About The Gage

24 South Michigan Ave
Chicago, IL 60603
View Larger Map

The Gage is a 4-star rated restaurant located across from Millennium Park in a historically landmarked building built in the late 1800s. The Gage offers upscale, yet casual dining in a vintage atmosphere inspired by the gastropubs of Ireland and England. Time Out has said The Gage's menu "covers every craving" and includes Scotch eggs, fresh seafood, locally made sausages, burgers, steaks and salads. The Libations list features craft beers, interesting wines and a selection of Irish whiskeys and single malts. The Gage offers the perfect setting for a casual drink, a business meeting or a formal event--refined rusticity--steps from Millennium Park.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
SUNDAY
10am-10pm
(bar open until 11pm)

MONDAY
11am-10pm
(bar open until 11pm)

TUESDAY - THURSDAY
11am-11pm
(bar open until 12am)

FRIDAY
11am-12am
(bar open until 2am)

SATURDAY
10am-12am
(bar open until 3am)

Cross Street:
Between Madison St. and Monroe St. across from Millenium Park.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 372-4243

Website:
http://www.thegagechicago.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is offered by The University Club at 76 E. Monroe. In addition, there are several parking lots located just steps from the restaurant. The closest lot is the Grant Park Garage which can be accessed from Michigan Avenue. The elevator/escalator at the South end of the garage is located directly in front of the restaurant's entrance.

Public Transit:
The Brown, Purple, Green, Orange and Pink Lines drop you off at Madison St. and Wabash St. (just a few blocks from the restaurant). The Red Line drops you off at Monroe St. and State St. (just a few blocks from the restaurant. The 3, 4, X4, 14, 26, 127, 145, 147, 148, and 151 bus routes all stop within a block of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Gawronski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Josh Raavel - jraavel@thegagechicago.com
312-372-4001

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

House poutine - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Fried Pickels - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Halibut - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Brussel sprouts - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Prime Plus Ribeye Bone-In 16 Oz - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Shishito Peppers - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Watermelon and Burrata Salad - The Gage, Chicago, IL
French Toast - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Caramel Sticky Bun - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Chilaquiles - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Postalle Service - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Scotch Egg - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Maple Glazed Pumpkin Spiced Donuts - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Wild Elk Rack - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Venison Burger - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Chips (Fries) with Curry Gravy - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Pork Belly - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Today's Fish and Chips - The Gage, Chicago, IL
House Crafted Sausages - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Lamb Stew Vindaloo - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Beet Salad - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Beignets - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Chocolate Mousse - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Vindaloo Mussels - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Fried Chicken Liver - The Gage, Chicago, IL
St Germain Cocktail - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Chocolate Tart and Carmel Popcorn  - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Dry Aged Ribeye - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Breakfast Poutine - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Frites - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Fish and Chips - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Scotch Eggs - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Seared Sea Scallops - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Potatos - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Moscow Mule - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Pork Belly, Cheese Grits, Poached Egg - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Short Ribs In Sweet Bbq Sauce - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Affligem - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Pbr Battered Fried Pickles - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Sausages  - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Ceasar Salad - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Beer - The Gage, Chicago, IL
New England Lobster Roll - The Gage, Chicago, IL
House Bread - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Weihenstephan - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Lobster and Grits  - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Seared Nantucket Sea Scallops - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Whole Idaho Rainbow Trout - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Creole Gumbo - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Penne - The Gage, Chicago, IL
"The Gage" Burger - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Bacon - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Bread and Butter - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Duck Breast, Confit, Vannila-peach Sauce - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Bison Tartare - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Toast - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Lamb Chops & Stew Vindaloo - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Sandwich - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Chocolate Mousse Zabaglione, Cherries Compote, Brown Butter Bread Trifle with Salted Caramel Ice Cream - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Fried Zuchinni - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Scottish Eggs - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Lambchops - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Greek Salad - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Arctic White Char - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Rib Eye Steak With Roasted Brussel Sprouts - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Duck Fat Fries With Vindaloo Sauce - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Basil Escargot Goat Cheese Risotto - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Seared diver scallops, Korean braised bbq short ribs, kimchi, Chinese broccoli, toasted peanuts - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Lobster in crispy chicken skin, blue cheese, hot sauce vinaigrette - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Ginger Lemonade Cocktail Drinks Beverage - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Vanilla scented sea scallops, ruby grapefruit, salad of endive, mint, fennel, lemon zest - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Scotch Egg with Wholegrain Mustard - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Poutine W/ Elk Ragu - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Chocolate Peanut Butter Layer Cake - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Blackberry Sorbet - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Gage N-17 Fondue - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Pine roasted sea trout, haricot vert, orange-carrot emulsion, smoked crème fraîche beurre blanc, trout roe - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Vanilla-coconut Beignets, Pineapple, Candied Macadamia, Coconut-lime Ice Cream - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Passion fruit mousse, olive oil financier crisp, king's ginger-pear granita, mint gel - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Fish & Chips - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Malted Chocolate Tart - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Pork Porterhouse - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Buttermilk Panna Cotta, Cornbread, Caramel Corn, Cherry Compote - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Old Fashioned No. 24 - The Gage, Chicago, IL
The Gage Upgrade - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Fish 'n Chips - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Tuna With Chimichurri - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Bone Marrow - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Beet, Arugula, Green Bean, Pecan, And Goat Cheese Salad - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Potato Salad Arugula, Cream Onion Dressing - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Goose Island Luciana - The Gage, Chicago, IL
The Gage Single Barrel 9 Year Bourbon:  - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Crisp Rabbit Salad with Arugula and Arare Rice - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Fried Pickles And Chipotle Aioli - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Pumpkin Beignets - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Blueberry Apple Ale - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Whisky Flight - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Harrisa Spiced Lentils - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Farmer's Salad - The Gage, Chicago, IL

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Gage's menu "covers every craving". Ideal for private parties, rehearsal dinners and corporate meetings, The Gage's event space options include semi-private and private dining rooms offering the vibe of a busy establishment or complete privacy.

The Gage Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (91)
Fit for Foodies (87)
Pre/post Theatre (85)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (78)
Special Occasion (75)
Business Meals (71)
Bar Seating (68)
Fun (67)
Great for Lunch (66)
Creative Cuisine (64)
Good for Groups (60)
Casual (59)
Hot Spot (58)
Comfort Food (55)
Cozy (52)
Handcrafted Cocktails (45)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Notable Wine List (43)
Good for Birthdays (43)
People Watching (42)
Happy Hour (41)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Authentic (37)
Great Beer (37)
Great for Brunch (33)
Sunday Lunch (31)
Romantic (28)
Modern Decor (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Historic (20)
Late-night Find (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Live Sports (16)
Fireplace (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Quick Bite (15)
Private Room (14)
Outstanding Value (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Scenic View (12)
Seasonal (12)
Healthy (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Family Style (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Organic (4)
Waterfront (4)
Wood Oven (2)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
5692 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great ambiance and delicious good. Perfe ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined a day ago

Great ambiance and delicious good. Perfect Sunday brunch, French toast and corn beef hash were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lively atmosphere and fine dining experi ...

 
 (Norfolk)·Dined 3 days ago

Lively atmosphere and fine dining experience. The staff were great - attentive but not too intrusive. There were a mix of people in the dining area -couples, and friends meeting for a night out.

The menu was short, which I prefer, it shows dishes are cooked from scratch. The wine list was comprehensive. The number of wines around $40 was limited before the prices escalated. We were told about a special wine on the list for that night at $110, for example.

We started with an amazing bourbon cocktail and the waiter agreed that he would not put the food order in until we had time to enjoy it.

I had the duck which was excellent and my husband had fish and chips, which he thoroughly enjoyed. We had a bottle of Pay De L'Aude to accompany the food and tea and coffee to finish. Just the right amount of food, well cooked and presented.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great atmosphere and delicious food! Alw ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Great atmosphere and delicious food! Always enjoyable when dining or just sitting at the bar and enjoying an appetizer.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a delicious meal and fabulous se ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a delicious meal and fabulous service at the Gage. They made sure our mouthwatering veal shanks were delivered quickly so we could make it to Hamilton on time. Five stars from us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As wonderful as it always is!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

As wonderful as it always is!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always come here for my small business ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Always come here for my small business meals and it is always tasty. I make reservation in advance and have always gotten my preferences. The service is always good! I always like coming back.

Tags: Quick Bite, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went with a buddy for the venison burger ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Went with a buddy for the venison burger and a few beers. All was good.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious food, interesting decor, GREAT ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious food, interesting decor, GREAT service, great recommendations and accommodations to our requests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a fabulous meal at the Gage. The ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a fabulous meal at the Gage. The food ranges from comfort food to wonderfully prepared higher end items -- something for everyone. Service was efficient and very friendly.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food excellent as always. M ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Service and food excellent as always. Matthew stopped by twice to make sure everything was ok.

Tags: Modern Decor, , Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to this restaurant many time ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I have been to this restaurant many times and have never been disappointed, from start to finish. Food is excellent, truly love this place!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, People Watching, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to The Gage MANY TIMES. This o ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I've been to The Gage MANY TIMES. This occasion was a lunch for a friend who had never been here. Our server, Gwen, could not have been more attentive, funny, just great! Food, as usual, was very, very good. My friend fell in love with it (as I knew she would) just as I did when it opened about 10 years ago. Thank you to all the people who work at The Gage -- in every capacity.

Tags: Quick Bite, Business Meals, Authentic, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Cozy, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Live Sports, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, , Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Private Room, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience. My favorite r ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Always a great experience. My favorite restaurant in this part of town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Welcome to Chicago! First place my wife ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Welcome to Chicago! First place my wife and I tried and it was outstanding.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome spot! Superb service & food, def ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Awesome spot! Superb service & food, definitely recommend it to foodies out there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and spot. Love it

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great food and spot. Love it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The only drawback at Gage is the noise l ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The only drawback at Gage is the noise level. I try to do a late lunch so it is quieter for conversation. Very pleased!!

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a favorite.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Always a favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for families too!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great place for families too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, the food was delicious. We wa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As always, the food was delicious. We waited longer than normal for our waiter and water to show up, but he did apologize right away and all was well.

The noise level is a bit high, but I'm not sure how that could be changed. Overall, we love The Gage and dine here regularly whenever we are in the city. Great food, nice atmosphere, and always enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The Gage was the perfect place for brunc ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The Gage was the perfect place for brunch! Located directly across from Millennium Park, it was ideally located for our family. The four of us ordered the classic burger, venison burger, gumbo and the chillaquillos (sp?) and all were terrific! Great ambiance - beautiful space. It would be great for couples or families with older kids... just grabbing a cocktail or a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is conveniently located o ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The restaurant is conveniently located on Michigan Avenue right across from millennium Park the menu was a brunch menu with limited selections pricing was average for the city however the drinks were a little expensive for what you got food was about a three out of five, nothing special here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Good food but lot of cheese and oil used

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good food but lot of cheese and oil used

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great location and a really good service

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great location and a really good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful New Year's Eve meal! ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a wonderful New Year's Eve meal!

Thanks!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed a great NYE dinner at Gage. E ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed a great NYE dinner at Gage. Everyone was very attentive from the cocktail waitress to the managers. Wes waited on us and he was awesome. Very pleasant, knowledgeable and fun. He was the perfect person to help make the evening fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The staff were very friendly, we were wa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The staff were very friendly, we were warmly greeted and our waiter was very attentive

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was okay but not as great as we hop ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was okay but not as great as we hoped for New Years Eve. Although the Poutine Pork Fries were AMAZING!!! Elk was great but Lamb Shank was very earthy and lacked seasonings. Brussels and mashed potatoes were great. Drinks were okay but overprices.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was delicious. Wine recommended by ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was delicious. Wine recommended by waiter was fair. Quite noisy but Lively

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The Gage is a great place for a business ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The Gage is a great place for a business lunch. The service was excellent, and everyone made us feel welcome, not the norm these days. The food is very good comfort food, ie. burgers, sandwiches with good flavors plus a convenient location for downtown hotels and attractions. We will be back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome fireplace. Quiet in the back to ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Awesome fireplace. Quiet in the back to talk with couple with us. Might have been too loud closer to the bar. The food is delicious! But my friend and I thought a lot of the dishes read great until the last addition. A puréed veg. A few like that. I wonder if they would consider a purely comfort food (non sandwich) entree, Carbs and all, in the winter. The 4 of us came famished working at the Hilton, at a wedding as the florists. So three of us resorted to the fantastic cheeseburger as that comfort filling food. Just a thought. I would enjoy going again and thought it was a wonderful restaurant.

Tags: Fireplace, Casual, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Quick Bite, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

We were seated a few minutes early, the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were seated a few minutes early, the table was smallish and the space between tables was tight but that seemed to be compensated by the deliciously prepared food, and most of all, by the outstanding service. Everything was cooked right and tasted great. I had the poutin, a venison burger and a chocolate pudding - the servings were enormous and full of taste, texture and flavor. The beer selection was limited but good. In the day and age of "craft" (read "amateur") beer, it was refreshing to find a classic Czech pilsner on tap. Their mijito (not on the menu but they made it anyway) was awesome too. Overall - a really great place for a semi-casual dinner on Michigan Ave.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was simply amazing along with a ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was simply amazing along with a superb on tap beer selection. Scotch Egg was a must followed by the Venison Burger medium rare. Washed down with Pilsner Urquell and a Farmhouse Saison. You won't have room for dessert, but you really need to make room; the chocolate pudding was that good. Nice and cozy seated in a booth way in the back. My wife and I loved it for our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We went to Gage pre-theater for "Hamilto ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We went to Gage pre-theater for "Hamilton" so needless to say, we were in high spirits already. The restaurant did not disappoint. Our first-of-the-evening cocktails were delicious and our waiter was so accommodating to find out the names of both the vermouth (Punt e mes) and the cherries (Fabbri Amarena) used in the drink. We shared the Three Cheese Fondue for an app and it was filling (watch out! It only comes with bread to dip) but delicious. We ate Mushroom Soup with or without the lamb sausage garnish, the Pear and Walnut salad, the Thai Coconut Curry, the Grilled Hangar Steak, and shared an order of Roasted Brussels Sprouts all which were superb. We were too full for dessert and had to get to the show. But we will be back...

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed the food and the thoughtful s ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We enjoyed the food and the thoughtful service. Great place, we hope to return one day.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Cozy, , Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first trip to The Gage. Excellent s ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My first trip to The Gage. Excellent service, food and ambiance. Had my first Scotch Egg...won't be my last. Mussels were outstanding and plentiful. Nice wine list. Our waiter was the best. A fun vibe, great location and I'll be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visually appealing room incorporating be ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Visually appealing room incorporating beautiful materials and various sections for seating make the space inviting.

The Cesar salad was perfect, sauce for the mussels was unique and delicious and our ribeye excellent!

Couple misses at The Gage include a back room near the kitchen that was uncomfortably warm and couldn't hear any music whereas in the front section music was too loud most of the time to comfortablly converse. Both seafood dishes were tasty yet not very hot. Service was average, friendly just not efficient. Drinks empty before offering another and accompanying items taking too long when requested.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Exceptional. In every way.

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Exceptional. In every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice place, great food, service was a li ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Nice place, great food, service was a little slow, Diet Coke was flat and had to ask twice for my drink. Overall pretty good for Michigan Ave

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great place to meet up with people! Love ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great place to meet up with people! Loved the atomosphere. I would definitely recommend it to others.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Casual, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.