About The French Laundry

6640 Washington Street
Yountville, CA 94599
View Larger Map

Built in 1890 as a French Steam Laundry, this rustic two-story stone house is surrounded by a country garden planted with vintage roses, perennials and seasonal herbs. The French Laundry Restaurant has an intimate dining room with 17 tables. The dining time is 3-4 hours with two prix-fixe menus to choose from. Reservations are taken one month in advance to the calendar date (i.e. Reservations for April 1st are taken March 1st).

Jackets are required for gentlemen, although ties are optional. We also ask that no one wears tennis shoes, shorts or t-shirts in the dining room.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Friday - Sunday: 11:00am - 12:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:15pm

Cross Street:
Creek Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 944-2380

Website:
http://www.frenchlaundry.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking Available on Washington Street, Parking Lot on Creek Street

Executive Chef:
Thomas Keller is the Owner/Chef

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining reservations and events can be secured up to one year in advance. No matter the occasion of your party, be it an intimate luncheon for 8-12 guests in our private dining room, a unique social gathering for 60 with access to the entire restaurant and its courtyard or a celebration at a venue of your choosing, we offer a number of settings and accommodations for your private event. Everything from menu selection to wine pairings, flower arrangements to parting gifts, can be custom designed for a memorable occasion.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The French Laundry
The French Laundry
The French Laundry
The French Laundry
The French Laundry
The French Laundry
The French Laundry
The French Laundry
The French Laundry
The French Laundry
The French Laundry
The French Laundry
"Coffee And Donuts"
Amuse Bouche
"Oysters And Pearls"
Salmon Tartare Cornet
Liberty Farm Pekin Duck
Salted Butter
Schramsberg, Extra Brut, "Cuvée French Laundry," California
Bread Service
Assortment Of Desserts
Butter
Andante Dairy "Acapella"
Macarons
Hudson Valley Moulard Duck Foie Gras Rillette
Chateaubriand Of Marcho Farms Nature Fed Veal
Bread
Sweet Butter Poached Stonington Maine Lobster
Sweet Butter Poached Alaskan King Crab
Sweet Butter Poached Maine lobster
Applewood Smoked Fillet Of Gulf Coast Cobia
Salad Of Garden Vegetables
Charcoal Grilled Japanese Wagyu
Seasoned Salts
Consider Bardwell Farm "Pawlet"
Espresso
Foie Gras Au Torchon
Hudson Valley Moulard Duck "Foie Gras Torchon"
Sautéed Filet Of Atlantic Striped Bass
Herb Roasted Four Story Hill Farm Poularde
"Pork And Beans"
Herb Roasted Marcho Farms Nature Fed Veal
Pretzel Leaves
Pistachio Gelato With Tutti Frutti Confetti
Spring Strawberries With Candied Leaves
Bittersweet Chocolate Cigar With Pretzel Mousse And Pretzel Chips
White Sturgeon Caviar With Brioche Round And Avocado Mousse
Slow Poached Fillet Of Pacific Halibut
Élevages Périgord Moulard Duck "Foie Gras Au Torchon"
Georges Bank Sea Scallop "Poêlée"
Seven Layer Chocolate Cake
Double Espresso
Four Story Hill Farm Partridge
Salad Of French Laundry Garden Radishes
"Tomme De Savoie"
Dusted Chocolate Covered Macadamia Nuts
Assorted Chocolate Truffles
Doughnuts
Chocolate
Assorted Desserts
Elysian Fields Farm Lamb Rib-Eye
Sauteed Fillet of Atlantic Halibut
Roll & Butter
Cappuccino Semifreddo
Shortbread Cookies
Bantham Hen Egg Brûlée
Four Story Hill Farm "Poularde"
Pine Nut "Tofu"
Pre-Truffle Bantham Hen Egg Brûlée
All Day Braised Marcho Farms Veal Cheek
Cappucino Ice Cream With Foam
Chocolates
Salade de Legumes Verts
Artichaut Farci
Hand-Harvested Maine Diver Scallop
Grilled Sacramento Delta Green Asparagus
Salad of Heirloom Beets
Grilled Fillet Of Pacific Kanpachi
Cobb Pinot Noir
Royal Ossetra Caviar
Jasper Hill Dairy "Winnemere"
Cornet
Paupiettes Of Dover Sole And Wild Scottish Langoustine
Wolfe Ranch White Quail Presse
Complimentary English Shortbread
Gaston Chiquet
Oysters and Pearls
Salad Of Garden Radishes
Chocolate Macadias
Sweet Butter-Poached Maine Lobster
Princess Cake
Westcombe Cheddar
Shirred Eggs
Fuji Apple "Mille Feuille"
Fourme d'Ambert
Shortbread Cookies To Take Home
Passion Fruit "Swiss Roll"
Chocolate Covered Roasted Macadamias
Coffee and Doughnuts
Sweet Butter-Poached Maine Lobster "Fricasse"

The French Laundry Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

5.0

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Food
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Ambiance
San Francisco Bay Area
6 More
American
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Overall
Wine Country
Best Food
Wine Country
Best Service
Wine Country
Best Ambiance
Wine Country
American
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Yountville ›

Special Occasion (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Notable Wine List (13)
See All
Romantic (9)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
659 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is likely the best restaurant in th ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

This is likely the best restaurant in the United States. Perfection beyond belief.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience for a special occas ...

 
 (Berlin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Wonderful experience for a special occasion. Everything was delicious. Wines by the glass were way overpriced though, and the dessert was delicious but TOO much at the end of such a long meal (less dessert would be better, perhaps the macarons & truffles packed in the takeaway bag with the shortbread cookies and chocolates!).

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The French Laundry is one of the most no ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The French Laundry is one of the most notable restaurants to visit in North America and simply was amazing. Yes at the of the night when you get the bill, your jaw drops when you see the total, but when you look back and think about the amazing ingredients and the way it is cooked to perfected and presented to you, it is all worth it. My fiance and I are huge foodies and there wasn't one thing we did not like. The Wine Pairings were simply perfect and complimented each dish wonderfully. It's a YOLO (You Only Live Once) kind of restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

French Laundry lived up to the hype. The ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

French Laundry lived up to the hype. The food was amazing and the service was impeccable. I would recommend again and again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My son has wanted to go to the French La ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

My son has wanted to go to the French Laundry for years. We had this trip planned to Napa for months and I have gone on Open Table everyday for weeks to finally get this reservation just Thursday before we left Houston on Saturday for the trip. The service was impecable and the food superb. After dinner we were given a tour of the kitchen and the new kitchen being built. We even had our picture taken with the chef in the kitchen. A wonderful eveining was had by all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed an exceptional dinner at The Fre ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Enjoyed an exceptional dinner at The French Laundry this past weekend. Every dish was beautifully presented and a masterpiece of fine dining. We were celebrating my fiancé's birthday, and were thrilled to finally make it here (big lovers of fine dining – Mugaritz, Sawada, Le Cinq, as well as restos locally in SF), and each dish at TFL was impeccable. Also, I thought it was very high-value, considering the prix fixe price includes gratuity – and the portions of Japanese Wagyu, foie gras, and winter truffle (supplemental) were INCREDIBLY generous, as was the Osetra caviar (probably $120+ retail for the amount). For all the haters who had told us it would be "overrated," it definitely was not. The front-of-house manager was so lovely and courteous, and our kitchen tour at the end of dinner was wonderful – and the chefs so gracious.

BUT that's about where our appreciation of the front-of-house staff ends. Our server seemed to be "phoning it in" all night with lazy high-level descriptions of the dishes when we asked to be reminded what a certain ingredient was, always seemed hurried to move on to the next table, and when we wanted to order a half-bottle of wine, rather than offer for the sommelier to come by and speak with us, or even ASK us what we might be in the mood for, without skipping a beat he just suggested one of the most expensive half-bottles on the list. It felt like a lazy suggestion to bring the total beverage check up (we started with 2 Hitachino beers vs. champagne). And the rest of the servers, while swift and great at not disrupting conversation or being too "present", spoke a bit too softly for us to hear what we were being served, given how boisterous the dining room got.

Overall, a really wonderful evening and we're glad to have finally made it to The French Laundry, but I hope that the front of house staff improves, because every guest dining there should feel special and well taken care of, even if not A-list or high-profile.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Eating here was on our bucket list and i ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Eating here was on our bucket list and it did not disappoint. The food was incredible and the service flawless. Very memorable experience that was well worth it. Highly recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every course looks manicured, perfect, a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Every course looks manicured, perfect, artistic. Tastes unique. You can tell that hours of work - no, days and months have gone into the preparation. A restaurant to indulge the senses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bucket List experience

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Check this off your bucket list and don't keep track of what you spend. Very nice one time visit, the Foie Gras was fantastic, everything else was VERY Good. The meal didn't disappoint, just can't justify the price, except to say we treated ourselves and didn't look back. Spend the extra on the food, the wine is mostly overpriced beyond the rest of the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

i had diner at the restaurant in 2014, a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

i had diner at the restaurant in 2014, and we had a great time. this time, we had a golf trip in Napa and i recommended highly to my golf partners to have diner here.

we were very happy with the diner except for the wine selection recommended by the waiter. my friends did not complain about the wine ($1950.00 for three people, one does not drink), however, i think that the wine selected are not as good as i had in my 2014 diner there, which cost about $250.0 each person, and priced clearly on the chef's tasking menu with wine pairing.

so, the only complain is the value of the wine beyond my expectation, the waiter did not tell me how much the wine will cost us eventually!!

i strongly recommend to add the wine paring to the chef's tasting menu, with a clear price tag.

i will order food from the menu and wine too next time going there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

We built our trip to California around the reservation date. We have been at Per Se in NY two times and we were looking forward to have the experience at The French Laundry. Beautiful small town, great ambiance, superb service. For wine lovers, the wine liste could be a thesis in itself. The menu was incredible, and my wife order the vegetarian menu which was amazing as well. We would recommend the trip to all food and wine lovers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not sure it represents value

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Any good restaurant might have its bad days. I may happen to be dining there on a bad day.

Tags: Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Over priced

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Over priced

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Everything I dreamed it was going to be, ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Everything I dreamed it was going to be, and more. A formal dining experience parallel none without an ounce of pretentiousness or self aggrandizing. Perfect, just perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Mecca of restaurants!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

The Mecca of restaurants!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The most memorable dining experience I'v ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

The most memorable dining experience I've ever had. Everyone we met, from the service team, the sommelier, the general manager to Thomas Keller himself, was courteous, personable and entirely dedicated to creating a cozy and welcoming environment for every guest. The menu was exquisite, the wine list was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Birthday Celebration

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

My wife and I were lucky enough to get a reservation while visiting Sonoma to celebrate two 40th birthdays and a 50th birthday. The six of us each had a personalized menu and some of the most amazing food I have ever eaten. The service was flawless and they were very accommodating to our dietary and financial needs. The dessert course is like something out of a movie...the food didn't stop coming. It was a night we will remember forever.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've had the great pleasure to dine at e ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

I've had the great pleasure to dine at eight of the 64 Five Diamond restaurants in North America and The French Laundry jumped right to the top of the list (closely followed by Addison in San Diego and the Inn at Little Washington in Little Washington, VA). It is indeed, everything you've ever heard. Service was impeccable, light hearted and technically perfect. The food of course was the star, beginning with the Amuse Bouche. We opted to have the sommelier pair our wines with the food which is always the right call. Life is short, spend the money and treat yourself to a night to savor and remember forever.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

An experience we will never forget!

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

What a wonderful evening! Most definitely one of the most amazing meals I've ever had and the service was impeccable! Andrew read our group so well and made our experience outstanding! Prior to our visit I had asked friends who have been, "is it worth it?" and every response was an overwhelming 'yes'. I must agree! I was a little concerned a group of 6 would be too much, but it is by far one of the best restaurant evenings I have ever enjoyed! The kitchen tour with Alexander was lovely and informative he made us feel so welcome. Much gratitude to everyone at TFL for everything you do; to source the finest ingredients, pay attention to every detail and create such a beautiful experience for us! Thank you! I hope we will be able to return again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The French Laundry is a total experience ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The French Laundry is a total experience, a unique venue for the performance art of food and service. Choose your menu, consult the sommelier (take his suggestions) and relax. This is like nowhere else on earth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I dined with another couple who had been ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

I dined with another couple who had been to French Laundry many times. Prior to this visit for lunch, I had only been once approx 10 yrs ago. I remember the service to be flawless, and food to be incredible. The whole experience was awesome. This time however, the service was not good. First of all, there was a HUGE mix up on the wine pairing pricing. Our waiter asked what price range we were looking for the pairings. We clearly stated about $100/per person. The wines were excellent. The service felt rushed. We could not even finish and enjoy our current course/wine as they tried to bring out the next. We asked them to slow down the service a few times. The food was very good, not as good as I remember, but it was good. When the final bill came, I almost fell over. They had charged us $300/per person for the wine pairings!!! Needless to say, we were shocked. After several back and forth explanations, the "manager" apologized for the mistake and corrected the bill. I have to give them credit for that. We appreciated the professionalism with the bill. We did think the service was worth the cost. I doubt that I would ever go back. Disappointed

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Disappointed

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

I have been to many fine dining restaurants and I was very excited to finally visit the French Laundry. The staff seemed oppressed for some reason- no smiling, no pleasantries. The food was ok, but for that price I expected outstanding and that is not was we received. I don't need to beat them up over it but I just expected inventive, interesting dishes and we received ordinary. At least I can take it off my list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

It was phenomenal!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

It was phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Strongly recommend

 
 (東京)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

The night I spent here with my girlfriend is one of the most unforgettable and amazing night I've had. It's much more than food. My beautiful lady and I were sitting closely next to each other while enjoying those incredible dishes.We all appreciate the beauty and the greatness of food. Its cuisine has made us gone further. We start to think about more on life and all the potential, promising and beautiful future and possibilities ahead two of us by tasting awesome wine and enjoying delicious food. How could we make our life romantic, excellent and creative like the one who cooks in this way. We believe that's the art, the zen, the sacred things. Time has made French Laundry unique. Anyway, thanks, dear French Laundry.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

The French Laundry definitively lives up to its reputation. We feel so special to have dined there.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal Lunch!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

We booked The French Laundry for lunch during our latest Napa trip. Initially I was a little disappointed that we couldn't get dinner but after experiencing the lunch I was simply amazed.

We arrived a few minutes ahead of our scheduled 11:15am reservation time and we immediately seated at our table. There were 4 in our group and we're all foodies.

We started with Champagne while we made the few selections required. Rather than picking wine on our own, we asked our server to select a pairing for each course. That turned out to be a terrific idea. We didn't need to stress over the choices and everything he selected was tremendous.

The staff paid close attention to our pace of service and allowed us to manage our timing. As a group of 4 foodie friends, each course brought a lot of discussion on the preparation as well as photos and then the final critique.

All our servers were extremely attentive without being over whelming. They indulged all our questions and requests as if we were the only ones in the restaurant.

I was a bit worried that our experience would not match our expectations but that was not the case. In fact, our experience far surpassed our expectations as we finished with a quick tour of the kitchen, wine cellar and gardens.

I honestly can't wait to come back and experience this restaurant again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Now I know why they have three Michelin stars

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 26, 2016

The atmosphere, the service, and the food was fantastic. It was a display of art using food. The flavors of the foods were wonderful, and it exceeded my expectations by far.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Celebration for Six

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 26, 2016

They were extremely accommodating and allowed us to change from five to six people. Liz is very helpful and knowledgable.

Tags: Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Perfection

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

There's not much to review for the French Laundry, except that everything was absolute perfection. The service was attentive and yet not "always hovering". They picked up on the fact that it was my birthday without even telling them and arrived with special gifts and a candle in my dessert. Everything was perfectly rehearsed and calculated, but still seemed almost casual and easy to enjoy yourself without feeling stuffy. The food was phenomenal, yet approachable. If you have a choice between the lamb and the wagyu beef, splurge on the beef! The truffle risotto is also worth the splurge! Go ahead and treat yourself, you will not be let down.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at The French Laundry might have ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Dining at The French Laundry might have ruined us for all future foodie experiences. It was EPIC! The service was impeccable and the food exquisite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The French Laundry for dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

We had an amazing dinner at the French Laundry. The food was some of the best I have ever eaten, and the service was perfect. There are many people who work at your table, but they are very in-obtrusive. Our waiter was extremely knowledgeable and helpful, explaining all of the courses (there are a lot). Every course was excellent, with food prepared in new and interesting ways. Dining at the French Laundry is truly an experience, for you to savor and enjoy. My only suggestion for diners is to pace yourself! There are a lot of courses and none of them are skimpy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surpassed my expectations

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

This was our best culinary experience ever. The service was impeccable, the food was to die for, and the whole atmosphere was just perfect. We were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary and the staff at French Laundry made sure that everything was perfect for us. Besides getting a reservation which is the hardest thing to get (we have been trying for 20 years), everything else was superb. It was a truly divine experience.

Thank you to the French Laundry staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I don't think this is worth the price es ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 7, 2016

I don't think this is worth the price especially when compared to someplace like Benu. Most dishes were very good but nothing really stood out. They overwhelm you with desserts but only a couple of them (namely the donuts which are great) are good.

Service was very good but could have been warmer and more personal. The table we were at was a bit in the middle of the way.

At this level I expect something much closer to perfection. We will go again but only because we have a gift card.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Great company, good food, ok service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 7, 2016

The food was extremely superb and some of the dishes made you wish there were an encores. By the end of the night, my friends and I were completely stuffed. We couldn't finish the chocolate truffles and other treats that were given to us. Ambiance was nice. I felt service was a little off. Normally, I could careless about service, but given how much we spent, I thought the servers would've introduced themselves. I knew none of their names. I don't know if that's normal, but knowing their name would have been nice. Another slight issue I had was, one of the server forgot to add an ingredient to one of my friends dish and we had to flag down someone to have it added. Those were small issues. It didn't ruin the night. Just thought it was a bit peculiar for a restaurant of this caliber. Overall, I would definitely recommend people to save up and go to this restaurant and give your taste buds a time of their life.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Tasting menu was fantastic. No quibbles ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 5, 2016

Tasting menu was fantastic. No quibbles about the food! Service was also 5 star. My only problem and it was for me a big one, was the air conditioning. It was freezing. And the cold air was blowing right down our necks. It was turned down after several requests, but it did also mean we had to leave our scarves and vests on, which was not so elegant. Table service and setting was lovely. General room ambiance was nice but not spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Wanting anything more out of a dining ex ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

Wanting anything more out of a dining experience means you're in the wrong place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Time to take your Laundry elsewhere...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

I had eaten at the French Laundry twice before, about 15 and 5 years ago - the experience was outstanding. I looked forward to dinner. Overall, it was good, but did not come close to meeting expectations. My standards for comparison are Michelin-starred restaurants; also, that month, I had eaten at Gary Danko's and Acqarello, 1- and 2-starred restaurant respectively. The dinner at FL was ordinary, and lacked novelty or creativity. The dishes were expertly cooked, but were very simple and plain - perhaps this is their new 'style', but I found it uninteresting, no innovation. The meal started wonderfully with their standard, the sabayon of 'oysters and pearls' - this dish was as exceptional as it was 15 years ago. After that, the dinner turn very ordinary, with the duck dish toward the middle of the evening being perhaps the low point: it was little more than (technically-well) cooked duck, but very plain and simple.

Service was attentive but seemed corporate. There were major gaffs (for a 3-star). First, the meal was rushed, we were finished with the tasting menu in 2 hours: items came out in succession with barely a break. There was not enough time to finish the wine we were drinking, and at times, the food preceded the next wine selection! It's as though the food was on a production line, or they wanted our table for another sitting (we arrived on time, 15 min early) . Another gaff was that our waiter was wrong about one of the courses: this would not have been important except that a wine was selected for venison with bacon, but the course was instead veal. This required a change in wine in advance of the food, but the veal still came out without the wine... This was the second problem with wine: earlier in the evening, they had run out of a wine I ordered, despite their electronic iPad system, but the food still came out while we scrambled for another wine! Overall, the restaurant seemed stilted and formulaic - they are creatively (& financially) coasting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

A true experience, every bite designed to delight.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

This meal was exquisite. The atmosphere, the staff, the food, the friends I enjoyed this with - an epic, memorable night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best dining experience I have ever h ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 15, 2015

The best dining experience I have ever had. The three hours of dining seemed like an instant. Every course was cooked to perfection, service was phenomenal and unpretentious. The presentation is out of this world. I'm not big on dessert person, but I was here. Every detail was done with elegance and precision.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Made a special trip even more special

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on December 7, 2015

We went here with some friends and it was a very nice treat for all of us.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.