Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About The Grey Plume

The Grey Plume focuses on seasonality and sustainability. We change our menu often, basing our cuisine on local farmer's supply. When possible we preserve produce from Nebraska and the region at harvest for the winter months. The Grey Plume works in partnership with The Green Restaurant Association and is the first and only Certified Green Restaurant in Nebraska. Enjoy the comfortably elegant dining atmosphere for dinner.

220 South 31st Avenue
Suite 3101
Omaha, NE 68131
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Organic, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner from Monday through Saturday, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
31st & Farnam St.; Entrance on Farnam, across from Midtown Cinema

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 763-4447

Website:
http://www.thegreyplume.com/

Catering:
The Grey Plume offers catering for your private in-home or business functions. Please contact us or visit our website for more details.

Parking Details:
Enjoy complimentary parking in the Midtown Parking garage located directly across the street from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Clayton Chapman

Private Party Facilities:
The Grey Plume offers private dining for intimate events, receptions, cocktail parties, as well as meeting space for those business functions you want to take out of the boardroom. Our restaurant staff is at your service ready to exceed your expectations.

Private Party Contact:
Heather Smith: (402) 763-4447

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Grey Plume has a private dining space located across the street at Provisions by The Grey Plume. It can accommodate up to 20 guests and includes private Chefs & service staff, as well as A/V capabilities. For parties larger than 20, the restaurant can be booked for an evening.

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Happy Mother's Day! Our 3-Course Family Style tasting menu features brunch favorites from quick breads to frittatas, crepes, and pork belly. Thank you for celebrating with us!

The Grey Plume Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (39)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
Local Ingredients (37)
See All
Special Occasion (37)
Good for a Date (33)
Romantic (33)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Notable Wine List (24)
Authentic (20)
Organic (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Cozy (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Modern Decor (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Seasonal (10)
Business Meals (10)
Healthy (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Fun (5)
Casual (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Happy Hour (3)
People Watching (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Private Room (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Historic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1367 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 2 days ago

Incredible experience! Cuisine was interesting and amazing, service was top-notch and the tasting menu left a lasting impression that will lead us to be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My husband and I love the Grey Plume and our most recent anniversary dinner did not disappoint. We had a lovely note from the staff wishing us a happy anniversary. The meal starts with an amazing amuse touch. Our first course was their amazing beef tartare (that is not on the menu but we made a special request because it was so amazing the last time we had a special dinner).

Our entrees were also terrific but the surprise of the evening was the desserts, especially the cedar ice cream.

The food is awesome and the staff is terrific!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Delicious meals well-prepared and presented. Terrific to find this restaurant in Omaha. I took my relatives there and they were impressed.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The restaurant is nice and the service good. Very nice red blend wine by the glass. Food was good but not extraordinary. I think they are trying to overachieve and somewhat missing the mark. All in all, my second visit and I'd go back.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Gnudi-yes but skip the pheasant. Wagyu beef-yes. Pork tasting-yes. Charcuterie-liked all but 3 things in the selection. All meats were well-prepared. Service great. Noisier than I would have liked but neat atmosphere otherwise. Recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We VERY much enjoyed the charcuterie board and the gnudi entree, but the pork sampler entree lacked dimension. The pork belly was tough and overly salty, the one piece of non-cured non-sausage pork on the plate was cooked nearly well done, rather than the medium rare I requested, and I kept looking for a brightness on the plate to cleanse my palate between bites of fatty, salty sausage.

Drinks were very nice. Service was good. Overall, a little disappointed for our first (long anticipated) visit. Felt like the whole place wasn't firing on all cylinders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The entire experience was fantastic from the moment we walked in the door to the moment we left. The house-made soda is absolutely fantastic, the service was great, and the "haute dog" is amazing!

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had a great evening with wonderful servers. They made great recommendations and accommodated a few requests with no hesitation and offered alternatives to make the dining very relaxed and enjoyable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

In from New York. Great spot. Not disappointed and not to be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The waitress was informative when questioned. The food and service demonstrated a genuine desire that the guest enjoy the food, atmosphere, and the service and that it was a pleasure to serve. I would be delighted to return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Super service with unique cocktails. Variety of main courses including two tasty vegan selections.
All dishes well presented, fresh flavors, cooked appropriately. Luscious desserts with the cedar ice cream a stand out.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Vegan, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 30, 2017

This has to be in the top 10 of my all time most fabulous meals. Zac, our server was beyond perfect. The food, from the hot, crusty rolls that bloomed like pillows, the amuse-bouche, the panzanella with house made pumpernickel and grilled baby endive, the Celeriac soup with blood orange segments, the trout with head and tail served on a two-foot ceramic plate to the amazing chicken entree, which I cannot do justice to except to say it was served wrapped in a crispy skin with kumquats and Brussels sprouts - was all spectacular!

If I had not been suffering from jet-lag I would have gone for dessert then the cheese selection. Truly a fine evening with memorable service and a gustatory experience raised to a new level in the universe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Delicious inviting environment! Would go again for a special occasion.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Fantastic meal at a very nice restaurant while visiting Omaha. The variety of the menu was good and my choices were absolutely fantastic. I was able to pair my meal with a glass of bubbly and then a good half bottle of wine. The waiter was really personable and made my total experience truly memorable.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The ambience was incredible, the entire staff was extremely well-versed and the cuisine had everyone of my taste buds exploding!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 25, 2017

As usual, beautiful food and service. Hands down my favorite Omaha restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Food and service were great, but 20% hospitality charge was a surprise and damaged the experience. I'd also pass on creme brûlée...odd texture, flavor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Nice place. Good atmosphere and friendly staff. Very good meal. Nice wine list and excellent pre-dinner cocktails.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We traveled to Omaha from Iowa City to enjoy a meal at this superb restaurant. It's a destination restaurant - with local and unusual cheeses from the region - and every part of our meal from salad, chicken rolled, agnolotti and top flight wines could not have been better. What a pleasure. We shall return!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 19, 2017

My husband and I have been long-time fans of the Grey Plume. Chef Clayton and crew never fail to impress.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Chefs accommodated Vegan diet very easily with a wonderful meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 17, 2017

It is always a pleasure to go to the Grey Plume; the service is spectacular, the food is remarkable, and the ambience is dazzling. If you ever need a truly unique culinary experience with a local flair, this is definitely the place to experience it!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Really a 5+ in all categories. The confident, daring, complex but deeply satisfying fare equals that produced in the best kitchens anywhere. Wonderful teamwork with local producers; splendid teamwork among the staff. Impressively intelligent and varied wine list. Servers are attentive and eager to discuss selections and also the restaurant's overall approach and mission. Will return soon and regularly afterwards!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great evening, my colleague and I both regard ourselves as foodies and this didn't disappoint. Pork Taster was spectacular.

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Two mistakes upfront were remedied. 1..They tried to seat us just inside the door which would have mean my back to the busy hallway thru the dining room. Uh..no. So I ask for another table and after a short conference they sat us there. The running bringing out the bread in a basket grabbed on with tongs and place it on my bread plate. Then grabbed another for companion and dropped it on the table, then proceeded to pick it up and put it on their bread plate...uh...no. Grabbed another wait person, told them what happened and ask them to get another piece of break for companion. From there, things went pretty well. I had a nice green salad and the whole trout when was tasty. The donut fried in duck fat for dessert made up for all the screwups at the beginning...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Knowledgeable staff, lovely atmosphere and amazing food. The food beautifully plated. I would highly recommend! Everything was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Excellent fine dining. On par or beyond any fancy restaurant in New York. Loved it and will try to come back soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Omaha's best, as always! Wonderful blending of delicate flavors and textures. Every time we go we ask ourselves why we waited so long to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Best food I've ever had.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 2, 2017

One day f the best dinning experiences I've had in Omaha. Steak and scallops were wonderful. Meat and cheese tray was perfect. Creme brûlée was outstanding. Servers were outstanding for my taste in a fine dinning restaurant. We had questions and was very open to our questions and like us, they seemed to truly want us to have an overall fun dinning experience.
Can't wait to go again. Can't recommend a place better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We discovered this divine eatery from an online magazine naming it to be one of the best farm to table restaurants in the country. They were not wrong. Everything was fabulous from the appetizer to the melt in your mouth scallops. Presentation, taste, food and wine recommendations were superb. This will be definitely be our "go-to" place before the next concert.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Organic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I had a lot of anticipation going into my dining experience, but unfortunately some items disappointed. To begin, the multiple service personnel we interacted with ranged from indifferent to solemn. There was a palpable lack of enjoyment coming from them and it made for some awkwardness. The server who described our charcuterie plate, however, was enthusiastic and knowledgeable.
The food itself was here and there. The charcuterie plate was impressive in size and variety. It really was the highlight of the night. Beautiful in presentation and flavor. Well done. However, the salad (at a steep $10) was quite disappointing. It was difficult to utilize the sauces and additions on the rim of the bowl/plate, and even once I was able to get some onto my bite it was quite bland. In general, it fell flat and at that price, I expected much more.
For the main course my husband ordered the wagyu collar and I got the pork tasting. He thoroughly enjoyed his plate, which was stunning in presentation. Mine, on the other hand, was predominantly acrid and dry. There was a general lack of balance of flavors on the plate, which seemed like bitter on bitter. I think I may have just selected poorly. I am sure other menu items would have been more refined.
The cookies we received when leaving were delicious and thoughtful.
In conclusion, the Grey Plume is still a location I would recommend to others, but there needs to be a tighter performance from foh staff and from some menu items. For the price people pay to patronize your establishment and the surcharge you add on for service, the final product leaves much to be desired.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food and drinks outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I recently ate at the Grey Plume, for the first time, with my mother and 5-year-old son. It was a fantastic experience. The staff wasn't just professional, they seemed like they were having fun and they did an excellent job explaining the menu. While the high prices caught me off guard, the food was, literally, on par with the Iron Chef restaurants in NYC. The food was expensive, but absolutely worth it. The only negative aspect was it was a touch dark; I wish they had a little extra lighting. The noise level was perfectly reasonable and my son enjoyed watching the people on the street while eating. I ordered their hot dog meal for my son and they were kind enough to take all the extras (sauerkraut, mayo, ketchup, etc.) and put them into small dishes on the side. One potential criticism was the house policy of charging 20% gratuity. While I had absolutely no problem with this, and even tipped another 20%, it puts a lot of pressure on the staff; I would have had a huge problem with this if they weren't professional and friendly. Overall, I had one small critique and I will be recommending the Grey Plume to everyone.

Tags: People Watching, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Organic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 17, 2017

First of all, our server, Zack, was awesome! He was so helpful and gave my husband and I great recommendations. This was one of the best dining experiences we've ever had. The staff was attentive. The decor had a local feel, which had a welcoming, comfortable vibe. The food was outstanding!! After our palate cleanser, which was a spoonful of deliciousness, we started our meal with duck fat fries with a side of pork belly (recommended by Zack), followed by scallops atop a carrot puree, wagyu beef collar with a side of short rib (compliments of the chef), and ended with duck fat donuts and ice cream. The flavors were unbelievable! We have been talking about that meal for days! And as if that wasn't enough, they send you off with short bread cookies baked fresh that day! It just doesn't get any better than that! We will definitely return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We took our dessert home. It would have been better to eat it at the restaurant.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful as usual. The wine pairing was wonderful and the pheasant Scott egg was stupendous. Such a pleasure to see what chef clay has built here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great restaurant. Kind and understanding staff. Hope to go again before too long!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Arrived for special four course menu, paid $220 for two people including the tip (no alcohol, either) and left hungry. Food was ok, not great, and there was very little of it. Would not recommend and I will not go back. Service was ok, again not great. Seating was crowded, very loud. No intimate feel for the type of restaurant it is. On the plus side, my girlfriend had a great sense of humor about it and now the Grey Plume is the butt of a lot of jokes for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Nice restaurant overall, however the presentation took priority over the quality of food. Food was marginal and expensive. We were served a special Valentine's menu and our options were limited. I had high hopes of an outstanding experience, however fell way short of this. Also, for a 4 course meal, it took 2 hours and 15 minutes to complete. I understand the intent, but wow that was long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.