Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About The Greenhouse Tavern

Chef Jonathon Sawyer's sustainably inspired flagship restaurant located in the heart of downtown Cleveland.

2038 E 4th Street
Cleveland, OH 44115
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, French, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Supper: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Euclid & Prospect

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 443-0511

Website:
http://www.thegreenhousetavern.com/

Catering:
Off site catering is available upon request. Please email events@thegreenhousetavern.com in regards to your event.

Parking Details:
Valet is available on East 4th at the cost of $8 per vehicle. Valet operated by MVP Parking. Prices may vary. Network Parking also operates many parking lots in the area.

Public Transit:
Short walk from both Terminal Tower and Public Square - RTA and Trolly lines (http://www.riderta.com/).

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Sawyer

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate groups of 15 to 40 in our private areas. The entire restaurant is available for events with 130 or more guests. Off site catering also available. We understand each event is different so we will help customize to your specific needs.

Private Party Contact:
Tom Sawyer: (216) 443-0511

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Greenhouse Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (58)
Local Ingredients (42)
Creative Cuisine (41)
See All
Special Occasion (39)
Good for a Date (37)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
People Watching (31)
Casual (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Worth the Drive (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Fun (26)
Hot Spot (25)
Good Vegetarian Options (23)
Comfort Food (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Organic (20)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Authentic (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Gluten Free Options (16)
Seasonal (16)
Tasting Menu (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Great Beer (13)
Healthy (12)
Scenic View (12)
Romantic (11)
Business Meals (10)
Cozy (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Vegan (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Live Sports (4)
Spicy (3)
Tapas (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
2846 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined a day ago

Great food and great service. Will definitely be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Unusual cocktail, presented with flamed rosemary. Food was unique and delicious. We had the tasting menu which had great variety and huge portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I have been to GHT multiple times for dinner. This was our first experience with brunch at GHT, but definitely will not be our last. Food has been nothing short of spectacular every time we've visited.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Everything was very nice. While not necessarily my tables favorite, our server was great. The bucatini was chewy, but the taste was amazing. We got a lamb burger to split, and it was amazing. Hic cups to be sure, but the tastes warrant a 2nd try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

The food was best I tasted in a while from a restaurant. But the server Kevin made the experience more than worth it! The chicken is best in the city.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

Indians game!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 10, 2017

My daughter picked the Greenhouse for an 18th birthday dinner. We ordered a variety of dishes to share. We enjoyed all of them. There was a nice selection of drinks. I tried the drink of the day with carrot and other juices. The food came out surprisingly fast. Our favorite dishes were the wings, a bucatoni dish and a zucchini corn small plate. The octopus was a little too smokey for some of our taste. The Tabasco chicken was good and the gravy fries might have been better if they were warm and fresher. The menu is changing soon and we look forward to returning. The only issue unfortunately was parking. I parked in the valet on 4th because my foot is broken. This was a mistake, one person was waiting for a car in front of us and it almost took as long as to get the car as dinner took. The Cavs were playing so there really weren't many options. We paid $25 to park. Thanks Greenhouse for a memorable 18th birthday dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Delicious, awesome!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The ambience was dark and dreary. The place had a dingy look. The burgers were good but overall, it was not a pleasant environment.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2017

great menu offering unique selections. Our waitress Alice was outstanding in her knowledge of the menu and wine list as well. Her guidance was perfect in the selections we made

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

The Greenhouse Tavern is a delicious brunch spot. I had the chicken confit wings for an appetizer, the pastrami hash for my main course and the pecan porter for my drink. Everything was cooked to perfection and tasted great. I would highly recommend each dish. Our server was top notch too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Good restaurant, bummer experience. We were offered an outdoor seat at a picnic table which seated 6. Was hesitant as there were 3 of us, but were assured by the hostess that no one else would be seated at our table. 20 minutes in, a waitress seated a young couple at our table. I told the waitress that we were told no one else would be seated with us. Of course this awkward convo happened in front of 2 perfectly nice people and we looked like the bad guys. The couple left the restaurant. The waitress acted as if we randomly objected to her seating them. I spend the rest of the meal feeling awful. Ruined it for me....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 7, 2017

One of our favorite spots for high quality food in a casual setting. Eclectic menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 6, 2017

It wasn't my cup of tea. Guess I've become to prefer traditional fine dining. Maybe I'm too much of a Hyde Park, etc. eater. Simply too laid back for my tastes. Food was average and far from exceptional. Same for servers. I'm in my late 40s and after a long work week the last thing I want to hear is profanity from nearby guests and to be the best dressed in an outfit that is far from my best. Oh well, I tolerated a third visit for hubby's bday but we won't be returning now that Fred Flinstone is off the menu. Whew!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Unique food choices that really offers choices for a variety of tastes. Fried Brussel Spouts were excellent as was the Hay Grilled Octopus. My favorite was the Ricotta Gnudi and my guest favorite was Seared Lamb Loin. It was so good I took my guest back a second day right before a Tribe game for wings and other appetizers. I am from out of town and will remember the kind service, good beer selection and wonder food we enjoyed.

Thanks,
Jim

Tags: Scenic View, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 4, 2017

I was on business travels to Cleveland and took many of my associates to dinner at Greenhouse Tavern. Cleveland is not known for being a food town, but i really enjoyed our meal at Greenhouse Tavern. My guests had never been there and also were very happy with the food, service and ambiance. We will return on our next trip.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Not good. Arrived early and was seated. Told them my guest name. Guest showed up and was told I wasn't there. He waited for 15 minutes before calling me and figuring out I was already seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Th hostess was rude. Not so much as a smile of hello. The waiter was the worst. Totally dismissive, like he couldn’t care less we were there. The food was nothing special and the burger was so under seasoned it was a joke. This place has fallen from what it once was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Strange menu which limits me recommending it to a friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

We arrived about 15 minutes before our reservation and they had no problem seating us then. We had a couple drinks which were awesome and the wings which were also amazing. We both ordered the strip steak for our entree mine gluten free and my husbands was regular. When they were served the server wasn’t sure which was which so we asked someone else and he said that the one without the aioli was gluten free. I asked another couple of times if he was sure since I have celiac and didn’t want to ruin the night with an attack. He said he was sure so we started eating and sure enough about 15 minutes in the attack started and I couldn’t finish my meal or drink so my husband did. Pretty unfortunate end to our date night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 30, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants! And it didn't disappoint this time...yet again stellar service and food! Can't wait for my next trip to Cleveland so I can go to Greenhouse again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Get the wings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Had a great experience after an Indians day game Thursday. Will definitely recommend!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Live Sports, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Casual, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fun, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

My husband and I went here for our anniversary. I had the strip steak and he had the pork chops and we shared the Brussel Sprout small plate. Everything was AMAZING, especially the steak but I thought it odd that they served the steak with fries and mashed potatoes. I love starches so I had no problem with this but it was interesting. The pork chop platter seemed to be missing something and was not nearly as much food as what was included with the steak. I would definitely go back but only for special occasions as it is pricey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 25, 2017

VERY noisy. Alice a blunt but value-added server. Great input re our selections. AC not hitting back of room. Hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Great place to hit on 4th Street... good diverse menu!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2017

We had a nice dinner at Greenhouse. I liked the Farm to Table concept and the outdoor patio was nice. The food was solid, although nothing we had was particularly memorable. I'd hope it was just a one off night, and would give the restaurant another try. Our server was friendly and offered some helpful suggestions to the other diners.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I go to Cleveland about a dozen or so times a year and we like to try the different restaurants, especially on 4th and prospects and we've never had a chance to get to this one and I'm glad I didn't get there sooner.

I'm glad I didn't get there sooner because I could have missed out on so many other pleasant experiences because this place has just become my "Go To". The clams in Foie Gras broth was one of the best things I've ever had and my grilled octopus was phenomenal as well but I couldn't see anything that looked "Bad". The gravy frites were a bit gelatinous but the flavor was good except for the raw garlic my wife bit into. I don't remember what she got, pretty sure it was vegetarian all around but she loved it all.

The service was excellent, our server (Kenny or Keith or Kevin, it was loud) was very personable and informative. He was very busy but managed to engage us in conversation but never fall behind. The rest of the front of the house staff was amazing as well. Waters always filled and smiles on faces.

All in all i'd say it's our new favorite place when we go to town for a game or concert or play or whatever we do when we come to Cleveland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We sat upstairs where it was quiet. Mimosas were delicious. Definitely must get the chicken wings!! Great brunch. Have been here before and will definitely go again !

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Greenhouse Tavern never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Absolutely enjoyed our evening! Great service, great food & outstanding drinks. Hits the sweet spot of comfortable and posh.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Wonderful experience! Our food from the brussel sprouts appetizer to the buttered popcorn "pot de crème" was outstanding. In particular I want to give the kitchen the highest marks for my halibut entrée (Market Fish), in Cleveland Ohio of all places I got some of the best halibut I have ever been served on either coast, including my 12 days in Alaska this summer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We had a quick bite to eat after the Indians afternoon game. The restaurant was not very busy. The service and food was great - as we expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Outstanding. Food was innovative and well prepared. Wait staff was knowledgeable and helpful. As good of food quality I have ever had. Compares to the best in NYC and LA. Top notch!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Cleveland STAPLE! Amazing food by a celebrity chef. Great atmosphere and great location!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Good, but not great. Try the pigs head.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

it was our sons birthday he wanted to try the pigs head. This was our 1st time here. Dave our server was awesome. made the experience fun he was very helpful on the choices on the menu.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 28, 2017

I love this restaurant because the menu is unusual and terrific. It is a great place to try something new. The service was terrific.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food was very good, especially the Brussel sprouts! The atmosphere was also nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

We've been many times prior and had a great experience. This time the service was slow, so was the food and restaurant. Lack-luster at best.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.