About The Garden View Restaurant - Oregon Garden Resort

895 W Main St
Silverton, OR 97381
View Larger Map

The Garden View Restaurant at Oregon Garden Resort offers spectacular views of the 80-acre Oregon Garden and the Willamette Valley.

As you walk in the entrance you will see The Oregon Garden and the valley stretched out before you. Tables are set to ensure that all guests can see the spectacular view through the large windows which run the length of the restaurant.

Outdoor dining is available on the patio and pets are allowed in the outside dining area.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 10:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Westfield Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 874-2503

Website:
http://www.oregongardenresort.com/

Entertainment:
Join us in the Fireside Lounge at The Oregon Garden Resort, where live entertainment is available every night. The lounge is an informal gathering place, centered on an open fireplace. Be sure to check out the mural just behind the stage in the Fireside lounge.

Stop by the lounge for a drink before dinner or for a nightcap following your meal in the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Sam Caldwell

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come join us for July 3rd BBQ and fireworks at The Oregon Garden Resort. A BBQ dinner will be held in the Oregon Garden Resort’s Wedding Garden. Tickets are available at the door for $20 adults, $10 kids 12 & under. The dinner will be served from 5pm- 8pm. Please call 503-874-2502 to make reservations.

BBQ Menu:
Pulled Pork Sliders with Apricot Bourbon Glaze
Sausages
Barbecue Chicken Drumsticks
Macaroni and Cheese
Roasted Garlic and Rosemary Potato Wedges
Baked Beans
Corn & Honey Cornbread Muffins
Coleslaw
Potato Salad with Bacon & Smokey Garlic Dressing
Garden Green Salad
Sauteed Grilled Corn
Apple Crisp
Watermelon Wedges

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Details

Celebrate Thanksgiving in The Garden. We are serving our Brunch buffet from 10am until 3pm. The cancellation policy requires 24 hours notice.

The Garden View Restaurant - Oregon Garden Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Portland / Oregon
Scenic View
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked
Salem
Best Restaurants in Silverton ›

Scenic View (27)
Special Occasion (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
See All
Great for Lunch (17)
Romantic (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Casual (4)
Seasonal (4)
Cozy (3)
Family Style (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Private Room (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fun (1)
Healthy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Bar Seating (1)
People Watching (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Authentic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
Newest
157 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Enjoyed great garden views while eating ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Enjoyed great garden views while eating a superb meal with great wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meals arrived within moments of orde ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Our meals arrived within moments of ordering...way too fast to enjoy the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Excellent food along with excellent, fri ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Excellent food along with excellent, friendly service. Decor is not spectacular but you have a nice view of the garden area and the seats are tiered which is great for everyone.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Casual, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

No problem with the dinner but being thr ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

No problem with the dinner but being threated with steep fees if we did not show or canceled many hours in advancewas a turn off. I would not recommend for that reason. Not sure if that penalty threat was imposed by the restaurant or the Open table reservation system.

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

My best friend & I went to the Oregon Ga ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

My best friend & I went to the Oregon Garden Resort for a "Girlfriends Getaway" & in our package was dinner at the restaurant! We got to pick any entree that we wanted.. She got the Coulette Steak & I got the Chicken Pasta in the wine sauce.. Oh my word.. The steak was INCREDIBLE. Literally melted in your mouth & had a delicious berry sauce with it.. And the pasta was also to die for.. With sundries tomatoes etc! It was seriously so so good..

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our dinner was lovely. breakfast buffet ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

our dinner was lovely.

breakfast buffet could be improved... a few more choices perhaps?

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A relaxing location with good food and o ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

A relaxing location with good food and outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

When we stay at the Resort we never eat ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

When we stay at the Resort we never eat at another restaurant in town - because the food is always very good and the choices properly varied. Service is friendly and prompt.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a nice anniversary ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

My husband and I had a nice anniversary dinner. We had great steaks and a nice drink each. The dinner escape package was perfect for us!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Seasonal, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I was disappointed. The room was cold an ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

I was disappointed. The room was cold and not set up well for our group; food was OK but not great. Music was too loud. Service was OK but lunch took a while. I won't be scheduling another meeting lunch there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

realistically, thought this was going to ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

realistically, thought this was going to be a good spot due to the location to the resort and the Oregon Garden. I think it needs a makeover and a better food selection and preparation.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

As we stayed at the resort for two night ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

As we stayed at the resort for two nights we had dinner both nights included in our package. The first night we ordered the New York steak and it was a little tough. The server forgot our Cesar salad to start but we ordered it the next night. The White House wine was great.

The second night was an incredible dinner. We shared the Cesar salad and it was divided for us. The dressing was delicious but the romaine should have been colder. I had the Oso boca pork and it was fabulous the potatoes were a Yukon gold mashed and went so well with the jalapino cream sauce. My husband had the seafood penna and he loved the cream sauce which wasn't to heavy and loaded with seafood.

We will certainly be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value5

;-) Fun ;-) Time for a nap . Had a gre ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

;-) Fun ;-)

Time for a nap . Had a great time. We will be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a beautiful restaurant, with a v ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This is a beautiful restaurant, with a view of the Oregon Gardens. Our food was excellent. But the service was slow, not only our wait person but, she said, the kitchen got behind. There seems to be a big rush between 6 and 7 p.m. We have eaten here several times and this was the first negative experience we've had. We will go again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We had friends recommend the Oregon Gar ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We had friends recommend the Oregon Gardens to us. We ask for the package. It was a lovely deal. Our stay, dinner, breakfast and entrance to the gardens all included. It was so nice to have dinner and reservations all taken care of in advance. Dinner was very good. Service couldn't have been better. I did not mention how nice it was to walk from our room to the dinning room and not have to get in the car. So relaxing ! Thank you Oregon Gardens

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

We had brunch, lunch and dinner at Orego ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We had brunch, lunch and dinner at Oregon Garden Resort this week and it was very good. The staff is fantastic and the food amazing. I had the best steak I have had in years. The BLAT was so yummy. When I reserved our room, there was an option for a free dinner for two with a bottle of wine. I wondered what the catch was -- but I reserved it anyway -- NO catch. It was just as they said. Even better. Love the staff and the food. Thank you OGR.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The view is spectacular! Service was kin ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The view is spectacular! Service was kind of slow but the food was good. Good thing we weren't in a hurry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We are Oregon Garden members and were th ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We are Oregon Garden members and were there for the 4th of July (it was crazy, I don't recommend it). We decided to kill some time and have dinner with our 4 kids so we made a reservation at this restaurant. It was very nice, there was a quite place for us to sit with all of our kids. The waiter was funny and the good was decent but not spectacular. I had steak and prawns (as did my husband). Cooked well so no real complaints, just blah. The Mac and Cheese, however, was good. My kids had that and it tasted very nice (home made sauce, not generic). Overall, we will likely eat there again when we stay at the resort but not an all the time thing.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

This is a great place to go if you are j ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This is a great place to go if you are just wanting to unwind and relax if your in a hurry and wanting something quick your out of luck. The food was good and the service is great although it took some time to get our order. We will be back to try some other things we saw on the menu which is full of great choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was wonderful. The managemen ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Our server was wonderful. The management was very responsive to our special request and the food was very good and a good value. We were very pleased with the setting and the atmosphere was so pleasant for our special occasion.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The food & service was very nice. Since ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The food & service was very nice. Since my husband uses a walker, we couldn't go down the steps to be closer to the view. They offered us seating in a room separate from the main dining experience but cautioned us that there were 2 large groups in the room. We opted to not go in the room since it was noisy, so the only thing left was a booth that was next to where wait staff frequently walked by for beverages and food. We had to wait while they set up the booth. Not very nice for those with walkers or wheelchairs. Outdoor patio seating wasn't an option either because any route to it required one to use stairs. We were disappointed with the overall lack of accessibility in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Out of the way for a typical meal, but l ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Out of the way for a typical meal, but location is great if you're at the Gardens. Service was slow despite being mid-week. Two of us ordered the special, guacamole burger. The waitress took our group photo and brought mustard at my sister's request. She did not return to check on us. There was another waitress whose attention we finally got...as both burgers came without guacamole. By that time we'd eaten half of our lunch. I also realized I had two bottom buns for my burger. The waitress did give us 10% of our lunch. If we were in the area, we might go again, but I would definitely double check my order. The burger was good...but just a burger at that point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

It was a very pleasant experience. Food ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

It was a very pleasant experience. Food was good. Staff was cordial.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Good prime rib

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our family spent the weekend at Oregon Gardens over Mothers Day, and had dinner on Saturday night. Because of the size of our group, we were seated in the separate room without a view of the gardens. I dislike this room because it is loud and doesn't have the view. I think it would change the ambiance a lot if this room were carpeted. The acoustics of the room make it noisy. As it is, it feels a little like "second best", which is not what we wanted. We wanted a more elegant experience.

In fact, I was with a larger group of women in December and we were seated in the separate room. We rejected it, which means our group was split up in the main dining room, which was not an ideal option.

That being said, the food and service were good. We appreciated the wine that came with the meals. The prime rib was great. The menu was nice with a good selection. Since we were in a separate room, it took a while for the waitress to attend to us. But once she knew we were there, she was attentive and gave good service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The fried avocado was delicious! The cho ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

The fried avocado was delicious! The chocolate cherry creme brûlée was the absolutely the best I have ever eaten. That alone is worth returning for! The entire experience exceeded my greatest expectations. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't go!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

It's hard to say which aspect of my (birthday!) dinner was worse. The seating is quite uncomfortable. Booths are too small for four adults, and there were only these uncomfortable booths.

The menu is small and unappealing. Not liking any of the entrees, I ordered the crab cake appetizer with a specialty salad. The crab cakes were cold and fishy. The salad was drenched in enough liquid so that the pear, lettuce, and hazelnuts were inedible. My husband's grilled salmon came smothered in berry sauce and tasted very strange. My daughters pasta was so salty she couldn't eat it.

Drinks: My husband ordered a gin martini and gave detailed instructions on how he wanted it made. He said twice to use minimal vermouth, if any at all. The martini came back tasting only of vermouth. He usually is quiet and uncomplaining, but he sent it back and refused another.

Dessert was okay. Service was amiable.

But this is not a place to spend any money. Lots of better restaurants in Silverton.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Lovely setting, great service!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

We had a great steak dinner at the garden restaurant. Our server was attentive and helpful. Overall a very good experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Too pricey for food quality

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

The food was not as good as I expected, I felt as though they were trying to have a "fancy" menu by complicating food dishes unnecessarily. The food was far too high priced in relation to quality. The cheese plate has dried cranberries, blueberries, and pears with random cheeses that were not paired well with the fruit given. I feel as though the restaurant decor is too outdated for the ambience and food quality that you pay for.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

VDay

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The drive from the Oregon Garden entrance to the restaurant was very dark. (Better lighting is needed for evening dining). The restaurant itself was too bright for a romantic dinner.

The dinner menu was pretty limited. The salmon dinner we had was excellent.

Service was fair. I think our waitress forgot about getting our dessert.

Overall, we were pleased. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

My husband and I not only had delicious ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 8, 2016

My husband and I not only had delicious meals but a view of the Valley that enthralled us both during dinner and breakfast. We hope to return to the Resort and the Garden View Restaurant in the near future.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ample food but not spectacular....

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Ceasar salad had romaine and croutons and waaaay too much dressing. Pre dinner bread was good but not house made I would bet. Came with butter which the morning breakfast brunch did NOT. Spinach mushroom lasagna was okay but the top was so over warmed or cooked it was like trying to cut through rubbery noodle. Seafood penne pasta had lots of seafood but again OVER sauced. Waitress was almost too attentive but well meaning. Would try elsewhere in Silverton next stay....did here because of convenience. Prices were reasonable. Not a "foodie place"...wish it had been.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Resort Resturant

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Sort of a captive resort style restaurant. The food was good, but not outstanding and the price seemed reasonable at about $16-$25 for entrees. The hostess was super sweet, and the service was good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was slow. Food was cold. Price was high

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

Made reservations in advance. Arrived a little early and had to wait past our reservation time. The service was extremely slow then my food came out cold. The couple next to us got up and left because the service was so bad.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

Disappointed

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

I liked the atmosphere or ambiance, great appetizers, I ordered a bacon wrapped pork loin which was bland and pricey for the portion size, my wife's new york steak was tough and cold, and after the main course was brought out the servers seemed to disappear and everything was great until that point. It was disappointing as this is where we chose to go for our 15th anniversary and had high hopes for a new place to go. We where comped the steak which was not eaten and given a dessert. Another downside is you have to pay $5.00 to park even with dinner reservations. I don't think we will go back any time soon.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Not what we expected

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We ate at the restaurant on New Years Eve. We requested a table by the window overlooking the Oregon Garden when we reserved, which we did not get. We had to request the bread that was supposed to have been served when we first sat down. We both ordered steaks. Both steaks had gristle running down the length of the steak, which made it hard to cut. My partner finally returned her steak for a new one. I did not, but wish I would have.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Christmas

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

After enjoying the Christmas Lights and ice skating, our family had dinner at Oregon Garden

restaurant. They were very accommodating for our large group (10) and seated us in a separate room along with another large party which wasn't a problem at all. Service was slow although friendly, the food was good and the view awesome. All in all, a great night at Oregon Garden. The Open Table service is great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Absolutely will return!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

We had the most amazing experience. Our waitress, Van, was so friendly and helpful with area interests. Superb food at affordable prices. Will definitely return again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oregon Garden Resort

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

We enjoyed a quiet dinner on Christmas Eve. Menu selection was fine, prices reasonable and the service was very good. I recommend the dining room at Oregon Garden Resort.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Oregon Garden Resort

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on December 16, 2015

We come here often, usually on the Dinner Pkg. For the price, it is a fantastic deal. It is a great place if you want to bring your dog along. The resort is attached to Oregon Gardens and we are able to have our pet with us outdoors on the patio for meals along with enjoying the gardens. The rooms are always clean and well kept. Winter isn't a particularly good time for the gardens, but early spring or fall is a wonderful way to spend an afternoon. Guest of the resort are allowed in the gardens prior to opening to the public.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oregon Garden

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on December 15, 2015

We planned a two night stay and did not know what to expect from the restaurant. Pleasantly surprised by the food and the staff. Would definably go back

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.