Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.22mi
  2. Distance: 2.34mi
  3. Distance: 2.38mi
  4. Distance: 2.42mi
  1. Distance: 2.22mi
  2. Distance: 2.34mi
  3. Distance: 2.38mi
  4. Distance: 2.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.22mi
  2. Distance: 2.34mi
  3. Distance: 2.38mi
  4. Distance: 2.42mi
  1. Distance: 2.22mi
  2. Distance: 2.34mi
  3. Distance: 2.38mi
  4. Distance: 2.42mi

About The Funky Door

Born out of the desire to give West Texas a unique dining experience and offer an escape out of the ordinary — bringing together our love of wine and cuisine from around the world, fine art, live music and extraordinary hospitality. Smart and lively, our walls are adorned with the works of local artists, setting a fun, sophisticated and intimate atmosphere. We feature the best of local music nightly! With over 700 bottled wine selections from all over the world, you are sure to find a new favorite. One of the most unique experiences we offer is our self-serve Italian made Enomatic wine machines. The wine is kept fresh, allowing you to taste over 48 wines without buying the whole glass or bottle. The Bar- Our bar motto is Creative, Fresh, Delectable. We love perfecting classic cocktails and creating funky originals. Explore classic cuisine from around the globe with a funky little twist. Our menu is creative and unique, featuring our famous fondues and tantalizing weekly specials.

6801 Milwaukee Ave
Lubbock, TX 79424
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fondue, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thurs Lunch 11am-3pm & Dinner 4:30pm-10:30pm
Friday Lunch 11am-3pm & Dinner 4:30pm-Midnight
Saturday Brunch 10am-3pm & Dinner 4:30-Midnight
Sun Brunch 10am-3pm

Cross Street:
Milwaukee

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(806) 687-0505

Website:
http://www.thefunkydoor.com/

Entertainment:
Our comfortable, fun interior provides the perfect backdrop for live music Monday through Saturday.

Catering:
Let The Funky Door cater your next event. We offer carry out or full service catering.

Parking Details:
Convenient parking in front.

Executive Chef:
Wes Chesshire

Private Party Facilities:
The Funky Door is the perfect place for your next event. From rehearsal dinners to business meetings, let us customize around your needs. We have a catering menu or our culinary team can create something special just for you.

Private Party Contact:
Christina Glendening: (806) 687-0505

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Funky Door Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Notable Wine List (14)
See All
Live Music (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Romantic (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Fun (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Business Meals (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Casual (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
People Watching (4)
Authentic (3)
Cozy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
123 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined 4 days ago

Love this restaurant. But we have sone issues this time. First, i make a reservation but anyways we have to wait to be seated. In the reservation i ask for a conventional table but tjey give us tall tables. Not to confortable for dinner.
2 of the plates we ask, on the menu said they have Rucula on it, but they served instead spinach. Not the same flavor. And they didn’t tell us about the change.
Wine was perfect. (Even if on the wine menu it appears like it was from Argentina when it is from Chile.)
I will return for sure, but i hope this issues will get improved.
Thanks.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyed a birthday celebration, was amazing from start to finish. Live music, attentive waitress, delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We had the most wonderful evening here. Our server was Natalie, she was very accommodating and recommended what is now my favorite wine. We do not live in Lubbock, but will be back to visit the funky door. Thank you

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 5 days ago

Restaurant has a much better ambiance than the old restaurant

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

It was a disappointing experience. I ask for a vegan option, but they had none. This is strange because most restaurants do have something available. It is usually a point of pride for a chief to be able to create something alternative. However there seems to be a big lack of pride in the food prepared at this restaurant.
What they did bring me was dry gnocchi with some steamed arugula. It was unpleasant. I am surprised that a chief would like that out of his or her kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Took my college kids on a Monday night. Mystery wine Monday was a hit and the live music was fantastic! Just our kind of place. We will definitely return!!

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Moved into new and expanded location recently. They are still in the transition phase with new employees in training, limited menu. It can be very loud as on weekend versus the original location that was quaint, quiet, and interesting menu.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, People Watching, Late-night Find, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 29, 2017

They have changed locations. Wonderfully decorated. However the place had lots of hard surfaces and they were playing loud rock music. It was much too noisy. It was a completely different ambiance from their previous location. The staff was completely accommodating to our complaints about the volume of the music. And in general we received great service. But the change in ambiance was too jarring, we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

Everything was great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

My girlfriends and I came out for a girls
night out. This will be one of our favorite places.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Live Music, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

This will be a great addition to our restaurant rotation, as well as a special occasion venue in Lubbock. I have visited twice and food was great both times. The wine list is ample. Service was lacking on a busy week-end night. The management seems to be suffering "growing pains". Little things are off, and if they want to be in the big league they would benefit from a 'pro' overseeing the details and the wait staff training. Otherwise I recommend to all and will definitely make return visits.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Fantastic place. Such a great experience. The staff was very knowledgeable and thorough. The building itself is gorgeous inside. Food was amazing and drinks wet fantastic. I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Tasting Menu, Tapas, People Watching, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Our server was very attentive, in a good way, and we all liked our food. Restaurant interior is very dark, painted mostly black, which lends more to evening dining, meeting for drinks, but, there were several tables filled for lunch. Bar area looked very large. Definitely try fried pickles, and, get Parmesan fries over sweet potato fries!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

I brought my parents here for me moms birthday and I was embaressed to bring them to this place. Took about 10 minutes before we even saw our waitress. Took about another 10 minutes to get our drinks and never saw our waitress again until another guest joined our table. All in all we saw our server maybe 5/6 times the whole two hours we were there. Very disappointed in this restaurant and won't be recommending it to any of my friends or family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 12, 2017

The food was amazing and generously portioned. The wait staff were very attentive and made great suggestions. If you are a dessert fan, be sure not to miss the house made cheese cake. Check the various wine specials for each day of the week. The outdoor fire rings and comfortable seating are great.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

I thought it was a little bit cold upstairs but enjoyed it. Will definitely come back with my husband because you have stout and porter beers. Thank you.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Great wine selection! The food is good and the service is always outstanding! We always feel like celebrities.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

I really liked our server but don't remember her name. Service was good but they were very busy so it was a little long and mildly non-attentive. Funky Door is definitely one of the places to go in SW Lubbock and it lived up to it's reputation. Lots of interesting people there. The new location is impressive but where we seated upstairs the floor vibrated every time someone walked by. The food is different from the standard fare in most Lubbock restaurants, good but not inspiring. I will go back for the people factor and the new look but the food will not call me back. Overall, an asset to the community!

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Easily one of my favorite places in lubbock to enjoy good company and excellent food. The weekly specials are just the icing on top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Wow! The new building is incredible! Beautiful and well thought out! Typical Funky Door ...great food, impeccable service, and now an even better vibe! Keep setting the bar higher and higher in lubbock! More places like this are definitely needed! Congrats FD! Well done!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Hot Spot, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Amazing atmosphere and fabulous fare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Me and my girlfriend had an amazing experience at the funky door. The place was beautiful and the people were super friendly. Food was great and we will definitely be coming back !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

New location is great. Our food took a long time to come out and several of our meals were cold. Good flavor but...too pricey to be served cold. Server was very personable and had great wine recommendations. But, we waited over an hour for our meals. Live music was so loud you couldn't talk at the table. Better as a bar scene v dinner and catching up with friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We have been coming to Funky Door for quite sometime--this was our first time at the new location. It was entirely too loud and we do not mind a louder atmosphere but this was too much. Then both of our steaks were bland and underdone. We will not be coming back for quite some time at this point. We were super disappointed because this has been one of our favorite spots in Lubbock. Hopefully, things will improve with time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Table tops are too small and music was too loud but it was beautiful and the food was amazing as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food was so delicious. Waitress was very friendly and suggestful regarding drinks. Live music was great! Ambiance was the best! White sangria with real fruit was very refreshing.

Tags: Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food was good, but nothing special, and the service was somewhat lacking. We had multiple wait staff that "seemed" to be taking care of us and the service experience appeared disjointed; no continuity mixed with a lack of attentiveness by the primary waitress.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great food, atmosphere, drinks & service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Traveled here from Houston to visit daughter and her husband. Had a special experience at the Funky Door. Wonderful creative food with healthy and gluten free options. Excellent service ! Highly recommend !! J

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Met a friend for happy hour and appetizer. Great service and drinks. Would recommend for friend get together and drinks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The food was great and the $10 Tuesday wine flights were really fun

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My friends and I were driving to Lubbock for an errand (100 miles from us), and we wanted to make the trip more enjoyable by eating brunch at the Funky Door. We love this place and always have a great experience; this time was no different. We brunched to jazz music and refeshing adult bevs.

The Calamari, Dirty Bird Kobe Burger, Pork Belly Benedict, Avocado Eggs Benedict, and the Salmon Eggs Benedict were all absolutely delicious. The coffee was on point, and the bellinis, mimosas, and sangria were perfect for the warm summer day.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Everyone in my party of 12 loved it!The service was excellent and everyone's dish Was prepare to perfection! We love Riley!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Overall everything was Good, had a lot of variety, I'm kinda use to the High end Places in Dallas, but the People and service were Excellent..

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The squash lasagna was hands down one of the most delish meals I've ever had. Presentation of all meals was lovely. Excellent menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 26, 2017

This was a fabulous night out with my husband! We tried the chefs specials and appetizers and all were excellent! The bananas foster was AMAZING!!! We will definitely be returning!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Had a mixup on our order. Manager walked out and took care of it immediately. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (El Paso)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great wine list. Outstanding service. Food was very good but Shortrib could have been braised for much longer to make it fall off the bone but was very tasty, regardless. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Always a great time! Beautiful food, excellent service and fabulous ambiance!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

They were able to accommodate us on short notice on Easter Sunday. Food was good as ever, in particular the fondue.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.