About The Gamekeeper

3005 Shull's Mill Road
Boone, NC 28607
View Larger Map

You haven't fully experienced the Blowing Rock, NC region until you've dined at The Gamekeeper. It's a true gourmet restaurant with an engaging blend of upscale elegance and mountain charm.

Famous for an evolving menu that blends the traditional with the exotic, The Gamekeeper features a selection of perfectly prepared game plus a range of continental and American entrees.

Acclaimed chef Ken Gordon and wife Wendy are owners who bring tremendous warmth and skill to the table treating you more as friends than guests. You'll experience a meal to remember that includes fine wines, decadent desserts, and a generous serving of personal attention. You'll leave happy and impressed with a desire to return soon!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
During the winter season, we will be open Thursday through Saturday, 5 - 9 pm. In the event of inclement weather, please give us a call before heading out.

We are also happy to open other hours for your special event.

Cross Street:
100 yards up Shulls Mill Rd from the entrance to Yonahlossee

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 963-7400

Website:
http://www.gamekeeper-nc.com/

Catering:
We have a private dining room that very comfortably seats 25 guests.

But we also love to cater and we have the perfect spot for larger groups. The Gk is partnering with Camp Sky Ranch Events. Together we are thrilled to offer you the perfect venue and fare to treat your guests to the ultimate modern mountain event.

Parking Details:
Valet service on Fridays and Saturdays

Executive Chef:
Ken Gordon

Private Party Facilities:
The rustic feel of Camp Sky Ranch paired with our chefs seasonal Appalachian flavors brings class and comfort to the table. The dining hall with its stone fireplace is large yet cozy. Across the groomed pasture (perfect for a big tent) is an open air chapel set beside a babbling brook.

A valley unto itself, Camp Sky Ranch is the perfect place for your favorite people to come together and enjoy an event that will remain amongst their fondest memories.

Private Party Contact:
Wendy Gordon: (828) 963-7400x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit Camp Sky Ranch Events for a taste of what we do. http://www.campskyranchevents.com/

Email Wendy Gordon to see if your preferred date is available. She'll gladly call you back when it's convenient for you to go over the details.

You'll probably want to go ahead and set up a time to see this beautiful spot. It's truly the stuff dreams are made of.

wendy@gamekeeper-nc.com

Restaurant Photos

Elk Loin Chop - The Gamekeeper, Boone, NC
Bison Ribeye - The Gamekeeper, Boone, NC
Buffalo Tenderloin with Blue Cheese macaroni - The Gamekeeper, Boone, NC
fried oysters - The Gamekeeper, Boone, NC
Buffalo Loin With Crawfish - The Gamekeeper, Boone, NC
Duck With Mashed Sweet Potates And Honey - The Gamekeeper, Boone, NC
Red Wine - The Gamekeeper, Boone, NC
Venison Osso Bucco - The Gamekeeper, Boone, NC
Bowtie Pasta With Shitaki Mushrooms, Squash, And Local Goat Cheese - The Gamekeeper, Boone, NC
Wild Boar With Fingerling Potato Salad And Vegetables - The Gamekeeper, Boone, NC
Grilled Shrimp - The Gamekeeper, Boone, NC
Elk Chop - The Gamekeeper, Boone, NC
Bread Pudding - The Gamekeeper, Boone, NC
Ultra Rich Chocolate Cake - The Gamekeeper, Boone, NC
Elk And Acorn Squash - The Gamekeeper, Boone, NC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Gamekeeper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Best Food
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Best Ambiance
Asheville / Western North Carolina
3 More
Romantic
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Special Occasion
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Most Booked
Blowing Rock
Best Restaurants in Blowing Rock ›

Special Occasion (81)
Romantic (61)
Creative Cuisine (57)
See All
Worth the Drive (55)
Fit for Foodies (52)
Scenic View (51)
Good for a Date (50)
Local Ingredients (48)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Notable Wine List (45)
Cozy (36)
Authentic (34)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Fireplace (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Seasonal (20)
Good for Groups (17)
Historic (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Fun (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Tasting Menu (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Organic (12)
Business Meals (9)
Casual (9)
Healthy (9)
Great Beer (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
People Watching (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Vegan (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Private Room (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1319 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything was outstanding. This is a "o ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Everything was outstanding. This is a "one of a kind" experience that I'll probably never experience again, anywhere else. Presentation was beautiful, food was delicious, staff was very accommodating.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Healthy, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Well worth the short drive from Blowing ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Well worth the short drive from Blowing Rock....excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Absolutely LOVE this restaurant! My fami ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Absolutely LOVE this restaurant! My family have been coming here for years when we go up to the mountains to pick out our Christmas tree Thanksgiving weekend. The menu is always changing and never fails to satisfy my stomach!! There is always a special kind of "game" well worth trying and the mixed game grill appetizer is shareable among my family of 7! While the prices are a bit steep, I think it is worth the money for the ambiance, location, amazing quality and creativity of the food! We recommend this place to anyone going towards Blowing Rock/Boone area!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an awesome place and was our 2nd ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This is an awesome place and was our 2nd time dining here. The 2nd experience was as great as the first. The food from appetizer to dessert was amazing. Our waitress had great recommendations for what we were looking for. Everyone we came into contact with there was friendly and went out of their way to make you comfortable. If you are in the Boone area I wouldn't pass this restaurant up.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner here, with out ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner here, with outstanding service!! We will definitely be back for special occasions!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Many Interesting game choices. Elk and ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Many Interesting game choices. Elk and venison were very good and not the least bit gamey (if you are reluctant to try game).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Outstanding, wildly fantastic & just pla ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Outstanding, wildly fantastic & just plain wonderful!! After a recommendation from my hair stylist to visit this place I decided it would be an excellent place to experience with a date. The hour and a half drive up was just beautiful and upon entering The Gamekeeper with their valet service, really it is needed due to the somewhat tricky smaller parking lot when full, so that was fine. We arrived a half hour ahead of our reservations and were kindly told to just go on in and we would be seated and we were! The restaurant is charming, the staff friendly & attentive and last but certainly not least...the main event, the food!! Exquisite! I had the vegetable platter..I just ate around the whole bowl, some things I wasn't quite sure what it was but it was all delicious! I would highly recommend it! My friend got the tenderloin tips and again...just delicious. This is a great find, you won't be disappointed!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went with my wife and two children the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I went with my wife and two children the day after thanksgiving. We were in the Boone area for the weekend and I've known about The Gamekeeper for several years and finally made my way to it.

The food was fantastic and lived up to its name of Gamekeeper. In my appetizer alone I had elk, emu, pheasant and venison. The meat was all prepared perfectly and the flavors were fantastic as well. The selection was varied enough and they made a couple of very simple pasta dishes for my kids which were not on any menu. The service was good albeit fairly slow.

The road where it's located is closed coming from one direction with a very twisting, winding, hilly dirt road detour. Come to the venue from the Boone side, if possible during the road closure

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful thanksgiving fare. The servic ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Wonderful thanksgiving fare. The service was pleasant and timely. The place was crowded but had a accommodating feel. The long view of the mountains was fantastic.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We spent Thanksgiving at the Gamekeeper. ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We spent Thanksgiving at the Gamekeeper. What a wonderful dining experience. The food was fabulous and a great menu for the holiday. The building fit perfectly in the mountainside where it was located. We will return with more of our friends very soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Thanksgiving and had a delightf ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went for Thanksgiving and had a delightful time....extremely expensive

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

A gourmet Thanksgiving feast with the lo ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 24, 2016

A gourmet Thanksgiving feast with the lovely Kappa as our server. You can't go wrong at the Gamekeeper.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing food for Thanksgiving. Tou ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Disappointing food for Thanksgiving. Tough turkey, minimal aesthetic appeal for the rest of the entrees ordered. The only redeeming part of the visit was the scenery on the drive to the restaurant and the service. Maybe marginal food would have been more tolerable if the price had not been about $100 per person.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

WOW, WOW, WOW! The Gamekeeper was SUCH a ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

WOW, WOW, WOW! The Gamekeeper was SUCH a treat. The food is fresh and perfect for a cold night! The service was amazing and we had a blast that whole evening. We live in Charlotte and in town for the weekend, if you're there, it is a MUST! Can't wait to go back! Get the sampler platter so that you can try a few different things. Don't let the wild game scare you, try something different, it won't disappoint!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The salad was outstanding, the soup was ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The salad was outstanding, the soup was so so and luke warm, meats were good and the dessert was excellent. The waitress was awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Historic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I were vacationing in the B ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 17, 2016

My wife and I were vacationing in the Banner Elk area and saw advertising for this wonderful sounding place serving fresh game and fish. We gave it a go and we're delighted we did. Excellent service from Noah (complete with several calls from us for directions). The food was exquisite. We chose to split a fabulous spinach salad to begin our meal. Our two entrée choices were the Bison hanger steak and the Venison Osso Buco. The bison was grilled to perfection and the Osso Buco was tender and full of flavor!

If only we had more time to enjoy other menu options.

I highly recommend this place!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was limited and offered exotic ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The menu was limited and offered exotic dishes which I wasn't prepared for. There was only one thing on the menu I would eat. Kinda disappointed but, the food I selected was very good. The price was pretty high for the selection.

Of all the restaurants we ate at during our visit, this would be my last choice.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been wanting to visit the GameKe ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We have been wanting to visit the GameKeeper for a few years and it did not disappoint. Every bite was exquisite. Having a choice of unique entrees really added to the experience. The atmosphere was delightful and engaging.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super Fantastic!! We loved everything. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Super Fantastic!! We loved everything. Great wine choices.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Scenic View, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Love the Gamekeepers! My favorite in Bl ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Love the Gamekeepers! My favorite in Blowing Rock. Intavative dishes, with wild game that is hard to find at most restaurants. Service is always good and the unique rock home that houses the Gamekeeper is very appropriate. Very special for us as our family almost bought the house back in 1985!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Historic, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Business Meals, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I loved everything about The Gamekeeper ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I loved everything about The Gamekeeper including the scenic drive to get there. The food was outstanding with so many unusual choices on the menu. The drink menu was also interesting and innovative. The service was outstanding. There is nothing negative I can say about this place, and I can't wait to visit again the next time we're in the Boone/Blowing Rock area.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious. We have been to the ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Food was delicious. We have been to the gamekeeper before and as expected the food was nothing less than amazing. One thing that put us off was the menus reference to "blablabla" regarding people with food allergies. As parents of children with food sensitivities we felt as if it was disrespectful, and dismissive of people with food allergies. We strongly suggest removing that from the menu. Other than that our visit was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We have eaten at the GameKeeper many tim ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We have eaten at the GameKeeper many times and I can honestly say it only continues to get better. As much as we travel and experience haute cuisine in some of the best restaurants in the world (NYC, Boston, Chicago, San Francisco/Napa, Las Vegas, Toronto, London, etc) I am always so impressed with the level of expertise and quality of the overall dining experience at GameKeeper. You could put GameKeeper in any of the above cities and it would be competitive. I hope you enjoy the GameKeeper as much as we do. Bon Appetite!! u

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Family Gathering meal, attentive s ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great Family Gathering meal, attentive service & lovely variety of food options. Excellent preparation & presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My daughter and I had dinner and enjoyed ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

My daughter and I had dinner and enjoyed every aspect of Gamekeeper. The atmosphere was perfect , the waitress answered every question and so knowledgeable about the game. Everyone and I mean everyone there were so pleasant and made us feel right at home. The food was better than great and we cannot wait to go back .

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I will start by separating my review int ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I will start by separating my review into two parts.

First my meal starting with the flash fried oysters were excellent. I also ordered a Bloody Marry that had a interesting smoky flavor. The grilled Elk was cooked medium rare and had excellent flavor. My wife and I both loved the GK Bread Pudding.

My wife had the very fresh mixed green salad. She ordered the mixed game sampler which had Bison, Emu, Duck and rabbit. It was a little heavy on the spices especially pepper but the meat was cooked perfectly.

Overall we enjoyed the food. The view was spectacular considering we were there at the fall leaf color change.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Although this is a restaurant specializi ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Although this is a restaurant specializing in game meat type dishes, they could not make a dry martini to save their lives.

The food was exceptional, but the disappointment of two glasses of vermouth really put a damper on things.

I don't think they employ a bartender, if they do,they need a new one.

For the price of the entrees, they need somebody who knows how to make a decent cocktail.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a wonderful experience at the Gam ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at the Gamekeepers. My husband and I take my son each October and have engaged this tradition for a number of years. When my father was alive we four would go for our special fall meal. The food was delicious including the venison, elk, and bison which were the entrees that we ordered. We also had the cheese plate and the meat plate as a shared appetizer. We love the atmosphere, the beautiful mountains, and our waiter was pleasant, informative, and offered great service. We will continue our tradition!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Gamekeeper is special in every way! ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The Gamekeeper is special in every way! No trip to Rock is complete without this highlight dinner event...I have never been disappointed in this wonderful place, and all my first time who go there with me are equally as pleased!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fireplace, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience. Cozy, casu ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. Cozy, casual but elegant. Fire place blazing on a chillie fall evening. Great food. Will go back again.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific food, terrific service, thanks ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Terrific food, terrific service, thanks to Taylor, and great atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Waitress (Taylor) and excellent fo ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great Waitress (Taylor) and excellent food.

Would for sure go back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding food, service and ambiancE. ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Outstanding food, service and ambiancE. We usually visit the Blowing Rock area several times a year and we always include The Gamekeeper in our dining plans. Highly recommend to anyone that enjoys fine dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to The Gamekeep ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 20, 2016

This was our first visit to The Gamekeeper. We had some trouble finding the restaurant, but it was well worth the trouble. The mountain setting & warm ambience added to the overall dining experience. My husband's beef tenderloin was excellent & my snapper was delicious. The addition of local fall vegetables was creatively done & presented beautifully. The entire staff was friendly & helpful.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Organic, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Service,area fabulous food served with w ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Service,area fabulous food served with without being obtrusive. Great for special occasions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our friends joined us for this last even ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Our friends joined us for this last evening in the High Country for awhile. It is our favorite restaurant and did not disappoint! Food was excellent and the fellowship with our best friends was wonderful. Thank you for providing such a wonderful environment and excellent chef and support staff. We will be back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was fantastic. Service was grea ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Our food was fantastic. Service was great. A favorite spot for our whole family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Gamekeeper is by far our favorite re ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The Gamekeeper is by far our favorite restaurant to enjoy special occasions or to take people from out of town. We have been going for 10 years and have never had a bad meal or bad experience. Their food is fantastic and unusual, the service is spot on and their location is amazing. You're really missing out on a wonderful dining experience if you haven't been! Do yourself a favor and make a reservation now!

Tags: Organic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been visited The Gamekeeper seve ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We have been visited The Gamekeeper several times in the last 15 years and the experience is always remarkable! The food is incredible. They are able to artistically blend of the ambiance of the area and with their unique culinary flare into an amazing presentation that is enjoyed by all.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food! Worth the drive. Will ret ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Fabulous food! Worth the drive. Will return in the near future. I would recommend to anyone!!

Tags: Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Vegan, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.