About The Grant House

1101 Officers Row
Vancouver, WA 98661
View Larger Map

The Grant House, tucked away on Officers Row in Vancouver’s Historic Reserve, is a favorite among local diners. Family operated for the last six years, The Grant House has been dubbed: "Vancouver’s Best Kept Secret!"



Whether you’re in the mood to relax with a glass of wine on our veranda, have a leisurely lunch on the garden patio, or join us for dinner, service from one of our caring staff members is always an exceptional experience. Come join us, and experience the “Secret” for yourself!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

At Ease Hour: Tuesday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm In the bar or outside on the West Veranda

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Fort Vancouver Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(360) 906-1101

Website:
http://www.thegranthouse.us/

Entertainment:
Live Music Tuesday - Thursday in Commanders Whiskey & Wine Bar from 6:00pm to 8:00pm

Catering:
All of our menus are customized to the client. A catering menu is available, but only serves as an example of what we can provide. Please contact our Event Coordinator to have a menu created especially for you.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the lot directly across the street from The Grant House. Additional (including handicapped) parking is found on the access road directly behind the house.

Executive Chef:
Carl Henderson III

Private Party Facilities:
You can enjoy a private setting for parties as small as two people up to 35 in one room. If outdoors is an option for your function, then invite up to 200 people to join you!

Private Party Contact:
Melinda Hinkley: 3609061101x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

1/2 Turkey Sandwich, Chicken Dumpling Soup & Salad
Waffle Benedict
Kobe Beef Burger
fish tacos
Grilled Asparagus Salad
Wild NW Salmon
Kobe Burger And French Fries
Side House Salad
Thanksgiving Dinner
Pan Seared Trout
Surf'n'Turf
Molten Lava Cake
French Toast
Chef's Feature Pork Chop
Halibut Fish and Chips

The Grant House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Portland / Oregon
Outdoor Dining
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked
Vancouver, WA
Best Restaurants in Vancouver ›

Special Occasion (70)
Great for Outdoor Dining (63)
Romantic (48)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Great for Lunch (46)
Scenic View (44)
Good for Groups (32)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Great for Brunch (20)
Notable Wine List (16)
Kid-friendly (9)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
717 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband had the chicken and dumplings ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 4 days ago

My husband had the chicken and dumplings. I tasted it and it was very flavorful. I had the search fresh tuna with couscous which was nicely done.. The bread pudding for dessert was delicious as well.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

the waitress spent more time chatting wi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 7 days ago

the waitress spent more time chatting with her friends that obviously worked there. My pork was raw and they tried to tell me 130 degrees is safe -who cares - I don't want any meat raw - I order my steaks medium well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

All around great dining experience. Lov ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 7 days ago

All around great dining experience. Love this place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The salmon is exceptional, cooked just r ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The salmon is exceptional, cooked just right - moist and flavorful!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to the Grant house to celebrate ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We went to the Grant house to celebrate our 48th wedding anniversary. The house itself is a beautiful old building from the early days of Vancouver. The food was wonderfully prepared and presented. The flavors were well balanced. I had the tuna and it was melt-in-your-mouth delicious. There are two drawbacks. The menu seemed a little limited and seemed skewed toward fish and the price of the meal was a bit high. Knowing this, I would go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We waited for 20+ minutes for our server ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We waited for 20+ minutes for our server to great us. My wife loved the chicken and dumplings, but I was greatly disappointed in the burger. It tasted like a frozen sirloin burger from Costco. I expected fresher food than what I received.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

I have been to The Grant House for lunch ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I have been to The Grant House for lunch and dinner many times-always good food and service and the atmosphere and gardens are just perfect!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceeds expectations again. And a treat ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Exceeds expectations again. And a treat with the live music ..

Porch sitting on a beautiful summer evening.

Starters, Dinner, Desserts and Beverages were perfect .. Salmon was in my opinion the best !! The ahi and steak were also perfection. Staff is attentive and so like able.

Specialty cocktails were adventurous and delicious.

Immensely enjoyable evening with excellent epicurean delights.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Grant House is a great place to enjo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The Grant House is a great place to enjoy a meal outdoors on their porch on a warm, summer evening - in the shade, of course. The food is consistently good and the service is more than adequate. Nice special occasion, relaxing, comfortable dining experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our waiter seemed overworked. We had to ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Our waiter seemed overworked. We had to ask twice for coffee refills, twice for bread, and twice for dessert. The hostess, whom we asked about our dessert, was snippy and abrupt.

The salads were served without garnish in little cereal bowls--not attractive, but tasty. The desserts were the best part of the lunch--really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Arrived at 3:00 pm to celebrate my wife' ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Arrived at 3:00 pm to celebrate my wife's birthday. We were seated promptly. I ordered minestrone soup, which was very disappointing. There was no liquid stock in the soup. It looked and tasted as if someone took mixed vegetables from a can and warmed them up in a microwave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Always a good experience at this histori ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Always a good experience at this historic place; don't think we've ever had a bad meal. Service is always attentive without being obtrusive. Very inventive entrees and salads. Fabulous desserts.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

The Grant House is always our first choi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The Grant House is always our first choice for lunch in the downtown Vancouver core. The staff and service are excellent, the menu always reliable, great value for the price. When weather allows, we always prefer the outside seating -- a lovely ambiance, and even though the tables are fairly close together, there is enough space in the open air to feel more "private". I have attended and held business meetings in the upstairs rooms as well, always with rave reviews from the attendees about service and food and beverage selection. The Grant House is top notch in our book, for business or personal dining.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am very unhappy about how you handled ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I am very unhappy about how you handled my confusion and my complaint about your happy hour rule limiting veranda dining which is not noted on your website used to make reservation. Also not told when I confirmed by phone that we would have a 5:30 spot on the veranda. Then when we complained, the server said it was because of limited happy hour food availability, but the restaurant was lightly attended. The manager argued with me that it must have been my fault for not asking. The "accommodation" was that we could go buy a glass of wine at the bar. What should have been done is honoring the happy hour menu. The server, food, and ambiance were great. The" customer first" perspective was lousy. Someone should read the customer service book "Give Them The Pickle." I have never been to a restaurant with a happy hour menu that was limited by anything than hours. But at the least, post it clearly on the website. And don't argue with the customer.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were there for lunch and all our food ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We were there for lunch and all our food was wonderful. If was a beautiful day and we were able to sit on the front porch. Couldn't have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took my wife there for a special lunch b ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Took my wife there for a special lunch based on reviews. Without a doubt, one of the worst dining experiences of my life. Food terrible and scanty. Terrible service - very slow and unattentive. Wife got the wrong food, our soup was inedible, very, very salty. When we said the soup was bad, the waiter asked "too salty?". They knew the soup was bad and still served it. My $11.00 pastrami Reuben had one slice of meat on it. My minestrone replacement soup was a hastily-made garden vegetable. Looked and tasted like mixed vegetables in tomato sauce.

We were happy we only went for lunch, which kept the cost lower than dinner. If one considers that it's likely a low-bid catering contractor at a government park, perhaps the food and service is not surprising. However, we will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

The Grant House is a hidden Vancouver ge ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The Grant House is a hidden Vancouver gem. It is located on historic Officer's Row in Vancouver. We celebrated our 27th Anniversary, the food is wonderful and it is very romantic.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy our food here.The new su ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We always enjoy our food here.The new summer menu of Albcore was delicious! We thought the flourless cake got much smaller in size than last we had. The server, Ryan was wonderful n was able to have kitchen sub a creamy couscous to just plain ones for my husband.We be back n earlier next time to enjoy the live music!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The Grant House is a great date spot. W ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The Grant House is a great date spot. We celebrated our wedding anniversary and they did a great job making it special. Lovely patio seating.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I were celebrating our 25 ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and had reservations on a Tuesday evening. There was live music playing and I was hoping to be seated where we could hear it, but was told nothing was available. There was a table on the porch where we could have heard it , but it was for four, and since we were only two, we were seated outside in the very back at a smaller table. The food was good, the service was slow, not sure I would pay that kind of money again though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Excellent service, even when the full an ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Excellent service, even when the full and loud dining room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was excellent and interesting. The ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was excellent and interesting. The crime brûlée was the best we ever had. Everything was fresh and well made. Loved it. Will return again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Grant House has a great location on ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The Grant House has a great location on Officer's Row near Ft. Vancouver. A lot of history associated with the location. We went on a pleasant summer evening, and were able to sit on the patio in the back of restaurant, which was very private and quiet. The entrees were well prepared, and the service was outstanding. Very attentive, but not overly so. They were there just when you needed them.

We would definitely go back for a quiet summer evening. We'd also like to check out the place for lunch as well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great venue, quaint and quiet and cozy. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great venue, quaint and quiet and cozy. Food is ok, but by far the service needs work!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

Very accommodating - let our group of si ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Very accommodating - let our group of six stay out on patio to listen to music and held our reserved table in the sun room until we were ready. This was a family reunion with out of town guests with varied food requirements. The menu is not large, as one would expect with a smaller kitchen, but there was something for everyone and all the food was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a pleasure to dine there. The sal ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It was a pleasure to dine there. The salmon was the best I had ever had. Food presentation was lovely. Service was spot on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The drinks were good. We had the chicken ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The drinks were good. We had the chicken sliders and the Ruben sliders, both were good. We ordered the burger and the chicken and dumplings for dinner. The patty of the burger was super small and very dry. The chicken and dumpling had hardly any chicken. The gnocchi tasted store bought and the peas and carrots tasted frozen. We were the only ones in the bar. It was awkward when one of the waiters and a waitress sat the table next to us with a stack of receipts to organize and do the accounting. The bar tender was very nice however the waiter and waitress who were doing the accounting were also going behind the bar to get drinks. The bar tender even offered to make them a drink. I find this behavior extremely unacceptable. You are there to work, not drink. I'm glad that we paid happy hour prices. Overall, it's a beautiful house with so much potential. Stop buying frozen food, make everything in house. The burger should have a nice ratio of meat to toppings and the patty should be moist.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Great food, but our server was the worst ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great food, but our server was the worst and totally ignored us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

We have frequented Grant house regularly ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We have frequented Grant house regularly. It usually fills up quickly and is awkward for groups greater than four. Menu has some standby's but with different specials of interest very well plated. Appetizer we had was great. Service was superb. As you would expect Wine a bit high as is menu but you get what you pay for. Great ambiance!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful food, drinks,service, ambiance ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Wonderful food, drinks,service, ambiance. Loved the history of the Grant House. Five stars!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not only is the Grant House in a beautif ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Not only is the Grant House in a beautiful historic location, but the food, service and atmosphere are very comfortable and inviting. They also do a wonderful job at helping children to feel welcome and relaxed as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very historic, great food, friendly staf ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Very historic, great food, friendly staff and an overall great experience and value for money

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great evening. Randomly found the resta ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great evening. Randomly found the restaurant on the open table map. Sat on the porch with a great view. Service was paced just right for good dining. Will definitely go again when in the area.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The setting was wonderful, we sat outsid ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The setting was wonderful, we sat outside enjoyed the sunshine and the view. The food we had was listed on the menu as being spicy but it wasn't which would have made it taste phenomenal. Did not like their calamari too bland and the sauce was not spicy like it said it was. The food was still good but not out of this world which I would have expected from the Grant house. Enjoyed our visit though and would go back especially for drinks, ambiance and service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Food took way too long and some of the f ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food took way too long and some of the food came out cold . Was not flavorful. Over priced for what you got . Cute atmosphere and the soup was good. Thats about the only good things I can say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Enjoyed the food, service & ambiance. E ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Enjoyed the food, service & ambiance. Easy to make reservations.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming Historic Dining

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This is our "go-to" place for special occasion dining! The Grant House is one of a number of stately historic homes on Vancouver's Officer's Row. Great food and great service! The street is tree lined and quiet. Before or after dining, we enjoy taking a stroll under the maple trees. Make it part of your outing for the day by taking in the neighborhood attraction, Fort Vancouver National Historic Site, with its park, museum and reconstructed fur trading post.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Bash

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We celebrated my mother’s 91 st birthday in the Garden room ,which was lovely. Our waiter was courteous , efficient and provided separate checks which was appreciated. They arranged for a delicious cake and served it for us. They even allowed us to decorate in advance. The food was quite delicious as well. It was a delightful experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The setting is really lovely

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The setting is really lovely and cocktails on the porch is a great way to kick-off the weekend or spend a summer evening. The food was OK - wouldn't go back again for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Great food, Not so great service!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This was my 2nd time eating at the Grant House. 1st time was lunch with a friend; 2nd was dinner with my sweetheart. On both occasions the food was excellent, but the service was abominable! Our waitress disappeared, never checked on us to refill our drinks or see if we wanted anything else, and we finally had to go find someone in order to get our check! I wonder if a 3rd time might have a charm? ---not sure I want to risk it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.