About The French Laundry

6640 Washington Street
Yountville, CA 94599
View Larger Map

Built in 1890 as a French Steam Laundry, this rustic two-story stone house is surrounded by a country garden planted with vintage roses, perennials and seasonal herbs. The French Laundry Restaurant has an intimate dining room with 17 tables. The dining time is 3-4 hours with two prix-fixe menus to choose from. Reservations are taken one month in advance to the calendar date (i.e. Reservations for April 1st are taken March 1st).

Jackets are required for gentlemen, although ties are optional. We also ask that no one wears tennis shoes, shorts or t-shirts in the dining room.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Friday - Sunday: 11:00am - 12:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:15pm

Cross Street:
Creek Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 944-2380

Website:
http://www.frenchlaundry.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking Available on Washington Street, Parking Lot on Creek Street

Executive Chef:
Thomas Keller is the Owner/Chef

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining reservations and events can be secured up to one year in advance. No matter the occasion of your party, be it an intimate luncheon for 8-12 guests in our private dining room, a unique social gathering for 60 with access to the entire restaurant and its courtyard or a celebration at a venue of your choosing, we offer a number of settings and accommodations for your private event. Everything from menu selection to wine pairings, flower arrangements to parting gifts, can be custom designed for a memorable occasion.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The French Laundry Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Yountville ›

special occasion (27)
fit for foodies (25)
notable wine list (20)
See All
romantic (18)
good for groups (7)
hot spot (5)
great for lunch (3)
neighborhood gem (2)
late-night find (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
650 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Bucket List experience

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Check this off your bucket list and don't keep track of what you spend. Very nice one time visit, the Foie Gras was fantastic, everything else was VERY Good. The meal didn't disappoint, just can't justify the price, except to say we treated ourselves and didn't look back. Spend the extra on the food, the wine is mostly overpriced beyond the rest of the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

i had diner at the restaurant in 2014, a ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

i had diner at the restaurant in 2014, and we had a great time. this time, we had a golf trip in Napa and i recommended highly to my golf partners to have diner here. we were very happy with the diner except for the wine selection recommended by the waiter. my friends did not complain about the wine ($1950.00 for three people, one does not drink), however, i think that the wine selected are not as good as i had in my 2014 diner there, which cost about $250.0 each person, and priced clearly on the chef's tasking menu with wine pairing. so, the only complain is the value of the wine beyond my expectation, the waiter did not tell me how much the wine will cost us eventually!! i strongly recommend to add the wine paring to the chef's tasting menu, with a clear price tag. i will order food from the menu and wine too next time going there.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on April 1, 2016

We built our trip to California around the reservation date. We have been at Per Se in NY two times and we were looking forward to have the experience at The French Laundry. Beautiful small town, great ambiance, superb service. For wine lovers, the wine liste could be a thesis in itself. The menu was incredible, and my wife order the vegetarian menu which was amazing as well. We would recommend the trip to all food and wine lovers.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Not sure it represents value

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Any good restaurant might have its bad days. I may happen to be dining there on a bad day.

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Over priced

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Over priced

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything I dreamed it was going to be, ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Everything I dreamed it was going to be, and more. A formal dining experience parallel none without an ounce of pretentiousness or self aggrandizing. Perfect, just perfect.

food5
ambience4
service5

The Mecca of restaurants!

Dined on March 22, 2016

The Mecca of restaurants!

food5
ambience5
service5

The most memorable dining experience I'v ...

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

The most memorable dining experience I've ever had. Everyone we met, from the service team, the sommelier, the general manager to Thomas Keller himself, was courteous, personable and entirely dedicated to creating a cozy and welcoming environment for every guest. The menu was exquisite, the wine list was superb.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Birthday Celebration

Dined on March 11, 2016

My wife and I were lucky enough to get a reservation while visiting Sonoma to celebrate two 40th birthdays and a 50th birthday. The six of us each had a personalized menu and some of the most amazing food I have ever eaten. The service was flawless and they were very accommodating to our dietary and financial needs. The dessert course is like something out of a movie...the food didn't stop coming. It was a night we will remember forever.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've had the great pleasure to dine at e ...

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

I've had the great pleasure to dine at eight of the 64 Five Diamond restaurants in North America and The French Laundry jumped right to the top of the list (closely followed by Addison in San Diego and the Inn at Little Washington in Little Washington, VA). It is indeed, everything you've ever heard. Service was impeccable, light hearted and technically perfect. The food of course was the star, beginning with the Amuse Bouche. We opted to have the sommelier pair our wines with the food which is always the right call. Life is short, spend the money and treat yourself to a night to savor and remember forever.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An experience we will never forget!

Dined on February 29, 2016

What a wonderful evening! Most definitely one of the most amazing meals I've ever had and the service was impeccable! Andrew read our group so well and made our experience outstanding! Prior to our visit I had asked friends who have been, "is it worth it?" and every response was an overwhelming 'yes'. I must agree! I was a little concerned a group of 6 would be too much, but it is by far one of the best restaurant evenings I have ever enjoyed! The kitchen tour with Alexander was lovely and informative he made us feel so welcome. Much gratitude to everyone at TFL for everything you do; to source the finest ingredients, pay attention to every detail and create such a beautiful experience for us! Thank you! I hope we will be able to return again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The French Laundry is a total experience ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

The French Laundry is a total experience, a unique venue for the performance art of food and service. Choose your menu, consult the sommelier (take his suggestions) and relax. This is like nowhere else on earth.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Disappointed

vip
Dined on February 16, 2016

I have been to many fine dining restaurants and I was very excited to finally visit the French Laundry. The staff seemed oppressed for some reason- no smiling, no pleasantries. The food was ok, but for that price I expected outstanding and that is not was we received. I don't need to beat them up over it but I just expected inventive, interesting dishes and we received ordinary. At least I can take it off my list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

It was phenomenal!

Dined on February 4, 2016

It was phenomenal!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Strongly recommend

Dined on February 2, 2016

The night I spent here with my girlfriend is one of the most unforgettable and amazing night I've had. It's much more than food. My beautiful lady and I were sitting closely next to each other while enjoying those incredible dishes.We all appreciate the beauty and the greatness of food. Its cuisine has made us gone further. We start to think about more on life and all the potential, promising and beautiful future and possibilities ahead two of us by tasting awesome wine and enjoying delicious food. How could we make our life romantic, excellent and creative like the one who cooks in this way. We believe that's the art, the zen, the sacred things. Time has made French Laundry unique. Anyway, thanks, dear French Laundry.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time.

vip
Dined on February 1, 2016

The French Laundry definitively lives up to its reputation. We feel so special to have dined there.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal Lunch!

vip
Dined on January 29, 2016

We booked The French Laundry for lunch during our latest Napa trip. Initially I was a little disappointed that we couldn't get dinner but after experiencing the lunch I was simply amazed. We arrived a few minutes ahead of our scheduled 11:15am reservation time and we immediately seated at our table. There were 4 in our group and we're all foodies. We started with Champagne while we made the few selections required. Rather than picking wine on our own, we asked our server to select a pairing for each course. That turned out to be a terrific idea. We didn't need to stress over the choices and everything he selected was tremendous. The staff paid close attention to our pace of service and allowed us to manage our timing. As a group of 4 foodie friends, each course brought a lot of discussion on the preparation as well as photos and then the final critique. All our servers were extremely attentive without being over whelming. They indulged all our questions and requests as if we were the only ones in the restaurant. I was a bit worried that our experience would not match our expectations but that was not the case. In fact, our experience far surpassed our expectations as we finished with a quick tour of the kitchen, wine cellar and gardens. I honestly can't wait to come back and experience this restaurant again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Now I know why they have three Michelin stars

Dined on January 26, 2016

The atmosphere, the service, and the food was fantastic. It was a display of art using food. The flavors of the foods were wonderful, and it exceeded my expectations by far.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Birthday Celebration for Six

vip
Dined on January 26, 2016

They were extremely accommodating and allowed us to change from five to six people. Liz is very helpful and knowledgable.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection

Dined on January 23, 2016

There's not much to review for the French Laundry, except that everything was absolute perfection. The service was attentive and yet not "always hovering". They picked up on the fact that it was my birthday without even telling them and arrived with special gifts and a candle in my dessert. Everything was perfectly rehearsed and calculated, but still seemed almost casual and easy to enjoy yourself without feeling stuffy. The food was phenomenal, yet approachable. If you have a choice between the lamb and the wagyu beef, splurge on the beef! The truffle risotto is also worth the splurge! Go ahead and treat yourself, you will not be let down.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Dining at The French Laundry might have ...

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

Dining at The French Laundry might have ruined us for all future foodie experiences. It was EPIC! The service was impeccable and the food exquisite.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The French Laundry for dinner

Dined on January 14, 2016

We had an amazing dinner at the French Laundry. The food was some of the best I have ever eaten, and the service was perfect. There are many people who work at your table, but they are very in-obtrusive. Our waiter was extremely knowledgeable and helpful, explaining all of the courses (there are a lot). Every course was excellent, with food prepared in new and interesting ways. Dining at the French Laundry is truly an experience, for you to savor and enjoy. My only suggestion for diners is to pace yourself! There are a lot of courses and none of them are skimpy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Surpassed my expectations

vip
Dined on January 9, 2016

This was our best culinary experience ever. The service was impeccable, the food was to die for, and the whole atmosphere was just perfect. We were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary and the staff at French Laundry made sure that everything was perfect for us. Besides getting a reservation which is the hardest thing to get (we have been trying for 20 years), everything else was superb. It was a truly divine experience. Thank you to the French Laundry staff!

food2
ambience3
service4

I don't think this is worth the price es ...

vip
Dined on January 7, 2016

I don't think this is worth the price especially when compared to someplace like Benu. Most dishes were very good but nothing really stood out. They overwhelm you with desserts but only a couple of them (namely the donuts which are great) are good. Service was very good but could have been warmer and more personal. The table we were at was a bit in the middle of the way. At this level I expect something much closer to perfection. We will go again but only because we have a gift card.

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great company, good food, ok service

Dined on January 7, 2016

The food was extremely superb and some of the dishes made you wish there were an encores. By the end of the night, my friends and I were completely stuffed. We couldn't finish the chocolate truffles and other treats that were given to us. Ambiance was nice. I felt service was a little off. Normally, I could careless about service, but given how much we spent, I thought the servers would've introduced themselves. I knew none of their names. I don't know if that's normal, but knowing their name would have been nice. Another slight issue I had was, one of the server forgot to add an ingredient to one of my friends dish and we had to flag down someone to have it added. Those were small issues. It didn't ruin the night. Just thought it was a bit peculiar for a restaurant of this caliber. Overall, I would definitely recommend people to save up and go to this restaurant and give your taste buds a time of their life.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5

Tasting menu was fantastic. No quibbles ...

Dined on January 5, 2016

Tasting menu was fantastic. No quibbles about the food! Service was also 5 star. My only problem and it was for me a big one, was the air conditioning. It was freezing. And the cold air was blowing right down our necks. It was turned down after several requests, but it did also mean we had to leave our scarves and vests on, which was not so elegant. Table service and setting was lovely. General room ambiance was nice but not spectacular.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wanting anything more out of a dining ex ...

vip
Dined on December 28, 2015

Wanting anything more out of a dining experience means you're in the wrong place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Time to take your Laundry elsewhere...

vip
Dined on December 23, 2015

I had eaten at the French Laundry twice before, about 15 and 5 years ago - the experience was outstanding. I looked forward to dinner. Overall, it was good, but did not come close to meeting expectations. My standards for comparison are Michelin-starred restaurants; also, that month, I had eaten at Gary Danko's and Acqarello, 1- and 2-starred restaurant respectively. The dinner at FL was ordinary, and lacked novelty or creativity. The dishes were expertly cooked, but were very simple and plain - perhaps this is their new 'style', but I found it uninteresting, no innovation. The meal started wonderfully with their standard, the sabayon of 'oysters and pearls' - this dish was as exceptional as it was 15 years ago. After that, the dinner turn very ordinary, with the duck dish toward the middle of the evening being perhaps the low point: it was little more than (technically-well) cooked duck, but very plain and simple. Service was attentive but seemed corporate. There were major gaffs (for a 3-star). First, the meal was rushed, we were finished with the tasting menu in 2 hours: items came out in succession with barely a break. There was not enough time to finish the wine we were drinking, and at times, the food preceded the next wine selection! It's as though the food was on a production line, or they wanted our table for another sitting (we arrived on time, 15 min early) . Another gaff was that our waiter was wrong about one of the courses: this would not have been important except that a wine was selected for venison with bacon, but the course was instead veal. This required a change in wine in advance of the food, but the veal still came out without the wine... This was the second problem with wine: earlier in the evening, they had run out of a wine I ordered, despite their electronic iPad system, but the food still came out while we scrambled for another wine! Overall, the restaurant seemed stilted and formulaic - they are creatively (& financially) coasting.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A true experience, every bite designed to delight.

Dined on December 17, 2015

This meal was exquisite. The atmosphere, the staff, the food, the friends I enjoyed this with - an epic, memorable night.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

The best dining experience I have ever h ...

vip
Dined on December 15, 2015

The best dining experience I have ever had. The three hours of dining seemed like an instant. Every course was cooked to perfection, service was phenomenal and unpretentious. The presentation is out of this world. I'm not big on dessert person, but I was here. Every detail was done with elegance and precision.

food5
ambience5
service5

Made a special trip even more special

Dined on December 7, 2015

We went here with some friends and it was a very nice treat for all of us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Spectacular

Dined on November 16, 2015

An experience all should be fortunate to indulge in at least once. I have been there twice and both times it was remarkable. The food and presentation was exquisite, the service was impeccable, the three hours of dining is unbelievable. One downside is the wine is very pricey, overly pricey. Should you want to bring in your own bottle make sure it isn't on their wine menu and be prepared to pay a $150 corkage fee.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a great experience here. The sta ...

vip
Dined on November 3, 2015

We had a great experience here. The staff was very accommodating, and the food and wine pairing was also super.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best Ever

Dined on October 30, 2015

A once in a lifetime experience I hope to have again and again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Its the French Laundry what else is there to say?

Dined on September 27, 2015

One thing off of the bucket list, and it did not disappoint. It was pretty much exactly what I expected. The service was better than expected, and they treat you very nicely. It was our anniversary so they brought us some champagne to start and gave us meringue "kisses" in addition to all the dessert that they normally give.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

It's all about the food.

vip
Dined on September 22, 2015

I'm fortunate enough to have been here twice: once by calling in a favor to get a table and once by just being patient on OpenTable. This night wasn't quite as good as the first time, but it was still absolutely outstanding. A couple of the items were repeats from our first visit and still every bit as good as I recalled. Tonight, the quail may have been our favorite, but that's only because the wagyu was NOT on the menu. The wagyu was, and still is the best thing we've ever eaten and there is no second place. I've had wagyu elsewhere, but not like they do it here. So, the absence of wagyu, tonight, was a bit of a let down despite the fact that its absence saved me the $100 upcharge! Regardless, we loved it. We even saw Thomas Keller, tonight.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3

Incredably difficult place to get reservation

Dined on September 6, 2015

If the food was as Incredabl as the hustle one has to endure to get a table at this restaurant, Thomas Keller had nothing to worry about. Alternatively, if those who are willing to pay hundred are offered the service establishment's of such nature offer, Mr. Keller has nothing to worry about. However, neither is the case for the French Laundry. The food ,while good, was not exceptional. At best, it was a slight improvement from the offering at Keller's own restaurats down the street. However, unlike Keller's other restaurants, customers here have to deal with multiple calls and long waits before they get a chance to speak with a reservationists who almost always tells them they are fully committed. Curiously, the reservation line always rings busy righ at the minute reservations are supposed to start. Even those who persever enough to finally make a rervation two months out are faced with further delay. In my case, I had to wait 10 more minutes to sit at the table I reserved two months before. It felt to me like the place was being run as a hip night club than a fine dining establishment. Of course, those hip night clubs who line their doors with people vanish the minute another new hip night club comes to town. With two more new restaurants added just this year to the field the French Laundry once occupied by itself, Keller will need to change his game to stay in the game.

food5
ambience5
service5

Sixth visit.

Dined on September 5, 2015

Quality of service, visual presentation, taste experience...beyond words.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic experience. Wow!

vip
Dined on August 30, 2015

Took a long time to get it booked, but it did not disappoint. Such a memorable life event.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Effortless Perfection

Dined on August 7, 2015

What can I say that hasn't been said? Yes, you will spend a fortune--and if you are someone who seeks an amazing dining experience, you won't mind a bit. The food: every bite thought through, every flavor with a place and purpose. Delicious, lovely, artful, all with provenance and harmony considered. Even the breads are little marvels. Every new course a delight. If I was to offer one suggestion for improvement, if you could call it that, it's that the dessert course(s) are so plentiful (we had six, not counting the cheese course) that it would have been helpful to either warn us that more were coming, or bring them all at once so we knew to pace ourselves. By the end of the meal, it was too much sugar, too much richness, and only because we wanted to eat every single marvel the pastry chef sent out and didn't realize that more was coming. So, be warned: it's a happy problem to have, but pace yourself. The service: hands down, the best I have ever received. Friendly without being familiar, attentive without intrusion...if I had to use one word, it would be "aware." If you want to engage them, they'll engage, and then instantly vanish when you've finished. This is not a restaurant that acts like the guest is lucky to be there: no condescension or pretension, just professionalism. Never formal or stuffy, but it's clear that the staff takes their job--to make your experience perfect--very seriously. These young people are exceptionally well trained: you know everything is controlled and planned out to the last crumb, but it feels organic, and flows so well it's easy to forget there's clockwork behind it. Atmosphere: elegant, simple, designed for quiet dining, but as the wine and food flow the noise level picks up just enough to feel lively without losing the ability to have a conversation. One of the most remarkable nights of my "foodie" life. Go do it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.