Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About The Good Son Restaurant

Our menu is a reflection of the melting pot of cultures that has gentrified the Queen West neighbourhood in Toronto. With a focus on local and seasonal organic produce, hormone free and free range proteins, the menu has been designed for guests to share plates, in an effort to create a convivial and social dining experience.

Our Wood-Fire Pizzas are a cross between Roma and Neapolitan styles; cooked in a wood-burning M.A.M pizza oven imported from Italy. It yields a crust that is thin but sturdy. Wood-fire capabilities are critical for our menu as the flavour imparted on the food is exceptional and unique.

Our cocktails are equally thought out as our food. Our bartenders serve up a no-nonsense cocktail program featuring fresh, seasonal ingredients that are all made in house.

1096 Queen St. West
Toronto, ON M6J 1H9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Pizzeria, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - CLOSED
Tuesday - Thursday: 6:00pm-11:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 11am-3:00pm
Mother's Day Brunch: 10am-4pm
Sunday Dinner: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Queen & Dovercourt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 551-0589

Website:
http://thegoodsontoronto.com/

Executive Chef:
Vittorio Colacitti

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Private Dining

We offer a semi-private dining experience on our Chef's table, a full private buyout for the whole restaurant or our events space Wayward located above the restaurant.

The Good Son Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Wood Oven (21)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
See All
Fun (16)
Cozy (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Romantic (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Casual (11)
Authentic (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Family Style (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Seasonal (5)
Tapas (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great Beer (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Scenic View (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
People Watching (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Healthy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
193 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The place was good. I really enjoyed my meal and it seemed worth the cost.
I made a reservation and got seated quite quickly...but the server took nearly 10-15 minutes to even acknowledge us for drinks. I'm wondering if because we were in our 20's he didn't treat us with as much urgency as a table with older individuals(even though they came after us). That was off putting. The server was a little pretentious. Not sure if he was going for that image but it was really obnoxious to deal with when ordering. It was like you couldn't have a real conversation with him without him saying something nonsensical. Trying to behave too uppity is a turn off. Just treat me with respect and do your job well and we're off to a good start. He was just quite condescending and seemed like he was trying too hard. If anything the server ruined our mood- but the food did make up for it.
I might be back for more of an important or special event instead of just a weekend evening dinner and maybe then the atmosphere could match that type of vibe.
So in short, food was great, server's skills were fine but his attitude/tone was not.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Was not impressed by the food....

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great food as always but service wasn't 100% as I'm used to. Our server was flustered and all over the place and I felt uneasy talking to her.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Service was too slow. Took over 45 mins for food and over 30 mins for dessert. Restaurant was not even at I'll capacity. Server was inattentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We have been to the Good Son many times and have recommended it to friends and family. It's a great restaurant with amazing food!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Authentic, Comfort Food, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great Beer, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great location, great inside decoration and atmosphere. the food is delicious. best Benedict eggs in Toronto (my opinion). Staff is really nice as well; just a great experience overall. been there many times and never disappointed.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Received the tartare 10 minutes after ordering, but received the short ribs 1hr and 20mins after ordering, and you could taste that they were sitting under a heat lamp for most of that time.

The tartare was great, with good flavour, and they brought us more bread for it when we asked, but it was tough to get the wait staff to look at you.

4 old fashioned drinks for $60 before tax and tip!

I thought we had it bad but the people we were sitting beside ordered before us and waited even longer! (Name one restaurant in Toronto that makes you wait almost 2 hrs for a burger)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 21, 2017

This is an AMAZING restaurant. Food is delicious, wiht a great range of vegetarian and gluten free options. The range is from healthy to comfort. Exquisite settings! One of my favourites in the city. Delicious wine .

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 19, 2017

It's a good think the food was so good, as the service stank. One of the hostesses was quite snooty. Waiter messed up more times than we could count. A comped coffee would've been nice. Food was spectacular!!! For that reason. Alone, we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Really good. Great service drinks and food. Highly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 12, 2017

As my son said: this restaurant is a perfect representation of quality over quantity. Food and ambiance are very enjoyable but brunch options are overpriced for what you get and will not make you feel full. The French toast with roasted apples was delicious but you just get the slides from a quarter of an apple. The guacamole in the huevos rancheros is a table spoon from half avocado. Long story short, we had to share a pizza among the 4 of us to complement the 105 CAD brunch for food and coffees.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Second visit and was as good as the first. Came back for the Tartare. Excellent again. Ordered the bulgogi short ribs, found there was not enough kimchi slaw. Our server Tyler was was great. He managed the table beautifully. Hopefully he isn't scarred for life.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Poor service, wait staff seemed very frustrated and took it out on customers.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great ambience and attentive staff. Shared plates were delicious. Mains were hit-and-miss and we waited too long between courses. I loved my papadelle but my friend was not as keen about his (undercooked) kimchi rice and short ribs. Overall, an enjoyable experience and would go again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Really good meal as always. Half price wine bottles on Sundays... Yay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Great atmosphere. Nice interior decor. Good food. Half price for wine bottles on sunday. Service was good but can be a bit slow. Music playing in the background is a bit muffled. Overall good experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great atmosphere very cool decor. Interesting, eclectic brunch menu. Nice and cozy. We came in right at open, one of the first ones there by the time we left it was very full.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Phenomanal all around experience! Amazing food, amazing staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I love this restaurant until I went there for brunch, menu with few brunch options, overpriced and not a GF option. horrible. Expected more for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was our second trip to the Good Son and, much like the first, it did not disappoint. The cocktails are awesome. The food was spot on. Two of us split three appetizers and half a dozen oysters. Service was good. It's not cheap, but it will compete with any restaurant in the city at this price point. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food at The Good Son was excellent! My husband and I went for brunch with another couple. My girlfriend and I had the chicken and waffles which were delicious! But we found the portions a little small as we were both still a little hungry afterwards. My husband and our other friend had the pork cheek eggs Benny which was also amazing! The service was a bit slow but the servers were very nice. The vibe and look of this restaurant is really cool with a random old school feel....mismatched wooden tables, old bookshelves and an assortment of plates, old pictures and other things on the wall. We're definitely going to check it out again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always a pleasure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Delicious food and good service, loved the atmosphere. We were comped an after dinner drink because we had to wait for a table despite a reservation. Very nice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Can't wait to go back to try everything else on the menu! Service was great from start to finish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We had a lovely dinner on Tuesday evening. we were 4 people and it was a birthday celebration for our son. The space is great - cozy , warm and inviting. Staff was friendly however could have been more helpful when asking for suggestions - we know that it depends on what we like however sometimes you are just looking for recommendations.
We ordered Ceviche, jerk shrimp, brussel sprouts and warm olives. All were good however ceviche could have had more fish and less avocado and jerk shrimp were tasty but were more like Thai Shrimp. Mains were miso cod, octopus, burger and pineapple pizza - all were good.
chocolate hazelnut ice cream on the dessert platter was the best.
We would definitely come again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Authentic, Tapas, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Love this place. The only upset was we had a reservation and they had us wait 20-30 mins before being seated without giving any initial explanation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was a nice find and we would definitely go back. The room is really quite beautiful with very high ceilings but that also makes it super loud! It was tough to carry on a conversation at times. Our dishes were generally very good, but the one main (the short rib) was a bit oily - flavour was good, though. The scallops were excellent as was the beet salad, and service very friendly. We will definitely go back if we are in the area!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent customer service! And the food was yummy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Wood Oven, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Went out with the girls for a birthday dinner and thoroughly enjoyed the food and vibe. Service is casual but excellent. Best brussel sprouts I've ever had!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Overall the good son was a great place to get away for a bite to eat with my partner. The staff were friendly and very attentive. The only minor note was that the music was fairly loud so it was hard to have a conversation. The food was great and the portion sizes are healthy. We will definitely be back to try some more menu options

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Loved the jerk shrimp and squash hummus and the weekly special! Great place!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Very nice dining experience. The only disappointment was getting two scallops on my $25 Digby scallop entre. Other than that foodies will enjoy it. Brussel sprouts ap was particularly good. Note that the menu is quite a bit smaller than the last time I was there.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I went here for brunch and had the Filipino breakfast. It exceeded my expectations. It was crazy delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Fabulous food! Fun atmosphere
Dave our server was very attentive and made the evening fun too!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Food was heavy and expensive- too much sauce on everything, overdone and very pricey. Trying too hard BUT the service was great and I would go back - unless I wanted a really GOOD meal in terms of health and ordinary dinner- maybe better for an appetizer and a drink...

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food was amazing so tasty, comforting and unique experience. Ive never tasted French fries that good :) The pizza was perfectly stove oven baked and delicious. Ambiance so cozy, relaxing and fun. I really enjoyed the array of wall décor - a first for me and totally thought it was so cool with a bit of nostalgia at the same time. Service top notch - "Jar" was a professional - well mannered - just refreshing. Thank you - I will definitely dine at The Goodson again. :)

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Lovely rustic setting. Excellent dishes, and interesting cocktails. Nice bathrooms!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Very slow service made worse by forgetful and uncourteous server.
- forgot to punch in our drink order
- meal took an inordinate amount of time to arrive
- never checked in on us during the meal nor did the server make himself available to be flagged down (brushed us off on a few occasions)
- when I was finally able to get his attention at the end of the meal I mentioned that the fish was tasteless at the end of the meal the server simply replied: "you should've told me earlier"
- was offered no recompense

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Fabulous food, attentive servers, creative food & drink menu. A simply wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 29, 2016

Meh. There was plastic in the guac. The meal was meh. The service was meh. Good son used to be good and as per usual a Toronto restaurant slips

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.