Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 5 times today
Special offers available. See details

The Glass Monkey

4.5
623 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Global, International
Perfect For:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Good for a Date
  • Notable Wine List
We bring together a diverse, internationally inspired and locally sourced menu presenting both tapas and small plates ideal for sharing...as well as full meal dishes. The Glass Monkey Gastropub offers an extensive wine by the glass program, a large selection of craft beers and fresh cocktails. Our room is casual, comfortable and elegant.
Don't be fooled by the name! A Gastropub is not limited to those wanting to have a drink and great food with a friend… it is also kid friendly, providing a casual, quick dinner for a busy family on the go.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Global, International, Tapas / Small Plates, Gastro Pub
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Open daily from 3:30 pm.
Our kitchen is open until at least 10:00 pm.
Closed Tuesday.






icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(780) 760-2228
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Darcy Radies
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
111 Street & 57 Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
The Lendrum Place Shopping Centre provides ample parking directly in front of the restaurant.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
111 St & 57 Ave: buses #9 & #55 (1 block walk)

111 St & 50 Ave: LRT stop at Southgate ( 8 block walk)
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun - Mon 8:00PM - 9:30PM
Wed - Thu 8:00PM - 9:30PM
Fri - Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

What 623 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.3
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Salmon was outstanding! We really enjoy Glass Monkey!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Yummy food and great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

As always The Glass Monkey delivers amazing food and great beer. We have been here multiple times and it has never let us down, friendly staff and great casual atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Always good food and service. True chef at the helm of the kitchen. Awsome creation of flavors.
Will be back again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Thirsty Thursday (with discounted beer and bottled cider) and half price pizza before 5:30 makes for a very affordable early evening! All four pizza choices were good, but my Hawaiian was spectacular.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Recently was at the restaurant for a friends get-together. Asked for a reservation with 15 minutes flexibility as we weren't sure on arrival time and restaurant had table ready and held for us when we arrived. Considering arrived just before 9 pm it was very crowded and a bit noisy for conversation but the food and service was very good. Would recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

The food was very good and the service was excellent. It was a packed house so everything was a little crowded and noisy. Unfortunately, not so good for the conversation for a table of 7. But I do think that your restaurant has good value but for quiet conversation , perhaps we will have to pick a weeknight instead of a weekend.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Very crowded and noisy. good waiters and OK food. not for quiet dining, but would be a good casual restaurant with a large group.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Cheese platter was extremely good value, lots of cheese and with an excellent chutney. Main meals were very good. We didn’t see too much of our server, she seemed to have a very large section of big tables, and one table seemed to take a lot of her attention. We will be back though, as the food was very good

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Enjoyed the early evening dining with my friend. Server Rick was very good. As the evening wore on the room was incredibly full and very noisy. In my opinion, a few less tables would ease the cramped feeling and the noise.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Absolutely delightful. Excellent food. Great menu selection. We really enjoyed the appetizers and small plates. I really enjoyed the brussel sprouts with roasted garlic. The main courses were incredible. The bread pudding was amazing. Excellent service. Great ambiance! We will be back for more!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Great music!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

1st time very nice. Will definitely repeat

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Discovered this place a few years ago with my husband. Actually had some sort of coupon so decided to check it out.
When we pulled into the parking lot and discovered it was in a old strip mall we kinda looked at each other like ???? Hmmmm
Well don’t judge a book by its cover. The moment we walked through the front door we were taken to a totally different world and a quaint dinning experience.
The menu may set you back a bit at first glance but don’t let that deceive you either. It is well thought out for ALL appetites. Big, small, shareable and diverse.
The menu only also isn’t the only options available. Their nightly specials will blow your mind and your taste buds!

Since our first visit here we have returned solo and with unassuming friends from out out town. The atmosphere is such that you don’t feel rushed nor do you want to leave. Everyone we have taken has fallen in love with the place.

Many local people we have ask about ever hearing about it say ... ‘well, I’ve seen it but .....”

Tonight we wanted to celebrate a recent engagement for a young couple. One of which is from Kazakhstan along with 8 others. Being the coordinators of the event we were a little anxious hoping everyone would find something to please their palette.

All I have to say is.... BAM.... we killed it!!! . Rather our waiter, his team and the Chef blew everyone out of the park.

So here I am letting you in on a little secret .... if you want a nice night out for two or you want to be event coordinators extraordinaire go to The Glass Monkey. Just make sure you save us a table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Quaint little spot. Classy charm with great food and an extensive beer and wine list.
I've already recommended to a friend.
I would go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

Our server, Alek, was excellent, as he always has been.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Great meal! Food was delicious, service was great, an all round lovely time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Always a great place, thanks again Rob and the team at the Glass Monkey!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 3, 2018

We were greeted by very nice people and asked to clear up an issue with our phone number on Open Table but we had a waiter that had such a heavy accent everyone at our table had trouble understanding him along with the background noise. The drinks were ridiculously priced, one of our party asked for a tall drink - it came in the exact same glass as mine but the waiter clearly said that it was a tall. Perhaps there was only one ounce but then why was she charged the same as mine? We were eating at 7:30 ish and one of the special starters was already sold out - correction - there was only one order left. We all enjoyed out meal and the food was excellent. The waiter was very nice and professional but we all had a very hard time understanding him. price of the menu items was fair - just the alcholic beverages that were way overpriced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

We'll be back! A great experience .the butter chicken was amazing the server was awesome too

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

We went to The Glass Monkey for my mother-in-law's 70th birthday. I had driven by many times and saw the good reviews online and thought it would be a great place to try for the occasion. I was really impressed with the level of service. Their team called in advance to confirm the reservation and asked about the occasion. During our dinner, they surprised us with an entire cake (the best chocolate cake I've ever had) with 'Happy 70th Birthday' on it for our table of 7. The food was fantastic and they have a great wine/beer/cocktail selection. Everyone at the table had a great night and I'm looking forward to going back for a more low key post work beverage and appies. I would highly recommend to anyone.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 25, 2018

We enjoyed the food and variety on the menu, however our night did not start well when we made reservations in the morning on line and we were seated right by the front door and had to continuously move our chairs as people came in the restaurant. Our server was pleasant and helpful however the whole time we were there it felt like we were rushed to get out . We had reservations for 6:15 and by 7:15 got the feeling our server wanted us to finish up. As mentioned the food was excellent and i would recommend this restaurant to anybody and we need to give it a second chance as maybe we could request better seating and pick a different night as it was very busy and maybe that is why we felt rushed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Nice and relaxing! Very good food!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 19, 2018

A great spot to go! Never Disappoints!!

Food and service is always great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Valentines day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

My husband and I went to Glass Monkey for Valentine's Day. Food was fabulous! Even though the place was packed, the service was attentive and friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Had a great meal and dessert. Love this gem. Will be back for sure

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Great food, great beer selection, and excellent service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 1, 2018

Fun ...plus a hockey game on ..made for a good night ..

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 28, 2018

The cake is a bit pricey and compared to other restaurants it’s quite expensive

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 26, 2018

I'd give this higher marks if it weren't for the fact that my meal arrived COLD. The plate was chilled; the veggies, although cooked well, were cold (not even lukewarm, but COLD (maybe precooked and plated straight from the fridge?) and the meat, which was delicious, tender, and cooked to specifications, was barely lukewarm due to sitting on a cold plate. I hesitated to say anything as my dinner companions were happy with their meals and by this time the wait staff was very busy elsewhere with other tables - but when I did get a chance to comment my plate was whisked away. It was returned to me 10-15 minutes later with piping hot veggies, my meat had been cooked a bit more which was OK - still tasty, just now more to the medium side.
While I appreciate the attention to improving my meal, I don't understand how this wasn't caught and dealt with before it was sent out - a plate that felt like it came from the fridge shouldn't have made it to the table. Eating WITH one's dinner companions is much better than watching them eat, then hurrying to catch up.
Glass Monkey is a lovely spot, and I really like to support local small businesses. It is very noisy once half full; softening some of the hard surfaces would bring down the noise level and make it easier to have a conversation at the table.
We received VERY attentive service when we first showed up and before the restaurant filled up. Friendly staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

The Glass Monkey has great food and attentive but not obtrusive service. The alcohol menu has plenty of selections for beer, wine or cocktail drinkers. The restaurant offers unlimited sparkling or filtered still water for a set price. Several specials for both tasting plates and main courses add lots of variety to the menu. This is a wonderful place for a very enjoyable afternoon or evening.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Location is always quite full..be prepared to wait past reservation time- but the food is worth the wait! Charcuterie combo board is fantastic. Always a great special entree. Service is a bit slow-but again the food is worth the wait. Many wine options available.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 18, 2018

Food was excellent as always. Service was friendly and quick but not a rush. My only complaint about this place is the noise level. Why are restaurants so committed to the hard furnishings and floors decor these days? I guess you could say that it creates a vibrant, “happening” atmosphere but it also makes it impossible to carry on a conversation with the friends or colleagues you went there to share the evening with.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 15, 2018

Excellent food and great service! One of the best places to eat in Edmonton!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Very loud, had to shout to be heard across the table. Pork belly was just dried out bacon. Sad because most of the food was great and good wine and beer selection. Service was outstanding.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 5, 2018

We have been here at least 6 times or more. It is truly a neighbourhood gem! Great food and service! Nice wine selection too! We shared many small plates . All yummy! You really can’t go wrong .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Three of us went there for New Year's eve which was super fun. They had great menu options for the meat and potatoes gal, the guy who prefers to eat multiple appetizers and the burger and fries dude. The service was superb.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

What a gem in our neighbourhood! We will be back soon. Can’t wait to try everything on the menu

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2017

It was NYE and I understand that they were trying to serve as many tables as possible but we constantly felt rushed by our waiter. When the reservation was confirmed I said that we would not be staying until midnight but that I didn’t want to feel like we were being rushed and that I imagined we would be there 2-2.5 hours. Our server had us finished our main course in 60 minutes. The food was fabulous as always and we will definitely be back but I just wish the night didn’t seem so rushed.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
16

Tweets by The Glass Monkey