About The Greenfield Restaurant

595 Greenfield Road
Lancaster, PA 17601
View Larger Map

Set in a 1780 Pennsylvania Stone Farmhouse with deep windows and a warm pleasant atmosphere this is a family owned and operated restaurant that is recognized as one of the "Best of Lancaster" for dinner, Sunday Brunch, patio dining, wine list, atmosphere and romantic settings. Although our building is over 225 years old we update our menu daily! Change is a good thing at the Greenfield. We specialize in next day delivery of Hawaiian Finfish and seafood while we continue to cut our own steaks. You will enjoy selections from our wine list that has been recognized by the Wine Spectator Magazine for over 9 years. Our patio and balcony over looking the trendy bar is among our customers favorite requests for lunch and dinner seating, while the wine cellar has two of the most romantic tables in the area. If you are traveling, this is one of those restaurants that you wish you had back home....and we are happy that you found us.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm Sunday Breakfast & Brunch: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
William Penn Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(717) 393-0668

Website:
http://www.thegreenfieldrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano Player in the Lounge on Friday & Saturday evenings 6 - 10pm Lovely Ladies of Jazz Trio - Wednesday 6:30 - 9:30pm

Catering:
We offer full catering services for any occasion whether it is business, corporate, pharmaceutical, wedding and home food-services. Fully equipped with trucks and professional staff to design, produce maintain your event wherever your location. We are recognized as the Best of Lancaster in Catering as well as the Best of the Knot for wedding services. Call and ask for Ray or Kristen Hottenstein for details.

Parking Details:
More than adequate parking in our well lighted parking lot that is adjacent to the building.

Public Transit:
Public transit stops in front of the property

Executive Chef:
Jon Weaver

Private Party Facilities:
Bridal or baby showers are a specialty here at the Greenfield. Our house is yours if you want to take the whole first floor on a Saturday afternoon or a Sunday evening. The patio is available during the warmer months, although we have on occasion covered it for a special event. Please contact Ray for this venue.

Private Party Contact:
Ray Hottenstein: 7173930668

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ask about our wine cellar seating. You will be in our actual cellar with only 2 tables in a very romantic and secluded area that is below ground. Ask us about "Wild Wednesday's" and our "Wild" Game offerings.

Restaurant Photos

  • Broiled Giant Diver Sea Scallops
  • Lobster Mac & Cheese
  • Prime Bistro Barrel Cut Rib Eye Steak
  • Caesar Salad
Broiled Giant Diver Sea Scallops
Lobster Mac & Cheese
Prime Bistro Barrel Cut Rib Eye Steak
Caesar Salad

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

The Greenfield Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Lancaster County
Best Food
Lancaster County
Best Service
Lancaster County
4 More
Best Ambiance
Lancaster County
Best Value
Lancaster County
Romantic
Lancaster County
Special Occasion
Lancaster County
Best Restaurants in Lancaster ›

special occasion (32)
great for lunch (23)
romantic (21)
See All
fit for foodies (17)
great for outdoor dining (17)
good for groups (15)
great for brunch (14)
notable wine list (14)
neighborhood gem (14)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (2)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
559 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Décor and menu (food quality and type of ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Décor and menu (food quality and type of food) really need updated. Waiter- Brian did a nice job but place did seem disorganized.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Once again, Greenfield proves it is a gr ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Once again, Greenfield proves it is a great restaurant and special place. A big group of us took my dad here for Father's Day. Greenfield has become our family's special occasion place. The food was excellent. The crab cakes are really good, the salmon is always great, and the horseradish potatoes are so good! And the service is wonderful. The little extras like the host taking the kids in our group on a tour of the restaurant and then after dinner, taking pictures of us outside were so appreciated and helped make it a special evening. Thanks Greenfield!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great overall experience! Creative menu ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Great overall experience! Creative menu with fresh ingredients that won't disappoint.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

anniversary at Greenfield

Dined on June 4, 2016

We had a very nice table, very nice servers, and enjoyed the music very much.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special dinner

Dined on June 3, 2016

Walked here from the hotel . Very pleasant with a live piano and bass added greatly to the ambience. We were from out of town or we would frequent this restaurant. Our waitress was attentive and knowledgeable. Great evening

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I Thank the staff for a Outstanding Dinner.

Dined on May 28, 2016

Thank You to the Staff of The Greenfield Restaurant, We were visiting Lancaster County from out of town, for the weekend. The Greenfield Restaurant made our night out, a night to remember. This was a wonderful place to have a romantic dinner with my wife of 30 years. I would recommend anyone visiting Lancaster Co. that would like to have a nice dinner whether for Business, Special occasions or for a nice dinner to visit The Greenfield Restaurant. Your guest will remember and be impressed with your choice. The Restaurant also has a very extensive Wine List to choose from, to match your dinner and palate.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Come back place

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

We come here frequently and have never been disappointed. The food is consistently good, the service is great, and the atmosphere is lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The staff is very accommodating, and cou ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

The staff is very accommodating, and could not have been nicer to or more patient with my elderly mother. And the menu offers something for all generations.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tom

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

The restaurant has several nice seating areas. We chose the bar area which is very nice, views of porch seating and outside. Also piano player is located here and plays very nice dinner tunes. Service is excellent, food very well presented and delicious. Wine selection is very good and reasonable priced. We always enjoy Saturday dinner here.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice evening with friends.

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Spent a nice evening here with friends. Nice bar area with a piano player, great food and our server was very pleasant.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good, Not Great

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Our dinner at Greenfield was ok, but nothing special. I thought the prices were a bit high for the quality of the food. The bread was amazing, easily the best part of the meal! I had the prime rib special, which came with potato wedges and mixed vegetables. The prime rib looked great but was a little tough and dry. I had asked for medium rare but I think it was closer to medium. The potatoes were also dry and the veggies were bland. My husband had the pork chop and he said it was salty. The sides were piled on top of the chop and were more of a topping than actual sides. He left hungry.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Disappointed in food and service

Dined on April 28, 2016

We have eaten there before....reason why we came back enjoyed it always..this time, totally disappointed with only 3 tables in dining room....service was very slow. when meal did come.. Scallops were not done....half raw.... 4 on plate, and left 2 of them..... all in all, for the price, not at all worth it.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Where's the bread?

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

I had a nice chicken and cashew nut salad for lunch and some ice tea. I was disappointed that they didn't see fit to include some bread or a roll. The waiter said there was date nut bread for purchase, but I was not interested in dessert bread -- just wanted a crust of French bread or a small roll.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Average Brunch

Dined on April 17, 2016

Usually the food at dinner is excellent with great service. First time for Brunch and salads were average the breads chewy and cold. Service was spotty. Off day for a usually above average restaurant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Creative Dinner Options

Dined on April 17, 2016

We were very pleased with the unique menu items and specials. Our dinner was delicious and the atmosphere was lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable Dining Experience

Dined on April 16, 2016

Outstanding dining experience from all aspects. The staff is always courteous, professional yet eager to provide a truly remarkable dining experience. The food and beverages never disappoint. Thank you!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a pleasant surprise to find a great ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Such a pleasant surprise to find a great place to eat and relax. The live music, great service ( I asked to have us moved away from the kitchen) and very good meal is a guarantee that we will come back next time we are in Lancaster PA. The hostess and waited could not be more personable and the owner stopped by to say hello. Very nicely done

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

awesome night

Dined on April 2, 2016

Every time we visit Lancaster, we have to go to The Greenfield Inn, the atmosphere is awesome, and the service and food is wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A very nice restaurant.

Dined on March 26, 2016

The food was excellent and the ambiance was great. A piano was being played softly in the background. Service was very good. A nice place to have a relaxing meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect dinner

Dined on March 26, 2016

We had dinner last weekend with our fingers crossed that it would be as wonderful as it was when we last dined, which was over ten years ago...and it was. Actually it was better than we remembered. The portions were very generous and the wine list was impressive. Our entrees were rack of lamb and prime ribs. Both were done exactly as ordered and were extremely tender. We would most definitely return when in the area

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Meal!

Dined on March 14, 2016

Everything came together perfectly on our most recent visit. We started at the bar and enjoyed a drink and some nice conversation and then we were seated in the wine cellar which has the best ambience in Lancaster. My wife and our friends very much enjoyed our visit together and the food and service were on point. We enjoyed ourselves so much we didn't realized we had stayed 30 minutes past closing time. Great experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Go to Greenfield!

Dined on March 1, 2016

Our group of four LOVED our dining experience at Greenfield! The atmosphere was great, service was great and food was EXCEPTIONAL! Truly a gem here in Lancaster. We cannot wait to go again soon!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Brunch was amazing. Our party had the Eg ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Brunch was amazing. Our party had the Eggs Benedict, the salmon quiche, the breakfast burrito and the waffle with ice cream. All were incredibly delicious. Drinks were also very good.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food, great service but don't get a Martini

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our only complaints were with the cocktails. I had the Lemon Drop Martini, which was the worst I have ever had - no lemon taste. I sent it back once and the second one was no better. My husband and friend ordered the Manhattans. They sent it back once as it was way too much Vermouth. The second time was not much better either but my husband decided to keep it and our friend sent it back again. Either the bartenders don't have the right equipment to make a drink or they don't have the knowledge. I would got back again but only drink wine. Kelli, our waitress was great and had to carry everything upstairs.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Greenfield

Dined on February 13, 2016

Classy upscale Lancaster spot. Good for a special meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Greenfield Inn

Dined on February 13, 2016

Ate there the Saturday before Valentine's Day. Just a great restaurant! Can't say enough about the service, food, and ambience. Ate in the lounge with quiet piano background music. Highly recommended!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Experience on a busy Valentines Day

Dined on February 13, 2016

First time eating at the Greenfield. Had an awesome table on the 2nd floor overlooking the bar. Loved the list of high end cocktails. Salad dressing was homemade. The food was exceptional and wait staff very attentive and experienced. I was pleasantly surprised simply because on a huge weekend like Valentines Day typically the service and the food quality are diminished because of the volume. Not the case here!

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Why 3* & Not 4*

Dined on February 13, 2016

Everything but the prime ribs were excellent. The prime ribs were so-so at best, not the best cut of meat. The appetizers (crab cocktail & onion soup) were great. The entree that my spouse had (filet mignon) was great. The desert (creme puff with ice cream) was yummy. We have been going to the Greenfield for some time and will go again, but couldn't give it more than 3* this time.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great special occation restaurant

Dined on February 12, 2016

We will enjoy The Greenfield for special occasions! It's a little high-priced for everyday dining, but the food, service, and ambience are all outstanding! There is a full bar and a very long and full wine list - however high in cost. We will enjoy going back 2-3 times a year!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm always here

Dined on February 2, 2016

This place is amazing for many reasons. I was here 4 times this week.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a nice, large table in a bit of a ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

We had a nice, large table in a bit of an alcove, which was great. Service was professional as always. The food was the usual high quality Greenfield food we've come to expect; however, diners in our party found the mashed potatoes too horseradishy to eat and the spätzle almost too strong with the herbs. Not a big deal. Staff was very accommodating to a member of our party who experienced a minor medical issue while we were there.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful service and great food

Dined on January 18, 2016

I took my parents here for their 69th wedding anniversary and the staff could not have been nicer, from the hostess welcoming them with "Happy Anniversary!", seating us at the best table, the waitress being so nice to them, and putting a candle in their dessert. And we all loved the food very much. The peanut butter pie is fantastic! Thanks for making it a very special anniversary, Greenfield!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

Noisy - Disappointed

Dined on December 31, 2015

We have been to Greenfield's Restaurant many times but this time were very disappointed, both in the ambience and service. There was a jazz singer in the lounge (it was jazz night) who was so excruciatingly loud that we had to ask to be moved - we could not even carry on a conversation with one another. (Other diners expressed their dismay as well as to the noise level). We were moved to another room and we were the only diners in the room - the room was chilly but did warm up. I don't know why a quality restaurant would have a jazz night during the holiday season when most diners were there to have a nice meal and visit with friends and family they haven't seen for a while. Our waitress was very indifferent and basically just delivered our food and that was it. Not personable at all. Our entrees were just ok - nothing to rave about. The crab cocktail appetizer was outstanding though. Will probably not return, which is too bad, as we have been going there with the same group of friends for many years. As an aside to Open Table - we had tried to make a reservation at Greenfield's for New Year's Eve through Open Table about a month and a half ago. We were old that our selected time was not available. As a result, we went the previous night. After dinner while waiting to leave, I was chatting with the hostess and told her we had tried to get a reservation for New Year's Eve through Open Table for their restaurant but were told nothing was available. She seemed surprised and checked the reservation book - they did have a table available for New Year's Eve at the time we selected. Obviously, we did not take that table and go back New Year's Eve after having just eaten there.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The Eggs Benedict with lump crab for Sun ...

vip
Dined on December 27, 2015

The Eggs Benedict with lump crab for Sunday brunch is out of this world!!!

food3
ambience2
service2
value3

anniversary dinner

Dined on December 16, 2015

Good food , especially rack of lamb; warm food ,not hot; service hit and run ,too rushed;watered down Coke;little pricey; was nicer 10 years ago; was noted that it was an anniversary dinner on reservation , but no one else noted it ; will visit again in future, probably for the lamb if it is hot ;

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Good but a little pricey

Dined on December 13, 2015

We ere a party of 8 and the food and service were good. The wine cellar was quiet and enjoyable. We did thin they should quote the prices of the non mere specials ahead of time. My wife ordered one,the Snapper, and it was very pricey to our standards.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was outstanding and the combina ...

Dined on December 5, 2015

The food was outstanding and the combination of that and Christmas decorations was perfect.

food5
ambience5
service5

Love it here

Dined on December 5, 2015

This is our second visit and we had a great experience both time. Great atmosphere, service and good. We will be back on our next visit to Lancaster and we visit often.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Amazing food and wine in a wonderful setting

Dined on November 28, 2015

Every year for over 20 years we head to Lancaster for our annual Black Friday shopping spree. We stay "next door" at the Hampton Inn and ALWAYS dine at The Greenfield Restaurant. We are never disappointed with the quality of the food, service and wine selection. You can't go wrong with their crab cakes or petite filet mignon. The rack of lamb was delightful, as was the peanut butter pie.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

love the food! Had family get together.

Dined on November 27, 2015

Family dinner. Waiter was very nice and patient with our group. Fun place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.