Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.19mi

About The French Room

Inspired by its original design and the grand tradition of timeless European architecture — The French Room has been thoughtfully restored.

An evening at The French Room has historically been a coveted experience. The recipient of numerous awards and critical acclaim received throughout its storied past, the restaurant has hosted countless special dinners and milestone moments. Led by chef Michael Ehlert, The French Room’s menu draws onFrench culinary traditions and methodology with a fresh sensibility, including thoughtful table-side flourishes and a comprehensive wine program.

The experience is warm, classic and memorable. Engaging and knowledgeable service is punctuated by moments of unexpected delight creating a new perspective on fine dining with style and grace.

The Adolphus Hotel
1321 Commerce St.
Dallas, TX 75202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, American, French American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday

Tuesday-Thursday: 6:00pm-9:30pm
Friday: 6:00pm-10:30pm
Saturday: 5:00pm-10:30pm

Cross Street:
Akard

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 742-8200

Website:
http://www.adolphus.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking in hotel garage. Daily rate $22.00; overnight rate $30.00.

Public Transit:
DART and DART Light Rail (Akard Street Station)

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
S
1886 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 12, 2016

It was incredible! The food, the service, the atmosphere, everything was excellent. Highly recommend for celebrating special occasions. Come be back soon!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Wonderful!!!! We are so glad we made reservations before they closed for a complete makeover. I hope the new restaurant is as grand!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 10, 2016

The French Room- in a league of its own. Sad to see it go. On our last meal there, everything was superb. From the hostess to the wait staff- everyone on point and perfect. Amazing evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Such an awesome place. Nothing else like it. They are making a huge mistake in remodeling this Dallas icon.

It's not too late. Please don't change this restaurant. There are a hundred modern bistros in Dallas. There are no places like the French Room.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 9, 2016

This is a beautiful old world restaurant with lots of french flair and the food was outstanding, presentation of each meal deserved a picture, the service was top notch and I don't believe I will ever be able to eat a soufflé from anywhere else. It was a delightful and delicious night

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great venue

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 5, 2016

An incredible restaurant--refined, elegant and attentive. Hope that the remodeled French Room will be just as great when the redo is completed.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Tasting menu with wine pairings is the way to go

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 27, 2016

There's nothing else in Dallas like The French Room, which is like stepping back in time. Since it's about to be remodeled, I expect some of that charm may be lost, although it is due for a refresh. The food is very good but the service, from the valet to the table, is extraordinary. A night at The French Room is very special.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Dallas' #1 rated restaurant (French and otherwise) and I discovered why. If you enjoy European baroque decor and ambiance coupled with incredible French cuisine and provided by the best of service, then you will find a slice of heaven at The French Room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 27, 2016

The French Room is a one of a kind dining experience. Like dining in a Michelin starred restaurant in France. Every dish was delicious and the service was impeccable. Worth the expense for a special evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 27, 2016

So sad to hear renovations may take our go to anniversary place away, possibly for good.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 26, 2016

Excellent. Overall phenomenal meal and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 25, 2016

The staff is great.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 21, 2016

This restaurant is without a doubt our favorite! We have dined here before and found it the perfect place to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary! It is pricey but you leave totally satisfied and very happy. We have dined all over the world and French Room is still on the top of our list!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 18, 2016

This is a great place for a quiet romantic dinner. Service is attentive and not obtrusive. Staff knows the dishes including preparation methods, spicing and origin. Interior is very traditional French with high ceilings. Room is flanked on one side by pretty greenery.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Omg unbelievable!! Foie Gras was excellent! Would recommend in heartbeat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Service and the food was amazing! They know the menu and what goes into the food when asked.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2016

From the moment we entered, simply everything was first class and elegant. The food was superb, and the service was wonderful. I would definitely recommend this for any special occasion! You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 13, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant. The food and service are always excellent and the atmosphere is tops.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2016

The French Room at the Adolphus was a wonderful romantic setting for our anniversary celebration. The staff were attentive and the service impeccable. The sommelier was helpful on selecting a wine. The food was beautifully presented and delicious. The portions of the 3 courses were larger than we expected. The Dover sole and halibut were prepared perfectly, moist and succulent, not served under or overcooked. The chocolate soufflé was huge and mouthwatering. We will definitely return for another special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food, great service, great atmosphere. What else do you need!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 7, 2016

I took my girlfriend here for dinner. We're both in our mid 20's. I mention this because it is not a very "youthful" place. The Adolfus is a very dated hotel. A bit old and dingy. The hotel bar is on the way to the French Room, but don't bother stopping. The bartender wasn't very good and the drinks were overpriced for what they were. The French Room itself is very fancy. The service is very good. The food is nothing special but it is worth what you pay. If you're over the age of 50 or looking for a good place to pop the Question, this might be your place. If not, try a less expensive place in Uptown.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2016

Recommend the Butter Roasted Maine Lobster and the Black Angus Beef Tenderloin (one of the best pieces of meat I have ever had)!!!!!!!!! Get there before they modernize and change the room setting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 4, 2016

Fantastic! Highly recommend!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 1, 2016

We have dined all over the world and were pleasantly surprised to find the French Room at the Adolphus Hotel in Dallas TX. The place is visually stunning- the attention to detail in design and decor rivals anything I've seen. We started with a cocktail at the comfortable and lovely bar. I must comment on the service- outstanding!!! Friendly and not at all stuffy as you might expect at a restaurant of this caliber. The wine list was perfect - and staff readily available to help with selections. The food- oh, the food! From preparation to presentation- to say absolute perfection would be a gross understatement! If you are in Dallas, do not miss the opportunity to dine at the French Room!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 30, 2016

How was the French Room? How was the FRENCH ROOM? It was the French Room - enough said. ;)

If you're in the mood for an upscale and perfect food experience then this is the best restaurant in Dallas - hands down, bar none. The service is excellent, friendly and will make you feel at home. I've eaten at other upscale places and I'm thinking specifically of two establishments in New Orleans and New York, where the service almost prides itself on being jerks. I love good food and those places had it, but the service almost ruined the experience. That is not the case here. They will make you feel comfortable and at ease, sit back, relax and enjoy one of the best meals you're likely to eat on earth.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 27, 2016

We just celebrated our 25th anniversary at the French Room and it just keeps getting better. It is the most beautiful dinning room in all of Dallas with the best food. You get a head waiter, food runner and water/tea wait person so you always feel taken care of. It's a bit formal, but never stuffy and we always have fun. I got the five course tasting menu with wine and it was fantastic; I love trying different wines and the Somalia is very knowledgeable and shares a lot about the wines. I highly recommend going!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 22, 2016

Food was excellent, service impeccable. Made our anniversary very special! Love the remodel of the rooms - but don't change the look of the lobby, bar and French Room - these are what make the Adolphus what it is!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 20, 2016

Fabulous. We love Connie.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2016

All of the staff was great! Food was outstanding! Worthwhile experience!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2016

It was so nice to enjoy a refined romantic dinner in luxurious surroundings! Highly recommended for a special occasion! Restaurants of this quality are hard to find.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2016

Every aspect of the dinner was great! I knew I was going to spend some money but the quality of the food and flavors exceeded my expectations!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 7, 2016

This is a great spot with excellent good. Know that it is very pricey however. We celebrated a very special occasion and they really did a nice job. The pairing menu was superb- wines were well chosen and explainatio was excellent.
Only thing- temperature on some of the hot good was not perfect. Potatoes were raw in one dish- they offered to change but honestly, the rest was beautiful.
In summary- good place for a big occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 6, 2016

We took some very important clients here for dinner after a trade show. WOW! From the minute we arrived, we were amazed. They have a severe case of ATD - "attention to detail". The service and atmosphere set the bar high. From the craft cocktails, to the exquisite appetizers, delectable main courses, notable wine list, and finally to the delicious desserts, everything was amazing. If you have a chance to eat here, by all means, do it! Expensive, but worth every dime! A very memorable experience...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 6, 2016

We went as a birthday celebration. It was everyone's first time. We are a pretty sophisticated crowd including the teenagers. That said, dinner was absolutely great, one of the most complete dining experiences in any Dallas restaurant. Every detail was perfect. The dishes were just stellar and everyone thought we were treated like we were the only guests at the restaurant. The price is steep but it is worth every cent. Go!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 3, 2016

Went to 'The French Room' for our anniversary, I would recommend this for person who want to take their significant other to celebrate their special occasion. We had lamb and steak for dinner, was quite soft and really delightful! Don't miss out the dessert White Chocolate Panna Cota was so delicious, I am still craving it!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Superb as always. A classic! Perfect for every occasion.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 1, 2016

Dining at the French Room has become a singular experience, now that so much of
the restaurant scene is pretty casual. Here you can count on the friendliest, yet most
professional service, excellent foods prepared with taste and eye appeal. The Dover Sole
was luscious, while the Halibut was crisp and tasty. The French Room upholds the standard
of excellence in Dallas.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 25, 2016

We were celebrating a special occasion and selected the 3 course dinner, which was exceptional. the miso halibut was perfectly prepared, and our desserts were wonderful. We enjoy the atmosphere and the beautiful ceilings and appointments in the dining room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.