About The Garden View Restaurant - Oregon Garden Resort

895 W Main St
Silverton, OR 97381
View Larger Map

The Garden View Restaurant at Oregon Garden Resort offers spectacular views of the 80-acre Oregon Garden and the Willamette Valley.

As you walk in the entrance you will see The Oregon Garden and the valley stretched out before you. Tables are set to ensure that all guests can see the spectacular view through the large windows which run the length of the restaurant.

Outdoor dining is available on the patio and pets are allowed in the outside dining area.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 10:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Westfield Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 874-2503

Website:
http://www.oregongardenresort.com/

Entertainment:
Join us in the Fireside Lounge at The Oregon Garden Resort, where live entertainment is available every night. The lounge is an informal gathering place, centered on an open fireplace. Be sure to check out the mural just behind the stage in the Fireside lounge.

Stop by the lounge for a drink before dinner or for a nightcap following your meal in the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Raul Santana

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Come join us for July 3rd BBQ and fireworks at The Oregon Garden Resort. A BBQ dinner will be held in the Oregon Garden Resort’s Wedding Garden. Tickets are available at the door for $20 adults, $10 kids 12 & under. The dinner will be served from 5pm- 8pm. Please call 503-874-2502 to make reservations.

BBQ Menu:
Pulled Pork Sliders with Apricot Bourbon Glaze
Sausages
Barbecue Chicken Drumsticks
Macaroni and Cheese
Roasted Garlic and Rosemary Potato Wedges
Baked Beans
Corn & Honey Cornbread Muffins
Coleslaw
Potato Salad with Bacon & Smokey Garlic Dressing
Garden Green Salad
Sauteed Grilled Corn
Apple Crisp
Watermelon Wedges

The Garden View Restaurant - Oregon Garden Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

4.3

ambience

3.8

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (16)
Special Occasion (16)
Scenic View (16)
See All
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Casual (8)
Cozy (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Romantic (5)
Private Room (4)
Fireplace (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Fun (4)
Live Music (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Business Meals (2)
People Watching (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Authentic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dancing (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
202 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Anniversary dinner was the occasion, service was very good, but the room we were seated in was not ideal for our special occasion, large room with 3 other couples, felt a bit odd to us. There was seating available in a better location, but we were not allowed to move, not clear why. The food was well prepared and presented nicely. Food quality was very good and met my expectations. My steak arrived perfectly cooked to my order. The food was more expensive than what I would have expected for the environment provided and the menu was extremely limited. The seating was more toward the casual side with tables and wooden chairs while the food prices were more for a high-end restaurant. Service level was very good, tables around us seemed to all have their own server. The food was delivered very quickly as well, entire experience lasted about 1 hour.

Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Great food, service and atmosphere. Server was friendly and attentive without being obnoxious. Food was very good.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 17, 2017

As it was the "off season" the resturant was not crowded at all, making it nice and quiet. Our server was polite, professional, and attentive. Our meals were well prepared and tasty. (My steak was grilled prefectly!) We will definately be going back.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent food and love the gardens! Nightly specials are very creative and well presented.

Tags: Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Dancing, Romantic, Scenic View, Fun, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I was expecting a better level of service as we arrived. Standing next to the check in counter the hostess was too busy to recognize us patiently waiting to check in. The food wasnt much for the price you pay. Very small portions for a good valentine's evening dinner. The steak was still bloody and mooing.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Could not be happier. My date was so thrilled when we got their. Just the perfect gift for Valentine's.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Quiet, friendly and romantic resterant, with good food and great service. We will come back to enjoy the other amenities the resort has to offer.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It seemed like a Red Robin trying to be fancy. The asparagus were as big as small trees and the "Italian creme bruleé" was nothing more than vanilla pudding with a caramelized top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Service was wonderful, deserts so yummy, main dishes were not anything we would really want to eat again.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Service was slow, had to go out and ask to place a drink order. Waitress didn't check back very often. Many times our table was without water. Food was OK, but way too expensive for what it was. At the end of the evening walked out of the room we were in to use restroom, and the hostess and 2 waiters were standing at the hostess station, all on their phones...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food is not up to par for prices charged, choices are limited

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 16, 2017

My wife and I went to the Garden View Restaurant for our anniversary. The food and service are great and we got the meal as part of a bundle of our overall resort package. The view of the garden was great and we really enjoyed our time. The house wine was good too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Oregon Garden is a great local hideaway. The food is good and you have quick access to the garden for a walk before or after you eat.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We wanted a nice quiet atmosphere with good food to help celebrate the New Year's Eve. We found all of that right here at the Oregon Garden Resort.

Tags: Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our party order the seafood pasta. The salmon was dry, and served with the skin on and the grey meat still on. The shrimp was served with the tails on. I am okay with the tails on, but not in pasta. I am assuming we would have been happy if we made a different menu choice.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The staff, ambience, setting, scenery are excellent. Made it a pleasurable experience and we will definitely be returning in 2017.

I had the salmon dinner and was a little disappointed. It was really dry. Some of my friends had the Ahi that was on special, they said it was good but not spectacular. We were here in October and all our meals were exquisite then.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The day after Christmas the restaurant was overwhelmed from Christmas, supplies were low. The only seasonal veggie was green beans. The food wait was long . The staff were exhausted, quite frazzled but very polite. They did their best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The amazing staff and beautiful, ambient setting. We had a group of 5. The steaks were good, the seafood fettuccine was dry and the Scallops were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Wine was a little spendy food was good. Server was attentive and wasn't noisy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We went for Christmas dinner on Christmas day and we were very happy they were open for Christmas dinner. We were very disappointed that the Christmas light display had been discontinued though - we did not know that it had stopped on the 23rd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Great dinner. Quiet, beautiful setting for Christmas dinner. Delicious meal and attentive service. We will return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Loved everything. Had fish & chips but fish batter very greasy. Went home with rather upset tummies. But good service loved the view.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had a wonderful meal. The burgers were cooked to perfection. The service was excellent. The location was unique. Perfect holiday treat!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly, Fireplace, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Since it was Christmas Day Lunch, and we had seen it online as a place to go on Christmas, we thought they would be having a Holiday special (Turkey maybe, or Ham.....), but it was just the regular menu, so we were disappointed to have burgers and fish and chips for our Christmas Day meal. It was good though. And the drive there was very pretty. Planning to go back when the weather warms up to see the Garden.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Prime rib was overlooked and mediocre. Menu is overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 19, 2016

I enjoyed the setting as this restaurant is in the Oregon Gardens Lodge. Having dinner with my fiance here, just before proposing to her next door in the lounge right next to the huge fireplace, was truly romantic. Thank you for a wonderful experience!!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Good food and great service even though there weren't many guests that night.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Healthy, Casual, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food was very good although the menu is limited, service was excellent, the view was great and the seating was very comfortable.

Tags: Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We waited a long time for our order, especially considering we knew what we wanted and ordered as soon as we were seated. The food was good, but not exceptional. It was fairly loud and difficult to hear the servers, and it was cramped for people walking by (especially the servers trying to get around one another).

Breakfast the next morning was good. I was surprised, however, that it was advertised as "from 7:00 - 10:00 but they had all food gone by just a few minutes past 10:00. Someone arriving would be sadly disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This was for our 50th wedding anniversary so I wanted it to be very special. My reservation included that fact along with a request for a window booth with a great view of the Christmas lights. When we arrived, we were not given a window booth. When I asked why my reservation request could not be accommodated, I was told they were "booked". Since I had submitted my reservation several days in advance, that excuse was not acceptable to me. The food was outstanding and the service was very good considering how busy they were but I was very unhappy that the booth I asked for was not reserved for us on this very special occasion.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We started with the bacon wrapped dates, which were delicious. My husband had the salmon, and I had the Osso Bucco- both were excellent. Our server was very attentive, friendly, and very knowledgeable of the menu. The view of the garden is beautiful. We will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We dined with two adults and a 10 and 14 year old (our kids). The steaks, pasta, salads, and soups we had were all excellent and well prepared. There is a kids menu with the usual fare (burgers, chicken strips, etc). The service was excellent; waiter was prompt, attentive and knowledgeable about the menu.

The ambiance is warm and comfortable. High ceilings, yet it felt cozy.

My only knock against the place is that it's on the expensive side. We had no dessert or liquor, and one of our kids ate off the kids menu, and it still cost us over $100 ($130 with tip). It's a nice restaurant, but it is not nice enough to merit prices like that. Wind list prices were outrageous. A glass of wine should not cost $9 when I can buy a whole bottle for $15. I know liquor is always heavily marked up in restaurants, but this was ridiculous.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great! Our reservations were easy to make. The hotel is walking distance from the beautiful Oregon Gardens; breathtaking know matter what time of year it is.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

It was one of the most disgusting meals i have ever had

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We found this restaurant in in a list from the Portland newspaper as a place with a Thanksgiving buffet. We drove about 50 miles to get there, so it was a trek with holiday traffic. They sat us in the bar on large easy chairs with a small table in the middle. It was uncomfortable and no way to eat a large meal! There was a normal 2 person table nearby where no one sat at for the duration of our meal, making us more upset as the meal went on! Finally, my sister did say something and we were compensated, but we drove 50 miles to be treated like this?? The spread had a lot of variety and was OK. The sweet potatoes and the blueberry blintzes were the best. The turkey was displayed as a pan of mixed white and dark meat bits of meat, mostly dark. Again, hey, this is Thanksgiving, and isn't turkey the main component? Overall, a fun adventure, but not one we'll repeat.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The prices would leave you to believe it was a fine dining experience but the food was less than stellar. The apple pie was still frozen when set out on the buffet. It was made at the kitchen but frozen and not brought out soon enough to thaw but was set out anyway. The ham tasted like cardboard. The apple juice was obviously a concentrate but enough water was not added so it wasn't good. We added it to our water glasses and it was much better. The service was extraordinary but we were in a room that didn't have any views so it was not special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went for Thanksgiving brunch with a 10:15 am seating. The earliest seating time was 10:00 am and it took them a bit of time to seat all the folks who were waiting. However, I think they did that to avoid creating lines at the buffet. Good call! The food was outstanding and the atmosphere was perfect. I hadn't been there before and it was more than I expected. They won over my 60 year old cousin and her partner who are very traditional about cooking Thanksgiving at home. I suspect we'll go back next year, it was that enjoyable!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The lunches and dinners were excellent. The continental breakfast was a disappointment.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Our steaks were delicious and cooked just the way we ordered them. Great place to eat and enjoy the scenery of the Oregon Garden. Can't go wrong with the Oregon Garden Resort dinner package.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We had a lovely afternoon visiting and eating great food in a warm inviting atmosphere. Excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Pleasant evening. Food was good but not outstanding. Service friendly and prompt.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Service was very slow. Food was average at best. B.L.A.T. sandwich was very lacking in contents.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Everything here was excellent. Some of us got the Steak dinner with roasted garlic and blue cheese. It was excellent. Nice red wine to accompany dinner. The wait staff was excellent, making it a grand experience. Definitely will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Came for wife 66th birthday. Room was great and the food was beyond expectations.The waiter/server kept our needs met without hovering over us. Our new "get away" spot instead of the coast.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Look forward to our next visit as the food and location were excellent. Their service

was great and the cute waitress was very attentive to make sure everything was

to our satisfaction.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Enjoyed great garden views while eating a superb meal with great wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Our meals arrived within moments of ordering...way too fast to enjoy the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Excellent food along with excellent, friendly service. Decor is not spectacular but you have a nice view of the garden area and the seats are tiered which is great for everyone.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Casual, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 6, 2016

No problem with the dinner but being threated with steep fees if we did not show or canceled many hours in advancewas a turn off. I would not recommend for that reason. Not sure if that penalty threat was imposed by the restaurant or the Open table reservation system.

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 5, 2016

My best friend & I went to the Oregon Garden Resort for a "Girlfriends Getaway" & in our package was dinner at the restaurant! We got to pick any entree that we wanted.. She got the Coulette Steak & I got the Chicken Pasta in the wine sauce.. Oh my word.. The steak was INCREDIBLE. Literally melted in your mouth & had a delicious berry sauce with it.. And the pasta was also to die for.. With sundries tomatoes etc! It was seriously so so good..

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.