About The Glass Monkey

5842 - 111 Street
Edmonton, AB T6H 3G1
View Larger Map

We bring together a diverse, internationally inspired and locally sourced menu presenting both tapas and small plates ideal for sharing...as well as full meal dishes. The Glass Monkey Gastropub offers an extensive wine by the glass program, a large selection of craft beers and fresh cocktails. Our room is casual, comfortable and elegant.
Don't be fooled by the name! A Gastropub is not limited to those wanting to have a drink and great food with a friend… it is also kid friendly, providing a casual, quick dinner for a busy family on the go. 


Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Tapas / Small Plates, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Open daily from 3:30 pm until at least 10:00 pm.
Closed Tuesday.
Open Valentine's Day from 3:30 - 10:00. We will be serving our regular menu... as well as a few special features! So you can enjoy all of your Glass Monkey Favourites!



Cross Street:
111 Street & 57 Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 760-2228

Website:
http://www.theglassmonkey.ca/

Parking Details:
The Lendrum Place Shopping Centre provides ample parking directly in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
111 St & 57 Ave: buses #9 & #55 (1 block walk)

111 St & 50 Ave: LRT stop at Southgate ( 8 block walk)

Executive Chef:
Darcy Radies

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Join us on Valentine's Day! We will be serving our regular Glass Monkey menu... along with a few special features! So you can enjoy all of your Glass Monkey Favourites! Book your table today!

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Wed - Thu 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

We love parties! The Glass Monkey offers a comfortable space that is perfectly suited to accommodate many different events including corporate presentations, weddings & family celebrations, stand up receptions, fundraising galas & seasonal parties. Please contact Rob at 780.760.2228 for more info.

The Glass Monkey Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (29)
Good for a Date (26)
Casual (25)
See All
Special Occasion (24)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Fun (19)
Tapas (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Modern Decor (14)
Great Beer (13)
Business Meals (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Cozy (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Romantic (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Quick Bite (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Outstanding Value (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Authentic (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
People Watching (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Family Style (5)
Healthy (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Live Sports (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
428 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was a very nice experience. The food ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 2 days ago

It was a very nice experience. The food was excellent and wine selection was pretty good. The server was great, very friendly and efficient. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a great time! Service and food w ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a great time! Service and food were excellent!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. Didn't have to wait long and ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food. Didn't have to wait long and the kids loved it. Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing chili. No wonder it won awards. ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing chili. No wonder it won awards.

Good wine list, but pricey by the glass selections.

Had reservations but was seated at a small crowded table in a corner by kitchen. In their defense, they relocated us at our request.

Server seemed a little rushed, and neglected to ask if my wife wanted cheese and sour cream on her dish. She's allergic. It was remedied, but took a little while, during which time my dish cooled on the table.

Friendly and caring service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pretty good but a bit pricey for the por ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Pretty good but a bit pricey for the portions. Will probably go again for a special night out.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, People Watching, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food, good wine, good atmosphe ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very good food, good wine, good atmosphere & good service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Glass Monkey was great! It was our first ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Glass Monkey was great! It was our first time there. The service was excellent, food was very good, and great value. Would highly recommend!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Glass Monkey - consistently great f ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Love Glass Monkey - consistently great food- and an even better wine list !

Tags: , Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Tapas, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was overall good, a bit to much ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was overall good, a bit to much olive oil on the dishes but it was ok.

Staff was great, we didn't feel rushed and the Manager checked up on us. Great location as well, parking everywhere and free.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Glass Monkey is one of my favourite rest ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Glass Monkey is one of my favourite restaurants in the city - it has a casual, lovely atmosphere, great service, fantastic food as well as great selection of beer and wine. What could seem as a simple food (burger and fries) was executed to perfection; fries were crispy on the outside and soft and on the inside; burger was made to order and it was juicy and succulent. My husband had a duck confit, which was a special for the night and he has enjoyed every last morsel. I will be back for sure for any occasion.

Tags: , Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was very nice, food was fresh a ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our meal was very nice, food was fresh and tasty. We had the lamb shank and the butter chicken, both were very tasty. The dessert was delicious, but they served it with a soup spoon! That's a no no!

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

neighbourhood gem----great service nice ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 6, 2017

neighbourhood gem----great service

nice atmosphere

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome meal for a special occasion of m ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Awesome meal for a special occasion of my mother in law going back home to Scotland. Thought the burger was superb and the butter chicken was the best I've tasted. Quickness of service was great too. Great options for kids as well. They seemed to enjoy themselves. Feel it would be great for a drink watching sport too. Special mention to Eric who's service was impeccable

Scott

Tags: Modern Decor, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rick our waiter was awesome. Food was a ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Rick our waiter was awesome. Food was awesome. Friend who ordered a Old Fashion drink commented that if they could use a larger ball of ice cubes so the drink doesn't get watered down as fast however he still enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We checked out the Glass Monkey due to i ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We checked out the Glass Monkey due to its location for New Years Eve and the free parking. When we saw the reviews in Open Table we knew we had picked the right place. The food was great. The service was impeccable considering it was New Years Eve and it was super busy! The owner came and checked to see if everything was okay! Would definitely return! Love family owned businesses!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I've been to Glass Monkey 5 times now, a ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I've been to Glass Monkey 5 times now, and I've always loved it. It's a hole in the wall spot with great food (real portions) and a solid drink menu. This last visit was my least favourite only because we had to sit by the door (it was busy) and every time someone came inside the -25 cool air blew in. However, the 4 other times I've been have been outstanding- no complaints!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic, Authentic, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

A very enjoyable evening for ten. One pe ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 30, 2016

A very enjoyable evening for ten. One person ordered the Margarita pizza and was disappointed that it did not come with tomato sauce. The waiter brought some and all was well. The salmon and shrimp were cooked beautifully. Others enjoyed the BBQ chicken and of course, the butter chicken. Service was excellent and just right. Room can be noisy, depending. Decor was smart and attractive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved the desserts - disappointed in the ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Loved the desserts - disappointed in the starter 'egg' dish

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the food. A few people in my part ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Loved the food.

A few people in my party complained about the service being poor. I didn't notice too much as I was drinking many cocktails!

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

The food and service were excellent. We ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food and service were excellent. We were made to feel welcome and our server answered all our questions as well as making suggestions. Great for sharing - the restaurant helped by bringing extra plates.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I go to the Glass Monkey fai ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

My wife and I go to the Glass Monkey fairly regularly and it's always consistent and fun. Very good food!

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We are always treated so well when we st ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We are always treated so well when we stop in here. The ambiance is great and the food never disappoints! Great beers & wines.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun, fun, fun... great local eatery and ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Fun, fun, fun... great local eatery and wine room with tons of charm and a relaxed feel to unwind in.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It was a great atmosphere and had really ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 10, 2016

It was a great atmosphere and had really good food.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Tapas, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a fabulous find. I thought that ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 8, 2016

This is a fabulous find. I thought that Jack's grill was gone forever but was very pleased to see a couple of his signatures on the menu. Will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, much classier food but ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Great atmosphere, much classier food but not so "classy" that you don't know what it is. Everything was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Stumbled on the Glass Monkey online whil ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Stumbled on the Glass Monkey online while looking for a "new to us" place for dinner and it didn't disappoint. The appetizers were unique and delicious and the meal itself was outstanding. Terrific service. A very enjoyable evening. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great new tastes every time!

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great new tastes every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great food, service and atmosphere!

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great specials and great service. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Always great specials and great service. Neighbourhood find.

The wine list per glass needs to be expanded - and is too pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This is a nice neighborhood restaurant. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This is a nice neighborhood restaurant. The food was good (but not great), the service was attentive and professional and the atmosphere was good. The issue for me is that while the food was tasty and well prepared it is priced like a higher end restaurant. Now there are some interesting tapas options on the menu that we didn't try and maybe these are better values but I found the entrees overpriced maybe $3-$5 (not massive but just enough to be out of sync). The wine menu is extensive which is nice but again the prices seems to be at least a couple of dollars high per glass. The bread pudding dessert was probably the standout and again while I think it is slightly on the higher side it was excellent. I can see going back again as it is a nice neighborhood place but I feel like it is caught in the middle, not good enough to be a special occasion restaurant, not priced well enough to be a regular dining spot. Again on the pricing it is not massive but to me seemed consistently just high enough to be out of sync.

Tags: Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Awesome as usual. Great service and very ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Awesome as usual. Great service and very good food. Interesting menu. All really well done.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time there, we had gre ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 5, 2016

It was our first time there, we had great service by all the staff, very friendly and great atmosphere. Our meal was awesome from start to finish.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great dinner, food was excellent w ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Had a great dinner, food was excellent with a solid menu. Great beer selection. The small plates were particularly good. Service was top notch, couldn't have been more impressed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Came across this unknown place in the SU ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Came across this unknown place in the SUTP coupon book.

What a little hidden gem!! Everything about it was enjoyable - food, wine, service and surroundings.

Thank you! Will be back without a doubt.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, , Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Healthy, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really tasty choices. Lots of small bits ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Really tasty choices. Lots of small bits, each was as good as you would hope it would be. Good value, great service, very friendly and we will be back.

Tags: Quick Bite, Healthy, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit, menu was unique and the se ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 27, 2016

First visit, menu was unique and the selections we made were delicious. The cocktails are also unique and delicious. Will definitely visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We were there on Friday at about 7:30pm. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We were there on Friday at about 7:30pm. The noise level was horrendous - you could not even have a conversation over the din in the room. For this reason, I would never again come there again when they are so fully booked up. The food was good and so was the service. Prices a little high for me.

Tags: Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

My best friend and I were so impressed w ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My best friend and I were so impressed with the ambience and the service at the restaurant. Our server was very helpful with suggesting menu items to try out. We enjoyed our food and we hope to come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Booked a table for four to celebrate my ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Booked a table for four to celebrate my wife's birthday. Staff were welcoming. Menu was exactly what we were looking for. Lots of small plates to share. Tons of unique flavours. Extensive wine list had us excited too. A tv was on to see the playoff game, but didn't make the place feel like a sports bar. We ordered a lot and had 3 bottles of wine so a bit pricey overall, but 2 people could easily dine with a drink or 2 for under $100.

I had seen some reviews commenting that it could get noisy in there. I didn't feel that at all. It was a restaurant full of people having great conversations.

This is going to be a regular for us now. Make sure you book a reservation.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.