About The Grand Marlin

400 Pensacola Beach Blvd.
Pensacola, FL 32561
View Larger Map

The Grand Marlin Restaurant features a main dining area with a shucked to order oyster bar, exterior North Drop Bar overlooking the beautiful Santa Rosa Sound, and private meeting rooms. This Pensacola Beach restaurant, with an air of island casualness, serves the highest-quality cuisine, including the freshest local seafood featured on menus designed and printed daily to take advantage of the local bounty. The atmosphere creates a fusion of the Caribbean and the Pensacola Bay Area. Executive Chef Gregg McCarthy has a passion for great-tasting food and particularly loves working his culinary magic with fresh Gulf Coast seafood. Boaters and beach-goers feel comfortable in shorts and flip-flops at the oyster bar, in the dining room and at the North Drop Bar. The Grand Marlin has a space and atmosphere for all occasions and is looking forward to creating an authentic experience between time and tide.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
After Toll Booth 1st Left

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 677-9153

Website:
http://thegrandmarlin.com/

Entertainment:
The North Drop Bar features live music Thursday - Sunday and high-definition televisions for viewing favorite sports and events. It is the perfect venue for enjoying a full or more casual meal while enjoying some of the Gulf Coast"s best entertainment.

Executive Chef:
Gregg McCarthy

Private Party Facilities:
The Grand Marlin offers private dining for parties of 20 to 300. Our Grand Banquet Room seats 100 for completely private dining. For smaller parties our semi-private Santa Rosa Room seats 40 to 55 while our Club Room seats 20-35.

Private Party Contact:
Lisa Jacobi: 8775542065

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Crispy Lobster Fingers
Pralines
BBQ Oysters
Calamari
Cioppino
Pumpkin Creme Brulee
Black Bottom Peanut Butter Pie
Island Chicken Curry
Steak and Wedge Salad
Grilled Wahoo Fish
Oysters
seafood gumbo
Blue Crab Claws
Loved and Rubbed Salmon
Grilled Shrimp and Grits
She Crab Soup
Grilled Scallops
Fruit dessert
ahi poke
Crab Cakes
Oysters Bienville
Lobster
Bushwacker
Crab Cake Eggs Benedict
Dozen Oysters On The Half Shell
Bbq Shrimp Appetizer
Shrimp And Beans
Line Fish
Jumbo shrimp cocktail
Blue Angel Chips
Bbq Pork Shank
Blackened Mahi Mahi
PB&J Dessert
Portebella Frittata
Chipotle Mojito
Shrimp and Grits
Grouper
Conch Fritters
Pan Seared North Carolina Cobia - Chef's Recommendation
Chocolate Espresso Martini
Caribbean Martini
Swordfish With Mashed Potatoes
Swordfish
Santa Rosa Skillet with Bacon
Roasted Beets
Fried Lobster Tail
Andouille Crusted Triggerfish

The Grand Marlin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northwest Florida
Best Food
Northwest Florida
Best Service
Northwest Florida
6 More
Best Ambiance
Northwest Florida
Best Value
Northwest Florida
Outdoor Dining
Northwest Florida
Special Occasion
Northwest Florida
Most Booked
Northwest Florida
Most Booked
Pensacola
Best Restaurants in Pensacola ›

Scenic View (219)
Special Occasion (211)
Great for Outdoor Dining (159)
See All
Good for Groups (130)
Fit for Foodies (115)
Romantic (114)
Great for Brunch (77)
Great for Lunch (74)
Hot Spot (69)
Notable Wine List (66)
Neighborhood Gem (60)
Kid-friendly (56)
Vibrant Bar Scene (51)
Waterfront (35)
Late-night Find (31)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Casual (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Business Meals (10)
Fun (10)
Cozy (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Live Music (5)
Seasonal (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Healthy (5)
People Watching (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great Beer (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Authentic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Family Style (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Historic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1539 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our first brunch and it was gre ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

This was our first brunch and it was great along with excellent service. We had reservations at 10:15 and got right in and many tables were open. When we left around 11:30 there was a long wait line. Highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My mom and I made a reservation for dinn ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 3 days ago

My mom and I made a reservation for dinner to catch up. It was very nice and although I do not remember our waiters name he was wonderful ! Great service, atmosphere and food ! Thanks so much. We'll be back for sure!.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good though swordfish was ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was very good though swordfish was undercooked. Overall a good dining experience. The service was professional but waiter disappeared for long stretches at a time. Seemed like they were understaffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

The Best restaurant on Pensacola Beach. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 4 days ago

The Best restaurant on Pensacola Beach. Fresh seafood on a menu that changes every day.

Great wait staff, but poor reception staff. Reservations a must for Sunday brunch and be

on time too.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Oysters Rockefeller. Wow.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Oysters Rockefeller. Wow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Went for brunch...service was great! The ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Went for brunch...service was great! The raw oysters were so good and the brunch champagne drinks were delicious -recommend the Peach Sparkler! As a meal, we had the Corned Beef & Hash and the Eggs Benedict. Both were so good. My favorite thing were the potatoes served with the Eggs Benedict. Amazing! Will definitely go back!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great! We even forgot our le ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Service was great! We even forgot our leftovers and they had set them aside incase we came back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best places to dine in the Pe ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

One of the best places to dine in the Pensacola area! No doubt about it....

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great. Food was terrible. Th ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Service was great. Food was terrible. The grouper tasted like fish sticks and the swordfish was over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

My wife and I chose The Grand Marlin Fri ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My wife and I chose The Grand Marlin Friday 9.16 night for a dinner date. We made reservations via the website and was able to get in pretty quick. We were both pleased when we arrived to find out we were assigned to a private table. I'm not sure if it was because we reserved a table or if it was just luck of the draw but the table was a nice surprise. The food was excellent and the service was top notch. As a Pensacola local I will definitely be returning to this restaurant and weboth look forward to having more great experiences here.

Tags: Family Style, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Business Meals, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great except we had to wa ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Everything was great except we had to wait twenty minutes for a table on arrival? What is the point of getting a reservation if you have to wait?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our server Jessica made the evening. Sh ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our server Jessica made the evening. She was fun to the old guy having a birthday as well as a young guy having a birthday. She was a joy and very accommodating to every detail. The hostess was also wonderful as she actually read the reservation and put us by a window, We eat at The Grand Marlin all the time, but they really did a great job on this visit.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was incredible and the service ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The food was incredible and the service was even better.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and impeccable service as ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Delicious food and impeccable service as usual. No bad surprises there.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food. It could not have been b ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Loved the food. It could not have been better. I went with a group of picky eaters and everyone found something they loved. My only complaint was while our waitress was very good we were there for a bachelorette trip/birthday and asked her to take a picture of us very quickly to commemorate the evening and she refused saying she was very busy which I understood even though it would only take two seconds to snap a picture. She never offered again and we didn't ask.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Terrific place! Seating hostesses accomm ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Terrific place! Seating hostesses accommodated our request to be seated "on" the water on both occasions we visited recently. Both wait staff were subtly attentive and excellent. You can't go wrong at the Marlin!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service are generally top n ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The food and service are generally top notch. I had raw oysters and they were nice and briny and fresh. My redfish on the half shell was cooked well but the sauce (blackened seasoning) was so so I would have preferred a minced onion and garlic topping with a bit of a sear or char.

Tags: Waterfront, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The view is so beautiful. I eat here ev ...

vip
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The view is so beautiful. I eat here every time im, n town. I had shrimp cocktail. It was delicious. Im allergic to onions an when I moved my shrimp to cut them I saw onions an told the bartender an he was very nice to throw it out an have it redone. I had the house chardonnay an it was all delicious. The bartenders were very nice and took great care of me- an everyone around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Surf and turf special is AMAZING and the ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Surf and turf special is AMAZING and the oysters were fantastic.

Excellent customer service and price of meal was great

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, the Grand Marlin was a treat! ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

As usual, the Grand Marlin was a treat! The drinks were cold, the service good and the food wonderful! I love the BBQ shrimp!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great waitress, great servi ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great food, great waitress, great service. A pleasant surprise

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the best restaurant in Pensacola ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This is the best restaurant in Pensacola Beach. The food is outstanding, ambience wonderful as it opens up right onto the water. It feels elegant and yet you can go in shorts. The seafood selections are not the typical tourist options!

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The seafood gumbo lacked any seafood. T ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The seafood gumbo lacked any seafood. The shrimp and lobster Mac and Cheese had no shrimp and two minuscule bites of lobster. Our waiter was gracious and I reordered fried shrimp. It was delicious. I was comped a dessert. My wife's shrimp and grits was very tasty. Unfortunately, I cannot recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The food is always delicious. I really e ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

The food is always delicious. I really enjoy the daily fresh fish and the specials are very good. The new Bananas Foster Butter Cake is awesome!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great service and great atmospher ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Always great service and great atmosphere! Love the BBQ oysters and the Grouper is amazing. Everyone had a great time. We were stuffed but still did the praline basket and the new butter cake - both were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Daily catch Swordfish was some of the be ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Daily catch Swordfish was some of the best we have ever had. The fried lobster finger appetizer is also delicious. The key lime pie was not as "totally best pie ever" as last time we had it but it was still good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

As usual the food at the Grand Marlin wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

As usual the food at the Grand Marlin was very good (although not inspired). This time we had their brunch which most of us really liked... my crab cakes benedict was good, but not fantastic, but my friend's omlette was excellent and my other friend really enjoyed their unusual version of chicken and waffles. My biggest complaint about this place is about the service...I have eaten here at least 10 times, and not once have I had service that was up to par with the ambience or quality of the food. It is always very slow (and i'm used to upscale dining, which is usually at a slower pace, so I'm not saying i like to be rushed) and not attentive in the slightest. Twice we had to ask other wait personnel to find our waiter, since he almost never checked back with us to see if we needed anything, and it took at least 15 minutes before we were even able to order drinks after being seated. I think it is high time this place either hire more staff, or do a better job of training them. I often steer friends and visitors away from this place as it is consistently poor in the service area, even though the food is some of the best in the area.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

We arrived 15 minutes before our reserva ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We arrived 15 minutes before our reservation and we're sited within 10 minutes. Once sited we noticed ice cream spilled under our table. The waitress was very prompt to clean once we brought it to his attention. We ordered a dozen oysters as an appetizer. To our surprise, our entrees were brought before the oyster. I cancelled the ouster order. Waitress was apologetic , but didn't go out of his way to make up for the huge mistake. I ordered the lobster and substituted the potatoes for grits, which was a great decision. My plate was very tasty, but my husbands red fish, although not bad, was over seasoned and the jambalaya too spicy. The grilled tuna and the scallops were excellent. Overall good food for the price, but having so many patrons causes those type of mistakes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The service was excellent, I'm from Loui ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The service was excellent, I'm from Louisiana and this was my first time there for my engagement dinner. I will definitely go back everytime I am in town.

Tags: Fun, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I took my wife out for our 20th annivers ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

I took my wife out for our 20th anniversary. It is nice but very very loud

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for helping celebrate my wife ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Thank you for helping celebrate my wife's birthday . We live in Illinois and love this place! A must visit for us while vacationing each year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

ALWAYS EXCELLENT! We have been long time ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

ALWAYS EXCELLENT! We have been long time customers and have NEVER had a bad experience dining at The Grand Marlin.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The raw oysters were very food. Bartende ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The raw oysters were very food. Bartender was very attentive and helpful. We will definitely dine there again when we are in town. Food was delicious and ambiance was fun and energetic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Grand Marlin has really great seafood wi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Grand Marlin has really great seafood with a good atmosphere. The cocktails are also really good. Highly recommend making reservations in advance, especially for Saturday night dinner or Sunday brunch. If you're looking for a quiet atmosphere, ask to be seated inside as the outside deck has really nice views, but offers live music, so it can get noisy. Overall, highly recommend this restaurant to any friends or tourists to the Gulf Coast area looking for a "fancy" dinner out during vacation.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Grand Marlin is a great place. This was ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Grand Marlin is a great place. This was our second time, and they did not disappoint. The live music was a bit loud, but not a bother. All-in-all, a great experience.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The Grand Marlin is consistently great. ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The Grand Marlin is consistently great. The food, service, and upper quality ingredients are always the same, truly outstanding.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Music playing on the patio

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Music playing on the patio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Nice open feel restaurant with plenty of ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Nice open feel restaurant with plenty of atmosphere.

We went at 8.30pm and the service was far too fast and overall spoiled the night as we were rushed out in around 40 minutes. The food was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Grand experience! Definitely a recommend ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Grand experience! Definitely a recommend! Steaks are yummy and seafood too. Try the blue cheese chips! Beautiful view from the outdoor patio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I still think this is the best restauran ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

I still think this is the best restaurant on Pensacola Beach, but they have taken baked oysters Bienville off the menu, which was my whole reason for going. Another poor decision on their part was to take away the free samples of salt scrub in the restrooms. This is a pricey restaurant, and I feel like they are cutting back and it is becoming more corporate. The food is still delicious, but I hope they stop changing a good thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.