About The Grant House

1101 Officers Row
Vancouver, WA 98661
View Larger Map

The Grant House, tucked away on Officers Row in Vancouver’s Historic Reserve, is a favorite among local diners. Family operated for the last six years, The Grant House has been dubbed: "Vancouver’s Best Kept Secret!"



Whether you’re in the mood to relax with a glass of wine on our veranda, have a leisurely lunch on the garden patio, or join us for dinner, service from one of our caring staff members is always an exceptional experience. Come join us, and experience the “Secret” for yourself!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

At Ease Hour: Tuesday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Fort Vancouver Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(360) 906-1101

Website:
http://www.thegranthouse.us/

Entertainment:
Live Music Tuesday - Friday in Commanders Whiskey & Wine Bar from 6:00pm to 8:00pm

Catering:
All of our menus are customized to the client. A catering menu is available, but only serves as an example of what we can provide. Please contact our Director of Catering to have a menu created especially for you.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the lot directly across the street from The Grant House. Additional (including handicapped) parking is found on the access road directly behind the house.

Executive Chef:
Branden Marsh

Private Party Facilities:
You can enjoy a private setting for parties as small as two people up to 35 in one room. If outdoors is an option for your function, then invite up to 200 people to join you!

Private Party Contact:
Lindi Cox: 3609061101x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

fish tacos
1/2 Turkey Sandwich, Chicken Dumpling Soup & Salad
Waffle Benedict
Kobe Beef Burger
Grilled Asparagus Salad
Wild NW Salmon
Kobe Burger And French Fries
Thanksgiving Dinner
Side House Salad
Pan Seared Trout
Surf'n'Turf
Molten Lava Cake
French Toast
Halibut Fish and Chips
Chef's Feature Pork Chop

The Grant House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Portland / Oregon
Contemporary American
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked
Vancouver, WA
Best Restaurants in Vancouver ›

special occasion (58)
great for lunch (48)
great for outdoor dining (47)
See All
romantic (37)
neighborhood gem (37)
scenic view (31)
fit for foodies (29)
good for groups (27)
great for brunch (21)
notable wine list (12)
kid-friendly (8)
hot spot (4)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
683 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Food took way too long and some of the f ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food took way too long and some of the food came out cold . Was not flavorful. Over priced for what you got . Cute atmosphere and the soup was good. Thats about the only good things I can say.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the food, service & ambiance. E ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Enjoyed the food, service & ambiance. Easy to make reservations.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming Historic Dining

Dined on June 5, 2016

This is our "go-to" place for special occasion dining! The Grant House is one of a number of stately historic homes on Vancouver's Officer's Row. Great food and great service! The street is tree lined and quiet. Before or after dining, we enjoy taking a stroll under the maple trees. Make it part of your outing for the day by taking in the neighborhood attraction, Fort Vancouver National Historic Site, with its park, museum and reconstructed fur trading post.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday Bash

Dined on June 4, 2016

We celebrated my mother’s 91 st birthday in the Garden room ,which was lovely. Our waiter was courteous , efficient and provided separate checks which was appreciated. They arranged for a delicious cake and served it for us. They even allowed us to decorate in advance. The food was quite delicious as well. It was a delightful experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

The setting is really lovely

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

The setting is really lovely and cocktails on the porch is a great way to kick-off the weekend or spend a summer evening. The food was OK - wouldn't go back again for dinner.

food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Great food, Not so great service!

Dined on June 4, 2016

This was my 2nd time eating at the Grant House. 1st time was lunch with a friend; 2nd was dinner with my sweetheart. On both occasions the food was excellent, but the service was abominable! Our waitress disappeared, never checked on us to refill our drinks or see if we wanted anything else, and we finally had to go find someone in order to get our check! I wonder if a 3rd time might have a charm? ---not sure I want to risk it!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely location

Dined on June 2, 2016

The Grant House is on Officer's Row in the Ft. Vancouver National historic area. We went there for lunch. It can get busy. I had made a reservation, so no problem. On a nice day they have out door seating, as well. My lunch was great (risotto with shrimp). Lovely glass of wine. There is parking across the street. Also accessible entry in the back. You can park in back with a disabled placard.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food in a beautiful, historic ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent food in a beautiful, historic setting

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful spot for a family/semi formal meal

Dined on May 28, 2016

Went here for my gal's birthday dinner. While Portland's food scene is always exciting and Vancouver is even starting to catch up, it can be hard to find a quality, more traditional style place, but the Grant House totally hit the mark. The building, right in the fort area of Vancouver, was full of that old-school charm. The food was traditional American cuisine that used a few more modern ingredients, the flavors were great great despite a few minor flaws (undercooked peas in the special that I got- chorizo bolognese which was otherwise delicious, calamari appetizer was a bit under seasoned and didn't quite get the right texture, was just a bit soggy). The waitstaff was not too knowledgable about the food or drinks, but otherwise our waitress was very sweet and provided great service through the night. Despite these minor qualms, I would whole-heartedly recommend this place for anyone looking for a good traditional meal with great northwest flavors and wonderful atmosphere. Entrees were in the $20-30 range, apps around 10-15, good bottle selection with the cheapest bottles running $20-30, which we got and complimented the meal perfectly. Also worth noting- on a Friday night it was pretty empty - I made a reservation for 4 but there were only two other tables seated when we got there. I was nervous about that at first, but after the meal I felt like we had come across a real hidden gem. This place is so close to being one of Vancouver's great restaurants, it maybe felt a little out of it's time but for me that added to the charm. It'd be a great place for a date or a family meal, and I will definitely be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food in an historic setting

Dined on May 21, 2016

we did happy hour in the bar, followed by dinner. Happy hour has a good choices on the menu. the dinner was excellent for the salmon choice and very good for the pork loin. setting is the restored Grant house in Fort Vancouver. Service was great and friendly. a wonderful experience

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great environment, great ser ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Great food, great environment, great service! They went above and beyond to serve us on our wedding anniversary!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is no better place to spend a warm ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

There is no better place to spend a warm spring evening celebrating a special occasion or just lingering over drinks than the Grant House. It was the perfect venue to host guests for my husband's retirement dinner. The outdoor setting was idyllic, the service friendly and engaging and the food superb. We highly recommend the Artichoke & Spinach Dip, the Salmon & Quinoa Cake, the Pan Seared Salmon, the Roasted Garlic Shrimp and the Waguy Bavette. Our server, Jenessa, was awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service1
value5

Needs improvement

Dined on May 13, 2016

Has been my go to restaurant for years, however, the last two visits the food and service have been lacking. Not too certain I will be back. That makes me sad

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Besides the great food we loved eating o ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Besides the great food we loved eating outside on the veranda listing to music. It's a venue that is hard to top. Although we ate a full dinner this time, we do love the happy hour menu and drink selection as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the Grant House, Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have always have had good experiences at the Grant House. This is not your uppity modern dining experience. It is a charming historical ambiance, quiet and romantic which we really appreciate! We went for Mother's day brunch and 95% of the food was excellent, the desserts lacked something to be desired. The service was great. Overall everyone enjoyed the experience (3 generations from 7-70). We will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Father/Daughter date night

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was a GREAT place and choice to take my daughter after getting all dressed up!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Beautiful location

Dined on May 8, 2016

The setting is quite nice at the Grant House. The staff is nice and the food is good, although not exceptional.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for a celebration

Dined on May 7, 2016

Grant House has a wonderful ambiance along with terrific food. Also, the waiter was friendly and attentive. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Lunch on Friday

Dined on May 6, 2016

Overall it was a very enjoyable lunch, although I felt the wait staff could have been more attentive.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Grant's Dinner

Dined on May 1, 2016

Very nice, quiet for a dinner. Easy to have a conversation. Food was excellent, seafood cooked and presented excellently. One problem, my dish included grilled egg plant. Until I sent it back it was too tough to cut with a knife. When returned it was the original portion, not a replacement. Not the result I would expect in a highly rated restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Time to Connect and Slow down

Dined on May 1, 2016

My husband and I really enjoy dining at the Grant house together. So when my mom was visiting a week before Mother's day I knew it was the perfect place to bring her to celebrate her. We got to sit on the deck as requested. It seems our food was a bit delayed due to a large Prom group upstairs. But we were there to BREATHE, relax, and visit. That is exactly what we got to do with the breeze rustling through the hydrangea bushes and looking out across the Ft. Vancouver landscape. Our waitress kept track of the time though and offered a dessert because of the delay. Their food was wonderful as always!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Dessert was good. That was all we ordered.

Dined on April 30, 2016

The atmosphere was charming. It felt a little like we were guests in someone's house (Ulysses S. Grant). Our server was great, very attentive and friendly. We only had dessert, but each of the four of us got a different kind and they all (looked and were reported to be) were delicious!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was all tasty, however some of ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was all tasty, however some of it was not as hot as it should have been. The noise level is generally very low, but we had a large, loud party seated next to us.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New menu is awesome

Dined on April 8, 2016

Heard about the new menu. Took my wife for our anniversary. She is a foodie and we love the atmosphere. We were seated on the east side of the porch on a pleasant evening. I had the gnocchi and she had the risotto with shrimp. Both dishes were fabulous. The gnocchi was prepared in a brown butter and the risotto was perfectly done. Dessert was another home run. The Chocolate pretzel torte was for me and the banana cream pie for my bride. The torte had crumbled pretzel sticks on top of the whipped cream. I thought the pretzel were a bit odd but I know foodies like different textures so it worked. The banana cream pie was a not a slice but a large tart. I had the chocolate/brandy dessert liqueur that went great with the torte. The new menu is a must try. That and the experience will bring us back again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Charming mansion on the grounds of Fort ...

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Charming mansion on the grounds of Fort Vancouver with well kept lawns provide a relaxing setting for this moderately priced restaurant with delicious fare.

food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Enjoyed lunch outdoors on a lovely spring day.

Dined on April 1, 2016

I only had one complaint: Iordered the veggie wrap and the ground up kale was like eating sawdust. I could barely chew or swallow it. It also had a bitter taste-just awful!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

We had Easter Brunch at the Grant house and it was really tasty! I would say it was way over priced though. $55 tip added in when it was a buffet... really? And she wasn't even a very friendly waitress when she brought our drinks. You'd expect at least a little smile and friendly attitude especially on a holiday. But I guess if you know you're already getting a good tip why bother, right? As once a year treat we did enjoy our food but I'm not sure I'd go back.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Love, love, love this Easter Brunch!!! It's a family tradition. :)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for brunch

Dined on March 26, 2016

Quiche was excellent . Salads were fresh. Pumpkin soup was outstanding . Hamburger bun not so fresh .

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on March 26, 2016

I brought my parents who were visiting from out of town to the Grant House. It had great food, service and ambiance. Thanks. We will be back to try some more of the delicious food options.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice ambience

Dined on March 12, 2016

Excellent service the waitress was very attentive, restaurant had a nice ambiance. Not sure if it was because they were busy but our food was over cooked. Was a bit disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service4

Great setting and wonderful food. Portio ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Great setting and wonderful food. Portions were plenty, the salmon and beef we had was cooked perfectly!! Deserts were spot on too. We ate on a quiet Friday night, service was good...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great place for lunch!

Dined on March 4, 2016

Love the Grant House for a special occasion or just a quiet business lunch. Outstanding atmosphere and alway yummy food!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Just Once

Dined on February 15, 2016

I would recommend the Grant House only as a one time experience. The house is in an historic district and that is the charm. The food wasn't anything special. The "filet mignon" that was advertised on the menu was not a filet. It had the look and texture of a flank steak. Very disappointing.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Romantic Night!

Dined on February 15, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely valentine dinner. Great ambiance, good service. They were out of the filet and the substituted steak was not equal, but everything else was fabulous.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Great food, Horrible Drinks

Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was OUTSTANDING. Both of the drinks we ordered were horrible! All you could taste was the alcohol. You need quality drinks to match your quality of food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice

Dined on February 15, 2016

My wife and I went for Valentine's Day dinner and enjoyed a quiet and cozy dinner. The food was served in several courses and everything was excellent. It was fun to experience the historical surroundings of Officer's Row on old Fort Vancouver. Easy parking and a nice place for a stroll after dinner. The service was friendly and attentive. We will definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful historic house, great food. S ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Beautiful historic house, great food. Shat's not to like.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

lunch with friends at Grant House

Dined on February 12, 2016

We had a marvelous time and our friends really enjoyed our choice of places to eat. The food was excellent and the service was good.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and filling food at a reasonable price

Dined on February 9, 2016

One-half BLT absolutely scrumptious, along with fruit and home made chips. My cousin's calamari was filling and yummy. Perfect lunch for an historic Vancouver day. We enjoyed sitting in the sun room looking outside.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.