About The Greenhouse Tavern

2038 E 4th Street
Cleveland, OH 44115
View Larger Map

Chef Jonathon Sawyer's sustainably inspired flagship restaurant located in the heart of downtown Cleveland.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, French, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00am
Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Euclid & Prospect

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 443-0511

Website:
http://www.thegreenhousetavern.com/

Catering:
Off site catering is available upon request. Please email events@thegreenhousetavern.com in regards to your event.

Parking Details:
Valet is available on East 4th at the cost of $8 per vehicle. Valet operated by MVP Parking. Prices may vary. Network Parking also operates many parking lots in the area.

Public Transit:
Short walk from both Terminal Tower and Public Square - RTA and Trolly lines (http://www.riderta.com/).

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Sawyer

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate groups of 15 to 40 in our private areas. The entire restaurant is available for events with 130 or more guests. Off site catering also available. We understand each event is different so we will help customize to your specific needs.

Private Party Contact:
Tom Sawyer: 2164430511x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Crispy Chicken Wing Confit
Gravy Frites
Animal Frites
buttermilk fried chicken
Bbq Pigs Head
Foie Gras Clams
Fred Flintstone Beef Short Rib
Brussels Sprouts al Forno
Country Fried Watermelon
Gnocchi Sardi
Smoked Bourbon Cocktail
Pretzel And Mustard
Chicken Wings
Soft Leaf Salad
Grass Fed Beef Burger
Devils on Horseback
Cup O' Jeni's Ice Cream
Julian Hard Cider Cherry Bomb
Rittman Peaches
Halibut Chops
Cacio Y Pepe Kale Salad
Johnnycake
Smoked And Cooked Potato
Duck Liver Pasta
Ohio Lamb Burger
Hand Ground Beef Tartare
Pot-au-feu
Croque Madame
Braised Meatball
Sable Fish
Duck Pate' Tempora Fiddlehead Fern
Buttered Popcorn Pot Dr Creme
Pork Chop
Tartare Préparé - Beef Tartare
Duckn' Pumpkin Pasta
Fifth Quarter
Bread Service
Dad's Tomato Sandwich
Vegetarian Bi Bim Bap
Animal Style Frites
Chrispy Hominy
Fromage Blanc
Buttered Popcorn Pot De Creme
Cup O' Jenis Ice Cream
Roasted Pig Head
Pomme Frites
Spicy Corn Garganelli Pasta
Victory Lager
Lamb Burger
Lobster All' Amatriciana
Parma Pils
Pan Fried Pork Chop Saltimbocca
Hay-Scented Poached Egg Omelet
Pommes Frites
Pork And Pumpkin Pasta
Stoner Sandwich
Curried Spaghetti Squash
BOB Frites
Strip Steak Frites
Crispy Hominy With Pork Skin Cracklins, Pickled Red Onion And Lime Juice
Ohio Beef Burger
Old Overholt Neat And Fever Tree Ginger Beer On The Rocks
Fromage Blanc Gnudi
Dobos Torte
Vegan Butterscotch Pudding
40 Clove Heirloom Garlic Roasted 1/2 Chicken
Hand Ground Lamb Tartare
Seared Whitefish
Meadow Ranch (Napa) Cabernet
Whole Padron Peppers
Marinated Tofu
Fred Flintstone Short Ribs
Foie Gras Au Torchon
Braised Beef Shin
Roasted Padron Peppers
40 Day Dry Aged Ribeye
Crispy Chicken Wings
Gnocchi
Beef Tartare
Chicpea Torpedo
Kaluha & Coffee
Intelligentsia Espresso
The Bread And Butter Board
Foie Gras Steamed Clams
Sage Advice
The Bread Board
Seven Layer Chocolate Cake
Crispy Hominy w/Lime
French Bread Pizza
Sloppy Jo-Nut
Duck Sausage Sliders
Julian Hard Cider Cherry
A Very Merry Un-Birthday Cake
Jeni's Ice Cream
Grass Fed Burger
Pork Tongue Reuben
Pig Face
Lamb T-bone
Confit Wings and Beef Tartar
Grilled Halibut Tail

The Greenhouse Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Hot Spot
Cleveland
Most Booked
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Downtown Cleveland ›

fit for foodies (140)
hot spot (84)
special occasion (78)
See All
neighborhood gem (65)
vibrant bar scene (61)
good for groups (60)
great for lunch (39)
great for outdoor dining (36)
late-night find (26)
romantic (25)
notable wine list (21)
great for brunch (18)
scenic view (12)
kid-friendly (8)
Sort By:
Newest
2332 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

They weren't open when we showed up. Ve ...

Dined 5 days ago

They weren't open when we showed up. Very disappointed. No phone call that they closed early.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Went there for dinner for NBA Game 7 - e ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Went there for dinner for NBA Game 7 - ended up spending the whole evening - an evening I will forever remember. Koodos to Steven our waiter!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience3
service5

This place was cute and our waitress was ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This place was cute and our waitress was very good. The food was terrible. I had the strip steak and everything on my plate was over salted to the point that I could not even eat it. I also ordered the fried broccoli salad which consisted of a bench of spinach leaves and 3 pieces of fried broccoli that was soaked in vinegar. My friend ordered the fried cauliflower and couldn't eat it either. She said it tasted like cardboard. We had to go somewhere else to eat after.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and spectacular service! Our ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food and spectacular service! Our waiter knew the menu inside and out. My wife loved the bicycle decor. Will be back.

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Inattentive service, decent food; hanger ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Inattentive service, decent food; hanger steak was a mediocre cut and was badly oversalted. Treated as though a $425 bottle of wine was Yellowtail. Waitstaff didn't get friendly until we were about to leave.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Loved our visit to greenhouse tavern! C ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Loved our visit to greenhouse tavern! CJ was good, but a little soft-spoken on the loud patio. Wish Cleveland would outlaw smoking within a certain distance of eating establishments like Chicago. I enjoy outdoor dining, but as a non-smoker, smoke wafting in as I'm enjoying my meal is a turn off.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Complex flavor profiles wrapped around e ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Complex flavor profiles wrapped around every day food. Known understandably for six or seven very good dishes (wings, full pig's head, hominy, to name a few). "Must visit" if you enjoy food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Quick service and fun dining area

Dined on June 17, 2016

Quick service and fun dining area

food4
ambience5
service5

Have been there many times, and it's our ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Have been there many times, and it's our favorite restaurant. However, the food was a little disappointing this time. The steak was just ok, and the pork chops were dry.

food4
ambience5
service5

Lamb burgers were great, the wings were ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Lamb burgers were great, the wings were a little smooshy..but good seasoning.

food5
ambience5
service5

The brussel sprouts are the best you wil ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The brussel sprouts are the best you will ever have.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Attractive ambiance and warm and attenti ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Attractive ambiance and warm and attentive service. Inventive, eclectic menu. Dessert a highlight.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

The chef is special, the food delicious and fun!

Dined on June 10, 2016

Rave reviews to the kitchen! Not so good to the server. The good: She was knowledgeable The Bad: Nonchalant, glib, unattentive, inefficient (I like casual, but with food this special, at least care!) Appetizer did not come until I reminded her after the entrees arrived. Had to ask three times for the ice tea refill

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

As I've reviewed before about this place ...

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

As I've reviewed before about this place...it always delivers. We are in Cleveland once a year and we always meet friends here for dinner and they never disappoint. This last visit, for the first time in 6yrs there was a minor hiccup and they more than over compensated to fix. A true standup establishment with the consumer always in mind...Great Job and as always, we look forward to our trip to Cleveland each year and our foodie splurge at the Greenhouse.

food3
ambience3
service3
value1

I thought that portion size was on the s ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

I thought that portion size was on the small side. I order their new roasted broccoli salad topped with chicken. The salad was extremely small and the chicken has a lot of fat on it. Not appetizing at all. For the price of this salad they need to put more lettuce or broccoli on it.

food2
ambience4
service2

The food was overly salty and im surpris ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

The food was overly salty and im surprised the waiter didn't compensate in some way when we told him. We had a new batch of one of the dishes made but by the time they came out everyone was done eating. Definitely the exact opposite of the experience I had last time!

food5
ambience4
service5

It was our first visit, though many had ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

It was our first visit, though many had recommended Greenhouse Tavern to us. While a pricier dining option, the food was great (we got the pork chops, the lamb pasta and the cheesy poofs appetizer) and our server was very professional. Check out the rooftop bar if it's nice out!

food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Greenhouse tavern

Dined on June 6, 2016

restaurant was so loud we couldn't talk. Waiter wouldn't move us. Don't go on the second floor. Some dishes were good, some only fair. high priced.

food4
ambience4
service4

Our out of town guests from SC thoroughl ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Our out of town guests from SC thoroughly enjoyed dining here with us. Very creative menu Chef Sawyer and team!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our server was extremely helpful and kno ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

our server was extremely helpful and knowledgable, and the food was awesome! great menu for everyone while also providing unique options. would definitely eat here again when I return to cleveland

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family gameday meal

Dined on June 4, 2016

Wonderful menu with many choices to satisfy all in the family. Everyone enjoyed the vibe and decor as well as the food. Service was fantastic. Available but not hovering to get us out. Will definitely return

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated in the basement where the ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

We were seated in the basement where they have 6 seats overlooking the kitchen. It was a wonderful experience watching all the food being prepared.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Just Average!

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

The restaurant was about average! The food was better than average, the pork chop was ok, my wife loved the burger, the service was a little slow, I wanted to love this place so much because so many told me about it, but for me it was a let down. And to be fare to them many people told me about the famous chicken wings so i had very high expectations and I didn’t care for them, the bar I found shocking, my wife ordered a club soda and grape vodka and they didn’t have any flavored vodkas except one they made, are you kidding me, a bar with zero flavored vodkas! Great location, nice outside seating!

food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Poor experience!

Dined on June 2, 2016

We have been here for numerous occasions… But this time there was just something different. We had lots of difficulty with their orders and things being presented in a less than desirable way and it was truly a disappointing experience.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pig out on bbq pig head.

Dined on June 2, 2016

The appetizers are sensational, and the bbq'd pig head is out of this world.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

management needs sit&think

Dined on June 2, 2016

staff needs to be reminded that everyone is not an old/return customer. Highlights of the menu where not shared and discovered only by overhearing another server. staff was not particularly attentive

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Evening Out

Dined on May 29, 2016

Overall experience....excellent food and service. Would definitely recommend to a friend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

My kids informed me that I must go to th ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

My kids informed me that I must go to this restaurant and they were correct! Wow! An explosion of flavors I have never experienced!!!! The Brussel sprouts are an absolute must as are the chicken wings. I can't wait to go back to try more! Put this place on your bucket list. Kevin our waiter was fabulous! Maurice our busboy was a delight. GO!!!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant!

Dined on May 22, 2016

I have eaten at Greenhouse dozens of times and I literally have never had anything I didn't love. It's expensive, sure, but so worth it. Even a pickier eater can't go wrong with anything on the menu. This is the one place that I don't care if a dish has an ingredient I don't usually like -- I know they can and will make it amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We pass through Cleveland on our way to ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We pass through Cleveland on our way to Oberlin twice a year and eat at the Greenhouse Taven every time. It's always good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Greenhouse retains a place as hardy, ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The Greenhouse retains a place as hardy, healthy locally sourced comfort food with a twist. Genius reinventions of things you've eaten your whole life -- the brussels sprouts had a tang, the (pimento) cheese poofs -- that make your mouth wish for more. Locally sourced red meat has a whole other flavor, even beyond the local high end steak places -- and the frites are crispy on the outside, moist on the inside. Cocktails are inventive. Again, emphasis on local or in-house ingredients. Whether you want it boozy, refreshing or flirty, they know how to mix a cocktail. Not to mention too many local craft beers on tap. The look is cozy industrial chic: nods to Cleveland's roots, but also that repurposing of old things as new. The flying bicycles evoke "ET" in the back of the restaurant. The paintings aren't quite outsider art, but they have a primitive boldness that grab your eyes. Truly, wonderful. And the popcorn pots du creme is singular: light, buttery, crunchy, odd, but yummy.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was very good (thanks to waiters re ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Food was very good (thanks to waiters recommendations). Didn't like being upstairs because it was hot and awkward to get to.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4

I thought the food was average. We were ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I thought the food was average. We were seated upstairs where the temperature was very hot. And the noise level was high, but rather than calling it energetic, I'd say it was distracting. We could not hear across the table. Sorry, but I would not recommend this restaurant

food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Bad experience

Dined on May 13, 2016

I would not return to this establishment. The best thing on the menu are the french fries, and they can be purchased much cheaper in other establishment. The steak was tough, and the pork belly was so salty it was inedible. The double decker veggie burger was like mush. Thank goodness Colossal Cupcake was open for desert. Was over priced!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For all the hype I've heard for years of ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

For all the hype I've heard for years of Greenhouse Tavern, I somehow never manged to get there until now. Everything was truly spectacular. The food fully foodie appropriate without being hipster pretentious, as many of these types of restaurants are. There were several items on the menu I wanted to order. Our server was very friendly and attentive. More than anything, I would point out the prices. I was surprised to see that the entrees (save for a few elite items) were not more expensive, and we all were more than shocked at the cost of the drinks. Beers that I'd be accustomed to spending $8-9 in a restaurant were $5-6. The bourbon I ordered I've often been charged $15-20 for and it was $8! Great to feel you're having a legit great meal and not getting ripped off for it! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a couple of Apps

Dined on May 9, 2016

The Wings are legendary and lived up to every comment. I am not in or from Cleveland, but for work spend alot of time here. I can't wait to bring others to try. Just had a few small plates because it was myself. The wings again live up to all hype. I was lukewarm on the clam dish. Perhaps because I really, really like clams and really did not need anything to mask their flavors. Can't wait to to explore more small plates and the menu in depth. Was jealous of other tables who had 3-6 people and could share and explore. It was just me. But will take people here next time. Awesome place you have here Mr. Sawyer.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

The food is amazing!!! Will definitely b ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is amazing!!! Will definitely be going back!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated at the chefs table which ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were seated at the chefs table which is noisy but a lot of fun. Ver interesting to see the dishes being prepared whetting our appetite to try new things. Overall a memorable experience.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Mother's Day dinner

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was exceptional. Ordered the house specialities: BBQ'd pig's head & Fred Flintstone beef short ribs. A must for serious foodies....

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Very unique, delicious food in a relaxed ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Very unique, delicious food in a relaxed casual atmosphere. Our server was very knowledgeable about the ingredients in preparation for each dish.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.