About The Gamekeeper

3005 Shull's Mill Road
Boone, NC 28607
View Larger Map

You haven't fully experienced the Blowing Rock, NC region until you've dined at The Gamekeeper. It's a true gourmet restaurant, with an engaging blend of upscale elegance and mountain charm. Famous for an evolving menu that blends the traditional with the exotic, The Gamekeeper features a selection of perfectly prepared game, plus a range of continental and American entrees. Acclaimed chef Ken Gordon and wife Wendy are owners who bring tremendous warmth and skill to the table, treating you more as friends than guests. You'll experience a meal to remember that includes fine wines, decadent desserts and a generous serving of personal attention. You'll leave happy and impressed with a desire to return soon!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
During the winter season, we will be open Thursday through Saturday, 5 - 9 pm. In the event of inclement weather, please give us a call before heading out.

We are also happy to open other hours for your special event.

Cross Street:
100 yards up Shulls Mill Rd from the entrance to Yonahlossee

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 963-7400

Website:
http://www.gamekeeper-nc.com/

Catering:
We have a private dining room that very comfortably seats 25 guests.

But we also love to cater and we have the perfect spot for larger groups. The Gk is partnering with Camp Sky Ranch Events. Together we are thrilled to offer you the perfect venue and fare to treat your guests to the ultimate modern mountain event.

Parking Details:
Valet service on Fridays and Saturdays

Executive Chef:
Ken Gordon

Private Party Facilities:
The rustic feel of Camp Sky Ranch paired with our chefs seasonal Appalachian flavors brings class and comfort to the table. The dining hall with its stone fireplace is large yet cozy. Across the groomed pasture (perfect for a big tent) is an open air chapel set beside a babbling brook.

A valley unto itself, Camp Sky Ranch is the perfect place for your favorite people to come together and enjoy an event that will remain amongst their fondest memories.

Private Party Contact:
Wendy Gordon: (828) 963-7400x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit Camp Sky Ranch Events for a taste of what we do. http://www.campskyranchevents.com/

Email Wendy Gordon to see if your preferred date is available. She'll gladly call you back when it's convenient for you to go over the details.

You'll probably want to go ahead and set up a time to see this beautiful spot. It's truly the stuff dreams are made of.

wendy@gamekeeper-nc.com

Restaurant Photos

Elk Loin Chop
Bison Ribeye
Buffalo Tenderloin with Blue Cheese macaroni
fried oysters
Buffalo Loin With Crawfish
Duck With Mashed Sweet Potates And Honey
Red Wine
Venison Osso Bucco
Bowtie Pasta With Shitaki Mushrooms, Squash, And Local Goat Cheese
Wild Boar With Fingerling Potato Salad And Vegetables
Grilled Shrimp
Elk Chop
Bread Pudding
Ultra Rich Chocolate Cake
Elk And Acorn Squash

The Gamekeeper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Romantic
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Special Occasion
Asheville / W. North Carolina
1 More
Most Booked
Blowing Rock
Best Restaurants in Blowing Rock ›

Special Occasion (94)
Fit for Foodies (79)
Romantic (68)
See All
Scenic View (64)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
Notable Wine List (38)
Good for Groups (22)
Hot Spot (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1246 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Darcy made us feel special and as , the ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

Darcy made us feel special and as , the cuisine is crazy good !

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved every minute.friendly staff, fanta ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Loved every minute.friendly staff, fantastic food, ambiance, server, Noah, was A++. A must - - well worth the drive!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Casual, Private Room, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Vegan, Fireplace, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place fantastic food. A must try ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Amazing place fantastic food. A must try restaurant. Great service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Historic, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The highlight of our trip thru NC. What ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The highlight of our trip thru NC. What an experience and adventure unlike any other! Service/Mgt exceptional. Will be talking about it for years.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined here a few times now and w ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We have dined here a few times now and we always enjoy the food. The staff is always asking how things are and attentive. Not one time have we been disappointed. The food is very tasty. This is a great place to take visitors to the high country. It's a little out of our way but worth the trip.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Vegan, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Interesting menu and excellent service b ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Interesting menu and excellent service but expensive

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a superb meal and delicious wine ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had a superb meal and delicious wine at this gem of a restaurant. Kappa, as always, provided us with impeccable service. She answered all of our questions about the menu and helped pick out a bottle of wine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservation at 8 - we weren't seated unt ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Reservation at 8 - we weren't seated until 9. Appetizers and dinner served at the same time. Steak and Trout were cold. Ran out of ice cream - really? So disappointed because the restaurant ambiance was very cozy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Love coming here. When we visit Blowing ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Love coming here. When we visit Blowing Rock several times during the year,it's our #1 spot.

Love the little bar and bartender,very friendly,intimate and he knows how to make a cocktail!

Food out of this world,mountain trout and bison. Yummy!

They were very busy ,so slow service ,but really didn't mind it.

A must to dine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was delicious and our service w ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was delicious and our service was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I got a call from the restaurant asking ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I got a call from the restaurant asking us to move our time from 6:30 to 6:00 because they were so booked. I agreed to do that. When we were seated, it was by the front door/ and hostess station. There were 4 of us and we were seated at a round table for 6. I asked to be moved to a table for 4 and was told there was nothing else available. Conversation was awkward due to large table. I made my reservation several weeks ahead and requested a certain table. Will not return unless I can get a better location. Our son and his girflriend were visiting from Florida. Special occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

First time patrons. Came highly recomme ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

First time patrons. Came highly recommended by friends. It wa better than they said. Fun non traditional fare excellently prepared and presented.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a highlight for my summer trip to ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always a highlight for my summer trip to the Blowing Rock area!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A group of friends and I have been going ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

A group of friends and I have been going to the mountains for about 8 years and we choose our weekend rental based on its proximity to the Gameskeeper. The restaurant never disappoints. Despite its name and its focus on meat dishes, the vegetarian plate is often the group's favorite. The bar, restaurant, and valet service are all professional and courteous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A favorite of ours for years. Our bill ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

A favorite of ours for years. Our bill was pricey, however we did enjoy some wine. Food was delicious, wait staff was adorable. We stayed and had after dinner drinks...shut the place down. We will go back at Thanksgiving!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not nearly as good as good as it used to ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Not nearly as good as good as it used to be. We were a little disappointed in that hostess gave us a hard time when we did not want to sit right outside the kitchen door. She was very put out.

Also, the food was good but not great. I expect great when my entree is $46.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Wonderful. I tried elk for the first tim ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Wonderful. I tried elk for the first time and loved it. We were so stuffed that we had to order a dessert to go to eat later, and even that was delicious. The service was very attentive and kind. We had Taylor, and she was just great. It's a great place for a splurge, and we will be back again next summer. The only awkward thing is that it was so quiet in there initially that it felt like the tables nearby could probably hear everything we were saying!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was an amazing find while on vacati ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This was an amazing find while on vacation for our anniversary. The food was incredible, particularly the emu and the elk. The service was fantastic. Order the mixed grill appetizer. We loved every bit of it. By far one of the best meals we've had. Well worth the trip and the cost. Save room for dessert!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great dinner -- early seating as i ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Had a great dinner -- early seating as it got crowded service slowed a little but not too bad. Server was helpful and made good recommendations. Have been here several times and this was one of our better dinners.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food is amazing. Kappa is our favorite ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food is amazing. Kappa is our favorite waitress. Didn't like the round table this visit. We had trouble hearing each other talk between music,other diners,and our hearing issues due to age.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!!!! Most incredible food I have ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Amazing!!!! Most incredible food I have ever had, excellent service, beautiful place. A wonderfully unique experience!

A perfect 10!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time dining at the ga ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was our first time dining at the gamekeeper. My wife and I have a house in West Jefferson and came out for our wedding anniversary. Food was very good and definitely different from the norm. Valets were very friendly, though I'm not sure how necessary considering the size of the lot, location, and size of the venue. Wait staff was friendly, but nothing wowed us about the experience there. I was expecting it to be a little nicer, I.e. White table cloths and more of a fine dining experience. It was a good time though and enjoyed the atmosphere. Wish there was more of a view but that is impossible to change I imagine. I did order a drink from the bar and it was made very well so that is definitely a plus. All in all, a very nice dinner and I imagine we will be back at some point.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent dining experience for our grou ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent dining experience for our group. Food was perfectly prepared and presentation was wonderful. We all enjoyed the exotic game, desserts, wines and ambiance. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Because we were on vacation this was the ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Because we were on vacation this was the second time in 4 days that we had dinner here. Once again one of the best meals (Bison) I have ever had. Also, plenty of choice on the wine we enjoyed s nice full cab called "Caravan" which was recommended by the sommelier.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the Gamekeeper. We return every ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We love the Gamekeeper. We return every time we are in the area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food fabulous as always. Service also ou ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food fabulous as always. Service also outstanding. Just a great place and one we come to every time we are in the area. Have never been disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to the Gamekeeper for our annive ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We went to the Gamekeeper for our anniversary, and we were very impressed. The vegetable plate was awesome and included local seasonal and root vegetables. The filet and the bison ribeye both were tender and juicy. The waitress was knowledgeable and sweet. It's a bit pricey but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the 4th time we've been to The G ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is the 4th time we've been to The Gamekeeper and the first time I've written a review, one that is long overdue. This might be my favorite place to dine I've been in....ever. Service and fare has always been top drawer. Menu variety was outstanding. I've had buffalo, ostrich, elk, pheasant and now emu. Emu is by far the favorite meat I've ordered. Wine list is very complete and the wait staff is knowledgeable and very pleasant. The bar seats about 15-20 if you want a drink and the bartenders were attentive. The setting of the restaurant off Shull's Mill Road is the perfect complement for the fare they serve. Almost forgot about the desert. Bourbon pecan bread pudding....and a glass of port. What else can I say? Go and enjoy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a special treat to dine at The Ga ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always a special treat to dine at The Gamekeeper. It is one of our all time favorites.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

$52 for Bison Ribeye and only got 2ounce ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

$52 for Bison Ribeye and only got 2ounces of meat.Had to wait hour for food..way overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

Exceptional dining experience. We were e ...

vip
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Exceptional dining experience. We were excited to try something new and the menu did not disappoint. The taste and presentation was absolutely fabulous Our waitress Cappa was so knowledgeable and helpful in guiding us with our choices. It was a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Gamekeeper has been one of my favori ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The Gamekeeper has been one of my favorite restaurants in the Boone area for over 6 years now and it did not disappoint this last go-round. Everything was delicious, we ate off both the bar and regular dinner menu; my favorite was the ostrich burger. Every meat was cooked to perfection and the seasonal dishes were perfect as usual. Thanks Ken and Wendy for an excellent experience, this will always be my favorite spot!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible atmosphere inside an old ston ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Incredible atmosphere inside an old stone house with a wood-burning fireplace. Exquisite service with every attention to detail. Try the emu steak. Best meal in Blowing Rock.! I'd come back just for the atmosphere tho.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were on vacation and have been to the ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were on vacation and have been to the Game Keeper before and enjoyed it. This time it was just the 2 of us. The food was very good. What made the occasion though was the personable nature of our waiter, Noah. He was absolutely great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Possibly the best wild game on the east ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Possibly the best wild game on the east coast. Truly a treat!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to The Gamekeep ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was our first visit to The Gamekeeper. The menu is varied with a number of items not typically served in many restaurants (e.g., Emu, Ostrich). Our salads and entrees were excellent. The atmosphere is rustic and the staff was pleasant and knowledgeable. The lag time between various stages of dinner could have been shorter though (2+ hours without dessert). Also, the background music was quirky (a selection of TV themes and other Sixties' music). Someone needs to tell them about Pandora. All in all, a big check mark on the food selection and quality but don't go there if you're in a hurry or on a budget!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Again we dined at Gamekeeper, one of our ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Again we dined at Gamekeeper, one of our favorites in the North Carolina mountains. Service, from valet parking thru dessert = IMPECCABLE. Food, extensive menu = emu, elk, venison, trout = I had trout, well prepared, well served. Will be back several times this summer season.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I hadn't been here in years, and I had f ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I hadn't been here in years, and I had forgotten what a great restaurant this is. We enjoyed wonderful inventive cocktails, great bread, fabulous salads, delicious entrée of Wreck fish, and fabulous blueberry cobbler dessert with peach ice cream. The vegetables served with the entrée were exceptionally good too! Our waitress was wonderful and very knowledgeable. We enjoyed the mountain view too! We will definitely return when we are next in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gamekeeper is always fantastic. Cappa as ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Gamekeeper is always fantastic. Cappa as a waitress is wonderful and flawless.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great dinner! Where else can you get em ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great dinner! Where else can you get emu-delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.