About The Gage

24 South Michigan Ave
Chicago, IL 60603
View Larger Map

The Gage is a 4-star rated restaurant located across from Millennium Park in a historically landmarked building built in the late 1800s. The Gage offers upscale, yet casual dining in a vintage atmosphere inspired by the gastropubs of Ireland and England. Time Out has said The Gage's menu "covers every craving" and includes Scotch eggs, fresh seafood, locally made sausages, burgers, steaks and salads. The Libations list features craft beers, interesting wines and a selection of Irish whiskeys and single malts. The Gage offers the perfect setting for a casual drink, a business meeting or a formal event--refined rusticity--steps from Millennium Park.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
SUNDAY
10am-10pm
(bar open until 12am)

MONDAY
11am-10pm
(bar open until 12 am)

TUESDAY - THURSDAY
11am-11pm
(bar open until 2am)

FRIDAY
11am-12am
(bar open until 2am)

SATURDAY
10am-12am
(bar open until 3am)

Cross Street:
Madison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 372-4243

Website:
http://www.thegagechicago.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is offered by The University Club at 76 E. Monroe. In addition, there are several parking lots located just steps from the restaurant. The closest lot is the Grant Park Garage which can be accessed from Michigan Avenue. The elevator/escalator at the South end of the garage is located directly in front of the restaurant's entrance.

Public Transit:
The Brown, Purple, Green, Orange and Pink Lines drop you off at Madison St. and Wabash St. (just a few blocks from the restaurant). The Red Line drops you off at Monroe St. and State St. (just a few blocks from the restaurant. The 3, 4, X4, 14, 26, 127, 145, 147, 148, and 151 bus routes all stop within a block of the restaurant.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Scotch Egg
House poutine
French Toast
Venison Burger
Chilaquiles
Postalle Service
Caramel Sticky Bun
Fish & Chips
Wild Elk Rack
Maple Glazed Pumpkin Spiced Donuts
Pork Belly
"The Gage" Burger
Chips (Fries) with Curry Gravy
Fish and Chips
Bison Tartare
Johnny Cakes
Seared Nantucket Sea Scallops
Whole Idaho Rainbow Trout
Penne
Bread and Butter
Today's Fish and Chips
Lamb Stew Vindaloo
House Crafted Sausages
Beet Salad
Beignets
Vindaloo Mussels
Fried Chicken Liver
Chocolate Mousse
St Germain Cocktail
Chocolate Tart and Carmel Popcorn
Dry Aged Ribeye
Breakfast Poutine
Frites
Seared Sea Scallops
Potatos
Moscow Mule
Pork Belly, Cheese Grits, Poached Egg
Short Ribs In Sweet Bbq Sauce
Scotch Eggs
Affligem
Pbr Battered Fried Pickles
Sausages
Beer
Ceasar Salad
New England Lobster Roll
House Bread
Weihenstephan
Lobster and Grits
Creole Gumbo
Bacon
Halibut
Duck Breast, Confit, Vannila-peach Sauce
Toast
Lamb Chops & Stew Vindaloo
Sandwich
Chocolate Mousse Zabaglione, Cherries Compote, Brown Butter Bread Trifle with Salted Caramel Ice Cream
Scottish Eggs
Fried Zuchinni
Basil Escargot Goat Cheese Risotto
Seared diver scallops, Korean braised bbq short ribs, kimchi, Chinese broccoli, toasted peanuts
Lobster in crispy chicken skin, blue cheese, hot sauce vinaigrette
Vanilla scented sea scallops, ruby grapefruit, salad of endive, mint, fennel, lemon zest
Ginger Lemonade Cocktail Drinks Beverage
Scotch Egg with Wholegrain Mustard
Poutine W/ Elk Ragu
Chocolate Peanut Butter Layer Cake
Blackberry Sorbet
Gage N-17 Fondue
Pine roasted sea trout, haricot vert, orange-carrot emulsion, smoked crème fraîche beurre blanc, trout roe
Vanilla-coconut Beignets, Pineapple, Candied Macadamia, Coconut-lime Ice Cream
Passion fruit mousse, olive oil financier crisp, king's ginger-pear granita, mint gel
Pork Porterhouse
Buttermilk Panna Cotta, Cornbread, Caramel Corn, Cherry Compote
The Gage Upgrade
Tuna With Chimichurri
Fish 'n Chips
Bone Marrow
Beet, Arugula, Green Bean, Pecan, And Goat Cheese Salad
Goose Island Luciana
The Gage Single Barrel 9 Year Bourbon:
Potato Salad Arugula, Cream Onion Dressing
Crisp Rabbit Salad with Arugula and Arare Rice
Pumpkin Beignets
Fried Pickles And Chipotle Aioli
Malted Chocolate Tart
Blueberry Apple Ale
Old Fashioned No. 24
Whisky Flight
bison tartare w/ quail egg
Bénédictines
Duck
Shishito
Duck Fat Nuts
Basil Escargots
Lyonnaise Salad
Shishito Peppers In A Sweet Soy Glaze
Low Country Boil
Anise Churros With Caramel And Coffee
Hanger Steak, Burrata, Summer Tomatoes
Raspberry Lemonade And Gin

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Gage's menu "covers every craving". Ideal for private parties, rehearsal dinners and corporate meetings, The Gage's event space options include semi-private and private dining rooms offering the vibe of a busy establishment or complete privacy.

The Gage Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Loop ›

fit for foodies (228)
great for lunch (173)
good for groups (152)
See All
vibrant bar scene (144)
hot spot (127)
special occasion (116)
neighborhood gem (111)
great for brunch (83)
great for outdoor dining (71)
notable wine list (62)
romantic (38)
scenic view (33)
late-night find (24)
kid-friendly (18)
Sort By:
Newest
4979 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loved the waiter and his sense of humor. ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 3 days ago

Loved the waiter and his sense of humor. He really knew his wine list and gave us tasters of the two we debated. The pours a large so great value. We loved our venison burger. The veggie sides are fantastic: green beans with pork belly and lemon or Brussel sprouts with blue cheese. So yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Venison burger was fantastic.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Venison burger was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

All around great downtown restaurant. Go ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

All around great downtown restaurant. Good food, good location and good service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always good food and great service.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Always good food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter, Wes was outstanding. I'm 65 ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our waiter, Wes was outstanding. I'm 65, native Chicagoan, have been dining in the city for many years and Wes is in the top 2-3 we've ever experienced. Thanks, Wes.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The location leads to an odd mix of dine ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The location leads to an odd mix of diners: those dropping in from the park in shorts and flip-flops, families perhaps shopping or visiting the Art Institute, and theater goers dressed for date night. The food is also an eclectic mix. Everything we had (scotch egg, lobster roll, venison burger) was well prepared if perhaps a little bland. It was quite noisy but no more than expected for a Saturday night. The service was outstanding, friendly and attentive without being bubbly or pushy. I would recommend it for anything short of "special occasion" territory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Food is always great, as is the service, ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food is always great, as is the service, and the building itself is charming. The menu is extensive and varied, so it's good for a group (foodies and non-foodies alike). Vindaloo mussels are a fantastic starter! I try to work in a visit to The Gage every time I visit Chicago.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful brunch choices. Try the Scotch ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wonderful brunch choices. Try the Scotch Egg, Corned Beef Hash, and Kale Salad with Chicken

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I went for dinner on 2 se ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My husband and I went for dinner on 2 separate nights last year during a trip to Chicago for a conference. We were back in the area last week and decided to try brunch since both dinners were exceptional. Brunch did not disappoint! We had the French toast and eggs benedict. The written menu descriptions do not do the food justice--but the presentation is excellent and the taste is even better. The table favorite were the potatoes and brie that came as a side dish with the benedict.

Highly recommend to anyone living or visiting downtown Chicago! we will be back again the next time we are in the area.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent. Food was supe ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The service was excellent. Food was super tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I must preface my review with saying tha ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I must preface my review with saying that I love the Gage. Service, atmosphere, etc. we're all excellent as usual on this trip. My habanero margarita was awesome. I had the dock and the corn hoppin' John was to die for. However the duck was over cooked and was a little tough.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Above average on food flavor. Was too n ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Above average on food flavor. Was too noisy for romantic. Great service is what put this place over the edge, if not for that would have just been an average experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We had to adjust our reservation a coupl ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We had to adjust our reservation a couple of times due to bad traffic. The staff was very accommodating.

We had a very nice lunch. I ordered the lobster roll and my husband ordered the short rib sandwich. We split those sandwiches and they were both tasty and flavorful. My husband also ordered the charred green beans, which he really enjoyed as they were spicy and cooked perfectly.

We were celebrating a birthday, but no one asked us if it was a special occasion. Alas, we should have disclosed that fact at the time we were seated.

The ambience was very nice and busy for a late lunch. The location is perfect if you are visiting the Art Institute or Millennium Park. I would definitely return to The Gage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is good. Not great for the price. M ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food is good. Not great for the price. Most things are quite expensive. A burger, fish and chips- basic pub fare- along with a couple of drinks and the bill was $100. Seems like a lot for what we got. The place itself is nice. Waitstaff very good. Just a bit noisy and expensive although not a lot of options like this down near the loop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Amazing menu, rich and lovely food, outs ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Amazing menu, rich and lovely food, outstanding staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to The Gage for dinner before seein ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Went to The Gage for dinner before seeing a play. We told the waiter we were attending the play and he ensured we were out in time to easily make the play, which took a lot of stress off the evening. Food was excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service. I loved that we were ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Wonderful service. I loved that we weren't rushed and were able to enjoy our meal. All staff were polite and our server was able to tell us about the specials and answer questions we had about dishes. It was a great place to eat before a show we were in town to see.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent staff! Our server was persona ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Excellent staff! Our server was personable and above accommodating everyone's special requests! Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We were seated in the room toward the ba ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We were seated in the room toward the back on the left. It was so exceptionally loud I could not hear the person across from me! Too loud!

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Food took too long to come. So did the c ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Food took too long to come. So did the checks. Food tasted good. Wish the chocolate dessert didn't have mint.llll

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Delicious food and extraordinary service ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Delicious food and extraordinary service! The attention was very special. We are going back on 2 months!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Gage was fantastic! Worth dining whi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The Gage was fantastic! Worth dining while in Chicago. Great food. Great server. Blond guy with a pony tail. He was hilarious, helpful and hip. We felt comfortable and had a great meal. We will be visiting The Gage on our next visit. The fish and chips are incredible!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for special occasions. Some ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great place for special occasions. Something lovely to eat or drink for every taste.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

a great restaurant the waiter will neve ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

a great restaurant the waiter will never forget us. it was fantastic!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There was a mixup at the beginning of ou ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

There was a mixup at the beginning of our meal and it took quite a while to be initially greeted by our server, but they were very apologetic and handled it well. Once started, it was a great meal with excellent food and drinks. I look forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great service and tasty food.

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great service and tasty food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Booked at Gage by recommendation from my ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Booked at Gage by recommendation from my old boss (who owns an upscale restaurant here in Iowa). The menu had choices to fit every taste! Even the vegetarian had options. Our server was top of the line and working in a upscale establishment I tend to notice a lot. The drinks were refreshing and the food was outstanding. I will definitely return the next time I'm in Chicago! I totally recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our dining experience at The Gage was ex ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our dining experience at The Gage was excellent. The meal was terrific and we chose based on our servers suggestions. He was most helpful and spot on. He was more knowledgeable than the wine sommelier, but we still selected and enjoyed a really good bottle of wine. Definitely going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My wife and I had a great dinner at The ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My wife and I had a great dinner at The Gage this past Saturday before a show. We started off by ordering a great bottle of wine (upon a recommendation from the waiter). For our main entrees, we order the striped sea bass and elk rack. Now, I have never had Elk before, but I must say that this was an absolutely delicious cut of beef. I would definitely order it again! Cooked to perfection and served with a duo of great sauces. We also ordered the brussels sprouts and they were fantastic as well. All in all, I highly recommend this restaurant for all those wanting a special night out. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Our food was delicious. Our waiter Zach ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our food was delicious. Our waiter Zach was helpful and efficient. We were in Chicago to see a show at the Private Bank Theater. The Gage was convenient to the theater. I highly recommend the lobster roll.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Shishito peppers were amazing!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Shishito peppers were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place. I go every time I am i ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Love this place. I go every time I am in Chicago. Careen was a terrific server.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was fantastic with the only e ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Everything was fantastic with the only exception being the tuna appetizer

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value5

I took my girlfriend to Chicago on Frida ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I took my girlfriend to Chicago on Friday to propose. We had dinner reservations at The Gage after a very long, emotionally draining day. The atmosphere was romantic, the service was great, and the food was delicious. Our only complaint: she found two fruit flies in her glass of wine. We notified our server, but were still charged the full $13 for the glass. A small blemish on an overall excellent evening.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I ordered the Duck Confit salad. I thoug ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I ordered the Duck Confit salad. I thought it was just okay. It was kind of bitter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Went for my sister's birthday, and the s ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Went for my sister's birthday, and the service was even better than the food!!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

30 mins late with a reservation. Busines ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

30 mins late with a reservation. Business lunch. Not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

I enjoyed dining outside--the weather wa ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I enjoyed dining outside--the weather was beautiful. Great service. The fish and chips were a 10! Light batter and very delicious. A bit pricey but lots of food. I would highly recommend!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I reserve 5-star reviews for over-the-to ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I reserve 5-star reviews for over-the-top great restaurants. That being said, The Gage is a pretty solid 4 1/2 stars. I've eaten here several times now for both lunch and dinner. The menu changes seasonally. Some of the dishes are very creative preparations. Everything I've had has been very tasty. The wine list is pretty good, as well. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.