About The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont

11th & Market Streets
Wilmington, DE 19801
View Larger Map

Enjoy French cuisine in the Green Room, in an unforgettable setting of fumed oak paneling, coffered oak beamed ceiling, gold chandeliers, Italian mosaic and original oil paintings.


Music is played weekends from the musicians gallery overlooking the restaurant. The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont is winner of the Four-Diamond AAA Award for 30 consecutive years, and Wine Spectators "Best of Award of Excellence" for 2015.


The Green Room features a colorful combination of new and old; including shimmering draperies, comfortable wingback chairs, and Versace patterned china. The legendary elegance and comfort of the historic Green Room are complemented by a fresh, seasonally-inspired menu under the direction of Executive Chef Keith Miller and Sous Chef Bill Wilczynski. An award-winning wine collection and impeccable service combine for an unforgettable fine dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM
Saturday : 7:00 AM - 11 AM ; Sunday : 7 AM - 9:45 AM

Lunch: Monday - Saturday : 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM

Dinner : Sunday Thursday: 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday- Saturday: 6:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Brunch: Sunday: 10 AM - 1 PM

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 594-3154

Website:
http://www.hoteldupont.com/

Parking Details:
Hotel valet and self-parking available. Valet parking is complimentary for all dinner patrons.

Executive Chef:
Keith Miller C.E.C.

Private Party Contact:
Alan Robinson: 3025943256x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Filet Mignon - The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont, Wilmington, DE
  • Tangarine Sorbet Martini - The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont, Wilmington, DE
  • Lobster Risotto - The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont, Wilmington, DE
  • Lobster Bisque - The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont, Wilmington, DE

Report a photo problem

Filet Mignon - The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont, Wilmington, DE
Tangarine Sorbet Martini - The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont, Wilmington, DE
Lobster Risotto - The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont, Wilmington, DE
Lobster Bisque - The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont, Wilmington, DE

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:30PM - 7:30PM

The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Romantic (18)
Historic (17)
See All
Quiet Conversation (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Good for a Date (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Business Meals (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Authentic (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Cozy (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Scenic View (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Casual (2)
Healthy (2)
Fun (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
725 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Green Room is a favorite place for t ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

The Green Room is a favorite place for to meet friends from the Philadelphia area. I live in Easton, MD. I've always enjoyed the ambiance, food and service in the Green Room. I continue to return. I continue to be satisfied, as do my friends.

Tags: Casual, Historic, , Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was outstanding, the food, th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Everything was outstanding, the food, the service, the ambience!! I have been here a few times with my family and it is consistently excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, however, we had to w ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Food was excellent, however, we had to wait for long periods multiple times to have our wine glasses refilled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

The Green Room is beautiful, especially ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The Green Room is beautiful, especially with the Christmas decorations. The lunch menu is exceptional. The staff were so nice.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fabulous and the dining room wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Food was fabulous and the dining room was beautifully decorated for the Holidays!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Historic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waiter rushed us and literally never ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Our waiter rushed us and literally never came back to ask about our food. I send my food back twice. It was cold as well as the coffee. The manager was very kind and well as the young lady who seated us.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

There are few places anywhere with the h ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

There are few places anywhere with the historic pedigree and elegant ambiance of this magnificent facility. The décor, architecture, space, quiet piano music . . . all combine to make a wonderful dining experience. The service was good, friendly and thorough but it was clear that an additional hand or two would have made a major difference. Every member of the staff appeared to be interested, friendly and motivated but were just tasked with a few too many patrons. The food was good but not exceptional. All told, a satisfactory dining experience in extraordinary surroundings with desirable ambiance . . . a perfect place to mark an occasion but not the right choice if one's interest is primarily in exceptional food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

The Green Room is a Wilmington classic. ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The Green Room is a Wilmington classic. Beautiful hand-carved wood paneling on the walls and ceilings. The food is excellent, if not a little pricey. But if you are looking for a refined place to eat, this is it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere is elegant and the food w ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The atmosphere is elegant and the food was wonderful!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous dining experience. Most beautif ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Fabulous dining experience. Most beautiful at holidays.

Tags: Great for Lunch, , Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Historic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was marvelous. The opulen ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The experience was marvelous. The opulent, historic decor accompanied by discreet decorations and piano music provided the background. The meal was creative (venison) and most enjoyable. Service was pleasant and caring. The experience was like old-world dining in a historical room. It went beyond our expectations.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is exquisite and heighten ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The restaurant is exquisite and heightened by the Christmas decorations. Live piano music also a plus. The food itself was adequate but not very good value for money. $38.00 for cod and $32.00 for salmon. Drinks were also small and expensive. $15.00 for a glass of Chardonnay and $14.00 for a top shelf martini.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Shahriar the waiter is professional in a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Shahriar the waiter is professional in all respects.

The salad and entrees were extraordinarily good, but the desserts fell somewhat shorter of the otherwise high standard set by this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very elegant place, throwback to the ear ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Very elegant place, throwback to the early 1900s. Menu was limited to a few fish and meat dishes, but enough choice to satisfy almost anyone. Service was top notch and the ambiance was first rate.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Sunday nights at the hotel DuPont are th ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Sunday nights at the hotel DuPont are the best kept secret in Wilmington. I highly recommend the Sunday night 3 course dinner. I don't know if the price fluctuates but it was 3 courses for $35. It was delicious. The green room is lovely especially during the holidays. And the best part is the peaceful atmosphere- you can actually have a conversation. And the famous hotel cookies come with your bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Impressive elegant decor with exceptiona ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Impressive elegant decor with exceptionally well prepared food either for breakfast, Sunday brunch or dinner. Service is attentive to every need in a warm atmosphere . Dishes are prepared fresh and with creativity with a nice menu selection . The breathtaking high ceiling with decorations, will transport you to another century reminiscent of old established European elegance and refinement. The Green Room is one of the three most elegant dining rooms we have ever come across and the experience we had was exceptional . We are well traveled and would challenge sny reader to identify a more beautiful and elegant dining room than the Green Room at the Hotel DuPont in Wilmington Delaware. Bon appetit!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy, Fun, Healthy, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, , Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the third time we have experienc ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This is the third time we have experienced issues with the Green Room on a day of a show. We elected not to do the buffet, which seemed to cause an issue. It appeared that ordering from the menu means extra time. I mentioned that I would like coffee after our meal and before we were near to finishing we were brought a plate of cookies, which we felt meant, you are finished. Then, after a long while the server came to collect the plates and asked if we wanted more. Very confusing message for us. It is not what I have experience before, but I am concerned that this is the third time I have experienced this. Going to give it one more try before the next event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

This was a positive experience with grea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 15, 2016

This was a positive experience with great service, ambiance,and high quality food, but I was very disappointed in the limited menu. There were only 4 potential entrees. I seldom order steak when I dine out because I can get that at home, but chose it as the only possibility I cared for from the menu. That being said, the steak was excellent and prepared perfectly.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The dining room is both elegant and comf ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The dining room is both elegant and comfortable. The service is impeccable.

Tags: Historic, , Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The overall experience was disappointing ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The overall experience was disappointing. What was once a place one would be thrilled to go, I found the experience to be nothing like it was only a few years ago. For the entire first hour, we were the only couple there, and then only one other couple came in before we left. The room was dark , but one of the draperies was torn which took away from the ambiance. The food was OK.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

The best spot for elegant dining in Wilm ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The best spot for elegant dining in Wilmington. The desserts were delicious and whimsical looking.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only real negative here was the cont ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The only real negative here was the continuously squeaky violin music; it must have been the same CD the whole time we were there. Everything else there was wonderful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We had a wonderful anniversary dinner in ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We had a wonderful anniversary dinner in this beautiful restaurant. This is a perfect spot for a memorable meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Steak was so-so for the price; shrimp ov ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Steak was so-so for the price; shrimp overcooked. Restaurant was virtually empty. Quality of food was not worth the price in the lavish setting. Unfortunate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

The food portions were a lot bigger than ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The food portions were a lot bigger than I expected. The tuna was unbelievable. The chef did an amazing job with pairing the wine with the different courses. I would highly recommend for a special occasion of if you want to impress a date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's the Green Room- what else needs to ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2016

It's the Green Room- what else needs to be said? It is still elegant beyond any other setting in the city. If you want formal, with attention to detail, and service that is attentive but not overbearing, this is the place. We participated in the Delaware Dines Out program and it was worth every penny. We added a glass of champagne to the prix fix menu for a reasonable amount. I was curious as to how the food would be, as my family had attended the Mother's Day brunch two years ago. Then, the food was mundane and really quite boring. For DDO, the menu was top notch. The only less than perfect aspect of the meal is the funky dinner plates that are used for the main course. They are very oddly shaped - very modern - and don't fit the elegance of the room. Placing a knife or fork on the rim of the plate was impossible.Overall, it is THE Green Room and lived up to our expectations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second visit, just as lovely. Enjoyed wi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Second visit, just as lovely. Enjoyed with friend in a pleasant elegant setting. No scurrying servers and high noises.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We enjoyed our wedding anniversary dinne ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We enjoyed our wedding anniversary dinner at the Green Room. Staff was gracious and service was excellent. The food was delicious and presentation beautiful!

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely quiet dinner with friends. Nice t ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Lovely quiet dinner with friends. Nice to be able to chat without a whirl wind around you in a pleasant atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The Green Room is a beautiful room to ha ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 28, 2016

The Green Room is a beautiful room to have a dinner. The food was amazing! We will definitely be back. Our server was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to return after a long absenc ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 27, 2016

We decided to return after a long absence. Last experience not pleasant. Delighted with the Dining Out Delaware 3 course price fixe menu. Superb selections all done with perfection. Our server, Tim, made the evening especially memorable. We will certainly return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The kitchen/Waiter forgot one order of s ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The kitchen/Waiter forgot one order of steak entre which was noted but never received.

The seafoodtable was out of salmon,the shrimp were very tiny canned shrimp, a slim offering of food , service was good but needs improvement. The main course was excellent

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Beautiful, elegant dining room. The serv ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Beautiful, elegant dining room. The service was very poor. The waitress was casual, hard to understand and not attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Wonderful Occasion Friends told us that ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Wonderful Occasion

Friends told us that when visiting Wilmington, The Green Room was the place to dine just to see the spectacular room. They were right, but not only is the room spectacular but the food is outstanding, also. The entire experience from the room to the food to the service was well worth the trip to downtown Wilmington.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was perfect for our birthday brunch c ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 4, 2016

It was perfect for our birthday brunch celebration. We cannot say enough about the thoughtful and attentive service. Our food was delicious, we enjoyed the variety of selections, and of course, the traditional macaroons for which they famous.

The pianist was wonderful, décor elegant, ambience serene....

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on Sunday night and had the Sund ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We went on Sunday night and had the Sunday dinner menu. There was one server who opened the wine away from the table. It was white wine and it was not cold at service. He often neglected to put the bottle in the ice bucket. We got up repeatedly to put it in ourselves, and to pour for ourselves. My family's food was delicious, they say. But my soup and the crab meat in it were cold, and my chicken was dry and tough. Dessert was delicious. Doubtful we'll go back, but definitely not on a Sunday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Great ambiance. Live piano player during ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great ambiance. Live piano player during brunch..Delicious and varied menu. Attentive service.Well worth the$$$.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated quickly. The staff was v ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 15, 2016

We were seated quickly. The staff was very friendly The service was great, and the food was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful location in a historic hotel. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Beautiful location in a historic hotel. Piano serenade from overhead balcony. Terrific service. Food was great. Bountiful buffet and good choice of entrees for brunch. Great dessert selection

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This is a beautiful old hotel dining roo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is a beautiful old hotel dining room. But I think the hotel is resting on it laurels. It service was not as good as a Friendly's! The wine would not of been poured if we didn't do it, there were few check backs, and the food was over done. My friend ordered the crab cake with soft shell crab, she said the crab cake was meaty with limited bread crumbs, but the soft shell crabs were over breaded. and over cooked. I was the most disappointed, and my friend agreed with me. I ordered the salmon, my server didn't ask how I l would like it, but I didn't think I had to in a high end restaurant. It was over cooked and dry, but with good flavor. There had micro root veggies, that were cute, but were equal to about two mouthfuls. The real disappointment was the wild rice, which I normally love, but it was uncooked, I didn't eat it. I told the waiter, he said he would let the chef know, but later told me he couldn't. The Maitre D came over, I was trying to be nice, so I said I love the look of the dining room, but was very disappointed with the rice,it was raw, (it was the consistency of bird seed). He said he would let the chef know, he really appreciated me letting him know, they love to always improve. BUT that is where it stopped, they did NOTHING!. It was like what I told him didn't mater. I guess I should of yelled and made a big deal. I thought they might apologize again, and maybe comp the dessert. NOTHING! Really they should off comped the meal when half the meal wasn't eaten. Oh well, hopefully you learn from my mistake, and try a different place to eat.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.