Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About The Good Son Restaurant

Our menu is a reflection of the melting pot of cultures that has gentrified the Queen West neighbourhood in Toronto. With a focus on local and seasonal organic produce, hormone free and free range proteins, the menu has been designed for guests to share plates, in an effort to create a convivial and social dining experience.

Our Wood-Fire Pizzas are a cross between Roma and Neapolitan styles; cooked in a wood-burning M.A.M pizza oven imported from Italy. It yields a crust that is thin but sturdy. Wood-fire capabilities are critical for our menu as the flavour imparted on the food is exceptional and unique.

Our cocktails are equally thought out as our food. Our bartenders serve up a no-nonsense cocktail program featuring fresh, seasonal ingredients that are all made in house.

1096 Queen St. West
Toronto, ON M6J 1H9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Pizzeria, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - CLOSED
Tuesday - Wednesday 6:00pm-11:00pm
Thursday: 6:00pm-11:00pm (Late Night 11pm-1am)
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm (Late Night 11pm-2am)
Sunday Brunch: 11am-3:00pm
Sunday Dinner: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Queen & Dovercourt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 551-0589

Website:
http://thegoodsontoronto.com/

Executive Chef:
Vittorio Colacitti

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

Come and celebrate New Year's Eve at The Good Son!

The Good Son Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Casual (19)
See All
Fit for Foodies (18)
Fun (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Romantic (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Cozy (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Authentic (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Good for Groups (10)
People Watching (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Business Meals (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Healthy (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Seasonal (4)
Tapas (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
282 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Great restaurant. Ambience, service, vibe all so wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 3, 2017

GREAT restaurant. great service, amazing food. Love the vibe! Highly recommend.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

Inventive (if somewhat pricey) cocktails. Nice decor! Our group of 8 went for after-dinner drinks to celebrate a birthday so I can't speak much to the food menu except that it looks good. Our table wasn't ready for our saturday 10:15pm reservation which was a bit annoying...we went next door to the Dog and Bear to have a drink until they called me...they gave us half-glasses of sparkling wine for free to make up for the half-hour delay. Some people got ice cream sandwiches which were quite decadent...good espressos too...we also got a margherita pizza to have on hand for a small nibble and it was tasty - thin crust, nice basil, etc. Servers and bartenders were friendly without being too annoying!

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, People Watching, Fun, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2017

The food was amazing , everything we ordered. The drinks were good as welll. The ambulance was cool. We enjoyed our night.
The only thing was we found it a little loud Hard to hear each other.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Romantic, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 30, 2017

I have been to The Good Son about five times over the last three years and it continues to be a top spot for amazing cocktails, creative menu items and attentive/knowledgeable staff. The atmosphere is cozy and unique.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 30, 2017

Food was great but it took 1 hr and 20 minutes for our risotto to arrive
. When we asked the server for the ETA each time we had a different answer - after about 30 mom she said 4 more minutes, then it became sorry we had a really big party and the kitchen is backed up, then it was going to be out in about 2 minutes. About 20 minutes later it finally arrived. I don’t know how it’s acceptable for it to take this long.
I understand that delays happen, but am honest update would have been appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on November 29, 2017

I went to The Good Son before a TFC playoff game and it was pizza night -- almost all of the pizzas were $10. Didn't have the pizza but had oysters, jerk shrimp, steak tartar, and a few other things and it was very tasty. Not busy at all at 6pm but picking up when we left. Really cool vibe and decor in this place. Wasn't cheap but we ordered the most expensive items so... I'll be back.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 29, 2017

This restaurant was a pleasant surprise. I love the decor and general vibe of the place. The food was excellent and the service was top notch. I'd highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

I looked up popular restaurantss intoronto and the god son came up , I made a reservation . Our servers name was Dave , he was exceptional! My boyfriend had a beer and I had a cider , we had 6 oysters to begin with . The bonnet sauce for the oysters was sheer perfection, spicy but not overpowering and giving lots of flavour. The oysters were perfectly shucked . My boyfriend ordered the fish of the day , which was "3 huge honey sautéed scallops on pesto spinach risotto . I had the duck confit with the apples , lentils , . We both were just in "awe" from the presentation of the dishes and their obsolutely amazing taste ! Each dish was cooked to perfection and every spices and seasons for each dish perfectly complemented each other . My boyfriend and myself both work in the service industry and have so for many years , we were both overwhelmed of how amazing everything was! Both of us have already spreed the word about the excellence of food, service and environment to all of our friends . I personally have decided to bring my mother to the restaurant for her birthday . All the way 5 star rating from me .. My only negative thing to say about my experience is that the host should have offered to coat check our jackets for us before seating us ... Others than thAt , perfection !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Casual, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2017

It's my favorite go to and I'm always treated with such professional and fun service. The good is awesome and I'd say the Very best burger, Brussels sprouts and jerk shrimp in town.
Special thank you and shout out to Dave who always makes me smile and gives us such a warm welcome back

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Octopus main was extremely disappointing. All components of the dish were oddly dry and lacked in flavor. Would not order this again. Pizza was great.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Fun, Cozy, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2017

It was for a friends birthday. Everything was great!! Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

It was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Food was great. We had a seat right by the door. If you get that seat ask to be switched; it was cold and annoying to have everyone walk by. Packed the whole time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Great food and atmosphere, family friendly too! We had a stroller with a little one and this was no problem. Great pizza, eggs florentine and eggs benedict.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Great ambiance, friendly staff, good food. Waiter forgot our appetizer but his apology was genuine and it worked out for the best because the main was quite large.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

Music could be quieter when restaurant is full -was sometimes difficult to hear companion across table.
Octopus for Two could have had a forth tentacle (leg)!
Good parking behind ,in lane.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 2, 2017

We had a great meal at the Good Son! We loved the pizzas and the cool vibe. We will go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

The Good Son never disappoints. While I can’t speak to the brunch experience as we dine more frequently in the evenings, Crystal and her team deliver excellent, personable service to both regulars and newcomers. Our server was fantastic from start to finish and made informed suggestions based on our tastes for both cocktails and menu items. One of the best and most consistent restaurant in Queen West, if not Toronto. Always a pleasure eating here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

The service was terrible. The food was very underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 20, 2017

Overall, great ambiance, cool atmosphere, great food, but service was annoying and over-bearing. They were too pushy on up selling us and whenever we wanted to order something else, we would be swarmed by two people taking our order. At one point, there was one person taking our drink order, and another taking our food order. If you can look past being bullied into buying a lot of food and constantly harnessed, then go to this restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on October 17, 2017

Very nice place to go! The food was excellent! Probably the best food in that area actually

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 17, 2017

Service took over 2.5 half hours. They did apologize and discount some of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Raum Frankfurt)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Every plate we’ve got was extraordinary and made with care. We definitely would like to come back for other dishes and dessert too.
The place is a bit loud to have conversation thou but manageable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Service is a little slow. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2017

The waiter made me wait for table service for almost 15 minutes while he waited on 2 couples who came after me. When he finally got around to me I asked him why he made me wait. He was entertaining the other patrons with detailed descriptions of the menu. His excuse was he was busy waiting on patrons. I indicated that I was ahead of the patrons he was serving and I tried to get his attention but he did not make eye contact with me. I told him that next time to be more aware of his assigned space because he just lost a good tipper. Then he said, “are you ready to order?” No clue what service was about. When the bill came I asked him if he deserves a tip. He said, “I wasn’t too bad, was I?” That was it. No apologies. No tip. Zero. And bad review.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

I have dined with the Good Son several times in the past and had phenomenal experiences both food and service wise. A group of friends went for brunch and what a nightmare! Our food was dropped off , one dish missing for an individual. The server walked by several times and we were unable to grab his attention to notify him. Once we finally were, he asked what she had ordered. He didn't communicate very well, he didn't even apologize he just said it's on us. Once her food came out he dropped it off and ran away before we were able to ask for any sauces, salt, pepper, refills to enjoy our meals. At this point all of our dishes are cold once the forgotten dish arrives. Water refills were scarce. Overall unimpressed with the brunch service we received. We all left wishing we had gone somewhere else because it was just such a frustrating experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The Brussel sprouts were delicious ! Great ambiance, food and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Awesome as always. Food is terrific and the bar staff is the best in the biz

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Reservation notes reflected clearly: Birthday for my girlfriend Maggie.

Server publically announced the surprise sparkling wine... 10 minutes before it arrived. Failed to put candle on Cake.

Tartar was overeasoned

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Great pizzas. The struggle of most restaurants is consistency. Brussel sprouts is one of my favs. This time it had to be sent back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Took a girlfriend for her birthday dinner and had a great experience! It was both of our first times there and would go back again and again. Had a cozy ambience and our server was friendly and knowledgable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Awesome food and service! My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and the staff took care of us. Highly recommend to everyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

A friend recommended the place and everything exceeded our expectations. The chicken was cooked perfectly, and the flavour of all the dishes was just the right balance. The decor was enchanting as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Love the ambiance. The fish of the day was good. I had the ribs which I was disappointed with. Appetizers and sides were good. Great place to go with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Great food and fantastic waiter! Perfect night.
Waiter's suggestions were perfect for the three of us.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Awesome food and cool ambiance! Foodie-friendly; ceviche and tartare were our favorites, the ribs could have been better. Overall, creative dishes in a hip-classy environment. Good for friend outings, dates, drinks. Our waiter was great as well!

Tags: Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Late-night Find, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

went for a birthday dinner with family, which was not the right choice due to the noise level. we found the food to be good, but not amazing and quite salty. we waited an hour and 1/2 for our food, and had finished our bottle of wine before it came. they were apparently understaffed, and even when we asked for bread or a faster starter for the table since we were already starving, they said they wouldn't be able to do that. we literally were about to leave when our food arrived. in the end they comped us the bottle of wine and gave us 50% off the check, which did make us feel as though we weren't just robbed. needless to say, don't think we'll go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great atmosphere and service! Steak tartare, octopus and almond cake superb.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We had a delicious meal here which included sampling a few options from the cocktail list as well as a number of the menu items. The bureaus and jerk shrimp appetizers were AMAZING.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.