Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.58mi

About The Greenfield Restaurant

Set in a 1780 Pennsylvania Stone Farmhouse with deep windows and a warm pleasant atmosphere this is a family owned and operated restaurant that is recognized as one of the "Best of Lancaster" for dinner, Sunday Brunch, patio dining, wine list, atmosphere and romantic settings. Although our building is over 225 years old we update our menu daily! Change is a good thing at the Greenfield. We specialize in next day delivery of Hawaiian Finfish and seafood while we continue to cut our own steaks. You will enjoy selections from our wine list that has been recognized by the Wine Spectator Magazine for over 9 years. Our patio and balcony over looking the trendy bar is among our customers favorite requests for lunch and dinner seating, while the wine cellar has two of the most romantic tables in the area. If you are traveling, this is one of those restaurants that you wish you had back home....and we are happy that you found us.

595 Greenfield Road
Lancaster, PA 17601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm Sunday Breakfast & Brunch: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
William Penn Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(717) 393-0668

Website:
http://www.thegreenfieldrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano Player in the Lounge on Friday & Saturday evenings 6 - 10pm
Lovely Ladies of Jazz Trio - Wednesday 6:30 - 9:30pm

Catering:
We offer full catering services for any occasion whether it is business, corporate, pharmaceutical, wedding and home food-services. Fully equipped with trucks and professional staff to design, produce maintain your event wherever your location. We are recognized as the Best of Lancaster in Catering as well as the Best of the Knot for wedding services. Call and ask for Ray or Kristen Hottenstein for details.

Parking Details:
More than adequate parking in our well lighted parking lot that is adjacent to the building.

Public Transit:
Public transit stops in front of the property

Executive Chef:
Jon Weaver

Private Party Facilities:
Bridal or baby showers are a specialty here at the Greenfield. Our house is yours if you want to take the whole first floor on a Saturday afternoon or a Sunday evening. The patio is available during the warmer months, although we have on occasion covered it for a special event. Please contact Ray for this venue.

Private Party Contact:
Ray Hottenstein: (717) 393-0668

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ask about our wine cellar seating. You will be in our actual cellar with only 2 tables in a very romantic and secluded area that is below ground. Ask us about "Wild Wednesday's" and our "Wild" Game offerings.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

The Greenfield Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (28)
Special Occasion (25)
Good for a Date (20)
See All
Romantic (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Local Ingredients (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Cozy (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Business Meals (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Casual (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Historic (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Live Music (7)
Fun (6)
Seasonal (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Scenic View (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Healthy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Private Room (1)
Authentic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
694 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

One of my guests asked about soups when speaking with the busser. The server jumped in and said, "he's only a busser." Being in the restaurant industry, this was troubling. Every staff member is important and should be treated accordingly.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

2nd trip was as good as the first. Little mix up with the cook on my wife's steak, but handled expertly. We will be back a third time. A Lancaster area gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 12, 2017

This restaurant is a great little Lancaster secret. My friends and I always have lunch here when we come to Lancaster for a show at the American Music Theater. The ambience is lovely, and the food and the Bloody Marys are always wonderful. Plenty of parking and easy access off of US 30.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Fabulous service, food and atmosphere! Will return soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great restaurant with outstanding food. The service was top-notch and the food was presented very well. It's not a particularity inexpensive option, but it's worth the cost.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great food and very nice environment
You have to try the lamb or the filet mignon - great choices

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Heard great things about the Restaurant and had the opportunity to try it. The best part of our night was the cocktail; very good manhattan but that is where it ended. We were rushed, the wine list was very good but overpriced, the prime rib special was very fatty, all our food came out barely Luke warm, the waitress was not pleasant, and we will never go back. We paid and left a tip but it will be my last time for both.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Met friends for lunch and we were disappointed in the food quality. Beautiful place but would not eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 1, 2017

My girl friends and I visit the greenfield every year when we have our annual get together in Lancaster. The food is always delicious and the service great. We have never had a bad meal in all the years we have been eating there.

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Dined their many times.
Consistently delivers very good to outstanding dining experience.

Halibut/beef were excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Aniversary

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 21, 2017

It's fine dining but we went there specifically for the music on Wednesday evening. I even confirmed with the hostess in the afternoon. We come pretty far . There was no entertainment and our waiter wasn't sure why.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 20, 2017

A great place to entertain family, friends and acquaintances. You can never go wrong.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Hostess was one menu short when seating us--promised to get another but never returned. Waiter served my meal from across the table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Sunday Brunch at The Greenfield Restaurant is always a treat. We enjoyed their crab omelet, quiche and of course their biscuits and chocolate chip muffins. YUM!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Fathers Day brunch . Delicious. Wasn't quite sure how it would go with a 3 yr and 4 yr old but our sever was more than accommodating!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We love the Greenfield Inn. Never fails we always have a delicious meal and great drinks . We will be back.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Romantic, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, People Watching, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, Paleo Friendly, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We had made reservations and were seated promptly. I would say the only problem was my husband had requested Corona and they had ran out on Friday seems weird for a Saturday night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This was the perfect setting for our group of eight! All 60+ with some having hearing issues, the round table kept us all close to the conversation, yet offered plenty of room for wine and cocktail glasses and dinner plates. We came worried if we were too large of a group but left delighted by the food and conversation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food and the service were very good , we were also impressed by the quality of the food proposed into the kids menu.
Good selection of wines.
We ate outside , the patio is great and the tables are enough spaced.
Overall that was a great experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Have been to Greenfield many times and have always enjoyed lunch and dinner there.
Ambience is lovely especially at Christmas time.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We had 11 people in our group. The restaurant not only enthusiastically accommodated us, they seated us in a private room so we wouldn't disturb other patrons with our conversation, and provided a square table rather than a long one so that we could converse with people opposite as well as next to us. The service was efficient, the staff was courteous, and though we were there for 3 hours, no one put any pressure on us to leave. And the food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Live jazz in the bar was heard well in the dining room as background music. Staff covered each other very smoothly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Nice place for a lunch , nice patio . ..................

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The food and service were very good. The restaurant is an old house with many separate rooms. Our room was very plain with nothing on the walls and dead flowers at the table. We just wish the decor was better. We would definitely go back the next time we visit the Lancaster area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Fascinating food well-prepared. Very good service by a very young server. Chef was willing to create a custom pasta dish for two vegetarians. Classic mixed drinks exceptionally well-made and true to traditional recipes. A wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We were tourists celebrating our anniversary near Lancaster. When we made the OpenTable reservation we had mentioned it was our anniversary and requested a quiet table. When we arrived we were told the dining room was closed, and we were seated at a table in the bar which was very noisy. For appetizers, we ordered different soups, which were OK although my onion soup had as much melted cheese as it did soup. For entrees, we both ordered filet mignon steaks cooked medium. They were both cooked well done, and were only slightly warm. The sides weren't particularly tasty. The service was acceptable, but just barely. Overall, it was a very disappointing dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Always delicious, always good service! Delightful patio for dining outside. Lots of locally-sourced ingredients. Good drink specials fitting the season. Excellent wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Too expensive for what it is

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

While the lunch menu is not big, the options are good. Food was great! I had the spare rib grilled cheese and it was excellent. Three of us shared the cream puff dessert. It was fantastic! Service was very good! Would go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

really terrific meal celebrating a special graduation moment for our Millersville student. excellent experience and would happily return

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. The crabcakes and scallops are to die for. Never too busy due to delicate but precise scheduling.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We have eaten here before when in the Lancaster area. My husband had Halibut and said it was very good. My dinner of prime rib was good except I asked for very rare and got more well done. So I was disappointed. Otherwise we had a nice time.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Menu was not as extensive as it had been when we last dined there....food was OK, but would we would rather pay more and get a meal worth raving over. This was not it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We enjoyed Greenfield, an unexpected pleasure in a shopping center. They have a wide variety of foods, all of which are tasty. I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We were in town for a show at the American Music Theater. Stayed at a B&B and had dinner with you. Lovely night so sat outside. Food was excellent, service very good. Only negative was that we as ordered your prime rib which was very large and asked if we could have a bag with some ice for the leftovers, (2 large hungry dogs)! Apparently you don't have any plastic bags. Hopefully, someones dogs feasted that night. The beef was delicious.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Loved the pianist and decor. We enjoyed ourselves immensely. Warm olive plate was awesome.

Tags: Scenic View, Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We were seated outdoors in the beautiful patio area. Although there was a bit of a smell, it is Lancaster county, so I don't know if that was particularly their fault. The food was good and the server always made sure our water glasses were full, which was a bit annoying while we were trying to have conversation, but I know it was well intended. Overall it was a pleasant dining experience with good local cuisine, and I would definitely recommend it for a date.

Tags: Organic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Lunch with a friend was wonderful! We both had the soup and salad combo- red pepper and crab soup and strawberry chicken salad. We ended with creme brûlée which was delicious. The specialty drink"flirtini " was very good. The service was exceptional and I think we were there for 3 hours socializing.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Superb wine and food. One of the top 25 places I've dined at worldwide [North America, Asia, Europe, South America]. Superlative wine list. My only problem is that it is an 8 to 10 hour drive from Ottawa via #81.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.