Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About The Green Room at HOTEL DU PONT

Enjoy American Continental cuisine in the Green Room, in an unforgettable setting of fumed oak paneling, coffered oak beamed ceiling, gold chandeliers, Italian mosaic and original oil paintings.


Music is played weekends from the musicians gallery overlooking the restaurant. The Green Room at the HOTEL DU PONT is winner of the Four-Diamond AAA Award for 30 consecutive years, and Wine Spectators "Best of Award of Excellence" for 2015.


The Green Room features a colorful combination of new and old; including shimmering draperies, comfortable wingback chairs, and Versace patterned china. The legendary elegance and comfort of the historic Green Room are complemented by a fresh, seasonally-inspired menu under the direction of Executive Chef Keith Miller and Sous Chef Bill Wilczynski. An award-winning wine collection and impeccable service combine for an unforgettable fine dining experience.

42 W 11th St
Wilmington, DE 19801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM
Saturday : 7:00 AM - 11 AM ;
Sunday : Breakfast served in the Café 7am-11am

Lunch: Monday - Saturday : 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM

Dinner : Sunday Thursday: 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday- Saturday: 6:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Brunch: Sunday: 10 AM - 1 PM

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 594-3154

Website:
http://www.hoteldupont.com/

Parking Details:
Hotel valet and self-parking available. Valet parking is complimentary for all dinner patrons.

Executive Chef:
Keith Miller C.E.C.

Private Party Contact:
David Dalrymple: (302) 594-3129

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Green Room at HOTEL DU PONT Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
See All
Good for a Date (18)
Romantic (17)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Afternoon Tea (10)
Business Meals (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Cozy (5)
Authentic (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Scenic View (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort by
S
871 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2018

Absolutely the classiest place in Delaware. Old school charming and attentive staff. The food is the highest quality and the presentation is part of the experience. Carving station, omlets to order, 3-bite steamed shrimp, oysters, several different fish, smoked items, salads, seafood bisque that melts down your throat. MANY MANY other items! Drinks are well made the desserts are decadent! Too many to list! Famous Hotel DuPont macaroons dipped in fresh berry sauce... OMG.

Valet parking, coat check, and amazing staff!

Luxury all the way!

YOU MUST GO HERE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 7, 2018

Absolutely beautiful decor and great food. A special place for dates, anniversaries, birthdays and impressing clients. The hotel DuPont is a historic gem.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 7, 2018

Worth the visit for the ambiance alone. The 3 course pre-fixe menu is extremely reasonable and features something for everyone - vegetarians included. The presentation is beautiful and the flavor profiles sublime. Portions large. Our head server Shah was a gem. When he discovered the cellar was out of the bottle we ordered, he brought several options to the table and didn't try to force the most expensive bottle on us. He could have merely brought the wine list back and told us sorry, pick again. The expeditors where flawless in delivery. I opted for a smoked salmon flatbread app, crabcake entrée and lemon sorbet while my date had ceasar salad (hold the croutons), filet mignon and a marbled cheesecake. ...If only the show after was as well executed as our dinner...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2018

Food was hot and delicious! Loved the crab cakes and crab soup. Old time splendor and solid food preparation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2018

Really great way to spend a rainy Sunday with good friends. We enjoyed exceptional service, luxurious atmosphere, and yummy food made on the premises. The piano music, champagne, and the Hotel’s opulence added to the experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2018

The foie gras was nearly perfect, the same can be said about the beet salad. The New York strip was cooked to the correct temperature and was excellent. The green room is a dining experience that takes time to fully enjoy. The Pianist was spot on with a subdued groove going on in the room. The head waiter watches the room like a hawk, our server was busy serving a cake to a large party, I was looking around the room, trying to get someone’s attention, in about 10 seconds, he was at our table.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 5, 2018

My wife and I went to the hotel and dinner for our anniversary. It was excellent. Also hotel very accommodating with late checkout! Great overall experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Spent New Year's Eve here at the Green Room 2017-2018. What a beautiful room to enter. The planning of this event could have been better. When we checked in we were told to go over to the Café for wine and hor d'oeuvres. We stood around for ten minutes before being seated. Afterwards we were sent back to the Green Room for the Gala dinner night. Had know idea what to expect. The first course nobody liked at our table. The next three were very good. I had the new York strip and my wife had the lobster tail. Very disappointing. My steak was served on a black plate and being in a room with low lighting made it very difficult to see what was on the plate. Half way through eating the steak I noticed there were mushrooms in a sauce. My steak was very tough. I was astonished I could be served something like this. My wife's lobster tail was also served tough like mine. In fact she asked if she could borrow my steak knife to cut through it. Sort of put a damper on the whole evening. The music for the night was interesting and some what enjoyable. My wife and I wanted to do some dancing and made our way to the dance floor. It was very hard to enjoy the dance for the floor kept coming apart. Enough to lose your foot in. My wife notice later on her high heels were all cut up on the heels from this dance floor. Towards the end of the night we were presented with the check. Was I ever surprised. This was my first time here and had know idea of what the cost was going to be. It really didn't matter to me the cost. The service was good, but the main course terrible. To be charged $350 for this meal was a lot. So much I felt the wine should have been included. Thinking there can't be any more I got to the bottom of the check and I was charged for a cup of coffee. This really left an impression on me about the Green Room. I believe we'll be celebrating next year some where different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Steeped in Decadence, history, beauty, exceptional architecture, fantastic French cuisine. Lovely wait staff. A must do.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2017

The staff are very professional, the atmosphere is refined, food is excellent. Menu is limited but they'll happily make custom dish, e.g. they made a nice vegan meal for my daughter.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2017

The Green Room at the Hotel Du Pont is one of the most beautiful dining rooms in the world. Unfortunately, the food and the service have taken a hit since the last time we dined there. The dinner menu is limited and could best be characterized as continental classics with a modern twist; obviously catering to the business clientele that dominates the hotel. We had the nondescript caesar and petite greens salad for starters, moved on to seafood bisque and sweet corn ravioli, and then the pan-seared tuna with the pomegranate vinaigrette (which was actually pretty good) and the duck breast, which came with a mountain of faro risotto (which really didn’t go together.) For dessert, we went with the bananas foster prepared tableside, which wasn’t warm enough and didn’t have enough ice cream. The wine list is pretty limited; we had prosecco for the cocktail and a 2016 Cline Pinot Noir, of which the waiter indicated he sold a lot. We don’t know what has happened, but the restaurant is clearly resting on its laurels and it’s sad to see.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Dupont Green Room is perfect for special occassion. Staffs are very attentive, and kid friendly. Highly recommended!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. Highly recommend for any occasion. Loved the piano player.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Without a doubt, the most special place to dine in Wilmington. The atmosphere of this historic restaurant tops everything, however, the food is outstanding. We went for a special occasion lunch and everything was perfect!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Seasonal, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 26, 2017

Had three meals there: Breakfast, dinner, and afternoon tea. Go for the tea. It was lovely. The room is beautiful and all of the service wonderful (with the exception of one surly young hostess). Elegant and high-end food selections that were prepared in a rather lackluster and bland fashion.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2017

We were rather disappointed and, frankly, discomfited by our recent experience at the Green Room at the Hotel DuPont. We made reservations for Christmas Dinner several weeks before the event. When we arrived, the hostess was upset, but didn't say why. She excused herself and went to find the woman whom I supposed was the floor manager. After a short delay, we were seated. A waiter arrived and explained how the brunch was supposed to have been managed. (Note we had made reservations for an early dinner.). We accepted that and proceeded to a buffet style appetizer/salad bad that had been stripped of all but a few scraps - I mean this literally. We had a small bit of salad and returned to our table. Apparently someone realized that there were more customers, and they replaced some of this items, but not the servers who managed the tables (we found that there were such attendants later). Obviously, there was a problem with the scheduling system since the woman whom we thought was the flood manager came up as this time and said there was no way we could have made a reservation for that time. We showed her the confirmation for the reservation on Open Table and she again denied that it could have been made. The people at the next table confirmed that they had a similar experience on arrival. The entrees were relatively well crafted and the server was relatively attentive. The overall experience, however, left a very poor taste in our mouths, so to speak. To top everything off, the attendant at the coat check was missing when we left and we had to search for our coats. Not the experience one expects at the once mighty Hotel DuPont.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Lovely way to spend Christmas Day: good food, enjoyable entertainment, excellent service, and wonderful ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Dear Open Tables:

I cannot tell you how disappointed I am with your service; when I arrived to be seated I was rudely told my reservation was not in the Green Room. It was a very embarrassing moment for me and my family. I was told I had to go to the ballroom downstairs which by comparison was like sending me to the cafeteria rather than eating in the beautiful Green Room. I looked forward to this Christmas dinner with my Father who is 87 years old and I shudder at the thought that this would be our last memory of a Christmas together. I would never recommend your service to anyone and quite frankly I have been outspoken to all that will listen to me about how I was given the old bait and switch on Christmas. I am still angry about this and I would like to have money back.

Sincerely,

Lee B. Miller
631-987-6171

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 24, 2017

The Green Room is divine - a throwback to another time of romantic dining with beautiful decor. However the food is wonderful -- not dated. The service was impeccable, the staff friendly and professional. It made Christmas out of town very special. We met John Gomes the Director of For and Beverage and told him how impressed we were with the way the staff works as a team. I loved it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 22, 2017

It was a great evening meal. Decorations were nice, service was great and the piano player was terrific.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 22, 2017

I surprised my husband with a fabulous meal before a show at the Playhouse. This is THE top restaurant in Delaware!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2017

Food was good, service not so good. Had to be reminded to bring ordered drinks. Slow on refilling water. Really slow bringing the check making it a rush to get to the theater on time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2017

the best way to start a special evening
great food and the best entertainment

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2017

The Green Room is beautiful as always, especially at Christmas. This restaurant is a treasure.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere and very accommodating hostesses. Food is delicious and worth the price. Attentive staff and old world charm. Was an absolute highlight of my visit to Wilmington.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 18, 2017

Six girlfriends had a holiday dinner on Monday night and had the best time. We were treated superbly and had a most delicious meal. Six happy women!!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2017

Great place great service. staff was extremely friendly and the ambience was great.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Service an ambiance are always outstanding! Food is usually excellent, though my sirloin was more toward medium than the way I ordered it. Ordinarily I'd give 5 stars, but this was a rare exception. Still, it is an excellent place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Service was very good and timed appropriately. We were not rushed. Food was excellent. Quiet atmosphere...

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 16, 2017

The old-world charm of the Green Room is a serene and elegant background for a lovely lunch. Our extended family meets there each year for an early Christmas celebration. We have never been disappointed. The service, atmosphere and food are all wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 13, 2017

Outstanding. New owners expanded the entree options. Wine prices are up, but the food, service and ambiance are great. They need to put the piano back on the balcony. It’s background music, NOT a focal point of the dining experience!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 12, 2017

Always great food but the service and ambiance always make the Green Room special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Not what is used to be. Service has been "dummied down", had to listen to them tearing down tables at 9:00 after a large party left. Out of wine we ordered, brought out another bottle, same price, but different type of wine (?), should have brought out the wine list so we could pick another wine. Food was just ok. Dessert was marble cheesecake at Christmas, rather boring! Nice prix fixe menu on Sunday evening. Still elegant and beautiful dining room.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Welcoming staff with excellent service. Beautiful Christmas decorations.

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Had dinner before a show at The Playhouse on Rodney Square, so it was very convenient to just walk over to the theater housed in the same building. Wine list was extensive, however no "signature" cocktails and very, very sparse selection of craft beers. The dinners, with the prix fixe menu, were also somewhat limited in selections, but sized well and tasty. My New York strip steak was done perfectly however the cut of beef was a bit tough and chewy. I realize this was not filet mignon, however a better cut of beef would have been expected for this restaurant. With dessert included, one would have thought coffee would have been as well, but this was not the case. Four cups of average coffee added $20 to the bill - what????
Pros: Cannot beat the room ambience...very classic DuPont style. And at the Holiday time, the large decorated Christmas tree was very festive and added to the warmth of the room. And as mentioned earlier, access to the theater is perfect.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 8, 2017

This was the 2nd time I brought my work team there for a holiday luncheon. Everyone loves it and wants to go back next year. We had a great round table by a window, and it gave us all a chance to just talk about anything BUT work, and get to know each other better. Food was excellent, as was the service.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2017

On business travel, had a delicious and relaxing dinner in the Green Room. Very good service too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2017

We were extremely disappointed with the Sunday brunch. We enjoyed very much the brunch last year the weekend after Thanksgiving, but this time things have changed dramatically. Last year they served filet mignon at the carving station that was served medium rare and delicious. This year it was incredibly overcooked, grisly beef tenderloin. They should have been ashamed to serve this so overdone.
The omlette station was equally bad. I have to believe the "cook" received minimal, if any, training. My omlette was overcooked and placed on my plate in pieces.
Breakfast potatoes were dry and tasteless. I am struggling to find anything positive to say about our experience. We even had to wave down our server for a first cup of coffee and refills as well. This poor service was unheard of in the past at this once fine establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2017

So disappointed, I have visited here before but this time was just so unpleasant that I decided to never come here again. I knew i would be late for my reservation, so I called ahead of time and let the hostess know and she said that was fine. We arrived, and the hostess assumed we were there for the Christmas with Santa event and tried to put us in the cafe (which I don't even think was part of the Green Room, just part of the hotel itself). She didn't know where to put us since it was full so a shorter Asian hostess (not server, different clothes) was consulted. I guess she didn't realize we were standing right behind her since she scoffed and then laughed that we were late and were looking for a table for the Green Room (that we had reserved!!!). They were looking for options but making it seem as if it were such an inconvenience to them. Mind you, I was a hostess before, so I understand reservations, that is why I called beforehand. Finally someone SOMEHOW found a table (the entire restaurant was empty) and we were sat. The hostess shot us dirty looks the entire time and we were not treated like the other guests.

The entrees were regular brunch fair, I was excited to see they had eggs benedict. I would've needed a steak knife to cut into it but with the service how it was, i just made do and ate a third until I got tired of sawing at the food.

At least Santa was nice.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2017

I took my godmother to Sunday brunch to celebrate her 86th birthday. The hostess, Maddy, who greeted us was absolutely wonderful - friendly, helpful, great conversationalist. She helped my godmother feel extra special and I so appreciated her wonderful hospitality! She is terrific.

The waitstaff was equally customer service oriented. The food was very good and the menu offered a variety of choices. Well worth the 2 hours for me to drive from Washington, DC to pick up my godmother who lives nearby to the Hotel DuPont and take her to this restaurant. Hope to return to celebrate her 87th and would recommend to all!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.