Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.22mi
  2. Distance: 2.34mi
  3. Distance: 2.38mi
  4. Distance: 2.42mi
  1. Distance: 2.22mi
  2. Distance: 2.34mi
  3. Distance: 2.38mi
  4. Distance: 2.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.22mi
  2. Distance: 2.34mi
  3. Distance: 2.38mi
  4. Distance: 2.42mi
  1. Distance: 2.22mi
  2. Distance: 2.34mi
  3. Distance: 2.38mi
  4. Distance: 2.42mi

About The Funky Door

Born out of the desire to give West Texas a unique dining experience and offer an escape out of the ordinary — bringing together our love of wine and cuisine from around the world, fine art, live music and extraordinary hospitality. Smart and lively, our walls are adorned with the works of local artists, setting a fun, sophisticated and intimate atmosphere. We feature the best of local music nightly! With over 700 bottled wine selections from all over the world, you are sure to find a new favorite. One of the most unique experiences we offer is our self-serve Italian made Enomatic wine machines. The wine is kept fresh, allowing you to taste over 48 wines without buying the whole glass or bottle. The Bar- Our bar motto is Creative, Fresh, Delectable. We love perfecting classic cocktails and creating funky originals. Explore classic cuisine from around the globe with a funky little twist. Our menu is creative and unique, featuring our famous fondues and tantalizing weekly specials.

6801 Milwaukee Ave
Lubbock, TX 79424
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fondue, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thurs Lunch 11am-3pm & Dinner 4:30pm-10:30pm
Friday Lunch 11am-3pm & Dinner 4:30pm-Midnight
Saturday Brunch 10am-3pm & Dinner 4:30-Midnight
Sun Brunch 10am-3pm

Cross Street:
Milwaukee

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(806) 687-0505

Website:
http://www.thefunkydoor.com/

Entertainment:
Our comfortable, fun interior provides the perfect backdrop for live music Monday through Saturday.

Catering:
Let The Funky Door cater your next event. We offer carry out or full service catering.

Parking Details:
Convenient parking in front.

Executive Chef:
Wes Chesshire

Private Party Facilities:
The Funky Door is the perfect place for your next event. From rehearsal dinners to business meetings, let us customize around your needs. We have a catering menu or our culinary team can create something special just for you.

Private Party Contact:
Christina Glendening: (806) 687-0505

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Funky Door Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Notable Wine List (25)
Special Occasion (24)
See All
Creative Cuisine (22)
Live Music (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Fun (15)
Romantic (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Business Meals (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Late-night Find (9)
People Watching (9)
Authentic (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Casual (7)
Cozy (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Great Beer (3)
Scenic View (3)
Seasonal (3)
Spicy (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Healthy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort by
S
152 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on December 9, 2017

Great place! I could do without the loud live music.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 5, 2017

The facility is very nice. The wine list is a little overwhelming. We had a nice time, but our service was somewhat slow and when the music started, it was a bit loud for any conversation even though we were upstairs. Our food was good, but not outstanding and my dish was luke warm......not hot.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on November 30, 2017

We were celebrating Ring Ceremony night for my son graduating from Texas Tech. The Funky Door was the perfect place to celebrate! The food, service and ambiance were fabulous!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 30, 2017

I have eaten at the Funky Door multiple times before with much better experiences. The service this time was poor, even though the restaurant was not nearly as busy as it usually is. It took almost 20 min to get drinks after they were ordered, and took about the same time to get refills. The filet was very bland for such an expensive meal. We did not add on any “extras” ( such as truffle butter, etc) because a good steak really shouldn’t need any. The lobster linguini, however, was very good. Overall i was very disappointed with the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

I was looking for somewhere different to take out of town guests. I'm also not a huge brunch fan but decided to give it a try because I saw more substantial meal offerings than I typically find on a brunch menu. My guest and I both had the Steak Benedict, one with Truffle Fries and one with Sweet Potato Fries. They were phenomenal and I am already planning my next visit.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 24, 2017

This place was very cool and the food and service were awesome! Our waiter, Ben Parker was terrific, and really an asset to the restaurant. Great wine list! We want to go back for the Saturday Jazz Brunch.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

Was a good meal great time nice selection of wines

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 21, 2017

The best in Lubbock. Their Beef Wellington is wonderful but when you make your reservations you will need to tell them in advance or your wait will be over an hour. Beef Wellington’s take a little more time in preparation so by telling them in advance no wait. Las Brisas and Scott as our waiter. A perfect Match. Tell Scott Kelley sent you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 17, 2017

Great Service! Food was excellent! Cocktails were funky and all tasted great!

Would recommend to any and all!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Happy Hour, Romantic, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 17, 2017

This is the third time in two month we have had terrible service here. It took 20-30 minutes to even get the bottle of wine and it was the complete wrong one. Almost never saw our server. We come weekly but if this continues we may need to find a different regular spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 16, 2017

Service was so poor that it ruined a special occasion. Food was very late and 2 meals came when rest of group had almost completed the meal

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 12, 2017

2nd time to have dinner here and just love it! Love the fondue, great service, weekend live music.... wish they had one in Dallas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Food was only average. It was obvious that the restaurant is poorly managed. Our server was very good but she was undermined by poor kitchen management and a lackluster overall experience. It took one and a half hours for our food to arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

This was our first visit to the restaurant. We started with the meatballs as an appetizer. They were very good but 4 small meatballs for $12 is slightly excessive. My wife had the squash lasagna which was very good...large portion too. I had the pork chop but was disappointed with how dry/tough it was. I also had to ask the waitress to describe the spice again at the end of the meal because it was so bland(she couldn't remember and offered to get a menu but I declined). However, sweet potato tamales were served as a side and they were great! We got there at 7 and were seated immediately. Unfortunately, we were finishing up when the one man band was just about to start. Hopefully next time we will plan accordingly so we can dine and enjoy the music. If you are wine drinkers, you will be in heaven.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Highly recommended. Very good food. Extensive wine list. Servers very knowledgeable about the wines. Nice place to go for a date night or Anniversary dinner or meeting friends or family. Reservations recommended. A little pricey though for the average person.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Authentic, Great Beer, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed our service that Brandy provided, but the fact that I made a reservation, but then waited over 30 minutes to be seated was a bit troublesome. Also, there is a lot of seating upstairs, but no ADA access to that seating, so it cuts the seating space in half. It's very sad that this is a brand new restaurant that was built without ADA access provided to 1/2 of it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

We sat upstairs & could hear the music, but it wasn't too loud to visit with our friends. The food was delicious! It is a fun atmosphere.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Wonderful jazz brunch! Celebrating a birthday brunch. They made it a memorable experience. Will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Birthday brunch with my best friends. It was perfect, i want to do it every year now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 4, 2017

We all loved it! There were 7 of us and everyone raved about the food. The jazz trio was great too.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 29, 2017

We had booked a table for 6, but only had 5 people due to a change of one person's plans. We were seated at a table for 8 people, asked to be moved and the hostesses (who were very rude) said there was nothing they could do. However one section of the restaurant had plenty of room to accommodate us. There was a singer and band playing and they were too loud for dinner conversation and we were seated at a too large table which made conversation impossible. The waitresses were inept and brought my wife the wrong order. We would never go back to this restaurant. Also, they bill themselves as a wine bar, but nobody seemed to know anything about wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 29, 2017

First visit and not the last. Well prepared food paired with a fun wine service concept that is a fit for all. A few minor kinks that can be easily improved on. Delicious escargot, better served with the untoasted bread we got after we tried the toasted version served with the dish. Loved the marrow bones app! All three Fish entrees we had were perfectly prepared!

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Live Music, Casual, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Don't be fooled by the name. This is an upscale beautiful restaurant. Great service and decor, but most importantly accomplished imaginative American cuisine with foreign flair. A colleague suggested this place for a nice drink. It's definitely more than that. Kudos to the chef and staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

Outstanding service, waiter was very knowledge about food and wine. Atmosphere wonderful. We shared four unique entrees which were all outstanding. Fondu desert was to die for! Owner stopped by our table for an added bonus. Highly recommend and Go Raiders!

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2017

The calamari was floating in an oil slick that they claim is a glaze. The bone-in rib eye was 1/4" on one side and 3/4 to 1" on the other side. I asked for it to be medium rare, It was med well to well on the skinny side. The manager, jessica, came to the table to address our complaints. She was argumentative and unprofessional. She brought out our meals and when she placed the bowl of mushrooms in the middle of the table, she accidentally tipped them over and a few fell out. She stuck her flesh toned band aid clad thumb into the bowl to straighten it. When asked to replace the mushrooms because of the band aid, she argued that she did not put her thumb in it. Three of us witnessed it. The way I understand the Health code, it says that they need to have a colored band aid and be double gloved since she was serving our food. The salmon was nicely seasoned but overcooked and dry. A total fail for a birthday dinner for my college kid. I will never recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
·Dined on October 24, 2017

We are regulars for Happy Hour. The new place is pretty noisy downstairs, so if you are not afraid of steps , sitting upstairs allows for better conversation. Wine selection and Food is great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Casual, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 22, 2017

For the second time, our choice of a standard table (an option on open table) was not noted on our reservation. After experiencing this previously, I made sure the hostess was aware of the kind of table we wanted when we checked in. We were then taken upstairs to a tall table, and then taken back downstairs when we reminded them we wanted a standard table. We waited for 30 minutes past our reservation time before we received our standard table. The hostess that took us to our actual table, was actually quite rude. She put our menus down and just walked away, saying nothing.

Our server was fabulous! Our wine was great and our food was pretty good. Salmon was a little too done and could have used more of the coffee-cocoa rub. Duck entree was plated quite unattractively and the gnocchi served with it was blah. Will give it another try because it is a beautiful restaurant with a great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Had a reservation for 8 after the homecoming game, which was a busy night. The staff was friendly and called beforehand to confirm the reservation. The wait staff was extremely accommodating and gave great suggestions for not only drinks but appetizers and entrees as well. Highly recommend to anyone visiting Lubbock.

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Overall The Funky Door was amazing! The service was a little slow, but was totally worth it!

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Love this restaurant. But we have sone issues this time. First, i make a reservation but anyways we have to wait to be seated. In the reservation i ask for a conventional table but tjey give us tall tables. Not to confortable for dinner.
2 of the plates we ask, on the menu said they have Rucula on it, but they served instead spinach. Not the same flavor. And they didn’t tell us about the change.
Wine was perfect. (Even if on the wine menu it appears like it was from Argentina when it is from Chile.)
I will return for sure, but i hope this issues will get improved.
Thanks.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Enjoyed a birthday celebration, was amazing from start to finish. Live music, attentive waitress, delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

We had the most wonderful evening here. Our server was Natalie, she was very accommodating and recommended what is now my favorite wine. We do not live in Lubbock, but will be back to visit the funky door. Thank you

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Restaurant has a much better ambiance than the old restaurant

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

It was a disappointing experience. I ask for a vegan option, but they had none. This is strange because most restaurants do have something available. It is usually a point of pride for a chief to be able to create something alternative. However there seems to be a big lack of pride in the food prepared at this restaurant.
What they did bring me was dry gnocchi with some steamed arugula. It was unpleasant. I am surprised that a chief would like that out of his or her kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Took my college kids on a Monday night. Mystery wine Monday was a hit and the live music was fantastic! Just our kind of place. We will definitely return!!

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Moved into new and expanded location recently. They are still in the transition phase with new employees in training, limited menu. It can be very loud as on weekend versus the original location that was quaint, quiet, and interesting menu.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, People Watching, Late-night Find, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 29, 2017

They have changed locations. Wonderfully decorated. However the place had lots of hard surfaces and they were playing loud rock music. It was much too noisy. It was a completely different ambiance from their previous location. The staff was completely accommodating to our complaints about the volume of the music. And in general we received great service. But the change in ambiance was too jarring, we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

Everything was great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

My girlfriends and I came out for a girls
night out. This will be one of our favorite places.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Live Music, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

This will be a great addition to our restaurant rotation, as well as a special occasion venue in Lubbock. I have visited twice and food was great both times. The wine list is ample. Service was lacking on a busy week-end night. The management seems to be suffering "growing pains". Little things are off, and if they want to be in the big league they would benefit from a 'pro' overseeing the details and the wait staff training. Otherwise I recommend to all and will definitely make return visits.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.