About The Grant House

1101 Officers Row
Vancouver, WA 98661
View Larger Map

The Grant House, tucked away on Officers Row in Vancouver’s Historic Reserve, is a favorite among local diners. Family operated for the last twelve years, The Grant House has been dubbed: "Vancouver’s Best Kept Secret!"



Whether you’re in the mood to relax with a glass of wine on our veranda, have a leisurely lunch on the garden patio, or join us for dinner, service from one of our caring staff members is always an exceptional experience. Come join us, and experience the “Secret” for yourself!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

At Ease Hour: Tuesday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm In the bar or outside on the West Veranda

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Fort Vancouver Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(360) 906-1101

Website:
http://www.thegranthouse.us/

Entertainment:
Live Music Tuesday - Thursday in Commanders Whiskey & Wine Bar from 6:00pm to 8:00pm

Catering:
All of our menus are customized to the client. A catering menu is available, but only serves as an example of what we can provide. Please contact our Event Coordinator to have a menu created especially for you.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the lot directly across the street from The Grant House. Additional (including handicapped) parking is found on the access road directly behind the house.

Executive Chef:
Carl Henderson III

Private Party Facilities:
You can enjoy a private setting for parties as small as two people up to 35 in one room. If outdoors is an option for your function, then invite up to 200 people to join you!

Private Party Contact:
Melinda Hinkley: (360) 906-1101

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Grant House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (36)
Special Occasion (33)
Good for a Date (31)
See All
Cozy (30)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Romantic (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Seasonal (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Authentic (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Private Room (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Scenic View (7)
Business Meals (7)
Healthy (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Casual (6)
Fun (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Fireplace (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Live Music (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Tapas (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
815 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Enjoy the setting and the historical sig ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Enjoy the setting and the historical significance. Warm on a very stormy night. Gracious staff.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our favorite date night spots for ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

One of our favorite date night spots for my wife and I...Love the place!

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Historic, Scenic View, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy and romantic setting. Our specialty ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Cozy and romantic setting. Our specialty valentine cocktails were delicious. The 5 course meal was excellent. My favorites were the appetizer: scallops and dessert: chocolate torte. The entire meal was memorable! Our server was friendly, informative and professional. The all inclusive price was a bit expensive BUT worth it for what we received.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for a Valentine's Day lunch and, ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

We went for a Valentine's Day lunch and, having never been there before, I was nervous! We were greeted, seated, and served with incredible skill and what seemed like genuine concern for our enjoyment. The food was good, the story of the house was fun, but it was really the hostess and the server that made the lunch memorable.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and wonderful ambiance. T ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great service and wonderful ambiance. The food wasn't the best though. My smoked Salmon Ravioli was a bit fishy and the patatoes in my wife's potato mushroom dish were a bit hard/ undercooked. I would recommend this place to get a drink, an appetizer but would caution about the meals. I've only been their once so i still give them 3 stars. Cooks might have just been having an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

I came here for my birthday, which had s ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I came here for my birthday, which had several people. They made a long table in the back room, which is nearly all windows. It looked sweet and historic- perfect for my birthday luncheon. The menu had changed again and so much looked good. The food was great and so were the cocktails. There was nothing lacking. I love the Grant House and will return again and again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the bar here. It is very quaint ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We love the bar here. It is very quaint and cozy. The appetizers and cocktails were great. A nice and fairly extensive wine list. We are a little mixed on the dinner menu and food. Not much selection, and out of the few aelections, 2 were salmon-based. No chicken options. The ambience was wonderful though.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Very quiet relaxed atmosphere. Great loc ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very quiet relaxed atmosphere. Great location and great food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Well I have to say I was disappointed. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Well I have to say I was disappointed. I've eaten here before and I'm not sure why I came back. I think it was the hostess that disappointed the most (I think she might have been a manager or owner). She was nice and professional but just sort of cold and certainly not invited . Almost as if she had somewhere else she would rather prefer to be. It was my wife's 40th birthday and even though I let them know beforehand there was no special candle or dessert or anything - just a passing acknowledgment. Of course you can't expect that every restaurant would give away a dessert or a little birthday token but why not? The ambience of the historic home was pleasant although the temperature was a little cool. The food was very good although the cost of adding a piece of chicken to my child salad was more than the salad itself... I guess I was just simply underwhelmed . When I spend nearly $100 for a nice dinner I guess I expected a little bit more to make me (and especially my wife and kids) feel special on her birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

All of us decided on the Ruben. Fries w ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 19, 2017

All of us decided on the Ruben. Fries were C-R-I-S-P, and very, very good. The marble rye was eye appealing, but short on flavor, however, it was done to a very detectable 'crunch', which was remarked on by several of us at one of our party's very first bite. HOWEVER, there's always one of those, isn't there? The pastrami and sauerkraut, while very tasty, were almost paper thin, and in one of our diner's sandwiches, seemed to be an afterthought. That diner, who didn't complain, had only two thin strips of pastrami, and there could not have been more than a tablespoon of sauerkraut. Tasty, but empty. That was the consensus around the table. Charge another three bucks, and fill the darn things as they do at the best of the competition.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I love the Grant House. Their food is a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I love the Grant House. Their food is always excellent. But best of all you can hear the people you are with talk. So rare in restaurants today.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely charming. It was very quiet, c ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Extremely charming. It was very quiet, could use some nice background soft music. First date and it was perfect for that. Very romantic. Great food and service.

Early hours though, last seating at 8. Come earlier and linger....

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

It was a fabulous New Year's Eve dinner. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was a fabulous New Year's Eve dinner. Outstanding food.....plated perfectly. Excellent service, nice wine list and all around wonderful night. We will be back soon!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Five-Course New Year's Eve meal was ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The Five-Course New Year's Eve meal was outstanding. Every bite was delicious and perfectly prepared. Service was very good. Quiet, historic landmark, good for conversation and a romantic date night, not a place to take young children.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great Place. My only complaint was that ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great Place. My only complaint was that the food portions were on the small for the price. You still leave hungry. But the experience was wonderful. The place is beautiful.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Very nice. Good food and friendly staff. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Very nice. Good food and friendly staff. The only drawback was a company party that was going on, so it took a very long time for the food to come out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice to have a quiet, pleasant lunch in ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Nice to have a quiet, pleasant lunch in a charming setting -- hard to find these days.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always great and sometimes a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The food is always great and sometimes a little surprising. This fall menu had calamari on something like puréed squash with arugula and cherry tomatoes. It was delicious! As far as Vancouver goes, it's a fantastic restaurant for food. The house is really neat too. Main problems this time- it was absolutely roasting! I was dripping in sweat but they couldn't/wouldn't adjust the heat. I think that the old house just has VERY uneven heating. Second, the service could have been better. That's all. As a whole, I suggest going here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were seated on the back porch. The t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We were seated on the back porch. The temperature was 58 degrees F. The soup was served cold to slightly warm. The waitress didn't discuss the many menu options that were unavailable until we attempted to order. The restaurant was empty when we arrived, but we were still seated in a frigid, dreary location. This was unfortunate, as we travelled over 200 miles for a Christmas luncheon. The experience was so negative that we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

We would have enjoyed Christmas atmosphe ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We would have enjoyed Christmas atmosphere such as background Christmas music. Also, to enhance the season, some Christmas greens or swags. Maybe a small tree. The small north glassed in room we dined in was pleasant but only 50 degrees until we complained. Perhaps it should have been heated before diners arrived.

Three of us dined with you and enjoyed the food and it's presentation. Our waitress was delightful but seemed the only worker at first. She also did a beautiful presentation HOT drink that warmed us until the furnace kicked in.

We've enjoyed the Grant House before and will certainly dine with you again.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

A very nice restored "original" house th ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

A very nice restored "original" house that has great ambiance. The food was most enjoyable and the setting was serene!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed in the food choice and ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Very disappointed in the food choice and the quiche was tasteless. Server was not very friendly.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

The menu is very creative while offering ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The menu is very creative while offering healthy options. Grant House is very accommodating of vegetarian and gluten-free needs. The honey glazed salmon and spinach quinoa salad were excellent! The dining room has a cozy atmosphere. As usual the service was excellent. It is a gem of Vancouver which must be experienced by all!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were so pleased with our experience o ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We were so pleased with our experience of having our Book Group holiday gathering and lunch at the Grant House, that we returned for a second year. The beautifully decorated sun room fits us perfectly. The food was delicious, the service absolutely first rate, especially with dealing with all the challenges that come with serving such a large group...even accommodating separate checks gracefully. A return to Grant House is expected.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Private Room, Historic, Good for a Date, Healthy, , Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice setting to have a great meal and re ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Nice setting to have a great meal and relax with friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

First time to The Grant House. Lovely hi ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 12, 2016

First time to The Grant House. Lovely historic setting, with smaller dining rooms, instead of cavernous space. It was quiet enough for conversation, with subdued music. Service was attentive and not hurried. Lunch menu is creative, though with a number of classics for the less adventuresome. For an appetizer, we tried the Roasted Cauliflower. The cauliflower itself was quite undercooked and pale, with very little seasoning. It was difficult to cut the florets even with a knife. The tomato sauce was flavorful and zesty, though. The dish has potential with more seasoning and if the cauli was actually roasted. For my entree, I had the Philly Steak Sandwich, without the bun (although they do offer a gluten-free option, I eat low carb). The beef itself was very good, as were the sauteed onions, peppers, and melted havarti cheese. The portion was generous, too. I had the side caesar without croutons. The greens were crisp and fresh, but it could have used more dressing and the dressing itself would benefit from more flavor, perhaps lemon juice and garlic. All in all, it was a good experience. I will go back for another try.

Tags: Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food. Great service. Good value on ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great food. Great service. Good value on price. The historic ambience, lighting, and quiet atmosphere are all a big plus.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

When we arrived, we were the only ones t ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 10, 2016

When we arrived, we were the only ones there initially. It is a very old and charming building but it was extremely cold until more people arrived. Our server was wonderful and we had one of her recommendations, the fig appetizer. I highly recommend this. Overall, this was enjoyable during the holidays and was very festive.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First time at the Grant House and we abs ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 8, 2016

First time at the Grant House and we absolutely loved everything about it.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This historic building is beautiful insi ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This historic building is beautiful inside with many separate dining rooms. The food is great also and the service was good. It was very well decorated for the holidays, we really enjoyed it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful meal, extremely nice historic ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Wonderful meal, extremely nice historic setting....a most enjoyable experience.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Fall Chowder is amazing ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Excellent food. Fall Chowder is amazing! Noisy guests around us. We had to talk loudly to hear each other. That was the only negative. All food and service was excellent. Will return soon!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, , Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Staff was very friendly and attentive. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Staff was very friendly and attentive. I told our waitress it was my sister's birthday and she brought her a dessert and sang happy birthday to her.

Food was very good.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a very unique dining experience ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This was a very unique dining experience. The food and service was excellent. However, the building is amazing. Sitting there thinking about all of the famous people and the history was something else. If you go, tour the entire house.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservations for thanksgiving dinne ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Made reservations for thanksgiving dinner, waited over and hour and half after reservation time and they ran out of 2 of the 5 items available. Staff was not friendly. The stuffing was inedible, really memorable but not in a good way thanksgiving dinner.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

I made reservations for two for a 5pm se ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I made reservations for two for a 5pm seating on Thanksgiving Day. We arrived at 4:40pm, there were no seats in the foyer and no tables available in the bar. The hostess said people would be seated in order of their arrival. Huh? I had a reservation. We were seated upstairs in a small room at 5:55. The meal arrived before we had time to finish much of our salad. The plated Thanksgiving meal was stacked, although ample, some items were non-distinguishable, the green beans were raw, the dressing sticky.

My wife ordered a Cosmo, it tasted like grapefruit juice w/ lime, when asked about the drink, the server said, "we get complaints about that all the time." The drink was returned. There is an extensive wine list. Our bill was $110 plus $25 tip. To be fair, we will try it again to see if we have better results on a non-holiday. We were disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

This is our forth time at the Grant Hous ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This is our forth time at the Grant House this year. This time for Thanksgiving dinner. The dinner was very good, services great and pretty quiet for a crowded occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My daughter-in-law and I enjoyed our Tha ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My daughter-in-law and I enjoyed our Thanksgiving meal. The atmosphere was lovely, the food good and the wine excellent. I would suggest that you think about your pie supplier. The apple pie was so sweet I couldn't eat it and it was cold. My only negative comment! I will surely come again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Historic, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Went here for Thanksgiving and was very ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went here for Thanksgiving and was very disappointed with the food. The turkey was moist but salty, the stuffing was dry, the green beans were not cooked, the cranberry sauce was too bitter to consume, even the pies were not good. It is such a charming venue, but something must be done about the food. I see this exact review from Thanksgiving 2015. I wish I had read it before I trusted them with my Thanksgiving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

More often than not, we have a Thanksgiv ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

More often than not, we have a Thanksgiving meal at a restaurant. All too many turn out to be food factory experiences. Thanksgiving at The Grant House, however, was quite different. The menu was simple and straight forward. There were two choices for salad, and two for dessert. Otherwise, the menu was fixed, except for beverages. There was a wide selection of wine, beer, and non-alcoholic beverages.

This made it easy for the service staff, and the kitchen. The kitchen obviously took its time. The turkey and sides were perfectly prepared with a lot of TLC. Servers were never in our face, yet we never had to wait a long time when we needed something or it was time for the next course. A very, very pleasant experience on a busy day.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.