About The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont

11th & Market Streets
Wilmington, DE 19801
View Larger Map

Enjoy French cuisine in the Green Room, in an unforgettable setting of fumed oak paneling, coffered oak beamed ceiling, gold chandeliers, Italian mosaic and original oil paintings.


Music is played weekends from the musicians gallery overlooking the restaurant. The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont is winner of the Four-Diamond AAA Award for 30 consecutive years, and Wine Spectators "Best of Award of Excellence" for 2015.


The Green Room features a colorful combination of new and old; including shimmering draperies, comfortable wingback chairs, and Versace patterned china. The legendary elegance and comfort of the historic Green Room are complemented by a fresh, seasonally-inspired menu under the direction of Executive Chef Keith Miller and Sous Chef Bill Wilczynski. An award-winning wine collection and impeccable service combine for an unforgettable fine dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM
Saturday : 7:00 AM - 11 AM ; Sunday : 7 AM - 9:45 AM

Lunch: Monday - Saturday : 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM

Dinner : Sunday Thursday: 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday- Saturday: 6:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Brunch: Sunday: 10 AM - 1 PM

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 594-3154

Website:
http://www.hoteldupont.com/

Parking Details:
Hotel valet and self-parking available. Valet parking is complimentary for all dinner patrons.

Executive Chef:
Keith Miller C.E.C.

Private Party Contact:
Alan Robinson: 3025943256x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:30PM - 7:30PM

The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Overall
Delaware
Best Service
Delaware
4 More
Best Ambiance
Delaware
Best Value
Delaware
Romantic
Delaware
Special Occasion
Delaware
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

special occasion (50)
romantic (34)
fit for foodies (21)
See All
great for brunch (18)
great for lunch (16)
notable wine list (14)
good for groups (10)
neighborhood gem (7)
scenic view (5)
kid-friendly (2)
hot spot (1)
late-night find (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
640 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

vip
Dined 5 days ago

We went for our anniversary and are very pleased with the results. The food was excellent and the service was even more so. It ended up being less expensive than I had expected it to be, too! We will definitely be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

The Sunday dinner menu before the show a ...

Dined 6 days ago

The Sunday dinner menu before the show at the Playhouse was limited. It only had 4 entrees and the rest sandwiches and appetizers. The salmon was good but extremely salty and hard to finish. The service was horrible. The waiter did not have answers to any of our questions except the soup du jour. He did not know the vegetarian special for the evening, did not know what cheeses were on the cheese tray, did not know the vegetable of the day that came with the entrees. He kept going back to get the answers but acted like it was a bother. He has been there for many years and this is not acceptable in such a fine hotel and restaurant. Portion sizes were ok but not great. Along with the salmon came a few very skinny asparagus and a plateful of potatoes (which we don't eat). We never saw him during our meal and had to flag him down to get our bill. It will be a long time before we go back to the Green Room.

food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasantly surprised! The Sunday brunch ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Pleasantly surprised! The Sunday brunch buffet was lovely. Varied and high quality selection. Omelettes were awesome and so was the perfectly med rare fillet. Hallie our server was great as well! Totally on point, gracious and genuine.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Sunday brunch green room hotel dupont

Dined 6 days ago

This is the sort of brunch experience one hopes for but seldom finds. A beautiful space, excellent service, not noisy (even though there was a live piano), a extremely wide variety of food from breakfast standard, to unusual hors d'oeuvres and pastries, an omelet station and carved roast beef. Also included was either a mimosa or a bloody mary and "bottomless" fruit juice. At $38. per person, a real bargain as well. We plan to return even though we live in Philadelphia.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Beautiful room. Perfect for our annivers ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Beautiful room. Perfect for our anniversary. The room was quiet but we went early so perhaps the room is more lively later in the night. Service was outstanding. The food was very good. We both had the duck which I would recommend.

food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Service may be overwhelmed if large part ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Service may be overwhelmed if large parties are booked, but food and setting make up for it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service!

Dined on May 17, 2016

Great service!

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Perfect for brunch before the play. Eas ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Perfect for brunch before the play. Easy and free parking, which was pointed out to me by staff, very appreciative for that.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Four of us went to the Green Room 2 hour ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Four of us went to the Green Room 2 hours before the show in the Hotel. Service started out well, with quick, but not rushed, orders, first course and main course. Then it was all downhill as we sat with finished plates for a long while before they were picked. Two of us had the Fixed Price Theatre special and we received our deserts quickly, even before the others had ordered theirs. Again, a long wait to order deserts and coffees, another long wait to receive the other deserts and some, but not all the coffees. Trying to get people's attention was arduous, but we finally received the missing coffee and tea. You guessed it! Another long wait to get the bill! I don't understand this, particularly given that the dinning room was only 50-60% filled! I mentioned this to the Matre d' as we left, and she said all the right things, but I wonder if she took it anywhere. Hence, this review!

food3
ambience5
service5
value4

food was just ok. everything else was gr ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

food was just ok. everything else was great. This is a beautiful dining room. I was disappointed in the food since I have been to the Greene Room for their fabulous Sunday brunch.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was good but thought it would be more interesting for Mother's day. Dessert table was bland. Hot food limited. The fish and shellfish were good. Service was excellent. Dupont hotel decor seems outdated. Would go back for weekly brunch.

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Not what a meal & service used to be.

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

The menu was limited. Some really enjoyed their meals some did not. 3 people had the braised short ribs, and although quite tasty - very tough and hard to eat. The service was nothing exceptional - used to be they would fold your napkin when you left the table, crumb your place setting - none of those touches were there. Husband was served a bottle of beer that was flat and past its use by date. The first maitre d was quite snobby and rude. My salmon was overcooked. not really worth it.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a classy, well served and delicio ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Always a classy, well served and delicious dining experience!

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Hotel DuPont Dining

Dined on April 29, 2016

This is the first time I had dinner at the Hotel DuPont. The dining experience was good but my steak was overcooked and dry. I ordered the "Surf and Turf" and unfortunately could only eat half of it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

We were celebrating our anniversary so w ...

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary so we had the chefs tasting menu with the wine pairings. So nicely done! Our waiter took such good care of us and the food (and wines) was delicious.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

meeting for brunch

Dined on April 24, 2016

convenient for our needs to meet for a birthday brunch

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

You can not find a better restaurant in ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

You can not find a better restaurant in the Brandywine Valley, we have been going to the Green Room for the last 25 Years, never disappointed!!! RER

food4
ambience5
service5

Many thanks to the restaurant and the ch ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Many thanks to the restaurant and the chef for preparing a wonderful, special order meal!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Macaroons!!!

Dined on April 10, 2016

Took my parents here for Sunday Brunch and it was good, not great. They used to have a great omlette station wth lobster, crab, and all other kinds of great ingredients, but this time, the selection wasnt the best (ham, onion, peppers, mushrooms, cheese). Everything else they had put was vety nice. However, the macaroons they make here are INCREDIBLE! Im not joking, you have to save some room if you go for a meal. Just try not to eat a dozen by yourself...you'll know what I mean when you eat one. Enjoy!

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Continues to be most classy restaurant in Delaware

Dined on April 8, 2016

Fabulous meal. The Green Room is stunning. Reminds you of an Old World dining room from the early 20th Century. Food was phenomenal

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and excellent service.

Dined on April 4, 2016

We happened to be there for restaurant week so the menu was very limited. However, the meal was terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

We had an enjoyable Easter dinner at thi ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

We had an enjoyable Easter dinner at this venerable restaurant. A gorgeous, elegant, and timeless dining room along with excellent food and service make for a memorable experience. The dishes are classics and well prepared. A nice venue for a special occasion and more formal meal.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food & payment

Dined on March 23, 2016

The food was very good especially the french onion soup. Unfortunately the restaurant could not process my gift card issued by them. This ruined the experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

A wonder institution. Had a business din ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

A wonder institution. Had a business dinner here. Service, food and ambiance is unbeatable. The dark paneling and comfortable quiet surroundings add to the feeling that this is a special place.

food5
ambience5
service5

My mother and I love going to brunch at ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

My mother and I love going to brunch at the hotel! The staff is so friendly and always make sure we are taken care off.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grand Dining

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Nowhere in Delaware offers a more elegant dining experience. The food was superb, especially the crab cake appetizer. The service was excellent and we dined while listening to a pianist. It's like going back in time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite place

Dined on February 20, 2016

I love visiting the Hotel DuPont! Long may it reign over downtown Wilmington. I love the food, staff and the incredible surroundings. I am never disappointed when I eat here.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Disappointed on Valentine's day

Dined on February 13, 2016

We went to the Green Room for Valentine's Day. It was a prix-fixe menu. I had been looking forward to it for weeks! We were seated at a lovely table but had to wait at least 15 min before being greeted by a server. We were only greeted after my husband went to the hostess to let her know we didn't have a server. We ordered a bottle of champagne and it wasn't chilled- I was tempted to put an ice cube in it. My entree (duck breast) was good, but for the price of the meal - I've had a lot better. The first two courses were just okay and the bread wasn't average. The dessert wasn't worth eating. Having looked forward to this special night out for weeks, I was really disappointed. Of course the room is so beautiful. The room well outshined the food and service experience.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful and amazing experience

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

The space is glorious, the service impeccable, the food great. They were practically empty on a Saturday night at 8 - not sure why, it was great

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sheer Elegance

Dined on January 31, 2016

For two wonderful hours we lived like the 1%. Service was excellent, friendly servers, piano music, delicious and beautiful food. They even brought a pillow to support my elderly mother's back. We were able to get menus with no prices so our guests would feel comfortable ordering anything they chose. Simply a great experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service5

Service is always wonderful, along with ...

Dined on January 27, 2016

Service is always wonderful, along with the valet parking. The room is gorgeous. The food however has dramatically slipped. It's an exciting price fixe menu (citrus themed), but failed to wow on all counts. Disappointing. There's many options at the $280 for two price point (without booze but with tip) so we won't be back. Bummer too, because a few months ago, we had a wonderful meal here.

food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Disappointed....

Dined on January 24, 2016

We realize that we went the day after the huge blizzard/snow storm for Sunday Brunch. And we acknowledge that they may not have had food delivered for Sunday, but...we felt that the buffet was not the quality and selection we were used to at say, Hershey Hotel or William Penn Inn, which is what we were expecting. If food shortage was the case then the $38 pp that we paid was way over priced. They had smoked fish but no bagels or cream cheese to go along with it. The ingredients for the omelet station were minimal. So, that said, we probably will not go back to the Green Room at the Hotel DuPont for Brunch. Maybe for dinner sometime....The room itself is very pretty but needs some refurbishing, especially the wood trim around the room and the balcony.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great 1st Anniversary!

Dined on January 17, 2016

Great first anniversary dinner at the Green Room. We were married one year ago in the Gold Ballroom and wanted to come back and experience the hotel again for our anniversary. Service is something you will only experience there. Impeccable. You'll never find waiters/hosts that treat you with such respect and care other than at the DuPont. Very quiet on Sunday nights, but so romantic. Food was cooked perfectly. Ambiance is like stepping back in time, (In a really good/cool way). GO. EAT. EXPERIENCE!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Lovely Afternoon

Dined on January 7, 2016

We had an occassion to mark and chose to do so with a toast over lunch in the Green Room. The food and staff confirmed that we made the perfect choice. We'll never forget our special afternoon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food, oozes with ambiance.

Dined on December 30, 2015

The Green Room is spectacular, beautiful and elegant . The food is spectacular. Crab cake appetizers were delicious. Excellent Fillet with artichoke and fingerling potatoes. Loved the house Chardonney. Very good service, especially in the bar area

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You won't be disappointed!

Dined on December 29, 2015

We have been patrons for many years. It's always a pleasure to dine there. Food is delicious and the staff is very attentive. The elegant decor is something that you rarely see today. Our favorite place to dine out.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary

vip
Dined on December 28, 2015

Having seen The Green Room when we attended shows at the Hotel DuPont, I knew the ambiance would be elegant, and it did not disappoint. We had multiple servers, all knowledgeable, pleasant, and attentive. I would definitely return for a special occasion.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply Classy

Dined on December 26, 2015

Outstanding ambiance in this classy, upscale dining room in the famous Hotel DuPont. Wonderful architecture and interior design helps foster an inviting atmosphere. Our party of three went for a late lunch, so it was a quiet room at that time. Service was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4

A pre-Holliday breakfast with friends. ...

vip
Dined on December 21, 2015

A pre-Holliday breakfast with friends. The ambiance cannot be beat! A local treasure

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Classic.

Dined on December 20, 2015

The Green Room is an unbelievably beautiful space. The hand-carved wood paneling is classic. The brunch is terrific. I definitely recommend the Green Room as a beautiful Sunday brunch location.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.