Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About The Good Son Restaurant

Our menu is a reflection of the melting pot of cultures that has gentrified the Queen West neighbourhood in Toronto. With a focus on local and seasonal organic produce, hormone free and free range proteins, the menu has been designed for guests to share plates, in an effort to create a convivial and social dining experience. The heart of our kitchen bolsters a wood-fired oven & wood-fired grill that has been imported all the way from Mam Forni, Italy.

1096 Queen St. West
Toronto, ON M6J 1H9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Pizzeria, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - CLOSED
Tuesday - Thursday: 6:00pm-11:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 11am-3:00pm
Sunday Dinner: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Queen & Dovercourt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 551-0589

Website:
http://thegoodsontoronto.com/

Executive Chef:
Vittorio Colacitti

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Private Dining

We offer a semi-private dining experience on our chef's table, full private buyout for the whole restaurant or Wayward (located above the restaurant).

The Good Son Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Wood Oven (20)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
See All
Cozy (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Romantic (11)
Fun (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Casual (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Authentic (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Tapas (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Business Meals (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
186 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

This is an AMAZING restaurant. Food is delicious, wiht a great range of vegetarian and gluten free options. The range is from healthy to comfort. Exquisite settings! One of my favourites in the city. Delicious wine .

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 19, 2017

It's a good think the food was so good, as the service stank. One of the hostesses was quite snooty. Waiter messed up more times than we could count. A comped coffee would've been nice. Food was spectacular!!! For that reason. Alone, we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Really good. Great service drinks and food. Highly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 12, 2017

As my son said: this restaurant is a perfect representation of quality over quantity. Food and ambiance are very enjoyable but brunch options are overpriced for what you get and will not make you feel full. The French toast with roasted apples was delicious but you just get the slides from a quarter of an apple. The guacamole in the huevos rancheros is a table spoon from half avocado. Long story short, we had to share a pizza among the 4 of us to complement the 105 CAD brunch for food and coffees.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Second visit and was as good as the first. Came back for the Tartare. Excellent again. Ordered the bulgogi short ribs, found there was not enough kimchi slaw. Our server Tyler was was great. He managed the table beautifully. Hopefully he isn't scarred for life.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Poor service, wait staff seemed very frustrated and took it out on customers.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great ambience and attentive staff. Shared plates were delicious. Mains were hit-and-miss and we waited too long between courses. I loved my papadelle but my friend was not as keen about his (undercooked) kimchi rice and short ribs. Overall, an enjoyable experience and would go again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Really good meal as always. Half price wine bottles on Sundays... Yay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Great atmosphere. Nice interior decor. Good food. Half price for wine bottles on sunday. Service was good but can be a bit slow. Music playing in the background is a bit muffled. Overall good experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great atmosphere very cool decor. Interesting, eclectic brunch menu. Nice and cozy. We came in right at open, one of the first ones there by the time we left it was very full.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Phenomanal all around experience! Amazing food, amazing staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I love this restaurant until I went there for brunch, menu with few brunch options, overpriced and not a GF option. horrible. Expected more for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was our second trip to the Good Son and, much like the first, it did not disappoint. The cocktails are awesome. The food was spot on. Two of us split three appetizers and half a dozen oysters. Service was good. It's not cheap, but it will compete with any restaurant in the city at this price point. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food at The Good Son was excellent! My husband and I went for brunch with another couple. My girlfriend and I had the chicken and waffles which were delicious! But we found the portions a little small as we were both still a little hungry afterwards. My husband and our other friend had the pork cheek eggs Benny which was also amazing! The service was a bit slow but the servers were very nice. The vibe and look of this restaurant is really cool with a random old school feel....mismatched wooden tables, old bookshelves and an assortment of plates, old pictures and other things on the wall. We're definitely going to check it out again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always a pleasure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Delicious food and good service, loved the atmosphere. We were comped an after dinner drink because we had to wait for a table despite a reservation. Very nice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Can't wait to go back to try everything else on the menu! Service was great from start to finish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We had a lovely dinner on Tuesday evening. we were 4 people and it was a birthday celebration for our son. The space is great - cozy , warm and inviting. Staff was friendly however could have been more helpful when asking for suggestions - we know that it depends on what we like however sometimes you are just looking for recommendations.
We ordered Ceviche, jerk shrimp, brussel sprouts and warm olives. All were good however ceviche could have had more fish and less avocado and jerk shrimp were tasty but were more like Thai Shrimp. Mains were miso cod, octopus, burger and pineapple pizza - all were good.
chocolate hazelnut ice cream on the dessert platter was the best.
We would definitely come again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Authentic, Tapas, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Love this place. The only upset was we had a reservation and they had us wait 20-30 mins before being seated without giving any initial explanation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was a nice find and we would definitely go back. The room is really quite beautiful with very high ceilings but that also makes it super loud! It was tough to carry on a conversation at times. Our dishes were generally very good, but the one main (the short rib) was a bit oily - flavour was good, though. The scallops were excellent as was the beet salad, and service very friendly. We will definitely go back if we are in the area!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent customer service! And the food was yummy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Wood Oven, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Went out with the girls for a birthday dinner and thoroughly enjoyed the food and vibe. Service is casual but excellent. Best brussel sprouts I've ever had!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Overall the good son was a great place to get away for a bite to eat with my partner. The staff were friendly and very attentive. The only minor note was that the music was fairly loud so it was hard to have a conversation. The food was great and the portion sizes are healthy. We will definitely be back to try some more menu options

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Loved the jerk shrimp and squash hummus and the weekly special! Great place!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Very nice dining experience. The only disappointment was getting two scallops on my $25 Digby scallop entre. Other than that foodies will enjoy it. Brussel sprouts ap was particularly good. Note that the menu is quite a bit smaller than the last time I was there.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I went here for brunch and had the Filipino breakfast. It exceeded my expectations. It was crazy delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Fabulous food! Fun atmosphere
Dave our server was very attentive and made the evening fun too!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food was heavy and expensive- too much sauce on everything, overdone and very pricey. Trying too hard BUT the service was great and I would go back - unless I wanted a really GOOD meal in terms of health and ordinary dinner- maybe better for an appetizer and a drink...

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food was amazing so tasty, comforting and unique experience. Ive never tasted French fries that good :) The pizza was perfectly stove oven baked and delicious. Ambiance so cozy, relaxing and fun. I really enjoyed the array of wall décor - a first for me and totally thought it was so cool with a bit of nostalgia at the same time. Service top notch - "Jar" was a professional - well mannered - just refreshing. Thank you - I will definitely dine at The Goodson again. :)

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Lovely rustic setting. Excellent dishes, and interesting cocktails. Nice bathrooms!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Very slow service made worse by forgetful and uncourteous server.
- forgot to punch in our drink order
- meal took an inordinate amount of time to arrive
- never checked in on us during the meal nor did the server make himself available to be flagged down (brushed us off on a few occasions)
- when I was finally able to get his attention at the end of the meal I mentioned that the fish was tasteless at the end of the meal the server simply replied: "you should've told me earlier"
- was offered no recompense

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Fabulous food, attentive servers, creative food & drink menu. A simply wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 29, 2016

Meh. There was plastic in the guac. The meal was meh. The service was meh. Good son used to be good and as per usual a Toronto restaurant slips

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our server, Dave, was great. Very knowledgeable about the menu and diet specific items, able to suggest good wine pairing, plus was very friendly and sociable.

Their handmade gelato are wickedly good!

Can't wait to come back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Went here for a late dinner while visiting the city. The decor is really unique and fun to look at and the restaurant has a great vibe. Loved the mid-matched furniture and art. The large open window at the front is a great cool spot to enjoy nice weather over a drink or meal. Our table was kind of in a corner so service was slightly spotty just because our waitress couldn't see us but everyone was incredibly nice so it didn't bother me. We had this asparagus salad with an egg (perfection), the ceviche appetizer (also great), the special pasta (which was bland and a tiny serving), and the steak frites which I absolutely loved, the sauces and fries were great and the steal was cooked perfectly. Great way to spend a night in Toronto!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 8, 2016

A few buddies and I got together on a Wednesday night for some food, drinks and just to catch up on things. The place is perfect, cozy, casual, rustic with a great vibe..We ordered off the share menu, food was so good and & the drinks, they know how to mix, try the Mojito or the 'Don Draper 'aka' The Old Fashioned..... staff was attentive and friendly. To sum up the whole night i got an email from one of my buddies the next morning for thanking me in organizing the dinner and his comments were....'life can't get any better or more simple than this, Great Friends, Great Food, Great Spot.....Great Time'

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 30, 2016

Love their wood oven pizzas! Try the prosciutto pizza, it's amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 22, 2015

We discovered The Good Son walking past late one night and peered through the door after it had closed. The decor alone encouraged us to try it. It was admittedly a challenge trying to find an open time to book a reservation, so I booked a month in advance.

They also know how to make a nice martini, which seems to be a weak point of a lot of restaurants of this calibre these days, so we were happy. We loved the lobster guacamole and our mains were wonderful. Great decor - very warm and cozy - much like sitting in someone's library. We didn't mind the noise level as we would much prefer to hear people talking and laughing than loud music.

Will definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 2, 2015

The Good Son is a must go to restaurant when visiting Toronto!! Classy yet trendy,serving a culturally diverse menu of delicious dishes. We were a group of 4 and each loved our menu choices. Our Server, Brent was top notch,extremely knowledgeable and helped make the evening fabulous! Fresh local ingredients transformed into gourmet dishes.The Margherita pizza is out of this world & as close to Italy as possible. The burger was mouth watering, and the steak was cooked to perfection. One of the table highlights was the Brussels sprouts side dish that was bursting with flavour and was just spicy enough for the palate to become addicted. Great overall experience and would highly recommend! Awesome Vibe!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.