Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.64mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.58mi

About The Greenfield Restaurant

Set in a 1780 Pennsylvania Stone Farmhouse with deep windows and a warm pleasant atmosphere this is a family owned and operated restaurant that is recognized as one of the "Best of Lancaster" for dinner, Sunday Brunch, patio dining, wine list, atmosphere and romantic settings. Although our building is over 225 years old we update our menu daily! Change is a good thing at the Greenfield. We specialize in next day delivery of Hawaiian Finfish and seafood while we continue to cut our own steaks. You will enjoy selections from our wine list that has been recognized by the Wine Spectator Magazine for over 9 years. Our patio and balcony over looking the trendy bar is among our customers favorite requests for lunch and dinner seating, while the wine cellar has two of the most romantic tables in the area. If you are traveling, this is one of those restaurants that you wish you had back home....and we are happy that you found us.

595 Greenfield Road
Lancaster, PA 17601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm Sunday Breakfast & Brunch: 9:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
William Penn Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(717) 393-0668

Website:
http://www.thegreenfieldrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Piano Player in the Lounge on Friday & Saturday evenings 6 - 10pm
Lovely Ladies of Jazz Trio - Wednesday 6:30 - 9:30pm

Catering:
We offer full catering services for any occasion whether it is business, corporate, pharmaceutical, wedding and home food-services. Fully equipped with trucks and professional staff to design, produce maintain your event wherever your location. We are recognized as the Best of Lancaster in Catering as well as the Best of the Knot for wedding services. Call and ask for Ray or Kristen Hottenstein for details.

Parking Details:
More than adequate parking in our well lighted parking lot that is adjacent to the building.

Public Transit:
Public transit stops in front of the property

Executive Chef:
Jon Weaver

Private Party Facilities:
Bridal or baby showers are a specialty here at the Greenfield. Our house is yours if you want to take the whole first floor on a Saturday afternoon or a Sunday evening. The patio is available during the warmer months, although we have on occasion covered it for a special event. Please contact Ray for this venue.

Private Party Contact:
Ray Hottenstein: (717) 393-0668

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Ask about our wine cellar seating. You will be in our actual cellar with only 2 tables in a very romantic and secluded area that is below ground. Ask us about "Wild Wednesday's" and our "Wild" Game offerings.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

The Greenfield Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Romantic (22)
See All
Good for Birthdays (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Good for a Date (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Cozy (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Business Meals (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Live Music (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Happy Hour (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Scenic View (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Fun (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Authentic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (3)
Casual (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
715 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

This was our third time at Greenfield. We recommended it to someone going to Lancaster next month. We love the crepe with ice cream. I had the Pork chop very good, my wife had the chicken.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Had lunch here for a special occasion. The food was amazing. I had the greenfield burger. I cannot wait to go back! The flirtini was awesome. Staff was very friendly. I would definitely recommend you try this restaurant !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Our server must have been having an off day: she missed soup ordered by one person in our party, forgot our coffee, and we were not offered coffee again until much later in the meal. She was apologetic, and ultimately things turned out to be okay.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Outside dining is my favorite -- patio is beautiful and food, service is always very good.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Great food and atmosphere for business, special occasions, or a great meal out. One of my favorite places to eat in Lancaster, they have great jazz on Wednesday nights.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We were there for Sunday brunch. I had an excellent omelette, but made with so much oil that it detracted a bit. I prefer a 'dry' omelette. I should have asked. My wife had eggs and crab over English muffin. they were yummy but the provided turkey bacon strips were extremely spicy, black pepper and some red flakes. We didn't eat that, and you might want to order different bacon.

Super service, both speed and quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We enjoyed this restaurant ver much. Looking forward to my next visit, well worth the hour drive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Sitting on porch was great, nice atmosphere ! Food was very good . Our lunch went long and at about 3 pm or do they hurried us to close check, waitress had to go home and they wanted to reset table , really ? !! Asked if we could go to bar and they said no it's closed between lunch and dinner!! ?No one could make us a drink ? Nothing like throwing you to the curb .

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Menu selection is excellent. Be prepared for $$$$ price. Atmosphere is awesome. Great place for that special date or occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

The food was good but the service was very poor. We had reservation. After being seated we waited for almost 15 minutes before a server came by. There was only 4 other tables occupied. The service didn't improve during the evening. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The restaurant's outdoor seating was exceptionally cozy and relaxing. The food was very fresh and delicious. My 3 friends and I thoroughly enjoyed our dinners. Although my friend's risotto was room temperature (not cold or anything) when served the waiter made it right quickly. The Manager even came by to apologize. My friend really appreciated that. The outdoor seating was fairly quiet (we had no trouble hearing each other), was semi private with lattice work and plants making it a very enjoyable experience. We will return on our next trip to Lancaster!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

The food and service were excellent, and the weather cooperated - a nice evening for outdoor dining. We've had dinner at the Greenfield Inn numerous times over the years, and will return again in the future.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

My husband and I went to the Greenfield for a date night and were not disappointed. I ordered the Pan-Seared Giant Diver Sea Scallops and they were delicious - melted in my mouth. I would go back again just for them. I love that they source many of their ingredients from local sources and that they listed them on the menu. Everything was delicious and our waitress was great!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Brittani was an amazing server. She paired out wines perfect with the menu. She was so knowledgeable and friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

The food and service was excellent especially the lamb. Looking forward to coming back again. The bar experience was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food and service was excellent. Live music was very enjoyable.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Excellent restaurant with great service, food and ambiance.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Sorry but the salmon with polenta wasn't anything special at all

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Ate outside on a very pleasant afternoon.
Interesting and creative salad,
recommend!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 27, 2017

A little disappointed, before I came we were outside on the patio, it was much better. This time we were inside, the dining room decoration needs to be refreshed, doesn't smell nice. The food was just ....like that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Good service; good crab cakes; pleasant table in corner of bar area next to window of outside patio,

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 16, 2017

One of my guests asked about soups when speaking with the busser. The server jumped in and said, "he's only a busser." Being in the restaurant industry, this was troubling. Every staff member is important and should be treated accordingly.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2017

2nd trip was as good as the first. Little mix up with the cook on my wife's steak, but handled expertly. We will be back a third time. A Lancaster area gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 12, 2017

This restaurant is a great little Lancaster secret. My friends and I always have lunch here when we come to Lancaster for a show at the American Music Theater. The ambience is lovely, and the food and the Bloody Marys are always wonderful. Plenty of parking and easy access off of US 30.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Fabulous service, food and atmosphere! Will return soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great restaurant with outstanding food. The service was top-notch and the food was presented very well. It's not a particularity inexpensive option, but it's worth the cost.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great food and very nice environment
You have to try the lamb or the filet mignon - great choices

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Heard great things about the Restaurant and had the opportunity to try it. The best part of our night was the cocktail; very good manhattan but that is where it ended. We were rushed, the wine list was very good but overpriced, the prime rib special was very fatty, all our food came out barely Luke warm, the waitress was not pleasant, and we will never go back. We paid and left a tip but it will be my last time for both.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Met friends for lunch and we were disappointed in the food quality. Beautiful place but would not eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 1, 2017

My girl friends and I visit the greenfield every year when we have our annual get together in Lancaster. The food is always delicious and the service great. We have never had a bad meal in all the years we have been eating there.

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Dined their many times.
Consistently delivers very good to outstanding dining experience.

Halibut/beef were excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Aniversary

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 21, 2017

It's fine dining but we went there specifically for the music on Wednesday evening. I even confirmed with the hostess in the afternoon. We come pretty far . There was no entertainment and our waiter wasn't sure why.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 20, 2017

A great place to entertain family, friends and acquaintances. You can never go wrong.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Hostess was one menu short when seating us--promised to get another but never returned. Waiter served my meal from across the table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Sunday Brunch at The Greenfield Restaurant is always a treat. We enjoyed their crab omelet, quiche and of course their biscuits and chocolate chip muffins. YUM!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Fathers Day brunch . Delicious. Wasn't quite sure how it would go with a 3 yr and 4 yr old but our sever was more than accommodating!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We love the Greenfield Inn. Never fails we always have a delicious meal and great drinks . We will be back.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Romantic, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, People Watching, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, Paleo Friendly, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We had made reservations and were seated promptly. I would say the only problem was my husband had requested Corona and they had ran out on Friday seems weird for a Saturday night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This was the perfect setting for our group of eight! All 60+ with some having hearing issues, the round table kept us all close to the conversation, yet offered plenty of room for wine and cocktail glasses and dinner plates. We came worried if we were too large of a group but left delighted by the food and conversation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.