HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

The Gathering Bistro & Pub

3.7
51 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem (54)
  • Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
  • Good for Groups (31)

Similar Restaurants

About

The Gathering Bistro & Pub is a casual eatery located in the Geist Center, northeast of the city. It serves a combination of seafood, burgers and classic pub food. The menu consists of a unique blend of traditional dishes and dishes that have been given a modern twist. Dishes offered at the Gathering Bistro & Pub include brownie a la mode, sliders, ahi tuna, BBQ chicken salad, grilled salmon, beef liver and onions, the border burger and a blackened mahi mahi sandwich.

The Gathering Bistro & Pub has a relaxed atmosphere that is decorated with several large screen televisions, an indoor fireplace and a large bar. Guests are invited to either enjoy their meals inside or out on the cozy patio.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Vegetarian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
KITCHEN HOURS

Monday-Thursday: 4pm-10pm
Friday: 4pm-11pm
Saturday: 8am-11pm (Breakfast 8am-1pm; Lunch 11am/Dinner 4pm)
Sunday: 8am-10pm (Breakfast 8am-1pm; Lunch 11am/Dinner 4pm)

BAR HOURS

Monday-Thursday: 4pm -11pm
Friday: 4pm - Midnight
Saturday: 8am-Midnight,
Sunday: 8am-11pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(317) 723-3808
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Greg Goodwin
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We can accommodate private parties. For groups of twenty-five or more, please give us a seventy-two hour notice to best serve you. We can host: birthday parties, engagement parties, receptions, peace meals etc. We can create a special menu to accommodate your private party.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Jill McGlinchey: (317) 723-3808
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Oaklandon & Fox Road
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live Music varies on Friday & Saturday nights.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 51 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.7  based on all time ratings
3.8
food
3.9
service
3.9
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
76% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
KevinT (Indiana)
4.0  Dined on January 23, 2016

Food is always very good. The owner's are personable and always checking on your satisfaction. Hard to find such customer service these days. We made a reservation to see a band we like and there were many large groups, so we knew that the kitchen and the staff had to be overwhelmed, but everyone in our group enjoyed their meal.

Report
Helpful
vipIndiana (Indiana)
5.0  Dined on January 6, 2016

Great menu. Best cowboy beans I've ever had. They are now offering specials every night. Steak special on Friday and Saturday is very good.

Report
Helpful
Dantheman (Indiana)
4.0  Dined on December 31, 2015

Spent about 5hrs here on New Years Eve and we had a lot of fun. Great food, service, atmosphere and a very fun band! We would've given it 5 stars across the board but very a little unhappy that they wouldn't allow us to sub the veggie choice (brussle sprouts) but it turned out OK because they prepared the brussle sprouts in a way that that they were delicious! We will be back

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Las Vegas)
3.0  Dined on December 31, 2015

Poor food choices & overpriced for New Year's Eve. No variety. Should of stuck to normal menu.

Report
Helpful
Amy9904 (Indiana)
1.0  Dined on December 31, 2015

Our steaks were crunchy. The waitress offered to take them back. She quickly returned with the same steaks saying that the manager made her bring them back to us. He then came to our table himself and told us since the steaks were 165 degrees on the inside, they were acceptable. He then stated that he wasn't trying to be offensive, he was just trying to "educate me" on proper steak preparation. My husband then spoke up and told him to watch how he was speaking to me. After that, he tried to backpedal and insisted on giving us free desserts that we didn't want while we waited for our check. When the check came, they charged us $18 for the desserts that we didn't want. I posted a negative review on their Facebook page, and the owner then replied by calling me a liar and posting a picture of our adjusted receipt (after we complained and the original transaction was voided) without our permission. I then posted a picture of our original receipt, proving that we were overcharged. You can read this exchange for yourself on the restaurant's website under reviews. I cannot say one positive thing about this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
vipIndiana (Indiana)
5.0  Dined on December 14, 2015

Great place to relax and enjoy the food. Always offers specials. Best cowboy beans I've ever had.

Report
Helpful
Kenc3752 (Indiana)
1.0  Dined on November 26, 2015

Went for Thanksgiving dinner and didn't have turkey when we went thru the line and that was big disappointment

Report
Helpful
vipIndiana (Indiana)
5.0  Dined on November 21, 2015

New menu and promotions are great. I'm never disappointed with food.

Report
Helpful
viprepeatcustomer (Indiana)
4.0  Dined on October 11, 2015

First time visit good drinks good service. Food was good. Loved the kickin shrimp

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Indiana)
2.0  Dined on September 8, 2015

Despite restaurant being fairly quiet, service was minimal. Had to flag manager?? down to request bill and he was rather abrupt. Will not return.

Report
Helpful
vipPleased (Indiana)
5.0  Dined on August 22, 2015

Great Saturday evening spot! The service was exceptional.

Report
Helpful
vipJill (Indiana)
4.0  Dined on August 5, 2015

We always enjoy eating at The Gathering. It is a wonderful neighborhood "gathering place". The food is always good, as well as the service.

Report
Helpful
vipIndiana (Indiana)
5.0  Dined on June 27, 2015

Great appetizers , very good hamburgers and wraps.

Report
Helpful
JTate (Indiana)
5.0  Dined on May 18, 2015

From the moment we entered until the moment we departed the staff was attentive to out every need and desire. The food portions were large and the taste was great. My wife and daughter enjoyed it as well. I'll definitely go back!

Report
Helpful
vipDocTurk (Houston)
3.0  Dined on May 15, 2015

The menu was very limited and, in my opinion, the food was overpriced. The one bright spot were the servers. Given an opportunity to done there again, I would decline.

Report
Helpful
selewis88 (Indiana)
3.0  Dined on May 9, 2015

Service was very "relaxed". We were with a large group, so it was nice to have the time to visit, but a bit slower than we expected. But everyone was VERY helpful and overall it was a good experience!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Indiana)
3.0  Dined on April 5, 2015

food was overpriced for what was served, brisket should have been trimmed was mostly fat, would have liked to seen a chicken dish, seafood? the turkey was lunch meat not what I expected.
Service was good,
nice location

Report
Helpful
vipHalWeen (Indiana)
2.0  Dined on April 5, 2015

This location has gone through several name changes, owners, menu changes but still stays similar. Our last experience here was less than favorable. We went for Sunday brunch on Easter and the food was bland, lukewarm, and not very appealing

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Indiana)
3.0  Dined on April 5, 2015

We attended for Easter Sunday brunch. The food was good, although it was served in pretty cheap looking food warmers. The scrambled eggs were just okay, a little dry and burnt. The bacon was great. And the other meats were delicious, although the sides were just okay. Overall it was not worth the Easter up charge. Perhaps the regular brunch there would be more reasonably priced for the quality of the food. Generally, though, the service was great and the food okay. We would try it for a non special occasion to give it another go.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Indiana)
2.0  Dined on April 5, 2015

Everyone at the restaurant was very nice and we had great service. Unfortunately, this was our first time there and cost of the brunch for the food we received was not good. It was way way too overpriced. Some of the food was cold even though it was on a buffet. Maybe we would try it again for a lunch or such to give it another try.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Minneapolis)
3.0  Dined on April 5, 2015

Great ambiance and service, food was not memorable. The brisket was a little on the fatty side and the berry tart desserts tasted mostly like cream cheese. The omelet station worker made scramble eggs instead of an omelet, which didn't bother me at all but perhaps someone could be annoyed by that. $25 was a little high compared to better brunch buffets (The Garrison, Granite city brewery). All in all wasn't horrible but wasn't impressive either.

Report
Helpful
vipJCW1 (Indiana)
4.0  Dined on February 22, 2015

We had dinner on a Sunday evening (our first visit to this restaurant) and we were pleasantly surprised. Menu was very varied and food well-prepared. It was pretty quiet (only 2 other tables occupied) but our waitress explained that they have a special "weekend brunch" which is very popular with the locals after church (two very large churches right nearby) so Sunday evening tend to be slow. This was perfect for us since we wanted to just have a relaxing Sunday night evening light dinner. I've already made reservations to come back this next Sunday night! I want to try out more things on the menu. I had a BBQ chicken salad (in a fresh fried tortilla bowl) that was totally yummy and my husband had a burger and onion rings (onion rings were terrific....I stole one from him). Looking forward to our next visit!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Indiana)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2015

Struggling to find a last minute reservation for Valentine's Day, I stumbled upon The Gathering Bistro & Pub, and I sure am glad that I did! DO NOT let the exterior fool you -- being located in a strip mall threw me off at first -- but when you get inside the place is wonderful. Decor is awesome and there is a nice atmosphere.

FOOD: The lobster bisque was out of this world! I would highly recommend it. My girlfriend had the shrimp and lobster linguine, which she enjoyed. I had the filet medallions and they were excellent.

I had a great experience and I would definitely recommend The Gathering!

Report
Helpful
vipIndiana (Indiana)
5.0  Dined on January 10, 2015

You will never be disappointed eating here. My salmon was great and my wife's hamburger was cooked exactly as ordered.

Report
Helpful
Indychief38 (Indiana)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2014

The Gathering is a great neighborhood gem. The owners and employees all are friendly and willing to server.

Report
Helpful
vipIndiana (Indiana)
5.0  Dined on November 22, 2014

We've been here several times now and find quality of food very good.

Report
Helpful
linda (Indiana)
4.0  Dined on November 21, 2014

We enjoyed our food . It was goof foods variety of choice.However the decor was nothing unique or distinctive. The bar was preparing for a live band which created unpleasant noise. It also seemed like the live music would be so loud as to intrude on the diners in the dining rooms which we would find unpleasant and hard to hear each other. We probably won't return eve though the food was good.

Report
Helpful
susiecut (Indiana)
5.0  Dined on November 8, 2014

This restaurant is two minutes from our house and we loved the atmosphere. Bright spotlight type lighting could be toned down a little to make more of an intimate atmosphere, but all in all it is a great place. Food presentation is awesome and so far all of the food we have tried has been wonderful, from pizza to mahi mahi. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
risone (Indiana)
3.0  Dined on October 29, 2014

This was a first time experience so we arrived with no particular expectations. It was a weekday evening so we didn't expect much of a crowd a
and there wasn't. There was perhaps one other couple in the restaurant but judging by the noise from the bar are, that must have been fairly busy.

I opted for the Indiana Tenderloin and my wife went with liver and onions. You rarely find liver and onions on a restaurant menu so this was a nice surprise and her serving did not disappoint. It came with a soup option so my wife chose the seven bean soup. That soup was especially noteworthy. Unfortunately, the tenderloin was a big disappointment. Mostly tasteless, tough and over fried.

We will likely try The Gathering again though.

Report
Helpful
vipLooney (Indiana)
2.0  Dined on September 20, 2014

Good menu variety and good food; service was slow and not as attentive as most restaurants. May not have been properly staffed for the traffic.

Report
Helpful
1
2