About The Funky Door

6015 82nd St., Suite 2
Lubbock, TX 79424
View Larger Map

Born out of the desire to give West Texas a unique dining experience and offer an escape out of the ordinary — bringing together our love of wine and cuisine from around the world, fine art, live music and extraordinary hospitality. Smart and lively, our walls are adorned with the works of local artists, setting a fun, sophisticated and intimate atmosphere. We feature the best of local music nightly! With over 600 bottled wine selections from all over the world, you are sure to find a new favorite. One of the most unique experiences we offer is our self-serve Italian made Enomatic wine machines. The wine is kept fresh, allowing you to taste over 48 wines without buying the whole glass or bottle. The Bar- Our bar motto is Creative, Fresh, Delectable. We love perfecting classic cocktails and creating funky originals. Explore classic cuisine from around the globe with a funky little twist. Our menu is creative and unique, featuring our famous fondues and tantalizing weekly specials.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fondue, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm, Friday - 4:30- 12am, Saturday Brunch: 10:00am- 3:00pm, Saturday Dinner: 4:30pm- 12am
Main Kitchen closes at 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Frankford

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(806) 687-0505

Website:
http://www.thefunkydoorwineroom.com/

Entertainment:
Our comfortable, fun interior provides the perfect backdrop for live music Monday through Saturday.

Catering:
Let The Funky Door cater your next event. We offer carry out or full service catering.

Parking Details:
Convenient parking in front.

Executive Chef:
Wes Chesshire

Private Party Facilities:
The Funky Door is the perfect place for your next event. From rehearsal dinners to business meetings, let us customize around your needs. We have a catering menu or our culinary team can create something special just for you.

Private Party Contact:
Christina Glendening: 8066870505x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cheescake With Raspberry Coulis
  • Sun-dried Tomato Tortellini
  • Lobster Ravioli
Cheescake With Raspberry Coulis
Sun-dried Tomato Tortellini
Lobster Ravioli

The Funky Door Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Texas Panhandle
Best Food
Texas Panhandle
Best Service
Texas Panhandle
5 More
Best Ambiance
Texas Panhandle
Best Value
Texas Panhandle
Special Occasion
Texas Panhandle
Most Booked
Texas Panhandle
Most Booked
Lubbock
Best Restaurants in Lubbock ›

Notable Wine List (21)
Romantic (17)
Special Occasion (16)
See All
Fit for Foodies (12)
Late-night Find (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
42 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The fondue was excellent but we were ver ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined 3 days ago

The fondue was excellent but we were very disappointed not to be able to use the wine tasting machines which was why we wanted to go there. The staff told us the server was down and they couldn't create a card for us to use them.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

The noise level during out dinner was at ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The noise level during out dinner was at times unbearable. There was a large party that was literally screaming the entire time we were having dinner. The wait staff apologized but it was an awful experience. This was the last dinner with our daughter before we left her at Texas Tech for the semester and we wanted to visit and talk but this was not possible.

I ordered a dinner pear and pecan salad with my dinner. I was looking forward to the salad which I had ordered on a previous visit but, the salad never arrived. Once again the waitress apologized but how hard is it to bring out a salad? I really like this restaurant and made reservations a week prior but for the price I could have gone to a chain restuarant for a lot less money.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

Have eaten there many times in the past ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Have eaten there many times in the past and was always a good experience. However, this time it was BAD from the beginning to the end. Drinks were weak, cheese sticks were awful, wife's risotto was stuck together and bland, salmon was fishy tasting, my steak was cooked on a griddle rather than on a grill and had no flavor, and the mushrooms were completely flavorless. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

We were disappointed in the seating area ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were disappointed in the seating area we were placed. We asked to be moved and the comment was "you would have a different waiter." Which was not X problem four us. After we teceived our food we noticed that our waiter was serving the other ares where we had requested be moved to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Unique choose your own wine set up that ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Unique choose your own wine set up that you serve yourself with a wine card. It allows for sipping different wines without buying a whole glass. The main courses we had were good and comparable to other similar establishments. We had the fondue and that was nice as well. The live entertainment from the bar was nice, but I thought the restaurant was a little loud before they started. The wait staff was attentive and polite, but invisible the rest of the time. Id go back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was a tremendous disappointment! Wi ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was a tremendous disappointment!

Wine was great.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Between the big groups surrounding our t ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Between the big groups surrounding our table and the live music, it was a little loud to hear our own conversation but the delicious food (tamarind duck and wild boar) and the awesome service more than made up for this. We were there for our anniversary and our server, Robert, was nice enough to bring us a couple glasses of champagne and a slice of his favorite raspberry cake. He was also very attentive and came back to check on us regularly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Pros: Good service and wine list Cons: ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Pros: Good service and wine list

Cons: Mediocre food, pricey, in a strip mall

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We celebrated a friend's birthday with b ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We celebrated a friend's birthday with brunch at the Funky Door. The food was excellent and ample. The waiter was good at predicting what kind of wine our friend would enjoy. They said "happy birthday" to our friend, but didn't embarrass her. The prices were more reasonable than I expected. I enjoyed the jazz music in the background. I will eat here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My son just finished first year in colle ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

My son just finished first year in college. We went out for a nice meal. Had been to the Funky Door before and enjoyed it so went back. My son was very pleased with his meal. My double pork chop came out rare. They took it back and cooked it to a more appropriate temperature. The flavors were very good, I wish they had gotten the temp right the first time. In the end, all was good and we will most likely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Taste, texture, smell, and presentation ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Taste, texture, smell, and presentation was superb. Waiter was cordial and very professional

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a really memorable experience. I ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

It was a really memorable experience. I took my girlfriend for her birthday and really felt like a usual customer. The food was great and customer service was exceptional. Overall a really great place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed. I had heard good things, r ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Disappointed. I had heard good things, read mixed reviews. Service was good, waiter was attentive and pleasant. For a "wine" bar I was not impressed with their wines-except for the pricey, over priced wine bottles. There are lots of great $10 glasses of wine...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

The Funky Door is a gem - I can't wait to go back!

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

My wife and I were joined by a friend for dinner at The Funky Door last Saturday. It was our first time there but our friend had been before so she guided us. Everything was excellent. The "house" fondue was flavorful and creamy, with two awesome breads for dipping. Our entrees were perfect - just as described. My wife had the farfalle with chicken and a creamy sauce (I don't remember the name of the dish, and I am not doing it justice), while I enjoyed the California Cordon Bleu. It all went perfectly with an excellent bottle of white wine ordered by our friend. I will be back regularly, and hopefully soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love it!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

The Funky Door is my favorite find in Lubbock. It's great food in a fairly casual atmosphere, the live music is a definite plus to the overall ambience, and the bar is serving them up until midnight. It's all good...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time there, but will definitely go back!

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Great food, super service. They will be moving soon, so I look forward to going to the new location when i am back in Lubbock this summer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

My husband took me on a little weekend getaway for my birthday and took me to the funky door for dinner. We loved the food! Waitress was nice explaining foods us! (We're country folk that like to feel fancy on occasion. ) she was very helpful for order helping us what to pick so we didn't feel like complete idiots trying to dine fancy. Food was very good. Chef did an amazing job everything perfection! Appetizer and dessert delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Awesome Food!

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

My husband and I love Funky Door! I like to eat there at least once a month.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great spot for group or even date night

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The past two times we've visited, the food has been outstanding. The filet was cooked perfectly, although next time I will order without peppercorns, and the burger is the best in town. The cheese sticks appetizer is delicious and comes with a substantial amount. It can very easily be shared among 4 people. The service was wonderful too. No complaints here. I've drank here plenty of times, but rarely eat. It's one of my new favorite spots in town to wine and dine. Oh, and the best part, they have sweet potato fries!! For some reason, these are hard to come by in Lubbock.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

We love the Funky Door, we were there twice last week in a large group and then with another couple, both times the service, food, & wine were excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well Done, Funky Door!

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We've been to The Funky Door several times and it is always good. But this experience was outstanding in every way. We took some friends out for a celebratory dinner and the food was good, the service outstanding and the music was "just right". I will take another group of friends there. Anytime!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very disappointing.

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Service was poor. We all got up to get a glass of wine and they started bussing the table. It took over an hour to get our salad. Prime rib-eye was very thin for an expensive steak, fondue was a clump of cheese in a bowl over a flame, tortillini tasted store bought however it had a nice vodka sauce. Go for a drink and cheese board and listen to music, not dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

I was so happy to find this restaurant! ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

I was so happy to find this restaurant! We went for my daughter's 21 birthday. She was greeted with a glass of champagne. Our server helped me navigate both the wine selections as well as the fondue appetizers and dinner. I can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. They also do special requests exactly how you tell them too. Great management and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

my server was amazing!!!!

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

my server was great he was very informational and i enjoyed myself the entire time. The food was great and the manager even came around and spoke. i will be a norm there from now on!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cold Food, Overpriced

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I took my wife here for a romantic Valentine's dinner. I expected it to be expensive, but for what I paid the food terrible. Half warmed up ravioli, dry chicken and a below average wine for over 100$. Will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Not impressed

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

I wasn't impressed. I feel like going there on a special occasion you should be able to get the whole menu and not be surprised when you get there and can only order certain items. It was disappointing because they weren't even willing to budge off of the menu they created for that night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Worst service I've ever had

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

My reservation was for 7:30. We waited 15 minutes for our table and ordered drinks at 7:45 upon seating. Our drinks arrived at the table at 8pm, with 2 missing. We ordered fondue for the table at 8pm and it did not arrive until 9:15!! Our waitress had to be hunted down by guests of our table continuously when we needed to order drinks. We will not be back. With a 7:30 reservation, we finally were able to pay out and leave around 10 pm and were incredibly late to our next obligation that night. Unacceptable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Food, wine and band was excellent!

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on December 15, 2015

Food, wine and band was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

My wife and I arrived at 12:15pm on 11/0 ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

My wife and I arrived at 12:15pm on 11/07/15. I had made reservations for 12:30pm but seating was not an issue and we were immediately seated. We had never been here and we were celebrating our wedding anniversary this day. The hostess brought us some water and menus and said our waiter would be right with us. Our waiter never came to our table. At 12:40pm, after waiting 25 minutes with no service, we left. Horrible service. Can't rate the food since we obviously didn't eat, but the water was, water. Really had high hopes for an amazing anniversary meal, unfortunately the lack of service this day ruined it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Enjoyed the food, atmosphere and we miss ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

Enjoyed the food, atmosphere and we miss the Sunday Brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, wine, & specials. Generous p ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 30, 2015

Great food, wine, & specials. Generous portions. We loved the duck. The chef was kind to substitute zucchini ribbons for pasta, and it was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was outstanding as usual. Half off ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on July 22, 2015

Food was outstanding as usual. Half off wine on Wednesdays is an awesome deal. Ambiance is great, hostesses are friendly, drinks are great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

A great find!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on October 31, 2014

Happened upon this great place, could not have asked for a better meal ( food, service and feel ).

We will be coming back and this time bringing a group to enjoy it with us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 21, 2014

I went here for my anniversary and it was an amazing experience. The food was absolutely delicious, they placed us in a more secluded area like I asked, and the waiter was attentive. Definitely coming back for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Funky Door

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 24, 2014

This is a vibrant wine bar with excellent food! Our waiter, Daniel, was wonderful. The fondue appetizer was so good and our entrees of The Funky Chicken and shrimp tortellini were both delicious. So happy to find this surprise of a great dinner spot in Lubbock, while on an overnight visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Service

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on December 28, 2013

I don't think I've ever seen a waiter attend to us as much as they did here. I had a great date and I can only say it was with the amazing service we had. We may have been sitting there for a little bit trying to figure out our drinks, but they have a large wine list. I don't have anything to complain about except the fondu chocolate may have been a little cold when it got to us. Even toward the later time of the night they had some live music, which made the experience that much better.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Bad experience

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on December 15, 2013

Service was horrible. Salads came out after main course and were sent back. $175 for 3 people. One of which was a minor and did not drink. Could have done much better by going to a chain restaurant. Not fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Menu Standouts

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 18, 2012

The menu is a work in progress... so there is room for improvement for everything except two items. Namely, the bacon wrapped filet with peppercorn gravy and the burger. These items are amazing and pair well with the wines on tap. The venue itself is eclectic and vibrant. A great location for a romantic date or bar night out with friends for late night band nights.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Service way too slow!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 19, 2012

The food was awesome...that said, the service was awful. We arrived at 7:00 p.m. for our reservation, were promptly seated, and didn't end up eating until after 8:00 p.m. I thought they had to go to the grocery store to buy the ingredients! Crazy wait time for food. We didn't end up leaving the restaurant until close to 9:00 p.m. after eating, waiting on wine refills, and waiting for the check. Again, we thought the waitress had to leave to run the credit card. Probably won't return because of the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.