About The Greenhouse Tavern

2038 E 4th Street
Cleveland, OH 44115
View Larger Map

Chef Jonathon Sawyer's sustainably inspired flagship restaurant located in the heart of downtown Cleveland.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, French, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Supper: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Euclid & Prospect

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 443-0511

Website:
http://www.thegreenhousetavern.com/

Catering:
Off site catering is available upon request. Please email events@thegreenhousetavern.com in regards to your event.

Parking Details:
Valet is available on East 4th at the cost of $8 per vehicle. Valet operated by MVP Parking. Prices may vary. Network Parking also operates many parking lots in the area.

Public Transit:
Short walk from both Terminal Tower and Public Square - RTA and Trolly lines (http://www.riderta.com/).

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Sawyer

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate groups of 15 to 40 in our private areas. The entire restaurant is available for events with 130 or more guests. Off site catering also available. We understand each event is different so we will help customize to your specific needs.

Private Party Contact:
Tom Sawyer: 2164430511x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Crispy Chicken Wing Confit - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Animal Frites - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
buttermilk fried chicken - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Gravy Frites - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Bbq Pigs Head - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Foie Gras Clams - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Fred Flintstone Beef Short Rib - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Brussels Sprouts al Forno - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Country Fried Watermelon - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Gnocchi Sardi - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Smoked Bourbon Cocktail - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Pretzel And Mustard - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Grass Fed Beef Burger - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Devils on Horseback - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Cup O' Jeni's Ice Cream - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Julian Hard Cider Cherry Bomb - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Rittman Peaches - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Halibut Chops - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Cacio Y Pepe Kale Salad - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Smoked And Cooked Potato - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Johnnycake - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Duck Liver Pasta - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Ohio Lamb Burger - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Hand Ground Beef Tartare - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Pot-au-feu - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Croque Madame - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Braised Meatball - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Buttered Popcorn Pot Dr Creme - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Sable Fish - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Pork Chop - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Tartare Préparé - Beef Tartare - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Duck Pate' Tempora Fiddlehead Fern - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Duckn' Pumpkin Pasta - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Dad's Tomato Sandwich - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Fifth Quarter - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Vegetarian Bi Bim Bap - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Bread Service - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Animal Style Frites - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Chrispy Hominy - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Fromage Blanc - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Cup O' Jenis Ice Cream - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Buttered Popcorn Pot De Creme - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Roasted Pig Head - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Pomme Frites - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Spicy Corn Garganelli Pasta - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Victory Lager - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Lobster All' Amatriciana - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Lamb Burger - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Parma Pils - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Hay-Scented Poached Egg Omelet - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Pan Fried Pork Chop Saltimbocca - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Pommes Frites - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Stoner Sandwich - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Pork And Pumpkin Pasta - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
BOB Frites - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Curried Spaghetti Squash - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Strip Steak Frites - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Ohio Beef Burger - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Crispy Hominy With Pork Skin Cracklins, Pickled Red Onion And Lime Juice - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Soft Leaf Salad - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Chicken Wings - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
40 Clove Heirloom Garlic Roasted 1/2 Chicken - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Vegan Butterscotch Pudding - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Seared Whitefish - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Meadow Ranch (Napa) Cabernet - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Old Overholt Neat And Fever Tree Ginger Beer On The Rocks - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Dobos Torte - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Hand Ground Lamb Tartare - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Fromage Blanc Gnudi - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Whole Padron Peppers - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Marinated Tofu - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Fred Flintstone Short Ribs - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Foie Gras Au Torchon - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Gnocchi - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Roasted Padron Peppers - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Braised Beef Shin - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
40 Day Dry Aged Ribeye - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Crispy Chicken Wings - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Beef Tartare - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Kaluha & Coffee - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Chicpea Torpedo - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Intelligentsia Espresso - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Sage Advice - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Foie Gras Steamed Clams - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
The Bread And Butter Board - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Seven Layer Chocolate Cake - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
The Bread Board - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Crispy Hominy w/Lime - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
French Bread Pizza - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Julian Hard Cider Cherry - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Jeni's Ice Cream - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Sloppy Jo-Nut - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
A Very Merry Un-Birthday Cake - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Duck Sausage Sliders - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Grass Fed Burger - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Lamb T-bone - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Pig Face - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Confit Wings and Beef Tartar - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Gravy Ghost Frites - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Grilled Halibut Tail - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH

The Greenhouse Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (50)
Good for a Date (44)
Creative Cuisine (42)
See All
Fun (34)
Local Ingredients (33)
Special Occasion (30)
Casual (27)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Hot Spot (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good Vegetarian Options (20)
Bar Seating (20)
Great Beer (20)
Worth the Drive (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Gluten Free Options (16)
Authentic (15)
Business Meals (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Romantic (13)
Modern Decor (12)
People Watching (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Vegan (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Cozy (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Seasonal (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Organic (9)
Healthy (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Live Sports (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Tapas (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Historic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Private Room (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2604 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We almost left. Our reservation was for ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

We almost left.

Our reservation was for 4 people at 5pm. We were led to a round table for 6. We politely requested a table for 4, as the larger table for 6 would make conversation difficult in this bar-type part of the restaurant. The young lady said that was impossible. After we restated our request and were met with shrugs from the staff, we persisted, until there were THREE young ladies and a man all staring at their seating screen. After about 10 minutes we were seated, albeit grumpily, at a 4-top.

From there it was spectacular! If you go, try to get seated in Kevin's area. He gave wonderful descriptions of several menu items, clarified preparation methods when we asked, and sold me on a pork chop dish I would not normally order. It was wonderful! His service was enthusiastic and quick. Thank you, Kevin, for salvaging our evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place was very nice and the service ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This place was very nice and the service was great. It was a little pricey but the food was very delicious!

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My SO and I love Greenhouse Tavern... I ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My SO and I love Greenhouse Tavern... I would say it's our go-to restaurant for a nice date. For two of us, getting starters, a drink, and a main course, runs a total of around $100 (before tip)... which I think is certainly reasonable for the quality of the food, however it's too much for us to eat here more than a couple times per year. My SO only eats vegan, and they are great about having tasty vegetarian and vegan options on the menu... even me who loves meat, sometimes likes the vegetarian options more!

Tags: Good for Groups, Organic, Late-night Find, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was fair at best while service wa ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Dinner was fair at best while service was excellent. Some of the "specialized" dishes served for the chef's menu were suspiciously similar to typical dishes that appear on the menu. The overall experience lacked the luster and creativity we expected from a $300 dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

This was the perfect dining spot to expe ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was the perfect dining spot to experience Cleveland's exciting downtown on New Year's Eve. The atmosphere was fun, classy and the staff entertaining, attentive and still very professional. The carpaccio was wonderful as well as the steak, the short rib- Petite Flintsone- and the ending of french press coffee. We would go back without hesitation!

Tags: Healthy, Historic, Fun, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We sat at the Chefs counter, was excelle ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We sat at the Chefs counter, was excellent experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food. Fun atmosphere. The food is ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food. Fun atmosphere. The food is very rich but that is why you are going there. Can't miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were a party of 4 with reservations f ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were a party of 4 with reservations for New Year's Eve. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a very welcoming front desk and shown to our table. Our waiter was informative, efficient and very helpful when it came to assisting us with meal selections. The food was delicious and portions were plenty. We loved the atmosphere and especially appreciated the warmth of the entire serving staff. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time at Greenhouse Ta ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This was our first time at Greenhouse Tavern. Our waiter, Josh, was amazing. He was extremely knowledgeable and helpful with the menu. He made great recommendations with the food choices and the sizing of the meals. All the food we ordered (which was probably way too much!) was outstanding. The highlight of the meal was the pig face!! We had excellent service and all the food tasted great! Definitely a restaurant I would come back to and recommend to friends. This was a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at Greenhouse .. loved the am ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 27, 2016

First time at Greenhouse .. loved the ambiance and the food "tastes" were great. Probably should have been a little lighter on the ordering because we took a lot home and ran up a bigger bill than we should have (rather go several times and enjoy, than once). Parking added to the cost that I'd rather not have dealt with. I'd definitely return, but probably pace better.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This is the second time we've gone to Gr ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

This is the second time we've gone to Greenhouse Tavern for our post holidays family dinner, and my third time overall. the waitstaff was very attentive, and although our main server had a lot of tables to handle he had great support staff so it was pretty much seamless.

Food: Confit Chicken wings are a must-order, eggplant meatballs surprisingly flavorful, delicious texture and you could drink the broth with a spoon.

My boyfriend and I split the Delmonico and enjoyed one of the best house salads we've ever had to start. The steak was perfectly cooked; my only wish for the dish is to minimize the amount of parsley on the plate and showcase the bruleed marrow more; it was hidden under the steak, but so so so tasty it was the star of the dish.

Desserts were all stars; very unique and well thought out. Our favorite was the buttered popcorn pot de crème, perfectly balanced. a close second for us was the spiced apple torte; order both!!

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This is my third time at Greenhouse Tav ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This is my third time at Greenhouse Tavern. The first time was great, the second the just ok, and this time I would actually rate the food as "bad". It was flavorless and the plating was not very nicely done. It appeared sloppy and rushed. We treated out of town guests to dinner there that night. They didn't not enjoy the food at all. To say the least I was most disappointed. I was hoping they would redeem themselves from my second visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

We have ate here once before. We enjoy b ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We have ate here once before. We enjoy brunch here when we are in town. However, the service has not been good. The restaurant was late opening and I kept having to find my server when needed. The food this time was average. I feel like the restaurant has forgotten about its brunch service and maybe focusing on other times of the time. They shouldn't offer brunch if they don't want to take the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Comfortable atmosphere and great beer. O ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Comfortable atmosphere and great beer. Our server was very helpful with food choices. The chicken wings and No Name Frites were outstanding!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always. The best wings I ha ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent as always. The best wings I have ever had! The staff is amazing. Great food and great beer to choose from.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I met my friend at the Greenhouse before ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I met my friend at the Greenhouse before a concert. I was a little afraid of not liking anything on the menu at first but boy did that change! Alice explained everything and we ate about 5 different menu items. 4 out of the 5 were beyond delicious! A little pricey but a great spot for a special occasion or date!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This place is awesome, the food is amazi ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 9, 2016

This place is awesome, the food is amazing! Highly recommend the burger, bucket of chicken, brussel sprouts, and the side potato. All are fantastic and they have a great beer list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was okay, we ate at the bar and the ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Food was okay, we ate at the bar and the service was good. I expected more from all the reviews that I had read.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

The few times that we've been there, the ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The few times that we've been there, the service is always poor. Prices are high for small portions.

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Great as usual, though service seemed to ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great as usual, though service seemed to be understaffed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Greenhouse Tavern next fails to amaze! A ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Greenhouse Tavern next fails to amaze! Amazing food, amazing service and amazing time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chicken wings, best ever

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The chicken wings, best ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I would never come back. We went there t ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I would never come back. We went there to eat dinner with our family & go see the Christmas lights in the square. It was planned way ahead & my son choose it as he wanted to try the pig's head BBQ.

The best way I can describe the waiter is distant and smug. We ordered drinks & appetizers which were very good. When we went to order the BBQ the waiter then stated it would take one hour before it was served. Because this was why we came here we decided to put the order in & got another round of drinks and another appetizer.

After 90 minutes I motioned to the waiter to ask if the BBQ was close to ready. He did not come over but simply nodded yes. It was another 40 minutes before it arrived to table. There was no apology, no offer of bread or another appetizer, no consideration on the bill. The other entrees were very fatty and small.

By the time we left the stores were closed in Tower City.

Not a fan, not going back and would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The brussel sprouts were AMAZING. Perfe ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The brussel sprouts were AMAZING. Perfect for an app for two or a side with dinner. Lamb burger was great, well cooked & delicious. Steak was topped with delectable sauces and crispy onions. Say yes to coffee and desert.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Poor service, no interest from any staff ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Poor service, no interest from any staff members. Eggs were so undercooked it was basically liquid egg on my Benedict. Had to remind staff about what we ordered and never answered any questions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

I went to the Greenhouse largely because ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 1, 2016

I went to the Greenhouse largely because of some strong ratings and the Chef's appearance on Andrew Zimmern's Bizarre Foods show. Eh, it was all right-nothing more. The interior was surprisingly worn looking--much more like a Bar/Grill than the "trendy" restaurant I was expecting. I had the Lamb Burger for lunch. It was cooked perfectly, but was very salty. The best thing about the meal were the homemade potato chips. Service for a weekday was surprisingly slow, but friendly. I would probably give it another go for lunch-but I'll be darned if I can figure out what the fuss is all about. I did notice that the 2nd floor dining area had tablecloths instead of bare wood tables like I sat at on the first floor. Snagging a table on the second floor might make it more of a destination spot for dinner.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

This was our second time to greenhouse a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 28, 2016

This was our second time to greenhouse and it was great! My boyfriend and I agree this is our new favorite, despite the fact that we have no idea what one dish even was! It's great to be able to go to a restaurant and just trust that something new will be delicious. We had the wings (a must), something delicious with pork and charcoal (?!), eggplant meatballs and the apple spice cake with rosemary cream. Amazing!

Tags: Great Beer, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great experience every time we've dined ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great experience every time we've dined here. Our server Kevin was very knowledgeable and offered great service from start to finish. Seasonal cocktail was fallish and delicious. Cheese poofs were amazing especially the remoulade sauce. Gnocchi with fried egg was to die for. The market halibut was pretty good, but a little dry. Overall 5 stars the whole way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was very full, but the st ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The restaurant was very full, but the staff was friendly, service was quick, and the food was wonderful. We thought we would get dinner, but after appetizers and salad, we were full. If I were local, I would come back and recommend it to my friends.

Tags: Great Beer, , People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Casual, Cozy, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great place for brunch. I wou ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was a great place for brunch. I would highly recommend the crispy confit chicken wings, they were fall off the bone delicious! The eggs Benedict, corn beef hash and sausage biscuit pasta were all great as well. We also loved the pastrie board. Will eat here again!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service great food and great vibes ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great service great food and great vibes as always. One of the best restaurants in CLE. If you want a for sure great time, pick the GHT.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hadn't been back here in a while and was ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Hadn't been back here in a while and was really looking forward to it. Brussel sprout appetizer was good but with overpowering flavor. Chicken wings were overloaded with scallions, not hot enough (temp) and just overpowering with too much vinegar. Pork chop and lamb burger were fantastic. Biggest complaint was the ambience. We sat upstairs where is was WAY too dark. Granted, my eyes are 52 years old, but when you see phone flashlights being used at every table to read the menu, it's too dark. We also made the mistake of making a reservation 1 hr. prior to a home Cavs game. Bad decision if you're hoping to have a conversation as the restaurant noise was beyond sports bar level. I used to have Greenhouse on my special occasion eatery list, but it's gone SO casual for the $$. Hate to say it, but my wife and I were very underwhelmed overall, despite the top notch service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Two of the best dishes in town are the w ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Two of the best dishes in town are the wings and the brussel sprouts. Also enjoyed the pork chop and the eggplant meatballs.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Way too noisy. Some interesting food (ca ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Way too noisy. Some interesting food (carrot salad, gnocchi) and some unexpectedly boring (Tabasco Chicken). Waiter cleared our first course dumping the used silverware back onto the table from the plates. Overpriced for what we got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

As always, I had a fabulous experience a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

As always, I had a fabulous experience and the wine and menu selections were great!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were really looking forward to celebr ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We were really looking forward to celebrating my wife's birthday, but when her and my daughters meatloaf comes out cold, it kind of makes the evening a bit of a mess. Although new dishes were brought out, the other guests at table were practically done with their meals. We still had a good time but the paying full price for an all over the place meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was lacking. She brought out ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The service was lacking. She brought out my soup together with my main lunch - it didn't all fit on our table and she just kind of shoved it all on. We had to repeatedly ask for re fills on our waters. Food was great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We were pleased with everything, but the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We were pleased with everything, but the bar service. We waited a long time and eventually left to go get a drink pre-dinner. We were texted once our table was ready, which happened to be twenty minutes prior to our reservation and two minutes after we walked out the bar. The hostesses seemed extremely confused about who we were, even though we had seen them a few minutes prior when we stepped out to have our pre-dinner cocktails elsewhere.

Earlier that day, someone commented that every time he goes, it seems there's new staff that are kind of befuddled by everything. Though our server was good, the bar staff and the hostesses very evidently supported this review.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

As always, Greenhouse Tavern does not di ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

As always, Greenhouse Tavern does not disappoint whether we're talking about selection of food and drink, service, variety of ingredients or any other category I could probably think of. It is an excellent place to go whether you're looking for appetizers, a meal or (as was the case this visit and probably most of our visits) sharing a bunch of appetizers to make a meal.

On this particular visit, the two of us shared five items from the firsts and seconds portion of the menu (generally the more appetizer-y items): fried Brussels sprouts, chicken wings confit, pommes frites, eggplant meatballs and potato cornichon. While they were all excellent, the new standouts were the sprouts and the meatballs: the sprouts for their amazing caramelization and being a new take on an underappreciated vegetable; and the meatballs for being a great way to use eggplant without slathering it with a bunch of sauce that masks its flavor. I've had the wings nearly every time I've been to GHT, and I don't really like chicken wings ordinarily. I don't hate them, but GHT's are the only ones I'll eat in public without hesitation. With the exception of the wings, everything was vegetarian friendly. With the further exception of the meatballs (which have a sheep's milk cheese), everything was vegan.

TL;DR: Go here.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was in town with some friends for the Br ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Was in town with some friends for the Browns game and was looking for a place for dinner on the Saturday night. I had been a few years ago with some buddies. This time it was two couples. The four of us were definitely not disappointed.

There was something for everyone and all delicious. Services was excellent. Our server was very knowledgeable and explained everything well.

We will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.