Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.24mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.47mi
  4. Distance: 1.48mi
  1. Distance: 1.24mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.47mi
  4. Distance: 1.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.24mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.47mi
  4. Distance: 1.48mi
  1. Distance: 1.24mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.47mi
  4. Distance: 1.48mi

About The Grand Marlin of Pensacola Beach

The Grand Marlin Restaurant features a main dining area with a shucked to order oyster bar, exterior North Drop Bar overlooking the beautiful Santa Rosa Sound, and private meeting rooms. This Pensacola Beach restaurant, with an air of island casualness, serves the highest-quality cuisine, including the freshest local seafood featured on menus designed and printed daily to take advantage of the local bounty. The atmosphere creates a fusion of the Caribbean and the Pensacola Bay Area. Executive Chef Gregg McCarthy has a passion for great-tasting food and particularly loves working his culinary magic with fresh Gulf Coast seafood. Boaters and beach-goers feel comfortable in shorts and flip-flops at the oyster bar, in the dining room and at the North Drop Bar. The Grand Marlin has a space and atmosphere for all occasions and is looking forward to creating an authentic experience between time and tide.

400 Pensacola Beach Blvd.
Pensacola, FL 32561
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm -9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
After Toll Booth 1st Left

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 677-9153

Website:
http://thegrandmarlin.com/

Entertainment:
The North Drop Bar features live music Thursday - Sunday and high-definition televisions for viewing favorite sports and events. It is the perfect venue for enjoying a full or more casual meal while enjoying some of the Gulf Coast"s best entertainment.

Executive Chef:
Gregg McCarthy

Private Party Facilities:
The Grand Marlin offers private dining for parties of 20 to 300. Our Grand Banquet Room seats 100 for completely private dining. For smaller parties our semi-private Santa Rosa Room seats 40 to 55 while our Club Room seats 20-35.

Private Party Contact:
Lisa Jacobi: (877) 554-2065

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Grand Marlin of Pensacola Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (88)
Special Occasion (83)
Scenic View (82)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (75)
Good for a Date (74)
Good for Birthdays (73)
Romantic (53)
Good for Groups (52)
Worth the Drive (46)
Bar Seating (45)
Great for Outdoor Dining (45)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Local Ingredients (41)
Great for Brunch (41)
Casual (40)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Sunday Lunch (34)
Fun (34)
Business Meals (32)
Great for Lunch (29)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Notable Wine List (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Happy Hour (21)
Hot Spot (18)
Healthy (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Seasonal (17)
Authentic (16)
People Watching (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Kid-friendly (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Disabled Access (12)
Cozy (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Live Music (6)
Live Sports (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Great Beer (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Spicy (3)
Tapas (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
2373 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Came to Pensacola for the weekend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 4 days ago

Grand Marlin provides great food
and service with an outstanding atmosphere.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome!
Awesome!
Awesome!
First time dining here! I had the prime New York strip, cooked medium to perfection. My wife is not a big fish eater but went for the Parmesan crusted grouper... stop the presses!!! Best fish she has ever eaten!!!(her words) we will absolutely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a great time at the Grand Marlin. The oysters were terrific – medium sized, fresh and just chilled enough. We had the calamari appetizer with the habanero aoli which was outstanding. Our entrées were served hot and not too long after we finished the appetizers. I had the grouper which was crisp and buttery and delicious. Our server was excellent — very helpful and attentive but didn’t stick around TOO long. Overall a very nice dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We love the restaurant for the great service, excellent food, wonderful views, open bar and
most of all the super atmosphere. It's one of our favorite restaurants and we will be back.
I highly recommend the Gran Marlin to anyone for whatever the occasion may be.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 6 days ago

Great Valentine special dinner of surf and turf. The food was cooked to perfection and the music was really good. This was our first visit ever to The Grand Marlin and it won’t be our last. I saw so many items on the menu I want to try on future visits to the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Live Music, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 6 days ago

Have always enjoyed the food and atmosphere at the Grand Marlin...until this visit. The ambiance and service were as wonderful as always; however, the food left something to be desired. Appetizers (tuna poke and fried calamari) were stellar. Lobster bisque was fairly bland. Entrees were mediocre at best. Shrimp were fried well. The thin cut (shoestring?) fries were over cooked and dried out and for cold very quickly. The Maryland style crab cakes were far from Maryland style - a modicum of lump crab meat held together by some sort of thick hollandaise type sauce.
Granted it was Valentine's Day and I'm sure the restaurant doesn't usually serve a large crowd mid week, so I will chalk it up to that. Whatever the problem was, the kitchen was not up to the task. Regardless we will continue to frequent the GM because this dinner was the exception and not the rule. We just won't go on special days that draw large crowds. Q

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 6 days ago

Service and atmosphere great as always. Food not so much! We both ordered prime steaks which were Valentine's day menu specials. Will stick to the seafood menu in the future, as the steaks were tough, gritty, and way over seasoned, and pre-cut into half inch slices. We've had far better choice steaks at home. As a result, the manager waived the wine charge.

Tags: Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 6 days ago

Total great experience. Price is a little on the high end but you should expect that from a high end restaurant. Freed was excellent as well as the wine list. Very nice evening with the wife.

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined 6 days ago

Valentines Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent Service, Food & drinks. We always enjoy the Grand Marlin!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2018

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 11, 2018

As usual, the meal was fantastic! The Grand Marlin always delivers a grand experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2018

Brunch was wonder, as always. We love our weekly brunch at the Grand Marlin, and the service that we receive from David is always perfection.

Tags: Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Overall good food and service ! I have never had a bad meal here. The cocktails were a little watery. This restaurant is loud. If background noise is an issue for you before warned!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 10, 2018

We were seated next to a birthday party that was very loud. Otherwise all was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Grand Marlin is a locals favorite. The food is consistently good, particularly the Grouper Picatta. The lobster finger appetizer is great and the Praline Basket with ice cream and berries is a nice way to end the night.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 6, 2018

We had outstanding service!! Our waiter was very attentive and didn’t skip a beat. The food was good and the red velvet cake was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 5, 2018

Seating was all enclosed due to the season. It may have added to the noise level. I'm sure the views are awesome and the environment vibrant in warmer weather. The food was excellent and memorable. Weeknight reservations are important as many others were turned away while we were there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 5, 2018

The food was excellent as always. The Grand Marlin is the place we go to get fresh fish. We are never disappointed. The service was also top notch. Love the Grand Marlin!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 5, 2018

Grand Marlin never disappoints for business or pleasure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2018

Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 3, 2018

I’m visiting my son in Pensacola and decided to take him for good seafood and happen Chance took him for excellent seafood. The service was outstanding, the waiter and the hostesses were professional and friendly, but most of all very knowledgeable.

Overall, the food was top notch. My son had the garlic butter oysters and ribeye and I ordered the garlic lime lobster tails with mashed potatoes and green beans. Everything that came out was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 1, 2018

Brought my parents as they have always wanted to try the food. Highly recommend the rub and love salmon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 31, 2018

Amazing food! We ate for my birthday yesterday and returned again today because it was that good! The Kale Caesar salad is to die for. We also had the Grouper Piccata and Filet they were amazing. The Praline basket for desert was just perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 30, 2018

Had a great Anniversary dinner. Our waiter Alex did a great job. The Market Snapper was the best I’ve ever had. They made our Anniversary even more memorable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 30, 2018

They have a great happy hour. $3 house wine. We had the lobster appetizer, which is fabulous, with a very delicious sauce. Also I had a cup of lobster bisque, which is the best I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Usually my favorite place to celebrate my birthday! 4 years in a row now!! I was sold on my first birthday here when our waiter brought me the delicious complimentary praline basket with happy birthday written on the plate with a candle lit! So I have come back every year. This year I was disappointed when my birthday wasn't even recognized even though my husband alerted y'all ahead of time. :( The Grouper Picatta and blue cheese wedge are my favorites. Just wished it had been more festive like the past birthdays! Would recommend going back to making birthdays special because you can go celebrate at any restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fun, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on January 27, 2018

This was a five star dining experience.Every expect of this visit was on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on January 26, 2018

The service was great and we are always happy to have Rachael as our server! The food was yummy!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 26, 2018

Best oysters rockefeller I have ever eaten. Everything was delicious. Service was wonderful. If you are in Pensicola make sure you put this restaurant on your list, You won't be sorry

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 26, 2018

Another excellent meal and service. We always enjoy the grouper picatta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 22, 2018

This review was tainted by a fire alarm that required evacuation. Surprisingly many guests took the opportunity to "dine and dash." The GM staff handled it with grace and comped a portion of our meal.

I missed out on one of my favorite dishes, Grouper Picata. Oh well, I'll be back.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 21, 2018

The food, drinks an atmosphere is always fabulous and awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Even Holly our server was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 20, 2018

The food is always excellent and so is the service. This has become our favorite restaurant. My husband and I highly recommend eating at the Grand Marlin, Pensacola.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Great service and outstanding food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Excellent meal as always. Attentive and accommodating waiter. Excellent drinks, delicious food, fun atmosphere. This is my wife and I's go to restaurant, its upscale without being pretentious.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Great food and service. Highly recommended for special occasion or date.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.