there really wasn't an excuse. She didn't give us a hard time about splitting a check between 6 people, so that was a plus.

The food was good overall. The fish in the fish and chips was overcooked, but it was well seasoned. The fries were amazing. The menu looked great, so there's a lot more that I'd like to try.

Overall a decent experience. I'll give it another try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Good food, excellent desserts, service needs work.

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 12, 2015

Our first time at Harp with friends who had been there once before. We were seated quickly in a nice booth in a nice, quiet area of the dining room.

The waitress arrived shortly for our drink orders. The wine list was not clear (had no prices at all), so she left to inquire whether we could order wine by the bottle AND to see about shutting off one of the lights or the ceiling fan which was flashing over our booth and the adjacent table like a strobe light.

She returned to tell us we could order wine by the bottle (and told us the price forone we picked) but forgot the light and fan. We ordered wine; she left for the wine.

She returned a bit later (having turned off the light) with our wine and glasses.

Since we were ready, she took our orders, then left-didn't serve the wine!

Waitress returns after a bit with our entrees, but forgot my wife's soup order, and dropped part of our friends burger entree.

Bus boy brings out replacement for burger order.

One of the managers stops at our table twice during dinner to basically just chat!

We split two desserts and coffee, then pay the bill in cash, leaving the bill and cash sitting on the table while we finished our coffee and talked a bit longer.

Waitress stops back, picks up the check and asks if we want any change! I'm sorry, waitressing 101 - you just say, " I'll be back with your change."

Overall, the food was very good, the wine was good, the desserts were very good.

The manager visits were unnecessary (especially twice), and the wait staff needs more training.

We'll definitely return, but if the service remains the same, there might not be a third time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Easter Brunch

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 5, 2015

Easter brunch was very good! The only small issue was everyone wanted the shrimp (and for good reason, they were huge and delicious!) and they ran out a few times and didn't bring more right out. Other than that, it was very good and a great deal. I would highly recommend it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Easter Brunch 2015

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 5, 2015

I have attended brunch at this restaurant before and it was very nice, however, on Easter it was a very different experience. Some of the food was cold and took a while to replenish. The location of the buffet was convenient for some but far for others (for example, we were told the food is located 3 doors down on your left). To have to walk down a hall of a restaurant to find food is just unacceptable. There was a lack of communication as far as what could be ordered and what would be located on the buffet. I would eat at The Harp again but will never attend brunch if this is how it will be executed from now on. I give kudos to the waitress for my table who did everything in her power to overcome any issues we had. She did a really good job and kept a positive spirit and was rewarded for her efforts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

We had an enjoyable time at The Harp!

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 6, 2015

The food was good and the atmosphere was great for our party of eight to celebrate my husbands birthday. The staff provided excellent service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

its a bar

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2015

It seems like a good place to grab a beer and burger, I dont know that I would go back for a dinner specifically though. The waitress was great though!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Great Date Night

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2015

My partner and I went out for a date and it was great! We sat in a booth in the bar and it was very comfy and cozy. He eats meat and dairy, and I do not, and we both found something we loved. Waitress was great with accommodating my vegan lifestyle and super friendly. Prices are reasonable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Family-friendly, reasonable prices

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2015

The Harp has a separate bar area and main dining room. The bar area was popular with sports enthusiasts, while the main dining room was very suitable for families. Although the service was not the quickest we've seen, the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our food was good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Good place to hang with friends

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 6, 2015

We had a booth in the dinng side not the bar side so the noise level was great for conversation. All staff was attentive and we never felt rushed to leave.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Not what it was

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 31, 2015

I have been to the Garp many times. The food was good, but gets a little worse every time I go. Service was all friendly and quick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

The Harp, what a disappointment

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 6, 2015

A group of us went on a Monday night (we had reservations) for a Birthday dinner. We weren't told until after ordering drinks that the specials were sold out and there were no alternative specials. We were looking forward to the steak and cake special but had to settle for sandwiches. The food was ok and the wait staff not very friendly or accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Nikia and Charmon Vaughan

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 18, 2014

I made reservations to the Harp for our 2nd Anniversary dinner after Paint Nite which was at this location. I was very impressed with the staff and the food. Our food was so good and our server was great. The manager greeted us and came to our table to check on us as well. A great way to end our anniversary weekend. We will be back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Poor food Poor service

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 26, 2014

Drink specials were awful. One too sweet and one too sour. I asked but was told that you could not get only one crab cake on the dinner. So my sister and I each ordered a cup of cream of crab soup and split the crab cake dinner. $26.99 The crab cake was "fishey" and dry, covered up with too much of something ( worchester?). The baked potato was old and overcooked. The cream of crab was thick and pasty. My friends "seared" tuna was not seared just cooked half way through. We told the manager about the poor crabcakes and he took the plates but never came back. We had to ask what he did about it...he didn't ask did we want anything else or offer anything. Waitress is untrained. Food took too long. Sad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Anightoutjohn

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 18, 2014

It was an enjoyable and friendly night dining experience.The Irish beer was also very enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Relaxing

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 17, 2014

Good food and quick service with friendly servers.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

lunch good,dinner not so much

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 15, 2014

Very disappointed in the crab cakes,old bay seem to be the only seasoning on them and it was way to much of it. To much filler and smelled fishy.Stew had potatoes in it it didn't need mashed under it. Gravy in was like pudding. Biscuits would have been better. Should offer two sizes of portions. We share a piece of red velvet cake. Deserts were huge. I would have rather seen smaller sizes even a sample tray with a choice of three to share or just for me. No senior menu. Dinner is very expensive. Smaller portions with smaller prices would bring more business but the food needs work.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.