Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 6 times today

The Garden View Restaurant - Oregon Garden Resort

4.4
288 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Perfect For:
  • Good for a Date
  • Scenic View
  • Special Occasion
The Garden View Restaurant at Oregon Garden Resort offers spectacular views of the 80-acre Oregon Garden and the Willamette Valley.

As you walk in the entrance you will see The Oregon Garden and the valley stretched out before you. Tables are set to ensure that all guests can see the spectacular view through the large windows which run the length of the restaurant.

Outdoor dining is available on the patio and pets are allowed in the outside dining area.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 10:00am; Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(503) 874-2503
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Raul Santana
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Westfield Street
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Join us in the Fireside Lounge at The Oregon Garden Resort, where live entertainment is available every night. The lounge is an informal gathering place, centered on an open fireplace. Be sure to check out the mural just behind the stage in the Fireside lounge.

Stop by the lounge for a drink before dinner or for a nightcap following your meal in the restaurant.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Come join us for July 3rd BBQ and fireworks at The Oregon Garden Resort. A BBQ dinner will be held in the Oregon Garden Resort’s Wedding Garden. Tickets are available at the door for $20 adults, $10 kids 12 & under. The dinner will be served from 5pm- 8pm. Please call 503-874-2502 to make reservations.

BBQ Menu:
Pulled Pork Sliders with Apricot Bourbon Glaze
Sausages
Barbecue Chicken Drumsticks
Macaroni and Cheese
Roasted Garlic and Rosemary Potato Wedges
Baked Beans
Corn & Honey Cornbread Muffins
Coleslaw
Potato Salad with Bacon & Smokey Garlic Dressing
Garden Green Salad
Sauteed Grilled Corn
Apple Crisp
Watermelon Wedges
Additional
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 288 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.4
service
4.2
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Quiet
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Dinner was great, tasted delicious. The view was awesome as well. It was very quite and romantic, just like we wanted

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

We enjoyed the great view from our dining table, the spacious openness of the room. The waitress was friendly, upbeat and speedy without order. The food was great and well proportioned, chef prepared.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Stay was great. Quiet and relaxing. Food was wonderful as always and the staff are very helpful and nice. We plan to return for Christmas. Thank again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Warm and friendly staff with a great small restaurant ambience. I highly recommend this restaurant when visiting Silverton.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Loved the restuarant and whole Oregon Garden feel. However we were disappointed with our dinner service. My steak was over-done and chewy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We stayed at the Oregon Garden to celebrate our 30th anniversary. We had a lovely dinner on a Friday night at 6:30 seating time. We were promptly seated at a table with a view of the garden from our table. We were given menus, a wine list, silverware and napkin, and water . Our server was prompt in taking our drink order and our food order. They were accomodating when we wanted some more bread and were quick to respond. The tables quickly filled as the evening went on but the noise level was quiet. The food was outstanding, hot and very tasty! We had a bottle of local wine. We stayed for over 2 hours enjoying our food and wine and the atmosphere. We never felt rushed to vacate the table. Everyone was very nice and attentive. We would thoroughly recommend a dinner at the Oregon Garden! Book a night there and enjoy all the amentities they have to offer! It's a great place!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 12, 2018

I felt that the food was very good and the help went out of their way to take good care of us. The dinner package is a great bargain as far as I am concerned. the disable access isn't the greatest maybe something could be done toget people in from the garden

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

We have come to enjoy the Oregon Garden Resort and the Garden View Restaurant immensely over the past few years. We've visited the resort at each of the four seasons and always enjoyed dinners and breakfasts and the restaurant. We've come to look forward to the tour of the Garden and the meals at the restaurant in equal measure. Heartily recommended!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 6, 2018

The food was delicious. We didn't try the wine or dessert this trip, but the coffee was excellent. It was quiet enough so we could converse easily. The only thing that was disappointing was the bread. It was just so-so.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We were there at night so, there is no view to speak of - not the garden or the valley - definitely a decent view during daylight hours. Our server was um, not good. She seemed to be annoyed by our presence. The food was 'ok' but unimpressive. Bummer. We love Silverton and the Oregon Garden but this was a disappointment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2018

Very nice low key restaurant. If you are staying at the resort, (Oregon Garden Resort) you can order anything from the menu and also have complementary a bottle of wine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2018

Good food, good service, great atmosphere. Timely, fun, friendly, but coxy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Came here for our anniversary and we had such a great time here. Food was great, friendly staff, rooms were big and didn’t feel like a hotel, and we were just so happy to be there. Will be coming back again!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Very nice server, unfortunately the meal itself was pretty bad.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Our waiter was very helpful for the first 30 min. But after that we were forgotten. Even though he kept walking past us. We waited 30+ min for our plates to be taken and were never asked about drink refills. Then we waited longer for the check. The table behind us had 4 guests, the waiter paid more attention to them than our party of 2. The food was ok. Not necessarily for the price. But still good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2017

The food was well prepared, tasty and of good value. Although it was New Year's Eve we were seated right away at a table overlooking the Garden's holiday light displays. The service was good and we did not feel rushed, though many had reservations following ours.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2017

Lovely setting, great service, and delicious food! A treasure of a location too!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2017

This was our first time at the Garden View restaurant and we were not disappointed. The food quality was excellent and the price paid for the quality and quantity of food is very good. I had the salmon dinner and my husband had the seafood pasta. There was an abundant amount of seafood in the pasta and the salmon was a very large piece; nice presentation on both dishes and had left-overs on both. We split a Caesar salad, which was plenty for both of us (if we were to order a salad for each of us, it would be too much with the dinner). The restaurant and lounge have a very cozy, romantic feel to it...good for a date night or special night out. The view of the garden in the Summer would be awesome (we were there during the Christmas festival of lights). The outdoor seating in the Spring/Summer would also be a good dining option. All-in-all we were very pleased with our food and service; we couldn't ask for anything better!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 21, 2017

So my friend and I came up from Salem and thought we would go to your restaurant for Christmas get together. The atmosphere was great and so the food. WE had a nice time. Yes we would recommend it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 19, 2017

The Oregon Garden Resort is a beautiful venue in the scenic Willamette Valley in Silverton Oregon. The Resort as a lovely Garden Restaurant overlooking the Oregon Garden that I have been to several times for lunch and just recently went to for dinner at Christmas time. The hotel was very festive and decorated beautifully. We started our evening with some delicious appetizers and then my daughter and I both enjoyed a gluten free pasta entree. The staff were attentive and the food was delicious. I will definitely go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 18, 2017

Seafood pasta was delicious. My wife and I split this entree, and their was plenty for both of us. Amazing amount of seafood! Server was also really nice to our table.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 16, 2017

Delicious menu items and wonderful special of the evening. A dessert tray with a nice variety to choose from made it difficult to decide. Each of us ordered different desserts and shared bites. Noise level was low, which allowed quiet conversation. Greatly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 12, 2017

Able to make my meal keto friendly
Good service, good food.
Always a great place to meat friends for lunch

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 9, 2017

Pleasantly surprised by the food quality. Had the NY steak and the meat was very tender. Osso Bucco pork was also excellent. Gluten free pasta was available too. Portions sizes were more than enough. Dessert tray looked good but I was too full to try any.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 9, 2017

The food was good. The server we had would benefit from doing extra training. Coffee was spilled in the saucers, we had to ask for napkins. In fact, our food had arrived and we still did not have napkins. That part of the occasion was a little disappointing. I hope that he improves. It would make s person want to return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 8, 2017

Thank you!
We had planned to go to the Christmas Lights but decided it was too cold after dinner. Reason to come back.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 7, 2017

Restaurant was not full but service was slooooow. Food was mediocre at best. Made a reservation for 5, but they gave away the larger tables. They put us in booth for 4 and stuck one of our party on the end in the aisle, in the way of waiters and other patrons. A cold winter night, but no coat rack/hooks so bulky coats crammed with us in booth. Very disappointed as we expected much better based on their website and the outstanding gardens. Next year will eat in Silverton before coming to view the lights.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 7, 2017

Great service on a busy night. Our server was friendly and efficient. Had the seafood pasta which included salmon. Sauce tasted great without being overwhelming.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 6, 2017

The food was quite good and our server was excellent, however, they seated us 30 minutes after our reservation time and then told OpenTable that we were no-shows.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 3, 2017

The food was okay. The arugula salad had no arugula; it looked like iceberg lettuce only. Wait staff seemed annoyed that I asked for oil & vinegar instead of the dressing choices. Wrong meal was delivered first.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 30, 2017

It was nice, food good, some different selections to make it interesting. Overall decent dinner

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 28, 2017

My wife had squab and I had salmon. Both were flavorless and we suspect frozen and not fresh. At the prices charged, definitely not up to snuff or the description. It was a Tuesday night and we half way suspect the chef had the night off as it was a low volume evening.
We definitely would not eat dinner there again.
On the other hand, the buffet breakfast was good, especially the waffles and the toasting bread. Recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 24, 2017

Lovely dinner with great service. quiet. Had the bacon wrapped prawns and the seafood pasta. Had big pieces of seafood.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 23, 2017

The food was cold and dry, and the service was not good. Drinks came after the food. No dessert offered. This was Thanksgiving; was hoping for something more special.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 23, 2017

Reserved a table for Thanksgiving. First, Open Table allowed a reservation at 3pm, when brunch was technically over. A call to the restaurant, got a new time at 2:45. We arrived at 2:30, but were not seated until 3:20pm. Much of the buffet food was lukewarm, dried out, or otherwise unappetizing. The hostess told us we could ask our server for a complimentary drink for our long wait, but she didn't even arrive at our table until we were 1/2 finished with a plate of food. We did ultimately get free drinks and a small discount on our total bill. I have found this restaurant to be so-so in the past, but this experience was particularly disappointing. Too bad, because the garden is so beautiful to walk through after eating.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 23, 2017

The food & service were amazing; the atmosphere was cozy & warm. Thanks for the wonderful Thanksgiving dinner!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 23, 2017

We drove from Portland for a Thanksgiving buffet hoping for a nice relaxing meal with a great view. I realize this is a Botanical garden but the landscape designer didn't factor in "view" when planting a "hedge" of hydrangeas along the windows! Our country-side "view" from the lower windows was looking at the back of off-season bushes with dead flowers and leaves. 10 feet tall! The four of us spent over $200 on buffet and drinks. We could have dined at Portland City grill for not much more and had a spectacular view.

I've visited the OG and brought guests from out of town since before it was officially opened. I'm from the area and like to return to promote businesses I feel need the support so that they don't succumb to the economy. I meet with Salem friends there occasionally. The restaurant won't be a future destination spot unless a few more signature dishes and more comfortable seating is offered as well. Much of the food tasted "processed" not fresh prepped. No champaign or dazzling dessert table. I worked popular brunch restaurants in Seattle and PDX so I know what a well-planned event offers and should look like to the customer. I will say there was adequate staff available, which is always helpful so one doesn't feel like "here's your plate" see you for the check. Signs, both on the grounds and in the resort, were inadequate. We spent a fair amount of time wandering....

I was hoping to make this an annual trek for our small family but I think OG needs to up its game.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 17, 2017

We were at the resort for the weekend so had the opportunity to enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast has lots of bread choices, fruit yogurt/granola etc, scrambled eggs and sausage. The difference between Saturday breakfast and Sunday breakfast was biscuits/gravy and only a regular cream cheese option for bagels, toast etc on Saturday and waffles no biscuits/gravy and two fruited cream cheese spreads more pastries etc. on Sunday. The eggs were really over salted.

Lunch has a limited variety of sandwiches, soup, salad etc but it also offered Halibut Fish & Chips. I so wanted that for dinner but was very adamantly informed at dinner that it was not an option as it is NOT on the dinner menu. We had soup and a ham/cheese sandwich. The soup was Split pea w/ham. It was okay, some of the peas were still pretty firm and overall the salt level was a bit higher than I care for. The ham and Swiss sandwich was okay, nothing special about it or wrong with it.

Dinner had several Entree options, pork osso bucco, Cornish game hen, beef, seafood, chicken and pasta. Friday night options for us were a New York strip w/blue cheese and roasted garlic and a vegetable gnocchi w/hazelnut pesto. The strip steak had a thick run of gristle along one side that should have been trimmed off otherwise it was a good steak. I was told the gnocchi was very good too. Saturday night was Salmon w/baked potato and another New York strip w/blue cheese and roasted garlic and a three shrimp kabob add on. The salmon was a little overcooked but still good. The steak this time was perfection.

We got a slice of chocolate cake and plain cheesecake to take back to the room. Sadly we didn't think to get eating utensils. Messy fingers...both were tasty.

All in all, I would go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 11, 2017

We spent 2 nites, was very relaxing and service and food were great

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 5, 2017

We were in same room as a birthday party due to our needs, and they were very gracious about us being there. Love the food, environment and staff!!!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8