Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About The Greenhouse Tavern

Chef Jonathon Sawyer's sustainably inspired flagship restaurant located in the heart of downtown Cleveland.

2038 E 4th Street
Cleveland, OH 44115
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, French, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Supper: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Euclid & Prospect

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 443-0511

Website:
http://www.thegreenhousetavern.com/

Catering:
Off site catering is available upon request. Please email events@thegreenhousetavern.com in regards to your event.

Parking Details:
Valet is available on East 4th at the cost of $8 per vehicle. Valet operated by MVP Parking. Prices may vary. Network Parking also operates many parking lots in the area.

Public Transit:
Short walk from both Terminal Tower and Public Square - RTA and Trolly lines (http://www.riderta.com/).

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Sawyer

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate groups of 15 to 40 in our private areas. The entire restaurant is available for events with 130 or more guests. Off site catering also available. We understand each event is different so we will help customize to your specific needs.

Private Party Contact:
Tom Sawyer: (216) 443-0511

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Greenhouse Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (61)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Good for a Date (40)
See All
Local Ingredients (37)
Special Occasion (37)
Casual (34)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Fun (29)
People Watching (29)
Hot Spot (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good Vegetarian Options (20)
Organic (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Tasting Menu (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Comfort Food (16)
Authentic (15)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Seasonal (15)
Great Beer (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Scenic View (13)
Romantic (12)
Business Meals (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Cozy (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Vegan (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Tapas (6)
Live Sports (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
2819 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a nice dinner at Greenhouse. I liked the Farm to Table concept and the outdoor patio was nice. The food was solid, although nothing we had was particularly memorable. I'd hope it was just a one off night, and would give the restaurant another try. Our server was friendly and offered some helpful suggestions to the other diners.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

I go to Cleveland about a dozen or so times a year and we like to try the different restaurants, especially on 4th and prospects and we've never had a chance to get to this one and I'm glad I didn't get there sooner.

I'm glad I didn't get there sooner because I could have missed out on so many other pleasant experiences because this place has just become my "Go To". The clams in Foie Gras broth was one of the best things I've ever had and my grilled octopus was phenomenal as well but I couldn't see anything that looked "Bad". The gravy frites were a bit gelatinous but the flavor was good except for the raw garlic my wife bit into. I don't remember what she got, pretty sure it was vegetarian all around but she loved it all.

The service was excellent, our server (Kenny or Keith or Kevin, it was loud) was very personable and informative. He was very busy but managed to engage us in conversation but never fall behind. The rest of the front of the house staff was amazing as well. Waters always filled and smiles on faces.

All in all i'd say it's our new favorite place when we go to town for a game or concert or play or whatever we do when we come to Cleveland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

We sat upstairs where it was quiet. Mimosas were delicious. Definitely must get the chicken wings!! Great brunch. Have been here before and will definitely go again !

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Greenhouse Tavern never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Absolutely enjoyed our evening! Great service, great food & outstanding drinks. Hits the sweet spot of comfortable and posh.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Wonderful experience! Our food from the brussel sprouts appetizer to the buttered popcorn "pot de crème" was outstanding. In particular I want to give the kitchen the highest marks for my halibut entrée (Market Fish), in Cleveland Ohio of all places I got some of the best halibut I have ever been served on either coast, including my 12 days in Alaska this summer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We had a quick bite to eat after the Indians afternoon game. The restaurant was not very busy. The service and food was great - as we expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Outstanding. Food was innovative and well prepared. Wait staff was knowledgeable and helpful. As good of food quality I have ever had. Compares to the best in NYC and LA. Top notch!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Good, but not great. Try the pigs head.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

it was our sons birthday he wanted to try the pigs head. This was our 1st time here. Dave our server was awesome. made the experience fun he was very helpful on the choices on the menu.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 28, 2017

I love this restaurant because the menu is unusual and terrific. It is a great place to try something new. The service was terrific.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food was very good, especially the Brussel sprouts! The atmosphere was also nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

We've been many times prior and had a great experience. This time the service was slow, so was the food and restaurant. Lack-luster at best.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Although the food was disappointing, our server, Russell, and the manager redeemed the experience by not charging for the food and giving us a fabulous dessert.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We try to eat at the Greenhouse every time we're near Cleveland. The wait staff is exceptional.

Tags: Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 24, 2017

The Broccoli app was really good. The chicken wings were very, very salty. Zucchini and Corn was decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 23, 2017

expensive. nothing special. the fish was very bland, very small and totally underwhelming. the rest of the meal, too salty. would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Got a seat by the kitchen. Don't sit there if you want a quiet dinner. But if you want to have a delicious meal and a great show ask for those seats. I will ask for it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Kevin is the man!!! He took great care of us! The food was amazing but service knocked it out of the ball park! Well done

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Good food ,relaxing,, great menu , calming atmosphere. Good bar only if the beer was
Chilled, too warm. I'll be back.

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Organic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Food was excellent and service by the waiter was fantastic. Unfortunately, the hostess needs a personality since she is the first person you meet at the restaurant. We had an 8:30pm reservation on a Monday Night and there were open tables outside. We requested for her to seat us outside and she said all the tables were reserved that were open. Because it was a Monday night, I highly doubted there were numerous 9pm reservations. After ordering our meal inside, I walked outside and there were still numerous tables open as well as when we left at 9:45pm after Dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Food was great, everyone especially loved the chicken wings. Drinks are excellent too, but be prepared to fork over $12 for that Moscow mule. When making a reservation for 6, the only seating available for us was bar-style. It was very cool, because we sat with a direct view into the kitchen, but sitting in a straight line of 6 people is not ideal for conversation. We'll know that next time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

My wife and I stumbled upon this restaurant. Very lively location within the city, good vibe. Interesting decor inside. Nothing fancy by any means, almost farm houseish, but in a good way. When we scanned the menu nothing really stuck out as unique in respect to the main entrees; pork, chicken and some really expensive beef. We ordered with very little expectation. To our surprise both of our dishes tasted excellent and had a lot of flavor. Pleasantly surprised. I would love to try other items on the menu. Had the brussel sprouts for an appetizer. I loved them but my wife did not love my breath the rest of the evening. I think I even woke up wondering if it was my breath that I could still smell. Fair warning to anyone that may try those on a first date. You might have to skip over first base...

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Dinner before Coldplay concert. Visited Cleveland from Indianapolis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Sat in kitchen. Would not do that again, service suffered, and stools a terrible choice when food costs this much

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

My absolute favorite spot in Cleveland for lunch, dinner and special occasions. Worth the 40 minute ride from Akron.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Delicious meal and OUTSTANDING service. One of my go-to faves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Was in town for business and had heard they make there own vinegar here and they had alot of cool stuff on the menu. The menu is the most interesting in town and one of the best on the east coast. Sealed the deal with the potential driver snd kept ordering after including a great dessert. Get the house vinegar clams and any of the small plates. I must say you can skip the "thirds" section of the menu and just stick with the small plates. Great value especially for this type of restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Casual, Spicy, Vegan, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Organic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Service was good, but the food and drinks were underwhelming. The tomato salad and most of the components on the Vegan BBQ Plate were completely flavorless. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Fantastic food and service as always. Only recommendation is don't take a 5pm reservation on open table if you're not prepared to sit people 10min before. We arrived around 4:50 and overheard another server asking why we were even in the restaurant when food service doesn't start until 5. It made us all very uncomfortable and was very rude. We were coming from
our wedding venue, which is why we ate early. Aside from that- our server was great and everything else was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 11, 2017

I have been wanting to try this restaurant for a long time, but living out of state, had not had an opportunity. It definitely lived up to expectations, and we enjoyed our evening quite a lot. Our server, Joshua, was attentive and did a great job of explaining the food.

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Exceptional food. The evening was made even better by Kevin, our server. Don't miss the chicken wings or the clams with a foie gras broth.

Tags: Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Some meals were cold when they came and another was so sweet no one could eat it. I never saw grits that were sweet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (London)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Haven't eaten there in a while. Called last minute. Table was available. Got there and there was a spot outside. Gorgeous night. Great food. Wonderful bottle of wine. Server was knowledgeable, very attentive and pleasant. We had a great night. Would recommend to everyone.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We were very happy that we tried this recommendation from a friend! The location in Cleveland was very trendy and fun. The food was unique, fresh and delicious. The staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. We asked to move to a table by the window and our request was filled.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great food. Great ambiance and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Wonderful meal and ambiance, as always..loved our server Kevin who was awesome! Can't wait to come back again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Great flavor and variety! Knowledgeable waitress who made our experience enjoyable.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Have heard what great food Greenhouse Tavern had and we weren't disappointed! Knowing it was on 4th made it even more appealing. Sitting outside was an additional treat. I had the grouper which was one of the best I have ever had. My husband was happy with his steak and our daughter loved her pork chop saltimbocca. Have to thank the staff for great service and helping make our anniversary a great memory!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Great service and food! A fun East 4th restaurant.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.