Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About The Greenhouse Tavern

Chef Jonathon Sawyer's sustainably inspired flagship restaurant located in the heart of downtown Cleveland.

2038 E 4th Street
Cleveland, OH 44115
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, French, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Supper: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Euclid & Prospect

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 443-0511

Website:
http://www.thegreenhousetavern.com/

Catering:
Off site catering is available upon request. Please email events@thegreenhousetavern.com in regards to your event.

Parking Details:
Valet is available on East 4th at the cost of $8 per vehicle. Valet operated by MVP Parking. Prices may vary. Network Parking also operates many parking lots in the area.

Public Transit:
Short walk from both Terminal Tower and Public Square - RTA and Trolly lines (http://www.riderta.com/).

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Sawyer

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate groups of 15 to 40 in our private areas. The entire restaurant is available for events with 130 or more guests. Off site catering also available. We understand each event is different so we will help customize to your specific needs.

Private Party Contact:
Tom Sawyer: (216) 443-0511

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Greenhouse Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (65)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Good for a Date (44)
See All
Local Ingredients (41)
Casual (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Special Occasion (34)
People Watching (29)
Fun (28)
Good Vegetarian Options (26)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Hot Spot (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Organic (20)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Authentic (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Seasonal (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Tasting Menu (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Business Meals (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Scenic View (11)
Great Beer (11)
Romantic (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Vegan (9)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Cozy (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Tapas (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Spicy (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Live Sports (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
2793 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

My absolute favorite spot in Cleveland for lunch, dinner and special occasions. Worth the 40 minute ride from Akron.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious meal and OUTSTANDING service. One of my go-to faves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Was in town for business and had heard they make there own vinegar here and they had alot of cool stuff on the menu. The menu is the most interesting in town and one of the best on the east coast. Sealed the deal with the potential driver snd kept ordering after including a great dessert. Get the house vinegar clams and any of the small plates. I must say you can skip the "thirds" section of the menu and just stick with the small plates. Great value especially for this type of restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Casual, Spicy, Vegan, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Organic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Service was good, but the food and drinks were underwhelming. The tomato salad and most of the components on the Vegan BBQ Plate were completely flavorless. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Fantastic food and service as always. Only recommendation is don't take a 5pm reservation on open table if you're not prepared to sit people 10min before. We arrived around 4:50 and overheard another server asking why we were even in the restaurant when food service doesn't start until 5. It made us all very uncomfortable and was very rude. We were coming from
our wedding venue, which is why we ate early. Aside from that- our server was great and everything else was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 11, 2017

I have been wanting to try this restaurant for a long time, but living out of state, had not had an opportunity. It definitely lived up to expectations, and we enjoyed our evening quite a lot. Our server, Joshua, was attentive and did a great job of explaining the food.

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Exceptional food. The evening was made even better by Kevin, our server. Don't miss the chicken wings or the clams with a foie gras broth.

Tags: Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Some meals were cold when they came and another was so sweet no one could eat it. I never saw grits that were sweet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (London)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Haven't eaten there in a while. Called last minute. Table was available. Got there and there was a spot outside. Gorgeous night. Great food. Wonderful bottle of wine. Server was knowledgeable, very attentive and pleasant. We had a great night. Would recommend to everyone.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We were very happy that we tried this recommendation from a friend! The location in Cleveland was very trendy and fun. The food was unique, fresh and delicious. The staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. We asked to move to a table by the window and our request was filled.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great food. Great ambiance and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Wonderful meal and ambiance, as always..loved our server Kevin who was awesome! Can't wait to come back again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Great flavor and variety! Knowledgeable waitress who made our experience enjoyable.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Have heard what great food Greenhouse Tavern had and we weren't disappointed! Knowing it was on 4th made it even more appealing. Sitting outside was an additional treat. I had the grouper which was one of the best I have ever had. My husband was happy with his steak and our daughter loved her pork chop saltimbocca. Have to thank the staff for great service and helping make our anniversary a great memory!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Great service and food! A fun East 4th restaurant.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food was wonderful, the ambiance was fun, and the drinks were to die for! Great service, as well!

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Live Sports, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great selection, incredible service, good price points. We'll be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 25, 2017

The Greenhouse Tavern serves excellent food. It's menu is inspired and imaginative and focuses on locally sourced ingredients. The Spring Abundance Bowl and Rice and Bean Veggie Burger are high on my list of favorites: vegan comfort food at its best. But this place is also a great choice for avowed carnivores; the menu is interesting and diverse, and there's something for everyone. Service is alert and friendly. This is a beloved restaurant is Cleveland's vibrant East 4th Street neighborhood. Not to be missed.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2017

We had a great time. Our server was very caring. I had a problem with you being out of wines that I chose and Champagne that was corked. I was told by a Manager that the wine list was being redone and was the reason why the wines were not available. That was something that should have been mentioned while or before I ordered the wines. Your server was not even informed of your changes and items that you did not have. Not her fault. Management communication seems to be poor.

After we did get some wine suggested from the Manager, he disappeared before we were done with dinner. He clearly knew that I wanted to order good wines. You lost a lot of sales by him not being around. I was not going to order with our server and put her in a tough spot again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 23, 2017

easily the best restaurant on East 4th. Highly recommend it

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

I was very favorably impressed by the cuisine. The charred asparagus was delicious and the pork chop saltimbocca had the best red-eye gravy I have ever had. K2 (Kevin) was knowledgeable and extremely personable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We were seated upstairs which was uncomfortably warm. The carpet was sticky/dirty. The food portions were small and not very tasty. The service was very good. Generally overpriced.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 21, 2017

A nice place to have a meal on the patio...We had the burger, the pork, and the Brussel sprouts. Would recommend them all.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Visiting Cleveland and picked the Greenhouse Tavern, was not disappointed and went back for a 2nd dinner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great location. Service was solid but the food was overrated and overpriced. Could probably use a little design update; looking a little worn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We enjoyed the meal very much. However, it had less "wow factor" than I had experienced previously there. The desert (a type of chocolate cake with huckleberry gelee) was not special.
The meats were cooked well. I recommend definitely getting salads, if you like vegetables. The meat dishes were a bit skimpy on vegetables. Overall though, a very good meal in a casual environment.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 16, 2017

Very disappointed. Server was borderline rude, not attentive, slowwwww service for breakfast.
Enjoyed sitting on patio, that's about it, and I can find another establishment with better food to do that. Thanks

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Always the best service and meals from The Greenhouse Tavern. Can't wait to come back and have the wings again!!

Tags: Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Live Sports, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Amazing food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Have been many times and always wonderful. Even a little extra anniversary dessert from our waiter, nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Unfortunately the table location picked for our reservation was upstairs and in the back of the restaurant. Our only view was a white wall and the people sitting around us. The atmosphere on the main level seemed great and inviting but we only got to experience it on the way in and the way out. I would ask to never be seated in that area again. The Brussels sprout app was amazing and would bring me back!

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Enjoyed a dinner a couple hours before a concert at Progressive Field, and we were pleased that we were able to have a leisurely meal in spite of the crowds gathering during the evening. Our server was pleasant and efficient and all the waitstaff were diligent in assuring tables were tended to, drinks and meals were delivered on time, and the large crowd of diners seemed to be enjoying their experiences. The appetizers, salads and dinners all were presented in the fashion we've become to expect from The Greenhouse.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Finding the valet parking was definitely a challenge but Andrea stayed on the phone with us until we found our way. She was absolutely awesome and took care of us when we arrived stressed out. We ended up sitting on the patio where our reservations were and our waitress was Brittany who was also awesome. The fact that they both cared so much about us really added to our experience. Good food, atmosphere, service! I don't recommend using the valet by the restaurant if you are going to a concert. The wait to get our car after was about 100 people deep and close to an hour. Better to park in the lot and walk.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The poutine was not good, but server removed from bill. Wings were good. Salad was plain. Everything was overpriced, but would've been okay if food was great. Really went for the pig head, which looked great, but was 80-90% fat. Overall, the place is overhyped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The ambiance was great. However, my food (lamb burger) was very salty. Others in my party said the same thing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

a bit more casual than we expected (and somewhat tattered around the edges), but the food lived up to its rep, and we were happy we'd made the effort to eat there.

greenhouse tavern also had a good many more veg options than most (midwestern) restaurants have...and the lack of which is a constant frustration to those of us who like to eat vegetarian.

that said, my loin of lamb was perfectly cooked, altho there cd have been a bit more of the veg underpinnings, which were close to undiscoverable. (i had expected half the plate to be the vegs mentioned on the menu; instead, there was a miniscule scattering of the promised beans, puree, etc.

be sure to try the weird-sounding but worthy dessert: a sort of buttered-caramel-popcorn confection that is a creme brulee in a little pot, and without the crust. (i wd recommend asking them to go light on the caramel; it nearly drowns the taste of the quite delicious "creme."

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Seasonal, Organic, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This was my second time at Greenhouse Tavern, and I think they topped my first visit. We had the Chef's Tasting and it was fantastic! The variety of food and presentation was wonderful. Really enjoyed every course. The BBQ pig ears were a unique and delicious treat. Highly recommend this place. Service was attentive and informative. There is a rooftop bar which is a great place to wait prior to your reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great stop for dinner before the baseball game. Food was good and arrived fairly quickly. Made reservations because summer nights on the weekends are busy. Great beer choices.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Sat outside, nice location and good vantage point to watch the city go by. Food was great. Chicken wings were amazing along with the fries. Lamb burger was good, but a bit to much grease and garlic for my taste. Overall great experience, I would deffeitnly recommend and go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.