About The French Laundry

6640 Washington Street
Yountville, CA 94599
View Larger Map

Built in 1890 as a French Steam Laundry, this rustic two-story stone house is surrounded by a country garden planted with vintage roses, perennials and seasonal herbs. The French Laundry Restaurant has an intimate dining room with 17 tables. The dining time is 3-4 hours with two prix-fixe menus to choose from. Reservations are taken one month in advance to the calendar date (i.e. Reservations for April 1st are taken March 1st).

Jackets are required for gentlemen, although ties are optional. We also ask that no one wears tennis shoes, shorts or t-shirts in the dining room.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Friday - Sunday: 11:00am - 12:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:15pm

Cross Street:
Creek Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 944-2380

Website:
http://www.frenchlaundry.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking Available on Washington Street, Parking Lot on Creek Street

Executive Chef:
Thomas Keller is the Owner/Chef

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining reservations and events can be secured up to one year in advance. No matter the occasion of your party, be it an intimate luncheon for 8-12 guests in our private dining room, a unique social gathering for 60 with access to the entire restaurant and its courtyard or a celebration at a venue of your choosing, we offer a number of settings and accommodations for your private event. Everything from menu selection to wine pairings, flower arrangements to parting gifts, can be custom designed for a memorable occasion.

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The French Laundry Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
See All
Good for a Date (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Romantic (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Seasonal (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
People Watching (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Historic (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
731 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing. I don't think my words for Thom ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined a day ago

Amazing. I don't think my words for Thomas kellers restaurant will do it justice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic. Lived up to the hype. The f ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic. Lived up to the hype. The food was spectacular, especially the wagyu beef. It melted in your mouth like nothing I have ever tasted. The tour of the kitchen after dinner was great. Thomas Keller was cooking on this night and was gracious enough to take a photo with my wife and me. After the photo, he went back to cleaning the work surfaces. A true leader.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

French Laundry is absolutely spectacular ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

French Laundry is absolutely spectacular. The French cuisine is both beautiful and delicious. The wine list is incredible, and the sommelier is truly a gem. Be prepared for very rich food. It will be one of the best meals of your life.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely perfect. Lunch 3 1/2 hours. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Absolutely perfect. Lunch 3 1/2 hours. The food was incredible but also very noteworthy is the service. The employees are all extremely gracious and kind, not only to us but to each other. As one of them said, we work in small quarters so we need to get along. I also appreciate the parting "gifts", including a folder with our menu as a momento.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

In a word, spectacular. 5 stars in ever ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 20, 2016

In a word, spectacular. 5 stars in every category. It continues to be a great, great restaurant and amazingly worth the tariff for memory-making experience. Still, there is a tarnish on the silver. Let me focus first on the big picture.

There are several dishes here, I will mention the foie gras with its accompaniment of salts from around the world, including those from a 150 million year old copper mine and the incredibly pure from beneath the sea in Japan, called terrine, that are worth a journey. Let me mention also the smoked trout and the yellowtail, both melt-in-the-mouth delicious, and the little amuse, the salmon tartar starter, the gougere that exploded with wonderful flavor rather than passively melting in the mouth, the egg custard with truffle as a bonus dish with sublime texture! Our CIA graduate loved the pappardelle with white truffles, since we were lucky to be in season. The diversity of the tasting menu is intriguing all by itself. If only one had an unlimited digestive system! But it is too much food, and for today's market, a little too inflexible in terms of not offering a more limited menu, in my view.

Hardly any superlatives suffice to describe the wine list. World-class, but at the same time, interesting.

So what I regret to say, is that although in general the staff was outstanding, and even memorable, there were more than one or two errors that were surprising. A special order forgotten, more than one instance of dishes given to the wrong guest of our table of 4. So, we were the rare holiday lunch guests, so perhaps that's the explanation. Also, the seasoning of one lentil side dish seemed awfully salty to all of us.

Back to the big picture, if you have the time and the $, one of the most wonderful culinary experiences available in the US! Whatever your expectations, you cannot be disappointed

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mediocre food for a 3 Michelin star rest ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Mediocre food for a 3 Michelin star restaurant no bottle sparkling water in the house only purify.no black napkins for a black dress, definatelly need more for the 3 stars. Sorry

Overprice wine list creazy over priced wines !

Tags: Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

A fantastic experience. I loved the food ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 13, 2016

A fantastic experience. I loved the food but what was just as wonderful was the service. Not pretentious but attentive and approachable. A memorable evening for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been to this fabulous restaurant 8 ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

I've been to this fabulous restaurant 8 times now and I can honestly say, that each time, is like the first time. Looking forward to another fabulous dinner on New Year's Eve. Great staff, great food and an all around amazing experience.

P.S. My husband LOVED the cigar on the patio after lunch. It was a great way to cap off a wonderful meal and I highly recommend it!

Celia

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

truly lives up to its billing as one of ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 8, 2016

truly lives up to its billing as one of the greatest restaurants in the world

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was everything everyone says it is. A ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 7, 2016

It was everything everyone says it is. Absolutely fantastic!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing ! Everything you should expect f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Amazing ! Everything you should expect from a restaurant of this level!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed only in the fact that they ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Disappointed only in the fact that they forgot to give us the take home box of cookies.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptinal service.! Really good food an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Exceptinal service.! Really good food and wine. Would def. Go back again.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was not as expected. Havi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The experience was not as expected. Having dined at multiple Michelin 3 restaurants I expected the level of service to exceed everyday service. Upon arriving the greeting was cold and somewhat callous- not welcoming.

Once our party was seated it took several minutes for the staff to greet us. Upon greeting we were simply given menus without a discussion of what to expect. At this point I asked about having glass of champagne or other "intro" drink as that was not offered. I also had to inquire about the wine options as we were not provided with a wine menu or told about the wine pairing option. At that point the sommelier gave us a run down of options. The fact that we had to ask was unexpected given the expectation of service.

During our dinner the level of attention by wait staff was spotty. There were crumbs on the table. One member of my party had his jacket on the back seat of his chair and was never asked if he wanted it to hang. Another dining member had on black velvet slacks. She was never offered a black napkin.

If these things happened at a normal restaurant they would be overlooked however given the cost of 5 people dining and the expectation set by the Michelin rating we expected more.

Positive. The wine was good.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Planned a trip to San Francisco for our ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Planned a trip to San Francisco for our 10th Wedding Anniversary. I must say I was the very lucky few of everyday people and obtained reservations at the French Laundry on a Friday night thru OpenTable. Yountville is a very pretty little town with a lot of character settled right in Wine country. As we arrived, we were offered a welcome drink as our table was being prepared. Once we were seated menus, and sommelier arrived. The meals were very nicely prepared as expected, however so different than what we are used to. Having dined at Alinea and Moto, we were used to different. I felt not having tried French cuisine as often may have hurt my expectations but it's all about the experience. The night flowed seamlessly as food arrived one by one(10 courses) towards the end, both of us felt satisfied and honored to be part of the experience that is The French Laundry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding we are food we would not nor ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Outstanding we are food we would not normally eat and it was all delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome as usual. The service and cuisi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Awesome as usual. The service and cuisine are beyond expectations always. I loved our service staff. They were always attentive, flexible and informative but never intrusive- highly honed skills. (Coming from this former protocol officer - a high compliment).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous! Amazing! A peak experience!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Fabulous! Amazing! A peak experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and presentation were, of cours ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The food and presentation were, of course, fabulous. The reputation of the restaurant is well-deserved. We informed the server we were on a wine budget and would share among five of us and he handled it all -- we found the wine suggestions reasonable on price and 4 of 5 on content. We found the basic service [water/wine replenishment] a little lacking, which was not necessary considering the overwhelming number of service personnel.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I had the vegetarian option which was ex ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 29, 2016

I had the vegetarian option which was excellent. Others in our party had the meat options & they said it was too salty. The restaurant gave us some dessert wine as an apology, which was nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

A review is not necessary for this renow ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 21, 2016

A review is not necessary for this renown restaurant, but I will write one nevertheless because we loved our experience so much. We flew from Houston and my now fiance proposed right before heading to Yountville, so this may be through rose colored glasses, but anyone else who has had the privilege to dine here can vouch for its wonder.

We opted for the supplements, so we can't speak for the other courses that were replaced.

The best part of each course is it's a play on something familiar.

  • example: royal kaluga caviar + wild scottish sea trout + toasted buckwheat blini + sweet onion relish + horse radish creme fraiche = a different take on bagel&lox

Very enjoyable meal. Our once in a lifetime meal, really. Worth the dining experience.

Hope one day to be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is kind of disappointed. I tried many ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2016

It is kind of disappointed. I tried many Michelin 3 star rated restaurants, but this one is the worst. The service is good but the food has no creativity, nothing special. There are only two single restrooms and one of the restroom's door cannot be locked. When they serve the deserts, they gave you all together, it is really not the right way for a high end restaurant. The foods are really so so. I won't go back again.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4

This is likely the best restaurant in th ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 15, 2016

This is likely the best restaurant in the United States. Perfection beyond belief.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience for a special occas ...

 
 (Berlin)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Wonderful experience for a special occasion. Everything was delicious. Wines by the glass were way overpriced though, and the dessert was delicious but TOO much at the end of such a long meal (less dessert would be better, perhaps the macarons & truffles packed in the takeaway bag with the shortbread cookies and chocolates!).

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This meal was better than the first time ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2016

This meal was better than the first time we were here. The oyster and pearls are still my favourite part of the meal. Everything was decadently delicious. The wines were outstanding as well. The single malts though i thought were too pricey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The French Laundry is one of the most no ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 29, 2016

The French Laundry is one of the most notable restaurants to visit in North America and simply was amazing. Yes at the of the night when you get the bill, your jaw drops when you see the total, but when you look back and think about the amazing ingredients and the way it is cooked to perfected and presented to you, it is all worth it. My fiance and I are huge foodies and there wasn't one thing we did not like. The Wine Pairings were simply perfect and complimented each dish wonderfully. It's a YOLO (You Only Live Once) kind of restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

French Laundry lived up to the hype. The ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 23, 2016

French Laundry lived up to the hype. The food was amazing and the service was impeccable. I would recommend again and again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My son has wanted to go to the French La ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 21, 2016

My son has wanted to go to the French Laundry for years. We had this trip planned to Napa for months and I have gone on Open Table everyday for weeks to finally get this reservation just Thursday before we left Houston on Saturday for the trip. The service was impecable and the food superb. After dinner we were given a tour of the kitchen and the new kitchen being built. We even had our picture taken with the chef in the kitchen. A wonderful eveining was had by all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed an exceptional dinner at The Fre ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Enjoyed an exceptional dinner at The French Laundry this past weekend. Every dish was beautifully presented and a masterpiece of fine dining. We were celebrating my fiancé's birthday, and were thrilled to finally make it here (big lovers of fine dining – Mugaritz, Sawada, Le Cinq, as well as restos locally in SF), and each dish at TFL was impeccable. Also, I thought it was very high-value, considering the prix fixe price includes gratuity – and the portions of Japanese Wagyu, foie gras, and winter truffle (supplemental) were INCREDIBLY generous, as was the Osetra caviar (probably $120+ retail for the amount). For all the haters who had told us it would be "overrated," it definitely was not. The front-of-house manager was so lovely and courteous, and our kitchen tour at the end of dinner was wonderful – and the chefs so gracious.

BUT that's about where our appreciation of the front-of-house staff ends. Our server seemed to be "phoning it in" all night with lazy high-level descriptions of the dishes when we asked to be reminded what a certain ingredient was, always seemed hurried to move on to the next table, and when we wanted to order a half-bottle of wine, rather than offer for the sommelier to come by and speak with us, or even ASK us what we might be in the mood for, without skipping a beat he just suggested one of the most expensive half-bottles on the list. It felt like a lazy suggestion to bring the total beverage check up (we started with 2 Hitachino beers vs. champagne). And the rest of the servers, while swift and great at not disrupting conversation or being too "present", spoke a bit too softly for us to hear what we were being served, given how boisterous the dining room got.

Overall, a really wonderful evening and we're glad to have finally made it to The French Laundry, but I hope that the front of house staff improves, because every guest dining there should feel special and well taken care of, even if not A-list or high-profile.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Eating here was on our bucket list and i ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Eating here was on our bucket list and it did not disappoint. The food was incredible and the service flawless. Very memorable experience that was well worth it. Highly recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every course looks manicured, perfect, a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 7, 2016

Every course looks manicured, perfect, artistic. Tastes unique. You can tell that hours of work - no, days and months have gone into the preparation. A restaurant to indulge the senses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bucket List experience

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Check this off your bucket list and don't keep track of what you spend. Very nice one time visit, the Foie Gras was fantastic, everything else was VERY Good. The meal didn't disappoint, just can't justify the price, except to say we treated ourselves and didn't look back. Spend the extra on the food, the wine is mostly overpriced beyond the rest of the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

i had diner at the restaurant in 2014, a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2016

i had diner at the restaurant in 2014, and we had a great time. this time, we had a golf trip in Napa and i recommended highly to my golf partners to have diner here.

we were very happy with the diner except for the wine selection recommended by the waiter. my friends did not complain about the wine ($1950.00 for three people, one does not drink), however, i think that the wine selected are not as good as i had in my 2014 diner there, which cost about $250.0 each person, and priced clearly on the chef's tasking menu with wine pairing.

so, the only complain is the value of the wine beyond my expectation, the waiter did not tell me how much the wine will cost us eventually!!

i strongly recommend to add the wine paring to the chef's tasting menu, with a clear price tag.

i will order food from the menu and wine too next time going there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2016

We built our trip to California around the reservation date. We have been at Per Se in NY two times and we were looking forward to have the experience at The French Laundry. Beautiful small town, great ambiance, superb service. For wine lovers, the wine liste could be a thesis in itself. The menu was incredible, and my wife order the vegetarian menu which was amazing as well. We would recommend the trip to all food and wine lovers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not sure it represents value

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2016

Any good restaurant might have its bad days. I may happen to be dining there on a bad day.

Tags: Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Over priced

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 29, 2016

Over priced

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Everything I dreamed it was going to be, ...

vip
 (México)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Everything I dreamed it was going to be, and more. A formal dining experience parallel none without an ounce of pretentiousness or self aggrandizing. Perfect, just perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Mecca of restaurants!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 22, 2016

The Mecca of restaurants!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The most memorable dining experience I'v ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 18, 2016

The most memorable dining experience I've ever had. Everyone we met, from the service team, the sommelier, the general manager to Thomas Keller himself, was courteous, personable and entirely dedicated to creating a cozy and welcoming environment for every guest. The menu was exquisite, the wine list was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We lucked out with a reservation last mi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 13, 2016

We lucked out with a reservation last minute on a trip to Napa due to the kitchen remodel taking place. We loved everything about our experience and look forward to a return visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.