About The Good Son Restaurant

1096 Queen St. West
Toronto, ON M6J 1H9
View Larger Map

Our menu is a reflection of the melting pot of cultures that has gentrified the Queen West neighbourhood in Toronto. With a focus on local and seasonal organic produce, hormone free and free range proteins, the menu has been designed for guests to share plates, in an effort to create a convivial and social dining experience. The heart of our kitchen bolsters a wood-fired oven & wood-fired grill that has been imported all the way from Mam Forni, Italy.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Pizzeria, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - CLOSED
Tuesday - Thursday: 6:00pm-11:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 11am-3:00pm
Sunday Dinner: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Queen & Dovercourt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 551-0589

Website:
http://thegoodsontoronto.com/

Executive Chef:
Vittorio Colacitti

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Private Dining

We offer a semi-private dining experience on our chef's table, full private buyout for the whole restaurant or Wayward (located above the restaurant).

The Good Son Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Wood Oven (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
See All
Good for Groups (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Casual (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Cozy (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Fun (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Romantic (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Authentic (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Tapas (3)
Seasonal (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Business Meals (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
177 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great atmosphere very cool decor. Interesting, eclectic brunch menu. Nice and cozy. We came in right at open, one of the first ones there by the time we left it was very full.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Phenomanal all around experience! Amazing food, amazing staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I love this restaurant until I went there for brunch, menu with few brunch options, overpriced and not a GF option. horrible. Expected more for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was our second trip to the Good Son and, much like the first, it did not disappoint. The cocktails are awesome. The food was spot on. Two of us split three appetizers and half a dozen oysters. Service was good. It's not cheap, but it will compete with any restaurant in the city at this price point. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food at The Good Son was excellent! My husband and I went for brunch with another couple. My girlfriend and I had the chicken and waffles which were delicious! But we found the portions a little small as we were both still a little hungry afterwards. My husband and our other friend had the pork cheek eggs Benny which was also amazing! The service was a bit slow but the servers were very nice. The vibe and look of this restaurant is really cool with a random old school feel....mismatched wooden tables, old bookshelves and an assortment of plates, old pictures and other things on the wall. We're definitely going to check it out again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always a pleasure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Delicious food and good service, loved the atmosphere. We were comped an after dinner drink because we had to wait for a table despite a reservation. Very nice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Can't wait to go back to try everything else on the menu! Service was great from start to finish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We had a lovely dinner on Tuesday evening. we were 4 people and it was a birthday celebration for our son. The space is great - cozy , warm and inviting. Staff was friendly however could have been more helpful when asking for suggestions - we know that it depends on what we like however sometimes you are just looking for recommendations.

We ordered Ceviche, jerk shrimp, brussel sprouts and warm olives. All were good however ceviche could have had more fish and less avocado and jerk shrimp were tasty but were more like Thai Shrimp. Mains were miso cod, octopus, burger and pineapple pizza - all were good.

chocolate hazelnut ice cream on the dessert platter was the best.

We would definitely come again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Authentic, Tapas, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Love this place. The only upset was we had a reservation and they had us wait 20-30 mins before being seated without giving any initial explanation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was a nice find and we would definitely go back. The room is really quite beautiful with very high ceilings but that also makes it super loud! It was tough to carry on a conversation at times. Our dishes were generally very good, but the one main (the short rib) was a bit oily - flavour was good, though. The scallops were excellent as was the beet salad, and service very friendly. We will definitely go back if we are in the area!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent customer service! And the food was yummy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Wood Oven, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Went out with the girls for a birthday dinner and thoroughly enjoyed the food and vibe. Service is casual but excellent. Best brussel sprouts I've ever had!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Overall the good son was a great place to get away for a bite to eat with my partner. The staff were friendly and very attentive. The only minor note was that the music was fairly loud so it was hard to have a conversation. The food was great and the portion sizes are healthy. We will definitely be back to try some more menu options

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Loved the jerk shrimp and squash hummus and the weekly special! Great place!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Very nice dining experience. The only disappointment was getting two scallops on my $25 Digby scallop entre. Other than that foodies will enjoy it. Brussel sprouts ap was particularly good. Note that the menu is quite a bit smaller than the last time I was there.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I went here for brunch and had the Filipino breakfast. It exceeded my expectations. It was crazy delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Fabulous food! Fun atmosphere

Dave our server was very attentive and made the evening fun too!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food was heavy and expensive- too much sauce on everything, overdone and very pricey. Trying too hard BUT the service was great and I would go back - unless I wanted a really GOOD meal in terms of health and ordinary dinner- maybe better for an appetizer and a drink...

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food was amazing so tasty, comforting and unique experience. Ive never tasted French fries that good :) The pizza was perfectly stove oven baked and delicious. Ambiance so cozy, relaxing and fun. I really enjoyed the array of wall décor - a first for me and totally thought it was so cool with a bit of nostalgia at the same time. Service top notch - "Jar" was a professional - well mannered - just refreshing. Thank you - I will definitely dine at The Goodson again. :)

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Lovely rustic setting. Excellent dishes, and interesting cocktails. Nice bathrooms!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Very slow service made worse by forgetful and uncourteous server.

  • forgot to punch in our drink order

  • meal took an inordinate amount of time to arrive

  • never checked in on us during the meal nor did the server make himself available to be flagged down (brushed us off on a few occasions)

  • when I was finally able to get his attention at the end of the meal I mentioned that the fish was tasteless at the end of the meal the server simply replied: "you should've told me earlier"

  • was offered no recompense

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Fabulous food, attentive servers, creative food & drink menu. A simply wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 29, 2016

Meh. There was plastic in the guac. The meal was meh. The service was meh. Good son used to be good and as per usual a Toronto restaurant slips

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our server, Dave, was great. Very knowledgeable about the menu and diet specific items, able to suggest good wine pairing, plus was very friendly and sociable.

Their handmade gelato are wickedly good!

Can't wait to come back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Went here for a late dinner while visiting the city. The decor is really unique and fun to look at and the restaurant has a great vibe. Loved the mid-matched furniture and art. The large open window at the front is a great cool spot to enjoy nice weather over a drink or meal. Our table was kind of in a corner so service was slightly spotty just because our waitress couldn't see us but everyone was incredibly nice so it didn't bother me. We had this asparagus salad with an egg (perfection), the ceviche appetizer (also great), the special pasta (which was bland and a tiny serving), and the steak frites which I absolutely loved, the sauces and fries were great and the steal was cooked perfectly. Great way to spend a night in Toronto!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 8, 2016

A few buddies and I got together on a Wednesday night for some food, drinks and just to catch up on things. The place is perfect, cozy, casual, rustic with a great vibe..We ordered off the share menu, food was so good and & the drinks, they know how to mix, try the Mojito or the 'Don Draper 'aka' The Old Fashioned..... staff was attentive and friendly. To sum up the whole night i got an email from one of my buddies the next morning for thanking me in organizing the dinner and his comments were....'life can't get any better or more simple than this, Great Friends, Great Food, Great Spot.....Great Time'

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 30, 2016

Love their wood oven pizzas! Try the prosciutto pizza, it's amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 22, 2015

We discovered The Good Son walking past late one night and peered through the door after it had closed. The decor alone encouraged us to try it. It was admittedly a challenge trying to find an open time to book a reservation, so I booked a month in advance.

They also know how to make a nice martini, which seems to be a weak point of a lot of restaurants of this calibre these days, so we were happy. We loved the lobster guacamole and our mains were wonderful. Great decor - very warm and cozy - much like sitting in someone's library. We didn't mind the noise level as we would much prefer to hear people talking and laughing than loud music.

Will definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 2, 2015

The Good Son is a must go to restaurant when visiting Toronto!! Classy yet trendy,serving a culturally diverse menu of delicious dishes. We were a group of 4 and each loved our menu choices. Our Server, Brent was top notch,extremely knowledgeable and helped make the evening fabulous! Fresh local ingredients transformed into gourmet dishes.The Margherita pizza is out of this world & as close to Italy as possible. The burger was mouth watering, and the steak was cooked to perfection. One of the table highlights was the Brussels sprouts side dish that was bursting with flavour and was just spicy enough for the palate to become addicted. Great overall experience and would highly recommend! Awesome Vibe!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 21, 2015

My first time here I loved the food more than anything. This time it wasn't as perfect but still amazing. The look and feel of this place also makes the evening. I love it here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 19, 2015

Food was excellent and the atmosphere was amazing. It's definitely a great brunch spot! The food just took a lot longer than expected and our waiter was not very welcoming. We had to follow up ourselves as oppose to keeping us up to speed on our meals.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 17, 2015

I took my wife after hearing such great things about the food. The Good Son met the hype and exceeded our expectations.

Can't wait to go back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 12, 2015

Beautiful bistro with quint playful ambience that hints at the sumpious, flavourful meal your about to have. Definitely nice place to spend lunch/ brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 11, 2015

Very interesting menu with great service and fun environment. Next time we'll try the tasting menu. Go with a group so you can try everything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 8, 2015

Great food service and ambiance. We had steak tartar and ceviche as appetizers. Our mains were pizza with rabbit bacon, ribs on crunchy brown rice and rabbit on quinoa with rapini. Dessert was a board of tastings. It was truly fabulous. Thank you to Vi for allowing us to essentially experience an Omakasu (Chef's pleasure) serving. Our server was also fabulous - perfect amount of attention.

And let me not forget about the cocktails, wine and beer selection - all our sophisticated range or pallets were satisfied.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 3, 2015

We were finally sat an hour after our reservation time of 9:15. We had our drinks on the table fairly quickly, but it took about another hour before our food arrived. It was good food, but eating dinner at nearly midnight wasn't super pleasant. We weren't offerred any compensation or extras for the outrageous wait, either. But, the food is really good and the serving staff are friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 3, 2015

We had a great time. From the experience of the hostess greeting us kindly and accommodating us after being 15 minutes late for our reservation. Food was great and even the owners were walking around greeting people, which as nice. It was busy for a Thursday night so I can understand delay in drinks and food but our server definitely needed improvement on checking in to see if we needed more drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 2, 2015

Special occasion enjoyed excellent food - octopus, scallops, ribs had amazing flavors. Service was very attentive and relaxed. Enjpyable atmosphere in room with unique decor and people vibe. Go for the fireplace table and wingchairsif you want to chill for a while. Great addition to Queen W hood.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 1, 2015

The decor was fantastic - you can tell that every piece was chosen with care and purpose. Just a great homey, comfortable and warm feeling.

Food was well executed and tasty. It wasn't revolutionary and a bit expensive but there was some choice items, namely the brussels sprouts.

The drinks, on the other hand, were exorbitant. $11 for a pint of Steamwhistle? I am more than happy to shell out $11 for a pint of a unique imported micro brew or a specialty batch of a local small brewery but for a plain ol steamwhistle? That is just greedy.

Our server was extremely pleasant (so don't misread my rating) but her wine knowledge was terrible, even at the most very fundamental level. Notable statement 'well all sparkling wine is a little bit sweet (wrong) but it's not as sweet as a rose' (wrong again and also neither here nor there, if you will).

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 28, 2015

Good food and great service. Our waitress helped us pick everything from the drinks to our appetizers and main entrée. The atmosphere was alive and somewhat loud. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 27, 2015

Must try the sea bream ceviche! It's so flavourful. Other foods we ate that were absolutely delicious that I consumed during my visit: oysters (yum!), steak tartare, and the bulgogi short ribs. Thinking about it makes me hungry.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 26, 2015

Expect to pay $60 to $80 a bottle minimum. Only two reds on the wine list were in the mid-fifties, and nothing less. This is far too expensive to pair with a pizza or hamburger.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 24, 2015

Good eclectic dinner place for business or friends

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 21, 2015

My husband and I had the eggs benedict for brunch. It was served with pork cheek. I found the cheek to fatty and would have preferred a leaner p-meal bacon. My friend had tea which was a tea bag in a cup of hot water. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 15, 2015

Service was professional and genuine. Food was inventive and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
·Dined on March 14, 2015

Very delicious food. Service was only OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 14, 2015

recommend visit with a group of 4, and try the tasting menu!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 8, 2015

Friend ordered a French press - when pressing down the filter, coffee spilled out (to be fair, probably should have given it a few minutes). Waiter did not apologize or replace the pot. Used the napkins at the table and also did not replace those. Would appreciate better attitude.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.