Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About The Grant House

Located in the historic Grant House on Officers Row in Vancouver, WA, Eatery at The Grant House offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner every day of the week. Owners Scott and Sarah Flury believe the expanded hours and locally-sourced menu will set Eatery at the Grant House apart from other restaurants that previously stood in this space.T he Grant House, tucked away on Officers Row in Vancouver’s Historic Reserve, is a favorite among local diners.

Whether you’re in the mood to relax with a glass of wine on our veranda, have a leisurely lunch on the garden patio, or join us for dinner, service from one of our caring staff members is always an exceptional experience.

1101 Officers Row
Vancouver, WA 98661
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:00am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 7:00am - 2:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

At Ease Hour: Monday - Friday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm In the bar or outside on the West Veranda

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Fort Vancouver Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(360) 906-1101

Website:
http://www.thegranthouse.us/

Entertainment:
Live Music Tuesday and Wednesday in the Bar from 6:00pm to 8:00pm

Catering:
All of our menus are customized to the client. A catering menu is available, but only serves as an example of what we can provide. Please contact our Event Coordinator to have a menu created especially for you.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the lot directly across the street from The Grant House. Additional (including handicapped) parking is found on the access road directly behind the house.

Executive Chef:
Carl Henderson III

Private Party Facilities:
You can enjoy a private setting for parties as small as two people up to 35 in one room. If outdoors is an option for your function, then invite up to 200 people to join you!

Private Party Contact:
Melinda Hinkley: (360) 906-1101

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Grant House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (44)
Special Occasion (37)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Great for Lunch (32)
Good for a Date (27)
Casual (26)
Cozy (25)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Scenic View (22)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Great for Brunch (21)
Business Meals (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Afternoon Tea (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Romantic (15)
Authentic (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Seasonal (10)
Afternoon Coffee (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Healthy (9)
People Watching (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Fun (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (2)
Tapas (2)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
926 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Very disappointing. We have had get to gethers for up to 12 people and always enjoyed it. This time our drinks were not refilled, seldom saw the waitress. Menu was VERY limited even though we had told them we wanted to eat lunch. We were told to be there prior to three as then it is only the Bar Menu.

We also told them we were all Vets and two of us showed ID. Discount given was for only the two and not even spouses!

Previous the waitress was super kind, said she also cooked. We just loved her. Discount was for all. In this case the get to gather cam from Kentucky and Tacoma.

I had ordered soup and Fish and Chips. Soup never came.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 6 days ago

Dined with friends who joined my wife and I for a night out on our Anniversary. The pasta topped with grilled chicken breast was very good and a nice portion to fill you up. The steak bites were also good. Each couple had a full size salad to share with their partner. The restaurant has a policy not to split those salads for you, but they do provide an extra plate so you can do it. The dining room we were in was not real busy, so the noise level was minimal. Had it been full, I can see where it might be noisy due to high ceilings and wooden floors. The ambiance is good, with the historic character of the building. We will definitely return again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 18, 2017

This was our second visit to the Grant House and we weren't disappointed. Service and ambience are delightful. My entree was disappointing but our server quickly insisted on removing it from the bill. This is a charming old building and the restaurant makes the most of it. We will return again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 17, 2017

You feel like you have stepped back to the colonial period.
The food is delicious, we have never had a bad meal.
Our server, Jeff was absolutely terrific.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 14, 2017

In town on vacation. Wonderful place. First night we had a drink on the porch during Happy Hour. Came back second night for dinner. Highly recommend this nice place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Good stair free handicap access from back. Friendly service. Salmon and bread pudding were excellent. Steak medalions were tough.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Fantastic place - great food. We all enjoyed our brunch

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Healthy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Food was amazing. Our waitress was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great place to have a quiet meal with friends. Beautiful indoors but porch seating is my favorite location. Servers are attentive and the food is amazing.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Special Occasion, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 9, 2017

While the ambiance and service were very good, the food was not that great. Hence the overall two-star rating. I felt bad for the servers, who did an excellent job but were stuck serving dinners that were not that good. We will not be back, at least not for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 5, 2017

We have always loved the Grant House. The food is delicious and the service impeccable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Enjoyed sitting out on the porch. Beautiful, sunny day . Staff helped us provide a surprise birthday dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Got together with friends and visited over lunch. Delicious, fresh ingredients made for wonderful sandwiches and salads. Some of the group ordered fish and chips for a delicious entree.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Wonderful food and surroundings! I would recommend but for the tardiness in seating us (we had an Open Table reservation, arrived on time and were seated about 45 minutes later due to low staffing). Otherwise, really lovely, historic surroundings and a delicious brunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Had lovely dinner in garden on a warm evening. Since their entree selection is limited it was disappointing to find that one we wanted was out after we had spent some time deciding.
Overall it was a nice evening, service was good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 25, 2017

I just happened to attend this restaurant twice this weekend. The food was very good on both occasions. The waitresses on both occasions were excellent.

Two things I would like to recommend:
On Friday we ordered vodka tonics and another drink that our friend asked the waitress to have the bartender make. It was here the waitress said you didn't have a bartender at 2:00 pm on Fridays and she would have to make the drinks. Two drinks were made with club soda and a little vodka, instead od tonic water. The other drink was made with grapefruit juice and vodka, instead of cranberry juice and vodka. My husband picked up the tab and on the way home the people said how much they enjoyed the meal but said they would never order a drink there again.
Today we brought another couple there and the memosias were good, food very good. Waitress wonderful. I had made reservations and the receptionist said there were 5 couples ahead of us and they had also made reservations. I would recommend not taking so many reservations if people can't be seated. We thought maybe there wasn't enough waitresses as there were 3 empty tables inside. Just constructive criticism.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 21, 2017

My friend and I had dinner there last weekend, and thoroughly enjoyed it. The salad and beef medallions were very good. We sat outside and enjoyed the garden. Our server, Paul, was a gem. The only negative was the cheesecake. It was flavorless and had a weird texture.
We took company there for breakfast today and sat inside the historic building. It was quite good as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

It was such a pleasant experience. My friend from out of town absouletely loved it. The service was fantastic our server was very pleasant and super sweet. We had a lovely couple that are regulars sitting next to us gave us some great food recommendations. I will definitely be returning with friends and family very soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, People Watching, Seasonal, Fun, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The service was extremely poor. Only two servers were expected to handle the dining room, sun room, porch and patio. Of course, the service was poor. The wait staff was overwhelmed and could not attend to the guests. My food was cold and didn't even want to complain. I just wanted to end an unpleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Food was good, as was the service. Collard Greens were sautéed, which is not the way to do it.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

I have always enjoyed the Grant House and even with the new owners it remains a top restaurant in Vancouver.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

We came for our 44th anniversary. Even though there were people waiting for a table, we didn't feel rushed with our meal. Staff was friendly, helpful. Plenty of seating outside for those that wanted it. We enjoyed eating inside the "house" and being encouraged to tour all the other rooms. Beautiful place to dine.

Tags: Casual, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

The menu's description of the food was MUCH better than what showed up. It was good... but for example, you boast a Reuben sandwich piled high with meat - you should probably put more than a thin layer of chewy pastrami (or corned beef). In our experience then environment made it!! Our server didn't seem that interested in us and the food was 'good' but I would give it another try because the atmosphere was awesome.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Perfect patio setting for mid August weather in Vancouver WA. Lots of menu options, decent wine list, welcoming staff. We'll be back!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Hostice and waiter were very corgdal, and wait time was appropriate. They were short staff for whatever reason. Meals were five star prices so My expectations were very high, but were dashed when French frys were over done. The test was order the easiest to fix and evaluate if they got the basics right...failed. I am glad your brave enough to ask for a critique as you must want to improve.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

A favorite place for us to take out of town guests or meet up with friends who live in the local area . A very special gem in the 'Couve.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food, Casual, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Tough to beat this historic setting and the commodious front porch is a delightful spot for breakfast, brunch or lunch when weather permits.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I was very disappointed with our experience at the Grant House. I took my daughters and a friend here to celebrate the end of a unit on Fort Vancouver and we received such poor service. It took 15 minutes to even receive water or for our orders to be taken. There were two tables that remained uncleaned the entire time we were there. Not pleasant to look at other people's dirty dishes the whole time you are eating. After our food was finally brought to us our server did not check on us at all. Never filled our drinks or asked if we needed anything. It seemed more annoyance to the staff that we were there. The food was okay but certainly not worth the price and wait. Very frustrating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The Grant House was wonderful. We had a party of 19 and only planned for 14 and the Grant House made every effort to accommodate us without any hesitation. The food was excellent and the service was great and timely.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Went to the Eatery at the Grant House for some music and happy hour. Enjoyed the humus plate and a strawberry lemonade with vodka. Both were delicious! I will be back!

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 7, 2017

This was our first visit to the Grant House, and we were very happy with the entire experience. Our server was friendly and knowledgeable, and the other staff we met were also very nice and welcoming. The food was exceptional. We loved enjoyed hearing the history of the building and people who had lived there before. After dinner we took a long walk down Officer's Row, which was very pleasant. We inquired about outdoor seating after the weather turns cooler, and were told that heaters would be outside so that people could enjoy the patios even then. We'll definitely return. We loved it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Food and atmosphere were very good. The staff were prompt and attentive.

My only issue is that the menu listed with Open Table had more options than what was advertised on the restaurant site or on the actual menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Our waiter Jeff was enthusiastic and helped with our wine selection.

Tags: Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Lunch was delicious and the service was fantastic. The staff are friendly and the ambiance was wonderful. We will definitely go back soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food was excellent and a great value... Service was a bit slow was not terrible. I would definitely go here again...

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Beautiful place. Great service. Menu and taste could use a little work.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Exceptional service. Atmosphere is absolutely wonderful. Food is incredible. Save room for dessert

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Service is slow. Wish waitstaff would check on guests more frequently. Why did I have to wait fifteen minutes to be told that something we had ordered was not available? When I made the reservation I noted on the online form that it was a birthday celebration and we wanted a table on the veranda but no one at the restaurant had bothered to note either of these facts. The flowers I ordered were there but the hostess had to be asked about them. Understand there is new management and getting up and running smoothly takes time but overall the evening was less than expected.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 27, 2017

We ordered steak medallions and mushrooms, and they were luxurious, but way, way too rich for our stomachs and systems.We ate very little at the restaurant and none at all after we took it home. We haven't given up on Grant House--yet, but if the next dinner, whether chicken or shrimp and pasta, is a swamped with rich sauces that will be our last try.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

I'm sorry to say that the service was unacceptably slow. It took far too long to provide the dessert menu, longer to take the order, longer to bring the bill and longer to finally get the bill picked up and serviced.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.