About The Glass Monkey

5842 - 111 Street
Edmonton, AB T6H 3G1
View Larger Map

Our beautiful patio is now open!
We bring together a diverse, internationally inspired and locally sourced menu presenting both tapas and small plates ideal for sharing...as well as full meal dishes. The Glass Monkey Gastropub offers an extensive wine by the glass program, a large selection of craft beers and fresh cocktails. Our room is casual, comfortable and elegant.
Don't be fooled by the name! A Gastropub is not limited to those wanting to have a drink and great food with a friend… it is also kid friendly, providing a casual, quick dinner for a busy family on the go. 


Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Tapas / Small Plates, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Open daily from 3:30 pm until at least 10:00 pm.
Closed Tuesday.




Cross Street:
111 Street & 57 Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 760-2228

Website:
http://www.theglassmonkey.ca/

Parking Details:
The Lendrum Place Shopping Centre provides ample parking directly in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
111 St & 57 Ave: buses #9 & #55 (1 block walk)

111 St & 50 Ave: LRT stop at Southgate ( 8 block walk)

Executive Chef:
Darcy Radies

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Glass Monkey
The Glass Monkey

Specials

Happy Monday!

Mondays from 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Wednesday Wings!

Wednesdays from 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Thirsty Thursday!

Thursdays from 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Half Price Pizza!

Thursdays from 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

Happy Monday!

Mondays from 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Love wine? Join us for 'Happy Monday'... every Monday! Bottles under $40 are half price... all other bottles are $20 off!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 27, 2016 - Oct 27, 2016 on Mondays from 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM.

Wednesday Wings!

Wednesdays from 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Our delicious chicken wings are half price every Wednesday!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 27, 2016 - Oct 27, 2016 on Wednesdays from 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM.

Thirsty Thursday!

Thursdays from 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Beer is on special all night on Thursday! Come in and choose from our beers on tap... $6 for a 20 oz pint! Or choose from our selection of 75+ bottled craft beers from around the globe at $2 off per bottle. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 27, 2016 - Oct 27, 2016 on Thursdays from 3:30 PM - 10:00 PM.

Half Price Pizza!

Thursdays from 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM

Details

Enjoy our delicious pizza at half price from 3:30 to 5:30pm on Thursday!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 27, 2016 - Oct 27, 2016 on Thursdays from 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Wed - Thu 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

We love parties! The Glass Monkey offers a comfortable space that is perfectly suited to accommodate many different events including corporate presentations, weddings & family celebrations, stand up receptions, fundraising galas & seasonal parties. Please contact Rob at 780.760.2228 for more info.

The Glass Monkey Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Neighborhood Gem
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Notable Wine List
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
5 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Edmonton / Northern Alberta
Best Value
Edmonton
Neighborhood Gem
Edmonton
Notable Wine List
Edmonton
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Edmonton
Best Restaurants in Edmonton ›

Neighborhood Gem (48)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Good for Groups (37)
See All
Special Occasion (30)
Notable Wine List (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Romantic (15)
Late-night Find (13)
Kid-friendly (11)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Casual (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Cozy (2)
Family Style (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Great Beer (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Healthy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Live Sports (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Tapas (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Authentic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Business Meals (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
377 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Memorable experience, Not a high end res ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Memorable experience,

Not a high end restaurant but certainly a major cut above a bar menu. Fantastic wine selection at what appears to be a reasonable price. We had a wonderful italian wine with the meal that made the event truly memorable. I will not forget. The owner welcomed us and helped with wine and food selection. A very nice touch. This is definitely an important addition to the Edmonton scene.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food. Especially the Ricotta pai ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Amazing food. Especially the Ricotta paired with the Liberty School Zinfandel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made reservations at last minute, not ...

 
 (Puerto Vallarta)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We made reservations at last minute, not sure we would get in. We arrived about 6:30PM but by about 7:30 the place was full. Great appetizers, good main course, and friendly, casual ambiance. Nice local gem.

Tags: Authentic, Wood Oven, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice variety of food. We sampled a few p ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Nice variety of food. We sampled a few plates and the flavours were amazing. We were there to catch up and talk over good food, and were not disappointed. It was nice to not feel rushed or forgotten by the waiter. The crowd was diverse and the ambience comfortable.

Tags: Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great local spot for quality food and go ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great local spot for quality food and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Management takes great pride in the valu ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Management takes great pride in the value of this pub. They touch base with all customers and their staff seem genuinely happy to work there. Most places are similar money. This place is s step ahead of their competition .....

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Live Sports, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit to Glass Monkey ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was my second visit to Glass Monkey. The soup (ginger carrot) was delicious and our waiter very attentive without being pushy. I had the special and was really disappointed. The brisket, although tender, had large bites of pure fat and the portion was ridiculously small for $23. I was very glad I had the soup to start. We shared a small, but extremely succulent, chocolate cake for dessert. The bill was $95 for two for dinner which was quite expensive for food served.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

My girlfriends and I came to the Glass M ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My girlfriends and I came to the Glass Monkey for a get together, we had a great time and really enjoyed the food and service! I will definitely be back !

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was pretty slow. It took almo ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our waiter was pretty slow. It took almost 20 mins before he took our drink order and he would leave the table before all four of us could order our next drink. The food was OK & the cocktails are pretty unique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Wonderful service, great staff, excellen ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Wonderful service, great staff, excellent food! Will be returning!

Tags: Casual, Wood Oven, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. We sat on the pati ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Wonderful experience. We sat on the patio had appitizer 3 to share Smoked Salmon Mousse: house smoked Chinook, cream cheese, capers

Flank Steak: asian marinated, green onions, ginger aioli

Hummus: chickpeas, sundried tomatoes, lemon, olive oil the best appies we have had in a long long time!!

Followed by Butter chicken = Melt in your mouth, I was supposed to share with my husband, didn't happen too yummy to share! Hubby had spaghetti he oleo loved his meal.

And for dessert Mixed Berry Crisp and ice cream this we did share !

We will be back have already recommended to our friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant - have been a numbe ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Love this restaurant - have been a number of times and the food is always great!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Its a Monday... and the wine is half pri ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Its a Monday... and the wine is half price. This cute rest., has great staff, friendly and attentive. Rob is a fun and talkative fellow, ohh and its his rest., so he makes you feel comfortable. I've been to Glass Monkey several time with the wife and kids. Never a dissappointment.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time there. Quite impressed with ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

First time there. Quite impressed with the overall ambience (upscale pub).

Food & service were great and we will definitely go there again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at the ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at the Glass Monkey! The food was delicious and service was exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Glass Monkey always delivers - impeccabl ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Glass Monkey always delivers - impeccable service, amazing patio and great food. This time we were going with burger and fries & vegetarian pasta, quite simple. Burger was delicious, fries crispy and freshly made but this time around unfortunately my fries had too much salt. Thier freshly made pasta was very tasty, however for vegetarian pasta lacked in the vegetable department. Pesto on the pasta was delicious, but as mentioned it would have been nice to have more vegetables (named as ingredients). This is a lovely spot and I will be back for sure.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was good - a bit pricey but very nice ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was good - a bit pricey but very nice. An enjoyable evening was had by all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent service, very good food but th ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent service, very good food but the noise level was too high- hard to have a conversation or even hear each other during dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Glass Monkey is vibrant and with welcomi ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Glass Monkey is vibrant and with welcoming attentive staff, good food and wide drink options. Easy parking is another good reason to choose this gastro pub.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Glass Monkey team has done Jack's Gr ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The Glass Monkey team has done Jack's Grill (the high-end former occupant of the space) a great service. They've kept up the quality while completely changing the style of the place. This is not an attempt to resurrect an old favourite. The room has been changed entirely and the menu and ambiance are much less formal, but the food and service are still top notch. The well sheltered and comfy patio remains. A few menu items from Jack's are still on the list (the new ownership bought those rights too).

This is now exactly what anyone would want in a neighbourhood restaurant. Good fresh food, relaxed, but very clean, atmosphere, kid friendly, easy parking, prompt, professional service and a bar to sit at if you feel like it. The beer selection is broad and the wine list covers just about anything you need for a less formal affair.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We had an awesome meal with great servic ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We had an awesome meal with great service. I would highly recommend this to anyone. Remember. They run 3 specials all the time so don't just rely on the menu. Oh ya. Try the butter chicken. A real surprise if you like some spice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good, pub-style food. Nightly specials ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Good, pub-style food. Nightly specials are often very good tasting and reasonable priced.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our group enjoyed the specials, lamb sha ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our group enjoyed the specials, lamb shank and veal cannelloni as well as the combo charcuterie, all being excellent in flavour, size and value. The ambience and wine selections along with the service made it a great experience. Kudos to chef and staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a less than positive experience o ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had a less than positive experience on a Saturday night , at this restaurant due to the low food quality. I made reservations on line and was offered a raised table in the bar area , which came as a surprise. The hostess upon our request moved us to a table for four in the dining room area. Our waiter was attentive ,explained th specials and we started off with one appetizer to test the food quality. Our choice was the devilled eggs and he did explain that it was decontructed.... it was ONE egg and some toast rounds.Then after questioning the waiter on a number dishes my husband choose the pork pappardelle and was told that this is a dish made with noodles, pork and a milk based sauce. Sounded rich and special, however he received exactly 4 noodles, tiny piece of pork and a watery sauce in a bowl.Our waiter did not come back to check on our meals, my husband was starving and continued eating. My small plate of salmon had so much salt on it , I couldn't finish as well as the barley was watery. Complaints were made to the manager about the tiny portions, poor food quality and our bill was adjusted. This seems to be geared towards people who want to come in and have a quick snack, watch the big screen tv and then dash off somewhere else. We will not return as the food value is not relative to what other restaurants offer with a better ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Really enjoyed the food, but wine prices ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Really enjoyed the food, but wine prices are way out of line.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A gem of a restaurant that we enjoy visi ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

A gem of a restaurant that we enjoy visiting routinely. The patio affords a fun al fresco option.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent, we were never rus ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Service was excellent, we were never rushed. Food as good as we remember from our last visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This is one of my favourite places in th ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

This is one of my favourite places in the city; so pleasant, comfortable with impeccable service. Their beef carpaccio is delightful, french fries first class, fish tacos mmmm, so good. I have been there several times and the food was always outstanding.

From the dessert menu I had a bread pudding (warm, gooey, sweet) and molten chocolate cake (roll your eyes good). I will be back for sure !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The cold dishes we ordered were decent b ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The cold dishes we ordered were decent but I think I would switch it up to try a few more other options. The main course was great and we'll definitely come back to try out the rest of the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The Glass Monkey is a hidden gem, staff ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The Glass Monkey is a hidden gem, staff was super friendly and the food was amazing, notables being the Mac and cheese, and for dessert I definitely recommend the bread pudding and turtle cheesecake. Will definitely be back!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We got wine and an assortment or appies ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We got wine and an assortment or appies and a board. I think getting a bunch of small things will now be the format I use for eating out. No more bowls of pasta.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Glass Monkey is truly a Gastro Pub. Hig ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Glass Monkey is truly a Gastro Pub. High quality food with a blend of nationalities. Great wine list and friendly staff. Flexible enough to take the family or to host a group of friends. My friends from Calgary were quite impressed with the food and ambience. I would recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good with some appetiz ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was very good with some appetizers that are a bit unique. Staff was friendly. They have a great beer selection with some smaller craft brews in cans and bottles. The atmosphere was good although a touch loud for my taste (caused more by a low roof than anything else). Three of us dined there and all of us enjoyed the food. I would call this a higher quality neighborhood gastropub.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A delightful little neighborhood restaur ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

A delightful little neighborhood restaurant. The menu has something on it for everybody and lots of small plates for sharing. The food was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Moroccan duck special was fabulous!! Gre ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Moroccan duck special was fabulous!! Great food and service. A little loud but other than that everything was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

There were three of us and we had share ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

There were three of us and we had share plates, we got meatballs, pork tacos (one of the specials), a meat and cheese platter, broccoli, and beef carpaccio. All of it was delicious and the server was excellent to help us decide how much food to order. Great selection of beers too, and everything was reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food particularly like the tiny bites

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The design of the restaurant is part bar (with high tables, a full bar, and TV screens) and a higher end restaurant. Very relaxed and casual. Food unusual too, in that great combination of tiny bites to share at start, then smaller dishes, as well as full size dishes. The wine list is excellent and really good value (the owner once ran a wine shop).

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a sample of 5 cold snacks, includ ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We had a sample of 5 cold snacks, including fresh picked vegetables, savory smoked paprika almonds, and a wonderfully fresh ricotta cheese with apricot chutney. The food sizes are a bit smaller than what you may expect but I am a voracious eater and I left full and satisfied.

I had the butter chicken which was probably the best I've ever had, and it comes with rice and a large naan cut into quarters. The server Camillia was fantastic and attended to our party with no problems.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Hidden Gem

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We had a lovely dinner with great service and great food. A welcome addition to the neighborhood. We will certainly be making follow-up trips to this hidden gem.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Surprisingly lively restaurant in Lendrum

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife is vegan and I am vegetarian, and this often poses some challenges when dining out. The Glass Monkey had an interesting sounding vegan main dish, which looked great on paper but which was a bit under-seasoned on the plate. The service was a bit slow because the place was really hopping when we were there on a Saturday evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.