Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About The Good Son Restaurant

Our menu is a reflection of the melting pot of cultures that has gentrified the Queen West neighbourhood in Toronto. With a focus on local and seasonal organic produce, hormone free and free range proteins, the menu has been designed for guests to share plates, in an effort to create a convivial and social dining experience.

Our Wood-Fire Pizzas are a cross between Roma and Neapolitan styles; cooked in a wood-burning M.A.M pizza oven imported from Italy. It yields a crust that is thin but sturdy. Wood-fire capabilities are critical for our menu as the flavour imparted on the food is exceptional and unique.

Our cocktails are equally thought out as our food. Our bartenders serve up a no-nonsense cocktail program featuring fresh, seasonal ingredients that are all made in house.

1096 Queen St. West
Toronto, ON M6J 1H9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Pizzeria, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - CLOSED
Tuesday - Thursday: 6:00pm-11:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 11am-3:00pm
Mother's Day Brunch: 10am-4pm
Sunday Dinner: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Queen & Dovercourt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 551-0589

Website:
http://thegoodsontoronto.com/

Executive Chef:
Vittorio Colacitti

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Private Dining

We offer a semi-private dining experience on our Chef's table, a full private buyout for the whole restaurant or our events space Wayward located above the restaurant.

The Good Son Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (30)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Fit for Foodies (22)
See All
Wood Oven (21)
Cozy (20)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Fun (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Authentic (15)
Casual (14)
Romantic (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Worth the Drive (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Family Style (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Seasonal (5)
Business Meals (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Tapas (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Healthy (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great Beer (3)
Scenic View (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
People Watching (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
209 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

My son recommended the restaurant, said they have the best burger in town. I took my friend for her birthday and we shared the burger and short ribs. Wow wow he was right. Also our server Andrew provided the best service I have ever had. He certainly could teach Toronto what patrons are looking for when they dine out.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We love this place! Our favorite WQW spot. The food is always great, the service excellent, the mood is very cool... this is our go-to spot for any dinner outing, and it's a really great place to take family members that are from out of town; they always love it!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Hot Spot, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent service, beautiful atmosphere and well crafted drink and food menu. Absolute favourite spot. A Toronto gem.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Beautiful room, world class food, amazing cocktails, great service.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great spot on Queen West in Toronto... I would recommend this restaurant 100%.. Good job to the chef and service staff!!

Tags: Cozy, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Birthday dinner for my wife. Top-to-botttom Impressed with everything we ate. Great experience

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven, Cozy, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Stunning interior, exceptional food and service. Highly recommended for any occasion. One draw back is that they serve half pint beers for $8.00. Everything else is reasonably priced for the quality.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Business Meals, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We enjoyed the atmosphere right off the bat and the service was excellent...as was the food. We'll definitely go there when we're in Toronto again.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Fantastic spot. One of my favourites in the city. From the food to the service to the decor, great place to dine.

Tags: Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Everything was delicious... the pizza, the octopus, the short ribs!! Serving was fantastic, friendly... on top of it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I booked two tables on a Sunday for a friends birthday dinner. When we were booking the table there was only high tables available for a larger party and one of the guests in my party had a broken leg and unfortunately could not sit on the higher stools. I called and talked to the hostess, she was really wonderful and found a way to accommodate us which was really appreciated. The service and food were amazing as always. The half price wine feature was also a nice addition to the dinner. Would highly recommend The Good Son.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The service at this restaurant is absolutely abhorrent. Different servers, inattentive host, we couldn't wait to get out of there. The food and ambiance are good, but nothing well out of the ordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I have been to this restaurant before and keep coming back. The food is always outstanding and the atmosphere is great! Service can get a tiny bit slow during peak times but completely understandable given how busy this place always is. Service staff is very helpful, knowledgeable and attentive. The only negative thing I would have to say is that the hosts at the front can sometimes be a little arrogant but really, I never let that ruin my dining experience. Highly recommend!

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The place was good. I really enjoyed my meal and it seemed worth the cost.
I made a reservation and got seated quite quickly...but the server took nearly 10-15 minutes to even acknowledge us for drinks. I'm wondering if because we were in our 20's he didn't treat us with as much urgency as a table with older individuals(even though they came after us). That was off putting. The server was a little pretentious. Not sure if he was going for that image but it was really obnoxious to deal with when ordering. It was like you couldn't have a real conversation with him without him saying something nonsensical. Trying to behave too uppity is a turn off. Just treat me with respect and do your job well and we're off to a good start. He was just quite condescending and seemed like he was trying too hard. If anything the server ruined our mood- but the food did make up for it.
I might be back for more of an important or special event instead of just a weekend evening dinner and maybe then the atmosphere could match that type of vibe.
So in short, food was great, server's skills were fine but his attitude/tone was not.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Was not impressed by the food....

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great food as always but service wasn't 100% as I'm used to. Our server was flustered and all over the place and I felt uneasy talking to her.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Service was too slow. Took over 45 mins for food and over 30 mins for dessert. Restaurant was not even at I'll capacity. Server was inattentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We have been to the Good Son many times and have recommended it to friends and family. It's a great restaurant with amazing food!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Authentic, Comfort Food, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great Beer, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great location, great inside decoration and atmosphere. the food is delicious. best Benedict eggs in Toronto (my opinion). Staff is really nice as well; just a great experience overall. been there many times and never disappointed.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Received the tartare 10 minutes after ordering, but received the short ribs 1hr and 20mins after ordering, and you could taste that they were sitting under a heat lamp for most of that time.

The tartare was great, with good flavour, and they brought us more bread for it when we asked, but it was tough to get the wait staff to look at you.

4 old fashioned drinks for $60 before tax and tip!

I thought we had it bad but the people we were sitting beside ordered before us and waited even longer! (Name one restaurant in Toronto that makes you wait almost 2 hrs for a burger)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 21, 2017

This is an AMAZING restaurant. Food is delicious, wiht a great range of vegetarian and gluten free options. The range is from healthy to comfort. Exquisite settings! One of my favourites in the city. Delicious wine .

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 19, 2017

It's a good think the food was so good, as the service stank. One of the hostesses was quite snooty. Waiter messed up more times than we could count. A comped coffee would've been nice. Food was spectacular!!! For that reason. Alone, we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Really good. Great service drinks and food. Highly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 12, 2017

As my son said: this restaurant is a perfect representation of quality over quantity. Food and ambiance are very enjoyable but brunch options are overpriced for what you get and will not make you feel full. The French toast with roasted apples was delicious but you just get the slides from a quarter of an apple. The guacamole in the huevos rancheros is a table spoon from half avocado. Long story short, we had to share a pizza among the 4 of us to complement the 105 CAD brunch for food and coffees.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Second visit and was as good as the first. Came back for the Tartare. Excellent again. Ordered the bulgogi short ribs, found there was not enough kimchi slaw. Our server Tyler was was great. He managed the table beautifully. Hopefully he isn't scarred for life.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Poor service, wait staff seemed very frustrated and took it out on customers.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great ambience and attentive staff. Shared plates were delicious. Mains were hit-and-miss and we waited too long between courses. I loved my papadelle but my friend was not as keen about his (undercooked) kimchi rice and short ribs. Overall, an enjoyable experience and would go again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Really good meal as always. Half price wine bottles on Sundays... Yay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My favorite breakfast spot in Toronto. Eggs Benny are a must. Best place in Toronto for breakfast

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Great atmosphere. Nice interior decor. Good food. Half price for wine bottles on sunday. Service was good but can be a bit slow. Music playing in the background is a bit muffled. Overall good experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great atmosphere very cool decor. Interesting, eclectic brunch menu. Nice and cozy. We came in right at open, one of the first ones there by the time we left it was very full.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Phenomanal all around experience! Amazing food, amazing staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for valentines food . The restaurant was gorgeous. Food was nice had 4 courses . Was expensive for two people around 200$ but maybe that was because of Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I love this restaurant until I went there for brunch, menu with few brunch options, overpriced and not a GF option. horrible. Expected more for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was our second trip to the Good Son and, much like the first, it did not disappoint. The cocktails are awesome. The food was spot on. Two of us split three appetizers and half a dozen oysters. Service was good. It's not cheap, but it will compete with any restaurant in the city at this price point. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food at The Good Son was excellent! My husband and I went for brunch with another couple. My girlfriend and I had the chicken and waffles which were delicious! But we found the portions a little small as we were both still a little hungry afterwards. My husband and our other friend had the pork cheek eggs Benny which was also amazing! The service was a bit slow but the servers were very nice. The vibe and look of this restaurant is really cool with a random old school feel....mismatched wooden tables, old bookshelves and an assortment of plates, old pictures and other things on the wall. We're definitely going to check it out again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always a pleasure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Delicious food and good service, loved the atmosphere. We were comped an after dinner drink because we had to wait for a table despite a reservation. Very nice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Can't wait to go back to try everything else on the menu! Service was great from start to finish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.