About The Garden View Restaurant - Oregon Garden Resort

895 W Main St
Silverton, OR 97381
View Larger Map

The Garden View Restaurant at Oregon Garden Resort offers spectacular views of the 80-acre Oregon Garden and the Willamette Valley.

As you walk in the entrance you will see The Oregon Garden and the valley stretched out before you. Tables are set to ensure that all guests can see the spectacular view through the large windows which run the length of the restaurant.

Outdoor dining is available on the patio and pets are allowed in the outside dining area.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 10:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Westfield Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 874-2503

Website:
http://www.oregongardenresort.com/

Entertainment:
Join us in the Fireside Lounge at The Oregon Garden Resort, where live entertainment is available every night. The lounge is an informal gathering place, centered on an open fireplace. Be sure to check out the mural just behind the stage in the Fireside lounge.

Stop by the lounge for a drink before dinner or for a nightcap following your meal in the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Sam Caldwell

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come join us for July 3rd BBQ and fireworks at The Oregon Garden Resort. A BBQ dinner will be held in the Oregon Garden Resort’s Wedding Garden. Tickets are available at the door for $20 adults, $10 kids 12 & under. The dinner will be served from 5pm- 8pm. Please call 503-874-2502 to make reservations.

BBQ Menu:
Pulled Pork Sliders with Apricot Bourbon Glaze
Sausages
Barbecue Chicken Drumsticks
Macaroni and Cheese
Roasted Garlic and Rosemary Potato Wedges
Baked Beans
Corn & Honey Cornbread Muffins
Coleslaw
Potato Salad with Bacon & Smokey Garlic Dressing
Garden Green Salad
Sauteed Grilled Corn
Apple Crisp
Watermelon Wedges

The Garden View Restaurant - Oregon Garden Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.4

ambience

3.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Portland / Oregon
Scenic View
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked
Salem
Best Restaurants in Silverton ›

Special Occasion (22)
Scenic View (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
See All
Good for a Date (15)
Great for Lunch (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Casual (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Cozy (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Romantic (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Seasonal (4)
Fireplace (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Family Style (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Private Room (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Fun (2)
Bar Seating (2)
People Watching (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Authentic (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
172 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We started with the bacon wrapped dates, ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We started with the bacon wrapped dates, which were delicious. My husband had the salmon, and I had the Osso Bucco- both were excellent. Our server was very attentive, friendly, and very knowledgeable of the menu. The view of the garden is beautiful. We will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We dined with two adults and a 10 and 14 ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We dined with two adults and a 10 and 14 year old (our kids). The steaks, pasta, salads, and soups we had were all excellent and well prepared. There is a kids menu with the usual fare (burgers, chicken strips, etc). The service was excellent; waiter was prompt, attentive and knowledgeable about the menu.

The ambiance is warm and comfortable. High ceilings, yet it felt cozy.

My only knock against the place is that it's on the expensive side. We had no dessert or liquor, and one of our kids ate off the kids menu, and it still cost us over $100 ($130 with tip). It's a nice restaurant, but it is not nice enough to merit prices like that. Wind list prices were outrageous. A glass of wine should not cost $9 when I can buy a whole bottle for $15. I know liquor is always heavily marked up in restaurants, but this was ridiculous.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Great! Our reservations were easy to ma ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great! Our reservations were easy to make. The hotel is walking distance from the beautiful Oregon Gardens; breathtaking know matter what time of year it is.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

It was one of the most disgusting meals ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

It was one of the most disgusting meals i have ever had

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

We found this restaurant in in a list fr ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We found this restaurant in in a list from the Portland newspaper as a place with a Thanksgiving buffet. We drove about 50 miles to get there, so it was a trek with holiday traffic. They sat us in the bar on large easy chairs with a small table in the middle. It was uncomfortable and no way to eat a large meal! There was a normal 2 person table nearby where no one sat at for the duration of our meal, making us more upset as the meal went on! Finally, my sister did say something and we were compensated, but we drove 50 miles to be treated like this?? The spread had a lot of variety and was OK. The sweet potatoes and the blueberry blintzes were the best. The turkey was displayed as a pan of mixed white and dark meat bits of meat, mostly dark. Again, hey, this is Thanksgiving, and isn't turkey the main component? Overall, a fun adventure, but not one we'll repeat.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The prices would leave you to believe it ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The prices would leave you to believe it was a fine dining experience but the food was less than stellar. The apple pie was still frozen when set out on the buffet. It was made at the kitchen but frozen and not brought out soon enough to thaw but was set out anyway. The ham tasted like cardboard. The apple juice was obviously a concentrate but enough water was not added so it wasn't good. We added it to our water glasses and it was much better. The service was extraordinary but we were in a room that didn't have any views so it was not special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

We went for Thanksgiving brunch with a 1 ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went for Thanksgiving brunch with a 10:15 am seating. The earliest seating time was 10:00 am and it took them a bit of time to seat all the folks who were waiting. However, I think they did that to avoid creating lines at the buffet. Good call! The food was outstanding and the atmosphere was perfect. I hadn't been there before and it was more than I expected. They won over my 60 year old cousin and her partner who are very traditional about cooking Thanksgiving at home. I suspect we'll go back next year, it was that enjoyable!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The lunches and dinners were excellent. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The lunches and dinners were excellent. The continental breakfast was a disappointment.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our steaks were delicious and cooked jus ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Our steaks were delicious and cooked just the way we ordered them. Great place to eat and enjoy the scenery of the Oregon Garden. Can't go wrong with the Oregon Garden Resort dinner package.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a lovely afternoon visiting and e ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We had a lovely afternoon visiting and eating great food in a warm inviting atmosphere. Excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant evening. Food was good but not ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Pleasant evening. Food was good but not outstanding. Service friendly and prompt.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Service was very slow. Food was average ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Service was very slow. Food was average at best. B.L.A.T. sandwich was very lacking in contents.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Everything here was excellent. Some of u ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Everything here was excellent. Some of us got the Steak dinner with roasted garlic and blue cheese. It was excellent. Nice red wine to accompany dinner. The wait staff was excellent, making it a grand experience. Definitely will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came for wife 66th birthday. Room was gr ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Came for wife 66th birthday. Room was great and the food was beyond expectations.The waiter/server kept our needs met without hovering over us. Our new "get away" spot instead of the coast.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Look forward to our next visit as the fo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Look forward to our next visit as the food and location were excellent. Their service

was great and the cute waitress was very attentive to make sure everything was

to our satisfaction.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Enjoyed great garden views while eating ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Enjoyed great garden views while eating a superb meal with great wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meals arrived within moments of orde ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Our meals arrived within moments of ordering...way too fast to enjoy the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Excellent food along with excellent, fri ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Excellent food along with excellent, friendly service. Decor is not spectacular but you have a nice view of the garden area and the seats are tiered which is great for everyone.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Casual, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

No problem with the dinner but being thr ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 6, 2016

No problem with the dinner but being threated with steep fees if we did not show or canceled many hours in advancewas a turn off. I would not recommend for that reason. Not sure if that penalty threat was imposed by the restaurant or the Open table reservation system.

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

My best friend & I went to the Oregon Ga ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 5, 2016

My best friend & I went to the Oregon Garden Resort for a "Girlfriends Getaway" & in our package was dinner at the restaurant! We got to pick any entree that we wanted.. She got the Coulette Steak & I got the Chicken Pasta in the wine sauce.. Oh my word.. The steak was INCREDIBLE. Literally melted in your mouth & had a delicious berry sauce with it.. And the pasta was also to die for.. With sundries tomatoes etc! It was seriously so so good..

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our dinner was lovely. breakfast buffet ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 30, 2016

our dinner was lovely.

breakfast buffet could be improved... a few more choices perhaps?

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A relaxing location with good food and o ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 25, 2016

A relaxing location with good food and outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

When we stay at the Resort we never eat ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 24, 2016

When we stay at the Resort we never eat at another restaurant in town - because the food is always very good and the choices properly varied. Service is friendly and prompt.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a nice anniversary ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 23, 2016

My husband and I had a nice anniversary dinner. We had great steaks and a nice drink each. The dinner escape package was perfect for us!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Seasonal, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I was disappointed. The room was cold an ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 22, 2016

I was disappointed. The room was cold and not set up well for our group; food was OK but not great. Music was too loud. Service was OK but lunch took a while. I won't be scheduling another meeting lunch there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

realistically, thought this was going to ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 20, 2016

realistically, thought this was going to be a good spot due to the location to the resort and the Oregon Garden. I think it needs a makeover and a better food selection and preparation.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

As we stayed at the resort for two night ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 17, 2016

As we stayed at the resort for two nights we had dinner both nights included in our package. The first night we ordered the New York steak and it was a little tough. The server forgot our Cesar salad to start but we ordered it the next night. The White House wine was great.

The second night was an incredible dinner. We shared the Cesar salad and it was divided for us. The dressing was delicious but the romaine should have been colder. I had the Oso boca pork and it was fabulous the potatoes were a Yukon gold mashed and went so well with the jalapino cream sauce. My husband had the seafood penna and he loved the cream sauce which wasn't to heavy and loaded with seafood.

We will certainly be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value5

;-) Fun ;-) Time for a nap . Had a gre ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 3, 2016

;-) Fun ;-)

Time for a nap . Had a great time. We will be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a beautiful restaurant, with a v ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 2, 2016

This is a beautiful restaurant, with a view of the Oregon Gardens. Our food was excellent. But the service was slow, not only our wait person but, she said, the kitchen got behind. There seems to be a big rush between 6 and 7 p.m. We have eaten here several times and this was the first negative experience we've had. We will go again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We had friends recommend the Oregon Gar ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 22, 2016

We had friends recommend the Oregon Gardens to us. We ask for the package. It was a lovely deal. Our stay, dinner, breakfast and entrance to the gardens all included. It was so nice to have dinner and reservations all taken care of in advance. Dinner was very good. Service couldn't have been better. I did not mention how nice it was to walk from our room to the dinning room and not have to get in the car. So relaxing ! Thank you Oregon Gardens

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

We had brunch, lunch and dinner at Orego ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 20, 2016

We had brunch, lunch and dinner at Oregon Garden Resort this week and it was very good. The staff is fantastic and the food amazing. I had the best steak I have had in years. The BLAT was so yummy. When I reserved our room, there was an option for a free dinner for two with a bottle of wine. I wondered what the catch was -- but I reserved it anyway -- NO catch. It was just as they said. Even better. Love the staff and the food. Thank you OGR.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The view is spectacular! Service was kin ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 20, 2016

The view is spectacular! Service was kind of slow but the food was good. Good thing we weren't in a hurry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We are Oregon Garden members and were th ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 4, 2016

We are Oregon Garden members and were there for the 4th of July (it was crazy, I don't recommend it). We decided to kill some time and have dinner with our 4 kids so we made a reservation at this restaurant. It was very nice, there was a quite place for us to sit with all of our kids. The waiter was funny and the good was decent but not spectacular. I had steak and prawns (as did my husband). Cooked well so no real complaints, just blah. The Mac and Cheese, however, was good. My kids had that and it tasted very nice (home made sauce, not generic). Overall, we will likely eat there again when we stay at the resort but not an all the time thing.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

This is a great place to go if you are j ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 3, 2016

This is a great place to go if you are just wanting to unwind and relax if your in a hurry and wanting something quick your out of luck. The food was good and the service is great although it took some time to get our order. We will be back to try some other things we saw on the menu which is full of great choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was wonderful. The managemen ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Our server was wonderful. The management was very responsive to our special request and the food was very good and a good value. We were very pleased with the setting and the atmosphere was so pleasant for our special occasion.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The food & service was very nice. Since ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 27, 2016

The food & service was very nice. Since my husband uses a walker, we couldn't go down the steps to be closer to the view. They offered us seating in a room separate from the main dining experience but cautioned us that there were 2 large groups in the room. We opted to not go in the room since it was noisy, so the only thing left was a booth that was next to where wait staff frequently walked by for beverages and food. We had to wait while they set up the booth. Not very nice for those with walkers or wheelchairs. Outdoor patio seating wasn't an option either because any route to it required one to use stairs. We were disappointed with the overall lack of accessibility in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Out of the way for a typical meal, but l ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Out of the way for a typical meal, but location is great if you're at the Gardens. Service was slow despite being mid-week. Two of us ordered the special, guacamole burger. The waitress took our group photo and brought mustard at my sister's request. She did not return to check on us. There was another waitress whose attention we finally got...as both burgers came without guacamole. By that time we'd eaten half of our lunch. I also realized I had two bottom buns for my burger. The waitress did give us 10% of our lunch. If we were in the area, we might go again, but I would definitely double check my order. The burger was good...but just a burger at that point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

It was a very pleasant experience. Food ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 29, 2016

It was a very pleasant experience. Food was good. Staff was cordial.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Good prime rib

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our family spent the weekend at Oregon Gardens over Mothers Day, and had dinner on Saturday night. Because of the size of our group, we were seated in the separate room without a view of the gardens. I dislike this room because it is loud and doesn't have the view. I think it would change the ambiance a lot if this room were carpeted. The acoustics of the room make it noisy. As it is, it feels a little like "second best", which is not what we wanted. We wanted a more elegant experience.

In fact, I was with a larger group of women in December and we were seated in the separate room. We rejected it, which means our group was split up in the main dining room, which was not an ideal option.

That being said, the food and service were good. We appreciated the wine that came with the meals. The prime rib was great. The menu was nice with a good selection. Since we were in a separate room, it took a while for the waitress to attend to us. But once she knew we were there, she was attentive and gave good service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The fried avocado was delicious! The cho ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 24, 2016

The fried avocado was delicious! The chocolate cherry creme brûlée was the absolutely the best I have ever eaten. That alone is worth returning for! The entire experience exceeded my greatest expectations. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.