Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.09mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.16mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi
  1. Distance: 1.09mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.16mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.09mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.16mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi
  1. Distance: 1.09mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.16mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi

About The Glass Monkey

Our beautiful patio is open!! We bring together a diverse, internationally inspired and locally sourced menu presenting both tapas and small plates ideal for sharing...as well as full meal dishes. The Glass Monkey Gastropub offers an extensive wine by the glass program, a large selection of craft beers and fresh cocktails. Our room is casual, comfortable and elegant.
Don't be fooled by the name! A Gastropub is not limited to those wanting to have a drink and great food with a friend… it is also kid friendly, providing a casual, quick dinner for a busy family on the go. 


5842 - 111 Street
Edmonton, AB T6H 3G1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Tapas / Small Plates, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Open daily from 3:30 pm until at least 10:00 pm.
Closed Tuesday.





Cross Street:
111 Street & 57 Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 760-2228

Website:
http://www.theglassmonkey.ca/

Parking Details:
The Lendrum Place Shopping Centre provides ample parking directly in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
111 St & 57 Ave: buses #9 & #55 (1 block walk)

111 St & 50 Ave: LRT stop at Southgate ( 8 block walk)

Executive Chef:
Darcy Radies

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Wed - Thu 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

The Glass Monkey Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (27)
Special Occasion (27)
Casual (25)
See All
Good for Birthdays (22)
Good for a Date (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Fun (16)
Cozy (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Romantic (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Tapas (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Great Beer (10)
Healthy (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Authentic (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Business Meals (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Organic (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
People Watching (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
555 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 3 days ago

This hidden gem is not what you'd expect to find in a strip mall.
The food and service were amazing and wonderful (but very pricey wine pairings). A great spot for a date or fun Thursday night out. If you're looking for a cozy spot with impeccable food; charcuterie and small bites to beautiful hand made pasta and braised meats, this place will not disappoint. Check it out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food and ambience. Highly recommend the sirloin burger. Monday nights have half price wine on bottles under $40 and they have a great wine list! Alan is a great waiter and appreciate seeing the owner checking in once and awhile on how we're all doing. We've been there many times and for sure will be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Organic, Special Occasion, Healthy, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Great food and service, a bit noisy though. Wwe will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Our Ladies Group loved the restaurant! Our waiter was THE BEST ...couldn't say enough good things about him!! The only thing I would give a negative comment to is the noise level...when we arrived at the restaurant there were four other people ...it did not take long for the restaurant to be filled up ...hence we found that we were yelling at the ladies at the other end of the table because of the nose level!! Great for the restaurant that it was full and busy!!! The Glass Monkey was recommended to us and all of us would definitely recommend The Glass Monkey to our friends!! Loved The Glass Monkey!! Thank you for a great evening!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 3, 2017

It was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 2, 2017

I have eaten at the Glass Monkey dozens of times since it opened and I've introduced many people to the restaurant. I've never been disappointed. Rob and Janine are fabulous hosts and the service is always good. The food is absolutely yummy and the wine list is superb. I'm delighted to have this gem in my neighbourhood!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Organic, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Groups, Fun, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 30, 2017

My friends and I had an enjoyable evening at the Glass Monkey. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 26, 2017

My spouse and I had a wonderful date night thanks to our server, Jordan. We were well taken care of all night but also given our privacy. Not only did we enjoy our delicious meal, we loved being able to have quiet conversation. The Glass Monkey is definitely a spot I would recommend to friends and family. The food is amazing and at a great price. Thank you for an amazing experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The food, service, and atmosphere was top notch. We were not rushed through our evening. The starters are perfect paired with our wine. Our server was gracious, fun and attentive. The owner came around to check on us! We have been here a few times and will bring friends to enjoy the experience! Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great place to watch a game or just have a drink with the wife. We sat at the bar and couldn't have had a better experience. From the moment we walked in the door we felt like we were the most important guests. The bartenders were great and fun to chat with. The burger and the pizza were excellent and I'd walk across hot coals to have the bread pudding!! Well definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Casual, Tapas, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Perfect place to go for a casual dinner - warm and inviting and lots of choices on the menu. It seems very popular, even midweek (a good sign) but there were plenty of servers. We have already recommended it to friends and will make it a regular.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 18, 2017

a usual the Glass Monkey lives up to its well deserved rep. The Caesar salad and bread pudding are addictive and the other choices are plentiful in value, taste and innovation. Always a favourite spot!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Service was really good. Staff were so friendly and accomodating. Food was excellent.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 12, 2017

I just love the food here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Always excellent food and service.
Definitely one of our top three Edm restaurants! Monkey Kiss cocktails are awesome! Food is amazing!
A little bit loud, but the food makes up for it!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tapas, Comfort Food, Casual, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Just under whelming. A "gastro-pub" with a good selection of drinks (but no local beer in tap???) and just an underwhelming menu. Was very excited about the meat/cheese combination plate, but the smoked salmon and pate were not the best choices for board. Just a touch disappointing after hearing good things.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 2, 2017

First time at this restaurant. We visited on a recommendation from friends for our Anniversary. We were not disappointed and will definitely be returning.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The Glass Monkey serves up old-school appies and good fish tacos on a quiet and cozy little patio.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

I found it quite expensive and did not think the quality of the food justified the price. The service was good. Found it quite noisy and a few more tables that offered some privacy would be nice.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Have been several times.
Menu specials rotate, never disappointing.
Service is always excellent.
With a smaller size it gives the atmosphere a very close and personal experience.
Will dine continuously at this wonderful restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was exceptional. Well chosen wine list as well.
Highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Sports, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The pizza was burnt around the edges and tasted like cardboard with a few tomatoes on it. Was expecting more from the patio that I had heard was one of the best in Edmonton. Small and very noisy!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 19, 2017

It was a great evening overall. Relaxing with great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Very impressed with the knowledge of the menu and their pleasant and friendly manner.

Tags: Late-night Find, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Excellent experience. Will definitely be back again!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Rob and his staff took great care of our party and we had a great night as usual. Food, wine beer all great. Catered to our kids in a friendly manner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 11, 2017

An excellent place to meet up with friends. Ample parking and convenient reservations.

Their menu offers a decent selection of plates to share or enjoy on your own. I have not tried their beers but I have been pleased with the wines we have tried. The restaurant seems to have a steady clientele without being overcrowded. The service is friendly and attentive. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Fabulous food, attentive & fri badly staff, awesome ambiance,

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Spicy, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We went for an anniversary dinner and were not disappointed. We were surprised with a complementary Prosecco to start. Beer and wine selections was excellent. The appetizers tasted great, but were a bit small. Our entrees were excellent. My wife's salmon was fresh and perfectly cooked. My lamb curry was spiced perfectly - substantial heat but with excellent flavour as well. Dessert was a fine, sweet finish to the meal. In total, an excellent meal, with the appropriate portions. The atmosphere was a bit loud (many diners), but it is a gastropub after all. All the table/chairs were at the high bar level - few (none?) standard table level seating. The high chair/table had the benefit of the waiter speaking with us at eye level, not looking down as with normal seating - this was nice and friendly. We left thinking about to whom we could recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We had a wonderful evening out for my son's birthday celebration! Delicious food and great, attentive service. Delicious birthday cake! Welcoming atmosphere as well. Loved the wine selection and diverse, interesting menu. We'll be back again soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We enjoyed great food and excellent service on their patio. The smoked salmon mousse cold appetizer was tasty. The homemade meatballs in oven roasted tomato sauce was also delicious. We saw lots of roasted broccoli being brought to tables around us - and French Fries! Have to go back and try their French Fries! People order them like they are a staple not to be missed! I had an amazing prawn dish for my hot meal. The huge prawns were tasty and prepared to perfection. Love their plentiful Craft Beer and wine menu selection. I am happy that Jack's Grill Bread Pudding is still here. I ordered it and didn't share one bite with friends! Yummy it is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 29, 2017

This was my second time dining at The Glass Monkey and wanted my family to experience the amazing food I had previously enjoyed. The food was mediocre. The Pappardelle pasta and the Beef Chili were over salted. The two items out of the seven that were ordered that stood out was the Chicken Yakitore served with the Caesar Salad and the Butter Chicken dish. I expected more from a well rated restaurant. The service was good and they accommodated the Pappardelle being sent back and removed from the bill. I'm not sure I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner at Glass Monkey. The atmosphere was fantastic - they've done a really nice job with the patio. The service was amazing - we felt welcome and like our server truly wanted us to have a good time. The wine was fantastic and we shared some appies, small plates and entrees and nothing disappointed. Would recommend, and we will be back! It's fantastic to have such a great place on the south side for those times when you don't want to go downtown or Whyte Ave for a nice meal at a local place. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We really enjoyed our evening, excellent service which we acknowledged to the owner!

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 23, 2017

First time at Glass Monkey and we'll be back! Really enjoyed the patio seating. Service was attentive. Food was fantastic! Appreciate a few old Jack's favorite recipes on the menu...bread pudding is still a great finish to a great evening!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Very comfortable atmosphere patio available service very good food interesting

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The service and patio was very good as were the food selection. We were slightly surprised that 2 cocktails, 1 appi, 2 fish tacos, the feature Chile and a shared desert came in around $100. Now the Chile may be a short rib base (not ground beef) so that may have caused a premium price. When the server described the features she did not tell us the price so I ordered it never guessing it was $22. All that being said, we recommend it and will return ourselves.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 21, 2017

I will start out by saying that this is the first review I have ever written. With that being said, I cannot for the life of me, figure out how this restaurant is so well reviewed. I am actually astonished at the positive feedback.

This place serves over priced meals that lack any flavor or substance. For example, the salmon dish was literally a piece of salmon in a bed of rice. The vegetables that accompanied that were garnished around the plate forming a circle... which was just odd in terms of plating. But in terms of flavor, they didn't do much to transform the vegetables. The shallots were left in huge slices, not really edible, and frankly could have been better used to flavor the rice... which seemed to just be plain ol' rice. So, a piece of salmon, a lot of rice, lousy vegetables, and not enough Thai sauce for a mere $25.95--are you kidding me? Earls serves better salmon for that price.

Another guest at my table had the Homemade Pappardelle and boy was that a miss. What came out from the kitchen was a soupy wannabe pasta dish. This dish has about 4 pieces of pasta and about 3 pieces of pork shoulder. What a joke. And you're charging $23.95 for this? For a plate of soupy pasta?

Knowing how dinner turned out, we thought "Hey, maybe dessert won't be that bad?". I mean, dessert is usually the safe option, right? Wrong again. And I really hate being wrong, especially when I'm trying to give you the benefit of the doubt. We ordered the bread pudding and chocolate cake. Both huge misses and again, over priced. The chocolate cake looked store bought (not uncommon, but it should at least taste good!), and the bread pudding? Not what I was expecting. I really hate when bread pudding translates into "let's deconstruct bread and bake it back into guess what? A piece of bread!". It came out caramelized for some reason too, as if it was crème brûlée. I just. Didn't. Get. It.

I guess it's safe to say that this place was a HUGE miss for me!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Amazing service! We will be back, our new fave! We were pleasantly surprised with the wine selection, and half price bottles! The cheese and meats were delicious!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Had never been here and met some friends as it was a midway point between our residences. Were able to sit in the patio area and it was totally enjoyable. Had a great waiter and we were not rushed along. Great evening

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.