Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 25 times today

The Greenfield Restaurant

4.6
836 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Romantic
Set in a 1780 Pennsylvania Stone Farmhouse with deep windows and a warm pleasant atmosphere this is a family owned and operated restaurant that is recognized as one of the "Best of Lancaster" for dinner, Sunday Brunch, patio dining, wine list, atmosphere and romantic settings. Although our building is over 225 years old we update our menu daily! Change is a good thing at the Greenfield. We specialize in next day delivery of Hawaiian Finfish and seafood while we continue to cut our own steaks. You will enjoy selections from our wine list that has been recognized by the Wine Spectator Magazine for over 9 years. Our patio and balcony over looking the trendy bar is among our customers favorite requests for lunch and dinner seating, while the wine cellar has two of the most romantic tables in the area. If you are traveling, this is one of those restaurants that you wish you had back home....and we are happy that you found us.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm Sunday Breakfast & Brunch: 9:00am - 2:00pm

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(717) 393-0668
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jon Weaver
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Bridal or baby showers are a specialty here at the Greenfield. Our house is yours if you want to take the whole first floor on a Saturday afternoon or a Sunday evening. The patio is available during the warmer months, although we have on occasion covered it for a special event. Please contact Ray for this venue.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Ray Hottenstein: (717) 393-0668
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We offer full catering services for any occasion whether it is business, corporate, pharmaceutical, wedding and home food-services. Fully equipped with trucks and professional staff to design, produce maintain your event wherever your location. We are recognized as the Best of Lancaster in Catering as well as the Best of the Knot for wedding services. Call and ask for Ray or Kristen Hottenstein for details.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
William Penn Way
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
More than adequate parking in our well lighted parking lot that is adjacent to the building.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Public transit stops in front of the property
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live Piano Player in the Lounge on Friday & Saturday evenings 6 - 10pm
Lovely Ladies of Jazz Trio - Wednesday 6:30 - 9:30pm
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Ask about our wine cellar seating. You will be in our actual cellar with only 2 tables in a very romantic and secluded area that is below ground. Ask us about "Wild Wednesday's" and our "Wild" Game offerings.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 836 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Summer dining in the patio is exceptional.
Excellent wine list

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Food was good, however one in our party asked for their steak to be cooked medium and it came out rare. Finally got someone on the staffs attention and they took it back, however since I was a guest I do not know if anything further was done to offset the issue.
Service overall was excellent and staff very pleasant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Excellent experience! As always! It’s an always visit when I’m in the area!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Service was friendly and attentive. Food was excellent. Atmosphere quiet and romantic. We would definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

We drive 4 hours togo to the Sight and Sound Theatre and the American Musice Theatre and always enjoy a wonderful meal at Greenfield.
So sorry to not see Brook this time, but so happy for her and her family.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Everything was great about the meal. Nice service, tasty cocktails, and superbly prepared food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Have never been there before , I would go back again. The prices were reasonable and the food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Service was great. Wine list and cocktail were excellent. Food was good. It is worth going to.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Everything was delicious . I had the crab cakes, lots of crab meat. Service was very efficient and courteous. The restaurant was very clean , cozy, and had a relaxed atmosphere .

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Had an enjoyable experience. Josh, our server, was efficient and attentive but not hovering. He did an excellent job.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Was great for our 50th anniversary, they even made a key lime martini for me to die for

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Lovely lunch on patio on a beautiful day. Delicious chicken salad with fruit. Prime rib sandwich excellent as well. Wine was wonderful. Great service. Would recommend. Close enough to Sight and Sound Theater.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We had a nice private room for my graduation dinner so it wasn’t very loud and we didn’t really get to experience the whole place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Absolutely local gem that serves great food. Menu is not too large but offers delicious choices sure to please everyone. Staff is very friendly and knowledgeable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Great place great people they make your dining experience special

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

I brought my mother here for a special Mother's Day lunch. We were both pleased with the food and the service. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

As always, Greenfield was a great experience. I took my mother there in advance of Mother's Day and was so pleased when she said it was the best meal she had in a long time. She loved the creamy seafood dish. My salmon was excellent. It is such a lovely atmosphere and the service is always good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Took my girlfriend here for our Anniversary. We sat in the wine cellar, which was way more beautiful than I expected. Our waiter, Gaige was awesome. He was friendly, made excellent recommendations on what to eat and was very attentive to our table. Brooke behind the bar was also very friendly and made the best mojito we ever had. Every drink she made was excellent! The food was perfect, the restaurant was clean and everyone that worked there seemed like they enjoyed their job. We very much enjoyed our experience and will return. Would recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Always a pleasure to visit The Greenfield Restaurant whenever we're in Lancaster. From the amazing food, to the friendly staff and great atmosphere I can't recommend this place enough. The perfect place for brunch and dinner - fantastic shrimp cocktail, Greenfield Eggs Benedict, Omelettes, and Steak. As always, thank you Ray!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Greenfield Restaurant was quite dated. The menu and ambience were from the 80s or 90s. Service was good. It was really pricey; the wine list was very good. They did allow us to bring in our own special bottle of wine (one that doesn't get distributed here, so nothing that could be on the wine list) with a $25 corkage fee. Nice piano music. I saw that it gets high ratings and those people we saw seemed happy to be there. It was an elderly crowd for the most part.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 3, 2018

The Greenfield has been one of our favorite restaurants over the years-- wedding rehearsal dinners, special birthday celebrations (large and small), catering (wedding reception), and general dining. This past Thursday evening (a birthday celebration) was an exception to our past experiences there. The service was slow, even though the restaurant was not crowded, the server seemed new to his job, and the food quality was mixed. The lamb was good, but its underlying layer of three veggies was a curious admixture of kale, an unidentifiable second green, and rock-hard radish slices. Even thought the on-line reservation noted that the evening was for a birthday celebration, our server did not know anything about it, and didn't offer much in the way of birthday greetings.
We will return to the Greenfield because the last experience might have been just an "off night" for the restaurant. However, based on that experience, the Greenfield has slipped as our "go to" choice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

We went with neighbors and all four of us found it a wonderful experience. We had not been to the Greenfield Inn and our friends were there a long time ago. The side dishes were really creative (Farrow with Lardon and greens was excellent) and the main course sides were great..I had seared scallops and it was with wild rice and forest mushrooms/greens with local Turkey sausage (too salty). Salad is included with entree price so very good value as I thought the entrees were reasonably priced for such a nice restaurant.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The quality of the food, for the price, was poor. I ordered the Scrambler, an egg dish that included scrambled eggs, hash browns, ham, cheese and green onions. The entire dish was very watery and lacking in flavor. My husband ordered the Eggs Benedict special, which included poached eggs, salmon, English muffin, sautéed red onions, capers and Hollandaise. There were so many onions that they completely overwhelmed all of the other flavors of the dish.

I think Greenfield needs to take a hard look at their menu and perhaps make a change along the lines of The Pressroom and/or Carr’s. They still do some signature dishes well, but much of what they offer seems dated. Both The Pressroom and Carr’s have managed to keep their loyal customers while, at the same time, they have brought in new customers with an updated menu and more contemporary decor. I wish Greenfield would do the same.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Food was very good. The owner introduced himself while we were dining, and asked if we were enjoying ourselves. Looking forward to return and take advantage of the outdoor seating when the weather cooperates.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Enjoyable! Will definitely return!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Prime rib not seasoned well. Luke warm

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Consistently excellent food, beverage and service. Short ribs were outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Every element was delightful from food to service to ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

The food, service and ambiance were all terrific. Interesting menu and everything was creatively prepared. We were on vacation but if we lived nearby it would definitely be one of our go-to restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Best Scallops ever

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great gem in Pa. Service was spot on. There was even a live piano/singer the Friday night I went. He was a bit loud for the balcony space, but the food was delicious. Save room for dessert.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

The Greenfield Restaurant provided a very satisfying dining experience and surpassed expectations. The hostess staff was extremely friendly, the service was attentive and, quite simply, exceptional and the food was nothing short of spectacular. We will most certainly be returning with family and friends!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Delicious food, prepared and presented beautifully!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Food was excellent, as was the service. Would definitely dine here again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

I had high hopes when I entered the restaurant. Ambiance is great, good wine list and good live music. I ordered the crab cakes that were what I would have from a mediocre restaurant— lots of filler. Salad was drenched in dressing. My husbands filet looked and tasted more like a roast beef and this was considered a steak and seafood place. Higher priced. I would go for drinks and for the atmosphere but not the food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Birthday celebration

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Great food great atmosphere great service. There are many restaurants in Lancaster but this one is exceptional

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

The food and service were outstanding. We do not live in the area but travel here often. We will definitely be back. Thank you

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

We were visiting Lancaster for a few days and Greenfields was recommended by the owners of the Hurst House B&B where we stay. There were only a 3 other diners while we were there so it was quiet. The atmosphere is casual but elegant- old world charm with tasteful blending of simple modern touches. One of the outside walls, a doorway and a pillared porch of the original stone house remain as decor inside the modern addition where the bar and one of the dining areas are. So unique! The food was delicious. The filet mignon and salmon both were seasoned and cooked to perfection. Our dishes included an array of seasonal vegetables and were very flavorful. The chef appears to combine unexpected flavors together to create delicious fare that is unique, simple and most of all, enjoyable. Dessert was well presented and perfectly delicious. This is not a family restaurant which was refreshing. The staff were all friendly and welcoming. Amy was our waitress and she was charming and witty. She was very knowledgeable about the menu and wine list and made some great suggestions. We’re definitely returning on our next Lancaster visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

First time at the Greenfield Restaurant. Definitely will visit again. Waiter was very friendly and very attentive. Food was excellent. Calamari prepared with cornmeal was fantastic. Both had the Stripper special. That two was awesome. Loved the fresh root vegetables served with it.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
21

Tweets by The Greenfield Restaurant