About The Grey Plume

220 South 31st Avenue
Suite 3101
Omaha, NE 68131
View Larger Map

The Grey Plume focuses on seasonality and sustainability. We change our menu often, basing our cuisine on local farmer's supply. When possible we preserve produce from Nebraska and the region at harvest for the winter months. The Grey Plume works in partnership with The Green Restaurant Association and is the first and only Certified Green Restaurant in Nebraska. Enjoy the comfortably elegant dining atmosphere for dinner.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Organic, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner from Monday through Saturday, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
31st & Farnam St.; Entrance on Farnam, across from Midtown Cinema

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 763-4447

Website:
http://www.thegreyplume.com/

Catering:
The Grey Plume offers catering for your private in-home or business functions. Please contact us or visit our website for more details.

Parking Details:
Enjoy complimentary parking in the Midtown Parking garage located directly across the street from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Clayton Chapman

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
The Grey Plume has a private dining space located across the street at Provisions by The Grey Plume. It can accommodate up to 20 guests and includes private Chefs & service staff, as well as A/V capabilities. For parties larger than 20, the restaurant can be booked for an evening.

Restaurant Photos

Pork Belly and Cornbread
Charcutrie
Pork Tender
Duck Fat Fries With Egg
Rabbit Five Ways
Amusebouche
Orange Creme Brulee
Duck Fat Donut
half Charcutrie Board
Buttermilk Ricotta Gnocchi
Duck Fat Fries With Quail Egg
Dayboat Scallops
Wagyu Beef 2 Ways
Steelhead Trout Cake
Flatbread
Coffee
Scallops
Spaetzle
Smore
Foie Head
First Taste
Tomato Many Way
Corn Soup
Wagyu shortrib Agnolotti
Tomatoe Consumme
Steelhead Trout
Farfalle
Bison Burger
Halibut
Wagyu Beef
Potato Soup
Parsnip Soup With Black Truffle And Lime

Private Dining

The Grey Plume offers private dining for intimate events, receptions, cocktail parties, as well as meeting space for those business functions you want to take out of the boardroom. Our restaurant staff is at your service ready to exceed your expectations.

The Grey Plume Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Nebraska
Contemporary American
Nebraska
Fit for Foodies
Omaha
Best Restaurants in Midtown ›

special occasion (63)
fit for foodies (62)
romantic (44)
See All
notable wine list (34)
neighborhood gem (24)
hot spot (15)
good for groups (9)
vibrant bar scene (3)
scenic view (2)
late-night find (2)
great for lunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1196 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and food was excellent. Presenta ...

Dined 4 days ago

Service and food was excellent. Presentation was beautiful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Grey Plume is one of the very best r ...

Dined 4 days ago

The Grey Plume is one of the very best restaurants in Omaha. My husband and I enjoy this restaurant with friends and also just the two of us. Lovely food which tastes as good as it looks. I would recommend you try this restaurant and it will be your "go too" more often then just special occasions.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The Grey Plume was exceptional. One of t ...

Dined 5 days ago

The Grey Plume was exceptional. One of the top 10 restaurants my husband and I have been to.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We greatly enjoyed our meal. The food w ...

Dined 5 days ago

We greatly enjoyed our meal. The food was quite flavorful, and the service was terrific. I expect we will back, and in greater numbers.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Based on its "farm to table" hype, I was ...

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

Based on its "farm to table" hype, I was expecting a real fine dining experience. But that may be a hard-to-come-by experience in Omaha. Though the food presentations were generally very eye pleasing, the product itself, with the notable exception of the cold pea soup, was consistently rather mediocre / lacking creativity. Service was fairly attentive, but had little sense for course timing (...very uneven) and wine pouring etiquette (..."training didn't cover that"). Adding insult to injury was the 20% fixed tipping policy. Just goes to prove that when the reward is certain, there is little incentive to improve. Could not believe the restaurant had a survey, provided with the bill, requesting written feedback on its cast iron tipping policy. Needless to say my feedback was consistent with this review, hardly praiseworthy. Visiting this restaurant really brought home the disparity between fine dining on the coasts and in the heartland. If you go to the Grey Plume, you'll need to adjust your expectations before sitting down.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place, nice feelj, and great staff ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great place, nice feelj, and great staff! Would definitely recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot!

Dined on June 6, 2016

Great service, food was excellent! Atmosphere was perfect for our small business group. Wasn't too loud to carry on a conversation. Servings were just right.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Special experience

Dined on June 5, 2016

Staff was amazing and made an anniversary even more special. I appreciated the attention to detail with my food allergies. The food is simple but very complex at the same time. This was our second visit and we will be back again for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Expected more

Dined on June 4, 2016

Expected more

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Foodie's Delight

Dined on June 4, 2016

This is definitely high end restaurant that foodies will appreciate most. The presentation is beautiful and the dishes are intricate and not fussy (as some very high end restaurants can be). I find the ambience to be comfortable with a warm and urban feel. Wait staff is attentive and well trained. Even though our waiter was only in his 5th day he was well prepared and found answers to things he did not know (which was not much). The charcuterie plate was wonderful and on a lovely handmade ceramic tray. The second course (soups, salads) were perfect. The main dishes were so well designed, prepared, presented. For this type of restaurant, the portions were quite generous. The desserts and coffee were both great (and few Nebraska restaurants have good coffee—Grey Plume roasts their own and it is wonderful). This was our second visit in two years and it only seems better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Date Night

Dined on June 2, 2016

Food was excellent and service was outstanding. We had a limited window (about an hour) due to theater plans after dinner and informed the staff of this. Nothing was rushed, but they ensured we had time, proactively offered the check early, etc. The only negative is the surprise of a 20% hospitality charge. This is for the kitchen staff, not the normal gratuity. This was a non-issue for us, but there was no notice on a menu, the website, etc. the first notice we observed was at the presentation of our bill for the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

It would take me forever to write every ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

It would take me forever to write every good impression I had about this restaurant. I'll keep it short, and say that it was one of the dinning experiences I've had.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

It was a pleasant evening and my scallop ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

It was a pleasant evening and my scallops were superb. I believe one person's beef was not done to his liking. Server really pushed many of the "extras" and pushed us to order, so the experience felt rather rushed, as well as profit-driven. Understand this but it didn't elevate the evening to a five star experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating with Family and Friends

Dined on May 18, 2016

The Grey Plume never disappoints. The atmosphere is very trendy and the food always amazing. The wait staff is attentive to every need and very knowledgeable about the menu and wine offerings. The entrees were unique in every way. Each of our meals was delicious. Just be sure to save room for dessert-amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience for a special event. ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Amazing experience for a special event. Food is a bit salty but the beef dishes were superb. We were impressed.

food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Better than I expected, worse than I hoped

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Came here after years of being out of Omaha. I've been to some pretty great restaurants, but haven't ever heard such an arrogant introduction: "We're one of the top three sustainable restaurants in the country..." followed by a long description of farm-to-table (server didn't know where Morgan Ranch was, btw) Who eats at restaurants that don't buy local? Love the wasted energy cleaning table clothes. Anyway... The Plume is one of the best cocktails I've ever had despite sounding like a funny combination. Really the best thing all night. Bread: Should not have been served. It was overdone, chewy, and quite frankly embarrassing. I actually wanted to leave after eating it. Tartare: Decent, but the plating looked like when I tried to cook at home after eating at my first Michelin Star. Too many pairings. Fries: Excellent. The aioli was spot on. Get the goose egg. Our server asked if we would be sharing the main plates, but never cleared our first plates. It was great having tartare pairings touch everything else. Chicken Roulade: I can't even criticize it because it was just so bland. It was like eating meat from Fazolis. Pork: I can't recall everything that was on it but looking at the menu apparently there was fennel, sunchoke, and spinach? I don't think so. It was basically hunks of meat. Good meat, but still just meat. Steak: They did a great job here. I'm glad they don't use Omaha steak, it's time this town got over it. There apparently was a piece of bison on the plate, but it was so overcooked it was unrecognizable. I was super excited about trying the duck fat donut but it was just dry. Overall, it's good for Omaha but the decor is cheap ("sustainable") and they shouldn't be proud of making things in house and buying local; that's expected. Nothing was really creative beside the cocktails, it's a tad over priced, and they need to learn how to plate. I wish they'd either embrace the fine dining or the casual, because it doesn't work together.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grey Plume

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was an experience and service was exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun evening

Dined on April 30, 2016

Craft cocktails, interesting mix of favors and textures made for a great dining experience. We were seated in the window area, of bar, which made for a fun evening.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Great date with wife - 50/50 on the entrees.

Dined on April 24, 2016

Overall, the experience was great as usual. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable as always. The Charcuterie Board was amazing, as was the Sunchoke Soup - highly recommend both. I had the Whole Roasted Blue Valley Trout....absolutely AMAZING! Bring a big appetite for this dish as it's hearty portion. My wife ordered the Maitake Mushroom Ragout - which was not so great. She was expecting a "Maitake Mushroom" ragout to include....Maitake Mushrooms. Her dish included 1 - singular mushroom. Needless to say she was disappointed with her dish. All said, we will most definitely visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on April 23, 2016

After booking this reservation a week ahead of time, I had been talking about how excited I was to be eating at The Grey Plume. All I can say was it absolutely did not disappoint. The food and the service was as good or better than any restaurant I've ever been. Awesome service with attention to detail. I will recommend to any friends I have visiting the Omaha area!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great server, and a great ni ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great food, great server, and a great night. It was a dining destination to be savored.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Meh not as good as they think.

Dined on April 11, 2016

The place isn't bad actually it was rather nice inside. The food though was kinda par for the hype. I'd been told and read it's one of the best in town. I'm not sure how, though some of the "first tastes" we're good overall the main course was rather bland. The service was excellent and the pace was great the courses were great those weren't enough for me to go back without reason. Oh and avoid the Italian soda. I'm not sure what part of Italy they got the recipie from but they need to rethink them.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Night

Dined on April 10, 2016

The Grey Plume has become our 'go to' place for special occasions. I cannot think of a better experience combining food, service and ambiance. Clayton's creativity continues to amaze! Great food and great value all things considered!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prom perfection

Dined on April 9, 2016

My date and I went to Grey Plume for our prom dinner and it was outstanding! Service was amazing. No water glass went empty. Food was 6/5 stars. We even tried to Italian soda and it was delicious. I would go back in a heart beat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dining experience - all around ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Excellent dining experience - all around.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We will be back!

Dined on April 6, 2016

We went for my wife's birthday and upon arrival we were greeted with a signed birthday card from the staff, very nice touch! Great experience from start to finish! Food and service were excellent, we will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

De

Dined on April 2, 2016

We had a most delightful evening and enjoyed deliciously prepared foods at The Grey Plume. Our server, Abby, was both patient with our any questions and informative. The ambiance was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The perfect place for a special evening out

Dined on March 26, 2016

Phenomenal food with a well-thought our menu and exemplary service! The duck-fat fries and kumquat brûlée are to die for!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything I hoped it would be

Dined on March 22, 2016

Just an amazing experience and meal. Top 3 all time meals of my life. Can't wait to return!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food

Dined on March 19, 2016

The food was wonderful in taste, presentation, creativity.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place

Dined on March 12, 2016

Excellent service. Presentation was excellent and the meals were well prepared and very good

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

New York City Quality in the Heart of the Midwest

Dined on March 12, 2016

I have not found a restaurant with this level of quality in the Midwest! Food and prices are similar to that in NYC. Small menu with local and sustainable options. Decent wine list as well. Definitely recommendation worthy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service2

Our waitress kept trying to rush us into ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Our waitress kept trying to rush us into ordering, to the point where we had to say something. After we said something, it was a much better night. We originally tried grey plume during restaurant week and thought it was amazing - this past visit we thought the food was just okay. The beef tartare was great, but everything else was a bit of a disappointment. We may have ordered wrong, and will definitely try grey plume again.

food2
ambience4
service4
value1

missing protein

Dined on March 6, 2016

Our table was very wobbly and we could not both put our arms on it. Our appetizer was ok. The salad was yummy but plate was odd as it could wobble. My dinner was pasta with oxtail and missing the oxtail. I had 8 pieces of pasta and 12 pieces of onion. Really? It was a pasta entrée! When the oxtail came out after it was about 2 ounces and 2 ounces of additional kale. If they were out of the oxtail why have it on the menu? This was dinner out for my birthday and we had heard good things. Disappointing and 170.00 for dinner. Not going back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good locally sourced food.

Dined on March 5, 2016

This was my first visit to the Grey Plume. We order the Charcuterie plate and Duck Fat Fries for appetizers. I had the Trout as an entree. Finally we had Duck Fat Donuts with ice cream for dessert. All of the food was excellent! Cooked to perfection and presented fantastically!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the best service and fantastic food. Not ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

the best service and fantastic food. Nothing could have been better! Our best meal and evening out in Omaha in our 30 yrs of marriage. Very romantic and quiet.!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome dining experience as always. Nev ...

Dined on March 2, 2016

Awesome dining experience as always. Never disappointed with the food, atmosphere or service here. Love it!!

food5
ambience4
service4

Great wine suggestions

Dined on February 27, 2016

Great wine suggestions

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Find

Dined on February 27, 2016

This restaurant came recommended to us from a local who enjoys good food as much as we do. The Grey Plume did not disappoint! From the moment we stepped in the door to our exit, it was a great experience. The food was amazing and the service was kind, professional, but personally invested in its diners. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great find in Omaha

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

Great service, solid food and eclectic wine list. I would certainly go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.