About The Glass Monkey

5842 - 111 Street
Edmonton, AB T6H 3G1
View Larger Map

We bring together a diverse, internationally inspired and locally sourced menu presenting both tapas and small plates ideal for sharing...as well as full meal dishes. The Glass Monkey Gastropub offers an extensive wine by the glass program, a large selection of craft beers and fresh cocktails. Our room is casual, comfortable and elegant.
Don't be fooled by the name! A Gastropub is not limited to those wanting to have a drink and great food with a friend… it is also kid friendly, providing a casual, quick dinner for a busy family on the go. 


Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Tapas / Small Plates, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Open daily from 3:30 pm until at least 10:00 pm.
Closed Tuesday.
We will be closed on Saturday, November 19th for a private function.




Cross Street:
111 Street & 57 Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 760-2228

Website:
http://www.theglassmonkey.ca/

Parking Details:
The Lendrum Place Shopping Centre provides ample parking directly in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
111 St & 57 Ave: buses #9 & #55 (1 block walk)

111 St & 50 Ave: LRT stop at Southgate ( 8 block walk)

Executive Chef:
Darcy Radies

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Glass Monkey, Edmonton, AB
The Glass Monkey, Edmonton, AB

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

We will be closed Saturday, December 24th. Happy Holidays!

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

We will be closed Sunday, December 25th. Merry Christmas!

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Wed - Thu 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

We love parties! The Glass Monkey offers a comfortable space that is perfectly suited to accommodate many different events including corporate presentations, weddings & family celebrations, stand up receptions, fundraising galas & seasonal parties. Please contact Rob at 780.760.2228 for more info.

The Glass Monkey Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Neighborhood Gem
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Global, International
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
5 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Value
Edmonton
Neighborhood Gem
Edmonton
Global, International
Edmonton
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

Neighborhood Gem (28)
Special Occasion (26)
Casual (19)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Notable Wine List (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Tapas (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Romantic (12)
Cozy (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Business Meals (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Fun (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Great Beer (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Healthy (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Authentic (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
People Watching (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Family Style (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Live Sports (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
399 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Stumbled on the Glass Monkey online whil ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Stumbled on the Glass Monkey online while looking for a "new to us" place for dinner and it didn't disappoint. The appetizers were unique and delicious and the meal itself was outstanding. Terrific service. A very enjoyable evening. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great new tastes every time!

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great new tastes every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great food, service and atmosphere!

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great specials and great service. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Always great specials and great service. Neighbourhood find.

The wine list per glass needs to be expanded - and is too pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This is a nice neighborhood restaurant. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This is a nice neighborhood restaurant. The food was good (but not great), the service was attentive and professional and the atmosphere was good. The issue for me is that while the food was tasty and well prepared it is priced like a higher end restaurant. Now there are some interesting tapas options on the menu that we didn't try and maybe these are better values but I found the entrees overpriced maybe $3-$5 (not massive but just enough to be out of sync). The wine menu is extensive which is nice but again the prices seems to be at least a couple of dollars high per glass. The bread pudding dessert was probably the standout and again while I think it is slightly on the higher side it was excellent. I can see going back again as it is a nice neighborhood place but I feel like it is caught in the middle, not good enough to be a special occasion restaurant, not priced well enough to be a regular dining spot. Again on the pricing it is not massive but to me seemed consistently just high enough to be out of sync.

Tags: Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Awesome as usual. Great service and very ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Awesome as usual. Great service and very good food. Interesting menu. All really well done.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time there, we had gre ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 5, 2016

It was our first time there, we had great service by all the staff, very friendly and great atmosphere. Our meal was awesome from start to finish.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great dinner, food was excellent w ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Had a great dinner, food was excellent with a solid menu. Great beer selection. The small plates were particularly good. Service was top notch, couldn't have been more impressed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Came across this unknown place in the SU ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Came across this unknown place in the SUTP coupon book.

What a little hidden gem!! Everything about it was enjoyable - food, wine, service and surroundings.

Thank you! Will be back without a doubt.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Healthy, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really tasty choices. Lots of small bits ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Really tasty choices. Lots of small bits, each was as good as you would hope it would be. Good value, great service, very friendly and we will be back.

Tags: Quick Bite, Healthy, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit, menu was unique and the se ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 27, 2016

First visit, menu was unique and the selections we made were delicious. The cocktails are also unique and delicious. Will definitely visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We were there on Friday at about 7:30pm. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We were there on Friday at about 7:30pm. The noise level was horrendous - you could not even have a conversation over the din in the room. For this reason, I would never again come there again when they are so fully booked up. The food was good and so was the service. Prices a little high for me.

Tags: Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

My best friend and I were so impressed w ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My best friend and I were so impressed with the ambience and the service at the restaurant. Our server was very helpful with suggesting menu items to try out. We enjoyed our food and we hope to come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Booked a table for four to celebrate my ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Booked a table for four to celebrate my wife's birthday. Staff were welcoming. Menu was exactly what we were looking for. Lots of small plates to share. Tons of unique flavours. Extensive wine list had us excited too. A tv was on to see the playoff game, but didn't make the place feel like a sports bar. We ordered a lot and had 3 bottles of wine so a bit pricey overall, but 2 people could easily dine with a drink or 2 for under $100.

I had seen some reviews commenting that it could get noisy in there. I didn't feel that at all. It was a restaurant full of people having great conversations.

This is going to be a regular for us now. Make sure you book a reservation.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We a new regulars that like to visit aft ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We a new regulars that like to visit after our daughter's dance on Thursday nights.

Food and service is always fantastic and always feel welcomed when we come in.

A fantastic little diamond in the rough. Rob and his crew are fantastic hosts!

We look forward to many meals in the near future.

Cheers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We were at the Glass Monkey twice in the ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We were at the Glass Monkey twice in the past 2 weeks. It was a wonderful experience on both occasions. The food was well prepared, attractively served and the service was excellent. As a person with Celiac Disease, I really appreciated all the gluten free options.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing, to put it lightly. From the sec ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Amazing, to put it lightly. From the second we walk in the door, we knew we were going to have a wonderful time. From the great ambiance of the dinning room to the welcoming smile on the hostess. As we sat down we were almost instantly greater by our server and had drinks on the table mer seconds latter. Now the food! I think my boy friend is still dreaming about how good the food was! The full flavour in every bite almost nocked me off my chair. The only critic I feel I could make was the portion size. If I hadn't ordered an appetizer to started, I'd probably would have hit up a DQ on my way home. There was just so much flavour I wanted to eat more! With in the 2 days since going to this hidden gem I have told everyone at my work and posted on social media how amazing my experience was and how I can't wait to go again with more of my friends

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Casual, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here a couple times now. I rea ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I've been here a couple times now. I really enjoy the food and service is great! I enjoy ordering a variety of the small plates and sharing it with the people I'm dining it. It allow me to try a variety of things.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food, good service, but just T ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Very good food, good service, but just TOO LOUD!

We have eaten here 5 times now and when seated outdoors on the patio, the experience is pleasant and more satisfying. Indoors the noise echoes and careens off the walls. So cacophonous is the noise level, one cannot hear anything from the person sitting across a table for two. We were nearly shouting at each other in order to carry on a conversation.

We will only return in patio season.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Great care in food prep., & the wine sel ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great care in food prep., & the wine selection..magnificent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I really enjoyed our evening out at The ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 30, 2016

I really enjoyed our evening out at The Glass Monkey. The food was really good and the atmosphere was classy. I wish I could have tried more things, will have to go back.

If I had one complaint it was just that the server was at our table so often, it seemed a little excessive and often interrupted our conversation. But that is minor.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had an outstanding dinner there (pre- ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We had an outstanding dinner there (pre-theatre date night dinner for my husband and I). The wings were great, I had the Moroccan Lamb dish and was happy to have enough leftovers for dinner again the day after. Incredibly tasty food. Great wine and beer list. The service was outstanding - the waiter was gracious and friendly without being overbearing, gave us just the right amount of attention, and had great recommendations for both food and drinks. I didn't have room for dessert, but that gives us reason to go back. This was the best dinner out I've had in a long time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable experience, Not a high end res ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Memorable experience,

Not a high end restaurant but certainly a major cut above a bar menu. Fantastic wine selection at what appears to be a reasonable price. We had a wonderful italian wine with the meal that made the event truly memorable. I will not forget. The owner welcomed us and helped with wine and food selection. A very nice touch. This is definitely an important addition to the Edmonton scene.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food. Especially the Ricotta pai ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Amazing food. Especially the Ricotta paired with the Liberty School Zinfandel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made reservations at last minute, not ...

 
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We made reservations at last minute, not sure we would get in. We arrived about 6:30PM but by about 7:30 the place was full. Great appetizers, good main course, and friendly, casual ambiance. Nice local gem.

Tags: Authentic, Wood Oven, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice variety of food. We sampled a few p ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Nice variety of food. We sampled a few plates and the flavours were amazing. We were there to catch up and talk over good food, and were not disappointed. It was nice to not feel rushed or forgotten by the waiter. The crowd was diverse and the ambience comfortable.

Tags: Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great local spot for quality food and go ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great local spot for quality food and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Management takes great pride in the valu ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Management takes great pride in the value of this pub. They touch base with all customers and their staff seem genuinely happy to work there. Most places are similar money. This place is s step ahead of their competition .....

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Live Sports, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit to Glass Monkey ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was my second visit to Glass Monkey. The soup (ginger carrot) was delicious and our waiter very attentive without being pushy. I had the special and was really disappointed. The brisket, although tender, had large bites of pure fat and the portion was ridiculously small for $23. I was very glad I had the soup to start. We shared a small, but extremely succulent, chocolate cake for dessert. The bill was $95 for two for dinner which was quite expensive for food served.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

My girlfriends and I came to the Glass M ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 3, 2016

My girlfriends and I came to the Glass Monkey for a get together, we had a great time and really enjoyed the food and service! I will definitely be back !

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was pretty slow. It took almo ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our waiter was pretty slow. It took almost 20 mins before he took our drink order and he would leave the table before all four of us could order our next drink. The food was OK & the cocktails are pretty unique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Wonderful service, great staff, excellen ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Wonderful service, great staff, excellent food! Will be returning!

Tags: Casual, Wood Oven, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. We sat on the pati ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Wonderful experience. We sat on the patio had appitizer 3 to share Smoked Salmon Mousse: house smoked Chinook, cream cheese, capers

Flank Steak: asian marinated, green onions, ginger aioli

Hummus: chickpeas, sundried tomatoes, lemon, olive oil the best appies we have had in a long long time!!

Followed by Butter chicken = Melt in your mouth, I was supposed to share with my husband, didn't happen too yummy to share! Hubby had spaghetti he oleo loved his meal.

And for dessert Mixed Berry Crisp and ice cream this we did share !

We will be back have already recommended to our friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant - have been a numbe ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Love this restaurant - have been a number of times and the food is always great!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Its a Monday... and the wine is half pri ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Its a Monday... and the wine is half price. This cute rest., has great staff, friendly and attentive. Rob is a fun and talkative fellow, ohh and its his rest., so he makes you feel comfortable. I've been to Glass Monkey several time with the wife and kids. Never a dissappointment.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time there. Quite impressed with ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 5, 2016

First time there. Quite impressed with the overall ambience (upscale pub).

Food & service were great and we will definitely go there again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at the ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 28, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at the Glass Monkey! The food was delicious and service was exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Glass Monkey always delivers - impeccabl ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Glass Monkey always delivers - impeccable service, amazing patio and great food. This time we were going with burger and fries & vegetarian pasta, quite simple. Burger was delicious, fries crispy and freshly made but this time around unfortunately my fries had too much salt. Thier freshly made pasta was very tasty, however for vegetarian pasta lacked in the vegetable department. Pesto on the pasta was delicious, but as mentioned it would have been nice to have more vegetables (named as ingredients). This is a lovely spot and I will be back for sure.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was good - a bit pricey but very nice ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was good - a bit pricey but very nice. An enjoyable evening was had by all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent service, very good food but th ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent service, very good food but the noise level was too high- hard to have a conversation or even hear each other during dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.