Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About The Grey Plume

The Grey Plume focuses on seasonality and sustainability. We change our menu often, basing our cuisine on local farmer's supply. When possible we preserve produce from Nebraska and the region at harvest for the winter months. The Grey Plume works in partnership with The Green Restaurant Association and is the first and only Certified Green Restaurant in Nebraska. Enjoy the comfortably elegant dining atmosphere for dinner.

220 South 31st Avenue
Suite 3101
Omaha, NE 68131
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Organic, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner from Monday through Saturday, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
31st & Farnam St.; Entrance on Farnam, across from Midtown Cinema

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 763-4447

Website:
http://www.thegreyplume.com/

Catering:
The Grey Plume offers catering for your private in-home or business functions. Please contact us or visit our website for more details.

Parking Details:
Enjoy complimentary parking in the Midtown Parking garage located directly across the street from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Clayton Chapman

Private Party Facilities:
The Grey Plume offers private dining for intimate events, receptions, cocktail parties, as well as meeting space for those business functions you want to take out of the boardroom. Our restaurant staff is at your service ready to exceed your expectations.

Private Party Contact:
Heather Smith: (402) 763-4447

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Grey Plume has a private dining space located across the street at Provisions by The Grey Plume. It can accommodate up to 20 guests and includes private Chefs & service staff, as well as A/V capabilities. For parties larger than 20, the restaurant can be booked for an evening.

The Grey Plume Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (38)
Special Occasion (34)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
See All
Good for a Date (31)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Romantic (25)
Organic (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Authentic (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Cozy (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Business Meals (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Healthy (9)
Seasonal (9)
Hot Spot (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Fun (5)
People Watching (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Casual (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Historic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1349 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 3 days ago

We traveled to Omaha from Iowa City to enjoy a meal at this superb restaurant. It's a destination restaurant - with local and unusual cheeses from the region - and every part of our meal from salad, chicken rolled, agnolotti and top flight wines could not have been better. What a pleasure. We shall return!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I have been long-time fans of the Grey Plume. Chef Clayton and crew never fail to impress.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 7 days ago

Chefs accommodated Vegan diet very easily with a wonderful meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

It is always a pleasure to go to the Grey Plume; the service is spectacular, the food is remarkable, and the ambience is dazzling. If you ever need a truly unique culinary experience with a local flair, this is definitely the place to experience it!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Really a 5+ in all categories. The confident, daring, complex but deeply satisfying fare equals that produced in the best kitchens anywhere. Wonderful teamwork with local producers; splendid teamwork among the staff. Impressively intelligent and varied wine list. Servers are attentive and eager to discuss selections and also the restaurant's overall approach and mission. Will return soon and regularly afterwards!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great evening, my colleague and I both regard ourselves as foodies and this didn't disappoint. Pork Taster was spectacular.

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Two mistakes upfront were remedied. 1..They tried to seat us just inside the door which would have mean my back to the busy hallway thru the dining room. Uh..no. So I ask for another table and after a short conference they sat us there. The running bringing out the bread in a basket grabbed on with tongs and place it on my bread plate. Then grabbed another for companion and dropped it on the table, then proceeded to pick it up and put it on their bread plate...uh...no. Grabbed another wait person, told them what happened and ask them to get another piece of break for companion. From there, things went pretty well. I had a nice green salad and the whole trout when was tasty. The donut fried in duck fat for dessert made up for all the screwups at the beginning...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Knowledgeable staff, lovely atmosphere and amazing food. The food beautifully plated. I would highly recommend! Everything was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Excellent fine dining. On par or beyond any fancy restaurant in New York. Loved it and will try to come back soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Omaha's best, as always! Wonderful blending of delicate flavors and textures. Every time we go we ask ourselves why we waited so long to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Best food I've ever had.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 2, 2017

One day f the best dinning experiences I've had in Omaha. Steak and scallops were wonderful. Meat and cheese tray was perfect. Creme brûlée was outstanding. Servers were outstanding for my taste in a fine dinning restaurant. We had questions and was very open to our questions and like us, they seemed to truly want us to have an overall fun dinning experience.
Can't wait to go again. Can't recommend a place better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We discovered this divine eatery from an online magazine naming it to be one of the best farm to table restaurants in the country. They were not wrong. Everything was fabulous from the appetizer to the melt in your mouth scallops. Presentation, taste, food and wine recommendations were superb. This will be definitely be our "go-to" place before the next concert.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Organic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I had a lot of anticipation going into my dining experience, but unfortunately some items disappointed. To begin, the multiple service personnel we interacted with ranged from indifferent to solemn. There was a palpable lack of enjoyment coming from them and it made for some awkwardness. The server who described our charcuterie plate, however, was enthusiastic and knowledgeable.
The food itself was here and there. The charcuterie plate was impressive in size and variety. It really was the highlight of the night. Beautiful in presentation and flavor. Well done. However, the salad (at a steep $10) was quite disappointing. It was difficult to utilize the sauces and additions on the rim of the bowl/plate, and even once I was able to get some onto my bite it was quite bland. In general, it fell flat and at that price, I expected much more.
For the main course my husband ordered the wagyu collar and I got the pork tasting. He thoroughly enjoyed his plate, which was stunning in presentation. Mine, on the other hand, was predominantly acrid and dry. There was a general lack of balance of flavors on the plate, which seemed like bitter on bitter. I think I may have just selected poorly. I am sure other menu items would have been more refined.
The cookies we received when leaving were delicious and thoughtful.
In conclusion, the Grey Plume is still a location I would recommend to others, but there needs to be a tighter performance from foh staff and from some menu items. For the price people pay to patronize your establishment and the surcharge you add on for service, the final product leaves much to be desired.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food and drinks outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I recently ate at the Grey Plume, for the first time, with my mother and 5-year-old son. It was a fantastic experience. The staff wasn't just professional, they seemed like they were having fun and they did an excellent job explaining the menu. While the high prices caught me off guard, the food was, literally, on par with the Iron Chef restaurants in NYC. The food was expensive, but absolutely worth it. The only negative aspect was it was a touch dark; I wish they had a little extra lighting. The noise level was perfectly reasonable and my son enjoyed watching the people on the street while eating. I ordered their hot dog meal for my son and they were kind enough to take all the extras (sauerkraut, mayo, ketchup, etc.) and put them into small dishes on the side. One potential criticism was the house policy of charging 20% gratuity. While I had absolutely no problem with this, and even tipped another 20%, it puts a lot of pressure on the staff; I would have had a huge problem with this if they weren't professional and friendly. Overall, I had one small critique and I will be recommending the Grey Plume to everyone.

Tags: People Watching, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Organic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 17, 2017

First of all, our server, Zack, was awesome! He was so helpful and gave my husband and I great recommendations. This was one of the best dining experiences we've ever had. The staff was attentive. The decor had a local feel, which had a welcoming, comfortable vibe. The food was outstanding!! After our palate cleanser, which was a spoonful of deliciousness, we started our meal with duck fat fries with a side of pork belly (recommended by Zack), followed by scallops atop a carrot puree, wagyu beef collar with a side of short rib (compliments of the chef), and ended with duck fat donuts and ice cream. The flavors were unbelievable! We have been talking about that meal for days! And as if that wasn't enough, they send you off with short bread cookies baked fresh that day! It just doesn't get any better than that! We will definitely return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We took our dessert home. It would have been better to eat it at the restaurant.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful as usual. The wine pairing was wonderful and the pheasant Scott egg was stupendous. Such a pleasure to see what chef clay has built here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great restaurant. Kind and understanding staff. Hope to go again before too long!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Arrived for special four course menu, paid $220 for two people including the tip (no alcohol, either) and left hungry. Food was ok, not great, and there was very little of it. Would not recommend and I will not go back. Service was ok, again not great. Seating was crowded, very loud. No intimate feel for the type of restaurant it is. On the plus side, my girlfriend had a great sense of humor about it and now the Grey Plume is the butt of a lot of jokes for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Nice restaurant overall, however the presentation took priority over the quality of food. Food was marginal and expensive. We were served a special Valentine's menu and our options were limited. I had high hopes of an outstanding experience, however fell way short of this. Also, for a 4 course meal, it took 2 hours and 15 minutes to complete. I understand the intent, but wow that was long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Excellent food. A great place for a magnificent dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Such a wonderful experience. Food and service were outstanding!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We enjoy the chef's table in the bar area because it affords a view of the kitchen, which we like. It sits behind the bar and is more casual than the dining room.

The food is consistent and fantastic. You absolutely must try the desert hot chocolate - a house made cocoa with marshmallow layer on top. It is absolutely to die for!!

Love it!!
We return to Grey Plum every chance we get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at The Grey Plume. The service was great - our server was friendly and knowledgeable. All the food was delicious and inventive. The palate cleanser was interesting but something in it was a little gritty. We got the charcuterie board to start, which had an excellent variety of meats and cheeses. We also loved the pork tasting and the agnolotti, but the agnolotti was definitely our favorite. It had pureed squash and fig, which complemented the cheese filling very well. We received cookies on the way out, which was a nice treat. Definitely recommend for a special occasion!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I have always loved this place. I was recently diagnosed with Celiac disease and as I hoped, the server was very familiar and informed. Any questions she couldn't answer immediately, she checked with the kitchen. They offered to make substitutions for pretty much anything on the menu that wasn't already gluten free. I was even served delicious gluten-free bread! I am so glad I don't have to give up eating at an old favorite! The parsnip soup was excellent, as was the trout.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent service and wonderful gourmet food. I would highly recommend this place to friends, family, and co-workers.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

No hesitation recommending this remarkable restaurant to even the staunchest foodies. One of the best meals we've had in our lives. Not exaggerating.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Service was great. Lovely evening. Great dining. Worth the money for a special occasion/date night!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 7, 2017

As always, the Grey Plume exceeded our expectations.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Hands down, this is our favorite restaurant in town. The duck fat fries are always outstanding, and the pork tasting dish is to die for.

Someone is also a evil genius at desserts.

The service is outstanding and great for recommendations.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I went to The Grey Plume on Wednesday and it was a great experience. From the moment we sat down our server was very attentative to us. From drinks to our food. If we had any questions over the menu, he answered them in full detail and description. Will visit again when I have time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This is the second time I've been to The Grey Plum it was very good. I had three people with me that hadn't been there before. They liked the food as well, unfortunately the server was a disappointment. Seemed arrogant in a rush when we had questions forgot about drink orders twice had to be reminded, the couple with us ended up just cancelling last drink and got their bill and left early. My husband and I stayed for dessert it was excellent as well. There was also a few times the Waiter answered I don't know to questions and didn't even offer to find out when we had questions on drinks and certain food items. I love the place had outstanding service last time, i just felt bad how I talked it up to everyone, and then the service was that poor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Everything tasted delicious. Only issue was that they didn't have a bourbon I ordered from their menu, but the food was cooked to perfection with a great blend of flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 4, 2017

My experience was wonderful. My friend and I were expecting food that was different from your typical restaurant but still delicious and The Grey Plume did not disappoint. First off the decorum and music gives a feel of high end fine dining but there is also a softness and inviting nature to the ambience. The service was the best I have ever received. The staff were welcoming, attentive, and very knowledgeable. My favorite cocktail was the Lili because it was just so smooth. The food was unique, beautifully plated, and delicious. I especially enjoyed the duck fat fries, the parsnip and pear soup, the pheasant agnolotti, and the Morgan Ranch wagyu beef.

Tags: Organic, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a perfect evening - the food, drinks and service were outstanding! Thanks for making our New Year's Eve celebration so fabulous!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went there for New Years Eve. They had a prix fixed menu which was great. Always a lovely dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A 4 course New Years Eve dinner was absolutely superb. Their attention to food allergies was greatly appreciated. Individual attention to each table was given to all diners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Years Eve meal was outstanding. Presentation was great. Food was delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.