Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 7 times today

The Grant House

4.2
1042 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Great for Lunch
  • Neighborhood Gem
Located in the historic Grant House on Officers Row in Vancouver, WA, Eatery at The Grant House offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner every day of the week. Owners Scott and Sarah Flury believe the expanded hours and locally-sourced menu will set Eatery at the Grant House apart from other restaurants that previously stood in this space.T he Grant House, tucked away on Officers Row in Vancouver’s Historic Reserve, is a favorite among local diners.

Whether you’re in the mood to relax with a glass of wine on our veranda, have a leisurely lunch on the garden patio, or join us for dinner, service from one of our caring staff members is always an exceptional experience.

You might also like to consider our Private Dining Space for more intimate gatherings, business meetings and memorable celebrations. Events@thegranthouse.us for more information.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch
Tue–Fri 10:00 am–3:00 pm
Brunch
Sat, Sun 10:00 am–3:00 pm
At Ease Hour
Tue–Fri 4:00 pm–6:00 pm
Dinner
Tue–Sun 5:00 pm–9:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(360) 906-1101
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Capers Ogletree
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
You can enjoy a private setting for parties as small as two people up to 35 in one room. If outdoors is an option for your function, then invite up to 200 people to join you!
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Melinda Hinkley: (360) 906-1101
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
All of our menus are customized to the client. A catering menu is available, but only serves as an example of what we can provide. Please contact our Event Coordinator to have a menu created especially for you.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Fort Vancouver Way
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking is available in the lot directly across the street from The Grant House. Additional (including handicapped) parking is found on the access road directly behind the house.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live Music Tuesday and Wednesday in the Bar from 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1042 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.1
service
4.6
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Quiet
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Lovely place to sit outside especially when the weather is balmy. The view is incredibly relaxing and our waitress very nice. The food was 'good' but a bit too avant guarde for our tastes. That said, each of our selections were good except for an arugala salad that was so soppy with dressing that I sent it back.
The chef appears to enjoy making rather complex dishes. Wish they'd offer simpler fare.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 3 days ago

Very very slow service. Menu much more limited than in past visits. Food really good, but expensive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Celebrated my birthday and Father’s Day with my wife, son and daughter-in-law
We were seated outside kind of near the smoker which was in use
The Fort and area is always a treat

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

I couldn't have been more thrilled with the choice to eat Sunday brunch here with my mother. The staff was very accommodating, and we received an excellent outdoor table even given the last minute reservation. The wine was great, and the day and scenery and ambiance was beautiful. The food was amazing as well. I'm just sad to say that I do not live in the Vancouver area or I would be here much, much more often.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Went for Breakfast and sat outside on the porch, which was very lovely. It was a little hot at first, but the waitress and manager brought out an umbrella for our table, and then it was perfect! Breakfast was very good - and the bacon was the best I have had in a very long time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

We went on a beautiful day and sat outside on the patio. Service was the perfect medium between attentive and intrusive. Food was very good but it’s really the ambiance that’s the thing there. Perfect for a birthday lunch.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding service and one of a kind ambiance . The whole setting is the best especially if you are a history buff

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 14, 2018

The setting is incomparable and if it had been a bit warmer I would have loved to sit outside on the porch. The lunch menu was OK but nothing too interesting. If I lived in the area I think I would only go back to enjoy drinks on the porch.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 12, 2018

The place was closed. We made our reservation through Open Table a number of weeks before our scheduled dinner. We had out of town guests that had never been to Vancouver and were looking forward to sharing some local history with them. Open Table sent us a confirmation of our reservation the day before. Then when we arrived we find out Grant House isn't open on Mondays. Kind of put a damper on our plans and gave us pause to consider Open Table more carefully in the future. And highlighted the need to for reconfirming with the restaurants directly.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 12, 2018

I do not and will not ever recommend the Eatery at the Grant House! I had a reservation for 3-people on Monday, June 11, 2018 at 5:00 p.m. When we arrived at the restaurant on June 11th at 5:00 p.m., we found out this restaurant is closed on Sundays and Mondays. On June 12th, I called and asked to speak with the manager who was in a meeting at the time of my call and also asked to speak with the owner who was expected in later that day. To date, neither has called me back to even apologize for posting incorrect days of operation on its website and for not letting Open Table know that it is NOT open on Sundays and Mondays!

We went there to find out if my daughter who is getting married in May of next year (2019) would like to have her wedding reception there, but after this embarrassing fiasco and no apology from the manager, Walter, or the owner, the Eatery at the Grant House will never get our business!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Good, community minded restaurant in a historic building. Very pleasant and friendly.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 9, 2018

The ambiance and service at the Grant House was very good but the food was just plain bad. It was all bad, our appetizer, the green salad and our halibut and salmon entree. I took my husband there for a birthday dinner and it was very disappointing. They only had one halibut order left at 6:30 so my husband had salmon. Both fish dinners were overpowered by all the snap peas. Will not go back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

We sat out on the porch. It was sunny but a little cool. The waitress brought us lovely blanket throws to keep us warm. A very nice touch. The food was great, tasty. I had the green salad with smoked trout, which was delicious. A very charming lunch wit California friends, before dropping them at the airport.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Have been taking my out of town guests to the Grant House for many years. This was a special occasion with my three grown grandchildren who were in the area to hike to the summit of Mt.St. Helens. It is such an interesting place...love the history, the people and the food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

We'd loved the Grant House for years, and this was our second visit since Scott and Sarah Flury become the owners. The service was friendly and efficient, if not always professionally smooth. And the food was outstanding. A lamb dish was served on a plank, looking picture-perfect with a garnish of herbs. And it was as good as it looked. Crispy brussels sprouts in a spicy vinaigrette were a special treat, as was a shared piece of cheesecake garnished with rhubarb.
The wine list was limited but nicely selected and well priced.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Normally I love the food and the atmosphere at the Grant House, but we left disappointed this past weekend. We've usually only been there for lunch, but we decided to go for dinner. We must have chosen the wrong menu items. The smoked pork was a fairly large hunk of pork that had been heavily smoked to the point that it didn't really taste like pork any more. It was a bit like eating a smoked wood log :-( We ended up only eating a few bites and taking it home - and used it instead to make crock pot beans!!! We ordered the chef board for an appetizer. Sadly, this was a bit of a disappointment too. I like trying new things, but it just seemed like the restaurant is trying a little too hard to serve non-traditional food - there were too many "strange" items (e.g. pickled rhubarb!). A simple plate of crackers/ bread, cheese, meats and fruit would have been much more desirable. Based on this experience, I think we've decided to stick to the lunch menu from now on! Sitting outside on the porch was extremely noisy due to a family with some unruly children that were running back and forth. climbing on the porch rail etc etc. - not the restaurant's fault, of course, but it also contributed to a less than ideal experience. On a positive note, the service was great, as always - sadly, that was the only bright spot this time around.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Took my Wife and Sister there, we sat on the porch, beautiful view of gardens and great food!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 19, 2018

The portions were very small, and very salty. My husband could barely eat his braised ribs over collard greens - it was like an entire salt shaker had been poured into the dish. Nice outdoor setting and champagne cocktail. We will try it again sometime and try a different meal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 15, 2018

A favorite place to bring our out of town visitors. The atmosphere is special, food good and a stroll down Officers Row after a meal is nice.
The 'new' menu is trendy and tasty but I miss a couple of the old favorites...the Non-Cobb salad was always my favorite for lunch and the calamari plate at Happy Hour.
Overall, The Grant House is a Vancouver treasure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The Grant House is a great place to enjoy a meal indoors or outdoors, beautiful setting and neighborhood.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Wonderful experience! Went for Mother's Day brunch which had 3 course meal (no alterations) but gave enough choices to pick from. The roasted grapefruit wasn't that good but mom had the asparagus which was great. The main course portions of egg/prime rib/potato was huge and delicious! The final dessert course we had strawberry shortcake and it was divine. Literally in a house with tables in each room and even outdoor seating. Lovely atmosphere with a southern comfort feel and will absolutely try again with the everyday menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The food was really delicious. Our server was funny and very attentive. The outdoor seating was beautiful, and the flowers smelled amazing. Will go again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We soooo wanted this to be great; sadly it simply wasn't. The restaurant was pretty busy when we arrived (they were turning people away who didn't have reservations). We had reservations for 7:00p.m.; it took what was about 15 minutes just to check-in. Once we were seated at our table (outside on the porch which we had requested & the chairs were very comfortable), we waited another 15 minutes before receiving any service -- and that was only after the table across from us had an issue & they mentioned to (the owner/manager) that we hadn't received anything at all yet, he apologized profusely & said he would take care of things. He did bring us water & took our order for wine & an appetizer. Our wine came but he forgot the glasses so another wait. Once our appetizer came we thought "ok, all is on track now". The gentleman who was trying to take care of us learned we were celebrating both Mother's Day for my wife & my birthday -- a short while later he returned with the Chef who brought us an extra appetizer which was a nice touch & all was forgiven. Unfortunately, there was an inordinate wait for our main courses to arrive. Not sure what was going on -- unsure if it was simply not enough staff or if it was incompetent staff. As for the food, my wife had the halibut which was very good although quite small. I had the New York steak which was nice & rare but not very flavorful; I would have added salt & pepper had any been on the table. We might just chalk it up to a "bad" night & give them another try or not.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Were they short-staffed, or is service always this bad? During our 1.5 hour visit, the only food we consumed was an appetizer. The waiter never even took our order for entrees. He often said, “I’ll be right back.” Apparently that means you won’t see me again for about 30 minutes. Can’t really review the food since we had so little of it. We have experienced a fair share of poor service and can confidently say that this was the worst ever.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The Eatery at the Grant House is one of our favorites! I brought my dad in who was visiting from out of town and we sat in the window at the bar. He loved it! The ambiance is so fun and full of history, the food is local and delicious and I just love that it's at the fort. I'm gluten free and they don't have any problems accommodating me with most of their meals.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

As soon as you step onto the patio your stepping into a piece of American history. Hard to find this anymore. Building is beautiful. If you sit out on the front patio you overlook gorgeous park.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Loved the atmosphere, but the seafood salad had a very strong fish taste. Love fish but this was a bit strong and salty. Will be back with my daughter. Not sure my mother who was celebrating her 91st birthday that day enjoyed her meal which was a disappointment. Wanted to take her somewhere special that she had never been before

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Great ambiance, perfect for a business meeting. Able to have a conversation over a great meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Absolutely wonderful place,Found this gem on yelp ,this place absolutely wonderful,the home is cozy and antique ,its a wonderful 1800’s vibe with a touch of uniqueness and elegance,we starded off with the calamari ,one word AMAZING!!!! Then we procedded to have the 12oz steak paired with A recommended Cabernet.Absolutly delicious!You must try this place out!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 27, 2018

The restaurant was not prepared for business, they waited until people started arriving to open boxes of wine, and fix the outside of the restaurant by banging repeatedly right next to where we were eating. it took 45 minutes just to get our food and the food was definitely not worth the price or the wait. The wait staff was friendly, they were courteous and moved us to a different spot that wasn’t so noisy

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

The outdoor patio was charming and is well suited for the enjoyment of outdoor tables. Our waitress was well informed and helpful. the food was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Easy to make reservations. Very friendly. Original & delicious food. Pleasant ambiance. Great outdoor dining. Would recommend to friends

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

My adult daughter and I try to go out to dinner every couple months, just the two of us. The Grant House is a nice, quiet, quality restaurant. We visited early on a Friday night before the rush. Good food and good atmosphere and in a historical building. Very nice.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Lovely evening choosing the chefs feast that was a wonderful experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Four of us went on a Friday evening and had an absolutely wonderful meal. The menu changes daily based on what the chef has chosen or received fresh that day. We started with appetizers of mushrooms arancini and crispy brussells sprouts in a slightly spicy sauce. One in our group doesn't really care for brussells sprouts, but he had seconds of these.

Two people had the steak, which was perfectly cooked and served with roasted potatoes and a delicious vegetable medley. Another thoroughly enjoyed her salmon, and I wanted to, but simply could not, finish my meal of a baked half chicken, served with potatoes, radish and greens. The wine list is limited, but they are appropriate for the menu selections. Service was excellent.

Frankly I was surprised at how few customers there were. The Grant House is a beautiful historical landmark and this restaurant certainly deserves to be on the top of everyone's list.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

It felt good to be in this beautiful historic house and be able to have a very nice meal. The Grant House was recommended to me by my neighbor who knew I was looking for a place to take an out of town guest. It met all of my expectations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Our first visit to the restaurant was fabulous. I went for lunch with my son and what attracted me was the close proximity to the Vancouver VA complex and the history associated with Fort Vancouver Officer Row. We both had the special of the day and were treated with such care! Food was great and the staff phenomenal. Will definitely visit again! Thank you so much!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We had a special guest visiting us from out of town and went out to dinner at the Grant House. We ordered the special dinner (Feast for your table) that allowed the restaurant to bring out a variety of servings (Chef Board, including meats, cheeses, pickles, etc. along with some interesting selections) with Salmon and Steak being the entree's. Overall a good experience, especially given the grand setting! My only recommendations would be: 1) The various servings were rushed. 2) The steak was not good...odd flavor and tough...I love steaks but this was really not very good, but the salmon was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Love this great neighborhood restaurant! I love the quiet atmosphere where you can actually have a conversation with someone. Food is always delicious!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Two in our party had the tomato basil soup with grilled cheese sandwich and both thought it was excellent. The smashed burger was dry and the fries were tepid. The Chicken Wedge salad was very good.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
27

Tweets by The Grant House