Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont

Enjoy French cuisine in the Green Room, in an unforgettable setting of fumed oak paneling, coffered oak beamed ceiling, gold chandeliers, Italian mosaic and original oil paintings.


Music is played weekends from the musicians gallery overlooking the restaurant. The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont is winner of the Four-Diamond AAA Award for 30 consecutive years, and Wine Spectators "Best of Award of Excellence" for 2015.


The Green Room features a colorful combination of new and old; including shimmering draperies, comfortable wingback chairs, and Versace patterned china. The legendary elegance and comfort of the historic Green Room are complemented by a fresh, seasonally-inspired menu under the direction of Executive Chef Keith Miller and Sous Chef Bill Wilczynski. An award-winning wine collection and impeccable service combine for an unforgettable fine dining experience.

11th & Market Streets
Wilmington, DE 19801
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30 AM - 11:00 AM
Saturday : 7:00 AM - 11 AM ; Sunday : 7 AM - 9:45 AM

Lunch: Monday - Saturday : 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM

Dinner : Sunday Thursday: 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday- Saturday: 6:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Brunch: Sunday: 10 AM - 1 PM

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(302) 594-3154

Website:
http://www.hoteldupont.com/

Parking Details:
Hotel valet and self-parking available. Valet parking is complimentary for all dinner patrons.

Executive Chef:
Keith Miller C.E.C.

Private Party Contact:
Alan Robinson: (302) 594-3256

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:30PM - 7:30PM

The Green Room at the Hotel du Pont Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Historic (25)
See All
Romantic (24)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Afternoon Tea (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Business Meals (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Outstanding Value (6)
Seasonal (5)
Authentic (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Cozy (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Healthy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
People Watching (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Private Room (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Fun (1)
Casual (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
758 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on March 19, 2017

Sunday dinner has a prix fix menu that afforded a good selection for all palates. Early seating on a Sunday and we were only ones there. When we should have received full attention of wait staff, we instead had to look around for them to fill water and clear plates. Only bad thing I have to say about the meal. Food was delicious and wine selection was exceptional. We will be trying a Saturday night with a large group within the next month and look forward to the meal. Hopefully, wait staff will have their 'A' game on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on March 19, 2017

Food was good--had horrible service. The lady attending the coat room even asked our server to come over because she notices how bad service was. I had to chase the waiter down to get more coffee. Came here for a special occasion but overall it was just "meh."

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on March 18, 2017

My husband and I enjoy fine dining. We are used to exceptional service. Unfortunately that's not what occurred.
We were only getting seated when our Asian waiter,Quickly offered us water.Then without taking a breath. Do u want wine or a cocktail. It was extremely disturbing. The wine menu hadn't even been given to us.
Once we decided on which wine we wanted, it came promptly, but the pour was terrible. Dripped down the glass onto the table cloth. Amateur.
Menu wasn't explained. The right side of the menu apparently was a price fixed, but didn't make it clear, at all.
My husband meal was very good, but potatoes were cold. He won't complain. My monk fish had a thick crust on it. Which didn't make it for tender.
The other sweet young lady who brought our food was wonderful.
Dinner is made by a great server, expecially in a restaurant of this caliber. I was extremely disappointed.
When we left, I made mention to the hotel manager at check out. She only shrugged her shoulders. It makes me think that service is not a priority.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on March 16, 2017

The bar tender never showed up that evening (!!!) so there were no cocktails other than what the waitress put together, she explained. The Caesar salad was watery, tired and had stale croutons - we think it had been made hours before and from old lettuce. The rolls were reheated in the microwave. The main course (filet with crab meat) was ok, but the advertised crabmeat was about 1 T. worth, and the hollandaise tasted like it was instant. What a disappointment our meal was and how sad that this fine old restaurant seems to be stumbling so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
·Dined on March 16, 2017

One of the best stake I have ever had.I asked for a special drink that was not on the menu and they provide it. This is old world dinning at its best. Looking forward to the next time I go there for dinner or afternoon tea. Don't go there if you are in a rush that note happening but if you do go you are in for a treat.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 15, 2017

A memorable occasion.

This was our first time dining at the Hotel du Pont Green Room. We went during the week for dinner, and it was truly memorable. The room itself is fantastic - old world opulence that we did not expect to find in Wilmington.

The menu is not huge, but there is enough variety for everyone. We had a green salad and a Caesar salad (with real, whole anchovies), both excellent. For entrees we had monkfish and short ribs, which were superb. For dessert we had Baked Alaska with Carrot Cake.

The value is very good. It is toward the high end for Wilmington, but would be considered a steal in most large cities (we lived in Manhattan for several decades). Service was very good, without being intrusive.

We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on March 12, 2017

We have been coming to the Green Room for over 30 years. The setting is still as beautiful as ever. On Sunday night they now have a more casual and less expensive but still very nice menu.
The food was uneven - we both ordered the same entree, hangar steak. For example, one was excellent and one was terribly full of gristle and too raw.
Our waiter, who has been there was years, was definitely off his game. He forgot things, kept repeating what we ordered getting it wrong and was not very attentive at all. In the end he gave us someone else's bill. While we were there only two (!) other tables were occupied and when we left one table of six was just seated. That was the only table occupied in the whole huge restaurant as we walked out. The bill we got in error was obviously from a table that had already paid and left. Perhaps THEY paid our bill? When our bill was "corrected", it showed the wrong price for the wine. I did speak to the Receptionist and the Manager when I left and they apologized.
I am conflicted about this restaurant. I loved the grandeur of the space. I should have probably sent my food back but hate to do that and change the mood of a romantic celebration. We may go again, but with the lack of diners it may not be in business much longer. The hotel was recently sold and is no longer part of the Dupont Company. I would recommend this restaurant but with some major caveats.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined on March 12, 2017

Everytime we visit the Green room we have a wonderful experience. Great for special occasions. We celebrated our wedding anniversary with a show and dinner and Everything was perfect. We plan to Come back often and introduce some of our friends in NJ to this fine restaurant.
Service was spot on and the food delicious.
Overall a great way to celebrate our special day.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Romantic, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 12, 2017

Overpriced. Average food. Not great service. Old fashioned rich worn decor. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food & service was excellent. Although we arrived 5 minutes early & despite a reservation & empty tables, we waited 15 minutes for a table to be set for us.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on March 11, 2017

Still a great spot but it has slipped in recent years. Staff is spread too thin and attention to detail is not what it used to be!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
·Dined on March 11, 2017

I have been a loyal patron of the Green Room at the Hotel DuPont for decades. The food is fabulous and the decor elegant. The wait staff are extremely professional and caring. I have never been disappointed!

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 9, 2017

Beautiful room in an beautiful hotel. Waiter was very attentive, food was very good. Portions were very small. Room had 2 tables being used. Total.? Valet parking a plus. Priced as an exquisite restaurant , as expected.

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
·Dined on March 8, 2017

With recent price increases especially for wine bottles the quality is no longer worth the higher prices. At recent dinner salmon over cooked. Room has lost some of its luster

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on March 8, 2017

We go there before the Dupont theatre on Wednesdays. It is the perfect lunch place for pre theatre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 26, 2017

Wow!! One of my favorite all time restaurants for special occasions!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on February 25, 2017

Enjoyed a relaxing dinner in a lovely historic venue. From the moment we were greeted until we left the service was attentive and the food delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on February 24, 2017

What an elegant place. Pricey, but worth it. Lovely service by all and we had the 3 course pre-theatre menu before seeing a show at the Playhouse which is right down the hallway- how convenient! Our appetizer was sublime, the entree was good but not sublime and dessert was great. We will return and recommend it as a fabulous experience.

Tags: Healthy, Fireplace, Historic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 22, 2017

Excellent service. Food was delicious enjoyed the beauty of the Green Room

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on February 22, 2017

We've been there many times. It is truly a special place. Food is excellent. Menu variety for lunch is a bit limited, but so what!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 21, 2017

My wife and I expected an old world decor and service and we got it. It is a beautiful room from the early 1900's. The sevice was second to none. Our waitress, Holly was very helpful with the menu. The food was brought out in a timely fashion without running into each other. My wife had the filet and I the short ribs and both were brought out in a beautiful presentation. We will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 21, 2017

Always a wonderful experience dining in the green room. From Hostess Kia, to server Huong and server assistant Lyuba to Green Room Manager Alan, everyone was extremely wonderful to interact with. Food was delicious and came out exactly as ordered.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 19, 2017

Lovely, elegant restaurant. A perfect place to celebrate a special occasion or just enjoy a fine dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 17, 2017

The Green Room is a favorite for us and we'll miss it when the hotel changes hands. I love its elegant ambiance and live music is a plus. The service is usually excellent, but this time it was average. I hope the new owners keep the special nature of this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

Beautiful, historic ambiance; eye-appealing and delicious food; great service. Great place to celebrate Valentine's day for lunch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

My first time, and I absolutely loved it!! My friends and I had tickets to a show and decided to make reservations at the Green Room. The duck was exceptional. The service
and the ambiance was outstanding! A great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

Definitely one of those things you should do in downtown Wilmington. Elegance, history, fine dining - five star all the way. Perfect for lunch or dinner, and even better before or after a show,. Allow at least a couple hours before so you aren't rushed with enjoying the full experience! And be sure to save room for their scrumptious signature macaroons!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Disabled Access, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on February 2, 2017

Work trip dinner, very nice experience for out of towners. Staff very friendly especially with suggesting menu items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on February 2, 2017

Wonderful room for any special celebration. Meal delicious and was served beautifully. Great service too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
·Dined on January 29, 2017

Met friends for a birthday celebration, their first visit, beautiful setting and ambience.
Personally, I prefer a plated brunch, ordering off a menu;
at least an option, not everyone likes buffets. Some offerings look tired after a while. Plus, I prefer my food hot, not warm.
Otherwise, a pleasant visit.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

Elegant dining room. Kind and patient service. Spinach salad and halibut were standouts. Rolls are to die for. Nice for a treat.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
·Dined on January 21, 2017

Old world style service and cuisine. Just
what we needed this weekend, after the inauguration of Donald tRumpster.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
·Dined on January 19, 2017

I was looking forward to returning to the Green Room after a long absence and I was very disappointed. My first glass of wine was the bottom of the bottle and not well preserved; the glass was replaced with a second wine. Three of us had the strip steak and two steaks were over done; we ordered medium rare and they came medium at best. I returned line and it took nearly 15 minutes to be redone. When my plate was returned, the original food was on it which was cold by then. Service was good, food was not.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 11, 2017

The Green Room is a favorite place for to meet friends from the Philadelphia area. I live in Easton, MD. I've always enjoyed the ambiance, food and service in the Green Room. I continue to return. I continue to be satisfied, as do my friends.

Tags: Casual, Historic, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Everything was outstanding, the food, the service, the ambience!! I have been here a few times with my family and it is consistently excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on December 26, 2016

Food was excellent, however, we had to wait for long periods multiple times to have our wine glasses refilled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

The Green Room is beautiful, especially with the Christmas decorations. The lunch menu is exceptional. The staff were so nice.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 19, 2016

Food was fabulous and the dining room was beautifully decorated for the Holidays!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Historic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Our waiter rushed us and literally never came back to ask about our food. I send my food back twice. It was cold as well as the coffee. The manager was very kind and well as the young lady who seated us.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

There are few places anywhere with the historic pedigree and elegant ambiance of this magnificent facility. The décor, architecture, space, quiet piano music . . . all combine to make a wonderful dining experience. The service was good, friendly and thorough but it was clear that an additional hand or two would have made a major difference. Every member of the staff appeared to be interested, friendly and motivated but were just tasked with a few too many patrons. The food was good but not exceptional. All told, a satisfactory dining experience in extraordinary surroundings with desirable ambiance . . . a perfect place to mark an occasion but not the right choice if one's interest is primarily in exceptional food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.