Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About The Greenhouse Tavern

Chef Jonathon Sawyer's sustainably inspired flagship restaurant located in the heart of downtown Cleveland.

2038 E 4th Street
Cleveland, OH 44115
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, French, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday Supper: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Euclid & Prospect

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 443-0511

Website:
http://www.thegreenhousetavern.com/

Catering:
Off site catering is available upon request. Please email events@thegreenhousetavern.com in regards to your event.

Parking Details:
Valet is available on East 4th at the cost of $8 per vehicle. Valet operated by MVP Parking. Prices may vary. Network Parking also operates many parking lots in the area.

Public Transit:
Short walk from both Terminal Tower and Public Square - RTA and Trolly lines (http://www.riderta.com/).

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Sawyer

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate groups of 15 to 40 in our private areas. The entire restaurant is available for events with 130 or more guests. Off site catering also available. We understand each event is different so we will help customize to your specific needs.

Private Party Contact:
Tom Sawyer: (216) 443-0511

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Greenhouse Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (65)
Good for a Date (50)
Creative Cuisine (43)
See All
Local Ingredients (33)
Fun (32)
Casual (31)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Special Occasion (27)
Hot Spot (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Comfort Food (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Seasonal (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Authentic (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Organic (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Great Beer (13)
Business Meals (13)
Healthy (13)
Happy Hour (12)
People Watching (12)
Vegan (11)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Romantic (8)
Cozy (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Scenic View (4)
Tapas (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Family Style (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Historic (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
2735 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

Friends were meeting for brunch and made an early reservation at 11:15, we got our drink and food orders in but it took over 45 minutes to get our meals. They brought two of them out and about 10 minutes later they brought the other two out. I think I'll stick to dinner or a late night snack which I highly recommend!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

very good food and excellent service by our waiter Kevin/1

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

Not an experience that I would repeat . Would NOT recommend Greenhouse Tavern

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

Been here before and enjoyed the food and the experience. Came back and this time sat outside, which was great. Great menu and great service. Everything was prepared perfectly and we were all very happy. We learned that as an alternative to duck fat fries they have a vegetarian fryer. They really care about their customers and deliver a quality dining experience regardless of your needs.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I love the decor of the restaurant. Seating was a bit close to surrounding tables. Service was wonderful.

We had dinner for two people - we got the cauliflower salad, market fish (halibut), and steak.
Cauliflower salad was great. Halibut was very overcooked. Steak was also pretty rough and chewy, which I suspect was more due to the aging process (or lack of), rather than how it was cooked.
I didn't have cocktails tonight - I had them before and they have great cocktails here.

Won't come here for food again. Maybe drinks.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Second time to Greenhouse. Our waiter was superb, very attentive. Had pork entrée and their famous "pig Head". You have to wit about 45 minutes for the pig head, but we were in no hurry.
The meat is very, very tender, but it is quite fatty. Theirs enough for two. Too full for dessert.
Overall, great place, low key restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We had brunch reservations and were seated immediately. Service was attentive in spite of pre game crowd. Menu choices were very creative and bloody Mary's outstanding. Deserts were sinfully delicious.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Our "go to place" for years was a bit of a let down on this night. I made a reservation a week before and requested out door seating. When we checked in we were told that out door seating was "first come first serve" and there was a 1.5 hour wait... however there were 2 empty tables. How is it first come first serve with 2 empty tables and a 1.5 hour wait? This was confusing. The food was average at best when it's usually outstanding. The chicken wings were very dry and over cooked. That's our "go to" dish. I waiting at the rooftop bar to close out my tab for several minutes while all 3 bartenders chatted with each other not even servicing other patrons. I had to move down to where they were and "interrupt" them for my tab. We will likely still go back as we've had way more positive trips there then this one, but some attention needs to be made to the issues we faced, especially the out door seating policy.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

One of the most overrated restaurants in Cleveland living off its name recognition. This was our 2nd time eating here, and again we left very unsatisfied and a lot lighter in the wallet. Very sloppy food presentation, poor and rude service. Everything was way over salted and its not fun when you have to pick lemon seeds and garlic peel out of your food when you are eating. We would never go back again and I would advise others the same thing. Plenty of other great and much cheaper restauarants in Cleveland to go to and actually enjoy your dining experience. Chef Sawyer should be embarrassed at what this restaurant has become.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Fantastic experience and value! Great service, food and drink choices.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We had a large group before the cavs final game and it was perfect! Our Server was phenomenal! Food was soooo good. Everyone loved their meal! Very accommodating!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The food was OK for the most part. I thought the portion for the pork Chop at like 28.00 was extremely small. The Grouper was nice, but the couscous was very bland. The Brussel Sprouts very good. All in all it was just OK for me....

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: People Watching, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Food was just ok, nothing special. Was crammed upstairs to eat. They seat you right up against other diners so close you could hear their conversations.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great experience for first time at the Greenhouse Tavern. We had heard good things about it from others, and decided to go there for a night out on our wedding anniversary. We were warmly greeted at the door, and since we were a little early for our reservation it was suggested we visit the rooftop bar while waiting. That was super-casual, nothing fancy about it. We did get a few dinner suggestions from the bartender. On to dinner...

Our server, Daniel, was great and very knowledgeable about the menu and the restaurant. We sat at the Chef's Table, a short 6-seat bar in front of the kitchen. There was a table for larger parties behind us.

Appetizers were chicken wings (suggested by a number of people) and Brussel Sprouts (I'm not a fan). The wings were fall-off-the-bone-crazy-good and packed with flavor. I would go back just for those. My wife enjoyed them as well and also said the Brussel Sprouts were great.

Main Course: Bone-in Pork Belly (me), Deep Sea Grouper (wife). I've had small pork belly appetizers, but this was no small appetizer. Amazing. Melt in your mouth. It was rich, but the salad with citrus dressing gave the palate a break making it easy to go back for more. Fantastic.

The chef that made the Grouper was right in front of us. The Grouper was tender and delicious. We squeezed in some quick chats while he was busy, but he let us know what he was doing and turned us on to some of the kitchen lingo and what the staff was doing when they cheered or flashed the lights.

No skimping on serving sizes for anything we had. Being right in the action of the kitchen was a very cool experience. We will definitely return. Great, fun evening.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We began our night on the Rooftop Bar - limited drink menu but expansive beer selection. Happy hour is the best time. Eventually worked our way to the first floor where we had wings (great), cauliflower (even greater), brussel sprouts (on par with the cauliflower) and burger. Service was excellent. When we told them that they brought a dish we hadn't ordered, they took it right off the bill (but still allowed us to eat it!). Good value IMO.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Most seconds on menu can be a meal.
Great eclectic flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The food and service were both amazing! They also had a great bourbon selection.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Appreciated that they had an outdoor ready for us when we arrived on a very busy Saturday with no waiting. Service was excellent and the food outstanding.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Service was just horrible. The waitress blew the orders, paid no attention and it took 30 minutes to get beers after first order.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 27, 2017

A very eclectic menu. We first went for a late night drink then returned for brunch. A fabulous bourbon list.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We had the legendary bbq pig head for the table and it's a unique dining experience. Great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Slow start to service,but ended up being great. Food was outstanding. Got the loaded fries and Brussels sprouts to start. Would recommend both. Veggie pot pie and burgers didn't disappoint either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Overpriced with a great location and a reputation that is based on a prominent chef

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Excellent flavors!! And great service. This was the highlight of our trip to Cleveland.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Great food! At at the Bar and watched Cavs game. Food is excellent but portions vary so ask the server how much food you are ordering. I'll go back.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Excellent, creative food in a casual, fun setting. Hits all the right notes.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Cacio e Pepe is out of this world!!! Worth the trip just for this entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food was very good. We sat in the front window and it was intimate. The service was distracted at best.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My peppery pasta with an egg was awesome as well as their tabasco fried chicken. The chicken was the best my husband ever had. We think the poutine fell short though. The gravy was not appealing to us and we have had poutine everywhere!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Had Brunch on a Sat at noon. It was awesome and creative. The Bloodies we also great. Downtown Cleveland is a hopping place, at all times of day, every day!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The Greenhouse Tavern fails to disappoint. Food and drinks are excellent and consistent. All 6 dishes were well received.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Kevin our server was great!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent burger! Nice wait staff and great location for sporting events or concerts!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Organic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great spot. One of my favorite places in Cleveland. Casual vibe, friendly and competent wait staff. Food is phenomenal.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Our server was beyond friendly and even thanked myself and my date for being so polite.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great food and friendly service! My wife literally had a dream about their chicken wings after the first time we dined at Greenhouse. Recently ate there again, ordered two servings of wings (brought one home). Seems pretty popular, recommend making a reservation.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Organic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 8, 2017

WENT HERE FOR DINNER BEORE A CONCERT AT THE HOUSE OF BLUES. WE WERE SEATED IMMEDIATELY AND OUR DRINK ORDER WAS TAKEN. THE WAITER WAS WELL INFORMED AND VERY ATTENTIVE. THE FOOD WAS OUTSTANDING AND QUITE UNIQUE. GREAT PLACE, GREAT SERVICE, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 8, 2017

It was my boyfriends birthday and I surprised him with dinner at the Greenhouse Tavern. I'll start with saying that the meal was amazing and we both really enjoyed our food. We will definitely be back in the future for it (my porkchop was wonderful.) However, our experience as a whole was not that great since we were seated right next to a server station. That on its own is not a problem but we constantly had around two to three servers near us, all talking loudly to each other about their personal lives. I work in fine dining and that is not allowed at my restaurant - it's disruptive and really took us out of the experience that we were hoping to get. Our server was very attentive otherwise and we were constantly taken care of. And like I said, the food was wonderful. Because of this, we will be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Service was great! Just had a very noisy party in our section, making it difficult to talk to my own party, but nothing the restaurant could do about that

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Spicy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was creative and incredibly good. Highly recommend!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.