About The Gage

24 South Michigan Ave
Chicago, IL 60603
View Larger Map

The Gage is a 4-star rated restaurant located across from Millennium Park in a historically landmarked building built in the late 1800s. The Gage offers upscale, yet casual dining in a vintage atmosphere inspired by the gastropubs of Ireland and England. Time Out has said The Gage's menu "covers every craving" and includes Scotch eggs, fresh seafood, locally made sausages, burgers, steaks and salads. The Libations list features craft beers, interesting wines and a selection of Irish whiskeys and single malts. The Gage offers the perfect setting for a casual drink, a business meeting or a formal event--refined rusticity--steps from Millennium Park.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
SUNDAY
10am-10pm
(bar open until 12am)

MONDAY
11am-10pm
(bar open until 12 am)

TUESDAY - THURSDAY
11am-11pm
(bar open until 2am)

FRIDAY
11am-12am
(bar open until 2am)

SATURDAY
10am-12am
(bar open until 3am)

Cross Street:
Madison

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 372-4243

Website:
http://www.thegagechicago.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is offered by The University Club at 76 E. Monroe. In addition, there are several parking lots located just steps from the restaurant. The closest lot is the Grant Park Garage which can be accessed from Michigan Avenue. The elevator/escalator at the South end of the garage is located directly in front of the restaurant's entrance.

Public Transit:
The Brown, Purple, Green, Orange and Pink Lines drop you off at Madison St. and Wabash St. (just a few blocks from the restaurant). The Red Line drops you off at Monroe St. and State St. (just a few blocks from the restaurant. The 3, 4, X4, 14, 26, 127, 145, 147, 148, and 151 bus routes all stop within a block of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Gawronski

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Josh Raavel - jraavel@thegagechicago.com
312-372-4001

Restaurant Photos

House poutine - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Halibut - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Fried Pickels - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Brussel sprouts - The Gage, Chicago, IL
French Toast - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Prime Plus Ribeye Bone-In 16 Oz - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Shishito Peppers - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Watermelon and Burrata Salad - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Scotch Egg - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Caramel Sticky Bun - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Chilaquiles - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Postalle Service - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Venison Burger - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Maple Glazed Pumpkin Spiced Donuts - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Wild Elk Rack - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Pork Belly - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Chips (Fries) with Curry Gravy - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Fish & Chips - The Gage, Chicago, IL
"The Gage" Burger - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Today's Fish and Chips - The Gage, Chicago, IL
House Crafted Sausages - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Lamb Stew Vindaloo - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Beet Salad - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Beignets - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Chocolate Mousse - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Vindaloo Mussels - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Fried Chicken Liver - The Gage, Chicago, IL
St Germain Cocktail - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Chocolate Tart and Carmel Popcorn  - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Dry Aged Ribeye - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Breakfast Poutine - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Frites - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Fish and Chips - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Scotch Eggs - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Seared Sea Scallops - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Potatos - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Moscow Mule - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Pork Belly, Cheese Grits, Poached Egg - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Short Ribs In Sweet Bbq Sauce - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Affligem - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Pbr Battered Fried Pickles - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Sausages  - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Ceasar Salad - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Beer - The Gage, Chicago, IL
New England Lobster Roll - The Gage, Chicago, IL
House Bread - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Weihenstephan - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Lobster and Grits  - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Seared Nantucket Sea Scallops - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Whole Idaho Rainbow Trout - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Creole Gumbo - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Penne - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Bacon - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Bread and Butter - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Duck Breast, Confit, Vannila-peach Sauce - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Bison Tartare - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Toast - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Lamb Chops & Stew Vindaloo - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Sandwich - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Chocolate Mousse Zabaglione, Cherries Compote, Brown Butter Bread Trifle with Salted Caramel Ice Cream - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Fried Zuchinni - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Scottish Eggs - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Lambchops - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Greek Salad - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Arctic White Char - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Rib Eye Steak With Roasted Brussel Sprouts - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Duck Fat Fries With Vindaloo Sauce - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Basil Escargot Goat Cheese Risotto - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Seared diver scallops, Korean braised bbq short ribs, kimchi, Chinese broccoli, toasted peanuts - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Lobster in crispy chicken skin, blue cheese, hot sauce vinaigrette - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Ginger Lemonade Cocktail Drinks Beverage - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Vanilla scented sea scallops, ruby grapefruit, salad of endive, mint, fennel, lemon zest - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Scotch Egg with Wholegrain Mustard - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Poutine W/ Elk Ragu - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Chocolate Peanut Butter Layer Cake - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Blackberry Sorbet - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Gage N-17 Fondue - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Pine roasted sea trout, haricot vert, orange-carrot emulsion, smoked crème fraîche beurre blanc, trout roe - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Vanilla-coconut Beignets, Pineapple, Candied Macadamia, Coconut-lime Ice Cream - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Passion fruit mousse, olive oil financier crisp, king's ginger-pear granita, mint gel - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Malted Chocolate Tart - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Pork Porterhouse - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Buttermilk Panna Cotta, Cornbread, Caramel Corn, Cherry Compote - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Old Fashioned No. 24 - The Gage, Chicago, IL
The Gage Upgrade - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Fish 'n Chips - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Tuna With Chimichurri - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Bone Marrow - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Beet, Arugula, Green Bean, Pecan, And Goat Cheese Salad - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Potato Salad Arugula, Cream Onion Dressing - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Goose Island Luciana - The Gage, Chicago, IL
The Gage Single Barrel 9 Year Bourbon:  - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Crisp Rabbit Salad with Arugula and Arare Rice - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Fried Pickles And Chipotle Aioli - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Pumpkin Beignets - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Blueberry Apple Ale - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Whisky Flight - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Harrisa Spiced Lentils - The Gage, Chicago, IL
Farmer's Salad - The Gage, Chicago, IL
bison tartare w/ quail egg - The Gage, Chicago, IL

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Gage's menu "covers every craving". Ideal for private parties, rehearsal dinners and corporate meetings, The Gage's event space options include semi-private and private dining rooms offering the vibe of a busy establishment or complete privacy.

The Gage Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Loop ›

Fit for Foodies (94)
Great for Lunch (91)
Vibrant Bar Scene (88)
See All
Special Occasion (79)
Good for a Date (75)
Pre/post Theatre (71)
Good for Groups (71)
Hot Spot (68)
Bar Seating (64)
Casual (62)
Business Meals (61)
Fun (58)
Creative Cuisine (57)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Notable Wine List (49)
Great for Brunch (48)
Comfort Food (44)
Great for Outdoor Dining (42)
Handcrafted Cocktails (42)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Great Beer (36)
Good for Birthdays (36)
People Watching (35)
Cozy (34)
Authentic (33)
Sunday Lunch (32)
Romantic (30)
Happy Hour (26)
Modern Decor (26)
Late-night Find (22)
Historic (19)
Live Sports (16)
Local Ingredients (14)
Private Room (13)
Seasonal (13)
Scenic View (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Quick Bite (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Healthy (9)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Family Style (7)
Waterfront (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Fireplace (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Organic (3)
Dancing (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
5313 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Vondaloo mussel are a staple. Lobster ro ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 18 hours ago

Vondaloo mussel are a staple. Lobster roll and spicy bison ribs are a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Service was very slow and unresponsive T ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was very slow and unresponsive

This seems to be kind of normal in this restaurant

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

We eat here pretty regularly and the foo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We eat here pretty regularly and the food is always excellent. It is a bar and it has food, but they definitely don't serve "bar food." We the usual excellent meal but the service was a bit off. Only the next morning when we realized the bill was too high did we figure out they had charged us for an extra bottle of wine. They were quick to correct it, but we could have just as easily missed it and just been out the cash. Will definitely continue to recommend it, but will make sure to check the bill before we leave!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Simply outstanding!!! Everthing about t ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Simply outstanding!!! Everthing about this place was great. You will not be disappointed!

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a dinner before Hamilton ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place for a dinner before Hamilton. Our waiter was very good about keeping us on schedule and the food was very good. I was a bit sad to see that they changed from a nice crunchy roll to bread on the lobster roll, as it was really perfect in its prior incarnation.

Overall, great choice for Michigan Avenue and nearby theaters.

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Decent but not great food. Service is me ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Decent but not great food. Service is mediocre, at best. Used to be a better place last year I was in Chicago but I was disappointed this time. They are busy and they seem to forget that this could change quickly if they have more customers who feel like I did today. I don't think I will bother with The Gage next time I am in Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

I was disappointed when I arrived at the ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

I was disappointed when I arrived at the Gage. My table was not ready, which was fine, but the host was rude, bordering on dismissive. He waved me into the bar to wait without making any eye contact, advising as to the wait time or advising as to how the Gage would contact me to let me know the table was ready. After 15 minutes I checked back at the host table and was admonished because they had texted my phone and I had not answered. The Gage is one of my favourite neighbourhood restaurants but I am not sure I will return if that is how they treat their clients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Food was good, but a little noisy becaus ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was good, but a little noisy because there were too many people...^^;;

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A terrific brunch experience. Our serve ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

A terrific brunch experience. Our server was upbeat and attentive. The food was terrific and the the six of us could converse at our round table. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Gage offers great food, a warm and c ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The Gage offers great food, a warm and cozy ambiance (especially by the fire in the back), a great liquor selection, and is situated near some of Chicago finest sites. We have visited twice, and we have been extremely happy each time. The burgers are excellent, along with their changing specials. Highly recommended!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We celebrated the recent marriage of clo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We celebrated the recent marriage of close friends. Both of us really like The Gage . The restaurant gave us a special both in a private area of the restaurant and gave us all the time we wanted to celebrate the happy occasion. The food that evening was awesome. Creatively prepared on some dishes and with the appropriate classic simplicity for others. My dessert was phenomenal and the portions were just the right size to share or be eaten by one.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Historic, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Venison burger was fantastic. Steak sala ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Venison burger was fantastic. Steak salad was not great. Medium rare & was Rare!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We went to the Gage based upon TripAdvis ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We went to the Gage based upon TripAdvisor ratings and left feeling underwhelmed. The appetizer, fried pickles were good but not great. They were excellent serving size and more then enough to feed a full table of 4. The meals shared at the table were a classic burger with fries, pear & walnut salad and a 1/2 mushroom soup and 1/2 buffalo chicken sandwich. Everything was good but not memorable nor somewhere I would return anytime soon. We had very friendly service unfortunately he forgot one of our drinks and we went with a recommendation if his and were disappointed with the turnout.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Great food. They handled kids well. Se ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great food. They handled kids well. Service was prompt and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I've never been disappointed with The Ga ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

I've never been disappointed with The Gage! Terrific food & service!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first time at Gage -- overall very im ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 22, 2016

My first time at Gage -- overall very impressed, but what impressed me most was the amazing quality of their service. I asked my server for suggestions, and followed his lead on an appetizer of stuffed Shisito peppers, even though I am not normally a fan of high levels of heat, I was told that the peppers are not normally very hot. As it turned out the Shisito's were packing a lot of heat, more than I could tolerate. But as I was eating my appetizer and trying not to let on how much I was struggling, the restaurant manager noticed my distress, came up and subtly suggested an alternative appetizer, swept away the shisito's which also deftly disappeared from my bill. A few minutes later I was enjoying an extremely lovely pear and walnut salad which turned out to be a perfect match for the excellent and flavorful leg of lamb which followed. The meal was excellent, but the level of service, noticing a patron in distress and correcting the problem without my ever having to say a word, represents a level of service I rarely find anymore. I highly recommend the Gage to anyone interested in good food and great service in a great location.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding cuisine and excellent servic ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Outstanding cuisine and excellent service. We visited from Atlanta for daughter'a 16th birthday and Melissa, our waitress, was perfect.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The servers were incredibly professional ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The servers were incredibly professional and polite and knowledgeable. But the kitchen must have been in the weeds bc the service was soooo slow. We waited for ages. Dinner was tasty when it arrived. Also very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I had a wonderful dining experience Frid ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I had a wonderful dining experience Friday evening with a buddy, who had never dined there, before the CSO Dr. John with Nicholas Payton and a Satchmo tribute. My waiter was outstanding and our dinner was timely and cooked to perfection. I had a venison burger and a couple of beers and a glass the house Chianti. It was wonderful and the host Billie came by for a few laughs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, it was a decent meal. We had a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Overall, it was a decent meal. We had a large group and the seating arrangement placed people on the vorners of the table. Fortunately one guest cancelled and another joined late otherwise it would have been uncomfortable.

Loaded shishito peppers and beer battered pickles were enjoyed as starters. Spicey buffalo ribs average.The pork chop special was enjoyed by all who ordered albeit a bit pricey for pork. The venison burger received high marks. Braised lamb was tender, but peculiarly all the dishes seemed to taste of the same sauce...buffalo, lamb, pork. It tasted good, but my mouth got bored.

Location and ambiance were very good in my opinion. Service was above average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Food, wine, and service were very good. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food, wine, and service were very good. Noise volume made conversations nearly impossible.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

The Gage was a great choice for a meal b ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The Gage was a great choice for a meal before going to the theater. My husband's venison burger was the best he had ever tasted!

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for date night and to watch the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We went for date night and to watch the Chicago tree lighting in Millennium Park. We sat outside and had a wonderful service experience and food! The Gage was also serving free homemade hot cocoa to patrons and interested parties passing by. Great vibe, food and energy.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, People Watching, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Busy lunch time spot. Quick, friendly s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Busy lunch time spot. Quick, friendly service. Good lunch selections. Nice atmosphere

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This great Michigan Ave spot across from ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2016

This great Michigan Ave spot across from Millennium Park. the Bean, the skating rink and Pritzker Pavilion just keeps getting better and better. Enjoyed a spicy tomato tortilla soup with lobster, a roasted duck breast and a Persian spiced lamb shank. Service was great, wine by the glass as well as extensive draft beer selections. Perfect for after theater or symphony hall. Never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Burger was good but not robster roll. Th ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Burger was good but not robster roll. The roll was wasting of money.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We elected to give the Gage another try ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We elected to give the Gage another try for a quick bite before an event at the Shedd and a late night dinner. It had been years since we last visited and we elected to go again because we remembered a great deal of creativity and diversity on the menu, especially with regards to appetizers and small plates. Our memory was either a bit off or the menu philosophy has changed significantly over the years. We simply got a few appetizers and (more than) a few cocktails to tide us over. We did enjoy our food and drink but the selection was a bit limited and a bit less exotic and creative than we remembered. The service was attentive but a bit strange. Being "welcome(d) aboard" to a non-nautically themed, upscale, metropolitan "bistro" was a bit weird but our service was overall fairly attentive, especially given the high volume of the restaurant at the time. We would go again but it no longer holds the "special status" that we had attributed to it based upon our previous visits. The scene is vibrant so if you enjoy people watching, the Gage is a great place to go.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We had a great experience. Nice app's, ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We had a great experience. Nice app's, nice cocktails, nice variety and quality of food. Our server, Stephen/Steven (not sure which) was awesome.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service was excellent as always ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food and service was excellent as always. Reservations are always ready for us.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous restaurant; terrific food, wond ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Fabulous restaurant; terrific food, wonderful staff.

Highly recommended

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Really large portions. Venison burger is ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Really large portions. Venison burger is fabulous. Good beer menu. Space is really tight and it's really loud in the restaurant. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The food was good but our table was RIGH ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was good but our table was RIGHT next to the couples seated on either side of us and it was a little awkward.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

They want you to eat up and move along. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

They want you to eat up and move along. Otherwise, food is good and service knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Service was excellent. Food was good bu ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was good but not great. Burger the best entree we had. Nice atmosphere but we were seated by the kitchen and it was sweltering hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, great atmosphere. TERRIBLE s ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Good food, great atmosphere. TERRIBLE service. I informed my server about a nut allergy and low and behold, the nuts arrived on my salad. Additionally, a scorching red hot pepper was also in my salad. I informed the server and the manager graciously removed it from our bill and offered us a dessert of our choice, but our server closed us out before serving the dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

The Gage is wonderful. Friends were vis ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The Gage is wonderful. Friends were visiting from out of town, and we picked Gage because (among other reasons) the menu has something for everybody's taste. The vindloo mussels are a great starter, and I love the venison burger. Service is always super-friendly and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went because it looked like a nice pl ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We went because it looked like a nice place and was close to the theater. It was a nice place, a little noisy for us, but nice. The staff were friendly, attentive, and knowledgeable. The appetizers and salads were great, entrees not so much. That, along with upscale prices, make a return visit very unlikely.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

I love the Gage and dine there frequentl ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I love the Gage and dine there frequently BUT the noise level is really out of control. I was in a booth and thought that would be quieter but I had to yell at my friend across the table to be heard. I had a headache when I left. The food and service could not be better but PLEASE do something about that noise. Thanks.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the Gage, good value, awesome servi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Love the Gage, good value, awesome service. Perfect spot for pre show meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Went to meet friends for dinner and drin ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Went to meet friends for dinner and drinks at The Gage. Our server Wes was fantastic! Gave great suggestions and was very attentive. Ordered the special which was the Sturgeon, the Amish chicken and the ribs. All great suggestions! For dessert we all split the pumpkin cake and a chocolate dessert. Would definitely go back. Just be prepared that it is very noisy! Other than the noise i would highly recommend and will be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.