About The Grand Marlin

400 Pensacola Beach Blvd.
Pensacola, FL 32561
View Larger Map

The Grand Marlin Restaurant features a main dining area with a shucked to order oyster bar, exterior North Drop Bar overlooking the beautiful Santa Rosa Sound, and private meeting rooms. This Pensacola Beach restaurant, with an air of island casualness, serves the highest-quality cuisine, including the freshest local seafood featured on menus designed and printed daily to take advantage of the local bounty. The atmosphere creates a fusion of the Caribbean and the Pensacola Bay Area. Executive Chef Gregg McCarthy has a passion for great-tasting food and particularly loves working his culinary magic with fresh Gulf Coast seafood. Boaters and beach-goers feel comfortable in shorts and flip-flops at the oyster bar, in the dining room and at the North Drop Bar. The Grand Marlin has a space and atmosphere for all occasions and is looking forward to creating an authentic experience between time and tide.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
After Toll Booth 1st Left

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 677-9153

Website:
http://thegrandmarlin.com/

Entertainment:
The North Drop Bar features live music Thursday - Sunday and high-definition televisions for viewing favorite sports and events. It is the perfect venue for enjoying a full or more casual meal while enjoying some of the Gulf Coast"s best entertainment.

Executive Chef:
Gregg McCarthy

Private Party Facilities:
The Grand Marlin offers private dining for parties of 20 to 300. Our Grand Banquet Room seats 100 for completely private dining. For smaller parties our semi-private Santa Rosa Room seats 40 to 55 while our Club Room seats 20-35.

Private Party Contact:
Lisa Jacobi: 8775542065

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Crispy Lobster Fingers
Calamari
Pralines
BBQ Oysters
Cioppino
Pumpkin Creme Brulee
Black Bottom Peanut Butter Pie
Island Chicken Curry
Steak and Wedge Salad
Grilled Wahoo Fish
Oysters
seafood gumbo
Blue Crab Claws
Loved and Rubbed Salmon
Grilled Shrimp and Grits
Crab Cakes
Fruit dessert
Grilled Scallops
ahi poke
She Crab Soup
Oysters Bienville
Lobster
Bushwacker
Crab Cake Eggs Benedict
Line Fish
Shrimp And Beans
Bbq Shrimp Appetizer
Dozen Oysters On The Half Shell
Jumbo shrimp cocktail
Blue Angel Chips
Bbq Pork Shank
Blackened Mahi Mahi
Portebella Frittata
PB&J Dessert
Chipotle Mojito
Grouper
Shrimp and Grits
Swordfish With Mashed Potatoes
Pan Seared North Carolina Cobia - Chef's Recommendation
Caribbean Martini
Chocolate Espresso Martini
Conch Fritters
Santa Rosa Skillet with Bacon
Andouille Crusted Triggerfish
Swordfish
Fried Lobster Tail
Roasted Beets

The Grand Marlin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northwest Florida
Best Food
Northwest Florida
Best Service
Northwest Florida
6 More
Best Ambiance
Northwest Florida
Best Value
Northwest Florida
Outdoor Dining
Northwest Florida
Special Occasion
Northwest Florida
Most Booked
Northwest Florida
Most Booked
Pensacola
Best Restaurants in Pensacola ›

scenic view (252)
special occasion (225)
great for outdoor dining (184)
See All
good for groups (158)
fit for foodies (157)
romantic (131)
great for lunch (92)
great for brunch (90)
hot spot (83)
notable wine list (74)
neighborhood gem (73)
vibrant bar scene (70)
kid-friendly (65)
late-night find (38)
Sort By:
Newest
1453 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best food, view in Pcola Beach

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined a day ago

Best food, view in Pcola Beach

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, fish very fresh, service was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, fish very fresh, service was good and insightful

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Dinner was excellent. Service excellent. ...

 
 (Panama City)
·Dined 3 days ago

Dinner was excellent. Service excellent. Noise level a bit high for good conversation.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I will absolutely recommend this restaur ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined 4 days ago

I will absolutely recommend this restaurant to everyone I know and don't know!!! This is the best food anywhere near Pensacola Beach! I absolutely loved the calamari and my pan seared snapper was out of this world. Thank you to everyone at the restaurant for delicious food and a wonderful experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced, no taste to the food and the ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined 4 days ago

Overpriced, no taste to the food and the portions were too small

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

good waitress who made great suggestions ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

good waitress who made great suggestions and kept our drinks filled and attended to every need. excellent brunch, very affordable beverages, terrific shrimp and grits, oysters Rockefeller, crab cake hollandaise. after a long trip to Pensacola Beach it's the way we like to start our vacation every year. terrific

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The shrimp and grits were great except t ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined 6 days ago

The shrimp and grits were great except the shrimp was over cooked. My husband ordered the fresh fish which was the wahoo. That was also way overdone. We live in Florida and my husband fishes and brings home fresh fish several times each year, so we know what fresh fish tastes like. Service was okay. There is a nice Bay view, not an ocean view. Would not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Noise level is based on sitting outside ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Noise level is based on sitting outside in July. Lots of children outside. Busy, but didn't seem that wait time was long. Overall, wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It took a while for our waitress to come ...

 
·Dined on July 22, 2016

It took a while for our waitress to come to our table. I actually had to go back to the host desk to ask for them to send someone our way. Also our waitress was really late picking up our drink from the bar. We were seated in the bar area at a booth and I I saw our drinks sit there for a good 10 mins or more. By time she got our drinks we just received our apps. Bottom line the service could have been better.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Oysters were fabulous! Our dinner was a ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Oysters were fabulous! Our dinner was all good with one exception- my husbands fish came out really overlooked so he sent it back. Our server promptly brought him cup of chowder while he waited. The manager brought his replacement dinner out herself and thanked him for letting us know it wasn't properly prepared. The server also bought our dessert which was amazing. Overall a great experience but be prepared not all seating is indoors and it's hot outside in Florida even with fans!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Best meal we had The entire week we were ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Best meal we had The entire week we were vacation.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth the wait for a west facing table a ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Worth the wait for a west facing table along the window for a great sunset. We really enjoyed the fresh scallops and wahoo. Highly recommend trying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came here for my birthday, everything wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Came here for my birthday, everything was great! Although we had to wait 20 minutes after our reservation, we had a great table and waitress. We got appetizers that we're all great and the scallops. Everything was great

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I met my daughter for brunch. I ordered ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I met my daughter for brunch. I ordered champagne; the bottle was flat. Our waiter, Colin, was a totally professional and nice guy, although he waited to ask me if I thought it was flat, too. We ordered the calimari- it was to die for, and the jalapeno dipping sauce was really, really good! My daughter had a "skillet"- a bunch of potatoes and veggies with two very poached eggs plopped on top. Nothing special or particularly tasty. I ordered smoked salmon, which came with all the right trimmings except for some fresh dill. The lettuce on the plate was completely wilted. If it was not for our completely charming and attentive waiter I would give the experience lower marks. The restaurant and view are stunning, which made the meal a pleasure. I have eaten there before with no complaints! Making a reservation is the way to go; no wait out in the heat.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Awesome - love it! Good food!! Best Br ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Awesome - love it!

Good food!! Best Brunch in town!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This restautant was nice, the staff were ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This restautant was nice, the staff were friendly from the hostess stand to the waiter. Live music made the atmosphere more romantic including the nice views and night breeze. The oysters, grouper, lobster mac and cheese were great and to top it all off the dark and stormy was a nice cocktail.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

This evening we were not in a rush and o ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This evening we were not in a rush and our server was more than happy to allow us to take our time ordering. Always a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service - very impressed ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food and service - very impressed with everything - will definitely come back one day!

Tags: group bookings, scenic view, neighbourhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our evening was very lovely. Colin our ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our evening was very lovely. Colin our server was great very professional and friendly. Our desert was comped because it was our anniversary which was very kind. Both our dinners were delicious. I don't think the food or the service could have been better. Definitely one of our favorite spots for special dinners.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Only thing that comes to mind to summari ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Only thing that comes to mind to summarize our experience......Perfection on a Plate....

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grand Marlin is a fabulous resturant. It ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Grand Marlin is a fabulous resturant.

It does get very loud at times, however this is because everyone is enjoying themselves so much!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food with beautiful views. Ver ...

 
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent food with beautiful views. Very romantic. We were seated near several large groups and the noise level was the only negative to our meal. Definitely save room for dessert. The bananas foster pound cake was amazing. Outstanding service too.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although we have been going to Pensacola ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Although we have been going to Pensacola for the past 4 years to see the Blue Angels it was our first trip to the Grand Marlin since we never drive once we get to the hotel.

So glad we decided to make our anniversary a special one and go to the Grand Marlin this week.

The secluded private booth made it romantic, the server was educated on the dinner options and drinks. The red snapper couldn't have been fresher.

We chose the handmade pralines cup for dessert with ice cream and berries trimmed with caramel.......it was so worth the calories.

We will be making this an annual part of our vacation. Thanks to OpenTable for making the reservation process so easy

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Husband and I were celebrating our 32 ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

My Husband and I were celebrating our 32nd wedding anniversary. After the excellent dinner we were served a special Dessert for the occasion. It was perfect. It was quite Noisy , Not a place to have a romantic Quiet Dinner..

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The red snapper was excellent as was the ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The red snapper was excellent as was the rest of our food. They had a kids menu and we got a table overlooking the water which was beautiful at sunset.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent dining experience. Great food, ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent dining experience. Great food, great service (thanks Jake)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to your restaurant for the first ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We went to your restaurant for the first time and were very pleased with the food and the prices. We will be returning for our next special occasion. Thanks for a very memorable evening of dining!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was exceptional with an excelle ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was exceptional with an excellent view and service. It was the last night of our vacation and we could not have made a better choice. We dined in some of the top resturants in New Orleans on this trip and the food was far superior to many of those resturants and spent 1/3 less.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our server, Colin D, made the evening es ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Our server, Colin D, made the evening especially enjoyable. He was very accommodating and the food was wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best place to dine on the beach. Always ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Best place to dine on the beach. Always great and attentive service by servers who really seem happy to see you. The food is always top shelf and beautifully plated. Always a pleasure to dine there.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding service and food. Highly rec ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Outstanding service and food. Highly recommend the grouper!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We reserved a table on the fourth of Ju ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We reserved a table on the fourth of July. We specifically requested an outside table and luckily we got one!! We watched the fireworks from the patio and the food-as well as the service- was amazing! I mentioned that on my credit form.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food, fireworks over the bat, a ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Fabulous food, fireworks over the bat, and great service on the 4th of July. The Snapper was the bomb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was yummy! Service was great. View ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Food was yummy! Service was great. View was awesome!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a beach restaurant not a fine dini ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It is a beach restaurant not a fine dining experience so go ahead and wear your shorts and flip flops. The fish is FRESH and well prepared. Very expensive and extremely over priced wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

The Grand Marlin was wonderful, my husba ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The Grand Marlin was wonderful, my husband and I decided to visit this establishment while we were staying in Panama Beach based on the reviews. The food was delicious and the service was good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food; largest oysters around: Oyst ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great food; largest oysters around: Oysters Rockefeller are incredible. The service was excellent. The ambiance is not conducive for whisper conversations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My dinner was fantastic! And the present ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

My dinner was fantastic! And the presentation superb. The gentleman at the front desk, Evan, was especially welcoming and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal for most. There were 15 of I ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Great meal for most. There were 15 of I sandal but one would give it big thumbs up one ordered crab cakes which tested great but had some shells.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous night with exquisite food!!! LO ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Fabulous night with exquisite food!!! LOVED the lobster!!! My husband and I were both thrilled with our entree choices with enough leftover to take home!! Will def be back to visit and our waitress was superb and very attentive. THANK YOU!!! Also loved the reservation system as we walked right in and were seated!😊

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.