Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.09mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.16mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi
  1. Distance: 1.09mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.16mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.09mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.16mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi
  1. Distance: 1.09mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.16mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi

About The Glass Monkey

We bring together a diverse, internationally inspired and locally sourced menu presenting both tapas and small plates ideal for sharing...as well as full meal dishes. The Glass Monkey Gastropub offers an extensive wine by the glass program, a large selection of craft beers and fresh cocktails. Our room is casual, comfortable and elegant.
Don't be fooled by the name! A Gastropub is not limited to those wanting to have a drink and great food with a friend… it is also kid friendly, providing a casual, quick dinner for a busy family on the go. 


5842 - 111 Street
Edmonton, AB T6H 3G1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Tapas / Small Plates, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Open daily from 3:30 pm until at least 10:00 pm.
Closed Tuesday.




Cross Street:
111 Street & 57 Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 760-2228

Website:
http://www.theglassmonkey.ca/

Parking Details:
The Lendrum Place Shopping Centre provides ample parking directly in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
111 St & 57 Ave: buses #9 & #55 (1 block walk)

111 St & 50 Ave: LRT stop at Southgate ( 8 block walk)

Executive Chef:
Darcy Radies

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Wed - Thu 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

We love parties! The Glass Monkey offers a comfortable space that is perfectly suited to accommodate many different events including corporate presentations, weddings & family celebrations, stand up receptions, fundraising galas & seasonal parties. Please contact Rob at 780.760.2228 for more info.

The Glass Monkey Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (45)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Casual (28)
See All
Fit for Foodies (28)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Fun (23)
Special Occasion (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Tapas (22)
Notable Wine List (20)
Cozy (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Great Beer (17)
Comfort Food (14)
Romantic (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Authentic (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Family Style (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Business Meals (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Healthy (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
People Watching (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
472 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 4 days ago

Not the place to go if you are looking for a quiet dinner, definitely the place to go for a great food and wine with lots of energy in the room.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Casual, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We love The Glass Monkey! Its great for any type of nosh - full meals, sharing, or, my favorite, the 1, 3 or 5 snack offerings (e.g. hummus, olives, etc). The wine and beers lists are extensive and Monday 1/2 price or -$20 bottles of wine make for an extremely affordable night out! The owner is always on site and engaged with his patrons, while the staff is consistently friendly and accommodating. A definite MUST!

Tags: Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 13, 2017

My friend and I visited on a Sunday evening for dinner and an opportunity to catch up. Our very pleasant server was attentive without hovering and was accommodating with all of our requests and questions. We shared the tender beef carpaccio as well as the perfectly roasted broccoli to start. Both were flavourful and easy to share. After a couple glasses of wine (we ordered a bottle which they corked for us to take home -- bonus) we shared a delicious, thin-crust mushroom pizza. We had hoped to try one of the several tempting desserts but unfortunately didn't have room. The atmosphere was warm, inviting and rather quiet given that it was a Sunday. We were not rushed despite our long visit and our water glasses and coffee cups were refilled promptly. It was a great evening -- a unique experience of sharing food and stories.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Tapas, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Took some friends from out of town to dinner and had a great evening. Their variation of chilly was wonderful.!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Casual, Tasting Menu, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fantastic food and service!
On a double date and the 4 of us really enjoyed all of the food choices. Fish tacos, Pulled pork tacos, Homemade Pappardelle (Mmmm, sooo tasty!) and Jack's Grill Bread pudding was the favourite dessert.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food and service. We went for a girls night would go back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We enjoyed our experience and will be back. My only criticism is that the food came out too fast after the appetizers. We hadn't finished and there was the main course. We would have liked a more relaxed pace to our meal which was excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent foods, good service. Too loud inside!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Another awesome meal with great service. Out kids love it. Bring the whole family as they will accommodate even the fussiest kid. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I cannot say enough great things about this restaurant. My family regularly eats at this restaurant and we are always treated like family by the staff and the owners.

The food is always so consistent and the staff is always so attentive. The Glass Monkey truly is a hidden gem!

I would like to thank Rob and Janine for always making our weekly meals so memorable!

Many Thanks,

Chris

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We had a great evening out for our Dinner Club. Fantastic service, Eric was exceptional! The beer and wine lists were extensive and loved the custom monkey themed drinks! The entree's were very good and flavorful! We all enjoyed our dishes very much. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 24, 2017

If your looking for a restaurant the glass Monkey is perfect. I loved the fries and pizza. Riley. 9 years old. :). Oh ya and the Italian sodas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was great, but service was even better. The hostess was also very accommodating.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We will be back. Excellent service, good and atmosphere

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We very much enjoyed our meal though thought it, the "special", to be pricey. The service was excellent. Our biggest issue was the chairs. We are of average height or slightly above bit felt the chairs to the lower tables were quite - to the table and uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We enjoyed our valentines dinner at the Glass Monkey. The food was great, service was very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I was looking for a romantic dinner place for Valentine's Day. The Glass Monkey pleasantly surprised us. When my girlfriend and I arrived, it was so busy that we thought the service and the food might just be average. However, much to our surprise, the food was scrumptious. We ordered a Hawaiian pizza and a lamb curry. I was amazed by the lamb curry. I come from India and I can bet the lamb curry at the Glass Monkey is one of the best lamb curries I have had. They even have a Butter Chicken meal on the menu and while paying the bill, we learned that it is one of the favorites. The Hawaiian pizza was really good too.
The service was top notch. The ambiance was cozy and romantic with candle lit 2-person tables everywhere. The owner/manager made an effort to personally greet all the guests and check in with us if we need anything. Overall, a great experience. I highly recommend checking out this place :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My husband and I go to the Glass Monkey specifically for their butter chicken. It's absolutely divine. As we went on Valentine's Day we also had the fish tacos to start from their Valentine's menu and they were delicious as well. Service is always great, good is always great. We've been there numerous times, haven't been disappointed yet!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Lunch, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Cozy, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was ok, nothing special. It seemed very rushed. We even ordered twice and were out the door in 45 min. I also suffer from a food allergy and it did not feel as if they took it seriously. I asked the waiter to ask the chef if the pork tacos would be ok and we had to ask again to get an answer only to find out the waiter already ordered them. Ok restaurant for a quick bite but definitely not for a romantic night out.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Hidden gem! Great, accommodating , friendly service. Food is very good, and kitchen has always been fantastic at working around dietary restrictions. Fair priced food, great wine, and intimate setting! Great spot for date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentine's day and was really busy as you can imagine, but having a reservation, we got in and seated right before it picked up and the host was friendly and so was the server. Food was really good, aside from trying to not be a kid at heart and get wings and fries. The drink menu is huge and hard to make up a decision on what to drink. All in all really fun, and would go back to try all the different beers.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Everything we tried was great...the meatballs, the feta, the fish tacos and the mushroom pizza...all delicious. The beer menu is impressive, and the service was excellent. Will go back again for sure!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was a very busy night as it was Valentine's Day but food and service was great as usual.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The restaurant had nice ambience and would be great for group. We got seated right away. The service was a little bit on the slower side but acceptable. The food however was a bit disappointing. We order a bunch of small plates to share and they were brought pretty promptly. The beef capacio was flavored a bit weird and almost tasted bitter. The chicken thigh yakitori was a bit burnt on the edges. The salmon was too salty. The meatballs were good but nothing special. The caesar salad was pretty good. I've heard good things about this restaurant and that's why we visited but was not impressed by the food and likely won't be going back again.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great! Friendly atmosphere with great food. Best French fries & bread pudding in the city

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful food and service !
Second time we have visited and didn't fail to impress. Again !!
Appies were delicious and flavorful main course mushroom pizza could have used a little more flavor the special, curried chicken was very good !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We enjoy the Glass Monkey as we live in the area. It's nice to have a unique place in walking distance. Each time we go, we choose 5 of the shareable items. It's fun to try all the different appys that they have. We also enjoy the charcuterie and cheese boards. The wine is great and there are many choices for beer.

Tags: Great Beer, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The cold starters here are amazing. Excellent flavour. They go great with all kinds of drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The restaurant is one of our favourites. The skirt steak special was good but the sauce overpowered the steak. Otherwise a great restaurant- great staff

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

we always enjoyed the Glass Monkey. Excellent service and great food. the atmosphere is comfortable and vibrant.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Tapas, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good fun with a mixed group. Easy to share lots of menu items!

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Stopped in Monday to take advantage of the discounted wine. This was actually one of the better meals we've had in Edmonton in a long time. All the food really hit the spot and our server was outstanding. Look forward to coming back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Outstanding Value
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The tapas was delicious, especially the ricotta and apricot chutney. And the flank steak was amazing. And the lemon bread pudding with mixed berries and warm chocolate cake were so good. The large plates were alright. Nothing to special though

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Always good here - and they do NOT overcook the salmon! My lamb stew was excellent - lamb was tender but not falling apart. The peppers in the stew were cooked perfectly - tender but not mushy. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Healthy, Business Meals, Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner very much. The food was fantastic and very good service.
Our server was very efficient and friendly. We would recommend the Glass Monkey absolutely.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Family Style
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was our first time in Glass Monkey. I really enjoyed the overall ambience, food and the service. Will definitely visit again and have asked my friends to try it out! A real gem in the neighbourhood!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for a Date, Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great place! Friendly, inviting staff. Really great that the owner Rob makes a point to visit every table and chat. It was my boyfriend's birthday and and they really acknowledged it. Great food, service, music and ambiance. Definitely recommend and definitely going back!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Nice evening but food was so so.... The Charcuterie board was very limited with meat and cheese. Lots of food but it is nicer to have a few different varieties.
The salmon was nice but the veggies were under cooked. Nice selection of wine.
Can be noisy though when all tables were full.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Wonderful food and service as always. Waiter and service staff were friendly and helpful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Very enjoyable meal! It was quiet enough that we could converse and the service was great!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Cozy, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.