Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.24mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About The Green Room at HOTEL DU PONT

Enjoy French cuisine in the Green Room, in an unforgettable setting of fumed oak paneling, coffered oak beamed ceiling, gold chandeliers, Italian mosaic and original oil paintings.


Music is played weekends from the musicians gallery overlooking the restaurant. The Green Room at the HOTEL DU PONT is winner of the Four-Diamond AAA Award for 30 consecutive years, and Wine Spectators "Best of Award of Excellence" for 2015.


The Green Room features a colorful combination of new and old; including shimmering draperies, comfortable wingback chairs, and Versace patterned china. The legendary elegance and comfort of the historic Green Room are complemented by a fresh, seasonally-inspired menu under the direction of Executive Chef Keith Miller and Sous Chef Bill Wilczynski. An award-winning wine collection and impeccable service combine for an unforgettable fine dining experience.

42 W 11th St
Wilmington, DE 19801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM
Saturday : 7:00 AM - 11 AM ; Sunday : Breakfast served in the Café 7am-11am

Lunch: Monday - Saturday : 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM

Dinner : Sunday Thursday: 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday- Saturday: 6:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Brunch: Sunday: 10 AM - 1 PM

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 594-3154

Website:
http://www.hoteldupont.com/

Parking Details:
Hotel valet and self-parking available. Valet parking is complimentary for all dinner patrons.

Executive Chef:
Keith Miller C.E.C.

Private Party Contact:
Alan Robinson: (302) 594-3256

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Green Room at HOTEL DU PONT Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Special Occasion (12)
See All
Good for Birthdays (9)
Romantic (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Business Meals (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Authentic (3)
Cozy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Seasonal (2)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Music (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort by
S
831 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Mother -Daughter Date

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

We always eat in the Green Room when we are going to the Playhouse. It is a wonderful way to start a theater night. This was the first time we were there since the new owners made changes. We were happy to see a lot of the same people still working there, always a good sign. The food was wonderful. One of my favorites, a crab cake appetizer, was still on the menu. The menu was prix fixe since this was a special Sinatra night. A pianist and singer were in the dining room, adding ambience to our meal. Service was good if maybe a little disorganized at times. We enjoyed our meal very much and are planning our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 10, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants for special occasions. The food is great. The service is very good. The Dining area is special. This last time a piano player was present and was very good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2017

It was a most enjoyable brunch in such an elegant setting! There were many selections for all the courses, especially the desserts. All the staff members were polite, helpful and attentive. It was a good value because 1 drink is included in the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2017

A Wilmington icon. The Green Room is as fabulous as ever.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 29, 2017

The décor of the room is breath taking. Took me to another era in time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 28, 2017

It was our 35th anniversary and we had our reception at the hotel an it has never loss its charm and elegance.
Food and service is always great. They make you feel special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 23, 2017

We enjoy the Green Room as a convenient half way point between Annapolis, MD and northern NJ to meet friends. As many of our friends are older, with loss of hearing, a quiet dining venue is essential. The Green Room is elegant, service has been excellent and food is very good. Only concern is whether this venue has enough volume to keep it going. And, not only does kitchen close early, but it seemed as though staff disappeared shortly after 2:00 p.m. Hope this room, with its wonderful ambiance, continues to endure as a dining spot.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2017

The staff was very caring for my wife that has balance problems and uses a four point cane.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

We celebrated my husband's birthday with our children and a couple of friends. The food and staff were very friendly and attentive. It was nice having music playing throughout the brunch. We felt the value for the $$ was good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We wanted to go to the famous Sunday Brunch. It was a lovely nicely decorated room (The Green Room). The food stations were spread out so there was no crowding. The food displays were elegant and everything I tried was delicious. The omelet station was a very popular station--and quite delicious. Very nice meal, extremely polite and helpful staff. I would recommend the brunch to friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Extremely attentive service, great food, and most beautiful dining roon I've ever eaten in.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We had breakfast there. Service was poor, food was over cooked and not well prepared. Ambience was beautiful, but extremely overpriced for the quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Wonderful food and service in a beautiful dining room. We especially enjoyed the piano player. The music was at a perfect volume, wonderful selections, and a very talented musician.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Celebrated our 24th anniversary, started with a cocktail at the lobby bar, then into the Green Room for dinner. Everything was perfect, the service was on point and genuine, food beautifully presented, cooks perfectly and delicious. The beauty of this room made for an experience even greater than we anticipated.
5 stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 21, 2017

First, the good: The room is beautiful...filled with Old World elegance that evoked a spirit of the former days that celebrated excellence and quality. Plus the service was exceptional...attentive without being overbearing and polite without being cloying.

Now, the reality: The food was very spotty. Our appetizers were terrific, causing us to later wish that we had stopped there. There were 3 of us in our party and of the 3 entree's we ordered, one was terrific (lamb chops), another was just fair (Tuna), and the third was not at all good (Fillet). The fillet had been ordered "medium rare." It arrived "well done." The friend who ordered it rightly sent it back. They agreed it was "well" and replaced it. Unfortunately, it was still over cooked and not at all "medium rare." My friend said she would be too embarrassed to send it back again but was very disappointed in the taste and texture. I agreed after tasting it. They apologized for the mistake and even gave us a dessert at no charge which was a very kind gesture/acknowledgement and was appreciated.

When we discussed The Green Room after dinner, we all agreed that we had had a truly lovely experience BUT... for the price, the inconsistency of the food would not encourage us to return or recommend. I wish it had been different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Buffet tables were messy, and serving utensils had to be shared among platters. We waited over an hour for our entrees, and they had been held too long in the kitchen. Most of our food was marginal. It was not attractive or palatable. The dining room was not busy, but our server excused the service by telling us there was a big table that needed to be served before us. Patrons were dressed in tee shirts and jeans. I remember the Sunday brunch when it was classy, delicious, and people came to dine. My daughter met a person dressed in pajamas in the ladies room who asked her for money. I am sad to say The Green Room is not what it once was. I will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food was perfectly prepared. A few more options would be nice. It is hard to give five stars since there were only two other tables on the holiday weekend. The room is stunning. Service was flawless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Service and food has gone down in quality for brunch. Way too expensive. Way way wayyyy to expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 25, 2017

This was our engagement dinner first choice and it was the right one. Everything is done well at The Green Room

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 25, 2017

It never looses it's charm! Took my granddaughter out for her first special dinner! The staff was fantastic and the food was outstanding! I hope this does not go away with the renovations to the Hotel DuPont!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Beautiful room, with gorgeous details--airy, high ceilings, great windows and lovely table settings----not-to-be missed ambiance. Piano player during dinner (at least on Friday nights) which does not overwhelm conversation--while this may be perceived as an old fashioned venue, the food is extremely good and carefully prepared and the elegant, but warm setting is a return to civilized dining at its best. The food is NOT an afterthought--we had an absolutely marvelous, first rate veal porterhouse, cooked to medium rare perfection, and my dining partner had outstanding lamb chops, also carefully prepared. The starter salad was made with fresh, nicely presented greens and dressed carefully--I had the smoked salmon appetizer, which while straight-forward, is a good example how simple dishes can be prepared in outstanding ways. The wine list is fairly priced with some nice 1/2 bottles and decent wines by the glass, plus a very nice selection of full sized offerings.
The service was a bit disjointed, but not bad--just not up to the level of the rooms beauty and the quality of the food. This a restaurant that is probably an afterthought for many, but if you want elegance and great food, you should give this a try.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Took my wife and kids there forr her 50th Birthday. A memorable experience. Really good food and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Hostess was unpleasant needs to be taught how to greet people at a fine dinning restaurant!
( if a guest asks to be seated at a table next to the one they had been allocated when that tables not reserved this should be offered with a smile not told you can go to our snack bar if you like)
Waitress was far too busy and again needs to be taught how to talk to people and be attentive to their needs. At $38 for Brunch expected much more. Food was OK but sadly the service was very poor won't be returning and wouldn't recommend.
Don't like to complain but this was definitely a bad experience and other diners were having similar experiences. Sadly it is management not training their staff correctly and not having a head waiter on duty something you would expect at this establishment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The Green Room makes you feel you are in Vienna, rather than Delaware. Our server lady did everything perfectly, professionally. Salmon was perfect. Huge wine list and a small but smart selection of draft beers. Already recommended the Green Room to several co-workers.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The Green Room is the best in Delaware for traditional, beautifully prepared cuisine and superior service.

Tags: Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The management, wait staff AND piano player made for a very memorable evening. The meal was exceptional, the service was excellent, and the ambiance without equal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Many years ago I lived about 20 minutes from The Hotel Dupont.
It was elegant & still is.

The Green room for lunch is fabulous.
Menu tough to choose 1 dish over an another
I had the lobster roll.

My friend had the chicken casear..both dishes terrific.

Just looking at the people, the ceiling which is amazing & entire hotel takes you back to another time
Very nice for any meal...lovely place always was

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Absolutely stellar, as always! We go every year for our anniversary (including our 1 day anniversary!) and it is amazing ambiance, food, and service every single time. The Green Room is the gem of Wilmington!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We have never been here before, so we decided to try it out for our anniversary. The atmosphere was wonderful and we had a live piano player throughout our dinner. The wait staff was very knowledgeable about the menu and the food was superb. It was pricey but it is expected in this type of establishment.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Wedding anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Excellent service, quiet and relaxing atmosphere, beautiful/historical architecture/art, fine dining, and great presentation! Well done.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 8, 2017

My fiancé and I went here to celebrate our two-month anniversary of our proposal. We have been to a lot of nice restaurants yet this was one of the finest restaurants Ive ever been to. The food was delicious, the atmosphere is exquisite and the service was the best I've ever had. The manager along with every waiter we're beyond attentive and made the night so enjoyable. We especially enjoyed talking with the manager whose wife also works there. It was just wonderful learning about how the two met and how much they enjoy working at the hotel. In addition, our waiter was so lovely and warm and made our night so special. I also need to comment on how delicious the three carrot bisque soup was. Every serving made my mouth melt but the soup was to die for. At the end they brought a pice of chocolate mousse pie with a candle to help us celebrate. That was the icing on the cake!! If you want impeccable service, delicious food and a romantic quaint atmosphere, you will get all three here and leave with wonderful memories as well!!

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun, Live Music, Good for Groups, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 8, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 20th anniversary at the Green Room. We hadn't been in nearkt 15 years and we're pleasantly surprised to have the same, very helpful, waiter. The food was good but it was the ambiance and memories that made it such a nice evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 8, 2017

A bit disappointing. Not as good as our usual experiences here. Not enough staff and the food was not up to the usual standards.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 2, 2017

A very special place for a special occasion! Lovely old world ambience, charm and superior service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The Green Room never disappoints! Excellent food in a great atmosphere with outstanding service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We had a great dinner at the Green Room. The food was excellent and the service was beyond compare. The wait staff was professional yet friendly, and the tempo of the service was perfect. The ambience was top notch and we enjoyed the live piano music, which was at just the right sound level. It was the perfect restaurant for a special occasion and we enjoyed every minute.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Fantastic service. Excellent food. Perfect ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Very good food, excellent service, and an ambience that reminds one of the old world and cannot be matched by the new. For 3 decades it has been a favorite meeting place for my brother from Baltimore, for my older cousin from DC and for me from Philadelphia. Cannot beat it for an elegant and leisurely weekday lunch.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.