About The French Room

The Adolphus Hotel
1321 Commerce St.
Dallas, TX 75202
View Larger Map

Please note our dress code: jackets for gentlemen; no jeans, shorts or tennis shoes.

Editors at Bon Appetit, Gourmet, Travel & Leisure, Conde Nast Traveler, and Fodor's have consistently included The French Room on their annual lists of superlative restaurants. The Zagat Survey of America's Top Restaurants ranks the dining room No. 1 for food, decor, and service, and it's only one of nine restaurants in the United States to have achieved a near-perfect food score. Texas Monthly and D Magazine list The French Room among the best restaurants in Dallas. It is now the only dining room in Texas to hold the AAA Five Diamond Award. Guided by Executive Chef Marcos Segovia, whose culinary talents have earned him acclaim around the world, The French Room is an execeptional dining experience by any standard.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, American, French American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday, 6:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
We are NOT participating in Restaurant Week this year.
Please be aware that the dining room has a dress code:
jackets for gentlemen; no jeans or tennis shoes.

Cross Street:
Akard

Dress Code:
Formal Attire

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 742-8200

Website:
http://www.hoteladolphus.com/

Entertainment:
The French Room hosts monthly gourmet luncheons featuring best-selling authors and personalities. These "Authors at The Adolphus" events create memorable dining experiences that often include menus inspired by the book's setting and theme.

Parking Details:
Valet parking in hotel garage.

Public Transit:
DART and DART Light Rail (Akard Street Station)

Executive Chef:
Marcos Segovia

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The French Room hosts monthly gourmet luncheons featuring best-selling authors and personalities. These "Authors at The Adolphus" events create memorable dining experiences that often include menus inspired by the book's setting and theme.

Restaurant Photos

The French Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Dallas - Fort Worth
Best Food
Dallas - Fort Worth
Best Service
Dallas - Fort Worth
10 More
Best Ambiance
Dallas - Fort Worth
Romantic
Dallas - Fort Worth
Best Overall
Dallas
Best Food
Dallas
Best Service
Dallas
Best Ambiance
Dallas
Best Value
Dallas
Notable Wine List
Dallas
Romantic
Dallas
Special Occasion
Dallas
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (102)
romantic (100)
fit for foodies (56)
See All
notable wine list (48)
good for groups (6)
scenic view (5)
late-night find (3)
neighborhood gem (3)
hot spot (2)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1750 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff is great.

vip
Dined 3 days ago

The staff is great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pam

Dined on May 21, 2016

This restaurant is without a doubt our favorite! We have dined here before and found it the perfect place to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary! It is pricey but you leave totally satisfied and very happy. We have dined all over the world and French Room is still on the top of our list!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Happy with experience

Dined on May 18, 2016

This is a great place for a quiet romantic dinner. Service is attentive and not obtrusive. Staff knows the dishes including preparation methods, spicing and origin. Interior is very traditional French with high ceilings. Room is flanked on one side by pretty greenery.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Omg unbelievable!! Foie Gras was excelle ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Omg unbelievable!! Foie Gras was excellent! Would recommend in heartbeat!

food5
ambience5
service5

Service and the food was amazing! They k ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Service and the food was amazing! They know the menu and what goes into the food when asked.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The French Room

Dined on May 14, 2016

From the moment we entered, simply everything was first class and elegant. The food was superb, and the service was wonderful. I would definitely recommend this for any special occasion! You won't be disappointed!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our favorite restaurant. The fo ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant. The food and service are always excellent and the atmosphere is tops.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic Anniversary Dinner

Dined on May 13, 2016

The French Room at the Adolphus was a wonderful romantic setting for our anniversary celebration. The staff were attentive and the service impeccable. The sommelier was helpful on selecting a wine. The food was beautifully presented and delicious. The portions of the 3 courses were larger than we expected. The Dover sole and halibut were prepared perfectly, moist and succulent, not served under or overcooked. The chocolate soufflé was huge and mouthwatering. We will definitely return for another special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food, great service, great atmosphere. What else do you need!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

It was acceptable, for the price.

Dined on May 7, 2016

I took my girlfriend here for dinner. We're both in our mid 20's. I mention this because it is not a very "youthful" place. The Adolfus is a very dated hotel. A bit old and dingy. The hotel bar is on the way to the French Room, but don't bother stopping. The bartender wasn't very good and the drinks were overpriced for what they were. The French Room itself is very fancy. The service is very good. The food is nothing special but it is worth what you pay. If you're over the age of 50 or looking for a good place to pop the Question, this might be your place. If not, try a less expensive place in Uptown.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recommend the Butter Roasted Maine Lobst ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Recommend the Butter Roasted Maine Lobster and the Black Angus Beef Tenderloin (one of the best pieces of meat I have ever had)!!!!!!!!! Get there before they modernize and change the room setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What can I say- Wow

Dined on May 1, 2016

We have dined all over the world and were pleasantly surprised to find the French Room at the Adolphus Hotel in Dallas TX. The place is visually stunning- the attention to detail in design and decor rivals anything I've seen. We started with a cocktail at the comfortable and lovely bar. I must comment on the service- outstanding!!! Friendly and not at all stuffy as you might expect at a restaurant of this caliber. The wine list was perfect - and staff readily available to help with selections. The food- oh, the food! From preparation to presentation- to say absolute perfection would be a gross understatement! If you are in Dallas, do not miss the opportunity to dine at the French Room!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was the French Room.

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

How was the French Room? How was the FRENCH ROOM? It was the French Room - enough said. ;) If you're in the mood for an upscale and perfect food experience then this is the best restaurant in Dallas - hands down, bar none. The service is excellent, friendly and will make you feel at home. I've eaten at other upscale places and I'm thinking specifically of two establishments in New Orleans and New York, where the service almost prides itself on being jerks. I love good food and those places had it, but the service almost ruined the experience. That is not the case here. They will make you feel comfortable and at ease, sit back, relax and enjoy one of the best meals you're likely to eat on earth.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best restaurant in Dallas

Dined on April 27, 2016

We just celebrated our 25th anniversary at the French Room and it just keeps getting better. It is the most beautiful dinning room in all of Dallas with the best food. You get a head waiter, food runner and water/tea wait person so you always feel taken care of. It's a bit formal, but never stuffy and we always have fun. I got the five course tasting menu with wine and it was fantastic; I love trying different wines and the Somalia is very knowledgeable and shares a lot about the wines. I highly recommend going!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome Evening

Dined on April 22, 2016

Food was excellent, service impeccable. Made our anniversary very special! Love the remodel of the rooms - but don't change the look of the lobby, bar and French Room - these are what make the Adolphus what it is!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous. We love Connie.

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Fabulous. We love Connie.

food5
ambience5
service5

All of the staff was great! Food was out ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

All of the staff was great! Food was outstanding! Worthwhile experience!

food5
ambience5
service5

It was so nice to enjoy a refined romant ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

It was so nice to enjoy a refined romantic dinner in luxurious surroundings! Highly recommended for a special occasion! Restaurants of this quality are hard to find.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was Great!

Dined on April 15, 2016

Every aspect of the dinner was great! I knew I was going to spend some money but the quality of the food and flavors exceeded my expectations!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Romantic but once in a great while

Dined on April 7, 2016

This is a great spot with excellent good. Know that it is very pricey however. We celebrated a very special occasion and they really did a nice job. The pairing menu was superb- wines were well chosen and explainatio was excellent. Only thing- temperature on some of the hot good was not perfect. Potatoes were raw in one dish- they offered to change but honestly, the rest was beautiful. In summary- good place for a big occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

AMAZING!

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

We took some very important clients here for dinner after a trade show. WOW! From the minute we arrived, we were amazed. They have a severe case of ATD - "attention to detail". The service and atmosphere set the bar high. From the craft cocktails, to the exquisite appetizers, delectable main courses, notable wine list, and finally to the delicious desserts, everything was amazing. If you have a chance to eat here, by all means, do it! Expensive, but worth every dime! A very memorable experience...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

We went as a birthday celebration. It wa ...

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

We went as a birthday celebration. It was everyone's first time. We are a pretty sophisticated crowd including the teenagers. That said, dinner was absolutely great, one of the most complete dining experiences in any Dallas restaurant. Every detail was perfect. The dishes were just stellar and everyone thought we were treated like we were the only guests at the restaurant. The price is steep but it is worth every cent. Go!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine Dining at its Finest

Dined on April 3, 2016

Went to 'The French Room' for our anniversary, I would recommend this for person who want to take their significant other to celebrate their special occasion. We had lamb and steak for dinner, was quite soft and really delightful! Don't miss out the dessert White Chocolate Panna Cota was so delicious, I am still craving it!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb as always. A classic! Perfect f ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Superb as always. A classic! Perfect for every occasion.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent.

Dined on April 1, 2016

Dining at the French Room has become a singular experience, now that so much of the restaurant scene is pretty casual. Here you can count on the friendliest, yet most professional service, excellent foods prepared with taste and eye appeal. The Dover Sole was luscious, while the Halibut was crisp and tasty. The French Room upholds the standard of excellence in Dallas.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Predictably delicious experience

Dined on March 25, 2016

We were celebrating a special occasion and selected the 3 course dinner, which was exceptional. the miso halibut was perfectly prepared, and our desserts were wonderful. We enjoy the atmosphere and the beautiful ceilings and appointments in the dining room.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Experience in Every Aspect!

Dined on March 23, 2016

We recently tried The French Room for the first time. We found every aspect of it to be excellent. The ambiance and decor were beautiful, the wine list was outstanding, and the food was amazing. This experience was provided by a staff that consistently demonstrated very professional service while also making us feel welcome and appreciated. We plan to go to The French Room again and would consider it to be our favorite restaurant in Dallas. My wife and I have dined in literally dozens of countries around the world and have had some wonderful experiences. We felt that The French Room puts it on that world-wide "eye opening" list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Extremely authentic French cuisine. Wond ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Extremely authentic French cuisine. Wonderful staff. Perfection at its best.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent experience.

Dined on March 19, 2016

We went to the French Room for our 16th anniversary and had a wonderful time. Unlike anywhere we'd been before as far as atmosphere. Service, food, and atmosphere were all excellent. The prices make this a very-special-occassion-only place for us though.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Fav

Dined on March 18, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant ever! The good and service never disappoint.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic Upscale French

Dined on March 18, 2016

The French Room is the best romantic French dining in Dallas. The food is amazing and service is impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful Decor

Dined on March 16, 2016

The dining area is the most beautiful space Ive ever been in. The entrance is also beautiful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best in Dallas!

Dined on March 13, 2016

The French Room is an elegant dining experience. The service is superb and the food is spectacular. It also feels as if you are dining at Versailles. We have eaten there four times and have been impressed each time. Two Christmases ago we ate there and found out two other couples came from Canada and Australia just to eat at the French Room. I have lived in France and The French Room is as good as the finest restaurants there.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always magical

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

The French room is still one of Dallas' classic spots. The tasting menu and pairing are fantastic. The main menu is a little dated as they have to meet the needs of the classic Hotel crowd but everything is done perfectly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding, as ever.

Dined on March 5, 2016

We have never, in the 30 years that we've dined at The French Room, had anything less than an excellent experience. Attentive service, even providing a soup upon request not on the menu, wonderful ambiance and beautifully prepared and presented food. Can't get better than that.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for our 25th anniversary dinner. ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

We went for our 25th anniversary dinner. What an awesome place to be able to relax, not feel rushed at all, have two servers waiting on you with immaculate service and knowing when to help you and when to leave you alone, and the food is even more awesome. Thank you for staying true to your history and providing such an incredible dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The pearl of Dallas.

Dined on February 28, 2016

Superb meal, lovely decor and flowers, fine wine list and excellent sommelier, very good service yet note too friendly and casual rather than meeting the formal mood of the tradition, lovely evening for our very special family event. Franco was especially wonderful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated our 10th anniversary at th ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

We celebrated our 10th anniversary at the French Room tonight and it was simply perfect! The food and service were both incredible. They even gave us a little cake to take home for breakfast. What a great way to toast our marriage!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dallas top pick

Dined on February 27, 2016

I have been to several top rated restaurant's in several cities. I would say for a not rushed personally catered to every want The French Room goes above all other 5 star establishments. The food and wine could not have been improved upon, excellent place and will definitely recommend and return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful atmosphere

vip
Dined on February 25, 2016

Very lovely dining experience. Food was wonderful as was service. Very pretty decor.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.