About The Glass Monkey

5842 - 111 Street
Edmonton, AB T6H 3G1
View Larger Map

Our beautiful patio is now open!
We bring together a diverse, internationally inspired and locally sourced menu presenting both tapas and small plates ideal for sharing...as well as full meal dishes. The Glass Monkey Gastropub offers an extensive wine by the glass program, a large selection of craft beers and fresh cocktails. Our room is casual, comfortable and elegant.
Don't be fooled by the name! A Gastropub is not limited to those wanting to have a drink and great food with a friend… it is also kid friendly, providing a casual, quick dinner for a busy family on the go. 


Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, International, Gastro Pub, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Open daily from 3:30 pm until at least 10:00 pm.
Closed Tuesday.

We will be closed on Friday, July 1st for Canada Day.


Cross Street:
111 Street & 57 Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 760-2228

Website:
http://www.theglassmonkey.ca/

Parking Details:
The Lendrum Place Shopping Centre provides ample parking directly in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
111 St & 57 Ave: buses #9 & #55 (1 block walk)

111 St & 50 Ave: LRT stop at Southgate ( 8 block walk)

Executive Chef:
Darcy Radies

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • The Glass Monkey
The Glass Monkey

Promotions

Happy Monday!

Mondays from 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Wednesday Wings!

Wednesdays from 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Thirsty Thursday!

Thursdays from 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Half Price Pizza!

Thursdays from 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Happy Monday!

Mondays from 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Love wine? Join us for 'Happy Monday'... every Monday! Bottles under $40 are half price... all other bottles are $20 off!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 27, 2016 - Oct 27, 2016 on Mondays from 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM.
Wednesday Wings!

Wednesdays from 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Our delicious chicken wings are half price every Wednesday!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 27, 2016 - Oct 27, 2016 on Wednesdays from 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM.
Thirsty Thursday!

Thursdays from 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Beer is on special all night on Thursday! Come in and choose from our beers on tap... $6 for a 20 oz pint! Or choose from our selection of 75+ bottled craft beers from around the globe at $2 off per bottle. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 27, 2016 - Oct 27, 2016 on Thursdays from 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM.
Half Price Pizza!

Thursdays from 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM

Details
Enjoy our delicious pizza at half price from 3:30 to 5:30pm on Thursday!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 27, 2016 - Oct 27, 2016 on Thursdays from 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Wed - Thu 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

We love parties! The Glass Monkey offers a comfortable space that is perfectly suited to accommodate many different events including corporate presentations, weddings & family celebrations, stand up receptions, fundraising galas & seasonal parties. Please contact Rob at 780.760.2228 for more info.

The Glass Monkey Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Notable Wine List
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
3 More
Neighborhood Gem
Edmonton
Notable Wine List
Edmonton
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

neighborhood gem (65)
fit for foodies (48)
good for groups (45)
See All
notable wine list (37)
special occasion (28)
romantic (15)
great for outdoor dining (13)
late-night find (12)
kid-friendly (10)
hot spot (9)
great for lunch (6)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
347 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5

The cold dishes we ordered were decent b ...

Dined 4 days ago

The cold dishes we ordered were decent but I think I would switch it up to try a few more other options. The main course was great and we'll definitely come back to try out the rest of the menu.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Glass Monkey is a hidden gem, staff ...

Dined 7 days ago

The Glass Monkey is a hidden gem, staff was super friendly and the food was amazing, notables being the Mac and cheese, and for dessert I definitely recommend the bread pudding and turtle cheesecake. Will definitely be back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Glass Monkey is truly a Gastro Pub. Hig ...

Dined 7 days ago

Glass Monkey is truly a Gastro Pub. High quality food with a blend of nationalities. Great wine list and friendly staff. Flexible enough to take the family or to host a group of friends. My friends from Calgary were quite impressed with the food and ambience. I would recommend.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was very good with some appetiz ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was very good with some appetizers that are a bit unique. Staff was friendly. They have a great beer selection with some smaller craft brews in cans and bottles. The atmosphere was good although a touch loud for my taste (caused more by a low roof than anything else). Three of us dined there and all of us enjoyed the food. I would call this a higher quality neighborhood gastropub.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A delightful little neighborhood restaur ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

A delightful little neighborhood restaurant. The menu has something on it for everybody and lots of small plates for sharing. The food was delicious.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Moroccan duck special was fabulous!! Gre ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Moroccan duck special was fabulous!! Great food and service. A little loud but other than that everything was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

There were three of us and we had share ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

There were three of us and we had share plates, we got meatballs, pork tacos (one of the specials), a meat and cheese platter, broccoli, and beef carpaccio. All of it was delicious and the server was excellent to help us decide how much food to order. Great selection of beers too, and everything was reasonably priced.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food particularly like the tiny bites

Dined on June 9, 2016

The design of the restaurant is part bar (with high tables, a full bar, and TV screens) and a higher end restaurant. Very relaxed and casual. Food unusual too, in that great combination of tiny bites to share at start, then smaller dishes, as well as full size dishes. The wine list is excellent and really good value (the owner once ran a wine shop).

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a sample of 5 cold snacks, includ ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

We had a sample of 5 cold snacks, including fresh picked vegetables, savory smoked paprika almonds, and a wonderfully fresh ricotta cheese with apricot chutney. The food sizes are a bit smaller than what you may expect but I am a voracious eater and I left full and satisfied. I had the butter chicken which was probably the best I've ever had, and it comes with rice and a large naan cut into quarters. The server Camillia was fantastic and attended to our party with no problems.

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Not as good as we had heard

Dined on June 5, 2016

Expectations fell short. My friend ordered a Caesar and the Clamato had gone bad. A second drink wasn't improved much. We order a bottle of white wine and the server didn't give us anything to keep it chilled . It also took forever just to get the drinks out. By the time the meal was over we just wanted out so we calculated a 15% tip and paid. Then it was brought to our attention several days later , by someone at work, that they probably had already attached a 18% gratuity ( because we were a table of 8)... But never mentioned it at the start. Maybe these were only one-time-only mishaps, but we all agreed that we won't be likely to go back.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Hidden Gem

Dined on June 2, 2016

We had a lovely dinner with great service and great food. A welcome addition to the neighborhood. We will certainly be making follow-up trips to this hidden gem.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Surprisingly lively restaurant in Lendrum

Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife is vegan and I am vegetarian, and this often poses some challenges when dining out. The Glass Monkey had an interesting sounding vegan main dish, which looked great on paper but which was a bit under-seasoned on the plate. The service was a bit slow because the place was really hopping when we were there on a Saturday evening.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food, service and a varied menu fo ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Great Food, service and a varied menu for all appetites.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Love sharing small plates with friends.

Dined on May 27, 2016

Love sharing small plates with friends.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Our table was waiting for us as we enter ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Our table was waiting for us as we entered at the appointed time and our server was in attendance shortly after. I was especially thankful that a light dish was offered on the menu since I do not enjoy the take-out leftovers of a meal out. My choice of salmon was delicious served with just the right amount of veggies to accompany it.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining experience

Dined on May 22, 2016

Reservations for three, we were seated quickly and service was outstanding. All three dishes were delicious and well prepared, and the appetizer of house made ricotta was lovely. Nice wine selection, as well. We will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of my faves! So welcoming. Really e ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

One of my faves! So welcoming. Really excellent service. Interesting menu items.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience. The service was g ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Fantastic experience. The service was great and the food absolutely delicious. Daily specials were amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to The Glass Monkey after a beac ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We came to The Glass Monkey after a beach volleyball game that took place nearby. We were wearing shorts and sandals and although this is a classy looking place, we were made to feel perfectly at home by the great staff and did not feel out of place at all! The room was filled with many different types of people... some dressed up to 'be out on the town', some super casual, some kids and some elderly folk as well. All seemed to be having a great time. The food here is FANTASTIC! The kitchen was happy to make some adjustments to our order based on dietary restrictions, and the service was top notch for sure! Great thin crust pizza, great BBQ ribs and braised lamb shank (two specials for the evening) and fantastic chicken wings!! I would definitely recommend The Glass Monkey as a great casual spot that offers great bang for your buck!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic

Dined on May 9, 2016

A great casual spot for dinner with friends and family. Fantastic service and delicious food! Highly recommended

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time there - but will be back

Dined on May 1, 2016

Met some girlfriends for a dinner out. Very friendly service all round from the owner greeting us, the fantastic bartender and our lovely waitress. Food was delicious and I loved the variety of the wine menu and the varied price points. The restaurant was busy and had a good vibe. At no point did we feel rushed and the amount of attention we received from our server was perfect. It is quite noisy but I found this provided a good atmosphere to visit and have some laughs. I will certainly be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on April 30, 2016

I loved the atmosphere of the restaurant! A couple of friends and I weren't expecting Glass Monkey to be as fancy as it was, but we were pleasantly surprised! Would definitely recommend to others

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Casual neighbourhood dining with a little extra

Dined on April 25, 2016

Great service and good food. Delicious desserts. Comfortable atmosphere.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent but .............

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Excellent range of food and wine choices but some wines sold by the glass are outrageously expensive.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great get together with friends

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great food. Great atmosphere. Fun attentive staff. Fast service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice setting with an interesting offerings

Dined on April 16, 2016

The owner is involved with the business, the patrons and staff by being out on the floor with a friendly attitude. He sets a good example for his staff.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything we ate was amazing. I love th ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

Everything we ate was amazing. I love that they have healthy filtered water.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our go to place

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great place with great food and service that is friendly and comfortable.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good

Dined on April 6, 2016

If you want good service, a great variety of wines and innovative snacking in a relaxed atmosphere, the Glass Monkey is the place to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Myself and some friends ordered an assor ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Myself and some friends ordered an assortment of snacks, small plates and large plates. The snacks were very tiny, and didn't seem worth it at all. The beef carpaccio, Asiago broccoli and the chicken small plate were quite tasty and a good size to share. Unfortunately, the crostini provided with the appetizers was stale. This was true for every batch we were provided! The Moroccan lamb and the beef stew, which were both specials, tasted amazing! The butter chicken "casserole", a very intriguing idea, ended up just being butter chicken. While it was also good, it was not quite what was expected. Overall, the food was good, but we expected better for the price that was being charged.

food5
ambience5
service5

Meatballs were awesome!

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

Meatballs were awesome!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Visit

Dined on March 19, 2016

In short, the food was excellent - perfectly cooked, seasoned & presented. Very timely (we had 4 courses as we were enjoying a night out) no long waits, and, not rushed. Wine list presents very good value and a great range of selection too! Service very attentive, not intrusive, almost intuitive. Every aspect of our dining experience was excellent - Kudos to a great team!!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Foodtastic

Dined on March 6, 2016

Great evening with a small group. Besides the great food, the small plate and sharing options make this place unique. Service was attentive and knowledgable. Staff really knew about their food and offered great wine options. They have an excellent and exclusive wine selection. Get a reservation on weekends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Noisy

Dined on March 5, 2016

We went at 7 pm on a Friday evening (reservation made on the Monday preceding) and were seated at the bar area. It was too noisy to carry on a conversation! My ears were still ringing the next day. Suitable for hipster 30-somethings I think. I've eaten there before and twice before have had the small plate of salmon - I love the flavour, but this time the piece of salmon was the skimpiest I've ever had, and the prawns on the side were tasteless. Also had the Asian salad (again, a favourite of mine), but the plating was dreadful: just a mound of julienned green papaya and carrot in the middle of a white plate, with three prawns on the side. The house made hummus is lovely. I will go back, but only during the week, and will recommend that friends do the same.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent service, good food

Dined on March 5, 2016

Enjoyed the dishes we ordered. Found it a little noisy. Service was excellent

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

Good was excellent. Service was great. W ...

Dined on February 29, 2016

Good was excellent. Service was great. Wonderful evening out.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The first thing that impressed us was th ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

The first thing that impressed us was the server. His name is Chris and he is very knowledgeable in explaining the menu to us. We simply stumbled onto this place as we were looking for a light meal in the late of night. Since this is a neighborhood business, we wanted to support it. It was certainly a good thing we did because we will certainly come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Yum!

Dined on February 28, 2016

The food at Glass Monkey is always great . If you haven't had the bread pudding yet - do it!!! Service is always warm and welcoming.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Evening

Dined on February 27, 2016

My sister and I enjoyed a fantastic evening. Spots with shared small plates and excellent wine. Our server was very helpful helping identify dishes for my gluten free sister that were safe for my nut allergies. Can't wait to go back for dinner with my husband.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jacks Grill Gorgeous -- Glass Monkey Even Better

Dined on February 23, 2016

They smoke their own food with an secret blend of wood chips. The food literally takes like I am eating smoke. What else can you ask for? They pickle their carrots, radishes, mushrooms, and onions. wh whaaaaaaat? So good.. I literally had to stop myself from licking the wooden entrée plates. Their wine list is bold.. and if provoked.. a perfect match for your meal can be provided. Service was excellent. I was even told that a former Jacks Grill employee works there! Definitely a unique and special dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.