About The Greenfield Restaurant

595 Greenfield Road
Lancaster, PA 17601
View Larger Map

Set in a 1780 Pennsylvania Stone Farmhouse with deep windows and a warm pleasant atmosphere this is a family owned and operated restaurant that is recognized as one of the "Best of Lancaster" for dinner, Sunday Brunch, patio dining, wine list, atmosphere and romantic settings. Although our building is over 225 years old we update our menu daily! Change is a good thing at the Greenfield. We specialize in next day delivery of Hawaiian Finfish and seafood while we continue to cut our own steaks. You will enjoy selections from our wine list that has been recognized by the Wine Spectator Magazine for over 9 years. Our patio and balcony over looking the trendy bar is among our customers favorite requests for lunch and dinner seating, while the wine cellar has two of the most romantic tables in the area. If you are traveling, this is one of those restaurants that you wish you had back home....and we are happy that you found us.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm Sunday Breakfast & Brunch: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
William Penn Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(717) 393-0668

Website:
http://www.thegreenfieldrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano Player in the Lounge on Friday & Saturday evenings 6 - 10pm Lovely Ladies of Jazz Trio - Wednesday 6:30 - 9:30pm

Catering:
We offer full catering services for any occasion whether it is business, corporate, pharmaceutical, wedding and home food-services. Fully equipped with trucks and professional staff to design, produce maintain your event wherever your location. We are recognized as the Best of Lancaster in Catering as well as the Best of the Knot for wedding services. Call and ask for Ray or Kristen Hottenstein for details.

Parking Details:
More than adequate parking in our well lighted parking lot that is adjacent to the building.

Public Transit:
Public transit stops in front of the property

Executive Chef:
Jon Weaver

Private Party Facilities:
Bridal or baby showers are a specialty here at the Greenfield. Our house is yours if you want to take the whole first floor on a Saturday afternoon or a Sunday evening. The patio is available during the warmer months, although we have on occasion covered it for a special event. Please contact Ray for this venue.

Private Party Contact:
Ray Hottenstein: 7173930668

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ask about our wine cellar seating. You will be in our actual cellar with only 2 tables in a very romantic and secluded area that is below ground. Ask us about "Wild Wednesday's" and our "Wild" Game offerings.

Restaurant Photos

  • Broiled Giant Diver Sea Scallops - The Greenfield Restaurant, Lancaster, PA
  • Lobster Mac & Cheese - The Greenfield Restaurant, Lancaster, PA
  • Prime Bistro Barrel Cut Rib Eye Steak - The Greenfield Restaurant, Lancaster, PA
  • Caesar Salad - The Greenfield Restaurant, Lancaster, PA
Broiled Giant Diver Sea Scallops - The Greenfield Restaurant, Lancaster, PA
Lobster Mac & Cheese - The Greenfield Restaurant, Lancaster, PA
Prime Bistro Barrel Cut Rib Eye Steak - The Greenfield Restaurant, Lancaster, PA
Caesar Salad - The Greenfield Restaurant, Lancaster, PA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

The Greenfield Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Lancaster County
Best Food
Lancaster County
Best Service
Lancaster County
2 More
Best Ambiance
Lancaster County
Best Value
Lancaster County
Best Restaurants in Lancaster ›

Romantic (20)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
See All
Good for a Date (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Cozy (13)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Business Meals (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Casual (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Private Room (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Seasonal (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Historic (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Authentic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Healthy (3)
Scenic View (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fireplace (2)
Fun (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
People Watching (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
596 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome experience as always! Our server ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 7 days ago

Awesome experience as always! Our server Emily was outstanding. As was our bartender (Pam?) for pre- and post-dinner drinks. Can't wait to return again!

Tags: Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience! However , we won' ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful experience! However , we won't go on a Saturday night again-- a bit too noisy.

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great atmosphere Great food. Very frie ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great atmosphere Great food. Very friendly staff

Tags: Cozy, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding. First visit but won't be la ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Outstanding. First visit but won't be last. Courses served without sense of being rushed or need to turn the table. Great for a first date. $$$ but well worth it. Best Manhattan I've had in a long time.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, generous portions and gr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Excellent food, generous portions and gracious server.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We live nearby and are regulars. We love ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We live nearby and are regulars. We love Ray the owner. A grown-up restaurant. Quality food in an adult atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

From the moment you walk in the door the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

From the moment you walk in the door the staff is welcoming and wonderful! The food has always been excellent. If you are stuck between two choices always ask the staff. I have never been sorry

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our first visit to the Greenfie ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was our first visit to the Greenfield restaurant. Ambiance and decor was really nice with an impressive wine list and a fun drink menu. When asking about unique gins, the bartender was energetic enough to bring over several bottles to tell me about.

A jazz piano player provided excellent background music.

Food was good, although not very hot on delivery. Menu was varied with great options and fun, seasonal entrees.

Our server was busy, catering to many tables. For this reason, there were long strings without anyone checking up on us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

The food was fabulous , the waiter was f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The food was fabulous , the waiter was fantastic - However, the woman bar keep and the drinks were both horrible (Drinks & Service) , because of the bar experience we we not go back to this restaurant.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is our go-to Sunday Brunch restaura ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This is our go-to Sunday Brunch restaurant when visiting Lancaster County. Always good food, pleasant staff and easy access with plenty of parking.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just nice place to have lunch with thre ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Just nice place to have lunch with three friends. Food was delicious. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Excellent service and food. Fantastic f ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent service and food. Fantastic for any special occasion.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

On Oct 2 I made the reservation for two ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 18, 2016

On Oct 2 I made the reservation for two at 7;pm. we arrived there at 6;50 the hostess asked if we would like a high top table or we could eat outside,well I am a few weeks over a total knee replacement so a high top was out of the question and I didn't want to sit out in the dark . I was told that they had no tables and because they take walkins. It was not even 7:pm so I felt they should have had my table. We never got seated till7:45. I have eaten at this several times before however I will not go there again, We were very unhappy with the whole experience.Will not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Very very uncomfortable atmosphere. Felt ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Very very uncomfortable atmosphere. Felt like a funeral.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

We arrived early but ended up waiting 20 ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We arrived early but ended up waiting 20 minutes past our reservation to be seated.

Once seated the loud noise from a nearby table encouraged me to request another table, not available. Night manager personally was engaged.After her encouragement and another 7-8 minutes the loud table exited. The meals were all good and the waiter was exceptional, and apologetic.

I would try another fine dining venue before I returned to the Greenfield.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We love the Greenfield Inn. Our 1st tim ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We love the Greenfield Inn. Our 1st time there was to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary, and this year we wanted to again enjoy our Wedding Anniversary there. This year was our 36th. We love the privacy of the "Wine Cellar" and the wonderful meal, and service. Be assured as long as you are there we will come back.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

French onion soup and rare venison loin ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 5, 2016

French onion soup and rare venison loin special. Could not be prepared, presented and taste any better. Impressive wine list. Will visit again when I'm in Lancaster next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my wife to Greenfield for our 25t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 28, 2016

I took my wife to Greenfield for our 25th anniversary. In the reservation, I had asked for special seating, and they truly delivered! We were led to a private room in the wine cellar, where we were served a delicious meal. The atmosphere was great and so was the service. They were up and down the stairs for us several times. This was a great choice for our special date!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I really enjoyed making a meal from the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I really enjoyed making a meal from the variety of delicious appetizers and desserts. Service was accommodating and welcoming. The atmosphere was pleasant. Even though I was dining alone, I didn't feel out of place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Greenfield Inn has good, dependable lunc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Greenfield Inn has good, dependable lunch and dinner options. Servers are polite, attentive, always checking back to make sure all diners are satisfied. Newly redecorated, the Greenfield Inn is sure to please the most discriminating.

I would not hesitate to bring a group in, everyone is always pleased and impressed by the quality of food. I brought two dear friends for lunch last week; we all had the soup and salad combo. The soups were delicious and salads fresh with fresh greens. In particular I had the soup special of the day which was creamy vegetable and the strawberry chicken salad, both outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Historic, Quick Bite, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Happy Hour, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food and atmosphere was excellent! Ray H ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Food and atmosphere was excellent! Ray Hottenstein was very kind to stop by our table and say hello! We will definitely be returning!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My review may not take 50 characters, so ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 13, 2016

My review may not take 50 characters, so---here goes: excellent in all categories.

Alex, the server is an asset to your company-people oriented,friendly and has a wonderful smile. He truly made our dining experience something we will remember. My out of town guest(TN) were totally impressed with your menu selection, the presentation and the quality of the food. Thank you.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time will definitely go back. Food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2016

First time will definitely go back. Food and service was great!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were looking for a place to eat in La ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We were looking for a place to eat in Lancaster that was somewhere between casual and fine dining. This was a decent choice. It wasn't outstanding, but the food was good and the place was friendly. We got there at 815 on a Friday and it was almost empty. The service was very good, and the chicken liver mousse was excellent, though there was just too much of it. We split a prime rib, and still took some home. OK if you aren't familiar with Lancaster and need a place to eat...

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointed in the small size of the wi ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Disappointed in the small size of the wine serving

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food, wine list and service was excellen ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Food, wine list and service was excellent. Looking forward to returning for another meal in the future.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was amazing! We would eat there ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food was amazing! We would eat there all the time if we could afford too. It's a bit pricey but worth it. It did get loud as the evening went on, but it was not that bad. There was a piano and there was a gentleman playing that was very good. It was an enjoying experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant has a pleasant atmosphere ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The restaurant has a pleasant atmosphere. The personnel are friendly. The food is very good and the drinks are excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service at thisrestaurant was superb. Gr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Service at thisrestaurant was superb. Great decor andvery warm environment.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a hit with out of town guests. Se ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always a hit with out of town guests. Service, food selection and the ability to cater to dietary needs. Highly recommend. Earlier in the month dined with another couple and had a lovely evening with music on Friday night.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic restaurant. Will be back soon

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Fantastic restaurant. Will be back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tremendous night- great service and food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Tremendous night- great service and food. Piano player was wonderful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect as always! Food, service, atmos ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Perfect as always! Food, service, atmosphere, even making reservations, every aspect is perfect!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent good and outstanding service!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Excellent good and outstanding service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our standby restaurant for speci ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is our standby restaurant for special occasions and was there for our daughter's 21st birthday (her choice). It did not disappoint. Food was outstanding as always. They have the best calamari in Lancaster. We did have a snafu regarding wine selection and ended up with a very expensive (albeit nice) bottle of wine that raised the cost of our bill and eyebrows, needless to say. The wait staff was apologetic and owner took the time to remedy the bill and call me personally to let me know things were reconciled. I couldn't have asked for more and will certainly return for our next special occasion!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great atmosphere but mediocre food. Exc ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great atmosphere but mediocre food. Excellent, friendly server. Scallops were over-seared on one side, raw in middle. Chicken was overdone and dry. After reading positive reviews I expected much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Great food here; my wife and I happened ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great food here; my wife and I happened upon the restaurant when the hotel we were staying at got too loud due to a wedding. My wife had scallops and I had a steak; both were expertly prepared.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Décor and menu (food quality and type of ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Décor and menu (food quality and type of food) really need updated. Waiter- Brian did a nice job but place did seem disorganized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Once again, Greenfield proves it is a gr ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Once again, Greenfield proves it is a great restaurant and special place. A big group of us took my dad here for Father's Day. Greenfield has become our family's special occasion place. The food was excellent. The crab cakes are really good, the salmon is always great, and the horseradish potatoes are so good! And the service is wonderful. The little extras like the host taking the kids in our group on a tour of the restaurant and then after dinner, taking pictures of us outside were so appreciated and helped make it a special evening. Thanks Greenfield!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great overall experience! Creative menu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great overall experience! Creative menu with fresh ingredients that won't disappoint.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.