About The Greenfield Restaurant

595 Greenfield Road
Lancaster, PA 17601
View Larger Map

Set in a 1780 Pennsylvania Stone Farmhouse with deep windows and a warm pleasant atmosphere this is a family owned and operated restaurant that is recognized as one of the "Best of Lancaster" for dinner, Sunday Brunch, patio dining, wine list, atmosphere and romantic settings. Although our building is over 225 years old we update our menu daily! Change is a good thing at the Greenfield. We specialize in next day delivery of Hawaiian Finfish and seafood while we continue to cut our own steaks. You will enjoy selections from our wine list that has been recognized by the Wine Spectator Magazine for over 9 years. Our patio and balcony over looking the trendy bar is among our customers favorite requests for lunch and dinner seating, while the wine cellar has two of the most romantic tables in the area. If you are traveling, this is one of those restaurants that you wish you had back home....and we are happy that you found us.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm Sunday Breakfast & Brunch: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
William Penn Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(717) 393-0668

Website:
http://www.thegreenfieldrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano Player in the Lounge on Friday & Saturday evenings 6 - 10pm Lovely Ladies of Jazz Trio - Wednesday 6:30 - 9:30pm

Catering:
We offer full catering services for any occasion whether it is business, corporate, pharmaceutical, wedding and home food-services. Fully equipped with trucks and professional staff to design, produce maintain your event wherever your location. We are recognized as the Best of Lancaster in Catering as well as the Best of the Knot for wedding services. Call and ask for Ray or Kristen Hottenstein for details.

Parking Details:
More than adequate parking in our well lighted parking lot that is adjacent to the building.

Public Transit:
Public transit stops in front of the property

Executive Chef:
Jon Weaver

Private Party Facilities:
Bridal or baby showers are a specialty here at the Greenfield. Our house is yours if you want to take the whole first floor on a Saturday afternoon or a Sunday evening. The patio is available during the warmer months, although we have on occasion covered it for a special event. Please contact Ray for this venue.

Private Party Contact:
Ray Hottenstein: 7173930668

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ask about our wine cellar seating. You will be in our actual cellar with only 2 tables in a very romantic and secluded area that is below ground. Ask us about "Wild Wednesday's" and our "Wild" Game offerings.

Restaurant Photos

  • Broiled Giant Diver Sea Scallops
  • Lobster Mac & Cheese
  • Prime Bistro Barrel Cut Rib Eye Steak
  • Caesar Salad
Broiled Giant Diver Sea Scallops
Lobster Mac & Cheese
Prime Bistro Barrel Cut Rib Eye Steak
Caesar Salad

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

The Greenfield Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Lancaster County
Best Food
Lancaster County
Best Service
Lancaster County
4 More
Best Ambiance
Lancaster County
Best Value
Lancaster County
Romantic
Lancaster County
Special Occasion
Lancaster County
Best Restaurants in Lancaster ›

Special Occasion (22)
Romantic (18)
Notable Wine List (15)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Great for Brunch (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Casual (3)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Historic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Authentic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Business Meals (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
People Watching (1)
Healthy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fun (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
578 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I really enjoyed making a meal from the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

I really enjoyed making a meal from the variety of delicious appetizers and desserts. Service was accommodating and welcoming. The atmosphere was pleasant. Even though I was dining alone, I didn't feel out of place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Greenfield Inn has good, dependable lunc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Greenfield Inn has good, dependable lunch and dinner options. Servers are polite, attentive, always checking back to make sure all diners are satisfied. Newly redecorated, the Greenfield Inn is sure to please the most discriminating.

I would not hesitate to bring a group in, everyone is always pleased and impressed by the quality of food. I brought two dear friends for lunch last week; we all had the soup and salad combo. The soups were delicious and salads fresh with fresh greens. In particular I had the soup special of the day which was creamy vegetable and the strawberry chicken salad, both outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Historic, Quick Bite, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Happy Hour, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food and atmosphere was excellent! Ray H ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Food and atmosphere was excellent! Ray Hottenstein was very kind to stop by our table and say hello! We will definitely be returning!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My review may not take 50 characters, so ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

My review may not take 50 characters, so---here goes: excellent in all categories.

Alex, the server is an asset to your company-people oriented,friendly and has a wonderful smile. He truly made our dining experience something we will remember. My out of town guest(TN) were totally impressed with your menu selection, the presentation and the quality of the food. Thank you.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time will definitely go back. Food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

First time will definitely go back. Food and service was great!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were looking for a place to eat in La ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We were looking for a place to eat in Lancaster that was somewhere between casual and fine dining. This was a decent choice. It wasn't outstanding, but the food was good and the place was friendly. We got there at 815 on a Friday and it was almost empty. The service was very good, and the chicken liver mousse was excellent, though there was just too much of it. We split a prime rib, and still took some home. OK if you aren't familiar with Lancaster and need a place to eat...

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointed in the small size of the wi ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Disappointed in the small size of the wine serving

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food, wine list and service was excellen ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Food, wine list and service was excellent. Looking forward to returning for another meal in the future.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was amazing! We would eat there ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food was amazing! We would eat there all the time if we could afford too. It's a bit pricey but worth it. It did get loud as the evening went on, but it was not that bad. There was a piano and there was a gentleman playing that was very good. It was an enjoying experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant has a pleasant atmosphere ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The restaurant has a pleasant atmosphere. The personnel are friendly. The food is very good and the drinks are excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service at thisrestaurant was superb. Gr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Service at thisrestaurant was superb. Great decor andvery warm environment.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a hit with out of town guests. Se ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always a hit with out of town guests. Service, food selection and the ability to cater to dietary needs. Highly recommend. Earlier in the month dined with another couple and had a lovely evening with music on Friday night.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic restaurant. Will be back soon

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Fantastic restaurant. Will be back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tremendous night- great service and food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Tremendous night- great service and food. Piano player was wonderful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect as always! Food, service, atmos ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Perfect as always! Food, service, atmosphere, even making reservations, every aspect is perfect!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent good and outstanding service!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Excellent good and outstanding service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our standby restaurant for speci ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is our standby restaurant for special occasions and was there for our daughter's 21st birthday (her choice). It did not disappoint. Food was outstanding as always. They have the best calamari in Lancaster. We did have a snafu regarding wine selection and ended up with a very expensive (albeit nice) bottle of wine that raised the cost of our bill and eyebrows, needless to say. The wait staff was apologetic and owner took the time to remedy the bill and call me personally to let me know things were reconciled. I couldn't have asked for more and will certainly return for our next special occasion!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great atmosphere but mediocre food. Exc ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great atmosphere but mediocre food. Excellent, friendly server. Scallops were over-seared on one side, raw in middle. Chicken was overdone and dry. After reading positive reviews I expected much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Great food here; my wife and I happened ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great food here; my wife and I happened upon the restaurant when the hotel we were staying at got too loud due to a wedding. My wife had scallops and I had a steak; both were expertly prepared.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Décor and menu (food quality and type of ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Décor and menu (food quality and type of food) really need updated. Waiter- Brian did a nice job but place did seem disorganized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Once again, Greenfield proves it is a gr ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Once again, Greenfield proves it is a great restaurant and special place. A big group of us took my dad here for Father's Day. Greenfield has become our family's special occasion place. The food was excellent. The crab cakes are really good, the salmon is always great, and the horseradish potatoes are so good! And the service is wonderful. The little extras like the host taking the kids in our group on a tour of the restaurant and then after dinner, taking pictures of us outside were so appreciated and helped make it a special evening. Thanks Greenfield!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great overall experience! Creative menu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great overall experience! Creative menu with fresh ingredients that won't disappoint.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

anniversary at Greenfield

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We had a very nice table, very nice servers, and enjoyed the music very much.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Special dinner

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Walked here from the hotel . Very pleasant with a live piano and bass added greatly to the ambience. We were from out of town or we would frequent this restaurant. Our waitress was attentive and knowledgeable. Great evening

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I Thank the staff for a Outstanding Dinner.

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Thank You to the Staff of The Greenfield Restaurant, We were visiting Lancaster County from out of town, for the weekend. The Greenfield Restaurant made our night out, a night to remember. This was a wonderful place to have a romantic dinner with my wife of 30 years. I would recommend anyone visiting Lancaster Co. that would like to have a nice dinner whether for Business, Special occasions or for a nice dinner to visit The Greenfield Restaurant. Your guest will remember and be impressed with your choice. The Restaurant also has a very extensive Wine List to choose from, to match your dinner and palate.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Come back place

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

We come here frequently and have never been disappointed. The food is consistently good, the service is great, and the atmosphere is lovely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff is very accommodating, and cou ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The staff is very accommodating, and could not have been nicer to or more patient with my elderly mother. And the menu offers something for all generations.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Tom

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The restaurant has several nice seating areas. We chose the bar area which is very nice, views of porch seating and outside. Also piano player is located here and plays very nice dinner tunes. Service is excellent, food very well presented and delicious. Wine selection is very good and reasonable priced. We always enjoy Saturday dinner here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice evening with friends.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Spent a nice evening here with friends. Nice bar area with a piano player, great food and our server was very pleasant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good, Not Great

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Our dinner at Greenfield was ok, but nothing special. I thought the prices were a bit high for the quality of the food. The bread was amazing, easily the best part of the meal! I had the prime rib special, which came with potato wedges and mixed vegetables. The prime rib looked great but was a little tough and dry. I had asked for medium rare but I think it was closer to medium. The potatoes were also dry and the veggies were bland. My husband had the pork chop and he said it was salty. The sides were piled on top of the chop and were more of a topping than actual sides. He left hungry.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Disappointed in food and service

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

We have eaten there before....reason why we came back enjoyed it always..this time, totally disappointed with only 3 tables in dining room....service was very slow. when meal did come.. Scallops were not done....half raw.... 4 on plate, and left 2 of them..... all in all, for the price, not at all worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Where's the bread?

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

I had a nice chicken and cashew nut salad for lunch and some ice tea. I was disappointed that they didn't see fit to include some bread or a roll. The waiter said there was date nut bread for purchase, but I was not interested in dessert bread -- just wanted a crust of French bread or a small roll.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Average Brunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Usually the food at dinner is excellent with great service. First time for Brunch and salads were average the breads chewy and cold. Service was spotty. Off day for a usually above average restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Creative Dinner Options

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We were very pleased with the unique menu items and specials. Our dinner was delicious and the atmosphere was lovely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Memorable Dining Experience

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Outstanding dining experience from all aspects. The staff is always courteous, professional yet eager to provide a truly remarkable dining experience. The food and beverages never disappoint. Thank you!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a pleasant surprise to find a great ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Such a pleasant surprise to find a great place to eat and relax. The live music, great service ( I asked to have us moved away from the kitchen) and very good meal is a guarantee that we will come back next time we are in Lancaster PA. The hostess and waited could not be more personable and the owner stopped by to say hello. Very nicely done

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

awesome night

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Every time we visit Lancaster, we have to go to The Greenfield Inn, the atmosphere is awesome, and the service and food is wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A very nice restaurant.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The food was excellent and the ambiance was great. A piano was being played softly in the background. Service was very good. A nice place to have a relaxing meal.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect dinner

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

We had dinner last weekend with our fingers crossed that it would be as wonderful as it was when we last dined, which was over ten years ago...and it was. Actually it was better than we remembered. The portions were very generous and the wine list was impressive. Our entrees were rack of lamb and prime ribs. Both were done exactly as ordered and were extremely tender. We would most definitely return when in the area

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic Meal!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Everything came together perfectly on our most recent visit. We started at the bar and enjoyed a drink and some nice conversation and then we were seated in the wine cellar which has the best ambience in Lancaster. My wife and our friends very much enjoyed our visit together and the food and service were on point. We enjoyed ourselves so much we didn't realized we had stayed 30 minutes past closing time. Great experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.