About The Funky Door

6015 82nd St., Suite 2
Lubbock, TX 79424
View Larger Map

Born out of the desire to give West Texas a unique dining experience and offer an escape out of the ordinary — bringing together our love of wine and cuisine from around the world, fine art, live music and extraordinary hospitality. Smart and lively, our walls are adorned with the works of local artists, setting a fun, sophisticated and intimate atmosphere. We feature the best of local music nightly! With over 600 bottled wine selections from all over the world, you are sure to find a new favorite. One of the most unique experiences we offer is our self-serve Italian made Enomatic wine machines. The wine is kept fresh, allowing you to taste over 48 wines without buying the whole glass or bottle. The Bar- Our bar motto is Creative, Fresh, Delectable. We love perfecting classic cocktails and creating funky originals. Explore classic cuisine from around the globe with a funky little twist. Our menu is creative and unique, featuring our famous fondues and tantalizing weekly specials.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fondue, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm, Friday - 4:30- 12am, Saturday Brunch: 10:00am- 3:00pm, Saturday Dinner: 4:30pm- 12am
Main Kitchen closes at 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Frankford

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(806) 687-0505

Website:
http://www.thefunkydoorwineroom.com/

Entertainment:
Our comfortable, fun interior provides the perfect backdrop for live music Monday through Saturday.

Catering:
Let The Funky Door cater your next event. We offer carry out or full service catering.

Parking Details:
Convenient parking in front.

Executive Chef:
Wes Chesshire

Private Party Facilities:
The Funky Door is the perfect place for your next event. From rehearsal dinners to business meetings, let us customize around your needs. We have a catering menu or our culinary team can create something special just for you.

Private Party Contact:
Christina Glendening: 8066870505x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cheescake With Raspberry Coulis - The Funky Door, Lubbock, TX
  • Sun-dried Tomato Tortellini - The Funky Door, Lubbock, TX
  • Lobster Ravioli - The Funky Door, Lubbock, TX
Cheescake With Raspberry Coulis - The Funky Door, Lubbock, TX
Sun-dried Tomato Tortellini - The Funky Door, Lubbock, TX
Lobster Ravioli - The Funky Door, Lubbock, TX

The Funky Door Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Texas Panhandle
Most Booked
Lubbock
Best Restaurants in Lubbock ›

Notable Wine List (15)
Romantic (14)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
See All
Good for a Date (9)
Live Music (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Fun (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Tapas (3)
People Watching (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Cozy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
55 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Funky Door is my husband and I favorite ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Funky Door is my husband and I favorite place to go for a date night or a night out with a group of friends!!! Love the food and the lemon drop martinis are awesome!! Highly recommend it for anyone looking for a night out!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We ate here for a wedding anniversary wi ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We ate here for a wedding anniversary with my wife. I had requested a wuiet out of the way table and got exactly that! Brandy gave us the best table service we could have possibly asked for! We started with the Funky Door smoked gouda Fondue and added sautéed vegetables. Delicious! My wife is Geeman and they even had a Geeman wine. Careful, though, it was $17 per glass! The Mahi Mahi was one of the best meals I hace ever eaten and the pirtion was generous. Ny wife enjoyed her linguini as well. I highly reccomendfor a special or romantic occasion. Recommend checking menu prices on line first. On line reservation service worked beautifully.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Normally the music is so loud you can't ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Normally the music is so loud you can't visit without yelling at the person across the table. Since we went to celebrate a birthday AND visit, we were glad that this time the music wasn't too loud.

The food was absolutely delicious, as it always is!

If the music wasn't so loud, this would be my favorite place to have business meals. The musicians are always talented and the music is good -- just too loud to be able to visit easily.

We enjoy coming here. The ambiance is enjoyable and we like to walk around and look at the paintings done by local artists.

The Funky Door is truly a local gem!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was horrendous. Very nice, b ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The service was horrendous. Very nice, but it took an hour to get different courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

We go here for their fondue and yummy ap ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We go here for their fondue and yummy appetizers. I love their wine bar options and the atmosphere.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding as always. Great atmosphere ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Outstanding as always. Great atmosphere and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, good service in a fun atmosph ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Good food, good service in a fun atmosphere.

Lots of wines by the glass.

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was overpriced and a bad cut. Tast ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Steak was overpriced and a bad cut. Tasted like liver. The Brussels sprouts were undercooked. The funky chicken was too chewy. Lobster linguini was excellent and so was the duck. The waiter knew nothing about the wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Great food. The steaks and seafood were ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great food. The steaks and seafood were outstanding!

Tags: Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Romantic, People Watching, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my second disappointing experie ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This was my second disappointing experience in a row at the Funky Door. We have been going there during game weekends for three weekends. I'm sorry to say that I will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Excellent food and service. Best meal I ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Excellent food and service. Best meal I've had in Lubbock.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good everything. Very helpful waiter. Su ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Good everything. Very helpful waiter. Superb wine selection. Will be back!

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The fondue was excellent but we were ver ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The fondue was excellent but we were very disappointed not to be able to use the wine tasting machines which was why we wanted to go there. The staff told us the server was down and they couldn't create a card for us to use them.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

The noise level during out dinner was at ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The noise level during out dinner was at times unbearable. There was a large party that was literally screaming the entire time we were having dinner. The wait staff apologized but it was an awful experience. This was the last dinner with our daughter before we left her at Texas Tech for the semester and we wanted to visit and talk but this was not possible.

I ordered a dinner pear and pecan salad with my dinner. I was looking forward to the salad which I had ordered on a previous visit but, the salad never arrived. Once again the waitress apologized but how hard is it to bring out a salad? I really like this restaurant and made reservations a week prior but for the price I could have gone to a chain restuarant for a lot less money.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

Have eaten there many times in the past ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Have eaten there many times in the past and was always a good experience. However, this time it was BAD from the beginning to the end. Drinks were weak, cheese sticks were awful, wife's risotto was stuck together and bland, salmon was fishy tasting, my steak was cooked on a griddle rather than on a grill and had no flavor, and the mushrooms were completely flavorless. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

We were disappointed in the seating area ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were disappointed in the seating area we were placed. We asked to be moved and the comment was "you would have a different waiter." Which was not X problem four us. After we teceived our food we noticed that our waiter was serving the other ares where we had requested be moved to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Unique choose your own wine set up that ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Unique choose your own wine set up that you serve yourself with a wine card. It allows for sipping different wines without buying a whole glass. The main courses we had were good and comparable to other similar establishments. We had the fondue and that was nice as well. The live entertainment from the bar was nice, but I thought the restaurant was a little loud before they started. The wait staff was attentive and polite, but invisible the rest of the time. Id go back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was a tremendous disappointment! Wi ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was a tremendous disappointment!

Wine was great.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Between the big groups surrounding our t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Between the big groups surrounding our table and the live music, it was a little loud to hear our own conversation but the delicious food (tamarind duck and wild boar) and the awesome service more than made up for this. We were there for our anniversary and our server, Robert, was nice enough to bring us a couple glasses of champagne and a slice of his favorite raspberry cake. He was also very attentive and came back to check on us regularly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Pros: Good service and wine list Cons: ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Pros: Good service and wine list

Cons: Mediocre food, pricey, in a strip mall

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We celebrated a friend's birthday with b ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on June 18, 2016

We celebrated a friend's birthday with brunch at the Funky Door. The food was excellent and ample. The waiter was good at predicting what kind of wine our friend would enjoy. They said "happy birthday" to our friend, but didn't embarrass her. The prices were more reasonable than I expected. I enjoyed the jazz music in the background. I will eat here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My son just finished first year in colle ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 17, 2016

My son just finished first year in college. We went out for a nice meal. Had been to the Funky Door before and enjoyed it so went back. My son was very pleased with his meal. My double pork chop came out rare. They took it back and cooked it to a more appropriate temperature. The flavors were very good, I wish they had gotten the temp right the first time. In the end, all was good and we will most likely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Taste, texture, smell, and presentation ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on May 12, 2016

Taste, texture, smell, and presentation was superb. Waiter was cordial and very professional

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a really memorable experience. I ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on April 23, 2016

It was a really memorable experience. I took my girlfriend for her birthday and really felt like a usual customer. The food was great and customer service was exceptional. Overall a really great place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed. I had heard good things, r ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Disappointed. I had heard good things, read mixed reviews. Service was good, waiter was attentive and pleasant. For a "wine" bar I was not impressed with their wines-except for the pricey, over priced wine bottles. There are lots of great $10 glasses of wine...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

The Funky Door is a gem - I can't wait to go back!

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 17, 2016

My wife and I were joined by a friend for dinner at The Funky Door last Saturday. It was our first time there but our friend had been before so she guided us. Everything was excellent. The "house" fondue was flavorful and creamy, with two awesome breads for dipping. Our entrees were perfect - just as described. My wife had the farfalle with chicken and a creamy sauce (I don't remember the name of the dish, and I am not doing it justice), while I enjoyed the California Cordon Bleu. It all went perfectly with an excellent bottle of white wine ordered by our friend. I will be back regularly, and hopefully soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love it!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2016

The Funky Door is my favorite find in Lubbock. It's great food in a fairly casual atmosphere, the live music is a definite plus to the overall ambience, and the bar is serving them up until midnight. It's all good...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time there, but will definitely go back!

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 15, 2016

Great food, super service. They will be moving soon, so I look forward to going to the new location when i am back in Lubbock this summer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on April 10, 2016

My husband took me on a little weekend getaway for my birthday and took me to the funky door for dinner. We loved the food! Waitress was nice explaining foods us! (We're country folk that like to feel fancy on occasion. ) she was very helpful for order helping us what to pick so we didn't feel like complete idiots trying to dine fancy. Food was very good. Chef did an amazing job everything perfection! Appetizer and dessert delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Awesome Food!

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on April 8, 2016

My husband and I love Funky Door! I like to eat there at least once a month.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great spot for group or even date night

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 26, 2016

The past two times we've visited, the food has been outstanding. The filet was cooked perfectly, although next time I will order without peppercorns, and the burger is the best in town. The cheese sticks appetizer is delicious and comes with a substantial amount. It can very easily be shared among 4 people. The service was wonderful too. No complaints here. I've drank here plenty of times, but rarely eat. It's one of my new favorite spots in town to wine and dine. Oh, and the best part, they have sweet potato fries!! For some reason, these are hard to come by in Lubbock.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on March 19, 2016

We love the Funky Door, we were there twice last week in a large group and then with another couple, both times the service, food, & wine were excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well Done, Funky Door!

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 21, 2016

We've been to The Funky Door several times and it is always good. But this experience was outstanding in every way. We took some friends out for a celebratory dinner and the food was good, the service outstanding and the music was "just right". I will take another group of friends there. Anytime!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very disappointing.

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Service was poor. We all got up to get a glass of wine and they started bussing the table. It took over an hour to get our salad. Prime rib-eye was very thin for an expensive steak, fondue was a clump of cheese in a bowl over a flame, tortillini tasted store bought however it had a nice vodka sauce. Go for a drink and cheese board and listen to music, not dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

I was so happy to find this restaurant! ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 20, 2016

I was so happy to find this restaurant! We went for my daughter's 21 birthday. She was greeted with a glass of champagne. Our server helped me navigate both the wine selections as well as the fondue appetizers and dinner. I can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. They also do special requests exactly how you tell them too. Great management and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

my server was amazing!!!!

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 14, 2016

my server was great he was very informational and i enjoyed myself the entire time. The food was great and the manager even came around and spoke. i will be a norm there from now on!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cold Food, Overpriced

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 14, 2016

I took my wife here for a romantic Valentine's dinner. I expected it to be expensive, but for what I paid the food terrible. Half warmed up ravioli, dry chicken and a below average wine for over 100$. Will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Not impressed

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 12, 2016

I wasn't impressed. I feel like going there on a special occasion you should be able to get the whole menu and not be surprised when you get there and can only order certain items. It was disappointing because they weren't even willing to budge off of the menu they created for that night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Worst service I've ever had

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 6, 2016

My reservation was for 7:30. We waited 15 minutes for our table and ordered drinks at 7:45 upon seating. Our drinks arrived at the table at 8pm, with 2 missing. We ordered fondue for the table at 8pm and it did not arrive until 9:15!! Our waitress had to be hunted down by guests of our table continuously when we needed to order drinks. We will not be back. With a 7:30 reservation, we finally were able to pay out and leave around 10 pm and were incredibly late to our next obligation that night. Unacceptable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.