About The Gamekeeper

3005 Shull's Mill Road
Boone, NC 28607
View Larger Map

You haven't fully experienced the Blowing Rock, NC region until you've dined at The Gamekeeper. It's a true gourmet restaurant, with an engaging blend of upscale elegance and mountain charm. Famous for an evolving menu that blends the traditional with the exotic, The Gamekeeper features a selection of perfectly prepared game, plus a range of continental and American entrees. Acclaimed chef Ken Gordon and wife Wendy are owners who bring tremendous warmth and skill to the table, treating you more as friends than guests. You'll experience a meal to remember that includes fine wines, decadent desserts and a generous serving of personal attention. You'll leave happy and impressed with a desire to return soon!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
During the winter season, we will be open Thursday through Saturday, 5 - 9 pm. In the event of inclement weather, please give us a call before heading out.

We are also happy to open other hours for your special event.

Cross Street:
100 yards up Shulls Mill Rd from the entrance to Yonahlossee

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 963-7400

Website:
http://www.gamekeeper-nc.com/

Catering:
We have a private dining room that very comfortably seats 25 guests.

But we also love to cater and we have the perfect spot for larger groups. The Gk is partnering with Camp Sky Ranch Events. Together we are thrilled to offer you the perfect venue and fare to treat your guests to the ultimate modern mountain event.

Parking Details:
Valet service on Fridays and Saturdays

Executive Chef:
Ken Gordon

Private Party Facilities:
The rustic feel of Camp Sky Ranch paired with our chefs seasonal Appalachian flavors brings class and comfort to the table. The dining hall with its stone fireplace is large yet cozy. Across the groomed pasture (perfect for a big tent) is an open air chapel set beside a babbling brook.

A valley unto itself, Camp Sky Ranch is the perfect place for your favorite people to come together and enjoy an event that will remain amongst their fondest memories.

Private Party Contact:
Wendy Gordon: (828) 963-7400x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit Camp Sky Ranch Events for a taste of what we do. http://www.campskyranchevents.com/

Email Wendy Gordon to see if your preferred date is available. She'll gladly call you back when it's convenient for you to go over the details.

You'll probably want to go ahead and set up a time to see this beautiful spot. It's truly the stuff dreams are made of.

wendy@gamekeeper-nc.com

Restaurant Photos

Elk Loin Chop
Bison Ribeye
Buffalo Tenderloin with Blue Cheese macaroni
fried oysters
Buffalo Loin With Crawfish
Duck With Mashed Sweet Potates And Honey
Red Wine
Venison Osso Bucco
Bowtie Pasta With Shitaki Mushrooms, Squash, And Local Goat Cheese
Wild Boar With Fingerling Potato Salad And Vegetables
Elk Chop
Grilled Shrimp
Bread Pudding
Elk And Acorn Squash
Ultra Rich Chocolate Cake

The Gamekeeper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Food
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Service
Asheville / W. North Carolina
7 More
Best Ambiance
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Value
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Notable Wine List
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Romantic
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Special Occasion
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Most Booked
Blowing Rock
Best Restaurants in Blowing Rock ›

special occasion (80)
fit for foodies (73)
romantic (63)
See All
scenic view (62)
notable wine list (38)
neighborhood gem (31)
great for outdoor dining (27)
good for groups (19)
hot spot (11)
vibrant bar scene (9)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1192 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just overall excellent, will defiantly r ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Just overall excellent, will defiantly return for another special occasion.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fabulous evening for my husband's birt ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

A fabulous evening for my husband's birthday. The staff went all out to make things special...fabulous food, great caring service, nice wine and complimentary birthday dessert. Our new favorite restaurant. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, staff is outstanding, very k ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Great food, staff is outstanding, very knowledgeable. Great place to go for date night. My wife and I will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Classy. The service, food, and ambiance ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Classy. The service, food, and ambiance were absolutely wonderful and everyone was professional. Classy in every way without being formal. One item that can make or break a dining experience for us is the background sound/volume. You provided lovely dining music at a moderate volume. We were able to have a private conversation AND enjoy the music. This is a rare and wonderful balance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a wonderful experience at GameKeeper ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Had a wonderful experience at GameKeeper. Food was delicious, beer and wine selection were excellent. Can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waitress was Capa was perfect. We w ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Our waitress was Capa was perfect. We would definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We were celebrating our 53rd wedding ann ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We were celebrating our 53rd wedding anniversary and have been eating at The Gamekeeper for many years. They offer a menu that you can't find elsewhere. We appreciate good food and wine, so this is the place we chose. The service and food were as expected and will return soon. -- An excellent rating is a hard one for us to give.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Awful. Absolutely awful. I've been to th ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Awful. Absolutely awful. I've been to the gamekeeper a number of times during my years at AppState, and was dying to take my fiancé. Food was gross, service was terrible, tables were too close together and WAY too much money for what we got. Sadly, won't be going again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire experience was absolutely ama ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

The entire experience was absolutely amazing. Loved everything about the food, service and ambiance!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The best experience ever!

Dined on May 30, 2016

The best experience ever!

food2
ambience3
service5

Overpriced. Over $200 for 4 people with ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Overpriced. Over $200 for 4 people with no alcohol and 1 appetizer and 1 dessert. The 4 entres were all equally lacking in portion and not much meat. Same vegetables on each plate and the one side was very small. Did not leave feeling fulfilled but left with a empty wallet. Great ambiance and wonderful service! Glad we tried it, but pretty disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our annual Family Gourmet Dining Adventure

Dined on May 29, 2016

Our adult family enjoys many dining adventures together; our annual Memorial weekend exceptional dining experience at The Gamekeeper is one we always look forward to and cherish. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very interesting menu and super wine values

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

It takes some driving to reach this restaurant but worth the drive. Definitely want to return to sample more interesting game. Elk was best I had eaten. Bison steak was a step above that. Plenty more to try. Fish and beef for the not so adventurous too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for any occasion . Food ,service ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Perfect for any occasion . Food ,service and views are wonderful !

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Gamekeeper consistently offers great ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

The Gamekeeper consistently offers great food and service. I have never had a disappointing evening here!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5

Nice atmosphere, small portions overpric ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Nice atmosphere, small portions overpriced. I would think for the price that they charge for your small portion that they should maybe include a salad with your meal and a basket of bread.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Not our first visit, nor our last. Depe ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Not our first visit, nor our last. Dependable good food and service. Beautiful location.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were visiting the area and ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

My wife and I were visiting the area and this restaurant had been brought to our attention by someone . Everything was perfect. Matt, the bartender, was super. We met another couple at the bar and ended up eating at the bar. Service was wonderful and the food was great. We had delicious potato soup and the Elk dinner was wonderful. It was a great evening and Matt is a wonderful host. Will definitely return if we get back to the area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I had dinner here for my 50t ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

My wife and I had dinner here for my 50th birthday. The service and the food were superb. I highly recommend The Gamekeeper for a special event or anytime you want a high quality meal in a unique environment.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Amazing

Dined on May 22, 2016

We visit The Gamekeeper every chance we get and it never disappoints. Ken and Wendy do an amazing job and each time we visit, a new special memory is made. Can't wait until next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The food lacked taste appeal. There wa ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food lacked taste appeal. There was nothing noteworthy about it and the chef used way too much pepper on the trout. We were disappointed. More needs to be done to create flavorful food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Gorgeous setting in old home converted t ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Gorgeous setting in old home converted to restaurant. Friendly waitstaff and great food. We had the mixed grill appetizer, salads, and main courses and, needless to say, we were filled. We took dessert with us because they sounded so yummy, and we were very glad we did! We tried 6 different types of game and enjoyed them all!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal and service I have had in Nort ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Best meal and service I have had in North Carolina

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! That's about the best way I know h ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Wow! That's about the best way I know how to describe the Gamekeeper! Lots of dishes that you won't find in most restaurants; with knowledgeable and helpful staff to help select a delicious meal! Drinks, appetizers, meals, desserts...We've never been disappointed and will most certainly keep going back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal in a beautiful setting! Well ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great meal in a beautiful setting! Well worth the drive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We lucked upon this spot years ago, and ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We lucked upon this spot years ago, and since then every trip to the area HAD to include a stop. We just purchased a home in Blowing Rock, and we will soon be regulars!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Good if you like game. Expensive somewh ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Good if you like game. Expensive somewhat. Not enough American entrees on the menu.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance and food for a special oc ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great ambiance and food for a special occasion. Just right with casual elegance:) THANKS!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Gamekeeper is our favorite restaurant an ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Gamekeeper is our favorite restaurant and has been for years. We go a few times a season. There is always a great menu and they work to make our visit pleasant.

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The Gamekeeper is definitely one of the ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The Gamekeeper is definitely one of the few fine dining restaurants in the Boone/Banner Elk area. I would recommend it's worth trying, however after two dinners there, I would rate the entrees as average and overpriced. The starters and salads are great, the wine list was reasonable. Good atmosphere and service, but overpriced.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in the High Country

Dined on May 11, 2016

Best restaurant in the High Country

food5
ambience5
service5

Lots of great game meat choices, cooked ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Lots of great game meat choices, cooked perfectly, but you HAVE to try the bread pudding!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

Dined on May 7, 2016

Noah was a wonderful server. We were visitors to the area and he took the time to write us a list of cool local things to check out. The food was flawless and timely in arriving to the table.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Highly recommend

Dined on April 30, 2016

Food and service were great!! Staff sang nice birthday song to my husband. We will definitely return.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite!

Dined on April 29, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in the Boone/Blowing Rock area! We choose to go there both nights when we visit because it is just that good! We don't want to go anywhere else. The food and service NEVER disappoint. We like that they know and communicate to their customers where their food comes from. You won't be disappointed if you eat there! The potatoe soup is the best I've ever had!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

Dined on April 28, 2016

My wife and I spent out 10th anniversary dinner here, and it was completely worth it. We very much enjoyed the atmosphere, and the food was absolutely stellar.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great service, great view!

Dined on April 23, 2016

I had heard about the Gamekeeper and wanted to give it a try. It totally exceeded our expectations. The service was fantastic from the valet parking attendant to the hostess to the bartender to the server. The food was outstanding. The mixed grill appetizer was delicious! My trout was divine, and my husband loved his (elk?)! The caramel bourbon bread pudding was to die for. I will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great For Family Gatherings

Dined on April 23, 2016

My wife and I had dinner with our youngest son and his wife before they left for 3 years in the UK. Truly a great ending to a great day. As a hunting couple my wife and I found all the game dishes to be excellent. Wine was great, service excellent and just a great all round experience. I would highly recommend the Gamekeeper

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We eat here whenever we are in the area. ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

We eat here whenever we are in the area. This time, I had Emu and the wife had Elk. Both were excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great game

Dined on April 10, 2016

brilliant and unique dishes with local wild game. beautiful ambiance. fancy but not pretentious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.