About The Georgian

411 University Street
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

The Georgian features French-inspired Northwest cuisine prepared by Executive Chef Gavin Stephenson in Seattle's premier dining room. The Georgian offers The Petite, an exclusive private dining room with seating for up to twelve guests, which is perfect for an intimate get together. The Georgian features live jazz music Friday and Saturday evenings from 6:00pm to 9:30pm.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, French

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday – Friday: 6:30am – 11:00am
Saturday & Sunday: 7:00am – 12:00pm

Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 2:30pm
Saturday & Sunday:12:00pm – 2:30pm

Georgian Tea: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 2:30pm
Saturday & Sunday: 12:00pm – 2:30pm


Cross Street:
4th Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 621-7889

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/seattle/dining/thegeorgian/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Self Parking is available at the hotel for dinner only when dining in The Georgian .

Valet Parking is available as well. Please contact the restaurant for parking prices.

Executive Chef:
Gavin Stephenson

Additional:
Entertainment, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Our versatile facilities lend an air of heritage grandeur to every gathering. With spaces to accommodate an 8 person dinner up to a 750 person wedding, there is no limit to the options available.

The Georgian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Ambiance
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (37)
romantic (26)
great for brunch (20)
See All
great for lunch (18)
fit for foodies (12)
good for groups (6)
neighborhood gem (4)
notable wine list (3)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1085 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my daughter and a few friends for ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I took my daughter and a few friends for an afternoon tea birthday celebration. It was lovely and very elegant, and service was impeccable as usual.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Brunch at the Georgian was great! The bu ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Brunch at the Georgian was great! The buffet offers a huge variety and high quality food. Staff was diligent, right up until it was time for my to pay, where they took way too long to pick up the checkbook with my card in it (very obviously poking out). It actually required us to notify another waiter for our waitress to finally come pick it up. Otherwise, the venue is great and beautiful.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful room excellent for business me ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Beautiful room excellent for business meals

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience!!!

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Always a great experience!!!

food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Expensive for ordinary breakfasts

Dined on May 2, 2016

Had 3 breakfasts in the restaurant because I was staying in the hotel for a conference. The breakfasts (both hot and cold) were good but way overpriced. $6 for a cup of coffee? I won't eat there again - certainly not my cup of tea.

food5
ambience5
service5

Elegance, great service with much class.

Dined on April 29, 2016

Elegance, great service with much class.

food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Bad communication breakdown in staff?

Dined on April 24, 2016

Disappointing that I had called in to double check a birthday surprise would be taken care off. After confirming this the morning of the occasion, I'm extremely shocked no surprises for the birthday girl came at the end (again, after confirming it would be done on the phone). Waitress we had was also not as intuitive of a waitress one would expect at a restaurant in a Fairmont Hotel. Something like hot water refill for afternoon high tea should be, again, intuitive and not something that should be asked for. Half finished dishes shouldn't be taken away without confirming, either. I've also emailed customer service after this experience last weekend, and I haven't heard anything back. Funny, really. I'm comparing this experience to the Fairmont in Hong Kong and embarrassing to say my home city of Seattle faired poorly in comparison.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The honey special from the rooftop bees ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

The honey special from the rooftop bees is not to be missed. Service is impeccable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a treat

Dined on April 21, 2016

to dine at the Georgian with it's beautiful interior, fine service and delicious meals

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Overpriced for mediocre food

Dined on April 20, 2016

So to start with the only plus - the service was outstanding - very friendly and attentive without being overly intrusive. Unfortunately though the food was horrifically overpriced, especially for what was mediocre quality. Who charges $5 for a coke?! I had made a reservation based off their advertised Seattle Restaurant Week menu only to arrive and discover it had changed. As nothing on the revised Seattle Restaurant Week menu appealed to me, I ordered the Walla Walla onion soup and Caesar salad off the regular menu. Both were overpriced for the quality and size. The soup was a little bit bland and was quite small in portion. The Caesar salad was ok, but had an especially strong fish flavor. Won't be returning, but from the looks of their empty dining room at the peak of lunchtime, it looks like many restaurant goers aren't returning. As a side note, I was terribly amused to get an email ahead of time with their cancellation policy. So while they can change the advertised Seattle Restaurant Week menu at any time without notice, restaurant goers who cancel within 24 hours notice are charged $25-$50. 1) Sounds hypocritical 2) How do they think they can charge you without any customer details and 3) The restaurant was empty and mediocre food, so it seems rather pretentious to put on such unsubstantiated airs.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch at The Georgian!

Dined on April 20, 2016

The restaurant was beautiful, bright, and fancy! I loved the décor and calm feel. Service was lovely and the food was amazing. I had the Greek Goddess Grilled Cheese with sweet potato fries. So delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

Hear

Dined on April 17, 2016

Breakfast was good. Server was grumpy and not very helpful. We travel a lot and stay in nice hotels. This breakfast menu was over priced for the selection. We are sad for such a Grand Dame.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

I remember the Georgian Room - a sad slide.

Dined on April 14, 2016

It's like an old ladies retirement home now. I took my 20-something niece for lunch and was embarrassed by how stodgy it seems. Confusingly, the Restaurant Week menu seemed pricier than the actual lunch menu. Huh? We had some gluey clam chowder and an enormous chicken Caesar, which I brought home only to discover most of the lettuce was older than the ladies who were lunching at the Fairmont Mausoleum. Ghastly!

food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Nothing Special

Dined on April 13, 2016

I love the Georgian Room. We have always had fabulous meals there, but it was not up to parr at our last visit. My husband, daughter and I had lunch here during Restaurant Week. The room is still lovely, the waiter was formal, but not very attentive. The prix fix lunch for RW was nothing special: my husband had tomato and chicken with noodles (their label). Nothing on the regular menu or on the pix fix menu excited me so I had the Express Lunch special off the regular menu (curried turkey sandwich, potato leek soup, salad and rice pudding). It was about the same price and with more variety than my husbands choice. Still, the soup was lukewarm and the bread on the sandwich was crusty like the sandwich had been made too early and left out. Both were tasty; just not up to standard. The rice pudding in was delicious. My daughter chose the steamed mahi mahi which she found bland. The plating was creative and lovely. Everyone is entitled to one bad day. I will likely be back and give them another chance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely indulgent, classy experience

Dined on April 2, 2016

My daughter (23) and I thoroughly enjoyed our experience celebrating her birthday (which we completely forgot to mention). The food is good- you go for the indulgent, old world experience. Great service, feels special and classy. We joked that in a movie it would be the perfect backdrop to introduce a new fiancee to the parents- luxurious and special, but a tiny bit intimidating for the new-family-member-to-be. When we were there, there were at least 3 groups of young women who appeared to be celebrating weddings or babies.... its that kind of place. I'd not choose it for a date with my husband though....

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3

I had taken a dear friend here to celebr ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

I had taken a dear friend here to celebrate her 30th birthday. Having been to many afternoon teas around the world and she having just returned from her honeymoon with afternoon tea at The Empress in Victoria, BC we were both very excited to share the experience together. The tea was immediately served without being seaped and in strainers that allowed the loose tea leaves to fall into the tea cup. Upon asking the waiter if this is how they traditionally serve the tea, he said yes. He did, however, get us another strainer that was much better. We asked for fresh tea cups, which surprised him. After this, we quite enjoyed ourselves, until someone brought their screaming baby into the room that was seated next to us. The food was quite delicious. I'm supposed to take another friend there to celebrate her 50th this week, but am having hesitation, due to the tea strainer experience. Otherwise, the setting is lovely.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had tea at The Georgian, it was lovel ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

We had tea at The Georgian, it was lovely. The service was great and the food came out promptly. It's very beautiful in their dining room. Great for a girls day out.

food4
ambience4
service4

It was - as always - great experience: Q ...

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

It was - as always - great experience: Quiet elegance w wonderful servers in a fine setting! We never feel rushed & enjoy watching children being introduced to High Tea by their parent(s). It's the best lunch spot in town with a locally sourced menu (small plates & full menu) w most reasonable prices

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Revisit

Dined on February 18, 2016

Much of the ambience has been lost since our last visit some years ago. The wine list was more restricted but still OK. The food choices are definitely no longer consistent with fine dining.

food2
ambience5
service1
value2

Georgian 's service has gone down the drain.

Dined on February 14, 2016

I have been here few times, in the past the food was always great for dinner. Lunch was always soso. This time, I booked for a lunch/hi tea. hi tea is on the expensive side given how dry the pastries are, tea was ok. I had a scallop risotto for lunch, scallops are dry. However, the worst part is the customer service. The hostess , waiter are both not treating customers right.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Valentines Brunch!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Went there for Valentines and had their wonderful breakfast buffet. So many delicious things to choose from. Service is always excellent. Thank you!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

If you go, go for dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

First time I went to Georgian was for dinner and it was absolutely amazing! The ambience, the food, the service! Decided to come back for brunch on Valentine's Day and wasn't too impressed. I mean the ambience and service was still there but the food wasn't amazing. After having dinner there I was expecting the same fancy plating and presentation but it wasn't there. And the food tasted good but not something I'd specifically come back for.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

good as always

Dined on February 12, 2016

A delicious lunch. We shared the mahi mahi and the Asian chicken salad and both were very good. However, we had to ask for serving utensils in order to share. Also, my decaf coffee tasted old. Still, a beautiful setting and the food was good.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Lovely ambience; underwhelmed by tea snacks

Dined on February 7, 2016

I love the elegant Georgian room. We sat at one of the love seats with a table and it was very comfortable. Service was great. Loved that we could each choose our own tea and that teas are loose leaf. I think 1/2 and 1/2 should be in the creamers; not milk. I did get 1/2 and 1/2 to use. The edible treats were underwhelming. Martini glass with fruit was good. Scones were very good; it was the savory snacks that were not as strong. The smoked salmon bit was lovely. The duck egg deviled egg in a pumpernickle pressed bread roll - not as strong and the round item with a lavender flower "frosting,' was not great. The last two tasted as if they'd been prepared hours or days ago, and refridgerated. The chocolate frosted cake cube was good- simply small, and the vanilla/lemon mousse was yummy. I think with some improvements in the savory tea treats, the tea would be perfect and a stronger value. Thank you J. Miller

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great for out-of-town guests.

vip
Dined on January 13, 2016

We had a lovely breakfast with a dear friend from Palm Springs. Showing off one of Seattle's landmarks.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

Horrible fallow up!

Dined on December 31, 2015

The only reason I'm giving it a low rating is because of their horrible customer service. I had made the reservation a month before for English tea with my five year old daughter as it is our new years tradition. It's been our first time celebrating the news years at home (Seattle) and wanted to treat out daughter to the Fairmont for tea. She was very excited and had had a countdown for a month to dine there. To our disgrace we arrive and the hostess tells us that we have a reservation for English tea but since there's a new years eve party later that day that they didn't want to have the whole menu, which included our tea service. My daughter was in tears and I was furious no one called us to inform us of such thing. We ended up dining there. The food was good and our server was very friendly but the damage was done.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional once again

Dined on December 30, 2015

We have been to the Georgian Room many times for lunch and dinner, and have never been disappointed with the food or service. It is the most beautiful and elegant restaurant we have ever come across even in our travels.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Gorgeous, timeless, significant

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

The Georgian is the a piece of Seattle history that will be missed greatly as the dinner service has concluded as of Dec. 31, 2015. The ambiance & service was impeccable as well as high quality dishes prepared meticulously in detail.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

High end, quality dinner

Dined on December 24, 2015

The food was excellent and service impeccable. It is expensive for sure, but there is good value to be had in the Prix-Fix.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Still one of the best fine dining experi ...

Dined on December 16, 2015

Still one of the best fine dining experiences left in Seattle. Elegant, but not stuffy.

food2
ambience2
service1
value3

A disappointing farewell

Dined on December 15, 2015

The Georgian Room is closing soon, and it seems like it's time. We went there to say goodbye to that lovely space in which we've had so many nice meals. The service was terrible, the food was OK, and the room itself has become very shabby. Especially the carpet. We took people from out of town for the event and it was almost embarrassing.

food5
ambience5
service5

All the Right Notes

Dined on December 13, 2015

Each time I visit the Georgian Room I promise myself I'll go back soon, but for some reason never seem to. On my last visit with my mother and sister, the experience surpassed our expectations. Everything was perfect if that is possible. The room, as always, puts on a show through its sheer elegance. The service was quiet, gracious, and efficient. All I could ask for. The star of the evening, however, was the food, wine, and drinks. Wonderful. I started with the French onion soup and had the rack of lamb as my main course. Both perfect. I have once again promised myself I will go back again soon, and this time I intend to.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful place to dine.

Dined on December 13, 2015

Wish you were not closing to the public. We will miss you greatly. We have always loved coming here for special occasions.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Lights out in the Georgian

vip
Dined on December 11, 2015

We were very disappointed. We have dined at the Georgian during Christmas' past and enjoyed, the food, service and especially the decorations. This was quite a different experience. We waited by the hostess stand for almost 10 minutes before someone acknowledged our existence. Admittedly, we were 5 minutes early for our reservation. The only decoration was a Christmas tree that was centered in the back of the room. I, of course was seated with my back to it, so I could not see it. We both ordered the lobster bisque, because it was so enjoyable the last time that we were there. Unfortunately, while it did have a good flavor, it seemed more like essence of lobster soup. I ordered the salmon with the pork belly, which I must say, both were quite delicious. The service was disappointing. The restaurant only had a few tables occupied, but we seemed to have to wait to get our waiter's attention most of the evening. I decided to forgo the 2nd glass of wine, because my food would have been cold waiting for the waiter. I don't believe that we will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Immaculate service!

vip
Dined on December 10, 2015

Food was perfectly prepared and served in an exquisite dining room. Last but not least, superb service completed the picture of wonderful dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

MEMORABLE DINNER

Dined on December 10, 2015

Probably our best hotel dining experience ever. Excellent food and great service. Elegant setting and peacefully quiet. Suitable for all occasions...

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We are so sad the restaurant will be clo ...

vip
Dined on December 9, 2015

We are so sad the restaurant will be closing for dinner after 12/31!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

While I have dined for dinner here and l ...

Dined on December 7, 2015

While I have dined for dinner here and loved it, not so much for the Holiday High Tea occasion. I felt there were so many sweets vs. Savories. Even some of the savories were sweet. At 65.00 per person it was not as stellar as I had hoped. I thought it would be much more holiday decorated. Also, the noise was very irritating to say the least. We had to put up with the very distracting clanking and porcelain clinking of the help getting ready to get dinner ready perhaps? It was right next to us and took away from the ambience of an enjoyable visit. Also I might add watching the person who was there to tend to the plants crawling all over the seating couches and jumping up onto the platforms to water was not a pleasant sight. For the prices charged, seems there must be a better way for these things to be done in a less intrusive manner. On a good note - service and attentiveness was excellant as usual. I was just disappointed that for the significant jump in price for the Holiday High Tea vs. The regular High Tea, didn't seem to be anything Holiday about it.

food5
ambience5
service5

Professional, knowledgeable, courteous s ...

Dined on December 6, 2015

Professional, knowledgeable, courteous service. A perfect balance of charm and humor made for an enjoyable dining experience when combined with extraordinarily creative and delicious cuisine.

food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely Lunch

Dined on December 1, 2015

We celebrated a friends birthday and had a lovely lunch. Great food, wonderful & attentive service - we couldn't ask for more! We can't wait to come back!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.