Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont

Enjoy French cuisine in the Green Room, in an unforgettable setting of fumed oak paneling, coffered oak beamed ceiling, gold chandeliers, Italian mosaic and original oil paintings.


Music is played weekends from the musicians gallery overlooking the restaurant. The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont is winner of the Four-Diamond AAA Award for 30 consecutive years, and Wine Spectators "Best of Award of Excellence" for 2015.


The Green Room features a colorful combination of new and old; including shimmering draperies, comfortable wingback chairs, and Versace patterned china. The legendary elegance and comfort of the historic Green Room are complemented by a fresh, seasonally-inspired menu under the direction of Executive Chef Keith Miller and Sous Chef Bill Wilczynski. An award-winning wine collection and impeccable service combine for an unforgettable fine dining experience.

11th & Market Streets
Wilmington, DE 19801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM
Saturday : 7:00 AM - 11 AM ; Sunday : 7 AM - 9:45 AM

Lunch: Monday - Saturday : 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM

Dinner : Sunday Thursday: 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday- Saturday: 6:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Brunch: Sunday: 10 AM - 1 PM

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 594-3154

Website:
http://www.hoteldupont.com/

Parking Details:
Hotel valet and self-parking available. Valet parking is complimentary for all dinner patrons.

Executive Chef:
Keith Miller C.E.C.

Private Party Contact:
Alan Robinson: (302) 594-3256

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (38)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Romantic (31)
See All
Good for a Date (27)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Business Meals (19)
Historic (17)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Worth the Drive (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Authentic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Live Music (5)
Healthy (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Cozy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
People Watching (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fun (2)
Private Room (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Family Style (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Casual (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
806 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

The Green Room makes you feel you are in Vienna, rather than Delaware. Our server lady did everything perfectly, professionally. Salmon was perfect. Huge wine list and a small but smart selection of draft beers. Already recommended the Green Room to several co-workers.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The Green Room is the best in Delaware for traditional, beautifully prepared cuisine and superior service.

Tags: Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The management, wait staff AND piano player made for a very memorable evening. The meal was exceptional, the service was excellent, and the ambiance without equal.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Many years ago I lived about 20 minutes from The Hotel Dupont.
It was elegant & still is.

The Green room for lunch is fabulous.
Menu tough to choose 1 dish over an another
I had the lobster roll.

My friend had the chicken casear..both dishes terrific.

Just looking at the people, the ceiling which is amazing & entire hotel takes you back to another time
Very nice for any meal...lovely place always was

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Absolutely stellar, as always! We go every year for our anniversary (including our 1 day anniversary!) and it is amazing ambiance, food, and service every single time. The Green Room is the gem of Wilmington!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We have never been here before, so we decided to try it out for our anniversary. The atmosphere was wonderful and we had a live piano player throughout our dinner. The wait staff was very knowledgeable about the menu and the food was superb. It was pricey but it is expected in this type of establishment.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Excellent service, quiet and relaxing atmosphere, beautiful/historical architecture/art, fine dining, and great presentation! Well done.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 8, 2017

My fiancé and I went here to celebrate our two-month anniversary of our proposal. We have been to a lot of nice restaurants yet this was one of the finest restaurants Ive ever been to. The food was delicious, the atmosphere is exquisite and the service was the best I've ever had. The manager along with every waiter we're beyond attentive and made the night so enjoyable. We especially enjoyed talking with the manager whose wife also works there. It was just wonderful learning about how the two met and how much they enjoy working at the hotel. In addition, our waiter was so lovely and warm and made our night so special. I also need to comment on how delicious the three carrot bisque soup was. Every serving made my mouth melt but the soup was to die for. At the end they brought a pice of chocolate mousse pie with a candle to help us celebrate. That was the icing on the cake!! If you want impeccable service, delicious food and a romantic quaint atmosphere, you will get all three here and leave with wonderful memories as well!!

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun, Live Music, Good for Groups, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 8, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 20th anniversary at the Green Room. We hadn't been in nearkt 15 years and we're pleasantly surprised to have the same, very helpful, waiter. The food was good but it was the ambiance and memories that made it such a nice evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 8, 2017

A bit disappointing. Not as good as our usual experiences here. Not enough staff and the food was not up to the usual standards.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 2, 2017

A very special place for a special occasion! Lovely old world ambience, charm and superior service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The Green Room never disappoints! Excellent food in a great atmosphere with outstanding service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We had a great dinner at the Green Room. The food was excellent and the service was beyond compare. The wait staff was professional yet friendly, and the tempo of the service was perfect. The ambience was top notch and we enjoyed the live piano music, which was at just the right sound level. It was the perfect restaurant for a special occasion and we enjoyed every minute.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Fantastic service. Excellent food. Perfect ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Very good food, excellent service, and an ambience that reminds one of the old world and cannot be matched by the new. For 3 decades it has been a favorite meeting place for my brother from Baltimore, for my older cousin from DC and for me from Philadelphia. Cannot beat it for an elegant and leisurely weekday lunch.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Server was attentive & very patient with my 91 year old guest.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Way over rated ! Service moderate at best and at a fairly high price.
Would not tell others it is worth it.
Disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We enjoyed a delightful romantic birthday dinner on Saturday night. Everyone was very accommodating the service was great and the food delicious. The crab cake appetizer was wonderful 100% crab meat. The grilled octopus, salmon and monk fish were properly prepared, not over cooked. The presentations were simple and clean. To enjoy a meal in such a historic room was a conversation all on its own. We are looking forward our return trip To the hotel and to the Green room.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We had an outstanding evening dining in the Green Room celebrating a special occasion. The service was impeccable. The dining room is absolutely gorgeous and the tables are thoughtfully placed so conversations are private. On the Friday night we went, lovely live piano music was played. The menu is seasonal and plates are beautifully presented.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 10, 2017

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our recent dinner at the fabled Green Room with its thick oak paneling, high coffered beam ceiling, rich draperies, huge bronze chandeliers, comfortable chairs, and secluded dining where you could actually have private conversations far from the madding crowd. The wines were little short of exceptional, not surprising given that they have a 3,000 bottle cellar which probably dates from the time when Mr. Dupont bought 100,000 bottles of wine prior to prohibition. Where else can you get a magnificent glass of old Saint-Julian wine for an expensive price? The Sauternes and ports were equally diverse, and unusual, with my wife and I opting for a rare 1965 port that tasted of smoke and fire. The service was quick, professional, and impeccable and there even was Maitre d'Hotel who actually was good at his job. The dinner and dessert, while memorable, were unfortunately not in the same class as the wines and overall ambiance of the dinner. I suggest that whoever manages the Green Room hire the chef at the nearby Krazy Kat's (at the Inn at Montchanin Village) without delay.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

One should not leave dinner hungry after ordering an appetizer and main course. In addition our table was swarming with fruit flies surrounding the flower center piece and our wine. I complained to the waitrsss about the small portions and she just giggled. Would absolutely never recommend this place especially for the price.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Hosted a brunch for my daughter's in-laws and they were very impressed with the food and décor of this lovely hotel restaurant. The hotel has retained all of its old-world charm as Delaware is the 1st state and has many historical locations.

The ONLY downside was the service, not horrible, but just a tad bit funky. A little slow and not really knowledgeable. I have been noticing this downward trend for a while now with most restaurants. I believe service personnel are underpaid and therefore it is difficult to get quality servers when the pay is so low.

Anyway, the food is excellent (brunch is buffet) with many tasty options.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Always a treat! Most spectacular room in the mid-Atlantic region!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch with the family. Easter bunny made an appearance. Decorated with beautiful Easter displays. Food for brunch, unfortunately we had the early seating. Hard to eat certain things at 10 in the morning Could have had a little less children's foods and a little more breakfast adult dishes for the price. Nice we were not packed in like sardines.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The restaurant was empty but beautiful. The menue didn't knock our socks off so we stuck with salads and first plates. The cheese plate was really good.
The hotel just switched management it was obvious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Very good experience. Staff was truly outstanding!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The excellent food is nicely complemented by the ambiance and the service. And the pastries/deserts are equally noteworthy. The overall value makes the trip worthwhile. The Green Room doesn't need to hype itself ... and doesn't try to live on its past reputation. It truly earns it every time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great food, server failed to let us know desssert that was out buffet style was not included in set menu pricing nor was it listed As an extra expense on the menu. We were disappointed to learn only after receiving the bill of the extra cost.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

A pleasurable experience for restaurant week. It was on our bucket list.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We enjoyed the excellent food and service and this has always been the case with the Green Room at the Hotel du Pont.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

My sister and I came for dinner during restaurant week.Great service,. food & ambiance. I had the short ribs and my sister had the duck confit. Both cooked to perfection. My water glass never got past half full. And the bonus of the evening was the piano player playing old standards. The Green Room never disappoints! Bravo!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 7, 2017

A group of friends got together for a ladies night out to take advantage of restaurant week. What a fabulous experience! Everyone was nice (I'll be honest I was worried it might be a bit stuffy - but not at all), the food was delicious from the rolls to dessert and everything in between. Our waitress was just the right balance of attentive. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 6, 2017

All five in our family had a fine dinner in this historic restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Went to the Green Room for Wilmington Restaurant Week. We had the short ribs, absolutely fork tender. The portion was large and delicious. The tart for dessert was light and tasty, a good ending for a heavy meal. This year the restaurant listed wine pairings for each dish with a price of $8.00 for any of the recommended wines, a reasonable price. We will return again for another restaurant week meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We always enjoy our visits to the Green Room. Food is outstanding and the ambiance special!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Enjoyed a delicious lunch with friends during Restaurant Week. It was such a special treat as several of us had never been to the Green Room, and we enjoyed the beautiful décor. The food was delicious...especially the Tomato Pepper Bisque!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Timeless classic. Hope it stays open with new ownership of the hotel.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Our meal and service were amazing!! Restaurant week is a great time to visit.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Just a wonderful and special place to dine and very comfortable. I hope the new owners do not change a thing to the dining room (s) or the Hotel lobby. Why mess with perfection!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Always a class presentation. Great food and beautiful ambiance

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.