About The Greenhouse Tavern

2038 E 4th Street
Cleveland, OH 44115
View Larger Map

Chef Jonathon Sawyer's sustainably inspired flagship restaurant located in the heart of downtown Cleveland.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, French, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00am
Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Euclid & Prospect

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 443-0511

Website:
http://www.thegreenhousetavern.com/

Catering:
Off site catering is available upon request. Please email events@thegreenhousetavern.com in regards to your event.

Parking Details:
Valet is available on East 4th at the cost of $8 per vehicle. Valet operated by MVP Parking. Prices may vary. Network Parking also operates many parking lots in the area.

Public Transit:
Short walk from both Terminal Tower and Public Square - RTA and Trolly lines (http://www.riderta.com/).

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Sawyer

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate groups of 15 to 40 in our private areas. The entire restaurant is available for events with 130 or more guests. Off site catering also available. We understand each event is different so we will help customize to your specific needs.

Private Party Contact:
Tom Sawyer: 2164430511x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Crispy Chicken Wing Confit - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Animal Frites - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Gravy Frites - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
buttermilk fried chicken - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Bbq Pigs Head - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Foie Gras Clams - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Fred Flintstone Beef Short Rib - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Brussels Sprouts al Forno - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Country Fried Watermelon - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Gnocchi Sardi - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Smoked Bourbon Cocktail - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Pretzel And Mustard - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Grass Fed Beef Burger - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Devils on Horseback - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Cup O' Jeni's Ice Cream - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Julian Hard Cider Cherry Bomb - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Rittman Peaches - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Halibut Chops - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Cacio Y Pepe Kale Salad - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Smoked And Cooked Potato - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Johnnycake - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Duck Liver Pasta - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Ohio Lamb Burger - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Hand Ground Beef Tartare - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Pot-au-feu - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Croque Madame - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Braised Meatball - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Buttered Popcorn Pot Dr Creme - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Sable Fish - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Pork Chop - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Tartare Préparé - Beef Tartare - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Duck Pate' Tempora Fiddlehead Fern - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Duckn' Pumpkin Pasta - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Dad's Tomato Sandwich - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Fifth Quarter - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Vegetarian Bi Bim Bap - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Bread Service - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Animal Style Frites - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Chrispy Hominy - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Fromage Blanc - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Cup O' Jenis Ice Cream - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Buttered Popcorn Pot De Creme - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Roasted Pig Head - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Pomme Frites - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Spicy Corn Garganelli Pasta - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Victory Lager - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Lobster All' Amatriciana - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Lamb Burger - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Parma Pils - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Hay-Scented Poached Egg Omelet - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Pan Fried Pork Chop Saltimbocca - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Pommes Frites - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Stoner Sandwich - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Pork And Pumpkin Pasta - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
BOB Frites - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Curried Spaghetti Squash - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Strip Steak Frites - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Ohio Beef Burger - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Crispy Hominy With Pork Skin Cracklins, Pickled Red Onion And Lime Juice - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Soft Leaf Salad - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Chicken Wings - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
40 Clove Heirloom Garlic Roasted 1/2 Chicken - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Vegan Butterscotch Pudding - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Seared Whitefish - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Meadow Ranch (Napa) Cabernet - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Old Overholt Neat And Fever Tree Ginger Beer On The Rocks - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Dobos Torte - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Hand Ground Lamb Tartare - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Fromage Blanc Gnudi - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Whole Padron Peppers - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Marinated Tofu - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Fred Flintstone Short Ribs - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Foie Gras Au Torchon - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Gnocchi - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Roasted Padron Peppers - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Braised Beef Shin - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
40 Day Dry Aged Ribeye - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Crispy Chicken Wings - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Beef Tartare - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Kaluha & Coffee - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Chicpea Torpedo - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Intelligentsia Espresso - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Sage Advice - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Foie Gras Steamed Clams - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
The Bread And Butter Board - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Seven Layer Chocolate Cake - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
The Bread Board - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Crispy Hominy w/Lime - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
French Bread Pizza - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Julian Hard Cider Cherry - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Jeni's Ice Cream - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Sloppy Jo-Nut - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
A Very Merry Un-Birthday Cake - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Duck Sausage Sliders - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Grass Fed Burger - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Lamb T-bone - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Pig Face - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Confit Wings and Beef Tartar - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Gravy Ghost Frites - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH
Grilled Halibut Tail - The Greenhouse Tavern, Cleveland, OH

The Greenhouse Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Most Booked
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Downtown Cleveland ›

Fit for Foodies (73)
Good for a Date (48)
Creative Cuisine (46)
See All
Special Occasion (43)
Hot Spot (38)
Local Ingredients (37)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Fun (28)
Casual (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Comfort Food (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Great Beer (18)
Vegan (17)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Gluten Free Options (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Romantic (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
People Watching (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Late-night Find (13)
Tasting Menu (11)
Cozy (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Seasonal (10)
Organic (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Authentic (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Business Meals (8)
Healthy (8)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Scenic View (4)
Spicy (4)
Tapas (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Live Sports (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Historic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
2488 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was okay, we ate at the bar and the ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was okay, we ate at the bar and the service was good. I expected more from all the reviews that I had read.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Great as usual, though service seemed to ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Great as usual, though service seemed to be understaffed.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Greenhouse Tavern next fails to amaze! A ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Greenhouse Tavern next fails to amaze! Amazing food, amazing service and amazing time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chicken wings, best ever

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

The chicken wings, best ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I would never come back. We went there t ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

I would never come back. We went there to eat dinner with our family & go see the Christmas lights in the square. It was planned way ahead & my son choose it as he wanted to try the pig's head BBQ.

The best way I can describe the waiter is distant and smug. We ordered drinks & appetizers which were very good. When we went to order the BBQ the waiter then stated it would take one hour before it was served. Because this was why we came here we decided to put the order in & got another round of drinks and another appetizer.

After 90 minutes I motioned to the waiter to ask if the BBQ was close to ready. He did not come over but simply nodded yes. It was another 40 minutes before it arrived to table. There was no apology, no offer of bread or another appetizer, no consideration on the bill. The other entrees were very fatty and small.

By the time we left the stores were closed in Tower City.

Not a fan, not going back and would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The brussel sprouts were AMAZING. Perfe ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

The brussel sprouts were AMAZING. Perfect for an app for two or a side with dinner. Lamb burger was great, well cooked & delicious. Steak was topped with delectable sauces and crispy onions. Say yes to coffee and desert.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Poor service, no interest from any staff ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Poor service, no interest from any staff members. Eggs were so undercooked it was basically liquid egg on my Benedict. Had to remind staff about what we ordered and never answered any questions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

I went to the Greenhouse largely because ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 1, 2016

I went to the Greenhouse largely because of some strong ratings and the Chef's appearance on Andrew Zimmern's Bizarre Foods show. Eh, it was all right-nothing more. The interior was surprisingly worn looking--much more like a Bar/Grill than the "trendy" restaurant I was expecting. I had the Lamb Burger for lunch. It was cooked perfectly, but was very salty. The best thing about the meal were the homemade potato chips. Service for a weekday was surprisingly slow, but friendly. I would probably give it another go for lunch-but I'll be darned if I can figure out what the fuss is all about. I did notice that the 2nd floor dining area had tablecloths instead of bare wood tables like I sat at on the first floor. Snagging a table on the second floor might make it more of a destination spot for dinner.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

This was our second time to greenhouse a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 28, 2016

This was our second time to greenhouse and it was great! My boyfriend and I agree this is our new favorite, despite the fact that we have no idea what one dish even was! It's great to be able to go to a restaurant and just trust that something new will be delicious. We had the wings (a must), something delicious with pork and charcoal (?!), eggplant meatballs and the apple spice cake with rosemary cream. Amazing!

Tags: Great Beer, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great experience every time we've dined ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great experience every time we've dined here. Our server Kevin was very knowledgeable and offered great service from start to finish. Seasonal cocktail was fallish and delicious. Cheese poofs were amazing especially the remoulade sauce. Gnocchi with fried egg was to die for. The market halibut was pretty good, but a little dry. Overall 5 stars the whole way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was very full, but the st ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The restaurant was very full, but the staff was friendly, service was quick, and the food was wonderful. We thought we would get dinner, but after appetizers and salad, we were full. If I were local, I would come back and recommend it to my friends.

Tags: Great Beer, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Casual, Cozy, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great place for brunch. I wou ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was a great place for brunch. I would highly recommend the crispy confit chicken wings, they were fall off the bone delicious! The eggs Benedict, corn beef hash and sausage biscuit pasta were all great as well. We also loved the pastrie board. Will eat here again!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service great food and great vibes ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great service great food and great vibes as always. One of the best restaurants in CLE. If you want a for sure great time, pick the GHT.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hadn't been back here in a while and was ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Hadn't been back here in a while and was really looking forward to it. Brussel sprout appetizer was good but with overpowering flavor. Chicken wings were overloaded with scallions, not hot enough (temp) and just overpowering with too much vinegar. Pork chop and lamb burger were fantastic. Biggest complaint was the ambience. We sat upstairs where is was WAY too dark. Granted, my eyes are 52 years old, but when you see phone flashlights being used at every table to read the menu, it's too dark. We also made the mistake of making a reservation 1 hr. prior to a home Cavs game. Bad decision if you're hoping to have a conversation as the restaurant noise was beyond sports bar level. I used to have Greenhouse on my special occasion eatery list, but it's gone SO casual for the $$. Hate to say it, but my wife and I were very underwhelmed overall, despite the top notch service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Two of the best dishes in town are the w ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Two of the best dishes in town are the wings and the brussel sprouts. Also enjoyed the pork chop and the eggplant meatballs.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Way too noisy. Some interesting food (ca ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Way too noisy. Some interesting food (carrot salad, gnocchi) and some unexpectedly boring (Tabasco Chicken). Waiter cleared our first course dumping the used silverware back onto the table from the plates. Overpriced for what we got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We were really looking forward to celebr ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We were really looking forward to celebrating my wife's birthday, but when her and my daughters meatloaf comes out cold, it kind of makes the evening a bit of a mess. Although new dishes were brought out, the other guests at table were practically done with their meals. We still had a good time but the paying full price for an all over the place meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

As always, I had a fabulous experience a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

As always, I had a fabulous experience and the wine and menu selections were great!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was lacking. She brought out ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The service was lacking. She brought out my soup together with my main lunch - it didn't all fit on our table and she just kind of shoved it all on. We had to repeatedly ask for re fills on our waters. Food was great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We were pleased with everything, but the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We were pleased with everything, but the bar service. We waited a long time and eventually left to go get a drink pre-dinner. We were texted once our table was ready, which happened to be twenty minutes prior to our reservation and two minutes after we walked out the bar. The hostesses seemed extremely confused about who we were, even though we had seen them a few minutes prior when we stepped out to have our pre-dinner cocktails elsewhere.

Earlier that day, someone commented that every time he goes, it seems there's new staff that are kind of befuddled by everything. Though our server was good, the bar staff and the hostesses very evidently supported this review.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

As always, Greenhouse Tavern does not di ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

As always, Greenhouse Tavern does not disappoint whether we're talking about selection of food and drink, service, variety of ingredients or any other category I could probably think of. It is an excellent place to go whether you're looking for appetizers, a meal or (as was the case this visit and probably most of our visits) sharing a bunch of appetizers to make a meal.

On this particular visit, the two of us shared five items from the firsts and seconds portion of the menu (generally the more appetizer-y items): fried Brussels sprouts, chicken wings confit, pommes frites, eggplant meatballs and potato cornichon. While they were all excellent, the new standouts were the sprouts and the meatballs: the sprouts for their amazing caramelization and being a new take on an underappreciated vegetable; and the meatballs for being a great way to use eggplant without slathering it with a bunch of sauce that masks its flavor. I've had the wings nearly every time I've been to GHT, and I don't really like chicken wings ordinarily. I don't hate them, but GHT's are the only ones I'll eat in public without hesitation. With the exception of the wings, everything was vegetarian friendly. With the further exception of the meatballs (which have a sheep's milk cheese), everything was vegan.

TL;DR: Go here.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was in town with some friends for the Br ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Was in town with some friends for the Browns game and was looking for a place for dinner on the Saturday night. I had been a few years ago with some buddies. This time it was two couples. The four of us were definitely not disappointed.

There was something for everyone and all delicious. Services was excellent. Our server was very knowledgeable and explained everything well.

We will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the Greenhouse Tavern for its va ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We love the Greenhouse Tavern for its variety and creativity that suits all diets and appetites. The wait staff are some of the best. Kevin was particularly helpful and friendly on this visit. I don't think you can go wrong here.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. Service was awesome and ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Food was great. Service was awesome and fun. Great date venue, or business venue, or meeting a couple people out for dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific food. The mix of flavors is mag ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Terrific food. The mix of flavors is magical. If only the decor wasn't so barn-like in its unsuccessful attempt to be chic. And politely, service is uneven.

Tags: Organic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

We had dinner at the Greenhouse Tavern o ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We had dinner at the Greenhouse Tavern on Saturday night and the food and service were exceptional. Our only complaint was the location of our table. We were under the stairs in a rather dark little cubby.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We went to the greenhouse before an Indi ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We went to the greenhouse before an Indians game. Our server Josh was great and very knowledgeable of the menu. Service was fast and the food was great. Can't wait to go back. Definitely get the Brussels sprouts, wings and loaded fries.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When they first seated us, our table was ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

When they first seated us, our table was way to close to the couple next. Fortunately, they left just as we sat down.

The food was good. I though the menu was confusing. I had no idea what "Firsts, seconds, " meant in terms of the amount of food you would get. The waitress tried to use circles with her hands to describe the amount.

A nice place. Not for me but very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant is in the 4th Street are ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This restaurant is in the 4th Street area of Cleveland that full of restaurants. It is very understated and has a few levels of tables and a bar on the first floor. Our table was not ready when we arrived and we were happy to get a free round of drinks while we waited. We ordered the brussel sprouts app and also the chicken wings, we were not disappointed. The chicken wings were some of the best we have ever had. Very crispy and moist with a tart finish. The brussel sprouts were also perfectly seasoned. All of our meals were delicious.

The only complaint that I would have is with the portion size and the way the food is plated. The rabbit ragu was a small portion with very little rabbit and it was arranged on only one side of the plate. All of the portion sizes were small. I hate to get really great food, but not enough of it

Would definitely return, I would recommend a great artisan bread also. We were not offered bread and wonder if it is just not served there??

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was the 4th time I've been to the g ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This was the 4th time I've been to the greenhouse tavern and the food was subpar this time around I'm not sure if maybe the chef changed but I don't think I will be back anytime soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was excellent. Very attentive ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Everything was excellent. Very attentive service and even better food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Alice and Kevin are amazing servers! And ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Alice and Kevin are amazing servers! And of course the food is amazing, that's why we keep on coming back 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food Friendly staff Thanks Kevin

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great food

Friendly staff

Thanks Kevin

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and drink. Our waiter, Kevin, ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food and drink. Our waiter, Kevin, is a gem!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Greenhouse Tavern is incredible. The dri ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Greenhouse Tavern is incredible. The drink menu is vast, the food is homemade and wonderful, the service is accommodating and very friendly, and there are options to fit all diets/allergies.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fun, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Cleveland!

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Best restaurant in Cleveland!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've wanted to go to The Greenhouse for ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 18, 2016

I've wanted to go to The Greenhouse for sometime and glad I did. Went with a friend before a Playhouse Square performance. We ate outside (which is unusual for mid-October). The server was very attentive but did not hover. He spent a lot of time explaining this very unusual menu. Food was very good to excellent. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing & the staff was incredi ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Food was amazing & the staff was incredibly helpful especially the sous chef Jacob. We had the wings - so good & the pork chop is to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Requested their kitchen seating for our ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Requested their kitchen seating for our 20th anniversary celebration and it was very fun. Boisterous staff makes it a true dining experience. We had some amazing small plates: gnocchi, Brussels sprouts, carpaccio and confit wings (their specialty) with a tremendous bottle of wine. Great time watching the orchestrated "chaos" of the kitchen!

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I have been looking forward to dining at ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I have been looking forward to dining at Greenhouse Tavern, and finally had the opportunity. I made a reservation to ensure our experience was good, and yet the meal itself couldn't have been more disappointing. My husband and daughter ordered burgers and a "tater" to share. I ordered a strip steak and another "tater". I can't believe that both the burger (an $18 burger, by the way) and the "taters" both came out lukewarm. We sent the taters back, and the server didn't charge us the $1 upcharge for substituting the taters because we had to send them back (!) so we were saved $2 for our inconvenience. You would think that this place could make a really GOOD $18 burger, and that their food would be hot. I will never eat there again. The server was really nice, but that's all I can say. Never going back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.