Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About The Greenhouse Tavern

Chef Jonathon Sawyer's sustainably inspired flagship restaurant located in the heart of downtown Cleveland.

2038 E 4th Street
Cleveland, OH 44115
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, French, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Supper: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Euclid & Prospect

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 443-0511

Website:
http://www.thegreenhousetavern.com/

Catering:
Off site catering is available upon request. Please email events@thegreenhousetavern.com in regards to your event.

Parking Details:
Valet is available on East 4th at the cost of $8 per vehicle. Valet operated by MVP Parking. Prices may vary. Network Parking also operates many parking lots in the area.

Public Transit:
Short walk from both Terminal Tower and Public Square - RTA and Trolly lines (http://www.riderta.com/).

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Sawyer

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate groups of 15 to 40 in our private areas. The entire restaurant is available for events with 130 or more guests. Off site catering also available. We understand each event is different so we will help customize to your specific needs.

Private Party Contact:
Tom Sawyer: (216) 443-0511

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Greenhouse Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (47)
Creative Cuisine (46)
Good for a Date (40)
See All
Fun (37)
Local Ingredients (32)
Special Occasion (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Comfort Food (25)
Casual (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Hot Spot (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Authentic (18)
Great Beer (17)
Gluten Free Options (16)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Business Meals (13)
People Watching (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Vegan (12)
Cozy (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Seasonal (11)
Romantic (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Organic (9)
Healthy (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tapas (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Family Style (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Historic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Private Room (1)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
2658 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Concert at the Q

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Enjoyed our lunch very much. The service was very good. the food was very good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great meal. Creative. Delicious. And were very sensitive to allergy needs. A must visit when in Cleveland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 13, 2017

everything was simply amazing. Even brussel sprouts take on a whole new wonderful meaning. The pigs head is a total experience. My friends and i were joking that Johnathan Sawyer must have made a crossroads deal with the devil to be so damn good!! Absolutely LOVE this place..recomend it to everyone!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My fiancé and I went for brunch to celebrate getting engaged. Food was good and place wasn't crowded. A little expensive if it wasn't a special occasion, but everything was pretty good so well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

A little disappointed on this visit to the Greenhouse to celebrate my sister's birthday. My sister and I both had a strip streak which was full of grizzle and therefore hard to eat. My wife called twice to ask that a candle be put in the dessert we ordered and that did not happen. Some of the appetizers we ordered were very good including the Brussel sprouts and artisanal jerky. They could do better.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Rave reviews all around! Great atmosphere, creative menu that doesn't disappoint and personable staff!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Went to Greenhouse Tavern for my parents 28th wedding anniversary. We had an amazing time. Tried just about everything on the menu, including the famed roasted pig's head. Everything was incredible. The service was fantastic and we even chatted with a cook for a bit and ended up buying a round of beers for the kitchen staff. Highly highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My husband & I love coming here! The food is nothing less than amazing. The service is excellent. The cocktails are great. This restaurant is one our favorites.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Those No Name Frites are something else

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Server seemed irritated
Food was only mediocre
Entrees came out before apps
Ordered one of their Moscow mules "on tap"- it was awful.
Asked for salt and pepper- never brought.
Water was never refilled

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We loved Brunch! The eggs benedict was classically prepared and I was craving it again the next day. We were able to hand deliver a thank you round of drinks to the kitchen staff, the whoops and din they made was so amazing. Our Server, Tiffany was great! We will be back if we can!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Fun, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was great, service was a little slow. Especially since we were trying to get to a game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Fantastic place!

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Read an article about the restaurant and had to try it. We went for lunch and had the:
NO NAME FRITES
BACON, FRIED EGGS, WHOLE GRAIN MUSTARD, MOZZARELLA CURD & BROWN GRAVY
Thankfully we shared this because the portion is huge! Homemade cocktails were great! Cool decor with bicycles hanging around the restaurant. Cannot wait to return and try more items on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I hate to say all I got was a burger because it was amazing. Carrot risotto to die for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 24, 2017

As always a wonderful gastro experience. Joshua was an amazing server. He was concise, personable and attentive. He made our experience one of a kind. We will be back !!

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We have been the greenhouse on several occasions and received a five star quality food for some reason the chef is change the menu to exotic bar food and as we were really looking forward to it to celebrate our wedding anniversary it was something altogether then we had experienced in previous years.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I'd heard a lot about Greenhouse and thought I needed to experience. My coworker and I invited 4 business guests and had a wonderful experience. The waitress really knew the menu, even new items and was very pro-active. The food was phenominal! Everyone enjoyed everything.

I would definitely return and recommend it for a great experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Came here for restaurant week. I'm a vegetarian, and I know that Greenhouse has good vegetarian options, and was looking forward to it. The thing that didn't make sense to me is that two of the vegetarian options on the prix fixe menu were exactly the same as on the regular menu (the warm cauliflower salad, and the cacio e pepe). On the regular menu, those items are $11 and $14, respectively. For the prix fixe menu, those items, along with dessert totaled up to $40. There's no way that a dessert is priced at $15 dollars. As a result, I decided to simply order off the regular menu since it was cheaper to do so. I had also pointed it to the server, who was great overall, but I think it caught him off guard because he came back and gave a reason for the huge difference in price. Anyway, not a big deal.

The warm cauliflower salad was actually cold. It was apparent that it had been prepared at an earlier point in time, stored in the refrigerator, and then had been reheated. I get that in the interest of time, items are prepared in bulk earlier in the day. However, if that's the case, the effort should be made to ensure that the food is warm if it's supposed to be warm.

Otherwise, the rest of the food and drinks were great and the service was wonderful.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 21, 2017

I ate here a few nights ago with a friend and it was flawless. The food, the service, the drinks... I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 21, 2017

I had long heard great things about the Greenhouse, so I was happy to finally try it out. We had the lamb burgers with no name fries and a side salad. For dessert the dobosh torte and popcorn pot de creme. All the food was excellent with the no name fries and pot de creme, truly outstanding. A half order of the fries, like Canadian poutine, is plenty to share. However, after the first bite, you will not want to share the pot de creme, so I recommend you get your own! We will be back to try the chicken wings and tartar. Looking forward to another visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Restaurant week lunch was great, vegan gumbo, cauliflower salad, bologna sandwich, and hamburger and gravy fries. All food was flavorsome and lunch was very reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our waiter was amazing--he explained the menu very well, pointing out what he recommended (the brussel sprouts are am-a-zing!) and easily answering any questions we had. The food is beyond exceptional and beautifully plated!

Tags: Great Beer, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our expectations going to the Greenhouse Tavern were very high. Our waiter was a little overbearing too much sharing - we like good service with just the right amount of interaction.
Food was fine but not up to the what we expected and it was super expensive which is okay if you are getting what you pay for - not the case here during our visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food and service were great!!! No complain there.
Though the stairwell that leads to the upper deck in the back could use some clean up or update. Also a bit too many tables up there in my mind in comparison to ground floor.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was great, reasonably priced for a Downtown, high-quality restaurant, and the cocktails were fantastic. Our server was extremely knowledgeable and informative.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was great. Definitely will know for next time to reserve a private table though. Our table was extremely close(like 3 inches) to tables on both sides. It was like we were dining with strangers.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great date night, amazing food and a fantastic evening out in downtown Cleveland.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Hands down the greatest brussel sprouts known to mankind.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Perfect place for a drink and small bite after the theater.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The server was off her game. The rest of the staff was very friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Family outing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Everything was amazing, from the food to our waiter. Whenever we want a meal out Greenhouse is at the top of our list.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Confit chicken wings are a must. Brussel Sprouts alone will make you go back.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Had a wonderful time dining with friends at the chef's table. Watching all the action in the kitchen was entertaining, the tastings that we were offered were a great way to try some additional items from the menu, and our meals were all delicious. We were showing relatives from out of state our wonderful city and they were so impressed, especially with Greenhouse Tavern! Can't wait to come back again!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Lamb burger was sensational and the fries that came with it were among the best fries ever. Best value on the menu. Some other meat appetizer thing was literally 1oz of meat for $14. Serving was so tiny that it took a while for us to realize it wasn't a joke. At that price I expect literally gold in my mouth and that was not nearly the case. Good service, neat environment

Tags: Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was amazing and so was our waiter. He knew the menu very well and directed me to all excellent choices. Will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great atmosphere. Quick service before Cavs game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.