About The Greenhouse Tavern

2038 E 4th Street
Cleveland, OH 44115
View Larger Map

Chef Jonathon Sawyer's sustainably inspired flagship restaurant located in the heart of downtown Cleveland.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, French, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00am
Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Euclid & Prospect

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 443-0511

Website:
http://www.thegreenhousetavern.com/

Catering:
Off site catering is available upon request. Please email events@thegreenhousetavern.com in regards to your event.

Parking Details:
Valet is available on East 4th at the cost of $8 per vehicle. Valet operated by MVP Parking. Prices may vary. Network Parking also operates many parking lots in the area.

Public Transit:
Short walk from both Terminal Tower and Public Square - RTA and Trolly lines (http://www.riderta.com/).

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Sawyer

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate groups of 15 to 40 in our private areas. The entire restaurant is available for events with 130 or more guests. Off site catering also available. We understand each event is different so we will help customize to your specific needs.

Private Party Contact:
Tom Sawyer: 2164430511x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Crispy Chicken Wing Confit
Gravy Frites
Animal Frites
buttermilk fried chicken
Bbq Pigs Head
Foie Gras Clams
Fred Flintstone Beef Short Rib
Brussels Sprouts al Forno
Country Fried Watermelon
Gnocchi Sardi
Smoked Bourbon Cocktail
Pretzel And Mustard
Chicken Wings
Grass Fed Beef Burger
Devils on Horseback
Cup O' Jeni's Ice Cream
Julian Hard Cider Cherry Bomb
Rittman Peaches
Halibut Chops
Cacio Y Pepe Kale Salad
Johnnycake
Smoked And Cooked Potato
Duck Liver Pasta
Ohio Lamb Burger
Hand Ground Beef Tartare
Pot-au-feu
Croque Madame
Braised Meatball
Sable Fish
Duck Pate' Tempora Fiddlehead Fern
Buttered Popcorn Pot Dr Creme
Pork Chop
Tartare Préparé - Beef Tartare
Duckn' Pumpkin Pasta
Fifth Quarter
Bread Service
Dad's Tomato Sandwich
Vegetarian Bi Bim Bap
Animal Style Frites
Chrispy Hominy
Fromage Blanc
Buttered Popcorn Pot De Creme
Cup O' Jenis Ice Cream
Roasted Pig Head
Pomme Frites
Spicy Corn Garganelli Pasta
Victory Lager
Lamb Burger
Lobster All' Amatriciana
Parma Pils
Pan Fried Pork Chop Saltimbocca
Hay-Scented Poached Egg Omelet
Pommes Frites
Pork And Pumpkin Pasta
Stoner Sandwich
Curried Spaghetti Squash
BOB Frites
Strip Steak Frites
Crispy Hominy With Pork Skin Cracklins, Pickled Red Onion And Lime Juice
Ohio Beef Burger
Soft Leaf Salad
Old Overholt Neat And Fever Tree Ginger Beer On The Rocks
Fromage Blanc Gnudi
Dobos Torte
Vegan Butterscotch Pudding
40 Clove Heirloom Garlic Roasted 1/2 Chicken
Hand Ground Lamb Tartare
Seared Whitefish
Meadow Ranch (Napa) Cabernet
Whole Padron Peppers
Marinated Tofu
Fred Flintstone Short Ribs
Foie Gras Au Torchon
Braised Beef Shin
Roasted Padron Peppers
40 Day Dry Aged Ribeye
Crispy Chicken Wings
Gnocchi
Beef Tartare
Chicpea Torpedo
Kaluha & Coffee
Intelligentsia Espresso
The Bread And Butter Board
Foie Gras Steamed Clams
Sage Advice
The Bread Board
Seven Layer Chocolate Cake
Crispy Hominy w/Lime
French Bread Pizza
Sloppy Jo-Nut
Duck Sausage Sliders
Julian Hard Cider Cherry
A Very Merry Un-Birthday Cake
Jeni's Ice Cream
Grass Fed Burger
Pork Tongue Reuben
Pig Face
Lamb T-bone
Confit Wings and Beef Tartar
Grilled Halibut Tail

The Greenhouse Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Most Booked
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Hot Spot
Cleveland
1 More
Most Booked
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Downtown Cleveland ›

fit for foodies (119)
hot spot (75)
special occasion (65)
See All
neighborhood gem (62)
vibrant bar scene (53)
good for groups (53)
great for outdoor dining (42)
great for lunch (32)
late-night find (21)
notable wine list (21)
romantic (16)
great for brunch (15)
scenic view (11)
kid-friendly (6)
Sort By:
Newest
2353 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had seen the Greenhouse Tavern on TV, ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

I had seen the Greenhouse Tavern on TV, and when visiting Cleveland I knew I must try it. Although, the experience was disappointing. I loved the street that the restaurant was on, great environment and many restaurants on the street. Great looking restaurant and pretty good ambiance. From the start, the Waiter seem off putting and short, we asked to seat at a different table, and he made an excuse about a leak at the table we wanted to sit at. Not even 3 mins later, he was sitting a table of guest at the very same table. Then, I had ordered a beer, and when ordering the second beer, I asked if he could ask the bartender to chill the bottle so that it would be really cold, he told me the beer was already cold, and that there is no way to make it colder (the beer was not cold, it was hardly cool. All the food that was served was luke warm and none of it was hot. We really enjoyed the chicken wing and mussels appetizer, but the food was not hot, just warm. The pork chop plate was presented beautifully, but did not taste as good as it looked. The Dinosaur Bone plate, was really big and could feed 2-4 guest, the beef had a good flavor, but was not hot, just warm. Soon after the Waiter brought out the Entree, my Wife mentioned to the Waiter that it was my birthday, he seemed extremely unenthusiastic, and made no gesture or comment to me about my birthday. I would have been ok with the experience if the prices were significantly less, but when I total bill is above $200 for 2 people, the I expect top notch dining, which Greenhouse Tavern was not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

I like the GHT generally. They continue ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 6 days ago

I like the GHT generally. They continue to have delicious and interesting seasonal vegetarian items, which are not as available as I would like among Cleveland restaurants. That said, we had an 8:30pm dinner reservation and one of our items, the gnocchi sardi, was a bit on the salty side. This has not happened here before that I can recall, but I've seen this happen later in the evenings at other restaurants (fatigue in the cooking staff?). I don't know if it happens commonly at GHT. Otherwise, I have no complaints. We always start with the perfectly caramelized brussels sprouts whenever they are available. The charred broccolini salad (minus guanciale) was exceptional, there was a great seasonal cocktail (cucumber gimlet), and desserts were excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

My wife and I came here to celebrate our ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I came here to celebrate our wedding anniversary because of the unique menu items offered. We were not so thrilled to have to walk up a smelly, sticky parking garage-like staircase to get to our table. Once we were upstairs, the atmosphere was pretty nice, and we were eager to order. We chose the confit chicken wings which were absolutely amazing. We asked our server if the Tobasco fried chicken was similar to the wings, as we did not necessarily want just fried chicken x2, but reading the description, we were intrigued by how spicy and flavorful the dish sounded. She assured us they were completely different. When our entree came, we were very underwhelmed at the $35 bucket of chicken. It was full of very bland, fried chicken. The only flavor that it had was the side of Tobasco dipping sauce. We were very disappointed at this flavorless, very basic (only dark meat) fried chicken, especially when we were expecting something unique like the confit chicken wings. We could've gotten this same chicken at any grocery store for a quarter of the price. We also ordered the pommes frites, since my wife LOVES garlic fries. She asked the server if there was supposed to be garlic on there, and the server insisted it usually falls to the bottom. We ate the fries and there was not one piece of garlic. So other than the amazing appetizer, we could've gotten plain fried chicken and plain fries anywhere else, and saved a ton of money too. It was very disappointing, especially since we had chosen it as our anniversary dinner celebration.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Great evening with friends Nice meeti ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great evening with friends Nice meeting Jonathan

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service and food. Chef's tab ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Outstanding service and food. Chef's table energetic and LOTS of fun. Will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The fried chicken was phenomenal. Our wa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The fried chicken was phenomenal. Our waitress Brie did an outstanding job all evening. A great overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

In terms of fine dining, there's none be ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

In terms of fine dining, there's none better than Greenhouse. Value for price, quality, selection, and the staff are all superior. Greenhouse is something that Cleveland should be proud of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Food took a while The servers was no ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The Food took a while

The servers was not engaged

One server for the upstairs before a Tribes game no enough

Food was very bland for such a notable chef

Out of beer that I asked for, but they did comp it for the inconvenience substitute.

That was the right call

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We enjoyed our dinner at Greenhouse Tave ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at Greenhouse Tavern. The food was excellent and the staff was friendly and knowledgable about their menu. I would absolutely recommend this restaurant--it is a great place to try new things and dine on local Ohio foods.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lamb burger was excellent!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Lamb burger was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Awful experience before an Indians game. ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Awful experience before an Indians game. Very slow service. 45 plus minutes for food to come out. Only a brunch menu after 2pm on Saturday. Burger was crusty and small. Terrible experience. Will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Had drinks and appetizer at bar, bartend ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Had drinks and appetizer at bar, bartenders were friendly and drinks were good. Had wings best I've ever had! Went to table hostess was very nice. Waiter was nice but not sure if he was new he screwed a lot of things up, I.e. Brought wrong drinks, couldn't pronounce words on the menu, etc. Overall great experience, definitely going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Very unique menu and always is crowded. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Very unique menu and always is crowded. Staff is very attentive and friendly. The pigs head is very different menu item and was very good! We were able to order 2 menu items that fed 4 of us with plenty left over.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. We started with the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The food was great. We started with the gnocchi and the confit chicken wings. Both were delicious. Dinner included the walleye special (very good), lamb burger (delicious), strip steak (best meal of the mighty, very tender and flavorful) and bucatini (yummy). The service was decent and the noise was not too bad. The worst part was the table location at the top of the stairs in the back with a large group behind us. Clearly they had a business presentation, but they were right on top of us all night (they did not sit, they mostly mingled). They got in my way often (leaning in my chair) and the servers way all night long. That was annoying. Overall good and I would go back after trying other Cleveland downtown restaurants to eat what there is to eat.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Very pleasant service and atmosphere. Pr ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Very pleasant service and atmosphere. Print and carrots. Food came quickly by request. The wings were outstanding and stoke the show (as usual), but the burger was very good as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food. Interesting flavors and ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Delicious food. Interesting flavors and combinations. Just a tad loud.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Fantastic all around.. Pigs head was the ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Fantastic all around.. Pigs head was the highlight. Will be back next time we are in town..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very unique decor and a creative menu. ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Very unique decor and a creative menu. The service was prompt and attentive. Overall, my wife and I had a delightful time here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was very good. Atmosphere on ea ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food was very good. Atmosphere on east 4th is very upbeat and energeic. The only downside was the staff. From the hostess to our server to our busboy, all were pretty cold, not very welcoming.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Overrated would be the first word to com ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Overrated would be the first word to come to mind. I was very excited to go here based on the reviews, but it didn't come anywhere close to living up to the hype. It started with a waiter who brought menus and then disappeared for ten minutes. He never even took a drink order. I ordered the pork chop saltimbocca, which was $28. It was a tiny, tiny portion that arrived already sliced, meaning it was very dried out. It was also barely lukewarm. The others at the table also had very small portions, and noone was blown away. With all the dining options downtown, I don't think I'd return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

They weren't open when we showed up. Ve ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

They weren't open when we showed up. Very disappointed. No phone call that they closed early.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Went there for dinner for NBA Game 7 - e ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Went there for dinner for NBA Game 7 - ended up spending the whole evening - an evening I will forever remember. Koodos to Steven our waiter!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This place was cute and our waitress was ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This place was cute and our waitress was very good. The food was terrible. I had the strip steak and everything on my plate was over salted to the point that I could not even eat it. I also ordered the fried broccoli salad which consisted of a bench of spinach leaves and 3 pieces of fried broccoli that was soaked in vinegar. My friend ordered the fried cauliflower and couldn't eat it either. She said it tasted like cardboard. We had to go somewhere else to eat after.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

Great food and spectacular service! Our ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food and spectacular service! Our waiter knew the menu inside and out. My wife loved the bicycle decor. Will be back.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Inattentive service, decent food; hanger ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Inattentive service, decent food; hanger steak was a mediocre cut and was badly oversalted. Treated as though a $425 bottle of wine was Yellowtail. Waitstaff didn't get friendly until we were about to leave.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Loved our visit to greenhouse tavern! C ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Loved our visit to greenhouse tavern! CJ was good, but a little soft-spoken on the loud patio. Wish Cleveland would outlaw smoking within a certain distance of eating establishments like Chicago. I enjoy outdoor dining, but as a non-smoker, smoke wafting in as I'm enjoying my meal is a turn off.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Complex flavor profiles wrapped around e ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Complex flavor profiles wrapped around every day food. Known understandably for six or seven very good dishes (wings, full pig's head, hominy, to name a few).

"Must visit" if you enjoy food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Quick service and fun dining area

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Quick service and fun dining area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been there many times, and it's our ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Have been there many times, and it's our favorite restaurant. However, the food was a little disappointing this time. The steak was just ok, and the pork chops were dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Lamb burgers were great, the wings were ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Lamb burgers were great, the wings were a little smooshy..but good seasoning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The brussel sprouts are the best you wil ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The brussel sprouts are the best you will ever have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Attractive ambiance and warm and attenti ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Attractive ambiance and warm and attentive service. Inventive, eclectic menu. Dessert a highlight.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The chef is special, the food delicious and fun!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Rave reviews to the kitchen!

Not so good to the server.

The good: She was knowledgeable

The Bad: Nonchalant, glib, unattentive, inefficient (I like casual, but with food this special, at least care!)

Appetizer did not come until I reminded her after the entrees arrived.

Had to ask three times for the ice tea refill

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

As I've reviewed before about this place ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

As I've reviewed before about this place...it always delivers. We are in Cleveland once a year and we always meet friends here for dinner and they never disappoint. This last visit, for the first time in 6yrs there was a minor hiccup and they more than over compensated to fix. A true standup establishment with the consumer always in mind...Great Job and as always, we look forward to our trip to Cleveland each year and our foodie splurge at the Greenhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I thought that portion size was on the s ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I thought that portion size was on the small side. I order their new roasted broccoli salad topped with chicken. The salad was extremely small and the chicken has a lot of fat on it. Not appetizing at all. For the price of this salad they need to put more lettuce or broccoli on it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

The food was overly salty and im surpris ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

The food was overly salty and im surprised the waiter didn't compensate in some way when we told him. We had a new batch of one of the dishes made but by the time they came out everyone was done eating. Definitely the exact opposite of the experience I had last time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

It was our first visit, though many had ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

It was our first visit, though many had recommended Greenhouse Tavern to us. While a pricier dining option, the food was great (we got the pork chops, the lamb pasta and the cheesy poofs appetizer) and our server was very professional. Check out the rooftop bar if it's nice out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Greenhouse tavern

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

restaurant was so loud we couldn't talk. Waiter wouldn't move us. Don't go on the second floor. Some dishes were good, some only fair. high priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Our out of town guests from SC thoroughl ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Our out of town guests from SC thoroughly enjoyed dining here with us. Very creative menu Chef Sawyer and team!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

our server was extremely helpful and kno ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

our server was extremely helpful and knowledgable, and the food was awesome! great menu for everyone while also providing unique options. would definitely eat here again when I return to cleveland

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.