About The Grocery

4 Cannon Street
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

At The Grocery, executive chef and owner Kevin Johnson presents an evolving menu that changes with the seasons, rooted in Southern and Mediterranean flavors and ingredients. The Grocery boasts house-made charcuterie and an in-house canning program to preserve produce for future menus. An extensive cocktail and wine list are available as is craft beer on tap, and a wood-burning oven heightens the cordial atmosphere in the former furniture warehouse.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2:30pm Sunday Dinner 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 302-8825

Website:
http://www.thegrocerycharleston.com/

Executive Chef:
Kevin Johnson - Chef/Owner

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

fried oysters
Peanut Butter Brownie
Bread Service
Pickled Shrimp
The Old McDonald
Ryeding Down The Boulevard
Duck Confit
Cauliflower
Squash Blossom
Wreckfish
Thai One On
Brown Turkey Figs
Crispy Eggplant
Tomato Salad
Duo Of Roasted And Fried Okra
Roman Stuffed Squash Blossoms
Banana Pudding Parfait
fresh bread
Short Ribs
Catalan Seafood Stew
Grenache Wine
Dessert Coffee
El Diablo Verde
Heirloom Tomatoes
Scallops And Pork Belly
Herb Gnocchi
Duck Hash
Boudin Sausage
Redfish
Sausage Flatbread
Omfg Family Meal
Wood Roasted Clams
Churros
Bouillabaise
Charred Onion Dip And Kettle Chips
Pappardelle
Piggy Platter
Beef Short Ribs, Bone Marrow, Grilled Bread, Gremolata
Piggy PLate
Tagliatelle, Pancetta, Pecorino, Cracked Pepper, Soft Egg -$15
Beeliner Snapper, Roasted Cauliflower, Marcona Almonds, Caper-Raisin Sauce - $18
s'more
Shaved Squash Salal
Charred Bloody Mary
Green Eggs and Ham
Huevos
French Toast

The Grocery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
South Carolina
Contemporary American
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Fit for Foodies (95)
Special Occasion (61)
Good for Groups (59)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Romantic (26)
Great for Brunch (25)
Hot Spot (23)
Notable Wine List (23)
Local Ingredients (18)
Good for a Date (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Casual (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Seasonal (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Authentic (5)
Fun (5)
Healthy (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Vegan (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Cozy (2)
Private Room (2)
Great Beer (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1449 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great meal and amazing attention to ques ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined a day ago

Great meal and amazing attention to questions we had about our meal. 3rd annual visit to The Grocery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great dinner at The Grocery. T ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a great dinner at The Grocery. They were very accommodating to gluten free concerns. Food and service were great. Would definitely dinner here again....

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Vegan, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was amazing. Every course was ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was amazing. Every course was better than the last - we could not believe it. I pledge to dine here every single time I am in Charleston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole red snapper was wonderful but ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 6 days ago

The whole red snapper was wonderful but could have used more vegetables

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I took my 86 year old mother and wanted ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

I took my 86 year old mother and wanted to treat her to a farm to table experience in Charleston. The Grocery offered authentic locally sourced ingredients with a culinary bent toward the area. While the entrees are quite pricey, the TABLE options are for sharing and allow for ordering a starter and/or dessert without taking the bill over the top. Nice wine list as well!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in town for a conference and cho ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We were in town for a conference and chose this restaurant because of it's vegetarian options which they then converted to vegan to accommodate my husband. He also can not have sugar and they did that as well while still delivering what he described as the best vegetable plate he had ever had. Excellent place, service and food. I wish I could move it to Louisville!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Vegan, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and the service were outstandin ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food and the service were outstanding. The space was a little too loud.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We really enjoyed dinner. The service wa ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We really enjoyed dinner. The service was a little too efficient. Would have preferred a slower pace and not quite so anxious to pick up our plates. Otherwise wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The ambiance and service was good, but t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The ambiance and service was good, but the food left more to desire. The entrees were expensive for what was actually being served and the food that came out was undercooked and inedible. Drinks were good however. Menu was very limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Great meal and terrific service for very ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great meal and terrific service for very comfortable

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is amazing! The bar service a ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

This place is amazing! The bar service and menu was spectacular. The food was absolutely superb and the price was very reasonable. The portions were just right, highly recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Natural, good food infused with fresh he ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Natural, good food infused with fresh herbs and a lovely presentation. The cocktails are unusual, wine list decent. Wait staff was very attentive and accommodating. The seafood dish had a lovely saffron broth and fresh delicate fish, scallops and clams.

Tags: Organic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant with wonderful food!!!

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great restaurant with wonderful food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

We had an excellent dinner at The Grocer ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had an excellent dinner at The Grocery. They did not participate in Restaurant Week so maybe that is why there were so few people there. We hope they make it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Vegan, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I've been here several times for brunch ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I've been here several times for brunch and loved it! (If they have the fried quail on French toast, GET IT.) This time I ordered the carbonara, which was decent for a general pasta dish, but in terms of authentic pasta carbonara, it was way off.... I'll still eat there, just not getting that dish again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Timing the food delivery was perfect and ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Timing the food delivery was perfect and much appreciated. Not rushed and ample time to savor drinks and each course. Friendly service too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Had an amazing time for our date night! ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Had an amazing time for our date night! My boyfriend enjoys large portion meals where I prefer to have a small plate style dinner. We both found things on the menu that were satisfying and please for the size of the meal we wanted. Plus, the waiter has excellent recommendations and guided us well during our experience. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love everything about this place. I wi ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I love everything about this place. I wish there were more affordable wine options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had dinner here earlier this week. I liv ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Had dinner here earlier this week. I live locally and several of my friends say it is one of their favorite places to dine. It did not disappoint. Try the green tomato cocktail. It is perfection. My friend and I agree we would both return for that reason alone. But there are other reasons to go to The Grocery.

The menu is refreshing and different without the typical southern standards that can be boring. I understand their in house charcuterie plates are exceptional, and although we did not try them ourselves, the fish options we did try were very good. The vegetarian special plate was an array of five separate fresh vegetable items ,each prepared with wonderful innovation and flavor and was one of the best vegetarian options I have every ordered.

Service great and fun. Attentive enough without over-doing it.

Music was pretty terrible. Kind of a mix of 80's vibe, some not even recorded by original artists. Didn't match the general feel of the restaurant at all and was a bit loud for my party.

Can't wait to go back for another martini tho.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was very good. Service was excelle ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Food was very good. Service was excellent. We are on a fairly restricted diet, so the selections we can eat were limited

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It wasn't our first visit to the grocery ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

It wasn't our first visit to the grocery, The food was amazing as always...just disappointed by slow service for our party of 6

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Truly an outstanding culinary experience ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Truly an outstanding culinary experience! From the drinks to the food to the service, everything was spectacular! Wish we would've stayed another night in Charleston just to eat at the Grocery!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our group of 6 picked this because it wa ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our group of 6 picked this because it was the only place we could get brunch reservations over Labor day weekend. It was beyond amazing for us. Delicious cocktails, extremely pleasant and funny waiter, amazing local food and a great atmosphere. Would highly recommend for brunch! I'd go back again for another meal too.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always love the food here! Sun-chokes ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I always love the food here! Sun-chokes and delicious fish and vegetables. This brunch I had the blueberry mascarpone french toast which was amazing. Everyone tried it and I could tell they wished that they had ordered them. The staff was also flexible when we added a fifth person at the last moment.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our waiter John was great. The food was ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our waiter John was great. The food was fabulous!

I got the duck and was the best I have had! Thank you!

Can not wait to go back very soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server, Justine, was attentive, prof ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our server, Justine, was attentive, professional and timely. She did a superior job describing the entrees and ensured we understood the preps of our orders. Only negative for this hearing impaired customer was the high noise level. We've added the Grocery to our list of recommendations and we'll be back sooner rather than later.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We have eaten at the grocery several tim ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

We have eaten at the grocery several times and always love it, but this meal and service was really excellent. The waiter was terrific and gave great suggestions. Everything we ate was out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Grocery was one of the highlights of ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The Grocery was one of the highlights of my trip to Charleston. The house charcuterie was amazing, the cocktail program is really cool (Burn the Witch!), and the wine list included some really interesting bottles. Beautiful and comfortable on the inside, the bartender was very nice, I'll def go back if I'm ever in Charleston again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Visiting from out of town, we dined late ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Visiting from out of town, we dined late on a Tuesday night. Instead of feeling rushed, we were welcomed and treated exceptionally by everyone from hostess, to servers to the chef/owner. Service and presentation were 5* and the selection of small plates we had were all outstanding. The roasted peaches salad, the Octopus a la Plancha, the Fried Oysters and the Steak Tartare were all on their own worth many a return visit. The Churros for dessert were definitely worth the hype. Specialty cocktails, Italian 75 and There's Always Amaro, were excellent. We were told the history of the building by the owner (check out the vault) and the dining room was comfortable and spaced perfectly. When returning to Charleston, this will be our first stop and our #1 recommendation to everyone.

Tags: Romantic, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very fun evening celebrating a ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a very fun evening celebrating a birthday and baby shower. Food was stellar as usual though the service at the bar was not quite what we are used to. Still a great experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I love this southern Charleston restaura ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I love this southern Charleston restaurant. We were seated promptly upon arrival. Food met or exceeded our expectations. Cocktails were just right. The service was seamless as we were able to enjoy an evening with our friend and not be interrupted. Great vibrant atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Thoroughly enjoyed our experience at The ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our experience at The Grocery. Food was fantastic and the ambiance was perfect. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We always enjoy The Grocery. Service and ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We always enjoy The Grocery. Service and food are always excellent and I like that the menu changes so frequently, you always have new items from which to choose. One of the things I also like about this spot is that everyone who works there, although very professional, are also warm and welcoming....not at all snooty. It's one of our go-to spots whenever we are in Charleston.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I have made several trips to The Grocery ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I have made several trips to The Grocery, mostly for Sunday Brunch and it is always a great experience! Staff is welcoming and attentive, restaurant is clean and comfortable, food is delicious! Bloody Mary's for brunch are a favorite of my family as well as non-alcoholic muddled fruit spritzers!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had an awesome experience and the staff ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Had an awesome experience and the staff were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to the Grocery for brunch-- it was ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Went to the Grocery for brunch-- it was spectacular! Everyone ordered something different, and everyone loved what they ordered. I'll be going back for the stuffed French Toast and the pimento cheese grits-- YUM! And Death by Mimosa? Yes please!!! :)

Another great thing-- parking was SOOOO easy! They have a parking lot attached to the restaurant so it was very convenient and no need to valet!!! Where do you ever find that in downtown Charleston (Answer: not very many places!)

We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent ambiance and a price point tha ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent ambiance and a price point that doesn't break the bank. Great food, too.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always surprises me how delicious and ve ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always surprises me how delicious and very fresh every dish is! Food just keeps getting better and better here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our waitress Dana was awesome! We had ju ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Our waitress Dana was awesome! We had just arrived at our hotel, Hyatt House and the goal at the front desk recommended The Grocery as a great place for a late night meal. It was so hard to choose from the menu with so many wonderful offerings. Dana helped us decide. The fried peaches were amazing complementing the fried oysters followed up by the snapper and then the lemon meringue dessert! Wife had a Zinfandel and I had a delicious brown ale. The whole was fantastic! Only wish our stay was longer than one night. We would have come back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were great. We all ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The service and food were great. We all enjoyed our meals, but the noise was a little much and it wasn't full so I can only imagine how loud it would be if it was packed. They have a great staff and menu so I would be happy to recommend it to friends and family.

thanks

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.