Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.09mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.16mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi
  1. Distance: 1.09mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.16mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.09mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.16mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi
  1. Distance: 1.09mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.16mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi

About The Glass Monkey

Our beautiful patio is open!! We bring together a diverse, internationally inspired and locally sourced menu presenting both tapas and small plates ideal for sharing...as well as full meal dishes. The Glass Monkey Gastropub offers an extensive wine by the glass program, a large selection of craft beers and fresh cocktails. Our room is casual, comfortable and elegant.
Don't be fooled by the name! A Gastropub is not limited to those wanting to have a drink and great food with a friend… it is also kid friendly, providing a casual, quick dinner for a busy family on the go. 


5842 - 111 Street
Edmonton, AB T6H 3G1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Tapas / Small Plates, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Open daily from 3:30 pm until at least 10:00 pm.
Closed Tuesday.
We will be closed on Saturday, July 1st for Canada Day.





Cross Street:
111 Street & 57 Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 760-2228

Website:
http://www.theglassmonkey.ca/

Parking Details:
The Lendrum Place Shopping Centre provides ample parking directly in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
111 St & 57 Ave: buses #9 & #55 (1 block walk)

111 St & 50 Ave: LRT stop at Southgate ( 8 block walk)

Executive Chef:
Darcy Radies

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Wed - Thu 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

We love parties! The Glass Monkey offers a comfortable space that is perfectly suited to accommodate many different events including corporate presentations, weddings & family celebrations, stand up receptions, fundraising galas & seasonal parties. Please contact Rob at 780.760.2228 for more info.

The Glass Monkey Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (36)
Good for a Date (26)
Casual (22)
See All
Tapas (20)
Fun (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Great Beer (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Special Occasion (14)
Quick Bite (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Cozy (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Live Sports (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Romantic (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Authentic (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Family Style (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Healthy (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Business Meals (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Happy Hour (3)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Vegan (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
508 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 3 days ago

A wonderful evening. Beautiful night! We had the charcuterie board and it was delicious but could use a few more condiments on the board. A chutney and nuts, pickled onions or jams would improve it a 100 percent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 7 days ago

GOod customer service, lots of choice for beer, food is a bit pricey. I think an order of taco (2 tacos) for over $13.00 is a bit much.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Went with three friends intending to sit on the patio but it was far too windy that night. Ended up inside which was good although the noise level was a little loud. Overall a great dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quick Bite, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Enjoyed our evening out. Nice to be able to talk to one another and hear what is being said. Would love to try the patio next time. It was the hot spot when we were there.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 19, 2017

This is our local restaurant that we love going to . Always have amazing food, friendly staff. .. and love the patio on a summers evening.
Thank you glass monkey !

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Father's Day

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Loved the curried lamb, spicy and delicious. Eric was our server, he was intuitive, and friendly. We had a delightful evening and delicious dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Was a great foodie night. Great atmosphere & great service. We really enjoyed our evening!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Tapas, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Fantastic atmosphere with a great menu. Will definitely eat at again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We had such a great visit the week before we thought we'd go again. The second visit was disappointing. The hummus and pizza was bland and needed the kick of hot sauce to liven it up. We probably wouldn't have commented on this but we discovered afterward (and it is our fault for not paying attention when we paid) but we were overcharged despite asking very clearly at the beginning about the cost of the appetizers. Left us feeling cheated.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 29, 2017

ALSO ENJOYED THE GOOD WINE SELECTION.
HAD A GREAT NIGHT. THANK YOU

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Tapas, Cozy, Casual, Quick Bite, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Loved this little gem! The staff were so friendly and the food was great!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Fun place...active, a little noisy (good noisy), mixed age group, close to home. The food was tasty and brought in a timely way. Pleasant server. We will go back again!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Had the mushroom pizza, burgers and fish taco. The pizza crust tasted like a cracker. There was not even a great hint of truffle flavour. Very underwhelming. The burger had a great bun and was fresh ground beef. Neither of the guests thought it was great. The fish tacos were heavy on the aioli.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great food. Great service. Great casual atmosphere

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Impressive wine list. Loved the housemade ricotta!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Made reservations on a lark because of good reviews, did not come away disappointed. Brought my best friend's parents out for a dinner, I did not realize dad needed a low top table for his recent knee surgery, so we had to wait a little bit because our booked high top wasn't good for the knee (my fault). Service was excellent, they brought a chair over for dad to sit on and made sure we were OK.

Service and food were excellent, everyone was very happy to have discovered the Glass Monkey. Two birthday tables were beside us and they were all lively and fun.

Definitely will come again.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Family Style, Fun, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Tasty cheery place. A sense of "this is a good place to be" when I walked in. Very noisy so not good for long visits

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Was very nice that the owner gave us complimentary moscato for our birthday celebration.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Atmosphere was great, very comfortable. Very friendly. Overall, food was good. The kettle chips needed something, they were bland. The dessert seemed over priced, $11.95, and was small with not much cake, jar was filled mainly with the compote and whip cream, which was unfortunate as I am a huge fan of lemon pudding cake. Staff were fabulous, and owner or manager was out and circulating and friendly with all the patrons. Was a great night out....too bad the Oilers lost, guess we should have stayed to watch the whole game😉.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We had my husband birthday dinner here. It was amazing, one of my favourite places to go. The staff is great, very fun and accommodating. We had a group of 7 people and it was wonderful.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food and had amazing service!!! My boyfriend and I are in our early 20's and don't seem to get the best service a lot of places and we were blown away with how awesome and friendly the staff were. Definetly would recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 28, 2017

After reading rave reviews on Trip Advisor about this restaurant in the old Jack's Grill location I was disappointed. The food was ok but nothing to get excited about. It was so loud I couldn't hear my friend who was sitting across from me. I must say the service was excellent as was the rum sauce on the bread pudding. But that's it. Won't be going back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Good food & wine. Plus great service...that's what your in for.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 22, 2017

One the best hidden gems in the city of champs! Excellent service, outstanding wine menu, and an amazing menu that they can adjust for anyone with any allergy. Keep up the outstanding service and amazing food! Definitely recommended for anyone wanting a unique dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Love the selection and service at the neighbourhood find! Something for everyone and wonderfully friendly staff!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Tapas, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Good food but too much money for what u get. The noise level was high need something to absorb the noise. Very nice atmosphere nice decor. Lots of staff at work but only saw our witness once no follow up to see how the meal was. Saw that she was waiting on tables totally across the restaurant therefore maybe not enough witnesses.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Vegan, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great service, exquisite food, wonderful ambiance. What more can we say? We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Reunion with some grand friends!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Always a great meal, service and ambiance. You have to go.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Aside from a bit too pricey for the area it was a nice experience. Server was great but food was nothing special.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Good place for wine drinking, fast services

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 24, 2017

A good selection for different people to choose from. Nice beer and wine selections.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Not the place to go if you are looking for a quiet dinner, definitely the place to go for a great food and wine with lots of energy in the room.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Casual, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Randomly picked this place due to OpenTable reviews. The place is fabulous!! Food and drinks was phenomenal. We all enjoyed our meals which were well priced and huge portions!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We love The Glass Monkey! Its great for any type of nosh - full meals, sharing, or, my favorite, the 1, 3 or 5 snack offerings (e.g. hummus, olives, etc). The wine and beers lists are extensive and Monday 1/2 price or -$20 bottles of wine make for an extremely affordable night out! The owner is always on site and engaged with his patrons, while the staff is consistently friendly and accommodating. A definite MUST!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 13, 2017

My friend and I visited on a Sunday evening for dinner and an opportunity to catch up. Our very pleasant server was attentive without hovering and was accommodating with all of our requests and questions. We shared the tender beef carpaccio as well as the perfectly roasted broccoli to start. Both were flavourful and easy to share. After a couple glasses of wine (we ordered a bottle which they corked for us to take home -- bonus) we shared a delicious, thin-crust mushroom pizza. We had hoped to try one of the several tempting desserts but unfortunately didn't have room. The atmosphere was warm, inviting and rather quiet given that it was a Sunday. We were not rushed despite our long visit and our water glasses and coffee cups were refilled promptly. It was a great evening -- a unique experience of sharing food and stories.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Cozy, Tapas, Healthy, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Took some friends from out of town to dinner and had a great evening. Their variation of chilly was wonderful.!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Casual, Tasting Menu, Family Style
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fantastic food and service!
On a double date and the 4 of us really enjoyed all of the food choices. Fish tacos, Pulled pork tacos, Homemade Pappardelle (Mmmm, sooo tasty!) and Jack's Grill Bread pudding was the favourite dessert.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food and service. We went for a girls night would go back again.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.