Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.58mi
  2. Distance: 2.68mi
  3. Distance: 2.81mi
  4. Distance: 2.87mi
  1. Distance: 2.58mi
  2. Distance: 2.68mi
  3. Distance: 2.81mi
  4. Distance: 2.87mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.58mi
  2. Distance: 2.68mi
  3. Distance: 2.81mi
  4. Distance: 2.87mi
  1. Distance: 2.58mi
  2. Distance: 2.68mi
  3. Distance: 2.81mi
  4. Distance: 2.87mi

About The Funky Door

Born out of the desire to give West Texas a unique dining experience and offer an escape out of the ordinary — bringing together our love of wine and cuisine from around the world, fine art, live music and extraordinary hospitality. Smart and lively, our walls are adorned with the works of local artists, setting a fun, sophisticated and intimate atmosphere. We feature the best of local music nightly! With over 700 bottled wine selections from all over the world, you are sure to find a new favorite. One of the most unique experiences we offer is our self-serve Italian made Enomatic wine machines. The wine is kept fresh, allowing you to taste over 48 wines without buying the whole glass or bottle. The Bar- Our bar motto is Creative, Fresh, Delectable. We love perfecting classic cocktails and creating funky originals. Explore classic cuisine from around the globe with a funky little twist. Our menu is creative and unique, featuring our famous fondues and tantalizing weekly specials.

6015 82nd St., Suite 2
Lubbock, TX 79424
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fondue, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs Lunch 11am-3pm & Dinner 4:30pm-10:30pm
Friday Lunch 11am-3pm & Dinner 4:30pm-Midnight
Saturday Brunch 10am-3pm & Dinner 4:30-Midnight
Sun Brunch 10am-3pm

Cross Street:
Frankford

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(806) 687-0505

Website:
http://www.thefunkydoorwineroom.com/

Entertainment:
Our comfortable, fun interior provides the perfect backdrop for live music Monday through Saturday.

Catering:
Let The Funky Door cater your next event. We offer carry out or full service catering.

Parking Details:
Convenient parking in front.

Executive Chef:
Wes Chesshire

Private Party Facilities:
The Funky Door is the perfect place for your next event. From rehearsal dinners to business meetings, let us customize around your needs. We have a catering menu or our culinary team can create something special just for you.

Private Party Contact:
Christina Glendening: (806) 687-0505

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Funky Door Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

NotableWineList (11)
Romance (11)
SpecialOccasions (11)
See All
LiveMusic (10)
Anniversaries (9)
CreativeCuisine (9)
GoodForDates (8)
Cozy (8)
Birthdays (7)
BarSeating (7)
Foodies (6)
VibrantBarScene (6)
Fun (6)
Groups (5)
HappyHour (5)
ModernDecor (5)
Casual (4)
SundayLunch (4)
HandcraftedCocktails (4)
Brunch (4)
BusinessMeals (4)
HotSpot (3)
QuietConversation (3)
PrePostTheatre (3)
DisabledAccess (3)
Seasonal (3)
WorthTheDrive (3)
AfternoonCoffee (2)
Lunch (2)
NeighborhoodGem (2)
ComfortFood (2)
Authentic (2)
Tapas (1)
ChildFriendly (1)
Healthy (1)
GlutenFree (1)
VegetarianOptions (1)
PrivateRoom (1)
TastingMenu (1)
PeopleWatching (1)
GreatBeer (1)
AfternoonTea (1)
Sort By:
S
62 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My friends and I were driving to Lubbock for an errand (100 miles from us), and we wanted to make the trip more enjoyable by eating brunch at the Funky Door. We love this place and always have a great experience; this time was no different. We brunched to jazz music and refeshing adult bevs.

The Calamari, Dirty Bird Kobe Burger, Pork Belly Benedict, Avocado Eggs Benedict, and the Salmon Eggs Benedict were all absolutely delicious. The coffee was on point, and the bellinis, mimosas, and sangria were perfect for the warm summer day.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 27, 2017

This was a fabulous night out with my husband! We tried the chefs specials and appetizers and all were excellent! The bananas foster was AMAZING!!! We will definitely be returning!!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Had a mixup on our order. Manager walked out and took care of it immediately. Will definitely be back.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (El Paso)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great wine list. Outstanding service. Food was very good but Shortrib could have been braised for much longer to make it fall off the bone but was very tasty, regardless. Will definitely go back.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Always a great time! Beautiful food, excellent service and fabulous ambiance!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

They were able to accommodate us on short notice on Easter Sunday. Food was good as ever, in particular the fondue.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Sunday brunch was delicious except they failed to bring the hash browns when they brought the omelette. By the time our server checked on us and I had a chance to ask about the hash browns I was halfway through the omelette. They brought the hash browns which had obviously been sitting under a heat lamp and were only marginally warm. Disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Delicious brunch or lunch options at the same time. Very nice atmosphere!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We reserved a table for Sunday jazz brunch, since it was also Easter Sunday. The service was great. We were seated immediately, had a very attentive waitress, and got our bill and checked out in a timely manner. The only downside was that out of the three entrees ordered that had poached eggs (two stuffed avocado Benedict, one salmon Benedict, all six eggs were over cooked with firm yolks. The dishes still tasted good, but for an upscale brunch item I expect the eggs to be cooked correctly. It was our first time for brunch, so hopefully they'll get it right next time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We live out of town, but come here every time we are in town. We love the food, drinks, & service. Can't wait for the new place to open! The menu is fresh and selection varied. Good for young and old alike. Even the hamburgers are great! The live music is varied and on weekends. If you want a quieter dinner, ask to be seated away from the music.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Our 2nd time here; very unique menu; food was awesome, great atmosphere. Highly recommend for special occasion or every day dining.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 14, 2017

My salad had a live bug in it. Our scallop and sausage appetizer plate was drenched in grease. Service was mediocre at best. The manager came over and apologized for the bug, and made excuses why it happened. Something about fruit fly season? They comped half our dessert. For the price, it was unacceptable. I will not go back, and I would not recommend it to anyone.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fantastic food and service!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food, great live music. Stayed until close . Must do when in Lubbock, TX USA!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My wife and I had a great date night Friday, and the service was almost as good as the food! We enjoyed every bite, and our waiter took very good care of us.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Making a reservation was really easy! We showed up at our time and were seated immediately! Good was excellent, service was great. Great time!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great place to eat!!! The food was excellent and serves was outstanding!!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Bar Seating, Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great for a date, only complaint was that we were near the door and the cold wind was drafting on our table when the door opened.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I always recommend this place for any celebrations. I have been for birthdays, parties and dates. This is the BEST burger in Lubbock. I would not recommend their salads, it never has good lettuce. And of course, you have to order the fondue to start!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service was not the best but it was busy and I think our waitress had her hands full. Still very good experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We really enjoyed the Funky Door. The fondue appetizer was probably enough for our whole meal, but we did enjoy two different steaks as well. The steaks were cooked perfectly, but my husbands was supposed to have "truffle butter" but neither of us could taste any truffle. The steaks were a tad dry and could use a little more seasoning. The wine list was great and we enjoyed getting flights of wine to go with our meals. The dessert fondue is also a must! We will be back again!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Fun, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Had to wear coat and froze entire time. Terrible draft every time someone opened the door. Also my steak that was supposed to be medium was just shy of raw. Will try another time when warmer.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food and service. We had the stuffed quail appetizer and we both ordered the filet. Couldn't have been better. Excellent and attentive service too. Musicians were amazing also.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent, as always! I tried new chicken dish and it was wonderful. Great new drinks and live music was great.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service and food were amazing. Complimentary glass of champagne to celebrate our anniversary to start out. Staff was knowledgeable about food and wine. The wine tasting was fun and allowed me to find a new favorite. The stuffed quail, maple duck and ribeye steak were perfect. We will go again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Funky Door is my husband and I favorite place to go for a date night or a night out with a group of friends!!! Love the food and the lemon drop martinis are awesome!! Highly recommend it for anyone looking for a night out!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We ate here for a wedding anniversary with my wife. I had requested a wuiet out of the way table and got exactly that! Brandy gave us the best table service we could have possibly asked for! We started with the Funky Door smoked gouda Fondue and added sautéed vegetables. Delicious! My wife is Geeman and they even had a Geeman wine. Careful, though, it was $17 per glass! The Mahi Mahi was one of the best meals I hace ever eaten and the pirtion was generous. Ny wife enjoyed her linguini as well. I highly reccomendfor a special or romantic occasion. Recommend checking menu prices on line first. On line reservation service worked beautifully.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Normally the music is so loud you can't visit without yelling at the person across the table. Since we went to celebrate a birthday AND visit, we were glad that this time the music wasn't too loud.

The food was absolutely delicious, as it always is!

If the music wasn't so loud, this would be my favorite place to have business meals. The musicians are always talented and the music is good -- just too loud to be able to visit easily.

We enjoy coming here. The ambiance is enjoyable and we like to walk around and look at the paintings done by local artists.

The Funky Door is truly a local gem!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The service was horrendous. Very nice, but it took an hour to get different courses.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We go here for their fondue and yummy appetizers. I love their wine bar options and the atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Good food, good service in a fun atmosphere.
Lots of wines by the glass.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great food. The steaks and seafood were outstanding!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Romantic, People Watching, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great food, wine, and service. Amazing wine selection. Glad to see a place that supports quality live music but it was just TOO LOUD for us to enjoy ourselves completely, or have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Excellent food and service. Best meal I've had in Lubbock.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Good everything. Very helpful waiter. Superb wine selection. Will be back!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The fondue was excellent but we were very disappointed not to be able to use the wine tasting machines which was why we wanted to go there. The staff told us the server was down and they couldn't create a card for us to use them.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The noise level during out dinner was at times unbearable. There was a large party that was literally screaming the entire time we were having dinner. The wait staff apologized but it was an awful experience. This was the last dinner with our daughter before we left her at Texas Tech for the semester and we wanted to visit and talk but this was not possible.

I ordered a dinner pear and pecan salad with my dinner. I was looking forward to the salad which I had ordered on a previous visit but, the salad never arrived. Once again the waitress apologized but how hard is it to bring out a salad? I really like this restaurant and made reservations a week prior but for the price I could have gone to a chain restuarant for a lot less money.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Have eaten there many times in the past and was always a good experience. However, this time it was BAD from the beginning to the end. Drinks were weak, cheese sticks were awful, wife's risotto was stuck together and bland, salmon was fishy tasting, my steak was cooked on a griddle rather than on a grill and had no flavor, and the mushrooms were completely flavorless. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were disappointed in the seating area we were placed. We asked to be moved and the comment was "you would have a different waiter." Which was not X problem four us. After we teceived our food we noticed that our waiter was serving the other ares where we had requested be moved to.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was a tremendous disappointment!
Wine was great.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.