About The Grey Plume

220 South 31st Avenue
Suite 3101
Omaha, NE 68131
View Larger Map

The Grey Plume focuses on seasonality and sustainability. We change our menu often, basing our cuisine on local farmer's supply. When possible we preserve produce from Nebraska and the region at harvest for the winter months. The Grey Plume works in partnership with The Green Restaurant Association and is the first and only Certified Green Restaurant in Nebraska. Enjoy the comfortably elegant dining atmosphere for dinner.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Organic, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner from Monday through Saturday, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
31st & Farnam St.; Entrance on Farnam, across from Midtown Cinema

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 763-4447

Website:
http://www.thegreyplume.com/

Catering:
The Grey Plume offers catering for your private in-home or business functions. Please contact us or visit our website for more details.

Parking Details:
Enjoy complimentary parking in the Midtown Parking garage located directly across the street from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Clayton Chapman

Private Party Facilities:
The Grey Plume offers private dining for intimate events, receptions, cocktail parties, as well as meeting space for those business functions you want to take out of the boardroom. Our restaurant staff is at your service ready to exceed your expectations.

Private Party Contact:
Heather Smith: 4027634447

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Grey Plume has a private dining space located across the street at Provisions by The Grey Plume. It can accommodate up to 20 guests and includes private Chefs & service staff, as well as A/V capabilities. For parties larger than 20, the restaurant can be booked for an evening.

Restaurant Photos

Pork Belly and Cornbread - The Grey Plume
Charcutrie - The Grey Plume
Pork Tender - The Grey Plume
Duck Fat Fries With Egg - The Grey Plume
Rabbit Five Ways - The Grey Plume
Amusebouche - The Grey Plume
Orange Creme Brulee - The Grey Plume
Buttermilk Ricotta Gnocchi - The Grey Plume
half Charcutrie Board - The Grey Plume
Duck Fat Donut - The Grey Plume
Dayboat Scallops - The Grey Plume
Duck Fat Fries With Quail Egg - The Grey Plume
Wagyu Beef 2 Ways - The Grey Plume
Flatbread - The Grey Plume
Steelhead Trout Cake - The Grey Plume
Coffee - The Grey Plume
Smore - The Grey Plume
Scallops - The Grey Plume
Spaetzle - The Grey Plume
Foie Head  - The Grey Plume
Wagyu shortrib Agnolotti  - The Grey Plume
Tomato Many Way  - The Grey Plume
Corn Soup - The Grey Plume
First Taste - The Grey Plume
Steelhead Trout - The Grey Plume
Bison Burger - The Grey Plume
Farfalle - The Grey Plume
Tomatoe Consumme - The Grey Plume
Halibut - The Grey Plume
Wagyu Beef - The Grey Plume
Potato Soup - The Grey Plume
Parsnip Soup With Black Truffle And Lime - The Grey Plume

The Grey Plume Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Nebraska
Notable Wine List
Nebraska
Contemporary American
Nebraska
5 More
Best Ambiance
Omaha
Fit for Foodies
Omaha
Notable Wine List
Omaha
Romantic
Omaha
Special Occasion
Omaha
Best Restaurants in Midtown ›

Special Occasion (57)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Romantic (44)
See All
Notable Wine List (35)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Good for Groups (12)
Hot Spot (10)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Seasonal (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Business Meals (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Authentic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1236 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We are very new to the area (having just ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined 6 days ago

We are very new to the area (having just moved from Culinary Mecca aka Las Vegas) and I stopped at least three times during my meal to silently give thanks to God this restaurant exists in Nebraska.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always, great service and great food. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

As always, great service and great food. Quality ingredients, creatively executed. Not very expensive when you take into consideration all that they do. I always enjoy coming here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Grey Plume is one of Omaha's gems! T ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined 6 days ago

The Grey Plume is one of Omaha's gems! The food and service is the best in town! The chef and staff take the eating experience to the highest level of pleasure as every bite is extraordinary! And the cookies provided as you leave help the exceptional experience to linger with you a bit longer - exceptional place!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was really great. LimiTed ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

The service was really great. LimiTed menu for restaurant week which we knew. Food choices were interesting.......duck fat fries were fabulous! Everything else was just okay. Too expensive for even restaurant week. We would probably never go back given the price, quantity and choices. Again, service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Staff and Amazing Food. We were ve ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great Staff and Amazing Food. We were very impressed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recommended by Jeff from Lincoln Journa ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Recommended by Jeff from Lincoln Journal Star. Better than we had expected. A great unique dining experience. Looking forward to bring guests here.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The meal the service and the ambience ex ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

The meal the service and the ambience exceeded our expectations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! We ate from the Restaurant W ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Great food! We ate from the Restaurant Week menu. We were with another couple and shared many bites. Everything was cooked perfectly and tasted so good. Great layering of flavors in the pork, collar, and trout (my favorite)! The wine pairings were perfect! Somm was great as was our server, Serena. Pacing was great, and all staff was so knowledgeable about every dish. Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always excellent. Pasta, fish and Wahgu ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Always excellent. Pasta, fish and Wahgu beef were excellent. The soups are always unique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Way over rated for a Beard rated restara ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Way over rated for a Beard rated restaraunt.

Dined with 3 others. All four agreed that the meals were soso. I had the trout...ok, the vegetables under the trout were superb.... But again overrated and over priced. Place was fairly empty for a Saturday night. They also made us wait at the bar to order drinks when our table was clearly ready upon our arrival.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

The food was amazing and the ambiance wa ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was amazing and the ambiance was none like the other

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Food and flavors were exceptional. Amus ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food and flavors were exceptional. Amuse bouche, Branched oak quark & Panna cotta with pork belly, Morgan Ranch Wagtu beef and duck fat donut was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a favorite for special occasions. ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always a favorite for special occasions. Great food and service with excellent wines.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding service - down to every litt ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Outstanding service - down to every little detail! A few of the food items weren't to our taste - a little to salty or a little to adventurous, but overall really enjoyed our evening!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful presentation, delightful staff ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wonderful presentation, delightful staff, and delicious food. The duck fat fries are not to be missed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you are in search of an extraordinary ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

If you are in search of an extraordinary dining experience absent the pretentiousness of many a fine dining establishment, you simply MUST make your way to The Grey Plume. From the contemporary meets old world finishes to the warm and welcoming staff, you will feel right at home here. These talented folks know how to make your culinary experience a wonderful adventure. From dish to dish and bite to bite, our group enjoyed well-conceived and simply delightful creations. Just hitting some of the highlights… The Natalie in Gray soft and creamy goat cheese served with peach, shallot, and zucchini bread. Outstanding. The beef cheek with a robust and rich melt-in-your-mouth flavor. Superb. Perfectly prepared tilefish with shiitake, leek and gnocchi. Nailed it. I could go on and on, but my words fall well short of the actual experience. Suffice it to say that every bit was outrageously delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Charcuterie board was excellent. Server ...

vip
 (Omaha)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Charcuterie board was excellent. Server was highly knowledgeable and approachable. With ingredients sourced within 100 miles of the restaurant, the selection was limited. Coming off a trip to Park City, UT (where phenomenal restaurants are everywhere) we were less than impressed with the actual food preparation. There was a sense that the chef was "trying too hard." The flavors were slightly off, too much going on, not letting the preparation accentuate the natural qualities of the ingredients.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Great food, great atmosphere and fantast ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere and fantastic service. My wife loves The Grey Plume and it was well worth the cost.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food. We had the c ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Excellent service and food. We had the charcuterie plate to start, and the rabbit and pork dinners as main courses. Wine was a excellent 2010 Barolo. Every part of the experience was superior-food was interesting and well-prepared, and of outstanding quality. The rabbit was particularly good. Dessert was finely prepared and executed as well. Highly recommended.

A gripe about the charges: the only thing that marred my experience was how the 20% service charge was applied. If you buy a $100 bottle of wine versus a $30 bottle, you are charged an additional $14 for the more expensive bottle, even though you are not provided any additional service. Moreover, they tack on the 20% after the tax is computed. I typically tip 20% anyway, but on the services provided. The tax and the wine service should be treated differently.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Phenomenal food followed by exceptional ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Phenomenal food followed by exceptional service! Didn't think twice about paying the 20% tip!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu can seem a bit daunting if, lik ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The menu can seem a bit daunting if, like my wife and I, you're not used to Grey Plume's level of dining. But that is no issue at all because the wait staff is always super friendly and patient with any request or questions. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming.

My wife and I ate here the night of our Wedding day and on our first anniversary. It has easily become our favorite restaurant. Both times we shared the Duck Fat Fries for an appetizer and the Duck Fat Fried donut for desert which are our favorite items in their respective menu categories. For the entree options, my wife and I always choose something different. The entrees are great and each time I've chosen something I think it's the best thing I've ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Duck fat fries are amazing but I would n ...

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Duck fat fries are amazing but I would not recommend the rabbit. Tough and hard to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We had a great wedding anniversary dinne ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We had a great wedding anniversary dinner. The service, food and ambience were great. We very much enjoyed the evening. Have always had a great experience at the Grey Plume.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite places to ea ...

vip
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This is one of our favorite places to eat in Omaha. We find the service to be very good and not at all obtrusive. The wine list is fairly large and very well thought out. The cocktail specials were unique, and very tasty. The food tends to be locally sourced, and well priced for the quality of the preparations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent high quality chef prepared foo ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent high quality chef prepared foods! Locally grown, clean, refreshing foods that are great for the palet and the body!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

It was our 25th Wedding Anniversary. The ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

It was our 25th Wedding Anniversary. The service was good. It was a very hot day so sitting at the Chef's table in the window was a little warm which we realized even more when we walked through the very cool dining room to get to the bathrooms. Also, the table is oddly structured with the way the table legs are spaced which the server mentioned when we were seated. We liked the food presentation and how we did not feel rushed through the courses which was nice. The food was fine. Our server had us excited to try a bottle of wine that she recommended and told us was amazing therefore, a little disappointing for us and her that they couldn't find the wine. We did order a different bottle which was good. They also add a 20% "hospitality" charge with a very long explanation about tipping the kitchen staff. Seemed like a big problem for them. For us, it would have been more appropriate to bring to our attention at the beginning of the meal. It seemed awkward for the server . We already expected to leave gratuity so just seemed much ado about nothing. Strang way to end a meal.Overall, everything was fine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great atmosphere, excellent service, won ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great atmosphere, excellent service, wonderful food made from ingredients procured within a 100 mile radius. Dining at Grey Plume is not cheap but well worth the money. Will return to the Grey Plume on future visits to the Omaha area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

wonderful dinner with chef inspired meal ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

wonderful dinner with chef inspired meals. The trout is fantastic - highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Hands down, our favorite Omaha dining ex ...

vip
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Hands down, our favorite Omaha dining experience. Exceptional service, the highest quality food and a wonderful sommelier.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Is it just me, or is the food really wei ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Is it just me, or is the food really weird? I have an advanced degree and didn't unde

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

All around fabulous experience - very kn ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

All around fabulous experience - very knowledgeable staff, delicious plates that were both visually appetizing and paired perfectly for our foodie palates, and a beautiful establishment! We couldn't have asked for a more wonderful dining experience during our time in Omaha! We will definitely be back! :-)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great disappointment. My out of town gu ...

vip
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great disappointment. My out of town guest is a real foodie and I was so looking forward to showing off Grey Plume. Service was slow, my bill came with items from the previous party who sat at the table, the salad was buried in dressing and each entrée was a miss. We left as soon as the bill was straighten out, having my guest refuse to see the dessert menu. Ouch! I was so embarrassed. I hope it was just a bad Saturday night or the chefs were under the weather.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

My food was amazing but my wife's was ju ...

vip
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My food was amazing but my wife's was just OK. I had Pork Tasting which was fantastic! My wife had the rabbit. She was not sure about it but dared to try it. It was a little too tough for a nice restaurant like this but the flavor was still good. We would go back but my wife would probably steer clear of the rabbit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was very good, they had a specia ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Service was very good, they had a special ribeye meal for 3 that was offered. The waitress failed to mention the price, I failed to ask. We had 3 drinks, 1 appetizer and 1 additional meal. The food quality was mediocre. After the meal was complete, I received a check with a mandatory 20% gratuity. The check total was a little over $500. What began as a special birthday meal was now an evening I wish I could get back. I will not be returning and I will share this story with everyone so that they do not get taken advantage of like I did.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

We absolutely loved every detail of our ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We absolutely loved every detail of our anniversary dinner at The Grey Plume! The staff were professional, knowledgeable, and friendly; our appetizers, cocktails, salads, entrees, and desserts masterfully prepared and presented; the intentional attention to every detail (those little cookies we got to take home, thoughtful description of entirely deserved and equitable 20% gratuity) made for an incredibly special experience. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food fair. Menu descriptions ( fish/meat ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food fair. Menu descriptions ( fish/meat), veg, sauce don't pair up well. Talks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Ate here on a recommendation from a food ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Ate here on a recommendation from a foodie - and was not disappointed. Great food. Pricey, but worth it. They add 20% gratuity - which was earned - but a little off putting - especially with another line that said "additional gratuity."

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner choices were very unique. Very ni ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Dinner choices were very unique. Very nice wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and food was excellent. Presenta ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Service and food was excellent. Presentation was beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Grey Plume is one of the very best r ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The Grey Plume is one of the very best restaurants in Omaha. My husband and I enjoy this restaurant with friends and also just the two of us. Lovely food which tastes as good as it looks. I would recommend you try this restaurant and it will be your "go too" more often then just special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.