Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.58mi
  2. Distance: 2.68mi
  3. Distance: 2.81mi
  4. Distance: 2.87mi
  1. Distance: 2.58mi
  2. Distance: 2.68mi
  3. Distance: 2.81mi
  4. Distance: 2.87mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.58mi
  2. Distance: 2.68mi
  3. Distance: 2.81mi
  4. Distance: 2.87mi
  1. Distance: 2.58mi
  2. Distance: 2.68mi
  3. Distance: 2.81mi
  4. Distance: 2.87mi

About The Funky Door

Born out of the desire to give West Texas a unique dining experience and offer an escape out of the ordinary — bringing together our love of wine and cuisine from around the world, fine art, live music and extraordinary hospitality. Smart and lively, our walls are adorned with the works of local artists, setting a fun, sophisticated and intimate atmosphere. We feature the best of local music nightly! With over 600 bottled wine selections from all over the world, you are sure to find a new favorite. One of the most unique experiences we offer is our self-serve Italian made Enomatic wine machines. The wine is kept fresh, allowing you to taste over 48 wines without buying the whole glass or bottle. The Bar- Our bar motto is Creative, Fresh, Delectable. We love perfecting classic cocktails and creating funky originals. Explore classic cuisine from around the globe with a funky little twist. Our menu is creative and unique, featuring our famous fondues and tantalizing weekly specials.

6015 82nd St., Suite 2
Lubbock, TX 79424
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fondue, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm, Friday - 4:30- 12am, Saturday Brunch: 10:00am- 3:00pm, Saturday Dinner: 4:30pm- 12am
Main Kitchen closes at 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Frankford

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(806) 687-0505

Website:
http://www.thefunkydoorwineroom.com/

Entertainment:
Our comfortable, fun interior provides the perfect backdrop for live music Monday through Saturday.

Catering:
Let The Funky Door cater your next event. We offer carry out or full service catering.

Parking Details:
Convenient parking in front.

Executive Chef:
Wes Chesshire

Private Party Facilities:
The Funky Door is the perfect place for your next event. From rehearsal dinners to business meetings, let us customize around your needs. We have a catering menu or our culinary team can create something special just for you.

Private Party Contact:
Christina Glendening: (806) 687-0505

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Funky Door Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (19)
Romantic (17)
Special Occasion (17)
See All
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Live Music (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Groups (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Cozy (9)
Fun (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Business Meals (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Casual (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Authentic (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Great Beer (3)
Private Room (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
83 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

They were able to accommodate us on short notice on Easter Sunday. Food was good as ever, in particular the fondue.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Delicious brunch or lunch options at the same time. Very nice atmosphere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We reserved a table for Sunday jazz brunch, since it was also Easter Sunday. The service was great. We were seated immediately, had a very attentive waitress, and got our bill and checked out in a timely manner. The only downside was that out of the three entrees ordered that had poached eggs (two stuffed avocado Benedict, one salmon Benedict, all six eggs were over cooked with firm yolks. The dishes still tasted good, but for an upscale brunch item I expect the eggs to be cooked correctly. It was our first time for brunch, so hopefully they'll get it right next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We live out of town, but come here every time we are in town. We love the food, drinks, & service. Can't wait for the new place to open! The menu is fresh and selection varied. Good for young and old alike. Even the hamburgers are great! The live music is varied and on weekends. If you want a quieter dinner, ask to be seated away from the music.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Our 2nd time here; very unique menu; food was awesome, great atmosphere. Highly recommend for special occasion or every day dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 14, 2017

My salad had a live bug in it. Our scallop and sausage appetizer plate was drenched in grease. Service was mediocre at best. The manager came over and apologized for the bug, and made excuses why it happened. Something about fruit fly season? They comped half our dessert. For the price, it was unacceptable. I will not go back, and I would not recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fantastic food and service!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Eclectic and unique dining experience; food was excellent! Highly recommend the fried dill pickles!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We ordered a very expensive wine, it took over 1/2 hour to arrive after the waitress brought us the wrong wine first. Bad. waitress had no clue how to present it. Per management, having seen an order for that quality wine, there should have been a lot better service given to the customer.
Very dissatisfied and disappointing.
Food was not hot it was just warm. We would have got nowhere if we had complained about that. Again, waitress was awful.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food, great live music. Stayed until close . Must do when in Lubbock, TX USA!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The Funky Door is one of my favorite restaurants of all time. The atmosphere is very classy and the environment is quiet. It is the perfect place for a special date or just casual lunch. My fiance and I love going to the Funky Door because the service, food, and atmosphere is very professional.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My wife and I had a great date night Friday, and the service was almost as good as the food! We enjoyed every bite, and our waiter took very good care of us.

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The Restaurant is a great place to take a date and/or spouse for a nice dinner out. Noise level was little more than normal. Space is little closer than preferred. Food was good, but expected a little better prepared. Risotto was little dry and steak was not trimmed properly of fat. My wife enjoyed her lobster pasta dish. Would definitely go again, but maybe a little more picky on food choice. It appeared to be an off night for several customers around.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Making a reservation was really easy! We showed up at our time and were seated immediately! Good was excellent, service was great. Great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great place to eat!!! The food was excellent and serves was outstanding!!!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Bar Seating, Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great for a date, only complaint was that we were near the door and the cold wind was drafting on our table when the door opened.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I always recommend this place for any celebrations. I have been for birthdays, parties and dates. This is the BEST burger in Lubbock. I would not recommend their salads, it never has good lettuce. And of course, you have to order the fondue to start!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service was not the best but it was busy and I think our waitress had her hands full. Still very good experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We love the Funky Door! Have never had bad service, and the food is incredible.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 17, 2017

When travelling, I like to use OpenDoor to find local restaurants. The Funky Door was a GREAT find! We were there on a Monday night. They had a musician playing in the bar area, so you could hear the music, but it was not so loud you could not carry on a conversation at your table.

We started with the cheesy fried pickles, which were delightfully different. Our main courses consisted of Lobster Linguini, Squash Lasagna and Tortellini La Contesa. All three were very good.

Our server, David, was very knowledgeable and helpful.

I highly recommend The Funky Door.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We really enjoyed the Funky Door. The fondue appetizer was probably enough for our whole meal, but we did enjoy two different steaks as well. The steaks were cooked perfectly, but my husbands was supposed to have "truffle butter" but neither of us could taste any truffle. The steaks were a tad dry and could use a little more seasoning. The wine list was great and we enjoyed getting flights of wine to go with our meals. The dessert fondue is also a must! We will be back again!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Had to wear coat and froze entire time. Terrible draft every time someone opened the door. Also my steak that was supposed to be medium was just shy of raw. Will try another time when warmer.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food and service. We had the stuffed quail appetizer and we both ordered the filet. Couldn't have been better. Excellent and attentive service too. Musicians were amazing also.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent, as always! I tried new chicken dish and it was wonderful. Great new drinks and live music was great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service and food were amazing. Complimentary glass of champagne to celebrate our anniversary to start out. Staff was knowledgeable about food and wine. The wine tasting was fun and allowed me to find a new favorite. The stuffed quail, maple duck and ribeye steak were perfect. We will go again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Been here twice and both times the service, food and drinks were excellent!!! Definitely recommend it for both dinner and brunch

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Mimosa "Madness" doesn't really work if your waitress disappears for 40 minutes after filling your first drink and taking meal orders. Tables around us were visiting 3-4 time, and management walked by the table (full of empty glasses) twice without any acknowledgment. He only stopped at the table after a refill was brought with our entrees to see if we "had any issues with service."

Overall, good, not outstanding, food. But with a slow 10:45 am morning, absent waitstaff and obviously disinterested management, it made for a less than ideal brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Funky Door is my husband and I favorite place to go for a date night or a night out with a group of friends!!! Love the food and the lemon drop martinis are awesome!! Highly recommend it for anyone looking for a night out!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We ate here for a wedding anniversary with my wife. I had requested a wuiet out of the way table and got exactly that! Brandy gave us the best table service we could have possibly asked for! We started with the Funky Door smoked gouda Fondue and added sautéed vegetables. Delicious! My wife is Geeman and they even had a Geeman wine. Careful, though, it was $17 per glass! The Mahi Mahi was one of the best meals I hace ever eaten and the pirtion was generous. Ny wife enjoyed her linguini as well. I highly reccomendfor a special or romantic occasion. Recommend checking menu prices on line first. On line reservation service worked beautifully.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Normally the music is so loud you can't visit without yelling at the person across the table. Since we went to celebrate a birthday AND visit, we were glad that this time the music wasn't too loud.

The food was absolutely delicious, as it always is!

If the music wasn't so loud, this would be my favorite place to have business meals. The musicians are always talented and the music is good -- just too loud to be able to visit easily.

We enjoy coming here. The ambiance is enjoyable and we like to walk around and look at the paintings done by local artists.

The Funky Door is truly a local gem!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The service was horrendous. Very nice, but it took an hour to get different courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We go here for their fondue and yummy appetizers. I love their wine bar options and the atmosphere.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Outstanding as always. Great atmosphere and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Good food, good service in a fun atmosphere.
Lots of wines by the glass.

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Steak was overpriced and a bad cut. Tasted like liver. The Brussels sprouts were undercooked. The funky chicken was too chewy. Lobster linguini was excellent and so was the duck. The waiter knew nothing about the wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great food. The steaks and seafood were outstanding!

Tags: Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Romantic, People Watching, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This was my second disappointing experience in a row at the Funky Door. We have been going there during game weekends for three weekends. I'm sorry to say that I will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great food, wine, and service. Amazing wine selection. Glad to see a place that supports quality live music but it was just TOO LOUD for us to enjoy ourselves completely, or have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Excellent food and service. Best meal I've had in Lubbock.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Good everything. Very helpful waiter. Superb wine selection. Will be back!

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.