Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About The Grey Plume

The Grey Plume focuses on seasonality and sustainability. We change our menu often, basing our cuisine on local farmer's supply. When possible we preserve produce from Nebraska and the region at harvest for the winter months. The Grey Plume works in partnership with The Green Restaurant Association and is the first and only Certified Green Restaurant in Nebraska. Enjoy the comfortably elegant dining atmosphere for dinner.

220 South 31st Avenue
Suite 3101
Omaha, NE 68131
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Organic, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner from Monday through Saturday, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
31st & Farnam St.; Entrance on Farnam, across from Midtown Cinema

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 763-4447

Website:
http://www.thegreyplume.com/

Catering:
The Grey Plume offers catering for your private in-home or business functions. Please contact us or visit our website for more details.

Parking Details:
Enjoy complimentary parking in the Midtown Parking garage located directly across the street from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Clayton Chapman

Private Party Facilities:
The Grey Plume offers private dining for intimate events, receptions, cocktail parties, as well as meeting space for those business functions you want to take out of the boardroom. Our restaurant staff is at your service ready to exceed your expectations.

Private Party Contact:
Heather Smith: (402) 763-4447

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Grey Plume has a private dining space located across the street at Provisions by The Grey Plume. It can accommodate up to 20 guests and includes private Chefs & service staff, as well as A/V capabilities. For parties larger than 20, the restaurant can be booked for an evening.

The Grey Plume Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Good for a Date (29)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Romantic (27)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Local Ingredients (23)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Authentic (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Organic (9)
Business Meals (9)
Cozy (8)
Seasonal (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Healthy (8)
Fun (7)
Bar Seating (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Casual (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
1411 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Best dinner we had while staying four nights in Omaha NE. Knowledgeable wait staff, great choices, wonderful presentation and an overall better-than-expected experience. Highly recommended. Just as good as better restaurants in major metro areas.

Pictures of carrot soup and chicken roulade attached.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 12, 2017

All courses were beautifully presented on interesting plates. Great to have a glass of Nebraska wine on the wine list.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 12, 2017

My boyfriend and I finally had a night off together, and we'd been wanting to try this place out for at least a year. We decided to splurge. We both went with the four-course tasting menu on top of a charcuterie board with torchon-style foie gras. We started with the "first bite," which was a spoonful of primarily garlic flavors (including a garlic jelly) with a crisped herb to top it off. This was a great way to lead into our expertly crafted cocktails: a black rye Manhattan for me and and an old fashioned for him. Everything on the charcuterie board including the foie gras was delicious, even the cocoa berry salami, which was bizarre but pleasant. Our first course was a smaller version of the "chicken and egg" dish from their menu. What I liked best about it was the different purée options between the egg yolk, beet, and cream sauces; I believe there was one other, but I can't recall for sure. It was surprisingly unremarkable beyond that. Fortunately, the next course was the entree I had been contemplating: the cobia. It was a fish I had never tasted before, but it was beautifully cooked and paired well with a red pepper sauce. The main course was a mouth-watering sampling of various cuts of pork, my favorite being the sausage, all flavored with in-season peaches. Finally, our dessert was something akin to a very dense chocolate mousse next to a smoked sorbet. It was certainly a novelty I'm glad to have tried, but probably would not order again. Our meal came to a close with a couple of buttery shortbread cookies that we were able to take home with us.

Unfortunately, the price point for the restaurant is outside of anything but a special occasion for me, but it is entirely worth it. The food is certainly unlike anything I've tried elsewhere, and I hope to make my way there to experience what a different season might bring to the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We went to the Grey Plume to celebrate our anniversary and were welcomed so nicely by the staff. Service was great, food was unique and delicious and extra special touches were made for our special occasion. The atmosphere however, with the acoustics of the dining area, conversations from other tables nearby are intensified. We made our reservation a week in advance which included a notation of our anniversary, but surprisingly we were placed by a party of twelve making it very challenging to hear each other talk. Admittedly, this group was not very considerate of their noise level, which increased in volume as the evening went on, nor did they consider their inappropriate conversations that other diners in the entire restaurant could most likely overhear. We realize this was not the fault of the restaurant, but it did, however, take away from our special occasion and dining experience there. Too bad the restaurant doesn't seat tables of two (especially with reservations made so far in advance for a special occasion) further away from big groups to avoid this.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

I hate eating alone but was traveling to Omaha on my own. The staff at The Grey Plume were incredibly welcoming and friendly while also letting me just sit, relax, and enjoy my delicious food. It was an amazing experience.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Exceptional service, and a menu that is always inventive: raspberry caviar in chilled carrot soup, allium ashes; bridgadero, a chocolate mousse with smoke ice, to name two things. A '71 Latour 2nd growth expertly uncorked.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The soup. I genuinely cannot express in words him phenomenal Chef Clayton's soups are. They showcase his amazing variety while keeping the flavor understated yet over-the-top… Again I just cannot explain it, you have to try it for yourself. Just get your butt here for dinner or happy hour and everything you have it will be an utter delight but please, for your own sake, try to soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 2, 2017

I've been to Omaha many, many times, and have known it as a steak town. This is the best restaurant I've to for innovative, firm-to-table food. The wine list was also inventive- unique choices categorized in a curious way.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 29, 2017

It is ok...3rd or 4th time we have been there & I think service & value have declined.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

I took my wife for a much needed date night. The atmosphere was very inviting, and our server was over the top. The food was inventive, and the flavors were extraordinary. I wish I could find words to describe how happy we were with the experience. We will be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Fabulous seasonal menu from local sources! The presentation was marvelous. Our food was a work of art placed on our plates. Love the little savory palate tidbits, fresh baked rolls, and the farewell cookies as it's such a nice touch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Organic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Chef keeps the menu fresh and uses ingredients in innovative ways with amazing results! We always have a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 22, 2017

This is such a great restaurant. The food quality is first rate. The presentation of the food is beautiful. My brother and is wife were in town so we dined at Grey Plume because it is their favorite Omaha restaurant. We started with appetizers and the cold carrot soup. All were tremendous, but I promise you we will be talking about that cold carrot soup for years to come. It was exceptional! We each got a different entree so we could try all three. Entrees were the chicken roulade, the Steele head trout, and the pork three ways. All three were great and entirely eaten. The duck fat fried donut and coffee finished the meal perfectly. This is really a special place in Omaha's dining scene.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Another spectacular, innovative meal. The carrot soup is something that has to be experienced.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Started out with a spoon full of wounderfulness. Just a tiny appetizer on a spoon for each of us but it was out of this world. Then my wife had a cold carrot soup. Funkey I thought, but not so. It had what looked like caviar but actually tiny frozen balls of fruit flavor then it had tiny bits of what tasted like berries on the side. The I had the pork taster platter. Six large bite size pieces of pork prepared is six ways, all of it outstanding. My wife had the steelhead trout. It was served hole on a bed of rice and veggies. We both said it was the best classy meal we have had in years and we thought the price was a barging for what we got.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Took a cooking class across the street at the Grey Plume provisions, excellent class but ate so much of what we cooked I did not eat as many courses as I would of liked at the restaurant. I did have the gnudi which was amazing & the pork tasting plate that was also good. I ate here a few years ago as well & as a single dinner I had to sit at the bar, this time they let me sit in the dinning room which I loved that change in policy there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Food selection was not usual for the area. Very upscale, very nice. Our second visit, and it won't be our last.

Tags: Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Awesome as always! Duck egg fries are a must! Waygu beef and burger were outstanding! Would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Food was all fabulous, as well as, the wait staff and cocktails.
Enjoyable evening.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Underwhelmed compared to my previous experiences. Still a great place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Did the chef's tasting menu (8course) with wine pairing and a couple drinks.

Our wait staff was nice but seemed lack in-depth knowledge of the food and especially of the wine.
For a dining experience that was closer to $600, including tip, we expect more of an "experience " as we have had in other cities for comparable price.

The food itself was very good and well plated. Great spring flavors though a little heavy on use of raspberries in first several courses (repetitive).

Did not like the last dessert course: the fried portion tasted like it was cooked in the same oil as French fries or something.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Delicious cheese to start off the dinner. Cauliflower soup was presented well and tasted great. Great gnocchi dish and the lemongrass creamsicle is a nice light summer dessert to finish off a heavy meal.
Most importantly is receiving Great Service from our server and everyone in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 9, 2017

While we treat this restaurant as a special occasion option, we look for special occasions so we can go more often. Always a wonderful experience.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Reconnect with old friend.

Tags: Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We have dined at the Grey Plume on several special occasions and never have been disappointed with our meal, our service, our experience! Each time we've tried something different on the menu and again never disappointed! I highly recommend this for anyone looking for a unique dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Wonderful! Impeccable, warm service and stunning food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Customer service was great. The food was overprices and not what I expected.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 20, 2017

For my wife and I, we decided it's not the place for us. Some things were good, some were not. Some of the offerings seemed forced or the combination of ingredients seemed strange just for the sake of being strange and didn't really come together like I feel they should have for the price we paid. The restaurant is beautiful and everyone we encountered was wonderful.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This is a fabulous place! We just love it!!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This was my second time to the Grey Plume, and it was great as always. If you're in the mood for something heavy and sweet, try the Duck Fat Fried donut - it's amazing.

Tags: Spicy, Healthy, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Outstanding service with delicious food in a beautiful setting.
The server was knowledgeable about the menu and he was very accommodating.
The food was tasty and the menu was unique.
We all appreciated the atmosphere too.
A very lovely evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Excellent meal and service, highly recommend this restaurant for a special dining occasion!However I was caught off guard a little when they included gratuity for a party of 4.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 15, 2017

My husband and I have been to several Michelin rated restaurants, so it isn't as if we are cheap. We also have worked/currently work in the food industry so we tend to be rather forgiving of service mistakes. We however, for the first time thought about leaving a restaurant after being greeted by our server and being told we could not order an appetizer until we place our full order. We ordered our appetizer and when we weren't finished with the plate, silverware still in hand, our waitress took the appetizer and waited for me to set down my silverware so she could bus it. We also for the first time sent back food because of the portion size, their $52 bison "ribeye" was two very small cuts, looking to be at most 8 ounces of meat total. Despite the fact we were very unsatisfied overall with our service the choice was not left to us how much to tip, there is an automatic 20% gratuity on all bills. Our overall experience left us feeling as though The Grey Plume thinks quite too highly of their food as well as their service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My son works there, so I may be a bit biased, but we had a wonderful experience for our mother's day brunch. The atmosphere was great, our waiter was attentive and kind without being annoying, the food was delicious. I made reservations online and when I called to see if I could add 3 more people, there was no hassle. Thank you so much for making this a very memorable day for all of us, but especially the 4 moms that were celebrating.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is the third time we have been to Grey Plume for Mother's Day brunch and it is better every year. It is a little pricey but worth it. This a three-course prix fixe menu was offered with 2-3 options per course. All the dishes we had were excellent, service was just right and Grey Plume is a very enjoyable setting. Recommended.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This was our second trip into Omaha to enjoy The Grey Plume. We enjoy the creations that the kitchen develops and the feeling that everyone is a part of the process and our enjoyment.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We always eat here when we come to the BH meeting.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Fabulous as usual. I highly recommend this restaurant. Farm to table fresh ingredients uniquely prepared .

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Enjoyed a wonderful evening. Beautiful presentation.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was amazing--especially the duck fat fries. The ambience was perfect for a pre-symphony dinner with friends. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.