About The Gage

24 South Michigan Ave
Chicago, IL 60603
View Larger Map

The Gage is a 4-star rated restaurant located across from Millennium Park in a historically landmarked building built in the late 1800s. The Gage offers upscale, yet casual dining in a vintage atmosphere inspired by the gastropubs of Ireland and England. Time Out has said The Gage's menu "covers every craving" and includes Scotch eggs, fresh seafood, locally made sausages, burgers, steaks and salads. The Libations list features craft beers, interesting wines and a selection of Irish whiskeys and single malts. The Gage offers the perfect setting for a casual drink, a business meeting or a formal event--refined rusticity--steps from Millennium Park.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
SUNDAY
10am-10pm
(bar open until 12am)

MONDAY
11am-10pm
(bar open until 12 am)

TUESDAY - THURSDAY
11am-11pm
(bar open until 2am)

FRIDAY
11am-12am
(bar open until 2am)

SATURDAY
10am-12am
(bar open until 3am)

Cross Street:
Madison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 372-4243

Website:
http://www.thegagechicago.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is offered by The University Club at 76 E. Monroe. In addition, there are several parking lots located just steps from the restaurant. The closest lot is the Grant Park Garage which can be accessed from Michigan Avenue. The elevator/escalator at the South end of the garage is located directly in front of the restaurant's entrance.

Public Transit:
The Brown, Purple, Green, Orange and Pink Lines drop you off at Madison St. and Wabash St. (just a few blocks from the restaurant). The Red Line drops you off at Monroe St. and State St. (just a few blocks from the restaurant. The 3, 4, X4, 14, 26, 127, 145, 147, 148, and 151 bus routes all stop within a block of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Gawronski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Josh Raavel - jraavel@thegagechicago.com
312-372-4001

Restaurant Photos

House poutine
Scotch Egg
Halibut
Fried Pickels
French Toast
Brussel sprouts
Prime Plus Ribeye Bone-In 16 Oz
Shishito Peppers
Watermelon and Burrata Salad
Venison Burger
Caramel Sticky Bun
Chilaquiles
Postalle Service
Maple Glazed Pumpkin Spiced Donuts
Wild Elk Rack
Pork Belly
Fish & Chips
Chips (Fries) with Curry Gravy
"The Gage" Burger
Fish and Chips
Johnny Cakes
Bison Tartare
Seared Nantucket Sea Scallops
Whole Idaho Rainbow Trout
Penne
Bread and Butter
Today's Fish and Chips
House Crafted Sausages
Lamb Stew Vindaloo
Beet Salad
Beignets
Chocolate Mousse
Vindaloo Mussels
Fried Chicken Liver
St Germain Cocktail
Chocolate Tart and Carmel Popcorn
Dry Aged Ribeye
Breakfast Poutine
Frites
Scotch Eggs
Seared Sea Scallops
Potatos
Moscow Mule
Pork Belly, Cheese Grits, Poached Egg
Short Ribs In Sweet Bbq Sauce
Affligem
Pbr Battered Fried Pickles
Sausages
Ceasar Salad
Beer
New England Lobster Roll
House Bread
Weihenstephan
Lobster and Grits
Creole Gumbo
Bacon
Duck Breast, Confit, Vannila-peach Sauce
Toast
Lamb Chops & Stew Vindaloo
Sandwich
Chocolate Mousse Zabaglione, Cherries Compote, Brown Butter Bread Trifle with Salted Caramel Ice Cream
Fried Zuchinni
Scottish Eggs
Lambchops
Greek Salad
Arctic White Char
Rib Eye Steak With Roasted Brussel Sprouts
Duck Fat Fries With Vindaloo Sauce
Basil Escargot Goat Cheese Risotto
Seared diver scallops, Korean braised bbq short ribs, kimchi, Chinese broccoli, toasted peanuts
Lobster in crispy chicken skin, blue cheese, hot sauce vinaigrette
Ginger Lemonade Cocktail Drinks Beverage
Vanilla scented sea scallops, ruby grapefruit, salad of endive, mint, fennel, lemon zest
Scotch Egg with Wholegrain Mustard
Poutine W/ Elk Ragu
Chocolate Peanut Butter Layer Cake
Blackberry Sorbet
Gage N-17 Fondue
Pine roasted sea trout, haricot vert, orange-carrot emulsion, smoked crème fraîche beurre blanc, trout roe
Vanilla-coconut Beignets, Pineapple, Candied Macadamia, Coconut-lime Ice Cream
Passion fruit mousse, olive oil financier crisp, king's ginger-pear granita, mint gel
Malted Chocolate Tart
Pork Porterhouse
Buttermilk Panna Cotta, Cornbread, Caramel Corn, Cherry Compote
Old Fashioned No. 24
The Gage Upgrade
Fish 'n Chips
Tuna With Chimichurri
Bone Marrow
Beet, Arugula, Green Bean, Pecan, And Goat Cheese Salad
Potato Salad Arugula, Cream Onion Dressing
Goose Island Luciana
The Gage Single Barrel 9 Year Bourbon:
Crisp Rabbit Salad with Arugula and Arare Rice
Fried Pickles And Chipotle Aioli
Pumpkin Beignets
Blueberry Apple Ale
Whisky Flight
Harrisa Spiced Lentils
Farmer's Salad

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Gage's menu "covers every craving". Ideal for private parties, rehearsal dinners and corporate meetings, The Gage's event space options include semi-private and private dining rooms offering the vibe of a busy establishment or complete privacy.

The Gage Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (207)
Great for Lunch (180)
Vibrant Bar Scene (138)
See All
Good for Groups (135)
Special Occasion (127)
Hot Spot (126)
Neighborhood Gem (107)
Great for Outdoor Dining (87)
Great for Brunch (80)
Notable Wine List (61)
Romantic (53)
Scenic View (35)
Good for a Date (34)
Casual (30)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Bar Seating (24)
Fun (24)
Business Meals (24)
Late-night Find (22)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Great Beer (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Kid-friendly (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Cozy (14)
People Watching (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Authentic (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Historic (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Seasonal (5)
Private Room (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Family Style (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Live Sports (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Waterfront (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Dancing (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
5145 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were seated very late and in the back ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 2 days ago

We were seated very late and in the back of the restaurant near the kitchen where it was EXTREMELY warm. We were sweating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Nice business lunch - good spot for east ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Nice business lunch - good spot for east loop meeting.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Sunday afternoon late lunch, awesome fis ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Sunday afternoon late lunch, awesome fish and chips. The venison burger was delicious. Outside seating was quaint.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our server Corrine was AMAZING. Very ene ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our server Corrine was AMAZING. Very energetic and knowledgeable. A real treat. The food was great, the cocktails superb, the wine list: meh.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Knowing this place is across from the pa ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Knowing this place is across from the park, we made reservations ahead of time. It was worth it as we waited less than 3 minutes. Yes, the menu for lunch is small, but the food was very good. I had the soup/sandwich combo; chicken and orzo with half a grilled veggie sandwich. Don't be fooled thinking you are going to get a tiny half sandwich. The size is more than enough, plus a spring salad comes with it. The soup was delicious. A very tasty broth with loads of chicken; highly recommend. My man had the buffalo chicken sandwich. He loved it, spicy but not a flame thrower. The house made chips were just okay, needed more time in the fryer for more crispness. The mimosa was delicious. The only problem we had was after we finished eating, it took twenty minutes for our server to appear with a dessert menu. By that time we had to go, so I can't remark on desserts. Also, ask for specials, server never informed us; we were paying the check when we saw they had lunch specials.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Live Sports, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

My wife and I had breakfast here on Sund ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I had breakfast here on Sunday morning. Both of our meals were fabulous. I had the corned beef hash which is one of my favorite dishes. This was the best I have ever had. The menu is a little pricey but then again it is on Michigan Avenue. We sat outside and enjoyed the sun and the view if Millennium Park. Service was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent and our servicer was ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was excellent and our servicer was the reason why I would go back. A+

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was a little too loud, but fo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Restaurant was a little too loud, but food was very enjoyable and service was excellent. We started with scotch eggs. Husband ordered the pork special which was tender and a large serving. My daughter ordered the scallops dinner and was disappointed to get only two scallops. She was still hungry after her meal. I enjoyed the halibut and my son really enjoyed the venison burger.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Was pleasantly surprised with their Octo ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Was pleasantly surprised with their Octoberfest menu. 3 of our party ordered the vial schnitzel which was served bone-in and butterflied atop a bid of spaetzel noodles. Absolutely delicious. Menu prices range from conservatively decent for the downtown Chicago fare to fairly pricey for the Elk chops (if you are so inclined). Desserts are handmade and cocktails are handcrafted and pack a punch. We'd definitely return for more great food.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Billie Lawless actually trains his staff ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Billie Lawless actually trains his staffs - what a rare concept. After enjoying The Gage since it opened, I am trying all the new ones. So far loved The Dawson and Coda di Volpe. Trying Beacon Tavern this weekend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for weekend brunch and could not ha ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 6 days ago

Went for weekend brunch and could not have been more pleased! From the server, who brilliantly recommended the Eggs Benedict (with PORK BELLY!!), to the cozy dining areas, and of course the cocktails! If you are on the fence about where to brunch, just say yes to The Gage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was not as outstanding as I've had ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was not as outstanding as I've had in the past. Restaurant was very loud -- difficult to have conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Excellent wine and the waitress was very ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent wine and the waitress was very helpful in the selection. Lively and a bit noisy. We had a good table.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was fantastic. Food was very goo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Service was fantastic. Food was very good, no complaints. Maybe not the most memorable meal of my life but very good and would go back

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

WAY too noisy.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

WAY too noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4

One of my favourite restaurants in the c ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

One of my favourite restaurants in the city. It's always consistently good and a great value.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Private Room, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

It is a great place to go for a business ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

It is a great place to go for a business lunch or meet for lunch with friends as the food is absolutely tasty and service is great. Reserve a booth and you will be very happy.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Gage provides it all.The service is ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

The Gage provides it all.The service is excelent,wwait staff is nearby but does not hover.The quality of the food as well as the preparation was much better than expected.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food! Great server with a sense o ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great food! Great server with a sense of humor and fun!

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and excellent food and win ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great service and excellent food and wine choices. We shared the shishito pepper starter and had burgers for the main course. One regular and one venison burger. Both excellent flavor and perfectly cooked to order. Generous wines by the glass and a good contain menu.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Group of 10 for dinner. Everyone loved ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Group of 10 for dinner. Everyone loved it! Poutine, oysters, sausages for appetizers--all fantastic. Our group ordered steak, halibut, lamb, and venison burger dinner entrees and were all amazing. Very creative menu - yet normal enough for even a picky eater (of which we had a couple!) Definitely will return again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

My wife and I have been here many times ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My wife and I have been here many times over the years, and the food has always been great. Expect for this time. If we had been served the meal we had at a different restaurant, if would have been fine. But, we had high expectations based on our previous visits. This time we were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Although it can get a bit loud, this is ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Although it can get a bit loud, this is an impressive dinner place after meetings or conferences. There is a good variety of drinks that should please any crowd as well as some specialty whiskys that never fail to peak my interest. The food is both visually appealing and delicious.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Because we were in a hurry (had show res ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Because we were in a hurry (had show reservations), Careen's guidance and recommendations were not only extremely helpful, but they were spot on. We enjoyed our cocktails , and the starter (corn caramelle?) was outstanding. Professional and courteous. Loved our experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best grilled pork chop I have had in 25 ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Best grilled pork chop I have had in 25 plus years. My business associate also very much enjoyed his lamb chops. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The service was great as was the food. W ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The service was great as was the food. We sat outside and even though it is right on Michigan Avenue it was pretty quiet. The decor made it more private than you would expect for the location. Very accommodating to my gluten free diet.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food with upscale yet casual a ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Delicious food with upscale yet casual ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was ok. Service was good and has a ni ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

It was ok. Service was good and has a nice Irish Pub setting yet the food is ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Food and service were excellent! There w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food and service were excellent! There was only 4 of us and we were sat at a very large table to it was difficult to hear the other end. Otherwise, love this place!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our waiter was fabulous!! Great wine,gre ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Our waiter was fabulous!! Great wine,great food, clean!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff was so wonderful and so accommodat ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Staff was so wonderful and so accommodating. The food portions were good and very tasty. We loved the atmosphere as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too pricey.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Too pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The rear dining area is much less noisy ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The rear dining area is much less noisy than the front/bar area, and allows for a very nice experience. The service was outstanding, and the entrees quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I have eaten The Gage twice. Both times ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I have eaten The Gage twice. Both times were very positive experiences. My most recent experience was lunch on a Friday afternoon. We reserved through OpenTable, and had our table waiting for us. Our selections were each excellent, including a special, seared Albacore Tuna on greens, and a regular lunch item Duck Confit salad. I would recommend the place and these menu selections anytime.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, the Gage restaurant is a very ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Overall, the Gage restaurant is a very enjoyable experience! Great venue right on Michigan Avenue and we decided to sit on the patio even though it was a very hot day. The patio is shaded and pleasant. Our server was attentive and knowledgeable and helped me decide what sandwich and soup combo to get. The chicken orzo soup was delicious and was the turkey club sandwich. My husband enjoyed his soup and sandwich too. Our server checked several times to make sure we were happy with everything and our water glasses were filled frequently. I think the meal was a very good value for what we received and I highly recommend the Gage.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't get the oysters! We sent them back ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Don't get the oysters! We sent them back. They put some funky fish oil on them and they didn't taste fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Google lied to me about the estimated co ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Google lied to me about the estimated cost of the food here, it was a lot more than I anticipated, HOWEVER getting appetizers and drinks were very reasonable for us, and probably much more suited to meeting online friends for the first time. The waitress could probably tell we couldn't afford entrees, but she did not seem to be judgmental at all and the service was fantastic.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I always wanted to dine here and when a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I always wanted to dine here and when a friend unexpectedly came to town, this was a terrific and conveniently located choice. My friend very much enjoyed the Classic Burger and we both indulged in the Summer Fruit Cheesecake. I look forward to going back for a second visit!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at the Gage is fantastic. If yo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food at the Gage is fantastic. If you go on Sundays for Brunch, make sure you try the Eggs Benedict, the lobster roll or the vension burger- to die for! My friends and family and I were just trading pieces of our dishes because they're so delish!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Live Sports, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful Irish heritage fine dining. Ou ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Beautiful Irish heritage fine dining. Outdoor seating. Directly across from Millenium Park to people watch. Great service. Excellent Bloody Mary's.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.