About The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont

11th & Market Streets
Wilmington, DE 19801
View Larger Map

Enjoy French cuisine in the Green Room, in an unforgettable setting of fumed oak paneling, coffered oak beamed ceiling, gold chandeliers, Italian mosaic and original oil paintings.


Music is played weekends from the musicians gallery overlooking the restaurant. The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont is winner of the Four-Diamond AAA Award for 30 consecutive years, and Wine Spectators "Best of Award of Excellence" for 2015.


The Green Room features a colorful combination of new and old; including shimmering draperies, comfortable wingback chairs, and Versace patterned china. The legendary elegance and comfort of the historic Green Room are complemented by a fresh, seasonally-inspired menu under the direction of Executive Chef Keith Miller and Sous Chef Bill Wilczynski. An award-winning wine collection and impeccable service combine for an unforgettable fine dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM
Saturday : 7:00 AM - 11 AM ; Sunday : 7 AM - 9:45 AM

Lunch: Monday - Saturday : 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM

Dinner : Sunday Thursday: 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday- Saturday: 6:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Brunch: Sunday: 10 AM - 1 PM

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 594-3154

Website:
http://www.hoteldupont.com/

Parking Details:
Hotel valet and self-parking available. Valet parking is complimentary for all dinner patrons.

Executive Chef:
Keith Miller C.E.C.

Private Party Contact:
Alan Robinson: 3025943256x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Filet Mignon
  • Tangarine Sorbet Martini
  • Lobster Risotto
  • Lobster Bisque
Filet Mignon
Tangarine Sorbet Martini
Lobster Risotto
Lobster Bisque

The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Overall
Delaware
Best Food
Delaware
3 More
Best Ambiance
Delaware
Romantic
Delaware
Special Occasion
Delaware
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

special occasion (42)
romantic (23)
fit for foodies (21)
See All
great for brunch (17)
great for lunch (16)
good for groups (13)
neighborhood gem (8)
notable wine list (8)
scenic view (6)
kid-friendly (2)
hot spot (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
654 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A wonderful experience for a special occ ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined a day ago

A wonderful experience for a special occasion. They even provided a free desert when they found out. Top quality food and service. You can tell they all really care about what they do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Needed a reservation even though 60% of ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined 3 days ago

Needed a reservation even though 60% of tables were empty. We went to a show at Hotel that night. Food was tasty, servings on the small side. Service was excellent, very pricy but very professional. We enjoyed it.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Very relaxing, comfortable place to enjo ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very relaxing, comfortable place to enjoy dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There have been stories in the Media abo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

There have been stories in the Media about the Hotel du Pont being sold, so Mom and I decided to have dinner in the Green Room before it is gone. The dinner was wonderful -- I had the Beet, Pear, and Strawberry Salad and Pan-Roasted Bronzino, while Mom had the Chilled Pineapple and Mango Soup and the Wild Caught Salmon. Each entree was modified to our needs without any issues. My only concern was the demeanor of the service staff. I'm not sure if our server was nervous, but his voice was a bit loud and giddy. The other server that night felt it necessary to "bash" the decor and music of the Green Room so that anyone in the room could hear, comparing it to hotel restaurants in NYC that have "adapted" to changing times and tastes. I was saddened to see that there were only two tables being used the night we were there. Change is often difficult and I hope that Wilmington doesn't lose an iconic landmark hotel / restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful inside and out with great serv ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Beautiful inside and out with great service. No Filet Mignon on the menu, the Surf and Turf being Lobster (excellent) and barrel cut ribeye. The barrel cut ribeye, ordered medium rare, was tough, dry and lacking in flavor. I'm comparing the ribeye to Bonz and 1776 restaurants.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Magnificent dining room with fine old wo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Magnificent dining room with fine old world service; elegant as it was in the 1900s. But the food, beautifully presented as it was, can only be described as good; not worth the price. I ordered the crab cake which had been touted as "consistently good" in a recent food review article. It was "good", but it was accompanied by a soft shell crab which was prepared tempura style. It was all batter crunch with no taste or texture of a soft shell crab. Hopefully for this icon, the future owners of the Hotel DuPont will preserve the magnificence of the dining room but reinvent the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We took our house guest to the Green Roo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We took our house guest to the Green Room for a special breakfast before taking her to the bus, which was only a 10 minute ride away. It was the perfect way to end a lovely visit. The service was impeccable and the room is the most elegant thing in Wilmington Delaware. It is reminiscent of the great restaurants in the New York Plaza Hotel on Fifth Avenue at Central Park.

The morning we were there a buffet was offered but we we chose to use the menu. Each of our breakfast entrees were excellent, and I would give each "best in class, ever" for each very different offering. I had the Creamed Chipped Beef (with truffle oil) on toast, which came with a fried egg. I asked for a side of asparagus, and it was provided, even though it was not on the list of sides. My husband got the Bagel with Salmon, red onion and cream cheese. It a came elegantly plated and was a huge amount of salmon. The red onion was sliced micro-thin and seemed slightly pickled. Our guest had the Belgian Waffles with bacon and blue berries. They were also elegantly plated and disappeared quickly.

I must say I also enjoyed the classic music playing in the background on the excellent sound system at a level that did not interfere with conversation.. We have been there for dinner when their was live piano music, and also enjoyed that.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience in a beautiful, class ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Awesome experience in a beautiful, classic architectural Gem

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A beautiful room, with elegant style, an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

A beautiful room, with elegant style, and a wonderful, creative french menu. Always a good experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were excellent. The ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food and service were excellent. There were problems with the drinks as the bartender was not sure how to make some of them although they were rather basic. He apologized (via the waiter) that he did not have onions for the gin gimlets! He also sent out Rose's Lime juice in case either of the people wanted more in their gimlets. Two martinis had been ordered, one came with olives and the other with cucumber. Overall, it was an enjoyable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Beautiful and elegant restaurant.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Elegant Atmosphere for a special occasion. Valet parking is free with dining get ticketstamped.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and staff were amazing. Can't w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food and staff were amazing. Can't wait to go back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Graduation celebration

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The Green Room was a perfect spot to celebrate my daughters graduation from University of Delaware . The staff was attentive to us the meal was fabulous . The menu had a variety of choices to accommodate everyone in our party.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

At first we were skeptical that the food ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

At first we were skeptical that the food will be good because the bread was cold and the spinach salad was ordinary.

Then the duck trio and scallop/shrimps (No prawns available. Substituted with shrimps for the same price of prawns.) were creative and flavorful. The dessert, Mandarin Soufflé Glacé, was refreshing and light.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

We went for our anniversary and are very pleased with the results. The food was excellent and the service was even more so. It ended up being less expensive than I had expected it to be, too! We will definitely be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Sunday dinner menu before the show a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The Sunday dinner menu before the show at the Playhouse was limited. It only had 4 entrees and the rest sandwiches and appetizers. The salmon was good but extremely salty and hard to finish. The service was horrible. The waiter did not have answers to any of our questions except the soup du jour. He did not know the vegetarian special for the evening, did not know what cheeses were on the cheese tray, did not know the vegetable of the day that came with the entrees. He kept going back to get the answers but acted like it was a bother. He has been there for many years and this is not acceptable in such a fine hotel and restaurant. Portion sizes were ok but not great. Along with the salmon came a few very skinny asparagus and a plateful of potatoes (which we don't eat). We never saw him during our meal and had to flag him down to get our bill. It will be a long time before we go back to the Green Room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Pleasantly surprised! The Sunday brunch ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Pleasantly surprised! The Sunday brunch buffet was lovely. Varied and high quality selection. Omelettes were awesome and so was the perfectly med rare fillet. Hallie our server was great as well! Totally on point, gracious and genuine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sunday brunch green room hotel dupont

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

This is the sort of brunch experience one hopes for but seldom finds. A beautiful space, excellent service, not noisy (even though there was a live piano), a extremely wide variety of food from breakfast standard, to unusual hors d'oeuvres and pastries, an omelet station and carved roast beef. Also included was either a mimosa or a bloody mary and "bottomless" fruit juice. At $38. per person, a real bargain as well. We plan to return even though we live in Philadelphia.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful room. Perfect for our annivers ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Beautiful room. Perfect for our anniversary. The room was quiet but we went early so perhaps the room is more lively later in the night. Service was outstanding. The food was very good. We both had the duck which I would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Service may be overwhelmed if large part ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Service may be overwhelmed if large parties are booked, but food and setting make up for it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Great service!

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect for brunch before the play. Eas ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Perfect for brunch before the play. Easy and free parking, which was pointed out to me by staff, very appreciative for that.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Four of us went to the Green Room 2 hour ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Four of us went to the Green Room 2 hours before the show in the Hotel. Service started out well, with quick, but not rushed, orders, first course and main course. Then it was all downhill as we sat with finished plates for a long while before they were picked. Two of us had the Fixed Price Theatre special and we received our deserts quickly, even before the others had ordered theirs. Again, a long wait to order deserts and coffees, another long wait to receive the other deserts and some, but not all the coffees. Trying to get people's attention was arduous, but we finally received the missing coffee and tea. You guessed it! Another long wait to get the bill! I don't understand this, particularly given that the dinning room was only 50-60% filled!

I mentioned this to the Matre d' as we left, and she said all the right things, but I wonder if she took it anywhere. Hence, this review!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

food was just ok. everything else was gr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

food was just ok. everything else was great. This is a beautiful dining room.

I was disappointed in the food since I have been to the Greene Room for their

fabulous Sunday brunch.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was good but thought it would be more interesting for Mother's day. Dessert table was bland. Hot food limited. The fish and shellfish were good. Service was excellent. Dupont hotel decor seems outdated. Would go back for weekly brunch.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Not what a meal & service used to be.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The menu was limited. Some really enjoyed their meals some did not. 3 people had the braised short ribs, and although quite tasty - very tough and hard to eat.

The service was nothing exceptional - used to be they would fold your napkin when you left the table, crumb your place setting - none of those touches were there.

Husband was served a bottle of beer that was flat and past its use by date.

The first maitre d was quite snobby and rude. My salmon was overcooked.

not really worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Always a classy, well served and delicio ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Always a classy, well served and delicious dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hotel DuPont Dining

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

This is the first time I had dinner at the Hotel DuPont. The dining experience was good but my steak was overcooked and dry. I ordered the "Surf and Turf" and unfortunately could only eat half of it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We were celebrating our anniversary so w ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary so we had the chefs tasting menu with the wine pairings. So nicely done! Our waiter took such good care of us and the food (and wines) was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

meeting for brunch

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

convenient for our needs to meet for a birthday brunch

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

You can not find a better restaurant in ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

You can not find a better restaurant in the Brandywine Valley, we have been going to the Green Room for the last 25 Years, never disappointed!!!

RER

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Many thanks to the restaurant and the ch ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Many thanks to the restaurant and the chef for preparing a wonderful, special order meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Macaroons!!!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Took my parents here for Sunday Brunch and it was good, not great. They used to have a great omlette station wth lobster, crab, and all other kinds of great ingredients, but this time, the selection wasnt the best (ham, onion, peppers, mushrooms, cheese). Everything else they had put was vety nice. However, the macaroons they make here are INCREDIBLE! Im not joking, you have to save some room if you go for a meal. Just try not to eat a dozen by yourself...you'll know what I mean when you eat one. Enjoy!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Continues to be most classy restaurant in Delaware

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Fabulous meal. The Green Room is stunning. Reminds you of an Old World dining room from the early 20th Century. Food was phenomenal

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and excellent service.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

We happened to be there for restaurant week so the menu was very limited. However, the meal was terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an enjoyable Easter dinner at thi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We had an enjoyable Easter dinner at this venerable restaurant. A gorgeous, elegant, and timeless dining room along with excellent food and service make for a memorable experience.

The dishes are classics and well prepared. A nice venue for a special occasion and more formal meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food & payment

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

The food was very good especially the french onion soup. Unfortunately the restaurant could not process my gift card issued by them. This ruined the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A wonder institution. Had a business din ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

A wonder institution. Had a business dinner here. Service, food and ambiance is unbeatable. The dark paneling and comfortable quiet surroundings add to the feeling that this is a special place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My mother and I love going to brunch at ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

My mother and I love going to brunch at the hotel! The staff is so friendly and always make sure we are taken care off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Grand Dining

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Nowhere in Delaware offers a more elegant dining experience. The food was superb, especially the crab cake appetizer. The service was excellent and we dined while listening to a pianist. It's like going back in time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.