About The Georgian

411 University Street
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

The Georgian features French-inspired Northwest cuisine in Seattle's premier dining room. The Georgian offers The Petite, an exclusive private dining room with seating for up to twelve guests, which is perfect for an intimate get together.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, French

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday – Friday: 6:30am – 11:00am
Saturday & Sunday: 7:00am – 11:00am

Lunch: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 2:30pm
Saturday & Sunday:12:00pm – 2:30pm

Georgian Tea: Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 2:30pm
Saturday & Sunday: 12:00pm – 2:30pm


Cross Street:
4th Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 621-7889

Website:
http://www.fairmont.com/seattle/dining/thegeorgian/

Parking Details:
Self and Valet Parking is available . Please contact the restaurant for parking prices.

Executive Chef:
Gavin Stephenson

Private Party Facilities:
Our versatile facilities lend an air of heritage grandeur to every gathering. With spaces to accommodate an 8 person dinner up to a 750 person wedding, there is no limit to the options available.

Private Party Contact:
Quincy Thomas: (844) 837-5866

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

The Georgian Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (10)
Afternoon Tea (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
See All
Historic (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Romantic (7)
Business Meals (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Authentic (3)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Private Room (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
People Watching (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
1188 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food. Good place.

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 14 hours ago

Good food. Good place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was impeccable. Really like ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

The service was impeccable. Really like how the tables have so much space between them. Gives feeling of privacy. Lovely to dine without feeling cramped and crowded.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Romantic, Cozy, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Historic, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, , Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was impeccable as always!

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

The service was impeccable as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was far too expensive for the exper ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This was far too expensive for the experience. The tea was bad and the food was only ok. Presentation and ambience were beautiful, but as tea lovers, we were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Had a nice women's day here. Took daught ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Had a nice women's day here. Took daughter to her 1st time at the spa downstairs then here for her 1st high tea. I wanted the Black Box special of the day (crab cakes) or the Grilled Beecher's Cheese with Avocado & she wanted to try the tea. Afternoon Tea is a good price for kids 12 & under: only $18 - you get the same fruit, blueberry scones, and desserts as adults, only the teas and sandwiches are different (for kids you get all 3: turkey & cheese triangle, ham & cheese triangle, & PB&J banana plus a choice of 3 kid-friendly teas or hot cocoa). She said meat sandwiches tasted ok, heavy on the mayo, would be better with cream cheese instead; she really liked everything else, the fruit in Martini glass, the scones, desserts & teapot. Note: be prepared for a staff person to call you to confirm; one called me that morning to ask if we wanted lunch or tea. We couldn't decide as I was rushing out the door & daughter wanted to see kids menus (which aren't online), so I said one of us will probably get the tea, not sure yet. Staffer said they needed to know because they like to have the tea ready. When we ordered, the staff seemed perturbed that daughter was the one getting the tea & not me as they had to switch the place settings, yet we were still missing a napkin. Daughter also noticed that the staff took & hung the coats of the other patrons, but not ours, and we were more dressed up than them. We overlooked all of that because the setting is so quiet, elegant, and historic. We could have a good conversation as there's a lot of space; it's NOT like these new hipster places where the next table touches yours! It's the only real place downtown where you can still order Afternoon Tea; a much classier place than the Queen Mary Tea Room in Ravenna, which is more kitschy. We plan to return to The Georgian with friends who like high tea now that we know the drill.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The Georgian Room is the prettiest room ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The Georgian Room is the prettiest room in Seattle, the food and service are excellent; I recommend it highly.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is impeccable and food was great ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Service is impeccable and food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my friend here for a girls day brun ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Took my friend here for a girls day brunch to celebrate her birthday. She loved it. The Georgian is architecturally so beautiful and elegant. The food was a little over priced but decent. Portion sizes are small. I loved that there was a decent space between each table so we could chat without being too noisy to our table neighbors. Overall great experience and I will definitely be back. Would love to go for afternoon tea!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Order health smart white egg omelet and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Order health smart white egg omelet and it was drenched in oil Seems a bit counterproductive to eat an egg white omelet if they drown in oil.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Need to improve on friendly and courteou ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Need to improve on friendly and courteous service

Food taste great, well-balanced, fantastic presentation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Very beautiful! Wish the servers had bee ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Very beautiful! Wish the servers had been a little more attentive to us. Moments when we didn't see them or hear from them for half hours at a time. We were not offered coffee, had to ask for it mid lunch. Over all very happy though, brunch here is a family tradition and it held up to it's memory's. Everything was very beautiful and clean!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Private Room, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Excellent for a special occasion; staff ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Excellent for a special occasion; staff is very attentive and friendly, elegant venue and terrific food.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An Awesome place to have an eating exper ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 14, 2016

An Awesome place to have an eating experience that surpasses 90% of any other restaraunts.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would rather have more savory items than ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Would rather have more savory items than sweet. And I think I got food poisoning from likely the seafood.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Had wonderful service for special aftern ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Had wonderful service for special afternoon tea with my mom. Attentive servers, tea and food were fabulous. My mom uses a walker and Andrew, the security officer, was very helpful in finding a more accommodating path than the stairs. We went on a weekday at 11:30 so it was quiet and we were able to visit and enjoy time spent in a beautiful 90+ year old hotel! Big thanks to the Georgian staff!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The scallops and pork belly was so freak ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The scallops and pork belly was so freaking good. Every bite was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A group of women friends have been going ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 27, 2016

A group of women friends have been going to the Georgian for years before our season ticket matinees at a nearby theater. We knew what to expect and the food has always been wonderful and dependable. The service is almost always outstanding. Yesterday we got a little surprise. The menu has changed and the usual pre-meal platter of "goodies" which were on-site baked breads, and olive tapenade and parmesan crisps were not longer in evidence but gave way to a plate of sourdough bread and butter. Good but the same as you would expect at any decent restaurant. When we asked about a certain salad that some of us liked, the waitress said it was no longer on the menu (obviously) but since it was on the room service menu (the Georgian is in the Fairmont Olympic Hotel) she would have the kitchen prepare it for us. When I asked the price she did not know but we all ordered it and it was pretty good. When the bill came we found that the salad was about $3 more than previously but was not entirely unexpected. The changed menu make us consider alternate choice for our next matinee. Also, they no longer serve dinner there, just so you know.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

I have eaten in the Georgian Room at lea ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 27, 2016

I have eaten in the Georgian Room at least 4 times before this last visit . This time was not up to the usual experience . Miss the old bread tray , service was not up to par and the menu seemed different . The food arrived on dishes that were more for a casual dining restaurant . We were a party of 4 , with one of the ladies there for the first time. She thought the room was beautiful but was not impressed with the food or service . I personally was disappointed .

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We had a wonderful lunch! The service w ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We had a wonderful lunch! The service was excellent, the food was superb, and the overall experience lovely! Thank you!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambience and service was good but tea se ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Ambience and service was good but tea selection was small and food was fair, overpriced.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

I made reservations here for my birthday ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I made reservations here for my birthday and they didn't acknowledge the occasion even though someone called the day before asking if there were any other occasions we were celebrating. We had to ask for more hot water, the jam and cream were sub par. I've been to afternoon tea many times and I've come here before as well. The portions are itty bitty with no refills. The scones are not even the size of a triscuit and we all left there feeling hungry. No refills on tea either and the service was sub par. Take your money elsewhere.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

We appreciated that they took care of us ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We appreciated that they took care of us. I was there to take my wife for our anniversary brunch. Staff was very kind, they saw to our needs very promptly. Very professional. Recommended already to my friends.

Price was fine for afternoon tea, nothing I haven't seen before. The menu for the afternoon tea was good, lots of variety.

Lunch dish we had was that days scallops dish. It was rich with flavor, very enjoyable before afternoon tea.

Finally they surprised us with a little treat at the end with a happy anniversary chocolate covered strawberries.

Thanks to everyone there for the good

Experience. 5/5!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Service!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Outstanding Service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was extremely slow. We let them ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Service was extremely slow. We let them know upon arrival that we had a hard stop after one hour and we ended up having to box up lunch. Food was mediocre. No mention of there being pears in the Asian chicken salad (which did not work as they were soft and mushy).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent afternoon tea and outstanding ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Excellent afternoon tea and outstanding service!!!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it!! Beautiful restaurant and deli ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Loved it!! Beautiful restaurant and delicious food!!

Tags: Romantic, Afternoon Tea, , Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I took my granddaughter and her good fri ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 26, 2016

I took my granddaughter and her good friend there last Monday, 9/26/2016, for her 10th. Birthday. The room is magnificent and ambience wonderful. The girls had wide eyes when they entered the room all dressed up as "little ladies" and I must say they were on their best behavior. The service was quite slow, but they were very pleasant when they finally did attend to us. Unfortunately the "kids menu" was pretty basic and bland as far as the sandwiches go so I asked if they could order off th adult menu. That is what took so long....for them to finally decide that would be o.k. and they were able to have the adult menu sandwiches. I happen to be dining with very sophisticated pallets; neither girl liked or wanted peanut butter and jelly and one was strict vegetarian so the other options were not viable. Luckily it all worked out in the end and they did their best to accommodate us. I would recommend a change to the "kids menu" as far as sandwiches. They were pretty boring choices and not at all what they are use to having at their homes. I'm quite sure there are a lot more kids out there similar to them. All in all it was a lovely experience for them and that was what it was all about. I found it to be quite pricey, but was also prepared for that. Sometimes the experience is worth the cost and that is why I chose to celebrate Simone's 10th. Birthday in the Georgian Room. Hopefully it will be a memory she carries with her the rest of her life. Thank you for a very wonderful afternoon spent at a gorgeous historic landmark. Sincerely, Nancy C

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Great food and nice atmosphere. Reminds ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Great food and nice atmosphere. Reminds me of the William Penn in Pittsburgh!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined in this fine restaurant for tea ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We dined in this fine restaurant for tea service which was excellent. The selection of teas and accompanying goodies made this a memorable affair. Such beautiful surroundings.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent luncheon dining celebrating a ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Excellent luncheon dining celebrating a special birthday. Thanks for the special birthday recognition.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a fabulous place for either lunch o ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 6, 2016

It's a fabulous place for either lunch or High Tea. The delicious food is always beautifully presented and the service is impeccable! A beautiful setting and small families here and there enjoying High Tea with their small children add to the delight.

It's the best place in Seattle to experience not only Old World charm but a refined and civilized setting all around.

Be sure to mentioned, lunch or High Tea when U book the table!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Organic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant is in the Fairmont Hotel ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 5, 2016

This restaurant is in the Fairmont Hotel in a lovely part of Seattle. We came for lunch, but my wife decided we wanted to partake in the Tea Service instead. I had already gotten a cup of tea before we decided this, and the staff followed their strict directions (I suppose) and brought me another pot of tea, which was cool, but then when I tasted the loose leaf Earl Grey, it was not nearly as good as the bagged Earl Grey??? The Tea service food was actually pretty good, all in all. Finally, our waiter was unintelligible, and it's not that he had an accent. He was really just not able to be understood because his English was that poor. I wouldn't go back to this place, but the food was good, it's just that the service was odd and uncomfortable. You get a mix of guests in sweatpants and people who are trying to make a nice event of it, and that clash lessens the enjoyability of it all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

After having High Tea in England we have ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 3, 2016

After having High Tea in England we have been looking for a local haunt that would provide a similar experience. While it wasn't quite what was available in London, it was definitely a worth the reservation and visit. It was a quiet Saturday afternoon with only 5-6 tables so you could enjoy your conversation. Definitely recommend it if you have never had High Tea.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our server was very clumsy and his accen ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our server was very clumsy and his accent was not clear at all. He wouldn't stand a full minute to explain details of the menu. Disappointed with the flexibility in accommodating children to a single savory/sweet tier option instead we were asked to purchase two and most of the food was wasted.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I decided to come to breakfast here alon ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 2, 2016

I decided to come to breakfast here alone on Friday morning. The restaurant is beautiful. It's definitely like walking back into the 1920s. I had two mimosa with the daily juice. I believe it was Apple Blueberry. It was refreshing and a nice change of pace. I had the avocado toastie. The toast was delicious, everything was very fresh and flavorful. The avocado was more like a guacamole which I enjoyed. The service was terrific. I was offered a newspaper when I arrived. All of the staff from the hostess to the waiter used my name which was charming. I was sat in a somewhat private area, but it was back towards the kitchen where I could here the manager speaking to the staff. This was slightly distracting but didn't ruin the meal. The entire meal took less than 30 minutes, which I appreciated very much since I was still working. I will definitely be returning. The experience was so delightful I will start staying at the Olympic instead of the Sheridan.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best breakfast in seattle for business a ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Best breakfast in seattle for business and fabulous service

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three of us enjoyed afternoon tea at the ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Three of us enjoyed afternoon tea at the Georgian on a Friday. The room is gorgeous in its old fashioned luxury with beautiful china and silver for the tea service. Each diner gets a pot of tea of their choice and a 3 tiered cake stand filled with scones, savory bites and dessert. The table is set with pretty matching cream and sugar bowl with cute silver tongs, tea strainer with holder, all the accoutrements that make afternoon tea an event. Everything was tasty, but our favorite is the pea mousse sandwiched by parmesan crisps. The chocolate caramel mousse, yuzu cake, and profiterole for dessert were delightful as well. The ambience is perfect for catching up with women friends. The only critique I have is the server seemed to rush us at the start when we wanted to talk and take our time to order.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We were greeted and quickly seated upon ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We were greeted and quickly seated upon arrival. It was lovely and quiet on the first part of our meal. We were seated in a well lit booth and it was quiet and relaxing, something that I wished continued but about 30 minutes later, a larger party was seated next to us and they the noise level went up so I was not able to hear most of what my sister was saying--it felt like the table next to us was too close.

However, the experience was lovely. I'll definitely go back for high tea again or a fancy dinner--hopefully seated away from larger groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We always enjoy having lunch at the Geor ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 28, 2016

We always enjoy having lunch at the Georgian before a play at the 5th Avenue . It is such a beautiful room .

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was very uninterested, but th ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our server was very uninterested, but the other staff stepped up. I've never been charged for extra sandwiches before, unusual for this type of hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.