About The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont

11th & Market Streets
Wilmington, DE 19801
View Larger Map

Enjoy French cuisine in the Green Room, in an unforgettable setting of fumed oak paneling, coffered oak beamed ceiling, gold chandeliers, Italian mosaic and original oil paintings.


Music is played weekends from the musicians gallery overlooking the restaurant. The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont is winner of the Four-Diamond AAA Award for 30 consecutive years, and Wine Spectators "Best of Award of Excellence" for 2015.


The Green Room features a colorful combination of new and old; including shimmering draperies, comfortable wingback chairs, and Versace patterned china. The legendary elegance and comfort of the historic Green Room are complemented by a fresh, seasonally-inspired menu under the direction of Executive Chef Keith Miller and Sous Chef Bill Wilczynski. An award-winning wine collection and impeccable service combine for an unforgettable fine dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM
Saturday : 7:00 AM - 11 AM ; Sunday : 7 AM - 9:45 AM

Lunch: Monday - Saturday : 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM

Dinner : Sunday Thursday: 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday- Saturday: 6:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Brunch: Sunday: 10 AM - 1 PM

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 594-3154

Website:
http://www.hoteldupont.com/

Parking Details:
Hotel valet and self-parking available. Valet parking is complimentary for all dinner patrons.

Executive Chef:
Keith Miller C.E.C.

Private Party Contact:
Alan Robinson: 3025943256x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Filet Mignon - The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont, Wilmington, DE
  • Tangarine Sorbet Martini - The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont, Wilmington, DE
  • Lobster Risotto - The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont, Wilmington, DE
  • Lobster Bisque - The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont, Wilmington, DE
Filet Mignon - The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont, Wilmington, DE
Tangarine Sorbet Martini - The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont, Wilmington, DE
Lobster Risotto - The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont, Wilmington, DE
Lobster Bisque - The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont, Wilmington, DE

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:30PM - 7:30PM

The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Overall
Delaware
Best Food
Delaware
3 More
Best Service
Delaware
Best Ambiance
Delaware
Best Value
Delaware
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

Romantic (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
See All
Quiet Conversation (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Historic (11)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Business Meals (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Scenic View (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Cozy (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Authentic (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Healthy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Private Room (1)
Live Music (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Fun (1)
Casual (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
684 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Shahriar the waiter is professional in a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Shahriar the waiter is professional in all respects.

The salad and entrees were extraordinarily good, but the desserts fell somewhat shorter of the otherwise high standard set by this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very elegant place, throwback to the ear ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Very elegant place, throwback to the early 1900s. Menu was limited to a few fish and meat dishes, but enough choice to satisfy almost anyone. Service was top notch and the ambiance was first rate.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Sunday nights at the hotel DuPont are th ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Sunday nights at the hotel DuPont are the best kept secret in Wilmington. I highly recommend the Sunday night 3 course dinner. I don't know if the price fluctuates but it was 3 courses for $35. It was delicious. The green room is lovely especially during the holidays. And the best part is the peaceful atmosphere- you can actually have a conversation. And the famous hotel cookies come with your bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Impressive elegant decor with exceptiona ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Impressive elegant decor with exceptionally well prepared food either for breakfast, Sunday brunch or dinner. Service is attentive to every need in a warm atmosphere . Dishes are prepared fresh and with creativity with a nice menu selection . The breathtaking high ceiling with decorations, will transport you to another century reminiscent of old established European elegance and refinement. The Green Room is one of the three most elegant dining rooms we have ever come across and the experience we had was exceptional . We are well traveled and would challenge sny reader to identify a more beautiful and elegant dining room than the Green Room at the Hotel DuPont in Wilmington Delaware. Bon appetit!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy, Fun, Healthy, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the third time we have experienc ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This is the third time we have experienced issues with the Green Room on a day of a show. We elected not to do the buffet, which seemed to cause an issue. It appeared that ordering from the menu means extra time. I mentioned that I would like coffee after our meal and before we were near to finishing we were brought a plate of cookies, which we felt meant, you are finished. Then, after a long while the server came to collect the plates and asked if we wanted more. Very confusing message for us. It is not what I have experience before, but I am concerned that this is the third time I have experienced this. Going to give it one more try before the next event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

This was a positive experience with grea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 15, 2016

This was a positive experience with great service, ambiance,and high quality food, but I was very disappointed in the limited menu. There were only 4 potential entrees. I seldom order steak when I dine out because I can get that at home, but chose it as the only possibility I cared for from the menu. That being said, the steak was excellent and prepared perfectly.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The dining room is both elegant and comf ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The dining room is both elegant and comfortable. The service is impeccable.

Tags: Historic, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The overall experience was disappointing ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The overall experience was disappointing. What was once a place one would be thrilled to go, I found the experience to be nothing like it was only a few years ago. For the entire first hour, we were the only couple there, and then only one other couple came in before we left. The room was dark , but one of the draperies was torn which took away from the ambiance. The food was OK.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

The best spot for elegant dining in Wilm ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The best spot for elegant dining in Wilmington. The desserts were delicious and whimsical looking.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only real negative here was the cont ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The only real negative here was the continuously squeaky violin music; it must have been the same CD the whole time we were there. Everything else there was wonderful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We had a wonderful anniversary dinner in ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We had a wonderful anniversary dinner in this beautiful restaurant. This is a perfect spot for a memorable meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Steak was so-so for the price; shrimp ov ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Steak was so-so for the price; shrimp overcooked. Restaurant was virtually empty. Quality of food was not worth the price in the lavish setting. Unfortunate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

The food portions were a lot bigger than ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The food portions were a lot bigger than I expected. The tuna was unbelievable. The chef did an amazing job with pairing the wine with the different courses. I would highly recommend for a special occasion of if you want to impress a date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's the Green Room- what else needs to ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2016

It's the Green Room- what else needs to be said? It is still elegant beyond any other setting in the city. If you want formal, with attention to detail, and service that is attentive but not overbearing, this is the place. We participated in the Delaware Dines Out program and it was worth every penny. We added a glass of champagne to the prix fix menu for a reasonable amount. I was curious as to how the food would be, as my family had attended the Mother's Day brunch two years ago. Then, the food was mundane and really quite boring. For DDO, the menu was top notch. The only less than perfect aspect of the meal is the funky dinner plates that are used for the main course. They are very oddly shaped - very modern - and don't fit the elegance of the room. Placing a knife or fork on the rim of the plate was impossible.Overall, it is THE Green Room and lived up to our expectations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second visit, just as lovely. Enjoyed wi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Second visit, just as lovely. Enjoyed with friend in a pleasant elegant setting. No scurrying servers and high noises.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We enjoyed our wedding anniversary dinne ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We enjoyed our wedding anniversary dinner at the Green Room. Staff was gracious and service was excellent. The food was delicious and presentation beautiful!

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely quiet dinner with friends. Nice t ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Lovely quiet dinner with friends. Nice to be able to chat without a whirl wind around you in a pleasant atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The Green Room is a beautiful room to ha ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 28, 2016

The Green Room is a beautiful room to have a dinner. The food was amazing! We will definitely be back. Our server was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to return after a long absenc ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 27, 2016

We decided to return after a long absence. Last experience not pleasant. Delighted with the Dining Out Delaware 3 course price fixe menu. Superb selections all done with perfection. Our server, Tim, made the evening especially memorable. We will certainly return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The kitchen/Waiter forgot one order of s ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The kitchen/Waiter forgot one order of steak entre which was noted but never received.

The seafoodtable was out of salmon,the shrimp were very tiny canned shrimp, a slim offering of food , service was good but needs improvement. The main course was excellent

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Beautiful, elegant dining room. The serv ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Beautiful, elegant dining room. The service was very poor. The waitress was casual, hard to understand and not attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Wonderful Occasion Friends told us that ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Wonderful Occasion

Friends told us that when visiting Wilmington, The Green Room was the place to dine just to see the spectacular room. They were right, but not only is the room spectacular but the food is outstanding, also. The entire experience from the room to the food to the service was well worth the trip to downtown Wilmington.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was perfect for our birthday brunch c ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 4, 2016

It was perfect for our birthday brunch celebration. We cannot say enough about the thoughtful and attentive service. Our food was delicious, we enjoyed the variety of selections, and of course, the traditional macaroons for which they famous.

The pianist was wonderful, décor elegant, ambience serene....

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on Sunday night and had the Sund ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We went on Sunday night and had the Sunday dinner menu. There was one server who opened the wine away from the table. It was white wine and it was not cold at service. He often neglected to put the bottle in the ice bucket. We got up repeatedly to put it in ourselves, and to pour for ourselves. My family's food was delicious, they say. But my soup and the crab meat in it were cold, and my chicken was dry and tough. Dessert was delicious. Doubtful we'll go back, but definitely not on a Sunday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Great ambiance. Live piano player during ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great ambiance. Live piano player during brunch..Delicious and varied menu. Attentive service.Well worth the$$$.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated quickly. The staff was v ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 15, 2016

We were seated quickly. The staff was very friendly The service was great, and the food was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful location in a historic hotel. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Beautiful location in a historic hotel. Piano serenade from overhead balcony. Terrific service. Food was great. Bountiful buffet and good choice of entrees for brunch. Great dessert selection

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This is a beautiful old hotel dining roo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is a beautiful old hotel dining room. But I think the hotel is resting on it laurels. It service was not as good as a Friendly's! The wine would not of been poured if we didn't do it, there were few check backs, and the food was over done. My friend ordered the crab cake with soft shell crab, she said the crab cake was meaty with limited bread crumbs, but the soft shell crabs were over breaded. and over cooked. I was the most disappointed, and my friend agreed with me. I ordered the salmon, my server didn't ask how I l would like it, but I didn't think I had to in a high end restaurant. It was over cooked and dry, but with good flavor. There had micro root veggies, that were cute, but were equal to about two mouthfuls. The real disappointment was the wild rice, which I normally love, but it was uncooked, I didn't eat it. I told the waiter, he said he would let the chef know, but later told me he couldn't. The Maitre D came over, I was trying to be nice, so I said I love the look of the dining room, but was very disappointed with the rice,it was raw, (it was the consistency of bird seed). He said he would let the chef know, he really appreciated me letting him know, they love to always improve. BUT that is where it stopped, they did NOTHING!. It was like what I told him didn't mater. I guess I should of yelled and made a big deal. I thought they might apologize again, and maybe comp the dessert. NOTHING! Really they should off comped the meal when half the meal wasn't eaten. Oh well, hopefully you learn from my mistake, and try a different place to eat.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

A wonderful experience for a special occ ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 23, 2016

A wonderful experience for a special occasion. They even provided a free desert when they found out. Top quality food and service. You can tell they all really care about what they do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Needed a reservation even though 60% of ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Needed a reservation even though 60% of tables were empty. We went to a show at Hotel that night. Food was tasty, servings on the small side. Service was excellent, very pricy but very professional. We enjoyed it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Very relaxing, comfortable place to enjo ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very relaxing, comfortable place to enjoy dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There have been stories in the Media abo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2016

There have been stories in the Media about the Hotel du Pont being sold, so Mom and I decided to have dinner in the Green Room before it is gone. The dinner was wonderful -- I had the Beet, Pear, and Strawberry Salad and Pan-Roasted Bronzino, while Mom had the Chilled Pineapple and Mango Soup and the Wild Caught Salmon. Each entree was modified to our needs without any issues. My only concern was the demeanor of the service staff. I'm not sure if our server was nervous, but his voice was a bit loud and giddy. The other server that night felt it necessary to "bash" the decor and music of the Green Room so that anyone in the room could hear, comparing it to hotel restaurants in NYC that have "adapted" to changing times and tastes. I was saddened to see that there were only two tables being used the night we were there. Change is often difficult and I hope that Wilmington doesn't lose an iconic landmark hotel / restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful inside and out with great serv ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Beautiful inside and out with great service. No Filet Mignon on the menu, the Surf and Turf being Lobster (excellent) and barrel cut ribeye. The barrel cut ribeye, ordered medium rare, was tough, dry and lacking in flavor. I'm comparing the ribeye to Bonz and 1776 restaurants.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Magnificent dining room with fine old wo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Magnificent dining room with fine old world service; elegant as it was in the 1900s. But the food, beautifully presented as it was, can only be described as good; not worth the price. I ordered the crab cake which had been touted as "consistently good" in a recent food review article. It was "good", but it was accompanied by a soft shell crab which was prepared tempura style. It was all batter crunch with no taste or texture of a soft shell crab. Hopefully for this icon, the future owners of the Hotel DuPont will preserve the magnificence of the dining room but reinvent the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We took our house guest to the Green Roo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 4, 2016

We took our house guest to the Green Room for a special breakfast before taking her to the bus, which was only a 10 minute ride away. It was the perfect way to end a lovely visit. The service was impeccable and the room is the most elegant thing in Wilmington Delaware. It is reminiscent of the great restaurants in the New York Plaza Hotel on Fifth Avenue at Central Park.

   The morning we were there a buffet was offered but we we chose to use the menu. Each of our breakfast entrees were excellent, and I would give each "best in class, ever" for each very different offering.  I had the Creamed Chipped  Beef (with truffle oil) on toast, which came with a fried egg.  I asked for a side of asparagus, and it was provided, even though it was not on the list of sides. My husband got the Bagel with Salmon, red onion and cream cheese. It a came elegantly plated and was a huge amount of salmon. The red onion  was sliced micro-thin and seemed slightly pickled.  Our guest had the Belgian Waffles  with bacon and blue berries.  They were also elegantly plated and disappeared quickly. 

    I must say I also enjoyed the classic music playing in the background on the excellent sound system at a level that did not interfere with conversation..  We have been there for dinner when their was live piano music, and also enjoyed that.
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience in a beautiful, class ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Awesome experience in a beautiful, classic architectural Gem

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A beautiful room, with elegant style, an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2016

A beautiful room, with elegant style, and a wonderful, creative french menu. Always a good experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were excellent. The ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food and service were excellent. There were problems with the drinks as the bartender was not sure how to make some of them although they were rather basic. He apologized (via the waiter) that he did not have onions for the gin gimlets! He also sent out Rose's Lime juice in case either of the people wanted more in their gimlets. Two martinis had been ordered, one came with olives and the other with cucumber. Overall, it was an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Exquisite atmosphere and food. Great ro ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 8, 2016

Exquisite atmosphere and food. Great romantic spot with very special service and plenty of time for fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful and elegant restaurant.

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 3, 2016

Elegant Atmosphere for a special occasion. Valet parking is free with dining get ticketstamped.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.