About The Grocery

4 Cannon Street
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

At The Grocery, executive chef and owner Kevin Johnson presents an evolving menu that changes with the seasons, rooted in Southern and Mediterranean flavors and ingredients. The Grocery boasts house-made charcuterie and an in-house canning program to preserve produce for future menus. An extensive cocktail and wine list are available as is craft beer on tap, and a wood-burning oven heightens the cordial atmosphere in the former furniture warehouse.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2:30pm Sunday Dinner 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 302-8825

Website:
http://www.thegrocerycharleston.com/

Executive Chef:
Kevin Johnson - Chef/Owner

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

fried oysters
Peanut Butter Brownie
Bread Service
Pickled Shrimp
The Old McDonald
Ryeding Down The Boulevard
Duck Confit
Cauliflower
Squash Blossom
Wreckfish
Thai One On
Brown Turkey Figs
Crispy Eggplant
Tomato Salad
Duo Of Roasted And Fried Okra
Roman Stuffed Squash Blossoms
Banana Pudding Parfait
fresh bread
Short Ribs
Catalan Seafood Stew
Grenache Wine
Dessert Coffee
El Diablo Verde
Heirloom Tomatoes
Scallops And Pork Belly
Herb Gnocchi
Duck Hash
Boudin Sausage
Redfish
Sausage Flatbread
Omfg Family Meal
Wood Roasted Clams
Churros
Bouillabaise
Charred Onion Dip And Kettle Chips
Pappardelle
Piggy Platter
Beef Short Ribs, Bone Marrow, Grilled Bread, Gremolata
Piggy PLate
Tagliatelle, Pancetta, Pecorino, Cracked Pepper, Soft Egg -$15
Beeliner Snapper, Roasted Cauliflower, Marcona Almonds, Caper-Raisin Sauce - $18
s'more
Shaved Squash Salal
Charred Bloody Mary
Green Eggs and Ham
Huevos
French Toast

The Grocery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
South Carolina
Contemporary American
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Fit for Foodies (131)
Special Occasion (87)
Good for Groups (74)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (70)
Notable Wine List (36)
Great for Brunch (36)
Romantic (33)
Hot Spot (32)
Great for Lunch (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1419 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a very fun evening celebrating a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a very fun evening celebrating a birthday and baby shower. Food was stellar as usual though the service at the bar was not quite what we are used to. Still a great experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I love this southern Charleston restaura ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

I love this southern Charleston restaurant. We were seated promptly upon arrival. Food met or exceeded our expectations. Cocktails were just right. The service was seamless as we were able to enjoy an evening with our friend and not be interrupted. Great vibrant atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Thoroughly enjoyed our experience at The ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 7 days ago

Thoroughly enjoyed our experience at The Grocery. Food was fantastic and the ambiance was perfect. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We always enjoy The Grocery. Service and ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 7 days ago

We always enjoy The Grocery. Service and food are always excellent and I like that the menu changes so frequently, you always have new items from which to choose. One of the things I also like about this spot is that everyone who works there, although very professional, are also warm and welcoming....not at all snooty. It's one of our go-to spots whenever we are in Charleston.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I have made several trips to The Grocery ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I have made several trips to The Grocery, mostly for Sunday Brunch and it is always a great experience! Staff is welcoming and attentive, restaurant is clean and comfortable, food is delicious! Bloody Mary's for brunch are a favorite of my family as well as non-alcoholic muddled fruit spritzers!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had an awesome experience and the staff ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Had an awesome experience and the staff were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to the Grocery for brunch-- it was ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Went to the Grocery for brunch-- it was spectacular! Everyone ordered something different, and everyone loved what they ordered. I'll be going back for the stuffed French Toast and the pimento cheese grits-- YUM! And Death by Mimosa? Yes please!!! :)

Another great thing-- parking was SOOOO easy! They have a parking lot attached to the restaurant so it was very convenient and no need to valet!!! Where do you ever find that in downtown Charleston (Answer: not very many places!)

We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent ambiance and a price point tha ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent ambiance and a price point that doesn't break the bank. Great food, too.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always surprises me how delicious and ve ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always surprises me how delicious and very fresh every dish is! Food just keeps getting better and better here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our waitress Dana was awesome! We had ju ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Our waitress Dana was awesome! We had just arrived at our hotel, Hyatt House and the goal at the front desk recommended The Grocery as a great place for a late night meal. It was so hard to choose from the menu with so many wonderful offerings. Dana helped us decide. The fried peaches were amazing complementing the fried oysters followed up by the snapper and then the lemon meringue dessert! Wife had a Zinfandel and I had a delicious brown ale. The whole was fantastic! Only wish our stay was longer than one night. We would have come back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were great. We all ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The service and food were great. We all enjoyed our meals, but the noise was a little much and it wasn't full so I can only imagine how loud it would be if it was packed. They have a great staff and menu so I would be happy to recommend it to friends and family.

thanks

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Awesome brunch menu! The "death by mimo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Awesome brunch menu! The "death by mimosa" was a bit sweet for me but the spicy bloody mary was perfect. Food was superb

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing! Duck was delicious ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was amazing! Duck was delicious and oysters were to die for! The corn agnolotti and roasted potatoes were fabulous! We shared all of this and it was perfect for 2 people!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Interesting atmosphere and good food. Si ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Interesting atmosphere and good food. Sitting by the kitchen was special

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Entrees are overpriced.

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Good food. Entrees are overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wife and I live in Mt Pleasant but will ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Wife and I live in Mt Pleasant but will often try and get downtown for dinner and drinks. We try to split between those we love and new finds. Many great reviews lead us to The Grocery!

Jay our waiter was outstanding. He had in depth knowledge of the menu and the concept and history of the restaurant. We split the heirloom tomato salad, duck leg, and short rib along with several glasses of wine. Hands down the food and drink were as good as we have had in Charleston. The short rib dish was phenomenal. Such vibrant flavor.

The space itself is nice and well done but somewhat unremarkable with the exception of the historic Charleston fire station across the street. Management should consider partnering with the Charleston Fire Dept to get a few old pictures of the fire station for around the bar area. It would tie in well with partnering with the neighborhood that was here well before the restaurant. The noise level was a bit high. Not bad but made it difficult to hear our waiter at times.

We will definitely come again and the Grocery will certainly make our special list we bring out of town guests to. It is slightly I. The pricey side but we certainly got what we paid for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of my favorite places to dine. I pre ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

One of my favorite places to dine. I prefer the salsa verde as a vinaigrette rather than pureed as it was this evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my first time and The Grocery a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was my first time and The Grocery and I wasn't disappointed. The food and service were impeccable and I look forward to dining there again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always fabulous food

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Always fabulous food

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I loved this place! The family style eat ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I loved this place! The family style eating of delicious food was perfect! Will return. Perfect for family night (with children who enjoy different foods) or a dress-up date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was good although slow to come. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food was good although slow to come. The server was not personable and made the dining awkward.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Our waiter was wonderful - we had a rath ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Our waiter was wonderful - we had a rather fractious almost 9 year old with us and he worked with the group to be firm and yet pleasurable for all of us!

First time there- already recommended to others!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Beeliner snapper entrée had very sma ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The Beeliner snapper entrée had very small pieces of shrimp and clam. The charcuterie "piggy plate" was delicious but came with no identification regarding the various meat samples. The cocktail labeled "and it stoned me" was refreshing; just need a larger portion to enjoy for the price. The hostess played with her hair; not appealing during consumption of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Outstanding in every respect. Unique di ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Outstanding in every respect. Unique dishes prepared with local and seasonal ingredients. My new favorite in Charleston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our friends ordered the whole fish and i ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our friends ordered the whole fish and it was delicious. Our food was okay- but for a Charleston restaurant I was a bit let down. Wait staff didn't seem all that enthusiastic to be working on a hot Sunday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I've lived in Charleston for three years ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I've lived in Charleston for three years and have been to many of the amazing restaurants around downtown. This was one of the best I have been to and more people should know about it. Every single dish was amazing and nobody left anything on their plates. We will be back to share the ribeye!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Nice, but, noisy. Food and service were ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Nice, but, noisy. Food and service were fine. I had a delightful fillet of fish with potatoes, shrimp and clams with a saffron broth that really needed a spoon or bread to help sop up the delicious juice. It would have been nice not to have to ask for bread with this type of dish, but, bread was brought, and juices were sopped. The lighting, while adequate, seemed a bit small and dated. Larger, more dynamic fixtures to replace the tired, wee, drums would be an improvement to the overall look of the place. But, the rows of beautifully preserved jars, twinkly old mirrors, and comfortable chairs were quite nice. I will be back, next time for the whole wood fired fish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Served 15$/glass Pinot in a white wine g ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Served 15$/glass Pinot in a white wine glass filled to the top. Asked for larger wine glass waitress takes it away without a word then puts it down without even looking at us. She was horrible and trust me we are really easy going and like loud fun restaurants. This was a drag. But the whole rush snapper was good.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Service was superb — Josh was friendly, ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Service was superb — Josh was friendly, personable and funny. Food was excellent. Farmer's plate for my vegetarian friend was bursting with flavor. My cured king salmon had a delightful balance of citrus and avocado and the puffed rice was an unusual but delicious addition. The roasted peaches were included in the farmers plate and ordered by me with Tasso ham and shishito peppers — they were the star of the night. Would go back in an instant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The waiter seemed to be in a rush to ser ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The waiter seemed to be in a rush to serve us and get us out of there. It was strange considering there were many tables vacant and our reservation was in the early part of the evening. He was in some cases, condescending toward us regarding bar drinks and ingredients. He seemed to be the exception though since the rest of the staff was very pleasant. The food was good but a bit overpriced for the portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

It was good food but a little precious

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

It was good food but a little precious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Went here for dinner with my wife. My w ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Went here for dinner with my wife. My wife ordered a glass of Albariño wine and I got the Ryeding down the Blvd. My wife enjoyed her wine very much and my drink was one of the best I've had. Really well made. We ordered the heirloom tsalad and and radicchio salad with peaches from the produce section. The salads were the best part of the meal on our opinion. The main course, the Lowcountry Seafood Pilau left much to be desired. I thought the whole plate was just lacking taste. It was Ok, not great. We didn't save room for dessert. Overall, we would come back. The atmosphere, drinks and service are excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We all enjoyed the food very much and we ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We all enjoyed the food very much and we are still talking about the great eggplant appetizer. All of our dishes were great. Our waitress was slow, unengaged and knew nothing about the menu. I would recommend much better training for the staff in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Second time dining, fantastic both times ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Second time dining, fantastic both times

Amazing chef.

The ingredients just work.

One of the best, if not the best, fine dining spots in town.

A step above Edmund's Oast and on par with Canon Green.

Ready to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The price of food and drink relative to ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The price of food and drink relative to what you pay wasn't worth it. Bartender wasn't friendly.

Portions very small and price of cocktails and wine was way out of line. This isn't NYC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We enjoyed the food and the service was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We enjoyed the food and the service was very friendly

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have been dining at Grocery since the ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We have been dining at Grocery since they opened. Always enjoyed it and felt all very good - food, service, value, etc. We hadn't been in about a year till this dinner. Felt portions had shrunk considerably and prices had inched up. Very disappointed. Server didn't do anything to enhance the experience. He was just okay.

When plates were put before us, we all felt it looked a bit too "nouvelle cuisine" and not what we expected of Grocery.

All in all, we will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Everything was superb. Seriously. But th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Everything was superb. Seriously. But the bone marrow custard really stood out to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I can't believe I've waited so long to t ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I can't believe I've waited so long to try this place! Everything was amazing from the pimento cheese bites at the bar to both of the shrimp appetizers to the pretzel bar at the end for dessert. Service was great--we really enjoyed our waiter. He was very knowledgable about the menu and gave us excellent recommendations. Can't wait to come back for brunch one day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place to eat, drink and be merry ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

A great place to eat, drink and be merry. Food is always top notch. Kudos to the Chef and crew. See you next time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.