About The Georgian

411 University Street
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

The Georgian features French-inspired Northwest cuisine prepared by Executive Chef Gavin Stephenson in Seattle's premier dining room. The Georgian offers The Petite, an exclusive private dining room with seating for up to twelve guests, which is perfect for an intimate get together.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, French

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday – Friday: 6:30am – 11:00am
Saturday & Sunday: 7:00am – 11:00am

Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:00am – 2:30pm
Saturday & Sunday:12:00pm – 2:30pm

Georgian Tea: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 2:30pm
Saturday & Sunday: 12:00pm – 2:30pm


Cross Street:
4th Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 621-7889

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/seattle/dining/thegeorgian/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Self Parking is available at the hotel for dinner only when dining in The Georgian .

Valet Parking is available as well. Please contact the restaurant for parking prices.

Executive Chef:
Gavin Stephenson

Additional:
Entertainment, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room

Restaurant Photos

Crispy Skin Steelhead
Blueberry Lemon Mascarpone
10 Oz American Wagyu Beef Burger
Chicken Chop Salad
Bread Service
Last Of The Summer Fried Chicken Picnic
Acorn Squash Bisque
Deconstructed Banana Cream Pie
Arrowhead Spinach Salad
Red Wine Risotto
Strawberry and Lime Sorbet
Venison loin crusted with rooftop herbs
Kobe Beef Hamburger
High Tea Set
Prawn ice tower
Amuse Bouche
Chantrelle tortellini
Sea scallops with potatoes and leeks
Penn Cove Mussels
The Picasso dinner
Seared Ahi Tuna
Mango Passion Lemonade
Chocolate fantasia
Candied native american king salmon bellies
Pasta with morel cream
Black And White Souffle
Olympic caesar salad
Black pepper crusted bone in ribeye steak
Afternoon Tea
Chocolate So Good
Chilled Carrot & Ginger Soup
Martini
Blue Cheese And Crackers
Ahi Tuna Melt With Truffle Fries
Lobster Cake With Spinach Avocado Salad
Express Lunch
Curried Turkey Salad Sandwich
Wild King Salmon Burger
Organic Chicken Tart
Afternoon Tea Sandwhiches
Salmon burger
Black And White Soufle

Private Dining

Our versatile facilities lend an air of heritage grandeur to every gathering. With spaces to accommodate an 8 person dinner up to a 750 person wedding, there is no limit to the options available.

The Georgian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Ambiance
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (34)
romantic (23)
great for lunch (20)
See All
great for brunch (19)
fit for foodies (13)
good for groups (10)
neighborhood gem (4)
notable wine list (3)
kid-friendly (2)
hot spot (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1093 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

we were staying at the Fairmont for 3 ni ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

we were staying at the Fairmont for 3 nights and ate brekfast all 3 days in the Georgian. Such a beautiful room! It is a real pleasure to be in this building and my favourite room is the Georgian.

Brekfast time was very busy, so I'm really glad I had made reseervations all 3 days.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Service slow. Servers not attentive. Not ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Service slow. Servers not attentive. Not many people for Friday afternoon high tea and some very casually dressed. Dirty plates in corner dinning room not cleared out.

Beautiful environment, tasty tea, and nice food, but significantly overpriced for the very small portion sizes, slow service and lack of ambiance.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Beautiful place , great service . Food w ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Beautiful place , great service . Food was good ,I would loved a little more options on the lunch meniu besides sandwiches ... and one warm dish . Dessert meniu is very limited .Other than that it is trully a lovely place !!!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food quality excellent, atmosphere high ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food quality excellent, atmosphere high class but comfortable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The Georgian has always been a wonderful ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The Georgian has always been a wonderful place to dine....however, disappointed in their current lunch menu, with hamburgers, grilled cheese sandwich to name a few items on the news menu.....can't imagine why anyone would go to the elegant Georgian Room expecting those choices!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The decor is superb, the service was goo ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The decor is superb, the service was good. We had High Tea and the various items were done to perfection. The silver service stands out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Beautiful. What a Treat.

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Beautiful. Classic. You'll be lost in time. Great food, the Best service, reasonable price. I was here for Brunch. Yes, perfect croissant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my daughter and a few friends for ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I took my daughter and a few friends for an afternoon tea birthday celebration. It was lovely and very elegant, and service was impeccable as usual.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brunch at the Georgian was great! The bu ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Brunch at the Georgian was great!

The buffet offers a huge variety and high quality food.

Staff was diligent, right up until it was time for my to pay, where they took way too long to pick up the checkbook with my card in it (very obviously poking out). It actually required us to notify another waiter for our waitress to finally come pick it up.

Otherwise, the venue is great and beautiful.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful room excellent for business me ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Beautiful room excellent for business meals

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience!!!

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Always a great experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Expensive for ordinary breakfasts

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Had 3 breakfasts in the restaurant because I was staying in the hotel for a conference. The breakfasts (both hot and cold) were good but way overpriced. $6 for a cup of coffee? I won't eat there again - certainly not my cup of tea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Elegance, great service with much class.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Elegance, great service with much class.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bad communication breakdown in staff?

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Disappointing that I had called in to double check a birthday surprise would be taken care off. After confirming this the morning of the occasion, I'm extremely shocked no surprises for the birthday girl came at the end (again, after confirming it would be done on the phone). Waitress we had was also not as intuitive of a waitress one would expect at a restaurant in a Fairmont Hotel. Something like hot water refill for afternoon high tea should be, again, intuitive and not something that should be asked for. Half finished dishes shouldn't be taken away without confirming, either. I've also emailed customer service after this experience last weekend, and I haven't heard anything back. Funny, really. I'm comparing this experience to the Fairmont in Hong Kong and embarrassing to say my home city of Seattle faired poorly in comparison.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

The honey special from the rooftop bees ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The honey special from the rooftop bees is not to be missed. Service is impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a treat

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

to dine at the Georgian with it's beautiful interior, fine service and delicious meals

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overpriced for mediocre food

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

So to start with the only plus - the service was outstanding - very friendly and attentive without being overly intrusive. Unfortunately though the food was horrifically overpriced, especially for what was mediocre quality. Who charges $5 for a coke?! I had made a reservation based off their advertised Seattle Restaurant Week menu only to arrive and discover it had changed. As nothing on the revised Seattle Restaurant Week menu appealed to me, I ordered the Walla Walla onion soup and Caesar salad off the regular menu. Both were overpriced for the quality and size. The soup was a little bit bland and was quite small in portion. The Caesar salad was ok, but had an especially strong fish flavor. Won't be returning, but from the looks of their empty dining room at the peak of lunchtime, it looks like many restaurant goers aren't returning.

As a side note, I was terribly amused to get an email ahead of time with their cancellation policy. So while they can change the advertised Seattle Restaurant Week menu at any time without notice, restaurant goers who cancel within 24 hours notice are charged $25-$50. 1) Sounds hypocritical 2) How do they think they can charge you without any customer details and 3) The restaurant was empty and mediocre food, so it seems rather pretentious to put on such unsubstantiated airs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Lunch at The Georgian!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

The restaurant was beautiful, bright, and fancy! I loved the décor and calm feel. Service was lovely and the food was amazing. I had the Greek Goddess Grilled Cheese with sweet potato fries. So delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hear

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Breakfast was good. Server was grumpy and not very helpful. We travel a lot and stay in nice hotels. This breakfast menu was over priced for the selection. We are sad for such a Grand Dame.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

I remember the Georgian Room - a sad slide.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

It's like an old ladies retirement home now. I took my 20-something niece for lunch and was embarrassed by how stodgy it seems. Confusingly, the Restaurant Week menu seemed pricier than the actual lunch menu. Huh? We had some gluey clam chowder and an enormous chicken Caesar, which I brought home only to discover most of the lettuce was older than the ladies who were lunching at the Fairmont Mausoleum. Ghastly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Nothing Special

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

I love the Georgian Room. We have always had fabulous meals there, but it was not up to parr at our last visit. My husband, daughter and I had lunch here during Restaurant Week. The room is still lovely, the waiter was formal, but not very attentive. The prix fix lunch for RW was nothing special: my husband had tomato and chicken with noodles (their label). Nothing on the regular menu or on the pix fix menu excited me so I had the Express Lunch special off the regular menu (curried turkey sandwich, potato leek soup, salad and rice pudding). It was about the same price and with more variety than my husbands choice. Still, the soup was lukewarm and the bread on the sandwich was crusty like the sandwich had been made too early and left out. Both were tasty; just not up to standard. The rice pudding in was delicious. My daughter chose the steamed mahi mahi which she found bland. The plating was creative and lovely. Everyone is entitled to one bad day. I will likely be back and give them another chance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Lovely indulgent, classy experience

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

My daughter (23) and I thoroughly enjoyed our experience celebrating her birthday (which we completely forgot to mention). The food is good- you go for the indulgent, old world experience. Great service, feels special and classy. We joked that in a movie it would be the perfect backdrop to introduce a new fiancee to the parents- luxurious and special, but a tiny bit intimidating for the new-family-member-to-be. When we were there, there were at least 3 groups of young women who appeared to be celebrating weddings or babies.... its that kind of place. I'd not choose it for a date with my husband though....

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I had taken a dear friend here to celebr ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

I had taken a dear friend here to celebrate her 30th birthday. Having been to many afternoon teas around the world and she having just returned from her honeymoon with afternoon tea at The Empress in Victoria, BC we were both very excited to share the experience together. The tea was immediately served without being seaped and in strainers that allowed the loose tea leaves to fall into the tea cup. Upon asking the waiter if this is how they traditionally serve the tea, he said yes. He did, however, get us another strainer that was much better. We asked for fresh tea cups, which surprised him. After this, we quite enjoyed ourselves, until someone brought their screaming baby into the room that was seated next to us. The food was quite delicious. I'm supposed to take another friend there to celebrate her 50th this week, but am having hesitation, due to the tea strainer experience. Otherwise, the setting is lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We had tea at The Georgian, it was lovel ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

We had tea at The Georgian, it was lovely. The service was great and the food came out promptly. It's very beautiful in their dining room. Great for a girls day out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was - as always - great experience: Q ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

It was - as always - great experience: Quiet elegance w wonderful servers in a fine setting!

We never feel rushed & enjoy watching children being introduced to High Tea by their parent(s).

It's the best lunch spot in town with a locally sourced menu (small plates & full menu) w most reasonable prices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Revisit

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Much of the ambience has been lost since our last visit some years ago. The wine list was more restricted but still OK. The food choices are definitely no longer consistent with fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Georgian 's service has gone down the drain.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I have been here few times, in the past the food was always great for dinner. Lunch was always soso. This time, I booked for a lunch/hi tea. hi tea is on the expensive side given how dry the pastries are, tea was ok. I had a scallop risotto for lunch, scallops are dry. However, the worst part is the customer service. The hostess , waiter are both not treating customers right.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

Wonderful Valentines Brunch!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Went there for Valentines and had their wonderful breakfast buffet. So many delicious things to choose from. Service is always excellent. Thank you!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you go, go for dinner

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

First time I went to Georgian was for dinner and it was absolutely amazing! The ambience, the food, the service! Decided to come back for brunch on Valentine's Day and wasn't too impressed. I mean the ambience and service was still there but the food wasn't amazing. After having dinner there I was expecting the same fancy plating and presentation but it wasn't there. And the food tasted good but not something I'd specifically come back for.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

good as always

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

A delicious lunch. We shared the mahi mahi and the Asian chicken salad and both were very good. However, we had to ask for serving utensils in order to share.

Also, my decaf coffee tasted old.

Still, a beautiful setting and the food was good.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Lovely ambience; underwhelmed by tea snacks

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

I love the elegant Georgian room. We sat at one of the love seats with a table and it was very comfortable. Service was great. Loved that we could each choose our own tea and that teas are loose leaf. I think 1/2 and 1/2 should be in the creamers; not milk. I did get 1/2 and 1/2 to use.

The edible treats were underwhelming. Martini glass with fruit was good. Scones were very good; it was the savory snacks that were not as strong. The smoked salmon bit was lovely. The duck egg deviled egg in a pumpernickle pressed bread roll - not as strong and the round item with a lavender flower "frosting,' was not great. The last two tasted as if they'd been prepared hours or days ago, and refridgerated. The chocolate frosted cake cube was good- simply small, and the vanilla/lemon mousse was yummy.

I think with some improvements in the savory tea treats, the tea would be perfect and a stronger value.

Thank you

J. Miller

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We went for afternoon tea. The tea opt ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

We went for afternoon tea. The tea options were good but the amount of food was small for the price and not overly impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great for out-of-town guests.

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 13, 2016

We had a lovely breakfast with a dear friend from Palm Springs. Showing off one of Seattle's landmarks.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Horrible fallow up!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

The only reason I'm giving it a low rating is because of their horrible customer service. I had made the reservation a month before for English tea with my five year old daughter as it is our new years tradition. It's been our first time celebrating the news years at home (Seattle) and wanted to treat out daughter to the Fairmont for tea. She was very excited and had had a countdown for a month to dine there. To our disgrace we arrive and the hostess tells us that we have a reservation for English tea but since there's a new years eve party later that day that they didn't want to have the whole menu, which included our tea service. My daughter was in tears and I was furious no one called us to inform us of such thing.

We ended up dining there. The food was good and our server was very friendly but the damage was done.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

Exceptional once again

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

We have been to the Georgian Room many times for lunch and dinner, and have never been disappointed with the food or service. It is the most beautiful and elegant restaurant we have ever come across even in our travels.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gorgeous, timeless, significant

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

The Georgian is the a piece of Seattle history that will be missed greatly as the dinner service has concluded as of Dec. 31, 2015. The ambiance & service was impeccable as well as high quality dishes prepared meticulously in detail.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

High end, quality dinner

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

The food was excellent and service impeccable. It is expensive for sure, but there is good value to be had in the Prix-Fix.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Still one of the best fine dining experi ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on December 16, 2015

Still one of the best fine dining experiences left in Seattle. Elegant, but not stuffy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A disappointing farewell

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on December 15, 2015

The Georgian Room is closing soon, and it seems like it's time. We went there to say goodbye to that lovely space in which we've had so many nice meals. The service was terrible, the food was OK, and the room itself has become very shabby. Especially the carpet. We took people from out of town for the event and it was almost embarrassing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

All the Right Notes

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

Each time I visit the Georgian Room I promise myself I'll go back soon, but for some reason never seem to. On my last visit with my mother and sister, the experience surpassed our expectations. Everything was perfect if that is possible. The room, as always, puts on a show through its sheer elegance. The service was quiet, gracious, and efficient. All I could ask for. The star of the evening, however, was the food, wine, and drinks. Wonderful. I started with the French onion soup and had the rack of lamb as my main course. Both perfect. I have once again promised myself I will go back again soon, and this time I intend to.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.