About The Grille at Deacon Tower

475 Deacon Blvd
Winston-Salem, NC 27105
View Larger Map

The Grille at Deacon Tower, located on the fourth floor of Deacon Tower at BB&T Field, is a great place for casual work week lunches, family lunches or just a great spot to eat lunch and see the beautiful Deacon Tower and BB&T Field. Although located at Wake Forest’s BB&T Field, the restaurant is completely open to the public. You do not have to be a member of the Deacon Club to dine with us. In addition to dining, The Grille at Deacon Tower, Ovations offers a wide range of catering options and a great atmosphere for events like wedding receptions, awards dinners, non-profit gatherings and holiday parties. Ovations can cater off-premises as well. The Grille at Deacon Tower offers a delightful selection of freshly prepared American classics.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm. The Grille at Deacon Tower will be closed for Memorial Day Friday (May 22nd) and Memorial Day Monday (May 25th).


The Grille will be closed Friday March 25th 2016 & Monday March 28th 2016. We will reopen Tuesday March 29th.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 671-6545

Catering:
OVATIONS FOOD SERVICES is the exclusive caterer for Wake Forest University’s Athletic Department and manages the food, beverage, merchandise, and hospitality services at over 135 venues throughout the US and Canada. At Wake Forest University, Ovations Food Services offers a certified meeting, event and wedding planner, professional and uniformed staff and a crew of creative culinarians.

Please contact the Ovations Catering Sales Manager, Mark Noda at 336-896-1207 or mark.noda@ovationsfs.com to begin planning your next event.

Parking Details:
Park outside of the Deacon Tower and look for the big Deacon statue. Enter the Deacon Tower through the GOLD lobby and take the elevator to the 4th Floor.

Additional:
Beer, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Grille at Deacon Tower Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.5

service

4.0

ambience

3.5

value

4.0

noise

Energetic

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
See All
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
S
27 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was horrible and it took 35 ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2016

The service was horrible and it took 35 minutes to get 2 salads that were ordered from the menu the rest of us had the Buffett which the chicken was dry and horrible plus the sanitation rate was an 81 and when asked about that we got lots of excuses

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Took visiting family (high school athlet ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Took visiting family (high school athlete) to Deacon Tower because of the atmosphere/venue. The buffet was ample plus menu available. Prices were reasonable providing good value. Service was good. Venue is spectacular for sports minded customer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Casual, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Slow service from kitchen due to backup ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Slow service from kitchen due to backup chef. Took 45 min before food is served. Wrong order on 2 out of 6. Our waiter Nick tried his best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Disappointing experience. Made the reser ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Disappointing experience. Made the reservation for Mother's day for 4 people. We arrived and they wanted to seat us at a desk with a monitor, that faces the field. We would all be sitting in a row next to each other. While the view is nice, that is not generally how 4 people would want to sit. We were surprised with a 34.99 buffet menu. We had not been told until we were seated that there was a special buffet that was not optional. When you show up to a restaurant planning to pay around 80 bucks for 4 people's meal and walk out with a 160 dollar bill, that's kind of a big deal. They would not allow ordering off the regular menu. Service was terrible, simply among the worst service I have ever had. I don't know where the server would disappear to, but getting drink refills took 15 minutes after I went to find him and ask for them. I emailed management to express my frustration with the menu. I was asked to send them my contact info. I did, no response. I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Cold food - sad for Mothers Day - over priced

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 8, 2016

What a disappointment. We spent a fortune for a mother's day brunch. My husband and I took my mom--very sad. The buffet was stone cold & the burners were not even on. We did share with our waitress--she simply said they would turn on burners. A little late as food was probably cold to start with ... and no offer to discount our meal ... what an expense brunch .. $35 each .. not including tax and tip ... We felt robbed. Will not go again. Will not recommend. Sad for Wake Forest University property.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Service was super slow and inattentive , ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 3, 2016

Service was super slow and inattentive , once we did receive out food, salads and burgers , the burgers were to be medium and they were tough and overdone. We were there for over 90mins and I had to get up and go to the register and beg to pay so we could leave. Doubt we will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

The entire experience was outstanding!

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 22, 2016

The entire experience was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

good food, very slow delivery of food

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 15, 2015

Our food was good and the waitstaff very friendly. However, getting the food was another issue. We ordered an appetizer that never came and it took a long time for our main meal to come out. Our waiter was very apologetic over the wait and not getting our appetizer - the Manager never spoke to us. We were compted 2 desserts for the issues. And the Manager,

I don't know what happened with one of the waiters to deserve a comment from a woman I'm assuming was the Manager, but it was a smart/short comment that should have been said away from the customers, not in the middle of them. There were several large tables because of the Holidays, and I haven't been since they changed Management/operators so I don't know if the slow kitchen is the norm now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great food. Had a conference downstairs, ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 19, 2015

Great food. Had a conference downstairs, so we popped up for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Atmosphere and People

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 6, 2015

I am always looking for unique dining experiences for my wife and I to try. This was one of the best. For my wife to say that the food was some of the best that she has had, Someone has accomplished something. The Spinach and Artichoke dip was an amazing appetizer. Would highly recommend the experience. The staff was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Place, poor food quality

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 4, 2015

First time back since the change over. This place would be a lunch hot spot if the food quality only matched the setting. Not sure I will return.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

It was good!

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 27, 2015

My group has eaten there several times. The service is getting better.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great experience

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 21, 2015

Good food, great view, friendly courteous staff, awesome atmosphere.

Sorry to take so long to respond.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Poor Service and Poor Food

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 12, 2015

Sadly this place is not like it was under the new management. Service was so slow and food was truly awful. I wanted this to be great because its right by our building but sadly its not even good. Only positive was the location was great but I'd just have to say don't waste your money or your time (they are so slow.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

Disappointed on Mother's Day

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2015

I was so excited to hear the Deacon Tower was open again because it was one of my favorites before their "renovation." The only food choice was a fixed price buffet for $20 pp with carved ham, fruit, yogurt, eggs (had been out awhile, very dry) and an omelet station with people who didn't seem familiar with how to make omelets without sticking to the pan and falling apart. Had I known the food options, I would have made a different choice for a Mother's Day brunch restaurant. I would not recommend nor will we go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Great Food, Great View

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 17, 2015

Service was attentive and unobtrusive. Food was excellent, especially the tomato bisque soup and the Caprese chicken sandwich. A gem of a place overlooking the Wake Forest football field. Wish more people knew about it because it is truly exquisite!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Not like it used to be

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 10, 2015

The venue is beautiful, especially for Deacon fans. We used to love coming here for lunch, and the occasional dinner. But since the change of management and food source, it has declined. Proof being that hardly anyone was there during the peak hour of Friday lunch. The place used to be packed, especially on a Friday. The positive - we got to eat at a high top outside overlooking the football field. Beautiful! Service was slow and not sure our server even had another table, at least the 1st 15 min. we were there. Finally ordered and food came in a reasonable amount of time. My husband got the chicken pot pie (curiously placed under starters on the menu?) He loved it! and for $6 quite the bargain. I got the caprese chicken sandwich. Very disappointing. It was very bland. Not at all as described on the menu. No pesto, and bland balsamic. Who knew that was even possible? Just a bland chicken sandwich for $9. Can see why no one hurries back anymore. Such a shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Good food and fast service

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 18, 2015

We had a group of 6, the food came out fast and was very good.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Want to love this place

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 26, 2015

I want to LOVE this place because the ambiance is great. Great place for a business lunch. Here are the issues I hope can be corrected. General service was very good, but we waited a very long time for our food and we were almost the only people in the restaurant. if it's going to take that long to prepare, maybe a bread basket should be provided. Food was just OK. Pimento cheese wasn't melted on a burger, fried green tomatoes were heavily breaded things that barely resembled a tomato. Fries were good. Last thing, the downstairs elevator area has a VERY weird smell, not at all appetizing. Something should be done about that.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Lunch Bunch!

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 7, 2015

There were 8 of us in a group. The waitress was very nice & accommodating. The delivery time for the all 8 meals food was very, very long.. 2 of the orders were insufficient. One meal was prepared incorrectly & had to be totally redone. The other meal took forever to be served. Most of the group was finished eating before this particular meal was delivered to the table.

The food was tasty, once it was delivered. The location & view is excellent. The wait staff tried hard. Not sure exactly what the problem was, but it appears to be in the kitchen..

The group has been to the grill before and we will return soon. Hopefully the issues will be addressed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Great Spot!

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 1, 2014

Very nice! The staff was very efficient, pleasant and attentive. The food was very tasty and reasonably priced. The location is excellent...We will be returning often!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent, food, service and atmosphere, ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 25, 2014

Excellent, food, service and atmosphere, and you can talk in a normal voice with your guests or clients

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sports Dining

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 15, 2014

Loved having lunch overlooking the football field. My son enjoyed eating there to celebrate his 20th birthday.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Never Disappoints

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 6, 2014

A great lunch at a great venue! The Cobb Salad with Salmon was prepared to perfection. Our waitress, Sara, was most attentive. Will return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Poor Service

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 23, 2014

I took a group of 5 for a business lunch. Our reservation was for 12:15 and our server didn't take our order until 12:40. The restaurant was not busy. Service at the Grille at Deacon Tower is just too slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Good Fare...and Go Deacs!

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 17, 2014

Solid grille/gastropub-style food in a congenial setting for ACC fans, overlooking Wake Forest's attractive football complex. Service was swift, well-informed, and unintrusive. As stadium-area dining goes, this a gem of a find.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

OLD DEACON TOWER PEOPLE

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 25, 2014

THIS WAS A GOOD PLACE TO HAVE DINNER ON THE GO.PROBLEM ITS JUST OUTSIDE OF HOTEL LOBBY AND FEELS LIKE THAT. ITS NEEDS TO BE REVAMPED,A LITTLE LONG IN TOOTH. FOOD WAS ACCEPTABLE,WAIT STAFF WAS ATTENTIVE AND HELPFUL. THERE ARE SO MANY GREAT PLACES TO EAT IN OUR TOWN,THAT TO GET OTHER THAN JUST HOTEL TRADE THEY NEED A REVAMP.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.