Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

BrigidBrigid
(99)
Contemporary American | Downtown, San Antonio
Reserve Now
Bite RestaurantBite Restaurant
(16)
Contemporary French / American | Downtown, San Antonio
Reserve Now
AzucaAzuca
(11)
Latin American | Downtown, San Antonio
Reserve Now
Hearsay Urban TasteHearsay Urban Taste
(4)
Contemporary American | Downtown, San Antonio
Reserve Now
RebelleRebelle
(162)
Contemporary American | Downtown, San Antonio
Reserve Now
Biga on the BanksBiga on the Banks
(2854)
Contemporary American | Downtown, San Antonio
Reserve Now
ZoccaZocca
(558)
Italian | Downtown, San Antonio
Reserve Now
O'liva Healthy Local Cuisine & Tasting RoomO'liva Healthy Local Cuisine & Tasting Room
(17)
American | Downtown, San Antonio
Reserve Now
Bliss RestaurantBliss Restaurant
(1499)
Contemporary American | Downtown, San Antonio
Reserve Now
1718 Steakhouse1718 Steakhouse
(85)
Steak | Downtown, San Antonio
Reserve Now
Esquire TavernEsquire Tavern
(417)
American | Downtown, San Antonio
Reserve Now
Bella On The RiverBella On The River
(1021)
European | Downtown, San Antonio
Reserve Now
La MargaritaLa Margarita
(108)
Mexican | Downtown, San Antonio
Reserve Now
Texas de Brazil - San AntonioTexas de Brazil - San Antonio
(589)
Brazilian Steakhouse | Downtown, San Antonio
Reserve Now
Sushi Zushi - DowntownSushi Zushi - Downtown
(89)
Sushi | Downtown, San Antonio
Reserve Now

About The Fruteria

1401 S Flores St
San Antonio, TX 78204
View Larger Map

The Fruteria proudly features its world-renowned chef, Chef Johnny Hernandez. The talented Chef Hernandez has had the honor to serve as a guest chef at President Obama's Cinco de Mayo White House Celebration.

At The Fruteria, order from the wide array of freshly pressed fruit juices, a popular option being the Buenos Dias made from milk, bananas, eggs, almonds, oats and honey. Pair this sweet juice with an order of the Cacahuates con ajo y chile, which are spicy peanuts seasoned with garlic and chile de àrbol. After dining and chatting with friends over peanuts, try the Chile en Nogada, the Poblano peppers with picadillo, sundried fruits and creamy walnut sauce. Regardless of what you order at The Fruteria, authentic is what you get.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday: 9:00 am - 3:00 pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00 am - 3:00 pm

Cross Street:
S. Alamo & Cevallos

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 251-3104

Website:
http://www.thefruteria.com/

Parking Details:
We have street parking in front of the resturant and after 5:00 pm we offer parking in the secure lit parking lot across the street.

Executive Chef:
Johnny Hernandez

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
Newest
52 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic, fresh, fun, flavorful adventure!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

Love food? Like to try new things? Want fresh food and cocktails? This is the place for you. This is my favorite place for brunch and a must visit anytime I'm in San Antonio! The food is great and deliciously different, and the cocktails are beyond compare. All are made with fresh infusions. Recommend the sinocrinozada torta and the mango mimosas for brunch. Grab a chicken tinga chalupa and cucumber margarita for lunch or dinner. Don't forget an agua fresca to go ... made fresh daily, these various infused waters are great! This past weekend our table had the cantaloupe, the hibiscus, and the pineapple. Muy delicioso!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Evening

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

Another wonderful evening of inventive food and drink at Fruteria!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Creative Mexican in San Antone

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

Fruteria is not your typical Mexican restaurant. The food is anything but Tex Mex and is creatively prepared traditional Mexican food with an array of great margaritas and infusions. The menu is primarily tapas-style so you can try a number of different dishes - all done very well with great flavors. Don't come here expecting great tacos and enchiladas - you'll be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

My wife and I are fans of Johnny Hernand ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on November 23, 2015

My wife and I are fans of Johnny Hernandez's cooking and service styles. While she has gone to his other restaurant; El Machito, this is my first time indulging in the chef's cuisine. We were blown away by how true the fair reflects the restaurants name. We started our lunch with a Verde liquado with some fresh cilantro thrown into it. The server; who for the life of me I cannot remember his name; recommended this to us. This server by the way is who solely made our lunch exceptional.

She had the Tangy Chicken Toastada, and I had the Bistec Torta. They were both outstanding! The Toastada had the perfect balance of savory, almost umami flavors that were in perfect harmony with the citrus and sharp flavors of their freshly pickled escabecha. The Torta was that of an infusion of what I like to think Mexican and French. The bollios had that fresh French bakery taste which made the filling of the Bistec, fresh tomato and avocado sing! We then shared an out of this world bread pudding; which was also recommended to us by the server. As a chef myself, I appreciate a good meal; and this is one of the best I've had in a while. 5 outta 5 hands down. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Time at Fruteria

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Always a good experience, I was especially impressed with the hand-crafted beet salad.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

So derf fresh flavors

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on November 13, 2015

Johnny Heenandez is an innovative chef. Delicious nod to the authentic flavors of Mexico

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

No Tex Mex here, just authentic Mexican!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

We weren't sure what expect from the restaurant, but we were very pleasantly surprised. The food was delicious and I loved the extensive drink menu. Even better was the service. We never had to wait for someone to check on us, Antonio and other waitstaff were always near to make sure we had anything we needed. The restaurant is extremely clean and decorated with wonderful Mexican art of all kinds. I would recommend La Fruteria to couples or groups who are in the mood for fantastic food and drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Never got a table

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 16, 2015

An hour after our reservation, we still weren't seated. The hostess was unimpressive and seemed uninterested in getting us seated at all. Other patrons came in and out and we still hadn't been seated. We left and were seated immediately at Liberty Bar instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

We had a great brunch. The chocolate des ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 9, 2015

We had a great brunch.

The chocolate dessert is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Fresh, delicious Mexican food.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2015

This may be the best and most innovative Mexican I have ever had. The food is amazingly fresh with a diverse and creative menu. If you like Mexican food this restaurant should have a mandatory visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is Great. Margarita's are the b ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 11, 2015

The food is Great. Margarita's are the best in SA. Menu needs to have some Chef Specials to change it up a little.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

simply deliciously friendly

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 23, 2015

love the atmosphere... great comfortable setting to catch up with old friends... amazingly delicious food... definitely going back...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Margarita's

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 21, 2015

Best tasting along with wide variety of margarita's to choose from.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 30, 2015

Menu is unique and food is flavorful. Love the drink menu as well. The service could have been better

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Amazing

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 17, 2015

I absolutely LOVE this place! For brunch or dinner, the food is delicious and the drinks are delightful! It is a great place for any occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

South Flores Gem

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 11, 2015

I have eaten lunch at Fruteria several times. I love the salads, smoothies and desserts. I cannot eat gluten, but there are several choices for entrees and a delicious brulee. I understand it is a great night spot and bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Unique

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 10, 2015

Refreshing margaritas, great sharable plates, amazing combinations of flavors. Not your standard Mex/Tex Mex. Delicioso!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Disappointed Guest

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 29, 2015

This was my second visit to this restaurant , after my first experience having gone so well. I live in Houston and I am always looking for great places to eat when in San Antonio. The drinks were great ! I had the " Jarrito" with the 6 chilies infuse and it was amazing. Dinner was sadly lacking . The plate presentation was great but the food was served cold. We tried the chiles en nogada, puerco en salsa verde, gorditas tinga de pollo all served cold. We also tried the chilapitas de atun and that was great.

The restaurant wasn't busy for a Saturday night , but the Waite staff was slow.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Great salads!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 19, 2015

Fruteria is our go-to place for Sunday brunch and delicious salads during the week. I'm not a salad person, but Fruteria combines the freshest greens and fruit to create beautiful, flavorful dishes. As a local here in San Antonio, we love that Johnny Hernandez opened Fruteria, which offers healthy options at affordable prices. San Antonio is lucky to have chef Johnny Hernandez and his culinary inventiveness!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great place for leisurely dinner

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 14, 2015

Really enjoyed the food, and enjoyed ordering a couple of things at a time and then a couple more when those were gone. Ate on the outdoor patio, which was nice, though the music was a little loud. Service was nice, but sometimes slow.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

great brunch, friendly servers, juices are great

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on December 27, 2014

Excellent experience...went for brunch the natural juices are amazing, mimosas are made with real fruit juice not canned, the guacamole is incredible if you go try something different you won't be disappointed. The ambience is nice decorative but not overwhelming. The servers are friendly and attentive. I would say this is a true gem in Johnny's restaurants not as loud as La Gloria, but a great still a great experience. Take a group of friends but make reservations to make sure your covered.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fresh flavor & Fun atmosphere!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on December 26, 2014

This little botanero is only a few miles from the heart of downtown San Antonio and is definitely a neighborhood gem. All the food is fresh and local, and so are the drinks! Fresh fruit and vegetable homemade infusions are the base of all the custom cocktails you can get, and the list is impressive! Perfect for brunch, though breakfast is only served on weekends. Can't miss with their mango mimosa anytime, and while the menu may be a little eccentric for some, there is something for everyone. Like more standard fare? Get a torta (sandwich) with homemade chips ...the chicken adobo is a group favorite. The manzana salad is large and filling, and the tostadas are all great! We loved this place and visit every time we're back home (native San Antonians). The only drawbacks are that it is very small, which can lead to significant wait times when busy, and it's in an industrial area so there isn't a lot right around there to walk to or browse while waiting. Additionally, parking is a problem for the same reasons. If you make plans to visit right when they open, you won't have any problems. Otherwise, if you are visiting SA, recommend making a reservation and exploring cab, public transportation, or hotel shuttle if available for late night/peak time visits.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great lunch spot

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 23, 2014

I was surprised to find that The Fruiteria wasn't packed at lunch. We were able to get right in. I had a breaded chicken torta (sandwich) that came with fresh chips and it was delicious. There are also tostada and salads on the lunch menu but neither came with sides. I wish there were additional options but good was yummy. Also, got a fruit cup to go with my choice of fruits!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Amazing!

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 17, 2014

Our third visit, this time with a friend. Such great food, such great drinks. It was wonderful, beginning to end! Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful Restaurant

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 5, 2014

We had such a lovely time celebrating my birthday here Thursday with friends and family! If you haven't been, go now!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great place to have eat!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 24, 2014

I had the best experience at The Fruteria! The servers were attentive and polite. Food was amazing. I had the three course special. Their new desert included a pineapple ice cream topped with cajeta and spicy nuts. It was amazingly good! Great quality for the price! Romantic and definitely a hidden gem. I will return!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Staff very friendly

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 17, 2014

Best breakfast in town. Fresh fruit and amazing staff made sure we had everything we wanted.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The theme here is kicked up Mexican-styl ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 8, 2014

The theme here is kicked up Mexican-style small plates. Some were big hits , a couple were near misses, but all were inventive and well executed. Will definitely be back to sample some more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The food was very delicious. The menu w ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 30, 2014

The food was very delicious. The menu was varied and the drinks were wonderful.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's just OK

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 24, 2014

No parking

Bartender way too shy

Kept having to wave her down to get a drink even though the place was not even busy

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Still a Hit!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 24, 2014

This was my second time to lunch at the Fruteria. On both occasions the food was superb, and my first lunch there included perhaps the best margarita I've ever enjoyed. I look forward to many more meals at the Fruteria.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Fresh and delicious

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2014

The juice drinks here are amazing, all made fresh at your order. Salads are wonderful, and the small plates perfectly seasoned. Authentic Mexican without fol-de-rol. Don't be put off by the non-touristy neighborhood. It's well worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Over Priced!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 20, 2014

The food was very good; but definitely WAY over priced for the amount of food per plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Excellent Dinner

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 20, 2014

We visited this restaurant to celebrate a friend's birthday, and the atmosphere was festive and energetic. The food was so flavorful and unique. The combinations of sweet and salty as well as celebration of authentic Mexican cuisine made this one of my top favorites in San Antonio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

love the food

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 13, 2014

We had a wonderful time and the food was delicious!

the folks at Gallo Pizzeria

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food/ poor service

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 12, 2014

The food was outstanding, once it finally arrived. We waited for 30 minutes for our drinks after ordering. The single drink received, out of the two ordered, was for another table. I walked it back to the bar to ask for the drinks ordered. Once received, they were FaNTASTIC!!! The food was phenomenal. We ordered 5 dishes, all outstanding...especially the mushroom quesadillas!!! The service was disappointing after driving 27 minutes to the restaurant. For over $100 for appetizers and three drinks, I expect better service & great food. Unfortunately, I will not be making the journey there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

Fruteria

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 3, 2014

This place is amazing. I have been about 10 times since it opened and never disappointed. The drinks and tapas are fantastic. If you haven't been it's a must try!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fruteria Dinner!

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 29, 2014

My family and I have dined here twice for breakfast. Tonight's dinner was wonderful. Love, love the small plates. We tried quesadillas, chile relenos and ceviche! All most wonderful. I had the Sangria and my husband a beer! It was really a great, flavorful meal. The wait staff very attentive and pleasant. Love also that you can make reservations! Wishing this were true for La Gloria (which we also love!)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and drinks

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 16, 2014

Really enjoyed the food, and though they call them "small" plates, 2 starters and 2 mains were more than enough food for 2 people. The drinks are also fabulous. Highly recommend the infusion margaritas. Noise level was due not to patrons, but to the World Cup game on the television.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Fruteria Love

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 15, 2014

2nd visit! Love, love this new little gem from Johnny Hernandez.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.