Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About The Greenhouse Tavern

Chef Jonathon Sawyer's sustainably inspired flagship restaurant located in the heart of downtown Cleveland.

2038 E 4th Street
Cleveland, OH 44115
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, French, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Supper: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Euclid & Prospect

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 443-0511

Website:
http://www.thegreenhousetavern.com/

Catering:
Off site catering is available upon request. Please email events@thegreenhousetavern.com in regards to your event.

Parking Details:
Valet is available on East 4th at the cost of $8 per vehicle. Valet operated by MVP Parking. Prices may vary. Network Parking also operates many parking lots in the area.

Public Transit:
Short walk from both Terminal Tower and Public Square - RTA and Trolly lines (http://www.riderta.com/).

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Sawyer

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate groups of 15 to 40 in our private areas. The entire restaurant is available for events with 130 or more guests. Off site catering also available. We understand each event is different so we will help customize to your specific needs.

Private Party Contact:
Tom Sawyer: (216) 443-0511

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Greenhouse Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (63)
Good for a Date (54)
Creative Cuisine (48)
See All
Fun (35)
Local Ingredients (35)
Casual (31)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Special Occasion (26)
Good Vegetarian Options (26)
Hot Spot (24)
Comfort Food (24)
Good for Groups (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Authentic (19)
Seasonal (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Organic (13)
Vegan (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Healthy (13)
Great Beer (13)
People Watching (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Business Meals (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Cozy (8)
Romantic (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Spicy (3)
Family Style (3)
Historic (3)
Tapas (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Private Room (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
2717 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

Appreciated that they had an outdoor ready for us when we arrived on a very busy Saturday with no waiting. Service was excellent and the food outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was just horrible. The waitress blew the orders, paid no attention and it took 30 minutes to get beers after first order.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

A very eclectic menu. We first went for a late night drink then returned for brunch. A fabulous bourbon list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

We had the legendary bbq pig head for the table and it's a unique dining experience. Great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

Slow start to service,but ended up being great. Food was outstanding. Got the loaded fries and Brussels sprouts to start. Would recommend both. Veggie pot pie and burgers didn't disappoint either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

Overpriced with a great location and a reputation that is based on a prominent chef

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent flavors!! And great service. This was the highlight of our trip to Cleveland.

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food! At at the Bar and watched Cavs game. Food is excellent but portions vary so ask the server how much food you are ordering. I'll go back.

Tags: Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Excellent, creative food in a casual, fun setting. Hits all the right notes.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Cacio e Pepe is out of this world!!! Worth the trip just for this entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My peppery pasta with an egg was awesome as well as their tabasco fried chicken. The chicken was the best my husband ever had. We think the poutine fell short though. The gravy was not appealing to us and we have had poutine everywhere!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Had Brunch on a Sat at noon. It was awesome and creative. The Bloodies we also great. Downtown Cleveland is a hopping place, at all times of day, every day!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The Greenhouse Tavern fails to disappoint. Food and drinks are excellent and consistent. All 6 dishes were well received.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Kevin our server was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent burger! Nice wait staff and great location for sporting events or concerts!

Tags: Organic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great spot. One of my favorite places in Cleveland. Casual vibe, friendly and competent wait staff. Food is phenomenal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Our server was beyond friendly and even thanked myself and my date for being so polite.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great food and friendly service! My wife literally had a dream about their chicken wings after the first time we dined at Greenhouse. Recently ate there again, ordered two servings of wings (brought one home). Seems pretty popular, recommend making a reservation.

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 8, 2017

WENT HERE FOR DINNER BEORE A CONCERT AT THE HOUSE OF BLUES. WE WERE SEATED IMMEDIATELY AND OUR DRINK ORDER WAS TAKEN. THE WAITER WAS WELL INFORMED AND VERY ATTENTIVE. THE FOOD WAS OUTSTANDING AND QUITE UNIQUE. GREAT PLACE, GREAT SERVICE, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 8, 2017

It was my boyfriends birthday and I surprised him with dinner at the Greenhouse Tavern. I'll start with saying that the meal was amazing and we both really enjoyed our food. We will definitely be back in the future for it (my porkchop was wonderful.) However, our experience as a whole was not that great since we were seated right next to a server station. That on its own is not a problem but we constantly had around two to three servers near us, all talking loudly to each other about their personal lives. I work in fine dining and that is not allowed at my restaurant - it's disruptive and really took us out of the experience that we were hoping to get. Our server was very attentive otherwise and we were constantly taken care of. And like I said, the food was wonderful. Because of this, we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Service was great! Just had a very noisy party in our section, making it difficult to talk to my own party, but nothing the restaurant could do about that

Tags: Spicy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was creative and incredibly good. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The Greenhouse is a favorite, always. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The atmosphere is cool and inviting and the food and beverages are creative and enjoyable. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Great Beer, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for a Date, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Fun, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent food as usual. Attentive and engaging wait staff. Highly recommend their Chicken wings confit and their brussel sprouts. Easily one of my favorite restaurants in the downtown cleveland area.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 28, 2017

My wife and i try to eat plant strong (not fully Vegan). They always have at least a couple of inovative dishes for people like us. Had the no-chicken pot pie and rice-black bean burger. Both were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I have never heard of a restaurant serving ramps and motel mushrooms, so I was very excited when the soup of the day was ramp and morel mushroom soup with spring peas. It was to die for! <3

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Overall let down HORRIBLY by food.

Beef tartar ruined by relish, pork belly not rendered enough, sprouts okay ...

Pasta perfectly made and cooked but ruined by venison bolognese.

Popcorn brûlée dessert good.

I wouldn't go again nor recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Great spot, creative food and excellent service. A must stop if you're visiting Cleveland!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The restaurant did not meet expectation given the reputation of the chef and the price point . I had the bone in pork belly. While the entree was delicious, the side dish, black eyed peas, were a little under done. Wife had the halibut, which was ok. Appetizers, foi gras steamed clams and warm cauliflower salad, were the highlight of the meal. Dessert, buttered popcorn pot de creme, was good but the portion was small. Wines by the glass were over priced. Service was lackadaisical. Good food, but not a great value.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Not our best experience. Service wasn't good. Restaurant was not crowded and food took too long to come out. Disappointing as greenhouse is usually a home run

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We were celebrating a friend's decade birthday, and the staff was fabulous! We were able to be seated upstairs at the table of our choice. Britney was our server and she was absolutely marvelous ! She was attentive without hovering , and she was there when we were ready for ordering ---same as well for dessert and coffee . Food, as always, was terrific. We were disappointed to find that the tasting menu had to be preplanned and with the chef's table in the basement. I had taken my sister here for her 50th birthday back in August 2016, we were able to order this straight from the regular menu. Nevertheless, we completely enjoyed our visit here.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food is always amazing and consistant. It is nice for a small group or date night.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

One of my favorite places in Cleveland. Love the hot chicken and Brussels sprouts.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Really good and unique food. Kind of disappointed about the portion of my salad for the price but overall enjoyed my experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Second or third time within the past year. I do like this restaurant. The specials are always varied and fresh. I tend toward vegetarian and those options are abundant, but the meat dishes are terrific as well. The servers and staff are friendly, and knowledgeable. I never feel rushed even though they are busy. Highly recommend...

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Quite pricey for this type of restaurant. Very small portion size. Staff was friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We really enjoyed Greenhouse Tavern. The food was interesting, well prepared, and very reasonably priced given how high quality it is. We also loved the vibe on the patio and the decor inside was eclectic, although it seemed like it might be a little dark in there. If we had any complaints it some somewhat slow service and a waitress who could know the menu a little better, but we had a great time and would definitely go back again.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Clams are out of this world. Great place to go for a late meal to enjoy the lights and sights of E. 4th street. One of my favorite patios for summer evenings.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Interesting food, served too fast. Not enough time between courses. Could have used a tiny but if salt to bring out flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Creative combinations of taste. The second order of wings was overly salty. Other than that everything was delicious.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.