Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.09mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.16mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi
  1. Distance: 1.09mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.16mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.09mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.16mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi
  1. Distance: 1.09mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.16mi
  4. Distance: 1.51mi

About The Glass Monkey

Our beautiful patio is open!! We bring together a diverse, internationally inspired and locally sourced menu presenting both tapas and small plates ideal for sharing...as well as full meal dishes. The Glass Monkey Gastropub offers an extensive wine by the glass program, a large selection of craft beers and fresh cocktails. Our room is casual, comfortable and elegant.
Don't be fooled by the name! A Gastropub is not limited to those wanting to have a drink and great food with a friend… it is also kid friendly, providing a casual, quick dinner for a busy family on the go. 


5842 - 111 Street
Edmonton, AB T6H 3G1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Tapas / Small Plates, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Open daily from 3:30 pm until at least 10:00 pm.
Closed Tuesday.






Cross Street:
111 Street & 57 Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 760-2228

Website:
http://www.theglassmonkey.ca/

Parking Details:
The Lendrum Place Shopping Centre provides ample parking directly in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
111 St & 57 Ave: buses #9 & #55 (1 block walk)

111 St & 50 Ave: LRT stop at Southgate ( 8 block walk)

Executive Chef:
Darcy Radies

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Wed - Thu 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

The Glass Monkey Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (31)
Good for a Date (22)
Casual (21)
See All
Special Occasion (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Fun (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Tapas (14)
Quick Bite (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Great Beer (10)
Romantic (9)
Cozy (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Authentic (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Business Meals (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Live Sports (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Spicy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vegan (2)
People Watching (2)
Family Style (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
532 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 4 days ago

Very impressed with the knowledge of the menu and their pleasant and friendly manner.

Tags: Late-night Find, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent experience. Will definitely be back again!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 6 days ago

Rob and his staff took great care of our party and we had a great night as usual. Food, wine beer all great. Catered to our kids in a friendly manner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 11, 2017

An excellent place to meet up with friends. Ample parking and convenient reservations.

Their menu offers a decent selection of plates to share or enjoy on your own. I have not tried their beers but I have been pleased with the wines we have tried. The restaurant seems to have a steady clientele without being overcrowded. The service is friendly and attentive. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Fabulous food, attentive & fri badly staff, awesome ambiance,

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Spicy, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We went for an anniversary dinner and were not disappointed. We were surprised with a complementary Prosecco to start. Beer and wine selections was excellent. The appetizers tasted great, but were a bit small. Our entrees were excellent. My wife's salmon was fresh and perfectly cooked. My lamb curry was spiced perfectly - substantial heat but with excellent flavour as well. Dessert was a fine, sweet finish to the meal. In total, an excellent meal, with the appropriate portions. The atmosphere was a bit loud (many diners), but it is a gastropub after all. All the table/chairs were at the high bar level - few (none?) standard table level seating. The high chair/table had the benefit of the waiter speaking with us at eye level, not looking down as with normal seating - this was nice and friendly. We left thinking about to whom we could recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We had a wonderful evening out for my son's birthday celebration! Delicious food and great, attentive service. Delicious birthday cake! Welcoming atmosphere as well. Loved the wine selection and diverse, interesting menu. We'll be back again soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We enjoyed great food and excellent service on their patio. The smoked salmon mousse cold appetizer was tasty. The homemade meatballs in oven roasted tomato sauce was also delicious. We saw lots of roasted broccoli being brought to tables around us - and French Fries! Have to go back and try their French Fries! People order them like they are a staple not to be missed! I had an amazing prawn dish for my hot meal. The huge prawns were tasty and prepared to perfection. Love their plentiful Craft Beer and wine menu selection. I am happy that Jack's Grill Bread Pudding is still here. I ordered it and didn't share one bite with friends! Yummy it is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 29, 2017

This was my second time dining at The Glass Monkey and wanted my family to experience the amazing food I had previously enjoyed. The food was mediocre. The Pappardelle pasta and the Beef Chili were over salted. The two items out of the seven that were ordered that stood out was the Chicken Yakitore served with the Caesar Salad and the Butter Chicken dish. I expected more from a well rated restaurant. The service was good and they accommodated the Pappardelle being sent back and removed from the bill. I'm not sure I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner at Glass Monkey. The atmosphere was fantastic - they've done a really nice job with the patio. The service was amazing - we felt welcome and like our server truly wanted us to have a good time. The wine was fantastic and we shared some appies, small plates and entrees and nothing disappointed. Would recommend, and we will be back! It's fantastic to have such a great place on the south side for those times when you don't want to go downtown or Whyte Ave for a nice meal at a local place. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We really enjoyed our evening, excellent service which we acknowledged to the owner!

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 23, 2017

First time at Glass Monkey and we'll be back! Really enjoyed the patio seating. Service was attentive. Food was fantastic! Appreciate a few old Jack's favorite recipes on the menu...bread pudding is still a great finish to a great evening!

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Very comfortable atmosphere patio available service very good food interesting

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The service and patio was very good as were the food selection. We were slightly surprised that 2 cocktails, 1 appi, 2 fish tacos, the feature Chile and a shared desert came in around $100. Now the Chile may be a short rib base (not ground beef) so that may have caused a premium price. When the server described the features she did not tell us the price so I ordered it never guessing it was $22. All that being said, we recommend it and will return ourselves.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 21, 2017

I will start out by saying that this is the first review I have ever written. With that being said, I cannot for the life of me, figure out how this restaurant is so well reviewed. I am actually astonished at the positive feedback.

This place serves over priced meals that lack any flavor or substance. For example, the salmon dish was literally a piece of salmon in a bed of rice. The vegetables that accompanied that were garnished around the plate forming a circle... which was just odd in terms of plating. But in terms of flavor, they didn't do much to transform the vegetables. The shallots were left in huge slices, not really edible, and frankly could have been better used to flavor the rice... which seemed to just be plain ol' rice. So, a piece of salmon, a lot of rice, lousy vegetables, and not enough Thai sauce for a mere $25.95--are you kidding me? Earls serves better salmon for that price.

Another guest at my table had the Homemade Pappardelle and boy was that a miss. What came out from the kitchen was a soupy wannabe pasta dish. This dish has about 4 pieces of pasta and about 3 pieces of pork shoulder. What a joke. And you're charging $23.95 for this? For a plate of soupy pasta?

Knowing how dinner turned out, we thought "Hey, maybe dessert won't be that bad?". I mean, dessert is usually the safe option, right? Wrong again. And I really hate being wrong, especially when I'm trying to give you the benefit of the doubt. We ordered the bread pudding and chocolate cake. Both huge misses and again, over priced. The chocolate cake looked store bought (not uncommon, but it should at least taste good!), and the bread pudding? Not what I was expecting. I really hate when bread pudding translates into "let's deconstruct bread and bake it back into guess what? A piece of bread!". It came out caramelized for some reason too, as if it was crème brûlée. I just. Didn't. Get. It.

I guess it's safe to say that this place was a HUGE miss for me!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Amazing service! We will be back, our new fave! We were pleasantly surprised with the wine selection, and half price bottles! The cheese and meats were delicious!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Had never been here and met some friends as it was a midway point between our residences. Were able to sit in the patio area and it was totally enjoyable. Had a great waiter and we were not rushed along. Great evening

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Knowledgeable servers. Great service. Excellent wine recommendations. We have never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 10, 2017

This place is amazing! Large menu with both tapas and main dishes. Service is fabulous! We sat inside (this was a date) and most of the people in the restaurant were actually on the patio so it made our occasion even more romantic and intimate. Fabulous wine list too! I tend to want to go places that have a great wine list and Glass Monkey did not disappoint. P.S. Wines are discounted on Monday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The waiter was very good, quite funny. The salmon appy I couldn't get enough of, outstanding! This could easily become one of our favourite places to spend an evening!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Good service. Good food. Good patio. Good evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Delicious food! Awesome drinks! Attentive service! Don't be discouraged by the exterior, gorgeous dining room! We celebrated my birthday here with friends and for a change, everyone found the food and drinks phenomenal - even the lucky ones! Definitely will return 😋

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Vegan, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 29, 2017

one of our most favourite places to dine - we are never disappointed and always look forward to the next time

Tags: Organic, Great Beer, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 26, 2017

A wonderful evening. Beautiful night! We had the charcuterie board and it was delicious but could use a few more condiments on the board. A chutney and nuts, pickled onions or jams would improve it a 100 percent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 23, 2017

This was our 6th or so visit. Some nights were just o.k. but this night all was great! We shared small plates and everything was yummy! Our waiter ( forgot his name ) was knowledgable and great with the recommendations. All the food was hot and tasty! I recommend this restaurant if you want to eat small plates or have an entree!

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Casual, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 22, 2017

GOod customer service, lots of choice for beer, food is a bit pricey. I think an order of taco (2 tacos) for over $13.00 is a bit much.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Went with three friends intending to sit on the patio but it was far too windy that night. Ended up inside which was good although the noise level was a little loud. Overall a great dining experience.

Tags: Quick Bite, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Enjoyed our evening out. Nice to be able to talk to one another and hear what is being said. Would love to try the patio next time. It was the hot spot when we were there.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This is our local restaurant that we love going to . Always have amazing food, friendly staff. .. and love the patio on a summers evening.
Thank you glass monkey !

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Father's Day

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Loved the curried lamb, spicy and delicious. Eric was our server, he was intuitive, and friendly. We had a delightful evening and delicious dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Was a great foodie night. Great atmosphere & great service. We really enjoyed our evening!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Tapas, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Fantastic atmosphere with a great menu. Will definitely eat at again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We had such a great visit the week before we thought we'd go again. The second visit was disappointing. The hummus and pizza was bland and needed the kick of hot sauce to liven it up. We probably wouldn't have commented on this but we discovered afterward (and it is our fault for not paying attention when we paid) but we were overcharged despite asking very clearly at the beginning about the cost of the appetizers. Left us feeling cheated.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 28, 2017

ALSO ENJOYED THE GOOD WINE SELECTION.
HAD A GREAT NIGHT. THANK YOU

Tags: Comfort Food, Tapas, Cozy, Casual, Quick Bite, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Loved this little gem! The staff were so friendly and the food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Fun place...active, a little noisy (good noisy), mixed age group, close to home. The food was tasty and brought in a timely way. Pleasant server. We will go back again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Had the mushroom pizza, burgers and fish taco. The pizza crust tasted like a cracker. There was not even a great hint of truffle flavour. Very underwhelming. The burger had a great bun and was fresh ground beef. Neither of the guests thought it was great. The fish tacos were heavy on the aioli.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great food. Great service. Great casual atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Impressive wine list. Loved the housemade ricotta!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.