About The Grand Marlin

400 Pensacola Beach Blvd.
Pensacola, FL 32561
View Larger Map

The Grand Marlin Restaurant features a main dining area with a shucked to order oyster bar, exterior North Drop Bar overlooking the beautiful Santa Rosa Sound, and private meeting rooms. This Pensacola Beach restaurant, with an air of island casualness, serves the highest-quality cuisine, including the freshest local seafood featured on menus designed and printed daily to take advantage of the local bounty. The atmosphere creates a fusion of the Caribbean and the Pensacola Bay Area. Executive Chef Gregg McCarthy has a passion for great-tasting food and particularly loves working his culinary magic with fresh Gulf Coast seafood. Boaters and beach-goers feel comfortable in shorts and flip-flops at the oyster bar, in the dining room and at the North Drop Bar. The Grand Marlin has a space and atmosphere for all occasions and is looking forward to creating an authentic experience between time and tide.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
After Toll Booth 1st Left

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 677-9153

Website:
http://thegrandmarlin.com/

Entertainment:
The North Drop Bar features live music Thursday - Sunday and high-definition televisions for viewing favorite sports and events. It is the perfect venue for enjoying a full or more casual meal while enjoying some of the Gulf Coast"s best entertainment.

Executive Chef:
Gregg McCarthy

Private Party Facilities:
The Grand Marlin offers private dining for parties of 20 to 300. Our Grand Banquet Room seats 100 for completely private dining. For smaller parties our semi-private Santa Rosa Room seats 40 to 55 while our Club Room seats 20-35.

Private Party Contact:
Lisa Jacobi: 8775542065

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Join us for Father's Day brunch or dinner! Now accepting reservations.

The Grand Marlin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northwest Florida
Best Service
Northwest Florida
Best Value
Northwest Florida
2 More
Most Booked
Northwest Florida
Most Booked
Pensacola
Best Restaurants in Pensacola ›

scenic view (218)
special occasion (185)
great for outdoor dining (138)
See All
fit for foodies (134)
good for groups (121)
romantic (120)
great for brunch (79)
great for lunch (72)
hot spot (72)
notable wine list (58)
vibrant bar scene (57)
neighborhood gem (53)
kid-friendly (37)
late-night find (25)
 (3)
 (3)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1357 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

GREAT place to watch the sunset while en ...

Dined 3 days ago

GREAT place to watch the sunset while enjoying a wonderful meal and enjoying one of their signature drinks!

food5
ambience5
service4

The Grouper Picatta is the best thing on ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

The Grouper Picatta is the best thing on the menu. It is perfection. I hope they never change it. We've been dining there frequently (on average twice a month ) since they opened 6 years ago. It's our favorite restaurant in the area. I used to say that they had the best filet mignon in town but I don't think they are using the same aging process for their beef anymore. Anyway the filet hasn't been as good as it used to be a few years ago. So now I stick with the fish.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic meal with great service. The P ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic meal with great service. The Parmesan crusted fish was killer!

food4
ambience5
service5

Second night in a row. Most food was ama ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Second night in a row. Most food was amazing. Tried steak. It was just okay. My wife's grouper was amazing, so I realized it was my mistake in choosing their red meats. That isn't their specialty. Everything else was awesome though.

food5
ambience5
service3

Amazing food. Fair price. Good cocktails ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Amazing food. Fair price. Good cocktails. Beautiful view on the outside along the perimeter of restaurant. Waiter service was poor.... I couldn't believe I was actually paying 20% for that. Our Waiter was too casual, we had to ask for everything we needed. He was not attentive. We had to ask for silverwear, plates, more drinks, etc. I couldn't say anything at the time because I didn't want to upset my company. The girls in the front who seat you are VERY organized and accommodating. We ordered a bottle of wine and the sommelier was attentive and polite. Not a huge selection of bottles, but we managed to find something that was just fine. Overall I would probably dine here again because the food is great. Hats off to the chef.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was seated on time , Service by Ramon wa ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Was seated on time , Service by Ramon was excellent , food was wonderful . Worst part of whole ordeal was getting there ! Sat in traffic 1&1/2 hours to get there ! Should work something out w/ SRIA. Fast pass 4 GM ?

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Seafood gumbo and bbq shrimp

Dined on May 22, 2016

Seafood gumbo and bbq shrimp

food5
ambience5
service4

I've eaten here several times and it nev ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I've eaten here several times and it never disappoints.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, but even better service!

Dined on May 21, 2016

Our family was visiting from Virginia for the week, and we are so glad we decided to try out the Grand Marlin. The oysters and gumbo were delicious, and so was the locally caught snapper. The speciality martinis were excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed all of the food, but our waitress, Emma, made the experience even better. She was friendly, funny, highly knowledgeable, and an overall pleasure to talk with. We hope to return soon and wish Emma all the best!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional restaurant. Great food and s ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Exceptional restaurant. Great food and service. Pricey but worth it.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

This was our second trip to The Grand Ma ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

This was our second trip to The Grand Marlin and it was not as good as the first. I ordered blackened red snapper which was recommended by the waiter and was charged the same price as the snapper special (more expensive) but could not get the same sides. I thought I should have been charged the market price as the other fish dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh and Delicious with a view of the Bay

Dined on May 17, 2016

My husband had red snapper with peach salsa and I had the grouper piccata. Both dishes were delicious and the fish was very fresh. We had a view of Pensacola Bay. Our waiter was outstanding. Drinks were reasonably priced and excellent. We will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the Grand Marlin was fabulous. ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

As always the Grand Marlin was fabulous. We had friends from Calif who totally enjoyed the menu and view at sunset. The hostess was great to accommodate us with a table with a view as requested. The menu was fabulous, drinks exciting and the Calif foodies thought the cheesy grits were the best! Our server was friendly, helpful and attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4

A favorite of locals, foodies, and desti ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

A favorite of locals, foodies, and destination for travelers. Seafood is well sourced and prepared perfectly. The atmosphere over looking the gulf is the best in Pensacola. Some go for light food, drinks, and music. Or it can be the destination for a special occasion. One of the top restaurants on the Gulf Coast.

food5
ambience5
service5

The appetizer Fried Calamari was very ex ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The appetizer Fried Calamari was very exciting!I've experienced fried pickles and fried jalapeños in the past but never a banana pepper. The aioli sauce that accompanies it is perfect and delicious! Daniel was our waiter and he was very helpful with guiding us throught the menu. He helped our party of 4 choose excellent entrees that included the grouper picatta, ribeye, red snapper with caper brown butter, and the chef special which was mahi mahi with mussels and clams. Lastly the brownie sundae is heaven in the mouth. Scrumdillyumcious meal, thank you very much!

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

wrong item served to my wife after waiti ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

wrong item served to my wife after waiting 20 min. management was not very helpful. only offered a free desert. noisy, lack of service, will never return after 6 years of loyalty.soo disappointed.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful dinner! We enjoyed the filet ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Wonderful dinner! We enjoyed the filet mignon, green beans and fingerling potatoes. The steak was cooked to perfection and tasted great. We also had the pineapple upside down cake, rich but excellent. Loved the music, played all our favorites from the early 70's. It was our last day of vacation at Pensacola Beach, and dining here ended it on a high note!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Anyone who misses out on the lobster fin ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Anyone who misses out on the lobster fingers is missing out on one of the most sensuous seafood delights imaginable. The market fish are all fresh and available in a variety of sauces and preparations. I had the Grouper Piccata, my wife had Oysters Rockefeller (done to perfection), while our friends dined on Red Snapper, Salmon, and Crab Cakes. I had a bite of each and was not disappointed at all. We were too stuffed for dessert but vowed to come back Friday night for Lobster fingers and dessert.

food4
ambience3
service2

Salmon and wedge salad was really good. ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Salmon and wedge salad was really good. It was our 36th anniversary and the hostess told us to tell the waitress and she could have cared less.

food5
ambience5
service5

Friendly and knowledgeable staff made go ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Friendly and knowledgeable staff made good recommendations. Overall excellent dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best dining experience! We went back the next day!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Definitely recommend this place! Ryan, our server made our visit complete! Staff are all.polite and knowledgeable. RAW OYESTERS ARE THE BEST HERE!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Perfect time of day, gorgeous ambience, great server Jason, beautifully presented food, and the reservation worked like a dream...virtually no waiting. We were so happy that we made the effort to do something special for mother's day. Had a fabulous time. ❤️

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome restaurant and bar

Dined on May 8, 2016

I've now dined twice at the Grand Marlin. Both times on special occasions and both times the experience was superlative. We'll keep going and will recommend this dining experience to all of our friends. Thanks

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Special menue for Mother's Day included a King Crab & Leak Quiche Which was wonderful . A great waiter And a bottle of wine made this an experience to remember.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and fantastic service

Dined on May 8, 2016

Every course was yummy. All of the flavors were putting us into sensory overload. The vanilla mustard sauce served with the lobster fingers sounded odd but complimented the lobster well. The halibut was to die for and the sweet corn reduction was awesome. Jimmy our waiter even offered to get me a glass of the corn with a straw. Thought that my be taking things a little too far. The mushrooms with the halibut were just as incredible. The grouper was just as memorable. Do not miss dessert. The pralines and cream was so good. Service was excellent and prices were very reasonable, especially considering the quality.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I made reservations a week prior to Moth ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I made reservations a week prior to Mother's Day for me and the Mother of my Children. Looking at the reviews and menu selection made me anxious. Upon arrival we were seated promptly. The view was lovely around sunset, 7. The server was very informative. We had Oyster Rockefeller and Lobster Fingers as an appetizer. Delicious!!! For main entree I had Sea Scallops and her the Halibut with a side of Shrimp and Lobster Mac. Everything was Superb!!! We will be returning in the future. Maybe helped me out rekindling!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Room with a View

Dined on May 7, 2016

A great setting on the water near Pensacola Beach. Fine dining with a great selection of wines and great service. We visited on the Mother's Day weekend for both Saturday dinner and Sunday brunch. The most tasty raw oysters served on ice in the shell, and all the seafood dishes show imagination and careful preparation. Get there a little early for a well-prepared cocktail at the outside bar.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fresh Seafood

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our dinner at The Grand Marlin was delicious! The seafood was so fresh! The raw oysters were very good, as were the fish and scallops. The selection of fish changes everyday - depending on what is available. Gumbo and salad were also very good. Friendly service too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

of all the resturants we tried in Pensec ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

of all the resturants we tried in Pensecola, this was by far the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the best dinner here in all of Pensacola.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great food, local cuisine, great service. it was the best dinning experience we had in the Pensacola Beach area.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the grilled Mahi on a simple green ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

I had the grilled Mahi on a simple green salad with green beans... Absolutely phenomenal and so so fresh. Eating healthy is easy at Grand Marlin. My husband had the grouper piccata and ate every bite. The crispy capers were an added touch that made the piccata beyond compare. Drinks were great as was dessert. Highly recommended!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance was amazing.

Dined on May 1, 2016

My husband and I was celebrating our 21st wedding anniversary and decided to celebrate it over dinner at The Grand Marlin. It was an wonderful eating experience. The food was wonderful; and I would definitely recommend it to others.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second time

Dined on April 30, 2016

This was our second time dining. My partner and I have talked about this restaurant ever since we are there 4 years ago. I even bought merchandise from the store. We were staying in Fort Morgan, Alabama and drove 1.5 hours to get to the Grand Marlin. While waiting we enjoyed cocktails from one of their impressive bars. Upon being seated, we checked out the menu. 4 years ago we ate steaks that were absolutely mind blowing. This time we decided to stray from the steaks to make another great memory. We ordered the pork shank and the fried shrimp. These guys knocked it out of the park. Actually I should use an analogy befitting the ambience. "There may be many fish in the sea, but The Grand Marlin is a one of a kind catch!" Yes that's cheesy, but so true. Speaking of cheesy.... everyone needs Gouda tater tots in their life. Those were magnificent. My partner and I check the website often and will be coming back in much less than 4 years. Thank you, Ashley, for remarkable service and The Grand Marlin for another memorable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Grand Marlin does not disappoint!

Dined on April 29, 2016

We have been to the Grand Marlin three times already, and each time gets better than the next! The servers are always friendly and very knowledgeable of the menu making your mouth water from their descriptions of the meals. The food is always delicious from beginning to end, anticipating the next time we return. Thanks for being awesome!!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3

Over all a very nice experience. Pro tip ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Over all a very nice experience. Pro tip not all tables on the balcony have a water view. But I will be back 🐳

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on April 28, 2016

Best food by the best Chef Greg!! We had our daughter's wedding reception there two years ago and is our favorite place to eat and drink! You will want to always go back for more! Love this place!! Beautiful place as well as the people that work there! Our waiter was Matthew and was great!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Not as good this time

Dined on April 28, 2016

2nd visit, 1st was birthday. Had nice ocean view noise level high. Had reservation, table late. Specifically told it was anniversary no mention made. Would have appreciated at least a comment. Food was ok overall not value expected. Would recommend but with comments.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been to this restaurant several tim ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

I've been to this restaurant several times and probably my favorite in Pensacola Gulf area for a great brunch or dinner. They've had several of the wait staff for a long time and that's a sign they are doing something right. I love the Grouper Piccata for a nice taste of the Gulf!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous outdoor dining

Dined on April 27, 2016

If you're looking for a great spot to enjoy outdoor dining, the Grand Marlin is simply the best! You will enjoy the salty breeze, but still be protected from the rain or scorching sun. The large patio is great for outdoor dining. The noise level can get a little high so it might not be the best choice for a quiet, romantic dinner. The food is consistently delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best in Pensacola

Dined on April 27, 2016

Amazing seafood menu. This is my absolute favorite place in Pensacola. All the dishes are expertly and consistently prepared. We always start with shrimp cocktail. The sauces are what set this restaurants cocktail apart. The grouper picatta is my favorite but the market fish selections are also very well prepared. I prefer the lemon caper butter but all the sauces for the market fish are amazing. It's has the perfect color and nutty flavor you expect and the capers provide a nice bright contrast. Their Kale Caeser salad is also very good. Served as you'd expect with fresh Parmesan cheese, dressing, and croutons. However, the crispy fried onion strings and kale made it interesting. Regular caeser salad is just disappointing after having it. I must admit however I have seldom tried their desserts as I'm always too full. I enjoy this place so much I go there every night I'm in town.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.