About The Grey Plume

220 South 31st Avenue
Suite 3101
Omaha, NE 68131
View Larger Map

The Grey Plume focuses on seasonality and sustainability. We change our menu often, basing our cuisine on local farmer's supply. When possible we preserve produce from Nebraska and the region at harvest for the winter months. The Grey Plume works in partnership with The Green Restaurant Association and is the first and only Certified Green Restaurant in Nebraska. Enjoy the comfortably elegant dining atmosphere for dinner.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Organic, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner from Monday through Saturday, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
31st & Farnam St.; Entrance on Farnam, across from Midtown Cinema

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 763-4447

Website:
http://www.thegreyplume.com/

Catering:
The Grey Plume offers catering for your private in-home or business functions. Please contact us or visit our website for more details.

Parking Details:
Enjoy complimentary parking in the Midtown Parking garage located directly across the street from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Clayton Chapman

Private Party Facilities:
The Grey Plume offers private dining for intimate events, receptions, cocktail parties, as well as meeting space for those business functions you want to take out of the boardroom. Our restaurant staff is at your service ready to exceed your expectations.

Private Party Contact:
Heather Smith: 4027634447

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
The Grey Plume has a private dining space located across the street at Provisions by The Grey Plume. It can accommodate up to 20 guests and includes private Chefs & service staff, as well as A/V capabilities. For parties larger than 20, the restaurant can be booked for an evening.

Restaurant Photos

Pork Belly and Cornbread
Charcutrie
Pork Tender
Duck Fat Fries With Egg
Rabbit Five Ways
Amusebouche
Orange Creme Brulee
Buttermilk Ricotta Gnocchi
half Charcutrie Board
Duck Fat Donut
Dayboat Scallops
Duck Fat Fries With Quail Egg
Wagyu Beef 2 Ways
Flatbread
Steelhead Trout Cake
Coffee
Smore
Scallops
Spaetzle
Foie Head
Wagyu shortrib Agnolotti
Tomato Many Way
Corn Soup
First Taste
Steelhead Trout
Bison Burger
Farfalle
Tomatoe Consumme
Halibut
Wagyu Beef
Potato Soup
Parsnip Soup With Black Truffle And Lime

The Grey Plume Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Nebraska
Fit for Foodies
Nebraska
Notable Wine List
Nebraska
6 More
Contemporary American
Nebraska
Best Ambiance
Omaha
Fit for Foodies
Omaha
Notable Wine List
Omaha
Romantic
Omaha
Special Occasion
Omaha
Best Restaurants in Midtown ›

Special Occasion (63)
Fit for Foodies (61)
Romantic (45)
See All
Notable Wine List (39)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Hot Spot (15)
Good for Groups (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1224 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and flavors were exceptional. Amus ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food and flavors were exceptional. Amuse bouche, Branched oak quark & Panna cotta with pork belly, Morgan Ranch Wagtu beef and duck fat donut was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a favorite for special occasions. ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always a favorite for special occasions. Great food and service with excellent wines.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding service - down to every litt ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Outstanding service - down to every little detail! A few of the food items weren't to our taste - a little to salty or a little to adventurous, but overall really enjoyed our evening!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful presentation, delightful staff ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wonderful presentation, delightful staff, and delicious food. The duck fat fries are not to be missed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you are in search of an extraordinary ...

 
·Dined on August 11, 2016

If you are in search of an extraordinary dining experience absent the pretentiousness of many a fine dining establishment, you simply MUST make your way to The Grey Plume. From the contemporary meets old world finishes to the warm and welcoming staff, you will feel right at home here. These talented folks know how to make your culinary experience a wonderful adventure. From dish to dish and bite to bite, our group enjoyed well-conceived and simply delightful creations. Just hitting some of the highlights… The Natalie in Gray soft and creamy goat cheese served with peach, shallot, and zucchini bread. Outstanding. The beef cheek with a robust and rich melt-in-your-mouth flavor. Superb. Perfectly prepared tilefish with shiitake, leek and gnocchi. Nailed it. I could go on and on, but my words fall well short of the actual experience. Suffice it to say that every bit was outrageously delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Charcuterie board was excellent. Server ...

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Charcuterie board was excellent. Server was highly knowledgeable and approachable. With ingredients sourced within 100 miles of the restaurant, the selection was limited. Coming off a trip to Park City, UT (where phenomenal restaurants are everywhere) we were less than impressed with the actual food preparation. There was a sense that the chef was "trying too hard." The flavors were slightly off, too much going on, not letting the preparation accentuate the natural qualities of the ingredients.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Great food, great atmosphere and fantast ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere and fantastic service. My wife loves The Grey Plume and it was well worth the cost.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food. We had the c ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Excellent service and food. We had the charcuterie plate to start, and the rabbit and pork dinners as main courses. Wine was a excellent 2010 Barolo. Every part of the experience was superior-food was interesting and well-prepared, and of outstanding quality. The rabbit was particularly good. Dessert was finely prepared and executed as well. Highly recommended.

A gripe about the charges: the only thing that marred my experience was how the 20% service charge was applied. If you buy a $100 bottle of wine versus a $30 bottle, you are charged an additional $14 for the more expensive bottle, even though you are not provided any additional service. Moreover, they tack on the 20% after the tax is computed. I typically tip 20% anyway, but on the services provided. The tax and the wine service should be treated differently.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Phenomenal food followed by exceptional ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Phenomenal food followed by exceptional service! Didn't think twice about paying the 20% tip!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu can seem a bit daunting if, lik ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The menu can seem a bit daunting if, like my wife and I, you're not used to Grey Plume's level of dining. But that is no issue at all because the wait staff is always super friendly and patient with any request or questions. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming.

My wife and I ate here the night of our Wedding day and on our first anniversary. It has easily become our favorite restaurant. Both times we shared the Duck Fat Fries for an appetizer and the Duck Fat Fried donut for desert which are our favorite items in their respective menu categories. For the entree options, my wife and I always choose something different. The entrees are great and each time I've chosen something I think it's the best thing I've ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Duck fat fries are amazing but I would n ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Duck fat fries are amazing but I would not recommend the rabbit. Tough and hard to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We had a great wedding anniversary dinne ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We had a great wedding anniversary dinner. The service, food and ambience were great. We very much enjoyed the evening. Have always had a great experience at the Grey Plume.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite places to ea ...

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This is one of our favorite places to eat in Omaha. We find the service to be very good and not at all obtrusive. The wine list is fairly large and very well thought out. The cocktail specials were unique, and very tasty. The food tends to be locally sourced, and well priced for the quality of the preparations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent high quality chef prepared foo ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent high quality chef prepared foods! Locally grown, clean, refreshing foods that are great for the palet and the body!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

It was our 25th Wedding Anniversary. The ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

It was our 25th Wedding Anniversary. The service was good. It was a very hot day so sitting at the Chef's table in the window was a little warm which we realized even more when we walked through the very cool dining room to get to the bathrooms. Also, the table is oddly structured with the way the table legs are spaced which the server mentioned when we were seated. We liked the food presentation and how we did not feel rushed through the courses which was nice. The food was fine. Our server had us excited to try a bottle of wine that she recommended and told us was amazing therefore, a little disappointing for us and her that they couldn't find the wine. We did order a different bottle which was good. They also add a 20% "hospitality" charge with a very long explanation about tipping the kitchen staff. Seemed like a big problem for them. For us, it would have been more appropriate to bring to our attention at the beginning of the meal. It seemed awkward for the server . We already expected to leave gratuity so just seemed much ado about nothing. Strang way to end a meal.Overall, everything was fine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great atmosphere, excellent service, won ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great atmosphere, excellent service, wonderful food made from ingredients procured within a 100 mile radius. Dining at Grey Plume is not cheap but well worth the money. Will return to the Grey Plume on future visits to the Omaha area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

wonderful dinner with chef inspired meal ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

wonderful dinner with chef inspired meals. The trout is fantastic - highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Hands down, our favorite Omaha dining ex ...

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Hands down, our favorite Omaha dining experience. Exceptional service, the highest quality food and a wonderful sommelier.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Is it just me, or is the food really wei ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Is it just me, or is the food really weird? I have an advanced degree and didn't unde

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

All around fabulous experience - very kn ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

All around fabulous experience - very knowledgeable staff, delicious plates that were both visually appetizing and paired perfectly for our foodie palates, and a beautiful establishment! We couldn't have asked for a more wonderful dining experience during our time in Omaha! We will definitely be back! :-)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great disappointment. My out of town gu ...

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great disappointment. My out of town guest is a real foodie and I was so looking forward to showing off Grey Plume. Service was slow, my bill came with items from the previous party who sat at the table, the salad was buried in dressing and each entrée was a miss. We left as soon as the bill was straighten out, having my guest refuse to see the dessert menu. Ouch! I was so embarrassed. I hope it was just a bad Saturday night or the chefs were under the weather.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

My food was amazing but my wife's was ju ...

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My food was amazing but my wife's was just OK. I had Pork Tasting which was fantastic! My wife had the rabbit. She was not sure about it but dared to try it. It was a little too tough for a nice restaurant like this but the flavor was still good. We would go back but my wife would probably steer clear of the rabbit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was very good, they had a specia ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Service was very good, they had a special ribeye meal for 3 that was offered. The waitress failed to mention the price, I failed to ask. We had 3 drinks, 1 appetizer and 1 additional meal. The food quality was mediocre. After the meal was complete, I received a check with a mandatory 20% gratuity. The check total was a little over $500. What began as a special birthday meal was now an evening I wish I could get back. I will not be returning and I will share this story with everyone so that they do not get taken advantage of like I did.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

We absolutely loved every detail of our ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We absolutely loved every detail of our anniversary dinner at The Grey Plume! The staff were professional, knowledgeable, and friendly; our appetizers, cocktails, salads, entrees, and desserts masterfully prepared and presented; the intentional attention to every detail (those little cookies we got to take home, thoughtful description of entirely deserved and equitable 20% gratuity) made for an incredibly special experience. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food fair. Menu descriptions ( fish/meat ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food fair. Menu descriptions ( fish/meat), veg, sauce don't pair up well. Talks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Ate here on a recommendation from a food ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Ate here on a recommendation from a foodie - and was not disappointed. Great food. Pricey, but worth it. They add 20% gratuity - which was earned - but a little off putting - especially with another line that said "additional gratuity."

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner choices were very unique. Very ni ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Dinner choices were very unique. Very nice wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and food was excellent. Presenta ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Service and food was excellent. Presentation was beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Grey Plume is one of the very best r ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The Grey Plume is one of the very best restaurants in Omaha. My husband and I enjoy this restaurant with friends and also just the two of us. Lovely food which tastes as good as it looks. I would recommend you try this restaurant and it will be your "go too" more often then just special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Grey Plume was exceptional. One of t ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The Grey Plume was exceptional. One of the top 10 restaurants my husband and I have been to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We greatly enjoyed our meal. The food w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We greatly enjoyed our meal. The food was quite flavorful, and the service was terrific. I expect we will back, and in greater numbers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Based on its "farm to table" hype, I was ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Based on its "farm to table" hype, I was expecting a real fine dining experience. But that may be a hard-to-come-by experience in Omaha. Though the food presentations were generally very eye pleasing, the product itself, with the notable exception of the cold pea soup, was consistently rather mediocre / lacking creativity. Service was fairly attentive, but had little sense for course timing (...very uneven) and wine pouring etiquette (..."training didn't cover that"). Adding insult to injury was the 20% fixed tipping policy. Just goes to prove that when the reward is certain, there is little incentive to improve. Could not believe the restaurant had a survey, provided with the bill, requesting written feedback on its cast iron tipping policy. Needless to say my feedback was consistent with this review, hardly praiseworthy. Visiting this restaurant really brought home the disparity between fine dining on the coasts and in the heartland. If you go to the Grey Plume, you'll need to adjust your expectations before sitting down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great place, nice feelj, and great staff ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great place, nice feelj, and great staff! Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great spot!

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Great service, food was excellent! Atmosphere was perfect for our small business group. Wasn't too loud to carry on a conversation. Servings were just right.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special experience

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Staff was amazing and made an anniversary even more special. I appreciated the attention to detail with my food allergies. The food is simple but very complex at the same time. This was our second visit and we will be back again for sure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Expected more

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Expected more

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Foodie's Delight

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This is definitely high end restaurant that foodies will appreciate most. The presentation is beautiful and the dishes are intricate and not fussy (as some very high end restaurants can be). I find the ambience to be comfortable with a warm and urban feel. Wait staff is attentive and well trained. Even though our waiter was only in his 5th day he was well prepared and found answers to things he did not know (which was not much). The charcuterie plate was wonderful and on a lovely handmade ceramic tray. The second course (soups, salads) were perfect. The main dishes were so well designed, prepared, presented. For this type of restaurant, the portions were quite generous. The desserts and coffee were both great (and few Nebraska restaurants have good coffee—Grey Plume roasts their own and it is wonderful). This was our second visit in two years and it only seems better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Date Night

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Food was excellent and service was outstanding. We had a limited window (about an hour) due to theater plans after dinner and informed the staff of this. Nothing was rushed, but they ensured we had time, proactively offered the check early, etc.

The only negative is the surprise of a 20% hospitality charge. This is for the kitchen staff, not the normal gratuity. This was a non-issue for us, but there was no notice on a menu, the website, etc. the first notice we observed was at the presentation of our bill for the evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It would take me forever to write every ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

It would take me forever to write every good impression I had about this restaurant. I'll keep it short, and say that it was one of the dinning experiences I've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a pleasant evening and my scallop ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

It was a pleasant evening and my scallops were superb. I believe one person's beef was not done to his liking. Server really pushed many of the "extras" and pushed us to order, so the experience felt rather rushed, as well as profit-driven. Understand this but it didn't elevate the evening to a five star experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.