About The Grey Plume

220 South 31st Avenue
Suite 3101
Omaha, NE 68131
View Larger Map

The Grey Plume focuses on seasonality and sustainability. We change our menu often, basing our cuisine on local farmer's supply. When possible we preserve produce from Nebraska and the region at harvest for the winter months. The Grey Plume works in partnership with The Green Restaurant Association and is the first and only Certified Green Restaurant in Nebraska. Enjoy the comfortably elegant dining atmosphere for dinner.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Organic, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner from Monday through Saturday, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
31st & Farnam St.; Entrance on Farnam, across from Midtown Cinema

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 763-4447

Website:
http://www.thegreyplume.com/

Catering:
The Grey Plume offers catering for your private in-home or business functions. Please contact us or visit our website for more details.

Parking Details:
Enjoy complimentary parking in the Midtown Parking garage located directly across the street from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Clayton Chapman

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
The Grey Plume has a private dining space located across the street at Provisions by The Grey Plume. It can accommodate up to 20 guests and includes private Chefs & service staff, as well as A/V capabilities. For parties larger than 20, the restaurant can be booked for an evening.

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

The Grey Plume offers private dining for intimate events, receptions, cocktail parties, as well as meeting space for those business functions you want to take out of the boardroom. Our restaurant staff is at your service ready to exceed your expectations.

The Grey Plume Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Nebraska
Contemporary American
Nebraska
Fit for Foodies
Omaha
2 More
Special Occasion
Omaha
Contemporary American
Omaha
Best Restaurants in Midtown ›

fit for foodies (79)
special occasion (76)
romantic (55)
See All
notable wine list (43)
neighborhood gem (21)
hot spot (18)
good for groups (13)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1184 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

It would take me forever to write every ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

It would take me forever to write every good impression I had about this restaurant. I'll keep it short, and say that it was one of the dinning experiences I've had.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

It was a pleasant evening and my scallop ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

It was a pleasant evening and my scallops were superb. I believe one person's beef was not done to his liking. Server really pushed many of the "extras" and pushed us to order, so the experience felt rather rushed, as well as profit-driven. Understand this but it didn't elevate the evening to a five star experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience for a special event. ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Amazing experience for a special event. Food is a bit salty but the beef dishes were superb. We were impressed.

food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Better than I expected, worse than I hoped

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Came here after years of being out of Omaha. I've been to some pretty great restaurants, but haven't ever heard such an arrogant introduction: "We're one of the top three sustainable restaurants in the country..." followed by a long description of farm-to-table (server didn't know where Morgan Ranch was, btw) Who eats at restaurants that don't buy local? Love the wasted energy cleaning table clothes. Anyway... The Plume is one of the best cocktails I've ever had despite sounding like a funny combination. Really the best thing all night. Bread: Should not have been served. It was overdone, chewy, and quite frankly embarrassing. I actually wanted to leave after eating it. Tartare: Decent, but the plating looked like when I tried to cook at home after eating at my first Michelin Star. Too many pairings. Fries: Excellent. The aioli was spot on. Get the goose egg. Our server asked if we would be sharing the main plates, but never cleared our first plates. It was great having tartare pairings touch everything else. Chicken Roulade: I can't even criticize it because it was just so bland. It was like eating meat from Fazolis. Pork: I can't recall everything that was on it but looking at the menu apparently there was fennel, sunchoke, and spinach? I don't think so. It was basically hunks of meat. Good meat, but still just meat. Steak: They did a great job here. I'm glad they don't use Omaha steak, it's time this town got over it. There apparently was a piece of bison on the plate, but it was so overcooked it was unrecognizable. I was super excited about trying the duck fat donut but it was just dry. Overall, it's good for Omaha but the decor is cheap ("sustainable") and they shouldn't be proud of making things in house and buying local; that's expected. Nothing was really creative beside the cocktails, it's a tad over priced, and they need to learn how to plate. I wish they'd either embrace the fine dining or the casual, because it doesn't work together.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grey Plume

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was an experience and service was exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun evening

Dined on April 30, 2016

Craft cocktails, interesting mix of favors and textures made for a great dining experience. We were seated in the window area, of bar, which made for a fun evening.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Great date with wife - 50/50 on the entrees.

Dined on April 24, 2016

Overall, the experience was great as usual. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable as always. The Charcuterie Board was amazing, as was the Sunchoke Soup - highly recommend both. I had the Whole Roasted Blue Valley Trout....absolutely AMAZING! Bring a big appetite for this dish as it's hearty portion. My wife ordered the Maitake Mushroom Ragout - which was not so great. She was expecting a "Maitake Mushroom" ragout to include....Maitake Mushrooms. Her dish included 1 - singular mushroom. Needless to say she was disappointed with her dish. All said, we will most definitely visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on April 23, 2016

After booking this reservation a week ahead of time, I had been talking about how excited I was to be eating at The Grey Plume. All I can say was it absolutely did not disappoint. The food and the service was as good or better than any restaurant I've ever been. Awesome service with attention to detail. I will recommend to any friends I have visiting the Omaha area!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great server, and a great ni ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great food, great server, and a great night. It was a dining destination to be savored.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Meh not as good as they think.

Dined on April 11, 2016

The place isn't bad actually it was rather nice inside. The food though was kinda par for the hype. I'd been told and read it's one of the best in town. I'm not sure how, though some of the "first tastes" we're good overall the main course was rather bland. The service was excellent and the pace was great the courses were great those weren't enough for me to go back without reason. Oh and avoid the Italian soda. I'm not sure what part of Italy they got the recipie from but they need to rethink them.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Night

Dined on April 10, 2016

The Grey Plume has become our 'go to' place for special occasions. I cannot think of a better experience combining food, service and ambiance. Clayton's creativity continues to amaze! Great food and great value all things considered!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prom perfection

Dined on April 9, 2016

My date and I went to Grey Plume for our prom dinner and it was outstanding! Service was amazing. No water glass went empty. Food was 6/5 stars. We even tried to Italian soda and it was delicious. I would go back in a heart beat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dining experience - all around ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Excellent dining experience - all around.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We will be back!

Dined on April 6, 2016

We went for my wife's birthday and upon arrival we were greeted with a signed birthday card from the staff, very nice touch! Great experience from start to finish! Food and service were excellent, we will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

De

Dined on April 2, 2016

We had a most delightful evening and enjoyed deliciously prepared foods at The Grey Plume. Our server, Abby, was both patient with our any questions and informative. The ambiance was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The perfect place for a special evening out

Dined on March 26, 2016

Phenomenal food with a well-thought our menu and exemplary service! The duck-fat fries and kumquat brûlée are to die for!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything I hoped it would be

Dined on March 22, 2016

Just an amazing experience and meal. Top 3 all time meals of my life. Can't wait to return!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food

Dined on March 19, 2016

The food was wonderful in taste, presentation, creativity.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place

Dined on March 12, 2016

Excellent service. Presentation was excellent and the meals were well prepared and very good

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

New York City Quality in the Heart of the Midwest

Dined on March 12, 2016

I have not found a restaurant with this level of quality in the Midwest! Food and prices are similar to that in NYC. Small menu with local and sustainable options. Decent wine list as well. Definitely recommendation worthy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service2

Our waitress kept trying to rush us into ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Our waitress kept trying to rush us into ordering, to the point where we had to say something. After we said something, it was a much better night. We originally tried grey plume during restaurant week and thought it was amazing - this past visit we thought the food was just okay. The beef tartare was great, but everything else was a bit of a disappointment. We may have ordered wrong, and will definitely try grey plume again.

food2
ambience4
service4
value1

missing protein

Dined on March 6, 2016

Our table was very wobbly and we could not both put our arms on it. Our appetizer was ok. The salad was yummy but plate was odd as it could wobble. My dinner was pasta with oxtail and missing the oxtail. I had 8 pieces of pasta and 12 pieces of onion. Really? It was a pasta entrée! When the oxtail came out after it was about 2 ounces and 2 ounces of additional kale. If they were out of the oxtail why have it on the menu? This was dinner out for my birthday and we had heard good things. Disappointing and 170.00 for dinner. Not going back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good locally sourced food.

Dined on March 5, 2016

This was my first visit to the Grey Plume. We order the Charcuterie plate and Duck Fat Fries for appetizers. I had the Trout as an entree. Finally we had Duck Fat Donuts with ice cream for dessert. All of the food was excellent! Cooked to perfection and presented fantastically!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the best service and fantastic food. Not ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

the best service and fantastic food. Nothing could have been better! Our best meal and evening out in Omaha in our 30 yrs of marriage. Very romantic and quiet.!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome dining experience as always. Nev ...

Dined on March 2, 2016

Awesome dining experience as always. Never disappointed with the food, atmosphere or service here. Love it!!

food5
ambience4
service4

Great wine suggestions

Dined on February 27, 2016

Great wine suggestions

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Find

Dined on February 27, 2016

This restaurant came recommended to us from a local who enjoys good food as much as we do. The Grey Plume did not disappoint! From the moment we stepped in the door to our exit, it was a great experience. The food was amazing and the service was kind, professional, but personally invested in its diners. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great find in Omaha

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

Great service, solid food and eclectic wine list. I would certainly go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time there. It was fantastic.

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

The trout was amazing! A little secret - you can go across the street to Provisions and purchase some of the items that are used at the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Valentine's surprise!

Dined on February 15, 2016

My fiancée and I loved the place! Great ambience, great food and great drinks! I'm not a wine guy but they actually had amazing pairings that even my uneducated palate could appreciate. The only kicker was the price. I knew it was going to be expensive though so I can't complain too much. There was just one rude waiter who bugged me. There was a confusion with the wine, he made a comment like" they're paying for it anyways". It doesn't sound that bad without context but it was a pretty rude thing of him to say. We're more than just ATMs. And we weren't even disputing a charge. The bartender and every single other server were amazing though! And the food was sublime.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

10/10

Dined on February 15, 2016

Easily the finest dining in Omaha. What chef Clayton has accomplished is truly amazing. Bravo

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It was Valentine's Day and the chef prep ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

It was Valentine's Day and the chef prepared an absolutely exquisite meal that, despite what you chose from the menu, worked harmoniously to create a masterful date night dinner. The ambiance helped to set a relaxing mood whilst the waitstaff did an excellent job in terms of service and knowledge of the menu and pairings. Not that they didn't know all of this, of course :)

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Valentine's day delight.

Dined on February 14, 2016

We have been waiting for an occasion to visit the oft-praised Grey Plume and the prix fixe menu on Valentine's Day was just the opportunity. It did not disappoint. The food and wine pairings were fabulous and the server could not have been more attentive. The experience felt a bit rushed, but truthfully, I couldn't eat it fast enough! We look forward to going back for the regular menu and now realize going to Grey Plume is the occasion!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service5

I would recommend just a lunch here. P ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

I would recommend just a lunch here. Price was not worth the food. Overcooked/burnt entree ruined it for us.

food5
ambience4
service4

Best food in Omaha, hands down.

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Best food in Omaha, hands down.

food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Valentine's day

Dined on February 13, 2016

We were not aware there was a fixed menu for Valentine's Day when we booked which was a big disappointment. The meal was expensive and not very good. Small portion sizes and bland dessert.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Restaurant in Omaha

Dined on February 13, 2016

My husband and I dined at the Grey Plume for an early Valentine's Day date and it was absolutely amazing. We shared the charcuterie board, my husband got the half rabbit and I ordered the pork variety. We have dined at the Grey Plume several times before and loved it, but we both agreed that this the best meal we had eaten there. Clayton came out to say Hi before we left even though we haven't been to the restaurant in almost a year. As always the service was excellent, and we would recommend this place to anyone looking for truly unique and inspiring food. It is one of the best restaurants not only in Omaha, but in the entire country.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Valentine's Day Dinner

Dined on February 13, 2016

My husband and I went for an early Valentine's Day dinner/anniversary. The wait staff is very attentive, and the food is out of this world - fantastic. While we've only been twice due to the price tag (our dinners have been $200-$300 for just the two of us), this is our favorite spot for special occasions. We'll definitely return when we have another reason to celebrate.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!

Dined on February 13, 2016

We make sure to eat at The Grey Plume any chance we have to celebrate something special. The food, service and wine are always excellent. Omaha is lucky to have such a talented chef.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect

Dined on February 12, 2016

My wife and I were at The Grey Plume Friday evening on the 12th for an early Valentines Day. Everything was perfect and obviously, the food was the best. Service was top-notch, our waitress was comical and professional at the same time, exactly what I like! We both thoroughly enjoyed our dinner, we will be back. Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.