Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 20 times today
Special offers available. See details

The Greenfield Restaurant

4.6
809 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Perfect For:
  • Cozy
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
Set in a 1780 Pennsylvania Stone Farmhouse with deep windows and a warm pleasant atmosphere this is a family owned and operated restaurant that is recognized as one of the "Best of Lancaster" for dinner, Sunday Brunch, patio dining, wine list, atmosphere and romantic settings. Although our building is over 225 years old we update our menu daily! Change is a good thing at the Greenfield. We specialize in next day delivery of Hawaiian Finfish and seafood while we continue to cut our own steaks. You will enjoy selections from our wine list that has been recognized by the Wine Spectator Magazine for over 9 years. Our patio and balcony over looking the trendy bar is among our customers favorite requests for lunch and dinner seating, while the wine cellar has two of the most romantic tables in the area. If you are traveling, this is one of those restaurants that you wish you had back home....and we are happy that you found us.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm Sunday Breakfast & Brunch: 9:00am - 2:00pm

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(717) 393-0668
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jon Weaver
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Bridal or baby showers are a specialty here at the Greenfield. Our house is yours if you want to take the whole first floor on a Saturday afternoon or a Sunday evening. The patio is available during the warmer months, although we have on occasion covered it for a special event. Please contact Ray for this venue.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Ray Hottenstein: (717) 393-0668
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We offer full catering services for any occasion whether it is business, corporate, pharmaceutical, wedding and home food-services. Fully equipped with trucks and professional staff to design, produce maintain your event wherever your location. We are recognized as the Best of Lancaster in Catering as well as the Best of the Knot for wedding services. Call and ask for Ray or Kristen Hottenstein for details.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
William Penn Way
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
More than adequate parking in our well lighted parking lot that is adjacent to the building.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Public transit stops in front of the property
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live Piano Player in the Lounge on Friday & Saturday evenings 6 - 10pm
Lovely Ladies of Jazz Trio - Wednesday 6:30 - 9:30pm
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Ask about our wine cellar seating. You will be in our actual cellar with only 2 tables in a very romantic and secluded area that is below ground. Ask us about "Wild Wednesday's" and our "Wild" Game offerings.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Mon 8:00PM - 10:00PM
Fri - Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

What 809 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Consistently excellent food, beverage and service. Short ribs were outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Every element was delightful from food to service to ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Best Scallops ever

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great gem in Pa. Service was spot on. There was even a live piano/singer the Friday night I went. He was a bit loud for the balcony space, but the food was delicious. Save room for dessert.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

The Greenfield Restaurant provided a very satisfying dining experience and surpassed expectations. The hostess staff was extremely friendly, the service was attentive and, quite simply, exceptional and the food was nothing short of spectacular. We will most certainly be returning with family and friends!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Delicious food, prepared and presented beautifully!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Food was excellent, as was the service. Would definitely dine here again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

I had high hopes when I entered the restaurant. Ambiance is great, good wine list and good live music. I ordered the crab cakes that were what I would have from a mediocre restaurant— lots of filler. Salad was drenched in dressing. My husbands filet looked and tasted more like a roast beef and this was considered a steak and seafood place. Higher priced. I would go for drinks and for the atmosphere but not the food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Birthday celebration

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Great food great atmosphere great service. There are many restaurants in Lancaster but this one is exceptional

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

The food and service were outstanding. We do not live in the area but travel here often. We will definitely be back. Thank you

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

We were visiting Lancaster for a few days and Greenfields was recommended by the owners of the Hurst House B&B where we stay. There were only a 3 other diners while we were there so it was quiet. The atmosphere is casual but elegant- old world charm with tasteful blending of simple modern touches. One of the outside walls, a doorway and a pillared porch of the original stone house remain as decor inside the modern addition where the bar and one of the dining areas are. So unique! The food was delicious. The filet mignon and salmon both were seasoned and cooked to perfection. Our dishes included an array of seasonal vegetables and were very flavorful. The chef appears to combine unexpected flavors together to create delicious fare that is unique, simple and most of all, enjoyable. Dessert was well presented and perfectly delicious. This is not a family restaurant which was refreshing. The staff were all friendly and welcoming. Amy was our waitress and she was charming and witty. She was very knowledgeable about the menu and wine list and made some great suggestions. We’re definitely returning on our next Lancaster visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

First time at the Greenfield Restaurant. Definitely will visit again. Waiter was very friendly and very attentive. Food was excellent. Calamari prepared with cornmeal was fantastic. Both had the Stripper special. That two was awesome. Loved the fresh root vegetables served with it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Great! Food and service was awesome.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 3, 2018

The restaurant is fine, with a small menu, as long as you're not a vegetarian.

They have a daily quiche (also available in a soup & quiche combo), the the quiche is almost always meaty - not vegetarian friendly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Overall good was fantastic and the waiter was great. I was disappointed that I didn't get any sort of discount or recognition for my birthday, so that was disappointing. The steak was delicious and had a great wine list to choose from.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 2, 2018

My wife and I celebrated our 15th anniversary by dining here. It was very cozy and romantic with a soft singer and pianist playing in the background. The Waitress was polite and the food was delivered quickly but dinner interaction with her was slightly ackward and my wife felt rushed to leave the table. We moved downstairs to be closer to the music and enjoyed a couple glasses of wine/beer. After the move to the bar table, the rest of the evening was fantastic!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Great as always...and great Friday nite music

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Lauren was our server and she was outstanding. The food was prepared in an exemplary manner and we appreciated the diversity of selections. Our wine was excellent and the overall cost was reasonable. We definitely will return for another meal. Please accept our kudos for a wonderful dining experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Went for Sunday brunch. Seemed a bit pressured to order right away. Bread basket: Muffins were delicious, small biscuits were hard/dry. Waitress was kind and helpful. I ordered eggs Benedict - hollandaise sauce left a lot to be desired taste-wise however eggs were cooked perfectly. Fruit bowl was +/- ripe. Ambiance was nice, business casual. Overall, for the feeling of the location - I expected the food to be better tasting / quality seemed to be good. I would go back again to try dinner (but if it was a similar experience - wouldn't return).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Meal was fantastic and cooked to perfection! Ambiance was intimate and the service was exceptional! My new favorite restaurant in Lancaster County!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Great tome!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

The food was quite good and the presentation was first class along with outstanding service. We went on a night that had a special menu for Valentines Day so the menu was a little limited that night and was the only negative.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

We enjoyed delicious food and wine served by India who did a terrific job taking care of us on our date night.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 13, 2018

My Wife and I went for Valentines Day. We've lived in Lancaster County all our lives and have never been to the Greenfield. We went the day before Valentines to avoid the crowd. We really enjoyed ourselves. We plan on making this our yearly tradition.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2018

First visit to this restaurant and it came highly recommended. We were seated on the second floor which doesn’t provide much ambiance. It was busy and the wait time for our main course was quite lengthy. The server said they were backed up because of a big group but we would have our meal shortly, not like 20 or 25 minutes. As it turns out it, it was at least that amount of time. We were also told that the meal that my wife ordered (Red Snapper) was he last one and he was getting it. She ended up with Halibut.
The meal was very good but the wait time was extensive. A glass of wine or free dessert would have been a nice offering. I can only attribute this to the Valentine’s Day weekend. We will give it another try.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Greenfield had come highly recommended from friends so we knew we were in for great
food and service. Our friends were correct. The evening was delightful and very relaxed. We will be back soon and often.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Very disappointed in the Greenfield Inn. Hostess did not welcome us and was not friendly. Waitress was mediocre at best. She looked like she could care less about serving us, which she did terribly and when asking how our food was, she walked away before we answered. Caesar salad was soaked in Caesar dressing and lettuce was not fresh. Dinner was nothing special for the high price of the entree and our coffee was luke warm at best. Waitress did not make the correct change for our bill but we were so annoyed by our experience, we didn't care and left. Such a disappointment for our first time there and for our date night.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Unfortunately freezing cold temperatures in the room made it impossible to enjoy the evening.

Food was ok. Server was good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

We were here on a Saturday evening before going to the AMT show. We had a 5 pm reservation (opening time) and were seated promptly. My wife had the petit filet which she found to be excellent. I had the prime rib, which was also very good. The ambiance and drinks from the bar were excellent. We had a "cream puff" for dessert. It was not like the traditional cream puff, but had ice cream and lots of whipped cream. It was excellent. The service was outstanding. We would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 9, 2018

good, but not great. was hopeful of more wow, so expectations were higher than results.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

EXCELLENT SERVICE AND FOOD. THIS IS OUR 4TH VISIT TO THE GREENFIELD.

WE TRAVEL FROM BALTIMORE TO SEE THE SHOWS AT THE AMERICAN MUSIC THEATER AND ALWAY HAVE DINNER AT THE GREENFIELD.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Perfect...as usual! Date night for my wife, my son, and myself.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

My husband and I don’t get a lot of alone time so I was very excited about dining at The Greenfield Inn for our date night. I got the crab cakes, that were done to perfection, moist and full of crab meat. My husband got the filet, done just right, juicy and a pink center. The sides were also great. We had a nice, quiet table, and our server did a great job.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

It has been a great experience! Food excellent. I always reserve the cellar where the variety of wines are stored. Real cozy for romantic dinner. Thanks!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

My husband and I recently ate here for our wedding anniversary. I requested the wine cellar seating and was thrilled I did. There's only two tables and it's such an intimate and romantic setting. The service was incredible, the servers were extremely attentive. The food and cocktails were delicious! I really enjoyed everything about it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 18, 2018

The service was excellent, the food was delicious and the atmosphere wonderful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2018

The Greenfield is a lovely colonial restaurant with crisp linens and a menu on Sunday brunch that is diverse and satisfying. Whether it is traditional breakfast food or a selection of heartier dishes, you cannot be disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Soft drinks were neither Coke or Pepsi products. What ever brand they were, they missed the mark.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 12, 2018

This restaurant has fantastic food. We were seated by the piano and the Christmas tree...very beautiful. The owner came out and chatted with us like her knew us. We felt like family. This was one of the best dining experiences we have had so far. I can't wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
21

Tweets by The Greenfield Restaurant