About The Grocery

4 Cannon Street
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

At The Grocery, executive chef and owner Kevin Johnson presents an evolving menu that changes with the seasons, rooted in Southern and Mediterranean flavors and ingredients. The Grocery boasts house-made charcuterie and an in-house canning program to preserve produce for future menus. An extensive cocktail and wine list are available as is craft beer on tap, and a wood-burning oven heightens the cordial atmosphere in the former furniture warehouse.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:30am - 2:30pm Sunday Dinner 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 302-8825

Website:
http://www.thegrocerycharleston.com/

Executive Chef:
Kevin Johnson - Chef/Owner

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Grocery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

fit for foodies (169)
special occasion (92)
neighborhood gem (84)
See All
good for groups (71)
romantic (53)
great for brunch (48)
notable wine list (41)
hot spot (37)
vibrant bar scene (14)
great for lunch (11)
kid-friendly (11)
late-night find (6)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1333 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

2nd time at The Grocery.

Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I split several small plates and they were great. If the morel mushrooms with polenta is on the menu, order it. One of the best things I've ever eaten. Wine list is solid and not over priced. Service was attentive without being intrusive. We will go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Anazing flavors with great presentation ...

Dined 6 days ago

Anazing flavors with great presentation and gracious service.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently excellent

Dined 6 days ago

A nice departure from the somewhat hackneyed Southern Food scene, the Grocery is fresh, eclectic and very good. The fried oysters are to die for and the preparation in unique. You might ask how can a fried oyster be unique, but trust me, these guys have found a way. The veggie plates are also sensational and not to be missed. The presence of both small and large plates allows very flexible dining options.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Fun for foodies. A mostly small-plate de ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Fun for foodies. A mostly small-plate design. Delicious cocktails. Fresh ingredients and creative food and presentation.

food4
ambience5
service4

The food was good and you could tell tha ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was good and you could tell that fresh ingredients were used but I felt like it was a little over priced. I'd go back but it wouldn't be my first choice.

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

All together fun night, food wine , serv ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

All together fun night, food wine , service and athmosphere, but as many other places, difficult to have a conversation if the person is not seated right next to you, high decibels.......................

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated early (!) . Table was a ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We were seated early (!) . Table was a bit chilly, so we asked wait staff to perhaps turn fan OFF over head....they were responsive and followed up with manager visiting table to let us know it would feel a bit warmer soon...and it did. Service was excellent. Food excellent. We've eaten many times here and found this particular menu selection the best to date.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

can't wait to go back! we had been befor ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

can't wait to go back! we had been before for brunch, and were impressed, dinner did not disappoint! our server made the meal fun and relaxed-john i think. we shared the beet salad and wreckfish palau, and hazelnut ice cream. it was all delicious, wonderful flavors, and we are looking forward to getting back and seeing what's on the menu next time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

A bit disappointed

Dined on May 15, 2016

This place was recommended as a great place for brunch by a friend. The service was good, the drinks were really good and we loved the small charcuterie plate. The entree was lack luster though. It wasn't seasoned very well and we were disappointed. It wasn't a horrible experience but it's not a place I would think about returning to.

food4
ambience4
service4

Food was prepared to our liking. It coul ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Food was prepared to our liking. It could have come out a little hotter and meal could've been slowed down. Tables were also close to each other. Our celebration was recognized which was great! There were a few large parties so that got a little noisy. Would recommend and will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5

I travel a good bit and try lots of pla ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

I travel a good bit and try lots of places to eat. I don't gush over restaurants. That is with the exception of this place. I can't say enough good things about everything about this place. World class food. Thomas at the bar is exceptionally knowledgeable about food as well as drink. Go here. You will love it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bring your out-of-town guests here

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is my third visit (2 dinners and 1 brunch) in two months and I received superior service and awesome local food on each visit. This place is a true standout!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Memorable service. Love this restaurant. ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Memorable service. Love this restaurant. But I seriously may not go back because of the hysteria surrounding the reservation process. They call you and email you multiple times to ensure that you are coming. Even if the restaurant is not full. It's annoying and makes me think if I don't call back every time you leave a message that I will lose my reservation. This restaurant has always been weird about reservations.

food4
ambience4
service5

Great creative menu. Farm to table, such ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great creative menu. Farm to table, such fresh food. We will be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every bite was explosion of delicious fl ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Every bite was explosion of delicious flavors. We loved everything we ordered!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite local restaurants, ev ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

One of my favorite local restaurants, even with so many to choose from! Great food, never had a bad experience. Service is always top notch!

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Was worth it, but ......

Dined on May 5, 2016

The ambience was nice, well lit, friendly, a lot of conversation but not overwhelming. The menu was interesting and limited which was fine. The pricing for appetizers mostly around $12 and entree's around $28. We had the spring salad and the sweet pea salad. I thought the Sweet pea salad was very special . Nice and fresh peas and snap peas that were crunchy , sweet and pungent with a very light vinaigrette that did not hide or drown the freshness. We had the mahi entrée which came with roasted vegetables. That was nice but portion was very small. We had the shrimp appetizer. It came with full shrimps, head and all, and we thought they were mushy and not cooked well and they had a fishy taste. I would not get them again. Then we also split the taglia pasta with meat sauce and that was just okay. did not blow us away. We did see someone next to us get the family style dinner with shrimp, clams and fish and vegetables in a big pan. We almost got that and I wish we did. The drinks were delicious and creative and the staff was great. I thought it was a nice place, I was disappointed with the quality of the food, but maybe we caught it at an off night. I would like to try their lunch menu sometime.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Not satisfied

Dined on May 5, 2016

The hostess was nice, but it took almost 30 minutes for a server to notice us. Once we were noticed, the server didn't even acknowledge that it took so long to get to us. The food was OK, but not great. Nothing impressive or worth mentioning to a friend.

food5
ambience5
service5

They didn't tell me there were mushrooms ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

They didn't tell me there were mushrooms in a dish (and it wasn't listed on the menu), but they quickly corrected the issue.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful concept and well orchestrated! ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Wonderful concept and well orchestrated! Highly recommend The Grocery. Wish we had one in Charlotte!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious brunch

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

The pimento grits were AMAZING!! We also had sausage with a pickled onion relish on top that was so tasty. The next time we are in Charleston, we're definitely coming back here.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Farm to table

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a lovely meal with fresh ingredients and innovative cooking. We shared the Lowcountry pilau. It was more than two of us could finish.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Innovative dining

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

From service that goes beyond great to outstanding to dishes that defy expectations this is a place to try. We ordered five dishes and each was a standout. Particularly interesting was a brûlée of bone marrow which was extracted, whipped, and then flambeed in a ramekin. Made a marrow hater into a believer. Salads were filled with fresh local beans , peas and greens. Octopus was tender and served on a bed of hummus and sliced radishes. We ended with a duck leg confit which confused me as the leg and thigh were deep red in color. They used a duck sourced from a Georgia farm rather than a Long Island Pekin duck. Tasted like confit but it looked a bit scary to someone who has twice been poisoned by undercooked duck. That's my Prejudice and should not stop you from enjoying this dish. Worth a further exploration if the menu and five stars to the wait staff and the inventiveness of the kitchen

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the whole experience

Dined on April 28, 2016

Loved the whole experience

food5
ambience5
service5

Cauliflower, pasta filled with Sherpa mi ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Cauliflower, pasta filled with Sherpa milk ricotta and asparagus salad were great and portions were well suited for sharing Also got the Wagyu steak tartare It was great! We would definitely eat here again! Our server was great, very knowledgeable.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great personality and fun

Dined on April 28, 2016

Great personality and fun

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience!

Dined on April 26, 2016

Wonderful experience!

food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Brunch vs Dinner

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We ate at the Grocery one Sunday and loved the menu. There was a nice variety in drinks and food. When we ate there last Saturday, we were disappointed in the choices. There were very few and only a limited amount in a moderate price range. My pasta dish was so small that it was ridiculous. My sister did enjoy her flounder and the carrots were very good. My husband had a larger plate of carrots, a side, than I did on my pasta dish.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impressed

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great place. Went for wedding anniversary. Treated very well. Number of items on the house. Highly recommended. Great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and service!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Our dinner was a very creative mix of fresh ingredients; service and atmosphere were perfect. I have eaten out frequently in this town for over 25 years and The Grocery is now my favorite.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

I'd have to say they have one of the bes ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

I'd have to say they have one of the best curated cocktail menu around. Who put that together? The food is great also, but Man--those cocktails! They need to build an Uber parking lot across the street so we can enjoy without inhibition!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Best dinner in Charleston - an almost pe ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Best dinner in Charleston - an almost perfect meal! Perhaps the best dinner we've eaten in the last year...

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Will definitely be back

Dined on April 22, 2016

Enjoyed a delicious dinner with girlfriends here last week. Loved the low key atmosphere and the way that the menu is simple and not to overwhelming. Cocktails were delicious, and the food tasted fresh and prepared with interesting flavor combinations. Our server couldn't be nicer too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Special Night!

Dined on April 21, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary here. Tremendous me u and the staff was awesome! They even helps me to arrange for flowers to be delivered to our table. Fantatic all around!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Farm to table goodness

Dined on April 20, 2016

A friend posted about The Grocery months ago and I have been instagram stalking them since. It tastes as good as it looks! Wagyu beef being our fav of the meal but it was all amazing. Save room for the frozen lemon meringue.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous!

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

In a city noted for great locally sourced restaurants, this one now leads my list. Very inventive and solid - delicious and creative entrees in a range of sizes. Very reasonably priced too. Chef and The Farmer in the city!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fiona loves it!

Dined on April 19, 2016

Fiona and her family loved her evening at The Grocery. Low Key, laid back and delicious. Service was impeccable. Food was thoughtfully prepared, plated and served in a manner that allowed each ingredient to speak for itself - they were not all 'mucked up' with sauces Yea! Each ingredient was fresh, organic and wholesome and beautifully pared with its partners for complimentary flavors. Lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently one of the best tables in C ...

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

Consistently one of the best tables in Charleston. I love that they put as much or more thought into their vegetables than their meats. Service is always excellent, too.

food5
ambience5
service5

Breakfast plate is the bomb.

Dined on April 17, 2016

Breakfast plate is the bomb.

food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Brunch

Dined on April 17, 2016

We were a table of eight for brunch. Our meals came out at staggered times and by the time Everyone was served, mine was cold. Don't like poached cold eggs. Food delist especially biscuits and jam.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.