Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About The Grant House

Located in the historic Grant House on Officers Row in Vancouver, WA, Eatery at The Grant House offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner every day of the week. Owners Scott and Sarah Flury believe the expanded hours and locally-sourced menu will set Eatery at the Grant House apart from other restaurants that previously stood in this space.T he Grant House, tucked away on Officers Row in Vancouver’s Historic Reserve, is a favorite among local diners.

Whether you’re in the mood to relax with a glass of wine on our veranda, have a leisurely lunch on the garden patio, or join us for dinner, service from one of our caring staff members is always an exceptional experience.

1101 Officers Row
Vancouver, WA 98661
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:00am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

At Ease Hour: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm In the bar or outside on the West Veranda

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Fort Vancouver Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(360) 906-1101

Website:
http://www.thegranthouse.us/

Entertainment:
Live Music Tuesday and Wednesday in the Bar from 6:00pm to 8:00pm

Catering:
All of our menus are customized to the client. A catering menu is available, but only serves as an example of what we can provide. Please contact our Event Coordinator to have a menu created especially for you.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the lot directly across the street from The Grant House. Additional (including handicapped) parking is found on the access road directly behind the house.

Executive Chef:
Carl Henderson III

Private Party Facilities:
You can enjoy a private setting for parties as small as two people up to 35 in one room. If outdoors is an option for your function, then invite up to 200 people to join you!

Private Party Contact:
Melinda Hinkley: (360) 906-1101

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Grant House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Special Occasion (30)
Good for a Date (28)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Cozy (26)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Scenic View (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Historic (21)
Great for Lunch (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Romantic (16)
Casual (14)
Great for Brunch (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Business Meals (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Afternoon Tea (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Seasonal (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Healthy (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Authentic (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Private Room (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Fun (6)
Organic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Family Style (3)
People Watching (3)
Tapas (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Live Music (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Great Beer (2)
Fireplace (2)
 (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Waterfront (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
883 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Had lunch outside with a friend. Didn't feel rushed. The beet salad was very good. Service was very good. Made for a very nice day

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place and good food but server was either over-tasked or just didn't want to be there.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

It was very nice as I had requested a quiet area and we were given the sunroom. Very quiet. Food was very good. Would demfinetly go again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I was very disappointed with the grant house. I have been wanting to go here forever, and my husband decided it would be a great place to celebrate my birthday. Food was not good and service wasn't great either. It was also very slow service which was frustrating as well. I hate spending so much money and being so unhappy. I didn't eat much of my meal. I wish I had stuck to our usual choices. I am so sad about it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

It took 10 minutes to seat me even though I had made a reservation. Once seated, everything else went smoothly. It did take 35 minutes to get our salad meals, but we were in no hurry. My friend did not get her dressing, but the waiter brought her a much bigger serving of dressing, so she was pleased. The salads were fresh and delicious. Wonderful atmosphere on the deck.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We were there for our anniversary and we had their brunch menu, and it was wonderful. I would recommend The Eatery for it's food and history ambiance.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Extremely disappointed on our meal tonight. It was our first and last time eating here. We waited for over 50 minutes for our entrees and there were only 3 other tables seated. Our server was almost non-existent and when our food finally came we were disappointed to say the least. My husband had the beef medallions and I had the rock fish. He ordered his meat medium and it came well done and was drowning in sauce that completely overwhelmed the dish. My fish really had no taste and had a very mushy texture as if it was previously frozen. For the prices we paid we really expected an exquisite meal. I am not sure how this place stays in business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We went for breakfast to celebrate a belated birthday and we both had the eggs and hash browns and agreed that we have never had a better tasting breakfast anywhere. The prices on the menu were very, very reasonable which came as a surprise given the elegance of where we were. The service was outstanding and we even got a personal tour of the Grant House by the owner. We were very grateful for his time and his knowledge of the area's history. I have already recommended the Eatery at the Grant House to several people and will certainly be going back again very soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Nice and relaxing breakfast, the food was great. They let us explore the rest of the house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Been a long time fan of the Grant House, but with the change of ownership, it does not appear to be going well.
The service was okay, but the food order was very slow. It took about 45 minutes to get our food after it was ordered. We were a small party (2) and our order was simple. The soup was cold and needed to be returned.
The location is great and the property is beautiful as usual. But, I will think twice before going back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great service, excellent food, and wonderfully accommodating for our little group!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 25, 2017

It was quiet the night I went in for a light supper. It was relaxing to sit by the windows overlooking back yard area. Waitperson was pleasant. Food presentable, I was hoping for exceptional. Would have liked tablecloths and either candles or flowers for a polished feel. Room for improvement that I think will come. Quality of food is most important for me.

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We always enjoy this place. Great food, view, perfect for al fresco dining. The service is just a tad slow but we are never in a hurry so it works well for us!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Interesting setting in a historic building on Officers Row by a fort site. Good food.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Business Meals, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We went there for our anniversary and had a delightful time. It was our second time there and the food and service was excellent. Will go there again.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 19, 2017

I booked this for an office business dinner. It wasn't obvious that we could find parking behind the restaurant so we scrambled a bit to park. Once in, the atmosphere had a cool historic vibe. First, we headed to the bar to grab some cocktails. We were seated quickly and greeted warmly and professionally by the waiter. We drank a variety and all were good drinks, except the staff was a bit light and they had to use non-traditional glasses for some of the drinks...no biggy. Next, we ate Calamari and the spinach/artichoke dip...both delightful, but on the small side. Four of us happened to order the beef medallions which were very good and cooked just as ordered. The crab/cheese mashed potatoes were also nice. We ate with a nice bottle of Lagana Syrah...delicious. Finally, we shared the Rhubarb Cheesecake and a couple other desserts. All very tasty...along with a dessert wine. Nice weather, nice patio, nice company...very nice time. Good job, Grant House!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Food was excellent but service was slow and the noise level was very high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Celebrating Father's Day & taking advantage of the nice weather in Vancouver. They only served from their Happy Hour menu until 5 pm on Father's Day even though this was not specified on reservation website. Out of mushrooms for their polenta & mushroom appetizer and out of hummus at 4 pm. Our waitress was very friendly; however, the other waitresses on staff could only glare as we brought along our granddaughter for early outside seating & it was Father's Day. Not very kid friendly environment even though they have high chairs so it's not restricted or discouraged completely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Although the food and ambiance were good, and the front-of-house staff friendly and accommodating, the service was just a little bit off on our first visit to this establishment. Our waiter mentioned that they were under new ownership. They didn't have the wine we ordered, but did apologize and offer a nice substitute for the same price. However, my starter salad took over twenty minutes to arrive (and only after I had reminded the server), our entrees also took a long time, as well as my dessert (and the waiter again had to be reminded). He completely forgot my coffee. He did remove the dessert from the bill, although we hadn't asked he do so, and was pleasant. We will give The Eatery at the Grant House another try on a different occasion, and hope they've "worked out the kinks" in the service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The menu is limited, consisting mostly of traditional American comfort food dishes, with a few politically correct "health" items like kale and quinoa tossed in. The food is well prepared if not inspirational. The service was glacial. The interior is a charming rendition of someone's notion of what a mid 19th century house might have looked like. The prices are very reasonable. It appears to be very popular with the Vancouver locals, with a convenient location close to downtown in the midst of a lovely National Park Service maintained historic district. For fine dining, I'm afraid a trip across the bridge to Portland is still required.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 6, 2017

My brother and I had lunch at the Grant House on Tuesday, June 6. The food was excellent and the service attentive and friendly. I would definitely eat here again. Perhaps for dinner next time.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Always a pleasant experience, the Grant House is a local treasure. The authentic historic house, verdant setting, interesting food choices, excellent service, all make this a top quality place I consider my reliable fall-back for a casual visit or a special place to show visitors.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 31, 2017

I took my wife for her birthday date. We have been liking forward to visiting since we moved to Vancouver over a year ago. We missed going under the old owners but the new ownership certainly hasn't lowered the quality we always heard about. The service was great even though we had someone still in training. We sat on the porch and watched the folks walking the row. The only thing we found funny was being able to hear the crowd from whatever game was happening at the high school a street over. Humorous to us as it juxtaposed against the setting of the restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We loved this place and never knew it existed until a friend took us there. Love the setting and beautiful grounds to walk around.

Tags: Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 26, 2017

To be completely honest we have gone here before and had awesome food but this was for my husband's birthday and I understand the kitchen went down for a little bit but they said we would wait 20 minutes for food we ended up waiting over an hour for food and having young kids at the table makes it really hard for that plus our food tasted absolutely horrible my meat tasted like it sat out too long I had crab shells in my crab mashed potatoes and the rock fish tasted horrible as well the only thing we ended up leaving and liking was the appetizer. Was a little disappointed for how long we had to wait for food that we didn't get some type of a discount for our patients and having not so good food so very disappointed for this visit. Also we were not even offered a dessert and for my husbands birthday that was not ok. I had to ask for his dessert and waited even longer for that

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Good, seemed different since new ownership, not bad just different

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Lunch with former coworker. Service nice but food very slow to come and wrong dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The building is quite nice and historical. Service was excellent. Nice and tasty food dishes. For the price of the Mothers Day bruch, there should have been more options. It was pretty expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always a great place for Mothers Day buffet! Will be looking forward to another visit soon

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's day brunch was great! The omelettes were spectacular and the waffles were perfect. Throw in great service and bacon to die for and the whole family was satisfied!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Healthy, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Went for lunch with my friend. It's in a cute historical house. We have a window seat and a wonderful pastoral view. The quiche however, was a big disappointment.. two thirds of it was potato crust and it was dry and bland. The grill sandwich my friend ordered came out blackened to the point it's almost inedible. The waitress seem to think it's normal when we point it out n didn't offer to redo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Had a cozy spot in the corner with lots of natural lighting. It was a nice kind of quiet. We had a great dinner, however there aren't a lot of vegetarian options on the dinner menu.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 10, 2017

While visiting Fort Vancouver I spotted The Grant House on Officer's Row. The historic home, now a restaurant, is beautiful and I really thought it would be a great dinner experience. However, my wife and I were in for a disappointment. We were seated on an enclosed patio with beautiful views of large trees and lush greenery. We asked our server what wine she suggested. Well...she was unsure. So we ordered a local bottle and soon began to feel hurried. Rather than get a sense we wanted to relax and enjoy our dinner experience, she poured the wine and immediately asked about our order. We let her know this was our first visit and tried to ask for menu suggestions. Well...everything is good and then she was off! I ordered the pork loin and a caesar salad. Although it sounded good, the salad was very small and no ground pepper was offered. The pork was waaay overdone and quite tough. Not one time during our dinner did our server offer to fill our glasses, and every time we saw her she was in a hurry like a short-order cook. Finally after dinner, nope, we don't want dessert. And nope, we'll get coffee back at the hotel. Really disappointed and certainly a missed opportunity to make a positive connection with out of town visitors.
Although I thoroughly recommend seeing this beautiful home and the surrounding 1830's structures, I unfortunately cannot recommend the resturant. Maybe they were understaffed or possibly there were problems in the kitchen. But...ultimately it goes back to the old adage...You have only one chance to make a first impression.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Had lunch with a friend and enjoyed a very nice meal while sitting on the veranda.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tapas, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Although we had reservations, we were seated at a small table inside the bar. The room was quiet and our server was nice. The food was mediocre and for what it is, I find it a bit expensive. The restaurant itself is really historic and interesting. We used to love the food here, but something has happened in the past year and the food is just so-so now. Probably won't go back for awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great service. Great food. Will definitely return!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 3, 2017

They were so accommaditing in seating us. We couldn't decide where to sit and they worked with us. We were all grateful. The food was excellent and the service perfect. We loved the Historic atmosphere. The opentable reservation site was very helpful as I could make my reservation in the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was great, the waiter was so nice and attentive, and the atmosphere was so warm and inviting. We had an awesome time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The Grant House is by far the best restaurant in Vancouver and certainly the equal of any I have experienced in Portland. The staff are warm, welcoming, and totally competent; the ambience is relaxing and fashionably old-fashioned, and the food, always superb.

Tags: Organic, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 28, 2017

This place was perfect for a quiet dinner! It was great to have a conversation without yelling over other noise! The food was fantastic and original! The only small down side was the price, it was a little steep for the whole experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.