About The Glass Monkey

5842 - 111 Street
Edmonton, AB T6H 3G1
View Larger Map

We bring together a diverse, internationally inspired and locally sourced menu presenting both tapas and small plates ideal for sharing...as well as full meal dishes. The Glass Monkey Gastropub offers an extensive wine by the glass program, a large selection of craft beers and fresh cocktails. Our room is casual, comfortable and elegant.
Don't be fooled by the name! A Gastropub is not limited to those wanting to have a drink and great food with a friend… it is also kid friendly, providing a casual, quick dinner for a busy family on the go. 


Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Tapas / Small Plates, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Open daily from 3:30 pm until at least 10:00 pm.
Closed Tuesday.




Cross Street:
111 Street & 57 Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 760-2228

Website:
http://www.theglassmonkey.ca/

Parking Details:
The Lendrum Place Shopping Centre provides ample parking directly in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
111 St & 57 Ave: buses #9 & #55 (1 block walk)

111 St & 50 Ave: LRT stop at Southgate ( 8 block walk)

Executive Chef:
Darcy Radies

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Wed - Thu 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

We love parties! The Glass Monkey offers a comfortable space that is perfectly suited to accommodate many different events including corporate presentations, weddings & family celebrations, stand up receptions, fundraising galas & seasonal parties. Please contact Rob at 780.760.2228 for more info.

The Glass Monkey Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (39)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Casual (30)
See All
Special Occasion (28)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Tapas (21)
Fun (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Cozy (17)
Comfort Food (15)
Great Beer (14)
Romantic (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Authentic (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Business Meals (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Family Style (8)
Healthy (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
People Watching (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Live Sports (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
457 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was great, but service was even better. The hostess was also very accommodating.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 5 days ago

We will be back. Excellent service, good and atmosphere

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We enjoyed our valentines dinner at the Glass Monkey. The food was great, service was very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I was looking for a romantic dinner place for Valentine's Day. The Glass Monkey pleasantly surprised us. When my girlfriend and I arrived, it was so busy that we thought the service and the food might just be average. However, much to our surprise, the food was scrumptious. We ordered a Hawaiian pizza and a lamb curry. I was amazed by the lamb curry. I come from India and I can bet the lamb curry at the Glass Monkey is one of the best lamb curries I have had. They even have a Butter Chicken meal on the menu and while paying the bill, we learned that it is one of the favorites. The Hawaiian pizza was really good too.

The service was top notch. The ambiance was cozy and romantic with candle lit 2-person tables everywhere. The owner/manager made an effort to personally greet all the guests and check in with us if we need anything. Overall, a great experience. I highly recommend checking out this place :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My husband and I go to the Glass Monkey specifically for their butter chicken. It's absolutely divine. As we went on Valentine's Day we also had the fish tacos to start from their Valentine's menu and they were delicious as well. Service is always great, good is always great. We've been there numerous times, haven't been disappointed yet!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Lunch, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Cozy, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was ok, nothing special. It seemed very rushed. We even ordered twice and were out the door in 45 min. I also suffer from a food allergy and it did not feel as if they took it seriously. I asked the waiter to ask the chef if the pork tacos would be ok and we had to ask again to get an answer only to find out the waiter already ordered them. Ok restaurant for a quick bite but definitely not for a romantic night out.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Hidden gem! Great, accommodating , friendly service. Food is very good, and kitchen has always been fantastic at working around dietary restrictions. Fair priced food, great wine, and intimate setting! Great spot for date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentine's day and was really busy as you can imagine, but having a reservation, we got in and seated right before it picked up and the host was friendly and so was the server. Food was really good, aside from trying to not be a kid at heart and get wings and fries. The drink menu is huge and hard to make up a decision on what to drink. All in all really fun, and would go back to try all the different beers.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Everything we tried was great...the meatballs, the feta, the fish tacos and the mushroom pizza...all delicious. The beer menu is impressive, and the service was excellent. Will go back again for sure!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was a very busy night as it was Valentine's Day but food and service was great as usual.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The restaurant had nice ambience and would be great for group. We got seated right away. The service was a little bit on the slower side but acceptable. The food however was a bit disappointing. We order a bunch of small plates to share and they were brought pretty promptly. The beef capacio was flavored a bit weird and almost tasted bitter. The chicken thigh yakitori was a bit burnt on the edges. The salmon was too salty. The meatballs were good but nothing special. The caesar salad was pretty good. I've heard good things about this restaurant and that's why we visited but was not impressed by the food and likely won't be going back again.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great! Friendly atmosphere with great food. Best French fries & bread pudding in the city

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful food and service !

Second time we have visited and didn't fail to impress. Again !!

Appies were delicious and flavorful main course mushroom pizza could have used a little more flavor the special, curried chicken was very good !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We enjoy the Glass Monkey as we live in the area. It's nice to have a unique place in walking distance. Each time we go, we choose 5 of the shareable items. It's fun to try all the different appys that they have. We also enjoy the charcuterie and cheese boards. The wine is great and there are many choices for beer.

Tags: Great Beer, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The cold starters here are amazing. Excellent flavour. They go great with all kinds of drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The restaurant is one of our favourites. The skirt steak special was good but the sauce overpowered the steak. Otherwise a great restaurant- great staff

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

we always enjoyed the Glass Monkey. Excellent service and great food. the atmosphere is comfortable and vibrant.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Tapas, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good fun with a mixed group. Easy to share lots of menu items!

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Stopped in Monday to take advantage of the discounted wine. This was actually one of the better meals we've had in Edmonton in a long time. All the food really hit the spot and our server was outstanding. Look forward to coming back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Outstanding Value
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The tapas was delicious, especially the ricotta and apricot chutney. And the flank steak was amazing. And the lemon bread pudding with mixed berries and warm chocolate cake were so good. The large plates were alright. Nothing to special though

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Always good here - and they do NOT overcook the salmon! My lamb stew was excellent - lamb was tender but not falling apart. The peppers in the stew were cooked perfectly - tender but not mushy. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Healthy, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner very much. The food was fantastic and very good service.

Our server was very efficient and friendly. We would recommend the Glass Monkey absolutely.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was our first time in Glass Monkey. I really enjoyed the overall ambience, food and the service. Will definitely visit again and have asked my friends to try it out! A real gem in the neighbourhood!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great place! Friendly, inviting staff. Really great that the owner Rob makes a point to visit every table and chat. It was my boyfriend's birthday and and they really acknowledged it. Great food, service, music and ambiance. Definitely recommend and definitely going back!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Nice evening but food was so so.... The Charcuterie board was very limited with meat and cheese. Lots of food but it is nicer to have a few different varieties.

The salmon was nice but the veggies were under cooked. Nice selection of wine.

Can be noisy though when all tables were full.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Wonderful food and service as always. Waiter and service staff were friendly and helpful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Very enjoyable meal! It was quiet enough that we could converse and the service was great!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Cozy, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 22, 2017

It was a very nice experience. The food was excellent and wine selection was pretty good. The server was great, very friendly and efficient. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had a great time! Service and food were excellent!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food. Didn't have to wait long and the kids loved it. Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Amazing chili. No wonder it won awards.

Good wine list, but pricey by the glass selections.

Had reservations but was seated at a small crowded table in a corner by kitchen. In their defense, they relocated us at our request.

Server seemed a little rushed, and neglected to ask if my wife wanted cheese and sour cream on her dish. She's allergic. It was remedied, but took a little while, during which time my dish cooled on the table.

Friendly and caring service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Pretty good but a bit pricey for the portions. Will probably go again for a special night out.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, People Watching, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very good food, good wine, good atmosphere & good service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Glass Monkey was great! It was our first time there. The service was excellent, food was very good, and great value. Would highly recommend!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Love Glass Monkey - consistently great food- and an even better wine list !

Tags: Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Tapas, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was overall good, a bit to much olive oil on the dishes but it was ok.

Staff was great, we didn't feel rushed and the Manager checked up on us. Great location as well, parking everywhere and free.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Glass Monkey is one of my favourite restaurants in the city - it has a casual, lovely atmosphere, great service, fantastic food as well as great selection of beer and wine. What could seem as a simple food (burger and fries) was executed to perfection; fries were crispy on the outside and soft and on the inside; burger was made to order and it was juicy and succulent. My husband had a duck confit, which was a special for the night and he has enjoyed every last morsel. I will be back for sure for any occasion.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our meal was very nice, food was fresh and tasty. We had the lamb shank and the butter chicken, both were very tasty. The dessert was delicious, but they served it with a soup spoon! That's a no no!

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 6, 2017

neighbourhood gem----great service

nice atmosphere

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Awesome meal for a special occasion of my mother in law going back home to Scotland. Thought the burger was superb and the butter chicken was the best I've tasted. Quickness of service was great too. Great options for kids as well. They seemed to enjoy themselves. Feel it would be great for a drink watching sport too. Special mention to Eric who's service was impeccable

Scott

Tags: Modern Decor, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Rick our waiter was awesome. Food was awesome. Friend who ordered a Old Fashion drink commented that if they could use a larger ball of ice cubes so the drink doesn't get watered down as fast however he still enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We checked out the Glass Monkey due to its location for New Years Eve and the free parking. When we saw the reviews in Open Table we knew we had picked the right place. The food was great. The service was impeccable considering it was New Years Eve and it was super busy! The owner came and checked to see if everything was okay! Would definitely return! Love family owned businesses!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I've been to Glass Monkey 5 times now, and I've always loved it. It's a hole in the wall spot with great food (real portions) and a solid drink menu. This last visit was my least favourite only because we had to sit by the door (it was busy) and every time someone came inside the -25 cool air blew in. However, the 4 other times I've been have been outstanding- no complaints!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic, Authentic, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 30, 2016

A very enjoyable evening for ten. One person ordered the Margarita pizza and was disappointed that it did not come with tomato sauce. The waiter brought some and all was well. The salmon and shrimp were cooked beautifully. Others enjoyed the BBQ chicken and of course, the butter chicken. Service was excellent and just right. Room can be noisy, depending. Decor was smart and attractive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Loved the desserts - disappointed in the starter 'egg' dish

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Loved the food.

A few people in my party complained about the service being poor. I didn't notice too much as I was drinking many cocktails!

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food and service were excellent. We were made to feel welcome and our server answered all our questions as well as making suggestions. Great for sharing - the restaurant helped by bringing extra plates.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

My wife and I go to the Glass Monkey fairly regularly and it's always consistent and fun. Very good food!

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We are always treated so well when we stop in here. The ambiance is great and the food never disappoints! Great beers & wines.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Fun, fun, fun... great local eatery and wine room with tons of charm and a relaxed feel to unwind in.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.