About The Gamekeeper

3005 Shull's Mill Road
Boone, NC 28607
View Larger Map

You haven't fully experienced the Blowing Rock, NC region until you've dined at The Gamekeeper. It's a true gourmet restaurant, with an engaging blend of upscale elegance and mountain charm. Famous for an evolving menu that blends the traditional with the exotic, The Gamekeeper features a selection of perfectly prepared game, plus a range of continental and American entrees. Acclaimed chef Ken Gordon and wife Wendy are owners who bring tremendous warmth and skill to the table, treating you more as friends than guests. You'll experience a meal to remember that includes fine wines, decadent desserts and a generous serving of personal attention. You'll leave happy and impressed with a desire to return soon!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
During the winter season, we will be open Thursday through Saturday, 5 - 9 pm. In the event of inclement weather, please give us a call before heading out.

We are also happy to open other hours for your special event.

Cross Street:
100 yards up Shulls Mill Rd from the entrance to Yonahlossee

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 963-7400

Website:
http://www.gamekeeper-nc.com/

Catering:
We have a private dining room that very comfortably seats 25 guests.

But we also love to cater and we have the perfect spot for larger groups. The Gk is partnering with Camp Sky Ranch Events. Together we are thrilled to offer you the perfect venue and fare to treat your guests to the ultimate modern mountain event.

Parking Details:
Valet service on Fridays and Saturdays

Executive Chef:
Ken Gordon

Private Party Facilities:
The rustic feel of Camp Sky Ranch paired with our chefs seasonal Appalachian flavors brings class and comfort to the table. The dining hall with its stone fireplace is large yet cozy. Across the groomed pasture (perfect for a big tent) is an open air chapel set beside a babbling brook.

A valley unto itself, Camp Sky Ranch is the perfect place for your favorite people to come together and enjoy an event that will remain amongst their fondest memories.

Private Party Contact:
Wendy Gordon: (828) 963-7400x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please visit Camp Sky Ranch Events for a taste of what we do. http://www.campskyranchevents.com/

Email Wendy Gordon to see if your preferred date is available. She'll gladly call you back when it's convenient for you to go over the details.

You'll probably want to go ahead and set up a time to see this beautiful spot. It's truly the stuff dreams are made of.

wendy@gamekeeper-nc.com

Restaurant Photos

The Gamekeeper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Food
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Service
Asheville / W. North Carolina
7 More
Best Ambiance
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Notable Wine List
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Romantic
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Scenic View
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Special Occasion
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Most Booked
Blowing Rock
Best Restaurants in Blowing Rock ›

special occasion (78)
fit for foodies (69)
romantic (64)
See All
scenic view (52)
notable wine list (38)
neighborhood gem (26)
good for groups (18)
great for outdoor dining (16)
vibrant bar scene (10)
hot spot (9)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1169 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal and service I have had in Nort ...

Dined 4 days ago

Best meal and service I have had in North Carolina

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! That's about the best way I know h ...

Dined 4 days ago

Wow! That's about the best way I know how to describe the Gamekeeper! Lots of dishes that you won't find in most restaurants; with knowledgeable and helpful staff to help select a delicious meal! Drinks, appetizers, meals, desserts...We've never been disappointed and will most certainly keep going back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal in a beautiful setting! Well ...

Dined 4 days ago

Great meal in a beautiful setting! Well worth the drive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We lucked upon this spot years ago, and ...

Dined 5 days ago

We lucked upon this spot years ago, and since then every trip to the area HAD to include a stop. We just purchased a home in Blowing Rock, and we will soon be regulars!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Good if you like game. Expensive somewh ...

Dined 5 days ago

Good if you like game. Expensive somewhat. Not enough American entrees on the menu.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance and food for a special oc ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great ambiance and food for a special occasion. Just right with casual elegance:) THANKS!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Gamekeeper is our favorite restaurant an ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Gamekeeper is our favorite restaurant and has been for years. We go a few times a season. There is always a great menu and they work to make our visit pleasant.

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The Gamekeeper is definitely one of the ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The Gamekeeper is definitely one of the few fine dining restaurants in the Boone/Banner Elk area. I would recommend it's worth trying, however after two dinners there, I would rate the entrees as average and overpriced. The starters and salads are great, the wine list was reasonable. Good atmosphere and service, but overpriced.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in the High Country

Dined on May 11, 2016

Best restaurant in the High Country

food5
ambience5
service5

Lots of great game meat choices, cooked ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Lots of great game meat choices, cooked perfectly, but you HAVE to try the bread pudding!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

Dined on May 7, 2016

Noah was a wonderful server. We were visitors to the area and he took the time to write us a list of cool local things to check out. The food was flawless and timely in arriving to the table.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Highly recommend

Dined on April 30, 2016

Food and service were great!! Staff sang nice birthday song to my husband. We will definitely return.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite!

Dined on April 29, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in the Boone/Blowing Rock area! We choose to go there both nights when we visit because it is just that good! We don't want to go anywhere else. The food and service NEVER disappoint. We like that they know and communicate to their customers where their food comes from. You won't be disappointed if you eat there! The potatoe soup is the best I've ever had!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

Dined on April 28, 2016

My wife and I spent out 10th anniversary dinner here, and it was completely worth it. We very much enjoyed the atmosphere, and the food was absolutely stellar.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great service, great view!

Dined on April 23, 2016

I had heard about the Gamekeeper and wanted to give it a try. It totally exceeded our expectations. The service was fantastic from the valet parking attendant to the hostess to the bartender to the server. The food was outstanding. The mixed grill appetizer was delicious! My trout was divine, and my husband loved his (elk?)! The caramel bourbon bread pudding was to die for. I will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great For Family Gatherings

Dined on April 23, 2016

My wife and I had dinner with our youngest son and his wife before they left for 3 years in the UK. Truly a great ending to a great day. As a hunting couple my wife and I found all the game dishes to be excellent. Wine was great, service excellent and just a great all round experience. I would highly recommend the Gamekeeper

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We eat here whenever we are in the area. ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

We eat here whenever we are in the area. This time, I had Emu and the wife had Elk. Both were excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great game

Dined on April 10, 2016

brilliant and unique dishes with local wild game. beautiful ambiance. fancy but not pretentious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!! We look forward to dining th ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Wonderful!! We look forward to dining there again!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

In my top 5 all world restaurant list!

Dined on April 9, 2016

This was our 4th visit to Gamekeeper. We travel from Florida just to eat at this spot. Our 4th visit did not disappoint. Everything from trout to elk was amazing. The sampler app is a MUST. Very nice wine list with a few great deals. It was April 8 and it snowed! Beautiful... I really like the addition of valet service. Our friends loved it too. We are planning our next trip for the summer. Our server Kappa was the perfect balance of efficient, witty, and fun.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Choice in the NC Mountains Near Blowing Rock

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

We've been to The Gamekeeper several times and it's highly-recommended. The menu focuses on exotic meats, creatively prepared, and definitely delivers the goods in every way. We were there on a Friday night and Walter's Blue Plate Special offered a choice of two apps, entrees, and desserts for 35 bucks...great deal!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First time dining

Dined on March 31, 2016

This was my first time dining at The GameKeeper. My boyfriend had been there before. I decided to bring him as a surprise. It was a lovely place with very good food. We enjoyed our dinner very much. We will be returning.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious as always

Dined on March 25, 2016

The food was delicious as always

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Out of the Ordinary

Dined on March 19, 2016

If you're looking for something different, and you're a little adventurous - The Gamekeeper is the perfect spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was incredible. You have to st ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

The food was incredible. You have to start out with the mixed grill appatizer. I had the emu and my wife had the elk. They were both delicious. The flourless chocolate cake and bread pudding were great ends to a fantastic meal. What a great way to end our honeymoon. We'll definitely be back.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Outstanding eatery

Dined on March 6, 2016

To start, the service was great. On top of that the food will leave you in awe of how well cooked it is. The portion size is not large however it is sufficient and large in comparison to other fine dining locations. Be prepared to spend around $120 for two, but it will be worth every savory cent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Overpriced

Dined on March 5, 2016

The portions were small and overpriced. We brought our own wine and the server did not even pour the wine they opened it and left, the second bottle was opened and no new glasses were used. The wine corkage at 25 per bottle was overpriced.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food as always. Wonderful dri ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

Fantastic food as always. Wonderful drinks. Can't been this gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Elk vs Bison

Dined on February 20, 2016

I ordered the elk which was excellent. My husband had the bison skirt steak and found it chewy and scant in quantity. We did not ask that the meal be removed from our bill but the staff wanted to make sure we return and went out of their way to satisfy us. We will return.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Outstanding food

Dined on February 20, 2016

The food and wine were fantastic. Service was slow- waiter admitted it was his second day working -so he had to go to the kitchen to answer any question. We were only able to get a 5:00 or 8:30 reservation- so book early. The restaurant is very inviting- large windows allow plenty of light in.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I visited The Gamekeeper ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

My husband and I visited The Gamekeeper during a visit to Boone. The food, by far, was some of the best food I have ever had. The service was great and the atmosphere was too. We will definitely visit next time we're in town!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent

Dined on February 20, 2016

from serivice to food it was all excellent . Pricey but well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The BestDinner We Have Had

Dined on February 19, 2016

We started at the bar, great service, excellent drinks (drinks were too pricey though), then went to a table beside a huge window and the fire. We ordered the meat appetizer, Emu is outstanding, bison was fabulous. For entrees we had duck and elk, the duck was ok. Our meal wasn't too expensive for what we got, I have already recommended this place to so many people.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Wait staff not very personable. Long wa ...

Dined on February 18, 2016

Wait staff not very personable. Long wait time for food. Food was mediocre and over priced.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

What a restaurant! Everything from the ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

What a restaurant! Everything from the hillside to the food was excellent. Will definitely be back when in the area. If it's on the menu get the Emu. You won't be disappointed.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Valentine Weekend

Dined on February 13, 2016

The Gamekeeper is always fun for special occasions, though they had nothing special for Saturday night Valentine Day Eve. The game meats are always very good and well-prepared. The fish dish we had was a bit light on fish and a bit heavy on accompaniments and spice. The wine list has enough price range and variety to suit just about anyone. Wait staff is always great! Overall, always a great time out.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the service w ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was outstanding.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great food Order the Elk Please with a bottle of Saldo Zin.... service was great

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food and great service!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great food and great service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent!

Dined on February 12, 2016

The food was unique and outstanding. Everything was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.