About The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont

11th & Market Streets
Wilmington, DE 19801
View Larger Map

Enjoy French cuisine in the Green Room, in an unforgettable setting of fumed oak paneling, coffered oak beamed ceiling, gold chandeliers, Italian mosaic and original oil paintings.


Music is played weekends from the musicians gallery overlooking the restaurant. The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont is winner of the Four-Diamond AAA Award for 30 consecutive years, and Wine Spectators "Best of Award of Excellence" for 2015.


The Green Room features a colorful combination of new and old; including shimmering draperies, comfortable wingback chairs, and Versace patterned china. The legendary elegance and comfort of the historic Green Room are complemented by a fresh, seasonally-inspired menu under the direction of Executive Chef Keith Miller and Sous Chef Bill Wilczynski. An award-winning wine collection and impeccable service combine for an unforgettable fine dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM
Saturday : 7:00 AM - 11 AM ; Sunday : 7 AM - 9:45 AM

Lunch: Monday - Saturday : 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM

Dinner : Sunday Thursday: 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday- Saturday: 6:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Brunch: Sunday: 10 AM - 1 PM

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 594-3154

Website:
http://www.hoteldupont.com/

Parking Details:
Hotel valet and self-parking available. Valet parking is complimentary for all dinner patrons.

Executive Chef:
Keith Miller C.E.C.

Private Party Contact:
Alan Robinson: (302) 594-3256

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:30PM - 7:30PM

The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.9

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Historic (22)
See All
Romantic (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Good for a Date (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Authentic (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Cozy (4)
Business Meals (4)
Healthy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Seasonal (3)
Casual (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Fun (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
People Watching (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Music (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
739 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

We've been there many times. It is truly a special place. Food is excellent. Menu variety for lunch is a bit limited, but so what!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I expected an old world decor and service and we got it. It is a beautiful room from the early 1900's. The sevice was second to none. Our waitress, Holly was very helpful with the menu. The food was brought out in a timely fashion without running into each other. My wife had the filet and I the short ribs and both were brought out in a beautiful presentation. We will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a wonderful experience dining in the green room. From Hostess Kia, to server Huong and server assistant Lyuba to Green Room Manager Alan, everyone was extremely wonderful to interact with. Food was delicious and came out exactly as ordered.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Lovely, elegant restaurant. A perfect place to celebrate a special occasion or just enjoy a fine dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The Green Room is a favorite for us and we'll miss it when the hotel changes hands. I love its elegant ambiance and live music is a plus. The service is usually excellent, but this time it was average. I hope the new owners keep the special nature of this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Beautiful, historic ambiance; eye-appealing and delicious food; great service. Great place to celebrate Valentine's day for lunch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My first time, and I absolutely loved it!! My friends and I had tickets to a show and decided to make reservations at the Green Room. The duck was exceptional. The service

and the ambiance was outstanding! A great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Definitely one of those things you should do in downtown Wilmington. Elegance, history, fine dining - five star all the way. Perfect for lunch or dinner, and even better before or after a show,. Allow at least a couple hours before so you aren't rushed with enjoying the full experience! And be sure to save room for their scrumptious signature macaroons!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Disabled Access, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Work trip dinner, very nice experience for out of towners. Staff very friendly especially with suggesting menu items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Wonderful room for any special celebration. Meal delicious and was served beautifully. Great service too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Met friends for a birthday celebration, their first visit, beautiful setting and ambience.

Personally, I prefer a plated brunch, ordering off a menu;

at least an option, not everyone likes buffets. Some offerings look tired after a while. Plus, I prefer my food hot, not warm.

Otherwise, a pleasant visit.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Elegant dining room. Kind and patient service. Spinach salad and halibut were standouts. Rolls are to die for. Nice for a treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Old world style service and cuisine. Just

what we needed this weekend, after the inauguration of Donald tRumpster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I was looking forward to returning to the Green Room after a long absence and I was very disappointed. My first glass of wine was the bottom of the bottle and not well preserved; the glass was replaced with a second wine. Three of us had the strip steak and two steaks were over done; we ordered medium rare and they came medium at best. I returned line and it took nearly 15 minutes to be redone. When my plate was returned, the original food was on it which was cold by then. Service was good, food was not.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The Green Room is a favorite place for to meet friends from the Philadelphia area. I live in Easton, MD. I've always enjoyed the ambiance, food and service in the Green Room. I continue to return. I continue to be satisfied, as do my friends.

Tags: Casual, Historic, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Everything was outstanding, the food, the service, the ambience!! I have been here a few times with my family and it is consistently excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Food was excellent, however, we had to wait for long periods multiple times to have our wine glasses refilled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The Green Room is beautiful, especially with the Christmas decorations. The lunch menu is exceptional. The staff were so nice.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Food was fabulous and the dining room was beautifully decorated for the Holidays!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Historic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Our waiter rushed us and literally never came back to ask about our food. I send my food back twice. It was cold as well as the coffee. The manager was very kind and well as the young lady who seated us.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

There are few places anywhere with the historic pedigree and elegant ambiance of this magnificent facility. The décor, architecture, space, quiet piano music . . . all combine to make a wonderful dining experience. The service was good, friendly and thorough but it was clear that an additional hand or two would have made a major difference. Every member of the staff appeared to be interested, friendly and motivated but were just tasked with a few too many patrons. The food was good but not exceptional. All told, a satisfactory dining experience in extraordinary surroundings with desirable ambiance . . . a perfect place to mark an occasion but not the right choice if one's interest is primarily in exceptional food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The Green Room is a Wilmington classic. Beautiful hand-carved wood paneling on the walls and ceilings. The food is excellent, if not a little pricey. But if you are looking for a refined place to eat, this is it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The atmosphere is elegant and the food was wonderful!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Fabulous dining experience. Most beautiful at holidays.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Historic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The experience was marvelous. The opulent, historic decor accompanied by discreet decorations and piano music provided the background. The meal was creative (venison) and most enjoyable. Service was pleasant and caring. The experience was like old-world dining in a historical room. It went beyond our expectations.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The restaurant is exquisite and heightened by the Christmas decorations. Live piano music also a plus. The food itself was adequate but not very good value for money. $38.00 for cod and $32.00 for salmon. Drinks were also small and expensive. $15.00 for a glass of Chardonnay and $14.00 for a top shelf martini.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Shahriar the waiter is professional in all respects.

The salad and entrees were extraordinarily good, but the desserts fell somewhat shorter of the otherwise high standard set by this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Very elegant place, throwback to the early 1900s. Menu was limited to a few fish and meat dishes, but enough choice to satisfy almost anyone. Service was top notch and the ambiance was first rate.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Sunday nights at the hotel DuPont are the best kept secret in Wilmington. I highly recommend the Sunday night 3 course dinner. I don't know if the price fluctuates but it was 3 courses for $35. It was delicious. The green room is lovely especially during the holidays. And the best part is the peaceful atmosphere- you can actually have a conversation. And the famous hotel cookies come with your bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Impressive elegant decor with exceptionally well prepared food either for breakfast, Sunday brunch or dinner. Service is attentive to every need in a warm atmosphere . Dishes are prepared fresh and with creativity with a nice menu selection . The breathtaking high ceiling with decorations, will transport you to another century reminiscent of old established European elegance and refinement. The Green Room is one of the three most elegant dining rooms we have ever come across and the experience we had was exceptional . We are well traveled and would challenge sny reader to identify a more beautiful and elegant dining room than the Green Room at the Hotel DuPont in Wilmington Delaware. Bon appetit!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy, Fun, Healthy, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This is the third time we have experienced issues with the Green Room on a day of a show. We elected not to do the buffet, which seemed to cause an issue. It appeared that ordering from the menu means extra time. I mentioned that I would like coffee after our meal and before we were near to finishing we were brought a plate of cookies, which we felt meant, you are finished. Then, after a long while the server came to collect the plates and asked if we wanted more. Very confusing message for us. It is not what I have experience before, but I am concerned that this is the third time I have experienced this. Going to give it one more try before the next event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 15, 2016

This was a positive experience with great service, ambiance,and high quality food, but I was very disappointed in the limited menu. There were only 4 potential entrees. I seldom order steak when I dine out because I can get that at home, but chose it as the only possibility I cared for from the menu. That being said, the steak was excellent and prepared perfectly.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The dining room is both elegant and comfortable. The service is impeccable.

Tags: Historic, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The overall experience was disappointing. What was once a place one would be thrilled to go, I found the experience to be nothing like it was only a few years ago. For the entire first hour, we were the only couple there, and then only one other couple came in before we left. The room was dark , but one of the draperies was torn which took away from the ambiance. The food was OK.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The best spot for elegant dining in Wilmington. The desserts were delicious and whimsical looking.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The only real negative here was the continuously squeaky violin music; it must have been the same CD the whole time we were there. Everything else there was wonderful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We had a wonderful anniversary dinner in this beautiful restaurant. This is a perfect spot for a memorable meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Steak was so-so for the price; shrimp overcooked. Restaurant was virtually empty. Quality of food was not worth the price in the lavish setting. Unfortunate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The food portions were a lot bigger than I expected. The tuna was unbelievable. The chef did an amazing job with pairing the wine with the different courses. I would highly recommend for a special occasion of if you want to impress a date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2016

It's the Green Room- what else needs to be said? It is still elegant beyond any other setting in the city. If you want formal, with attention to detail, and service that is attentive but not overbearing, this is the place. We participated in the Delaware Dines Out program and it was worth every penny. We added a glass of champagne to the prix fix menu for a reasonable amount. I was curious as to how the food would be, as my family had attended the Mother's Day brunch two years ago. Then, the food was mundane and really quite boring. For DDO, the menu was top notch. The only less than perfect aspect of the meal is the funky dinner plates that are used for the main course. They are very oddly shaped - very modern - and don't fit the elegance of the room. Placing a knife or fork on the rim of the plate was impossible.Overall, it is THE Green Room and lived up to our expectations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Second visit, just as lovely. Enjoyed with friend in a pleasant elegant setting. No scurrying servers and high noises.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We enjoyed our wedding anniversary dinner at the Green Room. Staff was gracious and service was excellent. The food was delicious and presentation beautiful!

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Lovely quiet dinner with friends. Nice to be able to chat without a whirl wind around you in a pleasant atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 28, 2016

The Green Room is a beautiful room to have a dinner. The food was amazing! We will definitely be back. Our server was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 27, 2016

We decided to return after a long absence. Last experience not pleasant. Delighted with the Dining Out Delaware 3 course price fixe menu. Superb selections all done with perfection. Our server, Tim, made the evening especially memorable. We will certainly return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The kitchen/Waiter forgot one order of steak entre which was noted but never received.

The seafoodtable was out of salmon,the shrimp were very tiny canned shrimp, a slim offering of food , service was good but needs improvement. The main course was excellent

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Beautiful, elegant dining room. The service was very poor. The waitress was casual, hard to understand and not attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Wonderful Occasion

Friends told us that when visiting Wilmington, The Green Room was the place to dine just to see the spectacular room. They were right, but not only is the room spectacular but the food is outstanding, also. The entire experience from the room to the food to the service was well worth the trip to downtown Wilmington.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 4, 2016

It was perfect for our birthday brunch celebration. We cannot say enough about the thoughtful and attentive service. Our food was delicious, we enjoyed the variety of selections, and of course, the traditional macaroons for which they famous.

The pianist was wonderful, décor elegant, ambience serene....

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We went on Sunday night and had the Sunday dinner menu. There was one server who opened the wine away from the table. It was white wine and it was not cold at service. He often neglected to put the bottle in the ice bucket. We got up repeatedly to put it in ourselves, and to pour for ourselves. My family's food was delicious, they say. But my soup and the crab meat in it were cold, and my chicken was dry and tough. Dessert was delicious. Doubtful we'll go back, but definitely not on a Sunday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.