About The Greenhouse Tavern

2038 E 4th Street
Cleveland, OH 44115
View Larger Map

Chef Jonathon Sawyer's sustainably inspired flagship restaurant located in the heart of downtown Cleveland.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, French, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Supper: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Euclid & Prospect

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 443-0511

Website:
http://www.thegreenhousetavern.com/

Catering:
Off site catering is available upon request. Please email events@thegreenhousetavern.com in regards to your event.

Parking Details:
Valet is available on East 4th at the cost of $8 per vehicle. Valet operated by MVP Parking. Prices may vary. Network Parking also operates many parking lots in the area.

Public Transit:
Short walk from both Terminal Tower and Public Square - RTA and Trolly lines (http://www.riderta.com/).

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Sawyer

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate groups of 15 to 40 in our private areas. The entire restaurant is available for events with 130 or more guests. Off site catering also available. We understand each event is different so we will help customize to your specific needs.

Private Party Contact:
Tom Sawyer: (216) 443-0511

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Greenhouse Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (44)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Good for a Date (37)
See All
Fun (33)
Local Ingredients (28)
Casual (25)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Special Occasion (23)
Good for Groups (20)
Comfort Food (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (19)
Great Beer (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Authentic (16)
Gluten Free Options (16)
Modern Decor (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Cozy (13)
Business Meals (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Vegan (12)
People Watching (12)
Romantic (12)
Happy Hour (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Healthy (8)
Seasonal (8)
Organic (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Tapas (3)
Spicy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Historic (1)
Private Room (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Sports (1)
Family Style (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2639 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 2 days ago

We have been the greenhouse on several occasions and received a five star quality food for some reason the chef is change the menu to exotic bar food and as we were really looking forward to it to celebrate our wedding anniversary it was something altogether then we had experienced in previous years.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

I'd heard a lot about Greenhouse and thought I needed to experience. My coworker and I invited 4 business guests and had a wonderful experience. The waitress really knew the menu, even new items and was very pro-active. The food was phenominal! Everyone enjoyed everything.

I would definitely return and recommend it for a great experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Came here for restaurant week. I'm a vegetarian, and I know that Greenhouse has good vegetarian options, and was looking forward to it. The thing that didn't make sense to me is that two of the vegetarian options on the prix fixe menu were exactly the same as on the regular menu (the warm cauliflower salad, and the cacio e pepe). On the regular menu, those items are $11 and $14, respectively. For the prix fixe menu, those items, along with dessert totaled up to $40. There's no way that a dessert is priced at $15 dollars. As a result, I decided to simply order off the regular menu since it was cheaper to do so. I had also pointed it to the server, who was great overall, but I think it caught him off guard because he came back and gave a reason for the huge difference in price. Anyway, not a big deal.

The warm cauliflower salad was actually cold. It was apparent that it had been prepared at an earlier point in time, stored in the refrigerator, and then had been reheated. I get that in the interest of time, items are prepared in bulk earlier in the day. However, if that's the case, the effort should be made to ensure that the food is warm if it's supposed to be warm.

Otherwise, the rest of the food and drinks were great and the service was wonderful.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

I ate here a few nights ago with a friend and it was flawless. The food, the service, the drinks... I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

I had long heard great things about the Greenhouse, so I was happy to finally try it out. We had the lamb burgers with no name fries and a side salad. For dessert the dobosh torte and popcorn pot de creme. All the food was excellent with the no name fries and pot de creme, truly outstanding. A half order of the fries, like Canadian poutine, is plenty to share. However, after the first bite, you will not want to share the pot de creme, so I recommend you get your own! We will be back to try the chicken wings and tartar. Looking forward to another visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Restaurant week lunch was great, vegan gumbo, cauliflower salad, bologna sandwich, and hamburger and gravy fries. All food was flavorsome and lunch was very reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our waiter was amazing--he explained the menu very well, pointing out what he recommended (the brussel sprouts are am-a-zing!) and easily answering any questions we had. The food is beyond exceptional and beautifully plated!

Tags: Great Beer, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food and service were great!!! No complain there.

Though the stairwell that leads to the upper deck in the back could use some clean up or update. Also a bit too many tables up there in my mind in comparison to ground floor.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was great, reasonably priced for a Downtown, high-quality restaurant, and the cocktails were fantastic. Our server was extremely knowledgeable and informative.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was great. Definitely will know for next time to reserve a private table though. Our table was extremely close(like 3 inches) to tables on both sides. It was like we were dining with strangers.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great date night, amazing food and a fantastic evening out in downtown Cleveland.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Hands down the greatest brussel sprouts known to mankind.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Perfect place for a drink and small bite after the theater.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The server was off her game. The rest of the staff was very friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Family outing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Everything was amazing, from the food to our waiter. Whenever we want a meal out Greenhouse is at the top of our list.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Had a wonderful time dining with friends at the chef's table. Watching all the action in the kitchen was entertaining, the tastings that we were offered were a great way to try some additional items from the menu, and our meals were all delicious. We were showing relatives from out of state our wonderful city and they were so impressed, especially with Greenhouse Tavern! Can't wait to come back again!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Lamb burger was sensational and the fries that came with it were among the best fries ever. Best value on the menu. Some other meat appetizer thing was literally 1oz of meat for $14. Serving was so tiny that it took a while for us to realize it wasn't a joke. At that price I expect literally gold in my mouth and that was not nearly the case. Good service, neat environment

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was amazing and so was our waiter. He knew the menu very well and directed me to all excellent choices. Will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great atmosphere. Quick service before Cavs game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 30, 2017

I love it here, I have food allergies and they always make me feel welcomed . The waiter even told me and my date he had food allergies too , so he understood what I was going through! Amazing service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Simply lovely. The Brussels sprouts were to die for and when they say the meat falls off the wings -- it falls off the wings. Just phenomenal. And the waitresses have dope tats. And the other diners are so friendly. It's clear why this is a Cleveland staple. Wouldn't make a trip to The Land without stopping by The Greenhouse Tavern.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food and environment. I love the garlic chicken wings and lamb burger.

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We have been here before and came back because we love the food! It was a good choice for dinner before the theatre!

Tags: Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Had a great server in the front upper area. Gave great advice on ordering and checked back with us multiple times, which is not always the case up there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Fantastic loved it Sat right by the sign from my view it was great our daughter referred us

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Always great food and service. Perfect date spot.

Tags: Organic, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I appreciate JS's talent but my god the stoner wait staff is awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Outstanding as always

Very unique combinations of foods

Lamb burger was superb. Baked potato was excellent. Always a joy to dine here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We almost left.

Our reservation was for 4 people at 5pm. We were led to a round table for 6. We politely requested a table for 4, as the larger table for 6 would make conversation difficult in this bar-type part of the restaurant. The young lady said that was impossible. After we restated our request and were met with shrugs from the staff, we persisted, until there were THREE young ladies and a man all staring at their seating screen. After about 10 minutes we were seated, albeit grumpily, at a 4-top.

From there it was spectacular! If you go, try to get seated in Kevin's area. He gave wonderful descriptions of several menu items, clarified preparation methods when we asked, and sold me on a pork chop dish I would not normally order. It was wonderful! His service was enthusiastic and quick. Thank you, Kevin, for salvaging our evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This place was very nice and the service was great. It was a little pricey but the food was very delicious!

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My SO and I love Greenhouse Tavern... I would say it's our go-to restaurant for a nice date. For two of us, getting starters, a drink, and a main course, runs a total of around $100 (before tip)... which I think is certainly reasonable for the quality of the food, however it's too much for us to eat here more than a couple times per year. My SO only eats vegan, and they are great about having tasty vegetarian and vegan options on the menu... even me who loves meat, sometimes likes the vegetarian options more!

Tags: Good for Groups, Organic, Late-night Find, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Dinner was fair at best while service was excellent. Some of the "specialized" dishes served for the chef's menu were suspiciously similar to typical dishes that appear on the menu. The overall experience lacked the luster and creativity we expected from a $300 dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was the perfect dining spot to experience Cleveland's exciting downtown on New Year's Eve. The atmosphere was fun, classy and the staff entertaining, attentive and still very professional. The carpaccio was wonderful as well as the steak, the short rib- Petite Flintsone- and the ending of french press coffee. We would go back without hesitation!

Tags: Healthy, Historic, Fun, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We sat at the Chefs counter, was excellent experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food. Fun atmosphere. The food is very rich but that is why you are going there. Can't miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were a party of 4 with reservations for New Year's Eve. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a very welcoming front desk and shown to our table. Our waiter was informative, efficient and very helpful when it came to assisting us with meal selections. The food was delicious and portions were plenty. We loved the atmosphere and especially appreciated the warmth of the entire serving staff. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This was our first time at Greenhouse Tavern. Our waiter, Josh, was amazing. He was extremely knowledgeable and helpful with the menu. He made great recommendations with the food choices and the sizing of the meals. All the food we ordered (which was probably way too much!) was outstanding. The highlight of the meal was the pig face!! We had excellent service and all the food tasted great! Definitely a restaurant I would come back to and recommend to friends. This was a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 27, 2016

First time at Greenhouse .. loved the ambiance and the food "tastes" were great. Probably should have been a little lighter on the ordering because we took a lot home and ran up a bigger bill than we should have (rather go several times and enjoy, than once). Parking added to the cost that I'd rather not have dealt with. I'd definitely return, but probably pace better.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

This is the second time we've gone to Greenhouse Tavern for our post holidays family dinner, and my third time overall. the waitstaff was very attentive, and although our main server had a lot of tables to handle he had great support staff so it was pretty much seamless.

Food: Confit Chicken wings are a must-order, eggplant meatballs surprisingly flavorful, delicious texture and you could drink the broth with a spoon.

My boyfriend and I split the Delmonico and enjoyed one of the best house salads we've ever had to start. The steak was perfectly cooked; my only wish for the dish is to minimize the amount of parsley on the plate and showcase the bruleed marrow more; it was hidden under the steak, but so so so tasty it was the star of the dish.

Desserts were all stars; very unique and well thought out. Our favorite was the buttered popcorn pot de crème, perfectly balanced. a close second for us was the spiced apple torte; order both!!

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This is my third time at Greenhouse Tavern. The first time was great, the second the just ok, and this time I would actually rate the food as "bad". It was flavorless and the plating was not very nicely done. It appeared sloppy and rushed. We treated out of town guests to dinner there that night. They didn't not enjoy the food at all. To say the least I was most disappointed. I was hoping they would redeem themselves from my second visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We have ate here once before. We enjoy brunch here when we are in town. However, the service has not been good. The restaurant was late opening and I kept having to find my server when needed. The food this time was average. I feel like the restaurant has forgotten about its brunch service and maybe focusing on other times of the time. They shouldn't offer brunch if they don't want to take the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Comfortable atmosphere and great beer. Our server was very helpful with food choices. The chicken wings and No Name Frites were outstanding!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent as always. The best wings I have ever had! The staff is amazing. Great food and great beer to choose from.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I met my friend at the Greenhouse before a concert. I was a little afraid of not liking anything on the menu at first but boy did that change! Alice explained everything and we ate about 5 different menu items. 4 out of the 5 were beyond delicious! A little pricey but a great spot for a special occasion or date!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 9, 2016

This place is awesome, the food is amazing! Highly recommend the burger, bucket of chicken, brussel sprouts, and the side potato. All are fantastic and they have a great beer list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Food was okay, we ate at the bar and the service was good. I expected more from all the reviews that I had read.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The few times that we've been there, the service is always poor. Prices are high for small portions.

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.