About The Georgian

411 University Street
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

The Georgian features French-inspired Northwest cuisine prepared by Executive Chef Gavin Stephenson in Seattle's premier dining room. The Georgian offers The Petite, an exclusive private dining room with seating for up to twelve guests, which is perfect for an intimate get together.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, French

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday – Friday: 6:30am – 11:00am
Saturday & Sunday: 7:00am – 11:00am

Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 2:30pm
Saturday & Sunday:12:00pm – 2:30pm

Georgian Tea: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 2:30pm
Saturday & Sunday: 12:00pm – 2:30pm


Cross Street:
4th Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 621-7889

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/seattle/dining/thegeorgian/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Self Parking is available at the hotel for dinner only when dining in The Georgian .

Valet Parking is available as well. Please contact the restaurant for parking prices.

Executive Chef:
Gavin Stephenson

Private Party Facilities:
Our versatile facilities lend an air of heritage grandeur to every gathering. With spaces to accommodate an 8 person dinner up to a 750 person wedding, there is no limit to the options available.

Private Party Contact:
Kami Wise or Quincy Thomas: 8448375866

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Private Room

Restaurant Photos

Crispy Skin Steelhead
Blueberry Lemon Mascarpone
Chicken Chop Salad
10 Oz American Wagyu Beef Burger
Bread Service
Last Of The Summer Fried Chicken Picnic
Acorn Squash Bisque
Deconstructed Banana Cream Pie
Arrowhead Spinach Salad
Red Wine Risotto
Strawberry and Lime Sorbet
Venison loin crusted with rooftop herbs
Kobe Beef Hamburger
High Tea Set
Chantrelle tortellini
Amuse Bouche
Sea scallops with potatoes and leeks
Prawn ice tower
Penn Cove Mussels
The Picasso dinner
Seared Ahi Tuna
Mango Passion Lemonade
Chocolate fantasia
Candied native american king salmon bellies
Black pepper crusted bone in ribeye steak
Olympic caesar salad
Pasta with morel cream
Black And White Souffle
Afternoon Tea
Chocolate So Good
Martini
Chilled Carrot & Ginger Soup
Lobster Cake With Spinach Avocado Salad
Blue Cheese And Crackers
Ahi Tuna Melt With Truffle Fries
Organic Chicken Tart
Curried Turkey Salad Sandwich
Wild King Salmon Burger
Express Lunch
Afternoon Tea Sandwhiches
Black And White Soufle
Salmon burger

The Georgian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (18)
Great for Lunch (15)
Romantic (11)
See All
Great for Brunch (9)
Good for Groups (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Historic (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Fun (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Scenic View (1)
Private Room (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Healthy (1)
Organic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1107 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and nice atmosphere. Reminds ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and nice atmosphere. Reminds me of the William Penn in Pittsburgh!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined in this fine restaurant for tea ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We dined in this fine restaurant for tea service which was excellent. The selection of teas and accompanying goodies made this a memorable affair. Such beautiful surroundings.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent luncheon dining celebrating a ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Excellent luncheon dining celebrating a special birthday. Thanks for the special birthday recognition.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a fabulous place for either lunch o ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

It's a fabulous place for either lunch or High Tea. The delicious food is always beautifully presented and the service is impeccable! A beautiful setting and small families here and there enjoying High Tea with their small children add to the delight.

It's the best place in Seattle to experience not only Old World charm but a refined and civilized setting all around.

Be sure to mentioned, lunch or High Tea when U book the table!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Organic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant is in the Fairmont Hotel ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

This restaurant is in the Fairmont Hotel in a lovely part of Seattle. We came for lunch, but my wife decided we wanted to partake in the Tea Service instead. I had already gotten a cup of tea before we decided this, and the staff followed their strict directions (I suppose) and brought me another pot of tea, which was cool, but then when I tasted the loose leaf Earl Grey, it was not nearly as good as the bagged Earl Grey??? The Tea service food was actually pretty good, all in all. Finally, our waiter was unintelligible, and it's not that he had an accent. He was really just not able to be understood because his English was that poor. I wouldn't go back to this place, but the food was good, it's just that the service was odd and uncomfortable. You get a mix of guests in sweatpants and people who are trying to make a nice event of it, and that clash lessens the enjoyability of it all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

After having High Tea in England we have ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

After having High Tea in England we have been looking for a local haunt that would provide a similar experience. While it wasn't quite what was available in London, it was definitely a worth the reservation and visit. It was a quiet Saturday afternoon with only 5-6 tables so you could enjoy your conversation. Definitely recommend it if you have never had High Tea.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our server was very clumsy and his accen ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our server was very clumsy and his accent was not clear at all. He wouldn't stand a full minute to explain details of the menu. Disappointed with the flexibility in accommodating children to a single savory/sweet tier option instead we were asked to purchase two and most of the food was wasted.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I decided to come to breakfast here alon ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

I decided to come to breakfast here alone on Friday morning. The restaurant is beautiful. It's definitely like walking back into the 1920s. I had two mimosa with the daily juice. I believe it was Apple Blueberry. It was refreshing and a nice change of pace. I had the avocado toastie. The toast was delicious, everything was very fresh and flavorful. The avocado was more like a guacamole which I enjoyed. The service was terrific. I was offered a newspaper when I arrived. All of the staff from the hostess to the waiter used my name which was charming. I was sat in a somewhat private area, but it was back towards the kitchen where I could here the manager speaking to the staff. This was slightly distracting but didn't ruin the meal. The entire meal took less than 30 minutes, which I appreciated very much since I was still working. I will definitely be returning. The experience was so delightful I will start staying at the Olympic instead of the Sheridan.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best breakfast in seattle for business a ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Best breakfast in seattle for business and fabulous service

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three of us enjoyed afternoon tea at the ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Three of us enjoyed afternoon tea at the Georgian on a Friday. The room is gorgeous in its old fashioned luxury with beautiful china and silver for the tea service. Each diner gets a pot of tea of their choice and a 3 tiered cake stand filled with scones, savory bites and dessert. The table is set with pretty matching cream and sugar bowl with cute silver tongs, tea strainer with holder, all the accoutrements that make afternoon tea an event. Everything was tasty, but our favorite is the pea mousse sandwiched by parmesan crisps. The chocolate caramel mousse, yuzu cake, and profiterole for dessert were delightful as well. The ambience is perfect for catching up with women friends. The only critique I have is the server seemed to rush us at the start when we wanted to talk and take our time to order.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We were greeted and quickly seated upon ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We were greeted and quickly seated upon arrival. It was lovely and quiet on the first part of our meal. We were seated in a well lit booth and it was quiet and relaxing, something that I wished continued but about 30 minutes later, a larger party was seated next to us and they the noise level went up so I was not able to hear most of what my sister was saying--it felt like the table next to us was too close.

However, the experience was lovely. I'll definitely go back for high tea again or a fancy dinner--hopefully seated away from larger groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We always enjoy having lunch at the Geor ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We always enjoy having lunch at the Georgian before a play at the 5th Avenue . It is such a beautiful room .

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was very uninterested, but th ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our server was very uninterested, but the other staff stepped up. I've never been charged for extra sandwiches before, unusual for this type of hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

I tried to change reservation from 4 peo ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I tried to change reservation from 4 people to six and app indicated full, called them and got same response. There was only one other table occupied throughout the entire time we were their for lunch. Due to this I will choose a different restaurant for afternoon tea next time my son and family in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

we were staying at the Fairmont for 3 ni ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

we were staying at the Fairmont for 3 nights and ate brekfast all 3 days in the Georgian. Such a beautiful room! It is a real pleasure to be in this building and my favourite room is the Georgian.

Brekfast time was very busy, so I'm really glad I had made reseervations all 3 days.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Service slow. Servers not attentive. Not ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Service slow. Servers not attentive. Not many people for Friday afternoon high tea and some very casually dressed. Dirty plates in corner dinning room not cleared out.

Beautiful environment, tasty tea, and nice food, but significantly overpriced for the very small portion sizes, slow service and lack of ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Beautiful place , great service . Food w ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Beautiful place , great service . Food was good ,I would loved a little more options on the lunch meniu besides sandwiches ... and one warm dish . Dessert meniu is very limited .Other than that it is trully a lovely place !!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food quality excellent, atmosphere high ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food quality excellent, atmosphere high class but comfortable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The Georgian has always been a wonderful ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The Georgian has always been a wonderful place to dine....however, disappointed in their current lunch menu, with hamburgers, grilled cheese sandwich to name a few items on the news menu.....can't imagine why anyone would go to the elegant Georgian Room expecting those choices!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The decor is superb, the service was goo ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The decor is superb, the service was good. We had High Tea and the various items were done to perfection. The silver service stands out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Beautiful. What a Treat.

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Beautiful. Classic. You'll be lost in time. Great food, the Best service, reasonable price. I was here for Brunch. Yes, perfect croissant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my daughter and a few friends for ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I took my daughter and a few friends for an afternoon tea birthday celebration. It was lovely and very elegant, and service was impeccable as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brunch at the Georgian was great! The bu ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Brunch at the Georgian was great!

The buffet offers a huge variety and high quality food.

Staff was diligent, right up until it was time for my to pay, where they took way too long to pick up the checkbook with my card in it (very obviously poking out). It actually required us to notify another waiter for our waitress to finally come pick it up.

Otherwise, the venue is great and beautiful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful room excellent for business me ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Beautiful room excellent for business meals

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience!!!

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Always a great experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Expensive for ordinary breakfasts

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Had 3 breakfasts in the restaurant because I was staying in the hotel for a conference. The breakfasts (both hot and cold) were good but way overpriced. $6 for a cup of coffee? I won't eat there again - certainly not my cup of tea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Elegance, great service with much class.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Elegance, great service with much class.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bad communication breakdown in staff?

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Disappointing that I had called in to double check a birthday surprise would be taken care off. After confirming this the morning of the occasion, I'm extremely shocked no surprises for the birthday girl came at the end (again, after confirming it would be done on the phone). Waitress we had was also not as intuitive of a waitress one would expect at a restaurant in a Fairmont Hotel. Something like hot water refill for afternoon high tea should be, again, intuitive and not something that should be asked for. Half finished dishes shouldn't be taken away without confirming, either. I've also emailed customer service after this experience last weekend, and I haven't heard anything back. Funny, really. I'm comparing this experience to the Fairmont in Hong Kong and embarrassing to say my home city of Seattle faired poorly in comparison.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

The honey special from the rooftop bees ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The honey special from the rooftop bees is not to be missed. Service is impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a treat

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

to dine at the Georgian with it's beautiful interior, fine service and delicious meals

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overpriced for mediocre food

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

So to start with the only plus - the service was outstanding - very friendly and attentive without being overly intrusive. Unfortunately though the food was horrifically overpriced, especially for what was mediocre quality. Who charges $5 for a coke?! I had made a reservation based off their advertised Seattle Restaurant Week menu only to arrive and discover it had changed. As nothing on the revised Seattle Restaurant Week menu appealed to me, I ordered the Walla Walla onion soup and Caesar salad off the regular menu. Both were overpriced for the quality and size. The soup was a little bit bland and was quite small in portion. The Caesar salad was ok, but had an especially strong fish flavor. Won't be returning, but from the looks of their empty dining room at the peak of lunchtime, it looks like many restaurant goers aren't returning.

As a side note, I was terribly amused to get an email ahead of time with their cancellation policy. So while they can change the advertised Seattle Restaurant Week menu at any time without notice, restaurant goers who cancel within 24 hours notice are charged $25-$50. 1) Sounds hypocritical 2) How do they think they can charge you without any customer details and 3) The restaurant was empty and mediocre food, so it seems rather pretentious to put on such unsubstantiated airs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Lunch at The Georgian!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

The restaurant was beautiful, bright, and fancy! I loved the décor and calm feel. Service was lovely and the food was amazing. I had the Greek Goddess Grilled Cheese with sweet potato fries. So delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hear

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Breakfast was good. Server was grumpy and not very helpful. We travel a lot and stay in nice hotels. This breakfast menu was over priced for the selection. We are sad for such a Grand Dame.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

I remember the Georgian Room - a sad slide.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

It's like an old ladies retirement home now. I took my 20-something niece for lunch and was embarrassed by how stodgy it seems. Confusingly, the Restaurant Week menu seemed pricier than the actual lunch menu. Huh? We had some gluey clam chowder and an enormous chicken Caesar, which I brought home only to discover most of the lettuce was older than the ladies who were lunching at the Fairmont Mausoleum. Ghastly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Nothing Special

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

I love the Georgian Room. We have always had fabulous meals there, but it was not up to parr at our last visit. My husband, daughter and I had lunch here during Restaurant Week. The room is still lovely, the waiter was formal, but not very attentive. The prix fix lunch for RW was nothing special: my husband had tomato and chicken with noodles (their label). Nothing on the regular menu or on the pix fix menu excited me so I had the Express Lunch special off the regular menu (curried turkey sandwich, potato leek soup, salad and rice pudding). It was about the same price and with more variety than my husbands choice. Still, the soup was lukewarm and the bread on the sandwich was crusty like the sandwich had been made too early and left out. Both were tasty; just not up to standard. The rice pudding in was delicious. My daughter chose the steamed mahi mahi which she found bland. The plating was creative and lovely. Everyone is entitled to one bad day. I will likely be back and give them another chance.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Lovely indulgent, classy experience

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

My daughter (23) and I thoroughly enjoyed our experience celebrating her birthday (which we completely forgot to mention). The food is good- you go for the indulgent, old world experience. Great service, feels special and classy. We joked that in a movie it would be the perfect backdrop to introduce a new fiancee to the parents- luxurious and special, but a tiny bit intimidating for the new-family-member-to-be. When we were there, there were at least 3 groups of young women who appeared to be celebrating weddings or babies.... its that kind of place. I'd not choose it for a date with my husband though....

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I had taken a dear friend here to celebr ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

I had taken a dear friend here to celebrate her 30th birthday. Having been to many afternoon teas around the world and she having just returned from her honeymoon with afternoon tea at The Empress in Victoria, BC we were both very excited to share the experience together. The tea was immediately served without being seaped and in strainers that allowed the loose tea leaves to fall into the tea cup. Upon asking the waiter if this is how they traditionally serve the tea, he said yes. He did, however, get us another strainer that was much better. We asked for fresh tea cups, which surprised him. After this, we quite enjoyed ourselves, until someone brought their screaming baby into the room that was seated next to us. The food was quite delicious. I'm supposed to take another friend there to celebrate her 50th this week, but am having hesitation, due to the tea strainer experience. Otherwise, the setting is lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We had tea at The Georgian, it was lovel ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

We had tea at The Georgian, it was lovely. The service was great and the food came out promptly. It's very beautiful in their dining room. Great for a girls day out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was - as always - great experience: Q ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

It was - as always - great experience: Quiet elegance w wonderful servers in a fine setting!

We never feel rushed & enjoy watching children being introduced to High Tea by their parent(s).

It's the best lunch spot in town with a locally sourced menu (small plates & full menu) w most reasonable prices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Revisit

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Much of the ambience has been lost since our last visit some years ago. The wine list was more restricted but still OK. The food choices are definitely no longer consistent with fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.