About The Funky Door

6015 82nd St., Suite 2
Lubbock, TX 79424
View Larger Map

Born out of the desire to give West Texas a unique dining experience and offer an escape out of the ordinary — bringing together our love of wine and cuisine from around the world, fine art, live music and extraordinary hospitality. Smart and lively, our walls are adorned with the works of local artists, setting a fun, sophisticated and intimate atmosphere. We feature the best of local music nightly! With over 600 bottled wine selections from all over the world, you are sure to find a new favorite. One of the most unique experiences we offer is our self-serve Italian made Enomatic wine machines. The wine is kept fresh, allowing you to taste over 48 wines without buying the whole glass or bottle. The Bar- Our bar motto is Creative, Fresh, Delectable. We love perfecting classic cocktails and creating funky originals. Explore classic cuisine from around the globe with a funky little twist. Our menu is creative and unique, featuring our famous fondues and tantalizing weekly specials.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fondue, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm, Friday - 4:30- 12am, Saturday Brunch: 10:00am- 3:00pm, Saturday Dinner: 4:30pm- 12am
Main Kitchen closes at 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Frankford

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(806) 687-0505

Website:
http://www.thefunkydoorwineroom.com/

Entertainment:
Our comfortable, fun interior provides the perfect backdrop for live music Monday through Saturday.

Catering:
Let The Funky Door cater your next event. We offer carry out or full service catering.

Parking Details:
Convenient parking in front.

Executive Chef:
Wes Chesshire

Private Party Facilities:
The Funky Door is the perfect place for your next event. From rehearsal dinners to business meetings, let us customize around your needs. We have a catering menu or our culinary team can create something special just for you.

Private Party Contact:
Christina Glendening: (806) 687-0505

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Funky Door Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Special Occasion (18)
Romantic (17)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Live Music (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Fun (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Modern Decor (7)
Cozy (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Private Room (3)
Great Beer (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Casual (3)
Business Meals (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Seasonal (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Authentic (2)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
73 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined 5 days ago

The Funky Door is one of my favorite restaurants of all time. The atmosphere is very classy and the environment is quiet. It is the perfect place for a special date or just casual lunch. My fiance and I love going to the Funky Door because the service, food, and atmosphere is very professional.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I had a great date night Friday, and the service was almost as good as the food! We enjoyed every bite, and our waiter took very good care of us.

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The Restaurant is a great place to take a date and/or spouse for a nice dinner out. Noise level was little more than normal. Space is little closer than preferred. Food was good, but expected a little better prepared. Risotto was little dry and steak was not trimmed properly of fat. My wife enjoyed her lobster pasta dish. Would definitely go again, but maybe a little more picky on food choice. It appeared to be an off night for several customers around.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Making a reservation was really easy! We showed up at our time and were seated immediately! Good was excellent, service was great. Great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great place to eat!!! The food was excellent and serves was outstanding!!!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Bar Seating, Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great for a date, only complaint was that we were near the door and the cold wind was drafting on our table when the door opened.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I always recommend this place for any celebrations. I have been for birthdays, parties and dates. This is the BEST burger in Lubbock. I would not recommend their salads, it never has good lettuce. And of course, you have to order the fondue to start!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service was not the best but it was busy and I think our waitress had her hands full. Still very good experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We love the Funky Door! Have never had bad service, and the food is incredible.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 17, 2017

When travelling, I like to use OpenDoor to find local restaurants. The Funky Door was a GREAT find! We were there on a Monday night. They had a musician playing in the bar area, so you could hear the music, but it was not so loud you could not carry on a conversation at your table.

We started with the cheesy fried pickles, which were delightfully different. Our main courses consisted of Lobster Linguini, Squash Lasagna and Tortellini La Contesa. All three were very good.

Our server, David, was very knowledgeable and helpful.

I highly recommend The Funky Door.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We really enjoyed the Funky Door. The fondue appetizer was probably enough for our whole meal, but we did enjoy two different steaks as well. The steaks were cooked perfectly, but my husbands was supposed to have "truffle butter" but neither of us could taste any truffle. The steaks were a tad dry and could use a little more seasoning. The wine list was great and we enjoyed getting flights of wine to go with our meals. The dessert fondue is also a must! We will be back again!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Had to wear coat and froze entire time. Terrible draft every time someone opened the door. Also my steak that was supposed to be medium was just shy of raw. Will try another time when warmer.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food and service. We had the stuffed quail appetizer and we both ordered the filet. Couldn't have been better. Excellent and attentive service too. Musicians were amazing also.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent, as always! I tried new chicken dish and it was wonderful. Great new drinks and live music was great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service and food were amazing. Complimentary glass of champagne to celebrate our anniversary to start out. Staff was knowledgeable about food and wine. The wine tasting was fun and allowed me to find a new favorite. The stuffed quail, maple duck and ribeye steak were perfect. We will go again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Been here twice and both times the service, food and drinks were excellent!!! Definitely recommend it for both dinner and brunch

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Mimosa "Madness" doesn't really work if your waitress disappears for 40 minutes after filling your first drink and taking meal orders. Tables around us were visiting 3-4 time, and management walked by the table (full of empty glasses) twice without any acknowledgment. He only stopped at the table after a refill was brought with our entrees to see if we "had any issues with service."

Overall, good, not outstanding, food. But with a slow 10:45 am morning, absent waitstaff and obviously disinterested management, it made for a less than ideal brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Funky Door is my husband and I favorite place to go for a date night or a night out with a group of friends!!! Love the food and the lemon drop martinis are awesome!! Highly recommend it for anyone looking for a night out!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We ate here for a wedding anniversary with my wife. I had requested a wuiet out of the way table and got exactly that! Brandy gave us the best table service we could have possibly asked for! We started with the Funky Door smoked gouda Fondue and added sautéed vegetables. Delicious! My wife is Geeman and they even had a Geeman wine. Careful, though, it was $17 per glass! The Mahi Mahi was one of the best meals I hace ever eaten and the pirtion was generous. Ny wife enjoyed her linguini as well. I highly reccomendfor a special or romantic occasion. Recommend checking menu prices on line first. On line reservation service worked beautifully.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Normally the music is so loud you can't visit without yelling at the person across the table. Since we went to celebrate a birthday AND visit, we were glad that this time the music wasn't too loud.

The food was absolutely delicious, as it always is!

If the music wasn't so loud, this would be my favorite place to have business meals. The musicians are always talented and the music is good -- just too loud to be able to visit easily.

We enjoy coming here. The ambiance is enjoyable and we like to walk around and look at the paintings done by local artists.

The Funky Door is truly a local gem!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The service was horrendous. Very nice, but it took an hour to get different courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We go here for their fondue and yummy appetizers. I love their wine bar options and the atmosphere.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Outstanding as always. Great atmosphere and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Good food, good service in a fun atmosphere.

Lots of wines by the glass.

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Steak was overpriced and a bad cut. Tasted like liver. The Brussels sprouts were undercooked. The funky chicken was too chewy. Lobster linguini was excellent and so was the duck. The waiter knew nothing about the wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great food. The steaks and seafood were outstanding!

Tags: Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Romantic, People Watching, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This was my second disappointing experience in a row at the Funky Door. We have been going there during game weekends for three weekends. I'm sorry to say that I will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great food, wine, and service. Amazing wine selection. Glad to see a place that supports quality live music but it was just TOO LOUD for us to enjoy ourselves completely, or have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Excellent food and service. Best meal I've had in Lubbock.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Good everything. Very helpful waiter. Superb wine selection. Will be back!

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The fondue was excellent but we were very disappointed not to be able to use the wine tasting machines which was why we wanted to go there. The staff told us the server was down and they couldn't create a card for us to use them.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The noise level during out dinner was at times unbearable. There was a large party that was literally screaming the entire time we were having dinner. The wait staff apologized but it was an awful experience. This was the last dinner with our daughter before we left her at Texas Tech for the semester and we wanted to visit and talk but this was not possible.

I ordered a dinner pear and pecan salad with my dinner. I was looking forward to the salad which I had ordered on a previous visit but, the salad never arrived. Once again the waitress apologized but how hard is it to bring out a salad? I really like this restaurant and made reservations a week prior but for the price I could have gone to a chain restuarant for a lot less money.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Have eaten there many times in the past and was always a good experience. However, this time it was BAD from the beginning to the end. Drinks were weak, cheese sticks were awful, wife's risotto was stuck together and bland, salmon was fishy tasting, my steak was cooked on a griddle rather than on a grill and had no flavor, and the mushrooms were completely flavorless. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were disappointed in the seating area we were placed. We asked to be moved and the comment was "you would have a different waiter." Which was not X problem four us. After we teceived our food we noticed that our waiter was serving the other ares where we had requested be moved to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Unique choose your own wine set up that you serve yourself with a wine card. It allows for sipping different wines without buying a whole glass. The main courses we had were good and comparable to other similar establishments. We had the fondue and that was nice as well. The live entertainment from the bar was nice, but I thought the restaurant was a little loud before they started. The wait staff was attentive and polite, but invisible the rest of the time. Id go back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was a tremendous disappointment!

Wine was great.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Between the big groups surrounding our table and the live music, it was a little loud to hear our own conversation but the delicious food (tamarind duck and wild boar) and the awesome service more than made up for this. We were there for our anniversary and our server, Robert, was nice enough to bring us a couple glasses of champagne and a slice of his favorite raspberry cake. He was also very attentive and came back to check on us regularly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Pros: Good service and wine list

Cons: Mediocre food, pricey, in a strip mall

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on June 18, 2016

We celebrated a friend's birthday with brunch at the Funky Door. The food was excellent and ample. The waiter was good at predicting what kind of wine our friend would enjoy. They said "happy birthday" to our friend, but didn't embarrass her. The prices were more reasonable than I expected. I enjoyed the jazz music in the background. I will eat here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 17, 2016

My son just finished first year in college. We went out for a nice meal. Had been to the Funky Door before and enjoyed it so went back. My son was very pleased with his meal. My double pork chop came out rare. They took it back and cooked it to a more appropriate temperature. The flavors were very good, I wish they had gotten the temp right the first time. In the end, all was good and we will most likely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on May 12, 2016

Taste, texture, smell, and presentation was superb. Waiter was cordial and very professional

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on April 23, 2016

It was a really memorable experience. I took my girlfriend for her birthday and really felt like a usual customer. The food was great and customer service was exceptional. Overall a really great place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Disappointed. I had heard good things, read mixed reviews. Service was good, waiter was attentive and pleasant. For a "wine" bar I was not impressed with their wines-except for the pricey, over priced wine bottles. There are lots of great $10 glasses of wine...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 17, 2016

My wife and I were joined by a friend for dinner at The Funky Door last Saturday. It was our first time there but our friend had been before so she guided us. Everything was excellent. The "house" fondue was flavorful and creamy, with two awesome breads for dipping. Our entrees were perfect - just as described. My wife had the farfalle with chicken and a creamy sauce (I don't remember the name of the dish, and I am not doing it justice), while I enjoyed the California Cordon Bleu. It all went perfectly with an excellent bottle of white wine ordered by our friend. I will be back regularly, and hopefully soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2016

The Funky Door is my favorite find in Lubbock. It's great food in a fairly casual atmosphere, the live music is a definite plus to the overall ambience, and the bar is serving them up until midnight. It's all good...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 15, 2016

Great food, super service. They will be moving soon, so I look forward to going to the new location when i am back in Lubbock this summer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on April 10, 2016

My husband took me on a little weekend getaway for my birthday and took me to the funky door for dinner. We loved the food! Waitress was nice explaining foods us! (We're country folk that like to feel fancy on occasion. ) she was very helpful for order helping us what to pick so we didn't feel like complete idiots trying to dine fancy. Food was very good. Chef did an amazing job everything perfection! Appetizer and dessert delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on April 8, 2016

My husband and I love Funky Door! I like to eat there at least once a month.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 26, 2016

The past two times we've visited, the food has been outstanding. The filet was cooked perfectly, although next time I will order without peppercorns, and the burger is the best in town. The cheese sticks appetizer is delicious and comes with a substantial amount. It can very easily be shared among 4 people. The service was wonderful too. No complaints here. I've drank here plenty of times, but rarely eat. It's one of my new favorite spots in town to wine and dine. Oh, and the best part, they have sweet potato fries!! For some reason, these are hard to come by in Lubbock.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on March 19, 2016

We love the Funky Door, we were there twice last week in a large group and then with another couple, both times the service, food, & wine were excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.