About The Gage

24 South Michigan Ave
Chicago, IL 60603
View Larger Map

The Gage is a 4-star rated restaurant located across from Millennium Park in a historically landmarked building built in the late 1800s. The Gage offers upscale, yet casual dining in a vintage atmosphere inspired by the gastropubs of Ireland and England. Time Out has said The Gage's menu "covers every craving" and includes Scotch eggs, fresh seafood, locally made sausages, burgers, steaks and salads. The Libations list features craft beers, interesting wines and a selection of Irish whiskeys and single malts. The Gage offers the perfect setting for a casual drink, a business meeting or a formal event--refined rusticity--steps from Millennium Park.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
SUNDAY
10am-10pm
(bar open until 12am)

MONDAY
11am-10pm
(bar open until 12 am)

TUESDAY - THURSDAY
11am-11pm
(bar open until 2am)

FRIDAY
11am-12am
(bar open until 2am)

SATURDAY
10am-12am
(bar open until 3am)

Cross Street:
Madison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 372-4243

Website:
http://www.thegagechicago.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is offered by The University Club at 76 E. Monroe. In addition, there are several parking lots located just steps from the restaurant. The closest lot is the Grant Park Garage which can be accessed from Michigan Avenue. The elevator/escalator at the South end of the garage is located directly in front of the restaurant's entrance.

Public Transit:
The Brown, Purple, Green, Orange and Pink Lines drop you off at Madison St. and Wabash St. (just a few blocks from the restaurant). The Red Line drops you off at Monroe St. and State St. (just a few blocks from the restaurant. The 3, 4, X4, 14, 26, 127, 145, 147, 148, and 151 bus routes all stop within a block of the restaurant.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

House poutine
Scotch Egg
Fried Pickels
Halibut
French Toast
Brussel sprouts
Prime Plus Ribeye Bone-In 16 Oz
Shishito Peppers
Watermelon and Burrata Salad
Venison Burger
Fish & Chips
Caramel Sticky Bun
Chilaquiles
Postalle Service
Maple Glazed Pumpkin Spiced Donuts
Wild Elk Rack
Pork Belly
Chips (Fries) with Curry Gravy
"The Gage" Burger
Fish and Chips
Bison Tartare
Johnny Cakes
Seared Nantucket Sea Scallops
Whole Idaho Rainbow Trout
Penne
Bread and Butter
Today's Fish and Chips
House Crafted Sausages
Lamb Stew Vindaloo
Beet Salad
Beignets
Chocolate Mousse
Vindaloo Mussels
Fried Chicken Liver
St Germain Cocktail
Chocolate Tart and Carmel Popcorn
Dry Aged Ribeye
Breakfast Poutine
Frites
Scotch Eggs
Seared Sea Scallops
Potatos
Moscow Mule
Pork Belly, Cheese Grits, Poached Egg
Short Ribs In Sweet Bbq Sauce
Affligem
Pbr Battered Fried Pickles
Sausages
Ceasar Salad
Beer
New England Lobster Roll
House Bread
Weihenstephan
Lobster and Grits
Creole Gumbo
Bacon
Duck Breast, Confit, Vannila-peach Sauce
Toast
Lamb Chops & Stew Vindaloo
Sandwich
Chocolate Mousse Zabaglione, Cherries Compote, Brown Butter Bread Trifle with Salted Caramel Ice Cream
Fried Zuchinni
Scottish Eggs
Rib Eye Steak With Roasted Brussel Sprouts
Duck Fat Fries With Vindaloo Sauce
Basil Escargot Goat Cheese Risotto
Seared diver scallops, Korean braised bbq short ribs, kimchi, Chinese broccoli, toasted peanuts
Lobster in crispy chicken skin, blue cheese, hot sauce vinaigrette
Lambchops
Greek Salad
Arctic White Char
Ginger Lemonade Cocktail Drinks Beverage
Vanilla scented sea scallops, ruby grapefruit, salad of endive, mint, fennel, lemon zest
Scotch Egg with Wholegrain Mustard
Poutine W/ Elk Ragu
Chocolate Peanut Butter Layer Cake
Blackberry Sorbet
Gage N-17 Fondue
Pine roasted sea trout, haricot vert, orange-carrot emulsion, smoked crème fraîche beurre blanc, trout roe
Vanilla-coconut Beignets, Pineapple, Candied Macadamia, Coconut-lime Ice Cream
Passion fruit mousse, olive oil financier crisp, king's ginger-pear granita, mint gel
Malted Chocolate Tart
Pork Porterhouse
Buttermilk Panna Cotta, Cornbread, Caramel Corn, Cherry Compote
Old Fashioned No. 24
The Gage Upgrade
Fish 'n Chips
Tuna With Chimichurri
Bone Marrow
Beet, Arugula, Green Bean, Pecan, And Goat Cheese Salad
Potato Salad Arugula, Cream Onion Dressing
Goose Island Luciana
The Gage Single Barrel 9 Year Bourbon:
Crisp Rabbit Salad with Arugula and Arare Rice
Fried Pickles And Chipotle Aioli
Pumpkin Beignets
Blueberry Apple Ale
Whisky Flight
Harrisa Spiced Lentils
Farmer's Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Gage's menu "covers every craving". Ideal for private parties, rehearsal dinners and corporate meetings, The Gage's event space options include semi-private and private dining rooms offering the vibe of a busy establishment or complete privacy.

The Gage Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Loop ›

Fit for Foodies (235)
Great for Lunch (192)
Vibrant Bar Scene (168)
See All
Good for Groups (156)
Hot Spot (146)
Special Occasion (142)
Neighborhood Gem (129)
Great for Outdoor Dining (90)
Great for Brunch (87)
Notable Wine List (71)
Romantic (51)
Scenic View (36)
Late-night Find (26)
Kid-friendly (17)
Sort By:
Newest
5069 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Chilaquiles were outstanding. Blood saus ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 3 days ago

Chilaquiles were outstanding. Blood sausage on one plate was a hit, as was the chorizo on my plate. Sam was fun, and brunch was hopping

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Our brunch at the Gage was perfect in ev ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our brunch at the Gage was perfect in every way. We couldn't have asked for anything more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is awesome

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Service is awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food & service. Food never disappo ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food & service. Food never disappoints. Service is always friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had lunch with out-of-town visitors. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had lunch with out-of-town visitors. Everyone loved their choices -- from the gumbo, to BLT-egg sandwich, to the cheesecake dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Late-night Find, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went there around 11:00 for brunch. The ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Went there around 11:00 for brunch. They had breakfast and lunch items available. We went mostly for lunch. Portions were gigantic. Could have split most of them. BLT sandwich was very good, as was the smoked salmon. Also really good if going to the symphony (couple blocks away)

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

My sister and I shared a girls weekend i ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 5 days ago

My sister and I shared a girls weekend in Chicago. I'd eaten at the Gage once before and recalled it being a great place to eat. The food was excellent and the martinis amazing! Our waiter was good at first but as the place filled up we didn't see much of him. Overall, an good place to eat if you don't mind rubbing elbows with your neighbors. I would eat here again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Good great. Way to loud.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Good great. Way to loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Wow the staff is amazing. When we asked ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wow the staff is amazing. When we asked the waiter for beer selections he said done and walked away and brought back some great beer! The food was very very good. Love the decor and the fact that the building used to house a hat factory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Overall a good meal...menu was interesti ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

Overall a good meal...menu was interesting but every dish could have used a dash of something to make things taste better. We had 3 App's;, Fried Pickles(Best),Shishito Peppers(slightly boring) & House Poutine(good but way to many onions). Dinner was Spicy Buffalo Ribs(Best), Homemade Sausage(ok), Pekin Duck(Very Good) and Sweet Corn Carmello(very good but could have benefited from a sprinkle of hot sausage or something).

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Love The Gage, it's one of my favorite p ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Love The Gage, it's one of my favorite places on the city. Everything was delicious as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was average at best.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food was average at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

I would recommend this restaurant with r ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I would recommend this restaurant with reservations; be prepared for a very loud restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We sat outside which is why it was quiet ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We sat outside which is why it was quiet. I can't speak to the noise level inside. Always a fine place for lunch.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Silly menu filled with non-conventional ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Silly menu filled with non-conventional items most people don't eat. Not sure why anyone would go back. Loud, expensive and uninteresting food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

The ambiance and service at The Gage was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The ambiance and service at The Gage was fantastic. They split our dish to share and gave us a wonderful date night experience.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We could not get in for dinner on Fri or ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We could not get in for dinner on Fri or Sat night while we were in town so we decided to try the brunch in Sunday! Wow!! We all five loved our meals!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unique, high-quality dinner menu paired ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Unique, high-quality dinner menu paired with a good beverage list. Elk Rack was very lean and tender. Poutine was delicious but the fries didn't stay crisp for long due to the gravy and meat juices. The waitstaff is friendly and outgoing, almost to excess. Fairly expensive but worth the price overall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

perhaps expectation were too high. Thou ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

perhaps expectation were too high. Thought food was ok. apps were very good. noise level was way above normal. had a hard time hearing while sitting in u-shaped booth.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Their menu changes with each season and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Their menu changes with each season and it is absolutely perfect. We started with their filet mignon beef tartar and it was perfect and served with homemade chips. We both had the porkchop that fell of the bone and was cooked to perfection and served with fingerling potatoes and heirloom carrots. We finished with the cheesecake and some sorbet. The sorbet was so amazing that I wouldn't share. Can't wait to see what their fall menu will be this year.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our son's 21st birthday he ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We celebrated our son's 21st birthday here. We had a delicious meal and a special dessert where they brought a candle! So thoughtful. Loved everything!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner one again at The Gage - sat ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great dinner one again at The Gage - sat outside. Excellent option before the theater.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Many visits, consistent standards. Centr ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Many visits, consistent standards.

Central Chicago, polite efficient servers, very good food, pretty good prices. Nice bar, tablecloths, tables set well.

One thing we noted - no problem - the water waiter visited so many times we felt we got to know him!

One sip and you were due another fill!

Recommended

Tags: Outdoor Eating, Special Occasions, Vibrant Bar Scene, Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Billy Lawless and his father have creat ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Billy Lawless and his father have created a welcoming and delicious haven in the Loop in Chicago. I never miss going to the Gage when I am there for a drink or dinner. The service is over the top -- the bartenders are the best, and they serve great, high end Irish Whiskey. The wine bar next door is also theirs and wonderful. Put this on your list if you have to be downtown Chicago.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a great meal and the service was rea ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Had a great meal and the service was really good too. We always have a good experience here!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love The Gage. Food is outstanding and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Love The Gage. Food is outstanding and it is a fun, lively place to wine/dine. This was my third visit and I will definitely return the next time I visit Chicago.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a great place for an week day e ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

This was a great place for an week day early dinner with a date. It wasn't as loud or crowded as during the lunch hour, but the food was equally good. We had venison burger and fish and chips and both were tasty and service was fast and attentive.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went on a Monday evening after work a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We went on a Monday evening after work and it was a perfect night to sit outside. The restaurant wasn't at all crowded however our service was painfully slow. It took a long time for our drinks to arrive (wine and 2 simple mixed drinks) and even longer for appetizers and entrees. Nothing wrong with a leisurely meal when it is intentionally requested by the guests but a 20 minute wait for drinks, an additional 10 mins for appetizers (placed same time as drink order) and another 30 mins on top of it all showed that service wasn't up to The Gage's high standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

I was at a convention in Chicago and too ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

I was at a convention in Chicago and took several clients for both lunch and dinner to the Gage. The food is very tasty, wine list terrific, and the menu offers a fresh variety. The service is impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was not impressed with the menu option ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I was not impressed with the menu options; way too much beef; rather dark and gloomy; the waitress was very pushy--when we only ordered 1 drink each and no appetizers she was kinda done with us and moved her charm over to the next table. I think the prices are on the steep side for what you get. That said the food was tasty and the service was good. With so many other dining options in the area, I will not return to the Gage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Really great beer selection and brunch m ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Really great beer selection and brunch menu. And they take reservations which is fantastic for larger groups and any downtown restaurant in general for brunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall, a wonderful experience... Incre ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Overall, a wonderful experience...

Incredibly helpful hostess, great food/drink, and a comfortable/inviting atmosphere...

Above all, Maria was... Well, simply spectacular...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Gage never disappoints- great food a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The Gage never disappoints- great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome Scotch egg! Delicious brunch and ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Awesome Scotch egg! Delicious brunch and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food with super friendly service. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food with super friendly service. Poutine was out of this world.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food, fantastic atmosphere, fa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Fantastic food, fantastic atmosphere, fantastic service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The bone in ribeye was great but the ces ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The bone in ribeye was great but the cesar salad was terrible....all white lettuce and croutons from a box.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a great experience at The Gage. T ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a great experience at The Gage. The service was impeccable. Strong recommendations on meals and wine pairings.

Food was exceptional.

Definitely plan to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Many thanks to our waiter Mike, who did ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Many thanks to our waiter Mike, who did an amazing job with his wine and menu recs. Fish and chips were delicious, but your coffee is outstanding! Thanks for a great dinner!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time going to The Gage ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This was my first time going to The Gage for brunch and I was very pleased with it. I've always known The Gage as a great spot for drinks near Millennium Park, but I would definitely come for brunch again if in the area! The food was good all around and many of us had a hard time picking one option because the menu was so good! They easily accommodated our large party of 7 and I think the spot we had could have held up to 10 comfortably, so if you make a reservation a big group is definitely going to be good here!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.