Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About The Good Son Restaurant

Our menu is a reflection of the melting pot of cultures that has gentrified the Queen West neighbourhood in Toronto. With a focus on local and seasonal organic produce, hormone free and free range proteins, the menu has been designed for guests to share plates, in an effort to create a convivial and social dining experience.

Our Wood-Fire Pizzas are a cross between Roma and Neapolitan styles; cooked in a wood-burning M.A.M pizza oven imported from Italy. It yields a crust that is thin but sturdy. Wood-fire capabilities are critical for our menu as the flavour imparted on the food is exceptional and unique.

Our cocktails are equally thought out as our food. Our bartenders serve up a no-nonsense cocktail program featuring fresh, seasonal ingredients that are all made in house.

1096 Queen St. West
Toronto, ON M6J 1H9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Pizzeria, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - CLOSED
Tuesday - Wednesday 6:00pm-11:00pm
Thursday: 6:00pm-11:00pm (Late Night 11pm-1am)
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm (Late Night 11pm-2am)
Sunday Brunch: 11am-3:00pm
Sunday Dinner: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Queen & Dovercourt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 551-0589

Website:
http://thegoodsontoronto.com/

Executive Chef:
Vittorio Colacitti

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Weekend Brunch, Wine

The Good Son Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (21)
Casual (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
See All
Fit for Foodies (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Fun (12)
Romantic (12)
Cozy (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Authentic (8)
People Watching (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Business Meals (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tapas (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
259 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raum Frankfurt)·Dined 3 days ago

Every plate we’ve got was extraordinary and made with care. We definitely would like to come back for other dishes and dessert too.
The place is a bit loud to have conversation thou but manageable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Service is a little slow. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

The waiter made me wait for table service for almost 15 minutes while he waited on 2 couples who came after me. When he finally got around to me I asked him why he made me wait. He was entertaining the other patrons with detailed descriptions of the menu. His excuse was he was busy waiting on patrons. I indicated that I was ahead of the patrons he was serving and I tried to get his attention but he did not make eye contact with me. I told him that next time to be more aware of his assigned space because he just lost a good tipper. Then he said, “are you ready to order?” No clue what service was about. When the bill came I asked him if he deserves a tip. He said, “I wasn’t too bad, was I?” That was it. No apologies. No tip. Zero. And bad review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I have dined with the Good Son several times in the past and had phenomenal experiences both food and service wise. A group of friends went for brunch and what a nightmare! Our food was dropped off , one dish missing for an individual. The server walked by several times and we were unable to grab his attention to notify him. Once we finally were, he asked what she had ordered. He didn't communicate very well, he didn't even apologize he just said it's on us. Once her food came out he dropped it off and ran away before we were able to ask for any sauces, salt, pepper, refills to enjoy our meals. At this point all of our dishes are cold once the forgotten dish arrives. Water refills were scarce. Overall unimpressed with the brunch service we received. We all left wishing we had gone somewhere else because it was just such a frustrating experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

The Brussel sprouts were delicious ! Great ambiance, food and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome as always. Food is terrific and the bar staff is the best in the biz

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Reservation notes reflected clearly: Birthday for my girlfriend Maggie.

Server publically announced the surprise sparkling wine... 10 minutes before it arrived. Failed to put candle on Cake.

Tartar was overeasoned

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 6 days ago

Great pizzas. The struggle of most restaurants is consistency. Brussel sprouts is one of my favs. This time it had to be sent back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Took a girlfriend for her birthday dinner and had a great experience! It was both of our first times there and would go back again and again. Had a cozy ambience and our server was friendly and knowledgable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Awesome food and service! My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and the staff took care of us. Highly recommend to everyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

A friend recommended the place and everything exceeded our expectations. The chicken was cooked perfectly, and the flavour of all the dishes was just the right balance. The decor was enchanting as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Love the ambiance. The fish of the day was good. I had the ribs which I was disappointed with. Appetizers and sides were good. Great place to go with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Great food and fantastic waiter! Perfect night.
Waiter's suggestions were perfect for the three of us.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Awesome food and cool ambiance! Foodie-friendly; ceviche and tartare were our favorites, the ribs could have been better. Overall, creative dishes in a hip-classy environment. Good for friend outings, dates, drinks. Our waiter was great as well!

Tags: Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Late-night Find, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

went for a birthday dinner with family, which was not the right choice due to the noise level. we found the food to be good, but not amazing and quite salty. we waited an hour and 1/2 for our food, and had finished our bottle of wine before it came. they were apparently understaffed, and even when we asked for bread or a faster starter for the table since we were already starving, they said they wouldn't be able to do that. we literally were about to leave when our food arrived. in the end they comped us the bottle of wine and gave us 50% off the check, which did make us feel as though we weren't just robbed. needless to say, don't think we'll go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great atmosphere and service! Steak tartare, octopus and almond cake superb.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We had a delicious meal here which included sampling a few options from the cocktail list as well as a number of the menu items. The bureaus and jerk shrimp appetizers were AMAZING.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

This was a wonderful restaurant ! We came up to Toronto from the states & were looking to a restaurant with a few vegetarian options-- this place was perfect. I had one of the best wood oven pizzas I've ever had ( the only better one was in Italy). I found it to be very reasonably priced & the wait staff were great!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

The combination of ingredients and spices were exceptional. Each dish that had a sauce was exquisite. The server was extremely helpful in his recommendations and we ended up sharing 4 choices which was an excellent idea. Although it is not the largest menu in town, do not pass up the experience of dining here!

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

I really liked the atmosphere of the place. Food was good and the service was even better.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Glad we visited the Good Son while we were in Toronto for a business trip. Excellent in all respects.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Way way too noisy. There was a party Really should be in corner or private room not in the middle of the restaurant.
Disappointing ..even for the younger set

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Fantastic ambiance, really cool space make us feel like we were in someone's living room. Server was very polite and exceptionally helpful and friendly. Really knew his stuff! The playlist that night was fantastic. Food was unique and really tasty. Thoroughly enjoyed and will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 12, 2017

My friends an I celebrated a birthday over dinner at The Good Son on Saturday night and the evening was nothing short of amazing. I have been to the restaurant many times and have always loved the food, drink and service - but this time The Good Son really out did themselves. I had asked for a table by the front, which we received, our server was very attentive and polite and the food was absolutely outstanding. We had a bottle of the Shiraz wine to pair with a few dishes that we shared - steak and frites, shrimp, beef tartar, prosciutto pizza and brussel sprouts. It was all unbelievably tasty and I cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

The best restaurant we've ever dined at, hands down.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

The sommelier was excellent - friendly and very knowledgeable. Our long and fun discussion with her was the high point of the evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great music, great service, but what i was dissapointed about was the food. which is a pretty big deal! pizza was cold, cauliflower was too salty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 2, 2017

We had a great evening at The Good Son restaurant. We really enjoyed the shared plates format for the meal. They had a great selection of beer and a nice wine list. The waiter was very helpful, assisting us with suggestions from the menu and having our meals delivered so that they were easy to share. I look forward to returning the next time that I'm in the area.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

We had a great night. Interesting yummy food. Good staff that took care of us. Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 26, 2017

When I made a reservation on OpenTable, I was asked whether I wanted a regular or a high top table I asked for a regular. When we arrived on time for our reservation, the hostess had no idea I requested a regular table, and we were sat at a high top since nothing else was available. Why bother asking for preferences when no attention is paid? Other than that, food and service were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 25, 2017

This is the second time I’ve been to The Good Son and once again, it amazed me. The food is absolutely delicious. We had a nice table near the open front window which is great if the weather allows. One of my favourites in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Excellent selection of drinks. Ribs and steak stellar as were the shucked oysters. Service is on point!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Th reservation system was seamless. The food was astounding and the service was excellent. I will recommend this fine establishment to everyone. I will definitely go back when I'm in Toronto next.

Tags: Disabled Access, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Tapas, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Good food and service, but extremely noisy. Made a reservation for Saturday at 7pm, but restaurant still had many available tables.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Fun. Professional. Comfortable. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Fine food version of your classic brunch items

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Amazing food, craft cocktails, service and ambience! Would highly recommend!! The wood oven pizzas are superb.

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Great restaurant if ever so slightly over eager server but the experience far outweighs that part of the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Food great service great portions small for cost. Would go again tho. Manager very responsive and wait staff all great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Nice place, simple, good atmosphere, good food. There for a special occasion with family. I'd definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.