About The Good Son Restaurant

1096 Queen St W
Toronto, ON M6J 1H9
View Larger Map

*** Please email us at info@thegoodsontoronto.com for groups of 8 or more***

The Good Son is a neighbourhood restaurant and bar embracing the local Queen Street culture. Stop by for a quick drink or a quick bite, or to stay the entire night and eat and drink whatever and wherever you like. The menu is a reflection of the melting pot of cultures that has gentrified Queen Street West, with a focus on local and seasonal organic produce, hormone free and free range proteins, and most importantly, shared food. The menu will is designed so that guests are encouraged to share plates, to create the ultimate social dining experience. The heart of the kitchen is the wood-fired oven - not only used for traditionally made pizza, but we also feature diverse items being roasted in the wood oven.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Pizzeria, Oyster Bar

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday 6:00pm-11:00pm
Wednesday 6:00pm-11:00pm
Thursday 6:00pm-11:00pm
Friday 6:00pm-12:00am
Saturday 5:00pm-12:00am
Sunday Brunch 11am-3:00pm
Sunday 6:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Queen & Dovercourt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 551-0589

Website:
http://thegoodsontoronto.com/

Executive Chef:
Vittorio Colacitti

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Good Son Restaurant, Toronto, ON
Thegoodson - The Good Son Restaurant, Toronto, ON
The Good Son Restaurant, Toronto, ON
The Good Son Restaurant, Toronto, ON
The Good Son Restaurant, Toronto, ON
The Good Son Restaurant, Toronto, ON
The Good Son Restaurant, Toronto, ON
The Good Son Restaurant, Toronto, ON
The Good Son Restaurant, Toronto, ON
The Good Son Restaurant, Toronto, ON
The Good Son Restaurant, Toronto, ON

The Good Son Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Seasonal (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Historic (1)
See All
Modern Decor (1)
Tapas (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
158 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was amazing so tasty, comfortin ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food was amazing so tasty, comforting and unique experience. Ive never tasted French fries that good :) The pizza was perfectly stove oven baked and delicious. Ambiance so cozy, relaxing and fun. I really enjoyed the array of wall décor - a first for me and totally thought it was so cool with a bit of nostalgia at the same time. Service top notch - "Jar" was a professional - well mannered - just refreshing. Thank you - I will definitely dine at The Goodson again. :)

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely rustic setting. Excellent dishes, ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Lovely rustic setting. Excellent dishes, and interesting cocktails. Nice bathrooms!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very slow service made worse by forgetfu ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Very slow service made worse by forgetful and uncourteous server.

  • forgot to punch in our drink order

  • meal took an inordinate amount of time to arrive

  • never checked in on us during the meal nor did the server make himself available to be flagged down (brushed us off on a few occasions)

  • when I was finally able to get his attention at the end of the meal I mentioned that the fish was tasteless at the end of the meal the server simply replied: "you should've told me earlier"

  • was offered no recompense

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Fabulous food, attentive servers, creati ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Fabulous food, attentive servers, creative food & drink menu. A simply wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Meh. There was plastic in the guac. The ...

vip
 (Edinburgh)·Dined on June 29, 2016

Meh. There was plastic in the guac. The meal was meh. The service was meh. Good son used to be good and as per usual a Toronto restaurant slips

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Our server, Dave, was great. Very knowl ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our server, Dave, was great. Very knowledgeable about the menu and diet specific items, able to suggest good wine pairing, plus was very friendly and sociable.

Their handmade gelato are wickedly good!

Can't wait to come back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went here for a late dinner while visiti ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Went here for a late dinner while visiting the city. The decor is really unique and fun to look at and the restaurant has a great vibe. Loved the mid-matched furniture and art. The large open window at the front is a great cool spot to enjoy nice weather over a drink or meal. Our table was kind of in a corner so service was slightly spotty just because our waitress couldn't see us but everyone was incredibly nice so it didn't bother me. We had this asparagus salad with an egg (perfection), the ceviche appetizer (also great), the special pasta (which was bland and a tiny serving), and the steak frites which I absolutely loved, the sauces and fries were great and the steal was cooked perfectly. Great way to spend a night in Toronto!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Guys Are All Here!

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 8, 2016

A few buddies and I got together on a Wednesday night for some food, drinks and just to catch up on things. The place is perfect, cozy, casual, rustic with a great vibe..We ordered off the share menu, food was so good and & the drinks, they know how to mix, try the Mojito or the 'Don Draper 'aka' The Old Fashioned..... staff was attentive and friendly. To sum up the whole night i got an email from one of my buddies the next morning for thanking me in organizing the dinner and his comments were....'life can't get any better or more simple than this, Great Friends, Great Food, Great Spot.....Great Time'

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Love their wood oven pizzas! Try the pro ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 30, 2016

Love their wood oven pizzas! Try the prosciutto pizza, it's amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great as always

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Will definitely return!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 22, 2015

We discovered The Good Son walking past late one night and peered through the door after it had closed. The decor alone encouraged us to try it. It was admittedly a challenge trying to find an open time to book a reservation, so I booked a month in advance.

They also know how to make a nice martini, which seems to be a weak point of a lot of restaurants of this calibre these days, so we were happy. We loved the lobster guacamole and our mains were wonderful. Great decor - very warm and cozy - much like sitting in someone's library. We didn't mind the noise level as we would much prefer to hear people talking and laughing than loud music.

Will definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fabulous Foodie Experience!

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 2, 2015

The Good Son is a must go to restaurant when visiting Toronto!! Classy yet trendy,serving a culturally diverse menu of delicious dishes. We were a group of 4 and each loved our menu choices. Our Server, Brent was top notch,extremely knowledgeable and helped make the evening fabulous! Fresh local ingredients transformed into gourmet dishes.The Margherita pizza is out of this world & as close to Italy as possible. The burger was mouth watering, and the steak was cooked to perfection. One of the table highlights was the Brussels sprouts side dish that was bursting with flavour and was just spicy enough for the palate to become addicted. Great overall experience and would highly recommend! Awesome Vibe!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My first time here I loved the food more ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 21, 2015

My first time here I loved the food more than anything. This time it wasn't as perfect but still amazing. The look and feel of this place also makes the evening. I love it here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent and the atmosphere wa ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 19, 2015

Food was excellent and the atmosphere was amazing. It's definitely a great brunch spot! The food just took a lot longer than expected and our waiter was not very welcoming. We had to follow up ourselves as oppose to keeping us up to speed on our meals.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Amazing

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 17, 2015

I took my wife after hearing such great things about the food. The Good Son met the hype and exceeded our expectations.

Can't wait to go back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Clocks!

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 12, 2015

Beautiful bistro with quint playful ambience that hints at the sumpious, flavourful meal your about to have. Definitely nice place to spend lunch/ brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent all around.

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 11, 2015

Very interesting menu with great service and fun environment. Next time we'll try the tasting menu. Go with a group so you can try everything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dining experience :)

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 8, 2015

Great food service and ambiance. We had steak tartar and ceviche as appetizers. Our mains were pizza with rabbit bacon, ribs on crunchy brown rice and rabbit on quinoa with rapini. Dessert was a board of tastings. It was truly fabulous. Thank you to Vi for allowing us to essentially experience an Omakasu (Chef's pleasure) serving. Our server was also fabulous - perfect amount of attention.

And let me not forget about the cocktails, wine and beer selection - all our sophisticated range or pallets were satisfied.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were finally sat an hour after our re ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 3, 2015

We were finally sat an hour after our reservation time of 9:15. We had our drinks on the table fairly quickly, but it took about another hour before our food arrived. It was good food, but eating dinner at nearly midnight wasn't super pleasant. We weren't offerred any compensation or extras for the outrageous wait, either. But, the food is really good and the serving staff are friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Great Vibe. Server was Frustrating

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 3, 2015

We had a great time. From the experience of the hostess greeting us kindly and accommodating us after being 15 minutes late for our reservation. Food was great and even the owners were walking around greeting people, which as nice. It was busy for a Thursday night so I can understand delay in drinks and food but our server definitely needed improvement on checking in to see if we needed more drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

1st time dinner for 2 was outstanding!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 2, 2015

Special occasion enjoyed excellent food - octopus, scallops, ribs had amazing flavors. Service was very attentive and relaxed. Enjpyable atmosphere in room with unique decor and people vibe. Go for the fireplace table and wingchairsif you want to chill for a while. Great addition to Queen W hood.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A+ for atmosphere

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 1, 2015

The decor was fantastic - you can tell that every piece was chosen with care and purpose. Just a great homey, comfortable and warm feeling.

Food was well executed and tasty. It wasn't revolutionary and a bit expensive but there was some choice items, namely the brussels sprouts.

The drinks, on the other hand, were exorbitant. $11 for a pint of Steamwhistle? I am more than happy to shell out $11 for a pint of a unique imported micro brew or a specialty batch of a local small brewery but for a plain ol steamwhistle? That is just greedy.

Our server was extremely pleasant (so don't misread my rating) but her wine knowledge was terrible, even at the most very fundamental level. Notable statement 'well all sparkling wine is a little bit sweet (wrong) but it's not as sweet as a rose' (wrong again and also neither here nor there, if you will).

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Good food and great service. Our waitres ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 28, 2015

Good food and great service. Our waitress helped us pick everything from the drinks to our appetizers and main entrée. The atmosphere was alive and somewhat loud. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food, great service!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 27, 2015

Must try the sea bream ceviche! It's so flavourful. Other foods we ate that were absolutely delicious that I consumed during my visit: oysters (yum!), steak tartare, and the bulgogi short ribs. Thinking about it makes me hungry.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nothing Affordable on Wine List

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 26, 2015

Expect to pay $60 to $80 a bottle minimum. Only two reds on the wine list were in the mid-fifties, and nothing less. This is far too expensive to pair with a pizza or hamburger.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Great spot for casual business dinner

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 24, 2015

Good eclectic dinner place for business or friends

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My husband and I had the eggs benedict f ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 21, 2015

My husband and I had the eggs benedict for brunch. It was served with pork cheek. I found the cheek to fatty and would have preferred a leaner p-meal bacon. My friend had tea which was a tea bag in a cup of hot water. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Genuine

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 15, 2015

Service was professional and genuine. Food was inventive and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Very delicious food. Service was only OK ...

 
·Dined on March 14, 2015

Very delicious food. Service was only OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Tapas with a Twist

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 14, 2015

recommend visit with a group of 4, and try the tasting menu!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Service can be improved

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 8, 2015

Friend ordered a French press - when pressing down the filter, coffee spilled out (to be fair, probably should have given it a few minutes). Waiter did not apologize or replace the pot. Used the napkins at the table and also did not replace those. Would appreciate better attitude.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Poor Service

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 8, 2015

Our waiter was distracted in serving us and completely unapologetic for a long delay in serving the desert. We had specifically asked for the coffee to be served with the desert. There was a delay of about 25 minutes between the coffee and the dersert. He had nothing to say other than "I told them but the people in the kicthen are taking long". We eventually returned the desert because it arrived late and the coffee went untouched. There was no attempt on the part of the waiter or the restaurant to apologise or compensate us for this.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Really slow kitchen

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 28, 2015

There were three of us at the table for dinner at 845. We order a pizza to share to start and a plate each as a main. In between the pizza and our main we waited more than an hour! While waiting no explanation or apologies. I understand that it was busy but if you are charging $18 for a drink and your per plate cost averages $25, maybe service should be a little better. Also the burger I had was seriously undercooked in the center. Maybe if that's the way the kitchen makes it the servers should warn someone ordering it. It was beyond anything I've ever had. Someone from the table beside us also returned their burger.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Didn't disappoint!!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 25, 2015

This was my second time visiting The Good Son and as suspected, it didn't disappoint!

My first visit was in a group organized by my company and we escorted clients from out of town to a pre-set meal (with some selections available - all easily organized) which was perfect for our needs as we were on a time table. The atmospher is eclectic, warm and inviting and the food spectacular as was the presentation. This visit was completely different as there were just the two of us and we ordered from the menu which isn't huge but still has an amazing selection for all tastes. We arrived right on time for our reservation (highly recommended, BTW) and were seated immediately. The staff here are friendly, personable and efficient. We had a table for two right by the huge front "windows/garage doors" however the table is small and got a little crowded once the food arrived and we were juggling to figure out where to put the bottle of wine. Needless to say the staff are very accommodating and it all worked out fine. This place is a must see and you'll be hooked as I was and will definitely return. I've only had two meals here but both were great and i'd definitely go back. If i'm willing to take a client here for a nice meal and great atmosphere I know I'd visit personally and recommend it to any family or friends. Go and enjoy, you won't be disappointed!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food Was Exceptional

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 20, 2015

One of the best dinners we have ever had. Believe it or not, but the Brussel Sprouts were amazing! Our server Melissa was very friendly and knowledgable. Great atmosphere and extremely unique, delicious food. Cannot wait to go back and try the Brunch menu. A must-try in Toronto!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quite a Delight

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 17, 2015

It was my first time here and I must say, I was thoroughly impressed. For one, the decor was amazing and captivated me. Our server was friendly and made us feel at home. The food was simply delicious (especially the sweet potato soup). Portions were just enough which made me feel like I wasn't simply being stuffed up with food. Overall, a pretty place to dine and wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The experience matched the invoice

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 16, 2015

The entire experience was great including food, drinks, service & ambiance except the one thing we did not like was the waiter recommending a bottle of wine that was $160 as soon as we got our menus. In his defense it did feel like he was told to present in that fashion which starts off the dinner with a concern. Other then that everything was amazing and a great find!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We had a reservation for 2, and when we ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2015

We had a reservation for 2, and when we arrived there were many tables free in many different configurations. They sat us at a "high-top" (tall table with bar stools) and when we requested a different table due to physical discomfort, we were denied and told all other empty tables (like, 20 of them) were all reserved. I can't imagine everyone who reserved had actually also specifically requested a regular table, and we were there before any of the tables were filled, and we also had a reservation!) Basically, they let us know the other customers were more important, and the tables were being saved for them. There were many other 2 and 4 person tables empty at the time. Bar stools are extremely uncomfortable for a relaxing dinner, so we were disappointed to be denied our request with no real reason (we did later find out from the hostess that they were saving those other tables for friends of the owner.) We were quite achy by the time we got down off the stools.

Our server was lovely and the food was quite good. They were out of my friend's first choice of red wine and didn't have other options in the same vein within her price point.

When we made the reservation, they told us they generally allot 2 hours. We sat down at 6:45 and at 8:45 on the dot we were asked to move to the bar with our wine because the next guests had "already been waiting a long time". We were shocked. If they allot 2 hours, how could they have been waiting a long time? We would have happily moved- we'd been there two hours, after all- but to come to us the very minute our "time was up" and to phrase it that way... left us with a bad feeling for sure. Food was good, but the rest of the experience overshadowed the experience. Would not go back and would not recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

They were great and the food was great too!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2015

The staff were friendly and polite, we were the only ones in there with kids and they were very accommodating. My pregnant wife had a hard time getting on to the stool so they moved us to a nice booth. The decor is awesome, exactly how I would do it. Good job all around. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2015

The valentines day dinner was definitely not worth $70 per person. With that price I was expecting more than a burnt pizza and bland ceviche. Had to wait a good 30 minute between the first course and second course, only for it to come burnt. It was completely inedible and had to send it back. The salmon and crispy shortribs were only mediocre at best and don't even get me started on the dessert...the chocolate banana "cake" was so heavy that one bite was enough. The red velvet bits were dry and the sorbet was just the taste of pure sugar. Overall, very disappointed in the quality of food for that price. The only upside was that the drinks we had ordered were well made.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.