About The French Laundry

6640 Washington Street
Yountville, CA 94599
View Larger Map

Built in 1890 as a French Steam Laundry, this rustic two-story stone house is surrounded by a country garden planted with vintage roses, perennials and seasonal herbs. The French Laundry Restaurant has an intimate dining room with 17 tables. The dining time is 3-4 hours with two prix-fixe menus to choose from. Reservations are taken one month in advance to the calendar date (i.e. Reservations for April 1st are taken March 1st).

Jackets are required for gentlemen, although ties are optional. We also ask that no one wears tennis shoes, shorts or t-shirts in the dining room.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Friday - Sunday: 11:00am - 12:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:15pm

Cross Street:
Creek Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 944-2380

Website:
http://www.frenchlaundry.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking Available on Washington Street, Parking Lot on Creek Street

Executive Chef:
Thomas Keller is the Owner/Chef

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining reservations and events can be secured up to one year in advance. No matter the occasion of your party, be it an intimate luncheon for 8-12 guests in our private dining room, a unique social gathering for 60 with access to the entire restaurant and its courtyard or a celebration at a venue of your choosing, we offer a number of settings and accommodations for your private event. Everything from menu selection to wine pairings, flower arrangements to parting gifts, can be custom designed for a memorable occasion.

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
"Coffee And Donuts" - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Amuse Bouche - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
"Oysters And Pearls" - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Salmon Tartare Cornet - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Liberty Farm Pekin Duck - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Salted Butter - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Schramsberg, Extra Brut, "Cuvée French Laundry," California - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Bread Service - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Assortment Of Desserts  - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Butter Poached Lobster Tail - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Donuts - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Butter - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Andante Dairy "Acapella" - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Macarons - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Sweet Butter Poached Alaskan King Crab - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Hudson Valley Moulard Duck Foie Gras Rillette - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Chateaubriand Of Marcho Farms Nature Fed Veal - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Coffee - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Sweet Butter Poached Stonington Maine Lobster - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Pretzel Roll - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Bread - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Applewood Smoked Fillet Of Gulf Coast Cobia - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Salad Of Garden Vegetables - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Charcoal Grilled Japanese Wagyu - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Seasoned Salts - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Consider Bardwell Farm "Pawlet" - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Espresso - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Sweet Butter Poached Maine lobster - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Foie Gras Au Torchon - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Hudson Valley Moulard Duck "Foie Gras Torchon" - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Sautéed Filet Of Atlantic Striped Bass - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Herb Roasted Four Story Hill Farm Poularde - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
"Pork And Beans" - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Herb Roasted Marcho Farms Nature Fed Veal - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Pretzel Leaves - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Pistachio Gelato With Tutti Frutti Confetti - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Spring Strawberries With Candied Leaves - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Bittersweet Chocolate Cigar With Pretzel Mousse And Pretzel Chips - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
White Sturgeon Caviar With Brioche Round And Avocado Mousse - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Slow Poached Fillet Of Pacific Halibut - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Élevages Périgord Moulard Duck "Foie Gras Au Torchon" - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Dusted Chocolate Covered Macadamia Nuts - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Assorted Chocolate Truffles - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Doughnuts - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Chocolate - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Assorted Desserts - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Elysian Fields Farm Lamb Rib-Eye - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Sauteed Fillet of Atlantic Halibut - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Roll & Butter - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Cappuccino Semifreddo - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Shortbread Cookies - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Bantham Hen Egg Brûlée - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Four Story Hill Farm "Poularde" - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Pine Nut "Tofu" - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Pre-Truffle Bantham Hen Egg Brûlée - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
All Day Braised Marcho Farms Veal Cheek - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Cappucino Ice Cream With Foam - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Chocolates - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Salade de Legumes Verts - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Artichaut Farci - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Hand-Harvested Maine Diver Scallop - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Grilled Sacramento Delta Green Asparagus - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Salad of Heirloom Beets - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Grilled Fillet Of Pacific Kanpachi - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Cobb Pinot Noir - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Royal Ossetra Caviar - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Jasper Hill Dairy "Winnemere" - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Cornet - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Oysters and Pearls - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Paupiettes Of Dover Sole And Wild Scottish Langoustine - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Wolfe Ranch White Quail Presse - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Complimentary English Shortbread - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Gaston Chiquet - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Salad Of Garden Radishes - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Chocolate Macadias - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Sweet Butter-Poached Maine Lobster - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Princess Cake - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Westcombe Cheddar - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Shirred Eggs - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Fuji Apple "Mille Feuille" - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Fourme d'Ambert - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Shortbread Cookies To Take Home - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Passion Fruit "Swiss Roll" - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Chocolate Covered Roasted Macadamias - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Coffee and Doughnuts - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Sweet Butter-Poached Maine Lobster "Fricasse" - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Stonington Maine Sea Scallop Poelee - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA
Dirty Martini Chocolate - The French Laundry, Yountville, CA

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Ring in the New Year with a festive menu, including caviar, black and white truffles and wagyu beef, designed especially for the occasion. Chef’s Tasting Menu | $700 per person

(A deposit of the full menu price is required to confirm reservations.)

The French Laundry Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Ambiance
San Francisco Bay Area
American
San Francisco Bay Area
6 More
Best Overall
Wine Country
Best Service
Wine Country
Best Ambiance
Wine Country
Notable Wine List
Wine Country
Special Occasion
Wine Country
American
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Yountville ›

Fit for Foodies (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Notable Wine List (4)
See All
Creative Cuisine (4)
Romantic (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
672 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing ! Everything you should expect f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing ! Everything you should expect from a restaurant of this level!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed only in the fact that they ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Disappointed only in the fact that they forgot to give us the take home box of cookies.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptinal service.! Really good food an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Exceptinal service.! Really good food and wine. Would def. Go back again.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was not as expected. Havi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The experience was not as expected. Having dined at multiple Michelin 3 restaurants I expected the level of service to exceed everyday service. Upon arriving the greeting was cold and somewhat callous- not welcoming.

Once our party was seated it took several minutes for the staff to greet us. Upon greeting we were simply given menus without a discussion of what to expect. At this point I asked about having glass of champagne or other "intro" drink as that was not offered. I also had to inquire about the wine options as we were not provided with a wine menu or told about the wine pairing option. At that point the sommelier gave us a run down of options. The fact that we had to ask was unexpected given the expectation of service.

During our dinner the level of attention by wait staff was spotty. There were crumbs on the table. One member of my party had his jacket on the back seat of his chair and was never asked if he wanted it to hang. Another dining member had on black velvet slacks. She was never offered a black napkin.

If these things happened at a normal restaurant they would be overlooked however given the cost of 5 people dining and the expectation set by the Michelin rating we expected more.

Positive. The wine was good.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Outstanding we are food we would not nor ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Outstanding we are food we would not normally eat and it was all delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome as usual. The service and cuisi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Awesome as usual. The service and cuisine are beyond expectations always. I loved our service staff. They were always attentive, flexible and informative but never intrusive- highly honed skills. (Coming from this former protocol officer - a high compliment).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous! Amazing! A peak experience!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Fabulous! Amazing! A peak experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and presentation were, of cours ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The food and presentation were, of course, fabulous. The reputation of the restaurant is well-deserved. We informed the server we were on a wine budget and would share among five of us and he handled it all -- we found the wine suggestions reasonable on price and 4 of 5 on content. We found the basic service [water/wine replenishment] a little lacking, which was not necessary considering the overwhelming number of service personnel.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I had the vegetarian option which was ex ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 29, 2016

I had the vegetarian option which was excellent. Others in our party had the meat options & they said it was too salty. The restaurant gave us some dessert wine as an apology, which was nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

A review is not necessary for this renow ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 21, 2016

A review is not necessary for this renown restaurant, but I will write one nevertheless because we loved our experience so much. We flew from Houston and my now fiance proposed right before heading to Yountville, so this may be through rose colored glasses, but anyone else who has had the privilege to dine here can vouch for its wonder.

We opted for the supplements, so we can't speak for the other courses that were replaced.

The best part of each course is it's a play on something familiar.

  • example: royal kaluga caviar + wild scottish sea trout + toasted buckwheat blini + sweet onion relish + horse radish creme fraiche = a different take on bagel&lox

Very enjoyable meal. Our once in a lifetime meal, really. Worth the dining experience.

Hope one day to be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is kind of disappointed. I tried many ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2016

It is kind of disappointed. I tried many Michelin 3 star rated restaurants, but this one is the worst. The service is good but the food has no creativity, nothing special. There are only two single restrooms and one of the restroom's door cannot be locked. When they serve the deserts, they gave you all together, it is really not the right way for a high end restaurant. The foods are really so so. I won't go back again.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4

This is likely the best restaurant in th ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 15, 2016

This is likely the best restaurant in the United States. Perfection beyond belief.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience for a special occas ...

 
 (Berlin)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Wonderful experience for a special occasion. Everything was delicious. Wines by the glass were way overpriced though, and the dessert was delicious but TOO much at the end of such a long meal (less dessert would be better, perhaps the macarons & truffles packed in the takeaway bag with the shortbread cookies and chocolates!).

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This meal was better than the first time ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2016

This meal was better than the first time we were here. The oyster and pearls are still my favourite part of the meal. Everything was decadently delicious. The wines were outstanding as well. The single malts though i thought were too pricey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The French Laundry is one of the most no ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 29, 2016

The French Laundry is one of the most notable restaurants to visit in North America and simply was amazing. Yes at the of the night when you get the bill, your jaw drops when you see the total, but when you look back and think about the amazing ingredients and the way it is cooked to perfected and presented to you, it is all worth it. My fiance and I are huge foodies and there wasn't one thing we did not like. The Wine Pairings were simply perfect and complimented each dish wonderfully. It's a YOLO (You Only Live Once) kind of restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

French Laundry lived up to the hype. The ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 23, 2016

French Laundry lived up to the hype. The food was amazing and the service was impeccable. I would recommend again and again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My son has wanted to go to the French La ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 21, 2016

My son has wanted to go to the French Laundry for years. We had this trip planned to Napa for months and I have gone on Open Table everyday for weeks to finally get this reservation just Thursday before we left Houston on Saturday for the trip. The service was impecable and the food superb. After dinner we were given a tour of the kitchen and the new kitchen being built. We even had our picture taken with the chef in the kitchen. A wonderful eveining was had by all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed an exceptional dinner at The Fre ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Enjoyed an exceptional dinner at The French Laundry this past weekend. Every dish was beautifully presented and a masterpiece of fine dining. We were celebrating my fiancé's birthday, and were thrilled to finally make it here (big lovers of fine dining – Mugaritz, Sawada, Le Cinq, as well as restos locally in SF), and each dish at TFL was impeccable. Also, I thought it was very high-value, considering the prix fixe price includes gratuity – and the portions of Japanese Wagyu, foie gras, and winter truffle (supplemental) were INCREDIBLY generous, as was the Osetra caviar (probably $120+ retail for the amount). For all the haters who had told us it would be "overrated," it definitely was not. The front-of-house manager was so lovely and courteous, and our kitchen tour at the end of dinner was wonderful – and the chefs so gracious.

BUT that's about where our appreciation of the front-of-house staff ends. Our server seemed to be "phoning it in" all night with lazy high-level descriptions of the dishes when we asked to be reminded what a certain ingredient was, always seemed hurried to move on to the next table, and when we wanted to order a half-bottle of wine, rather than offer for the sommelier to come by and speak with us, or even ASK us what we might be in the mood for, without skipping a beat he just suggested one of the most expensive half-bottles on the list. It felt like a lazy suggestion to bring the total beverage check up (we started with 2 Hitachino beers vs. champagne). And the rest of the servers, while swift and great at not disrupting conversation or being too "present", spoke a bit too softly for us to hear what we were being served, given how boisterous the dining room got.

Overall, a really wonderful evening and we're glad to have finally made it to The French Laundry, but I hope that the front of house staff improves, because every guest dining there should feel special and well taken care of, even if not A-list or high-profile.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Eating here was on our bucket list and i ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Eating here was on our bucket list and it did not disappoint. The food was incredible and the service flawless. Very memorable experience that was well worth it. Highly recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every course looks manicured, perfect, a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 7, 2016

Every course looks manicured, perfect, artistic. Tastes unique. You can tell that hours of work - no, days and months have gone into the preparation. A restaurant to indulge the senses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bucket List experience

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Check this off your bucket list and don't keep track of what you spend. Very nice one time visit, the Foie Gras was fantastic, everything else was VERY Good. The meal didn't disappoint, just can't justify the price, except to say we treated ourselves and didn't look back. Spend the extra on the food, the wine is mostly overpriced beyond the rest of the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

i had diner at the restaurant in 2014, a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2016

i had diner at the restaurant in 2014, and we had a great time. this time, we had a golf trip in Napa and i recommended highly to my golf partners to have diner here.

we were very happy with the diner except for the wine selection recommended by the waiter. my friends did not complain about the wine ($1950.00 for three people, one does not drink), however, i think that the wine selected are not as good as i had in my 2014 diner there, which cost about $250.0 each person, and priced clearly on the chef's tasking menu with wine pairing.

so, the only complain is the value of the wine beyond my expectation, the waiter did not tell me how much the wine will cost us eventually!!

i strongly recommend to add the wine paring to the chef's tasting menu, with a clear price tag.

i will order food from the menu and wine too next time going there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2016

We built our trip to California around the reservation date. We have been at Per Se in NY two times and we were looking forward to have the experience at The French Laundry. Beautiful small town, great ambiance, superb service. For wine lovers, the wine liste could be a thesis in itself. The menu was incredible, and my wife order the vegetarian menu which was amazing as well. We would recommend the trip to all food and wine lovers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not sure it represents value

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2016

Any good restaurant might have its bad days. I may happen to be dining there on a bad day.

Tags: Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Over priced

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 29, 2016

Over priced

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Everything I dreamed it was going to be, ...

vip
 (México)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Everything I dreamed it was going to be, and more. A formal dining experience parallel none without an ounce of pretentiousness or self aggrandizing. Perfect, just perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Mecca of restaurants!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 22, 2016

The Mecca of restaurants!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The most memorable dining experience I'v ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 18, 2016

The most memorable dining experience I've ever had. Everyone we met, from the service team, the sommelier, the general manager to Thomas Keller himself, was courteous, personable and entirely dedicated to creating a cozy and welcoming environment for every guest. The menu was exquisite, the wine list was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Birthday Celebration

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2016

My wife and I were lucky enough to get a reservation while visiting Sonoma to celebrate two 40th birthdays and a 50th birthday. The six of us each had a personalized menu and some of the most amazing food I have ever eaten. The service was flawless and they were very accommodating to our dietary and financial needs. The dessert course is like something out of a movie...the food didn't stop coming. It was a night we will remember forever.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've had the great pleasure to dine at e ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 9, 2016

I've had the great pleasure to dine at eight of the 64 Five Diamond restaurants in North America and The French Laundry jumped right to the top of the list (closely followed by Addison in San Diego and the Inn at Little Washington in Little Washington, VA). It is indeed, everything you've ever heard. Service was impeccable, light hearted and technically perfect. The food of course was the star, beginning with the Amuse Bouche. We opted to have the sommelier pair our wines with the food which is always the right call. Life is short, spend the money and treat yourself to a night to savor and remember forever.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

An experience we will never forget!

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 29, 2016

What a wonderful evening! Most definitely one of the most amazing meals I've ever had and the service was impeccable! Andrew read our group so well and made our experience outstanding! Prior to our visit I had asked friends who have been, "is it worth it?" and every response was an overwhelming 'yes'. I must agree! I was a little concerned a group of 6 would be too much, but it is by far one of the best restaurant evenings I have ever enjoyed! The kitchen tour with Alexander was lovely and informative he made us feel so welcome. Much gratitude to everyone at TFL for everything you do; to source the finest ingredients, pay attention to every detail and create such a beautiful experience for us! Thank you! I hope we will be able to return again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The French Laundry is a total experience ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 28, 2016

The French Laundry is a total experience, a unique venue for the performance art of food and service. Choose your menu, consult the sommelier (take his suggestions) and relax. This is like nowhere else on earth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I dined with another couple who had been ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2016

I dined with another couple who had been to French Laundry many times. Prior to this visit for lunch, I had only been once approx 10 yrs ago. I remember the service to be flawless, and food to be incredible. The whole experience was awesome. This time however, the service was not good. First of all, there was a HUGE mix up on the wine pairing pricing. Our waiter asked what price range we were looking for the pairings. We clearly stated about $100/per person. The wines were excellent. The service felt rushed. We could not even finish and enjoy our current course/wine as they tried to bring out the next. We asked them to slow down the service a few times. The food was very good, not as good as I remember, but it was good. When the final bill came, I almost fell over. They had charged us $300/per person for the wine pairings!!! Needless to say, we were shocked. After several back and forth explanations, the "manager" apologized for the mistake and corrected the bill. I have to give them credit for that. We appreciated the professionalism with the bill. We did think the service was worth the cost. I doubt that I would ever go back. Disappointed

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Disappointed

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2016

I have been to many fine dining restaurants and I was very excited to finally visit the French Laundry. The staff seemed oppressed for some reason- no smiling, no pleasantries. The food was ok, but for that price I expected outstanding and that is not was we received. I don't need to beat them up over it but I just expected inventive, interesting dishes and we received ordinary. At least I can take it off my list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

It was phenomenal!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2016

It was phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Strongly recommend

 
 (東京)·Dined on February 2, 2016

The night I spent here with my girlfriend is one of the most unforgettable and amazing night I've had. It's much more than food. My beautiful lady and I were sitting closely next to each other while enjoying those incredible dishes.We all appreciate the beauty and the greatness of food. Its cuisine has made us gone further. We start to think about more on life and all the potential, promising and beautiful future and possibilities ahead two of us by tasting awesome wine and enjoying delicious food. How could we make our life romantic, excellent and creative like the one who cooks in this way. We believe that's the art, the zen, the sacred things. Time has made French Laundry unique. Anyway, thanks, dear French Laundry.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 1, 2016

The French Laundry definitively lives up to its reputation. We feel so special to have dined there.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal Lunch!

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2016

We booked The French Laundry for lunch during our latest Napa trip. Initially I was a little disappointed that we couldn't get dinner but after experiencing the lunch I was simply amazed.

We arrived a few minutes ahead of our scheduled 11:15am reservation time and we immediately seated at our table. There were 4 in our group and we're all foodies.

We started with Champagne while we made the few selections required. Rather than picking wine on our own, we asked our server to select a pairing for each course. That turned out to be a terrific idea. We didn't need to stress over the choices and everything he selected was tremendous.

The staff paid close attention to our pace of service and allowed us to manage our timing. As a group of 4 foodie friends, each course brought a lot of discussion on the preparation as well as photos and then the final critique.

All our servers were extremely attentive without being over whelming. They indulged all our questions and requests as if we were the only ones in the restaurant.

I was a bit worried that our experience would not match our expectations but that was not the case. In fact, our experience far surpassed our expectations as we finished with a quick tour of the kitchen, wine cellar and gardens.

I honestly can't wait to come back and experience this restaurant again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Now I know why they have three Michelin stars

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2016

The atmosphere, the service, and the food was fantastic. It was a display of art using food. The flavors of the foods were wonderful, and it exceeded my expectations by far.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Celebration for Six

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 26, 2016

They were extremely accommodating and allowed us to change from five to six people. Liz is very helpful and knowledgable.

Tags: Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.