Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.58mi

About The Greenfield Restaurant

Set in a 1780 Pennsylvania Stone Farmhouse with deep windows and a warm pleasant atmosphere this is a family owned and operated restaurant that is recognized as one of the "Best of Lancaster" for dinner, Sunday Brunch, patio dining, wine list, atmosphere and romantic settings. Although our building is over 225 years old we update our menu daily! Change is a good thing at the Greenfield. We specialize in next day delivery of Hawaiian Finfish and seafood while we continue to cut our own steaks. You will enjoy selections from our wine list that has been recognized by the Wine Spectator Magazine for over 9 years. Our patio and balcony over looking the trendy bar is among our customers favorite requests for lunch and dinner seating, while the wine cellar has two of the most romantic tables in the area. If you are traveling, this is one of those restaurants that you wish you had back home....and we are happy that you found us.

595 Greenfield Road
Lancaster, PA 17601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm Sunday Breakfast & Brunch: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
William Penn Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(717) 393-0668

Website:
http://www.thegreenfieldrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano Player in the Lounge on Friday & Saturday evenings 6 - 10pm
Lovely Ladies of Jazz Trio - Wednesday 6:30 - 9:30pm

Catering:
We offer full catering services for any occasion whether it is business, corporate, pharmaceutical, wedding and home food-services. Fully equipped with trucks and professional staff to design, produce maintain your event wherever your location. We are recognized as the Best of Lancaster in Catering as well as the Best of the Knot for wedding services. Call and ask for Ray or Kristen Hottenstein for details.

Parking Details:
More than adequate parking in our well lighted parking lot that is adjacent to the building.

Public Transit:
Public transit stops in front of the property

Executive Chef:
Jon Weaver

Private Party Facilities:
Bridal or baby showers are a specialty here at the Greenfield. Our house is yours if you want to take the whole first floor on a Saturday afternoon or a Sunday evening. The patio is available during the warmer months, although we have on occasion covered it for a special event. Please contact Ray for this venue.

Private Party Contact:
Ray Hottenstein: (717) 393-0668

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ask about our wine cellar seating. You will be in our actual cellar with only 2 tables in a very romantic and secluded area that is below ground. Ask us about "Wild Wednesday's" and our "Wild" Game offerings.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

The Greenfield Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (24)
Good for a Date (23)
Special Occasion (22)
See All
Good for Birthdays (19)
Romantic (17)
Historic (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Cozy (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Live Music (11)
Casual (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Private Room (8)
Business Meals (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Happy Hour (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Seasonal (5)
Authentic (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Fun (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Healthy (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fireplace (2)
Scenic View (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
669 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 2 days ago

The food and service were very good. The restaurant is an old house with many separate rooms. Our room was very plain with nothing on the walls and dead flowers at the table. We just wish the decor was better. We would definitely go back the next time we visit the Lancaster area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Fascinating food well-prepared. Very good service by a very young server. Chef was willing to create a custom pasta dish for two vegetarians. Classic mixed drinks exceptionally well-made and true to traditional recipes. A wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We were tourists celebrating our anniversary near Lancaster. When we made the OpenTable reservation we had mentioned it was our anniversary and requested a quiet table. When we arrived we were told the dining room was closed, and we were seated at a table in the bar which was very noisy. For appetizers, we ordered different soups, which were OK although my onion soup had as much melted cheese as it did soup. For entrees, we both ordered filet mignon steaks cooked medium. They were both cooked well done, and were only slightly warm. The sides weren't particularly tasty. The service was acceptable, but just barely. Overall, it was a very disappointing dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Too expensive for what it is

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

While the lunch menu is not big, the options are good. Food was great! I had the spare rib grilled cheese and it was excellent. Three of us shared the cream puff dessert. It was fantastic! Service was very good! Would go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

really terrific meal celebrating a special graduation moment for our Millersville student. excellent experience and would happily return

Tags: Live Music, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. The crabcakes and scallops are to die for. Never too busy due to delicate but precise scheduling.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We have eaten here before when in the Lancaster area. My husband had Halibut and said it was very good. My dinner of prime rib was good except I asked for very rare and got more well done. So I was disappointed. Otherwise we had a nice time.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Menu was not as extensive as it had been when we last dined there....food was OK, but would we would rather pay more and get a meal worth raving over. This was not it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We enjoyed Greenfield, an unexpected pleasure in a shopping center. They have a wide variety of foods, all of which are tasty. I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We were in town for a show at the American Music Theater. Stayed at a B&B and had dinner with you. Lovely night so sat outside. Food was excellent, service very good. Only negative was that we as ordered your prime rib which was very large and asked if we could have a bag with some ice for the leftovers, (2 large hungry dogs)! Apparently you don't have any plastic bags. Hopefully, someones dogs feasted that night. The beef was delicious.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Loved the pianist and decor. We enjoyed ourselves immensely. Warm olive plate was awesome.

Tags: Scenic View, Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We were seated outdoors in the beautiful patio area. Although there was a bit of a smell, it is Lancaster county, so I don't know if that was particularly their fault. The food was good and the server always made sure our water glasses were full, which was a bit annoying while we were trying to have conversation, but I know it was well intended. Overall it was a pleasant dining experience with good local cuisine, and I would definitely recommend it for a date.

Tags: Organic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Lunch with a friend was wonderful! We both had the soup and salad combo- red pepper and crab soup and strawberry chicken salad. We ended with creme brûlée which was delicious. The specialty drink"flirtini " was very good. The service was exceptional and I think we were there for 3 hours socializing.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Superb wine and food. One of the top 25 places I've dined at worldwide [North America, Asia, Europe, South America]. Superlative wine list. My only problem is that it is an 8 to 10 hour drive from Ottawa via #81.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Another outstanding meal at The Greenfield Inn! The menu choices are diverse enough for everyone. Ambiance and service are spot on. Any dining at the Inn is a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Seasonal, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My wife and I got there late and it was pretty empty.. But the service was excellent and the food was superb...A+

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 8, 2017

20th anniversary dinner. We had our rehearsal dinner there 20 years ago. Great food both occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

It was an excellent dining experience for our family, very pleasant staff, excellent cuisine selections, an overall enjoyable evening .

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My two daughters and I had dinner on Saturday night before going to the American Music Theater for a show. This was our first visit and we will definitely be returning. The food was excellent, service was very good plus we had the added enjoyment of a gentleman playing the piano. It was a very enjoyable dinner and I look forward to returning.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Garden salads were fresh and crisp. My husband and I both had the lamb tenderloin and it was done just as we had requested. Fresh rolls and butter were a nice treat. The menu was very interesting with several specials for the day. We would go again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The food was excellent! The room was chilly (room with fireplace). The bread basket and bread plates and butter were still on the table through dessert.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Very pleasant lunch. While we relaxed, the pace of service was also relaxed, but steady and attentive. A nice range of interesting meal choices. Worth visiting for an everyday meal or a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The service was excellent and the food was very good. I had the crabcakes which were quite tasty except one was burnt on the bottom. Overall a very good experience even though it was a bit pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

After some very good meals at the Greenfield Restaurant we hit a very average one. Prime Rib was chewy and salad was almosted wilted. Very disappointing and hopefully not a trend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Comfortable fine dining for business, pleasure or special occasions. Great wine list. Excellent seasonal outdoor dining. Definitely among my favorites - even for a get-away-from-the-office lunch break.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Casual, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I was a little disappointed in the food. The salad dressing seemed a bit watery and while the food was good, I would not call it excellent. I have eaten here a few times over the past seven years and to my mind, the food used to be excellent. I would call it over priced at this time.

Tags: Healthy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We both had the striped bass special, which was excellent. The service was just a little slow, but the experience was overall very positive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our dinner was excellent. We thought the timing of each course was perfect. Some may consider the service as "slow" but they are missing the point of enjoying a great dinner with the company you are with. We really enjoyed the ambience of the restaurant, especially the piano player who provided a relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Once again another successful date with my beautiful fiance we come twice a year and love it, we have recommended to a lot of people..

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent crab cakes, wine selection, and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was good but we were seated in the second floor which lacks ambiance. Also it seemed at times that we had been forgotten--service was very spotty.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The Greenfield has long been our place to dine for special occasions. We had dinner on Feb 11 for Valentine's. Our server was good, ambiance good, but the food was so disappointingly not up to par.
French onion soup was lukewarm, the crab cakes, scallops were room temp and the grilled lemon slice was cold! We didn't want to complain as it would dampen the evening. Sorry to report this but thought you should know

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This meal started out great. We'd told them it was a (very) special occasion, and they gave us a great table, perhaps the best in the house. The service was delightful, and the food started off well enough with a tasty appetizer and salad. When we got to the entree, it was anything but notable. It was under-seasoned and overcooked salmon. And the "lemon-butter sauce" was anything but lemon or butter. We couldn't put our finger on this sauce blandly sitting on the side of the plate like the pour on the dish was missed, but it dawned on us that the braised kale (tasted like it was simply boiled) on the bottom of the dish wasn't properly drained, so the water left in the kale soaked into the sauce, making it water-y and spinach-y. When we explained the disappointment to our server, she was apologetic, but didn't offer to change it out.

Then we got the bill and found that -- by choosing caesar salad over house salad, we were given $5.50 up-charges per plate. For a salad that's supposed to be included!! It was a great salad, but I wouldn't have ordered one separate from my meal. The up-charge (not on menu) took us aback. So ultimately, what started as a fantastic evening ended disappointing.

The service and ambiance were so good we'd be happy to give it another chance, but we'd need to know their kitchen had its act together first.

Tags: Cozy, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We had a very enjoyable meal, with great music. The food was excellent along with the presentation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Perfect evening. Relaxing and great food. Salmon was great and perfectly done!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My friends, myself and my husband had a GREAT time. Our waitress Brittany was exceptional! She was delightful, professional, informative and a delight. Kudos to Greenfield for hiring such great staff and having great food. Also, the restaurant has great ambiance. We will be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Excellent place to go for business lunch. Food and service are very good. We enjoy going here for business lunches. I could see coming back for dinner but I don't live in the area. recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This restaurant has the potential for 5 stars...but it falls short on several things...#1. The apps were ok...calamari were bland and the beef eggrolls were, well, beefy...not very creative....#2 dinner menu....waitress recommended the crabcakes which were made with substandard crab, tasted strong...we also had steak which was good, but came with nothing....scallops were very good, fish was good, beet salad was good and large enough for 2... desserts were pretty standard...creme brulee, peanut butter pie.....the total bill was 600 for 6 people...which is ok if the atmosphere and food were over the top...but i really couldnt rave about either...wasnt really bad, but wasnt really great either

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We have been there in the past, but this visit did not match up to our previous experiences. The table where we were seated was near the kitchen door. Each time a staff member exited the kitchen, we would hear a thump sound of the door banging.

The food was ok, but on the dry side.

The wait staff was efficient and professional

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.