About The Grand Marlin

400 Pensacola Beach Blvd.
Pensacola, FL 32561
View Larger Map

The Grand Marlin Restaurant features a main dining area with a shucked to order oyster bar, exterior North Drop Bar overlooking the beautiful Santa Rosa Sound, and private meeting rooms. This Pensacola Beach restaurant, with an air of island casualness, serves the highest-quality cuisine, including the freshest local seafood featured on menus designed and printed daily to take advantage of the local bounty. The atmosphere creates a fusion of the Caribbean and the Pensacola Bay Area. Executive Chef Gregg McCarthy has a passion for great-tasting food and particularly loves working his culinary magic with fresh Gulf Coast seafood. Boaters and beach-goers feel comfortable in shorts and flip-flops at the oyster bar, in the dining room and at the North Drop Bar. The Grand Marlin has a space and atmosphere for all occasions and is looking forward to creating an authentic experience between time and tide.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
After Toll Booth 1st Left

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 677-9153

Website:
http://thegrandmarlin.com/

Entertainment:
The North Drop Bar features live music Thursday - Sunday and high-definition televisions for viewing favorite sports and events. It is the perfect venue for enjoying a full or more casual meal while enjoying some of the Gulf Coast"s best entertainment.

Executive Chef:
Gregg McCarthy

Private Party Facilities:
The Grand Marlin offers private dining for parties of 20 to 300. Our Grand Banquet Room seats 100 for completely private dining. For smaller parties our semi-private Santa Rosa Room seats 40 to 55 while our Club Room seats 20-35.

Private Party Contact:
Lisa Jacobi: 8775542065

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Crispy Lobster Fingers
Pralines
BBQ Oysters
Calamari
Cioppino
Pumpkin Creme Brulee
Black Bottom Peanut Butter Pie
Island Chicken Curry
Steak and Wedge Salad
Grilled Wahoo Fish
Oysters
seafood gumbo
Blue Crab Claws
Loved and Rubbed Salmon
Grilled Shrimp and Grits
She Crab Soup
Grilled Scallops
Fruit dessert
ahi poke
Crab Cakes
Oysters Bienville
Lobster
Bushwacker
Crab Cake Eggs Benedict
Dozen Oysters On The Half Shell
Bbq Shrimp Appetizer
Shrimp And Beans
Line Fish
Jumbo shrimp cocktail
Blue Angel Chips
Bbq Pork Shank
Blackened Mahi Mahi
PB&J Dessert
Portebella Frittata
Chipotle Mojito
Shrimp and Grits
Grouper
Conch Fritters
Pan Seared North Carolina Cobia - Chef's Recommendation
Chocolate Espresso Martini
Caribbean Martini
Swordfish With Mashed Potatoes
Swordfish
Santa Rosa Skillet with Bacon
Roasted Beets
Fried Lobster Tail
Andouille Crusted Triggerfish

The Grand Marlin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northwest Florida
Best Food
Northwest Florida
Best Service
Northwest Florida
5 More
Best Ambiance
Northwest Florida
Best Value
Northwest Florida
Special Occasion
Northwest Florida
Most Booked
Northwest Florida
Most Booked
Pensacola
Best Restaurants in Pensacola ›

Scenic View (247)
Special Occasion (236)
Great for Outdoor Dining (180)
See All
Good for Groups (152)
Fit for Foodies (143)
Romantic (130)
Great for Brunch (88)
Great for Lunch (83)
Hot Spot (83)
Notable Wine List (74)
Neighborhood Gem (73)
Kid-friendly (65)
Vibrant Bar Scene (63)
Late-night Find (36)
Casual (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Waterfront (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1503 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The raw oysters were very food. Bartende ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 2 days ago

The raw oysters were very food. Bartender was very attentive and helpful. We will definitely dine there again when we are in town. Food was delicious and ambiance was fun and energetic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Grand Marlin is consistently great. ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined 3 days ago

The Grand Marlin is consistently great. The food, service, and upper quality ingredients are always the same, truly outstanding.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Music playing on the patio

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 3 days ago

Music playing on the patio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Nice open feel restaurant with plenty of ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

Nice open feel restaurant with plenty of atmosphere.

We went at 8.30pm and the service was far too fast and overall spoiled the night as we were rushed out in around 40 minutes. The food was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Grand experience! Definitely a recommend ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 4 days ago

Grand experience! Definitely a recommend! Steaks are yummy and seafood too. Try the blue cheese chips! Beautiful view from the outdoor patio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I still think this is the best restauran ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

I still think this is the best restaurant on Pensacola Beach, but they have taken baked oysters Bienville off the menu, which was my whole reason for going. Another poor decision on their part was to take away the free samples of salt scrub in the restrooms. This is a pricey restaurant, and I feel like they are cutting back and it is becoming more corporate. The food is still delicious, but I hope they stop changing a good thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This restaurant has a lovely view of Pen ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

This restaurant has a lovely view of Pensacola bay. I have eaten here twice & really enjoyed it. The scallops with capers & brown butter sauce is very good. The crab cakes are good also.

The outdoor seating is nice but a bit noisy. I have not eaten inside but assume it would be more quiet. I will definitely eat here again whenever I am in Pensacola.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server , Leia was great. Friends fr ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our server , Leia was great. Friends from CALIF were in town, enjoyed the Marlin.

As always, we so enjoy the restaurant.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just a nice place for a great meal. Enjo ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Just a nice place for a great meal. Enjoyed the food, service, and location.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved it!! Would highly recommend it to ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Loved it!! Would highly recommend it to anyone. The vanilla bean infused honey mustard was off the charts good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food but was a little expensive. S ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great food but was a little expensive. Service was good but way too crowded for a romantic evening dinner. Overall I would give it 7 of 10 in overall value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

The grouper and lobster were delicious, ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The grouper and lobster were delicious, and the portions are large. Our waiter Casey was very helpful. Fun restaurant. It would be fun to sit outdoors in cooler weather.

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were in Pensacola Beach fo ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My wife and I were in Pensacola Beach for a long weekend and I found the Grand Marlin "on-line". We had a dinner reservation, but when we arrived we decided to sit at the bar. Ky was our bartender and did a great job. My wife had the manager's special and I had the blackened snapper and a Caesar salad. The experience and the food was so good that we went back again the following night. The place was much busier, but we sat at the bar again and the service was still outstanding. When it came time to order a cocktail, Ky remembered us from the night before and asked if we wanted the same drinks. This time we ordered the BBQ shrimp, and I had the redfish and a Caesar, and my wife had the grouper. Great experience, great food--we will definitely go back on our next trip.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went on recommendation from friend. Food ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Went on recommendation from friend. Food ambience was spot on. Views were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I celebrated our 25th Ann ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 25th Anniversary here on a Friday night. An amazing table location was reserved for us (corner table with a view of the Santa Rosa Sound) and the ambiance was perfect as the sun was beginning to set. From the beginning at the hostess stand to ending at the hostess stand was a top notch experience.

We were greeted quickly with a smile, seated quickly, and congratulated by the sweet hostess (I don't know her name, but she was a very chipper African American young lady)as she led us to our table. Our server, Jason, was attentive, informative, personable and professional. He took really good care of us. We were even visited by one of the owners (from Atlanta) who congratulated us and talked with us as friends (as we are from Atlanta area also) and told us about a new location to open soon in Panama City Beach. {Sidebar: Coincidentally, we've celebrated one of our anniversaries at one of his Atlanta restaurants, Rays on the River, and enjoyed ourselves there.}

Here, at The Grand Marlin, the food was amazing, beautifully presented, and exceptionally good. I felt like a foodie from one of the Food Network Channels - everything tasted just perfect! A sweet surprise for us was the Ice Cream in Praline Cup with a "Happy Anniversary" message on the plate, which we enjoyed as we also shared a slice of Key Lime Pie.

As we were leaving, I asked the hostess who'd seated us if she would take a picture of us and she was so sweet and accommodating as she took our pictures in a couple of spots so that we'd have a selection of shots to admire.

By far, it was the BEST experience we've ever had of all the celebration dinners we've enjoyed. When we return to Pensacola Beach (or visit Panama City), we will certainly make reservations again to have a wonderful experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Great service!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food! Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great seafood. Service was excellent. Lo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great seafood. Service was excellent. Loved the bar selection. Parking was crowded but after such a good dinner, a little walk didn't hurt. Check out the Blue Angel chips. but 1/2 an order is plenty. They were delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The steak and crab cake we ordered were ...

 
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The steak and crab cake we ordered were the best anywhere in Pcola! Also had a nice surprise for our Anniversary . I highly recommend. The wait staff could not have been any better.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our anniversary. Everything was g ...

 
·Dined on August 15, 2016

It was our anniversary. Everything was great. They even gave us a praline basket for our anniversary. The only complaint I have was my spicy chicken was too spicy...

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The Grand Marlin never disappoints! Any ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The Grand Marlin never disappoints! Anytime I have out of town guests I'm looking to entertain with a top-notch seafood meal, this place is first on my list. Their level of quality and consistency is amazing.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lobster tail was amazing, wish there ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The lobster tail was amazing, wish there was more mashed potatoes and veggies with it, though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We had a great server who helped us thou ...

 
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We had a great server who helped us though the menu and drink selections. Her name was Letti.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to the Grand Marlin many ti ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We have been to the Grand Marlin many times. It is always phenomenal! We love going to the bar and watching people.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place, good Service, Seafood is ex ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great Place, good Service, Seafood is excellent, very noisy

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've eaten here several times and have ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We've eaten here several times and have had a very good experience each time. I was hoping for a nice, quiet date-night dinner; however, the inside dining area was very cold. We settled for outside dining where the ambiance wasn't exactly what I was looking for. Having said that, the service; the view; and conversation saved the evening. We will definitely go back again. Oh, didn't really like the music outside.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall good experience, server Emma was ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Overall good experience, server Emma was excellent. The only negative was $8.50 for a vodka drink served in a disposable plastic cup, water also served in cheap plastic cup. Were we served plastic cups because we were seated on patio? Are we not adult enough to have glass?

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, it seems pricey, but com ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Excellent food, it seems pricey, but compared to restaurants around our hometown it's really not!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was awesome!

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Everything was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service!! loved the vari ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great food and service!! loved the variety of the daily fresh catch seafood. The flounder was exceptional.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is always reliably good at the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food is always reliably good at the grand Marlin. I often get the Ahi Poke - which is a favorite and delicious. It's an appetizer - but works as a meal for me. Recommend a reservation - as its always crowded. Sometimes we try our luck to score a seat at the bar and eat there.

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

When you have a nice air-conditioned spo ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

When you have a nice air-conditioned spot away from the bustle, great food and drinks, and an outstanding server like Athena, how could it not be great?

We had a 7PM reservation on a Saturday night and were promptly seated. Athena was right with us explaining specials, getting our drink and wine orders, and was personable as well as efficient. We got a selection of apps to share at the table, including the spectacular lobster fingers, tuna dip, and gouda tots. Seafood gumbo was excellent. A couple of us had the Grouper picatta entree, served over sautéed spinach and whipped potatoes, which was awesome.

While a couple of people had the key lime pie for dessert, I opted for a Bushwhacker. Nice way to end a delightful meal. Thanks y'all!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely experience -- server was top notc ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Lovely experience -- server was top notch and food was absolutely wonderful!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tile fish was incredible. Cooked very we ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Tile fish was incredible. Cooked very well. Sat at the inside bar. Service was excellent

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jason was the most fantastic waiter.. Wa ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Jason was the most fantastic waiter.. Warm, professional and knowledgeable. He took the time to clearly steer us to the best items in the menu.. And had no problem with changing things around for us.. Loved the meal, the experience and his help and attention just blew us away. What an amazing dinner experience..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was outstanding

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, a great experience. I wish ther ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Overall, a great experience. I wish there were some more options on the food-side of the menu, but our meals were delicious and well-prepared (even though the portions were a little on the small side for the price.)

Everything else was completely stellar.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Our door was IMPECCABLE. We started with ...

 
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Our door was IMPECCABLE. We started with the blue angel chips, followed by my husband having the chefs feature and I had the grouper piccata, and we wrapped up the meal with a banana foster butter cake. I believe our servers name was Ashleigh- she was FANTASTIC!!!! We had dinner outside overlooking the water, and it was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there to celebrate my Dad's birt ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We went there to celebrate my Dad's birthday. The food was wonderful as always. I had the Cobb salad which I highly recommend!! Our waitress made my dad feel very special and we all enjoyed our meals and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as always. Food on point and d ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Excellent as always. Food on point and delicious. Great service. Food comes out relatively quick for such a busy place.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and good specialty drinks ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Excellent food and good specialty drinks and wine list. Three us were together to spend our 29th birthdays (again) together. Service was good and our complimentary birthday dessert was out of this world.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.