About The Gamekeeper

3005 Shull's Mill Road
Boone, NC 28607
View Larger Map

You haven't fully experienced the Blowing Rock, NC region until you've dined at The Gamekeeper. It's a true gourmet restaurant, with an engaging blend of upscale elegance and mountain charm. Famous for an evolving menu that blends the traditional with the exotic, The Gamekeeper features a selection of perfectly prepared game, plus a range of continental and American entrees. Acclaimed chef Ken Gordon and wife Wendy are owners who bring tremendous warmth and skill to the table, treating you more as friends than guests. You'll experience a meal to remember that includes fine wines, decadent desserts and a generous serving of personal attention. You'll leave happy and impressed with a desire to return soon!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
During the winter season, we will be open Thursday through Saturday, 5 - 9 pm. In the event of inclement weather, please give us a call before heading out.

We are also happy to open other hours for your special event.

Cross Street:
100 yards up Shulls Mill Rd from the entrance to Yonahlossee

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 963-7400

Website:
http://www.gamekeeper-nc.com/

Catering:
We have a private dining room that very comfortably seats 25 guests.

But we also love to cater and we have the perfect spot for larger groups. The Gk is partnering with Camp Sky Ranch Events. Together we are thrilled to offer you the perfect venue and fare to treat your guests to the ultimate modern mountain event.

Parking Details:
Valet service on Fridays and Saturdays

Executive Chef:
Ken Gordon

Private Party Facilities:
The rustic feel of Camp Sky Ranch paired with our chefs seasonal Appalachian flavors brings class and comfort to the table. The dining hall with its stone fireplace is large yet cozy. Across the groomed pasture (perfect for a big tent) is an open air chapel set beside a babbling brook.

A valley unto itself, Camp Sky Ranch is the perfect place for your favorite people to come together and enjoy an event that will remain amongst their fondest memories.

Private Party Contact:
Wendy Gordon: (828) 963-7400x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit Camp Sky Ranch Events for a taste of what we do. http://www.campskyranchevents.com/

Email Wendy Gordon to see if your preferred date is available. She'll gladly call you back when it's convenient for you to go over the details.

You'll probably want to go ahead and set up a time to see this beautiful spot. It's truly the stuff dreams are made of.

wendy@gamekeeper-nc.com

Restaurant Photos

Elk Loin Chop
Bison Ribeye
Buffalo Tenderloin with Blue Cheese macaroni
fried oysters
Buffalo Loin With Crawfish
Duck With Mashed Sweet Potates And Honey
Red Wine
Venison Osso Bucco
Bowtie Pasta With Shitaki Mushrooms, Squash, And Local Goat Cheese
Wild Boar With Fingerling Potato Salad And Vegetables
Elk Chop
Grilled Shrimp
Bread Pudding
Elk And Acorn Squash
Ultra Rich Chocolate Cake

The Gamekeeper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Notable Wine List
Asheville / W. North Carolina
4 More
Romantic
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Scenic View
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Special Occasion
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Most Booked
Blowing Rock
Best Restaurants in Blowing Rock ›

special occasion (87)
fit for foodies (79)
romantic (67)
See All
scenic view (61)
neighborhood gem (40)
notable wine list (39)
great for outdoor dining (36)
good for groups (20)
hot spot (12)
vibrant bar scene (8)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (3)
great for brunch (3)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1219 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went to the Gamekeeper for our annive ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 6 days ago

We went to the Gamekeeper for our anniversary, and we were very impressed. The vegetable plate was awesome and included local seasonal and root vegetables. The filet and the bison ribeye both were tender and juicy. The waitress was knowledgeable and sweet. It's a bit pricey but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the 4th time we've been to The G ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is the 4th time we've been to The Gamekeeper and the first time I've written a review, one that is long overdue. This might be my favorite place to dine I've been in....ever. Service and fare has always been top drawer. Menu variety was outstanding. I've had buffalo, ostrich, elk, pheasant and now emu. Emu is by far the favorite meat I've ordered. Wine list is very complete and the wait staff is knowledgeable and very pleasant. The bar seats about 15-20 if you want a drink and the bartenders were attentive. The setting of the restaurant off Shull's Mill Road is the perfect complement for the fare they serve. Almost forgot about the desert. Bourbon pecan bread pudding....and a glass of port. What else can I say? Go and enjoy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

$52 for Bison Ribeye and only got 2ounce ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

$52 for Bison Ribeye and only got 2ounces of meat.Had to wait hour for food..way overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

Exceptional dining experience. We were e ...

vip
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Exceptional dining experience. We were excited to try something new and the menu did not disappoint. The taste and presentation was absolutely fabulous Our waitress Cappa was so knowledgeable and helpful in guiding us with our choices. It was a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Gamekeeper has been one of my favori ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The Gamekeeper has been one of my favorite restaurants in the Boone area for over 6 years now and it did not disappoint this last go-round. Everything was delicious, we ate off both the bar and regular dinner menu; my favorite was the ostrich burger. Every meat was cooked to perfection and the seasonal dishes were perfect as usual. Thanks Ken and Wendy for an excellent experience, this will always be my favorite spot!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible atmosphere inside an old ston ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Incredible atmosphere inside an old stone house with a wood-burning fireplace. Exquisite service with every attention to detail. Try the emu steak. Best meal in Blowing Rock.! I'd come back just for the atmosphere tho.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were on vacation and have been to the ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were on vacation and have been to the Game Keeper before and enjoyed it. This time it was just the 2 of us. The food was very good. What made the occasion though was the personable nature of our waiter, Noah. He was absolutely great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Possibly the best wild game on the east ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Possibly the best wild game on the east coast. Truly a treat!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to The Gamekeep ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was our first visit to The Gamekeeper. The menu is varied with a number of items not typically served in many restaurants (e.g., Emu, Ostrich). Our salads and entrees were excellent. The atmosphere is rustic and the staff was pleasant and knowledgeable. The lag time between various stages of dinner could have been shorter though (2+ hours without dessert). Also, the background music was quirky (a selection of TV themes and other Sixties' music). Someone needs to tell them about Pandora. All in all, a big check mark on the food selection and quality but don't go there if you're in a hurry or on a budget!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Again we dined at Gamekeeper, one of our ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Again we dined at Gamekeeper, one of our favorites in the North Carolina mountains. Service, from valet parking thru dessert = IMPECCABLE. Food, extensive menu = emu, elk, venison, trout = I had trout, well prepared, well served. Will be back several times this summer season.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I hadn't been here in years, and I had f ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I hadn't been here in years, and I had forgotten what a great restaurant this is. We enjoyed wonderful inventive cocktails, great bread, fabulous salads, delicious entrée of Wreck fish, and fabulous blueberry cobbler dessert with peach ice cream. The vegetables served with the entrée were exceptionally good too! Our waitress was wonderful and very knowledgeable. We enjoyed the mountain view too! We will definitely return when we are next in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gamekeeper is always fantastic. Cappa as ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Gamekeeper is always fantastic. Cappa as a waitress is wonderful and flawless.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great dinner! Where else can you get em ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great dinner! Where else can you get emu-delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Extremely pricey for the region. Waitre ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Extremely pricey for the region. Waitress was friendly, but service was painfully slow and at times inattentive. Food was average, overly seasoned and over sauced. Wine list is extensive.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

An eclectic menu featuring elk, emu and ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

An eclectic menu featuring elk, emu and other exotics. Skillfully prepared and presented. Service was well intended, but somewhat slow and forgetful. The bar was warm and welcoming and featured an excellent inventory. Notable wine list with special values on Thursday's. Great spot for special occasions. The nighttime drive a little intimidating for flat landers.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was excellent especially the mixed ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Food was excellent especially the mixed grill appetizer

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This is a rare, special spot on a spooky ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This is a rare, special spot on a spooky, curvy trail in a forest. I'd find it again any given chance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My elk wasn't seasoned enough and came o ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My elk wasn't seasoned enough and came out a bit too rare. Plenty of fresh seasonal vegetables that were seasoned very well. Interesting menu but pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food great service great atmospher ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great food great service great atmosphere. One of the best dining experiences of my life

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a very interesting place to visi ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This is a very interesting place to visit with excellent service, however the menu is very hit or miss. Do NOT go here if you like to order fish as they always overcook it. This was my 3rd visit to the restaurant and 3rd rubbery fish dish. Their thing is definitely meat. The accompaniments are delishious though. My dates have always ordered meat dishes, and the high prices they charge for elk, bison and emu do not justify the very small meat portions they tend to serve. A bit disappointing there. The fried oyster appetizer is excellent, but the mixed meat plate for 2 that was listed as an appetizer but recommended as an entree for 1 consisted mostly of French fries and a small serving of meats. There are so many great places to eat in blowing rock that I would advise eating elsewhere especially for the amount of money you would spend here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I started a little disappointed because ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I started a little disappointed because I had made reservations for 8pm (weeks in advanced). I know we had a big group (party of 8) but we had confirmed we were coming. We arrived 10 minutes before 8pm and had to wait until 8:20pm to be seated. I have to say my disappointment didn't last long. Our waiter was super kind and knowledgeable about the menu and wine list. The service was great.

The food was awesome, I had great expectations about the menu and was excited to try game meat. The dishes were fabulous, tasty and well presented. By far my preferred dish was the Bison. We tried Elk, Emu, Duck, Oistrich, Rainbow trout. Everyone in our table was satisfied and amazed by their meals.

We'll definitely visit again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The duck was disappointing and tough--a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The duck was disappointing and tough--a disappointing change from last year. The trout, elk and bison were good. Service was excellent after the disappointing duck

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We had the emu and elk. Both were delici ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had the emu and elk. Both were delicious, but the elk was outstanding. We were very impressed and loved the opportunity to try something new and different. There was fish and vegetarian options for the less adventurous. The quality was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

There was even something for the vegatar ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

There was even something for the vegatarian in our group. Dessert was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit to the Gamekeep ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This was my second visit to the Gamekeeper. Both times it was my birthday event!! We had SUCH a great meal. The food is so different & so tasty! The service was perfectly awesome. Matt in the bar was so friendly & highly entertaining. Our server was such a sweetheart! I wish I could remember her name. We dined on wild boar sausage, rabbit sausage, emu, bison, & everything was perfectly prepared. Dessert was cheesecake with chocolate topping. So yummy. Oh, we arrived early but were having so much fun at the bar that we requested our table reservation to be moved a bit later. NO PROBLEM they said, as there was no one waiting behind us. Lastly, before we arrived I received a personal phone call birthdays wish from the manager!! Too sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dining experience at The Gamekeeper ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Our dining experience at The Gamekeeper far exceeded our expectations! We had excellent service & the food was a heavenly experience. We were seated at a romantic window table with a view & our very talented waitress sang the most beautiful song to me for my birthday.

It was one of our top dining experiences & we highly recommend this restaurant. Can't wait to celebrate my husband's birthday at The Gamekeeper!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely best in the high country. Tro ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Absolutely best in the high country.

Trout outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just overall excellent, will defiantly r ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Just overall excellent, will defiantly return for another special occasion.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fabulous evening for my husband's birt ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

A fabulous evening for my husband's birthday. The staff went all out to make things special...fabulous food, great caring service, nice wine and complimentary birthday dessert.

Our new favorite restaurant. We will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, staff is outstanding, very k ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great food, staff is outstanding, very knowledgeable. Great place to go for date night. My wife and I will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classy. The service, food, and ambiance ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Classy. The service, food, and ambiance were absolutely wonderful and everyone was professional. Classy in every way without being formal. One item that can make or break a dining experience for us is the background sound/volume. You provided lovely dining music at a moderate volume. We were able to have a private conversation AND enjoy the music. This is a rare and wonderful balance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a wonderful experience at GameKeeper ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Had a wonderful experience at GameKeeper. Food was delicious, beer and wine selection were excellent. Can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waitress was Capa was perfect. We w ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our waitress was Capa was perfect. We would definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were celebrating our 53rd wedding ann ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We were celebrating our 53rd wedding anniversary and have been eating at The Gamekeeper for many years. They offer a menu that you can't find elsewhere. We appreciate good food and wine, so this is the place we chose. The service and food were as expected and will return soon. -- An excellent rating is a hard one for us to give.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Awful. Absolutely awful. I've been to th ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Awful. Absolutely awful. I've been to the gamekeeper a number of times during my years at AppState, and was dying to take my fiancé. Food was gross, service was terrible, tables were too close together and WAY too much money for what we got. Sadly, won't be going again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The entire experience was absolutely ama ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The entire experience was absolutely amazing. Loved everything about the food, service and ambiance!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best experience ever!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The best experience ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overpriced. Over $200 for 4 people with ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Overpriced. Over $200 for 4 people with no alcohol and 1 appetizer and 1 dessert. The 4 entres were all equally lacking in portion and not much meat. Same vegetables on each plate and the one side was very small. Did not leave feeling fulfilled but left with a empty wallet.

Great ambiance and wonderful service! Glad we tried it, but pretty disappointed.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Our annual Family Gourmet Dining Adventure

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Our adult family enjoys many dining adventures together; our annual Memorial weekend exceptional dining experience at The Gamekeeper is one we always look forward to and cherish. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very interesting menu and super wine values

vip
 (Baja California)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

It takes some driving to reach this restaurant but worth the drive. Definitely want to return to sample more interesting game. Elk was best I had eaten. Bison steak was a step above that. Plenty more to try. Fish and beef for the not so adventurous too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.