Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.73mi
  2. Distance: 3.50mi
  3. Distance: 3.65mi
  4. Distance: 3.66mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.73mi
  2. Distance: 3.50mi
  3. Distance: 3.65mi
  4. Distance: 3.66mi

About The Funky Door

Born out of the desire to give West Texas a unique dining experience and offer an escape out of the ordinary — bringing together our love of wine and cuisine from around the world, fine art, live music and extraordinary hospitality. Smart and lively, our walls are adorned with the works of local artists, setting a fun, sophisticated and intimate atmosphere. We feature the best of local music nightly! With over 700 bottled wine selections from all over the world, you are sure to find a new favorite. One of the most unique experiences we offer is our self-serve Italian made Enomatic wine machines. The wine is kept fresh, allowing you to taste over 48 wines without buying the whole glass or bottle. The Bar- Our bar motto is Creative, Fresh, Delectable. We love perfecting classic cocktails and creating funky originals. Explore classic cuisine from around the globe with a funky little twist. Our menu is creative and unique, featuring our famous fondues and tantalizing weekly specials.

6801 82nd st
Lubbock, TX 79424
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fondue, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Thurs Lunch 11am-3pm & Dinner 4:30pm-10:30pm
Friday Lunch 11am-3pm & Dinner 4:30pm-Midnight
Saturday Brunch 10am-3pm & Dinner 4:30-Midnight
Sun Brunch 10am-3pm

Cross Street:
Frankford

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(806) 687-0505

Website:
http://www.thefunkydoor.com/

Entertainment:
Our comfortable, fun interior provides the perfect backdrop for live music Monday through Saturday.

Catering:
Let The Funky Door cater your next event. We offer carry out or full service catering.

Parking Details:
Convenient parking in front.

Executive Chef:
Wes Chesshire

Private Party Facilities:
The Funky Door is the perfect place for your next event. From rehearsal dinners to business meetings, let us customize around your needs. We have a catering menu or our culinary team can create something special just for you.

Private Party Contact:
Christina Glendening: (806) 687-0505

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Funky Door Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (13)
Notable Wine List (10)
Romantic (10)
See All
Live Music (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Cozy (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Fun (5)
Casual (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Business Meals (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Authentic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
98 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food was so delicious. Waitress was very friendly and suggestful regarding drinks. Live music was great! Ambiance was the best! White sangria with real fruit was very refreshing.

Tags: Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food was good, but nothing special, and the service was somewhat lacking. We had multiple wait staff that "seemed" to be taking care of us and the service experience appeared disjointed; no continuity mixed with a lack of attentiveness by the primary waitress.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great food, atmosphere, drinks & service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Traveled here from Houston to visit daughter and her husband. Had a special experience at the Funky Door. Wonderful creative food with healthy and gluten free options. Excellent service ! Highly recommend !! J

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Met a friend for happy hour and appetizer. Great service and drinks. Would recommend for friend get together and drinks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The food was great and the $10 Tuesday wine flights were really fun

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My friends and I were driving to Lubbock for an errand (100 miles from us), and we wanted to make the trip more enjoyable by eating brunch at the Funky Door. We love this place and always have a great experience; this time was no different. We brunched to jazz music and refeshing adult bevs.

The Calamari, Dirty Bird Kobe Burger, Pork Belly Benedict, Avocado Eggs Benedict, and the Salmon Eggs Benedict were all absolutely delicious. The coffee was on point, and the bellinis, mimosas, and sangria were perfect for the warm summer day.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Everyone in my party of 12 loved it!The service was excellent and everyone's dish Was prepare to perfection! We love Riley!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Overall everything was Good, had a lot of variety, I'm kinda use to the High end Places in Dallas, but the People and service were Excellent..

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The squash lasagna was hands down one of the most delish meals I've ever had. Presentation of all meals was lovely. Excellent menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 26, 2017

This was a fabulous night out with my husband! We tried the chefs specials and appetizers and all were excellent! The bananas foster was AMAZING!!! We will definitely be returning!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Had a mixup on our order. Manager walked out and took care of it immediately. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (El Paso)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great wine list. Outstanding service. Food was very good but Shortrib could have been braised for much longer to make it fall off the bone but was very tasty, regardless. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Always a great time! Beautiful food, excellent service and fabulous ambiance!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

They were able to accommodate us on short notice on Easter Sunday. Food was good as ever, in particular the fondue.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Sunday brunch was delicious except they failed to bring the hash browns when they brought the omelette. By the time our server checked on us and I had a chance to ask about the hash browns I was halfway through the omelette. They brought the hash browns which had obviously been sitting under a heat lamp and were only marginally warm. Disappointed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Delicious brunch or lunch options at the same time. Very nice atmosphere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We reserved a table for Sunday jazz brunch, since it was also Easter Sunday. The service was great. We were seated immediately, had a very attentive waitress, and got our bill and checked out in a timely manner. The only downside was that out of the three entrees ordered that had poached eggs (two stuffed avocado Benedict, one salmon Benedict, all six eggs were over cooked with firm yolks. The dishes still tasted good, but for an upscale brunch item I expect the eggs to be cooked correctly. It was our first time for brunch, so hopefully they'll get it right next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We live out of town, but come here every time we are in town. We love the food, drinks, & service. Can't wait for the new place to open! The menu is fresh and selection varied. Good for young and old alike. Even the hamburgers are great! The live music is varied and on weekends. If you want a quieter dinner, ask to be seated away from the music.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Our 2nd time here; very unique menu; food was awesome, great atmosphere. Highly recommend for special occasion or every day dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 13, 2017

My salad had a live bug in it. Our scallop and sausage appetizer plate was drenched in grease. Service was mediocre at best. The manager came over and apologized for the bug, and made excuses why it happened. Something about fruit fly season? They comped half our dessert. For the price, it was unacceptable. I will not go back, and I would not recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fantastic food and service!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Eclectic and unique dining experience; food was excellent! Highly recommend the fried dill pickles!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We ordered a very expensive wine, it took over 1/2 hour to arrive after the waitress brought us the wrong wine first. Bad. waitress had no clue how to present it. Per management, having seen an order for that quality wine, there should have been a lot better service given to the customer.
Very dissatisfied and disappointing.
Food was not hot it was just warm. We would have got nowhere if we had complained about that. Again, waitress was awful.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great food, great live music. Stayed until close . Must do when in Lubbock, TX USA!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The Funky Door is one of my favorite restaurants of all time. The atmosphere is very classy and the environment is quiet. It is the perfect place for a special date or just casual lunch. My fiance and I love going to the Funky Door because the service, food, and atmosphere is very professional.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 17, 2017

My wife and I had a great date night Friday, and the service was almost as good as the food! We enjoyed every bite, and our waiter took very good care of us.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The Restaurant is a great place to take a date and/or spouse for a nice dinner out. Noise level was little more than normal. Space is little closer than preferred. Food was good, but expected a little better prepared. Risotto was little dry and steak was not trimmed properly of fat. My wife enjoyed her lobster pasta dish. Would definitely go again, but maybe a little more picky on food choice. It appeared to be an off night for several customers around.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Making a reservation was really easy! We showed up at our time and were seated immediately! Good was excellent, service was great. Great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great place to eat!!! The food was excellent and serves was outstanding!!!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Bar Seating, Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great for a date, only complaint was that we were near the door and the cold wind was drafting on our table when the door opened.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I always recommend this place for any celebrations. I have been for birthdays, parties and dates. This is the BEST burger in Lubbock. I would not recommend their salads, it never has good lettuce. And of course, you have to order the fondue to start!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Service was not the best but it was busy and I think our waitress had her hands full. Still very good experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We love the Funky Door! Have never had bad service, and the food is incredible.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 16, 2017

When travelling, I like to use OpenDoor to find local restaurants. The Funky Door was a GREAT find! We were there on a Monday night. They had a musician playing in the bar area, so you could hear the music, but it was not so loud you could not carry on a conversation at your table.

We started with the cheesy fried pickles, which were delightfully different. Our main courses consisted of Lobster Linguini, Squash Lasagna and Tortellini La Contesa. All three were very good.

Our server, David, was very knowledgeable and helpful.

I highly recommend The Funky Door.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We really enjoyed the Funky Door. The fondue appetizer was probably enough for our whole meal, but we did enjoy two different steaks as well. The steaks were cooked perfectly, but my husbands was supposed to have "truffle butter" but neither of us could taste any truffle. The steaks were a tad dry and could use a little more seasoning. The wine list was great and we enjoyed getting flights of wine to go with our meals. The dessert fondue is also a must! We will be back again!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Had to wear coat and froze entire time. Terrible draft every time someone opened the door. Also my steak that was supposed to be medium was just shy of raw. Will try another time when warmer.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great food and service. We had the stuffed quail appetizer and we both ordered the filet. Couldn't have been better. Excellent and attentive service too. Musicians were amazing also.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Excellent, as always! I tried new chicken dish and it was wonderful. Great new drinks and live music was great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Service and food were amazing. Complimentary glass of champagne to celebrate our anniversary to start out. Staff was knowledgeable about food and wine. The wine tasting was fun and allowed me to find a new favorite. The stuffed quail, maple duck and ribeye steak were perfect. We will go again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.