Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.50mi

About The Grey Plume

The Grey Plume focuses on seasonality and sustainability. We change our menu often, basing our cuisine on local farmer's supply. When possible we preserve produce from Nebraska and the region at harvest for the winter months. The Grey Plume works in partnership with The Green Restaurant Association and is the first and only Certified Green Restaurant in Nebraska. Enjoy the comfortably elegant dining atmosphere for dinner.

220 South 31st Avenue
Suite 3101
Omaha, NE 68131
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Organic, Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner from Monday through Saturday, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
31st & Farnam St.; Entrance on Farnam, across from Midtown Cinema

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 763-4447

Website:
http://www.thegreyplume.com/

Catering:
The Grey Plume offers catering for your private in-home or business functions. Please contact us or visit our website for more details.

Parking Details:
Enjoy complimentary parking in the Midtown Parking garage located directly across the street from the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Clayton Chapman

Private Party Facilities:
The Grey Plume offers private dining for intimate events, receptions, cocktail parties, as well as meeting space for those business functions you want to take out of the boardroom. Our restaurant staff is at your service ready to exceed your expectations.

Private Party Contact:
Heather Smith: (402) 763-4447

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Grey Plume has a private dining space located across the street at Provisions by The Grey Plume. It can accommodate up to 20 guests and includes private Chefs & service staff, as well as A/V capabilities. For parties larger than 20, the restaurant can be booked for an evening.

The Grey Plume Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

CreativeCuisine (37)
SpecialOccasions (33)
Anniversaries (33)
See All
GoodForDates (32)
LocalIngredients (30)
Foodies (29)
QuietConversation (28)
Romance (26)
NotableWineList (20)
Authentic (20)
WorthTheDrive (16)
HandcraftedCocktails (15)
NeighborhoodGem (15)
Cozy (13)
Organic (13)
BusinessMeals (12)
TastingMenu (11)
Fun (9)
Healthy (9)
BarSeating (8)
Seasonal (8)
PrePostTheatre (7)
Birthdays (6)
VegetarianOptions (6)
ModernDecor (5)
HotSpot (4)
Groups (4)
HappyHour (4)
OutstandingValue (4)
OpenKitchen (3)
ComfortFood (3)
GlutenFree (3)
Casual (2)
Vegan (2)
MolecularGastronomy (2)
AfternoonCoffee (2)
PeopleWatching (2)
LateNightFind (1)
Lunch (1)
PaleoFriendly (1)
Spicy (1)
GreatBeer (1)
Brunch (1)
PrivateRoom (1)
Sort By:
S
1390 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

Underwhelmed compared to my previous experiences. Still a great place.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Did the chef's tasting menu (8course) with wine pairing and a couple drinks.

Our wait staff was nice but seemed lack in-depth knowledge of the food and especially of the wine.
For a dining experience that was closer to $600, including tip, we expect more of an "experience " as we have had in other cities for comparable price.

The food itself was very good and well plated. Great spring flavors though a little heavy on use of raspberries in first several courses (repetitive).

Did not like the last dessert course: the fried portion tasted like it was cooked in the same oil as French fries or something.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 10, 2017

While we treat this restaurant as a special occasion option, we look for special occasions so we can go more often. Always a wonderful experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Reconnect with old friend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We have dined at the Grey Plume on several special occasions and never have been disappointed with our meal, our service, our experience! Each time we've tried something different on the menu and again never disappointed! I highly recommend this for anyone looking for a unique dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Wonderful! Impeccable, warm service and stunning food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Customer service was great. The food was overprices and not what I expected.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 21, 2017

For my wife and I, we decided it's not the place for us. Some things were good, some were not. Some of the offerings seemed forced or the combination of ingredients seemed strange just for the sake of being strange and didn't really come together like I feel they should have for the price we paid. The restaurant is beautiful and everyone we encountered was wonderful.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This is a fabulous place! We just love it!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This was my second time to the Grey Plume, and it was great as always. If you're in the mood for something heavy and sweet, try the Duck Fat Fried donut - it's amazing.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Spicy, Healthy, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Outstanding service with delicious food in a beautiful setting.
The server was knowledgeable about the menu and he was very accommodating.
The food was tasty and the menu was unique.
We all appreciated the atmosphere too.
A very lovely evening.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Excellent meal and service, highly recommend this restaurant for a special dining occasion!However I was caught off guard a little when they included gratuity for a party of 4.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 15, 2017

My husband and I have been to several Michelin rated restaurants, so it isn't as if we are cheap. We also have worked/currently work in the food industry so we tend to be rather forgiving of service mistakes. We however, for the first time thought about leaving a restaurant after being greeted by our server and being told we could not order an appetizer until we place our full order. We ordered our appetizer and when we weren't finished with the plate, silverware still in hand, our waitress took the appetizer and waited for me to set down my silverware so she could bus it. We also for the first time sent back food because of the portion size, their $52 bison "ribeye" was two very small cuts, looking to be at most 8 ounces of meat total. Despite the fact we were very unsatisfied overall with our service the choice was not left to us how much to tip, there is an automatic 20% gratuity on all bills. Our overall experience left us feeling as though The Grey Plume thinks quite too highly of their food as well as their service.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My son works there, so I may be a bit biased, but we had a wonderful experience for our mother's day brunch. The atmosphere was great, our waiter was attentive and kind without being annoying, the food was delicious. I made reservations online and when I called to see if I could add 3 more people, there was no hassle. Thank you so much for making this a very memorable day for all of us, but especially the 4 moms that were celebrating.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is the third time we have been to Grey Plume for Mother's Day brunch and it is better every year. It is a little pricey but worth it. This a three-course prix fixe menu was offered with 2-3 options per course. All the dishes we had were excellent, service was just right and Grey Plume is a very enjoyable setting. Recommended.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This was our second trip into Omaha to enjoy The Grey Plume. We enjoy the creations that the kitchen develops and the feeling that everyone is a part of the process and our enjoyment.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We always eat here when we come to the BH meeting.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Fabulous as usual. I highly recommend this restaurant. Farm to table fresh ingredients uniquely prepared .

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Enjoyed a wonderful evening. Beautiful presentation.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was amazing--especially the duck fat fries. The ambience was perfect for a pre-symphony dinner with friends. Can't wait to go back.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Incredible experience! Cuisine was interesting and amazing, service was top-notch and the tasting menu left a lasting impression that will lead us to be back.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Visited for my wife's birthday, and decided to allow the chef to prepare us each a five-course meal. Though adventurous, we'd never tried anything like that, but the outcome exceeded even our highest expectations.

While it's probably not a fair comparison, I may have had the best meal of my life that evening at Grey Plume. Each and every course was phenomenal. My wife and I could hardly express to each other how much we enjoyed every single bite.

The cocktails and wine were phenomenal, the service was outstanding (we even wound up conversing for a long while with our server at the end of the night), and in short, this was everything we could have hoped for a special occasion to be.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday as a party of 4. The variety of the menu and the presentation of the food and wine were exceptional. Our server Ally was awesome and took the time to explain the menu, options, wines, etc. It was a very good experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Organic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My husband and I love the Grey Plume and our most recent anniversary dinner did not disappoint. We had a lovely note from the staff wishing us a happy anniversary. The meal starts with an amazing amuse touch. Our first course was their amazing beef tartare (that is not on the menu but we made a special request because it was so amazing the last time we had a special dinner).

Our entrees were also terrific but the surprise of the evening was the desserts, especially the cedar ice cream.

The food is awesome and the staff is terrific!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Delicious meals well-prepared and presented. Terrific to find this restaurant in Omaha. I took my relatives there and they were impressed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The restaurant is nice and the service good. Very nice red blend wine by the glass. Food was good but not extraordinary. I think they are trying to overachieve and somewhat missing the mark. All in all, my second visit and I'd go back.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Gnudi-yes but skip the pheasant. Wagyu beef-yes. Pork tasting-yes. Charcuterie-liked all but 3 things in the selection. All meats were well-prepared. Service great. Noisier than I would have liked but neat atmosphere otherwise. Recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We VERY much enjoyed the charcuterie board and the gnudi entree, but the pork sampler entree lacked dimension. The pork belly was tough and overly salty, the one piece of non-cured non-sausage pork on the plate was cooked nearly well done, rather than the medium rare I requested, and I kept looking for a brightness on the plate to cleanse my palate between bites of fatty, salty sausage.

Drinks were very nice. Service was good. Overall, a little disappointed for our first (long anticipated) visit. Felt like the whole place wasn't firing on all cylinders.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The entire experience was fantastic from the moment we walked in the door to the moment we left. The house-made soda is absolutely fantastic, the service was great, and the "haute dog" is amazing!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had a great evening with wonderful servers. They made great recommendations and accommodated a few requests with no hesitation and offered alternatives to make the dining very relaxed and enjoyable.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

In from New York. Great spot. Not disappointed and not to be missed.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The waitress was informative when questioned. The food and service demonstrated a genuine desire that the guest enjoy the food, atmosphere, and the service and that it was a pleasure to serve. I would be delighted to return.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Super service with unique cocktails. Variety of main courses including two tasty vegan selections.
All dishes well presented, fresh flavors, cooked appropriately. Luscious desserts with the cedar ice cream a stand out.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Vegan, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 30, 2017

This has to be in the top 10 of my all time most fabulous meals. Zac, our server was beyond perfect. The food, from the hot, crusty rolls that bloomed like pillows, the amuse-bouche, the panzanella with house made pumpernickel and grilled baby endive, the Celeriac soup with blood orange segments, the trout with head and tail served on a two-foot ceramic plate to the amazing chicken entree, which I cannot do justice to except to say it was served wrapped in a crispy skin with kumquats and Brussels sprouts - was all spectacular!

If I had not been suffering from jet-lag I would have gone for dessert then the cheese selection. Truly a fine evening with memorable service and a gustatory experience raised to a new level in the universe.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Delicious inviting environment! Would go again for a special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Fantastic meal at a very nice restaurant while visiting Omaha. The variety of the menu was good and my choices were absolutely fantastic. I was able to pair my meal with a glass of bubbly and then a good half bottle of wine. The waiter was really personable and made my total experience truly memorable.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The ambience was incredible, the entire staff was extremely well-versed and the cuisine had everyone of my taste buds exploding!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 25, 2017

As usual, beautiful food and service. Hands down my favorite Omaha restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Food and service were great, but 20% hospitality charge was a surprise and damaged the experience. I'd also pass on creme brûlée...odd texture, flavor.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Nice place. Good atmosphere and friendly staff. Very good meal. Nice wine list and excellent pre-dinner cocktails.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.