Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.24mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.47mi
  4. Distance: 1.48mi
  1. Distance: 1.24mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.47mi
  4. Distance: 1.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.24mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.47mi
  4. Distance: 1.48mi
  1. Distance: 1.24mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.47mi
  4. Distance: 1.48mi

About The Grand Marlin of Pensacola Beach

The Grand Marlin Restaurant features a main dining area with a shucked to order oyster bar, exterior North Drop Bar overlooking the beautiful Santa Rosa Sound, and private meeting rooms. This Pensacola Beach restaurant, with an air of island casualness, serves the highest-quality cuisine, including the freshest local seafood featured on menus designed and printed daily to take advantage of the local bounty. The atmosphere creates a fusion of the Caribbean and the Pensacola Bay Area. Executive Chef Gregg McCarthy has a passion for great-tasting food and particularly loves working his culinary magic with fresh Gulf Coast seafood. Boaters and beach-goers feel comfortable in shorts and flip-flops at the oyster bar, in the dining room and at the North Drop Bar. The Grand Marlin has a space and atmosphere for all occasions and is looking forward to creating an authentic experience between time and tide.

400 Pensacola Beach Blvd.
Pensacola, FL 32561
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
After Toll Booth 1st Left

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 677-9153

Website:
http://thegrandmarlin.com/

Entertainment:
The North Drop Bar features live music Thursday - Sunday and high-definition televisions for viewing favorite sports and events. It is the perfect venue for enjoying a full or more casual meal while enjoying some of the Gulf Coast"s best entertainment.

Executive Chef:
Gregg McCarthy

Private Party Facilities:
The Grand Marlin offers private dining for parties of 20 to 300. Our Grand Banquet Room seats 100 for completely private dining. For smaller parties our semi-private Santa Rosa Room seats 40 to 55 while our Club Room seats 20-35.

Private Party Contact:
Lisa Jacobi: (877) 554-2065

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Grand Marlin of Pensacola Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (151)
Scenic View (129)
Special Occasion (122)
See All
Good for a Date (112)
Good for Anniversaries (103)
Worth the Drive (79)
Great for Outdoor Dining (76)
Good for Birthdays (75)
Romantic (72)
Good for Groups (68)
Creative Cuisine (66)
Casual (64)
Local Ingredients (61)
Handcrafted Cocktails (59)
Fit for Foodies (58)
Bar Seating (57)
Great for Brunch (50)
Fun (47)
Sunday Lunch (46)
Notable Wine List (42)
Business Meals (40)
Great for Lunch (38)
Authentic (36)
Vibrant Bar Scene (35)
Healthy (32)
Happy Hour (31)
Hot Spot (28)
Cozy (26)
People Watching (23)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Modern Decor (22)
Kid-friendly (18)
Family Style (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Outstanding Value (14)
Live Music (13)
Private Room (13)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Seasonal (13)
Disabled Access (13)
Tasting Menu (11)
Late-night Find (8)
Great Beer (8)
Quick Bite (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Spicy (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Tapas (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Live Sports (4)
Historic (3)
Vegan (3)
Organic (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
1971 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

Amazing food and fantastic service!! My husband and I went to dinner for our 10 year wedding anniversary on Sunday and we liked it so much that we are taking our oldest child for her birthday this week too!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 2 days ago

As always amazing! My husband and I love that the menu changes everyday with specials!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food. Great service. Excellent red snapper. Lobster fingers a must try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

Great outdoor dining! We went for a special occasion and it was the perfect atmosphere. Looking forward to going again!

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

The salmon dish with sweet potatoes was one of the best salmon preparations I have ever had. Highly recommended!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 21, 2017

One of the best places we have eaten. By far the best in Pensacola Beach

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We had the Chicken, Fried Shrimp, Filet Mignon, Crab Cakes, & Fresh Catch. All were spectacular. Ramon did a great job taking care of us. Ate on patio with great water view. Thoroughly enjoyed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Grand Marlin is always a delight. Have yet to be disappointed with any of our visits. Recommend for any special occasion or just a casual lunch or dinner. Staff is always friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Mother's Day

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

1st anniversary

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Everything was absolutely delicious. I've been eating seafood and fish a very long time and it was hands down the best snapper I've ever put in my mouth. Would recommend to anyone and will go back

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great food with outstanding service. Will return and recommend to others.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Simply one of he top restaurants in this area of Florida. Does a splendid and frequent new dishes to try. Gets filled with people and recommend Open Table if you are the last day to seek reservation..

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Scenic View, Healthy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent, friendly, efficient staff.
Food was cooked well, tastefully seasoned and beautifully presented.
The gumbo is one of, if not the, best in the area. The lobster's lime sauce was delicious.
Thanks Grand Marlin for helping us have a great 44th anniversary party!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Fantastic, great view, very good food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The best ever. Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 17, 2017

I love this restaurant. It's beautiful, rite by the water. So peaceful an relaxing. I had a glass of house Chardonnay for the happy hour special, it was delicious. I also had shrimp cocktail, which were large, juicy an tender. Very delicious. I love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The snapper was great as were the wait staff. It was a weekday and even though we had a reservation we still waited for 15 minutes to be seated. However once we were it was worth it.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 17, 2017

I've eaten there on more than one occasion and it never disappoints! I was able to bring my wife this time and she loved the entire experience.

Tags: Fun, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Continued high quality. Our fifth year in a row at Pensacola Beach and visit to the Grand Marlin. Each visit, we have had very good servers and Athena this time was no exception.

The tilefish and scallops entrees we had from the market fish menu were fresh and excellent.

Continues to be the best option for special event and classic dining on the Beach.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

This is quite possibly the best restaurant at Pensacola Beach. We had the steamed Maine mussels which are in a delicious tomato, fennel, and chorizo broth served with cornbread croutons on top. We had the Grouper Picatta and the yellowfin tuna that was served with a really great wasabi whipped potatoes. It was all delicious. The service was great. We will be back;

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 15, 2017

What a wonderful dining experience made perfect by our waiter!!!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Our server, Sean, was very knowledgeable and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Mother's Day dinner, ordered the Duck Special. Hunter; our server, was excellent. He recommended the duck special..TGM never had duck before so he said get it medium rare, came out 90% rare and the duck skin was chewy..and rubbery..the wild mushroom rice was dry. Overall service was great.. but duck wasn't fully cooked, boxed it up and cooked it at home ..I'm not one to send food back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have read both the positive and negative reviews. The positive reviews (including mine) are spot on. The negative reviews were written by the sour-pusses of the world who can never be pleased no matter where they go in life. We love coming here for the great food, the waterfront views and reputation this great restaurant has. It does not disappoint!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very nice meal for Mothers day special event. Oysters (raw) were great. Food excellent. Only not so great was noise level. Will be back.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I received a gift card to The Grand Marlin for my birthday, from my son. It was my first experience at this restaurant. I couldn't have been more pleased. Everything was exceptional .... the service, the food and the cocktails. We are really looking forward to dining at The Grand Marlin again!

Tags: Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Mother's day brunch. Super service. Made the day special.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I love Grand Marlin! It's one of my favorites places to eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

A Mother's Day Tradition for 4 Years. Also We enjoy Sunday Brunch there several times a Year. Great waiting staff & Servers.Our waiter was Very thorough explaining Menus Specials. I think. Andrew.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It's was good

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent dinner and restaurant accommodated special request for a table with a nice view!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Interior seating and draperies need updating. Would have preferred outdoor seating. Food was very good but the overall venue was a hodge podge. Stoggy to families and bar

Tags: Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Simply amazing!
The food was wonderful
Service was the best

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We were disappointed to be seated in an overflow dining room - very much lacking in ambiance.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Another awesome meal here! Always good!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My husband and I booked a reservation for The Grand Marlin for our 5th anniversary. We'd not been there before, and didn't realize the patio area (screened in due to colder weather) would be as loud and raucous as it was. There was a party of revelers at the bar who were quite loud, and the ambiance of the patio area wasn't ideal for our anniversary night - think plastic cups for our fancy cocktails... That all being said, the service, food, and drinks were fantastic. Our server apologized for the noise level, was helpful in guiding us through the menu since we were first timers (and I'm a vegetarian), and was very attentive through our whole meal. My husband had crispy lobster fingers and I had sweet corn hush puppies to start. Both were amazing, and my husband raved about the vanilla bean infused honey mustard for the lobster. The beverages, despite their solo cup containers, were well made, tasty, and refreshing. For entrees, I had a vegetarian plate made of delicious and perfectly cooked asparagus, green beans, fingerling potatoes, whipped potatoes that were to die for, and rutabaga. My husband had the seared red snapper, locally caught in Destin that morning, with crab oscar sauce, whipped potatoes and green beans. My husband said it was the best piece of fish he'd ever eaten, and he nearly licked the plate to get up all the oscar sauce. We didn't stay for dessert, so I have no feedback there. We were too stuffed from dinner to even think about anniversary dessert, and we wanted a better ambiance to waste some time until we were ready for dessert. All in all a good experience, though next time we'll probably dine inside or request a table on the patio when it's not screened in away from the bar crowd.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We were disappointed in our most recent trip to Grand Marlin. We usually dine at the Grand Marlin at least once or twice per year and always have a great experience. This time it was not the case. We were celebrating an early Mother's Day dinner and when I made the reservation, I specifically requested seating with a sunset view. I understand that seating along the window in the main dining area is limited, but our hostess did not try to honor our request at all. We were originally seated in the booths next to the bar and kitchen and there was absolutely no view. When I informed the hostess that I had specifically requested a sunset view, I was told that it would be at least an hour before we would be able to get a table along the windows. We were then taken to a table along the water in the banquet room. Although I was happy to at least have a view, I don't understand why they wouldn't have offered the table to us in the first place. Other than that, the food was good. I was disappointed that scallops were only offered on Monday and the special for Friday night was Fish N Chips. In my opinion, a special like Fish n chips should be served as a lunch special or another night other than Friday. Unfortunately, I think the quality of the restaurant has begun to deteriorate.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Key West)·Dined on May 12, 2017

End of vacation celebration with friends

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I got the special, fish & chips. It tasted like it sat, then fried again. Greasy! Coleslaw was inedible as they put too many jalapeños in it. Hubbies dinner was pretty good tho.
Dessert was fantastic, ice cream praline basket! I'd definitely recommend that! Service was good too!
We are regulars & dine there frequently, must've been an off night.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.