Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Peterson'sPeterson's
(952)
Steakhouse | Fishers, Indianapolis
Reserve Now
Charleston's Restaurant - CastletonCharleston's Restaurant - Castleton
(260)
American | Castleton / Keystone Crossings, Indianapolis
Reserve Now
FoxGardin Kitchen & AleFoxGardin Kitchen & Ale
(243)
Gastro Pub | Fishers, Indianapolis
Reserve Now
The Melting Pot - CastletonThe Melting Pot - Castleton
(1778)
Fondue | Castleton / Keystone Crossings, Indianapolis
Reserve Now
Stone Creek - NoblesvilleStone Creek - Noblesville
(1611)
American | Noblesville, Indianapolis
Reserve Now
Harry & Izzy's - NorthsideHarry & Izzy's - Northside
(2082)
Steakhouse | Castleton / Keystone Crossings, Indianapolis
Reserve Now
Buca di Beppo - Castleton SquareBuca di Beppo - Castleton Square
(430)
Italian | Castleton / Keystone Crossings, Indianapolis
Reserve Now
BRAVO Cucina Italiana - Indianapolis - CastletonBRAVO Cucina Italiana - Indianapolis - Castleton
(189)
Italian | Castleton / Keystone Crossings, Indianapolis
Reserve Now
Cooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - IndianapolisCooper's Hawk Winery & Restaurant - Indianapolis
(1310)
Contemporary American | Downtown Indy, Indianapolis
Reserve Now
Seasons 52 - IndianapolisSeasons 52 - Indianapolis
(3058)
American | Castleton / Keystone Crossings, Indianapolis
Reserve Now
Ocean Prime - IndianapolisOcean Prime - Indianapolis
(1495)
Seafood | Castleton / Keystone Crossings, Indianapolis
Reserve Now
Arni's Restaurant River RidgeArni's Restaurant River Ridge
(69)
American | Downtown Indy, Indianapolis
Reserve Now
Late Harvest KitchenLate Harvest Kitchen
(575)
American | Castleton / Keystone Crossings, Indianapolis
Reserve Now
Fleming's Steakhouse - IndianapolisFleming's Steakhouse - Indianapolis
(601)
Steak | Castleton / Keystone Crossings, Indianapolis
Reserve Now
Benihana - IndianapolisBenihana - Indianapolis
(682)
Japanese | Downtown Indy, Indianapolis
Reserve Now

About The Gathering Bistro & Pub

11705 Fox Road
Indianapolis, IN 46236
View Larger Map

The Gathering Bistro & Pub is a casual eatery located in the Geist Center, northeast of the city. It serves a combination of seafood, burgers and classic pub food. The menu consists of a unique blend of traditional dishes and dishes that have been given a modern twist. Dishes offered at the Gathering Bistro & Pub include brownie a la mode, sliders, ahi tuna, BBQ chicken salad, grilled salmon, beef liver and onions, the border burger and a blackened mahi mahi sandwich.

The Gathering Bistro & Pub has a relaxed atmosphere that is decorated with several large screen televisions, an indoor fireplace and a large bar. Guests are invited to either enjoy their meals inside or out on the cozy patio.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
KITCHEN HOURS

Monday-Thursday: 4pm-10pm
Friday: 4pm-11pm
Saturday: 8am-11pm (Breakfast 8am-1pm; Lunch 11am/Dinner 4pm)
Sunday: 8am-10pm (Breakfast 8am-1pm; Lunch 11am/Dinner 4pm)

BAR HOURS

Monday-Thursday: 4pm -11pm
Friday: 4pm - Midnight
Saturday: 8am-Midnight,
Sunday: 8am-11pm

Cross Street:
Oaklandon & Fox Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 723-3808

Website:
http://www.thegatheringatgeist.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music varies on Friday & Saturday nights.

Executive Chef:
Greg Goodwin

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate private parties. For groups of twenty-five or more, please give us a seventy-two hour notice to best serve you. We can host: birthday parties, engagement parties, receptions, peace meals etc. We can create a special menu to accommodate your private party.

Private Party Contact:
Jill McGlinchey: 3177233808x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
Newest
51 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dependable Good Service and Good meal

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Food is always very good. The owner's are personable and always checking on your satisfaction. Hard to find such customer service these days. We made a reservation to see a band we like and there were many large groups, so we knew that the kitchen and the staff had to be overwhelmed, but everyone in our group enjoyed their meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great neighborhood restaurant and bar

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 6, 2016

Great menu. Best cowboy beans I've ever had. They are now offering specials every night. Steak special on Friday and Saturday is very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years Eve Celebration

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Spent about 5hrs here on New Years Eve and we had a lot of fun. Great food, service, atmosphere and a very fun band! We would've given it 5 stars across the board but very a little unhappy that they wouldn't allow us to sub the veggie choice (brussle sprouts) but it turned out OK because they prepared the brussle sprouts in a way that that they were delicious! We will be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Poor food choices & overpriced for New Y ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Poor food choices & overpriced for New Year's Eve. No variety. Should of stuck to normal menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Never again.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Our steaks were crunchy. The waitress offered to take them back. She quickly returned with the same steaks saying that the manager made her bring them back to us. He then came to our table himself and told us since the steaks were 165 degrees on the inside, they were acceptable. He then stated that he wasn't trying to be offensive, he was just trying to "educate me" on proper steak preparation. My husband then spoke up and told him to watch how he was speaking to me. After that, he tried to backpedal and insisted on giving us free desserts that we didn't want while we waited for our check. When the check came, they charged us $18 for the desserts that we didn't want. I posted a negative review on their Facebook page, and the owner then replied by calling me a liar and posting a picture of our adjusted receipt (after we complained and the original transaction was voided) without our permission. I then posted a picture of our original receipt, proving that we were overcharged. You can read this exchange for yourself on the restaurant's website under reviews. I cannot say one positive thing about this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Always consistent

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on December 14, 2015

Great place to relax and enjoy the food. Always offers specials. Best cowboy beans I've ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for Thanksgiving dinner and didn't ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

Went for Thanksgiving dinner and didn't have turkey when we went thru the line and that was big disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Excellent food

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

New menu and promotions are great. I'm never disappointed with food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time visit good drinks good servic ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

First time visit good drinks good service. Food was good. Loved the kickin shrimp

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Despite restaurant being fairly quiet, s ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 8, 2015

Despite restaurant being fairly quiet, service was minimal. Had to flag manager?? down to request bill and he was rather abrupt. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Great Saturday evening spot! The service ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 22, 2015

Great Saturday evening spot! The service was exceptional.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always enjoy eating at The Gathering. ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 5, 2015

We always enjoy eating at The Gathering. It is a wonderful neighborhood "gathering place". The food is always good, as well as the service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Consistent, Always Good

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 27, 2015

Great appetizers , very good hamburgers and wraps.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice place, Nice service

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 18, 2015

From the moment we entered until the moment we departed the staff was attentive to out every need and desire. The food portions were large and the taste was great. My wife and daughter enjoyed it as well. I'll definitely go back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not the best dining experience I have had

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 15, 2015

The menu was very limited and, in my opinion, the food was overpriced. The one bright spot were the servers. Given an opportunity to done there again, I would decline.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Service was very "relaxed". We were with ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 9, 2015

Service was very "relaxed". We were with a large group, so it was nice to have the time to visit, but a bit slower than we expected. But everyone was VERY helpful and overall it was a good experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

easter brunch

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 5, 2015

food was overpriced for what was served, brisket should have been trimmed was mostly fat, would have liked to seen a chicken dish, seafood? the turkey was lunch meat not what I expected.

Service was good,

nice location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Maybe not for special occaisons brunch

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 5, 2015

We attended for Easter Sunday brunch. The food was good, although it was served in pretty cheap looking food warmers. The scrambled eggs were just okay, a little dry and burnt. The bacon was great. And the other meats were delicious, although the sides were just okay. Overall it was not worth the Easter up charge. Perhaps the regular brunch there would be more reasonably priced for the quality of the food. Generally, though, the service was great and the food okay. We would try it for a non special occasion to give it another go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

. Will not return

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 5, 2015

This location has gone through several name changes, owners, menu changes but still stays similar. Our last experience here was less than favorable. We went for Sunday brunch on Easter and the food was bland, lukewarm, and not very appealing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Easter Brunch Buffet

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 5, 2015

Everyone at the restaurant was very nice and we had great service. Unfortunately, this was our first time there and cost of the brunch for the food we received was not good. It was way way too overpriced. Some of the food was cold even though it was on a buffet. Maybe we would try it again for a lunch or such to give it another try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Easter Brunch Buffet

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 5, 2015

Great ambiance and service, food was not memorable. The brisket was a little on the fatty side and the berry tart desserts tasted mostly like cream cheese. The omelet station worker made scramble eggs instead of an omelet, which didn't bother me at all but perhaps someone could be annoyed by that. $25 was a little high compared to better brunch buffets (The Garrison, Granite city brewery). All in all wasn't horrible but wasn't impressive either.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great local pub-type restaurant in Geist area

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 22, 2015

We had dinner on a Sunday evening (our first visit to this restaurant) and we were pleasantly surprised. Menu was very varied and food well-prepared. It was pretty quiet (only 2 other tables occupied) but our waitress explained that they have a special "weekend brunch" which is very popular with the locals after church (two very large churches right nearby) so Sunday evening tend to be slow. This was perfect for us since we wanted to just have a relaxing Sunday night evening light dinner. I've already made reservations to come back this next Sunday night! I want to try out more things on the menu. I had a BBQ chicken salad (in a fresh fried tortilla bowl) that was totally yummy and my husband had a burger and onion rings (onion rings were terrific....I stole one from him). Looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Fantastic hidden gem!!!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

Struggling to find a last minute reservation for Valentine's Day, I stumbled upon The Gathering Bistro & Pub, and I sure am glad that I did! DO NOT let the exterior fool you -- being located in a strip mall threw me off at first -- but when you get inside the place is wonderful. Decor is awesome and there is a nice atmosphere.

FOOD: The lobster bisque was out of this world! I would highly recommend it. My girlfriend had the shrimp and lobster linguine, which she enjoyed. I had the filet medallions and they were excellent.

I had a great experience and I would definitely recommend The Gathering!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Very Good neighborhood restaurant

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 10, 2015

You will never be disappointed eating here. My salmon was great and my wife's hamburger was cooked exactly as ordered.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The Gathering is a great neighborhood ge ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on December 31, 2014

The Gathering is a great neighborhood gem. The owners and employees all are friendly and willing to server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Good Neighborhood Restaurant

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on November 22, 2014

We've been here several times now and find quality of food very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

food was good. quiet atmosphere.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on November 21, 2014

We enjoyed our food . It was goof foods variety of choice.However the decor was nothing unique or distinctive. The bar was preparing for a live band which created unpleasant noise. It also seemed like the live music would be so loud as to intrude on the diners in the dining rooms which we would find unpleasant and hard to hear each other. We probably won't return eve though the food was good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Will definitely go again

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on November 9, 2014

This restaurant is two minutes from our house and we loved the atmosphere. Bright spotlight type lighting could be toned down a little to make more of an intimate atmosphere, but all in all it is a great place. Food presentation is awesome and so far all of the food we have tried has been wonderful, from pizza to mahi mahi. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

All in all, not bad but not great

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on October 29, 2014

This was a first time experience so we arrived with no particular expectations. It was a weekday evening so we didn't expect much of a crowd a

and there wasn't. There was perhaps one other couple in the restaurant but judging by the noise from the bar are, that must have been fairly busy.

I opted for the Indiana Tenderloin and my wife went with liver and onions. You rarely find liver and onions on a restaurant menu so this was a nice surprise and her serving did not disappoint. It came with a soup option so my wife chose the seven bean soup. That soup was especially noteworthy. Unfortunately, the tenderloin was a big disappointment. Mostly tasteless, tough and over fried.

We will likely try The Gathering again though.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Slow Service

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 20, 2014

Good menu variety and good food; service was slow and not as attentive as most restaurants. May not have been properly staffed for the traffic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Get your act together

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 19, 2014

We visited The Gathering for Northside nights and we wanted to try a new restaurant. We arrived at our reserved time and were seated promptly by the hostess and that was the highlight of the evening. Our server took our drink order and when the bottle of wine arrived the server just put it on the table. We had to open and pour the wine ourselves, good thing it was a screw top bottle. After about 30 minutes the server told us the kitchen was crazy and our food was delayed. After an hour the server told us the kitchen is still crazy but she was going to offer us a free desert for our trouble.. still no food. We told the server that we were ready to leave and just bring us our bill. We paid for the wine and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

perfect for get togethers

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 10, 2014

Our ladies' "Bridge Club" met here for the first time and the girls were very happy with the choice. The food was outstanding, the service, excellent and we didn't have to fight over loud music to talk...which is what this club is all about. We'll be back. Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Food...Poor Service

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 29, 2014

I had been here previously for drinks with friends, but wanted to try the food. We booked our table at the last minute and were looking forward to the experience. The service was very poor! Our waitress was friendly, but clueless. It took a long time to get our order, for the food to come, and then to get the check. The food was good, but the service was bad enough that I won't go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Great new find

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 24, 2014

I know this place has been around for almost a year, but we finally made it for dinner! So sad to have waited so long to try it. Fantastic menu, great beer and wine list. Perfect for Sunday Football, Brunches, evening on the patio, and yummy food. So thrilled with the menu options, can't stop thinking about how delicious our meal was Sunday night. We will be back soon!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quiet....

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 23, 2014

I understand why opentable is offering 1000pts and the reason to dine here on a Wednesday evening.

We sat inside and the place was empty other then one other couple. And it looked as if the outdoor seating was around 1/3 capacity.

With this being said you would think that the service would have been a little more attentive. Food is okay, nothing to write home about, typical fare for a restaurant that does not specialize in any particular cuisine. The menu is not much different then what you would find at an Applebee’s, or Chilies’,

They are in competition with establishments like Bella Vita, Eddy’s, Stone Creek and C.R. Hero’s in this area, and The Gathering Place is lower on the list for all aspects of dining.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

A nice local pub

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 13, 2014

We were there with friends on a Sunday evening and there were very few customers. Food was very good and service was excellent. Very large portions and reasonably priced. Obviously, noise level was very quiet with so few people around. Will certainly go back during peak period to evaluate that scenerio.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Nice Patio

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 11, 2014

We had lunch on a beautiful afternoon. They had some nice light summer fare which tasted very fresh. Amazingly even though the patio is near the road it was quiet and very pleasant. Big trees, nice flowers, great atmosphere. The chicken salad was appropriately priced and delicious. Homemade slaw and chips and warm naan bread made the meal a bit more special than your typical mid-priced restaurant lunch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Extremely disappointed

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 15, 2014

We took extended family for a Fathers' Day special that was advertised, and were disappointed to find the special was not offered until after 4pm. The special was advertised in fliers and on Open Table; it was even included in our email confirmation. Our server said other people had complained as well but did nothing about it. We stayed and ordered from a lunch menu; food was so-so, overpriced, small portions. One sandwich arrived without the proper ingredients, another main course salad arrived 5 minutes after the rest of the party had been served. The place was virtually empty (small wonder) and yet service was at a snail's pace.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Awesome

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 13, 2014

First time trying this place, large portions great service and excellent food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not bad

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 13, 2014

Food was fine...nothing to get excited about. They were great at keeping drinks refilled. Food came out very slowly, even though it wasn't very busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.