Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About The Good Son Restaurant

Our menu is a reflection of the melting pot of cultures that has gentrified the Queen West neighbourhood in Toronto. With a focus on local and seasonal organic produce, hormone free and free range proteins, the menu has been designed for guests to share plates, in an effort to create a convivial and social dining experience.

Our Wood-Fire Pizzas are a cross between Roma and Neapolitan styles; cooked in a wood-burning M.A.M pizza oven imported from Italy. It yields a crust that is thin but sturdy. Wood-fire capabilities are critical for our menu as the flavour imparted on the food is exceptional and unique.

Our cocktails are equally thought out as our food. Our bartenders serve up a no-nonsense cocktail program featuring fresh, seasonal ingredients that are all made in house.

1096 Queen St. West
Toronto, ON M6J 1H9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Pizzeria, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - CLOSED
Tuesday - Wednesday 6:00pm-11:00pm
Thursday: 6:00pm-11:00pm (Late Night 11pm-1am)
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm (Late Night 11pm-2am)
Sunday Brunch: 11am-3:00pm
Sunday Dinner: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Queen & Dovercourt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 551-0589

Website:
http://thegoodsontoronto.com/

Executive Chef:
Vittorio Colacitti

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a semi-private dining experience on our Chef's table, a full private buyout for the whole restaurant or our events space Wayward located above the restaurant.

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: (416) 551-0589

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Weekend Brunch, Wine

The Good Son Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (26)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Fit for Foodies (21)
See All
Special Occasion (20)
Casual (18)
Cozy (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Bar Seating (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Romantic (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Fun (12)
Great for Brunch (10)
Business Meals (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Authentic (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
People Watching (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Tapas (4)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
235 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

My friends an I celebrated a birthday over dinner at The Good Son on Saturday night and the evening was nothing short of amazing. I have been to the restaurant many times and have always loved the food, drink and service - but this time The Good Son really out did themselves. I had asked for a table by the front, which we received, our server was very attentive and polite and the food was absolutely outstanding. We had a bottle of the Shiraz wine to pair with a few dishes that we shared - steak and frites, shrimp, beef tartar, prosciutto pizza and brussel sprouts. It was all unbelievably tasty and I cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The best restaurant we've ever dined at, hands down.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

The sommelier was excellent - friendly and very knowledgeable. Our long and fun discussion with her was the high point of the evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great music, great service, but what i was dissapointed about was the food. which is a pretty big deal! pizza was cold, cauliflower was too salty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 2, 2017

We had a great evening at The Good Son restaurant. We really enjoyed the shared plates format for the meal. They had a great selection of beer and a nice wine list. The waiter was very helpful, assisting us with suggestions from the menu and having our meals delivered so that they were easy to share. I look forward to returning the next time that I'm in the area.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

We had a great night. Interesting yummy food. Good staff that took care of us. Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 26, 2017

When I made a reservation on OpenTable, I was asked whether I wanted a regular or a high top table I asked for a regular. When we arrived on time for our reservation, the hostess had no idea I requested a regular table, and we were sat at a high top since nothing else was available. Why bother asking for preferences when no attention is paid? Other than that, food and service were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Excellent selection of drinks. Ribs and steak stellar as were the shucked oysters. Service is on point!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Th reservation system was seamless. The food was astounding and the service was excellent. I will recommend this fine establishment to everyone. I will definitely go back when I'm in Toronto next.

Tags: Disabled Access, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Tapas, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Good food and service, but extremely noisy. Made a reservation for Saturday at 7pm, but restaurant still had many available tables.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Fun. Professional. Comfortable. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Fine food version of your classic brunch items

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Amazing food, craft cocktails, service and ambience! Would highly recommend!! The wood oven pizzas are superb.

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Great restaurant if ever so slightly over eager server but the experience far outweighs that part of the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Food great service great portions small for cost. Would go again tho. Manager very responsive and wait staff all great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Nice place, simple, good atmosphere, good food. There for a special occasion with family. I'd definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing! As were the cocktails, as well as the wine we had (which was half-priced on the night we came, to our surprise). Overall, excellent value for the money. We will definitely return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Organic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 18, 2017

On holiday in Toronto came across Good Son as it was local to our accomodation and saw it had been recommended on the Internet. Service first class. Food first class. Amazing burgers and pizza. McDonalds and Dominoes this place is not !!!! Classy, delicious, great atmosphere. Was only in town 4 nights. Ate there twice. Next time back in town will certainly be going back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, People Watching, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Fun lively place. Service was wonderful, only wish that our waiter (after asking if we wanted sparkling or flat) how much the water was for each bottle. As we were surprised at $7./bottle, would not have ordered a second bottle that we barely had a glass from.
Menu was nice but realized (for us) not a lot of choices that enticed us, seemed mainly popular for their awesome pizzas, priced fairly.
Overall we enjoyed our anniversary there, had to speak loudly to each other over the noisy open concept restaurant.
Food was delish and mostly priced reasonably.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Very enjoyable.. Menu was good but a bit limited.
One negative is that coffee was only Americano. Pretty strong and expensive..
Venue great and food quite good

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Ive been back many times, never disappoints. One of my favorite restaurants in Toronto, can't wait for my next visit to the city

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Food was incredible, service exceptional and amazing ambiance. Can't believe that was my first time there, will definitely be back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Beautifully decorated and nice atmosphere. The food was good but not worth the price, especially the charcuterie board. Listed as a sharing plate, we recieved four little pieces of bread one per person and tiny crumbs of cheese that would feed one person. For $19 it was laughable. Luckily the prosciutto pizza was large and plentiful. Very nice. Ribs were also delicious. Nice place if you can afford it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Burger and fries are excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Our server wasn't helpful when we asked for recommendations. He was very rude and dismissive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 16, 2017

My son recommended the restaurant, said they have the best burger in town. I took my friend for her birthday and we shared the burger and short ribs. Wow wow he was right. Also our server Andrew provided the best service I have ever had. He certainly could teach Toronto what patrons are looking for when they dine out.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We arrived for a Mother's Day meal slightly ahead of our reservation, but were seated promptly and cheerfully. We were ushered into a large, noisy room, decorated in a delightfully eclectic fashion - with a variety of seating options. We started by sharing a charcuterie plate on which every single thing - cheeses, sourdough bread, pâté, pickles, were all divine. My own dish was Digby scallops, perfectly cooked, on a bed of beautifully seasoned vegetables. Everyone's meal was outstanding. Can't say a bad thing about this place. It is a bit on the noisy side, so it may not be the place for a quiet, intimate dinner for two, but for groups of three or more it would be hard to beat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We love this place! Our favorite WQW spot. The food is always great, the service excellent, the mood is very cool... this is our go-to spot for any dinner outing, and it's a really great place to take family members that are from out of town; they always love it!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Hot Spot, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent service, beautiful atmosphere and well crafted drink and food menu. Absolute favourite spot. A Toronto gem.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Beautiful room, world class food, amazing cocktails, great service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great spot on Queen West in Toronto... I would recommend this restaurant 100%.. Good job to the chef and service staff!!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Birthday dinner for my wife. Top-to-botttom Impressed with everything we ate. Great experience

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Stunning interior, exceptional food and service. Highly recommended for any occasion. One draw back is that they serve half pint beers for $8.00. Everything else is reasonably priced for the quality.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We enjoyed the atmosphere right off the bat and the service was excellent...as was the food. We'll definitely go there when we're in Toronto again.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Fantastic spot. One of my favourites in the city. From the food to the service to the decor, great place to dine.

Tags: Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Everything was delicious... the pizza, the octopus, the short ribs!! Serving was fantastic, friendly... on top of it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I booked two tables on a Sunday for a friends birthday dinner. When we were booking the table there was only high tables available for a larger party and one of the guests in my party had a broken leg and unfortunately could not sit on the higher stools. I called and talked to the hostess, she was really wonderful and found a way to accommodate us which was really appreciated. The service and food were amazing as always. The half price wine feature was also a nice addition to the dinner. Would highly recommend The Good Son.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The service at this restaurant is absolutely abhorrent. Different servers, inattentive host, we couldn't wait to get out of there. The food and ambiance are good, but nothing well out of the ordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I have been to this restaurant before and keep coming back. The food is always outstanding and the atmosphere is great! Service can get a tiny bit slow during peak times but completely understandable given how busy this place always is. Service staff is very helpful, knowledgeable and attentive. The only negative thing I would have to say is that the hosts at the front can sometimes be a little arrogant but really, I never let that ruin my dining experience. Highly recommend!

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.