The Garden View Restaurant - Oregon Garden Resort

4.3
311 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Scenic View
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
The Garden View Restaurant at Oregon Garden Resort offers spectacular views of the 80-acre Oregon Garden and the Willamette Valley.

As you walk in the entrance you will see The Oregon Garden and the valley stretched out before you. Tables are set to ensure that all guests can see the spectacular view through the large windows which run the length of the restaurant.

Outdoor dining is available on the patio and pets are allowed in the outside dining area.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 10:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(503) 874-2503
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Raul Santana
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Westfield Street
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Join us in the Fireside Lounge at The Oregon Garden Resort, where live entertainment is available every night. The lounge is an informal gathering place, centered on an open fireplace. Be sure to check out the mural just behind the stage in the Fireside lounge.

Stop by the lounge for a drink before dinner or for a nightcap following your meal in the restaurant.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Come join us for July 3rd BBQ and fireworks at The Oregon Garden Resort. A BBQ dinner will be held in the Oregon Garden Resort’s Wedding Garden. Tickets are available at the door for $20 adults, $10 kids 12 & under. The dinner will be served from 5pm- 8pm. Please call 503-874-2502 to make reservations.

BBQ Menu:
Pulled Pork Sliders with Apricot Bourbon Glaze
Sausages
Barbecue Chicken Drumsticks
Macaroni and Cheese
Roasted Garlic and Rosemary Potato Wedges
Baked Beans
Corn & Honey Cornbread Muffins
Coleslaw
Potato Salad with Bacon & Smokey Garlic Dressing
Garden Green Salad
Sauteed Grilled Corn
Apple Crisp
Watermelon Wedges
Additional
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 311 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.5
service
4.3
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 2 days ago

The four of us stayed two nights on the dinner option, and accounted for eight dinners Wed. Thurs. 6 dinners were excellent. The two dinners of New York strip steak were inedible. What gives for an outstanding restaurant to serve "top notch" meat that at best is for a road side diner? It wasn't just a "bad cut" of meat because both steaks were "tough as shoe leather" as they say. The salmon and the pasta dinners were excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Great food, quiet atmosphere, nice view of the Garden. Only three or four more tables had customers, so I assumed things would move pretty fast. Sat for a half hour before our order was taken and another half hour before meal arrived. Seemed slow.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 16, 2018

We came early to enjoy a stroll through the Garden before our 1 o'clock reservation only to find the Garden was closed to the public because of "Brew Camp". This was to be our 39th anniversary/Father's Day special outing. We ended up spending time before and after Lunch in downtown Silverton which was fun but disappointing because we were so looking forward to experiencing the Garden. Being a holiday weekend we were surprised to find it closed. Never once did we think to check to see if the Garden was open. A suggestion - since the restaurant and the Garden are basically one entity and assuming most public who eat at the restaurant also come to take in the Garden, it would be helpful to have a "Oregon Garden Calendar of Events" included on your website so your customers can plan accordingly.
Our dining experience itself was nice. The service was outstanding. The food was good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

A good place for a rainy afternoon lunch overlooking the garden, followed by a glass of wine in front of the fireplace in the lounge. Food was food, without being pretentious and service was prompt but not obtrusive. The only downside was that they were out of the first two wines I selected and I had to settle for a third choice. My wife's fish and chips were very lightly breaded (Hooray!) and the fish was firm and fresh; my chicken arozo salad was a little on the dry side but it was a generous serving and good flavor. Overall, a nice quiet lunch with my bride of 45 years.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 10, 2018

This restaurant is located in huge beautiful garden. While our food was very good, we were seated at a table that looked at two bushes with absolutely no view of the garden. Most of the tables did have a garden view and the place was not crowded. I regretted not asking for a table with a view considering we were visiting from thousands of miles away! My mistake!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Great food, great service, and a great atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

We used the dinner package deal for two nights. Both nights dinners were great. Bottle of wine each night with the package. Gardens weren't in full bloom, but enough to make the walks worth while.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

We have been here several times and the food is excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

We enjoyed our get away, but next time we will go for two nights. The weather was wonderful. Our room was very nice. The meal at the restaurant was excellent. We purchased this through Travelzoo so it was a bargain! Check in was quick and easy!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

We enjoyed it but we wish there was vegan choices we loved the view and the quiet in the room, every one was friendly

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 19, 2018

This is the first review I've written about a restaurant, but the food/experience was so poor I'm hoping to forewarn others, if possible, before they eat here. My sister and I met Saturday at 1:30 for lunch for a belated b'day celebration. We were handed a beverage menu with specialty cocktails on one side and a mediocre beer/wine list on the other. When we asked about the cocktails, we were told that the restaurant can not serve cocktails, but we could transfer to the lounge if that was our desire. When we moved to the lounge, which we were told had just opened up at 2:00, we each ordered a Mojito and were told by the (lone) waitress/bartender that they "ran out of mint". We discussed our options and waited for the waitress to return, but after 15 mins of waiting and seeing that she was the only one on the floor, we returned to the restaurant, where the lovely garden view/atmosphere was our preference. The menu was very limited and ordinary. My sister ordered a blue-cheese bacon burger and I ordered their Reuben sandwich with a salad . My sister said the burger was "ok" and she said she ordered it because it was a "safe bet" given our overall impression up to this point. I thought a Reuben was an equally "safe bet" but have never had such an awful Reuben anywhere. Rather than the usual corned beef, it had a couple think slices of what tasted and looked like processed deli ham, grayish-pink and tasting of salt and nothing else. There were a couple of think slices of processed Swiss cheese, barely melted, and and scant bit of sauerkraut on dry, taste-less, semi-toasted marbleized rye bread. The salad was equally poor. My sister and I left vowing never to return and, when some resort guests asked how the restaurant was as we waited for the tram to the lovely Oregon Gardens, we suggested as politely as possible that they would be wise to eat elsewhere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

We ordered their chicken pasta which was wonderful. Many places are heavy on the pasta, light on other ingredients. This was the opposite with lots of chicken, vegetables, olives and a wonderful sauce. And the chocolate ganache for desert was divine!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We arrived early, but we were seated within 5 minutes. Very pleasant staff & waiter; great view of the garden.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

It was a little crazy busy for Mother's Day brunch, but good atmosphere and plenty of good food to choose from.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Excellent Mother’s Day brunch. Great assortment, and with hand smoked hams and roast beef. Delicious desserts too.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Have had the Mothers Day brunch here before and it was very good. This year the food wasn't all that appetizing. The salad was just a basic salad bar, nothing special, and the side dishes were mediocre. Nice selection and tasty desserts, but otherwise not very impressive. Disappointing.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

My wife and I have eaten dinner here before a couple of years ago. That was a good experience. This time it was not. The waiter did a great job, but the food was disappointing to say the least. My wife had a pork chop and I had salmon. Both were over cooked and dry. It was like reheated pre cooked food.

My wife was excited to try the almond Joy cake. It was similar to a Hostess cupcake with sugary frosting.

I purchased the dinner package while we stayed at the resort to celebrate Mother's Day. If we stay there in the future we will eat in tow.

We skipped the Mother's Day brunch because of our dinner experience. We also chose not to complain to the waiter as the restaurant knew what they were serving.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We were excited to dine at the garden and we had out of town guests. I read on line the wonderful menu and I thought it would be perfect for our needs. Our first disappointment was that the menu was different than what was posted on line (not the hummus and salmon dishes that were advertised. The service was very slow, more than 30 minutes to get our food, and the food was so so, the vegetables were raw not cooked on the greasy pasta dish, the vegetable soup was watery and tiny portions not even filled to the top.The restaurant was not busy either. It seemed like one man was serving everyone , inside and outdoors. The Gardens were beautiful but the meal was VERY Disapointing and truly a let down . I would not reccomend the food or restaurant . I would take guests some place else. Susan Brown

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

The dinner was excellent. We had the Salmon entree and it was the best I have had in a very long time. Our server was very good. She answered all of our questions and was very attentive, coming by several times to ask if we needed anything. Will highly recommend this restaurant to all our friends.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 3, 2018

I was excited to see the garden’s but the view from our table did not show case. Our server was friendly but young and not engaging. She didn’t seem to want to talk about the food or wine , just wanted our order. Not attentive to refills on our wine or water.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Amazing service and view...would recommend highly and will be returning!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Lovely restaurant at the Oregon Gardens Resort. Gardens are spectacular. Restaurant has tiered tables so everyone has a great view. Deluxe burgers and fries were excellent. Nice Oregon wine list.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Paleo options would have been great but I didn't see anything other than salad. We ended up having burgers and removing the buns. The meat was cooked perfectly and the seasonal veggies were amazing. The restaurant was noisy, but there was a convention there. Overall, considering what all was going on we were pleased with the experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Dinner was great, tasted delicious. The view was awesome as well. It was very quite and romantic, just like we wanted

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

We enjoyed the great view from our dining table, the spacious openness of the room. The waitress was friendly, upbeat and speedy without order. The food was great and well proportioned, chef prepared.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Stay was great. Quiet and relaxing. Food was wonderful as always and the staff are very helpful and nice. We plan to return for Christmas. Thank again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Warm and friendly staff with a great small restaurant ambience. I highly recommend this restaurant when visiting Silverton.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Loved the restuarant and whole Oregon Garden feel. However we were disappointed with our dinner service. My steak was over-done and chewy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We stayed at the Oregon Garden to celebrate our 30th anniversary. We had a lovely dinner on a Friday night at 6:30 seating time. We were promptly seated at a table with a view of the garden from our table. We were given menus, a wine list, silverware and napkin, and water . Our server was prompt in taking our drink order and our food order. They were accomodating when we wanted some more bread and were quick to respond. The tables quickly filled as the evening went on but the noise level was quiet. The food was outstanding, hot and very tasty! We had a bottle of local wine. We stayed for over 2 hours enjoying our food and wine and the atmosphere. We never felt rushed to vacate the table. Everyone was very nice and attentive. We would thoroughly recommend a dinner at the Oregon Garden! Book a night there and enjoy all the amentities they have to offer! It's a great place!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 12, 2018

I felt that the food was very good and the help went out of their way to take good care of us. The dinner package is a great bargain as far as I am concerned. the disable access isn't the greatest maybe something could be done toget people in from the garden

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

We have come to enjoy the Oregon Garden Resort and the Garden View Restaurant immensely over the past few years. We've visited the resort at each of the four seasons and always enjoyed dinners and breakfasts and the restaurant. We've come to look forward to the tour of the Garden and the meals at the restaurant in equal measure. Heartily recommended!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 6, 2018

The food was delicious. We didn't try the wine or dessert this trip, but the coffee was excellent. It was quiet enough so we could converse easily. The only thing that was disappointing was the bread. It was just so-so.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We were there at night so, there is no view to speak of - not the garden or the valley - definitely a decent view during daylight hours. Our server was um, not good. She seemed to be annoyed by our presence. The food was 'ok' but unimpressive. Bummer. We love Silverton and the Oregon Garden but this was a disappointment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2018

Very nice low key restaurant. If you are staying at the resort, (Oregon Garden Resort) you can order anything from the menu and also have complementary a bottle of wine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2018

Good food, good service, great atmosphere. Timely, fun, friendly, but coxy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Came here for our anniversary and we had such a great time here. Food was great, friendly staff, rooms were big and didn’t feel like a hotel, and we were just so happy to be there. Will be coming back again!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Very nice server, unfortunately the meal itself was pretty bad.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Our waiter was very helpful for the first 30 min. But after that we were forgotten. Even though he kept walking past us. We waited 30+ min for our plates to be taken and were never asked about drink refills. Then we waited longer for the check. The table behind us had 4 guests, the waiter paid more attention to them than our party of 2. The food was ok. Not necessarily for the price. But still good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2017

The food was well prepared, tasty and of good value. Although it was New Year's Eve we were seated right away at a table overlooking the Garden's holiday light displays. The service was good and we did not feel rushed, though many had reservations following ours.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2017

Lovely setting, great service, and delicious food! A treasure of a location too!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8

Tweets by The Garden View Restaurant - Oregon Garden Resort