Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.24mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.47mi
  4. Distance: 1.48mi
  1. Distance: 1.24mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.47mi
  4. Distance: 1.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.24mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.47mi
  4. Distance: 1.48mi
  1. Distance: 1.24mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.47mi
  4. Distance: 1.48mi

About The Grand Marlin of Pensacola Beach

The Grand Marlin Restaurant features a main dining area with a shucked to order oyster bar, exterior North Drop Bar overlooking the beautiful Santa Rosa Sound, and private meeting rooms. This Pensacola Beach restaurant, with an air of island casualness, serves the highest-quality cuisine, including the freshest local seafood featured on menus designed and printed daily to take advantage of the local bounty. The atmosphere creates a fusion of the Caribbean and the Pensacola Bay Area. Executive Chef Gregg McCarthy has a passion for great-tasting food and particularly loves working his culinary magic with fresh Gulf Coast seafood. Boaters and beach-goers feel comfortable in shorts and flip-flops at the oyster bar, in the dining room and at the North Drop Bar. The Grand Marlin has a space and atmosphere for all occasions and is looking forward to creating an authentic experience between time and tide.

400 Pensacola Beach Blvd.
Pensacola, FL 32561
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
After Toll Booth 1st Left

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 677-9153

Website:
http://thegrandmarlin.com/

Entertainment:
The North Drop Bar features live music Thursday - Sunday and high-definition televisions for viewing favorite sports and events. It is the perfect venue for enjoying a full or more casual meal while enjoying some of the Gulf Coast"s best entertainment.

Executive Chef:
Gregg McCarthy

Private Party Facilities:
The Grand Marlin offers private dining for parties of 20 to 300. Our Grand Banquet Room seats 100 for completely private dining. For smaller parties our semi-private Santa Rosa Room seats 40 to 55 while our Club Room seats 20-35.

Private Party Contact:
Lisa Jacobi: (877) 554-2065

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Join us for an a la carte Easter brunch or Easter dinner!

The Grand Marlin of Pensacola Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (96)
Scenic View (89)
Good for a Date (81)
See All
Special Occasion (79)
Good for Anniversaries (75)
Good for Birthdays (59)
Worth the Drive (54)
Great for Outdoor Dining (52)
Creative Cuisine (46)
Casual (45)
Good for Groups (43)
Romantic (43)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Local Ingredients (38)
Bar Seating (38)
Great for Brunch (37)
Handcrafted Cocktails (36)
Business Meals (32)
Sunday Lunch (31)
Fun (31)
Great for Lunch (31)
Healthy (25)
Modern Decor (25)
Notable Wine List (25)
Happy Hour (24)
Hot Spot (23)
Authentic (22)
Outstanding Value (20)
Cozy (20)
People Watching (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Family Style (14)
Kid-friendly (12)
Live Music (12)
Private Room (12)
Disabled Access (11)
Seasonal (10)
Tasting Menu (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Great Beer (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Tapas (4)
Live Sports (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Fireplace (1)
Historic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1833 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined a day ago

Everything that we had was phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Always excellent food and service. Never a disappointment! Our " go to" restaurant for any celebration.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 3 days ago

Of all the places to have brunch in Pensacola, Grand Marlin is by far the best. The service and atmosphere are amazing. The beautiful view and laid back vibe makes for a very relaxing time.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 4 days ago

Ramon did great job. Very friendly and responsive.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

Top of the line seafood and steaks, pleasing ambiance, great wine list, specialty martinis, and the best dessert on the Emerald Coast : The Praline Basket!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Always visit at least once when in Pensacola Beach. Reliably great food in moderately upscale surrounding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 6 days ago

We are returning for Sunday brunch. Our Friday evening meal was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Have eaten here a couple of times and have never had a bad meal or bad service. Whether you eat inside or out its a great place and food is wonderful, esp. the raw oysters.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 22, 2017

This place is always legendary...a must-stop every time we come to Pensacola Beach. The food, atmosphere, and service are second to none and always unforgettable.

Tags: Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Awesome experience! I would recommemd for any occassion! The service might have been the best I have ever recieved.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 20, 2017

How do you say Amazing, in every language? It's that good. Fresh and local seafood, wonderful staff and great views. From the oysters casino to the seafood cioppino everything was fantastic. But the dessert, the pecan praline ice cream bowl, this was the best dessert i have had this side of the Atlantic Ocean. It could go up against anything we' ve had in Europe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Frequent diner at Grand Marlin. The Prime Rib was not as good as usual and our service was slow. Ate at 4:00 so I did not expect to have these types of problems.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great food! Great menu! Nice atmosphere! Will definitely recommend to friends and family! The oysters are wonderful!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great dining experience! Great food, great service and even gave us a water view window seat as I had requested.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great seafood. The Grouper Piccata is a must!

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Outstanding in everything. Food service veiw. Good. Good Great. Great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent as usual...... had crusted grouper, excellent waiter, great desserts

Tags: Outstanding Value, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

It was our Wedding Anniversary, I had made a reservation so we could watch the sunset. We were seated late and missed the sunset. Very disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Met with friends we had not seen for years. Fantastic oysters both raw and Rockefeller, large entrees with great seafood , and huge dessert- key lime pie was enough for 2.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Food was good, portions size depended on what was ordered but seemed ok, items were pricey. Waitress very good

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Usual good meal and service!! The GM does not fail to be a great spot for dining!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Love your gift shop (store) too, got my new favorite shirt for the beach! Friendly cute waiters and beautiful waitresses are big plus ! ( according to my wife)

Tags: Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Love the wait staff, very friendly, the food came out with ease, no rushing us. Very engaging. Big treat to eat there.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 12, 2017

A wonderful celebration! Great food! Great service! Beautiful view! Made my reservation ahead of time and advised of the birthday celebration....they set up a special table, spoiled the birthday boy, and we all left happy and full! Cannot say enough great things about the spectacular food! And they are always willing to help with any special requests!

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Healthy, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Casual, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Brought out of town friends to this favorite on the beach, food was great. Wonderful raw oysters and Drum special was wonderful.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Always enjoy visiting this restaurant when in the area. Food is always high quality and the staff is always very informative about the menu. The Chef's specials are always a winner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I was a great night with my wife! Love the private table we had!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Was in Pensacola for one night. Chose this restaurant. Thought we would be able to eat outside. Night was a calm 71 degrees. All the plastic roll down doors were lowered. THe heat was on. Place was warm.

Ordered a whiskey sour and gin and tonic. Well done. Salads were great. Wife ordered Parmesan crusted red snapper over spinach and potatoes. Very nice. I ordered braised monkfish over a purée. Had to ask the waiter to not put the olive salad on the monkfish. He agreed. Order 2 glasses wine.

Great meal.

Drawback..... the concrete slab around the bar and the slatted wooden furniture need a cleaning. Maybe it was the heaters on, but the inside space smells of rancid grease when closed up. Not clean. Dampened the experience.

Would try it again if the roll down enclosures were open.

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Very good service and even better food. It was my wife's birthday and a complementary dessert was provided for her. Our favorite place to eat on the Gulf Coast.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Outstanding, I/we dine there once a month or more. I do not ever recall being disappointed. It is a must stop for anyone living here or visiting from out of town.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 8, 2017

What has happened? This was my favorite restaurant, bar none, in all of Florida. We own a condo in Pensacola and are in town about 10 weeks a year. For 7 years this has been our go-to dinner spot several times a week. I don't know if there's new management or a new chef or both, but ever since last summer, it's gone downhill fast in terms of food quality.

To begin with, they took the best item off the menu and refuse to make it when requested. Oysters Bienville. The best baked oyster dish on the planet. They substituted it for Monterey last year (not as good), then took that off the menu for something called Oysters Casino. Absolutely inedible. Dripping in butter, no parmesan cheese, bland as can be. Granted, they still have BBQ and Rockefeller, but those just aren't as good as Bienville. Serious mistake.

We also ordered 2 bowls of gumbo. The waiter brought us 2 cups, but soon returned with bowls when we pointed out the error. It tasted burned, as if it had been scraped from the bottom of the pot. Yuck.

Lastly, they used to have samples of the fantastic salt scrub in the restrooms. A brilliant marketing idea, and it always worked on my guests and me as we always went straight to the store to buy a jar. Alas, no longer. They don't even have a sample to try in the store.

Grand Marlin, I don't know what you're doing, but you're spiraling downward quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Have been coming here since they first opened. Usually great meal and we look forward to our next visit. The last two visits we left after dinner feeling like it just wasn't really very good. Nothing really specific just how you windup feeling like just didn't seem to satisfy like it used to. It isn't an inexpensive restaurant and I have been finding more satisfying dining at the same or less expensive. The deck and view are still quite nice and probably visit for the occasional drinks at sunset or something

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We come from Belgium and it really was our prefered restaurant of all our trip between New Orleans and Pensacola.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The whole experience was very positive. Best dining experience in Pensacola area.

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We are locals and the Grand Marlin is one of our very favorite restaurants. It never disappoints!

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 3, 2017

You pay for the view and the location. The menu is unremarkable, aside from being mostly fresh and local ingredients. Beach bar rock music playing over a classy, intimate setting was bizarre, but the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Would recommend for a sunset dinner to impress a date. Would not recommend for someone seeking an exceptional meal.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 28, 2017

food great-- service excellent-as usual noisy dined inside will go back again and I do always recommend it to my friends and associates

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We are local residents of Pensacola. We have enjoyed dining there since it opened and several times during the year. Keep up the great work!!!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The Entree was Way Overpriced for locally caught fish. Other local restaurants charge Half of what we paid.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

First time there.... won't be the last. Server Crystal was very nice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.