About The Grey Plume

220 South 31st Avenue
Suite 3101
Omaha, NE 68131
View Larger Map

The Grey Plume focuses on seasonality and sustainability. We change our menu often, basing our cuisine on local farmer's supply. When possible we preserve produce from Nebraska and the region at harvest for the winter months. The Grey Plume works in partnership with The Green Restaurant Association and is the first and only Certified Green Restaurant in Nebraska. Enjoy the comfortably elegant dining atmosphere for dinner.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Organic, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner from Monday through Saturday, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
31st & Farnam St.; Entrance on Farnam, across from Midtown Cinema

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 763-4447

Website:
http://www.thegreyplume.com/

Catering:
The Grey Plume offers catering for your private in-home or business functions. Please contact us or visit our website for more details.

Parking Details:
Enjoy complimentary parking in the Midtown Parking garage located directly across the street from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Clayton Chapman

Private Party Facilities:
The Grey Plume offers private dining for intimate events, receptions, cocktail parties, as well as meeting space for those business functions you want to take out of the boardroom. Our restaurant staff is at your service ready to exceed your expectations.

Private Party Contact:
Heather Smith: 4027634447

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
The Grey Plume has a private dining space located across the street at Provisions by The Grey Plume. It can accommodate up to 20 guests and includes private Chefs & service staff, as well as A/V capabilities. For parties larger than 20, the restaurant can be booked for an evening.

Restaurant Photos

Pork Belly and Cornbread
Charcutrie
Pork Tender
Duck Fat Fries With Egg
Rabbit Five Ways
Amusebouche
Orange Creme Brulee
Duck Fat Donut
half Charcutrie Board
Buttermilk Ricotta Gnocchi
Duck Fat Fries With Quail Egg
Dayboat Scallops
Wagyu Beef 2 Ways
Steelhead Trout Cake
Flatbread
Coffee
Scallops
Spaetzle
Smore
Foie Head
First Taste
Tomato Many Way
Corn Soup
Wagyu shortrib Agnolotti
Tomatoe Consumme
Steelhead Trout
Farfalle
Bison Burger
Halibut
Wagyu Beef
Potato Soup
Parsnip Soup With Black Truffle And Lime

The Grey Plume Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Nebraska
Special Occasion
Nebraska
Contemporary American
Nebraska
4 More
Fit for Foodies
Omaha
Notable Wine List
Omaha
Romantic
Omaha
Special Occasion
Omaha
Best Restaurants in Midtown ›

special occasion (72)
fit for foodies (68)
romantic (49)
See All
notable wine list (40)
neighborhood gem (28)
hot spot (15)
good for groups (12)
scenic view (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (2)
great for lunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1209 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is one of our favorite places to ea ...

vip
 (Omaha)
·Dined 6 days ago

This is one of our favorite places to eat in Omaha. We find the service to be very good and not at all obtrusive. The wine list is fairly large and very well thought out. The cocktail specials were unique, and very tasty. The food tends to be locally sourced, and well priced for the quality of the preparations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our 25th Wedding Anniversary. The ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined 7 days ago

It was our 25th Wedding Anniversary. The service was good. It was a very hot day so sitting at the Chef's table in the window was a little warm which we realized even more when we walked through the very cool dining room to get to the bathrooms. Also, the table is oddly structured with the way the table legs are spaced which the server mentioned when we were seated. We liked the food presentation and how we did not feel rushed through the courses which was nice. The food was fine. Our server had us excited to try a bottle of wine that she recommended and told us was amazing therefore, a little disappointing for us and her that they couldn't find the wine. We did order a different bottle which was good. They also add a 20% "hospitality" charge with a very long explanation about tipping the kitchen staff. Seemed like a big problem for them. For us, it would have been more appropriate to bring to our attention at the beginning of the meal. It seemed awkward for the server . We already expected to leave gratuity so just seemed much ado about nothing. Strang way to end a meal.Overall, everything was fine.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great atmosphere, excellent service, won ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great atmosphere, excellent service, wonderful food made from ingredients procured within a 100 mile radius. Dining at Grey Plume is not cheap but well worth the money. Will return to the Grey Plume on future visits to the Omaha area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

wonderful dinner with chef inspired meal ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

wonderful dinner with chef inspired meals. The trout is fantastic - highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Hands down, our favorite Omaha dining ex ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Hands down, our favorite Omaha dining experience. Exceptional service, the highest quality food and a wonderful sommelier.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All around fabulous experience - very kn ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

All around fabulous experience - very knowledgeable staff, delicious plates that were both visually appetizing and paired perfectly for our foodie palates, and a beautiful establishment! We couldn't have asked for a more wonderful dining experience during our time in Omaha! We will definitely be back! :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My food was amazing but my wife's was ju ...

vip
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My food was amazing but my wife's was just OK. I had Pork Tasting which was fantastic! My wife had the rabbit. She was not sure about it but dared to try it. It was a little too tough for a nice restaurant like this but the flavor was still good. We would go back but my wife would probably steer clear of the rabbit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was very good, they had a specia ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Service was very good, they had a special ribeye meal for 3 that was offered. The waitress failed to mention the price, I failed to ask. We had 3 drinks, 1 appetizer and 1 additional meal. The food quality was mediocre. After the meal was complete, I received a check with a mandatory 20% gratuity. The check total was a little over $500. What began as a special birthday meal was now an evening I wish I could get back. I will not be returning and I will share this story with everyone so that they do not get taken advantage of like I did.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

We absolutely loved every detail of our ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We absolutely loved every detail of our anniversary dinner at The Grey Plume! The staff were professional, knowledgeable, and friendly; our appetizers, cocktails, salads, entrees, and desserts masterfully prepared and presented; the intentional attention to every detail (those little cookies we got to take home, thoughtful description of entirely deserved and equitable 20% gratuity) made for an incredibly special experience. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food fair. Menu descriptions ( fish/meat ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food fair. Menu descriptions ( fish/meat), veg, sauce don't pair up well. Talks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Ate here on a recommendation from a food ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Ate here on a recommendation from a foodie - and was not disappointed. Great food. Pricey, but worth it. They add 20% gratuity - which was earned - but a little off putting - especially with another line that said "additional gratuity."

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner choices were very unique. Very ni ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Dinner choices were very unique. Very nice wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and food was excellent. Presenta ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Service and food was excellent. Presentation was beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Grey Plume is one of the very best r ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The Grey Plume is one of the very best restaurants in Omaha. My husband and I enjoy this restaurant with friends and also just the two of us. Lovely food which tastes as good as it looks. I would recommend you try this restaurant and it will be your "go too" more often then just special occasions.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Grey Plume was exceptional. One of t ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The Grey Plume was exceptional. One of the top 10 restaurants my husband and I have been to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We greatly enjoyed our meal. The food w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We greatly enjoyed our meal. The food was quite flavorful, and the service was terrific. I expect we will back, and in greater numbers.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Based on its "farm to table" hype, I was ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Based on its "farm to table" hype, I was expecting a real fine dining experience. But that may be a hard-to-come-by experience in Omaha. Though the food presentations were generally very eye pleasing, the product itself, with the notable exception of the cold pea soup, was consistently rather mediocre / lacking creativity. Service was fairly attentive, but had little sense for course timing (...very uneven) and wine pouring etiquette (..."training didn't cover that"). Adding insult to injury was the 20% fixed tipping policy. Just goes to prove that when the reward is certain, there is little incentive to improve. Could not believe the restaurant had a survey, provided with the bill, requesting written feedback on its cast iron tipping policy. Needless to say my feedback was consistent with this review, hardly praiseworthy. Visiting this restaurant really brought home the disparity between fine dining on the coasts and in the heartland. If you go to the Grey Plume, you'll need to adjust your expectations before sitting down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great place, nice feelj, and great staff ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great place, nice feelj, and great staff! Would definitely recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great spot!

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Great service, food was excellent! Atmosphere was perfect for our small business group. Wasn't too loud to carry on a conversation. Servings were just right.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special experience

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Staff was amazing and made an anniversary even more special. I appreciated the attention to detail with my food allergies. The food is simple but very complex at the same time. This was our second visit and we will be back again for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Expected more

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Expected more

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Foodie's Delight

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This is definitely high end restaurant that foodies will appreciate most. The presentation is beautiful and the dishes are intricate and not fussy (as some very high end restaurants can be). I find the ambience to be comfortable with a warm and urban feel. Wait staff is attentive and well trained. Even though our waiter was only in his 5th day he was well prepared and found answers to things he did not know (which was not much). The charcuterie plate was wonderful and on a lovely handmade ceramic tray. The second course (soups, salads) were perfect. The main dishes were so well designed, prepared, presented. For this type of restaurant, the portions were quite generous. The desserts and coffee were both great (and few Nebraska restaurants have good coffee—Grey Plume roasts their own and it is wonderful). This was our second visit in two years and it only seems better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Date Night

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Food was excellent and service was outstanding. We had a limited window (about an hour) due to theater plans after dinner and informed the staff of this. Nothing was rushed, but they ensured we had time, proactively offered the check early, etc.

The only negative is the surprise of a 20% hospitality charge. This is for the kitchen staff, not the normal gratuity. This was a non-issue for us, but there was no notice on a menu, the website, etc. the first notice we observed was at the presentation of our bill for the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It would take me forever to write every ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

It would take me forever to write every good impression I had about this restaurant. I'll keep it short, and say that it was one of the dinning experiences I've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a pleasant evening and my scallop ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

It was a pleasant evening and my scallops were superb. I believe one person's beef was not done to his liking. Server really pushed many of the "extras" and pushed us to order, so the experience felt rather rushed, as well as profit-driven. Understand this but it didn't elevate the evening to a five star experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Celebrating with Family and Friends

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

The Grey Plume never disappoints. The atmosphere is very trendy and the food always amazing. The wait staff is attentive to every need and very knowledgeable about the menu and wine offerings. The entrees were unique in every way. Each of our meals was delicious. Just be sure to save room for dessert-amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience for a special event. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Amazing experience for a special event. Food is a bit salty but the beef dishes were superb. We were impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Better than I expected, worse than I hoped

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Came here after years of being out of Omaha. I've been to some pretty great restaurants, but haven't ever heard such an arrogant introduction: "We're one of the top three sustainable restaurants in the country..." followed by a long description of farm-to-table (server didn't know where Morgan Ranch was, btw) Who eats at restaurants that don't buy local? Love the wasted energy cleaning table clothes. Anyway...

The Plume is one of the best cocktails I've ever had despite sounding like a funny combination. Really the best thing all night.

Bread: Should not have been served. It was overdone, chewy, and quite frankly embarrassing. I actually wanted to leave after eating it.

Tartare: Decent, but the plating looked like when I tried to cook at home after eating at my first Michelin Star. Too many pairings.

Fries: Excellent. The aioli was spot on. Get the goose egg.

Our server asked if we would be sharing the main plates, but never cleared our first plates. It was great having tartare pairings touch everything else.

Chicken Roulade: I can't even criticize it because it was just so bland. It was like eating meat from Fazolis.

Pork: I can't recall everything that was on it but looking at the menu apparently there was fennel, sunchoke, and spinach? I don't think so. It was basically hunks of meat. Good meat, but still just meat.

Steak: They did a great job here. I'm glad they don't use Omaha steak, it's time this town got over it. There apparently was a piece of bison on the plate, but it was so overcooked it was unrecognizable.

I was super excited about trying the duck fat donut but it was just dry.

Overall, it's good for Omaha but the decor is cheap ("sustainable") and they shouldn't be proud of making things in house and buying local; that's expected. Nothing was really creative beside the cocktails, it's a tad over priced, and they need to learn how to plate. I wish they'd either embrace the fine dining or the casual, because it doesn't work together.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Grey Plume

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was an experience and service was exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun evening

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Craft cocktails, interesting mix of favors and textures made for a great dining experience. We were seated in the window area, of bar, which made for a fun evening.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great date with wife - 50/50 on the entrees.

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Overall, the experience was great as usual. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable as always. The Charcuterie Board was amazing, as was the Sunchoke Soup - highly recommend both. I had the Whole Roasted Blue Valley Trout....absolutely AMAZING! Bring a big appetite for this dish as it's hearty portion. My wife ordered the Maitake Mushroom Ragout - which was not so great. She was expecting a "Maitake Mushroom" ragout to include....Maitake Mushrooms. Her dish included 1 - singular mushroom. Needless to say she was disappointed with her dish. All said, we will most definitely visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

After booking this reservation a week ahead of time, I had been talking about how excited I was to be eating at The Grey Plume. All I can say was it absolutely did not disappoint. The food and the service was as good or better than any restaurant I've ever been. Awesome service with attention to detail. I will recommend to any friends I have visiting the Omaha area!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great server, and a great ni ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Great food, great server, and a great night. It was a dining destination to be savored.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Meh not as good as they think.

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

The place isn't bad actually it was rather nice inside. The food though was kinda par for the hype. I'd been told and read it's one of the best in town. I'm not sure how, though some of the "first tastes" we're good overall the main course was rather bland. The service was excellent and the pace was great the courses were great those weren't enough for me to go back without reason.

Oh and avoid the Italian soda. I'm not sure what part of Italy they got the recipie from but they need to rethink them.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Wonderful Night

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The Grey Plume has become our 'go to' place for special occasions. I cannot think of a better experience combining food, service and ambiance. Clayton's creativity continues to amaze! Great food and great value all things considered!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prom perfection

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

My date and I went to Grey Plume for our prom dinner and it was outstanding! Service was amazing. No water glass went empty. Food was 6/5 stars. We even tried to Italian soda and it was delicious. I would go back in a heart beat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience - all around ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Excellent dining experience - all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorites . The chef is creat ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

One of my favorites . The chef is creative and attentive. The staff is informed and appropriately interactive. A must for anyone who appreciates great food prepared with precision.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We will be back!

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

We went for my wife's birthday and upon arrival we were greeted with a signed birthday card from the staff, very nice touch! Great experience from start to finish! Food and service were excellent, we will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

De

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We had a most delightful evening and enjoyed deliciously prepared foods at The Grey Plume. Our server, Abby, was both patient with our any questions and informative. The ambiance was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.