Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About The Greenhouse Tavern

Chef Jonathon Sawyer's sustainably inspired flagship restaurant located in the heart of downtown Cleveland.

2038 E 4th Street
Cleveland, OH 44115
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, French, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Supper: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Euclid & Prospect

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 443-0511

Website:
http://www.thegreenhousetavern.com/

Catering:
Off site catering is available upon request. Please email events@thegreenhousetavern.com in regards to your event.

Parking Details:
Valet is available on East 4th at the cost of $8 per vehicle. Valet operated by MVP Parking. Prices may vary. Network Parking also operates many parking lots in the area.

Public Transit:
Short walk from both Terminal Tower and Public Square - RTA and Trolly lines (http://www.riderta.com/).

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Sawyer

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate groups of 15 to 40 in our private areas. The entire restaurant is available for events with 130 or more guests. Off site catering also available. We understand each event is different so we will help customize to your specific needs.

Private Party Contact:
Tom Sawyer: (216) 443-0511

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Greenhouse Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (57)
Good for a Date (47)
Creative Cuisine (46)
See All
Fun (38)
Local Ingredients (31)
Casual (28)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Comfort Food (26)
Special Occasion (25)
Good Vegetarian Options (23)
Good for Groups (23)
Hot Spot (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Authentic (21)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Seasonal (17)
Gluten Free Options (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Healthy (15)
Business Meals (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Modern Decor (15)
Vegan (14)
Organic (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Great Beer (13)
People Watching (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Romantic (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Cozy (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Tapas (3)
Historic (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Private Room (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Family Style (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Scenic View (1)
Live Sports (1)
Spicy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
2685 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 2 days ago

One of my favorite places in Cleveland. Love the hot chicken and Brussels sprouts.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 2 days ago

Really good and unique food. Kind of disappointed about the portion of my salad for the price but overall enjoyed my experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

Second or third time within the past year. I do like this restaurant. The specials are always varied and fresh. I tend toward vegetarian and those options are abundant, but the meat dishes are terrific as well. The servers and staff are friendly, and knowledgeable. I never feel rushed even though they are busy. Highly recommend...

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Quite pricey for this type of restaurant. Very small portion size. Staff was friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We really enjoyed Greenhouse Tavern. The food was interesting, well prepared, and very reasonably priced given how high quality it is. We also loved the vibe on the patio and the decor inside was eclectic, although it seemed like it might be a little dark in there. If we had any complaints it some somewhat slow service and a waitress who could know the menu a little better, but we had a great time and would definitely go back again.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Clams are out of this world. Great place to go for a late meal to enjoy the lights and sights of E. 4th street. One of my favorite patios for summer evenings.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Interesting food, served too fast. Not enough time between courses. Could have used a tiny but if salt to bring out flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Creative combinations of taste. The second order of wings was overly salty. Other than that everything was delicious.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Was in town from California and the Greenhouse is a must stop for me. I always enjoy my meal no matter what I order. Thank you Team Sawyer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Always amazing. Never disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 10, 2017

No downside to dining here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Had an excellent meal despite reservations sat 40 mins late. However the staff worked hard to seat us, gave us a plate of amazing wings and we ended up getting eating and getting out on time for our next movie at the film fest. Good job!

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We ordered several appetizers and small plates, we wanted them all served at the same time. They all came out together and we're hot. The service is very good and they try and accommodate all requests. We had the popcorn desert and it was fabulous. The tables are small and it's tight seating, but a good way to meet new people. It is not an inexpensive place to eat, but you can control the cost by being careful with what you order. The appetizers and small playetes are a good value, the Brussels sprouts are very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Greenhouse should be advertised as a great Gluten-Free restaurant in addition to other diet restrictions. We enjoyed our whole dining experience. We were in-between films at the CLE film fest so it was an easy walk too.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 6, 2017

This was our first time here.

Overall everything was good, but not exceptional. I was hoping for a bit more.

We had the Brussel Sprouts and Chicken Wings for an app and they both tasted really good and were good size portions.

For our dinner we decided to just have some burgers and they were nothing special. Buns were fresh, and both the beef and lamb tasted good, neither was really as cheesy as sold on the menu. The fries tasted good, but one of ours was bit cold and the other a bit soft. The rosemary and garlic made them smell and taste good though.

The service was ... ehh ... we got checked on often, but it wasn't personal. In the end, dinner for two with a few cocktails, apps, dinner and coffee was $150. For that, I usually like a bit more elevation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Our server was great and very candid about what he liked and what he didn't like. Although my reservation was booked under open table under my name – the first half of my party checked in before me and were sat on the whole other side of the restaurant. When I was seated I was waiting on them to arrive in actuality they have been there already for 15 minutes. When I checked in I did speak to the hostess and asked her if anyone had checked in from my party yet and she said they did not.
Not a catastrophe but I don't think the waitstaff appreciated it too much because everyone had already made their drink orders. The food was delicious and shareable – the craft cocktails read very creative on paper - they were limited on the cocktail and more focused on the craft for the price. I've eaten here several times while in town on business and will continue .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Our server Marcos was super attentive and awesome. The food was absolutely amazing! We had the foie gras clams, the chicken wings confit, and we shared the pig's head for dinner. Everything was perfectly cooked and incredibly flavorful. We got the popcorn pot de creme on Marcos's suggestion and it was the perfect way to end our meal. The beers and craft sodas were also amazing. I would recommend to anyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Dirty and smelled like a dumpster walking up the back stairs to the upper balcony in the back of the restaurant

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The portions were small compared to most restaurants, but the food was awesome. I would recommend the dining experience here. Waitress and staff were friendly.

Tags: Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food was excellent! Would definitely recommend to family and friends. A great place to celebrate an occasion or just get together with out of town friends to show them a good meal.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Always great to have a meal here. Ask for Kevin, he's great! Never disappointed!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Historic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Quick Bite, Healthy, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Organic, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The wife and I went out for her birthday. The food met every expectation that was put forth on various TV spotlights. The dichotomy of the tavern ambiance and gourmet food preparation was a pleasant surprise. Wear what you want, dress for a Cav's game, and enjoy some of the best eats in town on the way!

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Going to the Cavs game, it was great to be able to make a reservation on line and not worry!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We came out for my father-in-law's birthday. He had been dying to try the roasted pigs head since he "saw it on tv that one time."
Let me tell you, that pigs head is to die for. It was so moist, it just fell apart in my mouth. I'd easily go back just for the pigs head! A word of warning that they don't tell you until you order it, the pigs head takes about an hour to cook. Be prepared to wait. It's worth it.
The service wasn't bad, but for what seemed like a slow night, our server was slow as well. Once we were brought our meals(brought by other servers), we didn't see our server again until after we were almost finished eating and our drinks sat empty that whole time(we had been waiting an hour for the pigs head).
I ordered the Lamb. For $32 it was a joke. It was 5 quarter sized pieces that were so caked in spices that you couldn't tell you were eating meat at all. It tasted like I was eating spoonfuls of Moroccan spices. The server did take it off of our bill, which was very nice considering I didn't eat it.
As for everyone else's meals, they were all fantastic! The pigs head, porkchop, venison, beef tartare, and frites were all so, so good!
Overall, this place was delicious. I would definitely try it again and order anything besides the lamb.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The menu was varied and extremely creative. Of the dishes we sampled, some of our favorites were the fried Brussels sprouts, pork chop saltimbocca, bone-in pork belly and the pot de creme. The prices were very reasonable for a restaurant of this caliber. Always a hit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We had a great time and the food and service were excellent. The only negative was we had a wobbly table (round on main floor). Made eating a little bit of a challenge!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Concert at the Q

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Enjoyed our lunch very much. The service was very good. the food was very good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great meal. Creative. Delicious. And were very sensitive to allergy needs. A must visit when in Cleveland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 13, 2017

everything was simply amazing. Even brussel sprouts take on a whole new wonderful meaning. The pigs head is a total experience. My friends and i were joking that Johnathan Sawyer must have made a crossroads deal with the devil to be so damn good!! Absolutely LOVE this place..recomend it to everyone!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Phenomenal as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My fiancé and I went for brunch to celebrate getting engaged. Food was good and place wasn't crowded. A little expensive if it wasn't a special occasion, but everything was pretty good so well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

A little disappointed on this visit to the Greenhouse to celebrate my sister's birthday. My sister and I both had a strip streak which was full of grizzle and therefore hard to eat. My wife called twice to ask that a candle be put in the dessert we ordered and that did not happen. Some of the appetizers we ordered were very good including the Brussel sprouts and artisanal jerky. They could do better.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Rave reviews all around! Great atmosphere, creative menu that doesn't disappoint and personable staff!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Went to Greenhouse Tavern for my parents 28th wedding anniversary. We had an amazing time. Tried just about everything on the menu, including the famed roasted pig's head. Everything was incredible. The service was fantastic and we even chatted with a cook for a bit and ended up buying a round of beers for the kitchen staff. Highly highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My husband & I love coming here! The food is nothing less than amazing. The service is excellent. The cocktails are great. This restaurant is one our favorites.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Those No Name Frites are something else

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Server seemed irritated
Food was only mediocre
Entrees came out before apps
Ordered one of their Moscow mules "on tap"- it was awful.
Asked for salt and pepper- never brought.
Water was never refilled

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We loved Brunch! The eggs benedict was classically prepared and I was craving it again the next day. We were able to hand deliver a thank you round of drinks to the kitchen staff, the whoops and din they made was so amazing. Our Server, Tiffany was great! We will be back if we can!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Fun, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was great, service was a little slow. Especially since we were trying to get to a game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.