Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.24mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.47mi
  4. Distance: 1.48mi
  1. Distance: 1.24mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.47mi
  4. Distance: 1.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.24mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.47mi
  4. Distance: 1.48mi
  1. Distance: 1.24mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.47mi
  4. Distance: 1.48mi

About The Grand Marlin of Pensacola Beach

The Grand Marlin Restaurant features a main dining area with a shucked to order oyster bar, exterior North Drop Bar overlooking the beautiful Santa Rosa Sound, and private meeting rooms. This Pensacola Beach restaurant, with an air of island casualness, serves the highest-quality cuisine, including the freshest local seafood featured on menus designed and printed daily to take advantage of the local bounty. The atmosphere creates a fusion of the Caribbean and the Pensacola Bay Area. Executive Chef Gregg McCarthy has a passion for great-tasting food and particularly loves working his culinary magic with fresh Gulf Coast seafood. Boaters and beach-goers feel comfortable in shorts and flip-flops at the oyster bar, in the dining room and at the North Drop Bar. The Grand Marlin has a space and atmosphere for all occasions and is looking forward to creating an authentic experience between time and tide.

400 Pensacola Beach Blvd.
Pensacola, FL 32561
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
After Toll Booth 1st Left

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 677-9153

Website:
http://thegrandmarlin.com/

Entertainment:
The North Drop Bar features live music Thursday - Sunday and high-definition televisions for viewing favorite sports and events. It is the perfect venue for enjoying a full or more casual meal while enjoying some of the Gulf Coast"s best entertainment.

Executive Chef:
Gregg McCarthy

Private Party Facilities:
The Grand Marlin offers private dining for parties of 20 to 300. Our Grand Banquet Room seats 100 for completely private dining. For smaller parties our semi-private Santa Rosa Room seats 40 to 55 while our Club Room seats 20-35.

Private Party Contact:
Lisa Jacobi: (877) 554-2065

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Grand Marlin of Pensacola Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (167)
Scenic View (155)
Special Occasion (153)
See All
Good for a Date (134)
Good for Anniversaries (123)
Great for Outdoor Dining (104)
Local Ingredients (96)
Romantic (95)
Good for Birthdays (90)
Worth the Drive (87)
Creative Cuisine (84)
Good for Groups (79)
Bar Seating (75)
Casual (72)
Handcrafted Cocktails (64)
Fit for Foodies (63)
Fun (59)
Great for Brunch (56)
Business Meals (51)
Notable Wine List (50)
Sunday Lunch (46)
Authentic (45)
Great for Lunch (44)
Vibrant Bar Scene (41)
Hot Spot (38)
Seasonal (33)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Happy Hour (32)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
People Watching (31)
Cozy (25)
Comfort Food (24)
Live Music (24)
Disabled Access (20)
Gluten Free Options (20)
Tasting Menu (17)
Great Beer (15)
Late-night Find (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Family Style (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Vegan (5)
Spicy (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Tapas (4)
Private Room (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Live Sports (3)
Historic (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
2107 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

Had a great time and even though we showed up early got a seat right away! Can't wait to go back and visit PNS Beach again soon.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

The meal at the Grand Marlin was far and away the best meal we had on Pensacola Beach. The food and location are heads above the rest. The one criticism we had was that as soon as we were seated there was a fire alarm due to an issue in the kitchen and the entire restaurant was evacuated. They had to be cleared by the fire department before guests could re-enter the restaurant, which we did about an hour after the event. I thought that they should of had a clear message for the guests that had waited once they were cleared. Even after the fire department had left, they really could not tell us one way or the other what they were going to do. We were thrilled that they reopened and so happy we did not throw in the towel to go someplace else. We know it was a difficult situation and only wish they would have been able to tell us something and not leave us guessing once the inspection was no longer the issue.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 3 days ago

Made reservations for my wife's birthday.

The service and food were excellent.

It was over an hour drive to get there but well worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The restaurant itself was nice but the services was awful. When were seated at our table no one came to greet us until 25 mins after we had been waiting our server walked passed our table atleast 5 times before she even came over. So we felt like we wasn't wanted. After she took our order and brought us our drinks & food she still didn't even come to see if everything was ok. I asked for some ketchup and water and never received it. We were visiting the area for our anniversary and the first night was awful with the bad services. We are easy to pleased and this was the worst service we had while visiting the area it's good know that this was just one restaurant that didn't care about there customer service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Very good meal service was very good meal came out very quickly enjoy the afternoon would definitely go there again

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Very good mean, and a nice change of pace from most beach venues. Food was good, only thing keeping this at 4 stars was bar service a little slow.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food, great service, great views! It was an excellent dinner for us!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Bar Seating, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Third time and another great experience. Arrived a little early and only had a short wait for a nice spot with open table reservation. Calamari appetizer was excellent. Grouper Pecanti and grilled Cobia with the green salsa (more of a pesto sauce) and the cajun mustard butter sauce were both excellent. Flavor of the grilled cobia was revealed more by the later (butter sauce). For desert we shared, among our party of four, the Praline Basket, which is a bowl made of praline-like confection, filled with vanilla bean ice cream and fresh berries. Those that said they did not want desert had to have a few bites after they saw it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Even with a reservation we waited 25 minutes. If we had not continued to ask the hostess it would have easily been 45 minutes before we were seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

What a disappointment. This was advertised as fine dining, but it is nothing but a glorified sports bar. Despite having a reservation we had to wait 30 minutes for a crappy table. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was great.
Lobster fingers, Sweet Corn Hush Puppies, Grouper and Salmon, Praline dessert. All very delicious.

I'm not big on seafood (more of a steak and potatoes guy), but this was a fantastic meal! Also, the only place we are in Pensacola that had many non-tourists showing up to gather and eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 7 days ago

Amazing. If I always had the money to eat there I would. But for a very special occasion it was so worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent on all counts

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

The Grand Marlin never disappoints!
We come here for special occasions and when friends and family visit us here in Pensacola. We highly recommend this unique dining experience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 7 days ago

We try to eat here every Tuesday for dinner. The Red Snapper is excellent.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Phenomenal food and excellent service! Price was good too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 17, 2017

The best seafood that I have had. This was the second time there and it was just as perfect as the first.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Wonderful food and great place to eat. We have been a number of times and I have never had a bad meal. Not only seafood but wonderful chicken, steak, and more. Really perfect for anyone. Great option for a nice night out. The praline bowl is the most amazing dessert on this planet. I would eat here just for hat dessert.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 16, 2017

Food was fabulous!!!!
We did have to wait 30 minutes past our reservation time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Awesome experience! Would go again and again! This was a special night and the Grand Marlin did not disappoint! Would love to go again and sit outside.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I eat at the Grand Marlin often and the food and service is always excellent. Hopefully the waiter we had this visit will not be there next time. The waiter was not cordial and was in such a hurry he made us feel uncomfortable. Looking back, I wish I would have notified the manager because he was not providing service up to the standards we are normally accustom to the Marlin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great fresh fish...delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

6 of out for dinner celebrating a special occasion. Sits right on Pensacola Bay with beautiful views. Large covered bar with outside eating and live music. We sat inside and that also was very nice.

Very reasonable menu prices and large plates. Service was excellent.

I would highly recommend.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Absolutely delicious food. My husband and I went for our first anniversary and had a great time. I was a little disappointed that I had to pay $2 extra to switch out carrots for green beans with my already pricy meal, but overall it was a nice experience.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Casual, Healthy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The waiter was more than accommodating! He was so friendly and quick with the service!

The hostess who seated us seemed to be having a bad night. She didn't smile or seem welcoming. On our way out the hostesses didn't seem too friendly either. They were busy talking to one another. I'm sure they are great but just had a bad night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Very fast service despite being filled to capacity. Waiter made excellent recommendations. We had BBQ shrimp and lobster tails for appetizer which were great. The pork shank was a one of a kind dish. Can't wait for a return visit.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The Chef insures that everything coming out of the kitchen is beautifully prepared and presented! We visit on a fairly regular basis and have never been disappointed! If you want the Pensacola Beach ambience with a fine dining flare, this is the place to visit. We were celebrating my sister-in-laws 50th and her last day with us after a 6 week visit. The visit to TGM was the perfect topper to a wonderful time spent together as a family!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic, Scenic View, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Tapas, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Our group of 4 had an 8:15 reservation and we were seated early. Gorgeous location on the water, excellent food and service. It was our last night of vacation and we were glad we saved the best dining experience for last. We will definitely visit it again. Loved it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great food and ambiance! On our visits back to Pensacola The Grand Marlin will be at the top of our list!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Lunch: Very fresh seafood options in a beautiful setting with both indoor and outdoor seating. Lobster appetizer was good and salads were huge and tasty. Daily swordfish selection was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The Grand Marlin is without a doubt our favorite restaurant. The food is always great and the service is outstanding. The prices are very reasonable. The view is wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Healthy, Great Beer, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Despite the wonderful ocean views and the tasty descriptions on the menu, the food was incredibly underwhelming. The Oysters Rockefellar were absolutely phenomenal but the Calamari was underdone and was cold when it arrived at our table. When it came time to order the main course, the waiter recommended the Parmesan Crusted Grouper, explaining that it was by far the best thing on the menu and the restaurants most popular dish. I sure hope that this is not the case or I am afraid that the establishment will not be open much longer. The Grouper was OKAY, I repeat just okay, there wasn't necessarily anything wrong with the entree but it is not what I would expect to receive when ordering the restaurants most popular dish. The potatoes tasted like they were made from powder and the fish was over-crusted and drowning in butter. The view was great and the drinks were good, but sadly, I would not return here to dine again nor would I recommend it as one of my favorite Pensacola restaurants.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Been here before and enjoyed it every time we come to Pensacola

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 11, 2017

I always get house Pinot Grigio​ . And the lobster fingers. They are amazing. The bartenders are all fantastic. This is a fantastic restaurant. Kai is the most awesome bartender. He gives great service. I never feel forgotten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We have always been very well treated and very well fed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Beautiful sunsets, wonderful service & outstanding food! Great experience for a special night with our family👍

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Waterfront, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Crystal gave great menu advice and all suggestions were"spot on". Already planing return visit.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Great food, you must have the catch of the day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Food was good, waiting time to get a table was ridiculous staff seam not go give a f*** that you have small kids with you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Mostly my ratings are higher, but this time the staff was not on the ball.
Fish was served overcooked and waiter did not take kindly to my observation.
Service downhill from there.
Occasion was a birthday, this wad identified on the seating ticket...no recognition!
So B- for this visit.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.