About The Glass Monkey

5842 - 111 Street
Edmonton, AB T6H 3G1
View Larger Map

Our beautiful patio is now open!
We bring together a diverse, internationally inspired and locally sourced menu presenting both tapas and small plates ideal for sharing...as well as full meal dishes. The Glass Monkey Gastropub offers an extensive wine by the glass program, a large selection of craft beers and fresh cocktails. Our room is casual, comfortable and elegant.
Don't be fooled by the name! A Gastropub is not limited to those wanting to have a drink and great food with a friend… it is also kid friendly, providing a casual, quick dinner for a busy family on the go. 


Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, International, Gastro Pub, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Open daily from 3:30 pm until at least 10:00 pm.
Closed Tuesday.
Closed holiday Monday, May 23rd.
Closed Friday, May 27th for a private function.

Cross Street:
111 Street & 57 Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 760-2228

Website:
http://www.theglassmonkey.ca/

Parking Details:
The Lendrum Place Shopping Centre provides ample parking directly in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
111 St & 57 Ave: buses #9 & #55 (1 block walk)

111 St & 50 Ave: LRT stop at Southgate ( 8 block walk)

Executive Chef:
Darcy Radies

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Happy Monday!

Mondays from 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Wednesday Wings!

Wednesdays from 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Thirsty Thursday!

Thursdays from 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Half Price Pizza!

Thursdays from 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Happy Monday!

Mondays from 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Love wine? Join us for 'Happy Monday'... every Monday! Bottles under $40 are half price... all other bottles are $20 off!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 26, 2016 - Jun 26, 2016 on Mondays from 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM.
Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Join us for dinner on Father's Day and treat Dad to some delicious food and drinks at The Glass Monkey Gastropub!
Wednesday Wings!

Wednesdays from 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Our delicious chicken wings are half price every Wednesday!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 26, 2016 - Jun 26, 2016 on Wednesdays from 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM.
Thirsty Thursday!

Thursdays from 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Beer is on special all night on Thursday! Come in and choose from our beers on tap... $6 for a 20 oz pint! Or choose from our selection of 75+ bottled craft beers from around the globe at $2 off per bottle. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 26, 2016 - Jun 26, 2016 on Thursdays from 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM.
Half Price Pizza!

Thursdays from 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM

Details
Enjoy our delicious pizza at half price from 3:30 to 5:30pm on Thursday!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 26, 2016 - Jun 26, 2016 on Thursdays from 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Wed - Thu 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

We love parties! The Glass Monkey offers a comfortable space that is perfectly suited to accommodate many different events including corporate presentations, weddings & family celebrations, stand up receptions, fundraising galas & seasonal parties. Please contact Rob at 780.760.2228 for more info.

The Glass Monkey Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Notable Wine List
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
3 More
Neighborhood Gem
Edmonton
Notable Wine List
Edmonton
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

neighborhood gem (71)
fit for foodies (62)
good for groups (50)
See All
notable wine list (43)
special occasion (32)
romantic (22)
late-night find (17)
hot spot (14)
great for outdoor dining (13)
kid-friendly (8)
great for lunch (8)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
333 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Love sharing small plates with friends.

Dined 3 days ago

Love sharing small plates with friends.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining experience

Dined on May 22, 2016

Reservations for three, we were seated quickly and service was outstanding. All three dishes were delicious and well prepared, and the appetizer of house made ricotta was lovely. Nice wine selection, as well. We will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of my faves! So welcoming. Really e ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

One of my faves! So welcoming. Really excellent service. Interesting menu items.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience. The service was g ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Fantastic experience. The service was great and the food absolutely delicious. Daily specials were amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to The Glass Monkey after a beac ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We came to The Glass Monkey after a beach volleyball game that took place nearby. We were wearing shorts and sandals and although this is a classy looking place, we were made to feel perfectly at home by the great staff and did not feel out of place at all! The room was filled with many different types of people... some dressed up to 'be out on the town', some super casual, some kids and some elderly folk as well. All seemed to be having a great time. The food here is FANTASTIC! The kitchen was happy to make some adjustments to our order based on dietary restrictions, and the service was top notch for sure! Great thin crust pizza, great BBQ ribs and braised lamb shank (two specials for the evening) and fantastic chicken wings!! I would definitely recommend The Glass Monkey as a great casual spot that offers great bang for your buck!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic

Dined on May 9, 2016

A great casual spot for dinner with friends and family. Fantastic service and delicious food! Highly recommended

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time there - but will be back

Dined on May 1, 2016

Met some girlfriends for a dinner out. Very friendly service all round from the owner greeting us, the fantastic bartender and our lovely waitress. Food was delicious and I loved the variety of the wine menu and the varied price points. The restaurant was busy and had a good vibe. At no point did we feel rushed and the amount of attention we received from our server was perfect. It is quite noisy but I found this provided a good atmosphere to visit and have some laughs. I will certainly be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on April 30, 2016

I loved the atmosphere of the restaurant! A couple of friends and I weren't expecting Glass Monkey to be as fancy as it was, but we were pleasantly surprised! Would definitely recommend to others

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Casual neighbourhood dining with a little extra

Dined on April 25, 2016

Great service and good food. Delicious desserts. Comfortable atmosphere.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent but .............

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Excellent range of food and wine choices but some wines sold by the glass are outrageously expensive.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great get together with friends

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great food. Great atmosphere. Fun attentive staff. Fast service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice setting with an interesting offerings

Dined on April 16, 2016

The owner is involved with the business, the patrons and staff by being out on the floor with a friendly attitude. He sets a good example for his staff.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything we ate was amazing. I love th ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

Everything we ate was amazing. I love that they have healthy filtered water.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our go to place

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great place with great food and service that is friendly and comfortable.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good

Dined on April 6, 2016

If you want good service, a great variety of wines and innovative snacking in a relaxed atmosphere, the Glass Monkey is the place to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Myself and some friends ordered an assor ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Myself and some friends ordered an assortment of snacks, small plates and large plates. The snacks were very tiny, and didn't seem worth it at all. The beef carpaccio, Asiago broccoli and the chicken small plate were quite tasty and a good size to share. Unfortunately, the crostini provided with the appetizers was stale. This was true for every batch we were provided! The Moroccan lamb and the beef stew, which were both specials, tasted amazing! The butter chicken "casserole", a very intriguing idea, ended up just being butter chicken. While it was also good, it was not quite what was expected. Overall, the food was good, but we expected better for the price that was being charged.

food5
ambience5
service5

Meatballs were awesome!

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

Meatballs were awesome!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Visit

Dined on March 19, 2016

In short, the food was excellent - perfectly cooked, seasoned & presented. Very timely (we had 4 courses as we were enjoying a night out) no long waits, and, not rushed. Wine list presents very good value and a great range of selection too! Service very attentive, not intrusive, almost intuitive. Every aspect of our dining experience was excellent - Kudos to a great team!!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Foodtastic

Dined on March 6, 2016

Great evening with a small group. Besides the great food, the small plate and sharing options make this place unique. Service was attentive and knowledgable. Staff really knew about their food and offered great wine options. They have an excellent and exclusive wine selection. Get a reservation on weekends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Noisy

Dined on March 5, 2016

We went at 7 pm on a Friday evening (reservation made on the Monday preceding) and were seated at the bar area. It was too noisy to carry on a conversation! My ears were still ringing the next day. Suitable for hipster 30-somethings I think. I've eaten there before and twice before have had the small plate of salmon - I love the flavour, but this time the piece of salmon was the skimpiest I've ever had, and the prawns on the side were tasteless. Also had the Asian salad (again, a favourite of mine), but the plating was dreadful: just a mound of julienned green papaya and carrot in the middle of a white plate, with three prawns on the side. The house made hummus is lovely. I will go back, but only during the week, and will recommend that friends do the same.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent service, good food

Dined on March 5, 2016

Enjoyed the dishes we ordered. Found it a little noisy. Service was excellent

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

Good was excellent. Service was great. W ...

Dined on February 29, 2016

Good was excellent. Service was great. Wonderful evening out.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The first thing that impressed us was th ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

The first thing that impressed us was the server. His name is Chris and he is very knowledgeable in explaining the menu to us. We simply stumbled onto this place as we were looking for a light meal in the late of night. Since this is a neighborhood business, we wanted to support it. It was certainly a good thing we did because we will certainly come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Yum!

Dined on February 28, 2016

The food at Glass Monkey is always great . If you haven't had the bread pudding yet - do it!!! Service is always warm and welcoming.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Evening

Dined on February 27, 2016

My sister and I enjoyed a fantastic evening. Spots with shared small plates and excellent wine. Our server was very helpful helping identify dishes for my gluten free sister that were safe for my nut allergies. Can't wait to go back for dinner with my husband.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jacks Grill Gorgeous -- Glass Monkey Even Better

Dined on February 23, 2016

They smoke their own food with an secret blend of wood chips. The food literally takes like I am eating smoke. What else can you ask for? They pickle their carrots, radishes, mushrooms, and onions. wh whaaaaaaat? So good.. I literally had to stop myself from licking the wooden entrée plates. Their wine list is bold.. and if provoked.. a perfect match for your meal can be provided. Service was excellent. I was even told that a former Jacks Grill employee works there! Definitely a unique and special dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The owner is always on site and makes a ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

The owner is always on site and makes a point of checking with his patrons. The wait staff is always accommodating and friendly. Food is fantastic!!! Something for everyone and very healthy options as well!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Fun

Dined on February 18, 2016

Again, another wonderful evening, the chicken wings were delish , we had the 5 for 20 appie's. It was my birthday we had six people. I recommend this restaurant to everyone. They had specials which I have also tried, love the curry lamb amazing😍😍, can't thank Rob enough for the great dessert. Bread pudding to die for. Our service was great thanks Camille. Will be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Valentine's Day tapas + wine = amazing

Dined on February 15, 2016

Thanks for great tapas! Valentine's Day on a Sunday is a challenge since I suspect Friday and Saturday were also full up. But, Glass Monkey didn't disappoint. Our chosen wine was out of stock but the alternatives were quickly given and were excellent choices with our tapas. The green beans were a great surprise - just lemony enough without overpowering.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great hidden restaurant!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Went here on Valentine's Day. It is a great little place to go. Only negative was they ran out of a few of food items. The chicken yakitori was to die for! Our servers were friendly and very attentive. A great place to try a variety of food and drinks. Definitely impressed and will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Valentine's Day!

Dined on February 15, 2016

My boyfriend and I spent Valentine's Day here in the recommendation of a friend, and we really enjoyed ourselves! Considering it was a busy holiday for restaurants and was full, the service was excellent! The staff was attentive and super friendly. My partner had the salmon and the Thai curry sauce was DELICIOUS! I ordered a burger which was also very good. I find the ambiance is fancier than the food, this being said the food is VERY well done and very tasty. The appetizer options are great and I love how you could order a few tasters to put on a crustini and share, the flank steak is a must try. Overall great food for a very reasonable price, we will definitely return with friends!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We'll be back again

Dined on February 15, 2016

Fantastic evening complete with creative, fresh & delicious food, excellent wine, attentive & friendly service and great ambiance. We'll be back again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best smoked salmon we have had!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Great sharing menu with wonderful tasting board. Loved the smoked salmon 😜

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great Food

Dined on February 15, 2016

We found this restaurant by luck I think. It exceeded all our expectations! The food was amazing and they had a large variety of drinks to choose from. Don't let it's goofy name deceive you, this restaurant is great! Our waiter was very friendly and professional. We had no complaints at all.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional dining experience

Dined on February 14, 2016

The team at the Glass Monkey are as much a part of the fine dining experience, as the exemplary, varied cuisine and the diverse wine list. Our hosts accommodated our special event in every detail. The menu is varied so that all our party found something special from the butter chicken, to the Italian pizza, to the bread pudding dessert. Even my favourite wine was available!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Glass Monkey Fun Night Out

Dined on February 14, 2016

The glass monkey was great! It wasn't what I initially expected but I was pleasantly surprised! The food was excellent, price was great and the atmosphere was vibrant. Can not wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First Visit did not disappoint, will be back

Dined on February 14, 2016

reserved on a whim based upon open table availability. Pleasant atmosphere, elegant but not fussy i.e. jeans welcome. Has small bar section with 2 tv for more casual eating or combination of regular height tables and cocktail height. Loved the menu, options for cold snacks, small plates and regular meals. Perfect selection, something for everyone. Service wonderful, attentive, pleasant, prompt. Shared 3 cold snacks to start, loved the hummus. Had the Caesar's salad with prawns and spouse had special, ribs. dessert was bread pudding which is worth the trip in itself. Wine and beer menu good. We had house white which was good. Also, tons of parking so no worries there vs somewhere on Whyte or downtown where it's a struggle. Ideal spot for quick bite before/after movie with their small plates and snacks choices. Will definitely be back to try other options on the menu soon

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Just what we needed. A nice bottle of wi ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Just what we needed. A nice bottle of wine and food with friends. The Duck Confit was delicious

food5
ambience5
service5

Service, ambience, food and drink were e ...

Dined on February 11, 2016

Service, ambience, food and drink were excellent. The owners were engaged in their business and took time to connect with patrons. The Glass Monkey offers a lovely dining experience.

food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Another enjoyable meal at Glass Monkey. ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Another enjoyable meal at Glass Monkey. We live in the west end, and it is convenient to our home, great parking and energetic setting. The food is always good, and menu selections very suitable for a casual night out. Very good value.

Tags: neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.