About The Grocery

4 Cannon Street
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

At The Grocery, executive chef and owner Kevin Johnson presents an evolving menu that changes with the seasons, rooted in Southern and Mediterranean flavors and ingredients. The Grocery boasts house-made charcuterie and an in-house canning program to preserve produce for future menus. An extensive cocktail and wine list are available as is craft beer on tap, and a wood-burning oven heightens the cordial atmosphere in the former furniture warehouse.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2:30pm Sunday Dinner 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 302-8825

Website:
http://www.thegrocerycharleston.com/

Executive Chef:
Kevin Johnson - Chef/Owner

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

fried oysters
Bread Service
Pickled Shrimp
The Old McDonald
Ryeding Down The Boulevard
Thai One On
Brown Turkey Figs
Crispy Eggplant
Tomato Salad
Duo Of Roasted And Fried Okra
Roman Stuffed Squash Blossoms
Banana Pudding Parfait
fresh bread
Short Ribs
Catalan Seafood Stew
Grenache Wine
Dessert Coffee
El Diablo Verde
Heirloom Tomatoes
Scallops And Pork Belly
Herb Gnocchi
Duck Hash
Boudin Sausage
Redfish
Omfg Family Meal
Sausage Flatbread
Wood Roasted Clams
Bouillabaise
Churros
Charred Onion Dip And Kettle Chips
Piggy Platter
Piggy PLate
Beef Short Ribs, Bone Marrow, Grilled Bread, Gremolata
Pappardelle
Shaved Squash Salal
Tagliatelle, Pancetta, Pecorino, Cracked Pepper, Soft Egg -$15
Beeliner Snapper, Roasted Cauliflower, Marcona Almonds, Caper-Raisin Sauce - $18
Huevos
s'more
Charred Bloody Mary
Green Eggs and Ham
French Toast

The Grocery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
South Carolina
Contemporary American
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

fit for foodies (177)
special occasion (96)
neighborhood gem (92)
See All
good for groups (78)
great for brunch (42)
notable wine list (42)
romantic (41)
hot spot (36)
great for lunch (13)
vibrant bar scene (13)
kid-friendly (13)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1369 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Groxery consistently scores highly o ...

Dined 3 days ago

The Groxery consistently scores highly on just about everyone's top Charleston restaurants list. Food was excellent, menu was original, setting was attractive, staff was very informed. Can't go wrong here.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4

We chose The Grocery based upon it being ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

We chose The Grocery based upon it being a "must" place to eat in Charleston. The food was very trendy, expensive and servings were elf sized. The service was very good but the over use of air conditioning made the visit almost unbearable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Attentive, knowledgeable wait staff enha ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Attentive, knowledgeable wait staff enhanced our dining experience. Proteins were cooked perfectly and flavorful. Vegetable accompaniments complimented the protein and there was a nice selection of sides for the vegetable lover. Dessert was on par with the rest of the meal, definitely worth saving room for.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

What a great meal prepared by chef Kevin ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

What a great meal prepared by chef Kevin and his team. I must add the Churros were amazing, especially the salty caramel and chocolate chili orange . I highlly recommend for your next trip to Charleston!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The Grocery was really enjoyable. From ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The Grocery was really enjoyable. From our server to the food, everything was perfect. I think our favorite veggie was the Heirloom Tomato Salad. Two had the Wreak fish and it was perfectly cooked and the accompining roasted cauliflower had just a slight smoky flavor...delicious. The Wagyu beef was very tender and delicious too, Wonderful flavors. Only complaint was the Duck Leg confit. It really was only one duck leg. It was not too filling, but very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. Dishes very unique with ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great service. Dishes very unique with fresh ingredients. Well done.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a party of 10 and had a great ti ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We were a party of 10 and had a great time sampling and sharing this delicious menu. Service was great and the food was excellent. Would definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We booked this based on previous reviews ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

We booked this based on previous reviews and were not disappointed! It was a great meal from start to finish!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Lauren was fantastic and made ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Our server Lauren was fantastic and made my husband and I feel right at home despite the fact that she had a very large group seated in our section to also attend to. She filled us in on some of the questions we had about the neighborhood and introduced us to some of the other staff as well, who where equally as delightful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was incredible as always. Our s ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was incredible as always. Our service was good but not great due to the fact that our server had far too many tables.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful food and service! This is a re ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Wonderful food and service! This is a really fun place to dine with a group because of all the variety of dishes and sizes of plates you can get. We enjoyed sharing several things, especially the seafood pilau and appetizer dishes. Desserts were also wonderful. My only criticism is that it would have been helpful if the server had mentioned (or if it was written on the menu) that gratuity at 18% was included. Our party of six did not notice and ended up adding an additional 20% to the bill.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Food

Dined on June 10, 2016

We were celebrating a 45th wedding anniversary weekend starting early on a Friday night. Parking is easy and we were well received. We were seated in a side room by a sidewalk window. The main room would have been more appealing. The wine list was sparse and very expensive. The food was great but too expensive for what we received. The special drink of the night soothed the pain.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Interesting food with a good variety. S ...

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Interesting food with a good variety. Soft shell crabs were great -- no batter, no deep frying; just simple and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a fabulous dinner

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Great for vegetarians who crave creative and fresh composed plates. Our favorite restaurant in Historic Charleston - where we live.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious with Interest!

Dined on June 5, 2016

Our overall experience was terrific. We are foodies from Chicago, but hopefully that just makes us curious and not arrogant... Chef Kevin Johnson cooked up our dinner with daily fresh surprises/ which our server told us changes 3-4 times per week. The Morrell mushroom starter was to die for...but I couldn't understand why they were sliced instead of served whole. Anyone that loves Morrells WANTS them. Too bad if they are hard to source.....Go ahead and charge more please so I can have them whole! The octopus was tender and flavorful followed by one of the best duck plates I think I've ever eaten. My husband ordered the daily catch and forgot to share a taste. For desert we'll give a big score on the Lemon Meringue thing...light, frozen with big flavor that disappears in your mouth. The wine steward helped us each with glass of wine to pair with dinner. Our server was lovely and helpful, personable but not too invasive. May we come back please?!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

I have dined here several times and thou ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

I have dined here several times and thought it was great but it was definitely not great today. The dish I ordered, hang town fry, was a huge disappointment. There was nothing great about it. Will probably not be returning here as there as many other great choices in Charleston. It was very disappointing that I brought my friend from Nashville there and it wasn't a winner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous for Brunch

Dined on June 5, 2016

A friend recently recommended The Grocery to me so I made reservations for Sunday Brunch for my husband and I. The food and service was fantastic! I can't wait to go back! I had the bacon & egg frittata with fried oysters and green tomatoes and my husband went with the fried fish BLT! Both selections were delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Server was great. Food was a mixed bag. ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Server was great. Food was a mixed bag. Three apps that we ordered lacked flavor. The squash blossom was fried with no stuffing. I've had squash blossoms many times and they have always been stuffed. Saving grace was the wreck fish and dessert. Fish was cooked perfectly and dessert was excellent

food5
ambience4
service4

Made the decision to eat there based on ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Made the decision to eat there based on the menu on open table, however the menu was quite different. Wished it was more accurate. The food was great though.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Dinner

Dined on June 3, 2016

We reviewed menu before we made reservations not knowing the menu changes about 5 times per week. Food was pricey, rich and just a little too gourmet for our tastes. Waitress fast, friendly and she explained menu well. Restaurant not for the everyday, typical dining customer.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Incredible Meal

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

The Grocery is one of my favorite restaurants and the meal that we had there a few nights ago was the best meal I have had out in a long time!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another wonderful experience

Dined on May 31, 2016

This was our second trip to The Grocery, both for dinner. Every bit as good as the first visit. It was not an overly busy evening, and our server was most attentive. The menu combination of starters, small plates and dinner plates allows each diner to order portions to fit the appetite. We had the radish salad, the asparagus salad, the smoked rudderfish and the braised wreckfish. All fresh and perfectly prepared, with wonderful flavors - so good, we traded plates back and forth. The wine list is extensive but not overwhelming, with enough choices to pair well with the menu offerings. Kevin Johnson and his staff use what's fresh and local, are creative and provide a great overall experience. Thanks.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Third time in a month. Better and better. Lardo flatbread excellent. Freshest fish. Free parking. WhT more could I ask?

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service2

The upfit of the restaurant has a cool i ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

The upfit of the restaurant has a cool industrial feel and the food was outstanding with an unusual offering of dishes. The service, however, was anything but outstanding. We (party of two) arrived on time and were seated promptly, but we sat for 20 mins with nothing but a glass of water before the waiter came to take our drink order. Another 10 minutes to get our bottle of wine. We're 30 minutes in and the waiter has told us twice that he's waiting on the bread to be ready to bring to the table and we haven't even been asked for our order yet. 5 minutes later, I witness our waiter pulling the bread out of a bread box with tongs. When it arrives, the bread is cold and somewhat mutilated from his handling. When we were finally able to ask about some suggestions on the menu, he immediately pointed out the $80 bone-in ribeye and a $54 (I think) fish dish....the two most expensive dishes on the menu. To make matters worse, our waiter had a kind of disingenuous banter to try to cover up for the fact that he wasn't paying attention, using such phrases as "that's my man" When he sees me pouring our own wine. As soon as the bread is served, our appetizers show up. Another twenty minutes go by before our entrees arrive. At this point, several people have left and our waiter has 3 fewer tables to take care of, but the service is no better. After an hour and a half, we opted not to order dessert. Interestingly though, when we asked for the check, he produced it in less than a minute and instantly picked it up after I signed the bill. We had dessert back at our hotel. When I was in college, I worked as a waiter at an excellent restaurant in Atlanta, so I appreciate how tough a job it is and what it takes to do it well. Now, in my 50's, I travel to Charleston frequently on both business and pleasure and make a point to eat at new restaurants often. As competitive as the restaurant scene is here, you have to get the service piece right, not just the food, especially on N. King

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dining

Dined on May 29, 2016

Enjoyed the broiled peach salad very much. Makes a different twist for a salad.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous brunch options and service is o ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Fabulous brunch options and service is outstanding

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible

Dined on May 29, 2016

All around fantastic! Food was amazing; there was a great drink list ... can't wait to go back. Truly a gem in Charleston's magnificent food scene.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Seating

Dined on May 28, 2016

Need to arrange the "date night" or couples seating. It's way to close. You feeling as though your eating and talking to the people on either side of you. Private/romantic dining/talking at the couples tables is rather non-existent. Other than that, do not change a thing.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal food, amazing service.

Dined on May 28, 2016

I had the braised wreck fish and it was a perfect dish. It was plated beautifully and the flavors of the veggies combined with the pine nut vinaigrette was just spot on. I'm a sous chef visiting from California and I wish I could eat here way more often. I love the farm to table menu and I think its brilliant that they utilize unused produce by pickling it for a future menu. Genius!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Waking up of your senses

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was just perfect! The composition of the dishes, the fact that everything is fresh, locally grown and of the season just add to the subtle flavors of all the ingredients and of the herbs. I had 3 dishes (entrée, plat, dessert as we say in French) vegetables - squash, grilled shrimps, pannacotta, yet simple, I was extactic at every one of them. You try and discover "what is that little stingy flavor? Oh yes"! The whole dinner, all 3 dishes were like a waking up of the senses. The wine selection was also very good. In short, my best dinner in Charleston out of 3!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One if the best meals we've had! The ro ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

One if the best meals we've had! The roasted peach salad was fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

2nd time at The Grocery.

Dined on May 23, 2016

My wife and I split several small plates and they were great. If the morel mushrooms with polenta is on the menu, order it. One of the best things I've ever eaten. Wine list is solid and not over priced. Service was attentive without being intrusive. We will go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Anazing flavors with great presentation ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Anazing flavors with great presentation and gracious service.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently excellent

Dined on May 22, 2016

A nice departure from the somewhat hackneyed Southern Food scene, the Grocery is fresh, eclectic and very good. The fried oysters are to die for and the preparation in unique. You might ask how can a fried oyster be unique, but trust me, these guys have found a way. The veggie plates are also sensational and not to be missed. The presence of both small and large plates allows very flexible dining options.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great fun for foodies

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Stopped for brunch after a long weekend at the beach. Menu was an inventive and delicious take on Southern/Charleston classics, e.g. flash fried pimento cheese balls which sound like state fair food but were absolutely the stuff of foodie Heaven. Warehouse-style décor was fun, inviting. Server knowledgeable and effective without being intrusive. Looking forward to going back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Fun for foodies. A mostly small-plate de ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Fun for foodies. A mostly small-plate design. Delicious cocktails. Fresh ingredients and creative food and presentation.

food4
ambience5
service4

The food was good and you could tell tha ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was good and you could tell that fresh ingredients were used but I felt like it was a little over priced. I'd go back but it wouldn't be my first choice.

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

All together fun night, food wine , serv ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

All together fun night, food wine , service and athmosphere, but as many other places, difficult to have a conversation if the person is not seated right next to you, high decibels.......................

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated early (!) . Table was a ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We were seated early (!) . Table was a bit chilly, so we asked wait staff to perhaps turn fan OFF over head....they were responsive and followed up with manager visiting table to let us know it would feel a bit warmer soon...and it did. Service was excellent. Food excellent. We've eaten many times here and found this particular menu selection the best to date.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

can't wait to go back! we had been befor ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

can't wait to go back! we had been before for brunch, and were impressed, dinner did not disappoint! our server made the meal fun and relaxed-john i think. we shared the beet salad and wreckfish palau, and hazelnut ice cream. it was all delicious, wonderful flavors, and we are looking forward to getting back and seeing what's on the menu next time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.