Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.58mi

About The Greenfield Restaurant

Set in a 1780 Pennsylvania Stone Farmhouse with deep windows and a warm pleasant atmosphere this is a family owned and operated restaurant that is recognized as one of the "Best of Lancaster" for dinner, Sunday Brunch, patio dining, wine list, atmosphere and romantic settings. Although our building is over 225 years old we update our menu daily! Change is a good thing at the Greenfield. We specialize in next day delivery of Hawaiian Finfish and seafood while we continue to cut our own steaks. You will enjoy selections from our wine list that has been recognized by the Wine Spectator Magazine for over 9 years. Our patio and balcony over looking the trendy bar is among our customers favorite requests for lunch and dinner seating, while the wine cellar has two of the most romantic tables in the area. If you are traveling, this is one of those restaurants that you wish you had back home....and we are happy that you found us.

595 Greenfield Road
Lancaster, PA 17601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm Sunday Breakfast & Brunch: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
William Penn Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(717) 393-0668

Website:
http://www.thegreenfieldrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano Player in the Lounge on Friday & Saturday evenings 6 - 10pm
Lovely Ladies of Jazz Trio - Wednesday 6:30 - 9:30pm

Catering:
We offer full catering services for any occasion whether it is business, corporate, pharmaceutical, wedding and home food-services. Fully equipped with trucks and professional staff to design, produce maintain your event wherever your location. We are recognized as the Best of Lancaster in Catering as well as the Best of the Knot for wedding services. Call and ask for Ray or Kristen Hottenstein for details.

Parking Details:
More than adequate parking in our well lighted parking lot that is adjacent to the building.

Public Transit:
Public transit stops in front of the property

Executive Chef:
Jon Weaver

Private Party Facilities:
Bridal or baby showers are a specialty here at the Greenfield. Our house is yours if you want to take the whole first floor on a Saturday afternoon or a Sunday evening. The patio is available during the warmer months, although we have on occasion covered it for a special event. Please contact Ray for this venue.

Private Party Contact:
Ray Hottenstein: (717) 393-0668

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ask about our wine cellar seating. You will be in our actual cellar with only 2 tables in a very romantic and secluded area that is below ground. Ask us about "Wild Wednesday's" and our "Wild" Game offerings.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

The Greenfield Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (14)
Special Occasion (12)
Good for a Date (12)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Private Room (9)
Cozy (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Live Music (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Business Meals (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Historic (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Casual (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Authentic (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Healthy (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Seasonal (2)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Fun (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
645 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The service was excellent and the food was very good. I had the crabcakes which were quite tasty except one was burnt on the bottom. Overall a very good experience even though it was a bit pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

After some very good meals at the Greenfield Restaurant we hit a very average one. Prime Rib was chewy and salad was almosted wilted. Very disappointing and hopefully not a trend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Comfortable fine dining for business, pleasure or special occasions. Great wine list. Excellent seasonal outdoor dining. Definitely among my favorites - even for a get-away-from-the-office lunch break.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Casual, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I was a little disappointed in the food. The salad dressing seemed a bit watery and while the food was good, I would not call it excellent. I have eaten here a few times over the past seven years and to my mind, the food used to be excellent. I would call it over priced at this time.

Tags: Healthy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We both had the striped bass special, which was excellent. The service was just a little slow, but the experience was overall very positive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our dinner was excellent. We thought the timing of each course was perfect. Some may consider the service as "slow" but they are missing the point of enjoying a great dinner with the company you are with. We really enjoyed the ambience of the restaurant, especially the piano player who provided a relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Once again another successful date with my beautiful fiance we come twice a year and love it, we have recommended to a lot of people..

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent crab cakes, wine selection, and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was good but we were seated in the second floor which lacks ambiance. Also it seemed at times that we had been forgotten--service was very spotty.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The Greenfield has long been our place to dine for special occasions. We had dinner on Feb 11 for Valentine's. Our server was good, ambiance good, but the food was so disappointingly not up to par.
French onion soup was lukewarm, the crab cakes, scallops were room temp and the grilled lemon slice was cold! We didn't want to complain as it would dampen the evening. Sorry to report this but thought you should know

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This meal started out great. We'd told them it was a (very) special occasion, and they gave us a great table, perhaps the best in the house. The service was delightful, and the food started off well enough with a tasty appetizer and salad. When we got to the entree, it was anything but notable. It was under-seasoned and overcooked salmon. And the "lemon-butter sauce" was anything but lemon or butter. We couldn't put our finger on this sauce blandly sitting on the side of the plate like the pour on the dish was missed, but it dawned on us that the braised kale (tasted like it was simply boiled) on the bottom of the dish wasn't properly drained, so the water left in the kale soaked into the sauce, making it water-y and spinach-y. When we explained the disappointment to our server, she was apologetic, but didn't offer to change it out.

Then we got the bill and found that -- by choosing caesar salad over house salad, we were given $5.50 up-charges per plate. For a salad that's supposed to be included!! It was a great salad, but I wouldn't have ordered one separate from my meal. The up-charge (not on menu) took us aback. So ultimately, what started as a fantastic evening ended disappointing.

The service and ambiance were so good we'd be happy to give it another chance, but we'd need to know their kitchen had its act together first.

Tags: Cozy, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We had a very enjoyable meal, with great music. The food was excellent along with the presentation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Perfect evening. Relaxing and great food. Salmon was great and perfectly done!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My friends, myself and my husband had a GREAT time. Our waitress Brittany was exceptional! She was delightful, professional, informative and a delight. Kudos to Greenfield for hiring such great staff and having great food. Also, the restaurant has great ambiance. We will be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Excellent place to go for business lunch. Food and service are very good. We enjoy going here for business lunches. I could see coming back for dinner but I don't live in the area. recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This restaurant has the potential for 5 stars...but it falls short on several things...#1. The apps were ok...calamari were bland and the beef eggrolls were, well, beefy...not very creative....#2 dinner menu....waitress recommended the crabcakes which were made with substandard crab, tasted strong...we also had steak which was good, but came with nothing....scallops were very good, fish was good, beet salad was good and large enough for 2... desserts were pretty standard...creme brulee, peanut butter pie.....the total bill was 600 for 6 people...which is ok if the atmosphere and food were over the top...but i really couldnt rave about either...wasnt really bad, but wasnt really great either

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We have been there in the past, but this visit did not match up to our previous experiences. The table where we were seated was near the kitchen door. Each time a staff member exited the kitchen, we would hear a thump sound of the door banging.

The food was ok, but on the dry side.

The wait staff was efficient and professional

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I had the special which was pan seared striped bass and it was exceptional. My daughter had the filet mignon and she said it was done perfectly and was tender and delicious. The warm olive plate appetizer was interesting with a variety of warm olives and the kalamata olives were a pleasant taste treat since I have only had them cold in the past.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 22, 2016

They make great gin martinis. Few places do it well.

Could have used a fire in the neat old fireplace.

Nice ambience. Waiter was very good.

Filet was done perfectly. Salad was a bit leafy.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The first time I've been here in years (maybe more than a decade). We were warmly greeted and immediately shown to our table. Ordered French onion soup for an appetizer. Time span between when our appetizers were finished and when salads were served (and then between salads and entrees) was substantial. An ordered glass of wine took a long time to arrive as well. My entree was the crab cakes, which were excellent with tons of crab and very little breading. At the end of the meal I was too full to order desert but many of the options were tempting.

Overall, I would go here again but only if I had plenty of time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Enjoyable! A little noisy. My husband wears hearing aids and he was having difficulty hearing the conversation at the table. I would have preferred a table on the ground floor. I have trouble doing steps. Food was good and prepared well.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Awesome experience as always! Our server Emily was outstanding. As was our bartender (Pam?) for pre- and post-dinner drinks. Can't wait to return again!

Tags: Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Wonderful experience! However , we won't go on a Saturday night again-- a bit too noisy.

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great atmosphere Great food. Very friendly staff

Tags: Cozy, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Outstanding. First visit but won't be last. Courses served without sense of being rushed or need to turn the table. Great for a first date. $$$ but well worth it. Best Manhattan I've had in a long time.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Excellent food, generous portions and gracious server.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We live nearby and are regulars. We love Ray the owner. A grown-up restaurant. Quality food in an adult atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

From the moment you walk in the door the staff is welcoming and wonderful! The food has always been excellent. If you are stuck between two choices always ask the staff. I have never been sorry

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was our first visit to the Greenfield restaurant. Ambiance and decor was really nice with an impressive wine list and a fun drink menu. When asking about unique gins, the bartender was energetic enough to bring over several bottles to tell me about.

A jazz piano player provided excellent background music.

Food was good, although not very hot on delivery. Menu was varied with great options and fun, seasonal entrees.

Our server was busy, catering to many tables. For this reason, there were long strings without anyone checking up on us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The food was fabulous , the waiter was fantastic - However, the woman bar keep and the drinks were both horrible (Drinks & Service) , because of the bar experience we we not go back to this restaurant.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This is our go-to Sunday Brunch restaurant when visiting Lancaster County. Always good food, pleasant staff and easy access with plenty of parking.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Just nice place to have lunch with three friends. Food was delicious. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent service and food. Fantastic for any special occasion.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 18, 2016

On Oct 2 I made the reservation for two at 7;pm. we arrived there at 6;50 the hostess asked if we would like a high top table or we could eat outside,well I am a few weeks over a total knee replacement so a high top was out of the question and I didn't want to sit out in the dark . I was told that they had no tables and because they take walkins. It was not even 7:pm so I felt they should have had my table. We never got seated till7:45. I have eaten at this several times before however I will not go there again, We were very unhappy with the whole experience.Will not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Very very uncomfortable atmosphere. Felt like a funeral.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We arrived early but ended up waiting 20 minutes past our reservation to be seated.
Once seated the loud noise from a nearby table encouraged me to request another table, not available. Night manager personally was engaged.After her encouragement and another 7-8 minutes the loud table exited. The meals were all good and the waiter was exceptional, and apologetic.
I would try another fine dining venue before I returned to the Greenfield.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We love the Greenfield Inn. Our 1st time there was to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary, and this year we wanted to again enjoy our Wedding Anniversary there. This year was our 36th. We love the privacy of the "Wine Cellar" and the wonderful meal, and service. Be assured as long as you are there we will come back.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 5, 2016

French onion soup and rare venison loin special. Could not be prepared, presented and taste any better. Impressive wine list. Will visit again when I'm in Lancaster next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 28, 2016

I took my wife to Greenfield for our 25th anniversary. In the reservation, I had asked for special seating, and they truly delivered! We were led to a private room in the wine cellar, where we were served a delicious meal. The atmosphere was great and so was the service. They were up and down the stairs for us several times. This was a great choice for our special date!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I really enjoyed making a meal from the variety of delicious appetizers and desserts. Service was accommodating and welcoming. The atmosphere was pleasant. Even though I was dining alone, I didn't feel out of place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.