About The Greenhouse Tavern

2038 E 4th Street
Cleveland, OH 44115
View Larger Map

Chef Jonathon Sawyer's sustainably inspired flagship restaurant located in the heart of downtown Cleveland.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, French, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00am
Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Euclid & Prospect

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 443-0511

Website:
http://www.thegreenhousetavern.com/

Catering:
Off site catering is available upon request. Please email events@thegreenhousetavern.com in regards to your event.

Parking Details:
Valet is available on East 4th at the cost of $8 per vehicle. Valet operated by MVP Parking. Prices may vary. Network Parking also operates many parking lots in the area.

Public Transit:
Short walk from both Terminal Tower and Public Square - RTA and Trolly lines (http://www.riderta.com/).

Executive Chef:
Jonathon Sawyer

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate groups of 15 to 40 in our private areas. The entire restaurant is available for events with 130 or more guests. Off site catering also available. We understand each event is different so we will help customize to your specific needs.

Private Party Contact:
Tom Sawyer: 2164430511x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

The Greenhouse Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Hot Spot
Cleveland
Most Booked
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Downtown Cleveland ›

fit for foodies (153)
special occasion (94)
hot spot (89)
See All
neighborhood gem (72)
good for groups (62)
vibrant bar scene (56)
great for lunch (37)
romantic (32)
great for brunch (26)
notable wine list (24)
late-night find (23)
great for outdoor dining (17)
scenic view (7)
kid-friendly (5)
Sort By:
Newest
2303 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant!

Dined 4 days ago

I have eaten at Greenhouse dozens of times and I literally have never had anything I didn't love. It's expensive, sure, but so worth it. Even a pickier eater can't go wrong with anything on the menu. This is the one place that I don't care if a dish has an ingredient I don't usually like -- I know they can and will make it amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We pass through Cleveland on our way to ...

Dined 5 days ago

We pass through Cleveland on our way to Oberlin twice a year and eat at the Greenhouse Taven every time. It's always good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Greenhouse retains a place as hardy, ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The Greenhouse retains a place as hardy, healthy locally sourced comfort food with a twist. Genius reinventions of things you've eaten your whole life -- the brussels sprouts had a tang, the (pimento) cheese poofs -- that make your mouth wish for more. Locally sourced red meat has a whole other flavor, even beyond the local high end steak places -- and the frites are crispy on the outside, moist on the inside. Cocktails are inventive. Again, emphasis on local or in-house ingredients. Whether you want it boozy, refreshing or flirty, they know how to mix a cocktail. Not to mention too many local craft beers on tap. The look is cozy industrial chic: nods to Cleveland's roots, but also that repurposing of old things as new. The flying bicycles evoke "ET" in the back of the restaurant. The paintings aren't quite outsider art, but they have a primitive boldness that grab your eyes. Truly, wonderful. And the popcorn pots du creme is singular: light, buttery, crunchy, odd, but yummy.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was very good (thanks to waiters re ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Food was very good (thanks to waiters recommendations). Didn't like being upstairs because it was hot and awkward to get to.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4

I thought the food was average. We were ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I thought the food was average. We were seated upstairs where the temperature was very hot. And the noise level was high, but rather than calling it energetic, I'd say it was distracting. We could not hear across the table. Sorry, but I would not recommend this restaurant

food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Bad experience

Dined on May 13, 2016

I would not return to this establishment. The best thing on the menu are the french fries, and they can be purchased much cheaper in other establishment. The steak was tough, and the pork belly was so salty it was inedible. The double decker veggie burger was like mush. Thank goodness Colossal Cupcake was open for desert. Was over priced!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For all the hype I've heard for years of ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

For all the hype I've heard for years of Greenhouse Tavern, I somehow never manged to get there until now. Everything was truly spectacular. The food fully foodie appropriate without being hipster pretentious, as many of these types of restaurants are. There were several items on the menu I wanted to order. Our server was very friendly and attentive. More than anything, I would point out the prices. I was surprised to see that the entrees (save for a few elite items) were not more expensive, and we all were more than shocked at the cost of the drinks. Beers that I'd be accustomed to spending $8-9 in a restaurant were $5-6. The bourbon I ordered I've often been charged $15-20 for and it was $8! Great to feel you're having a legit great meal and not getting ripped off for it! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a couple of Apps

Dined on May 9, 2016

The Wings are legendary and lived up to every comment. I am not in or from Cleveland, but for work spend alot of time here. I can't wait to bring others to try. Just had a few small plates because it was myself. The wings again live up to all hype. I was lukewarm on the clam dish. Perhaps because I really, really like clams and really did not need anything to mask their flavors. Can't wait to to explore more small plates and the menu in depth. Was jealous of other tables who had 3-6 people and could share and explore. It was just me. But will take people here next time. Awesome place you have here Mr. Sawyer.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

The food is amazing!!! Will definitely b ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is amazing!!! Will definitely be going back!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated at the chefs table which ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were seated at the chefs table which is noisy but a lot of fun. Ver interesting to see the dishes being prepared whetting our appetite to try new things. Overall a memorable experience.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Mother's Day dinner

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was exceptional. Ordered the house specialities: BBQ'd pig's head & Fred Flintstone beef short ribs. A must for serious foodies....

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Very unique, delicious food in a relaxed ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Very unique, delicious food in a relaxed casual atmosphere. Our server was very knowledgeable about the ingredients in preparation for each dish.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great dinner and excellent service - date night

Dined on April 30, 2016

Wide variety of choices including sub-menus for small, medium and entree sized items, all delicious. I especially enjoyed the pork loin. Waiter was knowledgeable and extremely helpful and made great suggestions. He asked if we needed special timing on the meal as we were attending a concert afterwards, but we arrived very early, so no special accommodation for timing was required. He even fixed us up with special bar seating after dinner so that we could enjoy the best chocolate martini's ever made! This was our third time here, and we will keep coming back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love that they cater to Gluten Allergies

Dined on April 29, 2016

We were thrilled to see the front cover of the menu state how they are willing to accommodate different food preferences/ allergies...and there were lots of great options for us! The food had great flavor and the staff was warm and friendly! We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience5
service5

I read all the reviews and we decided to ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

I read all the reviews and we decided to give it a try. The Brussels sprouts were highly recommended and they were great as were the chicken wings. They did fall off the bone, but a bit too tangy (citrus/vinegar..not sure). Our waiter recommended the clams and they were awesome. Our entrees were a disappointment. My husband ordered the pork chop that was essentially ham. Unimpressive. The strip steak sounded good but was chewy and tough. It was cooked to order but again, a disappointment. The table next to us ordered the pigs head. It looked like an amazing pulled pork dish large enough for 4 people. Next time!

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We really enjoyed the smothered fries wi ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

We really enjoyed the smothered fries with pork belly. The Flintstone ribs were good but had almost as much fat as there was meat which left a huge puddle of grease under the ribs and mashed pot. We ordered 4 different apps which are small portions for the price as was the pork dinner for $30.00 but tastes good. The prices are a bit high considering the atmosphere resembles an old corner bar and most of the menu items comes from the west side market rite around the corner. If we go again we know what and what not to order. Service was very good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Appetizers

Dined on April 23, 2016

We really enjoyed the appetizers! The wings were delicious and fell off the bone-very tender. The Gnocchi and brussels sprouts were great and enjoyed by all. Two of us had the walleye which was perfect. The only complaint from 2 of the guests was that the pork tenderloin was undercooked for their taste.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food & great experience!

Dined on April 22, 2016

Amazing food & great experience!

food5
ambience4
service2
value4

On Cavs game nights

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Beware if they are serving a lot of people in the lower kitchen area. The bartenders can't keep up; the servers have too many tables assigned, so you have long waits for drinks (40 min) and some ordered food items may not arrive. Usual great food.

food4
ambience5
service5

Service was exceptional. Food for our g ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Service was exceptional. Food for our guests ...steaks...was gobbled up. My cauliflower was very salty...but the house salad was exceptional.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly Extraordinary

Dined on April 16, 2016

A truly memorable dining experience. The menu is diverse, though not to large. Each of the dishes was so lovingly prepared and with such interesting flavors and beautiful balance that it is an exciting dining experience from app. to dessert. The energy is great, the staff knowledgable and ready to please. But most of all what I love is that the menu ranges through meat-dishes (some of the best you'll have) through vegetarian and even vegan options. Now this is not the usual "let's put something on the menu for the vegetarian/vegans in the crowd. These items are every bit as well thought out and executed as the meat dishes, and that is very rare, and worthy of comment. I would order anything off the menu, because I'm sure it's going to be interesting and beautifully done. Those who run other "foodie" restaurants, and load their menus with short-rib dishes and confit of whatever, because they're "sure things" with diners need to eat the food at the Greenhouse. Look at the menu, eat this food, and then reconsider what you're doing. It's that good. A new destination restaurant for us, absolutely first-rate.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Third Visit

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

We had an early dinner at the Greenhouse Tavern last weekend and enjoyed it a great deal. We sampled their daily fifth quarter (very good), the fried brussells sprouts (excellent), my wife had the Ohio Beef Burger and I had the strip steak (both were good, but nothing outstanding). It was a wonderful meal and we appreciate the service and presentation of our courses. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another fabulous meal at the Greenhouse Tavern

Dined on April 16, 2016

This was my second visit in less than two months and this restaurant never fails to deliver. The food is consistently outstanding. The service is spot on. It is my go-to dinner place whenever I'm in Cleveland. But don't judge me because I get the fois gras steamed clams every single time I visit. They're that good. Oh, and save room for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good time and a great meal at G ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Always a good time and a great meal at Greenhouse Tavern! Servers are awesome! Don't miss the Brussel sprouts!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner Before Cleveland Play House

Dined on April 15, 2016

This is the second time my friend and I have dined at The Greenhouse Tavern before a play. The first time we shared the Pig's Head. This time we shared Fred Flintstone's Short Ribs. We also had the Rittman's Apple appetizer and the Cheese Poofs appetizer. Everything was perfection!!! Our server Brittany was attentive and very knowledgeable. Our choices came at exactly the right time. The cocktail and wine we ordered were excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Thank you Jonathon Sawyer

Dined on April 9, 2016

Being a foodie, this restaurant brings Cleveland to a level on par with other food cities. The tartar might even be better than any other we've had in the last 10 years, including France.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Just Didn't Work Out

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Planned on pre theatre dinner. Informed our waiter at the beginning since one dish took a while to prepare. Unfortunate kitchen error occurred. They dropped the dish and had to remake the dish. The other two in our party ordered the 5 course tasting. Because of the problem with they delayed delivery of the other courses on the tasting menu. Had to leave before the dinner was completed. Only given a nominal discount on the missed courses. Major service failure. Not typical of the restaurant. It was very busy that evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of my downtown favorites

Dined on April 2, 2016

We went for dinner before attending the Moondog concert. I had the wings and the beef burger, my friend had the walleye. The wings are outstanding, perfectly cooked and very tasty. My burger was cooked to to my ask of medium rare and was very good. The walleye was excellent and we both enjoyed our meals. I tried a few beers, they had a good selection of drafts to pick from.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing . Thought it was pretty ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Food was amazing . Thought it was pretty loud in there

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food

Dined on April 1, 2016

The food was amazing. We all shared several plates - a fried chicken, fried brussel sprouts (utterly delish), Steak, a Burger and a veggie burger. We had the chocolate cake dessert and the some type of popcorn flavored caramel that was unbelievable. Everything was interesting, and tasty. The Veggie burger was the least favorite. Everyone is still talking about the brussel spouts & the dessert three days later. Service was very pleasant all around and on top of everything. Wine list had mostly pricey options, the bottle we choose was very good. This place is worth a trip to Cleveland for, I must say.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fried Brussel sprouts are fantastic. Alw ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Fried Brussel sprouts are fantastic. Always like the wings, burgers and pasta selections.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great !

Dined on March 29, 2016

A step away from the mundane, the new Spring menu has a lot of great options. Still some vegetarian options, but this is the place to be if you love meat ! I had a pork chop that was fantastic, my wife really enjoyed her pasta with chicken. You cant go wrong with any menu choice at the Greenhouse Tavern. Service was excellent - as it always is.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service3

Three unique items in the menu. Creative ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

Three unique items in the menu. Creative but food wise not impressive.

food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Mixed bag

Dined on March 25, 2016

Good food, but the restaurant is a little too noisy for my taste. And the valet parking charge would make me think twice about patronizing any restaurant on East 4th.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

All-adults family of food lovers looked ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

All-adults family of food lovers looked forward to enjoying GHT together for many months. Of 10 dishes shared by the five of us, half were excellent, three were phenomenal, and two disappointed. The two disappointments were the crispy fried chicken wings (strong on lemon, quite nice, but after the crisp bite, the meat turned pasty on chewing) and the gnocchi sardi (not fluffy dumpling-like gnocchi as one would expect, but al dente pasta, and a thoroughly underwhelming sauce. with duck liver mousse we expected something rich and beguiling but it was meh, sweet and light on the palate. I expressed my disappointment about the pasta to the server, who acknowledged that was her fault, she should have mentioned that, 'yeah, it's really just shell pasta.' I'm still sad. won't lie.) The stand-outs I would heartily recommend to anyone are the foie gras clams (grilled bread with the sauce is heaven. do not leave a drop behind.), the miso-crusted walleye (flavors and texture absolutely sing), and the filet of beef tartar (omg. can not stop thinking about this deliciousness. the beef alone is exquisitely flavored but the gorgeous platter affords the diner a playground of tastes with various 'condiments.' I'm surprised it is listed with 'seconds' on the menu as it is served with pommes frites and is a generous meal for one, possibly two.) We will be back. Just maybe not so many of us. At nearly $200 for the gang, food only, it's a splurge for a very special day (that's us. kids in college + we're gluttonous with good food). And we'll hope to hit high notes with every choice because, wow, when it's good, it's so good, you'll be daydreaming about it for a long, long time. Thank you, GHT!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Wonderful unique food

Dined on March 21, 2016

As always, the restaurant did not disappoint with menu and final product. Our waiter totally messed up out son's order and didn't do anything except say "I thought he ordered something else!" That's it. Ok. We had plenty of food so we all shared and we saved $30. Guess that works.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience1
service1

Overpriced & the menu was very limited.

Dined on March 19, 2016

Overpriced & the menu was very limited.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So impressed!!

Dined on March 18, 2016

Food drinks and service were amazing!!! I can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

It's been on our list for a while and fi ...

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

It's been on our list for a while and finally we got to go! Our server was fantastic. The food is different but DELICIOUS. The popcorn Carmel dessert was in the top 5 desserts I have ever had! If you haven't been go!!!

food1
ambience3
service3

Had fish it was inedible undercooked tou ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

Had fish it was inedible undercooked tough

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.