About The Grand Marlin

400 Pensacola Beach Blvd.
Pensacola, FL 32561
View Larger Map

The Grand Marlin Restaurant features a main dining area with a shucked to order oyster bar, exterior North Drop Bar overlooking the beautiful Santa Rosa Sound, and private meeting rooms. This Pensacola Beach restaurant, with an air of island casualness, serves the highest-quality cuisine, including the freshest local seafood featured on menus designed and printed daily to take advantage of the local bounty. The atmosphere creates a fusion of the Caribbean and the Pensacola Bay Area. Executive Chef Gregg McCarthy has a passion for great-tasting food and particularly loves working his culinary magic with fresh Gulf Coast seafood. Boaters and beach-goers feel comfortable in shorts and flip-flops at the oyster bar, in the dining room and at the North Drop Bar. The Grand Marlin has a space and atmosphere for all occasions and is looking forward to creating an authentic experience between time and tide.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
After Toll Booth 1st Left

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 677-9153

Website:
http://thegrandmarlin.com/

Entertainment:
The North Drop Bar features live music Thursday - Sunday and high-definition televisions for viewing favorite sports and events. It is the perfect venue for enjoying a full or more casual meal while enjoying some of the Gulf Coast"s best entertainment.

Executive Chef:
Gregg McCarthy

Private Party Facilities:
The Grand Marlin offers private dining for parties of 20 to 300. Our Grand Banquet Room seats 100 for completely private dining. For smaller parties our semi-private Santa Rosa Room seats 40 to 55 while our Club Room seats 20-35.

Private Party Contact:
Lisa Jacobi: 8775542065

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Crispy Lobster Fingers
Calamari
Pralines
BBQ Oysters
Cioppino
Pumpkin Creme Brulee
Black Bottom Peanut Butter Pie
Island Chicken Curry
Steak and Wedge Salad
Grilled Wahoo Fish
Oysters
seafood gumbo
Blue Crab Claws
Loved and Rubbed Salmon
Grilled Shrimp and Grits
Crab Cakes
Fruit dessert
Grilled Scallops
ahi poke
She Crab Soup
Oysters Bienville
Lobster
Bushwacker
Crab Cake Eggs Benedict
Line Fish
Shrimp And Beans
Bbq Shrimp Appetizer
Dozen Oysters On The Half Shell
Jumbo shrimp cocktail
Blue Angel Chips
Bbq Pork Shank
Blackened Mahi Mahi
Portebella Frittata
PB&J Dessert
Chipotle Mojito
Grouper
Shrimp and Grits
Swordfish With Mashed Potatoes
Pan Seared North Carolina Cobia - Chef's Recommendation
Caribbean Martini
Chocolate Espresso Martini
Conch Fritters
Santa Rosa Skillet with Bacon
Andouille Crusted Triggerfish
Swordfish
Fried Lobster Tail
Roasted Beets

The Grand Marlin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northwest Florida
Best Service
Northwest Florida
Best Value
Northwest Florida
3 More
Outdoor Dining
Northwest Florida
Most Booked
Northwest Florida
Most Booked
Pensacola
Best Restaurants in Pensacola ›

scenic view (224)
special occasion (197)
great for outdoor dining (159)
See All
fit for foodies (149)
good for groups (136)
romantic (117)
great for brunch (84)
great for lunch (84)
hot spot (76)
neighborhood gem (64)
vibrant bar scene (63)
notable wine list (59)
kid-friendly (50)
late-night find (28)
Sort By:
Newest
1398 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Live in gulf breeze , one of the best on ...

Dined 4 days ago

Live in gulf breeze , one of the best on the beach, number one in my book. Will come back.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Made a reservation but still had to wait ...

Dined 5 days ago

Made a reservation but still had to wait for a table to become available, since there is no way to Idicate inside or outside preference when reserving online . Very disappointing. Negates the reason for making a reservation. Hope that can be fixed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are locals and have been coming to Gr ...

Dined 7 days ago

We are locals and have been coming to Grand Marlin since it opened up. Love the dining here because it always feels like its special. Hope the Grand appreciates their locals. We're here year round. Thanks for everything.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience at the Grand Marlin could ...

Dined 7 days ago

Our experience at the Grand Marlin could not have been better in any way, shape or form! My husband and I had requested the Grander with a window overlooking the Sound. We were delighted that that was exactly where we were seated. Furthermore, our server was none other than the inimitable Danielle, who in previous visits had pleased us each and every time, so we knew we were in for a treat. Danielle anticipates her diners' needs, offers suggestions based on her thorough knowledge of the menu, listens to her clients, cares about her clients. All of this is done in a sincere, quiet, pleasant manner. She aims to please. Along with the service, the food was top notch. From the lobster fingers to the kale salad to the loved and rubbed salmon to the banana pudding dessert, it was delectable. From our booth we had a close up of the colorful activity on the water. Loved every minute!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The good: excellent food, the server was ...

Dined 7 days ago

The good: excellent food, the server was very attentive, praline basket is always delicious. The prime rib is very good; we go on Sundays 2-3 times per month for it. Raw oysters are also very good. The not so good: A couple asked to be seated outside, found it too windy, and moved. We were being seated as they mentioned the wind and wanted to move inside. We asked to sit at their table by the water instead of the table by a column with obstructed view. The server asked the hostesses and the server who had that section, and then told us the table was reserved...but the couple just was moved away from that table literally less than a minute before due to the wind. About 15 minutes later when the next diners were seated, they were a walk in and got that table. Not sure why we weren't allowed to move but it would have been nice to be able to change to the better view.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The grand Marlin is and always has been ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The grand Marlin is and always has been a first class restaurant. The atmosphere is great, and the servers are excellent I always appreciate when management comes over at the end of our meal to ask about our service and food. Just a great place to go with a date, spouse, or the whole family just a great place to go with a date, spouse, or the whole family

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love dining at the Grand Marlin for S ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We love dining at the Grand Marlin for Special Occasions or just because. We mostly go to Sunday Brunch, its a great treat on the weekend. The staff is friendly, the restaurant is always clean and the food is awesome. I recommend the Grand Marlin to all my friends and family.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was spectacular. The bbq oyster ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was spectacular. The bbq oysters and gouda tater tops were great appetizers and the redfish on the halfshell and red snapper were excellent entrees.

food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Wonderful menu selection and delicious f ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Wonderful menu selection and delicious food. Best value for the quality and ambiance. Atmosphere is a little loud, and the staff could be a little better in their guest interaction.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

The Gouda tater tots are outstanding as ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The Gouda tater tots are outstanding as well as the shrimp cocktail. The Kale Caesar! salad would have been much better without the kale since I'm not a fan of that anyway. The crab cakes were good until I got some grit in my mouth which makes me cringe. My husband also had grit in his so I wasn't an isolated case. Overall, I enjoyed the place and the food and would go back but would change my dinner choices.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, always excellent, Chef G ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Wonderful food, always excellent, Chef Greg is fabulous!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy going to the Grand Marli ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We always enjoy going to the Grand Marlin. The ambiance is fabulous and the food is always exquisite. This time we were celebrating my wife's birthday. And, as always, everything was perfect. Matthew took care of us very well, with great service without hovering. The reason this particular visit was unique was the reservation. While making the reservation through opentable, we were discussing which evening we should go, since we were looking at the weekend. I checked availability for both Friday and Saturday and settled on Friday. Unfortunately, somehow the reservation was set for Saturday. So, when we showed up at the appointed time - 24 hours early - the hostess, with professionalism and aplomb, simply changed the reservation and, thankfully, was still able to accommodate our special requests. To say that this confusion could have resulted in a less than enjoyable evening for us is an understatement, but The Grand Marlin corrected my error and made this another memorable evening for us at TGM. Thank you!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding service from gentleman from ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Outstanding service from gentleman from Minneapolis . Snapper with herb butter superb Ushered right in for our 7:30 reservation Pricey but best on the beach, maybe in all of Pensacola

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This place has surpassed the rest to be ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

This place has surpassed the rest to be the best restaurant in town. They have gluten free. They have a large selection. The oysters and fish cannot be beat. They are consistently good and food well execute. Hats off to chef McCarthy. The management does an excellent job. The hostesses are great. The out door deck and restaurant have wonderful views. Just wished they had valet for very busy nights.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food consistently excellent and menu has ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Food consistently excellent and menu has reasonably frequent changes to keep it interesting. Love Wine Down Wednesday too!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The grouper was excellent, as well as th ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

The grouper was excellent, as well as the mahi mahi. However, the tuna salad for an appetizer and the bananas foster was incredible. Even the creamed spinach, potatoes and green beans were also extremely good In all, I can't ever remember having a meal that was as good as this one and our server was the best!!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely delicious. BBQ shrimp were on ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Absolutely delicious. BBQ shrimp were on point. The grouper picatta is a must try! We were seated outside and able to watch the sun set over the water which just added to the wonderful experience.

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food as always.

Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent food as always.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I decided to go to the Gr ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

My husband and I decided to go to the Grand Marlin on the recommendation of friends to celebrate our anniversary. Collin, our waiter was attentive, very knowledgeable about the extensive wine list, and had great recommendations for dishes we have never tried before. The experience and food was wonderful and we will go back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal! Try the ice cream in a prali ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great meal! Try the ice cream in a praline bowl dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

By far the best food on the island.

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

By far the best food on the island.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Fantastic

Dined on June 10, 2016

Went there once again for final night of ladies annual Pensacola Beach trip - we save this awesome restaurant for last so we can splurge, taste new and unique food par excellence, enjoy the view, the attentive service, great cocktails and nice wines. Everything we had was just top-notch! The crab claw appetizer was the favorite - save some bread for sopping the awesome broth, so wonderful! Red Snapper was a huge hit, the salads were fresh and tasty, and the ahi tuna poke I had for my meal (after sharing yummy shrimp dip appetizer - enough for 4, the crab claws too, and a huge salad) was the best I'd ever tasted - the avocado base was creamy and the combination of flavors with the tuna just mouth-watering! Previous hits were the fresh oysters and the grouper picatta (it is fantastic!). Don't Miss This Restaurant - it can get very busy and the wait can be long at times (nice bar - can have super drinks); recommend reservations. Best tables, no waiting. Highly recommend this place again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect restaurant for your upcoming ann ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Perfect restaurant for your upcoming anniversary!!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always Great!

Dined on June 6, 2016

The Grand Marlin is a traditional last-night dinner spot for us when we vacation in Pensacola Beach. The food is great and the service is always outstanding. This time we had the Smoked Gouda Tater Tots appetizer and it was excellent. I had the Fried Gulf Shrimp and my wife had the scallops. Both entrees were perfectly prepared and delicious. And if you like a good salad, they have the best Wedge Salad you'll ever eat. We sat outside and had a beautiful view of the bay. It was a great experience and the Grand Marlin continues to be one of our go-to places in Pensacola Beach.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent food and good space. Tables ar ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Excellent food and good space. Tables are spread out nicely.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never lets me down

Dined on June 5, 2016

We have been coming to The Grand Marlin for dinner every time we stay in Pensacola and usually stay on the beach twice a year. The food is always great and this time Ashley, our server did a fantastic job.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great sea food restaurant

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Excellent food and service. Great for special occasions.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on June 5, 2016

I made a dinner reservation to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. The Grand Marlin picked a wonderful table for us complete with an amazing view of the water for sunset. We ordered raw oysters and marinated crab claws to start. I can't stop thinking about the crab claws, they were so good! Our entrees were delicious too. We will definitely be back! Thank you so much for making our evening so special!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vacation dining

Dined on June 4, 2016

Was looking for a nice vacation experience with my wife. We had calamari for an appetizer and two different fish entree's. Food and excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good but not worth the price

Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was very good and so was the service but it was not worth $30 an entree. We could get similar quality food for less. Went here for our anniversary and it was very loud inside so we could barely hear each other.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Birthday

Dined on June 2, 2016

Food was delicious as for the drinks. Wrote happy birthday on the dessert plate which was a very nice touch and help make the evening special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic spot for dinner!!! Great vibe. ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

Fantastic spot for dinner!!! Great vibe. The food was absolutely delicious. The server was extremely knowledgable about the entire menu and was able to answer all of our questions. My boyfriend got the swordfish and I got the grouper. Neither of us had tried swordfish before, but I would definitely get it again. Both were great dishes!!

food3
ambience5
service5

The service exceeded our expectations. T ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

The service exceeded our expectations. The waitress anticipated our needs and made our family feel very welcome. All of the food tasted great. The appetizers, salad, and entrees were excellent. I ordered the lobster and shrimp mac and cheese. It tasted fantastic, but I would have enjoyed a more noticeable amount of lobster and shrimp. The Kale Caesar Salad was so good it reminded me of the first time I had a great Caesar salad. Also the atmosphere was very nice. Beautiful architecture and art to take in while conversing with friends.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always One Of Our Favorites

Dined on May 29, 2016

The Grand Marlin is consistently one of our favorites. We own a small vacation rental company in Navarre Beach (approximately 20 miles down the small barrier island) and every week recommend the Grand Marlin to our Guests. The atmosphere is great with both indoor and outdoor dinning and the food is consistently great. If you like Oysters - be sure to order the Oysters Rockefeller - one of my personal favorites - perhaps the best I've ever eaten.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Be back for sure!

Dined on May 29, 2016

The Grand Marlin was just that ... Grand! From the wait staff, to the appetizers, the entrees and dessert...everything was just the best! We will be sure to visit this restaurant whenever in the area again and I would suggest the same to anyone reading this. Make plans to have dinner here. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Weekend brunch is the best in the area!! ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Weekend brunch is the best in the area!! Perfect location and great menu with great service. We are local and Grand Marlin is the one spot we take friends and family to when they visit and it never disappoints

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5

GREAT place to watch the sunset while en ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

GREAT place to watch the sunset while enjoying a wonderful meal and enjoying one of their signature drinks!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food

Dined on May 27, 2016

Visit the Grand Marlin and you will not be disappointed. Great raw bar and yummy seafood entrees. Be sure to make a reservation!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

The Grouper Picatta is the best thing on ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

The Grouper Picatta is the best thing on the menu. It is perfection. I hope they never change it. We've been dining there frequently (on average twice a month ) since they opened 6 years ago. It's our favorite restaurant in the area. I used to say that they had the best filet mignon in town but I don't think they are using the same aging process for their beef anymore. Anyway the filet hasn't been as good as it used to be a few years ago. So now I stick with the fish.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic meal with great service. The P ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Fantastic meal with great service. The Parmesan crusted fish was killer!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.