About The Funky Door

6015 82nd St., Suite 2
Lubbock, TX 79424
View Larger Map

Born out of the desire to give West Texas a unique dining experience and offer an escape out of the ordinary — bringing together our love of wine and cuisine from around the world, fine art, live music and extraordinary hospitality. Smart and lively, our walls are adorned with the works of local artists, setting a fun, sophisticated and intimate atmosphere. We feature the best of local music nightly! With over 600 bottled wine selections from all over the world, you are sure to find a new favorite. One of the most unique experiences we offer is our self-serve Italian made Enomatic wine machines. The wine is kept fresh, allowing you to taste over 48 wines without buying the whole glass or bottle. The Bar- Our bar motto is Creative, Fresh, Delectable. We love perfecting classic cocktails and creating funky originals. Explore classic cuisine from around the globe with a funky little twist. Our menu is creative and unique, featuring our famous fondues and tantalizing weekly specials.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fondue, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:30pm, Friday - 4:30- 12am, Saturday Brunch: 10:00am- 3:00pm, Saturday Dinner: 4:30pm- 12am
Main Kitchen closes at 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Frankford

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(806) 687-0505

Website:
http://www.thefunkydoorwineroom.com/

Entertainment:
Our comfortable, fun interior provides the perfect backdrop for live music Monday through Saturday.

Catering:
Let The Funky Door cater your next event. We offer carry out or full service catering.

Parking Details:
Convenient parking in front.

Executive Chef:
Wes Chesshire

Private Party Facilities:
The Funky Door is the perfect place for your next event. From rehearsal dinners to business meetings, let us customize around your needs. We have a catering menu or our culinary team can create something special just for you.

Private Party Contact:
Christina Glendening: 8066870505x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

The Funky Door Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Texas Panhandle
Most Booked
Lubbock
Best Restaurants in Lubbock ›

special occasion (28)
notable wine list (28)
romantic (21)
See All
good for groups (19)
fit for foodies (18)
neighborhood gem (10)
hot spot (10)
vibrant bar scene (10)
late-night find (9)
great for lunch (6)
great for brunch (4)
kid-friendly (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
32 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service5

My son just finished first year in colle ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

My son just finished first year in college. We went out for a nice meal. Had been to the Funky Door before and enjoyed it so went back. My son was very pleased with his meal. My double pork chop came out rare. They took it back and cooked it to a more appropriate temperature. The flavors were very good, I wish they had gotten the temp right the first time. In the end, all was good and we will most likely be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Taste, texture, smell, and presentation ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Taste, texture, smell, and presentation was superb. Waiter was cordial and very professional

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a really memorable experience. I ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

It was a really memorable experience. I took my girlfriend for her birthday and really felt like a usual customer. The food was great and customer service was exceptional. Overall a really great place to eat.

food2
ambience2
service4

Disappointed. I had heard good things, r ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Disappointed. I had heard good things, read mixed reviews. Service was good, waiter was attentive and pleasant. For a "wine" bar I was not impressed with their wines-except for the pricey, over priced wine bottles. There are lots of great $10 glasses of wine...

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Funky Door is a gem - I can't wait to go back!

Dined on April 17, 2016

My wife and I were joined by a friend for dinner at The Funky Door last Saturday. It was our first time there but our friend had been before so she guided us. Everything was excellent. The "house" fondue was flavorful and creamy, with two awesome breads for dipping. Our entrees were perfect - just as described. My wife had the farfalle with chicken and a creamy sauce (I don't remember the name of the dish, and I am not doing it justice), while I enjoyed the California Cordon Bleu. It all went perfectly with an excellent bottle of white wine ordered by our friend. I will be back regularly, and hopefully soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it!

Dined on April 15, 2016

The Funky Door is my favorite find in Lubbock. It's great food in a fairly casual atmosphere, the live music is a definite plus to the overall ambience, and the bar is serving them up until midnight. It's all good...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time there, but will definitely go back!

Dined on April 15, 2016

Great food, super service. They will be moving soon, so I look forward to going to the new location when i am back in Lubbock this summer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Delicious food

Dined on April 10, 2016

My husband took me on a little weekend getaway for my birthday and took me to the funky door for dinner. We loved the food! Waitress was nice explaining foods us! (We're country folk that like to feel fancy on occasion. ) she was very helpful for order helping us what to pick so we didn't feel like complete idiots trying to dine fancy. Food was very good. Chef did an amazing job everything perfection! Appetizer and dessert delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Food!

Dined on April 8, 2016

My husband and I love Funky Door! I like to eat there at least once a month.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great spot for group or even date night

Dined on March 26, 2016

The past two times we've visited, the food has been outstanding. The filet was cooked perfectly, although next time I will order without peppercorns, and the burger is the best in town. The cheese sticks appetizer is delicious and comes with a substantial amount. It can very easily be shared among 4 people. The service was wonderful too. No complaints here. I've drank here plenty of times, but rarely eat. It's one of my new favorite spots in town to wine and dine. Oh, and the best part, they have sweet potato fries!! For some reason, these are hard to come by in Lubbock.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere

Dined on March 19, 2016

We love the Funky Door, we were there twice last week in a large group and then with another couple, both times the service, food, & wine were excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Well Done, Funky Door!

Dined on February 21, 2016

We've been to The Funky Door several times and it is always good. But this experience was outstanding in every way. We took some friends out for a celebratory dinner and the food was good, the service outstanding and the music was "just right". I will take another group of friends there. Anytime!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Very disappointing.

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Service was poor. We all got up to get a glass of wine and they started bussing the table. It took over an hour to get our salad. Prime rib-eye was very thin for an expensive steak, fondue was a clump of cheese in a bowl over a flame, tortillini tasted store bought however it had a nice vodka sauce. Go for a drink and cheese board and listen to music, not dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was so happy to find this restaurant! ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

I was so happy to find this restaurant! We went for my daughter's 21 birthday. She was greeted with a glass of champagne. Our server helped me navigate both the wine selections as well as the fondue appetizers and dinner. I can't wait to go back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. They also do special requests exactly how you tell them too. Great management and service.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

my server was amazing!!!!

Dined on February 14, 2016

my server was great he was very informational and i enjoyed myself the entire time. The food was great and the manager even came around and spoke. i will be a norm there from now on!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Cold Food, Overpriced

Dined on February 14, 2016

I took my wife here for a romantic Valentine's dinner. I expected it to be expensive, but for what I paid the food terrible. Half warmed up ravioli, dry chicken and a below average wine for over 100$. Will not be going back.

food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Not impressed

Dined on February 12, 2016

I wasn't impressed. I feel like going there on a special occasion you should be able to get the whole menu and not be surprised when you get there and can only order certain items. It was disappointing because they weren't even willing to budge off of the menu they created for that night.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Worst service I've ever had

Dined on February 6, 2016

My reservation was for 7:30. We waited 15 minutes for our table and ordered drinks at 7:45 upon seating. Our drinks arrived at the table at 8pm, with 2 missing. We ordered fondue for the table at 8pm and it did not arrive until 9:15!! Our waitress had to be hunted down by guests of our table continuously when we needed to order drinks. We will not be back. With a 7:30 reservation, we finally were able to pay out and leave around 10 pm and were incredibly late to our next obligation that night. Unacceptable!

food5
ambience5
service3

Food, wine and band was excellent!

vip
Dined on December 15, 2015

Food, wine and band was excellent!

food1
ambience3
service1

My wife and I arrived at 12:15pm on 11/0 ...

Dined on November 7, 2015

My wife and I arrived at 12:15pm on 11/07/15. I had made reservations for 12:30pm but seating was not an issue and we were immediately seated. We had never been here and we were celebrating our wedding anniversary this day. The hostess brought us some water and menus and said our waiter would be right with us. Our waiter never came to our table. At 12:40pm, after waiting 25 minutes with no service, we left. Horrible service. Can't rate the food since we obviously didn't eat, but the water was, water. Really had high hopes for an amazing anniversary meal, unfortunately the lack of service this day ruined it.

food5
ambience5
service4

Great food, wine, & specials. Generous p ...

Dined on July 30, 2015

Great food, wine, & specials. Generous portions. We loved the duck. The chef was kind to substitute zucchini ribbons for pasta, and it was delicious.

food5
ambience4
service3

Food was outstanding as usual. Half off ...

Dined on July 22, 2015

Food was outstanding as usual. Half off wine on Wednesdays is an awesome deal. Ambiance is great, hostesses are friendly, drinks are great.

food5
ambience5
service5

A great find!

Dined on October 31, 2014

Happened upon this great place, could not have asked for a better meal ( food, service and feel ). We will be coming back and this time bringing a group to enjoy it with us.

food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it

Dined on September 21, 2014

I went here for my anniversary and it was an amazing experience. The food was absolutely delicious, they placed us in a more secluded area like I asked, and the waiter was attentive. Definitely coming back for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Funky Door

Dined on May 24, 2014

This is a vibrant wine bar with excellent food! Our waiter, Daniel, was wonderful. The fondue appetizer was so good and our entrees of The Funky Chicken and shrimp tortellini were both delicious. So happy to find this surprise of a great dinner spot in Lubbock, while on an overnight visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Service

Dined on December 28, 2013

I don't think I've ever seen a waiter attend to us as much as they did here. I had a great date and I can only say it was with the amazing service we had. We may have been sitting there for a little bit trying to figure out our drinks, but they have a large wine list. I don't have anything to complain about except the fondu chocolate may have been a little cold when it got to us. Even toward the later time of the night they had some live music, which made the experience that much better.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service1

Bad experience

Dined on December 15, 2013

Service was horrible. Salads came out after main course and were sent back. $175 for 3 people. One of which was a minor and did not drink. Could have done much better by going to a chain restaurant. Not fine dining.

food3
ambience5
service5

Menu Standouts

Dined on August 18, 2012

The menu is a work in progress... so there is room for improvement for everything except two items. Namely, the bacon wrapped filet with peppercorn gravy and the burger. These items are amazing and pair well with the wines on tap. The venue itself is eclectic and vibrant. A great location for a romantic date or bar night out with friends for late night band nights.

Tags: romantic, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service1

Service way too slow!

Dined on July 19, 2012

The food was awesome...that said, the service was awful. We arrived at 7:00 p.m. for our reservation, were promptly seated, and didn't end up eating until after 8:00 p.m. I thought they had to go to the grocery store to buy the ingredients! Crazy wait time for food. We didn't end up leaving the restaurant until close to 9:00 p.m. after eating, waiting on wine refills, and waiting for the check. Again, we thought the waitress had to leave to run the credit card. Probably won't return because of the service.

food2
ambience3
service1

as bad as they come

Dined on May 19, 2012

Awful service, awful and cold food, and not worth the price at all. Despite bringing to the attention of a manager (female) that we had been sitting there for half an hour with just water and our waiter kept forgetting about us she just made excuses for him and nothing changed. After an hour and a half our dinner came out and was cold and different our sides were different then what we had all ordered because they ran out of asparagus, and just replaced it with squash. Worst experience i could have imagined and will not return or every recommend this restaurant.

food4
ambience3
service4

Good Wine Selection, Yummy Fondue

Dined on May 11, 2012

We always like going to Funky Door for special occasions. It's one of the few places in town with a good dessert wine selection and the gouda fondue is just delicious! But it gets a little loud in there for a real conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.