About The Grant House

1101 Officers Row
Vancouver, WA 98661
View Larger Map

The Grant House, tucked away on Officers Row in Vancouver’s Historic Reserve, is a favorite among local diners. Family operated for the last twelve years, The Grant House has been dubbed: "Vancouver’s Best Kept Secret!"



Whether you’re in the mood to relax with a glass of wine on our veranda, have a leisurely lunch on the garden patio, or join us for dinner, service from one of our caring staff members is always an exceptional experience. Come join us, and experience the “Secret” for yourself!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

At Ease Hour: Tuesday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 6:00pm In the bar or outside on the West Veranda

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Fort Vancouver Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(360) 906-1101

Website:
http://www.thegranthouse.us/

Entertainment:
Live Music Tuesday - Thursday in Commanders Whiskey & Wine Bar from 6:00pm to 8:00pm

Catering:
All of our menus are customized to the client. A catering menu is available, but only serves as an example of what we can provide. Please contact our Event Coordinator to have a menu created especially for you.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the lot directly across the street from The Grant House. Additional (including handicapped) parking is found on the access road directly behind the house.

Executive Chef:
Carl Henderson III

Private Party Facilities:
You can enjoy a private setting for parties as small as two people up to 35 in one room. If outdoors is an option for your function, then invite up to 200 people to join you!

Private Party Contact:
Melinda Hinkley: 3609061101x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

1/2 Turkey Sandwich, Chicken Dumpling Soup & Salad - The Grant House, Vancouver, WA
Waffle Benedict - The Grant House, Vancouver, WA
Kobe Beef Burger - The Grant House, Vancouver, WA
fish tacos - The Grant House, Vancouver, WA
Grilled Asparagus Salad - The Grant House, Vancouver, WA
Wild NW Salmon - The Grant House, Vancouver, WA
Kobe Burger And French Fries - The Grant House, Vancouver, WA
Side House Salad - The Grant House, Vancouver, WA
Thanksgiving Dinner - The Grant House, Vancouver, WA
Pan Seared Trout - The Grant House, Vancouver, WA
Surf'n'Turf - The Grant House, Vancouver, WA
Molten Lava Cake - The Grant House, Vancouver, WA
French Toast - The Grant House, Vancouver, WA
Chef's Feature Pork Chop - The Grant House, Vancouver, WA
Halibut Fish and Chips - The Grant House, Vancouver, WA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Join us on Christmas Eve for our annual 3-course dinner. Pricing for adults is $39, and our childrens menu will be available for our guests under the age of 13.

The Grant House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Portland / Oregon
Best Restaurants in Vancouver ›

Historic (40)
Special Occasion (39)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
See All
Good for a Date (28)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Great for Lunch (27)
Romantic (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Cozy (25)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Scenic View (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Casual (13)
Afternoon Tea (12)
Business Meals (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Authentic (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Healthy (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Private Room (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Live Music (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Fun (9)
Seasonal (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Disabled Access (3)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (2)
Organic (2)
Tapas (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
766 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This historic building is beautiful insi ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

This historic building is beautiful inside with many separate dining rooms. The food is great also and the service was good. It was very well decorated for the holidays, we really enjoyed it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful meal, extremely nice historic ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful meal, extremely nice historic setting....a most enjoyable experience.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Fall Chowder is amazing ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food. Fall Chowder is amazing! Noisy guests around us. We had to talk loudly to hear each other. That was the only negative. All food and service was excellent. Will return soon!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Staff was very friendly and attentive. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Staff was very friendly and attentive. I told our waitress it was my sister's birthday and she brought her a dessert and sang happy birthday to her.

Food was very good.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a very unique dining experience ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This was a very unique dining experience. The food and service was excellent. However, the building is amazing. Sitting there thinking about all of the famous people and the history was something else. If you go, tour the entire house.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservations for thanksgiving dinne ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Made reservations for thanksgiving dinner, waited over and hour and half after reservation time and they ran out of 2 of the 5 items available. Staff was not friendly. The stuffing was inedible, really memorable but not in a good way thanksgiving dinner.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

I made reservations for two for a 5pm se ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I made reservations for two for a 5pm seating on Thanksgiving Day. We arrived at 4:40pm, there were no seats in the foyer and no tables available in the bar. The hostess said people would be seated in order of their arrival. Huh? I had a reservation. We were seated upstairs in a small room at 5:55. The meal arrived before we had time to finish much of our salad. The plated Thanksgiving meal was stacked, although ample, some items were non-distinguishable, the green beans were raw, the dressing sticky.

My wife ordered a Cosmo, it tasted like grapefruit juice w/ lime, when asked about the drink, the server said, "we get complaints about that all the time." The drink was returned. There is an extensive wine list. Our bill was $110 plus $25 tip. To be fair, we will try it again to see if we have better results on a non-holiday. We were disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

This is our forth time at the Grant Hous ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This is our forth time at the Grant House this year. This time for Thanksgiving dinner. The dinner was very good, services great and pretty quiet for a crowded occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Went here for Thanksgiving and was very ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went here for Thanksgiving and was very disappointed with the food. The turkey was moist but salty, the stuffing was dry, the green beans were not cooked, the cranberry sauce was too bitter to consume, even the pies were not good. It is such a charming venue, but something must be done about the food. I see this exact review from Thanksgiving 2015. I wish I had read it before I trusted them with my Thanksgiving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

More often than not, we have a Thanksgiv ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

More often than not, we have a Thanksgiving meal at a restaurant. All too many turn out to be food factory experiences. Thanksgiving at The Grant House, however, was quite different. The menu was simple and straight forward. There were two choices for salad, and two for dessert. Otherwise, the menu was fixed, except for beverages. There was a wide selection of wine, beer, and non-alcoholic beverages.

This made it easy for the service staff, and the kitchen. The kitchen obviously took its time. The turkey and sides were perfectly prepared with a lot of TLC. Servers were never in our face, yet we never had to wait a long time when we needed something or it was time for the next course. A very, very pleasant experience on a busy day.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and service warm and ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Food was excellent and service warm and friendly. Highly recommended to travelers as well as locals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful experience. The dr ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Absolutely wonderful experience. The drinks, wine, and food were all excellent. The service both in the bar and in the restaurant made the evening special. The bartender made excellent suggestions regarding the wine choices. He was friendly and knowledgeable. Our server had personality plus and was attentive without being intrusive. Will return as we had a wonderful time and love the special setting of The Grant House and the history of Officer's Row.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We visit the Grant House every year for ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We visit the Grant House every year for our anniversary and are always happy with the experience. I love the house and the decor. The food is very good and the bread pudding is fantastic.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was historic, which is th ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The atmosphere was historic, which is the reason we selected it. The dining room was a bit tight and there were a couple of parties who were enjoying themselves at high volume. The food was good but not as impressive as I expected. Overall, it is an excellent restaurant but a bit of a let down.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Grant House is a Vancouver gem. It offe ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Grant House is a Vancouver gem. It offers a good menu selection and the food is tasty and well-presented.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Casual, Business Meals, Live Music, Cozy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Grant House is in a beautiful histor ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The Grant House is in a beautiful historic neighborhood. The history of the building is interesting and provides a nice background to the dining experience. The staff was friendly an efficient and the atmosphere was relaxed and inviting. All of the food from the appetizer to the dessert was delicious. We especially enjoyed the homemade soups and the gingerbread cake.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Casual, Historic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We're at the Grant House at least once a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We're at the Grant House at least once a month. Primarily to see & hear Doug & Judy Smith perform. Love meeting friends there. Great wine list, as well as other tasty drinks. Wonderful Tapa menu. If really hungry, fantastic dinner menu. Nice, friendly Happy Hour, with great menu. Would absolutely, proudly recommend to anyone & everyone! 👍

Tags: Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Live Music, Fun, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Tapas, Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our fifth time in just over a y ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This was our fifth time in just over a year. The Grant House is becoming one our our favorites for anniversaries and get-togethers. The food is exceptional. The service great. The historical atmosphere is charming and warm welcoming. I personal like the quietness of the Grant House as I have hearing challenges. During the summer, the Grant House porch and outside is open to dinning, which was just wonderful. I would highly recommend the Grant House for your next lunch or dinning outing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were seated in an area that seemed li ...

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We were seated in an area that seemed like the back porch--at a table up against a wall. Another couple was there. We might as well have been eating with them as we could hear all they said--and I'm sure they heard us. Server also seemed to be in a hurry. This was our first time there, and most likely our last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value3

As has already been said "A gem", grea ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 21, 2016

As has already been said "A gem", great food, great music, great history in a casual environment

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Healthy, Live Music, Outstanding Value, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Modern menu in a historic setting. Comfo ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Modern menu in a historic setting. Comfort food with comfortable music. A nice way to spend an evening.

Tags: Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Casual, Live Music, Seasonal, People Watching, Historic, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Love the building and old world charm! ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Love the building and old world charm! Food was good and a nice variety of menu options. Waitress was pleasant, service was a little slow but it was suppose to be a leisurely lunch. If you had a limited time, might want to warn them.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Shout out to Nolan for his impeccable se ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Shout out to Nolan for his impeccable service. The cauliflower was amazing, the romesco sauce a great match. The salmon with red cabbage was like nothing I've tasted before. So memorable. Will definite return next time I'm in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting, historic building. Private ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Interesting, historic building. Private, quiet seating areas. Small but unique menu. Very good hand crafted cocktails. Excellent service. Close to open area for picnics, walking, and great scenery.

Tags: Live Music, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I was so pleased to share my love of the ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I was so pleased to share my love of the Grant House with friends from out of town. They were impressed when we drove up with the outside charm of the old home with flags flying. The interior had a great old-time ambiance. The candle on the table always gets my vote for making the meal special . Our waitress was very attentive and the food came promptly. It was delicious - a shrimp Alfredo entree. We were able to have a nice conversation without a lot of noise in the room. After dinner I showed my friends the logs in the wall that had been left uncovered to show the original building material. They were surprised. Wonderful evening - we'll be back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

When we checked in,they could not find u ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 22, 2016

When we checked in,they could not find us on their system, but luckily, we ended up having a table to sit down. They later did find our reservation through the opentable.

They seemed to be short of service people. One waitress was taking care the entire dinning room which believed to have around 8 tables. The waitress was too busy too take good care of our table, we had to wait a long time to get our coffee refilled, we didn't even have the clean plates and forks for our desserts.

Believed that the waitress was too busy and overloaded on her job, she could not carry any conversation to us or smile on her face., not to mention the dinning room manger, she was kind of quiet and busy too..

I ordered the quiona salad bowl, the salad and quiona were fresh but lack of flavor, i had to shake some salt and pepper to add the flavor.

This was our second time dinning there for the girls get together and was a disappointed experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The quiche was very bland, but I would l ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The quiche was very bland, but I would like to try them again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

we have been to the Grant House on sever ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 16, 2016

we have been to the Grant House on several occasions...and everyone has been wonderful....such wonderful history of this setting...the Grant House is wonderfully restored as is the area surrounding....we sat outside this time for my Birthday....my husband and I had a delicious meal...sever was great...I cannot remember her name (sorry)..but she was very busy but managed to take wonderful care of us....

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They just do a good job and the food is ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 15, 2016

They just do a good job and the food is good. And the prices are acceptable. I will go back for sure.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Casual, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Scenic View, Historic, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love this place, good food, service a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 15, 2016

We love this place, good food, service and beautiful setting!

Tags: Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the 3rd time to sit on the veran ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 14, 2016

This is the 3rd time to sit on the veranda to listen to live music. The ambiance is lovely.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

We really like this place allot. We hav ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 13, 2016

We really like this place allot. We have returned many times and have never been disappointed at the food or service. The atmosphere of the historic building is wonderful both inside and out. As far as we are concerned it is one of Vancouver's best. The menu and food is wonderful, with a great value.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a treat for my kids anniversary. Su ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Was a treat for my kids anniversary. Suzy was very accommodating handling the arrangements. Son and daughter-in-law said they were treated like royalty, the meal and desert were superb and the historic setting made a memorable experience.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Grant House is a wonderful old Histo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The Grant House is a wonderful old Historic Building on Officer's Row with all kinds of charm. We had lunch on the Porch on a warm, late summer afternoon. The view was serene and added to the relaxing atmosphere. The food service was prompt and hot, and the meal itself was delicious. The only blemish on the whole experience was our server who basically disappeared after our food was delivered. We ran out of Water and Iced Tea and had difficulty finding anyone to remedy that situation. I choose to assume this was an isolated incident, and definitely plan to return to the Grant House in the future.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

There was 4 of us in our party, 3 out of ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 9, 2016

There was 4 of us in our party, 3 out of the 4 meals that were ordered were good.

The steak was tender and very good. The pork had a nice flavor. My dish was good a little cold, the cilantro on top should have been chopped. Do not order the Chicken and Dumplings. I wanted to order this dish but was glad I didn't. It was terrible and had no flavor. The dumplings were not dumpling instead they were gnocchi, tasted like oyster crackers that had been sitting in liquid. Setting was nice and the grounds are very pretty.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I have a lot of fondness for the Grant H ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 9, 2016

I have a lot of fondness for the Grant House, but was less than happy with the reception I received the other day. Mind you, I made reservations for an early dinner on the veranda. When I arrived the prime seats were taken over by the "happy hour" crowd. That's well and good but the hostess made it clear to the person trying to seat me that I needed to be at a two person table rather than the corner table I preferred which was away from the crowded area. I am sorry, but when I plan to spend a nice sum of money for dinner I do not want to feel like I am a second class citizen. I eventually agreed to be seated in the back and also told them to expect my husband to arrive shortly. Well, apparently he stood at the hostess stand for more than several minutes and was basically ignored. He was not a happy camper when he was finally seated with me. Dinner was okay but the steaks were way too fatty and mine was not cooked sufficiently. Did I return them? No, because I felt so badly for our waitperson who had a brace on her leg. The twice baked potatoes on the other hand were excellent and so were the cocktails. As I said, have a lot of fondness for the Grant House and will be back but the hostess needs to improve her customer service skills and attitude. Grant House isn't the only game in town anymore!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

excellent happy hour....wonderful to sit ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 9, 2016

excellent happy hour....wonderful to sit on the porch in warm weather...waiters pleasant and attentive. good wine at happy hour the night we visited.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Tapas, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Positive relaxed dining experience along ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Positive relaxed dining experience along Officer's Row in Vancouver Washington not far from the Historic Fort Vancouver .

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We have been to The Grant House mant tim ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We have been to The Grant House mant times over the last 5 years and this time, I did not enjoy my Pork Loin- just too dry. It was a date nite for me and my young son. Upon paying in which we have a voucher, the server Kasey said we are not entitled to the BOGO free entree since we did not order 2 drinks. Unless my eye sight is going bad, I did not see that at all on the voucher to include 2 drinks. We have use the same voucher before and there had never been an issue. So I told her to give us another drink to go since we were on way out. It was the way she announced it. Our reservation was for 7.45 but we were in the area so we went in at 7.15p. We told the hostess after waiting for over 5mins. She said someone had just left and the table would be ready soon. A couple walked in, announced they did not have any reservation and one of the waitresses escorted them inside to dinning table! A few minutes passed, we waited and another couple came in and announced they did not have a reservation as well. Guessed what, that same server picked up 2 menus and walked them into the main dinning room. I walked up and explained we had been waiting over 15minutes by then. The hostess who greeted us when we first arrived said our table would be ready soon? When we were seated, we noticed those 2 sets of couples (no reservations) who came after us were already in dinning room. That left a bad taste for me.

Tags: Comfort Food, Live Music, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Casual, Cozy, Historic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

I really like Grant House for its lovely ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 1, 2016

I really like Grant House for its lovely setting and atmosphere, as well as its menu with lots of variety and lots of options for showcasing the best of the season. I have been here for quiet lunches with friends and family, but I also think it would be great for brunch or for dinner, and I would love to go sometime for live music, afternoon tea & dessert, or pretty much anything else. This place is charming and delightful.

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Family Style, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Casual, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Tea, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.