HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 10 times today

The Grey Plume

4.6
1474 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Creative Cuisine
The Grey Plume focuses on seasonality and sustainability. We change our menu often, basing our cuisine on local farmer's supply. When possible we preserve produce from Nebraska and the region at harvest for the winter months. The Grey Plume works in partnership with The Green Restaurant Association and is the first and only Certified Green Restaurant in Nebraska. Enjoy the comfortably elegant dining atmosphere for dinner.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Organic, Contemporary French
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner from Monday through Saturday, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(402) 763-4447
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Clayton Chapman
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
The Grey Plume offers private dining for intimate events, receptions, cocktail parties, as well as meeting space for those business functions you want to take out of the boardroom. Our restaurant staff is at your service ready to exceed your expectations.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Heather Smith: (402) 763-4447
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
The Grey Plume offers catering for your private in-home or business functions. Please contact us or visit our website for more details.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
31st & Farnam St.; Entrance on Farnam, across from Midtown Cinema
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Enjoy complimentary parking in the Midtown Parking garage located directly across the street from the restaurant.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
The Grey Plume has a private dining space located across the street at Provisions by The Grey Plume. It can accommodate up to 20 guests and includes private Chefs & service staff, as well as A/V capabilities. For parties larger than 20, the restaurant can be booked for an evening.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1474 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6  based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
JosephZ 
5.0  Dined 2 days ago

As usual we had a great meal, a wonderful time, and a memorable evening.
What more can you ask for. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner 
5.0  Dined 3 days ago

This was a dinner to celebrate a co-worker from out of town’s birthday. Everyone walked away happy and had tried something new.

Report
Helpful
SnoozeDoc 
2.0  Dined 5 days ago

The food was prepared well, but they are obviously trying too hard to be “modern” or hipster and the food suffered because of it. The portions were tiny, and definitely not worth the fairly high price. For example, they charged $16 for a single glass of a wine that is no more than $25/bottle. We were not impressed, and will likely not be returning.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Omaha)
4.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Too many mushrooms everything had mushrooms

Report
Helpful
vipGretna (Omaha)
3.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

We’ve been many times and I don’t think I’ve ever rated anything below 5 stars - grants we’ve never been before on Valentine’s day. The food was wonderful as always - creative and delicious. The bar manager and our waitress were both wonderful. Unfortunately, the dining room overall was chaotic and disorganized.

The wait staff was not given good direction. The menu had been changed and they weren’t familiar with the dishes. We were n a central location and saw staff with food confusedly looking for where it went. Our courses were not the choices we ordered, but we accepted them and they were delicious. Just not what we ordered.

It was by no means a disaster but at about $300 for 2 people with wine, I expect a much more seamless experience.

Report
Helpful
WendyB (Omaha)
5.0  Dined on February 13, 2018

We celebrate Valentine's Day and our anniversary at The Gray Plume since they're both in February. It's such a special treat to eat there, and something we enjoy looking forward to. Their food is edible art. Every detail is executed perfectly, and you don't want to waste a delicious morsel. :) I also appreciate that their staff is so friendly and approachable. I can't say enough good things about this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
SteveA (Omaha)
1.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Given all the hype, this place missed the mark for us on food (which was okay), service (see above), and the vastly overpriced wine list. I’m afraid we won’t be back. In Omaha, The Grey Plume may be a big fish, but it wouldn’t stand out in any culinary capital (or here, for that matter).

Report
Helpful
FineDininginOmaha (Kansas City)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Our third visit over about 2 years. We did the 5 course tasting for a change. Each course was wonderful and well timed. We will return!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Omaha)
4.0  Dined on February 9, 2018

Great food. Outstanding service. The staff really went above and beyond to take care of us.

Report
Helpful
OmahaDineDuo (Omaha)
4.0  Dined on February 8, 2018

Having been to the Grey Plume in previous years, I can honestly say that while the overall experience has changed, it is should still be considered for a wonderful meal. It just doesn't appear to be the gastronomic adventure I recall on my earlier visits.

My wife and I went to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I noted this on my reservation and the staff provided the exceptional touch of a hand written note wishing us the best and thanking us for choosing to spend our evening with them (even signed be the staff on-duty that evening!)

The prices were significantly lower than on initial visits which actual prompted us to try more items (though you can NEVER pass up the duck fat fries topped with an egg)!

Again, I highly recommend this establishment for a wonderful meal and thoughtful yet unobtrusive staff!

Thank you for another wonderful memory!

Report
Helpful
aerodancer (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on February 1, 2018

Absolutely divine experience. This place should be on the Michelin map! A wonderful place for special occasions (or fancy business dinners).

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Omaha)
5.0  Dined on February 1, 2018

Great food and service. Definitely a Michelin star quality experience.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Omaha)
5.0  Dined on January 25, 2018

Delightful evening! Did the 5 course tasting and so glad that we did. Deconstructed French Onion soup was phenomenal, pasta was great & loved the Opah fish course. Highly recommend the Royal Tokaji dessert wine to go with dessert course. It is a bit pricey but worth it!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Omaha)
4.0  Dined on January 24, 2018

The food was tasty and creative. The caramelized pickled onions were delightful. There were many very nice details including very good wheat berries and lentils. The french onion soup was one of the best in broth flavor- very beefy! that I've ever had.

Report
Helpful
DP16 (Omaha)
5.0  Dined on January 13, 2018

Food was excellent. Duck fat fries a must. The soups are uniquely creative and delicious. Pork belly incredible. Great vegetarian options. I do wish the ambience was not quite so dark. Nonetheless, a One of a kind modern-creative restaurant in the region. Bravo

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Omaha)
5.0  Dined on January 12, 2018

I always have a great experience at The Grey Plume. They combine local ingredients in a way that seems refined and rustic at the same time. Always get the soup! During this visit I had a play on French Onion soup that was AMAZING.

Report
Helpful
ThomasT (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on January 6, 2018

The Grey Plume was the perfect place to go for a first date! Great food, great atmosphere, good service with the exception that the waitress seemed to want to rush us and take food away before we finished.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Denver)
5.0  Dined on January 3, 2018

This is a beautiful, well-curated restaurant serving locally-sourced food in delightful, inventive, but still comforting dishes. Acting as a hub for local food producers, artisans, and craftsmen, The Grey Plume presents and sells local Nebraska/Iowa products with pride. We celebrated my husband's birthday here and were blown away by the attention to detail, excellent level of service, and the elevated ambiance. We look forward to our next visit.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Omaha)
5.0  Dined on December 30, 2017

This was the best Date night my wife and I have had for the longest time

the food was perfect, the wine was picked to suit our personal preferences

the tasting menu really showed the staffs skill and let them shine in the best way possible

10 stars

Report
Helpful
Maggie (Kansas City)
5.0  Dined on December 30, 2017

We did the four course tasting menu with wine pairings. It was phenomenal! There was a small hiccup in the service with a longer gap between the appetizer and soup, but nothing an extra glass of wine couldn’t fix. Highly recommended

Report
Helpful
vipKenJenandMax (San Diego)
5.0  Dined on December 29, 2017

We travel a lot, so we don’t get to come to Omaha very often, but we always make it a point to visit Grey Plume. We absolutely LOVE Chef Clayton Chapman and his restaurant.

The craft menu is unique and offers a collection of fantastic choices that make it all too easy to order lots of items - which we always seem to do.

We especially love the charcuterie board - which we think may be the best in the world!! And don’t forget to save room for the hot chocolate and duck fat donut!!! Wow!

We absolutely love this place!!

Report
Helpful
cbcj (Tampa)
4.0  Dined on December 28, 2017

Great wait and bus staff. Very friendly and knowledgeable. Food was good. Our squash soup had great flavor, but I think they salted it twice. We had the 4 course tasting menu and it filled us up. Great variance in flavors. For the price, having just eaten at Tinto, Garces Trading Company, and Abe Fisher in Philadelphia, was a little steep for the meal we purchased. Would eat here again, but would not do the tasting menu.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
5.0  Dined on December 28, 2017

Lovely meal. We had a great time. Nice to meet the Chef as we exited for the evening. A lot of nice touches during the evening made it special. Book early on open table if you want specific dates and times.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Nashville)
5.0  Dined on December 23, 2017

Always amazing!

Report
Helpful
vipBobby (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on December 23, 2017

Consistently delicious, creative food and friendly, well-trained staff. This is my top place to eat when I visit family in Omaha/Council Bluffs.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Omaha)
5.0  Dined on December 21, 2017

Very nice place. Wonderful service. Great atmosphere for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Omaha)
5.0  Dined on December 18, 2017

Relaxed. Amazing food. No complaints whatsoever.

Report
Helpful
vipJimK (Mobile)
3.0  Dined on December 16, 2017

Very nice setting although somewhat loud for fine dining. Service was excellent and timing and pace of courses was great. The menu is fairly limited but very interesting. The food was exceptional, complex with many flavors and perfectly prepared. The only disappointment was with the bill. It is expensive but we don't mind that, happy to pay it. The big disappointment was a required 20% gratuity (party of 2) and clear expectation of more. Price inflation takes care of increasing the gratuity without a percentage increase. Plus we like to reward good service with a voluntary generous tip. Would be a 4 or 5 star without this.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on December 9, 2017

Very few things in life live up to the expectation. The Grey Plume certainly did. Chef Clayton's food was second to none and his entire staff were friendly, knowledgeable and eager to serve. The ambiance was perfect for a quiet evening out with that special someone but would have been just as satisfying if it were a group of friends out for a modern/creative meal and drinks. We were lucky enough to reserve seating on the 7th Anniversary of the restaurant and were treated to a few extra tastes on the house - very classy. My wife & I have already referred several friends & family members and will definitely be coming back for more...

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Omaha)
4.0  Dined on December 2, 2017

Went for our anniversary dinner. I’d been before and loooooved everything. Highly recommended for foodies. I approve of the tip share approach, too.

This visit was disappointing, though. The server seemed new and nervous and awkward, but that happens. I’d mentioned in my reservation that we had a few special diets, which had been graciously accommodated in the past, but no mention was made of the note by the server. When I asked for a vegan option I was told there was one entree and no starter, that I could have bread. The service was off all night, awkward and slow (forgot a drink, brought out bread/drinks way late).

Everyone else loved their food and had plenty, but I left still hungry. Maybe it just isnt a great place for vegans? The server was super awkward about the included gratuity. Does it have to be verbally conveyed? We were happy to pay it but it felt like being read a legal disclaimer.

Having loved this place in the past and endlessly recommended it to folks, I was super disappointed that it just missed the mark on this occasion. I will still recommend to foodie and meat eaters but not vegans.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
50