Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About The Greenhouse Tavern

Chef Jonathon Sawyer's sustainably inspired flagship restaurant located in the heart of downtown Cleveland.

2038 E 4th Street
Cleveland, OH 44115
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, French, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Supper: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Euclid & Prospect

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 443-0511

Website:
http://www.thegreenhousetavern.com/

Catering:
Off site catering is available upon request. Please email events@thegreenhousetavern.com in regards to your event.

Parking Details:
Valet is available on East 4th at the cost of $8 per vehicle. Valet operated by MVP Parking. Prices may vary. Network Parking also operates many parking lots in the area.

Public Transit:
Short walk from both Terminal Tower and Public Square - RTA and Trolly lines (http://www.riderta.com/).

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Sawyer

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate groups of 15 to 40 in our private areas. The entire restaurant is available for events with 130 or more guests. Off site catering also available. We understand each event is different so we will help customize to your specific needs.

Private Party Contact:
Tom Sawyer: (216) 443-0511

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Greenhouse Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (70)
Good for a Date (51)
Creative Cuisine (44)
See All
Casual (37)
Fun (36)
Local Ingredients (36)
Special Occasion (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
People Watching (25)
Good Vegetarian Options (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Good for Groups (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Hot Spot (21)
Seasonal (20)
Authentic (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Organic (17)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Tasting Menu (16)
Comfort Food (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Business Meals (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Great Beer (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Vegan (11)
Romantic (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Scenic View (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Tapas (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Cozy (5)
Spicy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Family Style (2)
Historic (2)
Live Sports (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
2773 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

The Greenhouse Tavern serves excellent food. It's menu is inspired and imaginative and focuses on locally sourced ingredients. The Spring Abundance Bowl and Rice and Bean Veggie Burger are high on my list of favorites: vegan comfort food at its best. But this place is also a great choice for avowed carnivores; the menu is interesting and diverse, and there's something for everyone. Service is alert and friendly. This is a beloved restaurant is Cleveland's vibrant East 4th Street neighborhood. Not to be missed.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

easily the best restaurant on East 4th. Highly recommend it

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I was very favorably impressed by the cuisine. The charred asparagus was delicious and the pork chop saltimbocca had the best red-eye gravy I have ever had. K2 (Kevin) was knowledgeable and extremely personable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

We were seated upstairs which was uncomfortably warm. The carpet was sticky/dirty. The food portions were small and not very tasty. The service was very good. Generally overpriced.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 6 days ago

Visiting Cleveland and picked the Greenhouse Tavern, was not disappointed and went back for a 2nd dinner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great location. Service was solid but the food was overrated and overpriced. Could probably use a little design update; looking a little worn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We enjoyed the meal very much. However, it had less "wow factor" than I had experienced previously there. The desert (a type of chocolate cake with huckleberry gelee) was not special.
The meats were cooked well. I recommend definitely getting salads, if you like vegetables. The meat dishes were a bit skimpy on vegetables. Overall though, a very good meal in a casual environment.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Always the best service and meals from The Greenhouse Tavern. Can't wait to come back and have the wings again!!

Tags: Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Live Sports, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Amazing food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Have been many times and always wonderful. Even a little extra anniversary dessert from our waiter, nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Unfortunately the table location picked for our reservation was upstairs and in the back of the restaurant. Our only view was a white wall and the people sitting around us. The atmosphere on the main level seemed great and inviting but we only got to experience it on the way in and the way out. I would ask to never be seated in that area again. The Brussels sprout app was amazing and would bring me back!

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Enjoyed a dinner a couple hours before a concert at Progressive Field, and we were pleased that we were able to have a leisurely meal in spite of the crowds gathering during the evening. Our server was pleasant and efficient and all the waitstaff were diligent in assuring tables were tended to, drinks and meals were delivered on time, and the large crowd of diners seemed to be enjoying their experiences. The appetizers, salads and dinners all were presented in the fashion we've become to expect from The Greenhouse.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Finding the valet parking was definitely a challenge but Andrea stayed on the phone with us until we found our way. She was absolutely awesome and took care of us when we arrived stressed out. We ended up sitting on the patio where our reservations were and our waitress was Brittany who was also awesome. The fact that they both cared so much about us really added to our experience. Good food, atmosphere, service! I don't recommend using the valet by the restaurant if you are going to a concert. The wait to get our car after was about 100 people deep and close to an hour. Better to park in the lot and walk.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The poutine was not good, but server removed from bill. Wings were good. Salad was plain. Everything was overpriced, but would've been okay if food was great. Really went for the pig head, which looked great, but was 80-90% fat. Overall, the place is overhyped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The ambiance was great. However, my food (lamb burger) was very salty. Others in my party said the same thing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

a bit more casual than we expected (and somewhat tattered around the edges), but the food lived up to its rep, and we were happy we'd made the effort to eat there.

greenhouse tavern also had a good many more veg options than most (midwestern) restaurants have...and the lack of which is a constant frustration to those of us who like to eat vegetarian.

that said, my loin of lamb was perfectly cooked, altho there cd have been a bit more of the veg underpinnings, which were close to undiscoverable. (i had expected half the plate to be the vegs mentioned on the menu; instead, there was a miniscule scattering of the promised beans, puree, etc.

be sure to try the weird-sounding but worthy dessert: a sort of buttered-caramel-popcorn confection that is a creme brulee in a little pot, and without the crust. (i wd recommend asking them to go light on the caramel; it nearly drowns the taste of the quite delicious "creme."

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Seasonal, Organic, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This was my second time at Greenhouse Tavern, and I think they topped my first visit. We had the Chef's Tasting and it was fantastic! The variety of food and presentation was wonderful. Really enjoyed every course. The BBQ pig ears were a unique and delicious treat. Highly recommend this place. Service was attentive and informative. There is a rooftop bar which is a great place to wait prior to your reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great stop for dinner before the baseball game. Food was good and arrived fairly quickly. Made reservations because summer nights on the weekends are busy. Great beer choices.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Sat outside, nice location and good vantage point to watch the city go by. Food was great. Chicken wings were amazing along with the fries. Lamb burger was good, but a bit to much grease and garlic for my taste. Overall great experience, I would deffeitnly recommend and go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 5, 2017

It was good, but nothing really special stood out. I heard that there was a nice rooftop terrace, but when I asked about it, they said it was only a bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We tried green house when we visited Cleveland for the U2 concert. We had Alice as a server and she was outstanding. Unfortunately the ran out of fried chicken that night but we still had a great time and tasty meals.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 2, 2017

This was a fun place to celebrate my husband's birthday. The food was excellent even though we went low key with burgers and fries. The burgers were cooked perfectly and the fries with rosemary and garlic took this up another level. It was a great way to end our weekend trip to Cleveland.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Tons of profanity screaming up from the kitchen. Wait staff was kind. Food was well executed. Waitress was well educated about the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

My wife and I have come several times now, and have been delighted each time by the familiar, yet wildly creative food here. We did the Chef's tasting menu last night (our second time), and each course felt like Christmas morning! From the amuse bouche to dessert, every aspect of the meal was beautifully executed! The tasting is seasonal, and the chef gave us not only the standard summertime bounty, but skillfully wove bits of nostalgia into every dish -- we keep finding wonderful little nods to picnic favorites through all 7 courses. Kevin was our server, and his work was impeccable- skillful enough for fine dining, but funny and interesting and engaging. As New Yorkers, we have found our Cleveland dining home. Cannot WAIT to come back for the fall menu. Highly recommended!

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Alice our server was great along with the food. There was a slight oops on our reservation, involved their computer system but they took care of us along with others i believe.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Ahh man. I hate to be a snob but this was nothing special. Brussels sprouts were so salted we couldn't eat and had to return them (I've sent something back maybe 3 times in my life.) burger was a burger. Had to ask twice for condiments. I Might have just been to too many restaurants but I wasn't impressed. Location was very cool. I suspect dinner might have been a different experience. Their brunch menu was pretty limited.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Fantastic food, excellent service and boisterous ambience. A wonderful dinner experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 28, 2017

As usual food was outstanding. Wings to die for. Our server was outstanding!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Rapport between service and price was terrible. We were seated upstairs next to two tables of people celebrating and the noise level was awful. The servers were unprofessional and bad at their job. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The tavern was in a great location, we sat in a "window" (former Dept store) view was fun, food and service were very good.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Best brunch ever!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The brunch food was not good, no one had a great meal unfortunately and we tried 4 different dishes.

Will not be returning.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The BBQ veggie platter was extremely salty and heavily seasoned with what I would guess was liquid smoke. Parts of the selection were unedible, and the toasted, dry bread did nothing to help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Friends were meeting for brunch and made an early reservation at 11:15, we got our drink and food orders in but it took over 45 minutes to get our meals. They brought two of them out and about 10 minutes later they brought the other two out. I think I'll stick to dinner or a late night snack which I highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

very good food and excellent service by our waiter Kevin/1

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Not an experience that I would repeat . Would NOT recommend Greenhouse Tavern

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Been here before and enjoyed the food and the experience. Came back and this time sat outside, which was great. Great menu and great service. Everything was prepared perfectly and we were all very happy. We learned that as an alternative to duck fat fries they have a vegetarian fryer. They really care about their customers and deliver a quality dining experience regardless of your needs.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

I love the decor of the restaurant. Seating was a bit close to surrounding tables. Service was wonderful.

We had dinner for two people - we got the cauliflower salad, market fish (halibut), and steak.
Cauliflower salad was great. Halibut was very overcooked. Steak was also pretty rough and chewy, which I suspect was more due to the aging process (or lack of), rather than how it was cooked.
I didn't have cocktails tonight - I had them before and they have great cocktails here.

Won't come here for food again. Maybe drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.