Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About The Grant House

The Grant House, tucked away on Officers Row in Vancouver’s Historic Reserve, is a favorite among local diners. Family operated for the last twelve years, The Grant House has been dubbed: "Vancouver’s Best Kept Secret!"



Whether you’re in the mood to relax with a glass of wine on our veranda, have a leisurely lunch on the garden patio, or join us for dinner, service from one of our caring staff members is always an exceptional experience. Come join us, and experience the “Secret” for yourself!

1101 Officers Row
Vancouver, WA 98661
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

At Ease Hour: Tuesday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm In the bar or outside on the West Veranda

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Fort Vancouver Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(360) 906-1101

Website:
http://www.thegranthouse.us/

Entertainment:
Live Music Tuesday - Thursday in Commanders Whiskey & Wine Bar from 6:00pm to 8:00pm

Catering:
All of our menus are customized to the client. A catering menu is available, but only serves as an example of what we can provide. Please contact our Event Coordinator to have a menu created especially for you.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the lot directly across the street from The Grant House. Additional (including handicapped) parking is found on the access road directly behind the house.

Executive Chef:
Carl Henderson III

Private Party Facilities:
You can enjoy a private setting for parties as small as two people up to 35 in one room. If outdoors is an option for your function, then invite up to 200 people to join you!

Private Party Contact:
Melinda Hinkley: (360) 906-1101

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Join us for Mother's Day!
Please contact the restaurant directly if party members are not able to climb stairs as they will need to setup special accommodations.

The Grant House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (30)
Special Occasion (27)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Romantic (22)
Cozy (21)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Scenic View (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Authentic (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Seasonal (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Private Room (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fireplace (6)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Fun (4)
Healthy (4)
Casual (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Family Style (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Live Music (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
841 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 5 days ago

Another great meal at the Grant House. Menu is not extensive, but each entry was a unique combination of flavors. Salmon was fantastic. An historic house with many fireplaces and great views.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Scenic View, Romantic, Fireplace, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The Grant House is a gracious, historical setting for the best in locally-sourced American eclectic dining. My favorites include the flatbread appetizer (which can serve four generously), the beet risotto (unbelievably creamy and delicious, with large chunks of tender beet), and thecoconut curry polenta with shrimp. Ingredients are fresh and high-quality; while portions are generous without being overwhelming; and staff is friendly and attentive, but never hovers. When I went there, the place was full of people who really looked like they were enjoying themselves. Our compliments to the chef! He really knows his stuff.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Local Ingredients, Organic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

A great Easter buffet brunch in a lovely, historic location. They have a terrific selection of really fresh items (the strawberries were wonderful!)
Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great 2017 Easter brunch. Wide variety and plenty of food. Made-to-order omlette and waffles were outstanding. Still a problem with no disabled access, especially when table is on the 2nd floor and buffet on the 1st. I was OK that our table was on the 2nd floor ( srairs are hard for me, but not impossible) until I found out I'd have to go up and down for food. Luckily, we noticed an available table on the 1st floor and they were able to accommodate us. Perfect weather and a beautiful location made for a great Easter meal.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We arrived early for our reservation and were offered drinks on the veranda while our table ( in a quiet upstairs room) was readied. We were given soft throw blankets to keep us warm outside and this was a lovely gesture. Our table for 6 was just right and we had easy access to the fabulous Easter brunch downstairs. Our server was attentive and friendly, as were all the staff. Every one of us enjoyed the full array of foods and deserts. The bacon was fantastic! The breakfast items were well done, and the salads and side dishes were superb. We could not have asked for a better experience. Definitely recommend! Really appreciate the ability to request a quieter room to enhance our family brunch. Great job everyone!

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I reserved a table at Grant House for Easter brunch. The service was excellent, staff was very attentive. The dining area is a bit cramped, and you do have to be careful walking around corners because staff and customers alike moving all around. However, this is not an ordinary restaurant--it is an old house in a historical district, which makes the setting quaint and the smaller area very worthwhile. My guests loved the food and and the setting equally--wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The Easter brunch was nice with one exception. The hot food was "cool". Other than that, the wait-staff was awesome and friendly.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This was a hidden surprise, as we came across it will driving through Vancouver for the day. While the history is very interesting, the food was a pleasant surprise as well. Made for a good lunch and historic discovery.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Service slow and inattentive. Could not hear live music, perhaps pipe into dining rooms. Could not order happy hour and carry over what I did not finish (we arrived early for a drink) to my dining table past 6 pm, really!! Group of 6 20%tip added to bill, thats fine but it was not mentioned and there was still a place to add the tip, luckily someone noticed or the tip could of doubled, wrong not to point it out when check arrived, felt ike we where being taken. Sad..

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Hands down the best dining experience in Vancouver!

Tags: , , , , , Fireplace, Cozy, , , , Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Wonderful history. Exceptional food. The server did a wonderful job even though the dining area was completely full.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Celebrating my wife's birthday. Great ambiance and historic decor. Only problem was noisy loud conversations.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

amazing gem with such history, plus an amazing meal and opportunity to find a new favorite wine. thanks for a great evening

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My daughter and I were rewarding ourselves for managing to get through a very difficult year. It was truly a treat! Loved the history, we were seated in the sunroom. Will try the dining area next.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent food and service. The historic nature of the building on Officers Row is a big plus for those interested in the local history.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We have been to the Grant House several different times...this time not so impressed !...Food choices limited for dinner....my Salmon Ravioli tasty but very strong ...my husbands choice...Pulled pork...he was not impressed....granddaughters choice....hash and potato....OK better choices on the lunch menu.....to bad choices for dinner cannot be more affordable Steak dinner....$33.00 way to expensive I must say that I would not be surprised if this Restaurant closed for lack of customers.....if it stays open...offer more affordable dishes....try not to impress but be more practical I did order coffee....had to ask the hostess for a refill way into my meal....waitress has been there for a long time....maybe a little more friendly....

Tags: Happy Hour, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 6, 2017

As usual the food was amazing, but I was very disappointed in the service. It wasn't bad, meaning we got what we ordered, but there was nothing that made it special.

We wanted a bottle of wine and when I asked about the Kim Crawford her response was, 'wines by the glass are in the front of the menu'. I guess you either can't get those by the bottle or she couldn't be bothered to offer it.

After she asked if we were ready to order, I had to ask what the soup was, nothing was volunteered. Just a side note, when asked if the beet bisque is good, don't respond with 'people either like or hate beets' you are a sales person, tell me it is amazing because it was.

One person in our party ordered dessert, but when another mentioned that wine would be our dessert she didn't even ask us if we wanted another glass (ours was almost empty) and just brought the check.

But for me the most memorable part was that we did not get even one smile the whole time from her.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We went there for our anniversary. The food and staff was excellent and we were very happy with both the food and their service.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Food was not great. 3 menu items not available. Calamari was under cooked. This is a great venue but the food and service fall short. Too bad this could be a top place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 21, 2017

I gave the food review a 3 star because the 2 guests that we brought did not like their choices which were both specials. They looked heavy and had odd combinations. They expressed their dislike to the staff and they were very gracious about it and did not charge them for their meals. My husband and I both liked our lunches. The soup of the day was delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Historic, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This was not our first visit to the Grant House and love our past experiences there. We usually go for special occasions. This time, we were there to celebrate my parents' retirements. However, this time the experience as not as special as our past times. I had to send my food back and was disappointed. I have high expectations because our food has always been amazing and I always recommend the Grant House. The "good" review for the food was due to the other meals at the table being better.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Pricey. Good food but too small of a portion. Of the price, it could include a salad or dinner rolls.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The lunch menu was diverse offering a number of excellent choices. There were also daily specials. The service was outstanding, attention to every detail with a pleasant attitude.
We weren't rushed or pressured and we visited for a while before and after our meal.

The restaurant has recently been sold so this will be a place to watch to see if there are
significant changes. The rumor is that they will also begin to serve breakfast!

Our food was well prepared and presented in an attractive manner. I had a rueben, my husband
chose the pot pie, and our friend ordered a quiche. Everyone was quite pleased with their food.

We will return.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

A quiet evening with my wife, and good food. Music in the background made for an enjoyable meal. We have eaten there several times and never disappointed.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Family from out of town....enjoyed a wonderful evening...all seven very happy with their dinners.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Enjoy the setting and the historical significance. Warm on a very stormy night. Gracious staff.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 16, 2017

One of our favorite date night spots for my wife and I...Love the place!

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Historic, Scenic View, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Cozy and romantic setting. Our specialty valentine cocktails were delicious. The 5 course meal was excellent. My favorites were the appetizer: scallops and dessert: chocolate torte. The entire meal was memorable! Our server was friendly, informative and professional. The all inclusive price was a bit expensive BUT worth it for what we received.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went for a Valentine's Day lunch and, having never been there before, I was nervous! We were greeted, seated, and served with incredible skill and what seemed like genuine concern for our enjoyment. The food was good, the story of the house was fun, but it was really the hostess and the server that made the lunch memorable.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great service and wonderful ambiance. The food wasn't the best though. My smoked Salmon Ravioli was a bit fishy and the patatoes in my wife's potato mushroom dish were a bit hard/ undercooked. I would recommend this place to get a drink, an appetizer but would caution about the meals. I've only been their once so i still give them 3 stars. Cooks might have just been having an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I came here for my birthday, which had several people. They made a long table in the back room, which is nearly all windows. It looked sweet and historic- perfect for my birthday luncheon. The menu had changed again and so much looked good. The food was great and so were the cocktails. There was nothing lacking. I love the Grant House and will return again and again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We love the bar here. It is very quaint and cozy. The appetizers and cocktails were great. A nice and fairly extensive wine list. We are a little mixed on the dinner menu and food. Not much selection, and out of the few aelections, 2 were salmon-based. No chicken options. The ambience was wonderful though.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very quiet relaxed atmosphere. Great location and great food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Well I have to say I was disappointed. I've eaten here before and I'm not sure why I came back. I think it was the hostess that disappointed the most (I think she might have been a manager or owner). She was nice and professional but just sort of cold and certainly not invited . Almost as if she had somewhere else she would rather prefer to be. It was my wife's 40th birthday and even though I let them know beforehand there was no special candle or dessert or anything - just a passing acknowledgment. Of course you can't expect that every restaurant would give away a dessert or a little birthday token but why not? The ambience of the historic home was pleasant although the temperature was a little cool. The food was very good although the cost of adding a piece of chicken to my child salad was more than the salad itself... I guess I was just simply underwhelmed . When I spend nearly $100 for a nice dinner I guess I expected a little bit more to make me (and especially my wife and kids) feel special on her birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 19, 2017

All of us decided on the Ruben. Fries were C-R-I-S-P, and very, very good. The marble rye was eye appealing, but short on flavor, however, it was done to a very detectable 'crunch', which was remarked on by several of us at one of our party's very first bite. HOWEVER, there's always one of those, isn't there? The pastrami and sauerkraut, while very tasty, were almost paper thin, and in one of our diner's sandwiches, seemed to be an afterthought. That diner, who didn't complain, had only two thin strips of pastrami, and there could not have been more than a tablespoon of sauerkraut. Tasty, but empty. That was the consensus around the table. Charge another three bucks, and fill the darn things as they do at the best of the competition.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I love the Grant House. Their food is always excellent. But best of all you can hear the people you are with talk. So rare in restaurants today.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Extremely charming. It was very quiet, could use some nice background soft music. First date and it was perfect for that. Very romantic. Great food and service.
Early hours though, last seating at 8. Come earlier and linger....

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was a fabulous New Year's Eve dinner. Outstanding food.....plated perfectly. Excellent service, nice wine list and all around wonderful night. We will be back soon!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The Five-Course New Year's Eve meal was outstanding. Every bite was delicious and perfectly prepared. Service was very good. Quiet, historic landmark, good for conversation and a romantic date night, not a place to take young children.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.